User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2297 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Best MP experience i have had in years. I have a feeling i will be playing this game for a very long time. Amazing.
  2. OlegT.
    Nov 19, 2007
    8
    The singleplayer obviously isn't worth the money - too short, with a laughable storyline, and despite all the modern stuff the "warfare", it seems, hasn't changed much since WWII, eh? It's still fun, but I expected more. However the MP will blast the hell out of you. Simply second to none.
  3. RyanC
    Sep 1, 2008
    8
    Great game with excellent visuals. They did a really good job recreating the chaotic feel of battle. This game is also pretty realistic in that you can't just run around spraying and survive. You really have to think about where you run before you do. My only gripe is that the single player campaign is a little too short.
  4. Chris
    Mar 20, 2008
    8
    This is a GREAT game with some very good single player and multiplayer action. Honestly it is better on the PC than on ANY console for the fact you can get more than just 16(I think max on 360/ps3) players, up to 54 I have seen, The reason I don't give it a 10 though is that it is supposed to be a "next-gen" game but while playing I was expecting a lot more use of physics but was This is a GREAT game with some very good single player and multiplayer action. Honestly it is better on the PC than on ANY console for the fact you can get more than just 16(I think max on 360/ps3) players, up to 54 I have seen, The reason I don't give it a 10 though is that it is supposed to be a "next-gen" game but while playing I was expecting a lot more use of physics but was greatly let down. I want to go online and be able to shoot down barrels someone is hiding behind(like Crysis) I have played both though and I conclude that this has the better online experience despite the lack of physics and it is a close choice between Crysis single player and cod4 single play Expand
  5. CC
    Aug 13, 2008
    8
    All around good game. Great graphics, like the SP campaign (especially the AC130 Gunship scene). MP is fun but is already getting old. Thank God for servers that carry custom maps or else I'd hang it up.
  6. AnonymousMC
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    Call of Duty 4 is a great FPS with a good graphics engine that will run well on a 7600GT or ATi 1800 GTO with a good single core processor or a mid dual core processor.
    The single player experience is great, it has a great story and short cinematics that will really help to get you in the story although the combat and objectives gets repetitive.
    The mutiplayer is also good with, i
    Call of Duty 4 is a great FPS with a good graphics engine that will run well on a 7600GT or ATi 1800 GTO with a good single core processor or a mid dual core processor.
    The single player experience is great, it has a great story and short cinematics that will really help to get you in the story although the combat and objectives gets repetitive.
    The mutiplayer is also good with, i think, 7 different game modes, a bunch of challenges and unlocks. I found the maps kind of smallish but that mostly insures a fun action packed gameplay
    Expand
  7. RC
    Aug 3, 2009
    8
    Graphics are ok I do have to agree with the person who said the texture are bad; they are, but still graphics are half way decent. Single player is fun, although short; it was great experience. Multiplayer can be bad depending on the players. A lot of times the teams are unbalanced so it's never a close game and it gets frustrating when you can't kill anyone because they camp or Graphics are ok I do have to agree with the person who said the texture are bad; they are, but still graphics are half way decent. Single player is fun, although short; it was great experience. Multiplayer can be bad depending on the players. A lot of times the teams are unbalanced so it's never a close game and it gets frustrating when you can't kill anyone because they camp or their too good. I'll give this an 8, I recommend buying it, but don;t expect anything amazing, it's just a good game. Expand
  8. DaveC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    8
    The multiplayer reminds me an upgraded version of Call of Duty II with better graphics and more capabilities. But is the multiplayer overdone? In Modern Warfare, you get the feeling you have less ability to control your fate. You are not as agile, and can be mortally wounded more easily. In fact, the replay is needed because quite often you don't know what hit you. Including taking a The multiplayer reminds me an upgraded version of Call of Duty II with better graphics and more capabilities. But is the multiplayer overdone? In Modern Warfare, you get the feeling you have less ability to control your fate. You are not as agile, and can be mortally wounded more easily. In fact, the replay is needed because quite often you don't know what hit you. Including taking a bullet through a wall. Soldier movement is slow and weighted down. The arm movement while running is too pronounced. You get the perception that you are weighted down and do not have the nimbleness of Call of Duty II or III multiplayer. All shooting is standing up, no ability to jump down and shoot heavy arms. I found myself swithing games to to Call of Duty III after about one hour. These are my first impressions... Expand
  9. DaveR.
    Jan 18, 2008
    8
    This game had the potential to exceed expectations if the game addressed a few environmental details, allowed full interaction with the environment, and offered the ability to meaningfully interact with your fellow troops. I find it particularly insulting when a developer fails to listen to gamers and simply sticks with conventional approach with scripted game play. For example, the This game had the potential to exceed expectations if the game addressed a few environmental details, allowed full interaction with the environment, and offered the ability to meaningfully interact with your fellow troops. I find it particularly insulting when a developer fails to listen to gamers and simply sticks with conventional approach with scripted game play. For example, the surrounding environments seem inanimate with regards to the skyline, grass, and bushes. In addition, a player cannot randomly open doors, climb fences, or console with our fellow soldiers. It is apparent that the developers were attempting photorealism, but failed to recognize the true nature of realism. I realize the developers were striking a balance between high-end PC's and low-end PC's. Nevertheless, the high end PC's should be offered the option of differentiating their respective gaming rig over their mid or low end predecessors. I only hope that the developer, in the future, reconsiders their short-sighted approach to designing games and rather embarks on an epic journey to exceed our expectations. Contrary to popular belief, it is the details that distinguish a good game from a great game. Expand
  10. PeterP.
    Jan 23, 2008
    8
    What a dense *scripted* atmosphere! The storyline is flat and too linear - but every single mission lets you forget that fact. Graphics and physics aren't really next gen. Multiplayer is very fast and enjoyable, but not as revulutionary as some reviews want to make us believe. Squad play is much better in BF2142 I think. There are no playable vehicles. And the weapon upgrade system What a dense *scripted* atmosphere! The storyline is flat and too linear - but every single mission lets you forget that fact. Graphics and physics aren't really next gen. Multiplayer is very fast and enjoyable, but not as revulutionary as some reviews want to make us believe. Squad play is much better in BF2142 I think. There are no playable vehicles. And the weapon upgrade system is nothing to write home about. But still my new favorite online shooter. Expand
  11. ChrisB.
    Feb 23, 2008
    8
    Single player is absolutely fantastic. Good story telling, fun gameplay, and the various levels are very different in pace and tone, so that it doesn't get too stale. Highly recommended, if only for that. Multiplayer, on the other hand, leaves a bad taste in one's mouth. The maps are too small, there's no teamwork whatsoever, and you're better off shooting with an Single player is absolutely fantastic. Good story telling, fun gameplay, and the various levels are very different in pace and tone, so that it doesn't get too stale. Highly recommended, if only for that. Multiplayer, on the other hand, leaves a bad taste in one's mouth. The maps are too small, there's no teamwork whatsoever, and you're better off shooting with an assault rifle than a sniper rifle at extreme range. Everything is deadly accurate at extreme range and kills in one or two shots. Furthermore, things like airstrikes and chopper support are awarded not by team related objectives but by kill streaks of a single player. Thus, it actively rewards fighting like a sissy, and punishes any who would do something risky to attempt to complete any of the objectives in the multiplayer objective modes. It essentially amounts to a whole lot of people camping, paying no attention to the various points to be captured, etc. Frustrating as hell. Expand
  12. DodB.
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    The multiplayer is the BEST war multiplayer yet!... but the let down is the game campaing is too short and could be better, hope you agree!
  13. WhyteS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    The game is beautiful and exciting at first, but after a month or so it is terribly boring. A huge map pack may just do the trick to fix these issues, but even then the maps need some work.
  14. EonfgeEonfge
    May 9, 2008
    8
    Singleplayer is awesome, but multiplayer lacks some stuff. new maps still have to be released while the system isn't very open to modders. it also features some of the greatest unballance ever: He is owning, so you know what, lets give him a flying autoturret or a spawnbomber.
  15. AndrewM
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, despite what the moron under me spews on about with circular logic in poor English ("An integrated wallhack. To be honest, this does the gameplay more bad than good, simply because it only does bad and no good at all." - SJT-Ruler* Great! Glad you could back up your own reasoning and not sound like an unreliable failure as a reviewer.) Anywho, this game deserves a 9, This game is amazing, despite what the moron under me spews on about with circular logic in poor English ("An integrated wallhack. To be honest, this does the gameplay more bad than good, simply because it only does bad and no good at all." - SJT-Ruler* Great! Glad you could back up your own reasoning and not sound like an unreliable failure as a reviewer.) Anywho, this game deserves a 9, but due to his stupidity I bumped it up a notch. Its single player is short and didn't really captivate me enough for a second run through after my first. That's fine, though, as I've come across less than a handful of singleplayer games in mygaming run that have felt rewarding at the finish. The multiplayer, however, is a gift from Infinity Ward to the soul (MY soul, at least). With so much depth and so many weapons/playstyles/gametypes to choose from, it has quenched my online thirst for owning n00bs (such as this idiot below me) since release day. A definite must have for anyone considering themselves a pc gamer, casual or otherwise. Expand
  16. Ultimated00mbringer
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Anybody who says anything negative about this game simply doesn't like FPS games, period. If they did, they wouldn't be whining like little girls about what they don't like. Most likely they didn't buy the game, they played it on someone else's machine and got their ass whooped and ran home crying.
  17. b00tsycompton
    Jul 21, 2009
    8
    Absolutely a great game. Graphics are stunning, all the buildings look great and the maps very divers. the only few down sides for me was that the frame rate at some moments is not very stable especialy when there is a lot of shooting going on against the enemies and in normal and easy mode you can finish the game within 15 hours, wich is not much for such a pricy game (50 Eu). And for me Absolutely a great game. Graphics are stunning, all the buildings look great and the maps very divers. the only few down sides for me was that the frame rate at some moments is not very stable especialy when there is a lot of shooting going on against the enemies and in normal and easy mode you can finish the game within 15 hours, wich is not much for such a pricy game (50 Eu). And for me the multiplayer version is not working at all due to a download error with steam. other then that the game rocks, good AI, gameplay, graphics,etc. Expand
  18. uskoton
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Forget Halo, Forget Counter Strike, Forget Battlefield. Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS available at present. It has recently won numerous awards to prove this fact. Best selling FPS for example. Single player is short but 'veteran' mode can extend that! Online it is unbeatable and highly addictive, be prepared to lose a lot of your life spent playing CoD 4 online! From Beginners Forget Halo, Forget Counter Strike, Forget Battlefield. Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS available at present. It has recently won numerous awards to prove this fact. Best selling FPS for example. Single player is short but 'veteran' mode can extend that! Online it is unbeatable and highly addictive, be prepared to lose a lot of your life spent playing CoD 4 online! From Beginners to Hardcore shooting fans this game has something for everybody. Yes people complain its 'run and gun' but there is plently of MODS and Clans that play tatical games where teamwork and tatics are essential! This is as close to perfect i have ever experienced in a game and Call of Duty Modern Warefare 2 will have a hard time trying to out do this game! Expand
  19. JohnD
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    This is game is great in both single- and multiplayer, theres not much to add to what other people wrote. Just one thing to add from my side, MANY people - including me - have an unsolveable issue with the game locking the whole PC, only in multiplayer. There seems to be no solution for it, it happens on totally different PC configs no matter what drivers etc. you use. So for me the game This is game is great in both single- and multiplayer, theres not much to add to what other people wrote. Just one thing to add from my side, MANY people - including me - have an unsolveable issue with the game locking the whole PC, only in multiplayer. There seems to be no solution for it, it happens on totally different PC configs no matter what drivers etc. you use. So for me the game is kind of unplayable with those lockups, sometimes they dont happen at all during 10 hours of playing, other times it happens twice in a row within 10 minutes. Expand
  20. Sgt.Awesomeness
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    All I can say is the single player is great, multiplayer is even better and at the end of the day, this title will rise through the ashes as the series' top game.
  21. JoshF.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    This game is utterly amazing, even without having a pricey gaming rig. I've yet to experience these kind of graphics and sounds. You'd think that cranking the settings and resolution would slow it down, but it doesn't. I'm in awe of just how much they fit on a screen at once. If you want to be able to sleep, don't play within a few hours of bedtime, because it This game is utterly amazing, even without having a pricey gaming rig. I've yet to experience these kind of graphics and sounds. You'd think that cranking the settings and resolution would slow it down, but it doesn't. I'm in awe of just how much they fit on a screen at once. If you want to be able to sleep, don't play within a few hours of bedtime, because it gets you WIRED. It's probably better in the morning instead of coffee. Also, the seen where you are the president getting beaten and taking a ride through a part of a Middle Eastern city that's a terrorist stronghold is incredible, it's honestly like nothing I've ever experienced or seen. Hordes of men shooting guns in the air, frightened citizens running for cover, then you get to the compound... well, maybe I've already said too much. You've got to see (or rather experience) what happens next. Expand
  22. JoshK.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, no bugs, incredibly fun!
  23. HankH.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I loved this game. The singleplayer does leave a bit to be desired but the multi-player aspect more than makes up for it. Finally a reason to play online shooters again!
  24. EdC.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    There are cynics out there who would lead you to believe that this game just not be worth $50. Technically, he would be right as no game is worth $50. But, if you want a deep and dynamic game with visually stunning graphics and incredible sound, then this game takes the sting out of forking over your hard-earned money. First, the criticism: SP is a bit bland and linear. You are introduced There are cynics out there who would lead you to believe that this game just not be worth $50. Technically, he would be right as no game is worth $50. But, if you want a deep and dynamic game with visually stunning graphics and incredible sound, then this game takes the sting out of forking over your hard-earned money. First, the criticism: SP is a bit bland and linear. You are introduced to COD5's wide range of weaponary and game style, so it's worth checking out. The graphics (sorry XP users, you are missing too much here) are simply breathtaking. Personally, I feel it takes the cake over Crysis. COD4 brings us the same revolutionary sound as did it predecesors. It is lifelike and not-to-overbearing. The meat and potatoes from COD4, however, goes beyond it's glitter. it lies in the MP mode. Revamped from previous releases, COD4 allows a user to retain persistent stats and awarding upgrades along the way. The ONLY issue is that ranking up seems to be a bit too easy. You can earn challenge points along the way, accellerating your way to the top. The casual gamer will find this a perfect pace, but for COD4 diehard, we will all be 5-stars from this point on. Bottom line, don't dismiss the occassional critic whom basks in his/hers on glory of being able to sway a vote. Take it from a hard-core gaming veteran, this is THE game to own this year. Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Definently the best Call of Duty game up to date. After it being released over 4 years, it is still widely played on the PC in great amounts of players and time. This game is a must buy if your just picking up PC gaming and shooters on the PC. It will teach you how controls work for Call of Duty-like games.
  26. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    An excellent FPS, which definitely set the shooter standard when it was released. Sneaking around in Hardcore domination mode, without the annoying predator missiles and attack dogs added in later COD titles, this game is great - and it also has the best singleplayer campaign in any call of duty game. Too bad that later iterations of the series has not kept up to its legacy.
  27. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Played this game for the first time after trying some of the more recent COD titles. I must say, this one beats all of the others aside from maybe World at War since I'm a sucker for those older weaponry. The graphics are great compared to the recent COD games, and the gameplay is very fun. It wasn't very long, which was good because it was getting to being the same thing over and over.Played this game for the first time after trying some of the more recent COD titles. I must say, this one beats all of the others aside from maybe World at War since I'm a sucker for those older weaponry. The graphics are great compared to the recent COD games, and the gameplay is very fun. It wasn't very long, which was good because it was getting to being the same thing over and over. The storyline was pretty good though. I don't know what happened after World at War, but COD has really gone downhill. Long live pre-modern warfare 2 COD games! Expand
  28. DonatoC.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best multiplayer fps game of the moment, incredible graphic which runs very smooth compared to its quality, even af max details with antialiasing 4x. the same computer runs pretty badly Crysis for example, so the COD 3d engine is really amazing. Very good netcode too, i play almost perfectly even with 100-140 ping!
  29. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Man I love this game! After coping so many hatred towards the series (I agree that it deserves some of them), I'm really glad to return back to my favorite FPS game of all time i.e COD4MW. I've completed the single player campaign four times and still want to give it a try once again! ( But i don't want to bother playing in the higher difficulty level). To all MW2, MW3, BO, BO2 haters,Man I love this game! After coping so many hatred towards the series (I agree that it deserves some of them), I'm really glad to return back to my favorite FPS game of all time i.e COD4MW. I've completed the single player campaign four times and still want to give it a try once again! ( But i don't want to bother playing in the higher difficulty level). To all MW2, MW3, BO, BO2 haters, stay out of this game please! Expand
  30. RascalMint
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    This is my first FPS game and become easily addicted. I stopped playing assassin's creed because of this. Truly a great game.
  31. ChrisI.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Well, what can I say. I haven't been much interested in online fps'es for the past two years or so, maybe with an exception of a few hours with Team Fortress 2, but THIS is it. The hardcore mp modes feel like the good old Rainbow six experience while the original modes feel a bit like how battlefield 1942 was for me. The only difference is... that its immensely better in all Well, what can I say. I haven't been much interested in online fps'es for the past two years or so, maybe with an exception of a few hours with Team Fortress 2, but THIS is it. The hardcore mp modes feel like the good old Rainbow six experience while the original modes feel a bit like how battlefield 1942 was for me. The only difference is... that its immensely better in all aspects! Introducing rewards that makes you WANT to play better, play more and play differently all the time to unlock nice equipment and stuff, graphics that look extremely good and still runs good on any medium spec machine built for or by a gamer, and generally a more than averagely good experience of working as a team. And not least, the single player campain is simply put one of the most exciting, varied and (for peace loving military buffs like me) the coolest experience of being in modern war ever. Highly recommended! Expand
  32. MateoG.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Excellent graphics, a wonderful gameplay. The best first person shooter ever!
  33. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    This is probably the most fun game I had played in 2010, I didnt really like it that much because I played a dodgy copy at a LAN Party. I was inspired by Mazarini's Play With Soul video to get this game so I bought it at the Steam christmas sale. Single player is pretty good, Multiplayer is addicting. Modern Warfare 2 was basically a re-skin of this game. You need to get this game.
  34. IvoL.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Best Shoother Game ever!! Great animations, great music, great graphics.
  35. TimJ
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    This game is pure awesome all around. The graphics, the gameplay, the cinematic point of view are all just brilliant. Playing online is so much fun, I'm frequently stuck to my computer for hours owning it up with my golden AK. It's probably one of the best single player games I've ever played. The reason I give this game a 9 is that it's a wee bit too short, but the This game is pure awesome all around. The graphics, the gameplay, the cinematic point of view are all just brilliant. Playing online is so much fun, I'm frequently stuck to my computer for hours owning it up with my golden AK. It's probably one of the best single player games I've ever played. The reason I give this game a 9 is that it's a wee bit too short, but the last mission is absolutely EPIC. Expand
  36. MarkS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The campaign may be short, but as I've said to those that complained about the length of Halflife 2 episodes: "I'd rather play a really good short game, than a bad long one." Game length is irrelevant in this title anyway. The real, true game is in the multi-player. That says something coming from me, as I rarely, if ever, take my gaming online. I find myself playing this MP The campaign may be short, but as I've said to those that complained about the length of Halflife 2 episodes: "I'd rather play a really good short game, than a bad long one." Game length is irrelevant in this title anyway. The real, true game is in the multi-player. That says something coming from me, as I rarely, if ever, take my gaming online. I find myself playing this MP more and more. The gameplay is lightening fast, and runs smooth as silk. Audio is exceptional, as were the others in the CoD series. The graphics are excellent, and as stated by another user, look best when everything is maxed out. Although if you've admired the graphics in multi-player, you've just had your throat slit. Trust me, I know. Expand
  37. BenC.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    The combat system in this game is great. The single player is very good and very intense at times. The only problem I had with the single player was the enemy AI. Instead of making smart enemies (they're not horrible) they just spam numbers. They try to flank you on occasions, but they're just not as aggressive as I'd like them to be (like F.E.A.R.) There is a lot of The combat system in this game is great. The single player is very good and very intense at times. The only problem I had with the single player was the enemy AI. Instead of making smart enemies (they're not horrible) they just spam numbers. They try to flank you on occasions, but they're just not as aggressive as I'd like them to be (like F.E.A.R.) There is a lot of variety in the missions though (besides the enemy spam) and it's very cinematic. The multi-player is nearly flawless except for the maps seem to be too small for some of the longer range weapons. Sub-machine guns are the best choice in most situations and shotguns are horrible. A few patches and COD4 will be a new standard in shooters. Expand
  38. BARB3d
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    what a game, graphics, gameplay, the whole package a gem. bout the best shooter ive played, and ive played a few. gotta be the benchmark for all new shooters.
  39. JonoMcg
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Best game i have played in ages weather or not everyone else thinks so and prior to someone else's little comment on your friends not dying.... what do you expect, that it looks better for someone to die and come back to life the next level.... if you want a game like that go make your own.
  40. RG
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    Don't believe the guys trolling to be different. This game is great in many regards. Yes, the singleplayer is scripted and short, but it has no lame filler and is full of visceral and intense action. There were times where the single player was a little silly, but overall the singleplayer was fun (which is the most important). The multiplayer varies on what you play. It can be very Don't believe the guys trolling to be different. This game is great in many regards. Yes, the singleplayer is scripted and short, but it has no lame filler and is full of visceral and intense action. There were times where the single player was a little silly, but overall the singleplayer was fun (which is the most important). The multiplayer varies on what you play. It can be very tactical if you play on hardcore servers running Search and Destroy mode (only 1 life per round with an objective to complete). Or it can be very arcade like in a normal free for all game. What few others have mentioned, but is really important, is that this game mods very well and can auto-install maps and such if you enable it in the options menu. Don't like the helos or certain perks? Fine, some mods ban the use them, and open up all weapons to the player regardless of rank. Team play is very good if you use the voice over IP, and you play with others who are tactically oriented. In conclusion, the singleplayer is good but lacks replay value. Multiplayer is very diverse and is sure to please any player from the old RVS fan to UT fans. Expand
  41. GaborH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, great playability, good ai, runs perfectly on older computers too. (P4 3.0 Ghz 1.5 GB RAM, ATiX1600). It lets me only pick medium graphic settings, but even with that it has one of the nicest look I ever played with.
  42. Crennas
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Absolutely great multiplayer part...customisable classes, weapons and special abilities (perks) give the game an enormous strategical depths. My graphics card (7950gx2) produces some texture errors, so a patch needs to come. But after all this game is a perfect 10.
  43. PatF.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    This game is an awesome experience from start to finish. Delivers in all aspects, from graphics, animations, and special effects, to story and character development, to music, sounds and voice-overs. Superbly done!
  44. JeremyJ.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Graphics are insane. The game itself is so fun, you go from sniping in a building to shooting down helicopters with an rpg. This game is very realistic also.
  45. JohnD.
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    Nice piece of work as a single player experience - it hangs together beautifully, the gameplay is varied and fun and the NPCs that accompany you on your missions add a lot to the atmosphere. Multiplayer is good rather than great, it's got more depth than a generic deathmatch but it's nothing you haven't seen before. On the down side, you can tell it's built to work on Nice piece of work as a single player experience - it hangs together beautifully, the gameplay is varied and fun and the NPCs that accompany you on your missions add a lot to the atmosphere. Multiplayer is good rather than great, it's got more depth than a generic deathmatch but it's nothing you haven't seen before. On the down side, you can tell it's built to work on consoles - the game holds your hand a bit too much, difficulty levels are fairly low and the environments don't have the sort of physics realism and detail that I'd expect from a high-end PC game in this day and age. This does have the advantage of making the game work well on less recent kit, but it just didn't wow me like, say, HL2 did when that first came out. A very solid 9 and well worth anyone's money, but unlikely to become an all-time classic. Expand
  46. JonP.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Awesome game fast paced and damn fun! both MP and Single player, best game released this year in my books.
  47. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    The original Call of Duty changed it all, Call of Duty Modern Warfare changed it all once again. The single player campaign is extremely well designed and unlike MW2/MW3/BO well paced. The levels are not just about mindless running and gunning but though if you prefer finishing them like that you are free to do so. The multiplayer is actually the place where COD brings out all of itsThe original Call of Duty changed it all, Call of Duty Modern Warfare changed it all once again. The single player campaign is extremely well designed and unlike MW2/MW3/BO well paced. The levels are not just about mindless running and gunning but though if you prefer finishing them like that you are free to do so. The multiplayer is actually the place where COD brings out all of its shine. Its extremely immersive and full of exciting well designed levels with lots of guns and customization options. The most important thing about this game is that unlike its younger brothers (MW2/MW3/BO) it has support for dedicated servers which is the reason why this game has thousands of active servers even after so much time.

    Does this game deserve to be rated with score 10? Probably not because there are certainly flaws which are not that obvious at first sight. However, if I don't rate it that way I will most probably be sorry for not doing that in a couple of years when all traces of decent games are erased in favor of pure money-grinding publishing politics (I fear that time has already come). That means that realistically this game deserves a strong 9 however by the power invested in my current voting rights I will give it a full 10.
    Expand
  48. May 12, 2012
    10
    Call of Duty 4 is one of the best CoD game, because it has custom add-ons that drastically enhances the multiplayer gameplay such as Pro-mod (which is one of my favorite add-ons), custom maps and more. The later CoD titles are just crap, all they did good was the campaign and the multiplayer itself are still the same as COD4, with new bad layout maps. Really, if you want to play the realCall of Duty 4 is one of the best CoD game, because it has custom add-ons that drastically enhances the multiplayer gameplay such as Pro-mod (which is one of my favorite add-ons), custom maps and more. The later CoD titles are just crap, all they did good was the campaign and the multiplayer itself are still the same as COD4, with new bad layout maps. Really, if you want to play the real Call of Duty, get COD4. Expand
  49. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    I can say one thing this is the best multiplayer cod ( black ops gets zombies :) ) but ok why 9 campaign was good but basic also graphics where ok my radeon 6850 in my alienware laptop was running at -2 degrees
    but yes multiplayer is da best lan like crysis wars amazing not op weapons and a place in my heart great game for 20$ get a copy i mean its not like mw3
  50. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    100% fun time to be had! The negative reviews are from those who generally are not good at video games. The campaign is a little short but it's still fun. multiplayer is as good as it will ever be. That goes for online and split screen. It's all the good things from goldeneye 64, unreal tournament, and time splitters rolled into a hot n tasty bean burrito. It's great if your looking to100% fun time to be had! The negative reviews are from those who generally are not good at video games. The campaign is a little short but it's still fun. multiplayer is as good as it will ever be. That goes for online and split screen. It's all the good things from goldeneye 64, unreal tournament, and time splitters rolled into a hot n tasty bean burrito. It's great if your looking to kill time...in short must buy! "Doors that can't be opened. Windows that can't be broken. 1 metre high boxes that you just can't quite muster the strength to climb over. Worthless drivel." How do you play games pal? Expand
  51. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    It's not perfect, but close. I've played close to 400 hours in this game, for me it's the best CoD game created and a really good FPS.

    The single-player is meh, if it weren't multi-player in the game I would rate it a 4, but the multi-player carries the game to a 7. The first CoD game to have perks. With dedicated servers you could find sniper only servers and so on, you could ban, and
    It's not perfect, but close. I've played close to 400 hours in this game, for me it's the best CoD game created and a really good FPS.

    The single-player is meh, if it weren't multi-player in the game I would rate it a 4, but the multi-player carries the game to a 7. The first CoD game to have perks. With dedicated servers you could find sniper only servers and so on, you could ban, and have rules.. Amazing.
    Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    This game revolutionized the series. Great graphics, simple jump in and play gameplay and mainly loads and loads of fun. The singleplayer, although short, was loads of fun as well. I must have spent a couple hundred hours on this game's multiplayer. Definitely the best in the series, too bad they turned it into a corporate cash cow after this game and didn't just leave it at that
  53. May 21, 2012
    10
    Best fps shooter of all time, without doubt. The game has endless replayability, when you take out hackers and campers the game is flawless. Despite these it's impossible not to give it a full 10. Worth £200 unlike it's rehashed remakes, which could be 1 of the endless mods to the game.
  54. KenB.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    COD4 lives up to the reputation of its' predecessors. Engaging game play, great graphics, and stable out of the box.
  55. J.S.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Great game over all. The single player game has several interesting scenarios which make it a lot of fun. Multiplayer is also extremely fun for when you finish the single player game. Over all the best first person shooter of 2007 besides Bioshock.
  56. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The original Modern Warfare. This game changed my life forever. It's the best shooter game of all time. these days i decided to put my score because the deception of Call of Duty Modern Warefare 3. The reason is simply. Infinityward was created this game on 2007. Now Infinity Ward is death. THE PEOPLE CREATED THIS GAME IS NOW ::::> RESPAWN ENTERTAINMENT.
  57. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    A very fun game. Every game could use improvements and so could this but generally speaking I have almost all positive things to say about this game. The single player campaign is very immersive and fun to play.
  58. DimaA.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Just amazing. The single player might be short, but it is very satisfying. And the multiplayer might be the best I have ever played.
  59. MinOh
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    It was awesome!!!
  60. MichaelE.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    This is the best game EVER! Very intense, great online multiplayer system, definitely worth buying.
  61. FarisA.
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    Awesome game.. u can't get bored from playing it.
  62. Dezorian
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I have play many games and this is by far the best, both single and multiplayer. I wish Battlefield 2 would have the harcore option like cod4.
  63. JensP.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    I simply love the game, for the first time you care about the characters in the game and very good story. One of the best things in the game is the MP part its awesome.
  64. NathanS.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    One of the best games Ive ever played
  65. AshokM.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. I mean, sure, it has a short storyline, and it was overhyped a lot, but, I think, what really makes CoD4 stand out above the crowd is the multiplayer. It is just so fun and replayable
  66. Disposable
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    Singleplayer: The singleplayer is largely linear without alot of tactic, this may sound bad, but for this game it works brilliantly as you are immersed in a largely atmospheric world of action and excitement. The game keeps you wanting more as you fight your way through the (slightly short, finished in two sittings) epic story. Its a cinematic gameplay, that although doesn't sound Singleplayer: The singleplayer is largely linear without alot of tactic, this may sound bad, but for this game it works brilliantly as you are immersed in a largely atmospheric world of action and excitement. The game keeps you wanting more as you fight your way through the (slightly short, finished in two sittings) epic story. Its a cinematic gameplay, that although doesn't sound great on paper allows the game to connect you with far more exciting events than many average shooters these days. For these reasons I will give it a 9/10 Multiplayer: Now for the real reason to buy this game, call of duty 4 has some of the greatest multiplayer i have seen in a long time (i play counter-strike and battlefield mainly to give you an idea). This is where the PC version really shines and the cons0oles really cant match. The online gameplay offers a lot of variety with about 20 different weapons, all with about 4 unlockable attachments and 5 different camouflages, about 5 game modes (with the option of hardcore mode on each), 15ish maps, and about 30 different perks, the game is very customisable and you can set up a class exactly how you want it. Ranking up has been set right at the right level, that it requires not too much gameplay to get to another rank and unlock new weapons, but it also doesnt take too little so you do actually have play for more than an hour to unlock a majority of the weapons. Any there is always the goal of getting gold weapons ahead of you. The gameplay itself has been put up against a big feet of achieving what they achieved in COD4 but they have managed to not only achieve this, but surpass it adding a new level of gameplay. This most definitely deserves a 10/10. I haven't enjoyed a game this much for years. Expand
  67. DW
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Great game, great depth! This game works as a mind stimulating tactical shooter on every level!
  68. TylerK
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    THE best game ever more fun then TF2!!! single player is fantastic and with online play u can play forever! you can unlock a ton of weapons and perks and trying to move through the ranks from private to general is a BLAST!
  69. PedjaK.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Great game. Very realistic and awesome graphics.
  70. TomK.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    New Maps, very cool. Thanks!
  71. JohnS.
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    I have been hooked on this game since release date. The only game I have ever experienced this level of addiction with was Counterstrike, before source. The story, the graphics, the way your scope shines gold and the amazing lighting... The graphics are breathtaking and the gameplay lives up to them. There are issues with multiplayer, not least a terrible server browser in the PC version I have been hooked on this game since release date. The only game I have ever experienced this level of addiction with was Counterstrike, before source. The story, the graphics, the way your scope shines gold and the amazing lighting... The graphics are breathtaking and the gameplay lives up to them. There are issues with multiplayer, not least a terrible server browser in the PC version and quite frankly stupid gameplay in the standard mode, but the former can be worked around and the latter is simply fixed by playing the game in hardcore mode (which removes the HUD and severely lowers maximum health.) As a whole, this game is by far the best shooter I have ever played (bear in mind this is my favourite genre, and strategic shooters only get a small amount of interest from me) and actually probably comes out on top as the best game I have ever played. Well, until FFXIII. If you like your shoot-em-ups and somehow don't have this one, get it. Now. Expand
  72. JoeyB.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    Amazing online play and good campaign much better then cod3 and leaves me waiting in suspense for cod5.
  73. danm
    May 21, 2009
    10
    The most kickass shooter ever made, PERIOD. This game is fucking perfect. It is so welcoming to skilled tactics and character design it blows my mind. Definitely a must get for any experienced FPS player. Not only is the multi-player unbelievable, the single player mode actually MAKES YOU BETTER at online gameplay. I beat it on veteran, and i subsequently went on to kick every ass that The most kickass shooter ever made, PERIOD. This game is fucking perfect. It is so welcoming to skilled tactics and character design it blows my mind. Definitely a must get for any experienced FPS player. Not only is the multi-player unbelievable, the single player mode actually MAKES YOU BETTER at online gameplay. I beat it on veteran, and i subsequently went on to kick every ass that ever played this game. If you are good enough, you can practically become unkillable. Expand
  74. [Anonymous]
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Awesome game, crisp graphics, fantastic gameplay. The only downside is that when playing it on veteran there are some spots that you have to replay over and over to get past. Still 10/10 from me though.
  75. TimP.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Very good new style of FPS game no one evry made like this game.
  76. MysenS.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    There's over 100,000 words in Webster's Dictionary. But there's no word that defines how great Call of Duty 4 is. The graphics are utterly spectacular, the singleplayer capaign is brilliant since evey level is unique in some way, shape, or form, the multiplayer is chaotic and very addicting, and the new story really gives this game a work out. Even if you have to have lower There's over 100,000 words in Webster's Dictionary. But there's no word that defines how great Call of Duty 4 is. The graphics are utterly spectacular, the singleplayer capaign is brilliant since evey level is unique in some way, shape, or form, the multiplayer is chaotic and very addicting, and the new story really gives this game a work out. Even if you have to have lower graphics to support the game, trust me, every second of the gameplay is worth it. Multiplayer's fantastic too with its huge array of game modes, upgradable and customizable weapons, and a seriously awesome ranking system. If you need a great way to spend $50 besides on the Orange Box (which is also very good), then get Call of Duty 4, one of the best FPS games ever made. Expand
  77. RonK.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    At first impression of the game from all the trailers i have seen, this looked like more of a war movie then a game, and once I started to play it, I realized how much of a good thing that is. While the single-player mode quite short, the cinematic quality of the game adds a perspunique perspective that makes every moment of it worth playing. Single-player - Although short, this mode adds At first impression of the game from all the trailers i have seen, this looked like more of a war movie then a game, and once I started to play it, I realized how much of a good thing that is. While the single-player mode quite short, the cinematic quality of the game adds a perspunique perspective that makes every moment of it worth playing. Single-player - Although short, this mode adds a new way to play an FPS. You play as various characters, but not all of the missions or about combat. You have your run of the mill "go here, kill this", but you have your levels with zero combat, which may sound bad for a FPS, but adds a new way of story telling in this genre. From being carried off my enemy soliders to crawling out of a downed helicopter. The game is smooth, and doesnt shove in meaninglessly large areas just to expand the game length. 9/10 Multi-player - Upon entering your first multi-p[layer session, your options are fairly limited as to what you can come in as, but for a good reason. They have created an RPG-like setting with the online modes in which you get EXP (experiance points) from killing your enemies, and bonuses for each map depending on how well you performed. As you level up in ranks, more modes are unlocked, which eventually allow you to customize your class, weapon loadout, and your camo for each weapon. Other additions are that you can add traits to your classes including more powerful rounds, increased health, and increased accuracy. The levels load quickly and the respawn rate in incredibly quick. There are many modes that make this the perfect multi-player experiance. 10/10 Sound - Ultra-realistic sounds create a more in depth atmosphere which drags you into the game. The score is similar to other games in the genre, but it's the art direction that really adds a plus. Weapon fire volume depends on which weapon, ranging from ultra quiet silced weapons to the annoyingly loud machine guns. The music coes on when needed, the radio sound uality is perfect, and the sound effects leave you with nothing more but excitement. In the multi-player modes voices are added that actually would be heard in a real life setting, making the experiance more intense and realistic. 10/10 Graphics - While better graphics have been seen per model in games liek Gears of War and Rainbow Six: Vegas, this game does what it needs, and does it well. The details they put in are near perfect, allowing for customization of the qulaity depending on the build of your machine. I run this at the maximum quality my computer allows, and there is very little lag, allowin for it to stay fun, and still look amazing. Immense details in the distance also makes for a nice realism. 9/10 Overall, this game is enjoyable in many different levels. The cinematic video and sound quality, the balance of action and storytelling, and the game modes make this game able to play for hours on end. 9.5/10 overall. Expand
  78. TravisB.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    This game is one of the best games ive ever played. the fact that you can shoot through walls and stuff its awsome!!!
  79. Marc-AndréD.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Really good game, short solo, but I don't care since Multi is the main point, like in BF2.
  80. JohnM.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    The single-player campaign is a short but incredibly polished single-player campaign with a plot straight out of 24. The fact that enemies respawn if you don't move forward can sometimes lead to a slight feeling of luck in getting through missions though. Don't be fooled, multiplayer is what this game is built around. I've played more of COD4's multiplayer game alone The single-player campaign is a short but incredibly polished single-player campaign with a plot straight out of 24. The fact that enemies respawn if you don't move forward can sometimes lead to a slight feeling of luck in getting through missions though. Don't be fooled, multiplayer is what this game is built around. I've played more of COD4's multiplayer game alone than I've played any other game this year. It's incredibly cerebral, fantastic for team play, and fast enough to feel arcadey without sacrificing a sense of realism. A lot of other games may be pushing more artistic and design boundaries this year, but this is easily the game that I've played the most and enjoyed the most. Expand
  81. DanyT.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    I've played so many fps games, Far Cry, CoD 1 and 2, bioshock, half-life 1 and 2, Battlefield 1942, BF2, to name just a few and none of them can compare to CoD 4 for the sensation of being right into the action in both, solo campain and multi-players. It's the best of both world
  82. SamF.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    I usually don't start off a review by saying Holy @#$! but this game is incredible. Starting with the graphics, its as close to photorealistic as many people would expect which is done very well. You have vehicles that explode when damaged and other items can be destroyed too. The intense gameplay is there just like all the other COD Games but take the story , weapons and scenery I usually don't start off a review by saying Holy @#$! but this game is incredible. Starting with the graphics, its as close to photorealistic as many people would expect which is done very well. You have vehicles that explode when damaged and other items can be destroyed too. The intense gameplay is there just like all the other COD Games but take the story , weapons and scenery into modern times. Oh and I almost forget about the Nuke...yes a nuke is involved in the storyline and if thats not enough ... The terrorists have taken control of it. Anyone interested in FPS Games has to buy this title. Its that good. Expand
  83. JaakkoK.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    I give this game full points. It is one of the best games I've ever played. Everything maxed out it looks awesome. The game feels very similiar to Call of Duty 2, but is still differend. It is more fast paced, has more weapons and you can pretty much customize your character the way you want. If you like fps-games, you'll love this. A must buy. If your pc can't match the I give this game full points. It is one of the best games I've ever played. Everything maxed out it looks awesome. The game feels very similiar to Call of Duty 2, but is still differend. It is more fast paced, has more weapons and you can pretty much customize your character the way you want. If you like fps-games, you'll love this. A must buy. If your pc can't match the minimium requirements, I recommend reading Firingsquads 500$ pc upgrade, just google it. Expand
  84. EugenC.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare shows that you don
  85. Kenneth
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    The single player is WAY TOO short, but the story and gameplay is worth it. For the people who complained about the cover system, if you want a magic soul coming out of your body to magically see around corners just by turning your head crap, go play something stupid like Rainbow Six: Vegas by Ubisoft who managed to take one of the most realistic shooters, Rainbow Six, and turn it into an The single player is WAY TOO short, but the story and gameplay is worth it. For the people who complained about the cover system, if you want a magic soul coming out of your body to magically see around corners just by turning your head crap, go play something stupid like Rainbow Six: Vegas by Ubisoft who managed to take one of the most realistic shooters, Rainbow Six, and turn it into an arcade console shooter. This game is also not at all realistic, but I loved that at least they NEVER took you out of 1st person view. That added to the immersion and was one of the biggest selling points for me. Collapse
  86. AlexW.
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    This game features a stunning array of game play in a fairly robust package. Many compare this with Crysis, which simple cannot even be run on many machines let alone run well enough to the be as pleasurable as COD4. Many aspects of the gameplay are inventive, enjoyable and a truly engaging experience. The strong online play combined with the bootcamp single player campaign prove ot be This game features a stunning array of game play in a fairly robust package. Many compare this with Crysis, which simple cannot even be run on many machines let alone run well enough to the be as pleasurable as COD4. Many aspects of the gameplay are inventive, enjoyable and a truly engaging experience. The strong online play combined with the bootcamp single player campaign prove ot be fully entertaining and well worth every penny. Expand
  87. DevillllD.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    I will give it a ten because its the best a video game can get. Realistic effects and tactics. Being a marine making me see how much of effort these guys have put into it to make it the way it is. Attention to details and variety of playing modes. Its fantastic game.
  88. J.J.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Pretty good. Probably the most fun I've had in an FPS since Max Payne II. (The PC embodying what are at other time NPCs, the self-consciously cinematic quality, the slow-motion set pieces that aren't quite cutscenes, the recycling of certain environments just to run them backwards, all remind me of that game. But i digress.) COD4 is short; it clocks in at about 5-6 hours, which Pretty good. Probably the most fun I've had in an FPS since Max Payne II. (The PC embodying what are at other time NPCs, the self-consciously cinematic quality, the slow-motion set pieces that aren't quite cutscenes, the recycling of certain environments just to run them backwards, all remind me of that game. But i digress.) COD4 is short; it clocks in at about 5-6 hours, which is 1/3 the length of your typical game. To make up for it, the developers clearly tried to pack as much action into that 5 hours as possible. If games could be clocked on an APM meter (Action Per Minute, of course), COD4 would peg the scale. Like a typical shooter, you kill lots of the same enemies; unlike a typical shooter, however, it doesn't get boring because there's always a fresh, new objective you'll be working for. And yeah, you might kill waves of the same baddies again and again like a standard FPS, but as the plot drives relentlessly, and the uqiquitous firefights have clearly been engineered to be over-the-top intense. Moreover, it seems as if every sub-misson has its own hook, something imaginiative in it that leads to a different turn of gameplay. Perhaps the most radical of these is a sub-chapter in which you find yourself behind the turrets of an AC130 gunship, and your screen looks and sounds exactly like the night vision gun-camera footage you've probably seen on CNN. (There's really a lot that could be said here about the attention to fun and general creativity that the devs put into the missions, but I don't really have the time or space.) As for PC hardware requirements, they aren't too bad for a port. Unless you have a really high end machine, you should probably be playing on medium settings. Overall, it all ends up looking quite good, and COD4 is only moderately a resource hog, considering what you get to look at on the screen. Now the negatives, which I suspect most reviewers won't get into, simply because the game is such a good time. Your NPC is the"'FNG" of your special forces team, and yet the game is designed around a sort of stealthed point-capture system, in which every firefight could go on indefinitely, unless you, the FNG, charge to the next 'point'. That, in my mind, makes you the de facto leader of the squad, although your NPC companions, who outrank you, and are otherwise enjoyable, will never take the lead or do anything at all useful without you. One could argue that they are there only to trigger only door breachings, since no doors in the game are actually openable. Yeah, they shoot and move and seem to do all sorts of stuff, but if the success of a firefight always depends on the PC charging to the next 'point', and not how many endlessly-spawning NPC baddies get gunned down, then that's a game mechanic that makes your 'team' ultimately superfluous. What's worse is often your companions are downright frustrating because they are so good at doing nothing. In short, you can't rely on them to cover you back, or to think about shooting at that enemy around the corner, because they just won't. At the very end of the game, there's a rather cheap and frustrating section where you must enter a T-shaped hall, and you end up with baddies on the left and right. You must advance down one of them; but you get shot in the back if you try to shoot down one of the halls. And your two companions just stand there, a foot way, waiting for you to somehow kill both. Another negative: Character movement. There is no leaning, which is old-school by now, but COD4 doesn't have it, and it really needs it. If COD4 had R6 Vegas' 3rd person perspective while taking cover (which you do lots and lots of in COD4-- every point capture depends on it), it would be a beautiful thing. Multiplayer is pretty good, and the devs did right when they borrowed the rank system from RTCW for online play advancement. There is zero visual customization, however; R6 Vegas is king, to my mind, of war shooters that let you choose how your avatar will appear; in COD4 there is nothing. You get a randomly generated face, clothes, etc. Somewhat disappointing. All in all, it's a good game. Fun. Varied. Intense. Memorable. I've given it a solid 9. Expand
  89. Czar
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    I got crysis and COD 4 at the same time. I quickly became bored with crysis, lovely gfx, but no surprises. Swit6ched to COD4 and can't put it down. The little side missions are just awesome. In places you have you hand being held but in other levels there is scope to try different tactics and attacking routes. Some way cool surpises and scenes in this game.
  90. JariH.
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    RPG flying and soldiers dying. Trulu beatiful game!
  91. AhmedK.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Great game,guns,graphics amazing.
  92. JuanV.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    This is my favorite game. they really exceeded the limit and went way out of the box for this game.
  93. ChrisG.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Honestly the best game i've played all year.. possibly ever, extremely emmerisive if you select the correct difficulity for yourself, and if Single player wasnt enough there is a ROCK solid multiplayer mode with unlocables making you feel like your always achievieing somehting Game of the Year by a longshot for me.
  94. SeanF.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    A very intense game, one of the best single player campaigns yet, as good has HL2's and the MSG series stories. However, it is slightly lacking in online play, but everything else more than makes up for it.
  95. MikeM.
    Jan 13, 2008
    9
    Excellent online FPS game. I heard there is a single-player bit too, I missed that though. I just rather play with my friends and meet new people who enjoy shooting each other to death. :) The game is very well polished, I haven't seen a single bug yet, amazing! The gameplay is exhilarating, almost too intense sometimes, I love it! Realistic weapons, but the recoil is way too easy to Excellent online FPS game. I heard there is a single-player bit too, I missed that though. I just rather play with my friends and meet new people who enjoy shooting each other to death. :) The game is very well polished, I haven't seen a single bug yet, amazing! The gameplay is exhilarating, almost too intense sometimes, I love it! Realistic weapons, but the recoil is way too easy to control, spray and pray is a common tactic. Expand
  96. www.FragXperts.com
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    To all those who want a SP game, go play something else. The MP is by far the best out there, and will be for years to come. Those that cry are the ones who hide in a corner with a sniper rifle the entire map and whine about getting their face raped by someone with actual skill. O.o Get some!
  97. GordonJ.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Best graphics, physics, and gameplay i've ever seen in a wargame.. didn't play cod3, but cod2 was proper manotinous. Play this game on pc, looks like crap on consoles, as well pc has a much better online community with actual moders as aposed to waiting for the devs to release stuff, if they ever do.
  98. AustinC.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    This game has great single-player, but what makes this game the best is definitely the multiplayer, with over 50 ranks, and a variety of different weapons with skins to make them look better, than they already are. This game is really fun, to earn your levels, by killing other players in online servers. In most games, it's hard to get levels, but in Call of Duty 4, It's actually This game has great single-player, but what makes this game the best is definitely the multiplayer, with over 50 ranks, and a variety of different weapons with skins to make them look better, than they already are. This game is really fun, to earn your levels, by killing other players in online servers. In most games, it's hard to get levels, but in Call of Duty 4, It's actually possible for the low level noobies, to kill high levels, which will give them a great deal of experience. Not just can you unlock weapons, and skins for those weapons, you can unlock accessories for your guns, such as laser sight, and a silencer. Expand
  99. AdamS.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Absolutely one of the top games I've ever played! Singleplayer was perfect! Multiplayer even better and I'm sure I'll keep on playing this game for a very long time! Though singleplayer was a bit short it wasn't that bad so it would decrease my rating! It's funnier than for example Super Mario Galaxy, which also is a pretty clear 10. Everybody should have a copy Absolutely one of the top games I've ever played! Singleplayer was perfect! Multiplayer even better and I'm sure I'll keep on playing this game for a very long time! Though singleplayer was a bit short it wasn't that bad so it would decrease my rating! It's funnier than for example Super Mario Galaxy, which also is a pretty clear 10. Everybody should have a copy of this game! Expand
  100. MikeN.
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    Nobody does rail-road games with huge cinematic sequences like the Call of Duty series; and Call of Duty 4 is the best yet. It
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. PC Gamer UK
    85
    A beautifully crafted first-person shooter, but without a compelling context. How much does that matter? To me, a little. Not a lot, but it nags. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  2. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  3. It’s absolutely relentless in its assault on the senses and never lets up until the last trigger has been squeezed. The multiplayer is even better, with the perks and weapon upgrades acting as a balance to the lack of vehicles.