Bulletstorm PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 769 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 769

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2016
    7
    Прикольный ненапряжный шутерок на 8 часов. Приятная графика, дебиловатые, но забавные персонажи и, самое главное, очень веселый геймплей. В отличие от унылого тирообразного макса пэйна 3 (последний шутер, что я играл) тут есть чем заняться, кроме как расстреливать уточек в тире. Устраивать скилшоты очень весело и т.к. игра довольно лёгкая, то можно почти безнаказанно носится по уровню сПрикольный ненапряжный шутерок на 8 часов. Приятная графика, дебиловатые, но забавные персонажи и, самое главное, очень веселый геймплей. В отличие от унылого тирообразного макса пэйна 3 (последний шутер, что я играл) тут есть чем заняться, кроме как расстреливать уточек в тире. Устраивать скилшоты очень весело и т.к. игра довольно лёгкая, то можно почти безнаказанно носится по уровню с бешенной скоростью скидывая вражин на кактусы или насаживая на арматуру, делая подсечки в беге и снося половину туловища выстрелом из шотгана (скилшот называется "Topless" - лол :)) или выстрелить из флэйлгана во врага и кикнуть его в гущу к товарищам, после чего активировать прилипшую к нему бомбу. Весь этот хаос очень доставляет. Чего не хватает - это битв с боссами, оружейных апгрейдов, холодного оружия, лута, сюжета и хорошего юмора (хотя бы на уровне борды2). Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2016
    9
    НОРМАЛЬНАЯ МЯСНАЯ ИГРА В ДУХЕ SERIOUS SAM 1-2-3, DOOM 1-2-3-4, PAINKILLER

    ===========================================================

    GOOD GAME LIKE SERIOUS SAM 1-2-3, DOOM 1-2-3-4, PAINKILLER
  3. Aug 18, 2016
    9
    one of the most badass games of 2010s. would recommend that anyone who plays fps's should chek this one out, heck of a fun game overall and thinking of playing it again for the second time! even after 5 years of its initial release
  4. Jul 24, 2016
    7
    Price paid: £3.74
    Time to finish: 6 hours 6 minutes
    Score: 7/10 Recommended?: Yes, when on sale A pretty damn good game but a sub par PC port. It takes a good 30 minutes of tinkering with custom DLLs, decrypters and config tweaks before it feels playable but once you've done all the sodding about there's an enjoyable game to be played. It starts off pretty slowly and honestly I
    Price paid: £3.74
    Time to finish: 6 hours 6 minutes
    Score: 7/10
    Recommended?: Yes, when on sale

    A pretty damn good game but a sub par PC port. It takes a good 30 minutes of tinkering with custom DLLs, decrypters and config tweaks before it feels playable but once you've done all the sodding about there's an enjoyable game to be played.

    It starts off pretty slowly and honestly I wasn't enjoying it that much in the beginning, but it really does get better and better as it goes on and by the end I had fallen somewhat in love with it, in big part due to the characters which were just fantastic, all voiced very well with some brilliant and frankly offensive dialog that I just loved, it's not often you get a game filled with such language that actually pulls it off well instead of just being cringey. All the main characters really felt alive and it really helped push the story along, you didn't just feel like you were mowing down enemies for no reason, you knew their motivation and you wanted to help them get the job done.

    The combat itself was solid, sure the enemies were a bit bullet spongy but the weapons were all enjoyable to use and the enemies had decent variety. There were so many unique and fun ways to kill that it never got boring.

    Overall I'm shocked how much I enjoyed it by the end as it started off really average IMO but it just kept on improving and the ending was well done. If it had been a better port I would have given it an 8/10, but they really did do the bare minimum. I highly recommend picking it up in the next sale, add it to isthereanydeal right now!
    Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    Okay, let's get the Games for Windows Live (GFWL) thing out of the way. When I started the game, I was asked to login to GFWL (I already have a profile I have used for other games). I logged in, and GFWL downloaded an update that required me to restart the game. Restarted, and was able to login and play without issue.

    On to the review: Bulletstorm is a superb shooter, with some unique
    Okay, let's get the Games for Windows Live (GFWL) thing out of the way. When I started the game, I was asked to login to GFWL (I already have a profile I have used for other games). I logged in, and GFWL downloaded an update that required me to restart the game. Restarted, and was able to login and play without issue.

    On to the review:
    Bulletstorm is a superb shooter, with some unique mechanics, SUPER colorful environments and great weapons. I would even say that it is worth the asking price, except the multiplayer is barely populated, making the single-player campaign the primary draw.
    Installed size on hard drive: 7 GB

    + The kick and slide mechanics are first rate, and easy to execute. You'll be sliding around in no time.
    + The "leash" mechanic is also fun, though Red Faction Armageddon does the same thing better and with more variety
    + The assortment of weapons is great, each requiring different methods to execute kills. My favorite was the homing sniper rifle; fire a shot, and you control the bullet with the mouse, guiding it around cover to kill enemies!
    + The level design is good if linear. Don't be expecting alternate routes to go anywhere - there aren't any - but the path twists and turns enough so that directionality becomes confused.
    + Though there are plenty of check-points, the game can be very hard if you want it to be.
    + Plenty of variety in the enemies you fight, with lots of mini-bosses even on Normal difficulty.
    + The graphics are COLORFUL. The opening levels happen aboard a ship, and feel confined, but once you get out into the countryside and city, the vibrant color will hit you in the face. Detail and design of the graphics is great too. Some of the enviroments reminded me of a sun-lit Bioshock.
    + Bulletstorm is easy on system resources, making this game playable on a lot of machines. I never saw more than 500MB of video memory used; most of the time it hovered around 250-375MB
    + People probably don't buy shooters for the voice-acting, but it is very good, especially the always-excellent Jennifer Hale.
    + The single-player story embraces an entire genre of B-movie action stereotypes. Everyone fully commits, and the game succeeds well at it.

    - Few people in multiplayer. Get some friends together, and I'm told it will still work. But don't purchase Bulletstorm thinking you'll be able to join random online matches. I wasn't able to find any.
    - With the multiplayer a dead end, the single-player campaign needs to carry the game's appeal. And it is very appealing, but it is too short. My first play-through clocked in at 8.9 hours. Replayability appeal relies on upping the difficulty and "restricting" yourself to specific weapons.
    - No manual save system. The entire game is saved via checkpoints.
    - The final boss is a series of QuickTime events. There are several non-QTE bosses in the game; I guess this is just how the developers wanted the game to end.

    Not everyone has the GFWL issue; I suppose I was one of the lucky ones. Quick, slick, and deft, I highly recommend Bulletstorm.
    Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2016
    8
    Gameplay : 8
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 7
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 8
  7. Jun 22, 2016
    9
    2/25/2011: This game is what happens when you take a foul-mouthed child, an angry, drunken biker and a gun nut and have them write an action movie. It's a laugh and a half. Unique combat, awesome voice acting and dialogue, a cheesy-good story, those big crazy Unreal guns we know and love, and awesome co-op. It's unlike any FPS I've ever played, and that's really saying something. The music2/25/2011: This game is what happens when you take a foul-mouthed child, an angry, drunken biker and a gun nut and have them write an action movie. It's a laugh and a half. Unique combat, awesome voice acting and dialogue, a cheesy-good story, those big crazy Unreal guns we know and love, and awesome co-op. It's unlike any FPS I've ever played, and that's really saying something. The music was okay too, but it was often drowned out by all the gunfire and cursing. The downside is the price. Still, it's the best $60 I've ever spent. If it ever drops in price it will become the ultimate shooter. It doesn't even need competitive multiplayer, because what it has is so dang awesome. If you've got the money, then bite into "Captain Curseword's Big F***ing Adventure." Expand
  8. May 1, 2016
    8
    I have been playing with this for a while, yes, it may seem and feel repetitive -- but that doesn't make it any less fun. Bulletstorm is a completely satisfying run-and-gun first person shooter with unique game play elements. If you are highly appreciative of creative and fun games just like this one, you'll find yourself giggling every once in a while.
  9. ave
    Mar 27, 2016
    8
    I've played Bulletstorm twice and enjoyed it much more the second time.

    As a FPS, Bullerstorm is very well crafted : the moving, aiming and shooting are very satisfying in terms of sensations. On top of that, the sliding, lassoing and sim-locking are very fun to use and the game rewards you big time when you do "skillshots" with tons of points. As a story, Bulletstorm feels like a
    I've played Bulletstorm twice and enjoyed it much more the second time.

    As a FPS, Bullerstorm is very well crafted : the moving, aiming and shooting are very satisfying in terms of sensations. On top of that, the sliding, lassoing and sim-locking are very fun to use and the game rewards you big time when you do "skillshots" with tons of points.

    As a story, Bulletstorm feels like a frantic futuristic action movie, with ups and downs, twists and turns, and memorable sequences (ah ! the gigantic wheel !) and most of all : an excellent pacing.

    I think the pleasure I got from playing the game mostly comes from its pacing and the wild swings between tension and release, almost like a roller-coaster in a fun fair !

    It's a good thing that People Can Fly have now a clear path to make Bulletstorm 2 !
    Expand
  10. Dec 14, 2015
    9
    A very fun light hearted FPS. Not one of those serious military shooters so common nowadays but one in the vein of Serious Sam or Painkiller. Well worth your time.
  11. Sep 4, 2015
    8
    this game is so cool shooter. and has unique game play. ex) sniping mode and leash. but, always shooting is a little boring. and there is no impression in storyline
  12. Aug 17, 2015
    10
    One of the best FPS shooter ever. Great single-player campaign and cool multi-player.
    Funny dialogues between the characters and am very much fun is guaranteed.
  13. Aug 5, 2015
    10
    Bulletstorm in solidly in my top 10 favorite games of all time. While it may have a cliche story, and not much character development at the begining, over the couse of the game, you realize how deep the characters are. There are amazing visuals, and some of the best gameplay ever. Bulletstorm was also the first blind playthrough I did for youtube.
  14. May 9, 2015
    6
    I am totally disappointed with this game. I was expecting something else altogether at a better story, more interesting. Play a little messes .
  15. Feb 1, 2015
    8
    OOOhhh man . Its really a shooter of pure fun . if you think of a shooter in which you have to take cover ten fire then again take cover then repeat .! well Bulletstorm is not that shooter . Its just for fun . no cover for anyone . the skill shots are the most fun part of this game . And you can also use your legs to kick your enemies a$$es . With some big guns , the leash and some otherOOOhhh man . Its really a shooter of pure fun . if you think of a shooter in which you have to take cover ten fire then again take cover then repeat .! well Bulletstorm is not that shooter . Its just for fun . no cover for anyone . the skill shots are the most fun part of this game . And you can also use your legs to kick your enemies a$$es . With some big guns , the leash and some other fun stuffs this game is f***ing fun . Expand
  16. Dec 23, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game so0o much...
    This game has something special and unique...
    When I play this game, I can feel that I'm alive...
    And I love be a BAD-ASS, It's feel really good..... :D 3:) :)
    Expand
  17. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    I played this for exactly 0 minutes. So far im very exciting, I didn't make it to the main menu because of **** windows live registration, and the fact that I didn't have a hotmail kind of ruined my chances as well. I have also only lost control of 3 E-mails during this registration and on the rest of my E-mails I'm subscribed to **** magazines sending me sad stories about lonely andI played this for exactly 0 minutes. So far im very exciting, I didn't make it to the main menu because of **** windows live registration, and the fact that I didn't have a hotmail kind of ruined my chances as well. I have also only lost control of 3 E-mails during this registration and on the rest of my E-mails I'm subscribed to **** magazines sending me sad stories about lonely and pregnant women. Well worth 4 euros. 10/10.

    P.S. Dont buy games from 2011
    Expand
  18. Oct 22, 2014
    6
    One word to describe this game? Fun. It's not going to be a contender for GOTY any time soon, but give it a chance. One of the most outrageous games out there
  19. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    Graphics - 8/10
    Gameplay - 10/10
    Story - 7/10
    - Overall - 9/10
    .....................................................................
    Amazing!!! FUN!! Badass!! -
  20. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    This game is f***ing FUN! (with a big F). You control a kind of space marine betrayed by his boss who will try to escape from a dangerous planet. The plot is simple ok but the gameplay remain energic, violent and FUN!
    You can do some Combo with many weapons (included a whip) and it's what we should expect from this enjoyable game.
    Howerver, the game doesn't last long: only 6-8hours. And
    This game is f***ing FUN! (with a big F). You control a kind of space marine betrayed by his boss who will try to escape from a dangerous planet. The plot is simple ok but the gameplay remain energic, violent and FUN!
    You can do some Combo with many weapons (included a whip) and it's what we should expect from this enjoyable game.
    Howerver, the game doesn't last long: only 6-8hours. And the multiplayer is just a kind of coop (like during the campain)
    But the replayability is high and bulletstorm is now not expensive at all!
    So if you like this kind of game: a real stress relief ---> BUY IT :p
    Expand
  21. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    It's just perfect. Visuals are booming and fun, tie that in with stellar controls and unique gameplay and you have a hit. Too bad sales were only mediocre, so a second Bulletstorm might never come.
  22. Aug 25, 2014
    0
    Extremely poor console port. Frame rate stutters a lot, dropping from a solid 60 down to twenty something randomly, especially during the scripted events or cut scenes.

    This is a linear and rail shooter. Just run, grab, kick and shoot for 5 minutes. Then either press R, E or Q to continue your path or watch the stupid cut scenes. Rinse and repeat for the whole cycle then. The cut
    Extremely poor console port. Frame rate stutters a lot, dropping from a solid 60 down to twenty something randomly, especially during the scripted events or cut scenes.

    This is a linear and rail shooter. Just run, grab, kick and shoot for 5 minutes. Then either press R, E or Q to continue your path or watch the stupid cut scenes. Rinse and repeat for the whole cycle then.

    The cut scenes could be enjoyable if the plot and characters were good but it's the exact opposite.

    The way of killing enemies doesn't sound creative to me. Basically, Dead Space or The Darkness II allows player to kill enemies in a more creative manner, yet they never pop up those stupid words and scores again and again.
    Expand
  23. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    Surprisingly good! A satire on the kind of game that "Epic" produces; all over-the-top action and creative throwaway colourful language makes this a very enjoyable experience, and a breath of fresh air in a world of self-important shooters who take themselves FAR too seriously.

    It's a shame the the sequel was canned, as a little bit more polish could have made this game one of the crown
    Surprisingly good! A satire on the kind of game that "Epic" produces; all over-the-top action and creative throwaway colourful language makes this a very enjoyable experience, and a breath of fresh air in a world of self-important shooters who take themselves FAR too seriously.

    It's a shame the the sequel was canned, as a little bit more polish could have made this game one of the crown jewels of this generation.
    Expand
  24. Aug 14, 2014
    9
    This is a rude crude shooting game. The weapons are unique and the gameplay is just crazy fun. The whip ability adds a lot of gameplay elements and they have tons of ways to kill your enemies. It just feels so satisfying to hit a guy with bola grenades and kick him into a group of his friends before detonating them.
  25. May 8, 2014
    10
    This game is just so utterly fun to play! You're getting new weapons on quite a slow pace, but everything else rushes forward with a speed of light. It's an instant and constant action and you just wish there were more enemies you could send flying into electical installations, onto various spikes or cacti... simply, it's one hell of a fun to kill in this game. I love the views, graphicsThis game is just so utterly fun to play! You're getting new weapons on quite a slow pace, but everything else rushes forward with a speed of light. It's an instant and constant action and you just wish there were more enemies you could send flying into electical installations, onto various spikes or cacti... simply, it's one hell of a fun to kill in this game. I love the views, graphics are amazing and everything feels very smooth. Plus it's full of humorous banter and filled with swearing and nasty characters. Just love it :) Expand
  26. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    This game is a horrible generic console shooter. Everything from linear levels with no exploring ability, health regen, sprint to aimdownsights is present in here. It doesn't differ from Call of Duty in anyway except the aesthetics. Gameplay is from Call of Duty.

    Highly recommend staying away from this.
  27. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    I am having some bombastic ceinamatic fun at the moment with Bulletstorm. The game has no depth but that's the point. And they have so much fun with it. And to add insult to injury for everyone who takes shooters too seriously, this is probably the most competent shooting I ever experienced. It sure beats borderlands 2, bioshock 1, Crysis 2 and Metro 2033, Rage. I still find Half Life's 2I am having some bombastic ceinamatic fun at the moment with Bulletstorm. The game has no depth but that's the point. And they have so much fun with it. And to add insult to injury for everyone who takes shooters too seriously, this is probably the most competent shooting I ever experienced. It sure beats borderlands 2, bioshock 1, Crysis 2 and Metro 2033, Rage. I still find Half Life's 2 shooting phenominal though, tight and responsive and I really enjoy the shooting of Bioshock 2 and Infinite (which is very similar from one another) so lets say its on par for the shooting aspect as it is with the Darkness 2 which it shares a lot with. Its creative and colourful too and bombastic, just the way I like it. I really liked doing combos in Bioshock Infinite, Madworld and Darkness 2, so what I am given here is perfect. I also like how there are different approaches to enemy types. My favourite weapon is the shotgun and the grenade chain, I like how they offer great combos, which is something the sniper rifle doesnt have (though this is a great sniper rifle too). I like how the game works beyond the mechanics of a shooter. Ammo and upgrades are determined by your skill. You can go through the game with your assault rifle, but being creative offers even more opportunities to be creative and helps you not run out of ammo either. I love how the game had a simple plan in mind and executed it with such style. I do find it far too linear to the point where it feels like an on rails shooter at times (which it actually becomes a few times through the game), but that just makes me appreciate other games which others might beleive to be too linear like the Bioshock and Dead Space games.

    And oddly enough, another shooter this reminds me of, for art style and pace is Spec Ops the Line (although the Darkness 2 is its closest gameplay cousin). Yeah, bet you didnt see that coming. They are actually very very similar in the way the story and goals function. Its a ravaged city that was once vibrant and the bright colours of the interiors contrast with the yellow sand and ruins. Your goal is to get to a military figure and you have to brav through the hoards to get there. It feels direct and purposeful which is great because the whole point of the game was to make fun of some of these aspects of other games and it came before Spec Ops! (both also have a helicopter turret section although one has a dinosaur in that scene as well).
    Expand
  28. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    wow what a game so much to love. The look of the game is beautiful. the gameplay addictive between a variety of weapons, entertaining characters with witty dialogue and a range of ways to kill the many enemies you encounter on the hostile planet with some tough end of level bosses the plant boss being the hardest in my opinion. yes the setting up of a windows live account is annoying butwow what a game so much to love. The look of the game is beautiful. the gameplay addictive between a variety of weapons, entertaining characters with witty dialogue and a range of ways to kill the many enemies you encounter on the hostile planet with some tough end of level bosses the plant boss being the hardest in my opinion. yes the setting up of a windows live account is annoying but does not detract from the appeal of the actual game. this game cost me £7.50 and worth every penny for my pc. Steam last I saw have a demo of the game for free so you can see for yourself what you are getting before you pay anything for it so you can make up your own mind about if it is worth spending money on this game. Now I just wondering what game to play next? Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This game took me by surprise.
    It ripped my face off, shoved it up my backside, kicked me in my balls, then said get up and fight.
    I absolutely love the raw action and genuinely funny dialogue in this game, a top title for anyone who like this gameplay style.
    10/10 well done EPIC.
  30. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Whip an enemy, send him flying into the air, just to get pierced by razor sharp spikes. BONUSPOINTS! Pull an enemy towards you, then kick him into the mouth of a flesh eating plant. BONUSPOINTS! Rip a fat guy' pants off and fire a charged shot at his furry little a**hole. BONUSPOINTS! Where other shooters thrive to be emotional and storydriven, and yet they fail, "Bulletstorm" wants to beWhip an enemy, send him flying into the air, just to get pierced by razor sharp spikes. BONUSPOINTS! Pull an enemy towards you, then kick him into the mouth of a flesh eating plant. BONUSPOINTS! Rip a fat guy' pants off and fire a charged shot at his furry little a**hole. BONUSPOINTS! Where other shooters thrive to be emotional and storydriven, and yet they fail, "Bulletstorm" wants to be an epic amount of fun and highly succeeds. One of my all time favorites. (Suck it, Decateron.) Expand
  31. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    What a great game this is. First person shooter but also a melee beat-em-up. Fantastic fun combos, superb graphics and as to the plot and characterization.. Well, it's like playing a John Carpenter movie from back when he was in his prime.
  32. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    How did I not hear about this before now?! Bulletstorm is the greatest game of all time. It's a classic shooter in the Doom/Serious Sam tradition, featuring incredibly fun gunplay, great weapons, an awesome combo system, gorgeous environments, and hilarious dialog. Go buy this game right now!
  33. Sep 4, 2013
    0
    bulletstorm is a great and unique game. the game is just fun and it doesnt take itself to seriously. the graphics are pretty good, especially the backrounds. the game also uses colors pretty good. the killshot system and the items you get (like the leash and the guns) are really good and useful. the story is ok, and it serves mainly to forward the action. the characters are a bit boringbulletstorm is a great and unique game. the game is just fun and it doesnt take itself to seriously. the graphics are pretty good, especially the backrounds. the game also uses colors pretty good. the killshot system and the items you get (like the leash and the guns) are really good and useful. the story is ok, and it serves mainly to forward the action. the characters are a bit boring though. the game does have some problems. the game is buggy! i found a lot of glitches and bugs. while they didnt break the experience, theyre still there and theyre annoying. the game also has a lot of invisible walls.
    overall a great game!!! if you want a different kind of shooter you should definetly check this out!!! buy it!!!
    Expand
  34. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    Maybe you dont like the art style, maybe you dont like the fighting, maybe you dont like the characters or the story (you are wrong btw) But please for the love of potato chips try this game out and you will hear one of THE BEST musical scores to a computer game EVER! Pump up the music and watch the goosebumps grow!
  35. May 22, 2013
    8
    This is simply a fun game which in no way takes itself seriously. It has crass humor, but for this game it really works. Its similar to Borderlands but lacks the sophistication of character development that is there in Borderlands. I find it challenging yet fun with a decent story and most of all a lot of creative mayhem to be had!

    The sound and and graphics are great and the
    This is simply a fun game which in no way takes itself seriously. It has crass humor, but for this game it really works. Its similar to Borderlands but lacks the sophistication of character development that is there in Borderlands. I find it challenging yet fun with a decent story and most of all a lot of creative mayhem to be had!

    The sound and and graphics are great and the ability to steer your sniper bullets adds some variety to long shots! Its not a great game, its simply a fun game and well worth the $5 I spent when Origin had it on sale.
    Expand
  36. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    Bulletstorm is an over the top brainless first person shooter. If that is not your thing looks elsewhere. I really enjoyed my time with this game. There are some really cool environments in this game and the visuals are for the most part really pleasant to look at. The story and character interactions are surprisingly alright even though they hardly will win any awards. The campaignBulletstorm is an over the top brainless first person shooter. If that is not your thing looks elsewhere. I really enjoyed my time with this game. There are some really cool environments in this game and the visuals are for the most part really pleasant to look at. The story and character interactions are surprisingly alright even though they hardly will win any awards. The campaign should take you around ten hours to beat depending on the difficulty. And the ten hours are actually quite varied with a lot of really cool moments even though the mindless shooting have a habit of getting a tiny bit repetitive at the end. The shooting is however quite good and the action feels quite satisfying although i would like to have seen more enemy-types, more bosses and more weapons in the game. The upgrade system could also be fleshed out more. Another thing i should mention is that the game is not only linear but also very much static. The inability to jump for instance will probably piss a lot of people of. Bulletstorm is by no means perfect but its a really competent mindless first person shooter and i do recommend fans of the genre to check this game out. I certainly had a lot of fun with it. Expand
  37. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    This game is good and very fun. Kill with the skill to win=) I did also like graphics and plot. Unreal Engine 3 may be old but the game looks good even in 2013. This game is short- but i cannot decide if it's for bad or for good. I guess it's better this way otherwise it could became long and boring
  38. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    Never, and I seriously mean NEVER have I encountered a game with so many bugs. Hell, Battlefield 3 BETA had less bugs!!! The second chapter I had to restart because of a bug. The third chapter, I had to reload to a checkpoint, because of bug. And now, on the fourth chapter I'm done with the game. I'll never pick this up again due to the ridiculous amount of bugs I encountered. Before theNever, and I seriously mean NEVER have I encountered a game with so many bugs. Hell, Battlefield 3 BETA had less bugs!!! The second chapter I had to restart because of a bug. The third chapter, I had to reload to a checkpoint, because of bug. And now, on the fourth chapter I'm done with the game. I'll never pick this up again due to the ridiculous amount of bugs I encountered. Before the plant boss Tesheka* got stuck on stairs, that I had to glitch myself through. Then, I had to glitch myself through a branch that is supposed to be climbed over. Then, after beating the boss and spending a good 10 minutes on it, I was completely bugged and couldn't move on. Tesheka* followed me around the huge empty hole where the boss died, and I could not move forward with the game. This game can collect dust for all I care, and the only reason I'm giving it a 2 and not a 1 is the semi-fun gameplay. The overused curse words, and stupid puns got old after chapter 3. Horrible game, do not recommend it at all. Expand
  39. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    Obligatory 0 for using Games for Windows Live. An unforgivable offence, as GfWL is Microsoft's attempt to kill PC gaming in favor of the Xbox. There might be something playable under the DRM, but I'd have to pirate it to find out.
  40. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    It's more like an interactive video rather than a game! I don't say that this is a BAD game, no, because it's really fun and satisfying to kill enemies. But it's too simple, you must only do what the game tells you to do, there's no challenge.
    The multi-player isn't bad, it can be fun with friends. Maybe.
    Ah, and another thing. THE ENDING IS AWFUL. ONE OF THE WORST ENDINGS EVER MADE IN A GAME.
  41. Dec 9, 2012
    1
    WTF is wrong with Micro$oft and their games for windows live ??? that thing is freking retardet. 111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
  42. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Bulletstorm is very fun to play. Kill with Skill, why nobody had done this before? Although pretty blunt and really fun, this is the true successor of the late Duke Nukem. As weapons are quite different and as you choose from a selection at start-up, the game has a good replay value so you can start by choosing different weapons such as for instance the head trap of the Saw movie (and makeBulletstorm is very fun to play. Kill with Skill, why nobody had done this before? Although pretty blunt and really fun, this is the true successor of the late Duke Nukem. As weapons are quite different and as you choose from a selection at start-up, the game has a good replay value so you can start by choosing different weapons such as for instance the head trap of the Saw movie (and make it explode). Or take fireworks to see the guys fly and explode into beautiful sparks. Each impact on the enemy is managed as well so you can shoot any parts of the body and have a different reactions (and various bonuses). The game is not too repetitive either in terms of worlds and different enemies, and there's a background story to discover. In short, a game very cool game to let loose! Expand
  43. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    The most fun is finding interesting ways to kill your enemy with the energy leash. Not much brainpower is needed for this game, and I mean it in a good way. You play it simply because you want to kill everything you see. It is worth playing.
  44. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    I don't like shooters, at all, and that's mainly because this generation made them have the exact same things (run in corridor->take cover->shoot->repeat), and basically ruined old shooters where there was actual exploration and puzzles. Of course there are exception and Bulletstorn, strangely, isn't an exception and actually overuses the same formula...but they made it good. I heard tonsI don't like shooters, at all, and that's mainly because this generation made them have the exact same things (run in corridor->take cover->shoot->repeat), and basically ruined old shooters where there was actual exploration and puzzles. Of course there are exception and Bulletstorn, strangely, isn't an exception and actually overuses the same formula...but they made it good. I heard tons of things of this game and eventually I got it on discount, and I don't really regret but I didn't feel extremely excited either. Anyway, what really works in this game, are the dialogues which are very funny and extremely over the top and actually never seem out of place: it looked like I was watching one action flick with tons of jokes and tons of gore...which means that the plot, even though it has its moments, it's nothing spectacular and unfortunely it revolves in one single mission. Nothing horrible but there was potential for more stuff to happen. Second thing that it's good aren't exactly the shooting, but how shooting is rewarded: you basically get points from how you kill enemies and the stylish the kill, the more points you get. All this is also encouraged by the addition of the hook which basically makes you lure enemies to you or either activate or destroy particular things in order to get more points and kills. Only bad thing here is that it's extremely repetitive but there's always variety on how you can kill enemies and how you can make more points (and there are also challenges that are meant for the completionists). Weapons also are good although they aren't many, but they are varied and they luckily don't feel the same...but unfortunely they haven't got a lot of ammunition (even when powered up), and so you won't be using the same weapon often. The levels aren't many but they are well detailed and the moments are varied enough to keep you going, with also the plot getting more details, but here comes the biggest flaw of the game: the longevity. There are about 8 chapters (including the prologue) and they don't last very long (i think the longest level took an hour at max). I finished the game in about 7-8 hours and on top of that the levels are extremely linear, with also poor interaction with the enviroment (you can sometimes interact by using your hook or killing your enemies...but you can't even jump on your own and not even fall down cliffs, just to say). There's also a multiplayer mode which has a nice idea and lets you play in a group that has to make points by killing the enemies with skillshots and the group wins if they reach the required amount of points: it's actually challenging but it's not properly well made and I haven't seen many players in this mode, meaning that it's not the core of the game and hardly anyone plays it properly. A great shooting game that is ruined by the poor longevity and the huge lack of multiplayer: it's nothing fresh but focuses mainly on entertaining the player and having them rewarded by using the enviroment and the right shooting skills. It's definitly worth a try though, especially if you find it on discount or if you're tired of the "ultra realistic military shooting gallery" that nowadays are so common and, even if it doesn't last long, it's gonna be 8 hours of gore, swear words, black humour and lots and lots of bullets! Expand
  45. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    Fairly entertaining shooter that goes outside of recent year's "mold" for FPSs. When I saw the trailer for this game I was genuinely exited. I thought, OMG someone gets it, this is going to be the Unreal/Quake revival era of FPSs. Everything seemed to indicate they were making a similar fast phased/total destruction/chaos frantic FPS with a Sci-Fi Space theme that doesn't take himself tooFairly entertaining shooter that goes outside of recent year's "mold" for FPSs. When I saw the trailer for this game I was genuinely exited. I thought, OMG someone gets it, this is going to be the Unreal/Quake revival era of FPSs. Everything seemed to indicate they were making a similar fast phased/total destruction/chaos frantic FPS with a Sci-Fi Space theme that doesn't take himself too seriously. Theoretically, that's what Bulletstorm "is" or tried to do. Unfortunately I have to say it did fall a bit short of the hyped up expectations, but you also have to consider that it had some big shoes to fill. I mean this game was marketed towards the old Quake/Unreal fans, the classic FPS players (like me) that were craving for a good fast phased chaotic FPS like old times. While Bulletstorm is definitely in that ballpark, doesn't live quiet to the standards set by the old timers. Too many cut scenes, that while fun, they end up breaking the continuity of the game. Again, something that old FPSs didn't have. The campaign is incredibly fun, the art and graphics are beautiful, SPECIALLY if played in 3D Vision. The controls and mechanics were as expected and I was quite pleased with them, very responsive, fast phased and with that old Unreal/Quake touch (in a way, not entirely). Conclusion: Bulletstorm definitely breaks the mold of today's FPSs and "tries" to take you back to the old glorious days of campaign centered, fast phased, chaotic FPSs. Definitely better than any of the current "junk FPSs" like CoD, MW, etc, etc that kids like today. BUT, unfortunately, it's not a revival of Quake or Unreal, which is what most of us expected, the idea is there tough, so good hopes for the future of this franchise. Overall the game is very fun and well worth the price tag at launch, let alone the lower prices it's going for today. Expand
  46. Sep 23, 2012
    3
    Bulletstorm is a f****ng bad plagiarism of Borderlands : the same bad boys, the same bad world, the same bad language, the same cartoon graphics and a worst porting from Xbox to PC than borderlands, that was already very bad. And the main characters have the charisma of a sick oyster. He has no strategy in fights, the world in not interesting, the linearity dates from 1990. This game canBulletstorm is a f****ng bad plagiarism of Borderlands : the same bad boys, the same bad world, the same bad language, the same cartoon graphics and a worst porting from Xbox to PC than borderlands, that was already very bad. And the main characters have the charisma of a sick oyster. He has no strategy in fights, the world in not interesting, the linearity dates from 1990. This game can only have an interest for a person that has never played to Borderlands (but is there anyone that never played to Borderlands ? :) ). And I don't speak about Games for Windows live, the uninteresting world, and the difficulty that is totally smoked ....

    Finally, a game to avoid.
    Expand
  47. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    I think Bulletstorm is a masterpiece that shines like a star through the insane catchy action which comes in a unique gaming mode: the "to kill with creativity" mode.: The more different manners are used the more skill points are earned for buying new weapons or for upgrading the yet claimed weapons. The game is pointed at the action it and on that point it's the best and most fun game toI think Bulletstorm is a masterpiece that shines like a star through the insane catchy action which comes in a unique gaming mode: the "to kill with creativity" mode.: The more different manners are used the more skill points are earned for buying new weapons or for upgrading the yet claimed weapons. The game is pointed at the action it and on that point it's the best and most fun game to date. Bulletstorm is one of the few to let me replay the single player for more than 2 times (Played it 6 times by now and still wanting to play it.) The game just feels good, looks good and makes you have fun fun and more fun! Expand
  48. Jul 26, 2012
    7
    A linear, vulgar take on the FPS game, Bulletstorm isn't going to win any awards for originality but it's fast-paced and fun, the best kind of mindless shooter really. I recommend the game to others purely so you can hear Jen Hale (Mass Effect's Femshep) shout "Go **** yourself! You **** piles give chase, I will kill your dicks!".
  49. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    this is a really fun game to play if you've got some friends and are looking to jump into some satisfying violence for between 5 minutes and 4 hours. Combo moves are bloody and satisfying, but coordinating a team combo on a single victim is downright amazing, and the sheer number of special attacks (ranging from simple to absurd) will give you a lot to play with while locked in a boxthis is a really fun game to play if you've got some friends and are looking to jump into some satisfying violence for between 5 minutes and 4 hours. Combo moves are bloody and satisfying, but coordinating a team combo on a single victim is downright amazing, and the sheer number of special attacks (ranging from simple to absurd) will give you a lot to play with while locked in a box slaughtering faceless baddies.

    The single player is pretty decent, though it's short and doesn't exactly go out of its way to try and be original. Really this game should be weighed as a multiplayer game. Fun multiplayer experience, mediocre single player.
    Expand
  50. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    If you love Co-Op, true Co-Op, then DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. It is awful. My SO and myself love playing games together, but the only "co-op" mode this game has? Survival 4 player....against waves of mindless bot with no strategy other than shoot at them in various ways. Hoping for story mode together? TOO BAD, they removed it from the game, because apparently playing the campaign togetherIf you love Co-Op, true Co-Op, then DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. It is awful. My SO and myself love playing games together, but the only "co-op" mode this game has? Survival 4 player....against waves of mindless bot with no strategy other than shoot at them in various ways. Hoping for story mode together? TOO BAD, they removed it from the game, because apparently playing the campaign together with a friend breaks everything. I should have known better than to trust another EA game. Do yourself a favor, if you like gory fights with no thought, perhaps this is for you. But if you want a game you can sit down and play for hours of entertainment with another person? Look elsewhere. Expand
  51. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Echt ein hammer Spiel , sehr witzig gemacht ! ^^
  52. Jul 7, 2012
    9
    I have to say this was a bargain for
  53. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    This game is a blast! For the money (currently $20) it is absolutely worth a play-through. It's entertaining, not complicated, looks good, plays well. I like the setting and the characters, but didn't pay too much attention to the storyline. The action sequences are fast-paced, but if you like to take your time with shooters just lower the difficulty. The controls can be a little sketchyThis game is a blast! For the money (currently $20) it is absolutely worth a play-through. It's entertaining, not complicated, looks good, plays well. I like the setting and the characters, but didn't pay too much attention to the storyline. The action sequences are fast-paced, but if you like to take your time with shooters just lower the difficulty. The controls can be a little sketchy when you're in the menus and a Windows Live account is required, but I didn't find either of those to be a deal breaker. If you're looking for a fun shooter that you don't have to take seriously, look no further than Bulletstorm. Expand
  54. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    awesome game,best free your mind and shoot game ever,good graphics,great characters and incredible sound,my opinion best game so far by unreal engine3
  55. Jun 23, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bulletstorm itself was amusing for about two hours of slaughter, but after you've kicked an enemy into the air, shot half of him away with a four-barrelled shotgun and whipped the other half into a huge burning hole, it remained just that. All you do the entire game is running through a level, kill everyone the most "intuitive" way and run again. You never re-visit an area, you never familiarize yourself with the environment, nothing your "learn" is of any use.

    It was indeed interesting to play and many times, I was just like "Wooah!", but this quickly became boring. The ending was the most disappointing part. I expected something like "Hardcore mode unlocked" or such, but all I got was the "Echo" mode, which was basically just a "high-score hunt".

    To summarize this: Bulletstorm is a nice and exciting shooter and definately something new with its "over the top and even more"-kills, but it's lack of depth, dynamics and content, which was just replaced by "f**k", "s**t", "m****r**c**r" and what not else, really reduced the fun of this game.
    I'd only recommend Bulletstorm if you're really a fan of slaughtering and don't care about story.
    Expand
  56. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    I thought the main campaign was fairly repetitive. The weapons available and the accompanying system for them is somewhat lacking. The dialogue is entertaining and the graphics are aesthetically pleasing if you can run them on the higher end. The campaign took me just under 7 hours without too much effort. Multiplayer refuses to work for me, due to the ever horrid windows live attached toI thought the main campaign was fairly repetitive. The weapons available and the accompanying system for them is somewhat lacking. The dialogue is entertaining and the graphics are aesthetically pleasing if you can run them on the higher end. The campaign took me just under 7 hours without too much effort. Multiplayer refuses to work for me, due to the ever horrid windows live attached to the game like a tumor. I'd recommend it to anyone for a once through if they could borrow it or rent it for a day. I got it for free as a steam gift from a friend, otherwise I wouldn't spend more than maybe 10 bucks on it. Expand
  57. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    I picked this game up for $5, and this review shall reflect that. If I'd spent $40 or more on this game, it would definitely be rated lower. That being said, I thought this game was alright. Most of the parts came across as just mediocre, though. Some of the parts should have been awesome (remote control in particular), but for some reason they came across as annoying. The shootingI picked this game up for $5, and this review shall reflect that. If I'd spent $40 or more on this game, it would definitely be rated lower. That being said, I thought this game was alright. Most of the parts came across as just mediocre, though. Some of the parts should have been awesome (remote control in particular), but for some reason they came across as annoying. The shooting mechanics themselves were pretty fun, but some of the skillshots are insanely hard to pull off, and forcing yourself to memorize a formula and try it out on a handful of enemies until you get it right more or less takes you out of the "fast-paced and frantic" atmosphere this game tries to pull off. Add that to enemies that can take INSANE numbers of shots, and a field of view so narrow that you won't be able to see jack money squat to your side, and a great game turns merely good. The graphics are alright and the sound was well done, but holy CRAP is most of the voice acting bad. Ishi is completely and utterly devoid of emotion, even though he has tons of emotional lines, and Sarrano's dialogue sounds like it was written by an 11-year old that just learned about swear words. Even Trishka's acting is bad, for the 2 lines in the whole game that she expresses something other than annoyance. Hunt was well-acted, although I'm not surprised since the voice actor is an absolute pro, and is in EVERYTHING. The second half of this game feels like it drags on forever, which is horrible, since Bulletstorm is NOT a long game by anyone's definition. Games for Windows Live (which is required even through Steam) is an absolute turd, and should never ever ever ever be used in a game again EVER. Overall, it was a fun little distraction, and aside from a few infuriatingly annoying parts, I had fun with it. I'm certainly glad I paid $5 for it though. I'd be upset if I had paid more than $10, honestly. Expand
  58. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    I truly enjoyed this game and quite honestly do not understand the bad reviews. The gameplay was solid and fresh and felt like a new experience. The story was a bit 'meh' but the amazing and unique scenarios and environments were fantastic and engaging. Also, the humor was the kind of awesome nonsense i would expect in more games. The devs weren't afraid to go overboard on dick jokes, andI truly enjoyed this game and quite honestly do not understand the bad reviews. The gameplay was solid and fresh and felt like a new experience. The story was a bit 'meh' but the amazing and unique scenarios and environments were fantastic and engaging. Also, the humor was the kind of awesome nonsense i would expect in more games. The devs weren't afraid to go overboard on dick jokes, and i respect them for that. It felt more realistic that way, knowing i would probably say the same thing in that scenario. Overall, the game was enjoyable and looking back at all the fun parts of the game i realize this game deserves an excellent rating. Expand
  59. Apr 14, 2012
    7
    A good game suffers from a bad port job. The first thing about this game that guided me down the road to realizing it was a bad port was the necessity of signing into Games for Windows LIVE to play it. This isn't 2005, nobody uses that anymore. Use Steam. Secondly, and this was big for me, sniping is broke. You can't "free snipe" as you have to lock on to someone (the person you want toA good game suffers from a bad port job. The first thing about this game that guided me down the road to realizing it was a bad port was the necessity of signing into Games for Windows LIVE to play it. This isn't 2005, nobody uses that anymore. Use Steam. Secondly, and this was big for me, sniping is broke. You can't "free snipe" as you have to lock on to someone (the person you want to snipe) if you want to fire. And i found out that sometimes it doesnt lock on to anyone, especially on the later levels. Third, the story, though a decent length, still isn't something to marvel over and could have been longer. Multiplayer is boring and not worth your time. And on a side note, don't blame pirates for your game not selling well. Blame the **** job you did porting it over to PC. Now go sit in a corner and go think about what you've done. Expand
  60. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Awesome and fun. Where else do you get to control a mechanical dinosaur! I have been gaming many years and I have truly enjoyed this game. Buy it you won't regret it.
  61. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    I was really impressed by the Bulletstorm. Not that the game-play is great or executions feels awesome, it's just that general feel of the game is very good. It feels very opened even though it's simple "tunnel", mainly because of very nice landscape views. I like the style, graphics and even the killing and rewarding mechanics. It's simply one of the best shooters of 2011 to me.
  62. Apr 8, 2012
    2
    While the sound, graphics and art-style are fine, the game-play gets old really fast. The skill shot system seems like a pretty cool idea at first, but the repetition shows itself more quickly than you might like. The enemies act like they're waiting to get slaughtered by your ever repeating kicks and leash attacks, the difficulty settings don't seem to change anything at all.
    The story
    While the sound, graphics and art-style are fine, the game-play gets old really fast. The skill shot system seems like a pretty cool idea at first, but the repetition shows itself more quickly than you might like. The enemies act like they're waiting to get slaughtered by your ever repeating kicks and leash attacks, the difficulty settings don't seem to change anything at all.
    The story and storytelling are atrocious. It seems like the developers just didn't give a **** about an interesting and exciting story, bad clichés get followed by even more clichés. The game tries to take itself serious, which fails horribly. Unnecessary cut scenes which often contain boring quick time events, pop up every two minutes and interrupt the shallow run and gun game-play.

    Bulletstorm does not deserve the praise it gets from all the big reviewers, and its definitely not worth the high price.
    Expand
  63. Apr 5, 2012
    0
    What a terrible game. I bought this on a Steam sale for $5.00 and after 20 minutes of watching horrible cut scenes intermixed with crossing the room and pressing E here then R there, I couldn't take it anymore. I wouldn't pick this up for free. Steer clear.
  64. Apr 5, 2012
    6
    Ok game, I got it for 5 bucks on steam... It is certainly not worth 50 bucks... Very awfull dialogues, an non-existent story made by and for morons...

    Gameplay wise, very fun to play, nice weapons Graphics wise really good... very nice representation and level design... I only hate the macho Gears of War beefcake empty dialogue stuff... Epic games needs to grow up! People can fly have
    Ok game, I got it for 5 bucks on steam... It is certainly not worth 50 bucks... Very awfull dialogues, an non-existent story made by and for morons...

    Gameplay wise, very fun to play, nice weapons
    Graphics wise really good... very nice representation and level design...

    I only hate the macho Gears of War beefcake empty dialogue stuff... Epic games needs to grow up! People can fly have proven themselves to be very capable developpers... Now make a intelligent game please...
    Expand
  65. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    When I bought this game, I was unsure of what it would be like. I had heard people saying the storyline was weak and that the gameplay was boring. However, I found the game to be hugely entertaining. The point system made you want to play in a different way to how you would normally on an FPS. The pacing of how certain weapons got introduced was nice, allowing new weapons to be discoveredWhen I bought this game, I was unsure of what it would be like. I had heard people saying the storyline was weak and that the gameplay was boring. However, I found the game to be hugely entertaining. The point system made you want to play in a different way to how you would normally on an FPS. The pacing of how certain weapons got introduced was nice, allowing new weapons to be discovered right until the end, keeping experimentation alive. The on-screen HUD was also a nice touch, allowing you to never be too confused. I also found the humour placed between the characters funny, and not too stupid. On the other hand though, the controls for the PC were a little clunky - I wasn't able to jump over a wall that easily here and there, but nothing that truly frustrated me. The story was shorter than you might expect - about 9 hours of play, not always as long as some game campaigns are. Also, the story wasn't as strong as it could have been, I wasn't always entirely sure who was attacking me and why. Though, it mattered little as the plot of the whole game was clear, and the on-going action-packed scenes of gameplay, from a bursting dam to a toppling building to a huge dinosaur, were extremely fun to play. I would recommend this game to anyone thinking about buying it, especially as it is now selling online and in-stores cheaply - rarely above £10 (Or $15). Great game. Expand
  66. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    It took me a year to finally get my hands on this beauty (bought on Steam for 5â
  67. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    This was a nice new addition to the FPS world, Its a breath of fresh air compared to Battlefield and Call Of Duty. The game-play feels allot like a First person Gears Of War with a style that is more insane than Borderlands. Its unique skill shot combined with the amazing guns gives an awesome and huge number of possible killing combinations. This will give you a new look on the FPS genreThis was a nice new addition to the FPS world, Its a breath of fresh air compared to Battlefield and Call Of Duty. The game-play feels allot like a First person Gears Of War with a style that is more insane than Borderlands. Its unique skill shot combined with the amazing guns gives an awesome and huge number of possible killing combinations. This will give you a new look on the FPS genre and bring a healthy change to the normal modern day shooters that flood the market currently. You will get many hours of fun from completing challenges and gaining achievements while enjoying an insane and over the top style game-play, scenery and audio. But there is a downside to this game as the Multiplayer is much to be desired, Being the challenges with others just lowering the difficulties and making combo moves more and more difficult with more people in the lobbies. I constantly found my kills being stolen and my combos being interrupted. The story is much to be desired as there is allot that goes unexplained and allot not explained well, This in the dark or need to know style of story telling didn't fit well with me and I stopped playing this game rather quickly. Would I recommend this yes I would it is entertaining and fresh but only if you have a large pocket of disposable income as it will not last long and gives around 2 - 3 months of fun before it for lack of a better term gets old. Expand
  68. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    Awesome. I really like the fact that it is so over the top, you can't ignore it. It really has a certain something going for it. The main point of this game is the humour. It is pretty dark at times (getting drunk and shooting a bottle off a mans' head), its still pretty funny. You will hear the word "dick" and **** a lot in this game, and it appeals to the middleschooler inside. SomeAwesome. I really like the fact that it is so over the top, you can't ignore it. It really has a certain something going for it. The main point of this game is the humour. It is pretty dark at times (getting drunk and shooting a bottle off a mans' head), its still pretty funny. You will hear the word "dick" and **** a lot in this game, and it appeals to the middleschooler inside. Some mechanics are questionable, like the ability to buy ammo with skillpoints, and the optomization is not that hot. It also uses Games for Windows LIVE, which is a MAJOR downfall. Overall though, great game, on sale on steam NOW for 5 dollars. Pick it up, or face the boot, dick****! Expand
  69. Feb 11, 2012
    1
    i want my money back now its not worth the 20 i paid for it if you want a good game play crysis not this **** ok its hella boring and is just awful never buy this game period
  70. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    Awesome single player - if too SHORT!.. (finished in 10 hours on leisure play). Very dissapointed because this game REQUIRES Windows Games LIVE to play... One more negative comment - designed for a platform! So take it as that - a platform shooter... If only a little more time would be spent and dedicated to us - the gamers - this game would surely be a HIT!
  71. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible graphics, incredible controls. and incredible gameplay. Works very well on high on my 4 year old machine. I really enjoyed the storyline...
  72. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    I picked this up on a recent steam sale for $5 bucks. 9/10. its genuinely FUN. Usually when i play an fps, its more like rush to the end to see the story, or to be relieved from playing a tense action sequence. In this game, you look forward to every new combat sequence.. rather than enemies to get out of your way, the mobs become little pawn pieces that you use to kill things in moreI picked this up on a recent steam sale for $5 bucks. 9/10. its genuinely FUN. Usually when i play an fps, its more like rush to the end to see the story, or to be relieved from playing a tense action sequence. In this game, you look forward to every new combat sequence.. rather than enemies to get out of your way, the mobs become little pawn pieces that you use to kill things in more creative ways. The action sequences also mix up the gameplay giving some nice variation to the bulk of the creative kill gameplay. Its so much fun! GRAPHICS: The graphics are beautiful and EPIC. very important, since from playing world of warcraft, i expect everything to be epic or its a letdown. There's a bunch of swearing in the game, but just ignore it. The great graphics, epicness of everything, and fun gameplay is worth the entry. Its also so refreshing that the game doesn't take itself seriously like COD etc. Oh yeah, wouldn't pay more than 10 bucks for this, as after a few replays, theres not much to keep you there. Just perfect out of the bargain bin though! Expand
  73. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    What happens when you take familiar FPS elements and ideas and hit the 'ludicrous speed' button? You have a off-the-wall, full throttle, high octane, nitro infused blood bath! 'Bulletstorm' is just what the title implies and boy does it deliver. Tons of death, bullets, weapons, carnage and shload of expletives that would make Lenny Bruce and Red Fox blush. The visual are stunning withWhat happens when you take familiar FPS elements and ideas and hit the 'ludicrous speed' button? You have a off-the-wall, full throttle, high octane, nitro infused blood bath! 'Bulletstorm' is just what the title implies and boy does it deliver. Tons of death, bullets, weapons, carnage and shload of expletives that would make Lenny Bruce and Red Fox blush. The visual are stunning with no performance issues. The sound is thunderous and well mixed. The story is engaging and entertaining. The voice-over acting is incredibly well-done. The weapon upgrades aren't over wrought with too little or too many options. The best thing for me was the Skillpoint system. The more creative a way you can kill an enemy the more points you get. I was laughing and cringing through the whole time. Better yet is the boot. Yes, the infamous boot melee. My god is it ever so much fun kicking someone off a cliff or into a mutated cactus. For all the whiners on here that didn't like this - you're phoney pansies that probably got put off by the colorful dialogue and gore. This ain't for the feint at heart. POW! Expand
  74. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    Bulletstorm feels like a wasted opportunity for me, there isn't much to keep you playing this one. The campaign follows the story of Grayson Hunt some drunk,loudmouthed space pirate out for revenge against his former leader; General Sarrano who had him and his squad kill innocents for his own gain. So basically he finds his ship and suicidally takes him down and crashes over some planetBulletstorm feels like a wasted opportunity for me, there isn't much to keep you playing this one. The campaign follows the story of Grayson Hunt some drunk,loudmouthed space pirate out for revenge against his former leader; General Sarrano who had him and his squad kill innocents for his own gain. So basically he finds his ship and suicidally takes him down and crashes over some planet failed utopia called Stygia. When he awakens him and his homicidal crazy robot human friend try to finish Sarrano going through hordes of crazy mutants to do so.
    Anyway the whole thing Bulletstorm has going for it is the "kill with skill" feature which rewards players for getting creative with their kills with skill points to upgrade weapons. While this is very unique, the novelty soon wears off. A lot of the cool kill sections in the game are scripted or blatantly obvious. And the skill points system eventually becomes redundant as well, essentially being used as an ammo refill system soon enough. Because of this there just feel like any incentive to kill with skill, eventually I just became bored and ended up using the bullet slide/kick/leash trick over and over and over again. If the game featured something like destructible environments then that would be awesome, imagine it, leasing any kind of debris you want and kicking it in your enemy's face. Sadly though, not to be.
    Still the game looks amazing running on the Unreal 3 engine. Huge vistas and excellent graphical effects really do make Stygia a convincing planet. That is also another point, Stygia really does feel like a failed utopia. Enciroments vary greatly with overgrown cities to mountains to sewers to industrial plants mean you never play through the same environment too much
    Story wise however things aren't so great, Grayson Hunt just feels like a loudmouthed delinquent version of Marcus Fenix, Ishi (his robo buddy) is the only one who actually has a believible backstory, a soldier implanted with technology to save his life after the crash, only to have to battle it for control of his body. However his dialogue is just plain awful, it's not even cheesy it's just crap. With lines like "Yes Gray, I will kill them all" in some fake robot voice. And that can be said for a lot of the dialogue in Bulletstorm, the game over uses swearing and dick jokes with lines like "What the dick?!" and "holy dick!" . Don't get me wrong I'm all for swearing and innuendos in games but not when every other sentence in the game is a dick joke (I'm not even joking)
    After you beat the campaign which is quite long might I add. There is anarchy mode, this is like horde only it isn't very hard and in some tiny arena while you fight the same easily defeatable enemys over and over. Anarchy gets stale very quickly, there is also an extreme lack of any features really. You can customise your leash colour, PMC skin and armour. That's it and it's not even really fun to play even with friends as it requires no teamwork at all. The very best you can do to get a laugh out of this is to do a Darth Vader style hold with the leash.
    There's also echoes mode which takes the best bits of the single player and puts them in a time trial style test with a leaderboard. But again this quickly gets boring and after a while there's no reason to play it. In addition, the story is forgettable and the ending is just pointless, unnessecary sequel bait.
    Don't get me wrong, I don't hate this game. It's not the worst game ever. Some of the guns are fun to use and sometimes the jokes are funny (SOMETIMES!). But I just got bored with this and it been on my shelf for a few months now.
    Pros:
    Fun guns
    Graphics
    Humour(if it's your thing)
    Cons: Forgettable story and characters
    No replay value
    Boring additional modes
    Lame ending
    Terrible dialogue
    Expand
  75. Vic
    Dec 8, 2011
    9
    Great game! It has tons of laughable moments and at the same time it's some kind of drama. The characters are so unique and special, and it's very entertaining to listen to them talking during the gameplay and off course all the jokes that they make! Great story, great gameplay, great graphics and great characters! Great game!!!
  76. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    You know when someone tells a joke that is so hilarious but at the same time tasteless and revolting? Where half of the crowd are offended, one guy laughed and the rest went home, cried and wrote angry letters. This game is kind of like that. It's a relief from the tention-ridden politically correct games out there. The more people are offended, the better it is really. You're always gonnaYou know when someone tells a joke that is so hilarious but at the same time tasteless and revolting? Where half of the crowd are offended, one guy laughed and the rest went home, cried and wrote angry letters. This game is kind of like that. It's a relief from the tention-ridden politically correct games out there. The more people are offended, the better it is really. You're always gonna offend someone because not everybody is as awesome as us. Anyways, I totally loved this game. The laidback style, dirty dialogue and comical violence totally appealed to me. Sometimes it's just great to sit back and play a game where you don't feel you have to commit 100%. Where you leave realism behind and just do something crazy. Where the laws of physics don't apply and you don't spare anyone's feelings. This is a game I would play again, just to relax. Like picking up the controller to do some moves in Tony Hawk. Except in this game you pick up the controller, be badass, listen to hilarious dialogues and kill baddies in creative ways. Love it! Expand
  77. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    Overall an extremely entertaining game. It felt like Gears of War, if you had a special leash that can throw enemies across the map. The point scoring system was delightful, and the story was exciting. Can't wait to pick up the sequel.
  78. Nov 24, 2011
    2
    wouldnt be a too bad game, but 99% of the time the players are retarded, who didnt even thought how to read and thats ruins the game, could be a really good team co-op game , but friends not always available when you wanna play who could play it right, to make those combo kills, so since you play with random players even 1 idiot can ruin the hole killstreaks which makes the game pointlesswouldnt be a too bad game, but 99% of the time the players are retarded, who didnt even thought how to read and thats ruins the game, could be a really good team co-op game , but friends not always available when you wanna play who could play it right, to make those combo kills, so since you play with random players even 1 idiot can ruin the hole killstreaks which makes the game pointless and annoying. i just bought it 1 day ago, read the killstreaks how to do those combos and its fun when you can do it, but thats happens like 2 times in 1 hour gaming which is awful. Hate this game, because it would be so much fun, but idiots are ruins it... Expand
  79. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    I can play this game for free and still i dont want to do that
    The game is a broken console port
    locked FOV,cant set it to 90
    locked fps to 62(more fps=less eye strain)
    cant disable headbob and other screen shakes
    whole screen zoom when you ads
    boring gameplay
    if you are 9 or 10 and you have never before played a FPS game on a PC then i guess this would be a ok game for you
  80. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    A very solid FPS with beautiful visuals. The whole skill system is very cool, and the weapons allow for some great action. It was a very enjoyable experience, but the game's too short with too little to do. It's the type of game I enjoy a lot but 8 hours later when it's over, I never touch it again, despite it being quite good. So in this regard, it doesn't stand out, but it's totallyA very solid FPS with beautiful visuals. The whole skill system is very cool, and the weapons allow for some great action. It was a very enjoyable experience, but the game's too short with too little to do. It's the type of game I enjoy a lot but 8 hours later when it's over, I never touch it again, despite it being quite good. So in this regard, it doesn't stand out, but it's totally worth playing as a rental or $10-$20 purchase. 7.5 score rounded to 8. Expand
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    Bought this game cheap when it was on sale... Singleplayer is linear and repetitive, but it's still fun... Good buy when on sale. Good buy under $10.
  82. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    I played the game for an hour and a half, and besides the graphics NOTHING amused me. "Bulletstorm" is a slash-and-shoot game; it entices you to violence and blood stronger than any other games, offering points for your "creative" kills. Oh, do you also know what it offers? A linear story with 500 cuss words, terrible campaign with groggy controls, and a multiplayer that doesn't reallyI played the game for an hour and a half, and besides the graphics NOTHING amused me. "Bulletstorm" is a slash-and-shoot game; it entices you to violence and blood stronger than any other games, offering points for your "creative" kills. Oh, do you also know what it offers? A linear story with 500 cuss words, terrible campaign with groggy controls, and a multiplayer that doesn't really offer anything new. I'd suggest playing something alse than this. Expand
  83. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    LOVE IT! Anyone saying this game sucks, has bad graphics or poor controls either doesn't play PC shooters, or has a really low grade computer. This game ROCKS! One of the favorites of all times. Single player is fun, and multiplayer Co-Op is even more fun! Blood, Gore, Fast paced action and skill combos not found in any other games. This game really forces you to get some skill and playLOVE IT! Anyone saying this game sucks, has bad graphics or poor controls either doesn't play PC shooters, or has a really low grade computer. This game ROCKS! One of the favorites of all times. Single player is fun, and multiplayer Co-Op is even more fun! Blood, Gore, Fast paced action and skill combos not found in any other games. This game really forces you to get some skill and play cooperatively to advance to the next wave or enemies. Combos that must be done with at least 2 players to kill bad guys in certain gory and ruthless ways. If you are looking for a game to hop in and play for 10 minutes WATCH OUT! You will end up addicted and play for hours! Expand
  84. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    This game really is hard to judge to be honest. It has plenty of ups and downs but nitpicking at a game like this doesn't get you anywhere. You can enjoy it regardless.

    I'll start off by saying that the graphics are pretty awesome. The game looks pretty surreal at times. Seeing an entire city along with a sublime-looking sky with celestial bodies floating in the sky (like nearby planets)
    This game really is hard to judge to be honest. It has plenty of ups and downs but nitpicking at a game like this doesn't get you anywhere. You can enjoy it regardless.

    I'll start off by saying that the graphics are pretty awesome. The game looks pretty surreal at times. Seeing an entire city along with a sublime-looking sky with celestial bodies floating in the sky (like nearby planets) never gets old; and you usually get time to sit and stare at it all, regardless of how fast-paced and hectic this game is. You'll be trudging through a dark sewer then you finally come out of an opening to the outside world and are greeted with a refreshing, atmospheric vista.


    Anyway, on to gameplay. Bulletstorm is definitely a run-and-gun style game, but anyone who bought this game thinking otherwise should have researched it some more. It was blatantly obvious when they originally showed it at E3. The skillshot system is actually very fun to use, but I feel that it was too forced. The only way to play effectively is to kick bad guys in to environmental hazards or do fancier things like shoot an explosive flail on one bad guy and blow up a group of them with it. It's honestly very sloppy at times. You might fire a cannonball from the bouncer in to a huge crowd of enemies and end up inadvertently unlocking 3 new skill shots at once while racking up hundreds of skill points. The only way to enjoy this game is to acquire skill points then stop at one of the many drop pods that are littered throughout the levels to buy ammo and upgrade your guns. These menus are simple enough to navigate, but it really kills the pace at times. You can literally access a drop pod in the middle of a massive battle and it just pauses the game for you while you buy a bunch of ammo and charge shots. In my opinion, this tends to break the continuity of the game. This game smells of console port, but I honestly stopped caring about that ages ago since it's so common. The only thing I dislike is how you're limited to carrying 3 weapons at once, and the assault rifle (which is useless) can't be exchanged for a different weapon. Trying to kill a guy with conventional bullets in this game is about as effective as shooting someone with raisins, it just doesn't kill them. The charge shot on the rifle is good, but it's boring. It's just a perfectly-accurate, disintegrating round that kills any normal enemy in one hit. You have to stop by a drop pod if you want to exchange weapons, unless a special enemy drops the one you want (which isn't too often).

    The skillshot database is also a bit annoying because you have to bring it up constantly to review any new skill shots you've unlocked so you can earn enough points to keep your guns loaded. If you play on easy it's not really difficult to do this.

    Another little issue I had with this game was with the quick time events where you have to hold the E key at specific points in the game to focus in on an event that's occurring. If you react quick enough, you are rewarded with 500 skill points. The points are nice, but it interferes with gameplay, and they throw these quick time events at you like every 5 minutes and it gets really annoying after the 3rd time. You can choose to ignore it, but you don't get any points.


    But like I said, nitpicking doesn't get you anywhere with a game like Bulletstorm. All in all it's a decent game. It wasn't worth $60 when it first came out, but It's only $20 on Steam now, so anyone who's considering trying it shouldn't be worried about spending too much money. There's a demo available on Steam as well.
    Expand
  85. Sep 22, 2011
    1
    Not a very good game. How the hell did this get good reviews? The only reason I tried Bulletstorm out was because of the ratings on Wikipedia. Deserves a 3 at best, only rated it lower to offset the inflated score. Very repetitive, no replay value, and an average storyline. Another cod copy-cat bites the dust.
  86. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Fantastically fun game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very dynamic and beautiful gameplay, cutscenes too wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =)
  87. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best PC action games you'll play. A purists video game and a spirited rebirth for over the top shooters that will appeal to anyone who loves the genre. People Can Fly have brought flair and creativity to the UT heritage with a new pallet of ideas that are both fresh and hugely enjoyable. The controls are fantastic and best suited to PC. Special mention must go to theThis is one of the best PC action games you'll play. A purists video game and a spirited rebirth for over the top shooters that will appeal to anyone who loves the genre. People Can Fly have brought flair and creativity to the UT heritage with a new pallet of ideas that are both fresh and hugely enjoyable. The controls are fantastic and best suited to PC. Special mention must go to the sniper rifle: which is one of the most brilliant ideas I've ever seen in a shooter this past decade. Don't let the juvenile tone of the demo put you off as it becomes much more acceptable during the campaign. The narrative thread is weak and it has no aspirations to be a narrative driven game. Instead it surges forward with ridiculous set pieces and satisfying, robust game play mechanics. An action extravaganza and a real treat. Expand
  88. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    Every last bit of exquisite detail in the game might as well have been a poster, pure artwork on an invisible wall. The pathfinding is a direct one-way-to-the-end-of-the-level route in SP, with so many cutscenes and the headache-unducing camera wobble make the game a pure piece of trash. Even the cursing seemed as if it was either translated or curse words given to a 5year old to memorizeEvery last bit of exquisite detail in the game might as well have been a poster, pure artwork on an invisible wall. The pathfinding is a direct one-way-to-the-end-of-the-level route in SP, with so many cutscenes and the headache-unducing camera wobble make the game a pure piece of trash. Even the cursing seemed as if it was either translated or curse words given to a 5year old to memorize and make a sentence with. Multiplayer has ZERO chat function via keyboard so unless you're telepathic, good luck getting people to understand what it means to wave your gun towards a target. Out of the box, it has NO startup screen forcing new players to download a completely new interface in order to verify your game and download 2 patches from dial-up servers on the MOON! It took a week of searching forums to find the way to completely install the game to play it. While PCF (People Can Fly) make great gore and gibs with slo-mo effects, that's pretty much where they're skill ends. An absolute waste of money. I really tried hard at getting my $60 worth, but with no way to talk to other players via the keyboard, and a slow acceptance of people that would consider using voice chat to talk to strangers, this was a serious disappointment. Expand
  89. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    Bulletstorm is baked like a cake smothered with funny dialogue and blast your ass off gameplay, however they dropped the cake when they heard 'multi-player'. You'll easily remember this game for the funny dialogue and the gameplay, not much else. Bottom line, it's a great ride.. but it pulls in quick.
  90. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    Bulletstorm is a unique game, to say the least, and if your not a fan of action games, leave right now, because that's all this game is.

    But it's a fun game, Bulletstorm isnt a graphical marvel or a story-driven saga starter, far from both might I add. The story is downright boring, and the graphics are less than marvellous, but the game is fun for one key reason, humour. This game is
    Bulletstorm is a unique game, to say the least, and if your not a fan of action games, leave right now, because that's all this game is.

    But it's a fun game, Bulletstorm isnt a graphical marvel or a story-driven saga starter, far from both might I add. The story is downright boring, and the graphics are less than marvellous, but the game is fun for one key reason, humour. This game is hilarious, and the kill with skill feature only adds to the hilarity, characters will constantly make smart ass jokes and make fun of each other with actual wit, I had a couple of burst out laughing moments a few times in this game. And if your a fan of Epic's previous games such as Gears of War, you'll feel pretty much at home here, with their trademark Unreal Engine in full effect, the blood coming from enemies torn torsos looks almost identical to that if you were cutting a locust in half with a chainsaw (although a bit brighter in Bulletstorm). I'd like to describe this game as a "Funnier, more happy approach to Gears of War", and thats what you can expect buying Bulletstorm.

    Final notes: Fun game with lots of Humour and blood, perfect for any action junky who likes a good laugh, bad for everyone else.
    Expand
  91. Jun 17, 2011
    3
    Fun game, fun take on the genera, interesting, unique, amazing, cool weapons. But, the talking is so gross, perverted, nasty, sick, stupid, pointless, thing in my life. They say so much crap that's discusting like "haha Cocksuckers!" in creepy voices. and "suck on it, ugh!!" and "AHAHAHA! Sushi Dick!" and "You shoulda f***** me when you had the chance" and all this freaking creepy stuff,Fun game, fun take on the genera, interesting, unique, amazing, cool weapons. But, the talking is so gross, perverted, nasty, sick, stupid, pointless, thing in my life. They say so much crap that's discusting like "haha Cocksuckers!" in creepy voices. and "suck on it, ugh!!" and "AHAHAHA! Sushi Dick!" and "You shoulda f***** me when you had the chance" and all this freaking creepy stuff, and it's not only what they say but how they said it. I swear I wonder what the heck the actors who had to say this were thinking. Were like uhhh? I mean the language is so much and gross I can't even enjoy the game. The language they say doesn't even have anything to do with it! I mean they don't say "Damnit they're comin in from the sides!" instead they say something like "haha suck my dick you cocksucking sushi dick!" and it's like what the hell? seriously... They screwed the game up with the language Expand
  92. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Bulletstorm is a very intense action packed game! Lots of action, gore, and excessive swearing but on a PC platform you can toggle the language and gore. I personally love this game but i think that they could have done more with the multiplayer, maybe PvP matches and maybe even a co-op story line like Halo, or CoD 5.
    or maybe co-op Echo missions but otherwise its a very good game and i
    Bulletstorm is a very intense action packed game! Lots of action, gore, and excessive swearing but on a PC platform you can toggle the language and gore. I personally love this game but i think that they could have done more with the multiplayer, maybe PvP matches and maybe even a co-op story line like Halo, or CoD 5.
    or maybe co-op Echo missions but otherwise its a very good game and i reccomend buying it!
    Expand
  93. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    The game is fun at first. But should have been released as a budget title. The campaigns get extremely boring and so does the gameplay. All you can do is fight the same type of enemies. If your get bored to death, the best thing you can do to make it a bit more entertaining is to aim for the head and get extra points because of headshots. Otherwise, the gameplay is boring and repetitve.The game is fun at first. But should have been released as a budget title. The campaigns get extremely boring and so does the gameplay. All you can do is fight the same type of enemies. If your get bored to death, the best thing you can do to make it a bit more entertaining is to aim for the head and get extra points because of headshots. Otherwise, the gameplay is boring and repetitve. Graphic wise, not good. Again, the devs care more the console gamers by powering this under the Unreal Engine just like every other game. Same atmosphere and feel as UT3. Expand
  94. Jun 2, 2011
    7
    It is a game like Serious Sam with Gears of War. Very casual, goofy and simple.
    The game is not very great with graphics, actually the level between settings are almost the same with very few changes like sun light or a little rocks but after that almost the same at all in high, medium and low quality.
  95. May 28, 2011
    6
    First off, anyone complaining about Games for Windows live is roughly 1% of the population. The majority of GFWL users don't have issues, and those who do, it can easily be solved with google.

    Bulletstorm is a fps that takes place in a paradise...well, it used to be a paradise. Now it's overrun with thugs, bandits, and giant creatures ready to demolish you. The gameplay is fresh, yet very
    First off, anyone complaining about Games for Windows live is roughly 1% of the population. The majority of GFWL users don't have issues, and those who do, it can easily be solved with google.

    Bulletstorm is a fps that takes place in a paradise...well, it used to be a paradise. Now it's overrun with thugs, bandits, and giant creatures ready to demolish you. The gameplay is fresh, yet very easy. You can simply grapple everything and kill them without hassle. Those you can't grapple, are still vulnerable to the lazer-thump ability.

    Bulletstorm has a very immature sense of humor, yet it's still pretty tolerable. I loved the dialogue. But it won't appeal to everyone.

    The main problem with Bulletstorm is that it acts like an arcade shooter. It has a point system, is incredibly linear, and has a multiplayer that plays just like single player. So what does all this mean? This game has no replayability. You will not want to beat it more than 1-3 times.

    Still, Bulletstorm is fun. Not worth $60-$50, more around $30-$40.
    Expand
  96. May 25, 2011
    10
    Borderlands hangs out with Duke Nukem and Gears of War. Thoroughly enjoyed this shooter. Characters are fun and wonderfully offensive, just like the gameplay. I like how the bonus points for inventive evisceration of the poor bastards trying to fight you actually count towards upgrades. Loved the visuals, very nice graphics, kudos to Unreal Engine. Some simple puzzles, fun boss fights,Borderlands hangs out with Duke Nukem and Gears of War. Thoroughly enjoyed this shooter. Characters are fun and wonderfully offensive, just like the gameplay. I like how the bonus points for inventive evisceration of the poor bastards trying to fight you actually count towards upgrades. Loved the visuals, very nice graphics, kudos to Unreal Engine. Some simple puzzles, fun boss fights, minor plot holes which make the main hero look abit retarded, the fact I dont mind in the slightest. Theme park level was great. Loved the game, recommending to friends. Expand
  97. May 23, 2011
    7
    Single play was really fun, good over the top shooter, gfx where excellent if a little to shiney. multiplayer should have had a player vs player mode but its still fun to play against the computer, with other people... EXCEPT WHEN THEY CANT DO A SIMPLE DAS BOOT!!!
  98. May 22, 2011
    10
    If there was a category of a most FUN game this would be a total winner of all times! In may not be a perfect game as a product (no co-op campaign or advanced multi). It may not be a perfect shooter in comparison with others (CoD, Battlefield). BUT it gave me a loads and loads of FUN to shoot, kill, and make fun of everybody and everything! :D
    It may be buggy, may not have the best dialogs
    If there was a category of a most FUN game this would be a total winner of all times! In may not be a perfect game as a product (no co-op campaign or advanced multi). It may not be a perfect shooter in comparison with others (CoD, Battlefield). BUT it gave me a loads and loads of FUN to shoot, kill, and make fun of everybody and everything! :D
    It may be buggy, may not have the best dialogs BUT it's FUN to hear some sarcastic swearing! :)
    It may not have the level design of CoD or Portal 2 but... it's FUN to throw an enemy to a cactus! :D
    Expand
  99. May 21, 2011
    7
    Quite fun while it lasts but it does become rather repetitive and the whole skill shots are very poorly written into the story. The graphics engine is very old and outdated but they still used it very well though.
  100. May 18, 2011
    10
    I've waited for this game. This game is very very good, orginal - fresh and fun! Crass humor that's actually entertaining rather than annoying, placed at all the right times.
  101. Mar 13, 2011
    0
    Fun for a while, but no where near worth $60. Cut scenes interrupt the action too often. The Kill With Skill feature is just an achievement system that pays you out to buy more ammo. It's a short game, and there is almost no replay value. My biggest complaint is the hyper nauseating camera motions. Jumping over an obstacle, or pulling a lever causes the camera to wobble aroundFun for a while, but no where near worth $60. Cut scenes interrupt the action too often. The Kill With Skill feature is just an achievement system that pays you out to buy more ammo. It's a short game, and there is almost no replay value. My biggest complaint is the hyper nauseating camera motions. Jumping over an obstacle, or pulling a lever causes the camera to wobble around drunkingly for a couple of seconds. There's more than one scene where your vision is blurred involuntarily. I'd recommend it if the price were $15-$20. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Bulletstorm is perfectly designed to appeal to the 14 year old boys who can't buy it because it's rated MA15+. [May 2011, p.64]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 6, 2011
    70
    While not a game that would alter the flow of history, Bulletstorm proved to be very pleasant and an extremely aberrant surprise not lacking the ability of self-irony. [Mar 2011]
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    77
    If you are looking for a simple and entertaining shooter, that's not a Call of Duty clone, which offers lots of humour and a great story, Bulletstorm could be for you.