User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 581 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 581

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    I played the game for an hour and a half, and besides the graphics NOTHING amused me. "Bulletstorm" is a slash-and-shoot game; it entices you to violence and blood stronger than any other games, offering points for your "creative" kills. Oh, do you also know what it offers? A linear story with 500 cuss words, terrible campaign with groggy controls, and a multiplayer that doesn't really offer anything new. I'd suggest playing something alse than this. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    What a great game this is. First person shooter but also a melee beat-em-up. Fantastic fun combos, superb graphics and as to the plot and characterization.. Well, it's like playing a John Carpenter movie from back when he was in his prime.
  3. Apr 14, 2012
    7
    A good game suffers from a bad port job. The first thing about this game that guided me down the road to realizing it was a bad port was the necessity of signing into Games for Windows LIVE to play it. This isn't 2005, nobody uses that anymore. Use Steam. Secondly, and this was big for me, sniping is broke. You can't "free snipe" as you have to lock on to someone (the person you want to snipe) if you want to fire. And i found out that sometimes it doesnt lock on to anyone, especially on the later levels. Third, the story, though a decent length, still isn't something to marvel over and could have been longer. Multiplayer is boring and not worth your time. And on a side note, don't blame pirates for your game not selling well. Blame the **** job you did porting it over to PC. Now go sit in a corner and go think about what you've done. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2012
    7
    A linear, vulgar take on the FPS game, Bulletstorm isn't going to win any awards for originality but it's fast-paced and fun, the best kind of mindless shooter really. I recommend the game to others purely so you can hear Jen Hale (Mass Effect's Femshep) shout "Go **** yourself! You **** piles give chase, I will kill your dicks!".
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    I don't like shooters, at all, and that's mainly because this generation made them have the exact same things (run in corridor->take cover->shoot->repeat), and basically ruined old shooters where there was actual exploration and puzzles. Of course there are exception and Bulletstorn, strangely, isn't an exception and actually overuses the same formula...but they made it good. I heard tons of things of this game and eventually I got it on discount, and I don't really regret but I didn't feel extremely excited either. Anyway, what really works in this game, are the dialogues which are very funny and extremely over the top and actually never seem out of place: it looked like I was watching one action flick with tons of jokes and tons of gore...which means that the plot, even though it has its moments, it's nothing spectacular and unfortunely it revolves in one single mission. Nothing horrible but there was potential for more stuff to happen. Second thing that it's good aren't exactly the shooting, but how shooting is rewarded: you basically get points from how you kill enemies and the stylish the kill, the more points you get. All this is also encouraged by the addition of the hook which basically makes you lure enemies to you or either activate or destroy particular things in order to get more points and kills. Only bad thing here is that it's extremely repetitive but there's always variety on how you can kill enemies and how you can make more points (and there are also challenges that are meant for the completionists). Weapons also are good although they aren't many, but they are varied and they luckily don't feel the same...but unfortunely they haven't got a lot of ammunition (even when powered up), and so you won't be using the same weapon often. The levels aren't many but they are well detailed and the moments are varied enough to keep you going, with also the plot getting more details, but here comes the biggest flaw of the game: the longevity. There are about 8 chapters (including the prologue) and they don't last very long (i think the longest level took an hour at max). I finished the game in about 7-8 hours and on top of that the levels are extremely linear, with also poor interaction with the enviroment (you can sometimes interact by using your hook or killing your enemies...but you can't even jump on your own and not even fall down cliffs, just to say). There's also a multiplayer mode which has a nice idea and lets you play in a group that has to make points by killing the enemies with skillshots and the group wins if they reach the required amount of points: it's actually challenging but it's not properly well made and I haven't seen many players in this mode, meaning that it's not the core of the game and hardly anyone plays it properly. A great shooting game that is ruined by the poor longevity and the huge lack of multiplayer: it's nothing fresh but focuses mainly on entertaining the player and having them rewarded by using the enviroment and the right shooting skills. It's definitly worth a try though, especially if you find it on discount or if you're tired of the "ultra realistic military shooting gallery" that nowadays are so common and, even if it doesn't last long, it's gonna be 8 hours of gore, swear words, black humour and lots and lots of bullets! Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    Awesome single player - if too SHORT!.. (finished in 10 hours on leisure play). Very dissapointed because this game REQUIRES Windows Games LIVE to play... One more negative comment - designed for a platform! So take it as that - a platform shooter... If only a little more time would be spent and dedicated to us - the gamers - this game would surely be a HIT!
  7. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    On paper it sound fantastic, mature comedy, shooting and kick ass with silly gadgets, being able to whip and throw folk around into objects for special kills, remote control godzillas. The cold reality is sadly a near hit with quite a lot of downers... the graphics go from average to amazing but quite often texturing is poor (console port again) and the much hyped bizarre deaths are overused so frequently that it just gets old real fast, and quickly becomes too easy to rely on the whipping of enemies than shooting them. Expand
  8. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    Bulletstorm is an over the top brainless first person shooter. If that is not your thing looks elsewhere. I really enjoyed my time with this game. There are some really cool environments in this game and the visuals are for the most part really pleasant to look at. The story and character interactions are surprisingly alright even though they hardly will win any awards. The campaign should take you around ten hours to beat depending on the difficulty. And the ten hours are actually quite varied with a lot of really cool moments even though the mindless shooting have a habit of getting a tiny bit repetitive at the end. The shooting is however quite good and the action feels quite satisfying although i would like to have seen more enemy-types, more bosses and more weapons in the game. The upgrade system could also be fleshed out more. Another thing i should mention is that the game is not only linear but also very much static. The inability to jump for instance will probably piss a lot of people of. Bulletstorm is by no means perfect but its a really competent mindless first person shooter and i do recommend fans of the genre to check this game out. I certainly had a lot of fun with it. Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Whip an enemy, send him flying into the air, just to get pierced by razor sharp spikes. BONUSPOINTS! Pull an enemy towards you, then kick him into the mouth of a flesh eating plant. BONUSPOINTS! Rip a fat guy' pants off and fire a charged shot at his furry little a**hole. BONUSPOINTS! Where other shooters thrive to be emotional and storydriven, and yet they fail, "Bulletstorm" wants to be an epic amount of fun and highly succeeds. One of my all time favorites. (Suck it, Decateron.) Expand
  10. May 22, 2013
    8
    This is simply a fun game which in no way takes itself seriously. It has crass humor, but for this game it really works. Its similar to Borderlands but lacks the sophistication of character development that is there in Borderlands. I find it challenging yet fun with a decent story and most of all a lot of creative mayhem to be had!

    The sound and and graphics are great and the
    ability to steer your sniper bullets adds some variety to long shots! Its not a great game, its simply a fun game and well worth the $5 I spent when Origin had it on sale. Expand
  11. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    Please consider that I did play multiplayer a bit but not too long. I don`t go online when playing FPS games mostly.

    As for everything else.
    Gameplay is quite addicting. I don`t have a problem with going throught the campaign once again. The humor is very good, a little too much swearing perhaps, but I still smiled alot. Gives the game a very specific taste. The weapons are quite nice -
    the player has just about every standard variation of a weapon from any other shooter. People Can Fly is just the group that excels in making original weapons and they didn`t do any worse in Bulletstorm. Dispatching enemies might be done in many many ways and is very entertaining. It`s worth noting that the first hour of singleplayer is a bit dull because one has only just about the standard assault rifle, but it gets interesting rather quickly. The game might feel repetitive at times though I don`t think the level of repetitivness ever gets any close to what Call of Duty games present. Also here we have many different enemy types, along with a big number of mini-bosses which is a very good thing. The big bosses pose a real challenge and take quite long to defeat. Overall the campaign feels Gears of Warish, FPP style and that also is a good thing. The maximum difficulty setting makes the game quite hard actually, something to be , again, considered in favor of the game. The graphics are very good, with few very beatiful sightseeing levels. The pace is fast and there is ever and moment of boredom.

    I say get it. It is always the best if someone risks low sales and actually pushes out something orgininal and quite unique in its own form. For that I give Bulletstorm a 9 instead of 8.
    Expand
  12. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Stop using the unreal engine. Its an outdated piece of crap. It was outdated the moment Cryengine was created, and why people keep using it I will never know.
  13. May 22, 2011
    10
    If there was a category of a most FUN game this would be a total winner of all times! In may not be a perfect game as a product (no co-op campaign or advanced multi). It may not be a perfect shooter in comparison with others (CoD, Battlefield). BUT it gave me a loads and loads of FUN to shoot, kill, and make fun of everybody and everything! :D
    It may be buggy, may not have the best dialogs
    BUT it's FUN to hear some sarcastic swearing! :)
    It may not have the level design of CoD or Portal 2 but... it's FUN to throw an enemy to a cactus! :D
    Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    A very solid FPS with beautiful visuals. The whole skill system is very cool, and the weapons allow for some great action. It was a very enjoyable experience, but the game's too short with too little to do. It's the type of game I enjoy a lot but 8 hours later when it's over, I never touch it again, despite it being quite good. So in this regard, it doesn't stand out, but it's totally worth playing as a rental or $10-$20 purchase. 7.5 score rounded to 8. Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Bulletstorm is very fun to play. Kill with Skill, why nobody had done this before? Although pretty blunt and really fun, this is the true successor of the late Duke Nukem. As weapons are quite different and as you choose from a selection at start-up, the game has a good replay value so you can start by choosing different weapons such as for instance the head trap of the Saw movie (and make it explode). Or take fireworks to see the guys fly and explode into beautiful sparks. Each impact on the enemy is managed as well so you can shoot any parts of the body and have a different reactions (and various bonuses). The game is not too repetitive either in terms of worlds and different enemies, and there's a background story to discover. In short, a game very cool game to let loose! Expand
  16. Sep 4, 2013
    8
    bulletstorm is a great and unique game. the game is just fun and it doesnt take itself to seriously. the graphics are pretty good, especially the backrounds. the game also uses colors pretty good. the killshot system and the items you get (like the leash and the guns) are really good and useful. the story is ok, and it serves mainly to forward the action. the characters are a bit boring though. the game does have some problems. the game is buggy! i found a lot of glitches and bugs. while they didnt break the experience, theyre still there and theyre annoying. the game also has a lot of invisible walls.
    overall a great game!!! if you want a different kind of shooter you should definetly check this out!!! buy it!!!
    Expand
  17. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    Bulletstorm is baked like a cake smothered with funny dialogue and blast your ass off gameplay, however they dropped the cake when they heard 'multi-player'. You'll easily remember this game for the funny dialogue and the gameplay, not much else. Bottom line, it's a great ride.. but it pulls in quick.
  18. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    I picked this game up for $5, and this review shall reflect that. If I'd spent $40 or more on this game, it would definitely be rated lower. That being said, I thought this game was alright. Most of the parts came across as just mediocre, though. Some of the parts should have been awesome (remote control in particular), but for some reason they came across as annoying. The shooting mechanics themselves were pretty fun, but some of the skillshots are insanely hard to pull off, and forcing yourself to memorize a formula and try it out on a handful of enemies until you get it right more or less takes you out of the "fast-paced and frantic" atmosphere this game tries to pull off. Add that to enemies that can take INSANE numbers of shots, and a field of view so narrow that you won't be able to see jack money squat to your side, and a great game turns merely good. The graphics are alright and the sound was well done, but holy CRAP is most of the voice acting bad. Ishi is completely and utterly devoid of emotion, even though he has tons of emotional lines, and Sarrano's dialogue sounds like it was written by an 11-year old that just learned about swear words. Even Trishka's acting is bad, for the 2 lines in the whole game that she expresses something other than annoyance. Hunt was well-acted, although I'm not surprised since the voice actor is an absolute pro, and is in EVERYTHING. The second half of this game feels like it drags on forever, which is horrible, since Bulletstorm is NOT a long game by anyone's definition. Games for Windows Live (which is required even through Steam) is an absolute turd, and should never ever ever ever be used in a game again EVER. Overall, it was a fun little distraction, and aside from a few infuriatingly annoying parts, I had fun with it. I'm certainly glad I paid $5 for it though. I'd be upset if I had paid more than $10, honestly. Expand
  19. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    What happens when you take familiar FPS elements and ideas and hit the 'ludicrous speed' button? You have a off-the-wall, full throttle, high octane, nitro infused blood bath! 'Bulletstorm' is just what the title implies and boy does it deliver. Tons of death, bullets, weapons, carnage and shload of expletives that would make Lenny Bruce and Red Fox blush. The visual are stunning with no performance issues. The sound is thunderous and well mixed. The story is engaging and entertaining. The voice-over acting is incredibly well-done. The weapon upgrades aren't over wrought with too little or too many options. The best thing for me was the Skillpoint system. The more creative a way you can kill an enemy the more points you get. I was laughing and cringing through the whole time. Better yet is the boot. Yes, the infamous boot melee. My god is it ever so much fun kicking someone off a cliff or into a mutated cactus. For all the whiners on here that didn't like this - you're phoney pansies that probably got put off by the colorful dialogue and gore. This ain't for the feint at heart. POW! Expand
  20. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    Overall an extremely entertaining game. It felt like Gears of War, if you had a special leash that can throw enemies across the map. The point scoring system was delightful, and the story was exciting. Can't wait to pick up the sequel.
  21. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Echt ein hammer Spiel , sehr witzig gemacht ! ^^
  22. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible graphics, incredible controls. and incredible gameplay. Works very well on high on my 4 year old machine. I really enjoyed the storyline...
  23. BMF
    Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Dont listen to the negitive reviews Bulletstorm is a very fun fast pace and funny game that I can see replaying many times online and off the only negitive I would say is a lack of 3D support right out the box but that is on the way.
  24. Apr 25, 2011
    3
    at first thought game was quite cool, a little different, shoddy graphics but I can live with that, then very very quickly it just becomes a repetitive borefest that requires very little skill to easily proceed through the dull, monotonous levels. All in all it is your typical no brainer console shooter, tries to be flashy, fails, will keep people entertained for a couple of weeks until the next overpriced, piss easy fad game comes out to make people spend another wad of cash to be mildly entertained for a week or so. Might be worth checking out if you see it for $5 somewhere. Expand
  25. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    The most fun is finding interesting ways to kill your enemy with the energy leash. Not much brainpower is needed for this game, and I mean it in a good way. You play it simply because you want to kill everything you see. It is worth playing.
  26. May 17, 2011
    10
    I 'd like to start off by saying that this game has something that many games are lacking these days, FUN. It brings a genuinely new and fresh vibe to the first person shooter,It feels great to control and has great graphics and art direction,many huge vistas to behold.Bulletstorm also has great setpieces,controlling a giant mechadinosaur is a great highlight.Coming from epic games and people can fly I wouldent expect any less,great job guys Expand
  27. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    Im about half way though Bulletstorm. I hate to say it, but this is one of the better games out there, even compared to 2013 releases. Pretty solid game all round, very few bugs glitches (but the occasional one). Good fun, fairly original game mechanics and fun gameplay, and a story that doesnt try to take itsself too seriously. The scenery is great, and the voice acting is decent. Definitely great value for money Expand
  28. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    This game is a blast! For the money (currently $20) it is absolutely worth a play-through. It's entertaining, not complicated, looks good, plays well. I like the setting and the characters, but didn't pay too much attention to the storyline. The action sequences are fast-paced, but if you like to take your time with shooters just lower the difficulty. The controls can be a little sketchy when you're in the menus and a Windows Live account is required, but I didn't find either of those to be a deal breaker. If you're looking for a fun shooter that you don't have to take seriously, look no further than Bulletstorm. Expand
  29. Feb 11, 2012
    1
    i want my money back now its not worth the 20 i paid for it if you want a good game play crysis not this **** ok its hella boring and is just awful never buy this game period
  30. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    I truly enjoyed this game and quite honestly do not understand the bad reviews. The gameplay was solid and fresh and felt like a new experience. The story was a bit 'meh' but the amazing and unique scenarios and environments were fantastic and engaging. Also, the humor was the kind of awesome nonsense i would expect in more games. The devs weren't afraid to go overboard on dick jokes, and i respect them for that. It felt more realistic that way, knowing i would probably say the same thing in that scenario. Overall, the game was enjoyable and looking back at all the fun parts of the game i realize this game deserves an excellent rating. Expand
  31. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    LOVE IT! Anyone saying this game sucks, has bad graphics or poor controls either doesn't play PC shooters, or has a really low grade computer. This game ROCKS! One of the favorites of all times. Single player is fun, and multiplayer Co-Op is even more fun! Blood, Gore, Fast paced action and skill combos not found in any other games. This game really forces you to get some skill and play cooperatively to advance to the next wave or enemies. Combos that must be done with at least 2 players to kill bad guys in certain gory and ruthless ways. If you are looking for a game to hop in and play for 10 minutes WATCH OUT! You will end up addicted and play for hours! Expand
  32. Mar 1, 2011
    4
    "A true successor to Painkiller"? Really? This game is not similar to Painkiller by any measure. Entirely different narrative structure, campaign and level design typology, repetitive enemies, rail-shooter-like gameplay, cover-based combat, no health-bar, no jump capability, 2-weapon carry limit & leash, quick-time events, achievement-based motivation... Could. Not. Be. Much. More. Different. Than. PAINKILLER. Disappointing as this spells the death of old-style frenzied shooters if this is what passes for 'innovation' with this genre. Expand
  33. Feb 25, 2011
    7
    Stepping into familiar gameplay territory and adding a few unique characteristics, Bulletstorm is a solid and enjoyable title but does not break any new ground. The biggest selling points for the game, being the "leash" and "kick" abilities are amusing but sadly not fun enough - or useful enough - to hold your interest throughout the duration of the game. These two features were initially touted to be crucial to gameplay, promising endless and creative kill combinations but sadly end up being for the most part mildy useful "utilities". Gameplay is your typical arcade-esque action shooter spliced with regular cut-scenes and well-scripted boss events, which are entertaining but not incredibly involving. Action is very comic-book oriented with exaggerated gore, massive ammo-clips and plenty of dismemberment all combined with a bus-load of profanity, corny catch-phrases and even momma jokes. The much hyped leash enables you to execute some interesting kills and awards you points (skillshots) for creatively slaying your enemies. There are many award kills you can obtain, but unfortunately sometimes I found they did not register. I particularly enjoyed running into a mob, pulling them one-by-one though the air towards me, removing their heads, then booting them off a precipe or impaling them onto a set of conveniently placed spikes. The moderate selection of guns are limited but fun to use - mowing down a group a punks with a minigun and watching them quickly turn to gibs and detached limbs is a guilty pleasure, and one you'll indulge in often. There is of course a gun sight but it aint really that useful - with most guns you can pretty much get the job done with the standard reticle and ignore the sights altogether. Level design is clever and thoughtful, but unfortunately completely linear and filled to the brim with invisible barriers. There were annoying instances where I got stuck on the edge of a 2 foot-high ramp and and couldn't drop to the floor - which as you would understand caused me to swallow a few loud curses of frustration. These sort of things become a problem when no jump button is available, only a keypress to leap over preset obstacles. Graphics are a definate strongpoint of Bulletstorm and the game regularly places beautiful vistas with massive draw distances in front of your eyes. You will notice the Unreal engine at work immediately, and while it's starting to show its age it still never fails to impress. Eyecandy is everywhere from huge river gorges, detailed alien cities, gloomy caves, dusty mines and flashy spacecraft interiors. Colors are vibrant and textures are sharp, along with fluid character animations and of course plenty of colourful blood to splash over it all. There is never a scenario where the game looks dull. It's a shame the "corridors" of linear gameplay are so restrictive.. it would have been nice to explore some of that scenery further. The multiplayer is a basic, but rather suitable affair consisting of two modes, 'Anarchy' and 'Echo'. Anarchy mode is similar Gears of War 2's Horde mode. You and three other players fight off increasingly difficult waves of enemies trying to get the highest 'skillshot'. Echo mode is a solitary affair. It lets you play through the single-player map of your choice trying to get the highest score possible. The scores are then posted on a leaderboard in which you can compare with all your friends. Multiplayer lacks options and depth but is still fun to play and meshes with this type of game nicely. In conclusion I think I expected too much from this game and can't help reflect my disappointment in this review. Its 9 or so hours of gameplay are still enjoyable but never provide you with a feeling of accomplishment or even inspiration to keep playing. The boss fights are always something to look forward to and the story meanders between interesting and cheesy, but I still enjoyed it enough to recommend it. If you need a break from your try-hard realistic shooters and are looking for something a little more colorful and offbeat, then Bulletstorm will undoubtedly be just for you. Just don't expect the game-changing experience it promised. Expand
  34. Mar 20, 2011
    0
    The PC version is full glitches and bugs. You have to edit encrypted .ini files just to play the game properly. It runs like crap at 16:10 resolutions. 16bit textures appear randomly, shadow effects are glitchy, FOV value is for consoles, FPS cap is retarded. To sum up, don't waste your money by buying this game on PC because it is nothing but a horrible port. I hope next time they hire at least ONE QA guy to at least test this game once before shipping. Because the vanilla PC version is just plain unplayable. I mean what were they thinking? Expand
  35. Jun 17, 2011
    3
    Fun game, fun take on the genera, interesting, unique, amazing, cool weapons. But, the talking is so gross, perverted, nasty, sick, stupid, pointless, thing in my life. They say so much crap that's discusting like "haha Cocksuckers!" in creepy voices. and "suck on it, ugh!!" and "AHAHAHA! Sushi Dick!" and "You shoulda f***** me when you had the chance" and all this freaking creepy stuff, and it's not only what they say but how they said it. I swear I wonder what the heck the actors who had to say this were thinking. Were like uhhh? I mean the language is so much and gross I can't even enjoy the game. The language they say doesn't even have anything to do with it! I mean they don't say "Damnit they're comin in from the sides!" instead they say something like "haha suck my dick you cocksucking sushi dick!" and it's like what the hell? seriously... They screwed the game up with the language Expand
  36. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This game took me by surprise.
    It ripped my face off, shoved it up my backside, kicked me in my balls, then said get up and fight.
    I absolutely love the raw action and genuinely funny dialogue in this game, a top title for anyone who like this gameplay style.
    10/10 well done EPIC.
  37. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Literally my favorite game of this generation. Don't let the "bro" attitude fool you. This is pure satire at its best. I'm really hoping they will revisit this so we get a Bulletstorm 2 someday. Pick it up!
  38. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    How did I not hear about this before now?! Bulletstorm is the greatest game of all time. It's a classic shooter in the Doom/Serious Sam tradition, featuring incredibly fun gunplay, great weapons, an awesome combo system, gorgeous environments, and hilarious dialog. Go buy this game right now!
  39. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    This game isnt about story, its about kicking ass. It was a hell alot of fun and alot of detail for my computer to handle, and i would recommend this to anyone
  40. May 28, 2011
    6
    First off, anyone complaining about Games for Windows live is roughly 1% of the population. The majority of GFWL users don't have issues, and those who do, it can easily be solved with google.

    Bulletstorm is a fps that takes place in a paradise...well, it used to be a paradise. Now it's overrun with thugs, bandits, and giant creatures ready to demolish you. The gameplay is fresh, yet very
    easy. You can simply grapple everything and kill them without hassle. Those you can't grapple, are still vulnerable to the lazer-thump ability.

    Bulletstorm has a very immature sense of humor, yet it's still pretty tolerable. I loved the dialogue. But it won't appeal to everyone.

    The main problem with Bulletstorm is that it acts like an arcade shooter. It has a point system, is incredibly linear, and has a multiplayer that plays just like single player. So what does all this mean? This game has no replayability. You will not want to beat it more than 1-3 times.

    Still, Bulletstorm is fun. Not worth $60-$50, more around $30-$40.
    Expand
  41. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best PC action games you'll play. A purists video game and a spirited rebirth for over the top shooters that will appeal to anyone who loves the genre. People Can Fly have brought flair and creativity to the UT heritage with a new pallet of ideas that are both fresh and hugely enjoyable. The controls are fantastic and best suited to PC. Special mention must go to the sniper rifle: which is one of the most brilliant ideas I've ever seen in a shooter this past decade. Don't let the juvenile tone of the demo put you off as it becomes much more acceptable during the campaign. The narrative thread is weak and it has no aspirations to be a narrative driven game. Instead it surges forward with ridiculous set pieces and satisfying, robust game play mechanics. An action extravaganza and a real treat. Expand
  42. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    It's more like an interactive video rather than a game! I don't say that this is a BAD game, no, because it's really fun and satisfying to kill enemies. But it's too simple, you must only do what the game tells you to do, there's no challenge.
    The multi-player isn't bad, it can be fun with friends. Maybe.
    Ah, and another thing. THE ENDING IS AWFUL. ONE OF THE WORST ENDINGS EVER MADE IN A GAME.
  43. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    Fairly entertaining shooter that goes outside of recent year's "mold" for FPSs. When I saw the trailer for this game I was genuinely exited. I thought, OMG someone gets it, this is going to be the Unreal/Quake revival era of FPSs. Everything seemed to indicate they were making a similar fast phased/total destruction/chaos frantic FPS with a Sci-Fi Space theme that doesn't take himself too seriously. Theoretically, that's what Bulletstorm "is" or tried to do. Unfortunately I have to say it did fall a bit short of the hyped up expectations, but you also have to consider that it had some big shoes to fill. I mean this game was marketed towards the old Quake/Unreal fans, the classic FPS players (like me) that were craving for a good fast phased chaotic FPS like old times. While Bulletstorm is definitely in that ballpark, doesn't live quiet to the standards set by the old timers. Too many cut scenes, that while fun, they end up breaking the continuity of the game. Again, something that old FPSs didn't have. The campaign is incredibly fun, the art and graphics are beautiful, SPECIALLY if played in 3D Vision. The controls and mechanics were as expected and I was quite pleased with them, very responsive, fast phased and with that old Unreal/Quake touch (in a way, not entirely). Conclusion: Bulletstorm definitely breaks the mold of today's FPSs and "tries" to take you back to the old glorious days of campaign centered, fast phased, chaotic FPSs. Definitely better than any of the current "junk FPSs" like CoD, MW, etc, etc that kids like today. BUT, unfortunately, it's not a revival of Quake or Unreal, which is what most of us expected, the idea is there tough, so good hopes for the future of this franchise. Overall the game is very fun and well worth the price tag at launch, let alone the lower prices it's going for today. Expand
  44. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    First of all, I will tell you that bought this game and I am satisfied with what it has to offer. When I begun playing it it seemed like a standard first person shooter, but later events in the game convinced me that this is indeed a bit different from the rest. The game play is borderline survival, kind of like left4dead, because hoards of enemy attack you and you have to kill them fast before they kill you, but you are free to use your reflexes to spot pieces of the environment and your own tactics and gun skills to kill them in gruesome ways. The are bombs, cactuses, throwing off cliffs, electrocution, headshots, sniping, bombing, dropping things on them, kicking them into plants ect ect ect. But you do this at such a fast pace that blood and pieces of enemy splatter everywhere. There are also different types of enemies, ones that charge, one's that carry assault rifles, ones that ride helicopters, and even one's that attempt to strap bombs on you and blow you up. Anyway, it's all very fast paced and fun.

    The one thing I like the most is that it is very runnable. I am playing it at 60fps with 8xaa on an aging quad core processor! I am glad that I do not have to upgrade anytime soon; and also a wireless xbox360 controller works like a charm, it even shows the buttons on screen and everything. The Storyline is linear...but like I said if you compare it to a game like l4d, which is also very linear, true, bu the sole purpose is to survive, same to some extent with this game, but made easier by upgrades as you go.
    Expand
  45. Vic
    Dec 8, 2011
    9
    Great game! It has tons of laughable moments and at the same time it's some kind of drama. The characters are so unique and special, and it's very entertaining to listen to them talking during the gameplay and off course all the jokes that they make! Great story, great gameplay, great graphics and great characters! Great game!!!
  46. Jul 7, 2012
    9
    I have to say this was a bargain for
  47. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    this is a really fun game to play if you've got some friends and are looking to jump into some satisfying violence for between 5 minutes and 4 hours. Combo moves are bloody and satisfying, but coordinating a team combo on a single victim is downright amazing, and the sheer number of special attacks (ranging from simple to absurd) will give you a lot to play with while locked in a box slaughtering faceless baddies.

    The single player is pretty decent, though it's short and doesn't exactly go out of its way to try and be original. Really this game should be weighed as a multiplayer game. Fun multiplayer experience, mediocre single player.
    Expand
  48. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    Great game! very original and creative. Nice variety of weapons and attacks. Loses 1 point for bad story and excessive swearing, and another one for bad quality pre-rendered cutscenes and horrible performance issues even on high-end machines. Overall, I'd love to play another game like this, and i'd definitely recommend this game to anyone who's bored of playing bad clones of call of duty like medal of honor Expand
  49. Feb 26, 2011
    3
    Bulletstorm is fun at first, unusual approach to killing, you have to use weapons in special manner to earn Skill Points, and so you slowly make your way through game, listening to countless alcohol-inspired lines. Well, it wouldn't be so bad if you had to use your guns in exactly specific way, for example, with Revolver you have to attempt one-shot kills, with shotgun you have to approach in exact vicinity or with the sniper rifle, each kill from which looks ENTIRELY same. Add to these graphic imperfections (you can see light-blue squares from time to time) and the storyline, which in particular doesn't worth much... If you decide to buy this game, don't expect much, this is just your average shooter. Expand
  50. May 21, 2011
    7
    Quite fun while it lasts but it does become rather repetitive and the whole skill shots are very poorly written into the story. The graphics engine is very old and outdated but they still used it very well though.
  51. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    I think Bulletstorm is a masterpiece that shines like a star through the insane catchy action which comes in a unique gaming mode: the "to kill with creativity" mode.: The more different manners are used the more skill points are earned for buying new weapons or for upgrading the yet claimed weapons. The game is pointed at the action it and on that point it's the best and most fun game to date. Bulletstorm is one of the few to let me replay the single player for more than 2 times (Played it 6 times by now and still wanting to play it.) The game just feels good, looks good and makes you have fun fun and more fun! Expand
  52. Feb 22, 2011
    1
    Very disappointing game! Repetitive weapons...lack of multiplayer variety...repetitive level design....old graphics engine (more and more evident if you use
  53. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    Every last bit of exquisite detail in the game might as well have been a poster, pure artwork on an invisible wall. The pathfinding is a direct one-way-to-the-end-of-the-level route in SP, with so many cutscenes and the headache-unducing camera wobble make the game a pure piece of trash. Even the cursing seemed as if it was either translated or curse words given to a 5year old to memorize and make a sentence with. Multiplayer has ZERO chat function via keyboard so unless you're telepathic, good luck getting people to understand what it means to wave your gun towards a target. Out of the box, it has NO startup screen forcing new players to download a completely new interface in order to verify your game and download 2 patches from dial-up servers on the MOON! It took a week of searching forums to find the way to completely install the game to play it. While PCF (People Can Fly) make great gore and gibs with slo-mo effects, that's pretty much where they're skill ends. An absolute waste of money. I really tried hard at getting my $60 worth, but with no way to talk to other players via the keyboard, and a slow acceptance of people that would consider using voice chat to talk to strangers, this was a serious disappointment. Expand
  54. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    It took me a year to finally get my hands on this beauty (bought on Steam for 5â
  55. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    I am having some bombastic ceinamatic fun at the moment with Bulletstorm. The game has no depth but that's the point. And they have so much fun with it. And to add insult to injury for everyone who takes shooters too seriously, this is probably the most competent shooting I ever experienced. It sure beats borderlands 2, bioshock 1, Crysis 2 and Metro 2033, Rage. I still find Half Life's 2 shooting phenominal though, tight and responsive and I really enjoy the shooting of Bioshock 2 and Infinite (which is very similar from one another) so lets say its on par for the shooting aspect as it is with the Darkness 2 which it shares a lot with. Its creative and colourful too and bombastic, just the way I like it. I really liked doing combos in Bioshock Infinite, Madworld and Darkness 2, so what I am given here is perfect. I also like how there are different approaches to enemy types. My favourite weapon is the shotgun and the grenade chain, I like how they offer great combos, which is something the sniper rifle doesnt have (though this is a great sniper rifle too). I like how the game works beyond the mechanics of a shooter. Ammo and upgrades are determined by your skill. You can go through the game with your assault rifle, but being creative offers even more opportunities to be creative and helps you not run out of ammo either. I love how the game had a simple plan in mind and executed it with such style. I do find it far too linear to the point where it feels like an on rails shooter at times (which it actually becomes a few times through the game), but that just makes me appreciate other games which others might beleive to be too linear like the Bioshock and Dead Space games.

    And oddly enough, another shooter this reminds me of, for art style and pace is Spec Ops the Line (although the Darkness 2 is its closest gameplay cousin). Yeah, bet you didnt see that coming. They are actually very very similar in the way the story and goals function. Its a ravaged city that was once vibrant and the bright colours of the interiors contrast with the yellow sand and ruins. Your goal is to get to a military figure and you have to brav through the hoards to get there. It feels direct and purposeful which is great because the whole point of the game was to make fun of some of these aspects of other games and it came before Spec Ops! (both also have a helicopter turret section although one has a dinosaur in that scene as well).
    Expand
  56. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Mechanics, interface, weapon variety and the score challenge / kill with skill element make this a definite buy for anyone who fancies themselves as a bit tasty on FPS's. For the more casual gamer, the joy they'll take from this will also be one to remember.

    If there's one thing I could add to the game? I'd steal autolog direct from NFSHP.

    Great overhaul of the FPS genre; this new IP
    will run and run. Expand
  57. Apr 9, 2011
    7
    A fresh breeze in the jungle of modern warfare shooters (not referring to the COD series in particular). A lighthearted game that doesn't take itself too seriously for the 14 year old in us who just wants to shoot aliens and blow things up. The unique concept of skillshot points and environmental interaction has its minor flaws (mainly that weapons are just overpowered thanks to the mouse controls) but overall is a very interesting and promising mechanic for future titles of the genre. Setting and art direction are brilliant, you can really immerse into the world around you although the gameplay itself is very linear. In my eyes the game's flow doesn't collide with the extensive use of cut scenes. Plus the various special stages (such as Waggleton P. Tallylicker and the grind wheel thing, not to give away any spoilers) keep the player pumped for more action. Sadly the singleplayer campaign is relatively short and the multiplayer is entirely composed of singleplayer stages in co-op mode or on the hunt for more points so the replay value inevitably suffers. Also the PC version suffers from a few minor bugs such as being locked to 16:9 and therefore black bars for any monitor resolution that isn't 16:9. Might not be worth full price to you if you have a relatively tight budget for gaming expenses but if I saw it on sale I wouldn't hesitate to grab a copy because for the time playing it absolutely and almost literally blows you away. Expand
  58. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    This game really is hard to judge to be honest. It has plenty of ups and downs but nitpicking at a game like this doesn't get you anywhere. You can enjoy it regardless.

    I'll start off by saying that the graphics are pretty awesome. The game looks pretty surreal at times. Seeing an entire city along with a sublime-looking sky with celestial bodies floating in the sky (like nearby planets)
    never gets old; and you usually get time to sit and stare at it all, regardless of how fast-paced and hectic this game is. You'll be trudging through a dark sewer then you finally come out of an opening to the outside world and are greeted with a refreshing, atmospheric vista.


    Anyway, on to gameplay. Bulletstorm is definitely a run-and-gun style game, but anyone who bought this game thinking otherwise should have researched it some more. It was blatantly obvious when they originally showed it at E3. The skillshot system is actually very fun to use, but I feel that it was too forced. The only way to play effectively is to kick bad guys in to environmental hazards or do fancier things like shoot an explosive flail on one bad guy and blow up a group of them with it. It's honestly very sloppy at times. You might fire a cannonball from the bouncer in to a huge crowd of enemies and end up inadvertently unlocking 3 new skill shots at once while racking up hundreds of skill points. The only way to enjoy this game is to acquire skill points then stop at one of the many drop pods that are littered throughout the levels to buy ammo and upgrade your guns. These menus are simple enough to navigate, but it really kills the pace at times. You can literally access a drop pod in the middle of a massive battle and it just pauses the game for you while you buy a bunch of ammo and charge shots. In my opinion, this tends to break the continuity of the game. This game smells of console port, but I honestly stopped caring about that ages ago since it's so common. The only thing I dislike is how you're limited to carrying 3 weapons at once, and the assault rifle (which is useless) can't be exchanged for a different weapon. Trying to kill a guy with conventional bullets in this game is about as effective as shooting someone with raisins, it just doesn't kill them. The charge shot on the rifle is good, but it's boring. It's just a perfectly-accurate, disintegrating round that kills any normal enemy in one hit. You have to stop by a drop pod if you want to exchange weapons, unless a special enemy drops the one you want (which isn't too often).

    The skillshot database is also a bit annoying because you have to bring it up constantly to review any new skill shots you've unlocked so you can earn enough points to keep your guns loaded. If you play on easy it's not really difficult to do this.

    Another little issue I had with this game was with the quick time events where you have to hold the E key at specific points in the game to focus in on an event that's occurring. If you react quick enough, you are rewarded with 500 skill points. The points are nice, but it interferes with gameplay, and they throw these quick time events at you like every 5 minutes and it gets really annoying after the 3rd time. You can choose to ignore it, but you don't get any points.


    But like I said, nitpicking doesn't get you anywhere with a game like Bulletstorm. All in all it's a decent game. It wasn't worth $60 when it first came out, but It's only $20 on Steam now, so anyone who's considering trying it shouldn't be worried about spending too much money. There's a demo available on Steam as well.
    Expand
  59. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    You know when someone tells a joke that is so hilarious but at the same time tasteless and revolting? Where half of the crowd are offended, one guy laughed and the rest went home, cried and wrote angry letters. This game is kind of like that. It's a relief from the tention-ridden politically correct games out there. The more people are offended, the better it is really. You're always gonna offend someone because not everybody is as awesome as us. Anyways, I totally loved this game. The laidback style, dirty dialogue and comical violence totally appealed to me. Sometimes it's just great to sit back and play a game where you don't feel you have to commit 100%. Where you leave realism behind and just do something crazy. Where the laws of physics don't apply and you don't spare anyone's feelings. This is a game I would play again, just to relax. Like picking up the controller to do some moves in Tony Hawk. Except in this game you pick up the controller, be badass, listen to hilarious dialogues and kill baddies in creative ways. Love it! Expand
  60. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Bulletstorm is everything you want in a shooter and more. Great graphics, amazing set-pieces, and adrenaline fueled action. Away with the standard aiming for the head like the majority of first-person shooters and bring on the skillshot system which is great for rewarding you with how inventive you can be with slaughtering the oncoming hordes. Nothing is more satisfying than seeing you setup a kill involving the deaths of 5+ enemies at once and seeing your entire screen explode with points which is used as currency for buying ammo and unlocking weapons and upgrades. I played the game on HARD which had the perfect balance of difficulty so that I could focus on killing things creatively just as equally as I had to focus on my own survival. The game has a great story, and the characters who at first may just seem to be loud, crass and two dimensional, slowly flesh out into surprisingly deep and likable characters. Bulletstorm is a lot more intelligent than it may appear to be, and at the end when the credits started rolling I was left wanting more. Expand
  61. Mar 10, 2011
    7
    I must say that I wanted to rate this game higher then a 7 but I could not find myself to do so. I played the game to the end and enjoyed it but it seemed like that was it. It felt short, some of the weapons were useless to me, and the graphic options were disappointing, I did not like being locked at 60fps, also it seemed like there severe downsides to the unreal engine, certain aspects seemed seriously dated, but overall was nice graphical experience. I see no re-playability. Felt like a 1 shot pony. Like a movie u see and liked but soon forget about. Expand
  62. Nov 24, 2011
    2
    wouldnt be a too bad game, but 99% of the time the players are retarded, who didnt even thought how to read and thats ruins the game, could be a really good team co-op game , but friends not always available when you wanna play who could play it right, to make those combo kills, so since you play with random players even 1 idiot can ruin the hole killstreaks which makes the game pointless and annoying. i just bought it 1 day ago, read the killstreaks how to do those combos and its fun when you can do it, but thats happens like 2 times in 1 hour gaming which is awful. Hate this game, because it would be so much fun, but idiots are ruins it... Expand
  63. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    The game is fun at first. But should have been released as a budget title. The campaigns get extremely boring and so does the gameplay. All you can do is fight the same type of enemies. If your get bored to death, the best thing you can do to make it a bit more entertaining is to aim for the head and get extra points because of headshots. Otherwise, the gameplay is boring and repetitve. Graphic wise, not good. Again, the devs care more the console gamers by powering this under the Unreal Engine just like every other game. Same atmosphere and feel as UT3. Expand
  64. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    While this is not my favorite game of all time nor is it my favorite shooter its not without its enjoyment. I found the Skillshot to be very enjoyable and the fact that you can remap all your buttons a added bonus so any review that complains about the controls needs to be marked down. I did find the story to perhaps be a little bit thin as if made out of crackers but that was made up for with the amount of action presented almost right away. I did feel a little to overpowered sometimes like I was on a playground hitting little kids with golfclubs while they were throwing balls of cotton at me. All in all this game is worth the price of admission.

    Pros

    Graphics
    Intense Action
    Skillshots

    cons
    To easy most of the time
    Thin story
    Expand
  65. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    Bulletstorm is a NON-STOP action ride of a game, you're put in the shoes of an epic sci-fi action adventure, with whipping, kicking and smashing enemies into creative montages of death and dismemberment. Game is hands down BEAUTIFUL as far as graphics, every set piece is well designed and simply awe inspiring. As far as story goes, pretty straight forward, you're a space pirate formerly part of an elite military squadron that went rogue when you find out that your commanding superior is just a straight up dick. Some time later, You being a drunk space pirate, decided to take on your former commanders battleship with your puny pirate spaceship, therefore crashing both ships into a deserted resort planet run by former prison inmates who built the resort. The beauty of the game comes in the form of its "SKILL SHOT" system in which you find the most creative ways to kill your enemies, whether you leash them with your whip, shoot them in mid-flight and proceed to kick them into an environmental hazard such as giant cacti, huge walls of rebar, or explosive barrels. I found myself barely shooting my gun and using the leash and boot as the most effective yet hilarious ways of dispatching my foes...As far as the enemy AI goes, they're dumber than a box of bricks but I imagine the enemy AI is purely there for you to destroy them as many ways as possible. The games path itself is very linear, and does not allow for any stray paths, you are pretty much just running from place to place with dialogue scenes in-between that tense up the story. The ending itself is very weak, but it leaves it wide open for a sequel. As far as replay value goes, its very high for a short time, until you unlock all skill shots, and it just gets boring, the MP is very limited and doesn't offer much more excitement, especially when you can only advance if your teammates cooperate in "team skillshots". I give this game a 7 because of its intuitive and genuinely fun gameplay mechanics, it lost points because of a weak MP portion and the replay value of killing your enemies in a number of ways DOES grow old, no matter what all the "PRO BULLETSTORMers" say.. Expand
  66. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    This game is a horrible generic console shooter. Everything from linear levels with no exploring ability, health regen, sprint to aimdownsights is present in here. It doesn't differ from Call of Duty in anyway except the aesthetics. Gameplay is from Call of Duty.

    Highly recommend staying away from this.
  67. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    This game is great.
    From the beginning of the game until the end it is a dirty, fast highway completly suffered with blood.
    It a game, you can forget about the story it´s some cheap revangestory about asspained spacemarines or something.
    The only things you will remember are the combat and the gameplay.
    9/10
  68. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    If you not a cold fish you will be enjoy it . It's so many ways to kill enemies and is it bloody fun . But if you are normally player you finish game after eight hours and you don't return back to play it agin . I know there are echoes and multiplayer ,but echoes are practically same as campaign and multiplayer is boring .
  69. Mar 17, 2011
    1
    Terrible game aimed at the most immature console gamers. Extremely short single player game, terrible dialogue, outdated and recycled game engine paired with the worst dialogue I have ever experienced make this one of the worst games I have played in a long time. Most positive reviews are from the younger console generation who get a kick out of the bad language. "LOL!! He said penis!!! This is awesome!!!" Expand
  70. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    A very fun game, I just beat it and was very pleased. The banter between characters is down right hilarious, few games are actually funny these days. All of the guns available to use are entertaining, especially when charge shots are used. I like the skillshot system, it pushed me to achieve more interesting kills and while doing so it let me buy more fun ammunition to use on the enemies. Basically just a cycle of fun :) My advice: try to achieve as many skillshots to get the most out of this game. I could see the game getting repetitive if you sat down to beat it in one sitting, however I played it in several 1-2 hours sessions and I never grew bored. I will go back later in time and beat this game again. Exciting enemies and boss fights, fun weapons and hilarious characters. A very good and fun game. Expand
  71. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    I picked this up on a recent steam sale for $5 bucks. 9/10. its genuinely FUN. Usually when i play an fps, its more like rush to the end to see the story, or to be relieved from playing a tense action sequence. In this game, you look forward to every new combat sequence.. rather than enemies to get out of your way, the mobs become little pawn pieces that you use to kill things in more creative ways. The action sequences also mix up the gameplay giving some nice variation to the bulk of the creative kill gameplay. Its so much fun! GRAPHICS: The graphics are beautiful and EPIC. very important, since from playing world of warcraft, i expect everything to be epic or its a letdown. There's a bunch of swearing in the game, but just ignore it. The great graphics, epicness of everything, and fun gameplay is worth the entry. Its also so refreshing that the game doesn't take itself seriously like COD etc. Oh yeah, wouldn't pay more than 10 bucks for this, as after a few replays, theres not much to keep you there. Just perfect out of the bargain bin though! Expand
  72. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    Bulletstorm is a unique game, to say the least, and if your not a fan of action games, leave right now, because that's all this game is.

    But it's a fun game, Bulletstorm isnt a graphical marvel or a story-driven saga starter, far from both might I add. The story is downright boring, and the graphics are less than marvellous, but the game is fun for one key reason, humour. This game is
    hilarious, and the kill with skill feature only adds to the hilarity, characters will constantly make smart ass jokes and make fun of each other with actual wit, I had a couple of burst out laughing moments a few times in this game. And if your a fan of Epic's previous games such as Gears of War, you'll feel pretty much at home here, with their trademark Unreal Engine in full effect, the blood coming from enemies torn torsos looks almost identical to that if you were cutting a locust in half with a chainsaw (although a bit brighter in Bulletstorm). I'd like to describe this game as a "Funnier, more happy approach to Gears of War", and thats what you can expect buying Bulletstorm.

    Final notes: Fun game with lots of Humour and blood, perfect for any action junky who likes a good laugh, bad for everyone else.
    Expand
  73. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    Obligatory 0 for using Games for Windows Live. An unforgivable offence, as GfWL is Microsoft's attempt to kill PC gaming in favor of the Xbox. There might be something playable under the DRM, but I'd have to pirate it to find out.
  74. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    Bulletstorm was hyped as being a welcome tangent from the generic military FPSes out there, and I have to say it does live up to the hype...mostly. The story is quite original, as are the weapons and enemies. I thought the new skillshot system pretty much addressed the deep-down desires of everyone who ever played an FPS (c'mon, who doesn't aim for the balls at least once?), and the addition of environmental hazards is a great cause of many "f-yeah!" moments. Where Bulletstorm loses points from me is the fact that there simply aren't enough things to shoot! I played through several levels where I encountered maybe two major fights, and spent the rest of the time listening to dialogue, walking, and responding to quick-time events. Not only does this make the entire fancy-pants skillshot system feel like a bit of a waste, but it also really breaks the immersion: You're on a planet populated by an endless mutant horde, but only 50 of them can be arsed to come after you? Then there's the cramped level design, which I suppose is necessary for the environmental kills, but it still would have been nice to have some large, arena-type areas as well. The game does feature some beautiful, expansive cityscapes...but you're always seeing them from some narrow pathway. I mentioned that the story is original, but it tends to wrangle control from you much too often with quick-time events and "ooh, look at that!" moments. Seriously guys, your game's motto is "kill with skill", not "skillfully push buttons when we say so".

    Despite it's flaws, I'd recommend Bulletstorm. We need more games like this, with a sense of humour about themselves and which reward you for shooting things in the ass :p
    Expand
  75. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Yet more proof of how much of a stale cash grab FPS games are. This game reminds me of Dr. Rockso the Rock n' Roll Clown.

    Bulletstorm is just another shooter trying to differentiate itself by trying to seem edgy. Instead, it ends up being corny and kind of embarrassing. The question is never about graphics. The real question is how does this game differentiate itself from other shooters?
    What features does it offer that haven't couldn't just be a clever mod for Quake 2?
    The answer: Nothing really. Story doesn't make up for putting a month of modelling effort into some new guns and terrain. This stuff is cheap to produce. It's the complex and innovative rules and game mechanics that push the envelope. Something Bulletstorm doesn't even come close to doing with it's messy hair and only-big-boys-can-act-bad (for kids) attitude.

    This game isn't very good, I feel weird listening to the dialogue and the action is over the top in such a way that it's bad.
    Expand
  76. May 23, 2011
    7
    Single play was really fun, good over the top shooter, gfx where excellent if a little to shiney. multiplayer should have had a player vs player mode but its still fun to play against the computer, with other people... EXCEPT WHEN THEY CANT DO A SIMPLE DAS BOOT!!!
  77. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    I can play this game for free and still i dont want to do that
    The game is a broken console port
    locked FOV,cant set it to 90
    locked fps to 62(more fps=less eye strain)
    cant disable headbob and other screen shakes
    whole screen zoom when you ads
    boring gameplay
    if you are 9 or 10 and you have never before played a FPS game on a PC then i guess this would be a ok game for you
  78. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    This game is good and very fun. Kill with the skill to win=) I did also like graphics and plot. Unreal Engine 3 may be old but the game looks good even in 2013. This game is short- but i cannot decide if it's for bad or for good. I guess it's better this way otherwise it could became long and boring
  79. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    a fantastic game. one of the freshest shooters in years. i loved to play through the game and enjoyed it almost more than the (also) fantastic crysis 2. i recommend this game to everyone. you will like it
  80. Feb 28, 2011
    4
    please epic,i know you created the unreal engine 3 but youve solicited it to so many companies everything on any console looks exactly the same,its been 5 years now and it was old 3 years ago.
    this could be any of a 101 releases in the last couple of years,tweak it and it could be bioshock gears batman or many many more.
    stop this engine please(im almost tempted to start a petition)
  81. Mar 20, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The developers knew the kill system gimmick in this game wouldn't float for long, which is why you are frequently forced to use non-standard game play during the first-half of the game. Such as controlling a mechazilla and many, many gatling guns which prevent most of the kills to be achieved anyway. After the first-half, you are invested and likely slosh through the rest of the game when you've paid $60 for it.

    The characters were awful, the script made zero sense-- even for an FPS-- and the liberal language was entirely unnecessary. Less than 10 sentences were uttered without expletive. To sum up the game: Kick **** Kick **** Gatling Gun "Gay Slur" Kick *rinse, repeat*
    Expand
  82. May 15, 2011
    9
    Awesome big dumb fun! The graphics are top notch and the gameplay is addictive. But make no mistakes about it, this is a $40 game masquerading as a $60 title. Wait for it to go on sale on Steam before purchasing.
  83. Apr 17, 2011
    5
    i liked this game but ssomething **** it up i liked the skill kills and **** but come on there is to much lag. anyway the story is like a **** up version of cod mw2
  84. Jun 2, 2011
    7
    It is a game like Serious Sam with Gears of War. Very casual, goofy and simple.
    The game is not very great with graphics, actually the level between settings are almost the same with very few changes like sun light or a little rocks but after that almost the same at all in high, medium and low quality.
  85. Apr 5, 2012
    6
    Ok game, I got it for 5 bucks on steam... It is certainly not worth 50 bucks... Very awfull dialogues, an non-existent story made by and for morons... Gameplay wise, very fun to play, nice weapons Graphics wise really good... very nice representation and level design... I only hate the macho Gears of War beefcake empty dialogue stuff... Epic games needs to grow up! People can fly have proven themselves to be very capable developpers... Now make a intelligent game please... Expand
  86. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    I had a lot of fun playing through the single-player. The humor was actually good in an over-the-top way, the voice acting was some of the best I've heard in a game. The scenery is gorgeous, if people are complaining about the graphics being bad, their computer isn't good enough to handle the higher graphics. Game took me about 7 hours to beat on Normal difficulty, a little too short IMO.

    Those that say the game got repetitive clearly didn't explore all the ways to kill people, and are used too COD type shooters, there are 200 some different "skillkills".

    The only thing I can fault the game on (other than being too short) is having a repetitive multiplayer, it is essentially horde mode from Gears of War 2, but with an emphasis on getting good scores.
    Expand
  87. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bulletstorm is the most BADASS game ever made by human being. Really crazy weapons. Good story and nice multiplayer. What else do you want? Kill with skill baby! Expand
  88. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Awesome, mind-blowing game! I was really surprised how different and fresh is this game. Don't listen to the negative review. It's a fresh breeze in FPS genre and definitely worth playing.
  89. Mar 7, 2011
    7
    Repetition, grindy and limiting gun upgrade system, and lame ending didn't help this game at all. I have to say though, there were some really amazing and extremely fun parts to this game. From controlling a robot dinosaur and running from a giant wheel, well, there are definitely kick butt aspects to what this game 'can' deliver. I didn't like how the Leash has to be charged to use the Thumper, and also that the upgrade system for guns seemed grindy as well as having to buy ammo. I think that the XBOX live culture is encouraging the achievement obsession way too much and this is getting into games in all the wrong ways. It definitely didn't sever Bulletstorm that well. It's funny for a while to get some of the achievements in this game, and to also punish your enemies with world objects, but in the end that is the whole game. It is too much of the shooting and not enough of the mind blowing game play I was hoping for. The most annoying part was the teenage immature types of voice overs you keep having to listen to over and over again. I mean really it gets old after the first few times, and yet you are stuck with a Duke Nukem wanna be. This game could have been way better, perhaps the sequel will deliver. Expand
  90. Mar 13, 2011
    5
    Fun for a while, but no where near worth $60. Cut scenes interrupt the action too often. The Kill With Skill feature is just an achievement system that pays you out to buy more ammo. It's a short game, and there is almost no replay value. My biggest complaint is the hyper nauseating camera motions. Jumping over an obstacle, or pulling a lever causes the camera to wobble around drunkingly for a couple of seconds. There's more than one scene where your vision is blurred involuntarily. I'd recommend it if the price were $15-$20. Expand
  91. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Bulletstorm is difficult to judge. On one hand, the overpowered, foulmouthed, muscular heroes are reminiscent of Duke Nukem or Serious Sam (which is a good thing.) It's nice, after the stale Call Of Duty clone black hole games are falling into, to have something that feels like a throwback while still using beautiful graphics and fun, innovative gameplay.

    The skillshot system is very fun,
    although the player tends to lapse into the same few kills over and over. The weapons are not hugely diverse, but there are still enough of them to bring several different tactics to the table. The environments are gorgeous, and the enemies and gore are plentiful.

    Arguably the worst thing about Bulletstorm is that it is a console port - and it feels like one. The control scheme is very minimal and uses some rather odd configurations (like using space rather than enter in the menus) but you get used to it. Interestingly enough it borrows (or perhaps loaned) a few different moves from the upcoming Crysis 2, such as kicking and sliding, but I actually prefer the way Bulletstorm does it. The other big complaint is the cutscenes- there is a lot of pre-scripted action where you lose control, as well as key events that actually freeze the game until you do what you're told in an attempt to avoid that cutscene feeling and force interaction.

    I don't personally consider Bulletstorm to be worth a full $60, but the game is still very, very fun, despite its flaws.
    Expand
  92. Mar 19, 2011
    0
    A huge disappointment. Perhaps I expected something other than Serious Sam meets Gears of War but it thats what you'll get with Bulletstorm. The game's story isn't terrible but riddled with pitfalls and conflict sometimes too silly to really appreciate. The voice acting is actually not as bad as some people have made it out to be except with General Saranno's character. I swear they couldn't decide if he had a southern accent or not cause occasionally he'd have one and other times he'd speak almost like a normal person dropping any sort of attempt to mask an original voice at all. Otherwise, that portion the game is decent.

    What makes the game really feel like a let down is it's length. I beat it in roughly 7 hours on Hard. I did enjoy how it was non-stop action and I was constantly trying to come up with new ways to kill my enemies but with very little incentive to experiment with weapons I'm not comfortable with, thus leaving me feeling slightly alienated for a good portion of the skillshots. A lot of times, I swear I did a skillshot and didn't get credit for it.

    Can you rent the game? Do so, you'll probably beat it and be done with it and wonder why they left the ending like they did when people criticize the studio for leaving (spoiler: cliffhangers) in their games, especially this one being so short.
    It was like eating a hard loaf of bread only to find that someone tore a piece off the end.
    Expand
  93. Apr 20, 2011
    3
    hugely disappointed with this game, i was expecting it be a unreal series successor instead it turns to be a badly made spam game with no story or interesting game-play just spam your game to get lame bonuses horrible console port they just made no effort for the PC version at, the nagging issues with gfwl another horrible client makes this game a pure fail, ignore this one and play the better fps games out there very disappointed with epic games Expand
  94. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Fantastically fun game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very dynamic and beautiful gameplay, cutscenes too wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =)
  95. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    Bought this game cheap when it was on sale... Singleplayer is linear and repetitive, but it's still fun... Good buy when on sale. Good buy under $10.
  96. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    This was a nice new addition to the FPS world, Its a breath of fresh air compared to Battlefield and Call Of Duty. The game-play feels allot like a First person Gears Of War with a style that is more insane than Borderlands. Its unique skill shot combined with the amazing guns gives an awesome and huge number of possible killing combinations. This will give you a new look on the FPS genre and bring a healthy change to the normal modern day shooters that flood the market currently. You will get many hours of fun from completing challenges and gaining achievements while enjoying an insane and over the top style game-play, scenery and audio. But there is a downside to this game as the Multiplayer is much to be desired, Being the challenges with others just lowering the difficulties and making combo moves more and more difficult with more people in the lobbies. I constantly found my kills being stolen and my combos being interrupted. The story is much to be desired as there is allot that goes unexplained and allot not explained well, This in the dark or need to know style of story telling didn't fit well with me and I stopped playing this game rather quickly. Would I recommend this yes I would it is entertaining and fresh but only if you have a large pocket of disposable income as it will not last long and gives around 2 - 3 months of fun before it for lack of a better term gets old. Expand
  97. Jun 23, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bulletstorm itself was amusing for about two hours of slaughter, but after you've kicked an enemy into the air, shot half of him away with a four-barrelled shotgun and whipped the other half into a huge burning hole, it remained just that. All you do the entire game is running through a level, kill everyone the most "intuitive" way and run again. You never re-visit an area, you never familiarize yourself with the environment, nothing your "learn" is of any use.

    It was indeed interesting to play and many times, I was just like "Wooah!", but this quickly became boring. The ending was the most disappointing part. I expected something like "Hardcore mode unlocked" or such, but all I got was the "Echo" mode, which was basically just a "high-score hunt".

    To summarize this: Bulletstorm is a nice and exciting shooter and definately something new with its "over the top and even more"-kills, but it's lack of depth, dynamics and content, which was just replaced by "f**k", "s**t", "m****r**c**r" and what not else, really reduced the fun of this game.
    I'd only recommend Bulletstorm if you're really a fan of slaughtering and don't care about story.
    Expand
  98. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    To summarize it, this is Borderlands meets Madworld on steroids. It's a linear, action-packed, face-paced shooter that scores you based your kills, similar to the mechanics in Madworld. You use these points to upgrade your guns, abilities, and buy ammo. You therefore have an incentive to combo together and search for new "skillshots" to gain points. Each skillshot was satisfying in its own right and you didn't have to go out of your way to achieve them. It adds a lot of complexity and depth to the game. The energy whip is an awesome core mechanic that's similar to the force. It's charge attack never gets old either. Each gun has a unique use and intensely fun to play. Unfortunately, you won't have enough time to thoroughly use them all. The game is pretty short, which is to be expected of a new IP, but it delivers a witty tongue-in-cheek characters and story. The story is mostly ignored in favor of awesome action sequences such as a giant flaming wheel in a rail sequence and a monstrous prehistoric mother pissed off at you. The ending is pretty abrupt but keeps players drooling for what's to come next. Expand
  99. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    Take Serious sam, Duke nuken, mix it with Gears of war and you'll get the **** called Bulletstorm. It's - great, one of the best fps made, may be for years - full of action and fun. Why not to spend couple of hours and test PC version - is a great question for me? But console-port bugs and mouse sensitivity which is higher when you aim (OMG do they even play PC version?) is the only disappointing. Expand
  100. Feb 24, 2011
    6
    I have to say that I have not played through the entire game but what I have seen so far is disappointing. Simply put, it promised to bring something new to the fps genre, the only thing it brought me was boredom. I am not claiming that this a terrible game, but your average fps.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Bulletstorm is perfectly designed to appeal to the 14 year old boys who can't buy it because it's rated MA15+. [May 2011, p.64]
  2. 70
    While not a game that would alter the flow of history, Bulletstorm proved to be very pleasant and an extremely aberrant surprise not lacking the ability of self-irony. [Mar 2011]
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    77
    If you are looking for a simple and entertaining shooter, that's not a Call of Duty clone, which offers lots of humour and a great story, Bulletstorm could be for you.