User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1428 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Best COD Version Yet, the only bugs i have encountered are from the single player, but this game is for multilayer if you expected to play this offline go get a gun and blow your brains out. the upside of this game is that it looks SEXY!
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    I can't play this game, the delay is just too much. Only when I'm the host can I get good scores. No servers for N-Europe, ridiculous and unjustified. With 60+ ping this game should have never been released where I live. Other than that the game is balanced sure but doesn't bring anything new, it's MW 2.5 with worse connections, player models, graphics, performance. The theater mode records barely half of my games, pointless, give me an option to disable it. The performance is still horrible on PC. The player models look like dwarfs to be honest. The maps are ugly, thanks to the console graphics. The console port is bad and the game shouldn't have been released for PC. The fonts are ugly, the UI is ugly, the menu is ugly. Killstreaks don't unlock you new killstreaks which means using nothing else than the top killstreaks is useless and boring: there's not enough interaction with killstreaks. The perks, killstreaks and guns are all copied from MW2, except they are now balanced. There are a few new gamemodes though which I didn't find interesting. Going prestige doesn't give you anything exciting or useful other than a few new classes to use and a 15x15 emblem, it's pointless. I have hundreds of thousands of money yet no use for it. The game lags unnecessarily much with decent pings, and the hit detection is faulty. The game isn't anywhere near worth the money. Instead of updating things that barely make a difference how about update the faults that make the unbearable? To be honest Treyarch isn't professional enough to launch a game of this scale and sincerely hope I never hear of this company ever again.Sadly there are even more things I forgot to mention here. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Haha ! All " 0 " notes most probably comming from angry EA emplyess. I never saw game review form 0 - 10 :) Someone lie here. juanezos int19h smith Trabis All of those are just one review users. EA FAIL !
  4. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This game was just as good as modern warfare 2 if not better.The graphics were macnificent and the storyline great, i only played the single player though but it was really another great C.O.D great experience and they still make M.O.H look like children!!!
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Finally a game from activision with effort. This game has been well thought out, with improved graphics(Unlike the crap Infinity Ward makes). The story is gripping and realistic and multi player is just plain awesome this is the best COD game ever!! A must Buy
  6. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Treyarch can pat themselves on their backs for creating such an amazing game. With their pass game history of mediocre games (CoD 3 and CoD WAW). They have set the bar high with Black Ops. Black Ops comes out on top of MW2 with vast improvements and most importantly, dedicated servers for multi-player. As well, the online RPG leveling system allows players to purchase which perks they like instead of having to work through a pre-determined list of perks. Beautiful multi-player maps, balanced guns, and crisp controls make the multi-player experience unforgettable. The single player campaign is roughly 7-8 hours of story-compelling, non-stop action. A game that can deliver a good story while making the characters feel believable and alive is a rare occasion. If you are a CoD fan, this is a must purchase. If you like FPS, but dislike CoD games. This is still a MUST purchase. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    I gave a review of this game in haste previously and gave the game a score of 5. After playing the game through and changing a few of the graphics settings I realise that the game is actually great and deserves a decent score. I don't know why so many people are giving the game a score of 0 or below 5, people will not take user scores seriously from PC users soon. (They probably don't already) The game, while offering nothing incredibly new, is fun and well programmed other than two or three small points in this long game. To say this is a port from xbox or ps3 is wrong, the game engine designed by Infinity Ward, which was used with this game, has always been developed for pc technology. While the multiplayer features may not be fully up and running on the PC version, it is temporary and will be fixed soon. The story line was quite clever and the fighting was great fun. The zombies additional feature is good fun but people should realise that the Call of Duty series is as much about single player fun as it is about multiplayer, if not more so. To rate the game 0 because the multiplayer features need some patching is ridiculous, I would like to see the guys who rated it a 0 try to create a comprehensive multiplayer expansion such as Zombies before they start complaining that it doesnâ Expand
  8. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Damn, this is a great game! Ok, let's get serious. MULTIPLAYER is the STAR here and raises the bar for all subsequent games. Not only are there loads of new features, but all the details are well thought out and the gameplay is SMOOTH and WELL-BALANCED. It is WAGER MATCH, however, that blows everything out of the water. INGENIOUSLY CRAFTED and BRILLIANTLY EXECUTED, the WAGER MATCH MODES are INCREDIBLE FUN and SERIOUSLY ADDICTIVE. The single player plot is intriguing and suspenseful and keeps you guessing until the last revelation. Altogether, Black Ops is an outstanding piece of work and NOT TO BE MISSED! In my opinion, this is the BEST CALL OF DUTY YET! Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Cod2 had been my favorite COD so far, but this tops that with ease. The storyline is good and a fair length. The multiplayer is very well balanced and lots of fun. They mastered the gameplay in this one.
  10. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    I am amazed at the amount of trolls who are giving this game terrible reviews. Apparently halo fans got together to rate this game so it could look crappy. 4.5 average? that is obviously total crap because the real critics would of tore this game to pieces much more so then the users ever could have. Call Of Duty might be a yearly title. But this one goes so far beyond anything Infinity Ward has ever done. They took customization seriously, and took away the insane amounts of power people had in Modern Warfare. It is one of the best game you will ever play in the first person genre. As for these problems with lag, I have had little problems. And people need to realize that when servers are suddenly filled with millions of people, it is almost impossible to not have some problems. This game is worth the money, with the campaign, zombies, and the always solid muiltiplayer. They have made a near perfect game... Not to mention the ability to save your films and even edit clips together so you can show many angles of the same awesome event... Which for the record, Even Halo does not allow you to do. Do not believe all the haters, they are simply hating on a game because its so popular. Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Ignore the trolls here, COD BlOps is unashamedly Call Of Duty so if you don't like the series you won't like this and it's dumb spamming the reviews.... For the game itself it's at least as good as the Modern Warfares with extras such as the Wager Matches and COD Points system pipping the MP ahead IMO. Zombies and Dead Ops are much more enjoyable than MW2's Spec Ops as well
  12. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Only one complaint, sniper rifles are not powerful enough! Even the most powerful sniper rifle with suppressor attached does not 1 shot kill if I shoot someone in the head?! (Not HC mode).

    Other than that, I strongly disagree with all of the negative reviews, the online play is absaloutely perfect for me and the 4 buddies I play online with. There is occasionaly stutter however most games
    I have played have lagged every now and then, even on consoles. Class customisation is awesome and adds a new element to the game, there seems to actually be tonnes of customisation options. Also contracts and wager matches are bloody good fun! Ping wise, I am joining servers with about 20ms ping, my friends usually get between 20 and 70, most other people seem to be around 50-100. You get the odd people with +100 who complain a lot... join another server?! Get a better connection, stop downloading!?

    Single player, I am only on the third level so far, whilst it does not feel as polished as Modern Warfare 2's campaign. (My team seem to wonder into rooms full of enemies and they all ignore each other? I follow in and get ripped to shreds?) it is still really sucking me into it and I am loving every moment, feels like I am playing through a movie.

    Zombie mode, jesus it is a lot harder than it used to be, I am struggling to get past round 10!!! But it has definitely been massively improved, incredibly theatric/intense to play now.

    I have had no problems with graphics, running at 1920*1200, maxed out. Game looks awesome. (Q6600 @ 3.2GHz, GTX470, 4GB DDR2).

    It is another CoD game though, so if you buy it expecting the core not to feel like every other CoD then you should not be buying it! Yes, all of them have had the same gameplay style etc since CoD1, but thats why we love it? Right?!
    Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    The recently released patches have made this game a great addition to the COD family. My initial rating and review were deservedly negative based on the performance issues that the PC version was plagued by. Now that the issues are (mostly) fixed the SP campaign is intriguing and MP has a lot to offer.
  14. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    I havent played too much of the SP so i can't really say to much about that. As for everybody complaining about "zombie mode" not working I could care less. I bought the game to shot people online not kill zombies, I beleive there is already a game for that (left 4 dead). I will admit that the release day of this game was absolutely dreadful wit the amount of lag server side. I must be one of the lucky ones because iv never had a problem with video lag running everything at max settings at 1920x1080. As for the multiplayer expiereince itself I really cant complain. After steam released the server fix the game became much more enjoyable (there planning on releasing future patches soon). Everybody saying that the graphics are crap; it looks exactly like MW2 which imho had pretty decent graphics plus i dont need bomb graphics to make it an enjoyable competitive exp. New killstreaks are fing sweet new maps are far superior to those of mw2 (again just my opinion). Also they balanced the MP a bit by removing crappy ass commando and some other gay things. My only real gripe about this game is that the guns have much more minimal differences between them then in mw2. To all those who are having issues with lag and stuff, i wish the best to you and hopefully they figure out whats wrong with your stuff so you can join the pwnage. Expand
  15. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I think this is a very solid game with a great campaign. Also I love the customization that I can now do on multiplayer. Yes, there are lags on multiplayer, but none that are game impairing. Overall I think it is a great game and does not deserve the low reviews that it seems to be getting.
  16. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    I have to say that I was amazed by the campaign and how it built up to an explosive ending. As for multiplayer . Everyone who is complaining about lag please remove your review. It is apparent that none of you have ever played a pc game before. The game was lagging due to the game having top of the line system requirements and I mean it had to have been purchased in 2010. Also updating the drivers helped with lag tremendously. BC2 was far worse at the beginning anyway. As for infinity war. YOU SAY THIS IS A MONEY PLOY???? I think there are 360 people trolling here because MW2 was the biggest paycheck Bobby Kotick Aka. satin got in a long time. And all of this bs on how infinity ward made a better game? The MW2 campaign was like a Michael Bay film. Full of plot holes. And the multiplayer for it was terrible. No customization unless you ran a hacked server. There was also an unbearable amount of hackers that VAC could not ban. Now because black ops has servers people can be banned server side which actually works. Finally it took them a day to fix the game so I think this is Treyarch's biggest improvement since World at War. (Note that all bugs have been fixed) Expand
  17. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    there is plenty of fun to be had with this game and if you enjoy call of duty games you will know the formula. Black Ops does everything you have seen in mw1, waw and mw2 and adds to specific element. singleplayer campaign is slightly longer, more difficult and faster pased. there are some amazing moments and its up to the modern warfare standard. unfortunately some parts include enemies that infinitely spawn, this gets very frustrating especially when the objectives are not clear. overall another decent campaign. multiplayer started out very laggy for me like most other people but after a few games settled down and was playable, with dedicated servers i am getting much improved pings over modern warfare 2 which is extremely pleasing, wager matches, cod points, and more customisation is great and maps are decent. the game would be great if it wasn't the same game for the 4th time at the ludicrous price of $90au (which is now $90 us) 82/100 Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    please stop whining about the lag, do you really think they wont fix it? tbh this is the best call of duty game since cod 4 since waw wasnt that good and mw2 completely sucked, because of the overpowered, no recoil guns and no dedicated servers. But in black ops there are dedicated servers and all the guns are very balanced with low damage and high recoil wich is awesome, finally needs some skills to get kills. and there is very low explosive damage on noob tubes wich is awesome. and all of you people who are whining about zombies not working on the day of realease, OBVIOUSLY SOME THINGS ARE BROKEN 1 HOUR AFTER THE GAME IS RELEASED BUT THEY WILL FIX IT!!!! Expand
  19. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    game is amaizing with nice multiplayer,singleplayer,zombie mod and mpas.i dont understand people who think"This game is shit"game dont have much noobtubes beacause gl is not powerfull like in modern warfare 2.buy this now
  20. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great game they did really good with the Single player, but i think they could have done a little better with the multiplayer.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
  21. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Far superior to Modern Warfare 1 or 2 in almost everyway. Rich characters, interesting story, and varied mission structure make this one of the best single player experiences since Call of Duty 1 or 2. Multiplayer is better, with new customization options, faster progression, Wager Matches, and new hardcore/ normal filters that the last games lacked. I bought the game from launch, and never experienced the issues some of the users are complaining of. My opinion is that most of these negative views are probably from butthurt Modern Warfare 2 players, who can't admit a better game when they see one. Kudos to Treyarch for this release, this more than makes up for World at War. Expand
  22. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. It's also worth it just to take the "1 less kill for a streak" feat and run rc cars into everyone even if you're not good at the game. Only Activision would amke a game that'll have people scared of a toy for a hot minute. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps game before, as I don't have to tell you how awful a joystick is for competitive fps games. Expand
  23. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    The single player is about exactly as entertaining and challenging as Battlefield Bad Company's. The multiplayer is a lot better. In Battlefield Bad Company the highest achievement is to have a beard? Okay. I get it but seriously? Call of Duty: Black Ops controls, and achievement notifications are so satisfying it gets you wanting for more. If it weren't for WoW I'd play this game enough to force my wife to divorce me.
    The haters are just that. This game is better than these scores indicate. Better than Battlefield Bad Company and I'm as objective as they come considering the fact that I have a personal grudge towards Activision... You can't deny the entertainment value and replayability of this game. Period.
    Expand
  24. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Many people think this game is not as good as the last (MW2). I believe they are mistaken because Infinity Ward were using the game as a pure money making exercise, DLC's that copied previous games. Not every new game will be an improvement on a very good game but this one is.
  25. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This game is fricken amazing! Halo what? Metal Gear what? Call of Duty Black Ops is the greatest game ever made. The single player campaign is simply spectacular, so much so that many times I was playing I forgot that I was playing a game and thought that I was watching a Hollywood blockbuster! Every character is expressive and convincing. By the time the game is done, you will care for all of them. Reznov is the epiphany of the word badass! The multiplayer is incredibly simple, but rewardingly difficult to master. It'll suck you in and you'll get thousands of hours out of this game. Expand
  26. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Speaking of single player only here. I really have been enjoying playing this game, the controls are easy to set up, it runs great on my PC, the sounds, visuals & effects are really cool. I guess if you are a die hard COD fan this game might be a let down (as i see in other reviews) but if you are like me and not a COD fanboy, then you will like this game. I have yet to try the multi player yet and not sure I will due to the hackers/cheaters, and yes there are MANY of them in Black Ops. Expand
  27. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hehehehe.. angry nerds are angry Expand
  28. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. oyun muhteÅ Expand
  29. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best multiplayer game I have ever played. When it first came out the bugs were horrible and I did have to upgrade my PC, but really, this is incomparable to anything else that I've ever played. The smoothness now is amazing. Maybe from all that work getting it fixed in the beginning... I don't know. I see these reviews were from November. The game has came a long way since then. It just goes to show what a game can become once the bugs get worked out. Amazing Amazing Amazing.. Expand
  30. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Black Ops is a Great game to play.Recommend to anyone who likes playing video games and who likes to be challenge.Graphs and audio are great. Lots of action that makes you think.
  31. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    It'll make you feel like a real soldier spamming grenades, noobtubing and knifing everyone in your way. (Note: I don't use GL so yes, i hate noobtubers)

    Jokes aside, Despite the bugs and glitches here and there, this is one of the best COD MP you'll ever experience.
    As for the SP, it's very entertaining in some moments but it feels like a rail-shooter.
    They could have worked a little bit
    more on the storyline.
    As for the graphics, even if the engine is many years old, i love it.

    I never thought Treyarch would make a COD better than Modern Warfare Franchise, but they proved me wrong and really kicked some butts with this game.
    Expand
  32. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Treyarch did a much better job with BLOPS than IW did with MW2. BLOPS got most of the important PC features right, ie, dedicated servers, adjustable fov, dev console, etc.. The main problem is that it performs bad for some people but other than that it's a well done console port.

    I give it a 10 because it deserves more than what users are giving it.
  33. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    multiplayer is awesome and never gets boring . ive nevr had a problem with hackes .the single player campaign was EPIC for a first person shooter , not as good as half life 2 but still WIN , they could make movies about the storyline. and all the people below my post that said anything negative about the multiplayer is because they are just terrible at it
  34. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    if world at war is terrible what is cod 3? made also by treyarch.............................................................................................................................................
  35. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    Super game, and lots of fun. I'm somewhat surprised at the ratings because I feel game has :the following strong points:
    nonstop action
    variety of weapons
    lots of different ways to fight, like tank and helo
    good explanatory notes
  36. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is so great, I can't wait untill MW3 comes out, I'm just playing, and playing, and playing Black Ops on my XBOX 360. I'm lvl 28 or 29 (can't remember) in 4th Prestige i just can't wait for Modern Warfare 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  37. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I grew up on MoH;AA and MoH:Spearhead. I tried COD mw1 just before COD:BO came out on steam for PC. COD:M1 was just chaos, but had good layout custimization. I now have 951 hours in the COD:BO multiplayer, and typically just stick to CTF hardcore matches. I never really got into the SP side of COD, or in any multiplayer FPS game for that matter.

    Seeing 4.3 for this game as a user score is
    a joke, to say the least. I play my fair share of video games on PC of all types... and don't really care about who made this game. The game is very enjoyable if you are looking for an online FPS multiplayer that you can really spend some time in. The lag is about 10% of the lag you'll experience on BF3 or MW3 (stay in your country and you will not notice any - ever (on a decent/good PC).

    I'd recommend this game to anyone who is looking.
    Expand
  38. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    whooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  39. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This the COD that shines out through the **** that is modern warfare. MW1 was definitely good, WAW really good (only because of nazi zombies, thanks treyarch :), MW2 was pretty good, but still pretty similar to MW1, MW3.......oh boy, MW3 is so damn generic/stereotypical of a COD that you're basically re-buying MW1 and MW2, the campaign sucked especially. But Black Ops is awesome, you have to be pretty stupid to think MW3 is any where near as good as Black Ops, because the new zombie mode ALONE is better than MW3. Overall, BUY IT. Expand
  40. May 13, 2012
    10
    An awesome game an epic game on Xbox live zombies. You need to get this game. If you think this is awesome like me you will probably want to get Black Ops 2.
  41. May 6, 2012
    10
    Black Ops, in fact, Treyarch makes the best games with Call of Duty (Modern Warfare 1 being the only exception) and I loved the storyline and place it #1 storyline in CoD history. The multiplayer is a little below par, but I got over it quickly and had a fun time. Black Ops II is going to be great, unlike Modern Warfare 3 crap.
  42. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    There is so much content packed into this game that I couldn't even fit all of it into my review. However, even the multiplayer alone is enough to warrant this rating.
  43. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    A point to first be made: before buying BO I had figured that its negative feedback was made at the onset of the game's release and after filtering the reviews to show only recent reviews the game seemed to have gotten some solid reviews within the 6-10 range.

    This in mind, I took a chance and bought BO during Steam's summer sale for $20 USD and after 20 hours of logged multiplayer I
    couldn't be happier with my purchase. I admittedly haven't played single player but even if it was just a video of 9000 hours of nyan cat or a compilation of goatse pics or QWOP I wouldn't really care since I bought the game only for what it has to offer in multiplayer. My laptop is maybe midrange (1gb nvidia 9600m GT, duo2.66GHz, 1680X945, 4GB DDR3) but the game runs flawlessly when I have throttlestop and rightmark CPU on for max performance. I, however, wouldn't be able to play if it weren't for my mega vornado fan cooling hookup.

    All in all, BO is a great "twitch" shooter with glorious gfx (I only really play CS), smooth multiplayer, and well populated servers that I've noticed to maintain a clean gaming environment and have very active clans/admin presence. It's too bad this game has gotten such muddy reviews...
    Expand
  44. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    Having spent 400+ hours in this game and loving every one of those hours I honestly can't help giving it a 10 (for multiplayer).

    SP score of 0 though, boring on rails story with zero attractiveness imho.
    Zombie mode gets a 2 for effort but I don't really like it, the whole thing feels like you need an IQ bellow 80 to enjoy...
  45. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    why do so many people hate this game? the graphics are not excellent but the gameplay is funny. i've had no problems at all. i haven't tested the multiplayer because i never do, but treyarch usually provides a good multiplayer. for what i've seen, this game deserves an 8.7
  46. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    People love to hate whats popular. What it comes down to is that Black Ops is safe, but polished: What you should expect from a Call of Duty game these days. Multiplayer is a bit more balanced, but not perfectly, and its not likely to sway the people whose minds were made up before hand. Single player has a bit more innovative in the story, but not as well executed. MW2 was comparable to a Bond film, but Black Ops is just too easy to give up on, despite the entertainment of seeing some familiar, historical faces. Set pieces are wide, imaginative, and varied throughout, and though perhaps not quite as good as Modern Warfare, it has some top notch extra content to make up for it, however much Spec Ops is missed. Overall, if you still like being an army dude with real guns mowing down enemies while lots of **** blows up, Spec Ops is a great buy. If your looking for a game that shuns the safe blockbuster video game formula for something new and unexpected, you're going to be disappointed. Expand
  47. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    I waited about 5 days to post my review, because of the lag issues at launch. Now, Treyarch has fixed it (at least for most people) and the game runs beautifully. I have already put in 24 hours into this game, and find it a lot of fun to play all day (on multiplayer). The single player is what I've come to expect, except maybe a little less, from the other games. That's why my review is a 9. The multiplayer will no doubt keep me entertained for another year at least, the single player is lacking. Expand
  48. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    A hefty game which still has some lag issues, but if you focus more on it's campaign, it has a strong plot, all it's levels are pinned down to the plot. I know, it's laggy... laggy for those who want to feel the best experience in a videogame. Quite impressive how Treyarch is rolling out these updates in a fast pace. I'm looking forward for another Treyarch Call of Duty game, but what I really recommend as an improvement is to have a longer campaign, focus on the story, not too much on the action, one wrong step and the main point of the game is to shoot every bastard you see down the road. Try making a modern setting Call of Duty game. Expand
  49. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Upon release, the game was nearly unplayable. After a couple patches, Treyarch has improved upon the game's flaws but there are still obvious bugs that need to be addressed. Aside from a buggy release, the game is fantastic and extremely enjoyable. Loaded with features, game modes, and customization options, Black Ops is the best game to be released in the series so far... when it works.
  50. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    To make this clear, this is not an Infinityward game, they are the ones who made the modern warfare series, and in my opinion are way better at it. However, Treyarch did a really good job this time around.
    The gameplay is pretty solid and the weapons and killstreak rewards are almost better than MW2 (Except no nuke!)
    They rearranged the Perks in a way, which I think, is way better than
    before. I can choose some of the perks that I usually had to compromise over. Stopping Power is gone, thank God, they made it so I actually have options if I want to do well. The return of Hardcore FFA and Hardcore Team Deathmatch is well overdue. Yes MW2 had HCTDM, but everyone hid, due to the spawn timer, and it was absolutely homorotic. There still is a spawn timer, but it varies, and sometimes you will get spawned right after you die.
    The lunch money (Yes I know you ripped off myyearbook!) reward system is a definite plus, especially if you're a good player, I've gotten well over 5k in a single match. And the customization and means to waste all that money is there and well worth it.
    The Map design is decent, but still not on par with Infiniward. Some of the maps almost feel identical. There are usually 10 different approaches you can use to kill someone, which is very FFA unfriendly. However, they do have some self-defendable zones and the maps are actually big enough to spawn safely most of the time.
    Private servers are back, which is good to ward off hackers and **** so far everyone is much more polite than in the MW2 servers. The downside is that if you are legitimately playing really well, you will often get kicked by noob admins and terri-bad clans.
    The Single player is not even worth mentioning. So far it just feels like Rambo. Give me something more realistic for a change. This isn't Black Ops, you aren't covertly making your way through the enemy, you just make your way to your objective, and then start a big gun fight all the way to the end of the mission. Their single player campaign has never been on par with Infinityward, it's a shame Activision chose to shank the good developer.
    Expand
  51. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Black Ops gives us the best performance of single campaign in last three years. Treyarch is developing not excellent graphics and innovative game play, but we can enjoy a solid action, a story, which does not irritate and firm trash moments that called to entertain us. And it works! Six hours of Black Ops are much better than equivalent performance in theaters. Only bugs can stop your satisfaction for a moment. But anyway, COLD WAR GONE HOT. Enjoy... Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    Score (85)

    This COD is one of the best I've played so far, Treyarch have outdone them self. I've only played some of the Single player Campaign and they've put alot of thought into this game but there's also places that made me think back and recognise that exact part in the older COD's :) but it's doesn't matter they've put a lot of new stuff into the story.
    As for the Multi player, i
    like the mix from dedicated servers and steam :) i just love the new kill streaks :) Expand
  53. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    The story is amazing!! It's a lot more easier to understand than the story of modern warfare 2. The multiplayer is very good, who liked mw2 multiplayer will like this too. One problem is that there are many lags on some servers, but if you find a good server add it to your favourites and you will have a really long time fun on this mode.
  54. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Everyone who is giving this a zero is either a troll, or a moron that is trying to play the game on dial-up with a very outdated machine. The game runs perfectly, with no framerate issues on an ati 5850. I will admit I did experience lag for a few hours after release, but a simple console command to change the maximum packets sent at a time fixes that issue.(cl_maxpackets 100 or so) The balance and gameplay of the multiplayer is, in my opinion, the best they have done since Call of Duty 4. Kill streak rewards have been toned down, claymores are much less abundant, and so are grenades, making the game much more skill based. The multiplayer is definitely the best part of the game, I won't go into the single player a lot because I haven't finished it, but it is dissappointing to me, very generic run and gun gameplay, kill the same enemy a hundred times each level, I still enjoyed it but I felt it should have had better pacing, because the idea behind it was better than the execution. I would give it an 8.5 if you factor in the singleplayer, multiplayer alone deserves a 9/10 from me. Expand
  55. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Listen, call of duty black ops is a wonderful game. I don't have a clue why people are hating it so much. The campaign is the best yet and the multiplayer is awesome. I've never had any connection problems or lag so far. Playing on ps3. If you were thinking of buying this game go right ahead, you will NOT be disappointed.
  56. Nov 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very good in my point of view. Great campaign storyline, good zombie minigame and a VERY GOOD Multiplayer. It as some issues like bad zombie game matchmaking and a little bit of lag, but Treyarch has already made a small update to solve the lag so, that means that they are still working to do a better game. I think that everyone was so excited about the game and because of laggy servers in the first week, most of the "addicted to games" guys throw the game down the hill. Expand
  57. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    (360 Version) Black Ops is one great CoD game. I didn't like MW2 but this game is definitely a fun game. The Story is exciting and mind-boggling, the Zombie mode is lots of fun with friends but not alone, multiplayer is so far great with some bad things and of course the hidden Dead Ops Arcade which is hilarious. Totally recommending this one for consoles.
  58. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Excellent single player campaign and - in my experience so far - great multi-player which works fine and brings some new ideas to the COD table whilst scaling back on the death-for-above craziness and staggering arrogance of MW2. I have had a couple of crashes and at least one laggy multiplayer match, but I've enjoyed it enough to overlook the stability issues.

    There are some stunningly
    bad user reviews on here - in particular, one person has registered multiple times to spam the same stunningly stupid 0-score review (in which he actually states "Why on earth wasn't infinity ward used on this version?", demonstrating he knows sweet F A about how COD's being handled by Activision) so ignore the average and stick to the critic reviews on this one - the fanboy element's destroyed the user review section, which is a **** shame. Trust a community to absolutely destroy a community feature, eh? Buggers. Expand
  59. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers. The game was awesome. There were 2 parts to my decision, first the multiplayer, then the campaign. Multiplayer on Call of Duty has always been great. I know many have said "oh the graphics suck" or "it lags" but quite honestly, these problems didn't come for me, and my computer is not the best. People usually blame the company when something goes wrong for them... which is fine.. to an extent. However, I don't think their frustration should go to writing a review about this game because of their own little problems. On the Campaign side, the story; the start of it, with Victor Reznov... I thought he was a good guy, he was going to be a hero, despite the Americans facing the Russians in the Cold War. I was suprised to see the events in Vorkuta and how Mason got brainwashed. However, the campaign at the end kinda was easy to guess once Mason murdered Steiner. Collapse
  60. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    It has it's problems, but it's also the best CoD so far.

    There's been plenty of rage and venom spat towards Treyarch from the PC community due to some performance issues which I personally don't suffer from. So far they've patched the game twice trying to fix these issues, and for the most part they have, but there's still a very loud mob of angry customers who can't play due to a
    "stuttering" issue, while I believe the problem is real for some, I can't help but think low system specs and poor PC maintenance play a major part for some people.

    After MW2 I thought the series was dead for good, the awful IWnet coupled with a half working VAC made what could have been a decent game a disaster. Luckily, my fears were crushed when I first saw Black Ops, you could tell from the first reveal it was going to be a success, and it was. Black Ops adds so much to the table which sets it apart from other CoD games, for example, Wager Matches, Character customization, Theatre mode and much more, there always feels like something you can do that's fun and interesting.

    The game feels a lot more balanced this time around, with the removal of such perks as Commando, One Man Army, Infinite n00b tubing, killstreaks not counting towards killstreaks and most importantly the guns, there's no gun that really stands out in Black Ops, you can be successful with most of them. The only balance issue that sticks out right now is the knife, with it's auto aim and massive lunge radius it's far more deadly then a backup weapon should be.

    In closing, I'd just like to say the game is good, it's very good and you shouldn't worry too much about the performance issues if you have a good computer and know how to use it. I personally run the game with everything on high and average 118 FPS with maxFPS set to 125, that's not too bad, right?

    My rig:

    i5 750 @ 4GHz
    ATI 5850
    Win7 64 bit
    4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
    1920x1080
    Expand
  61. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is awesome. Stop saying that it's impossible to run this game you just have to look if your computer can run it and activision always lauch patches. The new server browser is very cool too. In my opinion it's the best cod. Expand
  62. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    The campaign was average;too short,with good gameplay and action but the long ass time cutscenes made it boring
    The multiplayer was the worst,the game always crashes or freezes,massive lag,then comes the no sound glitch and finally the "Black ops servers not available",seriously in 2 months i only managed to play less than 55 hours while in mw2 i already had 150 hours.
    Just like WAW had
    mp40 and MW2 had ump45;black ops has ak74u which has the range on an assault rifle;the mobility of an smg and combined with grip and rapid fire becomes an ultra fast laser gun,camping noobs with motion sensors and flamethrowers etc etc. Expand
  63. ice
    Jan 14, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it just your normal first person shooter or something special? Call of duty black ops released November 9th by developer Treyarch the developers behind Call of Duty: World at War and Call of Duty 3. Black ops has one of the best story's ever in a Call of Duty game, because after the blunder of the multiplayer based game Modern Warfare 2's almost insulting campaign, I think Call of Duty fans got what they deserved. You play as Alex Mason and you are interrogated so your interrogators can find out the numbers in your head to SAVE THE WORLD! Cliche? Maybe, but it sure is fun. The campaign should last you about 6 hours so it is not the longest game in the world. But the meat of the game comes from the multiplayer. Surprisingly it is a lot more balanced then modern warfare 2's multiplayer. The killstreaks are fun and nice and balanced. One big thing I noticed with the kill streaks is if you have a player on your team having a aircraft in the sky which means you cannot call in your killstreak till that aircraft is out of the sky. Leveling up is easy as well, maybe to easy. Not like battlefield bad company 2 where I just got the game and I am still a level 1 and I have had the game for a week! The new cod points system is a big change to unlocking to unlocking then buying. All killstreaks are unlocked at level 10 and either you love the new system or hate the new system. The only problem I have with the multiplayer is being kicked out of a match or the host left all that stuff that you thought was bad in Modern Warfare 2...is back and worse it is a minor problem but with some people it can be troublesome. The new wager mode is added to this multiplayer and wow it is extremely fun and may be addicting that is how fun this is. Because I played gun game for a straight 3 hours it is that fun, and sometimes and I did not even care how much cod points I had left. 1 in the chamber is one of those games that your having fun when you are winning but when you are losing and you lost all 3 of your lives its not fun after that but if you are a real skilled cod player this may be the mode for you because it is as fun and addicting as the gun game. That is just to name a few modes in the wager mode, moving on we have theater mode where you can grab all the matches that you played watch it on theater mode and then save it so your friends can watch your sexy no scope. Combat training is for new cod fans where you get all the regular modes from the regular multiplayer but against ai team mates and they could be just as deadly as their online counterparts. The guns are a lot more balanced then mw2 even though the ak7u could be over powered and then you have the emblem editor which shows off your personal creativity which I like. That is just to scrape the surface of such a fantastic multiplayer experience. Now onto the extra content you can press both triggers on your controller and you walk to the computer and put a pass code and you are treated to a top down arcade shoot "dead ops arcade" but if you type in "zorks" you can play a fun game with the computer. Now to NAZI ZOMBIES! It is your old favorite characters from waw are back and they do not disappoint. Easily one of the best mini games on a video game to date. You get 2 zombie maps in the game "Kino der Toten/Cinema of the dead" and "five." Five is unlocked after beating the campaign and before you play five after the campaign you see a pretty funny cut scene between some historical figures. That is just to scrape the surface of black ops and it does not disappoint easily one of the best shooters of the year and surpasses the 60$ asking price with all stuff that is included in the game. If you are strictly a modern warfare 2 fan I would not say go out and buy the game since there are many changes to the games multiplayer but if you are a big cod fan yes go out and buy this game if you don't have it already. Yes this game has it's problems but do not let that stop you from buying such a great game
    Gameplay-9.0
    Graphics-8.5
    Sound-9.5
    Presentation-9.5
    Lasting Appeal-9.0
    Expand
  64. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    I don't know why so many people complain about Black Ops, i was skeptical at first thinking its just another COD game, but no it was better. Black Ops is a great game because of only 5 things, number 1 is split screen multiplayer. i hated switching with friends every time me and him died and it sucked. but now we have two screens which is awesome. Number 2 is combat training. i am a hardcore teenage gamer, but i still have parents friends with 7-10 year old kids come over, so we play combat training/split screen because it is fun. Number 3 is Call Of The Dead. I right reviews at the pinnacle of the game (not always), but Escalation was amazing with call of the dead i loved it. Number 4 is wager matches because they are fun, period. and 5 is that everything is unlocked in split screen so i can go on picacid and have fun. but other than that this game sucks Expand
  65. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    All of you haters be less childish and consider the package as it is. Aside from the MP, the Single Player experience still exists (!!!) and is far superior to any online adventure you might have with an FPS. The story and characters are really well crafted and you won't get the sense of epic scale anywhere online. It's about feeling a really technically and artistically stunning piece of blockbuster virtual experience. It's about history, it's about a tale, and a handful of characters that carry you into their reality. It's not about FRAGS or SERVERS or PINGS ! So grade the game properly! Be objective!

    9.0
    Expand
  66. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Game has fail in all things! Treyarch makes a game, that is realy terrible! Look at MW2, which has InfinityWard maken, so you see a very good Game, but this is very terrible! One thing is good: Dedicated Server!!! But anything else is nothing!!! Very bad Game-Play in Single-Player! The Multi-Player looks like a Shooter from 2000-2002! Many MODS are better like this Game! The Engine and Graphic is a little bit okay, but for this MONEY! Treyarch goes back in Future! Hope InfinityWard produce the Game: CoDMW3 in November!!! Expand
  67. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    The game overall was pretty good. The campaign is definately the best in the series. So the multiplayer had some glitches and problems the multiplayer is still good. The zombies and new multiplayer modes are good. But I would seriously recommend getting this on a xbox or ps3.
  68. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    I don't really see why people are trashing this game anymore. I enjoy it now that it's been patched. At first, my framerate was around 75, but it looked like 15. They patched the game, and it's amazingly smooth now. The weapons are balanced (noobtubes are weak now) and killstreak kills no longer count towards the next reward. The maps are fun (especially the new DLC) and zombies is amazing to play with a friend. I recommend this game to anyone who has at least a Radeon HD 5xxx graphics card. Expand
  69. May 4, 2011
    9
    geat multiplayer since most hackers were recently banned. after numerous patches the game is finally enjoyable and addicting to play. search and destroy is super fun and prestige in this game is actually worth it because u get gold guns at level 14. the single player is like a rambo linear mission but it worth playing about half way. the real fun is multiplayer but i urge you to set everything in your config to low even if u have a powerful system to remain competitive you need 100 fps. black ops is the best multiplayer community since far cry. its like the best of CSS and modern warfare mixed into one. maps are however very dull so i give it a 9. looking forward to mw3 which i believe will be epic. Expand
  70. May 8, 2011
    9
    One of the most balanced Call of Duty games to date. The single player is great, the Zombie Co-Op is a masterpiece within the zombie games and the multiplayer is balanced. Although some weapons seem overpowered, Treyarch has done a great job increasing the player's health so we can counter-act the so-called "overpowered weapons" in time. Treyarch does our job by patching for performance issues to low-rigged computers, nerfing the weapons to become pretty balanced and preparing us mod tools to May. The dedicated servers has turned the tables from the failing Modern Warfare 2. Probably the second best CoD game, second only to the masterpiece CoD4, Call of Duty: Black Ops will blow you away once you get the hang of it. It probably won't be a classic, but it's a nice comeback to the CoD series from Treyarch. I probably won't going to get any other Call of Duty due to ActiVision's abuse on fans, but what I'm certain is that Treyarch gave me the closing chapter above my expectations to my CoD gaming history. 9.5 out of 10 Expand
  71. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good campaing, addictive multiplayer, very good and addictive zombies, so i must say that COD is better than Battlefield games. FPS game of the year !!! Expand
  72. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. This would be a ten if it had the ability to use vehicles in combat. There is the gunship, but there are no others you can pilot. This is a very good game. The people who say it is bad are just haters or people who are playing on a below par system (*cough*Wii.) It is a challenge, which is what any true gamer is looking for. It has a great Zombies mode, which requires you to last as long as you can against hordes of zombies. You can do it with other players online as well for an especially fun experience. There are special weapons called Wonder Weapons for this. They include the Thunder Gun, which shoots shockwaves, the Ray Gun, figure it out, the Winters Howl, which freezes things, and the Gersch device, which creates miniature black holes. The Multiplayer is filled with maps and modes and weapons and perks and killstreaks (which are awesome) With multiplayer, you never run out of fun. You can also play with friends online. Nuketown is a great map, small, but, for this reason, it is filled with action. Perks are special skills that you can choose three of. The campaign isn't the best, but it is not bad. Expand
  73. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    The single player campaign is mediocre and multiplayer is repetitious and boring. Where Black Ops really pays of is in the zombie experience. Nothing in more fun that jumping online and slaying zombies with some friends.
  74. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    I love this game! To honest, the single player does get boring, and its more practice than anything. And the multiplayer is full of high level opponents, so its hard to jump right in. But I noticed that not a single review under 5 even mention the nazi zombies section. This is the reason I bought the game, and the reason I play it. If cod black ops came out and it was only the zombies section, i would buy it, because it is extremely entertaining. If you want something fun, buy it, as the multiplayer is good once you're used to it, and the zombies mode is super fun. Expand
  75. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. only a few bad multiplayer bugs zombie mode is back good dlc great killstreaks and easy trickshots make this game amazing for me its epic my 2nd fav cod game its almost as good as COD4 the only thing i dont like about it is because i can no longer bounce and trickshotting isn't as fun Expand
  76. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Black Ops is easily the best CoD game to date - I really do not see why people are hating on it. Treyarch have outdone themselves with this one. They have proved to be better than Infinity Ward at making PC ports. It has all PC features you would expect such as a FoV slider, Lean, Dedicated servers, and the developer console. All the control options are how they should be too - no lack of key bindings or anything like that (unlike BF3) Black Ops has a great Single Player storyline too, and actually has decent graphics. They aren't Crysis 2 level, but for a CoD game they are really nice. It even has the dismemberment system back from World at War so you can watch in pleasure as you blow off peoples limbs. The gameplay is also more varied and overall better than previous CoD's. MP is what you would expect from a CoD game - fast and furious, except Treyarch have revamped it and added in a ton of customisation and new gamemodes. They also revamped the levelling system, and have added in some other things like "Contracts", which is a pretty neat addition. Did I mention the new main menu for Black Ops, is awesome! The multi player maps are also interesting because there are things to interact with now. Example, you can close a big blast door on someone and squash them. The sound and music is also very good - weapon sounds are loud and pack a punch, and the music is fitting. Animations are slick too. The best part of Black Ops (for me anyway) is the extra Zombie gametype they give you. Any WaW player will appreciate this, and this time they have actually expanded on the Zombiemodes gameplay and story - so it's essentially a game in a game now, which is pretty awesome. The only bad points of Black Ops are the performance bugs some people get, and the multi player spawn points can be a bit awkward. (It will sometimes spawn people behind you after you killed) Regarding performance, I'm one of the lucky people, and it seems to run fine on my system - but many of my friends are struggling to get the game to play properly. Also the gameplay is similar to other CoD's, so it can get a bit repetitive. Oh, and the DLC prices are also a bit stupid. Although, in my opinion though, if your a Nazi Zombie fan , the Zombie maps ALONE in the DLC make it worth it. They put so much work into the maps, and are always adding new things. Overall, great CoD game. Don't listen to the hate. This game is better than the MW series, and Treyarch have proven themselves to be better than Infinity Ward. Sure it has a couple of flaws, but no game is perfect! Expand
  77. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Not sure why the score for this is so low. I'm guessing because many of these reviews were done when the game was launched, which I heard was unplayable then. Luckily, I played this game after everything was sorted out, so I have no major issues with bugs/glitches. This version of CoD is much, MUCH better than MW3 on PC. Ranked dedicated servers? Check. Adjustable FOV? Check. Dev console? Check! Now I know the engine on this game is a bit dated, but it works well and the game plays very smoothly. Maybe it's just massive lag from P2P garbage, but MW3 is not nearly as smooth or polished-feeling as BO is. The maps are on BO are a good size, and have a good balance of CQB and more open areas. MW3's maps just feel so claustrophobic in comparison. The unlock system is, in my opinion, much better than MW3 (which is also very similar to BF3). Acquiring currency and buying the weapons/equip./killstreaks that you actually want is much better. Not only do you get the gear you want quicker, it's more satisfying to "buy" something you want than just to "unlock" it. The SP campaign is pretty good, and is up there with MW2's campaign, which I really enjoyed. Although there are PC specific options in the game (ded. servers, fov, etc.), it's still an obvious console port. Also, because it is a dx9 game, it has much worse performance in Vista/7 than in XP - you can find many threads on this. Overall though, I really enjoyed BO, and with MW3 being an epic fail, I will probably play BO for much longer. Expand
  78. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Nuketown.

    probably just the BEST FPS MAP EVAR.

    After Treyarch fixed the connection issues, Black Ops turned out to be quite a good game.
    The IW 3.0 engine is in my opinion also still the best COD engine (same as MW1)
  79. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    It is interesting how one product can change your view on another. When this game was first released, it was riddled with bugs and playability issues. The developer has quite successfully fixed them and it is a good looking solid FPS. It is funny that it took the absolutely abysmal release of MW3 to show me just how good Black Ops truly is. A game that was released in 2009 has better graphics, better playability, better maps, and a better single player PLUS ZOMBIES! It was a toss up between this title, World at War, and COD: 4 as to which was my favorite. I think that World at War is in a class of its own, so between COD: 4 and Black Ops, I have to say that Black Ops is by far the best product that Activision has released under the Call of Duty name. Expand
  80. May 22, 2012
    9
    Most of people ho think that CoD is the worst game are Bf3 fans( like BF and CoD) . DON'T SUGGEST THEIR COMMENTS.
  81. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    Fantastic! Multiplayer is very good, the only problem is the new maps are really bad!

    ZOMBIES: Easter Eggs, 8 perks, hacker, fantastic story, Pack-a-Punching (Upgrading weapons),

    C'mon, even zombie video games intended for ONLY zombies don't have half as much entertainment as Black Ops Zombies... Moon... thats all I have to say, I learn more and more about that level every time I
    play it. The only zombie levels that really stink are Five and Shangri La... But that still doesn't take away the fact that Black Ops is a fantastic game. Expand
  82. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    Ok, its a cod game so that explains the very low reviews its very easy for someone mad in multiplayer to give it a 0. But this game is very far from a zero.It has its problems, like every cod, but it is 10 times better than the modern warfares. The campaign is absolutly amazing,it seems to skip around a bit, but OH MY GOD THE END OF THE GAME WAS EPIC.I wont spoil it, as it is one of the best stories i have ever seen, but i can tell you it is amazing. The game made me so curious, and a few wikipedia pages on cold war rescearch later, my mind was blown.Its like the movie "Inseption", i had to think about it alot and its amazing. Ok, cod players don't have much brain power in general so a epic story that is mind blowing wont appeal to them, witch might explain some of the hate. The other hate comes from bugs and such. Most bugs have been fixed. And cod players are probablly like "wtf this game is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO gay" really its not at all. The multiplayer is much better than any pervious cod but sucking and getting killed all the time makes people write bad reviews. Honestly this game is worth buying, even just for the story witch is amazing. Expand
  83. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    lets call this game not the best of the series this game is fine but it not the best game in the frenchise if you are a cod and you want to buy a cod game i will tell you to buy black ops 2 not 1 if you want an awsome game expirence
  84. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    OMG, m shockd 2 see such negative reviews frm d users....my score is based on single player only and i believe its one of the best fps i have ever played....people complain about lag??? well, i have d updates installed and didn find muh lag and its completely playable....in short, its d best COD fr me yet , nt evn MW3 or Black Ops 2 i found worth competitive....i luvd d gameplay as well as the graphics....its much better thn MW3. atleast players wid low PC Specs can play it easily and enjoy....if u r a fps fan, this is one must game tht u shud play... :) Expand
  85. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    What the F*&K is wrong with the haters, this is by far the best call of duty, for me: GOTY 2010, even better than HALO Reach.
  86. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    My brother bought black ops from games stop . i thought it sucked because the zombies and the background suck it did and fyi the zombies sucked too . but i was wrong the story was epic and the game rocks . grade A+
  87. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    Disappointing, buggy arcade shooter, similar to Cod MW2. Don't buy it - it's simply not worth 59 euro. Activision is just trying to sting us for money.
  88. Nov 29, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Woha, lots of hate for this game. I have only tried the single player campaign, and I can honestly say its so far in the whole MoH & CoD line the one I enjoyed the most. Good playability, versatile, over the top action like a 80's action movie. Not a single bug encountered, good flow and nice graphics. (Playing on a i7 920 + GTX285) And finally some humour! (loved the Kennedy zombie part) Expand
  89. Nov 20, 2010
    8
    Call of Duty; Black Ops is phenomenal and easily fills the quality gap left by Modern Warfare 2. The Single Player experience is a work of art much like Call of Duty 4. You follow an American agent as he goes through torture and very surreal flashbacks. This game creates real tension and is even better than COD4s brilliant campaign which is a huge accomplishment. I can't praise the Campaign enough, it is six hours of pure brilliance. Plus you have the Zombie mode which is always good for a short break of mindless fun, even better if you can get a LAN game going. The campaigns only fault are a few poorly placed auto save zones and Teammates who only show rare acts of initiative and proficiency. 9

    Now the Multiplayer and honestly BloPs delivers a fantastic package. Making a few fantastically smart changes, like the implementation of a credit system, which makes it so you don't have to get so many kills or head shots to get camo and upgrades and instead buy it. This change makes the class design easier, allowing you to just get what you want. Also on the PC we get back leaning and servers so get excited. The only issues are the typical some guns being overpowered and a delay problem on all servers, this doesn't result in symo-kills but it feels like your weapons doesnt shoot where you aim every so often. 8

    Call of Duty Black Ops is a brilliant game and easily beats back the last two mediocre games in the franchise and earns a place as one of the better FPS's of this Era, check it out.
    Expand
  90. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    10 for graphics. 10 for storyline. I don't play zombies but that was absolutely hilarious the way you did it so 9. 10 for game play. 5 for bugs THAT FORCED ENTIRE RESTART OF LEVELS! 8 for relatively decent checkpoint placement but not perfect. 10+10+8+10+5+7=8 overall.

    Look, I dk about the MP, but if it weren't for the bugs, the single player was absolutely nothing less than amazing,
    so I dk what's with the Haters here. What more could you want from SP?? Expand
  91. May 13, 2011
    8
    Let's get this right out of the way: I don't care about the multiplayer, and I've never cared about any CoD multiplayer. It's just another run and gun game, I resort to Battlefield for multiplayer goodness. That being said, the Call of Duty franchise has always been about intense, cinematic singleplayer games ever since Infinity Ward debuted with the first Call of Duty. When Treyarch took up CoD 3, it wasn't that great or bad, it was just meh. With World at War, they started to experiment more and I felt it was an honest improvement over the past CoD WW2 games. With Black Ops, a lot hype from Modern Warfare 2 bled over and people were already ready to either love it or hate it regardless of it's content. I am neither a Call of Duty fanboy, nor a hater, and I will say this. Modern Warfare 2 should have never came out. This is the true CoD 4 predecessor. In Black Ops, everything you know about Call of Duty is flipped over. You mainly assume the role of one character and the campaign is in the form of a frame story, where you are being held captive and every mission is a memory in the past. At first you very confused, but as you go on the pieces start to fall into place. You start to suspect something is terribly wrong and the game violently hurls you into the center of the conspiracy. In form, the campaign is actually a typical action movie conspiracy plot. However, this plot works beautiful in the game to help you experience a wide variety of levels and action. You will be in a group trying to assassinate Castro, having a talk with President Kennedy, mowing down the Viet Cong, flying in a SR-71 Blackbird marking objectives for the team below, playing as the team below, making your way through a pitch black rat tunnel with a flashlight and a revolver, and piloting (YES, PILOTING, NOT JUST GUNNING) a Hind through the jungles of Vietnam. Every mission is exciting and keeps your heart pacing and sometimes you can just look at the scenery completely dumbfounded, knowing that these are all within the realm of realism and yet the developer chose not the bash the fact down our throats. In the end, if someone were to ask me if I liked CoD 4 versus Black Ops, I would have a hard time answering. Yes, CoD 4 was revolutionary at the time, but Black Ops has definitely renovated it and is overall a much more enjoyable campaign. If this game were released last year when all the hype was built up for the pathetic failure that was Modern Warfare 2, the reviews would be far better and people wouldn't be so skeptical. But release yourself from the cynicism that plagues the population and you will be treated the one of the best single player campaigns you have played in your life. Expand
  92. Nov 11, 2010
    8
    Shaky release full of bugs that rendered the game nearly unplayable for many people. Thankfully the kinks have been largely ironed out and I can now say this game continues the entertaining lineage of the COD series. A worthy buy if you're a fan of first person shooters. Intense multiplayer action, reformed equipment upgrade system (you purchase them with money earned each round), compelling single player campaign; a fun time. Expand
  93. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    this game is great... video settings could use a few extra options, but i've had no trouble on a 2 year old machine. have also experienced a few server issues, however some online games go flawlessly. as with most CoD games, the single player could have been longer... the game could use a patch, tho i still intend to thrash black ops thoroughly.
  94. Nov 20, 2010
    8
    I waited to buy this game for as long as I could, but eventually I caved, because I love the Call of Duty franchise and couldn't resist. Obviously as the 3.8 user score shows, this game is getting torn up on Metacritic right now. I don't think that's entirely merited.

    There are lag issues. There are balance issues -- the unstoppable explosive rc cars and instant-detonation claymores
    being a couple of the more obnoxious examples. However, I think that the overall foundation of the game is solid. DEDICATED SERVERS ARE BACK. This is excellent news for those players who missed the competitive Promod scene that was present in Call of Duty 4.

    One major problem with the game: sniping took a major hit, since zooming in no longer brings the crosshair to the center of what you were aiming at. This means that quickscoping, for better or for worse, has gone the way of the Stopping Power perk. I was a hardcore sniper in mw2 and cod4; I know a lot of other players like myself who are disappointed by this nerf.

    The currency system works well, as do the wager matches, which keep you punching your expensive Razer keyboard in frustration. If you're still reading this then you've probably already done some research on the game, so I'll try to summarize: the multiplayer is much different, but it's still extremely fun.

    And I haven't even mentioned the single-player mode, which is exciting without being ridiculous in terms of story. Still has lots of slow motion quicktime events but at least you don't have to fight your way through a Russian invasion of Washington DC this time.

    It's not a beautiful game, but people don't play Call of Duty for the graphics. Gameplay has been polished here, and I can see Black Ops being a game that people play competitively, something that couldn't be said for any other Call of Duty game since the original Modern Warfare. It's not inferior to MW2: it's merely different. I like it, and I've put enough hours into it to know that I'll continue to play for months. I think an 8 is an appropriate score for a successful production like this one.
    Expand
  95. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Score (8.0)

    Listen carefully to this review, don't listen those who say that its a total waste of money.

    Call of Duty: Black ops has the best singleplayer campaing for a FPS. Its immersive and its completely different from Mw2. The campaing is also very long. ( 9.8/10) The reason why i do not put an 100 to this game is because of the multiplayer and the bugs. Basically, they should have wait 2 month before releasing the game. No one can't join ( or almost) a zombie server for a lot of reasons and they are patching the game and fixing the bugs right now... Well its a call of duty game afterall, there will always have bugs at first but lets be patient. I have been able to join a zombie server once and its not so bad. There are more weapons and more things to do. I say lets be patient and wait for them to fix the bugs. (8/10)

    The AI is almost the same, its the good old Ai from Mw2 and cod Waw. (7.5/10)

    Now the most disapointing part of the game is for sure the multiplayer. I remember those days when spawnkilling was an habitude on modern warfare 1 with 64 players... They set the maximum on 18 and i would rather play Day of Defeat:source than the multiplayer, no innovations at all except the customisation system wich is better than mw2, i give the mulktiplayer a (6.5/10).

    In overall the game awsome if you are a cod fan, but defenetievely not worth 60 bucks.
    Expand
  96. Nov 15, 2010
    8
    This is awesome fps game. I can say very cheerful that this is the best FPS on this year! The story i was awesome and not pit too short on my opinion. I was get along with it at the start. Because i have been waited this game so long. So i cold not dissapointed on that. And i wasn't. Story and game play are perfect. Except that the AI was little too push over on my opinion, but even that doesent bother me so much. Expand
  97. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    COD Black Ops is a good game. Apart from the mechanics/graphics looking and feeling almost the same as MW2, the single player being its usual irritating "get blood on screen, hide, wait, rinse and repeat" as well as the occasional game-seizing bug (which I have no doubt will be ultimately fixed at some point), and the multiplayer being a *little* chuggy, it is still a good game. Plus for the new multiplayer loadout system and the great customisation therein, and a huge plus for returning to dedicated servers - something that was missing in MW2 multiplayer and was therefore insanely terrible. Give it a patch or two and it could work out to be fantastic. Expand
  98. Nov 27, 2010
    8
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is a step.up to the rest of the Call of Duty series. Very nice single-player campaign, a stunning Multi-Player and a exciting Zombie Mode, especially the good ol' school Dead Ops Arcade :)
    I just only don't give a 10 because the game has many weapons that weren't made in the moment, like the AK-74u; was made only in '74 and is seen on the campaign in '68. But after
    all, it was to give a bigger variety of weapons on MP
    Until now I hadn't problems with the MP like everyone says :P I'm just killing :)
    Expand
  99. Nov 28, 2010
    8
    Well, the singleplayer in blackops is sooooo cool... but the multi player is too laging, everyone got the problem. But I think that the multi player is quite fun to play (if not laging)... the only bad thing is (not so fasinated PVP)... but their single is pretty nice, the motions... anything.... the gameplay, very nice. I understand how are the feelings for a game maker's, its easily 'downed' if they release a game has a bad graphic and what..... But I think its not a call of duty series anymore, at least good graphic and gameplay. That based on your oppinions, if you love single player and you are going to love it, if multi player.. then I knew that all of you wanna kill treyarch about this. FOR PC, I think its....quite sad I could say, because the lags, If the PVP mod has a better connection, and I think it will get a high result then it was. ( a lot) I think Treyarch has been doing a great job, but the sad thing was the always do things only focused on the one thing, the singleplayer........ I think they will terrified by those rate.... and I hope they can focus on both things in the next series... My feeling, don't get mad Expand
  100. Dec 12, 2010
    8
    Best CoD game by far! Only issue i have is incomplete server browser upon refresh. Game runs great. No stutters, lag, crashes or freezes like some are complaing about. Some tweaking is required to maximize performance on PC. Intel Quad cores, especially i7's, will benefit from this game. If you have an Intel i7 with a decent ATI card, you should NOT be stuttering or freezing at all!!! If you are, you need to optimize your PC b4 saying the game is broken for you. Haters will always be haters Treyarch. I still enjoy your record breaking release. Good job Treyarch! Expand
  101. Nov 20, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers. The game was awesome. There were 2 parts to my decision, first the multiplayer, then the campaign. Multiplayer on Call of Duty has always been great. I know many have said "oh the graphics suck" or "it lags" but quite honestly, these problems didn't come for me, and my computer is not the best. People usually blame the company when something goes wrong for them... which is fine.. to an extent. However, I don't think their frustration should go to writing a review about this game because of their own little problems. On the Campaign side, the story; the start of it, with Victor Reznov... I thought he was a good guy, he was going to be a hero, despite the Americans facing the Russians in the Cold War. I was suprised to see the events in Vorkuta and how Mason got brainwashed. However, the campaign at the end kinda was easy to guess once Mason murdered Steiner. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.