User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2374 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobB.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    Yep, this is a real as it gets so far
  2. DanielL.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    The best game of all time! INTENSE action, perfect sound and graphics.
  3. LiboW.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Solid game, gotta love the "moving dramatic" music at key parts... but really this game though as short as the singleplayer maybe hit right on key of what call of duty would be with modern weapons/settings. I'm gonna go out on a limb here though to correct a couple of things. First of all this game has NO DIRECTX 10, don't listen to the user below, as all the graphics are Solid game, gotta love the "moving dramatic" music at key parts... but really this game though as short as the singleplayer maybe hit right on key of what call of duty would be with modern weapons/settings. I'm gonna go out on a limb here though to correct a couple of things. First of all this game has NO DIRECTX 10, don't listen to the user below, as all the graphics are written in directx 9 (but really well). Vista runs the game slower as I dual-boot both. Secondly, another user complained about the lack of a "cover" system. I can name 2 games with like-wise publicity that has this "cover" system. 1. Rainbow 6 Vegas, 2. Gears of War, both are great games but based on the same engine (unreal 3.0). That's it, i can't name another game with a "cover" system or whatever this person was looking for. Halflife-2 (all), quake 4, crysis, counterstrike, jericho... all recent shooters do not employ a "cover" system, as intelligent FPS players crouch or goto prone if needed. If the game's too hard, just play it on recruit. Expand
  4. ChrisV.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    This game is undeniably great. You wont find action this intense, with an amazingly crafted script to boot in any movie you'll ever see. Hands down, this is the best war orientated FPS out there.
  5. JakubD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, great gameplay, very good system of ranks and getting upgrades, and most of all great sotory in single player mode.
  6. SimonY.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    I love the fact you can make your own custom weapons in multiplayer, and it has the best firefights in a FPS ever.
  7. SeanP.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    This game is one of the better shooters to come out this year. It has fast action, large scale battles, and tatics. This is a game to play for years to come.
  8. TomiV.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    This game was really something... It was first game that i pre-ordered. Finally it was taken to modern wars from the WWII. Atmosphere was the best of the best like in CoD 2 and CoD 3 and Graphics were also good but not the best of the best, audiovisually the game was incredible, like CoD 2. I´ll give 10 points for this because there is no such option as 96/95.
  9. KyleT.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    this game is absolutely awesome a must have for your games collection weather it be pc or 360 the graphics are excellent, story line is superb and this game is challenging. it throws you off your feet with the way you expect things to work for example the last mission your a US marine. i didnt expect the way that ends at all even though this is a game set in the present and you have all this game is absolutely awesome a must have for your games collection weather it be pc or 360 the graphics are excellent, story line is superb and this game is challenging. it throws you off your feet with the way you expect things to work for example the last mission your a US marine. i didnt expect the way that ends at all even though this is a game set in the present and you have all the new weponry it still feels exactly like a call of duty game, which some poople will love like me but some people wont really like this game is amazing and online playing is really good aswell. Expand
  10. BorisD.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    The game is really good and with fabulous graphics engine and even on low details and low resolution it looks great. The storyline is great and when i got it I played it nonstop for about 3 hours and I probably got throught the half game it is just great so i give it a rating of 10/10 ! I played it with about 35-40 FPS at 1024x768 resolution and everything on High and there was absolutely The game is really good and with fabulous graphics engine and even on low details and low resolution it looks great. The storyline is great and when i got it I played it nonstop for about 3 hours and I probably got throught the half game it is just great so i give it a rating of 10/10 ! I played it with about 35-40 FPS at 1024x768 resolution and everything on High and there was absolutely no lag at all. My PC: Athlon 3500+, 1.5GB RAM DDR2, Asus GeForce 7300GS 512MB. Expand
  11. KimC.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    It is a game that performs better then crysis, and have more action then crysis will ever get. Multiplayer is just fantastic.
  12. Matt
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    It's a brilliant game, from start to finish. The singleplayer makes you feel like you're actually in the battlefield, and the major plot twist in the middle will leave you stunned. The multiplayer is even better, and will last a very long time. A good amount of maps, and deep character customisation are just 2 of the many excellent features.
  13. Fr3ddi3K.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    COD4 really needs to have something put into it that says "OK you've killed x ammount of baddies in this area, we won't spawn anymore" I found it really irritating to be sat in one spot and kill endless wave after wave of bad guys that just do not stop untill you get annoyed and take a risk and rush in and hope for the best, this is also where i feel the friendly AI lacks, it COD4 really needs to have something put into it that says "OK you've killed x ammount of baddies in this area, we won't spawn anymore" I found it really irritating to be sat in one spot and kill endless wave after wave of bad guys that just do not stop untill you get annoyed and take a risk and rush in and hope for the best, this is also where i feel the friendly AI lacks, it fails to take advantage of a situation that you create, it insteads waits for you to guide your team to the next action point by being up front and killing everything just for them to say "it's clear follwo us so you can do all the work again", Aside from the above however COD is and always has been an EPIC movie like game, the scripted sequences are truely draw dropping, The game does a good job with the story set up (remeber this is the first time cod has stepped into a fictional yet controversial setting) and the charecter building is amazing, so much so that when one of them dies your feel that you have just lost something dear to you and you want to avenge there death, many games fail to bring that ammount of depth. MP is a great blast if you like in your face combat, i am a little dissapointed at the size and liniarity of all the maps but they do not fail at setting up firefights, even if from the spawn point you can nade the enemy. Here's hoping that a patch is realesed to bring in a larger scale maps, but if not, CoD has a massive fan base and I like many others plan on making custom maps as soon as the tools are realeased. Lastly the Cod4 v Crysis Debate, I own both and have a top end system, Crysis is a hell of an Sp game and the Mp is fairly good as well, but CoD4 beats it on every thing except for Graphics. Even then CoD is still a visual peice of Art. I recomend thi sto anyone who loves the FPS genre. Expand
  14. Brian
    Dec 17, 2007
    8
    VERY good game. I loved it. Great graphics everything. Although, the bad thing is only 4 hours of Single Player mode. So after that, you do single player again in a harder level or play multiplayer.
  15. TimmothyS.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    The best First Person Shooter out on the market. It makes Halo 3 look and feel like garbage. It's got America's-Army style realism, but a much more enjoyable and fast-paced game without all the gripes that killed BF2.
  16. SlyOne
    Dec 21, 2007
    9
    The only thing that lets this game down is the lack of functionality of the servers user interface. it is hard to join together with friends to play on the same servers. There is no friends list, and you can't simply look up a frend and join the same server as them. You are stuck to using third party software, or a phone to describe to them the crazy server names, which they have to The only thing that lets this game down is the lack of functionality of the servers user interface. it is hard to join together with friends to play on the same servers. There is no friends list, and you can't simply look up a frend and join the same server as them. You are stuck to using third party software, or a phone to describe to them the crazy server names, which they have to find in their list. Expand
  17. DavidO.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Best single-player experience I've had in a while. Also the best multi-player experience I've had in forever!
  18. DwainW.
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    Game is excellent in play ,it draws you into the game , but i found it ended way to soon,but still a great game.
  19. JohnH.
    Dec 23, 2007
    6
    Rating the single player mode. The graphics and cinematic effects are awesome but I knew that was to expect from the previous games. Also what I suspected from the previous games and the very same thing I don't like about this game is that the game demands you to advance all time. If you don't advance, camp for a few seconds, more enemies will just take the places of the ones Rating the single player mode. The graphics and cinematic effects are awesome but I knew that was to expect from the previous games. Also what I suspected from the previous games and the very same thing I don't like about this game is that the game demands you to advance all time. If you don't advance, camp for a few seconds, more enemies will just take the places of the ones you just killed. You can and should more or less rush through this game, only shoot the enemies in front of you and in that way prevent respawns. The game is very fun, cinematic but not a good repressentation if realistic modern warfare. Expand
  20. CallumT.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Call of duty 4 is 'the' best modern FPS on the market to this day, with outstanding graphics, weapon selection and single player storyline, this game is easily a 10. The frequent updates and source servers makes the game un-laggy and always ontop with the bugs/glitches.
  21. GGAllinC.
    Dec 25, 2007
    9
    COD4's release timing is excellent, with the flop of Crysis, as well as the communities from BF2, 2142, CSS and others who are looking for that NEW game to come out that just grabs you by the seat of your pants. COD4 does just that. From the excellent hit boxes to the brilliant graphics COD4 delivers everything the gaming community is looking for right now.
  22. CarstenN.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    This is probably the best game of the year. The graphics are top-notch (only overturned by Crysis), the game play is both new and exciting the whole game through. The only bad thing about this game is: The single player campaign isn't long enough!
  23. Patrick
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    It's fast and tactical multiplayer is rewarding with all the different challenges and upgrades and the Make-A-Class system is fun to mess with. And unlike some of the higher up weapon unlocks in other games *cough* BF2 *cough* using the default weapons can still result in victory. I particularly would recommend this game to people that have lower end systems such as my own who cant It's fast and tactical multiplayer is rewarding with all the different challenges and upgrades and the Make-A-Class system is fun to mess with. And unlike some of the higher up weapon unlocks in other games *cough* BF2 *cough* using the default weapons can still result in victory. I particularly would recommend this game to people that have lower end systems such as my own who cant play bioshock or crysis because of the high system specs. It runs surprisingly well on my 512MB DDR, Pent 4 2.4 GHz, 7600 GS AGP. Even with my low amount of RAM the levels still load very quickly and the single player campaign is nothing to scoff at either. It's like an action movie throughout the entire thing. So go ahead and pick it up as long as you meet the minimum because it'll still look, sound, and play great. Expand
  24. BrianC.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Excellent game, but it is very linear, and that whole feel is a bit old. Next generation shooters should be very nonlinear and have destructible environments. Although this has neither, it is a very excellent game.
  25. NickS.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Like wow, i thought I was in love with CoD2, but man oh man was I in for something even better after getting this. Everything is just spectacular, definetly a CSS and DoDS BF2/2142 rep for myself.
  26. S.W.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    The single player game holds its own with HL and HL2 as "best shooters of all time". The reason its so good is the story and the action. The other reviewers are not wrong when they say that you feel like your playing a part in a movie. You do, and that is a testament to how well produced this game is. The graphics are stunning and even took my 7900GTX past what it could handle. Its a very The single player game holds its own with HL and HL2 as "best shooters of all time". The reason its so good is the story and the action. The other reviewers are not wrong when they say that you feel like your playing a part in a movie. You do, and that is a testament to how well produced this game is. The graphics are stunning and even took my 7900GTX past what it could handle. Its a very satisfying game to play and the only reason it is only getting a 9 and not a 10 is because its very short. About 6.5 hours on medium difficulty. Thankfully, it is the kind of game you would play through a second time, and it is designed to be able to pick up at any mission on any difficulty and replay parts of it. Expand
  27. APERSONHI
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    I dont understand......Why are people giving this game bad reviews?Maybe becaouse there mad that its not like Halo 3?

    Anyway.....I really liked this game.The singleplayer is short but def replayable.Multiplayer....Is the most amazing multiplayer i have EVER played.Its fun,exiting,fast paced. The ranking is fun to,But after you get to lvl 55....It will get boring....But then you just
    I dont understand......Why are people giving this game bad reviews?Maybe becaouse there mad that its not like Halo 3?

    Anyway.....I really liked this game.The singleplayer is short but def replayable.Multiplayer....Is the most amazing multiplayer i have EVER played.Its fun,exiting,fast paced. The ranking is fun to,But after you get to lvl 55....It will get boring....But then you just start from lvl 0 again if you want to.

    Overall....This game blew away my expectaions from the Call Of Duty series.
    Expand
  28. GordonM.
    Oct 17, 2008
    10
    While not exhibiting the same level of "immersion" as the other of its series, COD 4 is still an excellent game, at least in singleplayer. The bots, dispite what many say, are NOT infinite (if you don't have the patience to sit out the bots and acutally kill them all before rushing foward, you can go back to Halo), and they are far easier to kill with the sights. Proof of this would While not exhibiting the same level of "immersion" as the other of its series, COD 4 is still an excellent game, at least in singleplayer. The bots, dispite what many say, are NOT infinite (if you don't have the patience to sit out the bots and acutally kill them all before rushing foward, you can go back to Halo), and they are far easier to kill with the sights. Proof of this would become evident if critics had bothered playing on "Veteran" rather than sobbing about a lack of realism - most of the bots use sights, and amazingly, they are far more accurate while doing so. Linear gameplay isn't necessarily a bad thing, and those trumpeting its problems really ought to go and design a game without linear gameplay and yet a good story and wide appeal. Half Life 2 was linear, Crysis Warhead was more or less linear, Doom and F.E.A.R were linear, and yet people insist on instantly branding a product "linear" when they haven't even enough experience to say that it's a negative! COD4 was linear, but that only fits in with the previous COD and COD 2, which were both linear, and anyone expecting non-linear gameplay COD 4 should have perhaps bought Barbie Horse Adventures instead. Expand
  29. Eon
    Jan 18, 2008
    8
    I gotta admit, it's pretty damn good. Felt like propaganda at times and did annoy me with respawning enemies from time to time, but everything else is really worth those few annoyances. Great graphics, great gameplay, greatly optimised for older hardware even ( a tip for those with older machines - three main performance killers - soft smoke, shadows and specular map. Specular map is I gotta admit, it's pretty damn good. Felt like propaganda at times and did annoy me with respawning enemies from time to time, but everything else is really worth those few annoyances. Great graphics, great gameplay, greatly optimised for older hardware even ( a tip for those with older machines - three main performance killers - soft smoke, shadows and specular map. Specular map is the last one you'd want to turn off, but if nothing else helps it is well worth it). Game just feels really polished, which I can say about very few games. Real score : [85/100] Expand
  30. BrianM.
    Oct 19, 2008
    10
    Best FPS I've played. Single player is a great thrill ride all the way through. The ability to customize multi player allows for server types for everyone from run and gun lovers to a hardcore tactical experience where one bullet is usually death.
  31. CaseyY.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    The multiplayer and singleplayer are both amazing. Games don't need to be long to be good.
  32. ConorC.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    Clearly one of the best shooters out there. It has large improvements over CoD2 and 3, that surpass anything the mods for those could ever do. The ranking system, with the challenges make you want to keep playing, no matter how well you do, and the perk system lets you be your own soldier, not just some guy with a gun. The single player can be easy, or intensely difficult, but multiplayer Clearly one of the best shooters out there. It has large improvements over CoD2 and 3, that surpass anything the mods for those could ever do. The ranking system, with the challenges make you want to keep playing, no matter how well you do, and the perk system lets you be your own soldier, not just some guy with a gun. The single player can be easy, or intensely difficult, but multiplayer is where it's at. Anyone who can't see this doesn't deserve to understand it. I'll be playing this game for years. Expand
  33. ShawnL.
    Feb 23, 2008
    7
    The single play sucks pretty bad. The NPC are just plain dumb they keep saying area cleared when it
  34. TomV.
    Feb 25, 2008
    6
    An average shooter, though I've yet to play multiplayer. Singleplayer was an often frustrating experience, something just didn't flow like the other games did. I enjoyed 2 a lot more. Another gripe is that a lot of keys I like to use in FPS games were not recognised by the game, and being left-handed, WASD was a little awkward to use. On the positive side, it looks quite pretty An average shooter, though I've yet to play multiplayer. Singleplayer was an often frustrating experience, something just didn't flow like the other games did. I enjoyed 2 a lot more. Another gripe is that a lot of keys I like to use in FPS games were not recognised by the game, and being left-handed, WASD was a little awkward to use. On the positive side, it looks quite pretty (though it's hard to be impressed after playing Crysis), and the weapons have a good kick to them. Expand
  35. SamH.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    This game is epic! SAS stealth action with full submersion action next to each other. Ask much more and why not ask for an early rapture? And theres guns btw, in case you were undecided on that fact.
  36. DavidG
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    I thought this game was fantastic! It was a little disappointing for the length, but the intense battles evened it out. I would tell anyone who was considering to buy this game to get it immediately! It's definitely worth the money in my opinion. I hope we see another one of these on Steam soon! I'm looking forward to a sequel!
  37. DanielV.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    This game is a great game. Awesome graphics, great gaming experience for any user.
  38. DarrylT.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Most incredible thing since sliced bread.
  39. WilliamT.
    Apr 11, 2008
    9
    A brave new step into the world of modern warfare from Infinity Ward. The style may not have changed much, but it was such a great style to begin with anyhow. A must for all fans of previous games or action and FPSs in general.
  40. JacobB.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    With a simply mind-blowing single player mode and an even better multi-player system, Call Of Duty 4- Modern Warfare is one of the best FPS that has ever been made. I would give it a 10, but that's just not my style and COD5 isn't out yet.
  41. ChrisG.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    How can you fault this game? Sure, it doesnt bring anything groundbreakingly new to the genre, but it is executed so perfectly that any score other than 10 is just a travesty. The multiplayer is punishingly difficult for beginners, but it's a testament to this game that I enjoy every second I was losing. This game revives the CoD series with gusto, and even surpasses the original. Wow.
  42. NickP.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Absolute great game. Single player has a rich storyline and multiplayer kicks ass!
  43. GiginsH.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    THIS GAME ROX OMG! 10 out of 10 is the only suitable option. This game delivers just about everything you could want in a first person shooter. 1up totally underranked it, but probably cuz its graphics suck for the Wii only. I recommend buying it cuz it makes anyones collection complete. the multiplayer is user friendly and is very addicting. i am on the highest rank btw cuz i rock.
  44. JakubS.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    Best Game ever, lots of action, Graphics are excellent and There is so much more, Cod2 was ok, when cod3 came out i was disgusted, Cod4 is awesome.
  45. GeorgeAladashvili
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    An exciting game with well-built storyline, characters and action. The bad part is somehow medium graphics, a bit confusing plot and absolutely no chance of exploring the territory, like in "Far Cry" or "Crysis". Nobody says it should be a sandbox-style game, but a bit freedom would be nice. The game is a non-stop action- first you are fighting Russian Nationalists in central plains ofAn exciting game with well-built storyline, characters and action. The bad part is somehow medium graphics, a bit confusing plot and absolutely no chance of exploring the territory, like in "Far Cry" or "Crysis". Nobody says it should be a sandbox-style game, but a bit freedom would be nice. The game is a non-stop action- first you are fighting Russian Nationalists in central plains of Southern Russia, then you are transported to the city in the Middle East and fight the OpFor. The experience is really great. This will make you forget how stupid the story is: A Russian terrorist- wants to restore The Soviet Union by nuclear war with USA! The other problem are graphics- they are not bad, but i really expected more from Infinity Ward. The textures are quite weak as well. In all, this game is more made for Multiplayer mode, rather than the Singleplayer. Expand
  46. fpsFanDude
    Dec 11, 2009
    8
    Great game! Especially the Campaign. I was not too impressed with the online, and the fact that every 10 - 15 minutes it lags at high action places if you have a older video card. But over all, it is recommended by me!
  47. AlexK.
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    From it's heart pounding campaign to it's multiplayer, Modern Warfare delivers everything you'd expect from a shooter game. The introduction of modern weapons has revolutionized the action of the series.
  48. KittyAssasin
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is an addicting game worth the price. CoD4 is an improvement on Counter Strike and Battlefield, in which all of them are "run and gun" . Games are suppost to be fun and challenging, not easy. CoD4 is set in a new age of warfare, not in WW2, so stop comparing it to the other Call of Dutys. So what if you can shoot through walls, basically every FPS can allow Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is an addicting game worth the price. CoD4 is an improvement on Counter Strike and Battlefield, in which all of them are "run and gun" . Games are suppost to be fun and challenging, not easy. CoD4 is set in a new age of warfare, not in WW2, so stop comparing it to the other Call of Dutys. So what if you can shoot through walls, basically every FPS can allow guns to blast through walls. In real life, a .50 caliber rifle can penetrate through tank aurmor. Open your minds and get yourself out of the Counter Strike and Halo rut and try something different. The graphics are very good especially the guilly suits. If you dont like certain maps or game style, stop joining those games and put some filters on. Yes, "bloom" is annoying at some times, but the sun actually reflects off objects like that. Most FPS are get from point a to point b. You can move to point b from point a multiple different ways in singleplayer , you dont have to follow your squad. The physics engine is fairly decent at giving you realistic movement without skipping. The kill cam is a gaming thing. If you dont like it, filter it out. Perks make the online gameing challenging. Even the level 55 people use the begining perks. The iron sight is probably the most used pice of equipment next to the trigger. It makes shooting much more accurate. You are a trained unit, the recoil you try to keep to a minimum. You fire more rounds in training than in the battlefield. Every single game, no matter what style, has a boundry line. Quit complaining about the non-infinently spawning units, just move on. Of course you move on, you dont let the land just sit there, do you? Do you really get to stop and look over the land you are about to capture and get your head blown off by an enemy sniper? Like someother fan typed, "this is a videogame, not a military simulator." You get cover by crouching or going prone. If you have problems with the buildings, dont go into them, be a sniper and choose an open map. The smallest map is shipment, and no one really plays that map because of it. The average modern infantry man is carrying an additional 120-230 lbs. That might be doubling some soldiers whieght. Expand
  49. ChrisR
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    This game has got to be one of the most addictively fun games I've ever played. I still spend hours on xbox live shooting through walls on hardcore team deathmatch. And for all u whiners who think that online sucks cuz of all the fags that exploit the games few weak spots, suck it up and learn to fight back. I'm not saying cheat back, but learn how to take care of the queers or This game has got to be one of the most addictively fun games I've ever played. I still spend hours on xbox live shooting through walls on hardcore team deathmatch. And for all u whiners who think that online sucks cuz of all the fags that exploit the games few weak spots, suck it up and learn to fight back. I'm not saying cheat back, but learn how to take care of the queers or just find another game. Contrary to your own belief, there are servers WITHOUT cheaters. Expand
  50. JamieC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    The is an amazing game. The gameplay is amazing, graphics amazing, AI is stunning also. Only complaint I have about the game, is there isnt very much plot to it. Apart from that it is one of those games everyone needs.
  51. MikeA.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    This is the game I have been waiting many years for. Finally they have taken the fps genre to the next level. I will be playing this for a long time.
  52. Warmonger
    Nov 13, 2007
    6
    Nice game but it's very disapointing to see that the rifles and small arms haven't really changed that much in 60+years (small clips and slow to reload) these are modern weapons??good but not great!
  53. JonasM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    The best online multiplayer of year... perfect engine, perfect graphics, perfect sound, perfect gameplay!
  54. AndresM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Great game. Graphics are great, really fun to play online. Need a computer to support this game
  55. PhilH.
    Nov 16, 2007
    6
    My main problem with this game is not so much the engine or the visuals, I mean it lacks a cover button but that's not the end of the world. No my problem is that, a couple of levels notwithstanding, it's so incredibly stupid. Most of the battles are conducted at a range of about six inches and the enemy for much of the game just spawns out of sight and runs at you, so My main problem with this game is not so much the engine or the visuals, I mean it lacks a cover button but that's not the end of the world. No my problem is that, a couple of levels notwithstanding, it's so incredibly stupid. Most of the battles are conducted at a range of about six inches and the enemy for much of the game just spawns out of sight and runs at you, so essentially most of the set piece battles are just like a game of whack-a-mole. Any sense of realism to the plot or story goes right out the window because the fights are just silly, at one point I was sent to rescue a tank, during which mission I blew up four enemy tanks and gunned down about a million people. How can I give a rat's arse about a plot to save the crew of one tank when I've just wasted enough people to fill a football stadium? Honestly I can't see how this game is rating so highly because in terms of gameplay it's a step down in evolution from Rainbow Six: Vegas, in fact I'd say R6: Vegas has more going for it. Finally I'd also just say I resent the fact this is the most expensive PC game I've ever bought, with an RRP much higher than usual, and it's also one of the shortest single player games, and it's not even like it took much effort to make considering it's not even using a new engine. Expand
  56. ChristopherH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    An excellent game, with near-photorealistic graphics and a physics engine that seems realistic and not over-the-top like many current games. With the exception of a few "oh come on!" moments and infinitely spawning-enemies until you "overrun the position" the gameplay is spot on with a reasonable story. The game is worth playing just for the bit where you get to be the gunner on a Spectre.
  57. JPG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    The single player is as great and even better than the single player in previous call of duty's, but what really sets this apart from the others is the multiplayer play. The perk system is very cool, and the experience system is actually very rewarding and done much better than in similar games like battlefield 2.
  58. RyanO.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. I can say this will definitely be a favourite for fans of the series and is by far the best of the lot, but even if you have never liked call of duty - Now is the time to try it out. Trust me, you won't be disappointed. And after all that; The multiplayer is that multiplied by 50.
  59. KyleC.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Game is THE must play of the season. Intense non-stop action. Doesn't redefine the FPS genre but definately sets a new bar for it. Absolutely the most enjoyable gave I've played all year. Was worth the wait. And the multi-player was given as much care as the game itself.
  60. JamesH.
    Nov 19, 2007
    8
    Overall a worthy buy and sequel, but some of the aforementioned comments rightly criticize some elements of the game. The pros: excellent graphics, not just in implementation, but artistry and skill as well. The relatively small "arenas" allow for sharp graphics that are playable on a decent system (max settings with FX55, 2GB RAM, 8800GTS, 50-60 FPS). Superb sound and exceptional EAX for Overall a worthy buy and sequel, but some of the aforementioned comments rightly criticize some elements of the game. The pros: excellent graphics, not just in implementation, but artistry and skill as well. The relatively small "arenas" allow for sharp graphics that are playable on a decent system (max settings with FX55, 2GB RAM, 8800GTS, 50-60 FPS). Superb sound and exceptional EAX for surround sound. Great action, particularly online play, although the singleplayer doesn't fall short. The cons: frustratingly difficult stages, often requiring multiple "rehearsals." Senseless swarms of enemy after enemy, which even the most elite four man team would not survive (Capt Price takes several hundred rounds over the course of the game). Of course the shortness of singleplayer mode is off-putting and confounding considering the length of COD 1 & 2. The mulitplayer is fun, but the stages are very small, with 90% of the action focusing on one or two avenues, allowing for very little in the way of tactics. Expand
  61. TrustME!
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Pro: Mulitplayer is new, graphics are awsome, a nice step back from killing Nazis, great single player, and a lot more. Con: 4-6 hours of single player.
  62. SidC.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Unlike other most other FPSes, this game has a levelling system for aesome levels of variety between players. It's very replayable, and always action packed. Not too challenging, but not too easy, it's extremely fun for beginners and veteran FPS players :).
  63. AnsonG.
    Dec 12, 2007
    8
    Call of Duty 4 is not a revolutionary game. It will not drop your jaw (except at maybe some of the graphics in the explosions). It will not make you dream at night about it. What it is, however, is a solid, playable experience, that will last maybe a week to a few months. Whether or not you demand your games last longer might affect your view of this game, but Single Player, coupled with Call of Duty 4 is not a revolutionary game. It will not drop your jaw (except at maybe some of the graphics in the explosions). It will not make you dream at night about it. What it is, however, is a solid, playable experience, that will last maybe a week to a few months. Whether or not you demand your games last longer might affect your view of this game, but Single Player, coupled with Multiplayer (which I haven't played, so I can't review it) should keep you coming back for more. Expand
  64. NarcarsissUberLeetNess
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    This game to me was out standing best AU $60 i have ever spen on a shooter it cought me out some times neer the start i kept thinking that the guys in the brown cammo were real this is a first for me. infinityward you have don an absolute beauty of a game (hate the dogs tho they kill me :P)
    and this game hasent even crashed once lost a frame (amd 3800+ x2 ati X1650xt 1gigram) or jumped
    This game to me was out standing best AU $60 i have ever spen on a shooter it cought me out some times neer the start i kept thinking that the guys in the brown cammo were real this is a first for me. infinityward you have don an absolute beauty of a game (hate the dogs tho they kill me :P)
    and this game hasent even crashed once lost a frame (amd 3800+ x2 ati X1650xt 1gigram) or jumped this is what all games should be like way to go guys/gals 10/10
    Expand
  65. DavidG.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    A Spectacular game introducing the Pc Gamers a whole new perspective on first person shooters. I Really enjoyed the Single Player even if it had it moments , and I Still am enhoying the Multyplayer feature which really is special.
  66. JamesO.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    One of the best games to be released in the last decade. I love it when game developers come together with the right combinations.
  67. MarcM.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Excellent graphics and realistic sounds of modern warfare make this game one of the best first-person shooters ever. This is the closest thing to enlisting and getting shipped off to Iraq.
  68. VayidM.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    This is the best FPS game I have ever played. Ok I haven't played hardcore but, I've played games like Project IGI, Unreal, Americas Army, Counter Strike but this Single Player is just so awesome. This game is what keeps people off the multiplayer for a while. I do wish the multiplayer was longer and I wish I had played on a harder level. I also regretted finishing the game as This is the best FPS game I have ever played. Ok I haven't played hardcore but, I've played games like Project IGI, Unreal, Americas Army, Counter Strike but this Single Player is just so awesome. This game is what keeps people off the multiplayer for a while. I do wish the multiplayer was longer and I wish I had played on a harder level. I also regretted finishing the game as playing it again removes all excitement. Hopefully in 2-3 years time I will pull it from my game box and have another go. By then I would have forgotten all about it and the excitement factor would be there again. I know not of any other FPS' where you have a team of computers who play with you. The talk and the AI is quite nice. Overall it is an awesome game awesome game. Crysis may have been all the hype but CoD 4 seems to have stolen it in my view. If CoD 4 utilized the Crytek engine the graphics would have looked even more superb. But as I keep repeating myself yes, this is an awesome game. Go buy it, you wont regret it. Expand
  69. DerekTarnawa
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    By far the best $50 I have ever spent on a game. The campaign is downright amazing, and the graphics are great too! But the multiplayer falls a little short for me. The game lends itself to way too many "n00b guns", Seriously. But, as long as you are semi good you will have lots of fun, even though it's not the newest call of duty.
  70. JosephH
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    game far exceeds my expectations which where already high of the call of duty series.
  71. JakobR
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    What can I say? This is really one of the best games ever made. COD4 really brings you into the action. In the single player campaign you get a feeling of how it is to be in war. The heavy fighting at the front lines, and the stealthy spec ops missions behind enemy lines. The campaign however is pretty short, and although its entertaining, and can be played several times the big plus of What can I say? This is really one of the best games ever made. COD4 really brings you into the action. In the single player campaign you get a feeling of how it is to be in war. The heavy fighting at the front lines, and the stealthy spec ops missions behind enemy lines. The campaign however is pretty short, and although its entertaining, and can be played several times the big plus of this game is the multi player. The gameplay, when you think about it isn't really that fantastic, but there's something with it, which makes you want to play hour after hour, day after day. There's not only a great amount of weapons, but also special abilities called perks. These perks can be used for extra damage, better accuracy, or having two RPGs on your back. This feature really makes call of duty a unique game, and it is probably here that the gameplay is "epic". I cant really think of any minuses about this game except for the few glitches in the game, which Infinity Ward hasn't fixed yet (even although there has been 7 major updates to the game). Gameplay: 10/10 Sound: 10/10 Graphics: 9/10 Durability: 10/10 Overall: 10/10 Expand
  72. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Unfortunately, the last good Call of Duty was also the first good Call of Duty. The singleplayer is an action-packed ride but the multiplayer isn't what its really cut out to be. Sure, its addictive, but it gets boring really fast. However, it is highly recommended.
  73. faf
    Aug 6, 2014
    9
    I recently decided to replay the entire Call of Duty series and started with CoD4. Even after almost 6 years the game remains epic. The single player campaign starts to feel slightly linear when you get near the end but it doesn't have much of an impact on the game-play and it all remains one big action packed ride from the first time you pull the trigger to the last. Did not get intoI recently decided to replay the entire Call of Duty series and started with CoD4. Even after almost 6 years the game remains epic. The single player campaign starts to feel slightly linear when you get near the end but it doesn't have much of an impact on the game-play and it all remains one big action packed ride from the first time you pull the trigger to the last. Did not get into multiplayer again but from what I remember from the many hours spent playing it was brilliant. Expand
  74. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    Modern Warfare is a fantastic game and a true classic. Both the single and multi players are exceptional. My breakdown is as follows:

    1. Graphics: 8/10 - excellent for its time
    2. Gameplay: 8/10 - great controls, and satisfying gameplay
    3. Story: 7/10 - interesting story, but relatively simple.
    4. Multiplayer: 8/10 - competitive and fun

    Overall, an excellent game.
  75. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    Honestly I couldn't even pick this one out of the billion entries of this series if they were in a line-up, and I only played 2 of the series. Smooth controls.... it's a shooter with a bunch of pricks playing online and some kind of ridiculous story for the 40 minute, linear campaign. I guess it was fun enough.
  76. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    Bueno, la verdad es que este juego disfrute mucho la campaña single player, pero en serio? 92? creo que exageraron, no hay mucha variedad de armas, las pantallas son muy poco originales, y el voice acting te duerme. Este juego esta muy bueno pero no creo que meresca ni mas de 85, 7 esta bien para este juego, la verdad este no se porque esta muy over rated...pero se los recomiendo, loBueno, la verdad es que este juego disfrute mucho la campaña single player, pero en serio? 92? creo que exageraron, no hay mucha variedad de armas, las pantallas son muy poco originales, y el voice acting te duerme. Este juego esta muy bueno pero no creo que meresca ni mas de 85, 7 esta bien para este juego, la verdad este no se porque esta muy over rated...pero se los recomiendo, lo unicoque la verdad odie de este el alto nivel de linealidad de este juego, la muy, pero muy, extremadamente muy poca libertad que posees en este juego. Si les gusta los juegos de guerra, FPS pero en la actualidad, este juego es para ustedes! Expand
  77. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    Graphics,mechanics,maneuver,sound,etc,all of it are just marvelous.
    The work of FPS most imitated by most other FPS,too exaggerated?
    Modern Warfare 1&2 are both good. 图像,游戏机制,操控,音效以及等等,所有部分都令人惊叹。 第一人称射击游戏中被最多其他第一人称射击游戏模仿最多的,是不是太夸张了? 现代战争1和2两代都是好作品。
    Graphics,mechanics,maneuver,sound,etc,all of it are just marvelous.
    The work of FPS most imitated by most other FPS,too exaggerated?
    Modern Warfare 1&2 are both good.
    图像,游戏机制,操控,音效以及等等,所有部分都令人惊叹。
    第一人称射击游戏中被最多其他第一人称射击游戏模仿最多的,是不是太夸张了?
    现代战争1和2两代都是好作品。
  78. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Many people consider this to be the best Call of Duty game to date and I can agree with them. The game has very interesting campaign with very likeable characters. Missions take place all over the world with a many different objectives. There's a huge variety of weapons both in singleplayer and multiplayer. Multiplayer was also very good, there's a lot of people still playing and it has aMany people consider this to be the best Call of Duty game to date and I can agree with them. The game has very interesting campaign with very likeable characters. Missions take place all over the world with a many different objectives. There's a huge variety of weapons both in singleplayer and multiplayer. Multiplayer was also very good, there's a lot of people still playing and it has a neat level up system. Graphics are also very good. All in all I have to say that this is one of the most fun FPS I've ever played and it might be one of the best FPS overall. Expand
  79. Dec 12, 2015
    9
    Gameplay : 9
    Graphics : 9
    Story : 9
    Sound : 10
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 9
  80. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    Singly player is cliche now only because it is one of the first big modern military shooters, but holds up well enough and is diverse (missions have elements of gunship support, assault, stealth, defense, house-to-house search and destroy, tactical retreat). There's no ridiculous Hollywood setpieces like in MW2 and MW3 which is a plus for me. The shock and awe moment was pretty spectacularSingly player is cliche now only because it is one of the first big modern military shooters, but holds up well enough and is diverse (missions have elements of gunship support, assault, stealth, defense, house-to-house search and destroy, tactical retreat). There's no ridiculous Hollywood setpieces like in MW2 and MW3 which is a plus for me. The shock and awe moment was pretty spectacular when viewed for the first time, although I did not feel emotion for Jackson as he expired (come on if you want to tell a anti-war narrative a 5 min section of game will not deliver the message). The ending was as brutal as it needed to be I suppose, not everyone lives in wars fictional or not, but the important characters live.

    The multiplayer is, again, dull by today's standards, but it set the standard for all CoD's to follow. Killstreaks, perks, class creation, challenges, and ranks, are all present in the most recent CoDs. Gameplay wise the perks are somewhat unbalanced, but then again, this is the first time so it's understandable. The weapons had a oddball in the MP44 from IW's WWII days but were generally balanced enough for online play. AK's and MP5s rules yes, but M16's and M40A3's don't drool either. Frag *3 and martyrdoom are shyt annoying especially on small maps, but they're really situational and bandolier is far more utilitarian in its usefulness. The PC version is also noted as the last CoD with dedicated servers, some of which still runs today and are administrated by private parties/clans who keep the game clean for the players.

    This game came out 8 years ago, and the gaming industry have changed considerably. Call of Duty have been at least one of the leaders of the FPS genere to this day and owe its success and infamy to CoD4's innovations. Personally this game spans the longest time for me by far. I started playing this in 2009 on a GeForce 9800 GT and now in 2015, a GTX 960. CoD4 the game I would rate 7/10 now, and 10/10 in 2007. Although one day in the future, when I look back at the early years of the CoD franchaise, I would rate CoD4 20/10 for its contributions to the genre.

    PS: Eavesdrop is the worst perk of all time in Call of Duty history, never use it. Same goes for MP44
    Expand
  81. Aug 26, 2016
    7
    Super overrated!!!!!! Funny, good gfx, good movements, but very very very simple... no tactics, just some run run run, cover, aim, shoot, move, run run run... 7 maximum... no more!!!
  82. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. I know what you are thinking: haven't I given this game a terrible review before? Well, to tell you the truth, the real reasons why I didn't like this game at first are that for one thing, so many people hate this series' most recent installments. Along with that, I just couldn't get over how the Search and Destroy multiplayer mode was just a carbon copy ofCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. I know what you are thinking: haven't I given this game a terrible review before? Well, to tell you the truth, the real reasons why I didn't like this game at first are that for one thing, so many people hate this series' most recent installments. Along with that, I just couldn't get over how the Search and Destroy multiplayer mode was just a carbon copy of Counter-Strike. However, I then played the original Call of Duty (back when the game was WWII based rather than a fictional modern war), and I really enjoyed it. I then wondered: should I give this game another try? So, did I enjoy this game more the second time around, or do I still want to attack the people that created this game? Let's find out. This game plays a lot like any other first-person shooter. You have multiple weapons, there are plenty of enemies to fight, and pretty much everything else that makes a shooter what it is. The difference between this game and the others is that this game is much more cinematic. Because this game takes place in a modern war, you will often be fighting with squad members, explosions and firefights going on in the background, and many more enemies to fight than in a normal shooter. This game also succeeds where I have seen many other shooters fail: when I play this game, I actually feel like I'm in the middle of a war. While there have been shooters that prove that war is not necessary to make a good shooter, (Half-Life 1, BioShock, Doom, Borderlands), Call of Duty 4 really shines in how it makes you feel like you're in the middle of a war. I originally harshly criticized this game's AI. However, looking back at it, the AI really isn't that bad. At the very least, it does get the job done of making you feel like you're in a war. The game may also be very easy, but that doesn't mean it isn't fun. It is also redundant, but it is redundant in a way that is fresh and enjoyable. As for the lack of skill, as it turns out, I was also wrong here. It does actually require some skill to kill enemies. In the end, the single player campaign is actually pretty good, and I don't know why I didn't enjoy it at first. As for the multiplayer, I actually enjoyed it a lot more the second time around when I played it. Yes, its modes are taken from other shooters, however, it feels far more fresh and new here. In Unreal Tournament team deathmatch, your team is mostly spread out, and you fight through corridors. Here, you all start out in the same spot, and you fight in much more open areas. The same goes for normal deathmatch and domination. As for Search and Destroy, while it does rip-off Counter-Strike, it also makes more of a use of the open maps. It also has two unique modes called Headquarters and Sabotage that are really fun to play. Also, I criticized the kill streaks in my first review, but I now realize that the kill streaks actually make the game far more unique, and not just "Unreal Tournament in Modern Warfare". The gameplay of this game is actually pretty enjoyable, and I have no idea why I criticized it at first. As for the graphics, while they do look somewhat dated even by 2007, they certainly don't look muddy. They actually look really good. The environments are actually very well detailed, and pretty to look at. The soldiers look good too. It may not look as good as Crysis or BioShock, both of which were released on the same year, but it still looks quite good nonetheless. As for the story, I originally thought it was terrible because it was too easy to understand and explain. However, I now realize that I was wrong about this. It is actually good because it is easy to understand and explain. Basically the British and the U.S. Army have to go across the world to Russia and the Middle East in order to stop terrible men from taking over the world. The game may have a huge lack of character development, but I feel like it's not really needed here. In fact, the game is good enough with out that. The story may not be as good as the gameplay and graphics, but it is compelling enough to be interested in. Overall, this game is nowhere near is bad as I initially said it was. I was letting the haters of this franchise cloud my judgement. It really is a pretty solid game. I would recommend it to pretty much anyone who is a shooter fanboy. It is not the best shooter ever made or anything. However, it is safe to say I will not criticize this franchise anymore. To all of you Call of Duty players out there who want to play the game, go right ahead. I will not even try to stop you.
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Story: 8/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  83. Mar 19, 2016
    6
    I'm talking about single player here: It is so boring that's almost painfull. You can stay in one place for 3 hours, and the enemies will keep coming unless you rush at their position. Plot is just another one of american propaganda **** Brave Amercan soldiers rescuing the world from the bad Arab terrorists and Russian nationalists.... god please. If not the great shooting mechanic, thisI'm talking about single player here: It is so boring that's almost painfull. You can stay in one place for 3 hours, and the enemies will keep coming unless you rush at their position. Plot is just another one of american propaganda **** Brave Amercan soldiers rescuing the world from the bad Arab terrorists and Russian nationalists.... god please. If not the great shooting mechanic, this game would deserve 4/10. Expand
  84. Nov 16, 2016
    9
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare spices up the shooter genre with its extremely fun, detailed multiplayer along with an enjoyable campaign that brings about a new level of storyline.
  85. May 27, 2015
    6
    I assume this is all about the multi player since the single player campaign sucks. Enemies keep coming in bunches; their AI is dumb as hell and most missions are quite easy unless for this Chernobyl mission which was too hard. Only positive aspect are the weapons. Somehow I never liked the CoD franchise (CoD 1, CoD 2, and this Cod 4).
  86. Dec 3, 2014
    9
    It is one of the best games, especially COD series. I mean at least for me it is just a good game. I hope these 2 series game you will be as good as the first one.
  87. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    This is the best Call of Duty ever made. The multiplayer is epic and the campaign is the best I've ever played in and FPS game. The only complaint I have is that you can't shoot through walls and objects like the newer cod's.
  88. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Awesome game! Campaign was amazing, not to mention "All Ghillied Up" as the coolest mission. The storyline made alot of sense, compared to MW2 where there were several obvious plot holes. Multiplayer was also super fun, with basic killstreaks, with just UAV, airstrike and heli. The perks were very balanced, as juggernaut could be stopped by stopping power. There were some useless ones likeAwesome game! Campaign was amazing, not to mention "All Ghillied Up" as the coolest mission. The storyline made alot of sense, compared to MW2 where there were several obvious plot holes. Multiplayer was also super fun, with basic killstreaks, with just UAV, airstrike and heli. The perks were very balanced, as juggernaut could be stopped by stopping power. There were some useless ones like eavesdrop. Who the HELL uses that? And that x3 frags was annoying as f*ck. Both aspects were good, with a couple but minor flaws. Like that mission Heat. Going down to the LZ was tough, plus on veteran the OpFor spawned INFINITELY! I don't know if MW2 or MW3 did that, since I didn't play them on veteran yet, but spamming all those grenades really made my break a couple keys on my keyboard. Expand
  89. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    This is the best Call of Duty ever made. The multiplayer is epic and the campaign is the best I've ever played in and FPS game. The only complaint I have is that you can't shoot through walls and objects like the newer cod's.
  90. Oct 27, 2014
    8
    Great fun. A bit shallow compared to the Battlefield series of games in my opionion since there are no vehicles, but obviously, it doesn't have that ambition. Great maps, good fun and nice atmosphere. Pretty bad sounds though, especially the gun sounds sound very digitally constructed. All in all a great game.
  91. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Beste game ever made in the Call of duty series, outstanding gameplay, hours of fun, great graphs, this game got everything you would expect from a modern first person shooter
  92. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    Best FPS I have ever played. Of all the COD games out there I could play I would chose this 7 year old game over a 1 year old piece of crap.
    10/10 would recommend.
  93. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    One of the best shooter out there!
    The campaign was excellent, the online mode was a milestone.
    For me this is definitely the best Call of Duty, the single player I play nowadays. The online mode exactly

    Perfect, I would hope, CoD makes something like this again.
  94. Sep 19, 2015
    7
    Competent online and a boring story make this a mixed bag for me.
    Online is addicting and straightforward, graphics are pretty decent for the time and the sound is okay, my problem being that the weapons don't sound as good as other games in the market at the time. Now, the singleplayer aspect is boring, using a cliché storyline.
  95. Oct 25, 2016
    10
    + Definitely the best game in the series and one of my favorite multiplayer modes of any FPS to date.
    - Sold under ten different names since release date. Yeah, they really milked this cash cow!
  96. Jul 2, 2015
    10
    This game was amazing for its time, due to it being innovative, its good story telling, new setting, addicting multiplayer and simplistic design.

    Simply A Masterpiece.
  97. Aug 31, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. best cod ever. this and halo 3 were fantasic. spolier alert... when the nuke went out in cod 4. if was shocked when 3,000 men died. that was a bone-ass moment. mulitplayer, i did a 360 noscope with a r700 sniper. if you love cod please pick this one up. Expand
  98. Mar 29, 2015
    10
    A masterpiece of a shooter buy it at all costs!
    Great singleplayer and multiplayer would like to see co op but for that you have cod 5 world at war...
  99. Nov 10, 2016
    9
    Культовая игра.
    Наикрутейший сингл, взрывавший мозг в своё время и мультиплеер подаривший кучу эмоций и килл-стриков. Радует то, что люди ещё играют (в оригинал, а не в ремастер).
    Шедевр, который устарел лишь в плане графики.
    Культовая игра.
    Наикрутейший сингл, взрывавший мозг в своё время и мультиплеер подаривший кучу эмоций и килл-стриков. Радует то, что люди ещё играют (в оригинал, а не в ремастер).
    Шедевр, который устарел лишь в плане графики.
  100. May 16, 2015
    10
    I love fps games it's my favorite. Multi player is best and the campaign......... wow!!! Nice graphic, nice guns, nice story, good levels. And the captain Price ,,Tango is down". Come on just play. (even ,today after eight years)
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. PC Gamer UK
    85
    A beautifully crafted first-person shooter, but without a compelling context. How much does that matter? To me, a little. Not a lot, but it nags. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  2. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  3. It’s absolutely relentless in its assault on the senses and never lets up until the last trigger has been squeezed. The multiplayer is even better, with the perks and weapon upgrades acting as a balance to the lack of vehicles.