Bulletstorm PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 774 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 774

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    4
    Although the game is a great showcase of the Unreal engine, I find it to be very repetitive. Some better multiplayer modes would have improved my review but not by much.
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    4
    please epic,i know you created the unreal engine 3 but youve solicited it to so many companies everything on any console looks exactly the same,its been 5 years now and it was old 3 years ago.
    this could be any of a 101 releases in the last couple of years,tweak it and it could be bioshock gears batman or many many more.
    stop this engine please(im almost tempted to start a petition)
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Bulletstorm is everything you want in a shooter and more. Great graphics, amazing set-pieces, and adrenaline fueled action. Away with the standard aiming for the head like the majority of first-person shooters and bring on the skillshot system which is great for rewarding you with how inventive you can be with slaughtering the oncoming hordes. Nothing is more satisfying than seeing youBulletstorm is everything you want in a shooter and more. Great graphics, amazing set-pieces, and adrenaline fueled action. Away with the standard aiming for the head like the majority of first-person shooters and bring on the skillshot system which is great for rewarding you with how inventive you can be with slaughtering the oncoming hordes. Nothing is more satisfying than seeing you setup a kill involving the deaths of 5+ enemies at once and seeing your entire screen explode with points which is used as currency for buying ammo and unlocking weapons and upgrades. I played the game on HARD which had the perfect balance of difficulty so that I could focus on killing things creatively just as equally as I had to focus on my own survival. The game has a great story, and the characters who at first may just seem to be loud, crass and two dimensional, slowly flesh out into surprisingly deep and likable characters. Bulletstorm is a lot more intelligent than it may appear to be, and at the end when the credits started rolling I was left wanting more. Expand
  4. May 17, 2011
    10
    I 'd like to start off by saying that this game has something that many games are lacking these days, FUN. It brings a genuinely new and fresh vibe to the first person shooter,It feels great to control and has great graphics and art direction,many huge vistas to behold.Bulletstorm also has great setpieces,controlling a giant mechadinosaur is a great highlight.Coming from epic games andI 'd like to start off by saying that this game has something that many games are lacking these days, FUN. It brings a genuinely new and fresh vibe to the first person shooter,It feels great to control and has great graphics and art direction,many huge vistas to behold.Bulletstorm also has great setpieces,controlling a giant mechadinosaur is a great highlight.Coming from epic games and people can fly I wouldent expect any less,great job guys Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    1
    Terrible game aimed at the most immature console gamers. Extremely short single player game, terrible dialogue, outdated and recycled game engine paired with the worst dialogue I have ever experienced make this one of the worst games I have played in a long time. Most positive reviews are from the younger console generation who get a kick out of the bad language. "LOL!! He said penis!!!Terrible game aimed at the most immature console gamers. Extremely short single player game, terrible dialogue, outdated and recycled game engine paired with the worst dialogue I have ever experienced make this one of the worst games I have played in a long time. Most positive reviews are from the younger console generation who get a kick out of the bad language. "LOL!! He said penis!!! This is awesome!!!" Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    1
    Very disappointing game! Repetitive weapons...lack of multiplayer variety...repetitive level design....old graphics engine (more and more evident if you use
  7. Mar 19, 2011
    0
    A huge disappointment. Perhaps I expected something other than Serious Sam meets Gears of War but it thats what you'll get with Bulletstorm. The game's story isn't terrible but riddled with pitfalls and conflict sometimes too silly to really appreciate. The voice acting is actually not as bad as some people have made it out to be except with General Saranno's character. I swear theyA huge disappointment. Perhaps I expected something other than Serious Sam meets Gears of War but it thats what you'll get with Bulletstorm. The game's story isn't terrible but riddled with pitfalls and conflict sometimes too silly to really appreciate. The voice acting is actually not as bad as some people have made it out to be except with General Saranno's character. I swear they couldn't decide if he had a southern accent or not cause occasionally he'd have one and other times he'd speak almost like a normal person dropping any sort of attempt to mask an original voice at all. Otherwise, that portion the game is decent.

    What makes the game really feel like a let down is it's length. I beat it in roughly 7 hours on Hard. I did enjoy how it was non-stop action and I was constantly trying to come up with new ways to kill my enemies but with very little incentive to experiment with weapons I'm not comfortable with, thus leaving me feeling slightly alienated for a good portion of the skillshots. A lot of times, I swear I did a skillshot and didn't get credit for it.

    Can you rent the game? Do so, you'll probably beat it and be done with it and wonder why they left the ending like they did when people criticize the studio for leaving (spoiler: cliffhangers) in their games, especially this one being so short.
    It was like eating a hard loaf of bread only to find that someone tore a piece off the end.
    Expand
  8. Feb 24, 2011
    6
    I have to say that I have not played through the entire game but what I have seen so far is disappointing. Simply put, it promised to bring something new to the fps genre, the only thing it brought me was boredom. I am not claiming that this a terrible game, but your average fps.
  9. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Stop using the unreal engine. Its an outdated piece of crap. It was outdated the moment Cryengine was created, and why people keep using it I will never know.
  10. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    a fantastic game. one of the freshest shooters in years. i loved to play through the game and enjoyed it almost more than the (also) fantastic crysis 2. i recommend this game to everyone. you will like it
  11. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought that a sleepless night because of a game is not possible anymore. Well, while waiting for a Duke`s return, I let myself be tempted by Bulletstorm and it was a bull`s eye. Although it smells like Gears of War, and have several disadvantages, it is one of the most interesting game, lately.

    First of all, the plot. As an ex member (and a rebel) of Dead Echoe squad we are trying to even the score with our ex commander who is a very evil man. ;) Thanks to this mad, personal crusade our entire team is almost dead, and we find ourselves to be crash landing on a planet full of mutating inhabitants. Despite all the problems it is certain that the man we seek, is somwhere nearby and this will let us not only to kick his a** but also to get out from the place.

    So we seek the way, to get to our general. But it is not that simple. First, we will have to kill waves of mutants. Second, it will be a long walk through the shacks of slums, and a ruined city. We will walk, fly, ride the train and slide through the diversity of slopes, and dark holes. The graphic engine is not new but overall it pleases the eye, and you can run the game on a 3-4 year old computer. As I mentioned it smells like a Gears of War, and it is true. The design of a main character is pretty similar to Marcus, and I had the same feeling while jumping over the obstacles. However, I was disappointed by a lack of ability to jump. A small thing that pinches. So was with invisible walls which occurred from time to time.

    The plot itself is exciting to the end (and I reccomend to stay to the end of subtitles) and it seems, that after all, we will see another Bulletsorm. The strong language is in use, but, the hell, they are soldiers, simple man with simple pleasures. Expect a very ironic sentences similar to Duke`s famous oneliners.

    Ok, how about the fun? This game is all about it. You dont just kill the mobs you meet, you literally smash them, fry them, kick them, and grab them on a lasso-like, energetic leash. The more sophisticated death you deal, the more points you get. And the points let you to buy new weapons, ammo for them, and upgrades. I must admit that this system is very good and forces you to think (it may sound sick, but we are mature anyway) what you do to them. The main defect of it is that you may find only two, or three weapons really usefull.

    It took me 11 hours to end the game, just on "normal" difficulty so it is pretty awesome.
    Expand
  12. Mar 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game is very nice, but is too short, multi is very poor and i dont want to back to Bulletstorm again... Graphics is very f*cking good, 8 i'm sure we won' t see the game with better graphics on Unreal Engine 3. eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 8 Expand
  13. May 15, 2011
    9
    Awesome big dumb fun! The graphics are top notch and the gameplay is addictive. But make no mistakes about it, this is a $40 game masquerading as a $60 title. Wait for it to go on sale on Steam before purchasing.
  14. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    I don't like shooters, at all, and that's mainly because this generation made them have the exact same things (run in corridor->take cover->shoot->repeat), and basically ruined old shooters where there was actual exploration and puzzles. Of course there are exception and Bulletstorn, strangely, isn't an exception and actually overuses the same formula...but they made it good. I heard tonsI don't like shooters, at all, and that's mainly because this generation made them have the exact same things (run in corridor->take cover->shoot->repeat), and basically ruined old shooters where there was actual exploration and puzzles. Of course there are exception and Bulletstorn, strangely, isn't an exception and actually overuses the same formula...but they made it good. I heard tons of things of this game and eventually I got it on discount, and I don't really regret but I didn't feel extremely excited either. Anyway, what really works in this game, are the dialogues which are very funny and extremely over the top and actually never seem out of place: it looked like I was watching one action flick with tons of jokes and tons of gore...which means that the plot, even though it has its moments, it's nothing spectacular and unfortunely it revolves in one single mission. Nothing horrible but there was potential for more stuff to happen. Second thing that it's good aren't exactly the shooting, but how shooting is rewarded: you basically get points from how you kill enemies and the stylish the kill, the more points you get. All this is also encouraged by the addition of the hook which basically makes you lure enemies to you or either activate or destroy particular things in order to get more points and kills. Only bad thing here is that it's extremely repetitive but there's always variety on how you can kill enemies and how you can make more points (and there are also challenges that are meant for the completionists). Weapons also are good although they aren't many, but they are varied and they luckily don't feel the same...but unfortunely they haven't got a lot of ammunition (even when powered up), and so you won't be using the same weapon often. The levels aren't many but they are well detailed and the moments are varied enough to keep you going, with also the plot getting more details, but here comes the biggest flaw of the game: the longevity. There are about 8 chapters (including the prologue) and they don't last very long (i think the longest level took an hour at max). I finished the game in about 7-8 hours and on top of that the levels are extremely linear, with also poor interaction with the enviroment (you can sometimes interact by using your hook or killing your enemies...but you can't even jump on your own and not even fall down cliffs, just to say). There's also a multiplayer mode which has a nice idea and lets you play in a group that has to make points by killing the enemies with skillshots and the group wins if they reach the required amount of points: it's actually challenging but it's not properly well made and I haven't seen many players in this mode, meaning that it's not the core of the game and hardly anyone plays it properly. A great shooting game that is ruined by the poor longevity and the huge lack of multiplayer: it's nothing fresh but focuses mainly on entertaining the player and having them rewarded by using the enviroment and the right shooting skills. It's definitly worth a try though, especially if you find it on discount or if you're tired of the "ultra realistic military shooting gallery" that nowadays are so common and, even if it doesn't last long, it's gonna be 8 hours of gore, swear words, black humour and lots and lots of bullets! Expand
  15. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible graphics, incredible controls. and incredible gameplay. Works very well on high on my 4 year old machine. I really enjoyed the storyline...
  16. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    I picked this up on a recent steam sale for $5 bucks. 9/10. its genuinely FUN. Usually when i play an fps, its more like rush to the end to see the story, or to be relieved from playing a tense action sequence. In this game, you look forward to every new combat sequence.. rather than enemies to get out of your way, the mobs become little pawn pieces that you use to kill things in moreI picked this up on a recent steam sale for $5 bucks. 9/10. its genuinely FUN. Usually when i play an fps, its more like rush to the end to see the story, or to be relieved from playing a tense action sequence. In this game, you look forward to every new combat sequence.. rather than enemies to get out of your way, the mobs become little pawn pieces that you use to kill things in more creative ways. The action sequences also mix up the gameplay giving some nice variation to the bulk of the creative kill gameplay. Its so much fun! GRAPHICS: The graphics are beautiful and EPIC. very important, since from playing world of warcraft, i expect everything to be epic or its a letdown. There's a bunch of swearing in the game, but just ignore it. The great graphics, epicness of everything, and fun gameplay is worth the entry. Its also so refreshing that the game doesn't take itself seriously like COD etc. Oh yeah, wouldn't pay more than 10 bucks for this, as after a few replays, theres not much to keep you there. Just perfect out of the bargain bin though! Expand
  17. May 18, 2011
    10
    I've waited for this game. This game is very very good, orginal - fresh and fun! Crass humor that's actually entertaining rather than annoying, placed at all the right times.
  18. May 22, 2011
    10
    If there was a category of a most FUN game this would be a total winner of all times! In may not be a perfect game as a product (no co-op campaign or advanced multi). It may not be a perfect shooter in comparison with others (CoD, Battlefield). BUT it gave me a loads and loads of FUN to shoot, kill, and make fun of everybody and everything! :D
    It may be buggy, may not have the best dialogs
    If there was a category of a most FUN game this would be a total winner of all times! In may not be a perfect game as a product (no co-op campaign or advanced multi). It may not be a perfect shooter in comparison with others (CoD, Battlefield). BUT it gave me a loads and loads of FUN to shoot, kill, and make fun of everybody and everything! :D
    It may be buggy, may not have the best dialogs BUT it's FUN to hear some sarcastic swearing! :)
    It may not have the level design of CoD or Portal 2 but... it's FUN to throw an enemy to a cactus! :D
    Expand
  19. Vic
    Dec 8, 2011
    9
    Great game! It has tons of laughable moments and at the same time it's some kind of drama. The characters are so unique and special, and it's very entertaining to listen to them talking during the gameplay and off course all the jokes that they make! Great story, great gameplay, great graphics and great characters! Great game!!!
  20. May 25, 2011
    10
    Borderlands hangs out with Duke Nukem and Gears of War. Thoroughly enjoyed this shooter. Characters are fun and wonderfully offensive, just like the gameplay. I like how the bonus points for inventive evisceration of the poor bastards trying to fight you actually count towards upgrades. Loved the visuals, very nice graphics, kudos to Unreal Engine. Some simple puzzles, fun boss fights,Borderlands hangs out with Duke Nukem and Gears of War. Thoroughly enjoyed this shooter. Characters are fun and wonderfully offensive, just like the gameplay. I like how the bonus points for inventive evisceration of the poor bastards trying to fight you actually count towards upgrades. Loved the visuals, very nice graphics, kudos to Unreal Engine. Some simple puzzles, fun boss fights, minor plot holes which make the main hero look abit retarded, the fact I dont mind in the slightest. Theme park level was great. Loved the game, recommending to friends. Expand
  21. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    What happens when you take familiar FPS elements and ideas and hit the 'ludicrous speed' button? You have a off-the-wall, full throttle, high octane, nitro infused blood bath! 'Bulletstorm' is just what the title implies and boy does it deliver. Tons of death, bullets, weapons, carnage and shload of expletives that would make Lenny Bruce and Red Fox blush. The visual are stunning withWhat happens when you take familiar FPS elements and ideas and hit the 'ludicrous speed' button? You have a off-the-wall, full throttle, high octane, nitro infused blood bath! 'Bulletstorm' is just what the title implies and boy does it deliver. Tons of death, bullets, weapons, carnage and shload of expletives that would make Lenny Bruce and Red Fox blush. The visual are stunning with no performance issues. The sound is thunderous and well mixed. The story is engaging and entertaining. The voice-over acting is incredibly well-done. The weapon upgrades aren't over wrought with too little or too many options. The best thing for me was the Skillpoint system. The more creative a way you can kill an enemy the more points you get. I was laughing and cringing through the whole time. Better yet is the boot. Yes, the infamous boot melee. My god is it ever so much fun kicking someone off a cliff or into a mutated cactus. For all the whiners on here that didn't like this - you're phoney pansies that probably got put off by the colorful dialogue and gore. This ain't for the feint at heart. POW! Expand
  22. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Bulletstorm is a very intense action packed game! Lots of action, gore, and excessive swearing but on a PC platform you can toggle the language and gore. I personally love this game but i think that they could have done more with the multiplayer, maybe PvP matches and maybe even a co-op story line like Halo, or CoD 5.
    or maybe co-op Echo missions but otherwise its a very good game and i
    Bulletstorm is a very intense action packed game! Lots of action, gore, and excessive swearing but on a PC platform you can toggle the language and gore. I personally love this game but i think that they could have done more with the multiplayer, maybe PvP matches and maybe even a co-op story line like Halo, or CoD 5.
    or maybe co-op Echo missions but otherwise its a very good game and i reccomend buying it!
    Expand
  23. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    LOVE IT! Anyone saying this game sucks, has bad graphics or poor controls either doesn't play PC shooters, or has a really low grade computer. This game ROCKS! One of the favorites of all times. Single player is fun, and multiplayer Co-Op is even more fun! Blood, Gore, Fast paced action and skill combos not found in any other games. This game really forces you to get some skill and playLOVE IT! Anyone saying this game sucks, has bad graphics or poor controls either doesn't play PC shooters, or has a really low grade computer. This game ROCKS! One of the favorites of all times. Single player is fun, and multiplayer Co-Op is even more fun! Blood, Gore, Fast paced action and skill combos not found in any other games. This game really forces you to get some skill and play cooperatively to advance to the next wave or enemies. Combos that must be done with at least 2 players to kill bad guys in certain gory and ruthless ways. If you are looking for a game to hop in and play for 10 minutes WATCH OUT! You will end up addicted and play for hours! Expand
  24. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    I was really impressed by the Bulletstorm. Not that the game-play is great or executions feels awesome, it's just that general feel of the game is very good. It feels very opened even though it's simple "tunnel", mainly because of very nice landscape views. I like the style, graphics and even the killing and rewarding mechanics. It's simply one of the best shooters of 2011 to me.
  25. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    Bulletstorm is baked like a cake smothered with funny dialogue and blast your ass off gameplay, however they dropped the cake when they heard 'multi-player'. You'll easily remember this game for the funny dialogue and the gameplay, not much else. Bottom line, it's a great ride.. but it pulls in quick.
  26. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    Awesome single player - if too SHORT!.. (finished in 10 hours on leisure play). Very dissapointed because this game REQUIRES Windows Games LIVE to play... One more negative comment - designed for a platform! So take it as that - a platform shooter... If only a little more time would be spent and dedicated to us - the gamers - this game would surely be a HIT!
  27. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best PC action games you'll play. A purists video game and a spirited rebirth for over the top shooters that will appeal to anyone who loves the genre. People Can Fly have brought flair and creativity to the UT heritage with a new pallet of ideas that are both fresh and hugely enjoyable. The controls are fantastic and best suited to PC. Special mention must go to theThis is one of the best PC action games you'll play. A purists video game and a spirited rebirth for over the top shooters that will appeal to anyone who loves the genre. People Can Fly have brought flair and creativity to the UT heritage with a new pallet of ideas that are both fresh and hugely enjoyable. The controls are fantastic and best suited to PC. Special mention must go to the sniper rifle: which is one of the most brilliant ideas I've ever seen in a shooter this past decade. Don't let the juvenile tone of the demo put you off as it becomes much more acceptable during the campaign. The narrative thread is weak and it has no aspirations to be a narrative driven game. Instead it surges forward with ridiculous set pieces and satisfying, robust game play mechanics. An action extravaganza and a real treat. Expand
  28. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    Maybe you dont like the art style, maybe you dont like the fighting, maybe you dont like the characters or the story (you are wrong btw) But please for the love of potato chips try this game out and you will hear one of THE BEST musical scores to a computer game EVER! Pump up the music and watch the goosebumps grow!
  29. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Fantastically fun game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very dynamic and beautiful gameplay, cutscenes too wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =)
  30. May 8, 2014
    10
    This game is just so utterly fun to play! You're getting new weapons on quite a slow pace, but everything else rushes forward with a speed of light. It's an instant and constant action and you just wish there were more enemies you could send flying into electical installations, onto various spikes or cacti... simply, it's one hell of a fun to kill in this game. I love the views, graphicsThis game is just so utterly fun to play! You're getting new weapons on quite a slow pace, but everything else rushes forward with a speed of light. It's an instant and constant action and you just wish there were more enemies you could send flying into electical installations, onto various spikes or cacti... simply, it's one hell of a fun to kill in this game. I love the views, graphics are amazing and everything feels very smooth. Plus it's full of humorous banter and filled with swearing and nasty characters. Just love it :) Expand
  31. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    It took me a year to finally get my hands on this beauty (bought on Steam for 5â
  32. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    this is a really fun game to play if you've got some friends and are looking to jump into some satisfying violence for between 5 minutes and 4 hours. Combo moves are bloody and satisfying, but coordinating a team combo on a single victim is downright amazing, and the sheer number of special attacks (ranging from simple to absurd) will give you a lot to play with while locked in a boxthis is a really fun game to play if you've got some friends and are looking to jump into some satisfying violence for between 5 minutes and 4 hours. Combo moves are bloody and satisfying, but coordinating a team combo on a single victim is downright amazing, and the sheer number of special attacks (ranging from simple to absurd) will give you a lot to play with while locked in a box slaughtering faceless baddies.

    The single player is pretty decent, though it's short and doesn't exactly go out of its way to try and be original. Really this game should be weighed as a multiplayer game. Fun multiplayer experience, mediocre single player.
    Expand
  33. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This game took me by surprise.
    It ripped my face off, shoved it up my backside, kicked me in my balls, then said get up and fight.
    I absolutely love the raw action and genuinely funny dialogue in this game, a top title for anyone who like this gameplay style.
    10/10 well done EPIC.
  34. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    You know when someone tells a joke that is so hilarious but at the same time tasteless and revolting? Where half of the crowd are offended, one guy laughed and the rest went home, cried and wrote angry letters. This game is kind of like that. It's a relief from the tention-ridden politically correct games out there. The more people are offended, the better it is really. You're always gonnaYou know when someone tells a joke that is so hilarious but at the same time tasteless and revolting? Where half of the crowd are offended, one guy laughed and the rest went home, cried and wrote angry letters. This game is kind of like that. It's a relief from the tention-ridden politically correct games out there. The more people are offended, the better it is really. You're always gonna offend someone because not everybody is as awesome as us. Anyways, I totally loved this game. The laidback style, dirty dialogue and comical violence totally appealed to me. Sometimes it's just great to sit back and play a game where you don't feel you have to commit 100%. Where you leave realism behind and just do something crazy. Where the laws of physics don't apply and you don't spare anyone's feelings. This is a game I would play again, just to relax. Like picking up the controller to do some moves in Tony Hawk. Except in this game you pick up the controller, be badass, listen to hilarious dialogues and kill baddies in creative ways. Love it! Expand
  35. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    Awesome. I really like the fact that it is so over the top, you can't ignore it. It really has a certain something going for it. The main point of this game is the humour. It is pretty dark at times (getting drunk and shooting a bottle off a mans' head), its still pretty funny. You will hear the word "dick" and **** a lot in this game, and it appeals to the middleschooler inside. SomeAwesome. I really like the fact that it is so over the top, you can't ignore it. It really has a certain something going for it. The main point of this game is the humour. It is pretty dark at times (getting drunk and shooting a bottle off a mans' head), its still pretty funny. You will hear the word "dick" and **** a lot in this game, and it appeals to the middleschooler inside. Some mechanics are questionable, like the ability to buy ammo with skillpoints, and the optomization is not that hot. It also uses Games for Windows LIVE, which is a MAJOR downfall. Overall though, great game, on sale on steam NOW for 5 dollars. Pick it up, or face the boot, dick****! Expand
  36. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Awesome and fun. Where else do you get to control a mechanical dinosaur! I have been gaming many years and I have truly enjoyed this game. Buy it you won't regret it.
  37. Jul 7, 2012
    9
    I have to say this was a bargain for
  38. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    I truly enjoyed this game and quite honestly do not understand the bad reviews. The gameplay was solid and fresh and felt like a new experience. The story was a bit 'meh' but the amazing and unique scenarios and environments were fantastic and engaging. Also, the humor was the kind of awesome nonsense i would expect in more games. The devs weren't afraid to go overboard on dick jokes, andI truly enjoyed this game and quite honestly do not understand the bad reviews. The gameplay was solid and fresh and felt like a new experience. The story was a bit 'meh' but the amazing and unique scenarios and environments were fantastic and engaging. Also, the humor was the kind of awesome nonsense i would expect in more games. The devs weren't afraid to go overboard on dick jokes, and i respect them for that. It felt more realistic that way, knowing i would probably say the same thing in that scenario. Overall, the game was enjoyable and looking back at all the fun parts of the game i realize this game deserves an excellent rating. Expand
  39. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    awesome game,best free your mind and shoot game ever,good graphics,great characters and incredible sound,my opinion best game so far by unreal engine3
  40. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Echt ein hammer Spiel , sehr witzig gemacht ! ^^
  41. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    The most fun is finding interesting ways to kill your enemy with the energy leash. Not much brainpower is needed for this game, and I mean it in a good way. You play it simply because you want to kill everything you see. It is worth playing.
  42. Sep 4, 2013
    0
    bulletstorm is a great and unique game. the game is just fun and it doesnt take itself to seriously. the graphics are pretty good, especially the backrounds. the game also uses colors pretty good. the killshot system and the items you get (like the leash and the guns) are really good and useful. the story is ok, and it serves mainly to forward the action. the characters are a bit boringbulletstorm is a great and unique game. the game is just fun and it doesnt take itself to seriously. the graphics are pretty good, especially the backrounds. the game also uses colors pretty good. the killshot system and the items you get (like the leash and the guns) are really good and useful. the story is ok, and it serves mainly to forward the action. the characters are a bit boring though. the game does have some problems. the game is buggy! i found a lot of glitches and bugs. while they didnt break the experience, theyre still there and theyre annoying. the game also has a lot of invisible walls.
    overall a great game!!! if you want a different kind of shooter you should definetly check this out!!! buy it!!!
    Expand
  43. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    This game is good and very fun. Kill with the skill to win=) I did also like graphics and plot. Unreal Engine 3 may be old but the game looks good even in 2013. This game is short- but i cannot decide if it's for bad or for good. I guess it's better this way otherwise it could became long and boring
  44. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    How did I not hear about this before now?! Bulletstorm is the greatest game of all time. It's a classic shooter in the Doom/Serious Sam tradition, featuring incredibly fun gunplay, great weapons, an awesome combo system, gorgeous environments, and hilarious dialog. Go buy this game right now!
  45. Aug 14, 2014
    9
    This is a rude crude shooting game. The weapons are unique and the gameplay is just crazy fun. The whip ability adds a lot of gameplay elements and they have tons of ways to kill your enemies. It just feels so satisfying to hit a guy with bola grenades and kick him into a group of his friends before detonating them.
  46. Jul 6, 2016
    8
    Gameplay : 8
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 7
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 8
  47. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    I am having some bombastic ceinamatic fun at the moment with Bulletstorm. The game has no depth but that's the point. And they have so much fun with it. And to add insult to injury for everyone who takes shooters too seriously, this is probably the most competent shooting I ever experienced. It sure beats borderlands 2, bioshock 1, Crysis 2 and Metro 2033, Rage. I still find Half Life's 2I am having some bombastic ceinamatic fun at the moment with Bulletstorm. The game has no depth but that's the point. And they have so much fun with it. And to add insult to injury for everyone who takes shooters too seriously, this is probably the most competent shooting I ever experienced. It sure beats borderlands 2, bioshock 1, Crysis 2 and Metro 2033, Rage. I still find Half Life's 2 shooting phenominal though, tight and responsive and I really enjoy the shooting of Bioshock 2 and Infinite (which is very similar from one another) so lets say its on par for the shooting aspect as it is with the Darkness 2 which it shares a lot with. Its creative and colourful too and bombastic, just the way I like it. I really liked doing combos in Bioshock Infinite, Madworld and Darkness 2, so what I am given here is perfect. I also like how there are different approaches to enemy types. My favourite weapon is the shotgun and the grenade chain, I like how they offer great combos, which is something the sniper rifle doesnt have (though this is a great sniper rifle too). I like how the game works beyond the mechanics of a shooter. Ammo and upgrades are determined by your skill. You can go through the game with your assault rifle, but being creative offers even more opportunities to be creative and helps you not run out of ammo either. I love how the game had a simple plan in mind and executed it with such style. I do find it far too linear to the point where it feels like an on rails shooter at times (which it actually becomes a few times through the game), but that just makes me appreciate other games which others might beleive to be too linear like the Bioshock and Dead Space games.

    And oddly enough, another shooter this reminds me of, for art style and pace is Spec Ops the Line (although the Darkness 2 is its closest gameplay cousin). Yeah, bet you didnt see that coming. They are actually very very similar in the way the story and goals function. Its a ravaged city that was once vibrant and the bright colours of the interiors contrast with the yellow sand and ruins. Your goal is to get to a military figure and you have to brav through the hoards to get there. It feels direct and purposeful which is great because the whole point of the game was to make fun of some of these aspects of other games and it came before Spec Ops! (both also have a helicopter turret section although one has a dinosaur in that scene as well).
    Expand
  48. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    wow what a game so much to love. The look of the game is beautiful. the gameplay addictive between a variety of weapons, entertaining characters with witty dialogue and a range of ways to kill the many enemies you encounter on the hostile planet with some tough end of level bosses the plant boss being the hardest in my opinion. yes the setting up of a windows live account is annoying butwow what a game so much to love. The look of the game is beautiful. the gameplay addictive between a variety of weapons, entertaining characters with witty dialogue and a range of ways to kill the many enemies you encounter on the hostile planet with some tough end of level bosses the plant boss being the hardest in my opinion. yes the setting up of a windows live account is annoying but does not detract from the appeal of the actual game. this game cost me £7.50 and worth every penny for my pc. Steam last I saw have a demo of the game for free so you can see for yourself what you are getting before you pay anything for it so you can make up your own mind about if it is worth spending money on this game. Now I just wondering what game to play next? Expand
  49. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    This game is f***ing FUN! (with a big F). You control a kind of space marine betrayed by his boss who will try to escape from a dangerous planet. The plot is simple ok but the gameplay remain energic, violent and FUN!
    You can do some Combo with many weapons (included a whip) and it's what we should expect from this enjoyable game.
    Howerver, the game doesn't last long: only 6-8hours. And
    This game is f***ing FUN! (with a big F). You control a kind of space marine betrayed by his boss who will try to escape from a dangerous planet. The plot is simple ok but the gameplay remain energic, violent and FUN!
    You can do some Combo with many weapons (included a whip) and it's what we should expect from this enjoyable game.
    Howerver, the game doesn't last long: only 6-8hours. And the multiplayer is just a kind of coop (like during the campain)
    But the replayability is high and bulletstorm is now not expensive at all!
    So if you like this kind of game: a real stress relief ---> BUY IT :p
    Expand
  50. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    It's just perfect. Visuals are booming and fun, tie that in with stellar controls and unique gameplay and you have a hit. Too bad sales were only mediocre, so a second Bulletstorm might never come.
  51. Jun 22, 2016
    9
    2/25/2011: This game is what happens when you take a foul-mouthed child, an angry, drunken biker and a gun nut and have them write an action movie. It's a laugh and a half. Unique combat, awesome voice acting and dialogue, a cheesy-good story, those big crazy Unreal guns we know and love, and awesome co-op. It's unlike any FPS I've ever played, and that's really saying something. The music2/25/2011: This game is what happens when you take a foul-mouthed child, an angry, drunken biker and a gun nut and have them write an action movie. It's a laugh and a half. Unique combat, awesome voice acting and dialogue, a cheesy-good story, those big crazy Unreal guns we know and love, and awesome co-op. It's unlike any FPS I've ever played, and that's really saying something. The music was okay too, but it was often drowned out by all the gunfire and cursing. The downside is the price. Still, it's the best $60 I've ever spent. If it ever drops in price it will become the ultimate shooter. It doesn't even need competitive multiplayer, because what it has is so dang awesome. If you've got the money, then bite into "Captain Curseword's Big F***ing Adventure." Expand
  52. Mar 2, 2011
    8
    It has a console port feeling all over it, and while you are playing a badass mercenary you cant even jump off a 2 feet ledge.
    The graphics are great it realy shows what the Unreal engine can do and its unreal :P but the levels still feel very repetitive and while its fun to open a door by kicking it after 2 or 3 times it gets old just like the whip while its fun for the first few times it
    It has a console port feeling all over it, and while you are playing a badass mercenary you cant even jump off a 2 feet ledge.
    The graphics are great it realy shows what the Unreal engine can do and its unreal :P but the levels still feel very repetitive and while its fun to open a door by kicking it after 2 or 3 times it gets old just like the whip while its fun for the first few times it gets old realy fast.
    i bought it in the store for 35euro but if i had to do it over again i would have rented it as the replay value is near to 0.
    giving it a 7 overall but its fairly good score is because of the great visuals not because of the gameplay

    9 for the visuals and a 5 for gameplay

    btw all the reviewers giving it a 9 or 10 you guys must got paid to give that grade go eat ****
    Expand
  53. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    Full of action, novelty and fun plus its far longer than most of the FPS games in recent years - a Ripper and I dont even like the Unreal Engine - Strongly recommended if you want a good time and a laugh too!
  54. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Hello Friend, If you want to buy this game and the game like this one cheaply, there is a new trustable original game key web site, and recommend it to your friends. you can just visit it and see the prices ; just write "thebestcdkey" at google I recommend this page everyone.
    Hope it will help you. Thank youâ
  55. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    If you not a cold fish you will be enjoy it . It's so many ways to kill enemies and is it bloody fun . But if you are normally player you finish game after eight hours and you don't return back to play it agin . I know there are echoes and multiplayer ,but echoes are practically same as campaign and multiplayer is boring .
  56. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    Very good game, fast paced, great environmental scenes/effects (some of the best I've seen--grinder wheel anybody?). The combination system when you're fighting is pretty entertaining, especially when you get mass points for booting someone off a massive cliff, or leashing someone into a giant spike impaling them.
  57. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Game's just crazy! If you have even a bit of imagination, can entertain yourself - it's for you. First time for a few years I don't feel the game is using UE3 - I mean engine doesn't annoy me. Locations are various - for a 2-3 CoD's, at least. Yes, everything isn't too technological, but it's BEAUTIFUL. A lot of fun - I mean, besides dismembering enemies - a lot our good jokes, just inGame's just crazy! If you have even a bit of imagination, can entertain yourself - it's for you. First time for a few years I don't feel the game is using UE3 - I mean engine doesn't annoy me. Locations are various - for a 2-3 CoD's, at least. Yes, everything isn't too technological, but it's BEAUTIFUL. A lot of fun - I mean, besides dismembering enemies - a lot our good jokes, just in Duke style. Well, after Bulletstorm I don't care about what will happen with DNF. P.S. For me this game has only lack in music (music is good, but it became boring with time - like in DMC 4). Ah, yes GFWL. 'nuff said.
    Nothing more to tell, yeah
    Expand
  58. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    Please consider that I did play multiplayer a bit but not too long. I don`t go online when playing FPS games mostly.

    As for everything else. Gameplay is quite addicting. I don`t have a problem with going throught the campaign once again. The humor is very good, a little too much swearing perhaps, but I still smiled alot. Gives the game a very specific taste. The weapons are quite nice -
    Please consider that I did play multiplayer a bit but not too long. I don`t go online when playing FPS games mostly.

    As for everything else.
    Gameplay is quite addicting. I don`t have a problem with going throught the campaign once again. The humor is very good, a little too much swearing perhaps, but I still smiled alot. Gives the game a very specific taste. The weapons are quite nice - the player has just about every standard variation of a weapon from any other shooter. People Can Fly is just the group that excels in making original weapons and they didn`t do any worse in Bulletstorm. Dispatching enemies might be done in many many ways and is very entertaining. It`s worth noting that the first hour of singleplayer is a bit dull because one has only just about the standard assault rifle, but it gets interesting rather quickly. The game might feel repetitive at times though I don`t think the level of repetitivness ever gets any close to what Call of Duty games present. Also here we have many different enemy types, along with a big number of mini-bosses which is a very good thing. The big bosses pose a real challenge and take quite long to defeat. Overall the campaign feels Gears of Warish, FPP style and that also is a good thing. The maximum difficulty setting makes the game quite hard actually, something to be , again, considered in favor of the game. The graphics are very good, with few very beatiful sightseeing levels. The pace is fast and there is ever and moment of boredom.

    I say get it. It is always the best if someone risks low sales and actually pushes out something orgininal and quite unique in its own form. For that I give Bulletstorm a 9 instead of 8.
    Expand
  59. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    Nice game overall if you dont want to use your brain a lot. Some splatter scenes, some cool fighting stuff.
    Macho men with manly voices.
    Good graphics, nice sound.
  60. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    Really nice game but does not worth its 60â
  61. Dec 23, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game so0o much...
    This game has something special and unique...
    When I play this game, I can feel that I'm alive...
    And I love be a BAD-ASS, It's feel really good..... :D 3:) :)
    Expand
  62. Jul 24, 2016
    7
    Price paid: £3.74
    Time to finish: 6 hours 6 minutes
    Score: 7/10 Recommended?: Yes, when on sale A pretty damn good game but a sub par PC port. It takes a good 30 minutes of tinkering with custom DLLs, decrypters and config tweaks before it feels playable but once you've done all the sodding about there's an enjoyable game to be played. It starts off pretty slowly and honestly I
    Price paid: £3.74
    Time to finish: 6 hours 6 minutes
    Score: 7/10
    Recommended?: Yes, when on sale

    A pretty damn good game but a sub par PC port. It takes a good 30 minutes of tinkering with custom DLLs, decrypters and config tweaks before it feels playable but once you've done all the sodding about there's an enjoyable game to be played.

    It starts off pretty slowly and honestly I wasn't enjoying it that much in the beginning, but it really does get better and better as it goes on and by the end I had fallen somewhat in love with it, in big part due to the characters which were just fantastic, all voiced very well with some brilliant and frankly offensive dialog that I just loved, it's not often you get a game filled with such language that actually pulls it off well instead of just being cringey. All the main characters really felt alive and it really helped push the story along, you didn't just feel like you were mowing down enemies for no reason, you knew their motivation and you wanted to help them get the job done.

    The combat itself was solid, sure the enemies were a bit bullet spongy but the weapons were all enjoyable to use and the enemies had decent variety. There were so many unique and fun ways to kill that it never got boring.

    Overall I'm shocked how much I enjoyed it by the end as it started off really average IMO but it just kept on improving and the ending was well done. If it had been a better port I would have given it an 8/10, but they really did do the bare minimum. I highly recommend picking it up in the next sale, add it to isthereanydeal right now!
    Expand
  63. May 9, 2015
    6
    I am totally disappointed with this game. I was expecting something else altogether at a better story, more interesting. Play a little messes .
  64. Feb 1, 2015
    8
    OOOhhh man . Its really a shooter of pure fun . if you think of a shooter in which you have to take cover ten fire then again take cover then repeat .! well Bulletstorm is not that shooter . Its just for fun . no cover for anyone . the skill shots are the most fun part of this game . And you can also use your legs to kick your enemies a$$es . With some big guns , the leash and some otherOOOhhh man . Its really a shooter of pure fun . if you think of a shooter in which you have to take cover ten fire then again take cover then repeat .! well Bulletstorm is not that shooter . Its just for fun . no cover for anyone . the skill shots are the most fun part of this game . And you can also use your legs to kick your enemies a$$es . With some big guns , the leash and some other fun stuffs this game is f***ing fun . Expand
  65. Sep 4, 2015
    8
    this game is so cool shooter. and has unique game play. ex) sniping mode and leash. but, always shooting is a little boring. and there is no impression in storyline
  66. Oct 22, 2014
    6
    One word to describe this game? Fun. It's not going to be a contender for GOTY any time soon, but give it a chance. One of the most outrageous games out there
  67. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    I played this for exactly 0 minutes. So far im very exciting, I didn't make it to the main menu because of **** windows live registration, and the fact that I didn't have a hotmail kind of ruined my chances as well. I have also only lost control of 3 E-mails during this registration and on the rest of my E-mails I'm subscribed to **** magazines sending me sad stories about lonely andI played this for exactly 0 minutes. So far im very exciting, I didn't make it to the main menu because of **** windows live registration, and the fact that I didn't have a hotmail kind of ruined my chances as well. I have also only lost control of 3 E-mails during this registration and on the rest of my E-mails I'm subscribed to **** magazines sending me sad stories about lonely and pregnant women. Well worth 4 euros. 10/10.

    P.S. Dont buy games from 2011
    Expand
  68. Aug 5, 2015
    10
    Bulletstorm in solidly in my top 10 favorite games of all time. While it may have a cliche story, and not much character development at the begining, over the couse of the game, you realize how deep the characters are. There are amazing visuals, and some of the best gameplay ever. Bulletstorm was also the first blind playthrough I did for youtube.
  69. Aug 17, 2015
    10
    One of the best FPS shooter ever. Great single-player campaign and cool multi-player.
    Funny dialogues between the characters and am very much fun is guaranteed.
  70. Dec 14, 2015
    9
    A very fun light hearted FPS. Not one of those serious military shooters so common nowadays but one in the vein of Serious Sam or Painkiller. Well worth your time.
  71. May 1, 2016
    8
    I have been playing with this for a while, yes, it may seem and feel repetitive -- but that doesn't make it any less fun. Bulletstorm is a completely satisfying run-and-gun first person shooter with unique game play elements. If you are highly appreciative of creative and fun games just like this one, you'll find yourself giggling every once in a while.
  72. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    Okay, let's get the Games for Windows Live (GFWL) thing out of the way. When I started the game, I was asked to login to GFWL (I already have a profile I have used for other games). I logged in, and GFWL downloaded an update that required me to restart the game. Restarted, and was able to login and play without issue.

    On to the review: Bulletstorm is a superb shooter, with some unique
    Okay, let's get the Games for Windows Live (GFWL) thing out of the way. When I started the game, I was asked to login to GFWL (I already have a profile I have used for other games). I logged in, and GFWL downloaded an update that required me to restart the game. Restarted, and was able to login and play without issue.

    On to the review:
    Bulletstorm is a superb shooter, with some unique mechanics, SUPER colorful environments and great weapons. I would even say that it is worth the asking price, except the multiplayer is barely populated, making the single-player campaign the primary draw.
    Installed size on hard drive: 7 GB

    + The kick and slide mechanics are first rate, and easy to execute. You'll be sliding around in no time.
    + The "leash" mechanic is also fun, though Red Faction Armageddon does the same thing better and with more variety
    + The assortment of weapons is great, each requiring different methods to execute kills. My favorite was the homing sniper rifle; fire a shot, and you control the bullet with the mouse, guiding it around cover to kill enemies!
    + The level design is good if linear. Don't be expecting alternate routes to go anywhere - there aren't any - but the path twists and turns enough so that directionality becomes confused.
    + Though there are plenty of check-points, the game can be very hard if you want it to be.
    + Plenty of variety in the enemies you fight, with lots of mini-bosses even on Normal difficulty.
    + The graphics are COLORFUL. The opening levels happen aboard a ship, and feel confined, but once you get out into the countryside and city, the vibrant color will hit you in the face. Detail and design of the graphics is great too. Some of the enviroments reminded me of a sun-lit Bioshock.
    + Bulletstorm is easy on system resources, making this game playable on a lot of machines. I never saw more than 500MB of video memory used; most of the time it hovered around 250-375MB
    + People probably don't buy shooters for the voice-acting, but it is very good, especially the always-excellent Jennifer Hale.
    + The single-player story embraces an entire genre of B-movie action stereotypes. Everyone fully commits, and the game succeeds well at it.

    - Few people in multiplayer. Get some friends together, and I'm told it will still work. But don't purchase Bulletstorm thinking you'll be able to join random online matches. I wasn't able to find any.
    - With the multiplayer a dead end, the single-player campaign needs to carry the game's appeal. And it is very appealing, but it is too short. My first play-through clocked in at 8.9 hours. Replayability appeal relies on upping the difficulty and "restricting" yourself to specific weapons.
    - No manual save system. The entire game is saved via checkpoints.
    - The final boss is a series of QuickTime events. There are several non-QTE bosses in the game; I guess this is just how the developers wanted the game to end.

    Not everyone has the GFWL issue; I suppose I was one of the lucky ones. Quick, slick, and deft, I highly recommend Bulletstorm.
    Expand
  73. Aug 18, 2016
    9
    one of the most badass games of 2010s. would recommend that anyone who plays fps's should chek this one out, heck of a fun game overall and thinking of playing it again for the second time! even after 5 years of its initial release
  74. Oct 14, 2016
    9
    НОРМАЛЬНАЯ МЯСНАЯ ИГРА В ДУХЕ SERIOUS SAM 1-2-3, DOOM 1-2-3-4, PAINKILLER

    ===========================================================

    GOOD GAME LIKE SERIOUS SAM 1-2-3, DOOM 1-2-3-4, PAINKILLER
  75. Nov 8, 2016
    7
    Прикольный ненапряжный шутерок на 8 часов. Приятная графика, дебиловатые, но забавные персонажи и, самое главное, очень веселый геймплей. В отличие от унылого тирообразного макса пэйна 3 (последний шутер, что я играл) тут есть чем заняться, кроме как расстреливать уточек в тире. Устраивать скилшоты очень весело и т.к. игра довольно лёгкая, то можно почти безнаказанно носится по уровню сПрикольный ненапряжный шутерок на 8 часов. Приятная графика, дебиловатые, но забавные персонажи и, самое главное, очень веселый геймплей. В отличие от унылого тирообразного макса пэйна 3 (последний шутер, что я играл) тут есть чем заняться, кроме как расстреливать уточек в тире. Устраивать скилшоты очень весело и т.к. игра довольно лёгкая, то можно почти безнаказанно носится по уровню с бешенной скоростью скидывая вражин на кактусы или насаживая на арматуру, делая подсечки в беге и снося половину туловища выстрелом из шотгана (скилшот называется "Topless" - лол :)) или выстрелить из флэйлгана во врага и кикнуть его в гущу к товарищам, после чего активировать прилипшую к нему бомбу. Весь этот хаос очень доставляет. Чего не хватает - это битв с боссами, оружейных апгрейдов, холодного оружия, лута, сюжета и хорошего юмора (хотя бы на уровне борды2). Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Bulletstorm is perfectly designed to appeal to the 14 year old boys who can't buy it because it's rated MA15+. [May 2011, p.64]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 6, 2011
    70
    While not a game that would alter the flow of history, Bulletstorm proved to be very pleasant and an extremely aberrant surprise not lacking the ability of self-irony. [Mar 2011]
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    77
    If you are looking for a simple and entertaining shooter, that's not a Call of Duty clone, which offers lots of humour and a great story, Bulletstorm could be for you.