User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1381 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Best COD Version Yet, the only bugs i have encountered are from the single player, but this game is for multilayer if you expected to play this offline go get a gun and blow your brains out. the upside of this game is that it looks SEXY!
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    I can't play this game, the delay is just too much. Only when I'm the host can I get good scores. No servers for N-Europe, ridiculous and unjustified. With 60+ ping this game should have never been released where I live. Other than that the game is balanced sure but doesn't bring anything new, it's MW 2.5 with worse connections, player models, graphics, performance. The theater mode records barely half of my games, pointless, give me an option to disable it. The performance is still horrible on PC. The player models look like dwarfs to be honest. The maps are ugly, thanks to the console graphics. The console port is bad and the game shouldn't have been released for PC. The fonts are ugly, the UI is ugly, the menu is ugly. Killstreaks don't unlock you new killstreaks which means using nothing else than the top killstreaks is useless and boring: there's not enough interaction with killstreaks. The perks, killstreaks and guns are all copied from MW2, except they are now balanced. There are a few new gamemodes though which I didn't find interesting. Going prestige doesn't give you anything exciting or useful other than a few new classes to use and a 15x15 emblem, it's pointless. I have hundreds of thousands of money yet no use for it. The game lags unnecessarily much with decent pings, and the hit detection is faulty. The game isn't anywhere near worth the money. Instead of updating things that barely make a difference how about update the faults that make the unbearable? To be honest Treyarch isn't professional enough to launch a game of this scale and sincerely hope I never hear of this company ever again.Sadly there are even more things I forgot to mention here. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Haha ! All " 0 " notes most probably comming from angry EA emplyess. I never saw game review form 0 - 10 :) Someone lie here. juanezos int19h smith Trabis All of those are just one review users. EA FAIL !
  4. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This game was just as good as modern warfare 2 if not better.The graphics were macnificent and the storyline great, i only played the single player though but it was really another great C.O.D great experience and they still make M.O.H look like children!!!
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Finally a game from activision with effort. This game has been well thought out, with improved graphics(Unlike the crap Infinity Ward makes). The story is gripping and realistic and multi player is just plain awesome this is the best COD game ever!! A must Buy
  6. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Treyarch can pat themselves on their backs for creating such an amazing game. With their pass game history of mediocre games (CoD 3 and CoD WAW). They have set the bar high with Black Ops. Black Ops comes out on top of MW2 with vast improvements and most importantly, dedicated servers for multi-player. As well, the online RPG leveling system allows players to purchase which perks they like instead of having to work through a pre-determined list of perks. Beautiful multi-player maps, balanced guns, and crisp controls make the multi-player experience unforgettable. The single player campaign is roughly 7-8 hours of story-compelling, non-stop action. A game that can deliver a good story while making the characters feel believable and alive is a rare occasion. If you are a CoD fan, this is a must purchase. If you like FPS, but dislike CoD games. This is still a MUST purchase. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    I gave a review of this game in haste previously and gave the game a score of 5. After playing the game through and changing a few of the graphics settings I realise that the game is actually great and deserves a decent score. I don't know why so many people are giving the game a score of 0 or below 5, people will not take user scores seriously from PC users soon. (They probably don't already) The game, while offering nothing incredibly new, is fun and well programmed other than two or three small points in this long game. To say this is a port from xbox or ps3 is wrong, the game engine designed by Infinity Ward, which was used with this game, has always been developed for pc technology. While the multiplayer features may not be fully up and running on the PC version, it is temporary and will be fixed soon. The story line was quite clever and the fighting was great fun. The zombies additional feature is good fun but people should realise that the Call of Duty series is as much about single player fun as it is about multiplayer, if not more so. To rate the game 0 because the multiplayer features need some patching is ridiculous, I would like to see the guys who rated it a 0 try to create a comprehensive multiplayer expansion such as Zombies before they start complaining that it doesnâ Expand
  8. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Damn, this is a great game! Ok, let's get serious. MULTIPLAYER is the STAR here and raises the bar for all subsequent games. Not only are there loads of new features, but all the details are well thought out and the gameplay is SMOOTH and WELL-BALANCED. It is WAGER MATCH, however, that blows everything out of the water. INGENIOUSLY CRAFTED and BRILLIANTLY EXECUTED, the WAGER MATCH MODES are INCREDIBLE FUN and SERIOUSLY ADDICTIVE. The single player plot is intriguing and suspenseful and keeps you guessing until the last revelation. Altogether, Black Ops is an outstanding piece of work and NOT TO BE MISSED! In my opinion, this is the BEST CALL OF DUTY YET! Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Cod2 had been my favorite COD so far, but this tops that with ease. The storyline is good and a fair length. The multiplayer is very well balanced and lots of fun. They mastered the gameplay in this one.
  10. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    I am amazed at the amount of trolls who are giving this game terrible reviews. Apparently halo fans got together to rate this game so it could look crappy. 4.5 average? that is obviously total crap because the real critics would of tore this game to pieces much more so then the users ever could have. Call Of Duty might be a yearly title. But this one goes so far beyond anything Infinity Ward has ever done. They took customization seriously, and took away the insane amounts of power people had in Modern Warfare. It is one of the best game you will ever play in the first person genre. As for these problems with lag, I have had little problems. And people need to realize that when servers are suddenly filled with millions of people, it is almost impossible to not have some problems. This game is worth the money, with the campaign, zombies, and the always solid muiltiplayer. They have made a near perfect game... Not to mention the ability to save your films and even edit clips together so you can show many angles of the same awesome event... Which for the record, Even Halo does not allow you to do. Do not believe all the haters, they are simply hating on a game because its so popular. Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Ignore the trolls here, COD BlOps is unashamedly Call Of Duty so if you don't like the series you won't like this and it's dumb spamming the reviews.... For the game itself it's at least as good as the Modern Warfares with extras such as the Wager Matches and COD Points system pipping the MP ahead IMO. Zombies and Dead Ops are much more enjoyable than MW2's Spec Ops as well
  12. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Only one complaint, sniper rifles are not powerful enough! Even the most powerful sniper rifle with suppressor attached does not 1 shot kill if I shoot someone in the head?! (Not HC mode).

    Other than that, I strongly disagree with all of the negative reviews, the online play is absaloutely perfect for me and the 4 buddies I play online with. There is occasionaly stutter however most games
    I have played have lagged every now and then, even on consoles. Class customisation is awesome and adds a new element to the game, there seems to actually be tonnes of customisation options. Also contracts and wager matches are bloody good fun! Ping wise, I am joining servers with about 20ms ping, my friends usually get between 20 and 70, most other people seem to be around 50-100. You get the odd people with +100 who complain a lot... join another server?! Get a better connection, stop downloading!?

    Single player, I am only on the third level so far, whilst it does not feel as polished as Modern Warfare 2's campaign. (My team seem to wonder into rooms full of enemies and they all ignore each other? I follow in and get ripped to shreds?) it is still really sucking me into it and I am loving every moment, feels like I am playing through a movie.

    Zombie mode, jesus it is a lot harder than it used to be, I am struggling to get past round 10!!! But it has definitely been massively improved, incredibly theatric/intense to play now.

    I have had no problems with graphics, running at 1920*1200, maxed out. Game looks awesome. (Q6600 @ 3.2GHz, GTX470, 4GB DDR2).

    It is another CoD game though, so if you buy it expecting the core not to feel like every other CoD then you should not be buying it! Yes, all of them have had the same gameplay style etc since CoD1, but thats why we love it? Right?!
    Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    The recently released patches have made this game a great addition to the COD family. My initial rating and review were deservedly negative based on the performance issues that the PC version was plagued by. Now that the issues are (mostly) fixed the SP campaign is intriguing and MP has a lot to offer.
  14. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    I havent played too much of the SP so i can't really say to much about that. As for everybody complaining about "zombie mode" not working I could care less. I bought the game to shot people online not kill zombies, I beleive there is already a game for that (left 4 dead). I will admit that the release day of this game was absolutely dreadful wit the amount of lag server side. I must be one of the lucky ones because iv never had a problem with video lag running everything at max settings at 1920x1080. As for the multiplayer expiereince itself I really cant complain. After steam released the server fix the game became much more enjoyable (there planning on releasing future patches soon). Everybody saying that the graphics are crap; it looks exactly like MW2 which imho had pretty decent graphics plus i dont need bomb graphics to make it an enjoyable competitive exp. New killstreaks are fing sweet new maps are far superior to those of mw2 (again just my opinion). Also they balanced the MP a bit by removing crappy ass commando and some other gay things. My only real gripe about this game is that the guns have much more minimal differences between them then in mw2. To all those who are having issues with lag and stuff, i wish the best to you and hopefully they figure out whats wrong with your stuff so you can join the pwnage. Expand
  15. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I think this is a very solid game with a great campaign. Also I love the customization that I can now do on multiplayer. Yes, there are lags on multiplayer, but none that are game impairing. Overall I think it is a great game and does not deserve the low reviews that it seems to be getting.
  16. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    I have to say that I was amazed by the campaign and how it built up to an explosive ending. As for multiplayer . Everyone who is complaining about lag please remove your review. It is apparent that none of you have ever played a pc game before. The game was lagging due to the game having top of the line system requirements and I mean it had to have been purchased in 2010. Also updating the drivers helped with lag tremendously. BC2 was far worse at the beginning anyway. As for infinity war. YOU SAY THIS IS A MONEY PLOY???? I think there are 360 people trolling here because MW2 was the biggest paycheck Bobby Kotick Aka. satin got in a long time. And all of this bs on how infinity ward made a better game? The MW2 campaign was like a Michael Bay film. Full of plot holes. And the multiplayer for it was terrible. No customization unless you ran a hacked server. There was also an unbearable amount of hackers that VAC could not ban. Now because black ops has servers people can be banned server side which actually works. Finally it took them a day to fix the game so I think this is Treyarch's biggest improvement since World at War. (Note that all bugs have been fixed) Expand
  17. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    there is plenty of fun to be had with this game and if you enjoy call of duty games you will know the formula. Black Ops does everything you have seen in mw1, waw and mw2 and adds to specific element. singleplayer campaign is slightly longer, more difficult and faster pased. there are some amazing moments and its up to the modern warfare standard. unfortunately some parts include enemies that infinitely spawn, this gets very frustrating especially when the objectives are not clear. overall another decent campaign. multiplayer started out very laggy for me like most other people but after a few games settled down and was playable, with dedicated servers i am getting much improved pings over modern warfare 2 which is extremely pleasing, wager matches, cod points, and more customisation is great and maps are decent. the game would be great if it wasn't the same game for the 4th time at the ludicrous price of $90au (which is now $90 us) 82/100 Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    please stop whining about the lag, do you really think they wont fix it? tbh this is the best call of duty game since cod 4 since waw wasnt that good and mw2 completely sucked, because of the overpowered, no recoil guns and no dedicated servers. But in black ops there are dedicated servers and all the guns are very balanced with low damage and high recoil wich is awesome, finally needs some skills to get kills. and there is very low explosive damage on noob tubes wich is awesome. and all of you people who are whining about zombies not working on the day of realease, OBVIOUSLY SOME THINGS ARE BROKEN 1 HOUR AFTER THE GAME IS RELEASED BUT THEY WILL FIX IT!!!! Expand
  19. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    game is amaizing with nice multiplayer,singleplayer,zombie mod and mpas.i dont understand people who think"This game is shit"game dont have much noobtubes beacause gl is not powerfull like in modern warfare 2.buy this now
  20. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great game they did really good with the Single player, but i think they could have done a little better with the multiplayer.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
  21. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Far superior to Modern Warfare 1 or 2 in almost everyway. Rich characters, interesting story, and varied mission structure make this one of the best single player experiences since Call of Duty 1 or 2. Multiplayer is better, with new customization options, faster progression, Wager Matches, and new hardcore/ normal filters that the last games lacked. I bought the game from launch, and never experienced the issues some of the users are complaining of. My opinion is that most of these negative views are probably from butthurt Modern Warfare 2 players, who can't admit a better game when they see one. Kudos to Treyarch for this release, this more than makes up for World at War. Expand
  22. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. It's also worth it just to take the "1 less kill for a streak" feat and run rc cars into everyone even if you're not good at the game. Only Activision would amke a game that'll have people scared of a toy for a hot minute. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps game before, as I don't have to tell you how awful a joystick is for competitive fps games. Expand
  23. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    The single player is about exactly as entertaining and challenging as Battlefield Bad Company's. The multiplayer is a lot better. In Battlefield Bad Company the highest achievement is to have a beard? Okay. I get it but seriously? Call of Duty: Black Ops controls, and achievement notifications are so satisfying it gets you wanting for more. If it weren't for WoW I'd play this game enough to force my wife to divorce me.
    The haters are just that. This game is better than these scores indicate. Better than Battlefield Bad Company and I'm as objective as they come considering the fact that I have a personal grudge towards Activision... You can't deny the entertainment value and replayability of this game. Period.
    Expand
  24. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Many people think this game is not as good as the last (MW2). I believe they are mistaken because Infinity Ward were using the game as a pure money making exercise, DLC's that copied previous games. Not every new game will be an improvement on a very good game but this one is.
  25. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This game is fricken amazing! Halo what? Metal Gear what? Call of Duty Black Ops is the greatest game ever made. The single player campaign is simply spectacular, so much so that many times I was playing I forgot that I was playing a game and thought that I was watching a Hollywood blockbuster! Every character is expressive and convincing. By the time the game is done, you will care for all of them. Reznov is the epiphany of the word badass! The multiplayer is incredibly simple, but rewardingly difficult to master. It'll suck you in and you'll get thousands of hours out of this game. Expand
  26. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Speaking of single player only here. I really have been enjoying playing this game, the controls are easy to set up, it runs great on my PC, the sounds, visuals & effects are really cool. I guess if you are a die hard COD fan this game might be a let down (as i see in other reviews) but if you are like me and not a COD fanboy, then you will like this game. I have yet to try the multi player yet and not sure I will due to the hackers/cheaters, and yes there are MANY of them in Black Ops. Expand
  27. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hehehehe.. angry nerds are angry Expand
  28. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. oyun muhteÅ Expand
  29. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best multiplayer game I have ever played. When it first came out the bugs were horrible and I did have to upgrade my PC, but really, this is incomparable to anything else that I've ever played. The smoothness now is amazing. Maybe from all that work getting it fixed in the beginning... I don't know. I see these reviews were from November. The game has came a long way since then. It just goes to show what a game can become once the bugs get worked out. Amazing Amazing Amazing.. Expand
  30. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Black Ops is a Great game to play.Recommend to anyone who likes playing video games and who likes to be challenge.Graphs and audio are great. Lots of action that makes you think.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.