User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 434
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikhaeT
    Feb 11, 2009
    8
    Burnout isn't quite the same on PC as on a console - your friends laughing as you fail miserably... or you laughing at them as you take them down for the 4th time in a row. But for a console port, this game is excellent! Agreed, listening to Welcome to the Jungle can be tedious, however load times aren't too bad on my PC, possibly helped by skipping logging into an account - Burnout isn't quite the same on PC as on a console - your friends laughing as you fail miserably... or you laughing at them as you take them down for the 4th time in a row. But for a console port, this game is excellent! Agreed, listening to Welcome to the Jungle can be tedious, however load times aren't too bad on my PC, possibly helped by skipping logging into an account - just hit backspace, as it shows when you're prompted to log in, just as you can choose not to install EA's Download manager when installing the game. As soon as I am in game, I hit the skip track song to get bring up a new track. The gameplay is exactly what I've come to expect from a Burnout game - good, simple, fun! The PC controls work much better than I had expected, that is to say I crashed into walls/traffic/off cliffs no more than I would have with a PlayStation controller. I like the variety in what you can do... from straight out racing, to finding as many shortcuts as possible, smashing billboards, to finding and driving through the best/highest/longest jumps and chains of stunts. This is a game I will keep coming back to! Expand
  2. JamesK
    Feb 11, 2009
    9
    Very nice game, have been addicted to this for the last 2 weeks or so, I now have my A liscenes and rocking the house. The game looks very nice on the PC with no hick-ups or crashes, loading times are OK for me, about 1 minute to get the game starting, you just have to have a good PC =] I have been playing with the X360 controller and it really plays fluently, so no problems there. Very nice game, have been addicted to this for the last 2 weeks or so, I now have my A liscenes and rocking the house. The game looks very nice on the PC with no hick-ups or crashes, loading times are OK for me, about 1 minute to get the game starting, you just have to have a good PC =] I have been playing with the X360 controller and it really plays fluently, so no problems there. I'm really enjoying the 'mission' structure which you can excess almost anywhere if you're driving around. I'm really just chilling playing the game, doing whatever I want, listening to some nice gaming podcast. Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best racing games ever. The graphics are particularly nice to the eye, the game-play is pretty nice, the map is big but not too big, overall, a very, very enjoyable game.
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    One of the best racing games ever for the PC. The slowdown on crashing is amazing, the graphics were great for 2009, it still looks good today. The choice in music was so so, but I just muted the music and played my iTunes over it. For the people who say they hate GNR... that's your opinion, if you don't like them then remove it. I've experience no glitches at all... So yea. It's great. :D
  5. May 4, 2012
    8
    First 10 i have so far and that is because this is my all time favorite racing game and was well made from the start. The crashing and no loading screens make me happy.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    I got this game after I got extremely bored of Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, because it limits you to certian spaces and wasn't open world. After I got this games I was so happy, because when you race it's completely open world. Althought it is a little challenging that they made the races open world. I really didn't like party mode. The campaign is very long, and it's really worth yourI got this game after I got extremely bored of Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, because it limits you to certian spaces and wasn't open world. After I got this games I was so happy, because when you race it's completely open world. Althought it is a little challenging that they made the races open world. I really didn't like party mode. The campaign is very long, and it's really worth your money. This games is WAY off realism, this game isn't even close to bieng realistic, so if your someone who's trying to find a game with realism this really won't be the game for you. Althought if you want a game that has action, challenging moments, and extreme fun, this game will totally be for you. So far this is the best racing game I have ever played so far. The graphics for a 2009 game are just amzaing. The PC controls are a little quirky and not very smooth. Luckily I was able to hook up my PS3 Controller to my PC, and play Burnout Paradise with it. Overall I would give it 9 stars out of ten. Because I was really looking forward to party mode, but sadly it seemed to be that the developers payed WAY more attention to the campaign then the party mode. Again the PC controlles are a little quircky , so thats why I hooked up my PC controller to my PC.

    Overall it's one of the best racing games ever in my opinion. I've never had this much fun with Burnout Paradise.
    Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    5
    Origin isn't required to play (single), so it's not a big issue to me. But the amount of menus, additional tabs and irrationaly long cut-scenes before you could even start a game are spoiling the otherwise pretty good arcade racing game. It's a shame, really and often wears your patience off very fast... 5 tabs of the menus when you press escape, you navigate with...f1 and f2! WithOrigin isn't required to play (single), so it's not a big issue to me. But the amount of menus, additional tabs and irrationaly long cut-scenes before you could even start a game are spoiling the otherwise pretty good arcade racing game. It's a shame, really and often wears your patience off very fast... 5 tabs of the menus when you press escape, you navigate with...f1 and f2! With build-in store, even if you play offline. Game reminds you to create an origin account constantly. It's not worth your nerves and sanity to go through all this, there's plenty of better arcade racing games out there without this kind of buggers. Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (+1)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  9. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Un juegazo, a mi no me gustan los juegos de coches y carreras, pero este si me encanto, es un juegazo, lo recomiendo 100% tanto para fans de coches como para los del sandbox tipo GTA, es un juego con un mapeado extensisimo que te encantara disfrutar, acompañado mejor, es divertidisimo y muy adictivo, a la minima que podais pillaroslo, de verdad que os lo recomiendo, además hacer takedow aUn juegazo, a mi no me gustan los juegos de coches y carreras, pero este si me encanto, es un juegazo, lo recomiendo 100% tanto para fans de coches como para los del sandbox tipo GTA, es un juego con un mapeado extensisimo que te encantara disfrutar, acompañado mejor, es divertidisimo y muy adictivo, a la minima que podais pillaroslo, de verdad que os lo recomiendo, además hacer takedow a los amigos no tiene precio xDD Expand
  10. MunkF
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    I spent the first couple of hours just driving around Paradise City collecting Billboards and Super Jumps. I then won a a few Races and Stunt events to get some more cars (cars are released into the world and have to be Taken Down before they can be driven).That's what makes this game a 10 for me, there is so much to do in the world and you can choose to do it in any order you want. I spent the first couple of hours just driving around Paradise City collecting Billboards and Super Jumps. I then won a a few Races and Stunt events to get some more cars (cars are released into the world and have to be Taken Down before they can be driven).That's what makes this game a 10 for me, there is so much to do in the world and you can choose to do it in any order you want. Going online is a breeze with a menu system that you activate while driving, and lobbies where you also continue to drive between events. In fact the lobbies are just another way to play the game. Still unlocking new cars (and bikes), and finding new things to do after 30 hours of play means I will be playing this for a long time to come! This is the perfect example of how an open world game should play. Makes all other driving games feel outdated and predictable. Expand
  11. NathanS
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    This game is a lot of fun, and despite the comments of previous reviewers on speed of the game, load times and such, the requirements of this game are quite modest by today's standards especially. As far as gameplay is concerned, the game is a lot of fun, and I feel that the introduction of showtime more than makes up for the removal of aftertouch and crash mode. Rule the Road is an This game is a lot of fun, and despite the comments of previous reviewers on speed of the game, load times and such, the requirements of this game are quite modest by today's standards especially. As far as gameplay is concerned, the game is a lot of fun, and I feel that the introduction of showtime more than makes up for the removal of aftertouch and crash mode. Rule the Road is an interesting feature, which, with a few friends online, will keep you up, running, and competing with them for top spot on different roads for hours and hours. The game life really is expanded by online play, with even more challenges to complete with and against your friends. My main complaint is the menu, it takes some time to get the hang of, and is not structured well towards the PC. Otherwise, if you picked up and enjoyed Burnout 3, with the exception of a few minor annoyances, you won't be disappointed with this game. Expand
  12. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is the best racing game i've ever played. It is very realistic, fun with multiplayer, and challenging. I would recommend this game to anyone. The only thing i would change is some of the music that plays while you are playing. kinda annoying, but the game is so good it makes up for it.
  13. JianT
    Apr 14, 2009
    9
    Look guys, i really do not understand all the bad scores... most of you complain about how this is a openworld and that the mini map and all that are useless because it takes away from the racing. Now before i start a race, i simply press "m" on my keyboard to bring up the map. Give it a 2-3 second look and have the root down in my mind and im done. Racing has never been easier and Look guys, i really do not understand all the bad scores... most of you complain about how this is a openworld and that the mini map and all that are useless because it takes away from the racing. Now before i start a race, i simply press "m" on my keyboard to bring up the map. Give it a 2-3 second look and have the root down in my mind and im done. Racing has never been easier and finding a faster rout that the other computer cars are too stupid to take has never been more fun. and the keyboard controls DO NOT SUCK. They just need fixing. for example, boost needs to be space bar and e brake needs to be shift while showtime MUST be changed to d so you dont accidently press s all the time during a race and piss yourself off. For these minor problems which can be fixed with a little bit of brainpower, i give it a 9/10. Expand
  14. aaronP
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    you know i dont know what peopel are talking about when they say its not a burnout game, it feels like a raceing game with lots of fast cars and big crashes which Burnout was all about. sure maybe some things are missing but really its hard to tell when your racing your heart out trying to make that one last turn with an angry AI on your taillights.
  15. JoshN
    Feb 10, 2009
    9
    Don't listen to Micah. The game does NOT make heavy use of "Welcome to the Jungle" as he says. Instead the name of the song is "Paradise City" and it is only used as the opening song as the game loads up, big deal. :P lol In terms of performance, the game runs really good, that is if your computer isn't running on Windows Ancient Edition with only 10 Mb of RAM like Micah's Don't listen to Micah. The game does NOT make heavy use of "Welcome to the Jungle" as he says. Instead the name of the song is "Paradise City" and it is only used as the opening song as the game loads up, big deal. :P lol In terms of performance, the game runs really good, that is if your computer isn't running on Windows Ancient Edition with only 10 Mb of RAM like Micah's does. I'm running this game on an 8800GT with 4 gigs of RAM. The official LOW requirements list says that you need at LEAST one gig of RAM and a Pentium 4 processor running on Vista or XP and that's at the LOWEST. So if you don't have that or BETTER, then don't even try to play it. The controls on the keyboard are a little tedious so I would suggest either using one of those steering wheel peripherals or an Xbox 360 controller. The game play is actually pretty good, I only wish the activities around the city were a little more varied. Multiplayer and single player work together pretty flawlessly. And contrary to Micah's post, creating an online account takes less than a minute or so. And once you are signed up, the online play is pretty competitive and really fun. All-in-all, this game is a reminder of how games SHOULD be ported to the PC. If you're a racing fan or just like FUN games then this one is a blast. It has great game play, great graphics and fun online modes that will keep you entertained for countless hours. Expand
  16. AntonioM
    Feb 17, 2009
    9
    An excellent racing game and an excellent port. Pros + Open-ended: thousands of opportunities for you. You just want to crash to other cars? You can do it. You want to race? Race. + Excellent graphics, improved from the console version. + Smooth and clean control system (tested with X360 controller) + Good soundtrack + Packed with all the DLC availalble until release + Nice netcode. + No An excellent racing game and an excellent port. Pros + Open-ended: thousands of opportunities for you. You just want to crash to other cars? You can do it. You want to race? Race. + Excellent graphics, improved from the console version. + Smooth and clean control system (tested with X360 controller) + Good soundtrack + Packed with all the DLC availalble until release + Nice netcode. + No loading times Cons - Some Burnout fans may not like the new open-ended world - Few customizable cars/options. Expand
  17. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    It is 2012 now, and it is still the best racing game I have ever played. The game is lots of fun, doesn't matter wither you're offline or online because it has lots of challenges and stuff for you to find or do. You can pretty much do whatever you want. This was very nicely ported to the PC, not buggy, just a perfect game. But make sure to have a computer to run this game or else loadingIt is 2012 now, and it is still the best racing game I have ever played. The game is lots of fun, doesn't matter wither you're offline or online because it has lots of challenges and stuff for you to find or do. You can pretty much do whatever you want. This was very nicely ported to the PC, not buggy, just a perfect game. But make sure to have a computer to run this game or else loading screens can take up to minutes at a time. Though, my only complaint is the lack of support towards the PC version. They stop updating the PC version after the "Boost Specials" pack was released, and then shut down the store in October 2010, by my understanding. So if you're a person wanting to have access to the game's DLC, buy it for Xbox360 or PS3. Otherwise, a true masterpiece! Expand
  18. TimE
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    One of the best console ports I've ever played. The perfomance, the menus, the graphics and sounds are just great. If you don't know that this game was actually a console game, you would never guess that. My controller also works perfectly, which it doesn't on some bad console ports. The gameplay is quite fun, I kind of miss the Crash mode and Aftertouch as well, but that One of the best console ports I've ever played. The perfomance, the menus, the graphics and sounds are just great. If you don't know that this game was actually a console game, you would never guess that. My controller also works perfectly, which it doesn't on some bad console ports. The gameplay is quite fun, I kind of miss the Crash mode and Aftertouch as well, but that doesn't make the game bad. Maybe it's not a real Burnout game, but it is still fun as hell and I can just recommend it. Just because it's such a great port I still give thise game a 10/10, even if it's not a real Burnout game. If you like racing games, you should like this one as well. Expand
  19. BorH
    Feb 10, 2009
    8
    I must disagree with previous user review, game loads quite fast, I would say less than a minute. It also didn't install EA Download manager for me or at least it's not auto starting, it also allows to skip the account creating, it will bug you every time you run it but you can skip it. Otherwise it's good fun, I can't get enough of flying cars crashing into the wall. I must disagree with previous user review, game loads quite fast, I would say less than a minute. It also didn't install EA Download manager for me or at least it's not auto starting, it also allows to skip the account creating, it will bug you every time you run it but you can skip it. Otherwise it's good fun, I can't get enough of flying cars crashing into the wall. It's like NFS meet Flatout. The only downside I see are long crash animations that can get quite annoying when you just wan't to race. Expand
  20. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Yes, Yes, and again Yes! What an incredibly fun game. The first 45 minutes I was thinking...wow...what an incredible "realistic" racing game. I haven't even scratched the surface of this game...And so much MORE realistic than other new ones I don't really need to mention that I and others out there own. So much more responsive. And if you've ever really "raced" on the streets of a majorYes, Yes, and again Yes! What an incredibly fun game. The first 45 minutes I was thinking...wow...what an incredible "realistic" racing game. I haven't even scratched the surface of this game...And so much MORE realistic than other new ones I don't really need to mention that I and others out there own. So much more responsive. And if you've ever really "raced" on the streets of a major city or hometown? I can truthfully tell you that this racer is the closest thing to actually being in the friggin' car! I sincerely give it an 10++....You won't be disappointed spending $19.99 on this game or less! Yaaaaaa.....EA....You get major KUDOS from me!!! Expand
  21. May 15, 2013
    6
    The removal of borders and road blocks gave the game a free feel and made it something rare in a game non linear.

    I do not like how you have to seek out repair stations and the radio is filled with songs I do not like. I was a fan of the old linear burnout games and I do miss selecting a mode and just going instead of driving around looking for missions I want to do as my favorite is
    The removal of borders and road blocks gave the game a free feel and made it something rare in a game non linear.

    I do not like how you have to seek out repair stations and the radio is filled with songs I do not like.

    I was a fan of the old linear burnout games and I do miss selecting a mode and just going instead of driving around looking for missions I want to do as my favorite is road rage and least favorite is raced I also enjoy Marked man.

    For people looking for a racing game that feels like it has some innovation this isnt bad and coming from someone who doesn't care for the racing genre.

    I would give the game a higher score but its a console port with a wacky menu and carries the stench of EA as it repeatedly asked for my EA account information which yes I had one but it was only for the old republic which I no longer play and for reasons that do not matter here I do not like EA.

    Graphics are ok for its time kind of bland and lifeless for now.

    - pts for annoying guy that tells you things over the radio.
    Expand
  22. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    Graphic is nice and the game is much fun to play.

    > PROS The world is pretty big and heterogeneous, maybe just with a bit too much "shortcuts". Cars are either accurate (I felt like I was driving a proper Lancer) or funny (in a good way). Challenges are as they should be, easy at start and hard (but still not insane) toward the end of the game. You get to listen even classical music
    Graphic is nice and the game is much fun to play.

    > PROS
    The world is pretty big and heterogeneous, maybe just with a bit too much "shortcuts".
    Cars are either accurate (I felt like I was driving a proper Lancer) or funny (in a good way).
    Challenges are as they should be, easy at start and hard (but still not insane) toward the end of the game.
    You get to listen even classical music on the "radio" and so music is good...

    > CONS
    Sadly the login/login-server system is a huge mess (couldn't ever connect to game-servers because the game crashed if I tried so).
    Running through the city is fun but not being able to pick a race without moving to the starting location "manually" is a bit stressing after 5+ total hours played. Also, to compete "equally" in every type of race you have often to change your current car for another (moving to one of the "bases")... additional stress.
    The menu system is just plainly wrong and confusing.

    To recap, the game itself is quite good and enjoyable but it's still a console port and most of the cons come from that.
    Expand
  23. Sep 8, 2013
    3
    Very disappointing. The game looks good enough, especially with ENB, but that's about all it has going for it. Criterion purport the idea of race events on a free roam map as something new, "unlike any other driving experience", even though Need for Speed Underground 2 and Test Drive Unlimited had both done similar things prior to its release. All events are extremely easy, and with noVery disappointing. The game looks good enough, especially with ENB, but that's about all it has going for it. Criterion purport the idea of race events on a free roam map as something new, "unlike any other driving experience", even though Need for Speed Underground 2 and Test Drive Unlimited had both done similar things prior to its release. All events are extremely easy, and with no difficulty option (at least not one I could find in the ill-conceived labyrinthine menu system), the game soon becomes very dull.

    In-game advertisements are a spit in the face from the developers. Perhaps it would be understandable if the game were free to play, or if it were trying to emulate a "real world", but it's not. These were clearly only put in for profit, not an attempt at realism, since the game is set in a fictional city and none of the cars are licensed. I paid for the game I don't want to see Burger King and EVGA advertisements while playing it.

    Various elements of the game are at cross-purposes with each other. Events are put at every intersection, supposedly to cut down on monotony and so there's never an event too far away, but the races aren't gated and the route isn't highlighted on the map as with other arcade racers, which means you have to open your map at the beginning of each race and spend time planning your route. You can't jump to events either, which, in the case of Burning Route events, often means you have to drive halfway across the map just to begin a race.

    On the topic of Burning Route events; the game boasts a range of 75 cars, when in actuality, in terms of unique vehicles there is about half that, with the other half being practically carbon-copies with different paint jobs which are rewarded after completing time trials. By the end of the game, you'll only be using about 3 of the cars anyway (the best in each category; stunt, aggression and speed), since the others are relatively useless.

    The soundtrack is awful. For reasons unknown to anyone but the developers, there are 3 different styles of music in this game; pop/rock songs, instrumental songs from the three previous Burnout games, and classical compositions. The loudness levels are not normalized either, which means that some songs are barely audible while others are quite loud. The "CrashFM" DJ is obnoxious and detestable.

    There are many other annoyances, but I think I've made my point already. Does this game deserve a rating of 3/10? No, but it doesn't deserve the inflated rating of 7.6/10 either.
    Expand
  24. JasonP
    Mar 25, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed this game a lot. I think removing crash mode was a huge mistake but once you get into it you forget about it. The most important thing to mention is this is a good console to PC port, not buggy like others usually are. Very efficiently coded, lots of fun to be had.
  25. chadc
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    best racing game i have ever played and extras to buy are great to play
  26. JayH
    Apr 12, 2009
    6
    This game is perfect until you get about half way through and you just replay the same things over and over again each time you upgrade your license. It gets VERY repetitive and tedious, often frustrating. Also when you get up to about a Class A license, all races turn into takedowns so not only do you need to focus on racing and making the turns, but also the extremely aggressive AI. A This game is perfect until you get about half way through and you just replay the same things over and over again each time you upgrade your license. It gets VERY repetitive and tedious, often frustrating. Also when you get up to about a Class A license, all races turn into takedowns so not only do you need to focus on racing and making the turns, but also the extremely aggressive AI. A good game for a couple hours, but I just can't put up with it anymore and it will remain unfinished. Expand
  27. RyanB
    Mar 19, 2009
    1
    I'm not sure how or why this game is getting votes above 5, unless people are only for graphics these days. As a major fan of the burnout series, this totally ruined it. Even if I changed my perspective into this being a totally different game (which it is), it makes me one sad panda. Definitely the most boring and lacking game i've purchased in the last 5 years out of about a I'm not sure how or why this game is getting votes above 5, unless people are only for graphics these days. As a major fan of the burnout series, this totally ruined it. Even if I changed my perspective into this being a totally different game (which it is), it makes me one sad panda. Definitely the most boring and lacking game i've purchased in the last 5 years out of about a hundred. I showed this to several people - all having similar opinions. Better luck next time. Expand
  28. ShaneBurruss
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    This game is flat out great! My computer is not that great and this console-to-PC-port runs perfectly! Being able to go from offline play to online play in about three seconds is unheard of. Almost like the GTA IV cellphone. The city is so open and there are lots and lots of goodies to unlock. See you on the streets!
  29. BrendenR
    Feb 25, 2009
    8
    For those of you saying that this game is terrible because of load times and what not, i have an idea: instead of spending all of your money on new games, how about you UPGRADE YOUR COMPUTER TO PARTS THAT ARE FROM THIS DECADE. if youre experiencing load times upwards of 2 minutes, you are definately NOT running a computer with gaming capabilities. this game is also a DRIVING game, so if For those of you saying that this game is terrible because of load times and what not, i have an idea: instead of spending all of your money on new games, how about you UPGRADE YOUR COMPUTER TO PARTS THAT ARE FROM THIS DECADE. if youre experiencing load times upwards of 2 minutes, you are definately NOT running a computer with gaming capabilities. this game is also a DRIVING game, so if controls suck on a keyboard, go figure. get the 30 dollar xbox 360 controller port for the computer and FIXED. no more garbage ass keyboard controls. this game is ridiculously fun and addictive. online freeburn play is really fun with friends. dont listen to naysayers or the people saying that the crash mode is gone? its not gone. you can do the crash on every single road, each with its own money amount to try and beat (most are around $1,000,000 so you gotta hit lots of cars. hitting buses gives you a money multiplier.) so most of the people on here with 8+ rating are correct. this game is solid. as long as your computer isn't from 1981. Expand
  30. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    There is simply nothing wrong with this game; it is one of the best racers I have every played. Though it is an arcade-style racer, each car still has somewhat of a different "feel" to it. The graphics are amazing, the damage breathtakingly detailed. One of the best racing game ever, bar none.
  31. Aug 18, 2013
    4
    Fan of the previous burnout games? I was too. Sadly, you will not be enjoying this SLOPPY, terribly made version.

    There isn't enough Guns N Roses on Earth to make this game appealing to any real Burnout fans...

    Maybe next time.... maybe...
  32. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    I don't like racing games. But this isn't one of'em. It's a sandbox game with a huge map, badass soundtrack, cool graphics, 75 cars and 4 bikes and some cool game mods. Yes, you can take part at some races, but that's not the only thing to do in Paradise City, where the grass is green and the girls are pretty ;D
  33. Nov 29, 2014
    9
    A really, really good racing game. The driving feels solid, and the visuals are really beautiful -for 2008. But even today, they are good.

    But what sets this game apart for me is that it is STUPIDLY FUN. I mean, in the 90's we had Moto Racer, which didn't have anything that special, but was AWESOME to race. If you are angry, or sad, just turn on the PC and play some races in Moto Racer,
    A really, really good racing game. The driving feels solid, and the visuals are really beautiful -for 2008. But even today, they are good.

    But what sets this game apart for me is that it is STUPIDLY FUN. I mean, in the 90's we had Moto Racer, which didn't have anything that special, but was AWESOME to race. If you are angry, or sad, just turn on the PC and play some races in Moto Racer, and you'll see what I mean. And this is what I feel with this burnout. It's just so much fun to jump around everywhere, doing stunts and making other drivers crash. And Paradise City is an awesome place, with a mediocre soundtrack, unfortunately. I would prefer some classic rock or heavy metal, but there's Guns N' Roses, Alice In Chains, Soundgarden, Faith no More and some other cool artists. And yes, classical music is awesome to drive while wrecking and blowing the **** of the city.
    Expand
  34. Mar 19, 2012
    0
    I'm rating this a zero, not because it deserves a zero but because half the reviews here were obviously written by EA employees. The game probably gets a 5. The graphics are good but pretty standard for a modern racing game. The soundtrack has a few good tracks but mostly sucks. They have about an hours worth of classical music for no good reason. Anyone who says this was a quality port isI'm rating this a zero, not because it deserves a zero but because half the reviews here were obviously written by EA employees. The game probably gets a 5. The graphics are good but pretty standard for a modern racing game. The soundtrack has a few good tracks but mostly sucks. They have about an hours worth of classical music for no good reason. Anyone who says this was a quality port is lying to you. This was a very lazy job, the menus are completely designed for a controller and make no use of the mouse. You have to press F1 and F2 to switch between menus this took me 5 minutes to discover. The cut-scenes are constant, useless, and unskipable. You will want to punch the "Radio DJ" in the face the first time you hear him and it only get's worse from there. Probably the worst part of the game is the handling of the cars. It's about on par with GTA which is sad for a game whose only purpose is driving. The races are extremely easy. The only time you will lose is if you go the wrong way or crash a lot, and even then you will usually win. All in all the game can be fun at times, it's good for a 10 minute break of mindless crashing, but there isn't much meat here. Expand
  35. WillS.
    May 29, 2009
    5
    This is one of those clasic games that has gotten many mixed reviews (and EA's typical at times blunder on sacrifcing features of games that were there on previous versions just to push a product out quicker I suspect) I was hoping that this version would have crash mode returned to us fans but again its mainly just a port nothing really new to get me to buy it again. While the This is one of those clasic games that has gotten many mixed reviews (and EA's typical at times blunder on sacrifcing features of games that were there on previous versions just to push a product out quicker I suspect) I was hoping that this version would have crash mode returned to us fans but again its mainly just a port nothing really new to get me to buy it again. While the racing parts are still just as good as burnout 3 I am getting that feeling of dissapointment with this version as it starts reminding of some of the need for speed games that got boring real quick. Maybe its because they borrowed some of the need for speed develpoers :) but if there is another sequel to come please bring us crash mode back and stop the repetivness (fillers to make the game seem longer, another typicall EA strategy) and put some real work into it this time. Taking out crash mode is like buying a Challenger without the Hemi... whats the point :) Think I will go play some Burnout 3 now. Expand
  36. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    So many shill reviews here. Clearly a console port, with the irritating menus you'd expect. Couldn't play for long as I had to re-install windows and that broke the activation. Avoid EA games for this reason.
  37. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    Burnout 3 is one of my favorite racing games, and this changed to much for me to like it. No crash mode, and the open world of Paradise City just makes racing more confusing and less fun.
  38. MicahA.
    Feb 6, 2009
    3
    The game makes heavy use of the song Welcome to the Junge by Guns N' Roses. I mention this because practically the entire song plays out as the game loads after you launch it. I would say that the loading takes at least two minutes for me, then there's some strange problems I won't even bother to discuss in detail, and then the game starts -- kind of. Usually I have to sit The game makes heavy use of the song Welcome to the Junge by Guns N' Roses. I mention this because practically the entire song plays out as the game loads after you launch it. I would say that the loading takes at least two minutes for me, then there's some strange problems I won't even bother to discuss in detail, and then the game starts -- kind of. Usually I have to sit and watch some kind of video about different vehicles. Keyboard controls aren't terribly good, and whoever wrote the in-game tutorial seemingly got the order of the brake and afterburner buttons switched around. Oh, and it requires that you create an account before you can play. More tedium. And it has crashed my PC one of the two times I've had enough downtime to play it. And now I'm trying to uninstall it (sigh) and it can't even do that in a timely manner. And it installs some EA Download manager that runs when Windows boots. And ... the list goes on. It might be a fine console game, but the port seems terrible. Expand
  39. MichalA
    Feb 9, 2009
    2
    This game is nothing, that wasted developer's time and EA's money of course. It has absolutely not to offer in PC world. Race Driver Grid is not about demolition like Burnout, but it has better destruction model, actualy it has better everything. When I played this kind of sh*t called in civilised society a "Burnout" I had no idea, how long it will stay on my harddrive. 15This game is nothing, that wasted developer's time and EA's money of course. It has absolutely not to offer in PC world. Race Driver Grid is not about demolition like Burnout, but it has better destruction model, actualy it has better everything. When I played this kind of sh*t called in civilised society a "Burnout" I had no idea, how long it will stay on my harddrive. 15 minutes? Wasted money. Big city, nothing to do. Car's behavior is so weird. It!s like you ride a horse or something, but not car. Please, don't buy this game! Expand
  40. MarkH
    Feb 20, 2009
    2
    Who knows what the developers were thinking; they've removed the very two best features of the Burnout Series (Crash Mode and Aftertouch are both gone gone gone) and instead given us a more generic city racer. I'm a long time fan of the Burnout series, and this is the worst of them so far. The party pack is a joke... unless you like watching a load screen and lots of Who knows what the developers were thinking; they've removed the very two best features of the Burnout Series (Crash Mode and Aftertouch are both gone gone gone) and instead given us a more generic city racer. I'm a long time fan of the Burnout series, and this is the worst of them so far. The party pack is a joke... unless you like watching a load screen and lots of 1timed-delay banners inbetween players (about 1 minute o waiting for every 30 seconds of gameplay). EA, here's hoping you read comments on Metacritic and bring back Crash Mode and Aftertouch (in single player of course). Otherwise, you just ripped me right the hell off. Expand
  41. RonP
    Apr 2, 2009
    5
    a e-mail I sent sums it up I will be on uninstalling your game and will post recommendations on the fourms at steam for people to do the same. Because of constant online issues not being able to connect to servers and issues concerning stuttering and freezing. You could at least post something to tell people that you're working on the problem but all we hear is silence so therefore a e-mail I sent sums it up I will be on uninstalling your game and will post recommendations on the fourms at steam for people to do the same. Because of constant online issues not being able to connect to servers and issues concerning stuttering and freezing. You could at least post something to tell people that you're working on the problem but all we hear is silence so therefore you will be deleted we only play with games that work. Your game obviously has some ways to go before fits that description. Relying on EA to do your troubleshooting is a joke, we get the same emails from them over and over and over again. Expand
  42. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    Unfortunately this game doesn't have anything that the Burnout name has come with gearing more towards racing and less towards the causing of mayhem and destruction. A bitter disappointment in that field alone it only gets a four because the graphics for the time were alright and it isn't an absolutely terrible racing game.
  43. Sep 15, 2013
    3
    I find this game to be terribly frustrating. To me, the Burnout series has been about driving skill, quick reactions and has always provided adrenaline fuelled moments. But I feel these things have been put on the back burner to route finding and city memorization. I don't have the time to learn all the streets of yet another virtual city, and so I often lose races simply because I took aI find this game to be terribly frustrating. To me, the Burnout series has been about driving skill, quick reactions and has always provided adrenaline fuelled moments. But I feel these things have been put on the back burner to route finding and city memorization. I don't have the time to learn all the streets of yet another virtual city, and so I often lose races simply because I took a wrong turn. The map is very small and there are no visual clues in the city that show a suggested route you could take to get to your goal. Temporary road markers would be fine, anything so I don't have to learn the entire city just to know which way I should be going. Which way to go is not something I want to consider when playing an arcade style racing games. And you have to drive around looking for things to do, I don't have time for this! Just let me select from a list.
    You got a new a new car delivered to the junkyard! Great! Where is it? No idea. You know what, I'm not going to go to the map, try and work out which icon is the junk yard, meticulously memorize a route to get there (as I couldn't find a way to set way points). I'm not going to do that. I'll just not play any more.

    If open-world city racing sounds like fun to you and you have time on your hands, you'll probably love it. If, like me, you don't have a whole lot of time to burn and you just want to get straight into some no-nonsense racing, I would avoid it.

    Also, the store is never available, and I don't know why. It teases you me content I can't actually buy, even if i wanted to.
    Expand
  44. Dec 26, 2010
    1
    this the worst driving game of it's kind.every street looks like an interstate highway.a total lack of imagination. the menus are confusing you can slam the car into a brick wall at top speed and it still goes. the music is one is for those with limited taste.and i hate GnR. not arcade enough for an arcade racer. not real enough for a simulator.i did one race and drove around a bit. andthis the worst driving game of it's kind.every street looks like an interstate highway.a total lack of imagination. the menus are confusing you can slam the car into a brick wall at top speed and it still goes. the music is one is for those with limited taste.and i hate GnR. not arcade enough for an arcade racer. not real enough for a simulator.i did one race and drove around a bit. and saw no need to go farther.this game is for those who live to rack up scores they want to post and brag about,not for me. this is why driving games are so bad these days people give high score to junk like this. Expand
  45. ChuckA
    Dec 7, 2009
    2
    This game is a mediocre game with a crappy port to the pc. I tried this game on four PCs before I found one it didn't crash on. I logged a bug with criterion which seemed to be ignored. Perhaps on a console this would be a 5, but for anyone who has played PC games for long this is a stinker
  46. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is awesome but why aren't I able to access DLCs? Rather than the DLC problem, the game itself is nice! Nice graphics, damage visuals, and a ton of cars. Expand
  47. Oct 17, 2013
    2
    Imagine Paradise City by Guns and Roses, but on repeat.... FOR EVER.... Does that sound awesome? If it does then maybe this wont be like licking a dead dogs anus to you. To me, it's kind of like being trapped in a city of ripe and festering cheese that's slowly weeping onto the top of my noggin. Call we weird but I don't want to pay for that, that's not my thing.
  48. Dec 10, 2011
    1
    Why: Ok first, this game is nothing like what the past games where. This one went all "racing" on us, instead of burnouts trademark crashes and takedowns. Second, while your driving, the game freezes at random spots so an imbred narrator can talk to you about the obvious. such as: "jump the ramps for points!". OK CAPTAIN OBVIOUS. This game is junk. I want my money back. Burnout 1-3 wasWhy: Ok first, this game is nothing like what the past games where. This one went all "racing" on us, instead of burnouts trademark crashes and takedowns. Second, while your driving, the game freezes at random spots so an imbred narrator can talk to you about the obvious. such as: "jump the ramps for points!". OK CAPTAIN OBVIOUS. This game is junk. I want my money back. Burnout 1-3 was good. The rest, nope. Did i mention the game is lifeless? Its so unreal its not even funny! So, you look into your car or others, and noone is there. Ghost car? And nobody walks on the street. This game is horrible.I hope its the last burnout now. Expand
  49. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    I played Burnout 3 for 300 hours at least, loved every minute of it, and consider it the pinnacle of skill-based racing games. I played this game for five hours and then uninstalled. The city is mind-numbingly generic, the drifting that was essential to doing well in the third game is nowhere near as necessary, the crashes are less interesting, and the soundtrack is subpar. Could be a niceI played Burnout 3 for 300 hours at least, loved every minute of it, and consider it the pinnacle of skill-based racing games. I played this game for five hours and then uninstalled. The city is mind-numbingly generic, the drifting that was essential to doing well in the third game is nowhere near as necessary, the crashes are less interesting, and the soundtrack is subpar. Could be a nice game if you aren't looking for skill-based racing, but to a hardcore gamer it feels generic and boring. Expand
  50. Sep 10, 2012
    3
    This game is awful compare to Burnout 3: Takedown or Revenge. This game plays more like a modern racing game instead of a burnout game and don't have the feel of a burnout game. What made me most annoyed was the races has been slowed down as a normal racing game. I remember burnout to be the super fast racing game, that actually was and felt fast in comparison to something like Need ForThis game is awful compare to Burnout 3: Takedown or Revenge. This game plays more like a modern racing game instead of a burnout game and don't have the feel of a burnout game. What made me most annoyed was the races has been slowed down as a normal racing game. I remember burnout to be the super fast racing game, that actually was and felt fast in comparison to something like Need For Speed. Another thing that's annoying is the open world, it's like comparing Need For Speed Underground with Underground 2. Open-world racing games gets extremely BORING after a while (it's fun in the beginning). Then on top of all, you can't not restart a race in burnout paradise WTF.

    This is the WORST in the series, hands down. a SHAME.
    Expand
  51. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    A racing game(port) must be so!
  52. Oct 21, 2013
    0
    F U C K Y O U M E T A C R I T I C Y O U A R E T H E W O R S T f u c k y o u y o u l y i n g m a d e u p s h t t y f a l s e r e v e i w as su ck d ea d me ns c o cks
  53. Aug 27, 2013
    0
    Worst Burnout EVER.
    The radio DJ is annoying as hell, and you can't skip it. You can't crash, or it'll take you 10 seconds of slow motion where you can't do anything. Worst if you do a Takedown, there's a slow-mo where your car is in autopilot and you can't skip it, it totally break the game flow, just awful.
    And where unlocking a new car should be cool and rewarding, it's annoying
    Worst Burnout EVER.
    The radio DJ is annoying as hell, and you can't skip it. You can't crash, or it'll take you 10 seconds of slow motion where you can't do anything. Worst if you do a Takedown, there's a slow-mo where your car is in autopilot and you can't skip it, it totally break the game flow, just awful.
    And where unlocking a new car should be cool and rewarding, it's annoying because of the 2 15 seconds presentation just to say "congrats you unlock a car" that you CAN'T SKIP!
    Graphics are kinda nice, but lake imagination. Otherwise, controls SUCKS, and the gameplay is AWFUL (lose a race? gotta go back to the beginning, because the menu will not give you the option to stop it or restart or anything...). Way too much slow-mo.
    It may not deserve a 0, but no more than 3, and seeing all the other 10 or 9 and the description, I'll just guess some EA or criterion dev post these comments.
    Expand
  54. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    This game is absolute trash. I spent more time sitting through videos (and listening to Paradise City from GNR play over and over) that I was not able to skip than I did actually playing. That is how much this game pissed me off. If I would have actually spent money on it I think I would of lost my mind.
  55. Jan 25, 2014
    6
    Not as good as Burnout 3: Takedown. It's a real shame because it just feels like the devs spent all their time building the best foundation they could possibly make and then failed to build anything on top of it. The core elements of the game - the way the cars drive, the hilarious (and anti-realistic) physics, the sense of speed the game is capable of creating - 100% genius, seriously.Not as good as Burnout 3: Takedown. It's a real shame because it just feels like the devs spent all their time building the best foundation they could possibly make and then failed to build anything on top of it. The core elements of the game - the way the cars drive, the hilarious (and anti-realistic) physics, the sense of speed the game is capable of creating - 100% genius, seriously. But this game is crippled by a lack of content (there are only like 6 races in the game despite the 100's of events at all of the different intersections, and racing is the only thing most people want to do in this game) despite the large size of the city, and its console roots. The interface is terrible for a PC game - sometimes it just simply will not work unless you use your keyboard. I haven't figured out how to get the multiplayer working, but if it was easier, I could play this game with my Steam friends and that would be awesome (assuming there was more content to work with). Stock key bindings are garbage - stick to the GTA IV layout and put boost on shift - so much easier.

    In terms of playing the game, I agree with other reviewers, having to navigate and drive at the same time is slightly more frustrating than it is rewarding. In rally sport, drivers are not expected to navigate at the same time, and in Formula 1, the track is a single route, like Burnout 3 Takedown. It makes the game mentally challenging in a non-traditional way. Missing a turn isn't necessarily the end of the world, as the city is grid-like enough that you can afford to, but it "breaks immersion" as they say, to have to bring up the map mid-race and sit there and carefully plot your moves (since the minimap is almost useless).

    Overall, I have to say, this is such a great game, but I've put about 4 hours into it and that's about all I can do.
    Expand
  56. Dec 27, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed the different types of challenges this game presented, though I found myself getting bored of the repetitiveness as well as not seeing a big enough difference in the handling of cars I acquired. I rarely felt challenged on races and stunt areas were either too obvious and restricting or not enough. I also didn't like the fact that I could hit the wrong button and suddenly startI enjoyed the different types of challenges this game presented, though I found myself getting bored of the repetitiveness as well as not seeing a big enough difference in the handling of cars I acquired. I rarely felt challenged on races and stunt areas were either too obvious and restricting or not enough. I also didn't like the fact that I could hit the wrong button and suddenly start tumbling through the air trying to cause damage with my "wreck" that I didn't want to start in the first place. It's worth a sale price, but I wanted more. Expand
  57. May 14, 2014
    0
    A big waste of money. It looked good from the outside, but the UI is the worst I have ever encountered, to the point where the game felt like a virus. It actually seems to be designed to function how it does, so I applaud the devs on "completing" the UI, even though it isn't user friendly and lacks all the functions you would expect in a completed UI, such as a Quit Game button, or aA big waste of money. It looked good from the outside, but the UI is the worst I have ever encountered, to the point where the game felt like a virus. It actually seems to be designed to function how it does, so I applaud the devs on "completing" the UI, even though it isn't user friendly and lacks all the functions you would expect in a completed UI, such as a Quit Game button, or a configuration option for key bindings, the display and audio etc

    As for what you get in the game, the beginning cut scenes are completely unnecessary and explain nothing you can't see on screen, as they do not relate to either a story or character you would expect them to be a sort of tutorial. They also cannot be skipped.
    The controls are not obvious and as previously stated, there does not seem to be a way to consult the game to find out how to play. What is even worse is that since you can't alt-tab out (Can't even access the Task Manager), you can't look up the controls on the internet either. The car you start off with is also rather ugly and caters to people who think a large exhaust pipe and spoilers are cool when driving slower than 250Km/h.

    Overall impression? A terribly designed game that caters to boy racers you would expect to call the police on, not a decent racing game in the slightest.
    Expand
  58. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent open world racing game. Graphics still hold up against today's games. This is an arcade type racing game, not a simulator, so if your looking for realistic racing then this is not the game for you. This game is not like past burnout games, there isn't a crash mode. However it is an excellent racing game with lots of races, 75 cars, boards to smash through, jumpThis is an excellent open world racing game. Graphics still hold up against today's games. This is an arcade type racing game, not a simulator, so if your looking for realistic racing then this is not the game for you. This game is not like past burnout games, there isn't a crash mode. However it is an excellent racing game with lots of races, 75 cars, boards to smash through, jump locations to jump, awesome crashes.

    Want realistic racing, or expect something like the older Burnout games then don't buy.
    If you want one of the best arcade racing games out there then this is a must buy.

    P.S. I own this game on both the PS3 and PC. PC Graphics slightly better than PS3, both versions are great.
    Expand
  59. May 17, 2014
    9
    But what a good game! Me that absolutely is not yet a fan of racing games, yet I enjoyed it! You can play multiplayer with players around the world, there is a very interesting challenge and cars are quite nice, all in a beautiful setting, and in a perfect simulation game !
  60. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    This is a classic for me. Amazing crashes and destructions with fast cars and bikes. I am even reinstalling this game as I type this message. To the people that say that they need to memorize the city or there is no clue where to take the right turns on a race. Car's left and right flashs when you need to turn left or right, and If I remember correctly even the street plates on the top ofThis is a classic for me. Amazing crashes and destructions with fast cars and bikes. I am even reinstalling this game as I type this message. To the people that say that they need to memorize the city or there is no clue where to take the right turns on a race. Car's left and right flashs when you need to turn left or right, and If I remember correctly even the street plates on the top of the screen flash or move as well. So no worries there! Enjoy the crashes Expand
  61. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    Everything is great about this game - the graphics, cars, races, everything to me is nearly perfect. This games is awesome. Probably the best racing game for me ever.
  62. Nov 24, 2014
    5
    Back in my PS2 days I owned Burnout 2 and Takedown and loved the games - played them to bits. When I saw this was up for grabs on a Steam sale I jumped at the chance.

    The game is not quite what I was expecting. It's very different to what I thought it would be. That's not to say some of the changes are not for the better, but on the other hand, some aren't. Graphics look brilliant,
    Back in my PS2 days I owned Burnout 2 and Takedown and loved the games - played them to bits. When I saw this was up for grabs on a Steam sale I jumped at the chance.

    The game is not quite what I was expecting. It's very different to what I thought it would be. That's not to say some of the changes are not for the better, but on the other hand, some aren't.

    Graphics look brilliant, and the cars still have that same Burnout "feel" to them. The game modes all make a return too - but this time in an open world map. Think NFSU 2 and you will be on the right tracks. This is great, but you seem to spent a lot of time driving around for no reason. I would much prefer to just race and perform the stages without this unnecessary addition. The races themselves also suffer from the same problem of being given too much freedom - you will accidentally go the wrong way because you are concentrating on driving and not constantly looking at the map.

    O yes, and no 2 player split screen? Not good :-(

    Bar the problems I have with it though, it's still a good game. Burnout fans will find something to their liking here.

    Jimbo Rating: 5/10
    Expand
  63. Dec 5, 2014
    0
    Retarded overpowered opponents even from the beginning will not let you try and learn anything, they just drive like 400 mph and smash you to the next wall. Suicidal civilian cars are driving into you as you try to drive around them....
    Dreadful driving model on the ridiculously wide streets.
    Very bad graphics, like NFS Underground 2 bad... Soundtrack is idiotic for 10years old kids.
    Retarded overpowered opponents even from the beginning will not let you try and learn anything, they just drive like 400 mph and smash you to the next wall. Suicidal civilian cars are driving into you as you try to drive around them....
    Dreadful driving model on the ridiculously wide streets.
    Very bad graphics, like NFS Underground 2 bad...
    Soundtrack is idiotic for 10years old kids.
    Car sounds vere better in NFS 3 back in 1998.
    And that main menu must be a joke. Setup anything is painful a extremely unintuitive.
    Only two camera positions. Everything is constantly shaking.
    This must be one of the worst, stupid and over hyped "driving" games ever.
    Im glad i didnt buy it, I got it for free with pack of some other games. Please dont waste money or time on this. It is not even worth downloading from TPB.
    Expand
  64. May 11, 2015
    0
    Visually its nice and the driving is awesome but if your looking for a game with some kind of a story, this is not for you. Its great if you just want to jump in a game and crash cars.
    Just not my type of game
  65. Jan 15, 2013
    5
    Burnout paradise is an ok racing game. The city is big and fun to explore. There are some "collectibles" for the player to find which is always nice. The cars handles for the most part pretty good and the visuals are nice. What burnout lack however is variety. There aren't a whole lot of different tracks and the campaign is based around playing the same track over and over again againstBurnout paradise is an ok racing game. The city is big and fun to explore. There are some "collectibles" for the player to find which is always nice. The cars handles for the most part pretty good and the visuals are nice. What burnout lack however is variety. There aren't a whole lot of different tracks and the campaign is based around playing the same track over and over again against tougher opponents. Which gets a bit repetitive. The fact that there aren't a whole lot of different racing modes doesn't help. Some other stuff i am missing in the game is the option to restart a race during or after the race, turning off the cinematic view and the option to fast travel to the racing event.The game is still an enjoyable racing game and if you are looking for an arcade racing game for a couple of hours fun then burnout is the game for you. Expand
  66. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Burnout Paradise remains the best arcade racer on the PC platform. The single-player campaign is fun to play through, mapping out the city, collecting new cars, competing in events and upgrading licenses. The multiplayer is even better than the single-player. The map is brilliantly laid out, with shortcuts and alternate routes in abundance. It's amazing the way that cars willBurnout Paradise remains the best arcade racer on the PC platform. The single-player campaign is fun to play through, mapping out the city, collecting new cars, competing in events and upgrading licenses. The multiplayer is even better than the single-player. The map is brilliantly laid out, with shortcuts and alternate routes in abundance. It's amazing the way that cars will frequently approach the finish line from multiple directions, with multiple routes proving effective. None of the cars are licensed, but the game delivers where it's important... the actual racing is wonderful, and this game is worth checking out. Expand
  67. AWG
    Aug 15, 2013
    7
    A very good game (I love the open world and the graphics), but a very very lazy port (irritating console-styled menus and no achievements). Feels great for a while but then you're not really pushed to keep trying the same races over and over again.
  68. Jan 22, 2015
    9
    Both a review and a response to 'Captain Murph' that gave it a 0.

    First, I'll give a short review: The graphics are stunning, and that's pretty much all you can say about the graphics. The slow-motion crashes never get old, since they happen throughout the massive map, so even if you get the same type of crash, you'll be getting the crash in a different way/reason throughout the game.
    Both a review and a response to 'Captain Murph' that gave it a 0.

    First, I'll give a short review:
    The graphics are stunning, and that's pretty much all you can say about the graphics.
    The slow-motion crashes never get old, since they happen throughout the massive map, so even if you get the same type of crash, you'll be getting the crash in a different way/reason throughout the game.
    The game play is fast paced, and even for messing around, you'll be able to have hours of fun. If you play it for long enough, and learn the street names, you'll be able to find your way around the map without the use of a mini-map at all. The different types of cars are awesome since each car is for different playstyles, which adds even more fun to the game. I do however wish that there was more in-depth customization; it would compliment the amazing graphics that the game features.

    In response to CaptainMurph:

    First off, he rated it a 0 simply because his opinions have convinced himself that he's the only one that's right when it comes to the quality of this game. But you can already probably tell by just reading his review that everything he wrote is based on his preferences and opinions alone, as opposed to facts.

    A portion of his review is him criticizing the lack of mouse control and how it is designed for a controller. The fact that he expects racing games to be optimized for keyboards is stupid in itself, and even then, if he plans on playing the game by remaining in the menu the entire time, then what he says is still stupid.

    With the music and radio that HE doesn't like, you can just turn them off in the settings, which obviously is too difficult for him if he can't spend 10 seconds navigating to the 'options' in the menu.

    The handling of the cars is nothing like GTA; if you're able to drift for 30 seconds+ in GTA, then he is still wrong, since the other aspects of the mechanics are different from GTA. If you're reviewing this game, you already know that.

    I'd like to finish by noting that when he said " The only time you will lose is if you go the wrong way or crash a lot, and even then you will usually win.", he displayed a perfect example of contradicting yourself.
    Expand
  69. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    To be honest I'm not much of a fan of driving games but this one is the only one that I can truly enjoy even if the controls on PC are horrid you can easily change this to you liking using the options screen, also the freeburn online mode is really fluent, unlock able cars, road rage, online freeroam capabilities to race and beat down your friends, what else could you really ask for thisTo be honest I'm not much of a fan of driving games but this one is the only one that I can truly enjoy even if the controls on PC are horrid you can easily change this to you liking using the options screen, also the freeburn online mode is really fluent, unlock able cars, road rage, online freeroam capabilities to race and beat down your friends, what else could you really ask for this is truly the only racing game I ever liked even if it was made in 2009 the graphics are still really good even if your playing on a low quality PC. Expand
  70. Aug 16, 2013
    5
    Where the hell is crash mode? Cars that moves by themselves in showtime?? Where's burnout?? Even the first one what better than this!
    This is a racing game gone bad, crashes are no more the most important thing in this game.
    Some kind of a Need For Speed with cars damage.
    The free run mode is the only nice thing.
    5/10.
  71. Jul 6, 2016
    9
    Gameplay : 9
    Graphics : 9
    Story : 6
    Sound : 9
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 9
  72. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    My favourite racing game. It's awesome at all 100%
    Starting with music, ending with car crashing view.
    This make me remember first 2 flatouts, my second favourity racing game, the only one thing this game needs, peoples inside the cars.
    9/10
  73. Jul 15, 2016
    7
    This is a good game and a worthy successor of Burnout 3, but little issues here and there bother me a lot. Open world sounds fun, but is in fact the biggest mistake of this game IMO. It means you have to stare at the map all the time when you're racing so you can't focus on what's happening on the screen. The best element of Burnout 3 - Aftertouch got removed. You have to buy extra DLCsThis is a good game and a worthy successor of Burnout 3, but little issues here and there bother me a lot. Open world sounds fun, but is in fact the biggest mistake of this game IMO. It means you have to stare at the map all the time when you're racing so you can't focus on what's happening on the screen. The best element of Burnout 3 - Aftertouch got removed. You have to buy extra DLCs for a bunch of cars that aren't included in THE ULTIMATE BOX. Don't call it ULTIMATE if you aren't including all DLCs in it! The pop punk soundtrack is still annoying.

    That said, I enjoyed it a lot. Very disappointed hat EA is not going to let Criterion make another Burnout game.
    Expand
  74. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    Best open world racing game I've ever played! The collisions,graphics,car sounds and intense speeding action is what made it the best racing game in its time and even now!
  75. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    best game EA has ever made. That should say a lot.

    I really enjoyed this game, it is just truly a blast to play this game, and do crazy flips n' ****
  76. Oct 30, 2016
    8
    When it comes to Burnout before Paradise i only had tried Burnout 3 demo on NFS Underground 2 PS2 disc and it was pretty sick little experience and soon after that i quit console gaming and went full PC. That made me want a Burnout game on PC and Criterion delivered.

    Paradise is an excellent arcade racer with all the Burnout DNA in open world setting. Game plays smoothly, controls work
    When it comes to Burnout before Paradise i only had tried Burnout 3 demo on NFS Underground 2 PS2 disc and it was pretty sick little experience and soon after that i quit console gaming and went full PC. That made me want a Burnout game on PC and Criterion delivered.

    Paradise is an excellent arcade racer with all the Burnout DNA in open world setting. Game plays smoothly, controls work wonderfully even on kboard and overall PC version is done very well, kudos to Criterion. One small but for me cool option was the matching game time to your local PC's time, it was kinda cool playing at night irl and having night in game aswell, havent played any other open world game that does that which is a shame. As for cars, theyre designed beautifully and sound aggressive with fine detail as hell, like it should in every self respecting arcade racer. Bike riding was also done really well, imo better than some full blown bike racing games. Paradise city itself is pretty detailed and interesting place to explore with insane jumps and stunt locations, having for the time great graphics. Crashing your car and crushing your competition is always fun, maybe after some time gets bit too repetative.

    Only real shame is that EA shut down game's servers, never got to enjoy the MP carnage.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    First ever PC version of Burnout is a perfect example of a modern racing game in an open world with all the essentials that players want. No need for C-grade actresses at all. [Issue#174, Jan 2009]
  2. For true next-gen arcade racing thrills Burnout Paradise is most definitely your best option, and on PC your only option.
  3. 84
    If you're willing to put in the time, there's plenty of content here to enjoy, including getting a handle on how all the various car models control and boost. For gamers looking for a different kind of high-speed racer or anyone's who has yet to experience the thrill Criterion's Burnout series provides, this is a solid choice.