User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1494 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2011
    0
    COD Black Ops, where to begin...
    Worst type of FPS even released. This is the game that Treyarch payed the reviewers to give it a 70+. Not worth it. A total copy of WAW. Just buy Battlefield 2 or preorder Battlefield 3, I wouldn't go near another Call of Duty, even if it gets GOTY. Cod was bad ever since WAW. Not worth any type of money, even when it's at the 99 cent display so Activision
    COD Black Ops, where to begin...
    Worst type of FPS even released. This is the game that Treyarch payed the reviewers to give it a 70+. Not worth it. A total copy of WAW. Just buy Battlefield 2 or preorder Battlefield 3, I wouldn't go near another Call of Duty, even if it gets GOTY. Cod was bad ever since WAW. Not worth any type of money, even when it's at the 99 cent display so Activision can get money
    Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    2
    the game was an epic disappointment. another desperate grab for money during a recession, the only reason it worked was because the prior titles in the series were good. very few features of the game came even close to setting it apart from the innundated market of FPS games, the only feature making people buy it being the fact that it had the title 'call of duty' on it, there is a reasonthe game was an epic disappointment. another desperate grab for money during a recession, the only reason it worked was because the prior titles in the series were good. very few features of the game came even close to setting it apart from the innundated market of FPS games, the only feature making people buy it being the fact that it had the title 'call of duty' on it, there is a reason people still play world at war and modern warfare 2 instead, and it isnt because they were all that great either, its because the graphics and gameplay of black ops sucked. i would probrably rank black ops to be middle of the line compared to games of the 2006-2007 era, definitely not worth half of the $60 that they are still charging for it almost a year after its release. i give it a 2, and thats just because i feel like being generous Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    1
    This is the epitome of why consoles are destroying the games of today. I started playing this a few months ago and stopped after the first level, I was that bored. Run, shoot, boring cinematic, run, shot, boring cinematic... there's not grit to the game. I started playing again today and again I'm so bored I'd rather not play. Battlefield II is better than this, 10x better. Man, they'dThis is the epitome of why consoles are destroying the games of today. I started playing this a few months ago and stopped after the first level, I was that bored. Run, shoot, boring cinematic, run, shot, boring cinematic... there's not grit to the game. I started playing again today and again I'm so bored I'd rather not play. Battlefield II is better than this, 10x better. Man, they'd better bring something to the game with MW3 or they're going to lose a lot us us as fans. BAD BAD PORT. ANY PORT FROM CONSOLE SUCKS. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    4
    Terribly bad PC performance, campers, graphics à la Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. A rehashed version of earlier Call of Duty games. The Call of Duty franchise died for me with this one. There's a ton of better games on the market such as the Battlefield series. You've been warned.
  5. Jan 23, 2012
    1
    Having played all the Call of Duty series since their first release in 2003, right upto all versions of Black Ops, I cant say anything but that this was a huge disappointment. I did wait for a few months after its release to let the bugs surface and a few patches released. Id hate to see how it performed without all the patching, because even with the patches, its performance andHaving played all the Call of Duty series since their first release in 2003, right upto all versions of Black Ops, I cant say anything but that this was a huge disappointment. I did wait for a few months after its release to let the bugs surface and a few patches released. Id hate to see how it performed without all the patching, because even with the patches, its performance and environmental quality are mediocre at best. I couldnt help but feel like I was playing Medal of Honor combined with Soldier of Fortune II- not something I expect when playing an Activision COD product. All the gameplay modes are there for Solo, Multiplayer and a Zombie mode, but each one of them are about as appealing as going to the dentist. I can not recommend this game as a purchase to anyone. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2011
    3
    It's really really bad, i didnt like the singleplayer because its so annoying... its another fps tunnel where you can mostly view videos and scripted things you cannot skip at all. Also the teammates in sp are blocking you all the game, enemy AI is just stupid etc. Multiplayer is just not skilled, really buggy and dlc prices are not worth them at all. Nobody plays dlc's and its really hardIt's really really bad, i didnt like the singleplayer because its so annoying... its another fps tunnel where you can mostly view videos and scripted things you cannot skip at all. Also the teammates in sp are blocking you all the game, enemy AI is just stupid etc. Multiplayer is just not skilled, really buggy and dlc prices are not worth them at all. Nobody plays dlc's and its really hard to find servers without stupid rules. Its a completly FAIL game. TREYARCH AND BLACK OPS KILLED COD SAGA Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2011
    0
    This games gets an 81? I don't want to live on this planet anymore. No seriously, this game is horrid, why this was made i have no idea. It is boring, kids scream crap over the microphone making your ears hurt and it is overall just a generic "LOL LETS SHOOT PEOPLE" game.
  8. Oct 25, 2011
    1
    Oh you KNOW the **** drill about Post-MW games. The multiplayer is basically the same stuff as MW2, only with a WIKKID AWSOM new currency system. The only fun part about this is is the zombies, which is still rehashed from WaW. Zombies is the only thing saving this game from a zero.
  9. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    Graphics 6/10
    Gameplay 7/10
    Controls 9/10
    Story 3/10
    Characters 4/10
    Level design 7/10
    Weapons 8/10
    AI 5/10
    Multiplayer 8/10
    Presentation 7/10
    User Interface 8/10
    Sounds 7/10
    Music 5/10
  10. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Console players play games that are barely fit for babbies. I can't believe this game sells at all, a useless waste of money. Not to mention the seriously flawed coding and patheticly hitboxy gameplay. Aim is not an issue in this game, just spray and launch explosions. Herp Derp.
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    3
    This game is by far the worst game in the series. Right out of the box it started showing bad signs. I had the disc but had to download it from steam anyway. The game was stuttering a lot even on lowest quality, even though the specs of my pc were quite a bit higher than the minimum specs. Also the graphics were really cartoon-ish. The multiplayer game play was not fun at all. It wasThis game is by far the worst game in the series. Right out of the box it started showing bad signs. I had the disc but had to download it from steam anyway. The game was stuttering a lot even on lowest quality, even though the specs of my pc were quite a bit higher than the minimum specs. Also the graphics were really cartoon-ish. The multiplayer game play was not fun at all. It was really based around killstreaks killing for you. It was also stimulating campy game play. To be honest, a disgrace to the CoD series. Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2013
    4
    Multiplayer still sucks, singleplayer is super short and relatively boring. Graphics look like they are from 2005, perfermance is the worst i've ever seen in a CoD game. What more can I say? It's a bad game.
  13. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    its cod i dont know why i brought it i knew what i was getting my self into ..
    sp is the more annoying the mw2 they take the control form you so much and cut scene after cut scene 1 lvl loads up you move like 10 ft o sorry your going to have to watch this now .. ai is not there but that's the sp you want this for mp right .. soooo 18 players thats more then the consoles but we get
    its cod i dont know why i brought it i knew what i was getting my self into ..
    sp is the more annoying the mw2 they take the control form you so much and cut scene after cut scene 1 lvl loads up you move like 10 ft o sorry your going to have to watch this now .. ai is not there but that's the sp you want this for mp right .. soooo 18 players thats more then the consoles but we get the same amout of spawns then you goto play with the cod players last stand noob tubes its just not fun .. Dont just think ooo you just suck because i can still get top places on the bored but who cant its cod ..
    grfxs looks worse then mw2 which is hard to do soo good job ?? performance when it came out was terrible .. you need a quad core for this i was fine but my buddy brought a game he could not play at a decent fps
    Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    2
    This was the worst Call of Duty game for me and no, I am not talking stats wise. I experienced a lot of different gamecrashes, even tho my i3-540 should run the game flawless. Gamebalance wise, the game had a few OP guns that really annoyed me, this includes the FAMAS and the AK-74u, which I found to be noobguns. Also 3arc didn't dedicate themselves enough to the PC community.
  15. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    When I saw the first trailer I thought, "Oh snap, these graphics are worse than MW2!", and they are. There is no reason for a new game in a series to have worse graphics than the one before (Crysis 2). On the upside, there are actually dedicated servers, unlike MW2's crap IWNet. The downside of the servers are the inability to have 18 players on a ranked server. Overall it's a mediocre game.
  16. Dec 21, 2011
    6
    Black Ops is nowhere near the superb Call of Duty 4, but is still slightly better than Modern Warfare 2. The main reason is that PC players atleast got a server browser. The singleplayer campaign was interesting, but not as good as the modern warfare counterpart.
  17. Jan 4, 2012
    5
    I was extremely dissapointed with Treyarch's work, coming from a huge cod fan I was so sad when this game was unplayable the first 2 weeks because of lagg and freeze, and when they finally got rid of it, the game wasnt even that good, I didnt spent long time on this game before i returned to MW2. Multiplayer is complelety broken, Singleplayer was boring and slow bad story telling, ZombiesI was extremely dissapointed with Treyarch's work, coming from a huge cod fan I was so sad when this game was unplayable the first 2 weeks because of lagg and freeze, and when they finally got rid of it, the game wasnt even that good, I didnt spent long time on this game before i returned to MW2. Multiplayer is complelety broken, Singleplayer was boring and slow bad story telling, Zombies however was kinda fun but it wasnt better than Spec Ops in MW2. Expand
  18. Jan 7, 2012
    0
    For a game so long awaited, It just **** sucks. I cant play it Its clunky mean and horrid. Maps, long, boring, and confusing. Campaign is just a insult to the game itself. Zombies mode, **** hell does it suck. All im trying to say is do not but this game! It boring real fast and just sucks. Lets get real hardcore fans, it sucks.
  19. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    Another example of Activision releasing the same game year after year to please a crowd of screaming 13 year old fanatics. Graphics are okay, and are nothing to write home about. The story is your standard CoD, and in other words, plays exactly the same as other titles in the series. When telling a friend of mine, I hated Call of Duty, he said "Then how come it is so popular?". CoD is onlyAnother example of Activision releasing the same game year after year to please a crowd of screaming 13 year old fanatics. Graphics are okay, and are nothing to write home about. The story is your standard CoD, and in other words, plays exactly the same as other titles in the series. When telling a friend of mine, I hated Call of Duty, he said "Then how come it is so popular?". CoD is only popular to 13 year olds, and in the mature gaming community, is regarded an average piece of crap. Play a decent shooter, like Bioshock or something else that is actually good. Expand
  20. Feb 11, 2012
    0
    Just terrible. Wish I would have read these reviews before I purchased it. IGN gave it a 8.5! WTF. Ok I know I bought this very late. The only reason I bought this was because of the Training Combat mode. I just played Battlefield 3 (which is great in terms of graphics and online play) I also like the "feel" of BF3, they way the weapons respond, the recoil, feels real. Cod:BO on the otherJust terrible. Wish I would have read these reviews before I purchased it. IGN gave it a 8.5! WTF. Ok I know I bought this very late. The only reason I bought this was because of the Training Combat mode. I just played Battlefield 3 (which is great in terms of graphics and online play) I also like the "feel" of BF3, they way the weapons respond, the recoil, feels real. Cod:BO on the other hand feels cheap. Really cheap. My graphics card is not even breaking a sweat. Looks like a game from 2003. The thing is I was really disappointed that BF3 didn't have a single player mode with bots like 1942 and BF2. The truth is I'm no good online. I get my ass kicked and cant really enjoy the game. I've been playing BF2/Allied Intent for years and I love that I can play the game with bots. Much more fun for me since I can take my time, explore the maps, set the difficulty. I'm so disappointed that DICE decide to forgo the bot mode in BF3 for a campaign I finished in 6 hours. Anyway, I totally wasted $39.99 on this game. The Combat Training mode is horrible as well. Very small maps compared to the BF series and not as many weapons. This game should be $19.99 (or less). You can buy Bad Company 2 for $19.99 and the game is far superior. Don't waste your money on this. I'll never play a CoD game again. Expand
  21. Mar 10, 2012
    1
    just how bad can you make a game people?Honestly the worst experience i ever had with a modern shooter,the multiplayer was a total clusterfu**,every bloody server filled with little try hards camping in the corners but i dont blame them because the game was built for them,perfectly crap over powered weapons.No balance between any of the guns.Spawn rape totally enabled,over poweredjust how bad can you make a game people?Honestly the worst experience i ever had with a modern shooter,the multiplayer was a total clusterfu**,every bloody server filled with little try hards camping in the corners but i dont blame them because the game was built for them,perfectly crap over powered weapons.No balance between any of the guns.Spawn rape totally enabled,over powered killstreaks and finally a piece of shi* campaign with no good story to it. Expand
  22. Jul 9, 2012
    4
    trully one of the worst call of duty games I've played. The storyline is confusing and gets boring after a while. The zombie mode is really good but I wanted more maps and better servers since it's really hard to connect with friends. The muliplayer mode was a pain in the ass... The MW2 server system was much better I did not like neither the maps nor the weapons and I found it reallttrully one of the worst call of duty games I've played. The storyline is confusing and gets boring after a while. The zombie mode is really good but I wanted more maps and better servers since it's really hard to connect with friends. The muliplayer mode was a pain in the ass... The MW2 server system was much better I did not like neither the maps nor the weapons and I found it reallt frustrating that I couldnt connect with any of my friends on private servers... Expand
  23. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    Black Ops haves an addictive multiplayer, and a memorable story mode. Zombies is a blast fun that you will have, but the problem are the glitches and some complicated controls. But, impressive is that the PC version haves great graphics. Overall, the game is worth buying, and, for sure, I recommend for everyone, especially for the fast paced gamers. 80 out of 100.
  24. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    Having spent 400+ hours in this game and loving every one of those hours I honestly can't help giving it a 10 (for multiplayer).

    SP score of 0 though, boring on rails story with zero attractiveness imho.
    Zombie mode gets a 2 for effort but I don't really like it, the whole thing feels like you need an IQ bellow 80 to enjoy...
  25. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    **** trolls man, giving the mighty CoD a 0 the best game of the year each year, this version of CoD called black ops is another example of why Activision is the last bastion of honest publisher out there, thank you Activision for such great hardcore multiplayer cinematic experience, can't wait to play the 2 and the 3 and maybe the 4. oh and don't mind the 0 is Ironic, like this review.
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    The best Call of duty since Call of duty 4: Modern Warfare.
    Cool weapons, great multiplayer maps. The solo campaign is ok, but as usual now, it's the competitive multiplayer that takes this game to a new level.
  27. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    What the F*&K is wrong with the haters, this is by far the best call of duty, for me: GOTY 2010, even better than HALO Reach.
  28. Aug 10, 2013
    3
    Maybe I was just so looking forward to this game, but what a let down. Awful graphics, terrible shot recognition, claustrophobic maps, useless weapons. Tryarch games are garbage compared to Infinity Ward. Absolutely awful...
  29. Oct 17, 2013
    2
    Good god, avoid this like the plauge. This game relies too heavily on the multiplayer which bores me with repetitive crap that isn't fun in the slightest, and the missions on campaign (The campaign is supposed to be a highlight of a game, not the multiplayer, am I right?) Terrible AI frustrates you, lack of weapons and predictable story beats you up yet the missions were so long andGood god, avoid this like the plauge. This game relies too heavily on the multiplayer which bores me with repetitive crap that isn't fun in the slightest, and the missions on campaign (The campaign is supposed to be a highlight of a game, not the multiplayer, am I right?) Terrible AI frustrates you, lack of weapons and predictable story beats you up yet the missions were so long and boring! Ammo is little, health is ridiculous and the weapons are too OP! There are no goods in this game, people die in about 3 bullets hitting their LEG, and the fun factor is dumb. Too overrated. Expand
  30. Nov 15, 2013
    4
    This was the last Call of Duty game i bothered to buy. 60 bucks and then later asking money for DLC was beyond me. I would sell this game along with MW2 but its stamped forever on my steam account, oh the shame. Its just an console port that is broken on the pc. And paying the money they asked for this mess is like stealing straight out of your pockets. It maybe good on consoles but itsThis was the last Call of Duty game i bothered to buy. 60 bucks and then later asking money for DLC was beyond me. I would sell this game along with MW2 but its stamped forever on my steam account, oh the shame. Its just an console port that is broken on the pc. And paying the money they asked for this mess is like stealing straight out of your pockets. It maybe good on consoles but its not for PC. Expand
  31. May 24, 2012
    6
    While the game itself has an epic story and lots of flashes, the main issues of playing this game all goes with some rare bugs, glitches and server issues. Also the graphics are outdated. Even playing the zombie or skirmish modes require Internet access and that's unacceptable. Overall, a decent game that shall require lots of improvement to be made there.
  32. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    The series is starting to become somewhat stale and Black Ops is evidence of that. This game does not do enough new things to earn a very high rating and yet it is not bad enough to be given a shocker. The positives are that the single player storyline is engaging and easy to follow, something which is a big improvement on Modern Warfare. However, the actual play itself remains linear andThe series is starting to become somewhat stale and Black Ops is evidence of that. This game does not do enough new things to earn a very high rating and yet it is not bad enough to be given a shocker. The positives are that the single player storyline is engaging and easy to follow, something which is a big improvement on Modern Warfare. However, the actual play itself remains linear and uninspiring at times. The multiplayer seems to have stagnated. It was done really well in Modern Warfare but I just found things lacking in this respect with Black Ops. Finally, the graphics engine is in major need of an overhaul. Crysis 2 has demonstrated what can be done in this day and age. The CoD series needs to catch up. Expand
  33. Dec 12, 2010
    5
    This game has all the new modern technology applied for the best playing experience. However, this creates a lot of bugs and errors, especially in Multiplayer mode. Many people, including me, are facing game crashes, freezes, errors, and the only way out is to get the task manager in front of your screen. Even people with higher specs than the minimum required specs face these problems.

    I
    This game has all the new modern technology applied for the best playing experience. However, this creates a lot of bugs and errors, especially in Multiplayer mode. Many people, including me, are facing game crashes, freezes, errors, and the only way out is to get the task manager in front of your screen. Even people with higher specs than the minimum required specs face these problems.

    I still prefer the previous editions of Call of Duty because these editions are, in my opinion, made with love and money did not really influence the game. What I really do like is the zombie mode, as seen in Call of Duty World at War, but the Black Ops Zombies still can't beat the original from World at War.
    Expand
  34. Feb 17, 2011
    6
    If you own Call of Duty 4, you'll probably feel a little cheated when you play Black Ops multiplayer. There are very few new features or innovations and the gameplay is exactly the same. The coop zombie survival mode is a good addition and the single player is decent, but considering the steep price tag, it's difficult to justify a been there, done that game.
  35. Dec 24, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has been hailed as a capolavoro.ma is it? short, let us look into the face of infinity wards Treyarch is better than the single player campaign is great and better than the other code but the multiplayer is lacking, how unnecessary
    modernwarfare I played when I got to 70 hours are still a breath left him at 33, that game does not deserve the zombie mode is trivial
    Expand
  36. Dec 26, 2010
    4
    Un jeu nul ou le cheat règne déjà en maitre. Dommage cela aurait pu être pas mal. Mais à trop vouloir de "fric" activision fait désormais des C O D "passoires ou n'importe quel gamin immature s'achete un cheat via internet avec la CB de papa maman !!!!
  37. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    This review is for multilayer only since that is all I played over the free weekend on Steam. PROS:
    -Dedicated Servers -Bigger teams -Some new stuff -No quick-scoping(?) -You can now lean to peak around a corner -Lag? Well it's less laggy than MW2. -Zombies -You can play against bots. -Maps have trains that go by and other stuff, which I think was neat. -Less wait time between
    This review is for multilayer only since that is all I played over the free weekend on Steam. PROS:
    -Dedicated Servers -Bigger teams -Some new stuff -No quick-scoping(?) -You can now lean to peak around a corner -Lag? Well it's less laggy than MW2. -Zombies -You can play against bots. -Maps have trains that go by and other stuff, which I think was neat. -Less wait time between rounds.
    CONS: -The maps I played pretty much suck, most are too small for bigger teams (are there even that many included?). -Graphics don't look as good as MW2 for some reason even on high settings (isn't it the same engine?) -Overpriced map packs that you pretty much have to buy or you get rejected or kicked by most servers (well at least I did). -What happened to all the secondary weapons (I didn't see any machine pistols; did I miss something)?. -Interface takes some getting used to, seems a little too busy (why spend so much time redoing it?). -Why rename things in the game? Call them the same as they were called in MW2 -Why can't I change up my classes between rounds or look at new stuff I unlocked anymore? I have to exit the server/game I'm in just to do that? That is just dumb. -Sound effects seem cheap and poorly done (MW2's sound is so much better)...everything sounds almost muffled. -Weapons just don't feel the same as they did in MW2...overall it just feels like a cheaply made game. -What's with the long load times? MW2 didn't take nearly as long to load maps....there is always this hang time when the loading bar is at 100% for like 2-4 minutes.
    Overall the game is OKAY at best so I'm giving it a yellowish rating. It doesn't deserve an extremely low rating and it certainly deserves nothing in the greenish zone. This game is overpriced at $60, and even with the sale price on Steam over the weekend for $40, it's still overpriced. Given the fact that the game is not well made, it should have been priced at around $30-- especially since they price map packs at $15 that you pretty much HAVE to buy if you want to continue enjoying the game. Thanks for the free weekend Activision, but I'll save my money for a better game....MW3 maybe? Well given the fact that it just seems like Activision sees the COD franchise as a cash-cow now because fanboys will buy up any trash they spew out with the words "Call of Duty" on it, I won't hold my breath.
    Expand
  38. Mar 9, 2011
    1
    Terrible game, no matter what platform you play it on. Multiplayer is identical to MW2's. For some reason, and im not very sure why, i REALY hate the singleplayer. perhaps the lack of originality or how linear it is really breaks it. This game is just a money whore for treyarch and activision.
  39. Feb 4, 2011
    2
    For a game which we all looked forward to this is was and remains a serious let down. If you are one of the lucky people who can actually play the game without stuttering and general bad performance the single player story is pretty cool but let down but some extremely pathetic enemy & NPC AI - don't be surprised to walk right past an enemy who is standing next to a teammate doingFor a game which we all looked forward to this is was and remains a serious let down. If you are one of the lucky people who can actually play the game without stuttering and general bad performance the single player story is pretty cool but let down but some extremely pathetic enemy & NPC AI - don't be surprised to walk right past an enemy who is standing next to a teammate doing absolutely nothing. The MP is well boring - there is no lobby to chat and you need to leave a server before you can build a class - which incidentally will reset itself more often than not. The AK47u is so over used it is like playing the same player over and over again. There is also no need to ADS as hip fire is so accurate that this is a noobs paradise. Heavy Camp mode (Hardcore) is more software due to no aiming required that this game simply fails. Have played this for about 2 month's and in all honesty me and all most of my steam friends list are all playing MW2 again, yeah MW2 is not perfect and has it's share of issues but it is seriously a better game. I do not recommend this game to anyone - rather buy it if it ever becomes really cheap as it will just waste your money and frustrate you. Expand
  40. Feb 5, 2011
    6
    Black Ops, what to say? Treyarch made it half-assed. They more or less copied and pasted MW2, made it look a lil older, made the graphics a lil more uglier and wah la Black Ops!!! First off, pretty much every gun and perk from MW2 was moved to Black Ops, where they were "polished" as Treyarch had said, so more or less changing the abilities of a few perks, changing their name. Look at theBlack Ops, what to say? Treyarch made it half-assed. They more or less copied and pasted MW2, made it look a lil older, made the graphics a lil more uglier and wah la Black Ops!!! First off, pretty much every gun and perk from MW2 was moved to Black Ops, where they were "polished" as Treyarch had said, so more or less changing the abilities of a few perks, changing their name. Look at the guns, same guns as in MW2, Treyarch had released a statement that the guns were suppose to "prototypes" to the guns in MW2, basically an excuse to not have to design very many new guns, just copy and paste :) Equipment was very naive......Claymores? In the 60's? I highly doubt they had lasers powerful enough to be small enough to fit in a claymore, come on Treyarch at least try... The CEO of Treyarch had also removed QS'in because he said "Its a cheap, underhanded tactic." Excuse me? You took out something many people loved, but you left in noob toobs and claymores? Right. Black Ops felt alot like a crappy update on MW2, could even be called a Mod. They used the same engine as WaW, Treyarch was insanely lazy with this game. In-fact, they released a statement a few days ago saying "The biggest problem is -negative- players." Well, if you had actually TRIED to make a CoD game, instead you chose to do a few updates and set the timeline back 50 years. You think you can get away with making a half assed game, just cause CoD is the cash cow it is (which they obviously did). That said, lets talk about the PC Conversion. The game was made on a PC, so why would they convert it to a piece of crap console, and then convert it back to PC in the most **** way possible? Treyarch has made many unfavorable choices in the making of this -once again- half-assed game. But there are a few things........that just made me smile uncontrollably, i mean your blood really starts pumping when you shoot a dude 15ft infront of you with a freaking knife-gun known as a Balistic Knife, or you break out a crossbow with plastic explosive on the tip....... Then you have Customization, making your own emblem, around a good 15 or so camos for guns, face paint. Somehow, when you sit down and play Black Ops, and you just.....get into your gaming mode, you forget about Treyarchs failed turn at the CoD franchise, no you only focus on the guy you just shot in the forehead with a balistic knife. In the end, Black Ops is playable, and indeed enjoyable. What would i like to see Treyarch do in the future? Update your Engine, actually do Beta's, and listen to the players, oh and is having a whole new set of guns and perks and attachments too much to ask for? Black Ops isn't worth $60 but, if you can find it on a sale, or get a good deal on it, take it. Expand
  41. Feb 8, 2011
    1
    Waste of money!!! Poor graphics compared to MwF2...same type of mode games...nothing new...ah! and it doesnt work in the majority of PC´s dont buy it you will waste your money...i bought it and i never open it because it doesnt work and sound is terrible compared to other COD games...terrible sound, terrible graphics, low detail...very bad game
  42. Feb 8, 2011
    6
    Black Ops for the PC is a unique game. Before you purchase this game you should probably pray to whatever deity you believe in, that this game can run on your gaming rig. If you have an i7 with a nVidia 480gtx x 2 in SLI, prepare to feel like you've wasted your money on upgrading your machine.

    Stop... It's not your computer, its this poorly optimized, xbox 360 port of a game. This game
    Black Ops for the PC is a unique game. Before you purchase this game you should probably pray to whatever deity you believe in, that this game can run on your gaming rig. If you have an i7 with a nVidia 480gtx x 2 in SLI, prepare to feel like you've wasted your money on upgrading your machine.

    Stop...

    It's not your computer, its this poorly optimized, xbox 360 port of a game. This game runs terrible for many people, and if you're one of the lucky few who can truly run this game without FPS drops, than thank God. Besides the sluggish performance, the game continues in the path set by MW2.. that is, over powered weapons, unbalanced game play, and overall same ole, same ole bs that we're all used to. If you loved being torn down in MW2 by a silenced UMP wielding super kid with marathon and stopping power, than you'll love Black Ops' AK74u and Famas. Honestly their is absolutely NO point in using any other weapons besides those... Balance... Does not exist in this game... Person with the best weapon wins, always...

    If you love being killed by a marathon running, no scoping, sleight of hand pro kid with a sub machine gun at their waist, than this game is for you. If you love playing on a really small map, because most servers only play "Nuketown", Black Ops smallest map, than this is the game for you.

    If you love sluggish game play, 12 year olds, and overpowered sub machine guns, this game is for you.

    Other than that, this Call of Duty will surely not be missed, save your money for developers who truly pay attention to the PC community, and who can develop a suitably decent game.
    Expand
  43. Feb 9, 2011
    5
    Regressive. CoD: Black Ops shines in the presentation department. It looks and feels like a modern-day animated movie. Sadly enough, this stands in stark contrast with the shallow gameplay.


    The core action, shooting things, mostly resemble the classic rail-shooter. The narrow path is completely fixed, alternating with truly small open spaces. Straying more than 20 meters fromRegressive. CoD: Black Ops shines in the presentation department. It looks and feels like a modern-day animated movie. Sadly enough, this stands in stark contrast with the shallow gameplay.


    The core action, shooting things, mostly resemble the classic rail-shooter. The narrow path is completely fixed, alternating with truly small open spaces. Straying more than 20 meters from teammates results in a mission failure and an accompanying message about abandonment. The single decision left to the player is where to point and shoot.


    Dumbed down for consoles, the controls are erratic. At moments not allowing certain avatar actions like crouching. In the same vain are the arcade sequences where the player has to rapidly, and sometimes repeatedly, press a certain key.


    These gameplay mechanics require a lot of exposition; press key x, watch the grenade indicator indicator etc.. The necessary guidelines keep popping up throughout the game, constantly breaking immersion .


    For a pc game this is a large step backwards, to the pre-Half Life era. If you have not done so, look into Far Cy 1 and Crysis for games offering better depth and balance.
    Expand
  44. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    This installment is so pathetic i feel they owe me the $59.99 for having to play it. The cinema ticâ
  45. Feb 13, 2011
    1
    Ok I will be as honest as I can be, I have played all of the Call Of Duty came (on the pc) and cod 1 was ground breaking cod 2 proved it was not a fluke and was even better, Modem Warfare 1 the next step forward and an excellent all round game.
    Then it wall went a bit pear shaped, Modem Warfare 2 was a bad clone of Modem Warfare 1, it was almost like they were trying too hard to write an
    Ok I will be as honest as I can be, I have played all of the Call Of Duty came (on the pc) and cod 1 was ground breaking cod 2 proved it was not a fluke and was even better, Modem Warfare 1 the next step forward and an excellent all round game.
    Then it wall went a bit pear shaped, Modem Warfare 2 was a bad clone of Modem Warfare 1, it was almost like they were trying too hard to write an exerting story.
    Anyway then came Call Of Duty Black Opps and oh dear they did it again, far too much time was spent on the story and not enough on the game play.
    In single player, you play for five minuets then watch a five minuet cut scene then play for five minuets and watch another five minuet cut scene, and the whole thing goes on and on in the same boring patten.
    At about half way through the game you start to skip the cut scene's which have obviously had more work on than the game its self and you totally lose any interest in the rather dull story and just want to finish the game.
    multi player is OK at best and that's being kind, the unlock system is straight out of battlefield 2 and the game play is heavily flawed in so many places with bad spawning, some very amateurish maps (I have seen better user made maps in counter strike ). Then there's the bad frame rate and the lag issues, all in all its a lazy effort and not worth your time or money.
    My advice is give this one a miss.
    Expand
  46. Feb 13, 2011
    1
    Ok I will be as honest as I can be, I have played all of the Call Of Duty came (on the pc) and cod 1 was ground breaking cod 2 proved it was not a fluke and was even better, Modem Warfare 1 the next step forward and an excellent all round game. Then it wall went a bit pear shaped, Modem Warfare 2 was a bad clone of Modem Warfare 1, it was almost like they were trying too hard to write anOk I will be as honest as I can be, I have played all of the Call Of Duty came (on the pc) and cod 1 was ground breaking cod 2 proved it was not a fluke and was even better, Modem Warfare 1 the next step forward and an excellent all round game. Then it wall went a bit pear shaped, Modem Warfare 2 was a bad clone of Modem Warfare 1, it was almost like they were trying too hard to write an exerting story. Anyway then came Call Of Duty Black Opps and oh dear they did it again, far too much time was spent on the story and not enough on the game play. In single player, you play for five minuets then watch a five minuet cut scene then play for five minuets and watch another five minuet cut scene, and the whole thing goes on and on in the same boring patten. At about half way through the game you start to skip the cut scene's which have obviously had more work on than the game its self and you totally lose any interest in the rather dull story and just want to finish the game. multi player is OK at best and that's being kind, the unlock system is straight out of battlefield 2 and the game play is heavily flawed in so many places with bad spawning, some very amateurish maps (I have seen better user made maps in counter strike ). Then there's the bad frame rate and the lag issues, all in all its a lazy effort and not worth your time or money. My advice is give this one a miss Expand
  47. Feb 19, 2011
    2
    Obviously the critics and the users played very different games.

    This game is not worth 60 dollars. I beat the campaign on hard mode in 4 hours total. I'm not even trying to say I'm that good, I died a lot. I mean A LOT, but we'll come back to that. The deaths didn't matter, my play time was still only 4 hours. This is woefully inadequate. I understand there's a zombie thing tacked onto
    Obviously the critics and the users played very different games.

    This game is not worth 60 dollars. I beat the campaign on hard mode in 4 hours total. I'm not even trying to say I'm that good, I died a lot. I mean A LOT, but we'll come back to that. The deaths didn't matter, my play time was still only 4 hours. This is woefully inadequate. I understand there's a zombie thing tacked onto the end, but that just strikes me as some lazy excuse to be able to say "See, look how much extra content we gave you!" It's not extra if the main event leaves me feeling cheated. As for my deaths they were very rarely from enemies and more often from scripted sequences that take more than one attempt to realize what the heck you are supposed to be doing. Your objectives are not always clearly explained, often the game relies on just putting a yellow target marker on whatever it is you're supposed to be doing, and doesn't explain it at all. Since the enemies are usually infinite you could mow them down all day and go nowhere. The friendly AI is useless and doesn't kill anything unless you move forward into often unsafe territory (and even then the friendly AI can walk within hand shaking distance of enemies without batting an eye). However, once they advance, magically enemies can't be behind you. However, if you expect them to cover you by killing a guy 5 feet from them, you are sadly mistaken. Y=MX+B... the game is absurdly linear, but tries to pretend like the world isn't. However, the developers thought it would make the game seem bigger if they made it more open. So instead of visible walls boxing you in, there are now invisible ones. Well they aren't walls so much as just you randomly dying if you stray more than 25 feet outside of the designated plot area. And I really mean that, there are missions where if you don't do X you die, not because someone is shooting you, or because something horrible and impending happens if you aren't fast enough, no it's just because the game developers couldn't think of a better deterent method to keep you on task.

    Eye candy? Yes the game looks great, and it runs well. A lot of people have complained about instability, but this isn't one of my gripes. The game didn't crash ones. It alt tabs just fine and this is running at 1680x1080 with 4x AA and high texture details on 3 year old hardware. However, about 1/6 of the game is cut sequences where you can't even really move, so while it does look pretty, I didn't pay 60 bucks to watch a poorly scripted movie.

    Ah the script... The plot is terrible. They make it intentionally obscure in the beginning, but rather than reveal bits and pieces along the way they just keep it obscure before making it completely obvious what has happened and treating it like you the player has just put the puzzle together.

    I haven't played the multiplayer, but honestly I didn't expect it to be better than CoD4's multiplayer, I only bought this to try out the single player and it wasn't worth close to 60 dollars. Maybe 15....
    Expand
  48. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    For starters, I'm not here to bad mouth the CoD franchise, I have many good memories with the games in the past, but Black Ops simply doesn't lend to any of those good memories. In short, the game is forgettable. Visually, nothing here is really stellar, it looks very similar to World at War which came out a few years back. Another underwhelming aspect that I haven't seen many peopleFor starters, I'm not here to bad mouth the CoD franchise, I have many good memories with the games in the past, but Black Ops simply doesn't lend to any of those good memories. In short, the game is forgettable. Visually, nothing here is really stellar, it looks very similar to World at War which came out a few years back. Another underwhelming aspect that I haven't seen many people mention is the audio. Guns sound like deadly popcorn makers. But the game does have an excellent selection of original pieces and music from the 1970's era in which it occurs. Single player is enjoyable until you get into the convoluted ending, but there are some excellent moments, my favorite being the mission where you are driving a PT boat and in the background "Sympathy for the Devil" begins to play. Multiplayer is another big let down. No longer is there a "SpecOps" mode, one of my favorite features of MW II. I know, it's Treyarch, but still,, Zombies just doesn't feel fun in the BO setting (even in the special unlockable mode). Also, the competitive portion is made obnoxious due to the currency system. Expand
  49. Feb 23, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME : The worst first person shooter ever created. If you want hours of frustration, misery and rage while playing online with the biggest collection of hackers, cheats and abusive scum ever to gather in one place buy Black Ops. If you want a great, balanced and good fun shooter buy Battlefield Bad Company 2 or Medal Of Honour. Black Ops is a disgrace. The maps areDO NOT BUY THIS GAME : The worst first person shooter ever created. If you want hours of frustration, misery and rage while playing online with the biggest collection of hackers, cheats and abusive scum ever to gather in one place buy Black Ops. If you want a great, balanced and good fun shooter buy Battlefield Bad Company 2 or Medal Of Honour. Black Ops is a disgrace. The maps are too small, spawning is the worst spawn mechanics I have ever experienced in a game. Die, spawn in amongst the enemy and die immediately. Spawn move from the spawn point and within a couple of seconds enemies spawn behind you and shoot you in the back. Watch blatant hacking and aimbot users not getting kicked off the server and ruining the match. Observe kill streak hacks that send a constant stream of Chopper Gunners and Attack Dogs being sent your way. Watch is complete awe as Treyarch completely ignore the complaints of their customer base and forum community liason employees act with complete contempt on the forums. Activision I will never buy a Call Of Duty game again. Treyarch stole my money and are completely useless load of money grabbers. Do yourselves a favour and get rid of them. Expand
  50. Feb 24, 2011
    0
    A pathetic money grab by activision... close to unplayable and not worth the insane price its being sold for
    I should of just set my money on fire, that would of been more fun
  51. Mar 4, 2011
    6
    The game itself technical issues aside is great. No real huge innovations other than Wager Match (and even there they simply copy from other games *counter strike*) but still the balance in the game is great, the customization is fun and the game play is solid. Technical Issues... just kill it. The first month after release the game was an epic disaster both on the server side and theThe game itself technical issues aside is great. No real huge innovations other than Wager Match (and even there they simply copy from other games *counter strike*) but still the balance in the game is great, the customization is fun and the game play is solid. Technical Issues... just kill it. The first month after release the game was an epic disaster both on the server side and the client side. A bunch of patches later and we still get micro stutters, server crashes, and lost stats. The game to this date is still not 100%

    With the quote by fourzerotwo of Infinity Ward saying that "building a new engine would be counter productive", O_o, I think that CoD is now a paint by numbers franchise and it is only 1 or 2 games before CoD goes the way of Tony Hawk and Guitar Hero. In Battlefield 3 we Trust.
    Expand
  52. Mar 7, 2011
    2
    Very little new in this game aside from the UI. Gameplay mechanics are the same as ever but the Treyarch engine seems to really really suck. This game doesn't even run properly on many systems that are way beyond the minimum system requirements, even on minimum settings. Many have asked for refunds and got them. Avoid, unless you know what you are in for. Overhyped rubbish.
  53. Mar 9, 2011
    1
    WHAT WHERE YOU THINKING... this is the worst 60 bux i ever spent... NOTHING changed with the graphics except anti aliasing is now 16x . MORE LAG THEN MW2 if you can believe that... this game is crap and significantly less fun than mw2. maps are shotty, guns are still oped as **** and the hipfire is... ****ing bull****...if you can heed my prayers... whatever is left of infinity ward SAVEWHAT WHERE YOU THINKING... this is the worst 60 bux i ever spent... NOTHING changed with the graphics except anti aliasing is now 16x . MORE LAG THEN MW2 if you can believe that... this game is crap and significantly less fun than mw2. maps are shotty, guns are still oped as **** and the hipfire is... ****ing bull****...if you can heed my prayers... whatever is left of infinity ward SAVE OUR SOULS.â Expand
  54. Mar 9, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. haha 60â Expand
  55. Mar 10, 2011
    7
    I am quite pleased with this call of duty. certainly better than WAW. Despite half of the weapons in the game being non existant at the time, ie the ak74 being developed and made in 1974 and being given to the vietcong in the 60's.... The graphics are great, but could be upgraded slightly i think, i played on a DX10 card on full spec. the weapons are amazing exept the ak47 was far tooI am quite pleased with this call of duty. certainly better than WAW. Despite half of the weapons in the game being non existant at the time, ie the ak74 being developed and made in 1974 and being given to the vietcong in the 60's.... The graphics are great, but could be upgraded slightly i think, i played on a DX10 card on full spec. the weapons are amazing exept the ak47 was far too rapid in my opinion, felt like 800 rpm. The story was rich and touched my inner fellings at some parts. The game play WASNT short as i got a good 6 - 7 hours out of it. Runs great on my pc no crashes ingame from an entire playthrough and the variety of weapons is just impeccable. I still dont like that cheap specular lighting thing that makes the characters glow silver still. Overall this game hasnt been so bad as some people make it out to be. But i am quite annoyed how they design the damn game on computers but end up porting it from consoles to the computer. Expand
  56. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Isn't this the SAME game I've already played like, 3 times? And even if it is the same game, couldn't they have at least TRIED to fix bugs, glitches, and game balance problems? Couldn't they have fixed these game breaking problems after THREE TRIES? I just wish some of the non-user reviews were more honest. I don't understand how they can ignore the fact that the game barely runs, even onIsn't this the SAME game I've already played like, 3 times? And even if it is the same game, couldn't they have at least TRIED to fix bugs, glitches, and game balance problems? Couldn't they have fixed these game breaking problems after THREE TRIES? I just wish some of the non-user reviews were more honest. I don't understand how they can ignore the fact that the game barely runs, even on consoles. Expand
  57. Mar 11, 2011
    3
    This game was impressive to some degree. I actually like the mechanics of multiplayer, it was harder and more thrilling than MW:2 was in terms of multiplayer combat. The biggest problem with this game is performance. Being a supposedly "shelf ready" game, should not have had nearly as many performance issues as it did upon release. The first 2 patches fixed a lot of it, but it gotThis game was impressive to some degree. I actually like the mechanics of multiplayer, it was harder and more thrilling than MW:2 was in terms of multiplayer combat. The biggest problem with this game is performance. Being a supposedly "shelf ready" game, should not have had nearly as many performance issues as it did upon release. The first 2 patches fixed a lot of it, but it got progressively worse from there. It has gotten to the point where multiplayer is pretty much unplayable in a lot of cases. Not only was performance an issue, but for the first month after release there was a bug in the final stages of multiplayer that made it impossible to complete. During one of the cut scenes one of the characters would all of a sudden appear with an AK 47 in his hands and would just stand there staring at you. You were unable to progress past that point. Eventually (a month or two later) they released a patch that fixed that bug (and the character in question no longer suddenly appeared with an AK in his hands out of nowhere). This would have been a great game if it wasn't for the fact that the "patches" they keep releasing making the performance issues progressively worse. It also seems to be breaking the mechanics more and more every time they patch it. At present, you can fire off 5 perfect shots with a sniper rifle into someone's head and every single shot will miss. There's something really wrong with that. I stopped playing for about a month or so, when I came back I started having an issue where the game would just lock up at the server browser and had to kill the process from the task manager. I'm not sure why they are unable to fix this game other than there's something in the core design that is just making it worse when they do try to fix it. I would recommend you just save your money for Crysis 2 or something else. This is definitely not worth purchasing, and honestly I have never seen a release as bad as this one in terms of bugs and performance issues. Expand
  58. Mar 15, 2011
    5
    This game has an enjoyable single player campaign, but short (as is traditional of all FPS' these days). As with the previous installments it's cinematic and flashy with lots of explosions etc etc but the story is typical action story lies and deceit (with the traditional evil Russians) but people don't buy these games for the single player they get them for the multiplayer.
    I could not
    This game has an enjoyable single player campaign, but short (as is traditional of all FPS' these days). As with the previous installments it's cinematic and flashy with lots of explosions etc etc but the story is typical action story lies and deceit (with the traditional evil Russians) but people don't buy these games for the single player they get them for the multiplayer.
    I could not get into the multiplayer, I tried, I really tried, but it just is not for me. If you liked WaW you might like it, if you preferred MW & MW2 then just wait till November when the next games out (we all know it will be)
    Expand
  59. Mar 16, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is either a love or hate game. There are lots of problems in the game. The black ops servers are totally messed up. Pings are base jumping. Finding a server with good ping is almost impossible. The graphic for this game is really a problem when it comes to playing. You need to have a good cpu to run this game. A intel i3 or a duo core isn't good enough. The only way you will enjoy this game is having a good CPU and finding a server with good ping. Multi player game play is even worse, remember when you always complain about the terrible spawn points in mw2? well, black ops is even worse. Capture the Flag, i just spawned in my base and this guy with the flag knifes me in the back.Also The amount of bullets taken to kill a player in black ops is just unrealistic, 2 shots in the head? in real life, it hardly takes two shots, and that is shooting at the chest. Players in black ops dont even shoot people with guns, they go around the place with a ballistic knife and starts stabbing people. What makes them do that? Treyarch increased the melee range, it is like having the commando perk in mw2 but it is automatic. but there is a good change, you cant replenish tube ammo, which means less noob tubers. The creat a class menu , you have to reach a lvl to unlock the gun, and then you have to buy it also. why not you get the gun when you reach that lvl? Instead of unlocking and buying, but the good thing Treyarch did was that now you can buy the attachments instead in mw2 unlock them. There is another problem that i noticed in the attachment combination, why cant you put a grenadier with another attachment? Also why cant you put duel mags with extended mags? you can tape two extended mags together you know? Good thing are there are a lot more customization in black ops than in mw2, like the emblem for example, you can creat your own emblem. Instead of using the default ones. Also the red dot sight and the reflex sight attachment, you don't always have to have a red dot as your sight, you can now select one from the list. there are loads of good ones and funny ones. if you want to buy this game, the things you have to consider is:
    Do you have a Good CPU?
    Do you have a Good Graphic Card?
    Do you have Good internet access? If you dont have all three things above, then dont buy this game.
    Expand
  60. Mar 23, 2011
    7
    Pretty good Campaign mode, great story and fun scenarios. I didn't play the multiplayer, which is probably the main point of this game, but i suspect it to be the same as MW:2 in that aspect, as in I don't enjoy it much. Too many snipers and not enough tactics turns this game into a "hide from snipers" experience which means there is no real way to develop any form of fighting againstPretty good Campaign mode, great story and fun scenarios. I didn't play the multiplayer, which is probably the main point of this game, but i suspect it to be the same as MW:2 in that aspect, as in I don't enjoy it much. Too many snipers and not enough tactics turns this game into a "hide from snipers" experience which means there is no real way to develop any form of fighting against them. The only way to win is to become a sniper. Try BFBC:2 or BFBC2:Vietnam if you want some real game play online. 7 only for the single player campaign Expand
  61. Mar 26, 2011
    0
    I bought this game in NOV of 2010 and unistalled it 3 weeks later. This game bar far is pure trash! The multiplayer is junk every map looks the samel. Everything is build around metal walls that have vertical lines going throught it. Every maps is the size of a sardine can! I wouldn't suggest this game to my worst enemy! It is JUNK! Small maps! Every maps looks the SAME! Stop buying intoI bought this game in NOV of 2010 and unistalled it 3 weeks later. This game bar far is pure trash! The multiplayer is junk every map looks the samel. Everything is build around metal walls that have vertical lines going throught it. Every maps is the size of a sardine can! I wouldn't suggest this game to my worst enemy! It is JUNK! Small maps! Every maps looks the SAME! Stop buying into the hype and the marketing of these games! The COD series is DEAD! Stop buying the name brand, and stop buying the COD series it's JUNK! They make sniper rifles in this game for what? To shoot in a sardine can? Bunny hopping, knifing loser all running through LAG! COD IS DEAD! Don't buy this game it's JUNK! Expand
  62. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Treyarch did a much better job with BLOPS than IW did with MW2. BLOPS got most of the important PC features right, ie, dedicated servers, adjustable fov, dev console, etc.. The main problem is that it performs bad for some people but other than that it's a well done console port.

    I give it a 10 because it deserves more than what users are giving it.
  63. Apr 23, 2011
    5
    ATTENTION ACTIVISION: IF MW3 turns out to be just like the CONSOLE PORT ABORTION that is Black Ops upon release, then I will NEVER buy another game PUBLISHED by ACTIVISION for your poor ethics of releasing a steaming pile of crap ported games, I can assume there are just as many FPS PC gamers as there are Console gamers...You know you have a following of gamers who enjoy Call of DutyATTENTION ACTIVISION: IF MW3 turns out to be just like the CONSOLE PORT ABORTION that is Black Ops upon release, then I will NEVER buy another game PUBLISHED by ACTIVISION for your poor ethics of releasing a steaming pile of crap ported games, I can assume there are just as many FPS PC gamers as there are Console gamers...You know you have a following of gamers who enjoy Call of Duty games, I have enjoyed them since Modern Warfare 1 & 2, but since then, the release dates have been always November of each of the previous years...and black ops upon release to PC Gamers, was the beta itself, it took months just to fix the major retard issues with the games stuttering and lag issues, and even then, the game still runs like $hit.Not just MP but even the single player campaign is a crap shoot, glitchy as well, but apparently that was fixed,so I will say the single player is short, but enjoyable. But most people buy the game for the MP experience .I should give it a 1 for how bad the game runs, but it gets a 5 because the gameplay itself is incredibly addicting. I have played Black Ops on PS3/Xbox, and the game looks better on consoles than on my PC with a 1080P display and AMD Phenom II 1090T 3.6ghz OC with a Radeon 6950 2gb DDR5 and 8GB of DDR3 ram.... Expand
  64. Apr 28, 2011
    7
    This is my first "new generation" Call of Duty game since Big Red One on my GameCube and I return to the series with mixed feelings. To start off, the single player campaign with it's adrenalin packed missions and bad-ass cut-scenes is allot of fun to say the least. However, those of you who like their FPS games to be drawn out in campaign length may be disappointed here. As I beat theThis is my first "new generation" Call of Duty game since Big Red One on my GameCube and I return to the series with mixed feelings. To start off, the single player campaign with it's adrenalin packed missions and bad-ass cut-scenes is allot of fun to say the least. However, those of you who like their FPS games to be drawn out in campaign length may be disappointed here. As I beat the entire campaign over the course of a weekend playing on and off. With regard to PC performance, the game's engine is poor optimized and I could see it giving some people problems. I have a mid-range 1 GB DDR3 GeForce GT 240 and i can run the game quite well with no problems at about 1280x720 res. with around 40+ fps on the norm. I'm new to Call of Duty multiplayer and Black Ops, again, has left me with mixed feelings. MP gameplay is fast-paced and seemingly geared towards camping, a style that Battlefield vets such as myself might not enjoy, appreciate, or immediately be successful with. That being said, very little is used in the way of strategy besides repetitive actions and tactics. Black Ops operates in conjunction with Steam if you didn't know and I have had no problems there. However, about 30%, if not more, of the games I join in MP are riddled with lag that destroys the experience. Also, if you're like me and do not plan to fork out $15 per DLC, than the MP experience will be cut up by the lack of the maps. I have an average connection and I constantly encounter lag. Before you buy this game please look at what you're getting into. While the game is fun it still has its issues. Issues that would be easily fixed if the dev had spent more time on it. Black Ops gets a 7 out of 10. Expand
  65. May 20, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is a fast-paced, arcade-style first-person shooter. Being extremely hyped-up for it's 2010 release it looked to be a step-up from Infinity Ward's Modern Warfare series. Overall the multiplayer is quite similar to earlier Call of Duty's only with surprisingly worse graphics, and the return of dedicated servers. The maps are overall pretty small and have a veryCall of Duty: Black Ops is a fast-paced, arcade-style first-person shooter. Being extremely hyped-up for it's 2010 release it looked to be a step-up from Infinity Ward's Modern Warfare series. Overall the multiplayer is quite similar to earlier Call of Duty's only with surprisingly worse graphics, and the return of dedicated servers. The maps are overall pretty small and have a very non-realistic, static like feel. When playing the game it almost feels identical to Treyarch's earlier game, Call of Duty: World at War, with practically identical, shoddy, game engines, and graphics. Treyarch and Activision knew this game was mostly hype and that's one of the reasons no BETA was released. Although i rated this game a six, compare it to my Modern Warfare 2 rating of 7, and my Battlefield: Bad Company 2 rating of 8. I don't think Treyarch will get away with making a game this far below par again. So go out and buy Black Ops for $60, when you could buy a far better Battlefield: Bad Company 2 for $20. Expand
  66. May 24, 2011
    6
    This review is only about single player. I didn't have eny big expectations , and I though that I will hate this game. And I was wrong, the story certainly not a mind blowing experiens with thrilling twists but for a night of playing it will do. I compered the plot of this game with 80-90's action film a lot of explosions killing cool gays with wepons, you iven can change the name AlexThis review is only about single player. I didn't have eny big expectations , and I though that I will hate this game. And I was wrong, the story certainly not a mind blowing experiens with thrilling twists but for a night of playing it will do. I compered the plot of this game with 80-90's action film a lot of explosions killing cool gays with wepons, you iven can change the name Alex Mason with John Rambo nothing will change. Even the villains are stolen from J.Bond movies. And hau you can forget Victor Reznov this guy become my favorit game character, for now ; ). Eas he shauts a lot, but still I get the chils when I hear " I'm Victor Reznov and I will have my revenge!!!!" Now that is BAD ASS.
    So my verdict the single player campeign is't great but not but. I'f you like a lot of explosions and shooting give it a tray
    Expand
  67. Jul 7, 2011
    6
    Black Ops certainly has reached where the developers want it to be POPULAR - that doesnt mean its without fault or even good and I certainly think the developers have made it popular at times at the expense of being good (or better). For instance the graphics do have high production values and may look realistic but they lack originality or style, Wind Waker will continue to look great inBlack Ops certainly has reached where the developers want it to be POPULAR - that doesnt mean its without fault or even good and I certainly think the developers have made it popular at times at the expense of being good (or better). For instance the graphics do have high production values and may look realistic but they lack originality or style, Wind Waker will continue to look great in 10 years but will CoD? While many hate and argue about many things - that it should not be an annualized property, its a stale formula, the single player is a big explosion but lacks real substance, that Modern Warfare 2 is better, there is one thing that CoD does have going for it- its value for money. There is indeed very high value for money in Black Ops having very high production values, content and game play throught out its many modes, maps, and many hours that can be spent in its games. Its without doubt. The single player campaign was only ok but leaning to forgettable which is a big missed opportunity; the multiplayer does feature a lot of fun gameplay, personally I found the Zombie maps the most fun. CoD has to change a few things for it to reach a good Esport game in multiplayer, and I do really wish it would change its philosophy to its single player story. Black Ops has its good parts and its lame. Lets hope the next CoD will take many of these improvements on board, but I doubt it.â Expand
  68. Apr 23, 2013
    2
    Same run of the mill game. Same sounds, same engine,, same weapons, simple level design, arbitrary recycled level-up system. Good for a mediocre spaz session, else trash it.
  69. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    The single player gameplay is all right, the zombie mode is fun, but just as with World at War the multiplayer has a bad feel to it, its lacking the smoothness the MW titles had, but new features such as combat training and CoD points makes it stand out from other Call of Duty titles.
  70. Jul 1, 2011
    7
    Despite all the hate this game got, I loved it. In some ways it surpasses Modern Warfare 2, and in other ways, it doesn't. I do realize that this game doesn't give the best performance for even the best of PC's, but I still liked the game despite all that. The single player was absolutely brilliant, you can tell that Treyarch was trying real hard to step out of Infinity Ward's shadow. IDespite all the hate this game got, I loved it. In some ways it surpasses Modern Warfare 2, and in other ways, it doesn't. I do realize that this game doesn't give the best performance for even the best of PC's, but I still liked the game despite all that. The single player was absolutely brilliant, you can tell that Treyarch was trying real hard to step out of Infinity Ward's shadow. I would choose Black Ops multiplayer over MW2's any day. Expand
  71. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    Super game, and lots of fun. I'm somewhat surprised at the ratings because I feel game has :the following strong points:
    nonstop action
    variety of weapons
    lots of different ways to fight, like tank and helo
    good explanatory notes
  72. Jul 2, 2011
    5
    This game is average. the campaign is epic and very fun. But for PC everything seems to lag a lot even on fast computers. Multiplayer is fun especially if you have friends to play with. the game is at times very buggy and there are a few hackers out there. i would say this game is worse than cod 6 and your probably better off playing on a console.;
  73. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. This would be a ten if it had the ability to use vehicles in combat. There is the gunship, but there are no others you can pilot. This is a very good game. The people who say it is bad are just haters or people who are playing on a below par system (*cough*Wii.) It is a challenge, which is what any true gamer is looking for. It has a great Zombies mode, which requires you to last as long as you can against hordes of zombies. You can do it with other players online as well for an especially fun experience. There are special weapons called Wonder Weapons for this. They include the Thunder Gun, which shoots shockwaves, the Ray Gun, figure it out, the Winters Howl, which freezes things, and the Gersch device, which creates miniature black holes. The Multiplayer is filled with maps and modes and weapons and perks and killstreaks (which are awesome) With multiplayer, you never run out of fun. You can also play with friends online. Nuketown is a great map, small, but, for this reason, it is filled with action. Perks are special skills that you can choose three of. The campaign isn't the best, but it is not bad. Expand
  74. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    The single player was OK, but I liked the multiplayer. I do not however like the constant maps that we have to buy....remember when we got that stuff for free?
  75. Mar 27, 2014
    8
    Je ne comprends pourquoi ce jeu est si mal noté. Je suis d'accord que la campagne n'est pas fameuse mais le mode zombie reste quand énorme ! Essayer de survivre avec des amis à des hordes de zombies c'est quand même extra, et même n'ayant pas les DLC y'a de quoi s'occuper. De ce qui est du multi, certains modes ne sont pas vraiment excitant, mais il en reste un qui vaut vraiment le coupJe ne comprends pourquoi ce jeu est si mal noté. Je suis d'accord que la campagne n'est pas fameuse mais le mode zombie reste quand énorme ! Essayer de survivre avec des amis à des hordes de zombies c'est quand même extra, et même n'ayant pas les DLC y'a de quoi s'occuper. De ce qui est du multi, certains modes ne sont pas vraiment excitant, mais il en reste un qui vaut vraiment le coup d'essayer c'est la R&D. Il faut vraiment survivre et avoir de bon reflex si on ne veut pas mourir dans les vingts premières secondes et devoir attendre la prochaine manche.
    N'essayons pas de voir que les mauvais côté du jeu, il reste encore de l'espoir.
    Expand
  76. Jul 19, 2012
    4
    What was activision thinking this is a sad excuse for a game i would rather play s.t.a.l.k.e.r. or crysis then this **** i mean seriously this is sad the 4 is for zombies its ok theres still lag on a top gaming rig ( 6 cores 32gb of ram and 4 7970 ) so if you tell me com sucks look above ok multiplayer screw it mw3 has better multiplayer i play it love it but yes multi sucks campaign sucksWhat was activision thinking this is a sad excuse for a game i would rather play s.t.a.l.k.e.r. or crysis then this **** i mean seriously this is sad the 4 is for zombies its ok theres still lag on a top gaming rig ( 6 cores 32gb of ram and 4 7970 ) so if you tell me com sucks look above ok multiplayer screw it mw3 has better multiplayer i play it love it but yes multi sucks campaign sucks zombies 50/50 Expand
  77. Mar 9, 2014
    8
    Black Ops contains many things enough to have a good time. A good campaign. A great multiplayer. And a maniac addictive zombies mode. I don't want to go to work today. Let's play zombies.
  78. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This the COD that shines out through the **** that is modern warfare. MW1 was definitely good, WAW really good (only because of nazi zombies, thanks treyarch :), MW2 was pretty good, but still pretty similar to MW1, MW3.......oh boy, MW3 is so damn generic/stereotypical of a COD that you're basically re-buying MW1 and MW2, the campaign sucked especially. But Black Ops is awesome, you haveThis the COD that shines out through the **** that is modern warfare. MW1 was definitely good, WAW really good (only because of nazi zombies, thanks treyarch :), MW2 was pretty good, but still pretty similar to MW1, MW3.......oh boy, MW3 is so damn generic/stereotypical of a COD that you're basically re-buying MW1 and MW2, the campaign sucked especially. But Black Ops is awesome, you have to be pretty stupid to think MW3 is any where near as good as Black Ops, because the new zombie mode ALONE is better than MW3. Overall, BUY IT. Expand
  79. May 6, 2012
    10
    Black Ops, in fact, Treyarch makes the best games with Call of Duty (Modern Warfare 1 being the only exception) and I loved the storyline and place it #1 storyline in CoD history. The multiplayer is a little below par, but I got over it quickly and had a fun time. Black Ops II is going to be great, unlike Modern Warfare 3 crap.
  80. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    There is so much content packed into this game that I couldn't even fit all of it into my review. However, even the multiplayer alone is enough to warrant this rating.
  81. Apr 20, 2013
    1
    I played this game after 3 years it came out, so my version should be the final. If it is, then it's a joke. BTW I played it on the PC and only single campaign. They shouldn't bring this title to the PC, because it has the worst controls of all time, and there is competition on this field believe me. You reverse mouse axis, but if you drive the guided missiles, it reverses back... Why? I played this game after 3 years it came out, so my version should be the final. If it is, then it's a joke. BTW I played it on the PC and only single campaign. They shouldn't bring this title to the PC, because it has the worst controls of all time, and there is competition on this field believe me. You reverse mouse axis, but if you drive the guided missiles, it reverses back... Why? There are some special missions where you have to use some special weapons or some targeting system. But these are always different buttons, like or How on earth they came up with an idea like this? Not just different buttons but they're spread all over the keyboard. And to top it all they won't work! I pressed them and they aren't working It would be a shame if it was a free game, but it isn't (although I got it for a budget price, but still not worth is). So it never crossed my mind to play it multi. Were there anybody back in 2010 who actually played this on the PC, and liked it. And now it has a 2nd run :)
    What were the developers doing when they created this game? Nobody tried it out before releasing? Stay as far from Treyarch games as possibly you can :)
    There are many more pathetic things but it just not worth my time :)
    I give it 1, because there were no bosses in it
    Expand
  82. May 22, 2012
    9
    Most of people ho think that CoD is the worst game are Bf3 fans( like BF and CoD) . DON'T SUGGEST THEIR COMMENTS.
  83. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    que juego de mierda! si, así como lees, lo pague en oferta y caro es una mierda de juego como el MW3..
    modo multiplayer las balas tienen aimbot, aimassist! :s tiene problemas de FPS...
    modo historia...alguien juega realmente a esta mierda? activision en mi lista negra!
  84. Jul 12, 2012
    7
    Limited edition is over priced, and the DLC doesn't provide as much as other games. Runs worse than other games even on low settings. However Zombies is really fun, and the gameplay in multiplayer would be worth playing if I had no lag.
  85. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    A point to first be made: before buying BO I had figured that its negative feedback was made at the onset of the game's release and after filtering the reviews to show only recent reviews the game seemed to have gotten some solid reviews within the 6-10 range.

    This in mind, I took a chance and bought BO during Steam's summer sale for $20 USD and after 20 hours of logged multiplayer I
    A point to first be made: before buying BO I had figured that its negative feedback was made at the onset of the game's release and after filtering the reviews to show only recent reviews the game seemed to have gotten some solid reviews within the 6-10 range.

    This in mind, I took a chance and bought BO during Steam's summer sale for $20 USD and after 20 hours of logged multiplayer I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I admittedly haven't played single player but even if it was just a video of 9000 hours of nyan cat or a compilation of goatse pics or QWOP I wouldn't really care since I bought the game only for what it has to offer in multiplayer. My laptop is maybe midrange (1gb nvidia 9600m GT, duo2.66GHz, 1680X945, 4GB DDR3) but the game runs flawlessly when I have throttlestop and rightmark CPU on for max performance. I, however, wouldn't be able to play if it weren't for my mega vornado fan cooling hookup.

    All in all, BO is a great "twitch" shooter with glorious gfx (I only really play CS), smooth multiplayer, and well populated servers that I've noticed to maintain a clean gaming environment and have very active clans/admin presence. It's too bad this game has gotten such muddy reviews...
    Expand
  86. Jul 31, 2012
    2
    Another game that lacks everything but graphics. Don't buy this game It's a waste of money. It really sucks and it's controls on Pc are TERRIBLE!!! Don't buy it!!!
  87. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    Fantastic! Multiplayer is very good, the only problem is the new maps are really bad!

    ZOMBIES: Easter Eggs, 8 perks, hacker, fantastic story, Pack-a-Punching (Upgrading weapons), C'mon, even zombie video games intended for ONLY zombies don't have half as much entertainment as Black Ops Zombies... Moon... thats all I have to say, I learn more and more about that level every time I
    Fantastic! Multiplayer is very good, the only problem is the new maps are really bad!

    ZOMBIES: Easter Eggs, 8 perks, hacker, fantastic story, Pack-a-Punching (Upgrading weapons),

    C'mon, even zombie video games intended for ONLY zombies don't have half as much entertainment as Black Ops Zombies... Moon... thats all I have to say, I learn more and more about that level every time I play it. The only zombie levels that really stink are Five and Shangri La... But that still doesn't take away the fact that Black Ops is a fantastic game.
    Expand
  88. Aug 8, 2012
    7
    After playing call of duty black ops on Xbox360, I played it on PC and the connection is definitely so much better, the dedicated servers make it so there is almost no lag at all as long as you play in your correct region. Although the gameplay still isn't exactly top notch, and Call of duty 4 is still better for me.
  89. Jul 9, 2014
    5
    My previous review of this game, in my own words, was immature, juvenile, and selfish. While I can't factor out the fact that this game retreads the same typical stereotypes of Russians being evil (even if it uses an appropriate time frame to justify it), has bounds of DLC that charge so much for so little, pyrotechnics that either kill you through buildings that otherwise aren't flammableMy previous review of this game, in my own words, was immature, juvenile, and selfish. While I can't factor out the fact that this game retreads the same typical stereotypes of Russians being evil (even if it uses an appropriate time frame to justify it), has bounds of DLC that charge so much for so little, pyrotechnics that either kill you through buildings that otherwise aren't flammable or just be invisible overall and kill you randomly, I can't entirely discredit the game for at least being functionally bland. I can't, however, give it a perfect score, but I will try to be more reasonable with the current reception of this game, and others in the future.

    While I am no fan of the continuing dismay of trading different filters of gameplay and trying to sell it off as new, at least the gameplay itself does work for the most part. Weapon damage and aim is consistent and substantial, noobtubes, while a crutch to any person's enjoyment, are still present, they aren't as overused as beforehand. And the only bit of credibility that I can give to Treyarch is that they do have a greater tendency to be more about the game than the graphics, unlike InfinityWard. Modern Warfare 2 pissed me the hell off because of that unexciting, jarring motion of getting killed from 8 different places if you looked at someone the wrong way, at least when I play Treyarch's renditions of the COD franchise, I can feel at least somewhat capable and compitent in battle. I might be a tad bit of a rage gamer, since even playing TF2 can get me into a downward spiral of anger that I want to brake my laptop in half. Spawn positions still suck, the bots that you can play against either locally or in the "combat training" still are dysfunctional to how real players play and are unrealistic, often being able to knife 2 seconds before you were even about to, have impeccable timing with the usage of grenades, and literally have no recoil to any of the guns they fire so they will never miss, unless you go out of their line of sight which they won't be smart enough to pursue you anyway.

    While this game is in no stretch of the word enticing, original, or even fun at some occassions, it is a mite game that you can spend at the most 2 hours tops playing and get some fun out of it, primarily with the Zombies mode (which should have had more content available, since most of the DLC maps are from Modern Warfare 1,which shows the poor demonstration of them trying to be bigger and better). Kind of like with Battlefield 3, I don't get pissed off over how bad the gameplay is, i just get pissed off of how exploitative the DLC and supposed excuse for originality that the game pretends it has. It doesn't, and you know it. You only serve as a bland, castrated bowl of potato chips. Do they feed you? Sure, but you won't get anything pleasant out of them from doing it.
    Expand
  90. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    lets call this game not the best of the series this game is fine but it not the best game in the frenchise if you are a cod and you want to buy a cod game i will tell you to buy black ops 2 not 1 if you want an awsome game expirence
  91. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    OMG, m shockd 2 see such negative reviews frm d users....my score is based on single player only and i believe its one of the best fps i have ever played....people complain about lag??? well, i have d updates installed and didn find muh lag and its completely playable....in short, its d best COD fr me yet , nt evn MW3 or Black Ops 2 i found worth competitive....i luvd d gameplay as well asOMG, m shockd 2 see such negative reviews frm d users....my score is based on single player only and i believe its one of the best fps i have ever played....people complain about lag??? well, i have d updates installed and didn find muh lag and its completely playable....in short, its d best COD fr me yet , nt evn MW3 or Black Ops 2 i found worth competitive....i luvd d gameplay as well as the graphics....its much better thn MW3. atleast players wid low PC Specs can play it easily and enjoy....if u r a fps fan, this is one must game tht u shud play... :) Expand
  92. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    Didn't expect that ending! I've never played Call of duty for the story, but I actually liked this one. Really enjoy playing this game.
    To bad for the obvious trolls who try to lower this game good ranking.
  93. Dec 1, 2012
    4
    I pre-ordered it and full of regret. The storytelling of this game used way too much flashes and random objects that made me dizzy repeatedly. Only get this game when it is on cheap sale and collection purpose, otherwise, avoid this game.
  94. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    Such tiny little maps make this a grinder to play. After about a week it becomes repetition to the extreme. In the end I would have appreciated a mod kit to allow easy creating of user content of something of that nature.
  95. Dec 5, 2012
    4
    I bought this game eyes closed. I regret. I didn't even finish the SP mode. It is boring. I played two time the zombie mode for the fun. But it is unbelievable that this game had good reviews... A shame, I will never buy a COD game again.
  96. May 21, 2013
    1
    The only modern call of duty I've ever purchased and a huge mistake on my part. I couldn't even finish the campaign it was so "Michael Bay" ish. Obnoxious needless action over and over again coupled with a very poorly told story which was mediocre at best.

    Even the multiplayer is crap. I dabbled for a little while and found that there was a clear and dominant play style that was best
    The only modern call of duty I've ever purchased and a huge mistake on my part. I couldn't even finish the campaign it was so "Michael Bay" ish. Obnoxious needless action over and over again coupled with a very poorly told story which was mediocre at best.

    Even the multiplayer is crap. I dabbled for a little while and found that there was a clear and dominant play style that was best for every cramped map this idiot game had to offer. The original call of duty had submachine guns, heavy machine guns, snipers, bolt action rifles, and semi autos that all had their place in the battle. Now the gunplay is assault rifles assault rifles assault rifles with your occasional variation of long rifles and submachine guns. Plus the idiot gimicks that reward you for kill streaks (just like real war! If only I'd known that when I was on duty).
    Expand
  97. Apr 9, 2013
    6
    Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 6/10 Story: 5/10 Enjoyment: 3/10 Value For Money: 6/10 5.6 (Average)
    I do not understand why there are so many 'awful' reviews... I do not play/or enjoy the Call Of Duty series and even I haven't give them an 'awful' score!
    This is an average game, an average game with an average (yet short) story and an average multiplayer. Also in this review does not include
    Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 6/10 Story: 5/10 Enjoyment: 3/10 Value For Money: 6/10 5.6 (Average)
    I do not understand why there are so many 'awful' reviews... I do not play/or enjoy the Call Of Duty series and even I haven't give them an 'awful' score!
    This is an average game, an average game with an average (yet short) story and an average multiplayer. Also in this review does not include 'Zombies' because... I do not intend to play that part of this game! The Multiplayer is the average "shoot that guy who is trying to shoot you because he wants XP and he has nothing better to do" and the story is the "Let's get a piece of and polish it with a short story line"...
    If it was up to me, do not buy the Call Of Duty series new when the come out, wait for them to be pre-owned and buy them for £2-6...
    Expand
  98. Feb 16, 2013
    3
    Awesome campaign, very interesting story and the missions were very fun. Unfortunately the multiplayer was terribly made and lagged something terrible, not only that, all the servers are ground war, which sucks, and nearly all the ones people play in are 24/7 Nuketown. The sniping doesn't work very either.
  99. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    This game has so much potential but the main campaign is a joke you can beat it in a day go to bed that night wake up in the morning and you will not know a single character's name none. All this is is Cod4 reskinned with some new guns and a new layout mind you Cod 4 is considered a masterpiece by a lot of people so that is where some potential shines through this fest. The multiplayerThis game has so much potential but the main campaign is a joke you can beat it in a day go to bed that night wake up in the morning and you will not know a single character's name none. All this is is Cod4 reskinned with some new guns and a new layout mind you Cod 4 is considered a masterpiece by a lot of people so that is where some potential shines through this fest. The multiplayer is broken because of the hackers and lag is ridicules i would sooner have a lama on my chest then go back to that bull most of the time you just spawn in napalm the only way its possible at all to enjoy multiplayer is to play with just your friends but even then why would you when Cod4 did it better and cheaper this game quickly becomes a bore to play. The single player is such a joke the A.I. in this game is abysmal they just let a retarded squirel orgasam on a keyboard for there pathfinding there can be a few good moments in it BUT I WOULD EXCEPT A LITTLE MORE THAN A FEW DECENT SET PIECES FROM ONE OF THE BEST SELLING FRANCHISES EVER. In Cod4 they upped the drama with having a nuke drop on your head and forcing you to try and survive but it doesn't matter what you do you will die thats original BUT THIS GAME IS THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF THAT JUST MILKING THIS SERIES UNTIL ITS STAR WARS i get that it would be hard to up the ante after have a nuke dropped on the players head but to not even try is pathetic you activision for whoring out this series to the point its the laughing stock of all most gamers this is the hooker you see whos giving a blow job for 5 dollars in a back alley to anybody she can find maybe you even took one once and it was pretty good but now shes 70 and just look pathetic and is pathetic and should just be put out of her misery. Expand
  100. May 1, 2013
    3
    Quiet honestly I had no bugs or glitches while plying, the gameplay was just poor.
    I won't go over the campaign because I instantly became bored with the scheme of the story. It felt like Treyarch tried to push the envelope with violent and explosive gameplay during the campaign, but this never lead to a quality experience.
    Then there is the renowned multiplayer. Don't expect anything
    Quiet honestly I had no bugs or glitches while plying, the gameplay was just poor.
    I won't go over the campaign because I instantly became bored with the scheme of the story. It felt like Treyarch tried to push the envelope with violent and explosive gameplay during the campaign, but this never lead to a quality experience.
    Then there is the renowned multiplayer. Don't expect anything new from previous Call of Duty games. Maps don't look as colorful as MW2 and weapons feel slightly unbalanced. What seems to annoy me most about the multiplayer however is the PLAYER CONTROLLED SERVERS. There are countless issues with this. First, over 70% of the servers are Nuketown Team Death matches. It's hard to find a server that isn't 24/7 Nuketown. What's even worse is that players can set ridiculous rules to their servers like crouch only or clay only, making gameplay feel less free of choice. So even though player controlled servers give the illusion of freedom, it really makes the game feel more constraint by the players' ridiculous rules. Fortunately, there is a mode called combat training where you can face bots in the multiplayer modes, which almost saves this game, but bots can be real crack shots and games are limited to your slandered death match modes, making gameplay repetitive fast.
    Lastly, there is zombies. This could have been the best part of the game because I generally found no issues with the gameplay. Unfortunately, the mode becomes repetitive fairly quickly. There are only three types of zombies: standard zombies, dogs, and crawlers; and none of them seem unpredictable because they will only chase you in swarms. Because of this, you can easily round up a heard of zombies and once all in a swarm, blast them with an explosive and repeat for the next round.
    All in all, Black Ops is ok on PC, but there are other Call of Duty games that do the same thing Black Ops does only much better. The game becomes to repetitive fast, so its no wonder why COD fans are so eager for the next yearly installment.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.