User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2390 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Best MP experience i have had in years. I have a feeling i will be playing this game for a very long time. Amazing.
  2. OlegT.
    Nov 19, 2007
    8
    The singleplayer obviously isn't worth the money - too short, with a laughable storyline, and despite all the modern stuff the "warfare", it seems, hasn't changed much since WWII, eh? It's still fun, but I expected more. However the MP will blast the hell out of you. Simply second to none.
  3. RyanC
    Sep 1, 2008
    8
    Great game with excellent visuals. They did a really good job recreating the chaotic feel of battle. This game is also pretty realistic in that you can't just run around spraying and survive. You really have to think about where you run before you do. My only gripe is that the single player campaign is a little too short.
  4. Chris
    Mar 20, 2008
    8
    This is a GREAT game with some very good single player and multiplayer action. Honestly it is better on the PC than on ANY console for the fact you can get more than just 16(I think max on 360/ps3) players, up to 54 I have seen, The reason I don't give it a 10 though is that it is supposed to be a "next-gen" game but while playing I was expecting a lot more use of physics but was This is a GREAT game with some very good single player and multiplayer action. Honestly it is better on the PC than on ANY console for the fact you can get more than just 16(I think max on 360/ps3) players, up to 54 I have seen, The reason I don't give it a 10 though is that it is supposed to be a "next-gen" game but while playing I was expecting a lot more use of physics but was greatly let down. I want to go online and be able to shoot down barrels someone is hiding behind(like Crysis) I have played both though and I conclude that this has the better online experience despite the lack of physics and it is a close choice between Crysis single player and cod4 single play Expand
  5. CC
    Aug 13, 2008
    8
    All around good game. Great graphics, like the SP campaign (especially the AC130 Gunship scene). MP is fun but is already getting old. Thank God for servers that carry custom maps or else I'd hang it up.
  6. AnonymousMC
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    Call of Duty 4 is a great FPS with a good graphics engine that will run well on a 7600GT or ATi 1800 GTO with a good single core processor or a mid dual core processor.
    The single player experience is great, it has a great story and short cinematics that will really help to get you in the story although the combat and objectives gets repetitive.
    The mutiplayer is also good with, i
    Call of Duty 4 is a great FPS with a good graphics engine that will run well on a 7600GT or ATi 1800 GTO with a good single core processor or a mid dual core processor.
    The single player experience is great, it has a great story and short cinematics that will really help to get you in the story although the combat and objectives gets repetitive.
    The mutiplayer is also good with, i think, 7 different game modes, a bunch of challenges and unlocks. I found the maps kind of smallish but that mostly insures a fun action packed gameplay
    Expand
  7. RC
    Aug 3, 2009
    8
    Graphics are ok I do have to agree with the person who said the texture are bad; they are, but still graphics are half way decent. Single player is fun, although short; it was great experience. Multiplayer can be bad depending on the players. A lot of times the teams are unbalanced so it's never a close game and it gets frustrating when you can't kill anyone because they camp or Graphics are ok I do have to agree with the person who said the texture are bad; they are, but still graphics are half way decent. Single player is fun, although short; it was great experience. Multiplayer can be bad depending on the players. A lot of times the teams are unbalanced so it's never a close game and it gets frustrating when you can't kill anyone because they camp or their too good. I'll give this an 8, I recommend buying it, but don;t expect anything amazing, it's just a good game. Expand
  8. DaveC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    8
    The multiplayer reminds me an upgraded version of Call of Duty II with better graphics and more capabilities. But is the multiplayer overdone? In Modern Warfare, you get the feeling you have less ability to control your fate. You are not as agile, and can be mortally wounded more easily. In fact, the replay is needed because quite often you don't know what hit you. Including taking a The multiplayer reminds me an upgraded version of Call of Duty II with better graphics and more capabilities. But is the multiplayer overdone? In Modern Warfare, you get the feeling you have less ability to control your fate. You are not as agile, and can be mortally wounded more easily. In fact, the replay is needed because quite often you don't know what hit you. Including taking a bullet through a wall. Soldier movement is slow and weighted down. The arm movement while running is too pronounced. You get the perception that you are weighted down and do not have the nimbleness of Call of Duty II or III multiplayer. All shooting is standing up, no ability to jump down and shoot heavy arms. I found myself swithing games to to Call of Duty III after about one hour. These are my first impressions... Expand
  9. DaveR.
    Jan 18, 2008
    8
    This game had the potential to exceed expectations if the game addressed a few environmental details, allowed full interaction with the environment, and offered the ability to meaningfully interact with your fellow troops. I find it particularly insulting when a developer fails to listen to gamers and simply sticks with conventional approach with scripted game play. For example, the This game had the potential to exceed expectations if the game addressed a few environmental details, allowed full interaction with the environment, and offered the ability to meaningfully interact with your fellow troops. I find it particularly insulting when a developer fails to listen to gamers and simply sticks with conventional approach with scripted game play. For example, the surrounding environments seem inanimate with regards to the skyline, grass, and bushes. In addition, a player cannot randomly open doors, climb fences, or console with our fellow soldiers. It is apparent that the developers were attempting photorealism, but failed to recognize the true nature of realism. I realize the developers were striking a balance between high-end PC's and low-end PC's. Nevertheless, the high end PC's should be offered the option of differentiating their respective gaming rig over their mid or low end predecessors. I only hope that the developer, in the future, reconsiders their short-sighted approach to designing games and rather embarks on an epic journey to exceed our expectations. Contrary to popular belief, it is the details that distinguish a good game from a great game. Expand
  10. PeterP.
    Jan 23, 2008
    8
    What a dense *scripted* atmosphere! The storyline is flat and too linear - but every single mission lets you forget that fact. Graphics and physics aren't really next gen. Multiplayer is very fast and enjoyable, but not as revulutionary as some reviews want to make us believe. Squad play is much better in BF2142 I think. There are no playable vehicles. And the weapon upgrade system What a dense *scripted* atmosphere! The storyline is flat and too linear - but every single mission lets you forget that fact. Graphics and physics aren't really next gen. Multiplayer is very fast and enjoyable, but not as revulutionary as some reviews want to make us believe. Squad play is much better in BF2142 I think. There are no playable vehicles. And the weapon upgrade system is nothing to write home about. But still my new favorite online shooter. Expand
  11. ChrisB.
    Feb 23, 2008
    8
    Single player is absolutely fantastic. Good story telling, fun gameplay, and the various levels are very different in pace and tone, so that it doesn't get too stale. Highly recommended, if only for that. Multiplayer, on the other hand, leaves a bad taste in one's mouth. The maps are too small, there's no teamwork whatsoever, and you're better off shooting with an Single player is absolutely fantastic. Good story telling, fun gameplay, and the various levels are very different in pace and tone, so that it doesn't get too stale. Highly recommended, if only for that. Multiplayer, on the other hand, leaves a bad taste in one's mouth. The maps are too small, there's no teamwork whatsoever, and you're better off shooting with an assault rifle than a sniper rifle at extreme range. Everything is deadly accurate at extreme range and kills in one or two shots. Furthermore, things like airstrikes and chopper support are awarded not by team related objectives but by kill streaks of a single player. Thus, it actively rewards fighting like a sissy, and punishes any who would do something risky to attempt to complete any of the objectives in the multiplayer objective modes. It essentially amounts to a whole lot of people camping, paying no attention to the various points to be captured, etc. Frustrating as hell. Expand
  12. DodB.
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    The multiplayer is the BEST war multiplayer yet!... but the let down is the game campaing is too short and could be better, hope you agree!
  13. WhyteS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    The game is beautiful and exciting at first, but after a month or so it is terribly boring. A huge map pack may just do the trick to fix these issues, but even then the maps need some work.
  14. EonfgeEonfge
    May 9, 2008
    8
    Singleplayer is awesome, but multiplayer lacks some stuff. new maps still have to be released while the system isn't very open to modders. it also features some of the greatest unballance ever: He is owning, so you know what, lets give him a flying autoturret or a spawnbomber.
  15. [ANONYMOUS]
    Oct 25, 2009
    5
    Let me start off by saying i am not a big fan of fps games that are very narrow. Call of Duty 4 is just that, its very narrow, it doesn't bring anything new to the fps genre and left me bored to tears.
  16. AndrewM
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, despite what the moron under me spews on about with circular logic in poor English ("An integrated wallhack. To be honest, this does the gameplay more bad than good, simply because it only does bad and no good at all." - SJT-Ruler* Great! Glad you could back up your own reasoning and not sound like an unreliable failure as a reviewer.) Anywho, this game deserves a 9, This game is amazing, despite what the moron under me spews on about with circular logic in poor English ("An integrated wallhack. To be honest, this does the gameplay more bad than good, simply because it only does bad and no good at all." - SJT-Ruler* Great! Glad you could back up your own reasoning and not sound like an unreliable failure as a reviewer.) Anywho, this game deserves a 9, but due to his stupidity I bumped it up a notch. Its single player is short and didn't really captivate me enough for a second run through after my first. That's fine, though, as I've come across less than a handful of singleplayer games in mygaming run that have felt rewarding at the finish. The multiplayer, however, is a gift from Infinity Ward to the soul (MY soul, at least). With so much depth and so many weapons/playstyles/gametypes to choose from, it has quenched my online thirst for owning n00bs (such as this idiot below me) since release day. A definite must have for anyone considering themselves a pc gamer, casual or otherwise. Expand
  17. Ultimated00mbringer
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Anybody who says anything negative about this game simply doesn't like FPS games, period. If they did, they wouldn't be whining like little girls about what they don't like. Most likely they didn't buy the game, they played it on someone else's machine and got their ass whooped and ran home crying.
  18. b00tsycompton
    Jul 21, 2009
    8
    Absolutely a great game. Graphics are stunning, all the buildings look great and the maps very divers. the only few down sides for me was that the frame rate at some moments is not very stable especialy when there is a lot of shooting going on against the enemies and in normal and easy mode you can finish the game within 15 hours, wich is not much for such a pricy game (50 Eu). And for me Absolutely a great game. Graphics are stunning, all the buildings look great and the maps very divers. the only few down sides for me was that the frame rate at some moments is not very stable especialy when there is a lot of shooting going on against the enemies and in normal and easy mode you can finish the game within 15 hours, wich is not much for such a pricy game (50 Eu). And for me the multiplayer version is not working at all due to a download error with steam. other then that the game rocks, good AI, gameplay, graphics,etc. Expand
  19. uskoton
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Forget Halo, Forget Counter Strike, Forget Battlefield. Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS available at present. It has recently won numerous awards to prove this fact. Best selling FPS for example. Single player is short but 'veteran' mode can extend that! Online it is unbeatable and highly addictive, be prepared to lose a lot of your life spent playing CoD 4 online! From Beginners Forget Halo, Forget Counter Strike, Forget Battlefield. Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS available at present. It has recently won numerous awards to prove this fact. Best selling FPS for example. Single player is short but 'veteran' mode can extend that! Online it is unbeatable and highly addictive, be prepared to lose a lot of your life spent playing CoD 4 online! From Beginners to Hardcore shooting fans this game has something for everybody. Yes people complain its 'run and gun' but there is plently of MODS and Clans that play tatical games where teamwork and tatics are essential! This is as close to perfect i have ever experienced in a game and Call of Duty Modern Warefare 2 will have a hard time trying to out do this game! Expand
  20. JohnD
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    This is game is great in both single- and multiplayer, theres not much to add to what other people wrote. Just one thing to add from my side, MANY people - including me - have an unsolveable issue with the game locking the whole PC, only in multiplayer. There seems to be no solution for it, it happens on totally different PC configs no matter what drivers etc. you use. So for me the game This is game is great in both single- and multiplayer, theres not much to add to what other people wrote. Just one thing to add from my side, MANY people - including me - have an unsolveable issue with the game locking the whole PC, only in multiplayer. There seems to be no solution for it, it happens on totally different PC configs no matter what drivers etc. you use. So for me the game is kind of unplayable with those lockups, sometimes they dont happen at all during 10 hours of playing, other times it happens twice in a row within 10 minutes. Expand
  21. Sgt.Awesomeness
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    All I can say is the single player is great, multiplayer is even better and at the end of the day, this title will rise through the ashes as the series' top game.
  22. JoshF.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    This game is utterly amazing, even without having a pricey gaming rig. I've yet to experience these kind of graphics and sounds. You'd think that cranking the settings and resolution would slow it down, but it doesn't. I'm in awe of just how much they fit on a screen at once. If you want to be able to sleep, don't play within a few hours of bedtime, because it This game is utterly amazing, even without having a pricey gaming rig. I've yet to experience these kind of graphics and sounds. You'd think that cranking the settings and resolution would slow it down, but it doesn't. I'm in awe of just how much they fit on a screen at once. If you want to be able to sleep, don't play within a few hours of bedtime, because it gets you WIRED. It's probably better in the morning instead of coffee. Also, the seen where you are the president getting beaten and taking a ride through a part of a Middle Eastern city that's a terrorist stronghold is incredible, it's honestly like nothing I've ever experienced or seen. Hordes of men shooting guns in the air, frightened citizens running for cover, then you get to the compound... well, maybe I've already said too much. You've got to see (or rather experience) what happens next. Expand
  23. JoshK.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, no bugs, incredibly fun!
  24. HankH.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I loved this game. The singleplayer does leave a bit to be desired but the multi-player aspect more than makes up for it. Finally a reason to play online shooters again!
  25. EdC.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    There are cynics out there who would lead you to believe that this game just not be worth $50. Technically, he would be right as no game is worth $50. But, if you want a deep and dynamic game with visually stunning graphics and incredible sound, then this game takes the sting out of forking over your hard-earned money. First, the criticism: SP is a bit bland and linear. You are introduced There are cynics out there who would lead you to believe that this game just not be worth $50. Technically, he would be right as no game is worth $50. But, if you want a deep and dynamic game with visually stunning graphics and incredible sound, then this game takes the sting out of forking over your hard-earned money. First, the criticism: SP is a bit bland and linear. You are introduced to COD5's wide range of weaponary and game style, so it's worth checking out. The graphics (sorry XP users, you are missing too much here) are simply breathtaking. Personally, I feel it takes the cake over Crysis. COD4 brings us the same revolutionary sound as did it predecesors. It is lifelike and not-to-overbearing. The meat and potatoes from COD4, however, goes beyond it's glitter. it lies in the MP mode. Revamped from previous releases, COD4 allows a user to retain persistent stats and awarding upgrades along the way. The ONLY issue is that ranking up seems to be a bit too easy. You can earn challenge points along the way, accellerating your way to the top. The casual gamer will find this a perfect pace, but for COD4 diehard, we will all be 5-stars from this point on. Bottom line, don't dismiss the occassional critic whom basks in his/hers on glory of being able to sway a vote. Take it from a hard-core gaming veteran, this is THE game to own this year. Expand
  26. Feb 27, 2012
    6
    For it's respective slot in history. This game was still fresh. It modernized the aging world war 2 template with 'just' enough storytelling and presentation upgrades to make the air feel fresh again for a breath or two. It's still not all that memorable, and supremely short. Get it for the multiplayer. Which is hopefully still active.
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Definently the best Call of Duty game up to date. After it being released over 4 years, it is still widely played on the PC in great amounts of players and time. This game is a must buy if your just picking up PC gaming and shooters on the PC. It will teach you how controls work for Call of Duty-like games.
  28. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    An excellent FPS, which definitely set the shooter standard when it was released. Sneaking around in Hardcore domination mode, without the annoying predator missiles and attack dogs added in later COD titles, this game is great - and it also has the best singleplayer campaign in any call of duty game. Too bad that later iterations of the series has not kept up to its legacy.
  29. Jan 1, 2016
    4
    Disclaimer: Single-player only. If your a CoD fanboy, this review is not for you, just vote it down without reading, and move on.

    I normally play more realistic or story focused shooters, but with most CoD fans saying this is the best one in the series, I thought I'd try it (single-player) with modest expectations. It was still a mild disappointment. Production values were fairly
    Disclaimer: Single-player only. If your a CoD fanboy, this review is not for you, just vote it down without reading, and move on.

    I normally play more realistic or story focused shooters, but with most CoD fans saying this is the best one in the series, I thought I'd try it (single-player) with modest expectations.
    It was still a mild disappointment. Production values were fairly mediocre, not what I was expecting from a highly praised big-budget game.

    Graphics are ok, but nothing special, even for 2007 (inferior to Arma1, Stalker1 and Crysis which all came out the same year). Some level environments are quite nice, but most others are fairly bland and a bit too linear. Sound design is also nothing special, and lacks oomph.

    The story is ok, but the missions are a very mixed bag. Almost all of them suffer from rinse-and-repeat enemy AI waves. Its all scripted, and seems to be aimed at instant gratification console peasants of below average intelligence. The US infantry missions are just a tedious shooting gallery with a shallow narrative tacked on. No matter what instructions you get from your officer, chances are they are not practical for the situation in front of you. If you deviate from the script even slightly, like attempting to flank where your not supposed to, the mission gets stuck or you get punished. At least there are a few missions with more interesting mechanics (like firing canons from a plane). The only decent conventional mission was “All gullied up” - much more atmospheric and better paced. If only the other missions were as good. You only get to do a (highly scripted) sniper shot once in the game, and only at about 150m. The campaign is quite short at 4-8 hours. The only really good thing was the few jokes your squad make now and then.

    Open combat mechanics are not fun - arcade and bland. Almost every time you shoot an enemy a new one spawns right behind him, just around a corner. This creates the ludicrous consideration where you may not want to bother shooting someone to avoid dealing with the near infinite replacement enemy spawns. Weapons look nice and have great reload animations, but lack realistic power. Quite a few times the AI would ignore a bullet to the head or multiple rifle shots in the chest. Certain enemies are immune to damage if they are not “supposed” to die at that time - eg: hit a helicopter with anti-tank RPG and nothing happens. This punishes any player initiative. Enemies move without inertia. This makes aiming at them a pain. The AI will tend to just run at you mindlessly. Enemies throw grenades with machine-like accuracy and occasionally seem to be able to track your movement through walls. during training you are instructed to shoot through weak cover, but I encountered many weak surfaces that seemed to be just as effective as concrete. Friendlies are either invincible bullet sponges or get in your way (example: grenade falls at your feet and AI is blocking the only door exit).

    Overall CoD4 is a fairly mediocre game (but not quite “bad”). How this became the No.1 FPS franchise seems to have little to do with merit.
    Expand
  30. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Played this game for the first time after trying some of the more recent COD titles. I must say, this one beats all of the others aside from maybe World at War since I'm a sucker for those older weaponry. The graphics are great compared to the recent COD games, and the gameplay is very fun. It wasn't very long, which was good because it was getting to being the same thing over and over.Played this game for the first time after trying some of the more recent COD titles. I must say, this one beats all of the others aside from maybe World at War since I'm a sucker for those older weaponry. The graphics are great compared to the recent COD games, and the gameplay is very fun. It wasn't very long, which was good because it was getting to being the same thing over and over. The storyline was pretty good though. I don't know what happened after World at War, but COD has really gone downhill. Long live pre-modern warfare 2 COD games! Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. PC Gamer UK
    85
    A beautifully crafted first-person shooter, but without a compelling context. How much does that matter? To me, a little. Not a lot, but it nags. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  2. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  3. It’s absolutely relentless in its assault on the senses and never lets up until the last trigger has been squeezed. The multiplayer is even better, with the perks and weapon upgrades acting as a balance to the lack of vehicles.