Burnout Paradise: The Ultimate Box Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 453 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout Paradise The Ultimate Box is a special edition release that includes the award-winning Burnout Paradise game, the previously-released Cagney and Bikes downloadable content updates, plus the brand new Burnout Paradise Party pack. The Party pack brings the social fun of BurnoutBurnout Paradise The Ultimate Box is a special edition release that includes the award-winning Burnout Paradise game, the previously-released Cagney and Bikes downloadable content updates, plus the brand new Burnout Paradise Party pack. The Party pack brings the social fun of Burnout Paradise into an offline multiplayer mode where players compete in different stunt, speed and skill events. The mode is designed to allow up to eight friends to “pass-the-pad” in dozens of quick-fire, turn-based challenges. The Party pack also includes a host of new features including a restart option added for racing and easier control of the early vehicles. Burnout Paradise proves that crashing is awesome! Next generation technology has enabled an unprecedented level of crash deformation allowing you to experience the most explosive pile-ups in the series’ history. Now the development team can realize their original vision for the Burnout franchise: an open world environment where you can do anything, anywhere, anytime. Feel the adrenaline course through your veins as you take to the road for the first time in Paradise City, where the action is all around you. Explore the city, discover events, and look for the best opportunities to crash, jump and pull signature takedowns. In Burnout Paradise you're given the keys to the city, but it's up to you to earn the keys to the meanest and most dangerous cars on the street, and earn your Burnout license. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It’s a rare thing to come across such an excellent game which offers a steady supply of adrenaline and a brilliant sensation of speed. Especially considering that it’s a port.
  2. This generation's best arcade racer in an extra value compendium that really is a slice of driving heaven.
  3. This can be kept rather simple: Any racing fan with a need for speed, who hasn’t already got Burnout Paradise for console simply needs this cool package. The Graphics are great, the sound is amazing, the speed mind-blowing and there’ so much to see and do that you’ll be kept busy for a long, long time.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    First ever PC version of Burnout is a perfect example of a modern racing game in an open world with all the essentials that players want. No need for C-grade actresses at all. [Issue#174, Jan 2009]
  5. PC Zone UK
    89
    Undeniably fun; a slick arcade racer from an impassioned and talented development studio. [May 2009, p.66]
  6. With a clearer incentive to progress, Paradise would have the cohesion it lacks. But it's still a stupendous amount of fun to play. It doesn't offer a challenge for hardcore racing fans, but instead presents you with a giant island of opportunities for mucking about and enjoying yourself. Which is just fine. [J.Walker]
  7. Good intro to the PC for the Burnout series, but though it’s not meant to be a sim, we’d prefer a bit more meat on our games.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 76
  2. Negative: 22 out of 76
  1. chadc
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    best racing game i have ever played and extras to buy are great to play
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    One of the best racing games ever for the PC. The slowdown on crashing is amazing, the graphics were great for 2009, it still looks goodOne of the best racing games ever for the PC. The slowdown on crashing is amazing, the graphics were great for 2009, it still looks good today. The choice in music was so so, but I just muted the music and played my iTunes over it. For the people who say they hate GNR... that's your opinion, if you don't like them then remove it. I've experience no glitches at all... So yea. It's great. :D Expand
  3. JasonP
    Mar 25, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed this game a lot. I think removing crash mode was a huge mistake but once you get into it you forget about it. The most important I enjoyed this game a lot. I think removing crash mode was a huge mistake but once you get into it you forget about it. The most important thing to mention is this is a good console to PC port, not buggy like others usually are. Very efficiently coded, lots of fun to be had. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2016
    8
    When it comes to Burnout before Paradise i only had tried Burnout 3 demo on NFS Underground 2 PS2 disc and it was pretty sick littleWhen it comes to Burnout before Paradise i only had tried Burnout 3 demo on NFS Underground 2 PS2 disc and it was pretty sick little experience and soon after that i quit console gaming and went full PC. That made me want a Burnout game on PC and Criterion delivered.

    Paradise is an excellent arcade racer with all the Burnout DNA in open world setting. Game plays smoothly, controls work wonderfully even on kboard and overall PC version is done very well, kudos to Criterion. One small but for me cool option was the matching game time to your local PC's time, it was kinda cool playing at night irl and having night in game aswell, havent played any other open world game that does that which is a shame. As for cars, theyre designed beautifully and sound aggressive with fine detail as hell, like it should in every self respecting arcade racer. Bike riding was also done really well, imo better than some full blown bike racing games. Paradise city itself is pretty detailed and interesting place to explore with insane jumps and stunt locations, having for the time great graphics. Crashing your car and crushing your competition is always fun, maybe after some time gets bit too repetative.

    Only real shame is that EA shut down game's servers, never got to enjoy the MP carnage.
    Expand
  5. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    Burnout 3 is one of my favorite racing games, and this changed to much for me to like it. No crash mode, and the open world of Paradise CityBurnout 3 is one of my favorite racing games, and this changed to much for me to like it. No crash mode, and the open world of Paradise City just makes racing more confusing and less fun. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2013
    3
    Very disappointing. The game looks good enough, especially with ENB, but that's about all it has going for it. Criterion purport the idea ofVery disappointing. The game looks good enough, especially with ENB, but that's about all it has going for it. Criterion purport the idea of race events on a free roam map as something new, "unlike any other driving experience", even though Need for Speed Underground 2 and Test Drive Unlimited had both done similar things prior to its release. All events are extremely easy, and with no difficulty option (at least not one I could find in the ill-conceived labyrinthine menu system), the game soon becomes very dull.

    In-game advertisements are a spit in the face from the developers. Perhaps it would be understandable if the game were free to play, or if it were trying to emulate a "real world", but it's not. These were clearly only put in for profit, not an attempt at realism, since the game is set in a fictional city and none of the cars are licensed. I paid for the game I don't want to see Burger King and EVGA advertisements while playing it.

    Various elements of the game are at cross-purposes with each other. Events are put at every intersection, supposedly to cut down on monotony and so there's never an event too far away, but the races aren't gated and the route isn't highlighted on the map as with other arcade racers, which means you have to open your map at the beginning of each race and spend time planning your route. You can't jump to events either, which, in the case of Burning Route events, often means you have to drive halfway across the map just to begin a race.

    On the topic of Burning Route events; the game boasts a range of 75 cars, when in actuality, in terms of unique vehicles there is about half that, with the other half being practically carbon-copies with different paint jobs which are rewarded after completing time trials. By the end of the game, you'll only be using about 3 of the cars anyway (the best in each category; stunt, aggression and speed), since the others are relatively useless.

    The soundtrack is awful. For reasons unknown to anyone but the developers, there are 3 different styles of music in this game; pop/rock songs, instrumental songs from the three previous Burnout games, and classical compositions. The loudness levels are not normalized either, which means that some songs are barely audible while others are quite loud. The "CrashFM" DJ is obnoxious and detestable.

    There are many other annoyances, but I think I've made my point already. Does this game deserve a rating of 3/10? No, but it doesn't deserve the inflated rating of 7.6/10 either.
    Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2013
    0
    F U C K Y O U M E T A C R I T I C Y O U A R E T H E W O R S T f u c k y o u y o u l y i n g m a d e u p s h t t y f a l s e r e v e i w asF U C K Y O U M E T A C R I T I C Y O U A R E T H E W O R S T f u c k y o u y o u l y i n g m a d e u p s h t t y f a l s e r e v e i w as su ck d ea d me ns c o cks Expand

See all 76 User Reviews