Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1455 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Black Ops 2's multiplayer unveils a new Create-a-Class, introducing players to a new "pick-10" allocation system that allows for a combination of any ten items, making almost anything possible. The new Score Streak system rewards players who play to the objective and help their team win. League Play, CODcasting and Live Streaming combine to make Call of Duty more enjoyable to watch by providing players with the tools to commentate games and broadcast those games to the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    85
    Like snow or Christmas decorations, Call of Duty shows itself by the end of the year. Like every year since Modern Warfare. This time, it's the turn of Call of Duty: Black Ops 2, developed by Treyarch. Unlike its predecessor, the story sets in two distinct eras, the 80's and the year 2025. Two viewpoints which allow the game to offer many side roads in the story, and 8 different endings. This is a first for such a mainstream series. Of course the game's core remains the same on the basics: cinematic action, epic scenes and a percussive score. Even if Black Ops 2 reuses old recipes, it does it really well and remains a great experience.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    82
    Call of Duty Black Ops II is saved by its multiplayer, as the campaign has surprisingly too many bad sections. Maybe now it's time to move on? [Dec 2012]
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Even though its graphics engine won't win awards anymore, especially on PC, the game succeeds in finding its place in the upper echelons of multiplayer-shooting. If you're looking for a great offline experience, though, you might want to look somewhere else.
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Caught between striving for the future and remaining rooted in the past, Black Ops II finds solid footing, providing another great ride on the Call of Duty rollercoaster.
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    71
    Though hokey, tired and periodically shambolic, the campaign has a few new tricks, but it's the fulsome multiplayer that saves Blops 2 from shame.
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    60
    To take Black Ops 2 seriously is to admit that this collection of absurd ideas, worn-out gameplay clich├ęs, and soapy plot twists bears any significance to the first-person shooter genre.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 397
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This Game deserves a 9 over 10 but because of all the improper, false, unrealistic, nooby made reviews i hade to give it a 10 to boost the overall all score. Black ops 2 is by far the second best call of duty since Call of duty 4: modern warfare. Single player offers so much as well as the multiplayer. Zombie mode has modes in them which gives it a much more lasting appeal. The game gives so much variety and fun. I undoubtedly recommend this game to any True FPS Fan. This Game Is truly what the fans asked for and Treyarch has given it to us. I was always an infinity ward fan but since West and Zampella left Mw3 sucked and Mw2 was a nice arcade style shooter But To Date COD4 Is still and most probably be The best call of duty in the series (especially on pc cuz of the mods:P) Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    For me, the best Call Of Duty since Call of Duty 4. Despite what others have said, the single player is far better than ANY other standard first person shooter I have ever played. While still a linear story, the game has far more replay value than any other Call Of Duty to date with key decisions affecting the story of the game. The multiplayer can be bit annoying due to the anti-lag countermeasure that seems to work against you but other than that it has been a really enjoyable game to play and finally a replacement for Call of Duty 4. There are dedicated servers - despite appearances, the servers are not run by players, and thus you can leave at any time without the hassle of a server host change. Finally Zombies is back with a transzit mode that adds to the stale flavour of the old hashed out Zombies. I am sorry to see so many people who hate the game simply because it Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    Like all call of duty games, the singleplayer is short and linear, and the multiplayer gets tedious and boring. However, Treyarch have at least tried to innovate, with adding choices to the singleplayer, and adding the strike force missions. None of the multiplayer maps are that entertaining to play apart from nuketown and with that map being previously available in Black Ops 1, Treyarch have failed to provide entertaining new maps. The game is OK though, and certainly is better than previous Call of Duty games. Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    Its the same as every other CoD ever made. The mechanics are boring. All the guns feel the same. And the single player campaign is crap. The community sucks. If I want to get yelled at by children then I'd become a parent. If you own any other call of duty game, then don't buy this. If you don't, and enjoy generic, boring gameplay, then have fun playing with Pinocchio because you clearly don't exist. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    1
    the game is so ugly, the campaign is so scripted, the weapons sounds so bad. the only things that works is the mp. but even the mp is boring as hell. i'll stick with cod mw 3. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    0
    Excluding single, multiplayer mode is something for 3 year olds. Only thing you have to do is press w and left mouse button. This comes to me really ridiculous and childish. It being so simple makes me feel bad when 3 year olds shoot down you. I totally regret wasting my money on this noobish game. I look for a game which needs skills, and something for grownups, not for babies. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I bought it. I feel ashamed. I knew this would happen AGAIN! Luckily I only wasted 30 Euros on it, and it still feels like flushing money down a toilet. Whats wrong with the game you might ask?
    Well lets start by the "Fake"dedicated servers. Where is the dedicated server? I do not know? Neither will you, and the only indication of the quality of connection is hidden by some idiotic Ping Bars. We cant even play competitively or just hang around on our own servers, since you cannot rent them... that means no community forming in a specific server etc.

    This leads me to point 2. Console port again... What a shame, graphics from 2005? Really from a supposedly triple A game? Well we all knew that COD has not been up to par for years, peer 2 peer in MW2 etc. This game shows the same kind of symptoms, clearly a case of consolitus(A disease for PC). I warn you my fellow PC gamers, DO NOT BUY THIS! Stop supporting Activision. We need a new engine...
    Expand

See all 397 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.