Call of Duty: Black Ops PC

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1666 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Now that the appropriate patches have been made for the PC version, CoD:BlOps is one of the best online multiplayer shooters on the market. The single player has an engrossing story and exciting gameplay, even if it is short and linear and is basically a training mode for the multiplayer but with a plot. Zombie Mode is back from World at War and better than ever, with plenty of humor andNow that the appropriate patches have been made for the PC version, CoD:BlOps is one of the best online multiplayer shooters on the market. The single player has an engrossing story and exciting gameplay, even if it is short and linear and is basically a training mode for the multiplayer but with a plot. Zombie Mode is back from World at War and better than ever, with plenty of humor and witty dialogue to accompany the addictive zombie killing fun. Obviously the multiplayer is where it's at, and Black Ops is online fragging at its finest, with new weapons and modes and a new currency system to keep players coming back until the next installment. The graphics and sound are top notch, with environments and characters looking great, an excellent soundtrack, Hollywood-quality voice work and fantastic sound effects for weapons and explosions. Overall, this is another great CoD game, with every base covered to ensure a high quality, exciting and downright fun shooter experience. Expand
  2. TTT
    Aug 19, 2011
    8
    Not bad game . But you must have a good computer and a good internet connection . For the PC it's good , but the game it's realised fot XBOX 360 and PS3 . Zombie mode save this game to the 6 . For me Treyarch take a 8 for Call of Duty Black Ops
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    the multiplayer is fair and and has less tuber and noob weapon like g18 in call of duty 6,the game is much better but the ping is really bad,why these guys give it such a low score?like tuber?if that is ture these guys are sick.the single player is not very good ,not the real thing ,but still i like it ,i think if we dont mind the ping,cod7 is the best cod multiplayer game,call of duty 6the multiplayer is fair and and has less tuber and noob weapon like g18 in call of duty 6,the game is much better but the ping is really bad,why these guys give it such a low score?like tuber?if that is ture these guys are sick.the single player is not very good ,not the real thing ,but still i like it ,i think if we dont mind the ping,cod7 is the best cod multiplayer game,call of duty 6 is good but has too many unblanced weapon Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    On the MP side of things, BO definitely an improvement on the disaster of a game that MW2 was, unfortunately it's still not quite the game MW1 was (and still is). The maps have been expanded a decent bit, there are very cool customization options that help you give a personal touch to virtually every bit of gear right down to the totally unimportant player cards. Graphics are really goodOn the MP side of things, BO definitely an improvement on the disaster of a game that MW2 was, unfortunately it's still not quite the game MW1 was (and still is). The maps have been expanded a decent bit, there are very cool customization options that help you give a personal touch to virtually every bit of gear right down to the totally unimportant player cards. Graphics are really good but only due to the excellent art design, if you start looking you will find signs of serious graphical fidelity the engine has experienced over the years. Sounds are also a definite improvement over previous cods as well as animation, all together these help to make the campaign quite memorable, no matter how confusing it gets at times. One downside of the multiple characters thing is that you don't leave hating the antagonists enough, otherwise as a whole it is quite varied and fast paced with some welcomed breaks in between stages. Camp-fests are virtually none-existent now and the killstreak rewards aren't particularly overused and OP either, leaving much of the fighting in infantry CQC form. Unfortunately Treyarch has yet to nerf the two most OP guns in the game (roughly a year after release o.O), which has put me off for a bit due to recent overuse by the community. The MP as a whole I prefer outright over MW2, and it's minor issues are overshadowed by this fact. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Call me crazy, but I've been a fan of Treyarch's additions to the Call of Duty series, and this is no exception. An interesting Single Player storyline that is reasonably long (compared to Modern Warfare 2) was refreshing to play, and the graphics are astounding. The Multiplayer was short-lived, for me, as the maps grew old quickly and prestige got annoying. The Zombie mode is what keepsCall me crazy, but I've been a fan of Treyarch's additions to the Call of Duty series, and this is no exception. An interesting Single Player storyline that is reasonably long (compared to Modern Warfare 2) was refreshing to play, and the graphics are astounding. The Multiplayer was short-lived, for me, as the maps grew old quickly and prestige got annoying. The Zombie mode is what keeps me coming back to this game time and time again, with some excellent novel ideas brought in to mix it up. Great DLCs were brought out too, which I think justifies me spending almost £100 in total on this title. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2012
    8
    why so many people think it is bad,maybe ping is too high,but it is a fair game,almost no bug ,not like mw3,mw3 is completely a rubbish,bo is much better ,not likie mw,it is the call of bug,iw "s death
  7. Nov 28, 2015
    10
    Best COD of all time. Great story, BEST ZOMBIES MAPS AND GAMEPLAY - ON POINT SON, and fun multiplayer as usual. I can't say i love the graphics, they're a bit odd looking, but you will get used to them and they won't distract you from the game. I used to play this game for hours and hours. If you like the COD series, this is a must.
  8. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    Black ops had it's flaws at launch (pc performance and 5 second pauses).
    I decided to wait and went back to MW2 until these problems were sorted.
    I came back to Black ops finding a very smooth and enjoyable experience, the main issue with lag is users having low powered cpu's as this game taxes the cpu more than your graphics card. I ranked all the way up to 15th prestige and can now
    Black ops had it's flaws at launch (pc performance and 5 second pauses).
    I decided to wait and went back to MW2 until these problems were sorted.
    I came back to Black ops finding a very smooth and enjoyable experience, the main issue with lag is users having low powered cpu's as this game taxes the cpu more than your graphics card.
    I ranked all the way up to 15th prestige and can now say that this game is definitly worthy of a blast through.
    It's multiplayer is it's best part for sure as i tend to go straight for multiplayer on these type of games soley.
    I am giving this game an 8 out of 10 due to it's bad start but now without bugs it is a great game for multiplayer gamers.
    Expand
  9. May 8, 2011
    9
    One of the most balanced Call of Duty games to date. The single player is great, the Zombie Co-Op is a masterpiece within the zombie games and the multiplayer is balanced. Although some weapons seem overpowered, Treyarch has done a great job increasing the player's health so we can counter-act the so-called "overpowered weapons" in time. Treyarch does our job by patching for performanceOne of the most balanced Call of Duty games to date. The single player is great, the Zombie Co-Op is a masterpiece within the zombie games and the multiplayer is balanced. Although some weapons seem overpowered, Treyarch has done a great job increasing the player's health so we can counter-act the so-called "overpowered weapons" in time. Treyarch does our job by patching for performance issues to low-rigged computers, nerfing the weapons to become pretty balanced and preparing us mod tools to May. The dedicated servers has turned the tables from the failing Modern Warfare 2. Probably the second best CoD game, second only to the masterpiece CoD4, Call of Duty: Black Ops will blow you away once you get the hang of it. It probably won't be a classic, but it's a nice comeback to the CoD series from Treyarch. I probably won't going to get any other Call of Duty due to ActiVision's abuse on fans, but what I'm certain is that Treyarch gave me the closing chapter above my expectations to my CoD gaming history. 9.5 out of 10 Expand
  10. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    The single player campaign is mediocre and multiplayer is repetitious and boring. Where Black Ops really pays of is in the zombie experience. Nothing in more fun that jumping online and slaying zombies with some friends.
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    I have been playing this game for a good year now ,While playing 1 player which was ok but very forgetable, i stuck with online multiplayer , I can safely say this is where my good money was spent , ffa on nuke town , Ive got my moneys worth here alone :) Excellent map !!
    The hit detection can sometimes be a bit ropey but you get your good and bad games where pings go up and down .
    I
    I have been playing this game for a good year now ,While playing 1 player which was ok but very forgetable, i stuck with online multiplayer , I can safely say this is where my good money was spent , ffa on nuke town , Ive got my moneys worth here alone :) Excellent map !!
    The hit detection can sometimes be a bit ropey but you get your good and bad games where pings go up and down .
    I still play it now , but it seems if most are the players are deserting black ops , which is a shame .
    Anywaysa good game while it lasted .8/10
    The game loses a few points because theres not much new here from previous cod,s + hit detection sometimes lets the game down online.
    Expand
  12. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    I love this game! To honest, the single player does get boring, and its more practice than anything. And the multiplayer is full of high level opponents, so its hard to jump right in. But I noticed that not a single review under 5 even mention the nazi zombies section. This is the reason I bought the game, and the reason I play it. If cod black ops came out and it was only the zombiesI love this game! To honest, the single player does get boring, and its more practice than anything. And the multiplayer is full of high level opponents, so its hard to jump right in. But I noticed that not a single review under 5 even mention the nazi zombies section. This is the reason I bought the game, and the reason I play it. If cod black ops came out and it was only the zombies section, i would buy it, because it is extremely entertaining. If you want something fun, buy it, as the multiplayer is good once you're used to it, and the zombies mode is super fun. Expand
  13. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    Not a bad game. Don't care for the limited dedi servers, but hey at least they are there and ranked. The game play in MP is fun. Graphics are old. Let's get real here folks...The CoD as we know it is gone. Play MW3 and this game shines all the more...
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Well, uh, I had the privilege from good old steam to play "Call of Duty: Black Ops" multiplayer until to Saturday of that week. So I gave it a try, and it wasn't so bad after all. The sound designs are impressive as well as the currency system, which makes you more immersive to the game. Sure, the graphics are kinda outdated but think about COD:WAW and compare this to it. Feels better,Well, uh, I had the privilege from good old steam to play "Call of Duty: Black Ops" multiplayer until to Saturday of that week. So I gave it a try, and it wasn't so bad after all. The sound designs are impressive as well as the currency system, which makes you more immersive to the game. Sure, the graphics are kinda outdated but think about COD:WAW and compare this to it. Feels better, doesn't it? Overall very well made, enjoyable, and addictive. Just find some healthy servers and this game will be the masterpiece of your life. Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Not sure why the score for this is so low. I'm guessing because many of these reviews were done when the game was launched, which I heard was unplayable then. Luckily, I played this game after everything was sorted out, so I have no major issues with bugs/glitches. This version of CoD is much, MUCH better than MW3 on PC. Ranked dedicated servers? Check. Adjustable FOV? Check. DevNot sure why the score for this is so low. I'm guessing because many of these reviews were done when the game was launched, which I heard was unplayable then. Luckily, I played this game after everything was sorted out, so I have no major issues with bugs/glitches. This version of CoD is much, MUCH better than MW3 on PC. Ranked dedicated servers? Check. Adjustable FOV? Check. Dev console? Check! Now I know the engine on this game is a bit dated, but it works well and the game plays very smoothly. Maybe it's just massive lag from P2P garbage, but MW3 is not nearly as smooth or polished-feeling as BO is. The maps are on BO are a good size, and have a good balance of CQB and more open areas. MW3's maps just feel so claustrophobic in comparison. The unlock system is, in my opinion, much better than MW3 (which is also very similar to BF3). Acquiring currency and buying the weapons/equip./killstreaks that you actually want is much better. Not only do you get the gear you want quicker, it's more satisfying to "buy" something you want than just to "unlock" it. The SP campaign is pretty good, and is up there with MW2's campaign, which I really enjoyed. Although there are PC specific options in the game (ded. servers, fov, etc.), it's still an obvious console port. Also, because it is a dx9 game, it has much worse performance in Vista/7 than in XP - you can find many threads on this. Overall though, I really enjoyed BO, and with MW3 being an epic fail, I will probably play BO for much longer. Expand
  16. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. only a few bad multiplayer bugs zombie mode is back good dlc great killstreaks and easy trickshots make this game amazing for me its epic my 2nd fav cod game its almost as good as COD4 the only thing i dont like about it is because i can no longer bounce and trickshotting isn't as fun Expand
  17. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    I don't really see why people are trashing this game anymore. I enjoy it now that it's been patched. At first, my framerate was around 75, but it looked like 15. They patched the game, and it's amazingly smooth now. The weapons are balanced (noobtubes are weak now) and killstreak kills no longer count towards the next reward. The maps are fun (especially the new DLC) and zombies is amazingI don't really see why people are trashing this game anymore. I enjoy it now that it's been patched. At first, my framerate was around 75, but it looked like 15. They patched the game, and it's amazingly smooth now. The weapons are balanced (noobtubes are weak now) and killstreak kills no longer count towards the next reward. The maps are fun (especially the new DLC) and zombies is amazing to play with a friend. I recommend this game to anyone who has at least a Radeon HD 5xxx graphics card. Expand
  18. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is so great, I can't wait untill MW3 comes out, I'm just playing, and playing, and playing Black Ops on my XBOX 360. I'm lvl 28 or 29 (can't remember) in 4th Prestige i just can't wait for Modern Warfare 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Black Ops is easily the best CoD game to date - I really do not see why people are hating on it. Treyarch have outdone themselves with this one. They have proved to be better than Infinity Ward at making PC ports. It has all PC features you would expect such as a FoV slider, Lean, Dedicated servers, and the developer console. All the control options are how they should be too - no lack ofBlack Ops is easily the best CoD game to date - I really do not see why people are hating on it. Treyarch have outdone themselves with this one. They have proved to be better than Infinity Ward at making PC ports. It has all PC features you would expect such as a FoV slider, Lean, Dedicated servers, and the developer console. All the control options are how they should be too - no lack of key bindings or anything like that (unlike BF3) Black Ops has a great Single Player storyline too, and actually has decent graphics. They aren't Crysis 2 level, but for a CoD game they are really nice. It even has the dismemberment system back from World at War so you can watch in pleasure as you blow off peoples limbs. The gameplay is also more varied and overall better than previous CoD's. MP is what you would expect from a CoD game - fast and furious, except Treyarch have revamped it and added in a ton of customisation and new gamemodes. They also revamped the levelling system, and have added in some other things like "Contracts", which is a pretty neat addition. Did I mention the new main menu for Black Ops, is awesome! The multi player maps are also interesting because there are things to interact with now. Example, you can close a big blast door on someone and squash them. The sound and music is also very good - weapon sounds are loud and pack a punch, and the music is fitting. Animations are slick too. The best part of Black Ops (for me anyway) is the extra Zombie gametype they give you. Any WaW player will appreciate this, and this time they have actually expanded on the Zombiemodes gameplay and story - so it's essentially a game in a game now, which is pretty awesome. The only bad points of Black Ops are the performance bugs some people get, and the multi player spawn points can be a bit awkward. (It will sometimes spawn people behind you after you killed) Regarding performance, I'm one of the lucky people, and it seems to run fine on my system - but many of my friends are struggling to get the game to play properly. Also the gameplay is similar to other CoD's, so it can get a bit repetitive. Oh, and the DLC prices are also a bit stupid. Although, in my opinion though, if your a Nazi Zombie fan , the Zombie maps ALONE in the DLC make it worth it. They put so much work into the maps, and are always adding new things. Overall, great CoD game. Don't listen to the hate. This game is better than the MW series, and Treyarch have proven themselves to be better than Infinity Ward. Sure it has a couple of flaws, but no game is perfect! Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Excellent single player campaign and - in my experience so far - great multi-player which works fine and brings some new ideas to the COD table whilst scaling back on the death-for-above craziness and staggering arrogance of MW2. I have had a couple of crashes and at least one laggy multiplayer match, but I've enjoyed it enough to overlook the stability issues.

    There are some stunningly
    Excellent single player campaign and - in my experience so far - great multi-player which works fine and brings some new ideas to the COD table whilst scaling back on the death-for-above craziness and staggering arrogance of MW2. I have had a couple of crashes and at least one laggy multiplayer match, but I've enjoyed it enough to overlook the stability issues.

    There are some stunningly bad user reviews on here - in particular, one person has registered multiple times to spam the same stunningly stupid 0-score review (in which he actually states "Why on earth wasn't infinity ward used on this version?", demonstrating he knows sweet F A about how COD's being handled by Activision) so ignore the average and stick to the critic reviews on this one - the fanboy element's destroyed the user review section, which is a **** shame. Trust a community to absolutely destroy a community feature, eh? Buggers.
    Expand
  21. Nov 15, 2010
    8
    This is awesome fps game. I can say very cheerful that this is the best FPS on this year! The story i was awesome and not pit too short on my opinion. I was get along with it at the start. Because i have been waited this game so long. So i cold not dissapointed on that. And i wasn't. Story and game play are perfect. Except that the AI was little too push over on my opinion, but even thatThis is awesome fps game. I can say very cheerful that this is the best FPS on this year! The story i was awesome and not pit too short on my opinion. I was get along with it at the start. Because i have been waited this game so long. So i cold not dissapointed on that. And i wasn't. Story and game play are perfect. Except that the AI was little too push over on my opinion, but even that doesent bother me so much. Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    COD Black Ops is a good game. Apart from the mechanics/graphics looking and feeling almost the same as MW2, the single player being its usual irritating "get blood on screen, hide, wait, rinse and repeat" as well as the occasional game-seizing bug (which I have no doubt will be ultimately fixed at some point), and the multiplayer being a *little* chuggy, it is still a good game. Plus forCOD Black Ops is a good game. Apart from the mechanics/graphics looking and feeling almost the same as MW2, the single player being its usual irritating "get blood on screen, hide, wait, rinse and repeat" as well as the occasional game-seizing bug (which I have no doubt will be ultimately fixed at some point), and the multiplayer being a *little* chuggy, it is still a good game. Plus for the new multiplayer loadout system and the great customisation therein, and a huge plus for returning to dedicated servers - something that was missing in MW2 multiplayer and was therefore insanely terrible. Give it a patch or two and it could work out to be fantastic. Expand
  23. Dec 12, 2010
    8
    Best CoD game by far! Only issue i have is incomplete server browser upon refresh. Game runs great. No stutters, lag, crashes or freezes like some are complaing about. Some tweaking is required to maximize performance on PC. Intel Quad cores, especially i7's, will benefit from this game. If you have an Intel i7 with a decent ATI card, you should NOT be stuttering or freezing at all!!! IfBest CoD game by far! Only issue i have is incomplete server browser upon refresh. Game runs great. No stutters, lag, crashes or freezes like some are complaing about. Some tweaking is required to maximize performance on PC. Intel Quad cores, especially i7's, will benefit from this game. If you have an Intel i7 with a decent ATI card, you should NOT be stuttering or freezing at all!!! If you are, you need to optimize your PC b4 saying the game is broken for you. Haters will always be haters Treyarch. I still enjoy your record breaking release. Good job Treyarch! Expand
  24. Dec 14, 2010
    8
    I've read some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is theI've read some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is the same, but some has been added to it. CP. With XP, you unlock weapons, attachments, emblems, layers (talk about that later) and lots of other things. With CP you buy it. This new system gives some variation in the Call of Duty series. Also there are wager matches. You wage your CP. If you become the first till the third player, your CP will increase. You lose, you'll lose all your CP. Also Combat Training has been added. It's a training with bots fighting against you, you can adjust the difficulty of the bots. And the emblem you have in the multi player, is custom. You choose layers, give them a colour, adjust size and make an emblem. cool isn't it? Zombie mode is also included with Black Ops. Long story short, a lot of new stuff. But now, the downside of this beautiful wonderland. Again, in this game (just as in MW2) there are some overpowered weapons + attachments. The flamethrower for example (yes you can use a flamethrower as attachment) is way too strong. Just one second on fire and you die. not fun. The killcam, as smooth as it was in MW2, now lags as **** Whatever you do, how amazing your computer is, the killcam will always lag. Just at the end, when the kill is being made, you only see three frames of a weapon firing and then the killcam's over. not satisfying if you made the final kill. It only works in combat training. There isn't really a graphic improvement, but that's not really a problem. It's about the game, right? Overall, this game is good if you have some sort of super computer (which i have). But with a regular computer, you're FPS will always stay under 15. Until Treyarch comes with a patch, this game is only fun for the people with a really good computer. My suggestion: buy this game when it has been patched, unless you think you're computer can take it. The score i give this game is based on the experience i had without having lag. With lag, my score would be around a 4.0, since the single player still makes up a lot. Expand
  25. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. It's also worth it just to take the "1 less kill for a streak"While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. It's also worth it just to take the "1 less kill for a streak" feat and run rc cars into everyone even if you're not good at the game. Only Activision would amke a game that'll have people scared of a toy for a hot minute. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps game before, as I don't have to tell you how awful a joystick is for competitive fps games. Expand
  26. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is awesome. Stop saying that it's impossible to run this game you just have to look if your computer can run it and activision always lauch patches. The new server browser is very cool too. In my opinion it's the best cod. Expand
  27. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    NOTE: To anyone browsing through reviews for this game before buying like I was, please READ THIS before paying attention to all the other 0's and BS scores on here. It's really sad how the PC community has devolved into a bunch of spoiled brats that can't accept the fact that some people like an honest review about a game they might actually LIKE.

    I'll say it first and straight up, YES,
    NOTE: To anyone browsing through reviews for this game before buying like I was, please READ THIS before paying attention to all the other 0's and BS scores on here. It's really sad how the PC community has devolved into a bunch of spoiled brats that can't accept the fact that some people like an honest review about a game they might actually LIKE.


    I'll say it first and straight up, YES, at the moment Black Ops is still very much a broken game right out of the box for many people. That said, if you are willing to put in the time to look around online (have any of these "0" reviewers ever heard of google?) like I was, the majority of your freezing problems can be solved using simple tweaks or adjusting settings. For me, the magic solution was turning off anti-aliasing and setting the game to run with desktop composition turned off. Until Treyarch releases another patch, many of us will be forced to browse forums online looking for a solution.

    Performance-wise, i'm not sure why so many people on here are saying you need a supercomputer to run this game. I'm running it on a 2009 macbook pro, 2.6ghz intel duo core/ nvidia geforce 9600m gt/ win 7 64-bit/ 4 gb ram. As you can tell, this is no supercomputer. I currently am running the game on high settings, (textures on High, full AF, full FOV, native 1440x900 res) with AA, shader warming, and shadows turned off. I get anywhere from 45-65 fps in the game and in my opinion it is completely playable (and looks damn good, too). As far as gameplay goes, I will focus only on multiplayer in this review, as that is what I bought the game for and i'm sure the same goes for many others on here trying to decide whether or not to pick it up. Many reviewers have cited the Black Ops' similarity to MW2 as a primary reason for their low scores. While I agree the the overall gameplay is the same (after all, what COD since MW1 has really been all that different?), there are many customization options which make Black Ops stand out for me. First off, the COD points idea is awesome and I hope it becomes a mainstay in the franchise. The ability to buy crucial attachments such as red dot sights for new guns right off the bat rather than tediously leveling up with each weapon is a god-send. Also, the emblem system adds a whole new level of personalization to multipayer. The layered system and ability to modify the shapes and position of different symbols truly allows the player to create anything their imagination can think up. I believe the perks in multiplayer are also superior to those of any in the MW/WAW games. Mortars, Napalm Strikes, remote controlled car-bombs, and the Huey support chopper are all excellent additions and really add a sense of immersion and realism to the game that just was not present in MW2 (LOL @ Tactical Nuke).
    So far I have logged about 45+ hours in Black Ops multiplayer, and I can definately say that the maps do feel a bit smaller than MW2. However, they also feel a lot more realistic thanks to real-world settings such as Saigon, Hanoi, the jungles of Vietnam, Havana, etc. Simply put, I believe that Black Ops succeeds where MW2 failed miserably: in creating a believable an atmospheric environment to wage video war in. The original COD 1,2, and 3 were all based around historical events, and the relevance to real life conflict created an atmosphere which to me (maybe because i'm a history buff) really elevated what was actually a simple and generic gameplay formula. Black Ops returns to the COD tradition of focusing on historical events, rather than crafting some ridiculous WWIII scenario (the White House and National Mall looking like the front line at the Somme..... come on, really Infinity Ward?).


    All in all, I would give the game an 8.5, but unfortunately Metacritic's scale doesn't allow decimal points. Without the bugs and technical issues currently present in the game however, I would undoubtedly give Black Ops a score of 9-9.5. My final advice: if you are a long-time fan of the COD series and were disappointed in MW2, then by all means I would recommend buying Black Ops to get back into the series. However, if you're one of those people who are on the fence and still very much enjoy MW2, I would say hold off until a price drop, or at least until Treyarch releases another patch or two. I hope that this review is able to help some of you in deciding, and possibly will stand out among the biased and ridiculous reviews i'm seeing for the PC version of Black Ops. One more thing: DEDICATED SERVERS RULE and blow the crappy IWnet matchmaking out of the water!


    Hope to see you guys in-game. Enjoy.
    Expand
  28. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i think black ops for the pc first sucks very hard(lags and everything but now its a great game. no lag (by me) and every thing works fine, maps are great and much new futures!! zombies is great and dead op is very funny ! Expand
  29. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    All of you haters be less childish and consider the package as it is. Aside from the MP, the Single Player experience still exists (!!!) and is far superior to any online adventure you might have with an FPS. The story and characters are really well crafted and you won't get the sense of epic scale anywhere online. It's about feeling a really technically and artistically stunning piece ofAll of you haters be less childish and consider the package as it is. Aside from the MP, the Single Player experience still exists (!!!) and is far superior to any online adventure you might have with an FPS. The story and characters are really well crafted and you won't get the sense of epic scale anywhere online. It's about feeling a really technically and artistically stunning piece of blockbuster virtual experience. It's about history, it's about a tale, and a handful of characters that carry you into their reality. It's not about FRAGS or SERVERS or PINGS ! So grade the game properly! Be objective!

    9.0
    Expand
  30. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    Score: 8.0

    Call of Duty: Black Ops is like an action movie. Not everyone will like it, and some may despise it for being 'crude', 'unintelligent', or 'simple.' But If you enjoy it for what it is, you will have a blast. What it is, is a game that does not focus on innovation, or an immersive world of believable characters. It's a game that focusses on fun and adrenaline packed action.
    Score: 8.0

    Call of Duty: Black Ops is like an action movie. Not everyone will like it, and some may despise it for being 'crude', 'unintelligent', or 'simple.' But If you enjoy it for what it is, you will have a blast.

    What it is, is a game that does not focus on innovation, or an immersive world of believable characters. It's a game that focusses on fun and adrenaline packed action. Here are the points I liked about black ops:
    -The Multiplayer is well-balanced, there is no one thing dominates all others.
    -I have heard about alot of problems in multiplayer, but so far I've not had ANY lag whatsoever.
    -I love the cold war setting. This might be trivial to some, but I like the looks of it, and it's not seen much in video games.
    -There's more variety in making your own class, for me it's very addictive to keep reiterating my class and tweaking it.
    -There's a game mode for everyone. I myself play hardcore search and destroy, which does not allow you to respawn untill the next round. I find that this requires a little bit of patience, and that wards of any players who just want non-stop murder. This improves the experience so much.

    And here are the negative points:
    -The game still costs â
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. PC Format
    Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.