Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 606 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons, which in turn allows them to execute even more inventive moves and exaggerated skillshots. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    95
    An incredibly welcome breath of fresh air. Never underestimate the simple need to let loose and cause some mayhem, and the skill shot system is exceptionally done.
  2. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    With Bulletstorm we're talking about a shooter that makes fun of its own genre, and games as a whole. At the same time, it's extremely funny to play. That combo is just priceless.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    88
    A frantic run into the fighting madness with convincing visual effects. Great in single player, less long-lived in multiplayer, but always original.
  4. 82
    In the end, Bulletstorm will make you smile and also grin with an almost maniacal satisfaction. It's true that the colorful language gets annoying, the action is in the end repetitive and only the wish to unlock new Skillshots keeps you playing through the story, but you mustn't expect anything other than a first-person Gears of War with a touch of Serious Sam's humor and a little of Duke Nukem's personality.
  5. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    While I would prefer to do my shooting in a well-written comedy or a dark drama, the opinion that Bulletstorm fails at both doesn't invalidate the fact that its creative gameplay is new, refreshing, and a total blast to play.
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Does Bulletstorm revolutionize the FPS? Clearly not! Nevertheless, it adds a personal touch to the genre by making a real scroring game like in the old times. All of this in an adventure which is not perfect, but refreshing and fun at once... and the game system is really excellent. Frankly, if you like the genre, do not hesitate to make yourself happy!
  7. Mar 8, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 156
  1. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Bulletstorm is one of the most fun games I have played in a long time. Theres not much I can fault with Bulletstorm. The engine doesn't run quite as fast as it should but without any AA and on highest settings it still easily keeps at 60 on just a 6850/70. It looks great, nothing insane but some nice views and good effects, the story is solid, nothing ridiculous but it still has one which is better then most gameplay oriented games already. Then we come to the gameplay, this is where Bulletstorm shines, there really is nothing like it out there, if I were to compare i'd say Bioshock 1, simply cause of the huge amount of options you have when it comes to destroying your enemies, but Bulletstorm takes it a step further adding a 'rating' system that allows good soldiers to restock and bad ones to die. The more interesting your skillshots the more ammo and weapons you can buy. The guns are crazy, 4 barrel shotgun for example, and their charge shots are a load of fun, lots of environment kills as well and some epic boss battles.
    The game also has an Echo mode where you can replay the most action packed fight scenes for points to compete on leaderboards, and it also has an Anarchy mode which is up to 4 player co-op fighting against waves.
    I finished the game on normal, then immediately played all the echo missions then finished the game again on the hardest, and enjoyed every second the gameplay is that enjoyable that it last through 2.5 playthroughs without any break in between. In summary you have the best combat of any game i've ever played wrapped up in a decent story with a decent graphics engine and a very solid frustration free experience. One of my top 10 games for sure.
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Wonderful title. It concentrate on increasing personal skill to create most precise and deadly combos. Plus in multiplayer it forces You to work as a team. Solo actions are worth much less points. Many casual players will bounce off as they lack of skill but i can clearly recommend this game to all Pros. They will have a hell of a fun. Single player is enjoyable too. Storyline with a cool graphic and great ways of disposing enemy gives much more fun than casual games. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I just love it! Finally something fresh and fun. Totally different to what we have been fed in last couple of years. Very nice graphics and vistas. Had a lot of laughs and I think I'll be playing it again and again. Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    this is a really fun game to play if you've got some friends and are looking to jump into some satisfying violence for between 5 minutes and 4 hours. Combo moves are bloody and satisfying, but coordinating a team combo on a single victim is downright amazing, and the sheer number of special attacks (ranging from simple to absurd) will give you a lot to play with while locked in a box slaughtering faceless baddies.

    The single player is pretty decent, though it's short and doesn't exactly go out of its way to try and be original. Really this game should be weighed as a multiplayer game. Fun multiplayer experience, mediocre single player.
    Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2011
    7
    Repetition, grindy and limiting gun upgrade system, and lame ending didn't help this game at all. I have to say though, there were some really amazing and extremely fun parts to this game. From controlling a robot dinosaur and running from a giant wheel, well, there are definitely kick butt aspects to what this game 'can' deliver. I didn't like how the Leash has to be charged to use the Thumper, and also that the upgrade system for guns seemed grindy as well as having to buy ammo. I think that the XBOX live culture is encouraging the achievement obsession way too much and this is getting into games in all the wrong ways. It definitely didn't sever Bulletstorm that well. It's funny for a while to get some of the achievements in this game, and to also punish your enemies with world objects, but in the end that is the whole game. It is too much of the shooting and not enough of the mind blowing game play I was hoping for. The most annoying part was the teenage immature types of voice overs you keep having to listen to over and over again. I mean really it gets old after the first few times, and yet you are stuck with a Duke Nukem wanna be. This game could have been way better, perhaps the sequel will deliver. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    Bulletstorm feels like a wasted opportunity for me, there isn't much to keep you playing this one. The campaign follows the story of Grayson Hunt some drunk,loudmouthed space pirate out for revenge against his former leader; General Sarrano who had him and his squad kill innocents for his own gain. So basically he finds his ship and suicidally takes him down and crashes over some planet failed utopia called Stygia. When he awakens him and his homicidal crazy robot human friend try to finish Sarrano going through hordes of crazy mutants to do so.
    Anyway the whole thing Bulletstorm has going for it is the "kill with skill" feature which rewards players for getting creative with their kills with skill points to upgrade weapons. While this is very unique, the novelty soon wears off. A lot of the cool kill sections in the game are scripted or blatantly obvious. And the skill points system eventually becomes redundant as well, essentially being used as an ammo refill system soon enough. Because of this there just feel like any incentive to kill with skill, eventually I just became bored and ended up using the bullet slide/kick/leash trick over and over and over again. If the game featured something like destructible environments then that would be awesome, imagine it, leasing any kind of debris you want and kicking it in your enemy's face. Sadly though, not to be.
    Still the game looks amazing running on the Unreal 3 engine. Huge vistas and excellent graphical effects really do make Stygia a convincing planet. That is also another point, Stygia really does feel like a failed utopia. Enciroments vary greatly with overgrown cities to mountains to sewers to industrial plants mean you never play through the same environment too much
    Story wise however things aren't so great, Grayson Hunt just feels like a loudmouthed delinquent version of Marcus Fenix, Ishi (his robo buddy) is the only one who actually has a believible backstory, a soldier implanted with technology to save his life after the crash, only to have to battle it for control of his body. However his dialogue is just plain awful, it's not even cheesy it's just crap. With lines like "Yes Gray, I will kill them all" in some fake robot voice. And that can be said for a lot of the dialogue in Bulletstorm, the game over uses swearing and dick jokes with lines like "What the dick?!" and "holy dick!" . Don't get me wrong I'm all for swearing and innuendos in games but not when every other sentence in the game is a dick joke (I'm not even joking)
    After you beat the campaign which is quite long might I add. There is anarchy mode, this is like horde only it isn't very hard and in some tiny arena while you fight the same easily defeatable enemys over and over. Anarchy gets stale very quickly, there is also an extreme lack of any features really. You can customise your leash colour, PMC skin and armour. That's it and it's not even really fun to play even with friends as it requires no teamwork at all. The very best you can do to get a laugh out of this is to do a Darth Vader style hold with the leash.
    There's also echoes mode which takes the best bits of the single player and puts them in a time trial style test with a leaderboard. But again this quickly gets boring and after a while there's no reason to play it. In addition, the story is forgettable and the ending is just pointless, unnessecary sequel bait.
    Don't get me wrong, I don't hate this game. It's not the worst game ever. Some of the guns are fun to use and sometimes the jokes are funny (SOMETIMES!). But I just got bored with this and it been on my shelf for a few months now.
    Pros:
    Fun guns
    Graphics
    Humour(if it's your thing)
    Cons: Forgettable story and characters
    No replay value
    Boring additional modes
    Lame ending
    Terrible dialogue
    Collapse
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    This game is a horrible generic console shooter. Everything from linear levels with no exploring ability, health regen, sprint to aimdownsights is present in here. It doesn't differ from Call of Duty in anyway except the aesthetics. Gameplay is from Call of Duty.

    Highly recommend staying away from this.
    Expand

See all 156 User Reviews