User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1494 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    Pathetic example of a over hyped game. Its very obvious the developer did not beta test this game. People using high end gaming computers that are way over min spec can't run the game without massive amounts of stuttering/lag. Activision really let its fans down with this one. 2 patches later and they still have not figured out the problems. Activision needs to fix Black Ops and do itPathetic example of a over hyped game. Its very obvious the developer did not beta test this game. People using high end gaming computers that are way over min spec can't run the game without massive amounts of stuttering/lag. Activision really let its fans down with this one. 2 patches later and they still have not figured out the problems. Activision needs to fix Black Ops and do it quickly. They've already lost alot of COD fans and I doubt that I or my friends will be buying the next COD. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    Completely crap game. This is a 60 dollar beta, and nothing more. More than 90% of the online features either don't work or they are extremely buggy. Nobody in the entire pc gaming community can play a coop game of zombies. Half of the times, the attachments that you put on your gun don't carry over to your next game. The SP is incredibly short and there are absolutely no reasons toCompletely crap game. This is a 60 dollar beta, and nothing more. More than 90% of the online features either don't work or they are extremely buggy. Nobody in the entire pc gaming community can play a coop game of zombies. Half of the times, the attachments that you put on your gun don't carry over to your next game. The SP is incredibly short and there are absolutely no reasons to justify a 60 dollar purchase for this game.

    Things that don't work"
    Zombies Coop
    Theatre and filesharing
    Upgrades
    Multiplayer as a whole [Incredibly laggy on all servers]

    Do not buy this game. Boycott bad producers who think little of their customers, and have the nerve to sell a beta to the public as an actual retail game.
    Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    1
    Unplayable MP, stuttering like mad on C2D 3.0 with 4gb and 9800GTX card...even on lowest settings. Then there's lag issues, CTD problems....you get the picture. Stear clear from this junk until it's fixed.
  4. Nov 10, 2010
    3
    This game fails in so many ways it is amazing that Treyarch and Activision released this. It's no wonder they spent tens of thousands of dollars pampering professional reviewers, there is no other way they would give this game a good score. CoD Black Ops is just a plain bad game.

    Black Ops does nothing really new. The only real exciting thing about Black Ops is the extra layer of
    This game fails in so many ways it is amazing that Treyarch and Activision released this. It's no wonder they spent tens of thousands of dollars pampering professional reviewers, there is no other way they would give this game a good score. CoD Black Ops is just a plain bad game.

    Black Ops does nothing really new. The only real exciting thing about Black Ops is the extra layer of customization available for the online multiplayer. Dedicated servers for the PC version was a good way to win over the hearts of the anti-Infinity Ward group, but they should have probably done at least SOME testing, since it's obvious the server and clients just aren't on the same page. Using dedicated servers is actually worse than the P2P connections of Modern Warfare 2. As far as gameplay is concerned, it's the same ol' respawn and shoot 'em up. I really don't mind that, as I didn't expect this game to be anything different, but given its other flaws, they needed to do something new.

    The multiplayer gameplay is horrid. It's far too fast, and the game clearly favors SMGs with fast moving kits. Let me stop here, and stop the flames, I played CS2 as a part of a tournament invitational team, played every FPS under the sun, and I would consider myself pretty damned good at shooters. The multiplayer matches are chalked full of guys diving every time they see someone, even if they come up behind them. If they are not whoring out their prone key, they are bouncing around like a drunken night elf. The weapons behave as far from realistically as possible. I understand realism isn't necessarily fun, but it's almost as though Treyarch just pulled some numbers out of their ass as to how these weapons act and how much damage they do. And why are knife kills from the front still 1 shot kills? Every other modern game has addressed frontal melee kills, but not Call of Duty. I like a little bit of realism in games I play, and this game is far from that at every level. I was in the Army, and have extensive weapons and explosives training due to my MOS, so I think I can safely say I know what I am talking about here.

    The single player portion of the game does nothing new or different. In fact, most of the single player campaign seems ripped right out of Modern Warfare 1 and 2's playbook.

    In short, this game's flaws are frustrating at best, and infuriating at worst. Black Ops multiplayer is far too fast and favors the one who can hit their prone key fastest, and aiming seems to do little to help, as the characters move inhumanly fast. Save your money for Battlefield 3, and this is coming from someone who got through all 10 prestige levels of MW2 and WaW.
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    4
    This game lacks any of the shine and polish for which the Call of Duty franchise is rightly known. The engine's performance is execrable on any but the most expensive hardware, the multiplayer feels more arcade-ey and cheap than in previous iterations and the game's AI is erratic at best. This is all particularly insulting given Activision's decision to charge 50% more for the game inThis game lacks any of the shine and polish for which the Call of Duty franchise is rightly known. The engine's performance is execrable on any but the most expensive hardware, the multiplayer feels more arcade-ey and cheap than in previous iterations and the game's AI is erratic at best. This is all particularly insulting given Activision's decision to charge 50% more for the game in Australia to gouge every cent it could given that country's favourable exchange rate to the US Dollar. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    Bugs and lag because they don't know how to program PC anymore just platform.
    I'm sorry but cod lost it's PC players already, just give up until you can get it right.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    0
    Don't buy this piece of broken code, it's a waste of money. Multi
    player part is unplayable, and I really mean unplayable. Single player
    part is... well, it's a CoD, which means you just have to press a
    button now and then and that's it.
  8. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    So, the server browser only shows about 10% of the total amount of servers out there, making it hard to search for servers with your friends. Joining your friends via the browser does not seem to be activated yet, so you must wait until one buddy finds a good server and then invites you. The game will grab onto and hold most of your CPU resources making the game lag something fierce in MPSo, the server browser only shows about 10% of the total amount of servers out there, making it hard to search for servers with your friends. Joining your friends via the browser does not seem to be activated yet, so you must wait until one buddy finds a good server and then invites you. The game will grab onto and hold most of your CPU resources making the game lag something fierce in MP and somewhat less in SP. This seems to be an issue for the majority of the players and a quick search on the web confirms this. My score is based on the SP part since the MP part is unplayable and would have to be given a score of 0. Once the emergency fix/patch is released, Black Ops will probably be a decent expantion for World At War. Expand
  9. Nov 9, 2010
    0
    Stick with the Console versions because this is not a PC game. It's a port with one server provider, which is Gameservers. They are the worst servers to have. With Battlefield bad Company 2, those servers were plagued with server lag and horrible downtime.

    I couldn't imagine a popular game like COD Black Ops being able to run on those servers, and guess what? It was unplayable. If
    Stick with the Console versions because this is not a PC game. It's a port with one server provider, which is Gameservers. They are the worst servers to have. With Battlefield bad Company 2, those servers were plagued with server lag and horrible downtime.

    I couldn't imagine a popular game like COD Black Ops being able to run on those servers, and guess what? It was unplayable. If Multiplayer is the only reason why you want to play this game, then don't waste you money.
    Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    An unplayable port - SP and MP. It looks 3 years old but eats resources like Crysis 7. Severe audio stuttering, deadly lags, server problems, gameplay breaking frame-rate drops on gaming machines well above the recommended configuration, laughable hodgepodge story... If they cannot somehow patch this load of manure into playability, I would not recommend picking it up even from the bargainAn unplayable port - SP and MP. It looks 3 years old but eats resources like Crysis 7. Severe audio stuttering, deadly lags, server problems, gameplay breaking frame-rate drops on gaming machines well above the recommended configuration, laughable hodgepodge story... If they cannot somehow patch this load of manure into playability, I would not recommend picking it up even from the bargain bin - where it will pretty soon land. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    It's obvious that none of the critics played the PC version of this game. I bought the game specifically for multi-player, and the stuttering/lag makes the game nearly unplayable. How did Treyarch allow this game to be released for PC with all the lag/graphics/freezing problems? They're so obvious that a drunk and retarded monkey would notice them in the first 5 seconds of playing! My onlyIt's obvious that none of the critics played the PC version of this game. I bought the game specifically for multi-player, and the stuttering/lag makes the game nearly unplayable. How did Treyarch allow this game to be released for PC with all the lag/graphics/freezing problems? They're so obvious that a drunk and retarded monkey would notice them in the first 5 seconds of playing! My only hope is that people stop buying this game until the developers fix this disaster. I wish that I had never bought this game, nothing but a disappointment. Expand
  12. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    Even without all the lag, it's blatantly just another console port and a bad one at that. For one Treyarch should have had an open beta a couple of weeks before release. This game needs an overhall, bring COD back to it's PC roots for the love of god!
  13. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    I'm a very positive person, but this game is utter trash. The single player is pretty neat, but if you're looking for multiplayer at all, don't waste your money. I feel like I just gave $60 to a bum to buy a hot meal and watched him spend it on crack and OD. It makes me so mad that companies can release pieces of trash as buggy as this. The game lags no matter how good yourI'm a very positive person, but this game is utter trash. The single player is pretty neat, but if you're looking for multiplayer at all, don't waste your money. I feel like I just gave $60 to a bum to buy a hot meal and watched him spend it on crack and OD. It makes me so mad that companies can release pieces of trash as buggy as this. The game lags no matter how good your internet/computer is. There is NO FEATURE that allows you to play with your friends. The server browser that shows your friends game is broken and there's no steam integration. The only way to get in a ranked match with your friends is through the in game invite system and once you're you can't pick or switch teams! Are you *@#*(&ing kidding me?! Did anyone playtest this game? I literally would have felt better about flushing my $60 down the toilet and punching myself in the genitals. Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2010
    2
    Unplayable SP and MP yet another fail just like MW2 and overhyped game. If there isnt going to be a patch soon now then this will be my last COD. And i will stick with Counter Source and the Battlefield BC2 franchise forever.
  15. Nov 9, 2010
    0
    This game is absolutely unplayable in multiplayer. Constant network problems on top of the terrible FPS issues (there is already a post on the Steam forums with around 200,000 views). Whenever a player comes into view, the game will hiccup and stutter on even the best systems. Activision brought down the Tryarch Forums because of the complaints, what does that tell you?

    How could they
    This game is absolutely unplayable in multiplayer. Constant network problems on top of the terrible FPS issues (there is already a post on the Steam forums with around 200,000 views). Whenever a player comes into view, the game will hiccup and stutter on even the best systems. Activision brought down the Tryarch Forums because of the complaints, what does that tell you?

    How could they honestly not see the problems with this during testing?
    Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2010
    1
    This is not a PC game! This is a 60 â
  17. Nov 11, 2010
    0
    Some people are commenting about "no innovation" but I think they're doing a good job with the campaign and the zombie mode -- it's very creative. However, there are very too many game-breaking issues at launch for this game to deserve a decent rating. Perhaps the console versions are okay, but the PC version is buggy beyond being enjoyable. Nazi Zombies game lobbies close with "Game is noSome people are commenting about "no innovation" but I think they're doing a good job with the campaign and the zombie mode -- it's very creative. However, there are very too many game-breaking issues at launch for this game to deserve a decent rating. Perhaps the console versions are okay, but the PC version is buggy beyond being enjoyable. Nazi Zombies game lobbies close with "Game is no longer available" or "Party is no longer available" if just one person quits. No matter who the host is, if one person quits, the whole lobby goes down. Multiplayer suffers from serious spawn issues. Half of the maps are small (some extremely tiny -- Nuketown). In these small maps, you might spawn and then move 10 feet off your spawn -- guess what? -- an enemy spawns right where you left and shoots you in the back! Squad-based spawn with bases in safety areas that enemies cannot enter (ala Battlefield/Bad Company) would be nice. But currently, the game suffers from several issues that simply shouldn't have been present at launch. Thus the incredibly low rating. If these issues are rectified with patches, I will adjust my rating accordingly. (P.S., we prefer to get several small patches as soon as they are tested rather than one large unweildy patch that has too many things for Treyarch to test.) Expand
  18. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    This game is one of the worst in Call of Duty history, it's not polished and the lack of effort Treyarch have put into this game really shows how terrible it is, the so called 'Community' they were listening to were the XBOX360 Community while PC were abandoned with a poor sluggish console port, never in my life have I seen a cheap un-stable release. I feel like such an idiot for wastingThis game is one of the worst in Call of Duty history, it's not polished and the lack of effort Treyarch have put into this game really shows how terrible it is, the so called 'Community' they were listening to were the XBOX360 Community while PC were abandoned with a poor sluggish console port, never in my life have I seen a cheap un-stable release. I feel like such an idiot for wasting 59 bucks on this, The Single Player is extremely short, boring, and repetitive, I feel like I'm playing World at War, simply because they haven't changed the engine much. This game should be worth $4.99 otherwise, it's not worth buying, save your money, wait for the next Call of Duty, read some feedback from the COMMUNITY, not BS reviewers bribed to give high scores, then decide whether you're ready to waste the next 365 days of your life. Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2010
    0
    This game is truly disappointing in the PC version. It obviously is just a port from a console machine. Graphics below par, gameplay below par, shoddy multiplayer. Biggest disappointment of the year. Medal of Honor Tier 1 is far superior game and even that was lacking in comparison with BFC:2. This game would be a fantastic game had it been released 3-4 years ago. Terrible waste of money.
  20. Nov 11, 2010
    2
    Outside of the fact that the PC port is nearly unplayable in some situations, I finished the single player in a half a day. I bought a $60 multiplayer piece of junk. Never again, Activision.
  21. Nov 9, 2010
    0
    This game is unplayable if you're on a PC and there has been no response from the developers. Releases like this spur on gaming piracy. Treyarch, I'll be illegally downloading your next release and seeding the torrent for the next 6 months. If Infinity Ward decides to come back and create another game, even if it's based off of a Jennifer Lopez movie, I'll take 2 copies for 80 bucks a piece.
  22. Nov 10, 2010
    4
    So depressing. Bugs galore, INSANE lag in both the campaign and in the multiplayer which makes MP pretty much unplayable. All this was a huge slap in the face after paying the full $60 for Black Ops on Steam (why it's still $60 even though there's no disc/case/booklet/shipping/etc i don't know) AND having to wait till 9 a.m. only to have the game be unavailable until 5 p.m. only toSo depressing. Bugs galore, INSANE lag in both the campaign and in the multiplayer which makes MP pretty much unplayable. All this was a huge slap in the face after paying the full $60 for Black Ops on Steam (why it's still $60 even though there's no disc/case/booklet/shipping/etc i don't know) AND having to wait till 9 a.m. only to have the game be unavailable until 5 p.m. only to stumble into a world of issues that should have been dealt with before it was released. Even www.callofduty.com crapped out when I tried to post in their forums by redirecting you to the USA Today hompage and did so for a few hours afterward. Apparently nobody cares about their product or us lowly consumers anymore, just their revenue streams. This is far worse than the Fallout:New Vegas release, and I almost threw my Xbox 360 version of that in the garbage disposal. Too bad I got the digital download, I won't be tossing my comp out the window but COME THE F@#K ONNNN!!!!! Expand
  23. Nov 10, 2010
    1
    There is absolutely no way that the PC version was tested. My computer far exceeds the minimum requirements, but the game is an unplayable mess of problems at the moment. Activision's current response to widepsread problems is a claim that no on meets the minimum specs. The main campaign is a stuttering, crashing mess with an okay plot. Zombie mode is nothing new, but the special map withThere is absolutely no way that the PC version was tested. My computer far exceeds the minimum requirements, but the game is an unplayable mess of problems at the moment. Activision's current response to widepsread problems is a claim that no on meets the minimum specs. The main campaign is a stuttering, crashing mess with an okay plot. Zombie mode is nothing new, but the special map with JFK, Nixon, Castro, and McNamara was funny. Multiplayer gamplay wise is pretty much the same MW2's, but suffers from a much smaller and unbalanced weapon count. Multiplayer at the moment is a godawful mess if bugs that will be impossible for Treyarch to ever fix. Whether it's getting a error that steam must be running to play the game when you're launching the damn game from steam, getting a connection error on a bot match you're playing by yourself, never having your proper name appear ingame, or just stuttering around the map getting killed by the magical 1% of people with no problems. Dedicated servers are provided ONLY by paying gameservers to host your server for you. I could not honestly recommend this game to anyone t the moment. Stay away for at least one year, and maybe by then Treyarch will have patched it to a barely playable state. The only thing stopping it from getting a 0 is the glorious voice acting in the zombie level with presidents. Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    Overall I am very disappointed and I feel like I should have never fallen for this trap. At the end of the day Activision wants to make money and that is exactly what they are doing by releasing sub-par, unfinished console ports each year.
    I honestly didn't think they could make a game worse than modern warfare 2 but alas they have. The game feels like a copy of butchered call of duty 4
    Overall I am very disappointed and I feel like I should have never fallen for this trap. At the end of the day Activision wants to make money and that is exactly what they are doing by releasing sub-par, unfinished console ports each year.
    I honestly didn't think they could make a game worse than modern warfare 2 but alas they have. The game feels like a copy of butchered call of duty 4 and is nowhere near finished and if I could I would return the game to steam. The main issues I have with the game right now are: The server browser, very poorly designed, you can not filter by ping e.g. (
    Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2010
    2
    Is the worst game I ever seen. Play black ops for computer is like play a beta game. Bugs everywhere and the cpu's lag problem. Black ops has 874000 kb cpu usage. And you die and lag in single player, in multiplayer and in the zombie mod. In multiplayer game i have between 20 and 75 fps at the low resolution; and i have a gtx 460. This game is unplayable until a patch that fix thisIs the worst game I ever seen. Play black ops for computer is like play a beta game. Bugs everywhere and the cpu's lag problem. Black ops has 874000 kb cpu usage. And you die and lag in single player, in multiplayer and in the zombie mod. In multiplayer game i have between 20 and 75 fps at the low resolution; and i have a gtx 460. This game is unplayable until a patch that fix this problems. Without words. Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2010
    1
    This game blows in its current state. Treyarch/Activision have just released another top level game and made us $60 beta testers. There is no excuse for releasing a game in this state. So much lag, and that is even if you are able to get in the game unlike the black load screen many people are dealing with. This might be a great game several patches from now, but at the moment it isThis game blows in its current state. Treyarch/Activision have just released another top level game and made us $60 beta testers. There is no excuse for releasing a game in this state. So much lag, and that is even if you are able to get in the game unlike the black load screen many people are dealing with. This might be a great game several patches from now, but at the moment it is unplayable. I really question if they even bothered to test this at all before release, because with the current issues there is no way in hell this stuff would not have been noticed had it been tested. I guess all my ranting comes down to this for game companies, stop worrying about the quick cash grab and release a good game. If your game doesn't work, delay it and make it work then release it. Instead of us paying $60 to "play" this game, Activision should be paying us $60 to beta test their game, especially when Treyarch is doing the game and they're known to release garbage. The only reason I am giving this a 1 is I have a little hope that if they fix it, that it could be a decent game. Expand
  27. Nov 9, 2010
    1
    Actually it is nearly unplayable online, even if you have a 30ms Ping! The game lags and everybody has problems to hit the enemy. Its a shame that every COD fan wanted this game, because of the dedicated server and then its unplayable, because it lags much more, than MW2 did!

    A really bad start. If you want to buy it because of the Multiplayer, dont do it, unitl this problems are solved!
  28. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    Truely awful. Any critic that gave this a good review should hang their head in shame, this game is a disgrace - the multiplayer is completely unplayable. Played every COD game since release, enjoyed MW2 despite it's short comings - this just takes the biscuit though.
  29. Nov 9, 2010
    2
    Pretty disappointing this time round from CoD: Black Ops, dedicated servers that is only available in the States that disallows the asians to play with low ping, Average ping is about 300ms. Can't even create your own game excluding private matches. Sound effects are utterly terrible, you have Helicopter killstreak chaingun sounded like some silenced chaingun. Choppy FPS as whatPretty disappointing this time round from CoD: Black Ops, dedicated servers that is only available in the States that disallows the asians to play with low ping, Average ping is about 300ms. Can't even create your own game excluding private matches. Sound effects are utterly terrible, you have Helicopter killstreak chaingun sounded like some silenced chaingun. Choppy FPS as what LassKnacken has mentioned. Unfriendly Interface that people can't even figure out how to invite another friend to a co-op game. Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2010
    4
    Another pathetic money grab from activision. There's nothing innovative or fun about this version don't bother. Why on earth wasn't infinity ward used on this version? Treyarch is terrible. Remember when they released World At War?
  31. Nov 10, 2010
    0
    Single player is horrible with same generic linear gameplay trying to tell a strory, but it falls in horrible ai and lazily scripted event with not even close ot enough triggers to make gameplay fluent and ai teammates to feel real. This is which breaks the flow of the game and cant really get into it no matter how hard i try. Same problems still exist to every cod game after COD2.Single player is horrible with same generic linear gameplay trying to tell a strory, but it falls in horrible ai and lazily scripted event with not even close ot enough triggers to make gameplay fluent and ai teammates to feel real. This is which breaks the flow of the game and cant really get into it no matter how hard i try. Same problems still exist to every cod game after COD2. Teammates keep emptying clips at visible opponents without actually killing anything until player finds the trigger which gets the teammates to move forward.

    Multiplayer is very normal cod quality though making snipers unusable makes the game faster which is better in arcade shooter like this. The new game modes are fun but not enough to merit buying this if you already own mw1, bc2 or even mw2.
    Expand
  32. Nov 9, 2010
    0
    Even if you ignore the lazy and short SP where the game practically plays itself FOR you, you then still have a broken game besides that and all this at an outrageous price AND using the insidious Steam software. If this was a fiver, it might be worth giving a look. Right now? Don't kid yourself - if you call yourself a real gamer, move on.
  33. Nov 10, 2010
    1
    90% - what a joke, which game did these reviewers play????, go to Steam Forums if you want to hear about the issues this game has, lag, stuttering problems make the game unplayable. I cannot play without massive lagggg in multiplayer or single player. Top end rigs are also effected according Steam users. They did not release a PC beta of the game and it is obvious. Do not buy until90% - what a joke, which game did these reviewers play????, go to Steam Forums if you want to hear about the issues this game has, lag, stuttering problems make the game unplayable. I cannot play without massive lagggg in multiplayer or single player. Top end rigs are also effected according Steam users. They did not release a PC beta of the game and it is obvious. Do not buy until something is resolved. For me COD4 is still the best. Expand
  34. Nov 9, 2010
    6
    There is no was that the Critics played the same game that I am now. Black ops is playabe to an extent, but its a very broken game. I cannot get the zombies to play in Co-Op at all, most of the servers lag out and there are multiple graphic glitches, the single player looks exactly like World at War. The multiplayer is fun when it works, but there must have been no beta for this game atThere is no was that the Critics played the same game that I am now. Black ops is playabe to an extent, but its a very broken game. I cannot get the zombies to play in Co-Op at all, most of the servers lag out and there are multiple graphic glitches, the single player looks exactly like World at War. The multiplayer is fun when it works, but there must have been no beta for this game at all for this many ungodly problems. OK game if it worked, but I've never seen a **** release than this. Stick with MW2 for a month or so and buy this later when it works. Expand
  35. Dec 4, 2010
    1
    I am starting to lose faith in game critics. Do NOT buy this game, it's full of technical problems lag being the worst. It makes the game unplayable. The PS3 version has half the features of the Xbox 360 and the PC version has half the features the PS3 version. Not to mention the dummied-down graphics on the PS3. Mind you, they all paid the same price for the game. Sounds likeI am starting to lose faith in game critics. Do NOT buy this game, it's full of technical problems lag being the worst. It makes the game unplayable. The PS3 version has half the features of the Xbox 360 and the PC version has half the features the PS3 version. Not to mention the dummied-down graphics on the PS3. Mind you, they all paid the same price for the game. Sounds like Treyarch sold out to Microsoft. The sad thing is it could have been a decent game. Expand
  36. Jan 7, 2011
    0
    The graphics haven't changed, the story is simply fight club done through the vietnam war and the campaign is absolutely god awful., There is absolutely no flow and no level of enjoyment. You go from frustrating, single path, uncontrollable levels that last only about 20 minutes to annoying cut scenes that are the same thing over and over again,. A huge disappointment.
  37. Jan 12, 2011
    1
    An honest review would be to say that the game is not worth the cash. Looking at critic reviews is essentially a waste of time because they are paid to say swell things about the game. However Black ops for pc is absolutely broken, it has been designed very fast and made very scruffy. The graphics are the same as World at war and the engine hasn't been updated properly so a lot of theAn honest review would be to say that the game is not worth the cash. Looking at critic reviews is essentially a waste of time because they are paid to say swell things about the game. However Black ops for pc is absolutely broken, it has been designed very fast and made very scruffy. The graphics are the same as World at war and the engine hasn't been updated properly so a lot of the graphics are very shaggy or dull. Game play wise this game is pretty decent because COD has always had great single players, as for online it is an abomination. Even having the best Internet cannot overthrow how slow and terrible the servers are for this game. There are also rarely any updates and that leads to many hardware/compatibility issues. Zombies is a pretty decent aspect but lacks anything new, it's almost a copy pasted version of the COD world at war one just on different maps. Overall I would avoid buying this game until it is fixed, it's been three months since the release and is still a pain to play on the pc due to lags and constant errors. Spend your money on something better instead. Expand
  38. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can't not agree with Smith and others. Game not so good as Mw2. It's not optimized for PS. graphic is worse than it was in mw2.
    I think only good thing is customization of guns and player.
    So if they would took mw2 + new story+ customization+ infinity ward team t would be so much better. Yea, zombies is cool but even there they screw up.
    And in SP it's look like they took old script's and just add it in new engine.
    So shame on you guys. U suxx
    Expand
  39. Jan 22, 2011
    0
    People buy CoD for multiplayer. New CoD game is released. Servers migrate to new CoD game. Old CoD game unplayable. Everyone buys new CoD game. Wow. Is that it? This is a pathetic money-grab scam fitted with a hashed-together single-player campaign. It's virtually a subscription fee. Paying £40 a year so you can still find a server to play on, if you can even play the serverPeople buy CoD for multiplayer. New CoD game is released. Servers migrate to new CoD game. Old CoD game unplayable. Everyone buys new CoD game. Wow. Is that it? This is a pathetic money-grab scam fitted with a hashed-together single-player campaign. It's virtually a subscription fee. Paying £40 a year so you can still find a server to play on, if you can even play the server and ignore the ridiculous lag that renders the whole thing pointless anyway. Load of **** Expand
  40. Jan 22, 2011
    0
    Unforinutelly I can not return my money I spent for this poor designed and developed game. Never will bye any game from Activisition and Treyarch. Good advirtisment, bad game.
  41. Jan 31, 2011
    0
    unplayable even on the newer pc's, developer is of no help in trying to fix any of the problems...save your money!!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!! Waited for a long time for this and it's horrible. Pretty much a peice of crap.
  42. Mar 28, 2011
    0
    Reskin the models, rename protagonist and antagonist, rewrite location names, replace the wood barrels add draw roads here and there and voila new game to make moar $$$. COD: Ripoff of the century. It's linear, it's cliche and it has ancient graphics. It doesn't deserve a dime.
  43. Mar 30, 2011
    0
    Sorry for the last 10/10 reveiw that was a baaaad misAKE i really meant 0/10 for utter crap in activisions sucsessful call of duty series allthough any MODERN warfare that will come out will sure to be a top buy!
  44. Apr 18, 2011
    0
    I just signed up and made an account on this website purely to leave this game a negative review. I got this game for my birthday a couple days ago hoping to play online as a replacement game for counter strike. The online experience has been god awful, i drop every game "connection Interrupted" error. The main menu looks like it was tailored a console game as you have to use your wasdI just signed up and made an account on this website purely to leave this game a negative review. I got this game for my birthday a couple days ago hoping to play online as a replacement game for counter strike. The online experience has been god awful, i drop every game "connection Interrupted" error. The main menu looks like it was tailored a console game as you have to use your wasd keys to navigate threw it. Single player isn't horrible if your into that sort of thing. But for i'd say 80% of the online FPS community we want to be playing online. Overall this game is bad SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! Sincerely
    Unsatisfied Customer
    Expand
  45. Jul 14, 2011
    0
    The Call of Duty Franchise, the most unchanged franchise in the world... what do I mean? what I mean is that they only change the game-play and the weapons, not realistic, people hack to get to get to the 70TH level, Guess what? this is the big word: Call Of Duty 4 is the game, while the other games in the series: "JUST ONE BIG DLC"
    So in order to finish this review, Battlefield vomits all
    The Call of Duty Franchise, the most unchanged franchise in the world... what do I mean? what I mean is that they only change the game-play and the weapons, not realistic, people hack to get to get to the 70TH level, Guess what? this is the big word: Call Of Duty 4 is the game, while the other games in the series: "JUST ONE BIG DLC"
    So in order to finish this review, Battlefield vomits all over the Call of Duty series.
    Expand
  46. Jul 16, 2011
    0
    This game sucks. Heavy Graphics and bad graphics. I want my money back. Overrated review everywhere and all I notice is that users are hating this game. They bribe reviewers or this reviewers are so frustrated dreaming being military man... because most recent FPS war games its awful.
  47. Feb 3, 2011
    2
    Activision, Give up already.
    I own this game, and i play it when im extremely bored, and no other time whatsoever.
    Zombies is really the only thing i play, because it is sort of innovative in a sense.
    And the only things that save this game from a 0 in my mind, is the beautiful scenery, Zombies, Wager Matches(Specifically Gun Game), and the storyline.
  48. Nov 29, 2010
    3
    When it's not crashing the game runs terribly on previous-generation hardware---40 FPS on an E8400 and ATI 4870---where all recent CoD games ran at the max of 90 FPS. "Well, is it a beast of a game?" No, it's arguably the worst looking of the last four CoD games, so what the hell? Plus the usual multiplayer balancing issues not addressed still after three weeks. CoD4 > MW2 > CoD2 > WaW > Blops.
  49. Dec 7, 2010
    0
    It states that critics gave this in the 80's but look, i dont see any of their reviews. all i see are users reviews bashing treyarch. i dont blame them, i paid for an expensive game and this game doesnt even work, its broken. multiplayer experience is terrible. lags and stutters all the time, even with a powerful gaming desktop. piss on you treyarch you should be sued for robbing pc gamers.
  50. Dec 8, 2010
    0
    More of the same ol crap from Actard. Horrible, horrible, horrible, thats all I have to say about this. 150 char
  51. Dec 12, 2010
    4
    Bops was hyped up WAY too much and thats why it sold, sure they have added some good new features that mw2 didnt have but the online game-play is no where near as fun. The graphics are childish, and hardly an improvement not to mention that it uses way too much computer to achieve them. Browsing for servers is not amazingly easy. The campaign was boring compared to mw2.
  52. Jan 24, 2011
    0
    This is another stereotypical US/UK vs terrorist threat game, Counter-Strike would beat this game due to better game-play and variety then this piece of crap.
  53. Feb 2, 2011
    3
    Not too sure that this should be a game. The single player is boring, confusing and disjointed. The multiplayer is a "roster update" from the Modern Warfare. Treyarch continues to put out the same game that Infinity Ward put out years ago. Glaring multiplayer issues have not been fixed: Boosting, Hacked Controllers, and cord pulling. Host advantage is still a severe issue. On the side ofNot too sure that this should be a game. The single player is boring, confusing and disjointed. The multiplayer is a "roster update" from the Modern Warfare. Treyarch continues to put out the same game that Infinity Ward put out years ago. Glaring multiplayer issues have not been fixed: Boosting, Hacked Controllers, and cord pulling. Host advantage is still a severe issue. On the side of new content, nothing is really great about anything. Zombies has been done (L4D, CoD:WoW). Wager matches are annoying at best.

    Recommendation: If you're going to only play the Singleplayer, Rent it or go over a friend's house to play it. If you're going to play the Multiplayer, I recommend getting a used copy, because it's not worth spending $60 US.
    Expand
  54. Feb 4, 2011
    0
    this is kinda fraud.Activision does not care pc gamers.This game contains no fun but full of bugs

    YES it is tru they have been releasing patches oh useless patches nothing to improve the game.Please don't waste money.You better buy something more productive instead.
  55. Jun 6, 2011
    3
    [Multiplayer]
    Black Ops is playable, if your computer's CPU has at least i5. The good thing is the new contents, but that's just about it. Hitbox (or hit detection) is okay and seriously, I HAVE NO TROUBLE AT ALL HITTING THOSE ENEMIES (with a 150+ ping and that's laggy for a pro-gamer). If you're talking about balance, it's so balanced that nothing is seemingly interesting to use.
    [Multiplayer]
    Black Ops is playable, if your computer's CPU has at least i5. The good thing is the new contents, but that's just about it. Hitbox (or hit detection) is okay and seriously, I HAVE NO TROUBLE AT ALL HITTING THOSE ENEMIES (with a 150+ ping and that's laggy for a pro-gamer). If you're talking about balance, it's so balanced that nothing is seemingly interesting to use.

    Graphic:
    Terribly below standard. Seems so, flat? It's like the new version of CoD4, nothing new about the graphics.

    Sound:
    This is what I dislike the most; the guns sound like water pistols, but that's in my opinion.

    Controls:
    I really hate the new maneuver called "sprint-diving". Seriously, it is the most irritating thing on the planet. Useless.

    Contents:
    The multiplayer has NO interesting content at all. The recoils are so small for every gun, which makes it look like a no-recoil game. I can easily shoot an ak47 across the map with pinpoint accuracy until the 20th round.
    Expand
  56. Jun 18, 2011
    0
    Horrible game for PC. It's like Activision isn't even focusing on their original community anymore. Sure the game has dedicated servers but there are so many bugs and faults in the game it's hardly enjoyable. One bug for example makes the game run like udder crap. I can run Crysis on full settings and get a solid 80 FPS whilst on this POS I get 30-50. The singleplayer was a laugh like anyHorrible game for PC. It's like Activision isn't even focusing on their original community anymore. Sure the game has dedicated servers but there are so many bugs and faults in the game it's hardly enjoyable. One bug for example makes the game run like udder crap. I can run Crysis on full settings and get a solid 80 FPS whilst on this POS I get 30-50. The singleplayer was a laugh like any COD and the multiplayer balance was stupid. Not to mention the joy os using an L96A1 AWM was ruined because the nerfed it to the point where I would get a hit marker to the face almost every time. This game wasn't even worth $20 with so much problems occurring. the nutshell: An over all POS shooter that will only interest n00bs and 12 year olds on xbox. Expand
  57. Feb 28, 2011
    2
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is by far the worst addition to the series so far, it lacks the smooth multiplayer gameplay featured in Modern Warfare 2 and the interesting and unique story of the campaign mode.

    With the campaign there are far too many cut scenes. Although the cut scenes have some nice effects and are quite well done i think they are a bit over done with the effects as the
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is by far the worst addition to the series so far, it lacks the smooth multiplayer gameplay featured in Modern Warfare 2 and the interesting and unique story of the campaign mode.

    With the campaign there are far too many cut scenes. Although the cut scenes have some nice effects and are quite well done i think they are a bit over done with the effects as the white flashes across the screen every two seconds give me a headache and it becomes very difficult to concentrate on the story when your having an epileptic fit from all the flashes.

    On the multiplayer mode it is a lot less balanced then on Modern Warfare 2 (MW2), on MW2 the default classes gave decent weapons to give new players a chance to get into the game, this is not the case with Black Ops as you start of with the most basic of weaponry giving you no chance against players who have been playing for a while longer and have unlocked better weaponry.

    As for graphics, MW2 had some pretty sweet graphics while Black Ops made no attempt to best those graphics, the graphics in Black Ops are similar to those seen in World at War, which weren't bad at the time World at War was released but for a game with such a hefty price tag and that came out 2 years later it's not very impressive.
    Expand
  58. Mar 1, 2011
    3
    This game is absolutely awful. Neither the gameplay nor the graphics are any advance whatsoever over the state of the art from 3-5 years ago. The controls are incredibly wonky - for example, going prone often locks your aim so you can't rotate side to side. Finally, the levels are completely linear; there is no freedom to explore and no deviation from the extremely narrow path theThis game is absolutely awful. Neither the gameplay nor the graphics are any advance whatsoever over the state of the art from 3-5 years ago. The controls are incredibly wonky - for example, going prone often locks your aim so you can't rotate side to side. Finally, the levels are completely linear; there is no freedom to explore and no deviation from the extremely narrow path the developers have pre-scripted for you. I wish I could uninstall this from my hard drive and get my money back. I wonder how much the "professional" reviewers were paid to rate this at 81% on average. Expand
  59. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Now that the appropriate patches have been made for the PC version, CoD:BlOps is one of the best online multiplayer shooters on the market. The single player has an engrossing story and exciting gameplay, even if it is short and linear and is basically a training mode for the multiplayer but with a plot. Zombie Mode is back from World at War and better than ever, with plenty of humor andNow that the appropriate patches have been made for the PC version, CoD:BlOps is one of the best online multiplayer shooters on the market. The single player has an engrossing story and exciting gameplay, even if it is short and linear and is basically a training mode for the multiplayer but with a plot. Zombie Mode is back from World at War and better than ever, with plenty of humor and witty dialogue to accompany the addictive zombie killing fun. Obviously the multiplayer is where it's at, and Black Ops is online fragging at its finest, with new weapons and modes and a new currency system to keep players coming back until the next installment. The graphics and sound are top notch, with environments and characters looking great, an excellent soundtrack, Hollywood-quality voice work and fantastic sound effects for weapons and explosions. Overall, this is another great CoD game, with every base covered to ensure a high quality, exciting and downright fun shooter experience. Expand
  60. Mar 19, 2011
    2
    This has to be one of the worst PC games i've played, The game has been patched many times but still barely works on Windows 7, the audio stutters so much that it's nearly unplatable at times. What's worse is that before launch Treyarch appeared to be committed to the PC version. after launch, they still did not communicate with users and took forever to patch issues, even so, most patchesThis has to be one of the worst PC games i've played, The game has been patched many times but still barely works on Windows 7, the audio stutters so much that it's nearly unplatable at times. What's worse is that before launch Treyarch appeared to be committed to the PC version. after launch, they still did not communicate with users and took forever to patch issues, even so, most patches ruin past progress they had made, making the game worse again.

    the game's content Single Player I cannot tell you, as the game does not allow me to play SP. As for Multiplayer, it feels very stale compared to COD4/MW2, the maps are badly designed, spawn points are terrible, and weapons are unbalanced.

    At least the game has dedicated servers, but that really makes little difference if you can't really play MP without issues.

    Game runs at a decent enough framerate on XP, but looks terrible.

    If you haven't bought this already, skip over and wait for Respawn's game or even MW3 (after reviews)
    Expand
  61. Mar 20, 2011
    0
    Not. Fun. At. All. The campaign, while it has a half-decent story, is filled with stupidity like infinitely respawning enemies or broken control systems. If you like Modern Warfare 2's multiplayer, you'll hate Black Ops' multiplayer. The game seems to always put you in the path of a sniper or noobtuber, resulting in instant death. The only map relatively safe from spawncamping is Nuketown,Not. Fun. At. All. The campaign, while it has a half-decent story, is filled with stupidity like infinitely respawning enemies or broken control systems. If you like Modern Warfare 2's multiplayer, you'll hate Black Ops' multiplayer. The game seems to always put you in the path of a sniper or noobtuber, resulting in instant death. The only map relatively safe from spawncamping is Nuketown, and even then it's worse than other games. Local bot AI is horrendous: I can run up in front of them, knife them in the face, and they won't make any attempt to shoot me. Graphics quality took a step down from MW2, so that the game looks like it was made in 2006. It's a good thing my friend bought it before I did; this would be an instant return for me. Expand
  62. Mar 28, 2011
    4
    Worth the money - not even close. The game simply has no real positive aspects what so ever. Or perhaps I lie, it does a fantastic job of showing the rather embarrassing state of gaming journalism with its 81 score
  63. Mar 29, 2011
    2
    Call of Duty: Black Ops, while a good attempt at regaining fans lost by the previous game, falls short. The singleplayer story was enough to distract me for a few hours, but I can't recall any highly memorable scenes, so I'll be focusing on multiplayer and general playability. While the reintroduction of lean and dedicated servers is wonderful, the game is essentially unplayable for me.Call of Duty: Black Ops, while a good attempt at regaining fans lost by the previous game, falls short. The singleplayer story was enough to distract me for a few hours, but I can't recall any highly memorable scenes, so I'll be focusing on multiplayer and general playability. While the reintroduction of lean and dedicated servers is wonderful, the game is essentially unplayable for me. I average about 26 frames per second on any settings I choose, from all low and 800x600 resolution, to all high on my native 1680x1050, it seems to make no difference. This was a surprise to me, as I was able to run all the previous Call of Duty games at 60+ frames per second, in addition to Crysis (and recently, even the Crysis 2 demo) on medium-to-high settings. It has been more than 3 months since release and, in its current state, I do not see myself buying the DLC for a game I cannot enjoy. As for weapons, it seems that in an effort to combat modded controllers from consoles, firing a semi-auto weapon on PC may lock up and prevent you from firing. Many weapons share the same generic sights, which in my opinion should have been an attachment so everything didn't look cookie-cutter'd. For visual nitpicking/inaccuracies, the AK47 in the game uses the same magazine as the AKs74u, which doesn't make sense due to different caliber. The AK47 also seems to be no different than the Colt Commando other than "visual" recoil and slower reload speed, despite Commando having the same ammunition as the M16. The M16 and Commando in game use incorrectly sized magazines, and the M16 possibly uses incorrect firing mode. Two of the assault rifles in the game (if you've played it, you probably know which two I'm talking about) essentially out-class the entire submachine gun category. On a good note, the server browser is kinda nice and slick.
    Fun fact: I originally started this review at a 6, but it dropped and dropped the more I remembered and reviewed how it played. TL;DR?: Machine that can run Crysis on High, barely manages to run BlOps on Low. Unplayable. Weapons/Perks could use a little tweaking, visually and performance-wise.
    Expand
  64. Mar 31, 2011
    4
    A better effort than the appalling MW2. Lean/peak is back - that's good. Dolphin jump is added - not sure why. Annoying perks. Especially marathon. A plethora of runners with knives appeared an most servers. If the noob-tubers were not enough... Dedicated servers - good. No public files for servers - bad - no life left in this game already. But the worst: lag - probably due to constantA better effort than the appalling MW2. Lean/peak is back - that's good. Dolphin jump is added - not sure why. Annoying perks. Especially marathon. A plethora of runners with knives appeared an most servers. If the noob-tubers were not enough... Dedicated servers - good. No public files for servers - bad - no life left in this game already. But the worst: lag - probably due to constant connection needed to Activi$ion servers. Not good. And only 18 players multiplayer? Hmmm - I play CoD 4 on servers with 50 players!!! And that is a 4 year old game. Will I play this in 4 years time? Probably not. Would I play Cod 4 four years from now? Probably yes. £12 DLC that gives you only 4 extra maps and not much else?!!!! Appalling - I was going to give it a five when I remembered about this. 4 for adding the lean/peak back. But that's it! Expand
  65. Jul 16, 2011
    0
    Crysis runs a good 45fps on nearly max settings on my PC. This game runs around 15-20 with everything set to low. It's like they got a load of chimps with terminal brain diseases to optimize the game. Can't really comment on it, as it's just flat-out completely unplayable. If you like blurry slide-shows, then this is for you. Goes to prove that you shouldn't rely on hype. Pick up a greatCrysis runs a good 45fps on nearly max settings on my PC. This game runs around 15-20 with everything set to low. It's like they got a load of chimps with terminal brain diseases to optimize the game. Can't really comment on it, as it's just flat-out completely unplayable. If you like blurry slide-shows, then this is for you. Goes to prove that you shouldn't rely on hype. Pick up a great little indie title today and do some of the more decent developers a favour.

    (And wow, I just pushed the score up by accidentally giving it a 10. Sorry, everyone!)
    Expand
  66. Apr 20, 2011
    4
    Pros:Fast pace game and its fun when you get kills easily.I can plug in a xbox 360 controller and sit back and relax after a days work.
    CONS:I'm a cod fan,and i'm pretty much disappointed in the PC version of this.Many broken promise(such as mod tools),not optimized for dual core and people with quad cores are having problems running this game.
  67. May 26, 2011
    0
    The game was broken release with lag, crashes and all sorts of other issues. The PC version was a clear port done very badly. Tried it the other day after reinstalling for the first time since Novemeber, it still crashes. I will never buy a Treyarch or Activision PC Game again. Especially COD as from MW2 it was also obvious the PC version had been crapped on.
  68. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    As you can read before me, this game a total money stealing. I bought when it came out on steam..... well which problems should I mention first..., first of all on windows 7 if you dont have a jerk 10.000 dollar game rig then you will be forced to change back to windows xp,as I did, by the way my computer is: gtx460 1gb, 12 gb ram, amd phenomII T 1090, so pretty much this should wayAs you can read before me, this game a total money stealing. I bought when it came out on steam..... well which problems should I mention first..., first of all on windows 7 if you dont have a jerk 10.000 dollar game rig then you will be forced to change back to windows xp,as I did, by the way my computer is: gtx460 1gb, 12 gb ram, amd phenomII T 1090, so pretty much this should way outperform the needs on the highest settings, but in this game not, its on windows xp I still have 91 fps, in actions I usually get a 1 sec suddenly fps drop/freeze and cant shot the guy what I would like to (and of course I get killed :D) and this is just the graphics, the game play is really annoying too, the most annoying is that the game spawns the enemy in your back, you cant go on the map like, in a good teamwork , you clean an area on the map and heading toward, there will be always somebody in the cleaned are who gonna shoot you in the back and you will go nuts, another thing is the knife kill, its just soo unbelievable ridiculous, that is already hurt, first of all the knife kill have too big range, I mean you can knife or can be knifed from too far, on the killcam is seems like the guy just suddenly teleports there and knife you, really annoying, also when you already hit the guy really badly shooting his face, his monitor looks like all blood and than he just knife you, really annoying in close combat, I mean its good that you have a chance to take down the enemy fast with 1 slash, but when you shoot the guy's face and than he just beats you with a knife kill.... you gonna push the ESC button and click on the "exit game" option :D, second with marathon pro (unlimited run) and a ballistic knife (2 knife in hand, and you can shoot 1 out for further kill) you can actually run trough the hole team and kill everybody with it, which is funny , but for only 1 person, thats actually on "small" maps. Maps: all the maps are small, the hole game everytime is just all about that you run in circle and circle again on the map and kill people, you just chase the people in circles on the map nothing alse just shoot, which after a while will be boring, yeah you can earn killstreaks, like RCXD (which is actually really fun), chopper gunner, or be a pilot in a chopper and than shoot the **** out of the gamers for like 30 seconds or until they not shoot you down, but there is nothing any different thing what you can do, just run and shoot..., the game made for maniacs, its ridiculous, they made the prestige system (unlock things, weapon create slots, and face paints, logos, etc....) for jerks, to unlock all the 5 remaining weapon slot, you should restart the hole stuff what you can earn in the game 13 times , perks,money, everything what you can unlock, weapons, awards, its just the most ridiculous thing what I have ever seen, the last homeless wants to start the game 13 times, they think about gamers like brainless idiots who just play all the time, dont have life.... for 60 bucks the game should be more entertaining then annoying! For 60 bucks you cant put for example a silencer on a gun and a shotgun attachment, is that in real cant happen or what...? Treyarch is the worst game developer what I have ever seen, the prestige system pointless, the graphics disappointing, the single player have more guns, than the multiplayer, sweat guns what you can have in multi, you have a fairly big variation,but it feels like they dont give you all of them, lot of gun which is popular and famous its just not included in the game, which is again a big bull****ting against the gamers, for 60 bucks!!! (and another 15 for the DLC :/). There is a ping thing here too, if the guy have 10-20 less ping then you, you can count on it, that he gonna see you faster when both of you look over the cover. There is "no" headshot, in hardcore mode people get the headshot, but actually in hardcore mode all person is 1hit, in standard mode if you shoot 2-3 times in head the guy still didnt die, just after that, and really really hard to shoot headshot, most of the times is just lucky shot or push the botton skill..., which is you know what it is..., not worth the 60 bucks at all. I whish i could get my money back, but steam dont give money back..., anyway a big disappoiting. The only thing why I bought it, because the Modern warfare 2 was awesome and I thought the next generation of call of duty could be more awesome, a HUGE mistake, I usually read, watch gameplayes after the games what I planning to buy, I believed in call of duty that they gonna overawe every of their game, enormous mistake, dont buy it, my last words! Expand
  69. Apr 26, 2011
    0
    I was one of the first (couple thousand) people to play Black Ops, being in Australia we had a good 8 hour headstart on the Americans, I had the game installed and "running" by 12:18 am. To start off, even the menu was buggy as hell on my gaming PC which is way over the requirements for this game. a few of my friends were asking if my main menu was working properly, as many of theirs onlyI was one of the first (couple thousand) people to play Black Ops, being in Australia we had a good 8 hour headstart on the Americans, I had the game installed and "running" by 12:18 am. To start off, even the menu was buggy as hell on my gaming PC which is way over the requirements for this game. a few of my friends were asking if my main menu was working properly, as many of theirs only had black screens. The multpilayer wasn't playable at best, as every single server in the world was american run, we're talking 400+ ping minimum. it took another 2 days for the serveres to become local. The Campaign was forgettable and utterly disappointing. It wasn't a twist, it was a WTF?! my first thought was "REFUND!" even after the local servers came online, game play was still extremely buggy. guess thats what you get for not beta testing hey? only the promise 0f patches and updates kept me from returning to the store, alas, they only proved to be further disappointments. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME ON PC!!!
    Vanilla rating: -5
    Patched: 2
    Xbox: 7
    Expand
  70. May 1, 2011
    0
    Highly unoriginal. A LARGE waste of money considering all the games in the past that are just like it. If you have lived under a rock for 5 years and missed the games that this clones, Id give it a 6. The solo missions are neat climatically if you ignore all the blood on the screen and superhuman feats that jon Mclain would laugh at, but the gameplay is just terrible. People have beenHighly unoriginal. A LARGE waste of money considering all the games in the past that are just like it. If you have lived under a rock for 5 years and missed the games that this clones, Id give it a 6. The solo missions are neat climatically if you ignore all the blood on the screen and superhuman feats that jon Mclain would laugh at, but the gameplay is just terrible. People have been saying it for years. Then they forgive it for its decent multi player (far to fast paced and ramboish for my tastes. Do the history of gaming a favor and SKIP THIS!! Expand
  71. May 14, 2011
    0
    BTW i forgot to mention. GRAPHICS was stlll way better in COD WAW and have you heard the gun sounds of COD BO? sucks as hell. counterstrike gun sounds sounded better that COD BO. and also, compare the sounds of BO to the 3 year old BF BC2. BO graphics was degraded. the sounds were still unrealistic as hell. and when I've never heard of US ARMY, US NAVY or any military association use bombBTW i forgot to mention. GRAPHICS was stlll way better in COD WAW and have you heard the gun sounds of COD BO? sucks as hell. counterstrike gun sounds sounded better that COD BO. and also, compare the sounds of BO to the 3 year old BF BC2. BO graphics was degraded. the sounds were still unrealistic as hell. and when I've never heard of US ARMY, US NAVY or any military association use bomb rigged RC and explosive arrows in operation or in war. WTF IS THIS? HALO? i wont be surprised if next COD will have aliens in it and LASER GUNS and PORTAL GUNS Expand
  72. May 19, 2011
    4
    I was prepared to give Treyarch a second chance (excuse the pun) after "World at War", considering they only had a year to develop that title, but Black Ops only confirms that my faith was misplaced in this terrible studio. You would think that being afforded close to two years of development time, Treyarch would be able to expand on a winning formula and create a worthy follow up toI was prepared to give Treyarch a second chance (excuse the pun) after "World at War", considering they only had a year to develop that title, but Black Ops only confirms that my faith was misplaced in this terrible studio. You would think that being afforded close to two years of development time, Treyarch would be able to expand on a winning formula and create a worthy follow up to Modern Warfare 2. Don't fix it if it isn't broke, right?
    Not Treyarch. Unfortunately, Treyarch do things Treyarch's way for the sake of being different, and Treyarch, and not because it's good.
    What do I mean exactly? Let's take the sound for starters. The directional sound is completely muffled to the point where you will not be able to gauge the distance of gunfire. According to the developers, this is called "sound whoring". I call it listening, but Treyarch don't follow any pattern of logic when it comes to games development.
    In previous Call of Duty games, you would be able to detect an enemy by his movement - by the sound of his footsteps. Well, not in Ersatz Call of Duty: Black Ops. Footsteps are muted to the point where you will only hear an opponent when he is within knifing distance. What's even more puzzling is that there is a tooltip that sometimes appears on the loading screen that tells you that the sound of an enemy's footsteps will often give away their position. I should add that there is a Ninja perk in the game that reduces the sound of your footsteps, but you won't need it here. It's built in.
    Other bizarre sound design decisions include having your character shout out that he is placing a claymore (the enemy team can hear these call outs), completely defeating the purpose of your intention to set a trap.
    As for the balance, this is the worst balanced Call of Duty game to date. Many weapons are statistically the same in every way, with the only difference being the weapon model. Even then, that isn't much of a distinction as seven weapons use a negligibly different FAMAS sight from Modern Warfare 2.
    If you like to use sniper rifles in other games, you won't find much here. The damage view kick (the flinch when you are hit) is so strong in Black Ops that you will often find yourself damage view kicked to death from across the map at the very distance your weapon is supposed to excel at.
    Treyarch also copied many of Infinity Ward's perk ideas from Modern Warfare 2 and gave them a new name, while also bringing back the same redundant perks from Call of Duty 4, like Deep Impact (renamed to Hardened), which have really little function at times when it really matters. I have not begun to address the crippling lag on the game's multiplayer. More often than not you will find yourself staring in disbelief as your well aimed shots pass through enemies, who in turn will kill you in miliseconds with their FAMAS. These problems are exacerbated when you use a sniper rifle. A weapon that fires a lot of bullets quickly has much greater odds of overcoming the poor hit registration than one that demands precision.
    There is really so much wrong with Black Ops that I could easily fill two review sections writing about it. If it's any indication, the game had 150,000 players at its peak on its multiplayer on the first day. Fast forward six months later and player numbers have dropped to around 25,000 at its peak per day. Modern Warfare 2 has more people playing. I would recommend that game instead, or just hold on for more news of Modern Warfare 3.
    If you're looking for a game that has a variety of things to do, you won't find it here. The new CoD Points system makes everything accessible so you don't have to complete challenges to unlock attachments. Even if the traditional unlock system from previous games was present here, I don't think it would be enough to keep me interested. Black Ops is dull and uninspiring. Treyarch have proven why they are referred to as the Call of Duty B-Team with this pathetic offering.
    I give this game a 4 because features like Combat Training and the few good tracks within are its saving grace.
    Expand
  73. Jun 7, 2011
    1
    Half year later, the game still runs bad on the PC. Only good thing about the whole game? Single player, which might be the best on the call of duty series. Multi player, is nothing but boring and annoying, nothing new. World at War was something I enjoyed a little, but after MW2 I didn't really expect anything from the call of duty franchise, and I wasn't surprised.
  74. Jun 15, 2011
    4
    Average, at best. Nothing more. It's too similar to every other COD that every came out. Yay. Oh and it's a Port to the Pc, so it doesn't exactly work the way it should. Broken, yes. Hackers, yes. Laggy, yes. It's not my internet, it's their crap servers. Oh and the DLC is a F'ing rip off, I mean $15 each? And this game has been out for months and months and they're still asking $60, whatAverage, at best. Nothing more. It's too similar to every other COD that every came out. Yay. Oh and it's a Port to the Pc, so it doesn't exactly work the way it should. Broken, yes. Hackers, yes. Laggy, yes. It's not my internet, it's their crap servers. Oh and the DLC is a F'ing rip off, I mean $15 each? And this game has been out for months and months and they're still asking $60, what the hell... Broken Game. Expand
  75. Jun 23, 2011
    4
    the game does not suit my play style, its a real let down after mw2 i think treyarch should quit while they still have the chance. They don't care about gamers but only the money and its a waste of countless hours playing this game over and over again until the next one is out, even though i still play it its boring and i only usually play 1 game every week now, i will much prefer thethe game does not suit my play style, its a real let down after mw2 i think treyarch should quit while they still have the chance. They don't care about gamers but only the money and its a waste of countless hours playing this game over and over again until the next one is out, even though i still play it its boring and i only usually play 1 game every week now, i will much prefer the upcoming battlefield 3 with its 95% sandbox an the ability to drive and fly Expand
  76. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    No mods, no public server files, boring single player. Weapons arent balanced, **** optimalization. Only thing that is good in this game is zombie mode, but with paid DLCs it becomes frustrating too.
  77. Jun 27, 2011
    4
    Like the other games in the Call of Duty francise, it has slick controlls and a semi-addicting multiplayer, but there lies a problem. It pretty much IS the same as the other CoD games. The story is only semi-engaging with a predictable twist, the multiplayer is the same as Modern Warfare 2, excluding the addition of currency and gambling, the zombies mode just doesn't have that same senseLike the other games in the Call of Duty francise, it has slick controlls and a semi-addicting multiplayer, but there lies a problem. It pretty much IS the same as the other CoD games. The story is only semi-engaging with a predictable twist, the multiplayer is the same as Modern Warfare 2, excluding the addition of currency and gambling, the zombies mode just doesn't have that same sense of survival as in World at War, and it just doesn't have the pizas that Call of Duty 4 had. If you have CoD 4, World at War, of MW2, don't bother. Expand
  78. Jul 7, 2011
    4
    I have only played the single player campaign, and it was awful, generic, very repetitive and very boring.

    The storyline is fine, but the missions are honestly really bad. Shoot people, shoot more people, plant C4, shoot more people, run to objective, shoot more people, shoot more people, call for support, shoot more people, shoot more people in SLOOOW MOOTTIOOONNN, shoot more people,
    I have only played the single player campaign, and it was awful, generic, very repetitive and very boring.

    The storyline is fine, but the missions are honestly really bad.

    Shoot people, shoot more people, plant C4, shoot more people, run to objective, shoot more people, shoot more people, call for support, shoot more people, shoot more people in SLOOOW MOOTTIOOONNN, shoot more people, get hit by a random bomb and fall in a dramatic scene, shoot more people, enter a room and get pinned down by an enemy and watch your friend knife him, shoot more people.... MISHON COMPRETE.
    Expand
  79. Jul 5, 2011
    1
    I can give Activision a 1 for tricking me in to taking it up the a$$ with this piece of sh!t game. This game sucked period, i hate to support companies like Activision there just in it for the money and don't care much about there quality of work.
  80. Jul 10, 2011
    4
    This game is ok, but the skill factor is almost 0. The guns are like toys, water guns, there is no recoil even if we are walking and shooting whole magazine out at the same time, maybe it's because it's a console game and it would be hard to play with a pad with recoil. The game isn't also about tactic, you are just sprinting, shooting, sprinting, shooting and it has so few new stuff, thatThis game is ok, but the skill factor is almost 0. The guns are like toys, water guns, there is no recoil even if we are walking and shooting whole magazine out at the same time, maybe it's because it's a console game and it would be hard to play with a pad with recoil. The game isn't also about tactic, you are just sprinting, shooting, sprinting, shooting and it has so few new stuff, that this game could be a DLC for modern warfare. Game is also very laggy (at least on PC). Expand
  81. TTT
    Aug 19, 2011
    8
    Not bad game . But you must have a good computer and a good internet connection . For the PC it's good , but the game it's realised fot XBOX 360 and PS3 . Zombie mode save this game to the 6 . For me Treyarch take a 8 for Call of Duty Black Ops
  82. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    This is the first COD title I bought...well, original ones anyways. I was really looking forward to the multiplay. However, Treyarch ruined it all. The multiplayer is seemingly crashing for no reason. I've tried contacting the support and they close my case indicating there is nothing they can do about it. Developers are not taking any measures and they even confirmed by publiclyThis is the first COD title I bought...well, original ones anyways. I was really looking forward to the multiplay. However, Treyarch ruined it all. The multiplayer is seemingly crashing for no reason. I've tried contacting the support and they close my case indicating there is nothing they can do about it. Developers are not taking any measures and they even confirmed by publicly announcing they are not looking to fix the issue. Unless you don't mind the performance issues and random multiplayer crashes, the single play still offers "some" fun but nothing compared to COD:MW series. Expand
  83. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    the multiplayer is fair and and has less tuber and noob weapon like g18 in call of duty 6,the game is much better but the ping is really bad,why these guys give it such a low score?like tuber?if that is ture these guys are sick.the single player is not very good ,not the real thing ,but still i like it ,i think if we dont mind the ping,cod7 is the best cod multiplayer game,call of duty 6the multiplayer is fair and and has less tuber and noob weapon like g18 in call of duty 6,the game is much better but the ping is really bad,why these guys give it such a low score?like tuber?if that is ture these guys are sick.the single player is not very good ,not the real thing ,but still i like it ,i think if we dont mind the ping,cod7 is the best cod multiplayer game,call of duty 6 is good but has too many unblanced weapon Expand
  84. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    On the MP side of things, BO definitely an improvement on the disaster of a game that MW2 was, unfortunately it's still not quite the game MW1 was (and still is). The maps have been expanded a decent bit, there are very cool customization options that help you give a personal touch to virtually every bit of gear right down to the totally unimportant player cards. Graphics are really goodOn the MP side of things, BO definitely an improvement on the disaster of a game that MW2 was, unfortunately it's still not quite the game MW1 was (and still is). The maps have been expanded a decent bit, there are very cool customization options that help you give a personal touch to virtually every bit of gear right down to the totally unimportant player cards. Graphics are really good but only due to the excellent art design, if you start looking you will find signs of serious graphical fidelity the engine has experienced over the years. Sounds are also a definite improvement over previous cods as well as animation, all together these help to make the campaign quite memorable, no matter how confusing it gets at times. One downside of the multiple characters thing is that you don't leave hating the antagonists enough, otherwise as a whole it is quite varied and fast paced with some welcomed breaks in between stages. Camp-fests are virtually none-existent now and the killstreak rewards aren't particularly overused and OP either, leaving much of the fighting in infantry CQC form. Unfortunately Treyarch has yet to nerf the two most OP guns in the game (roughly a year after release o.O), which has put me off for a bit due to recent overuse by the community. The MP as a whole I prefer outright over MW2, and it's minor issues are overshadowed by this fact. Expand
  85. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Call me crazy, but I've been a fan of Treyarch's additions to the Call of Duty series, and this is no exception. An interesting Single Player storyline that is reasonably long (compared to Modern Warfare 2) was refreshing to play, and the graphics are astounding. The Multiplayer was short-lived, for me, as the maps grew old quickly and prestige got annoying. The Zombie mode is what keepsCall me crazy, but I've been a fan of Treyarch's additions to the Call of Duty series, and this is no exception. An interesting Single Player storyline that is reasonably long (compared to Modern Warfare 2) was refreshing to play, and the graphics are astounding. The Multiplayer was short-lived, for me, as the maps grew old quickly and prestige got annoying. The Zombie mode is what keeps me coming back to this game time and time again, with some excellent novel ideas brought in to mix it up. Great DLCs were brought out too, which I think justifies me spending almost £100 in total on this title. Expand
  86. Mar 1, 2012
    8
    why so many people think it is bad,maybe ping is too high,but it is a fair game,almost no bug ,not like mw3,mw3 is completely a rubbish,bo is much better ,not likie mw,it is the call of bug,iw "s death
  87. Dec 1, 2012
    4
    This game has quite a lot of technical problems. And if you are able to run it what you will get is a pretty average first person shooter. The campaign is as linear, scripted and braindead as you would expect from the genre. Decide for yourself if that is a bad thing or not. Gameplay wise has the series stood still for a while and black ops continues on that path by not changing a singleThis game has quite a lot of technical problems. And if you are able to run it what you will get is a pretty average first person shooter. The campaign is as linear, scripted and braindead as you would expect from the genre. Decide for yourself if that is a bad thing or not. Gameplay wise has the series stood still for a while and black ops continues on that path by not changing a single thing. The shooting is still alright but everything from the bad visuals, forced turret sections, endlessly respawning enemies, linear maps and scripted events starts to feel dated and if you have played a military shooter or two you will definitely have seen this before. That the campaign is rather short for the games price doesn't help either. You do get to visit some interesting places in the campaign which is always nice and the story is better than you would expect from this genre even if its a bit cliche. The multiplayer will compensate for this for some. Personally i didn't get much fun out of the multiplayer. The reason was technical problems and lack of interest. I would give the game a 5 in score since i believe that the game is quite average but the technical problems manages to bring it down a score. If this is your thing and if you are a fan of the games multiplayer i would recommend buying the game for a cheap buck. Just be aware that you might have to deal with some technical problems. Expand
  88. Jul 22, 2012
    1
    very linear game play, why did the critics like it so much? I could not even get close to finishing it. very linear game play, why did the critics like it so much? I could not even get close to finishing it.
  89. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    I consider myself a casual gamer. I love FPS games, going back to Counter-Strike. I played most of the Call of Duty games, including MW2. I was really looking forward to Black Ops, thinking it could only improve on previous titles. If it was just MW2 with dedicated servers and a better use of the VAC anti-cheat system, it couldn't fail! I preordered the first day it was possible to do so.I consider myself a casual gamer. I love FPS games, going back to Counter-Strike. I played most of the Call of Duty games, including MW2. I was really looking forward to Black Ops, thinking it could only improve on previous titles. If it was just MW2 with dedicated servers and a better use of the VAC anti-cheat system, it couldn't fail! I preordered the first day it was possible to do so. After an endless wait, I finally played the game, and within the first few minutes, I was hugely dissapointed. The game released with major technical problems, including constant studdering on even the best machines, major lag issues for random people at random times, freezing for 5-10 seconds during gameplay, and random crashing. Those issues can eventually be fixed, though they already have my money and since I can't get a refund, there is nothing forcing them to do so. But, it was far worse than that. The rank system, using a combination of money and exp seems to trip over itself. Eventually the money becomes totally worthless and just builds up forever, as there is nothing to spend money on once everything is unlocked. The dedicated servers all have their own rules, such as "no claymores" (which is the only usefull equipment), "no rc cars", "no second chance perk", etc. You can't change your class once you get in a server, so if you use any of these things you basically have to find another place to play. There is no way to play with your friends. Almost every COD game in the past had this. Even if a friend joins the server you are in, there is no way to change teams, so you often end up opposing eachother. Many players, including myself, play with friends over Vent or other voice programs and like to play together tactically, which is impossible in this game. There is no co-op for the campaign. The single-player is far too short. The only thing I like about the multiplayer over other COD games is the face paint. There are many, many other things that seem to go back in time for PC gamers. We lost so much that we have gained over the years. I have since went back to MW2, which is full of hackers and noob tubers, but is still far better than Black Ops. Expand
  90. Dec 12, 2010
    0
    Black-Oops is the correct name!
    A GREAT BiG EPIC FAIL!!
    BlackOps would have been the best COD game released, had they spend more time working on it. It appears Treyarch was in such a hurry to release the game, they forgot to check to see if it actually works Much to the gamers delight, ..... the game is plagued with excessive lag, freezes, glitches, and an occasional computer crash.
    Black-Oops is the correct name!
    A GREAT BiG EPIC FAIL!!
    BlackOps would have been the best COD game released, had they spend more time working on it.
    It appears Treyarch was in such a hurry to release the game, they forgot to check to see if it actually works
    Much to the gamers delight, .....
    the game is plagued with excessive lag, freezes, glitches, and an occasional computer crash.
    It's what every gamer want from a $60 investment.
    But wait, there's more,...
    how about a menu that doesnt show your friends in game, or an invite menu that doesnt work until you press it 20 times.
    Can't find your favorite server? Simple solution
    Press the refresh button 50 times, it's bound to appear sooner or later (maybe)
    Better yet, just click on browsing servers and watch your computer freeze for about 90 seconds.
    Just the thrill of not being able to control your computer is enough to make you want to
    well...
    how can I say this....

    VOMIT!!
    THIS IS ABSOLUTE GARBAGE
    Expand
  91. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Zero, Zero, Zero. Why? The game is buggy, over hyped, and single player sucks. And, the high-rated reviews here are coming form Treyarch employees trying to boost the average scores. !
  92. Dec 27, 2010
    6
    In all honesty, if reviews are meant to review the vanilla, unpatched version of a game, this deserves a 1 or 2 at best. When Treyarch released the PC version of Black Ops with NO, read it, NO BETA TESTING being done for the PC version, you knew there would be trouble. Lo and behold, framerate issues, and lag issues not only in the MP facet but also in the SP, Zombie mode, AND on theIn all honesty, if reviews are meant to review the vanilla, unpatched version of a game, this deserves a 1 or 2 at best. When Treyarch released the PC version of Black Ops with NO, read it, NO BETA TESTING being done for the PC version, you knew there would be trouble. Lo and behold, framerate issues, and lag issues not only in the MP facet but also in the SP, Zombie mode, AND on the menus caused such a great stir in the community that I nearly returned the game. But after seeing Treyarch was working on a patch (one redeeming quality they have - they listen to the community), I decided to hold onto it. What resulted was a game that was solid. Not great, but solid.

    The SP story was forgettable and really...just too much. It was hard to get a grasp on what was going on so often because there was just way too much going on on the screen at once. Too many explosions, to many expletive laced, non-witty comments, forgettable squad-mates (yes even Reznov was forgettable in this story), disjointed story (I know they intended that, but it worked against them), and overall just too claustrophobic. The ending had a twist, but I could have cared less about it. The campaign honestly was about a 3 or 4 out of 10 for me.

    The MP is fun for the most part, and I have much more fun playing in the HC modes, and being on the PC, server customization really is a huge plus. The level of customization for your guns, character, emblem and what have you, is a really enjoyable feature Treyarch put a lot of effort into. But despite the balance, and the deep customization system built in the MP, the replay/fun factor for me is quite low. I feel I get bored too often in the MP. I honestly had more fun in MW2 - yes with OMA + Danger Close noob tubers and all. Zombie mode is the true redeeming quality for me with Black Ops. Everything is is either blandly average, or well-below average. No matter how you cut it, there is just no way you cannot help but have a blast in zombie mode. Plain in simple it is the reason why I'm giving this game a 5/10. The graphics are dated, the SP campaign and story is confusing and laughable, the MP is good but just plain Jane good and not fun, the sound effects are rather poor (too many explosions and LOUD white noise) and the musical score is blandly average. Zombie mode? Awesome.

    Overall this is a game I would have much rather waited for in the bargain bin, but it is still a somewhat enjoyable experience. If you truly want well-thought out stories, stick to RPG's and adventure games (ME 2, RDR, Bioshock, Fallout, TES). Solid and replayable MP? BC2. Fun and frantic MP? MW2 (despite the bugs). But Black Ops unfortunately does not stand out and is blandly middle of the road.
    Expand
  93. Nov 25, 2010
    0
    After 2 weeks the game was released, IT STILL UNPLAYABLE FOR ME!! The pathetic developer's update is USELESS!! I still have DirectX error, freeze when I play neither single or multiplayer (DX and driver already update). I CAN'T BELIEVE Treyarch create a 60$ TRASH! I'll never buy any series of Call of Duty. For those who is considering buying this game, DON'T BUY IT !! Save your money!!
  94. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    When I heard about CoD BO, I was saying to myself "Hmm Treyarch did an amazing job with WaW in my opinion, This one should be more balanced and more fun than MW2"
    Seems like I was wrong.
    First of all, FPS drops and freezes on high-end PC's, As most of you probably know. Then, The Multiplayer is more balanced, But its just not fun at all. A average number of hackers. The single player is
    When I heard about CoD BO, I was saying to myself "Hmm Treyarch did an amazing job with WaW in my opinion, This one should be more balanced and more fun than MW2"
    Seems like I was wrong.
    First of all, FPS drops and freezes on high-end PC's, As most of you probably know.
    Then, The Multiplayer is more balanced, But its just not fun at all. A average number of hackers.
    The single player is simply horrible. 80% of everything is scripted in the campaign, Overuse of unrealistic events, And above all, Very short campaign.
    I remember playing rare games on the N64, These games took minimum 30 hours to complete at 100%. Even now, Several old FPS game had a lot of re-playability, Such as DOOM, Half-Life 1 and more. I still play these games even after ten years!
    Black ops is 4-5 hours max to complete the campaign, And the zombie mode is not entertaining at all.
    Multiplayer takes around 15 hours to get to max level, And I don't waste time on prestige because I play games for fun, Not for ranks.
    I'd rather do the Vice City or San Andreas campaign once more than play this game one more minute.
    Activision, You have ripped me off for the last time, I will NEVER buy a CoD title again in my entire life.
    This game get a big 0.
    Expand
  95. Dec 2, 2010
    4
    Nice story, great soundeffects, state-of-the-art graphics in a totally wrecked environment.
    Released in beta stage with freezes, glitches and much more. It makes me angry that such a game costs about 60 EURO. I will never buy a treyarch game again.
  96. Jan 7, 2011
    2
    It's hard to beat the greats (CoD4MW and WaW). CoDBO tried but remained true to new gen gaming and failed miserably.

    If you can look past the glitched, rehashed game play with substandard weapons and feel good (get points for sneezing you damn casual) then this game is perfect. Treyarch has completely lost my respect with this one. As an avid WaW fan with its amazing maps and
    It's hard to beat the greats (CoD4MW and WaW). CoDBO tried but remained true to new gen gaming and failed miserably.

    If you can look past the glitched, rehashed game play with substandard weapons and feel good (get points for sneezing you damn casual) then this game is perfect.

    Treyarch has completely lost my respect with this one. As an avid WaW fan with its amazing maps and interesting weapons, this game seems more like a indie production of MW2 (something I think even indie devs could do better).

    Do us all a favor, hang up the CoD cape.
    Expand
  97. Jul 22, 2011
    4
    Same crap from 2007 except with a few new things same boring engine. blah blah blah blah blah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11!1111!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Final Thoughts: Do not buy.
  98. Dec 1, 2010
    1
    This game does not deserve one sixteenth the hype it gets. The people at activision continue to rip off and rob 12-18 year olds blind. It is virtually the same game as MW2, for $60, what a rip off. The only reason why this new, despicable call of duty franchise is popular, is because it was released on a good platform during the right time. Despite all game play ideals and miserableThis game does not deserve one sixteenth the hype it gets. The people at activision continue to rip off and rob 12-18 year olds blind. It is virtually the same game as MW2, for $60, what a rip off. The only reason why this new, despicable call of duty franchise is popular, is because it was released on a good platform during the right time. Despite all game play ideals and miserable healing (QUICK! ILL DUCK BEHIND THIS BARREL TO HEAL!) Nobody on the console side of the spectrum accurately judges the value of this pile of **** The BEST call of duty game by far was 2, but now they are on 8? The only reason they have survived is a pathetic shooter with a generation that does not recognize a good FPS. It is shameful to see where my generation is headed. If WE are going to lead the USA one day, we are truly screwed. I could talk about how the Xbox and stupid stuff like this is bringing down the fall of mankind, but this is a game review. BOTTOM LINE, IT SUCKS. COD4 and 2 where the best of all time, THIS IS A FLAMING PILE OF DOG **** ON YOUR FRONT PORCH. Collapse
  99. Nov 25, 2010
    0
    The game causes BluScreens. Google it. Lots of Bugs. Stutter on Intel i7 Extreme @3.8GHz, 6GB RAM, Dual GTX460. Everything runs above 70FPS all settings high and this POS will stutter and drop to 5 FPS. This is just inexcusable.
  100. Nov 16, 2010
    4
    Why am I paying for the same game that I already have?
    This just feels like the same **** I've already played over and over.
    Also Reznov was dead the whole time and mason was brainwashed.
  101. Dec 1, 2010
    0
    This game does not deserve one sixteenth the hype it gets. The people at activision continue to rip off and rob 12-18 year olds blind. It is virtually the same game as MW2, for $60, what a rip off. The only reason why this new, despicable call of duty franchise is popular, is because it was released on a good platform during the right time. Despite all game play ideals and miserableThis game does not deserve one sixteenth the hype it gets. The people at activision continue to rip off and rob 12-18 year olds blind. It is virtually the same game as MW2, for $60, what a rip off. The only reason why this new, despicable call of duty franchise is popular, is because it was released on a good platform during the right time. Despite all game play ideals and miserable healing (QUICK! ILL DUCK BEHIND THIS BARREL TO HEAL!) Nobody on the console side of the spectrum accurately judges the value of this pile of **** The BEST call of duty game by far was 2, but now they are on 8? The only reason they have survived is a pathetic shooter with a generation that does not recognize a good FPS. It is shameful to see where my generation is headed. If WE are going to lead the USA one day, we are truly screwed. I could talk about how the Xbox and stupid stuff like this is bringing down the fall of mankind, but this is a game review. BOTTOM LINE, IT SUCKS. COD4 and 2 where the best of all time, THIS IS A FLAMING PILE OF DOG **** ON YOUR FRONT PORCH. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.