Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1341 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Black Ops 2's multiplayer unveils a new Create-a-Class, introducing players to a new "pick-10" allocation system that allows for a combination of any ten items, making almost anything possible. The new Score Streak system rewards players who play to the objective and help their team win. League Play, CODcasting and Live Streaming combine to make Call of Duty more enjoyable to watch by providing players with the tools to commentate games and broadcast those games to the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    85
    Like snow or Christmas decorations, Call of Duty shows itself by the end of the year. Like every year since Modern Warfare. This time, it's the turn of Call of Duty: Black Ops 2, developed by Treyarch. Unlike its predecessor, the story sets in two distinct eras, the 80's and the year 2025. Two viewpoints which allow the game to offer many side roads in the story, and 8 different endings. This is a first for such a mainstream series. Of course the game's core remains the same on the basics: cinematic action, epic scenes and a percussive score. Even if Black Ops 2 reuses old recipes, it does it really well and remains a great experience.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    82
    Call of Duty Black Ops II is saved by its multiplayer, as the campaign has surprisingly too many bad sections. Maybe now it's time to move on? [Dec 2012]
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Even though its graphics engine won't win awards anymore, especially on PC, the game succeeds in finding its place in the upper echelons of multiplayer-shooting. If you're looking for a great offline experience, though, you might want to look somewhere else.
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Caught between striving for the future and remaining rooted in the past, Black Ops II finds solid footing, providing another great ride on the Call of Duty rollercoaster.
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    71
    Though hokey, tired and periodically shambolic, the campaign has a few new tricks, but it's the fulsome multiplayer that saves Blops 2 from shame.
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    60
    To take Black Ops 2 seriously is to admit that this collection of absurd ideas, worn-out gameplay clich├ęs, and soapy plot twists bears any significance to the first-person shooter genre.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 382
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I gave it a 10 to offset the troll reviews. Normally I would give it a 8.5/10. PC version is great. Graphics are best yet in any cod. People saying different have **** pc's or don't know how to turn up settings. THERE ARE DEDI SERVERS!!! The people who say otherwise are uninformed/ don't have the game. The game uses matchmaking and dedi server backbone similar to left for dead. So you get advantages of matchmaking (easy to play with friends, no stupid server rules, no crouch only/nuketown 24/7) but the lag free advantages of dedi servers.

    Multiplayer gunplay feels like cod 4 and killstreaks are balanced like black ops 1.
    Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    Well, this is my first Call of Duty game since CoD 4 and I have to say BO2 is really good FPS (not realistic, but it's fun), however I think they should finally change game engine etc. Maybe they're afraid of massive failure? Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    I have bought the game on release date for the PlayStation 3 and was Very Disappointed, The graphics have not yet improved passed the Call Of Duty 4 engine. The Guns & Gameplay feel really repetitive. Ever Since Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, The series has been going down exponentially. Also The, Campers & Douchebag Clans,Fanboy's and young kids on this Mature rated game makes the playing experience drop to a whole, but props to Treyarc for a great Call Of Duty: Zombies Game. i think its the only thing they get right in the series. so in conclusion. i'd say the multiplayer aspect is DEAD. but zombies is quite fun.

    6/10
    Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    3
    Save your money don't buy this game pfff really disappointed I think the game's creators are laughing at us. I think they should create a map pack rather than releasing a second episode! Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    This "game" is garbage. As one of the misfortunate people who purchased a retail copy of this packaged fecal matter, I was first enraged by how the second disc isn't actually Black Ops II, but it was Mass Effect 2 instead (Yes, the rumors are true.) then I could not fathom the first mission. The audio quality is just awful, and the script is even worse. Don't buy this game, its neither worth your money, nor is it worth the space on your hard drive. There's also NO use of DX11, and the matchmaking services are terrible as well. I just can't wait until Activision runs this into the ground just like Guitar Hero. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    0
    Excluding single, multiplayer mode is something for 3 year olds. Only thing you have to do is press w and left mouse button. This comes to me really ridiculous and childish. It being so simple makes me feel bad when 3 year olds shoot down you. I totally regret wasting my money on this noobish game. I look for a game which needs skills, and something for grownups, not for babies. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Oh my god, what the..... there is nothing new, Same old graphics, everything is same as before.
    Maps are so small that it's not even funny!


    sp is just plain boring.

    No more! Not going to buy any new COD game. FOR REAL this time, though I've sayed it many times before :(
    Expand

See all 382 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.