User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1439 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    Score (85)

    This COD is one of the best I've played so far, Treyarch have outdone them self. I've only played some of the Single player Campaign and they've put alot of thought into this game but there's also places that made me think back and recognise that exact part in the older COD's :) but it's doesn't matter they've put a lot of new stuff into the story.
    As for the Multi player, i
    like the mix from dedicated servers and steam :) i just love the new kill streaks :) Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Treyarch can pat themselves on their backs for creating such an amazing game. With their pass game history of mediocre games (CoD 3 and CoD WAW). They have set the bar high with Black Ops. Black Ops comes out on top of MW2 with vast improvements and most importantly, dedicated servers for multi-player. As well, the online RPG leveling system allows players to purchase which perks they like instead of having to work through a pre-determined list of perks. Beautiful multi-player maps, balanced guns, and crisp controls make the multi-player experience unforgettable. The single player campaign is roughly 7-8 hours of story-compelling, non-stop action. A game that can deliver a good story while making the characters feel believable and alive is a rare occasion. If you are a CoD fan, this is a must purchase. If you like FPS, but dislike CoD games. This is still a MUST purchase. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    The story is amazing!! It's a lot more easier to understand than the story of modern warfare 2. The multiplayer is very good, who liked mw2 multiplayer will like this too. One problem is that there are many lags on some servers, but if you find a good server add it to your favourites and you will have a really long time fun on this mode.
  4. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Haha ! All " 0 " notes most probably comming from angry EA emplyess. I never saw game review form 0 - 10 :) Someone lie here. juanezos int19h smith Trabis All of those are just one review users. EA FAIL !
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Damn, this is a great game! Ok, let's get serious. MULTIPLAYER is the STAR here and raises the bar for all subsequent games. Not only are there loads of new features, but all the details are well thought out and the gameplay is SMOOTH and WELL-BALANCED. It is WAGER MATCH, however, that blows everything out of the water. INGENIOUSLY CRAFTED and BRILLIANTLY EXECUTED, the WAGER MATCH MODES are INCREDIBLE FUN and SERIOUSLY ADDICTIVE. The single player plot is intriguing and suspenseful and keeps you guessing until the last revelation. Altogether, Black Ops is an outstanding piece of work and NOT TO BE MISSED! In my opinion, this is the BEST CALL OF DUTY YET! Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Cod2 had been my favorite COD so far, but this tops that with ease. The storyline is good and a fair length. The multiplayer is very well balanced and lots of fun. They mastered the gameplay in this one.
  7. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    I love this game! To honest, the single player does get boring, and its more practice than anything. And the multiplayer is full of high level opponents, so its hard to jump right in. But I noticed that not a single review under 5 even mention the nazi zombies section. This is the reason I bought the game, and the reason I play it. If cod black ops came out and it was only the zombies section, i would buy it, because it is extremely entertaining. If you want something fun, buy it, as the multiplayer is good once you're used to it, and the zombies mode is super fun. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Not sure why the score for this is so low. I'm guessing because many of these reviews were done when the game was launched, which I heard was unplayable then. Luckily, I played this game after everything was sorted out, so I have no major issues with bugs/glitches. This version of CoD is much, MUCH better than MW3 on PC. Ranked dedicated servers? Check. Adjustable FOV? Check. Dev console? Check! Now I know the engine on this game is a bit dated, but it works well and the game plays very smoothly. Maybe it's just massive lag from P2P garbage, but MW3 is not nearly as smooth or polished-feeling as BO is. The maps are on BO are a good size, and have a good balance of CQB and more open areas. MW3's maps just feel so claustrophobic in comparison. The unlock system is, in my opinion, much better than MW3 (which is also very similar to BF3). Acquiring currency and buying the weapons/equip./killstreaks that you actually want is much better. Not only do you get the gear you want quicker, it's more satisfying to "buy" something you want than just to "unlock" it. The SP campaign is pretty good, and is up there with MW2's campaign, which I really enjoyed. Although there are PC specific options in the game (ded. servers, fov, etc.), it's still an obvious console port. Also, because it is a dx9 game, it has much worse performance in Vista/7 than in XP - you can find many threads on this. Overall though, I really enjoyed BO, and with MW3 being an epic fail, I will probably play BO for much longer. Expand
  9. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    I waited about 5 days to post my review, because of the lag issues at launch. Now, Treyarch has fixed it (at least for most people) and the game runs beautifully. I have already put in 24 hours into this game, and find it a lot of fun to play all day (on multiplayer). The single player is what I've come to expect, except maybe a little less, from the other games. That's why my review is a 9. The multiplayer will no doubt keep me entertained for another year at least, the single player is lacking. Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Finally a game from activision with effort. This game has been well thought out, with improved graphics(Unlike the crap Infinity Ward makes). The story is gripping and realistic and multi player is just plain awesome this is the best COD game ever!! A must Buy
  11. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    I gave a review of this game in haste previously and gave the game a score of 5. After playing the game through and changing a few of the graphics settings I realise that the game is actually great and deserves a decent score. I don't know why so many people are giving the game a score of 0 or below 5, people will not take user scores seriously from PC users soon. (They probably don't already) The game, while offering nothing incredibly new, is fun and well programmed other than two or three small points in this long game. To say this is a port from xbox or ps3 is wrong, the game engine designed by Infinity Ward, which was used with this game, has always been developed for pc technology. While the multiplayer features may not be fully up and running on the PC version, it is temporary and will be fixed soon. The story line was quite clever and the fighting was great fun. The zombies additional feature is good fun but people should realise that the Call of Duty series is as much about single player fun as it is about multiplayer, if not more so. To rate the game 0 because the multiplayer features need some patching is ridiculous, I would like to see the guys who rated it a 0 try to create a comprehensive multiplayer expansion such as Zombies before they start complaining that it doesnâ Expand
  12. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Black Ops gives us the best performance of single campaign in last three years. Treyarch is developing not excellent graphics and innovative game play, but we can enjoy a solid action, a story, which does not irritate and firm trash moments that called to entertain us. And it works! Six hours of Black Ops are much better than equivalent performance in theaters. Only bugs can stop your satisfaction for a moment. But anyway, COLD WAR GONE HOT. Enjoy... Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    I am amazed at the amount of trolls who are giving this game terrible reviews. Apparently halo fans got together to rate this game so it could look crappy. 4.5 average? that is obviously total crap because the real critics would of tore this game to pieces much more so then the users ever could have. Call Of Duty might be a yearly title. But this one goes so far beyond anything Infinity Ward has ever done. They took customization seriously, and took away the insane amounts of power people had in Modern Warfare. It is one of the best game you will ever play in the first person genre. As for these problems with lag, I have had little problems. And people need to realize that when servers are suddenly filled with millions of people, it is almost impossible to not have some problems. This game is worth the money, with the campaign, zombies, and the always solid muiltiplayer. They have made a near perfect game... Not to mention the ability to save your films and even edit clips together so you can show many angles of the same awesome event... Which for the record, Even Halo does not allow you to do. Do not believe all the haters, they are simply hating on a game because its so popular. Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Everyone who is giving this a zero is either a troll, or a moron that is trying to play the game on dial-up with a very outdated machine. The game runs perfectly, with no framerate issues on an ati 5850. I will admit I did experience lag for a few hours after release, but a simple console command to change the maximum packets sent at a time fixes that issue.(cl_maxpackets 100 or so) The balance and gameplay of the multiplayer is, in my opinion, the best they have done since Call of Duty 4. Kill streak rewards have been toned down, claymores are much less abundant, and so are grenades, making the game much more skill based. The multiplayer is definitely the best part of the game, I won't go into the single player a lot because I haven't finished it, but it is dissappointing to me, very generic run and gun gameplay, kill the same enemy a hundred times each level, I still enjoyed it but I felt it should have had better pacing, because the idea behind it was better than the execution. I would give it an 8.5 if you factor in the singleplayer, multiplayer alone deserves a 9/10 from me. Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Ignore the trolls here, COD BlOps is unashamedly Call Of Duty so if you don't like the series you won't like this and it's dumb spamming the reviews.... For the game itself it's at least as good as the Modern Warfares with extras such as the Wager Matches and COD Points system pipping the MP ahead IMO. Zombies and Dead Ops are much more enjoyable than MW2's Spec Ops as well
  16. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Speaking of single player only here. I really have been enjoying playing this game, the controls are easy to set up, it runs great on my PC, the sounds, visuals & effects are really cool. I guess if you are a die hard COD fan this game might be a let down (as i see in other reviews) but if you are like me and not a COD fanboy, then you will like this game. I have yet to try the multi player yet and not sure I will due to the hackers/cheaters, and yes there are MANY of them in Black Ops. Expand
  17. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. only a few bad multiplayer bugs zombie mode is back good dlc great killstreaks and easy trickshots make this game amazing for me its epic my 2nd fav cod game its almost as good as COD4 the only thing i dont like about it is because i can no longer bounce and trickshotting isn't as fun Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Best COD Version Yet, the only bugs i have encountered are from the single player, but this game is for multilayer if you expected to play this offline go get a gun and blow your brains out. the upside of this game is that it looks SEXY!
  19. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Upon release, the game was nearly unplayable. After a couple patches, Treyarch has improved upon the game's flaws but there are still obvious bugs that need to be addressed. Aside from a buggy release, the game is fantastic and extremely enjoyable. Loaded with features, game modes, and customization options, Black Ops is the best game to be released in the series so far... when it works.
  20. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    To make this clear, this is not an Infinityward game, they are the ones who made the modern warfare series, and in my opinion are way better at it. However, Treyarch did a really good job this time around.
    The gameplay is pretty solid and the weapons and killstreak rewards are almost better than MW2 (Except no nuke!)
    They rearranged the Perks in a way, which I think, is way better than
    before. I can choose some of the perks that I usually had to compromise over. Stopping Power is gone, thank God, they made it so I actually have options if I want to do well. The return of Hardcore FFA and Hardcore Team Deathmatch is well overdue. Yes MW2 had HCTDM, but everyone hid, due to the spawn timer, and it was absolutely homorotic. There still is a spawn timer, but it varies, and sometimes you will get spawned right after you die.
    The lunch money (Yes I know you ripped off myyearbook!) reward system is a definite plus, especially if you're a good player, I've gotten well over 5k in a single match. And the customization and means to waste all that money is there and well worth it.
    The Map design is decent, but still not on par with Infiniward. Some of the maps almost feel identical. There are usually 10 different approaches you can use to kill someone, which is very FFA unfriendly. However, they do have some self-defendable zones and the maps are actually big enough to spawn safely most of the time.
    Private servers are back, which is good to ward off hackers and **** so far everyone is much more polite than in the MW2 servers. The downside is that if you are legitimately playing really well, you will often get kicked by noob admins and terri-bad clans.
    The Single player is not even worth mentioning. So far it just feels like Rambo. Give me something more realistic for a change. This isn't Black Ops, you aren't covertly making your way through the enemy, you just make your way to your objective, and then start a big gun fight all the way to the end of the mission. Their single player campaign has never been on par with Infinityward, it's a shame Activision chose to shank the good developer.
    Expand
  21. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Only one complaint, sniper rifles are not powerful enough! Even the most powerful sniper rifle with suppressor attached does not 1 shot kill if I shoot someone in the head?! (Not HC mode).

    Other than that, I strongly disagree with all of the negative reviews, the online play is absaloutely perfect for me and the 4 buddies I play online with. There is occasionaly stutter however most games
    I have played have lagged every now and then, even on consoles. Class customisation is awesome and adds a new element to the game, there seems to actually be tonnes of customisation options. Also contracts and wager matches are bloody good fun! Ping wise, I am joining servers with about 20ms ping, my friends usually get between 20 and 70, most other people seem to be around 50-100. You get the odd people with +100 who complain a lot... join another server?! Get a better connection, stop downloading!?

    Single player, I am only on the third level so far, whilst it does not feel as polished as Modern Warfare 2's campaign. (My team seem to wonder into rooms full of enemies and they all ignore each other? I follow in and get ripped to shreds?) it is still really sucking me into it and I am loving every moment, feels like I am playing through a movie.

    Zombie mode, jesus it is a lot harder than it used to be, I am struggling to get past round 10!!! But it has definitely been massively improved, incredibly theatric/intense to play now.

    I have had no problems with graphics, running at 1920*1200, maxed out. Game looks awesome. (Q6600 @ 3.2GHz, GTX470, 4GB DDR2).

    It is another CoD game though, so if you buy it expecting the core not to feel like every other CoD then you should not be buying it! Yes, all of them have had the same gameplay style etc since CoD1, but thats why we love it? Right?!
    Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    The recently released patches have made this game a great addition to the COD family. My initial rating and review were deservedly negative based on the performance issues that the PC version was plagued by. Now that the issues are (mostly) fixed the SP campaign is intriguing and MP has a lot to offer.
  23. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Listen, call of duty black ops is a wonderful game. I don't have a clue why people are hating it so much. The campaign is the best yet and the multiplayer is awesome. I've never had any connection problems or lag so far. Playing on ps3. If you were thinking of buying this game go right ahead, you will NOT be disappointed.
  24. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    I havent played too much of the SP so i can't really say to much about that. As for everybody complaining about "zombie mode" not working I could care less. I bought the game to shot people online not kill zombies, I beleive there is already a game for that (left 4 dead). I will admit that the release day of this game was absolutely dreadful wit the amount of lag server side. I must be one of the lucky ones because iv never had a problem with video lag running everything at max settings at 1920x1080. As for the multiplayer expiereince itself I really cant complain. After steam released the server fix the game became much more enjoyable (there planning on releasing future patches soon). Everybody saying that the graphics are crap; it looks exactly like MW2 which imho had pretty decent graphics plus i dont need bomb graphics to make it an enjoyable competitive exp. New killstreaks are fing sweet new maps are far superior to those of mw2 (again just my opinion). Also they balanced the MP a bit by removing crappy ass commando and some other gay things. My only real gripe about this game is that the guns have much more minimal differences between them then in mw2. To all those who are having issues with lag and stuff, i wish the best to you and hopefully they figure out whats wrong with your stuff so you can join the pwnage. Expand
  25. Nov 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very good in my point of view. Great campaign storyline, good zombie minigame and a VERY GOOD Multiplayer. It as some issues like bad zombie game matchmaking and a little bit of lag, but Treyarch has already made a small update to solve the lag so, that means that they are still working to do a better game. I think that everyone was so excited about the game and because of laggy servers in the first week, most of the "addicted to games" guys throw the game down the hill. Expand
  26. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I think this is a very solid game with a great campaign. Also I love the customization that I can now do on multiplayer. Yes, there are lags on multiplayer, but none that are game impairing. Overall I think it is a great game and does not deserve the low reviews that it seems to be getting.
  27. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    (360 Version) Black Ops is one great CoD game. I didn't like MW2 but this game is definitely a fun game. The Story is exciting and mind-boggling, the Zombie mode is lots of fun with friends but not alone, multiplayer is so far great with some bad things and of course the hidden Dead Ops Arcade which is hilarious. Totally recommending this one for consoles.
  28. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    I have to say that I was amazed by the campaign and how it built up to an explosive ending. As for multiplayer . Everyone who is complaining about lag please remove your review. It is apparent that none of you have ever played a pc game before. The game was lagging due to the game having top of the line system requirements and I mean it had to have been purchased in 2010. Also updating the drivers helped with lag tremendously. BC2 was far worse at the beginning anyway. As for infinity war. YOU SAY THIS IS A MONEY PLOY???? I think there are 360 people trolling here because MW2 was the biggest paycheck Bobby Kotick Aka. satin got in a long time. And all of this bs on how infinity ward made a better game? The MW2 campaign was like a Michael Bay film. Full of plot holes. And the multiplayer for it was terrible. No customization unless you ran a hacked server. There was also an unbearable amount of hackers that VAC could not ban. Now because black ops has servers people can be banned server side which actually works. Finally it took them a day to fix the game so I think this is Treyarch's biggest improvement since World at War. (Note that all bugs have been fixed) Expand
  29. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    there is plenty of fun to be had with this game and if you enjoy call of duty games you will know the formula. Black Ops does everything you have seen in mw1, waw and mw2 and adds to specific element. singleplayer campaign is slightly longer, more difficult and faster pased. there are some amazing moments and its up to the modern warfare standard. unfortunately some parts include enemies that infinitely spawn, this gets very frustrating especially when the objectives are not clear. overall another decent campaign. multiplayer started out very laggy for me like most other people but after a few games settled down and was playable, with dedicated servers i am getting much improved pings over modern warfare 2 which is extremely pleasing, wager matches, cod points, and more customisation is great and maps are decent. the game would be great if it wasn't the same game for the 4th time at the ludicrous price of $90au (which is now $90 us) 82/100 Expand
  30. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great game they did really good with the Single player, but i think they could have done a little better with the multiplayer.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.