Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 643 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons,Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons, which in turn allows them to execute even more inventive moves and exaggerated skillshots. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    95
    An incredibly welcome breath of fresh air. Never underestimate the simple need to let loose and cause some mayhem, and the skill shot system is exceptionally done.
  2. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    With Bulletstorm we're talking about a shooter that makes fun of its own genre, and games as a whole. At the same time, it's extremely funny to play. That combo is just priceless.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    88
    A frantic run into the fighting madness with convincing visual effects. Great in single player, less long-lived in multiplayer, but always original.
  4. 82
    In the end, Bulletstorm will make you smile and also grin with an almost maniacal satisfaction. It's true that the colorful language gets annoying, the action is in the end repetitive and only the wish to unlock new Skillshots keeps you playing through the story, but you mustn't expect anything other than a first-person Gears of War with a touch of Serious Sam's humor and a little of Duke Nukem's personality.
  5. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    While I would prefer to do my shooting in a well-written comedy or a dark drama, the opinion that Bulletstorm fails at both doesn't invalidate the fact that its creative gameplay is new, refreshing, and a total blast to play.
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Does Bulletstorm revolutionize the FPS? Clearly not! Nevertheless, it adds a personal touch to the genre by making a real scroring game like in the old times. All of this in an adventure which is not perfect, but refreshing and fun at once... and the game system is really excellent. Frankly, if you like the genre, do not hesitate to make yourself happy!
  7. Mar 8, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 162
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    Very good game, fast paced, great environmental scenes/effects (some of the best I've seen--grinder wheel anybody?). The combination systemVery good game, fast paced, great environmental scenes/effects (some of the best I've seen--grinder wheel anybody?). The combination system when you're fighting is pretty entertaining, especially when you get mass points for booting someone off a massive cliff, or leashing someone into a giant spike impaling them. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Awesome, mind-blowing game! I was really surprised how different and fresh is this game. Don't listen to the negative review. It's a freshAwesome, mind-blowing game! I was really surprised how different and fresh is this game. Don't listen to the negative review. It's a fresh breeze in FPS genre and definitely worth playing. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I just love it! Finally something fresh and fun. Totally different to what we have been fed in last couple of years. Very nice graphics andI just love it! Finally something fresh and fun. Totally different to what we have been fed in last couple of years. Very nice graphics and vistas. Had a lot of laughs and I think I'll be playing it again and again. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    I don't like shooters, at all, and that's mainly because this generation made them have the exact same things (run in corridor->takeI don't like shooters, at all, and that's mainly because this generation made them have the exact same things (run in corridor->take cover->shoot->repeat), and basically ruined old shooters where there was actual exploration and puzzles. Of course there are exception and Bulletstorn, strangely, isn't an exception and actually overuses the same formula...but they made it good. I heard tons of things of this game and eventually I got it on discount, and I don't really regret but I didn't feel extremely excited either. Anyway, what really works in this game, are the dialogues which are very funny and extremely over the top and actually never seem out of place: it looked like I was watching one action flick with tons of jokes and tons of gore...which means that the plot, even though it has its moments, it's nothing spectacular and unfortunely it revolves in one single mission. Nothing horrible but there was potential for more stuff to happen. Second thing that it's good aren't exactly the shooting, but how shooting is rewarded: you basically get points from how you kill enemies and the stylish the kill, the more points you get. All this is also encouraged by the addition of the hook which basically makes you lure enemies to you or either activate or destroy particular things in order to get more points and kills. Only bad thing here is that it's extremely repetitive but there's always variety on how you can kill enemies and how you can make more points (and there are also challenges that are meant for the completionists). Weapons also are good although they aren't many, but they are varied and they luckily don't feel the same...but unfortunely they haven't got a lot of ammunition (even when powered up), and so you won't be using the same weapon often. The levels aren't many but they are well detailed and the moments are varied enough to keep you going, with also the plot getting more details, but here comes the biggest flaw of the game: the longevity. There are about 8 chapters (including the prologue) and they don't last very long (i think the longest level took an hour at max). I finished the game in about 7-8 hours and on top of that the levels are extremely linear, with also poor interaction with the enviroment (you can sometimes interact by using your hook or killing your enemies...but you can't even jump on your own and not even fall down cliffs, just to say). There's also a multiplayer mode which has a nice idea and lets you play in a group that has to make points by killing the enemies with skillshots and the group wins if they reach the required amount of points: it's actually challenging but it's not properly well made and I haven't seen many players in this mode, meaning that it's not the core of the game and hardly anyone plays it properly. A great shooting game that is ruined by the poor longevity and the huge lack of multiplayer: it's nothing fresh but focuses mainly on entertaining the player and having them rewarded by using the enviroment and the right shooting skills. It's definitly worth a try though, especially if you find it on discount or if you're tired of the "ultra realistic military shooting gallery" that nowadays are so common and, even if it doesn't last long, it's gonna be 8 hours of gore, swear words, black humour and lots and lots of bullets! Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    Fairly entertaining shooter that goes outside of recent year's "mold" for FPSs. When I saw the trailer for this game I was genuinely exited. IFairly entertaining shooter that goes outside of recent year's "mold" for FPSs. When I saw the trailer for this game I was genuinely exited. I thought, OMG someone gets it, this is going to be the Unreal/Quake revival era of FPSs. Everything seemed to indicate they were making a similar fast phased/total destruction/chaos frantic FPS with a Sci-Fi Space theme that doesn't take himself too seriously. Theoretically, that's what Bulletstorm "is" or tried to do. Unfortunately I have to say it did fall a bit short of the hyped up expectations, but you also have to consider that it had some big shoes to fill. I mean this game was marketed towards the old Quake/Unreal fans, the classic FPS players (like me) that were craving for a good fast phased chaotic FPS like old times. While Bulletstorm is definitely in that ballpark, doesn't live quiet to the standards set by the old timers. Too many cut scenes, that while fun, they end up breaking the continuity of the game. Again, something that old FPSs didn't have. The campaign is incredibly fun, the art and graphics are beautiful, SPECIALLY if played in 3D Vision. The controls and mechanics were as expected and I was quite pleased with them, very responsive, fast phased and with that old Unreal/Quake touch (in a way, not entirely). Conclusion: Bulletstorm definitely breaks the mold of today's FPSs and "tries" to take you back to the old glorious days of campaign centered, fast phased, chaotic FPSs. Definitely better than any of the current "junk FPSs" like CoD, MW, etc, etc that kids like today. BUT, unfortunately, it's not a revival of Quake or Unreal, which is what most of us expected, the idea is there tough, so good hopes for the future of this franchise. Overall the game is very fun and well worth the price tag at launch, let alone the lower prices it's going for today. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    The game is fun at first. But should have been released as a budget title. The campaigns get extremely boring and so does the gameplay. AllThe game is fun at first. But should have been released as a budget title. The campaigns get extremely boring and so does the gameplay. All you can do is fight the same type of enemies. If your get bored to death, the best thing you can do to make it a bit more entertaining is to aim for the head and get extra points because of headshots. Otherwise, the gameplay is boring and repetitve. Graphic wise, not good. Again, the devs care more the console gamers by powering this under the Unreal Engine just like every other game. Same atmosphere and feel as UT3. Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2014
    0
    Extremely poor console port. Frame rate stutters a lot, dropping from a solid 60 down to twenty something randomly, especially during theExtremely poor console port. Frame rate stutters a lot, dropping from a solid 60 down to twenty something randomly, especially during the scripted events or cut scenes.

    This is a linear and rail shooter. Just run, grab, kick and shoot for 5 minutes. Then either press R, E or Q to continue your path or watch the stupid cut scenes. Rinse and repeat for the whole cycle then.

    The cut scenes could be enjoyable if the plot and characters were good but it's the exact opposite.

    The way of killing enemies doesn't sound creative to me. Basically, Dead Space or The Darkness II allows player to kill enemies in a more creative manner, yet they never pop up those stupid words and scores again and again.
    Expand

See all 162 User Reviews