User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1498 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2010
    2
    This game is probably one of the biggest let downs of all time. I mean, not only did the multiplayer made me want to rip my hair out. But the game its self is complete **** The lag is unbelievable.
    1/10 = Multiplayer
    6/10 Zombies
    7/10 Campain
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. only a few bad multiplayer bugs zombie mode is back good dlc great killstreaks and easy trickshots make this game amazing for me its epic my 2nd fav cod game its almost as good as COD4 the only thing i dont like about it is because i can no longer bounce and trickshotting isn't as fun Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    Poor graphics, unplayable multiplayer; what is there to like? These CoD games are just rushed out, to try and gain as big a profit as possible; and they succeed, unfortunately, due to blind idiots/fangirls running out to buy it because its 'cool to have.'
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    4
    leider hat mich das game ein wenig enttäuscht. zu mw2 stellt das spiel keinerlei fortschritt dar. ich fühle mich von der grafik in zeiten von mw1 oder wow zurückversetzt. die waffensounds sind plastikartig, dünn und schrill geraten. die maps sind taktisch kaum durchdacht und das spawnsystem funktionniert nach dem zufallsprinzip.leider hat mich das game ein wenig enttäuscht. zu mw2 stellt das spiel keinerlei fortschritt dar. ich fühle mich von der grafik in zeiten von mw1 oder wow zurückversetzt. die waffensounds sind plastikartig, dünn und schrill geraten. die maps sind taktisch kaum durchdacht und das spawnsystem funktionniert nach dem zufallsprinzip. rückendeckung ausgeschlossen. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    For 2 Days I have been battling the DirectX error, still can't get past the menu screen with little to no support. I exceed the minimum hardware requirements along with the most current drivers. By far, this has to be one of the most pathetic attempts ever witnessed at a PC title, and by far one of the POOREST blatant xbox ports being pushed on the PC users. Stay Clear of this one ....
  6. Nov 13, 2010
    2
    As a fan of the COD series, this latest installment is nothing short of pathetic. The game is barely playable due to a bug they have yet to resolve. I'll never understand how these kind of games get released with so many bugs and no testing. We all spent our hard-earned money on an overpriced, non-functional game, and Activision will just laugh their asses off as they line their pocketsAs a fan of the COD series, this latest installment is nothing short of pathetic. The game is barely playable due to a bug they have yet to resolve. I'll never understand how these kind of games get released with so many bugs and no testing. We all spent our hard-earned money on an overpriced, non-functional game, and Activision will just laugh their asses off as they line their pockets with our cash. If it wasn't for the fact that my friends will be engrossed in this game for the next several months, I would have returned it without a second thought. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2010
    7
    I installed this game on my laptop. It stuttered to infinity. I installed this game on my gaming desktop (overclocked i7, 6GB RAM, 4890) and it stuttered less so. Several released patches indicate they're trying to get it to how it should've been at launch. The stuttering is slightly easing up with the patches, and under all of the problems, there is a fair game waiting to break free.
  8. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is so great, I can't wait untill MW3 comes out, I'm just playing, and playing, and playing Black Ops on my XBOX 360. I'm lvl 28 or 29 (can't remember) in 4th Prestige i just can't wait for Modern Warfare 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  9. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Black Ops is easily the best CoD game to date - I really do not see why people are hating on it. Treyarch have outdone themselves with this one. They have proved to be better than Infinity Ward at making PC ports. It has all PC features you would expect such as a FoV slider, Lean, Dedicated servers, and the developer console. All the control options are how they should be too - no lack ofBlack Ops is easily the best CoD game to date - I really do not see why people are hating on it. Treyarch have outdone themselves with this one. They have proved to be better than Infinity Ward at making PC ports. It has all PC features you would expect such as a FoV slider, Lean, Dedicated servers, and the developer console. All the control options are how they should be too - no lack of key bindings or anything like that (unlike BF3) Black Ops has a great Single Player storyline too, and actually has decent graphics. They aren't Crysis 2 level, but for a CoD game they are really nice. It even has the dismemberment system back from World at War so you can watch in pleasure as you blow off peoples limbs. The gameplay is also more varied and overall better than previous CoD's. MP is what you would expect from a CoD game - fast and furious, except Treyarch have revamped it and added in a ton of customisation and new gamemodes. They also revamped the levelling system, and have added in some other things like "Contracts", which is a pretty neat addition. Did I mention the new main menu for Black Ops, is awesome! The multi player maps are also interesting because there are things to interact with now. Example, you can close a big blast door on someone and squash them. The sound and music is also very good - weapon sounds are loud and pack a punch, and the music is fitting. Animations are slick too. The best part of Black Ops (for me anyway) is the extra Zombie gametype they give you. Any WaW player will appreciate this, and this time they have actually expanded on the Zombiemodes gameplay and story - so it's essentially a game in a game now, which is pretty awesome. The only bad points of Black Ops are the performance bugs some people get, and the multi player spawn points can be a bit awkward. (It will sometimes spawn people behind you after you killed) Regarding performance, I'm one of the lucky people, and it seems to run fine on my system - but many of my friends are struggling to get the game to play properly. Also the gameplay is similar to other CoD's, so it can get a bit repetitive. Oh, and the DLC prices are also a bit stupid. Although, in my opinion though, if your a Nazi Zombie fan , the Zombie maps ALONE in the DLC make it worth it. They put so much work into the maps, and are always adding new things. Overall, great CoD game. Don't listen to the hate. This game is better than the MW series, and Treyarch have proven themselves to be better than Infinity Ward. Sure it has a couple of flaws, but no game is perfect! Expand
  10. Jun 19, 2011
    1
    I Dont like this game at all. it is boring, it lags on my computer but i have good internet and my specs are, Radeon 5750 amd phenom ii x4 840 and 4gb ddr3 1066 it shouldnt lag on that .its boring, buggy and should be called "call of duy: Crap Ops.
  11. Jun 4, 2011
    0
    The devs did a horribe job with this game. The graphics are horrible so they can run on the consoles and it's an import from the console version. Very pathetic. I am not happy with Treyarch and Activsion and never do I intend to buy another COD game again. Not consider how boring the multiplayer is!
  12. Dec 26, 2010
    7
    1) Cinematic sequences have already been seen in Modern Warfare 1 and 2 and in my opinion were better realized (with more suspense and heroicism).
    2) The soundtrack is very good, but the problem is the sound itself. I have not even read somewhere a comment on the weapon's sound, which is too "dry" (without reverb in indoor sequences and echo in semi-open levels such as roads). Also, many
    1) Cinematic sequences have already been seen in Modern Warfare 1 and 2 and in my opinion were better realized (with more suspense and heroicism).
    2) The soundtrack is very good, but the problem is the sound itself. I have not even read somewhere a comment on the weapon's sound, which is too "dry" (without reverb in indoor sequences and echo in semi-open levels such as roads). Also, many samples are recycled from old CODs (PPSH 41 and MP40 have the same sound of COD2). Even support for surround 5.1 is not so good. Bad Company 2, enabling the appropriate option, is in another galaxy.
    3) Black Ops graphics are a scandal nowadays. The game almost looks like Modern Warfare 1, which was nothing special. Particle effects are not so good and textures are low res. Level backgrounds are still horrible. This is because the graphics engine is very old. Even UE3 can do better.
    4) 6 hours to complete singleplayer
    5) Scandalous AI. Teammates do not defend us and just move from cover A to cover B.
    6) Still too many scripts and infinite enemy troops respawn.
    7) Too accurate enemies at high difficulties (they can easily hit us from far distances)
    8) Awesome plot and lovely flashbacks
    Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    Being a huge MW2 fan, I wanted to love Black Ops. Sadly, for PC the game is a technical failure. The engine runs very poorly and even though claims to run at 90 FPS, is choppy and stutters. Aside from the fact that it took months for the developer to patch the game to a playability state, the gameplay is just not as polished as MW2. I enjoyed the SP campaign for what it was, although thereBeing a huge MW2 fan, I wanted to love Black Ops. Sadly, for PC the game is a technical failure. The engine runs very poorly and even though claims to run at 90 FPS, is choppy and stutters. Aside from the fact that it took months for the developer to patch the game to a playability state, the gameplay is just not as polished as MW2. I enjoyed the SP campaign for what it was, although there were several totally obnoxious parts where the game didn't indicate what you should do (stupid barrel section!). Overall, the game just failed technically, so it gets a 5 since it was playable, but not very good. Expand
  14. Jan 5, 2011
    7
    Besides not being anything new the multi player is unplayable due to disconnects. I mean it, UNPLAYABLE. Unplayable MP, stuttering like mad on C2D 3.0 with 4gb and 9800GTX card...even on lowest settings. Then there's lag issues, CTD problems....you get the picture. Stear clear from this junk until it's fixed.
  15. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Excellent single player campaign and - in my experience so far - great multi-player which works fine and brings some new ideas to the COD table whilst scaling back on the death-for-above craziness and staggering arrogance of MW2. I have had a couple of crashes and at least one laggy multiplayer match, but I've enjoyed it enough to overlook the stability issues.

    There are some stunningly
    Excellent single player campaign and - in my experience so far - great multi-player which works fine and brings some new ideas to the COD table whilst scaling back on the death-for-above craziness and staggering arrogance of MW2. I have had a couple of crashes and at least one laggy multiplayer match, but I've enjoyed it enough to overlook the stability issues.

    There are some stunningly bad user reviews on here - in particular, one person has registered multiple times to spam the same stunningly stupid 0-score review (in which he actually states "Why on earth wasn't infinity ward used on this version?", demonstrating he knows sweet F A about how COD's being handled by Activision) so ignore the average and stick to the critic reviews on this one - the fanboy element's destroyed the user review section, which is a **** shame. Trust a community to absolutely destroy a community feature, eh? Buggers.
    Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2010
    8
    This is awesome fps game. I can say very cheerful that this is the best FPS on this year! The story i was awesome and not pit too short on my opinion. I was get along with it at the start. Because i have been waited this game so long. So i cold not dissapointed on that. And i wasn't. Story and game play are perfect. Except that the AI was little too push over on my opinion, but even thatThis is awesome fps game. I can say very cheerful that this is the best FPS on this year! The story i was awesome and not pit too short on my opinion. I was get along with it at the start. Because i have been waited this game so long. So i cold not dissapointed on that. And i wasn't. Story and game play are perfect. Except that the AI was little too push over on my opinion, but even that doesent bother me so much. Expand
  17. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    COD Black Ops is a good game. Apart from the mechanics/graphics looking and feeling almost the same as MW2, the single player being its usual irritating "get blood on screen, hide, wait, rinse and repeat" as well as the occasional game-seizing bug (which I have no doubt will be ultimately fixed at some point), and the multiplayer being a *little* chuggy, it is still a good game. Plus forCOD Black Ops is a good game. Apart from the mechanics/graphics looking and feeling almost the same as MW2, the single player being its usual irritating "get blood on screen, hide, wait, rinse and repeat" as well as the occasional game-seizing bug (which I have no doubt will be ultimately fixed at some point), and the multiplayer being a *little* chuggy, it is still a good game. Plus for the new multiplayer loadout system and the great customisation therein, and a huge plus for returning to dedicated servers - something that was missing in MW2 multiplayer and was therefore insanely terrible. Give it a patch or two and it could work out to be fantastic. Expand
  18. Nov 18, 2010
    3
    A game with potential to have alot of longevity in the competitive scene, was completely ruined by lazy development. Treyarch spent no time optimizing the game for the PC. High end machines run the game poorly, while some low end machines run the game well. There's no solid system requirements. Getting lucky with hardware configurations is the only way to have an enjoyable experience. TheA game with potential to have alot of longevity in the competitive scene, was completely ruined by lazy development. Treyarch spent no time optimizing the game for the PC. High end machines run the game poorly, while some low end machines run the game well. There's no solid system requirements. Getting lucky with hardware configurations is the only way to have an enjoyable experience. The single player, while outstanding, also suffers from similar issues. However, we'll be real here. PC gaming is not about the SP experience. CoD is a multiplayer game. That is why people buy titles from this series. As of now, it's unplayable to many. Treyarch's Community Manager does a piss poor job of communicating with the PC community. The customer services is lackluster. Not to mention.. the game is directx 9. Get with the times, Treyarch. 3. That's being generous. Expand
  19. Nov 18, 2010
    4
    This is the first user review I've ever written for a game, but I feel compelled to do so due to the discrepancy between my gaming experience and the critic reviews. I'd like to preface this review with the fact that I found the multiplayer to be very enjoyable, accounting for the 4 scarce points the game gets from me. To be fair, they've added little in the way of new content forThis is the first user review I've ever written for a game, but I feel compelled to do so due to the discrepancy between my gaming experience and the critic reviews. I'd like to preface this review with the fact that I found the multiplayer to be very enjoyable, accounting for the 4 scarce points the game gets from me. To be fair, they've added little in the way of new content for multiplayer, but they've balanced it well, added interesting and entertaining new game modes, and created well thought out maps. The knee-jerk reactions of other user reviewers to the latency issues are unfounded as they were smoothed out within a week of launch. The single player on the other hand has not only failed to impress, but has actually bored and frustrated me. The sections they add that attempt to add innovation to the genre fail horribly, such as the "rts" section they added which did absolutely nothing to better the fps experience. The gameplay throughout single player is lacking in any impressive moments, something that MW2 had in abundance, and simply doesn't have the high adrenaline action I've come to expect from a Call of Duty title. In their Vietnam level they bring back the unlimited enemy spawn in force, which actually had me laughing out loud as I played it. I wasted huge amounts of ammo on constantly respawning soldiers, and only completed each section of the level when I made a luck mad dash without even firing my weapon. The enemy AI only shoots at you, defeating the purpose of their reiterated "no one fights alone" motto, and the friendly AI happily ignores enemies behind them, leaving the player to think that a position is clear only to discover they have three enemies rifle-butting them in the back. Finally, the plot (which has never been something on which I focus heavily in any fps) actually manages to detract from the game, as they seem to be pretending that something is happening when every level you play feels like it has nothing to do with the plot the game is trying to force down your throat. In short, the game lacks innovation in both multiplayer and single player, and the campaign suffers from a lack of polish and fundamental mechanics necessary to make the most basic popcorn shooter enjoyable. If you want a good multiplayer experience and have exhausted all your other fps options, by all means buy Black Ops (I certainly did), but if you're looking for a fulfilling single player experience, I wouldn't recommend this game even if the price tag dropped by 75% tomorrow. Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2010
    1
    Practically unplayable. Every single mode and menu is glitchy and laggy. Either this game was never beta tested or it was and Treyarch released it as is. The only point garnered was for a very interesting single player story, even this tho was a test of patience as the game stutters non stop. Beyond stuttering and memory issues, Graphics wise this game is a disaster. As the release datesPractically unplayable. Every single mode and menu is glitchy and laggy. Either this game was never beta tested or it was and Treyarch released it as is. The only point garnered was for a very interesting single player story, even this tho was a test of patience as the game stutters non stop. Beyond stuttering and memory issues, Graphics wise this game is a disaster. As the release dates would lead you to believe Black Ops should be better than Modern Warfare 2 (MW2 was released a year and some months ago); it is not. Bad textures, terrible lighting and shadows coupled w/ a very crippled PC port will have you running this game with graphics mirroring a 800 x 600 resolution. Black Ops had its moment were everyone believed it to be the next great First Person Shooter, we passed that moment the day it was released Expand
  21. Nov 20, 2010
    4
    It's a poor rehash of mw2. The levels are complicated and poor, weapons are not balanced, aircraft are too powerful. mw2 is much better and kept me playing much longer, i'm already bored.
  22. Dec 12, 2010
    7
    Black Ops is a let down after the Modern Warfares of the last few years. Some interesting plot devices and nice set pieces but it leaves you feeling Treyarch did just enough and no more.
  23. Dec 12, 2010
    8
    Best CoD game by far! Only issue i have is incomplete server browser upon refresh. Game runs great. No stutters, lag, crashes or freezes like some are complaing about. Some tweaking is required to maximize performance on PC. Intel Quad cores, especially i7's, will benefit from this game. If you have an Intel i7 with a decent ATI card, you should NOT be stuttering or freezing at all!!! IfBest CoD game by far! Only issue i have is incomplete server browser upon refresh. Game runs great. No stutters, lag, crashes or freezes like some are complaing about. Some tweaking is required to maximize performance on PC. Intel Quad cores, especially i7's, will benefit from this game. If you have an Intel i7 with a decent ATI card, you should NOT be stuttering or freezing at all!!! If you are, you need to optimize your PC b4 saying the game is broken for you. Haters will always be haters Treyarch. I still enjoy your record breaking release. Good job Treyarch! Expand
  24. Dec 13, 2010
    1
    What an awful game. The maps are small and no vehicles. Its a run and shoot game. This game is truly disappointing in the PC version. This game is unplayable if you're on a PC and there has been no response from the developers. Completely crap game. This is a 60 dollar beta, and nothing more.
  25. Dec 13, 2010
    1
    Absolutely unplayable garbage, was hyped to death and completely failed to deliver. I used to complain about modern warfare 2, but it is an absolute masterpiece compared to this. Seriously don't bother buying it, especially if you are planning on buying it for pc.
  26. Dec 14, 2010
    8
    I've read some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is theI've read some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is the same, but some has been added to it. CP. With XP, you unlock weapons, attachments, emblems, layers (talk about that later) and lots of other things. With CP you buy it. This new system gives some variation in the Call of Duty series. Also there are wager matches. You wage your CP. If you become the first till the third player, your CP will increase. You lose, you'll lose all your CP. Also Combat Training has been added. It's a training with bots fighting against you, you can adjust the difficulty of the bots. And the emblem you have in the multi player, is custom. You choose layers, give them a colour, adjust size and make an emblem. cool isn't it? Zombie mode is also included with Black Ops. Long story short, a lot of new stuff. But now, the downside of this beautiful wonderland. Again, in this game (just as in MW2) there are some overpowered weapons + attachments. The flamethrower for example (yes you can use a flamethrower as attachment) is way too strong. Just one second on fire and you die. not fun. The killcam, as smooth as it was in MW2, now lags as **** Whatever you do, how amazing your computer is, the killcam will always lag. Just at the end, when the kill is being made, you only see three frames of a weapon firing and then the killcam's over. not satisfying if you made the final kill. It only works in combat training. There isn't really a graphic improvement, but that's not really a problem. It's about the game, right? Overall, this game is good if you have some sort of super computer (which i have). But with a regular computer, you're FPS will always stay under 15. Until Treyarch comes with a patch, this game is only fun for the people with a really good computer. My suggestion: buy this game when it has been patched, unless you think you're computer can take it. The score i give this game is based on the experience i had without having lag. With lag, my score would be around a 4.0, since the single player still makes up a lot. Expand
  27. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Leider hat mich das Game schwer enttäuscht. Serverabstürze, Verbindungsprobleme, Lags und Crashes sind an der Tagesordnung. Liebgewonnene Klassen aus den Vorgängern sind mitunter nicht mehr Spielbar: Der Sniper hat das aimen verlernt! Der Sound klingt dünn. Gegner sind nicht mehr lokalisierbar. Das Spawnsystem funktionniert nicht.Leider hat mich das Game schwer enttäuscht. Serverabstürze, Verbindungsprobleme, Lags und Crashes sind an der Tagesordnung. Liebgewonnene Klassen aus den Vorgängern sind mitunter nicht mehr Spielbar: Der Sniper hat das aimen verlernt! Der Sound klingt dünn. Gegner sind nicht mehr lokalisierbar. Das Spawnsystem funktionniert nicht. Die Grafik läà Expand
  28. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    sigh after world at war the series went spiraling down the **** doesnt even work. **** this never buying a cod game again. im goin to go play battlefield now.
  29. May 2, 2011
    6
    I used to love Call of Duty. It used to be a landmark in the genre of FPS, but in 2010, it has become so massively popular, that it's not even funny, there is an overdose of these games.

    Activision has decided on the terrible marketing strategy that they would release a new CoD game every year, and while this works, this shows on the games. Black Ops is a very polished, excellently
    I used to love Call of Duty. It used to be a landmark in the genre of FPS, but in 2010, it has become so massively popular, that it's not even funny, there is an overdose of these games.

    Activision has decided on the terrible marketing strategy that they would release a new CoD game every year, and while this works, this shows on the games.

    Black Ops is a very polished, excellently crafted game. But that's about it. It feels like it's a giant retail patch for the previous CoD games, rather than a title on it's own. It has what it takes to be a good game, but it doesn't offer anything new, different , spectacular, it does the exact same thing that many other FPS can do, and could do for a while now.

    And for that, I can't give it a green score, because that territory is reserved for games who beg to differ, or try the hardest to outshine their competition, with something daring that works. Yes, daring. Activision is known for pushing for financial safety with their rehashed flagship franchises. But the games achieving the most success have always been the ones who took some kind of risk, and did their best to make something new work.

    And by now, the CoD fanbase has been "trained" to behave the same way, and buy the new CoD, because that's guaranteed to be quality, and they have stopped to buy unique games, because it might be a bad game.

    I do not ask Treyarch, to reinvent the wheel. Just try to spice it up one way or another. Shoving in new multiplayer modes is a good idea, but that's not the entire game.It's worth a purchase if you really (REALLY) want to keep up, but there are currently more exciting choices.
    Expand
  30. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. It's also worth it just to take the "1 less kill for a streak"While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. It's also worth it just to take the "1 less kill for a streak" feat and run rc cars into everyone even if you're not good at the game. Only Activision would amke a game that'll have people scared of a toy for a hot minute. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps game before, as I don't have to tell you how awful a joystick is for competitive fps games. Expand
  31. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is awesome. Stop saying that it's impossible to run this game you just have to look if your computer can run it and activision always lauch patches. The new server browser is very cool too. In my opinion it's the best cod. Expand
  32. Dec 28, 2010
    1
    (note, this is, in a way addressing Treyarc and JD) This game works fine.....as long as you play it on either a, a not so powerful but still gaming oriented computer on low-medium graphics or B, whatever $10,000 alienware computer that they tested it on, I mean come on, this game was NOT made for PC but they acted like it would be the best game you could possibly own. Sorry JD, I don't(note, this is, in a way addressing Treyarc and JD) This game works fine.....as long as you play it on either a, a not so powerful but still gaming oriented computer on low-medium graphics or B, whatever $10,000 alienware computer that they tested it on, I mean come on, this game was NOT made for PC but they acted like it would be the best game you could possibly own. Sorry JD, I don't care if you don't play PC but you're killing us. You're patches don't help and this series lost people on MW2 and you're losing people too. Sure we don't have 200k people playing the game at any give time but you've made a LOT of money off us so we expect more bang for our buck and right now my "bang" is freezing and crashing and you don't care. You rolled out a patch that helps quick-scoping, but umm lets see it really doesn't matter if we zoom in somewhere else if by the time we zoom in the person is teleported by our lag to somewhere else Expand
  33. Jan 1, 2011
    0
    Well after spending a minimum of 12 hours trying to get this game to run smoothly and a further period of time reading Forum posts(including one where someone could not get it to run, without judder, on a 16 core machine !!!). I simply gave up and took it back to the shop. I got my money back by claiming it was a defective good. I have a high spec dual core machine and the patch to improveWell after spending a minimum of 12 hours trying to get this game to run smoothly and a further period of time reading Forum posts(including one where someone could not get it to run, without judder, on a 16 core machine !!!). I simply gave up and took it back to the shop. I got my money back by claiming it was a defective good. I have a high spec dual core machine and the patch to improve performance on dual core simply did not work Expand
  34. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    NOTE: To anyone browsing through reviews for this game before buying like I was, please READ THIS before paying attention to all the other 0's and BS scores on here. It's really sad how the PC community has devolved into a bunch of spoiled brats that can't accept the fact that some people like an honest review about a game they might actually LIKE.

    I'll say it first and straight up, YES,
    NOTE: To anyone browsing through reviews for this game before buying like I was, please READ THIS before paying attention to all the other 0's and BS scores on here. It's really sad how the PC community has devolved into a bunch of spoiled brats that can't accept the fact that some people like an honest review about a game they might actually LIKE.


    I'll say it first and straight up, YES, at the moment Black Ops is still very much a broken game right out of the box for many people. That said, if you are willing to put in the time to look around online (have any of these "0" reviewers ever heard of google?) like I was, the majority of your freezing problems can be solved using simple tweaks or adjusting settings. For me, the magic solution was turning off anti-aliasing and setting the game to run with desktop composition turned off. Until Treyarch releases another patch, many of us will be forced to browse forums online looking for a solution.

    Performance-wise, i'm not sure why so many people on here are saying you need a supercomputer to run this game. I'm running it on a 2009 macbook pro, 2.6ghz intel duo core/ nvidia geforce 9600m gt/ win 7 64-bit/ 4 gb ram. As you can tell, this is no supercomputer. I currently am running the game on high settings, (textures on High, full AF, full FOV, native 1440x900 res) with AA, shader warming, and shadows turned off. I get anywhere from 45-65 fps in the game and in my opinion it is completely playable (and looks damn good, too). As far as gameplay goes, I will focus only on multiplayer in this review, as that is what I bought the game for and i'm sure the same goes for many others on here trying to decide whether or not to pick it up. Many reviewers have cited the Black Ops' similarity to MW2 as a primary reason for their low scores. While I agree the the overall gameplay is the same (after all, what COD since MW1 has really been all that different?), there are many customization options which make Black Ops stand out for me. First off, the COD points idea is awesome and I hope it becomes a mainstay in the franchise. The ability to buy crucial attachments such as red dot sights for new guns right off the bat rather than tediously leveling up with each weapon is a god-send. Also, the emblem system adds a whole new level of personalization to multipayer. The layered system and ability to modify the shapes and position of different symbols truly allows the player to create anything their imagination can think up. I believe the perks in multiplayer are also superior to those of any in the MW/WAW games. Mortars, Napalm Strikes, remote controlled car-bombs, and the Huey support chopper are all excellent additions and really add a sense of immersion and realism to the game that just was not present in MW2 (LOL @ Tactical Nuke).
    So far I have logged about 45+ hours in Black Ops multiplayer, and I can definately say that the maps do feel a bit smaller than MW2. However, they also feel a lot more realistic thanks to real-world settings such as Saigon, Hanoi, the jungles of Vietnam, Havana, etc. Simply put, I believe that Black Ops succeeds where MW2 failed miserably: in creating a believable an atmospheric environment to wage video war in. The original COD 1,2, and 3 were all based around historical events, and the relevance to real life conflict created an atmosphere which to me (maybe because i'm a history buff) really elevated what was actually a simple and generic gameplay formula. Black Ops returns to the COD tradition of focusing on historical events, rather than crafting some ridiculous WWIII scenario (the White House and National Mall looking like the front line at the Somme..... come on, really Infinity Ward?).


    All in all, I would give the game an 8.5, but unfortunately Metacritic's scale doesn't allow decimal points. Without the bugs and technical issues currently present in the game however, I would undoubtedly give Black Ops a score of 9-9.5. My final advice: if you are a long-time fan of the COD series and were disappointed in MW2, then by all means I would recommend buying Black Ops to get back into the series. However, if you're one of those people who are on the fence and still very much enjoy MW2, I would say hold off until a price drop, or at least until Treyarch releases another patch or two. I hope that this review is able to help some of you in deciding, and possibly will stand out among the biased and ridiculous reviews i'm seeing for the PC version of Black Ops. One more thing: DEDICATED SERVERS RULE and blow the crappy IWnet matchmaking out of the water!


    Hope to see you guys in-game. Enjoy.
    Expand
  35. Jan 3, 2011
    2
    Great single player, but it is near 100% offset by the terrible mulitplayer. Just another stupid console game ported to PC. It has been over a month since the release of this game and although many of the bugs and glitches where patched, it still remains unplayable for some and will never compare to the previous Cod4 and its competition and PC friendliness. R.I.P. Cod4, I will never forget you
  36. Aug 19, 2011
    6
    makes me laugh the fact that Treyarch ALWAYS tries to copy directly what infinity ward does.

    But at least this time they actually put some kind of "recoil" (just a little bit) in this version, in mw2 recoil doesnt exist at all in any weapon!And besides there are those damn global servers designed for retarded ass console gamers that doesnt care of what they play. Besides the good things
    makes me laugh the fact that Treyarch ALWAYS tries to copy directly what infinity ward does.

    But at least this time they actually put some kind of "recoil" (just a little bit) in this version, in mw2 recoil doesnt exist at all in any weapon!And besides there are those damn global servers designed for retarded ass console gamers that doesnt care of what they play.

    Besides the good things comes the bad ones: the maps... oh god they are designed from a 2 years old child that only wants to camp, and whats the deal with all these DLC's? 4 DLC's that costs 15 euros each???

    Treyarch WTF?
    Expand
  37. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i think black ops for the pc first sucks very hard(lags and everything but now its a great game. no lag (by me) and every thing works fine, maps are great and much new futures!! zombies is great and dead op is very funny ! Expand
  38. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    All of you haters be less childish and consider the package as it is. Aside from the MP, the Single Player experience still exists (!!!) and is far superior to any online adventure you might have with an FPS. The story and characters are really well crafted and you won't get the sense of epic scale anywhere online. It's about feeling a really technically and artistically stunning piece ofAll of you haters be less childish and consider the package as it is. Aside from the MP, the Single Player experience still exists (!!!) and is far superior to any online adventure you might have with an FPS. The story and characters are really well crafted and you won't get the sense of epic scale anywhere online. It's about feeling a really technically and artistically stunning piece of blockbuster virtual experience. It's about history, it's about a tale, and a handful of characters that carry you into their reality. It's not about FRAGS or SERVERS or PINGS ! So grade the game properly! Be objective!

    9.0
    Expand
  39. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    Score: 8.0

    Call of Duty: Black Ops is like an action movie. Not everyone will like it, and some may despise it for being 'crude', 'unintelligent', or 'simple.' But If you enjoy it for what it is, you will have a blast. What it is, is a game that does not focus on innovation, or an immersive world of believable characters. It's a game that focusses on fun and adrenaline packed action.
    Score: 8.0

    Call of Duty: Black Ops is like an action movie. Not everyone will like it, and some may despise it for being 'crude', 'unintelligent', or 'simple.' But If you enjoy it for what it is, you will have a blast.

    What it is, is a game that does not focus on innovation, or an immersive world of believable characters. It's a game that focusses on fun and adrenaline packed action. Here are the points I liked about black ops:
    -The Multiplayer is well-balanced, there is no one thing dominates all others.
    -I have heard about alot of problems in multiplayer, but so far I've not had ANY lag whatsoever.
    -I love the cold war setting. This might be trivial to some, but I like the looks of it, and it's not seen much in video games.
    -There's more variety in making your own class, for me it's very addictive to keep reiterating my class and tweaking it.
    -There's a game mode for everyone. I myself play hardcore search and destroy, which does not allow you to respawn untill the next round. I find that this requires a little bit of patience, and that wards of any players who just want non-stop murder. This improves the experience so much.

    And here are the negative points:
    -The game still costs â
    Expand
  40. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Game has fail in all things! Treyarch makes a game, that is realy terrible! Look at MW2, which has InfinityWard maken, so you see a very good Game, but this is very terrible! One thing is good: Dedicated Server!!! But anything else is nothing!!! Very bad Game-Play in Single-Player! The Multi-Player looks like a Shooter from 2000-2002! Many MODS are better like this Game! The Engine and Graphic is a little bit okay, but for this MONEY! Treyarch goes back in Future! Hope InfinityWard produce the Game: CoDMW3 in November!!! Expand
  41. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    its a pretty good game, but the only sad part is that the campaign is so short...... i prefer call of duty 4 and 6.
    they have good campaign and good multiplayer. black ops has a good multiplayer , i enjoy it. black ops shouldn't be the price it is right now, it should be lower, but i guess its already bought
  42. Apr 8, 2011
    8
    Nice long campaign (better than Modern Warfare 2), good graphics, better multiplayer. There are some annoying bugs like getting stuck or AI shooting at you when you are behind the wall. Optimization isn't good, game is stuttering sometimes. Anyway the game is fun and I enjoyed it.
  43. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. oyun muhteÅ Expand
  44. May 4, 2011
    9
    geat multiplayer since most hackers were recently banned. after numerous patches the game is finally enjoyable and addicting to play. search and destroy is super fun and prestige in this game is actually worth it because u get gold guns at level 14. the single player is like a rambo linear mission but it worth playing about half way. the real fun is multiplayer but i urge you to setgeat multiplayer since most hackers were recently banned. after numerous patches the game is finally enjoyable and addicting to play. search and destroy is super fun and prestige in this game is actually worth it because u get gold guns at level 14. the single player is like a rambo linear mission but it worth playing about half way. the real fun is multiplayer but i urge you to set everything in your config to low even if u have a powerful system to remain competitive you need 100 fps. black ops is the best multiplayer community since far cry. its like the best of CSS and modern warfare mixed into one. maps are however very dull so i give it a 9. looking forward to mw3 which i believe will be epic. Expand
  45. May 19, 2011
    8
    my score of an 8 is a reflection of the entire game. If i had to grade the parts of the game individually, I would have graded the multiplayer as a 8, campaign should be rated as a 5, (because it kinda sucks), but zombies is a 1000000. Black ops zombies is the greatest invention in the history of video games.
  46. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    Now ill be honest, this is not the best CoD out there. Treyarch may be a good developer, but their version of multiplayer...sucks! the only reason i bought this was the Zombies (who doesnt love zombies).
  47. Jul 30, 2011
    2
    A complete **** Long live COD4. It's single-player campaign proves to be a slight stroke of ingenuity by the developers which kept me entertained for a few hours (less than 10 as it was unbearably short like most action FPS's) and the multiplayer...considering the lag, and simple reskins, absolutely 0 innovation in combat), I probably will never touch this abomination of a game everA complete **** Long live COD4. It's single-player campaign proves to be a slight stroke of ingenuity by the developers which kept me entertained for a few hours (less than 10 as it was unbearably short like most action FPS's) and the multiplayer...considering the lag, and simple reskins, absolutely 0 innovation in combat), I probably will never touch this abomination of a game ever again. Did I mention, no replayability at all? Expand
  48. Aug 7, 2011
    0
    out for 9 months, still hasnt been fixed.
    many of the day 1 problems are still in the game. im surprised its not illegal what activision's done, selling a broken piece of soft ware that will never be fixed.
    i plan on pirating mw3 for hacks and lulz, but i doubt that will be playable as well.
  49. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    By far the worst gameplay of any FPS I know of. Nobody uses mics and a FFA match lasts about 1:30 due to campers. Dont even consider thinking about wasting your money on this enormous pile of dog feces.
  50. Aug 15, 2011
    0
    Some spike lag, to small maps, useless snipers and rcxd over usage makes this game a frustrating and disappointing multiplayer experience.

    I didn't bought this for the singleplayer (because it's so scripted and linear that you might as well could go watch a movie.)
    waste of money and time.
  51. Aug 21, 2011
    4
    Am I the only one who notices the major historical inaccuracies of this game, Vietcong are using AKu-74s and the Russians and US are using Steyrs and FAMASs start production until 1979 & 1978 respectivly. SPAS 12s camoe out in 1979. The m16 started production in 1963 2 years after the bay of pigs. Masterkeys didnt come oround until the 80s and underbarell flamethrowers dont exist.Am I the only one who notices the major historical inaccuracies of this game, Vietcong are using AKu-74s and the Russians and US are using Steyrs and FAMASs start production until 1979 & 1978 respectivly. SPAS 12s camoe out in 1979. The m16 started production in 1963 2 years after the bay of pigs. Masterkeys didnt come oround until the 80s and underbarell flamethrowers dont exist. Fortunate Son came out in 1970 but the game is set between 1961 and 1968. The MP5 went into production in 1966 so it couldn't be used in 1963. The only reason why I continued to play it was because it atleast works and the gameplay in alright but whenever I notice a historical inaccuracymy immersion is ruined Expand
  52. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Halllejuah Halllllejuah hallejeuh hallejuah halllehuah laaa laaaaa. this game is amazing! everyone willll love it! let me telll ya my peeeeps. i play it allll dayyyyy long. WORD. peace
  53. Nov 12, 2011
    7
    Not as succesful as MW 2 but I prefer it. Good story, good gameplay, good graphics; a good game.
  54. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    I'm giving this game a undeserving 10, as I'm back on Black Ops versus the mw3 which I gave a zero score. THIS is the difference in gameplay for me and even after all the months of patches to finally get the game to work properly on MP. This will for me, remain the best shooter game up to date as most of us are only interested in seamless multi palyer gaming. Who really cares about singleI'm giving this game a undeserving 10, as I'm back on Black Ops versus the mw3 which I gave a zero score. THIS is the difference in gameplay for me and even after all the months of patches to finally get the game to work properly on MP. This will for me, remain the best shooter game up to date as most of us are only interested in seamless multi palyer gaming. Who really cares about single player? Like I said a lot of us waited months after purchase to even be remotely able to play, but as it stands today, (including the misconception of development staff as to requirements for this game) it is a great multi player game. They might have found a winning formula here and I do hope the dedicated servers stay around for good.
    The only unacceptable issue I have with Back Ops is the steam cloud they use which in turn use VAC as their hacker police, and we all know that VAC is BEYOND useless. VAC can't catch the a$$ end of a joke if you pointed it out to them, let alone hackers. This means the Black Ops MP will ALWAYS have hackers on. Since they now mainly use enemy position hacks, and VAC is still looking blindly at wall hacks, it means: chances are your lovely game will regularly be spoiled by players blatantly using these hacks on a daily basis and nothing is done to this.(probably a "we dont care as we already have your money" attitude.
    While the prestige really matters among players, it only becomes bragging rights at Prest 15, and the gold guns look really good, compared to other games. What makes it even more impressive is the different attachments in the same classes which if they expand in later releases will definitely win my max rating vote.
    On second thought, I'm stripping that 10 rating to 8, simply thanks to the hacking which I mentioned earlier. Thank you USELESS VAC.
    Expand
  55. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Nuketown.

    probably just the BEST FPS MAP EVAR.

    After Treyarch fixed the connection issues, Black Ops turned out to be quite a good game.
    The IW 3.0 engine is in my opinion also still the best COD engine (same as MW1)
  56. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I grew up on MoH;AA and MoH:Spearhead. I tried COD mw1 just before COD:BO came out on steam for PC. COD:M1 was just chaos, but had good layout custimization. I now have 951 hours in the COD:BO multiplayer, and typically just stick to CTF hardcore matches. I never really got into the SP side of COD, or in any multiplayer FPS game for that matter.

    Seeing 4.3 for this game as a user score is
    I grew up on MoH;AA and MoH:Spearhead. I tried COD mw1 just before COD:BO came out on steam for PC. COD:M1 was just chaos, but had good layout custimization. I now have 951 hours in the COD:BO multiplayer, and typically just stick to CTF hardcore matches. I never really got into the SP side of COD, or in any multiplayer FPS game for that matter.

    Seeing 4.3 for this game as a user score is a joke, to say the least. I play my fair share of video games on PC of all types... and don't really care about who made this game. The game is very enjoyable if you are looking for an online FPS multiplayer that you can really spend some time in. The lag is about 10% of the lag you'll experience on BF3 or MW3 (stay in your country and you will not notice any - ever (on a decent/good PC).

    I'd recommend this game to anyone who is looking.
    Expand
  57. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    It is interesting how one product can change your view on another. When this game was first released, it was riddled with bugs and playability issues. The developer has quite successfully fixed them and it is a good looking solid FPS. It is funny that it took the absolutely abysmal release of MW3 to show me just how good Black Ops truly is. A game that was released in 2009 has betterIt is interesting how one product can change your view on another. When this game was first released, it was riddled with bugs and playability issues. The developer has quite successfully fixed them and it is a good looking solid FPS. It is funny that it took the absolutely abysmal release of MW3 to show me just how good Black Ops truly is. A game that was released in 2009 has better graphics, better playability, better maps, and a better single player PLUS ZOMBIES! It was a toss up between this title, World at War, and COD: 4 as to which was my favorite. I think that World at War is in a class of its own, so between COD: 4 and Black Ops, I have to say that Black Ops is by far the best product that Activision has released under the Call of Duty name. Expand
  58. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    whooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  59. May 13, 2012
    10
    An awesome game an epic game on Xbox live zombies. You need to get this game. If you think this is awesome like me you will probably want to get Black Ops 2.
  60. Aug 13, 2012
    4
    I think I can confidently say that the only thing good about this game in the Zombies mode, although I still found it far less entertaining than the survival mode in MW3. The graphics and sound are mediocre at best--mostly just bad--and the gameplay alternates between frustrating and boring. The single-player campaign was more a chore than anything: I kept hoping that it would get better,I think I can confidently say that the only thing good about this game in the Zombies mode, although I still found it far less entertaining than the survival mode in MW3. The graphics and sound are mediocre at best--mostly just bad--and the gameplay alternates between frustrating and boring. The single-player campaign was more a chore than anything: I kept hoping that it would get better, but it never did. The story was moderately interesting, but the presentation was dull and confusing. There are plenty of explosions, ambushes, and near-death experiences, but I could never bring myself to care about anything that was happening. The 'characters' are all either shallow or completely lacking in personality, and nothing that happens really seems to matter much--not until the very end, by which time you're probably half asleep. Perhaps the multiplayer is worth trying, but from what I've seen of others playing it, there's nothing special there either. Expand
  61. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    Ok, its a cod game so that explains the very low reviews its very easy for someone mad in multiplayer to give it a 0. But this game is very far from a zero.It has its problems, like every cod, but it is 10 times better than the modern warfares. The campaign is absolutly amazing,it seems to skip around a bit, but OH MY GOD THE END OF THE GAME WAS EPIC.I wont spoil it, as it is one of theOk, its a cod game so that explains the very low reviews its very easy for someone mad in multiplayer to give it a 0. But this game is very far from a zero.It has its problems, like every cod, but it is 10 times better than the modern warfares. The campaign is absolutly amazing,it seems to skip around a bit, but OH MY GOD THE END OF THE GAME WAS EPIC.I wont spoil it, as it is one of the best stories i have ever seen, but i can tell you it is amazing. The game made me so curious, and a few wikipedia pages on cold war rescearch later, my mind was blown.Its like the movie "Inseption", i had to think about it alot and its amazing. Ok, cod players don't have much brain power in general so a epic story that is mind blowing wont appeal to them, witch might explain some of the hate. The other hate comes from bugs and such. Most bugs have been fixed. And cod players are probablly like "wtf this game is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO gay" really its not at all. The multiplayer is much better than any pervious cod but sucking and getting killed all the time makes people write bad reviews. Honestly this game is worth buying, even just for the story witch is amazing. Expand
  62. Nov 11, 2010
    8
    Shaky release full of bugs that rendered the game nearly unplayable for many people. Thankfully the kinks have been largely ironed out and I can now say this game continues the entertaining lineage of the COD series. A worthy buy if you're a fan of first person shooters. Intense multiplayer action, reformed equipment upgrade system (you purchase them with money earned each round),Shaky release full of bugs that rendered the game nearly unplayable for many people. Thankfully the kinks have been largely ironed out and I can now say this game continues the entertaining lineage of the COD series. A worthy buy if you're a fan of first person shooters. Intense multiplayer action, reformed equipment upgrade system (you purchase them with money earned each round), compelling single player campaign; a fun time. Expand
  63. Nov 12, 2010
    5
    as said before: this game has nothing realy innovating.
    the single player is very 'meh', IW does a far better job with single player campaigns.
    the maps are linear and the overal story is very confusing. a big 1 point to Treyarch for giving us dedicated servers, if the only worked well from day one... the overal graphics of the game are outdated, nothing special here. the gameplay itself
    as said before: this game has nothing realy innovating.
    the single player is very 'meh', IW does a far better job with single player campaigns.
    the maps are linear and the overal story is very confusing.
    a big 1 point to Treyarch for giving us dedicated servers, if the only worked well from day one...
    the overal graphics of the game are outdated, nothing special here.
    the gameplay itself is... treyarch style.
    just like World at War the gameplay is more 'slower' than MW2 and even CoD 4.
    this makes the gameplay less intresting but helps agains campers.
    the online gameplay is, for so far, balanced and fair.
    a very welcome feature is zombie mode,

    overal this game is OK, but is nothing special to the call of duty series.
    it does do a good job of making a playable, balanced game but withoud some innovating fun features it isn't realy that great.
    if treyarch took care of MW2 after it's release from IW (to fix big issues that ruin the game) it would be THE single best multiplayer game ever.
    sadly thit didn't happen and BO is like the oposite of MW2: balanced but boring.
    Expand
  64. Nov 18, 2010
    2
    I think this game supports only mouse and keyboard on PC. Till they give me something more that is my PC CAPABLE OF, I'm not going anywhere near Call of Duty series, or anything from their developers/publishers lets say.
  65. Nov 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very good in my point of view. Great campaign storyline, good zombie minigame and a VERY GOOD Multiplayer. It as some issues like bad zombie game matchmaking and a little bit of lag, but Treyarch has already made a small update to solve the lag so, that means that they are still working to do a better game. I think that everyone was so excited about the game and because of laggy servers in the first week, most of the "addicted to games" guys throw the game down the hill. Expand
  66. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I think this is a very solid game with a great campaign. Also I love the customization that I can now do on multiplayer. Yes, there are lags on multiplayer, but none that are game impairing. Overall I think it is a great game and does not deserve the low reviews that it seems to be getting.
  67. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    (360 Version) Black Ops is one great CoD game. I didn't like MW2 but this game is definitely a fun game. The Story is exciting and mind-boggling, the Zombie mode is lots of fun with friends but not alone, multiplayer is so far great with some bad things and of course the hidden Dead Ops Arcade which is hilarious. Totally recommending this one for consoles.
  68. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    I have to say that I was amazed by the campaign and how it built up to an explosive ending. As for multiplayer . Everyone who is complaining about lag please remove your review. It is apparent that none of you have ever played a pc game before. The game was lagging due to the game having top of the line system requirements and I mean it had to have been purchased in 2010. Also updating theI have to say that I was amazed by the campaign and how it built up to an explosive ending. As for multiplayer . Everyone who is complaining about lag please remove your review. It is apparent that none of you have ever played a pc game before. The game was lagging due to the game having top of the line system requirements and I mean it had to have been purchased in 2010. Also updating the drivers helped with lag tremendously. BC2 was far worse at the beginning anyway. As for infinity war. YOU SAY THIS IS A MONEY PLOY???? I think there are 360 people trolling here because MW2 was the biggest paycheck Bobby Kotick Aka. satin got in a long time. And all of this bs on how infinity ward made a better game? The MW2 campaign was like a Michael Bay film. Full of plot holes. And the multiplayer for it was terrible. No customization unless you ran a hacked server. There was also an unbearable amount of hackers that VAC could not ban. Now because black ops has servers people can be banned server side which actually works. Finally it took them a day to fix the game so I think this is Treyarch's biggest improvement since World at War. (Note that all bugs have been fixed) Expand
  69. Jan 6, 2011
    2
    Who designed this? A monkey? The game is ugly, and uses horribly outdated sounds and visuals. It sounds like perfect dark for the n64. The maps are stupidly designed and failtastic. I have no idea why they even put a sniper rifle in. There is no quick-scoping and nowhere to snipe. Utterly DISGUSTING how obviously bribed the reviewers are.
  70. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    Black Ops single player is far from a perfect experience. While it does have some truly stand out moments which help its case. The whole interrogation portion of the main story is jarring and inconsistent; this caused me never once to feel connected to anything that was going on in the game nor with any of the characters. It also should be noted that playing this game on anything more thanBlack Ops single player is far from a perfect experience. While it does have some truly stand out moments which help its case. The whole interrogation portion of the main story is jarring and inconsistent; this caused me never once to feel connected to anything that was going on in the game nor with any of the characters. It also should be noted that playing this game on anything more than Normal mode is purely an exorcise in frustration. There are times when you'll receive no updates as to that you're objectives are at all causing you to die repeatedly while trying to reach your way-points. Only after stumbling across them blindly do you get any sort of a hint as to what you should be doing. Your team AI is also absolutely incompetent, there were many times where you could be following one of your AI companions and they'll totally ignore rushing enemies only to have them appear next to you.and then melee you to death. This brings to mind the recent relaunch of Medal of Honor. Many times during the single player experience in that game my AI squad mates would call out enemy locations "Enemy at 4 O'clock, second story" which would in turn lead me to scope out that area and down the bad guys. This never happened at any point in Black Ops. If anything I felt they simply got in my way.
    By the end of the game I just wanted it to be over and I found myself only playing more to unlock the next Achievement and in my mind thats not a very good reason to play games. The multi player component of the game is where it really comes into it's own and is the main reason I gave Black Ops a 7/10
    Expand
  71. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    I gave a review of this game in haste previously and gave the game a score of 5. After playing the game through and changing a few of the graphics settings I realise that the game is actually great and deserves a decent score. I don't know why so many people are giving the game a score of 0 or below 5, people will not take user scores seriously from PC users soon. (They probably don'tI gave a review of this game in haste previously and gave the game a score of 5. After playing the game through and changing a few of the graphics settings I realise that the game is actually great and deserves a decent score. I don't know why so many people are giving the game a score of 0 or below 5, people will not take user scores seriously from PC users soon. (They probably don't already) The game, while offering nothing incredibly new, is fun and well programmed other than two or three small points in this long game. To say this is a port from xbox or ps3 is wrong, the game engine designed by Infinity Ward, which was used with this game, has always been developed for pc technology. While the multiplayer features may not be fully up and running on the PC version, it is temporary and will be fixed soon. The story line was quite clever and the fighting was great fun. The zombies additional feature is good fun but people should realise that the Call of Duty series is as much about single player fun as it is about multiplayer, if not more so. To rate the game 0 because the multiplayer features need some patching is ridiculous, I would like to see the guys who rated it a 0 try to create a comprehensive multiplayer expansion such as Zombies before they start complaining that it doesnâ Expand
  72. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Speaking of single player only here. I really have been enjoying playing this game, the controls are easy to set up, it runs great on my PC, the sounds, visuals & effects are really cool. I guess if you are a die hard COD fan this game might be a let down (as i see in other reviews) but if you are like me and not a COD fanboy, then you will like this game. I have yet to try the multiSpeaking of single player only here. I really have been enjoying playing this game, the controls are easy to set up, it runs great on my PC, the sounds, visuals & effects are really cool. I guess if you are a die hard COD fan this game might be a let down (as i see in other reviews) but if you are like me and not a COD fanboy, then you will like this game. I have yet to try the multi player yet and not sure I will due to the hackers/cheaters, and yes there are MANY of them in Black Ops. Expand
  73. Nov 9, 2010
    6
    The first honest review on here so far:
    To start with I DESPISED MW2..it was literally the worst thing to ever have the CoD name splattered on it.
    I bought and played a few minutes of BO today (needs a patch to fix the lag issues before I can really play it) and it's better than MW2..but not by much. I'm bummed that the maximum ranked server size is only 18..but I can get over that
    The first honest review on here so far:
    To start with I DESPISED MW2..it was literally the worst thing to ever have the CoD name splattered on it.
    I bought and played a few minutes of BO today (needs a patch to fix the lag issues before I can really play it) and it's better than MW2..but not by much. I'm bummed that the maximum ranked server size is only 18..but I can get over that considering how small the maps are.
    But I was at least hoping they'd have the firearms right. A vietnam-era M16A1 used 20 round magazines and was full-auto/semi-auto. The M16A1 in BO has 30 rounds and fires burst only. And as an amusing anecdote some 12 year old on the server I was on was flaming me and trying to tell me that I was wrong..that made my day.
    Planning on checking out the SP later tonight when I get the chance.
    Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    I have a Q6600 at 3.4ghz and a hd5870. I can play the single player no problem. Just passed it on veteran. (theres a bit in Vietnam that was insane.) Went to try multi player and it was a joke. Was quite excited for a cod with dedicated servers after the mess that was mw2 multi player. I connected and found it un playable. Massive lag spikes where I would accelerate or slow down then getI have a Q6600 at 3.4ghz and a hd5870. I can play the single player no problem. Just passed it on veteran. (theres a bit in Vietnam that was insane.) Went to try multi player and it was a joke. Was quite excited for a cod with dedicated servers after the mess that was mw2 multi player. I connected and found it un playable. Massive lag spikes where I would accelerate or slow down then get shot. I understand it has just been released and may need a patch but has it been tested at all? Honestly don't buy it for multiplayer untill it gets fixed, If you do like me your waisting your money. I haven't posted here before and gave it a 10 by accident last time. Its a 7 at best. Only because of single player being a 8 hour long michael bay movie. Multi I give a 4 because it is un playable. Good Ideas but a joke. Expand
  75. Nov 13, 2010
    3
    It's really sad that, of all the "professional" review sites, only a handful had the balls to mention the lag and matchmaking issues the game has at the moment. Perhaps they were too afraid to criticize the mighty Call of Duty/Activitision combo?

    Yes, the game is nearly unplayable online now -- there is a lot of lag (regardless of the ping you have to the server, and how powerful your
    It's really sad that, of all the "professional" review sites, only a handful had the balls to mention the lag and matchmaking issues the game has at the moment. Perhaps they were too afraid to criticize the mighty Call of Duty/Activitision combo?

    Yes, the game is nearly unplayable online now -- there is a lot of lag (regardless of the ping you have to the server, and how powerful your computer is). It really says something about game companies, when they think they can get away with releasing a product in this state and then patch it later.
    Expand
  76. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Score (8.0)

    Listen carefully to this review, don't listen those who say that its a total waste of money.

    Call of Duty: Black ops has the best singleplayer campaing for a FPS. Its immersive and its completely different from Mw2. The campaing is also very long. ( 9.8/10) The reason why i do not put an 100 to this game is because of the multiplayer and the bugs. Basically, they should have wait 2 month before releasing the game. No one can't join ( or almost) a zombie server for a lot of reasons and they are patching the game and fixing the bugs right now... Well its a call of duty game afterall, there will always have bugs at first but lets be patient. I have been able to join a zombie server once and its not so bad. There are more weapons and more things to do. I say lets be patient and wait for them to fix the bugs. (8/10)

    The AI is almost the same, its the good old Ai from Mw2 and cod Waw. (7.5/10)

    Now the most disapointing part of the game is for sure the multiplayer. I remember those days when spawnkilling was an habitude on modern warfare 1 with 64 players... They set the maximum on 18 and i would rather play Day of Defeat:source than the multiplayer, no innovations at all except the customisation system wich is better than mw2, i give the mulktiplayer a (6.5/10).

    In overall the game awsome if you are a cod fan, but defenetievely not worth 60 bucks.
    Expand
  77. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    there is plenty of fun to be had with this game and if you enjoy call of duty games you will know the formula. Black Ops does everything you have seen in mw1, waw and mw2 and adds to specific element. singleplayer campaign is slightly longer, more difficult and faster pased. there are some amazing moments and its up to the modern warfare standard. unfortunately some parts include enemiesthere is plenty of fun to be had with this game and if you enjoy call of duty games you will know the formula. Black Ops does everything you have seen in mw1, waw and mw2 and adds to specific element. singleplayer campaign is slightly longer, more difficult and faster pased. there are some amazing moments and its up to the modern warfare standard. unfortunately some parts include enemies that infinitely spawn, this gets very frustrating especially when the objectives are not clear. overall another decent campaign. multiplayer started out very laggy for me like most other people but after a few games settled down and was playable, with dedicated servers i am getting much improved pings over modern warfare 2 which is extremely pleasing, wager matches, cod points, and more customisation is great and maps are decent. the game would be great if it wasn't the same game for the 4th time at the ludicrous price of $90au (which is now $90 us) 82/100 Expand
  78. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great game they did really good with the Single player, but i think they could have done a little better with the multiplayer.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
  79. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    I've red some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is theI've red some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is the same, but some has been added to it. CP. With XP, you unlock weapons, attachments, emblems, layers (talk about that later) and lots of other things. With CP you buy it. This new system gives some variation in the Call of Duty series. Also there are wager matches. You wage your CP. If you become the first till the third player, your CP will increase. You lose, you'll lose all your CP. Also Combat Training has been added. It's a training with bots fighting against you, you can adjust the difficulty of the bots. And the emblem you have in the multi player, is custom. You choose layers, give them a colour, adjust size and make an emblem. cool isn't it? Zombie mode is also included with Black Ops. Long story short, a lot of new stuff. But now, the downside of this beautiful wonderland. Again, in this game (just as in MW2) there are some overpowered weapons + attachments. The flamethrower for example (yes you can use a flamethrower as attachment) is way too strong. Just one second on fire and you die. not fun. The killcam, as smooth as it was in MW2, now lags as **** Whatever you do, how amazing your computer is, the killcam will always lag. Just at the end, when the kill is being made, you only see three frames of a weapon firing and then the killcam's over. not satisfying if you made the final kill. It only works in combat training. There isn't really a graphic improvement, but that's not really a problem. It's about the game, right? Overall, this game is good if you have some sort of super computer (which i have). But with a regular computer, you're FPS will always stay under 15. Until Treyarch comes with a patch, this game is only fun for the people with a really good computer. My suggestion: buy this game when it has been patched, unless you think you're computer can take it. The score i give this game is based on the experience i had without having lag. With lag, my score would be around a 4.0, since the single player still makes up a lot. Expand
  80. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Far superior to Modern Warfare 1 or 2 in almost everyway. Rich characters, interesting story, and varied mission structure make this one of the best single player experiences since Call of Duty 1 or 2. Multiplayer is better, with new customization options, faster progression, Wager Matches, and new hardcore/ normal filters that the last games lacked. I bought the game from launch, andFar superior to Modern Warfare 1 or 2 in almost everyway. Rich characters, interesting story, and varied mission structure make this one of the best single player experiences since Call of Duty 1 or 2. Multiplayer is better, with new customization options, faster progression, Wager Matches, and new hardcore/ normal filters that the last games lacked. I bought the game from launch, and never experienced the issues some of the users are complaining of. My opinion is that most of these negative views are probably from butthurt Modern Warfare 2 players, who can't admit a better game when they see one. Kudos to Treyarch for this release, this more than makes up for World at War. Expand
  81. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    I don't know why so many people complain about Black Ops, i was skeptical at first thinking its just another COD game, but no it was better. Black Ops is a great game because of only 5 things, number 1 is split screen multiplayer. i hated switching with friends every time me and him died and it sucked. but now we have two screens which is awesome. Number 2 is combat training. i am aI don't know why so many people complain about Black Ops, i was skeptical at first thinking its just another COD game, but no it was better. Black Ops is a great game because of only 5 things, number 1 is split screen multiplayer. i hated switching with friends every time me and him died and it sucked. but now we have two screens which is awesome. Number 2 is combat training. i am a hardcore teenage gamer, but i still have parents friends with 7-10 year old kids come over, so we play combat training/split screen because it is fun. Number 3 is Call Of The Dead. I right reviews at the pinnacle of the game (not always), but Escalation was amazing with call of the dead i loved it. Number 4 is wager matches because they are fun, period. and 5 is that everything is unlocked in split screen so i can go on picacid and have fun. but other than that this game sucks Expand
  82. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    HAHAHAHA what a pile of garbage this game is, ps3 port, terrible graphics, lags like a **** same old same old. I really wish people would stop buying these games and then they might actually have to make a cod game for pc, and make it good, instead of giving us the crap that console idiots lap up as they don't know any better
  83. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    Another pathetic money grab from activision. There's nothing innovative or fun about this version don't bother. Why on earth wasn't infinity ward used on this version? Treyarch is terrible. Remember when they released World At War?
  84. Nov 12, 2010
    4
    ** -- >>> I wanted to clarify to people that take issue with others saying that the reviews are bribed / paid off, that the claims of bribed scores are CORRECT, and it isn't just ActiVision who do this.
    Review sites make revenue by having people visit their site, and if other sites are putting up the first reviews of the latest hot game, people will go to them instead. Game publishers buy
    ** -- >>> I wanted to clarify to people that take issue with others saying that the reviews are bribed / paid off, that the claims of bribed scores are CORRECT, and it isn't just ActiVision who do this.
    Review sites make revenue by having people visit their site, and if other sites are putting up the first reviews of the latest hot game, people will go to them instead. Game publishers buy off high review scores by telling sites that they will receive an advanced copy of their game for review ahead of the retail release date ONLY IF the game receives a score of >80, or >90. They won't make this condition to all review sites, but they will to the popular ones, whose reviews will affect opinions the most.

    The incentives given for high scores also go beyond that. If a review site gives a score the publisher doesn't like, they won't receive an advance copy for future titles, putting that review site at a disadvantage to other sites that can review the game ahead of them - and when a site is blacklisted by a large publisher like ActiVision, that can mean a LOT of titles that will be missed. Call of Duty is ActiVision's biggest title, you can be damn that sure they've put more score manipulating muscle into this release than any other release has seen before it. This score manipulation regularly taints big-name games, and you should know to not trust review sites all that much, because their noses are often firmly up the arses of the companies whose games they depend on being able to review early to generate their site traffic for revenue. User feedback has become far more valuable that site reviews. However, a lot of simple users out there who don't have much game experience will assume that the game they're playing that got fifteen 100/100 scores is truly the best, and those don't-know-better easily manipulable people are the ones the score-doctoring tactics aim to influence.

    Metacritic, itself, has been lobbied by publishers to remove various negative scores from its site, to make games look like they were received better than they were. As far as I know, Metacritic has rebuffed all such lobbying.

    Now my review:
    I've played only the sp so far, and it's typical CoD boredom, for me. I hardly feel like I'm playing, and what I'm watching isn't very exciting, either. The graphics are bad, but hey, it's designed for ancient console hardware, and not contemporary PC hardware, so it's not very surprising. Frankly, I loathe the cheesy cliche Vietnam characters and lines, which now (if not already ages ago) seem like a bad parody of a bad parody. I have some un-ignorable performance issues, the same ones which many others are also experiencing, detailed on various forums (Steam forums, ActiVision forums, & others), despite having a robust PC. This game will satisfy the kiddies, who are wowed more by the constant scripted business of this rail-shooter than by involved and in-depth gameplay.
    Expand
  85. Nov 15, 2010
    0
    COD: BlackOPs is an absolute disaster of a game. Technically speaking the game does not work. It's broken, there are numerous bugs, many of which make the game completely and totally unplayable, the game will crash unexpectedly, it lags constantly, the number of hoops you have to jump through to make this game work are so many that it's simply not worth the effort in the end. ForCOD: BlackOPs is an absolute disaster of a game. Technically speaking the game does not work. It's broken, there are numerous bugs, many of which make the game completely and totally unplayable, the game will crash unexpectedly, it lags constantly, the number of hoops you have to jump through to make this game work are so many that it's simply not worth the effort in the end. For instance: Activision suggests (from their web site) that you reduce your screen resolution to 1024x768, reduce your audio card performance to basic, turn off antivirus and turn off any non windows services using msconfig. The fact that you need to use msconfig at all is a major red flag here. No normal game player should ever use msconfig as it's a system tool that can completely crash your OS if used incorrectly. In addition to all of the steps above you need also update every single driver for each piece of hardware on your system. DirectX, VideoCard, SoundCard all to play this game.

    The fact that you need to adjust any system preferences is an indicator of just how bad of a job Treyarch did in programming this game and there's no guarantee that doing so will make the game work, goes to show you just how god awful of a game this really is.

    Do not buy this game, you have been warned. This is not a review so much as it is a gigantic danger sign. If you buy this game you will be disappointed. Fact.
    Expand
  86. Nov 18, 2010
    7
    My review is based on Single play(SP) as I never play Multiplay(MP). The game is quite enjoyable and sucks you into a curious story of adventure, thrill and drama. If you enjoyed the story lines of other COD games this one [while not a continuation of MW due to a different developer] is quite interesting. My personal issues with the game are checkpoint saving which I detest [as previousMy review is based on Single play(SP) as I never play Multiplay(MP). The game is quite enjoyable and sucks you into a curious story of adventure, thrill and drama. If you enjoyed the story lines of other COD games this one [while not a continuation of MW due to a different developer] is quite interesting. My personal issues with the game are checkpoint saving which I detest [as previous COD games had], far too much random flashing images due to flashbacks, really not to my taste. Some minor issues with scenes in Vietnam, the caves the developers made for the Vietcong were too big (wide), and yes I have been there and have personally been in the caves, the game scenes made it feel like a cake walk, imagine crawling on your stomach in some parts, wider parts just barely enough room to crouch walk (with bats flying by lol).

    AI is all right but I get tired of enemies breaking rank and running straight for me around a large group of "friends" and being ganked while my friends watch, many parts of the game I was unsure what I was supposed to be doing, objectives weren't so clear. I spent a fair amount of time tossing out colorful metaphors at my monitor dying and not sure what to do. All in all a worthy sequel to the COD series and if you play it for the SP then don't be afraid to check it out. I will enjoy replaying through SP. As for MP, well, I will let other reviewers comment.
    Expand
  87. Nov 18, 2010
    0
    It if far from playable and has to many bugs to list, multiplayer is full of hacker and stuttering even with high range hardware. It is using the same engine as COD 4 and WAW but slitly modified but still looks like something from 2006. Treyarch keeps promising a patch but regardless of if they fix some issues game should not be released in conditions like this. Most PC gamers wouldIt if far from playable and has to many bugs to list, multiplayer is full of hacker and stuttering even with high range hardware. It is using the same engine as COD 4 and WAW but slitly modified but still looks like something from 2006. Treyarch keeps promising a patch but regardless of if they fix some issues game should not be released in conditions like this. Most PC gamers would agree we paid $60 for a beta key. Expand
  88. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game was awesome. There were 2 parts to my decision, first the multiplayer, then the campaign. Multiplayer on Call of Duty has always been great. I know many have said "oh the graphics suck" or "it lags" but quite honestly, these problems didn't come for me, and my computer is not the best. People usually blame the company when something goes wrong for them... which is fine.. to an extent. However, I don't think their frustration should go to writing a review about this game because of their own little problems. On the Campaign side, the story; the start of it, with Victor Reznov... I thought he was a good guy, he was going to be a hero, despite the Americans facing the Russians in the Cold War. I was suprised to see the events in Vorkuta and how Mason got brainwashed. However, the campaign at the end kinda was easy to guess once Mason murdered Steiner. Expand
  89. Nov 21, 2010
    2
    Sound! Sound! Sound!
    How many people out there are still playing their games through their pc-speaker. I haven't heard such bad sound effects since running Wolfenstein 3d through the pc-speaker of my 386. I complement Activision on their fantastic marketing hype. I, like many others, were duped, and expected a new and improved MW2, but Treyarch just wasn't able to deliver.
  90. Dec 23, 2010
    2
    I want to know how much Activision and Treyarch paid some of these critics to rate this game so high? I have logged roughly 75 hours on the multi-player and I am convinced that I was misled and deceived into buying a mediocre quality game. I have a very nice quad core PC set up with a great video card and excellent cable modem connection. In-game play lacks on many levels. The graphicsI want to know how much Activision and Treyarch paid some of these critics to rate this game so high? I have logged roughly 75 hours on the multi-player and I am convinced that I was misled and deceived into buying a mediocre quality game. I have a very nice quad core PC set up with a great video card and excellent cable modem connection. In-game play lacks on many levels. The graphics are poor and most of the maps have the same GRAY color scheme to them. The in game movement is awful because you cannot aim down site quickly and the spikey game play means by the time you shoot, the opponent has moved 4-6 feet from one side to another. The sound is probably the worst feature of all. It is impossible to tell where a shot was fired from which makes it more difficult to tell where the enemy is. Forget about hearing footsteps which is an important part of MW2 or any FPS game for that matter.
    I like the added features for modifying your character, reticle colors along with the wager matches and one in the chamber matches. Sadly they are useless when movement, game performance, graphics and sound are bad. There is not one single weapon which provides a true appeal factor. Once you level up and make purchases they provide you with SECRET weapons and even these weapons are of less quality than other weapons offered. I have to unload a magazine just to kill someone and with the low ammo supply (unless you have scavenger) you run out often and have to use enemy weapons. The new Ballistic Knife is terrible. The new Crossbow is cool but will get you killed if you are not careful. The China-Lake replaces the Tube and will always get you killed due to the delays in aiming and firing. You have to pull the trigger before you turn the corner and will typically die before it lands. For some reason, a knife still kills with one blow so the reality of shooting someone in the heart compared to a knifing, the knife still wins.
    Scavenger does not replenish grenade launchers or tubes. It only provides minimum ammo and special grenades and not flash bangs or claymores. Only one claymore is allowed at any given time. I am not a fan of grenade launchers but considering how many times you have to shoot someone, they are often the best way to kill and not be killed. The explosive range is very poor and is not consistent at all. I see people die who are further from the explosion where two more opponents may be closer and not die.
    I do not foresee the ability to patch these types of issues as they are part of the way the game was developed. Basically Treyarch has created a disappointing addition to the Call of Duty series and used very good marketing to deceive us into making a purchase many of us would not have made had we known how poor the overall game was. Single Player Campaign: I will never play this again as the story is bad, they take away your controls way too often, do not allow you to skip the BS story line, based on Cold-War and Vietnam era and lacking in excitement.
    Zombies: I still do not understand the reason for this add-on. I played it for 1.5 hours and will never play this again. It is boring and stupid. I have played COD MW2 for 958 hours on Multi-Player, 345 hours on Single Player Campaign and Special Ops and I have really enjoyed the majority of it. Although I have mastered every single level and have become bored with it, I can see me playing more MW2 long before I play this single player again.

    I do not recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand
  91. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    The story on which is based the game is wonderful, but the game is too buggy: I had to restart it several times each mission to complete them all. I think it's better to play it in a PlayStation or XBox, because the hardware prerequisites are too high, and people will not buy a new pc only to play this game. Eventually, the multiplayer is not as great as the MW2 or MW, but i think this isThe story on which is based the game is wonderful, but the game is too buggy: I had to restart it several times each mission to complete them all. I think it's better to play it in a PlayStation or XBox, because the hardware prerequisites are too high, and people will not buy a new pc only to play this game. Eventually, the multiplayer is not as great as the MW2 or MW, but i think this is much more personal. Expand
  92. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    The campaign was average;too short,with good gameplay and action but the long ass time cutscenes made it boring
    The multiplayer was the worst,the game always crashes or freezes,massive lag,then comes the no sound glitch and finally the "Black ops servers not available",seriously in 2 months i only managed to play less than 55 hours while in mw2 i already had 150 hours.
    Just like WAW had
    The campaign was average;too short,with good gameplay and action but the long ass time cutscenes made it boring
    The multiplayer was the worst,the game always crashes or freezes,massive lag,then comes the no sound glitch and finally the "Black ops servers not available",seriously in 2 months i only managed to play less than 55 hours while in mw2 i already had 150 hours.
    Just like WAW had mp40 and MW2 had ump45;black ops has ak74u which has the range on an assault rifle;the mobility of an smg and combined with grip and rapid fire becomes an ultra fast laser gun,camping noobs with motion sensors and flamethrowers etc etc.
    Expand
  93. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Many people think this game is not as good as the last (MW2). I believe they are mistaken because Infinity Ward were using the game as a pure money making exercise, DLC's that copied previous games. Not every new game will be an improvement on a very good game but this one is.
  94. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    The game overall was pretty good. The campaign is definately the best in the series. So the multiplayer had some glitches and problems the multiplayer is still good. The zombies and new multiplayer modes are good. But I would seriously recommend getting this on a xbox or ps3.
  95. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hehehehe.. angry nerds are angry Expand
  96. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best multiplayer game I have ever played. When it first came out the bugs were horrible and I did have to upgrade my PC, but really, this is incomparable to anything else that I've ever played. The smoothness now is amazing. Maybe from all that work getting it fixed in the beginning... I don't know. I see these reviews were from November. The game has came a long wayThis is by far the best multiplayer game I have ever played. When it first came out the bugs were horrible and I did have to upgrade my PC, but really, this is incomparable to anything else that I've ever played. The smoothness now is amazing. Maybe from all that work getting it fixed in the beginning... I don't know. I see these reviews were from November. The game has came a long way since then. It just goes to show what a game can become once the bugs get worked out. Amazing Amazing Amazing.. Expand
  97. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Black Ops is a Great game to play.Recommend to anyone who likes playing video games and who likes to be challenge.Graphs and audio are great. Lots of action that makes you think.
  98. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    I don't really see why people are trashing this game anymore. I enjoy it now that it's been patched. At first, my framerate was around 75, but it looked like 15. They patched the game, and it's amazingly smooth now. The weapons are balanced (noobtubes are weak now) and killstreak kills no longer count towards the next reward. The maps are fun (especially the new DLC) and zombies is amazingI don't really see why people are trashing this game anymore. I enjoy it now that it's been patched. At first, my framerate was around 75, but it looked like 15. They patched the game, and it's amazingly smooth now. The weapons are balanced (noobtubes are weak now) and killstreak kills no longer count towards the next reward. The maps are fun (especially the new DLC) and zombies is amazing to play with a friend. I recommend this game to anyone who has at least a Radeon HD 5xxx graphics card. Expand
  99. Apr 21, 2011
    2
    Ran badly on my PC, multi player is boring, single player is dreadfully boring.
    Might of given this a good review if I wasn't spoiled by better games.
    Go play Half-Life 2 or Portal 2 or any game but this.
  100. May 17, 2011
    3
    I don't like anything about this game. Single player is so scripted that it takes all the fun away, waves of enemies till you make one step more its ridiculous. Weapons sound like toys, multi player maps are lame too. And of course they had to release dlc shortly after game was out. Also it seems that activision bribed /bullied most professional reviewers since this game don't deserveI don't like anything about this game. Single player is so scripted that it takes all the fun away, waves of enemies till you make one step more its ridiculous. Weapons sound like toys, multi player maps are lame too. And of course they had to release dlc shortly after game was out. Also it seems that activision bribed /bullied most professional reviewers since this game don't deserve more then 3-4 score. I don't think i will ever again buy activision game before checking it myself first. Expand
  101. Mar 1, 2011
    0
    This game is absolutely awful. Neither the gameplay nor the graphics are any advance whatsoever over the state of the art from 3-5 years ago. The controls are incredibly wonky - for example, going prone often locks your aim so you can't rotate side to side. Finally, the levels are completely linear; there is no freedom to explore and no deviation from the extremely narrow path theThis game is absolutely awful. Neither the gameplay nor the graphics are any advance whatsoever over the state of the art from 3-5 years ago. The controls are incredibly wonky - for example, going prone often locks your aim so you can't rotate side to side. Finally, the levels are completely linear; there is no freedom to explore and no deviation from the extremely narrow path the developers have pre-scripted for you. I wish I could uninstall this from my hard drive and get my money back. I wonder how much the "professional" reviewers were paid to rate this at 81% on average. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.