Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1517 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    98
    There is so much content packed into this game that I couldn't even fit all of it into my review. However, even the multiplayer alone is enough to warrant this rating.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    91
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is an awesome game with an incredible action-packed singleplayer and a great multiplayer. Although there have been no groundbreaking innovations compared to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, it is still recommendable.
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    Call of Duty: Black Ops bears the series' standard superbly, delivering an engrossing campaign and exciting competitive multiplayer.
  4. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  5. Dec 10, 2010
    80
    Ultimately, there is little doubt that Black Ops will sate the hunger of those simply wanting more Call of Duty, but beyond that it seem unlikely that it will broaden the palettes of gamers or indeed the genre; and for such a big budget, high profile release, we can't help but feel a little disappointed with that.
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    74
    Skip the tedious single-player campaign, jump into the great, fast-paced multiplayer fray--and hope it works on your PC. [Feb 2011, p.66]
  7. Dec 10, 2010
    58
    Call of Duty: Black Ops does many things right on the PC such as dedicated servers and high resolutions, but it's just really buggy.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Treyarch can pat themselves on their backs for creating such an amazing game. With their pass game history of mediocre games (CoD 3 and CoDTreyarch can pat themselves on their backs for creating such an amazing game. With their pass game history of mediocre games (CoD 3 and CoD WAW). They have set the bar high with Black Ops. Black Ops comes out on top of MW2 with vast improvements and most importantly, dedicated servers for multi-player. As well, the online RPG leveling system allows players to purchase which perks they like instead of having to work through a pre-determined list of perks. Beautiful multi-player maps, balanced guns, and crisp controls make the multi-player experience unforgettable. The single player campaign is roughly 7-8 hours of story-compelling, non-stop action. A game that can deliver a good story while making the characters feel believable and alive is a rare occasion. If you are a CoD fan, this is a must purchase. If you like FPS, but dislike CoD games. This is still a MUST purchase. Collapse
  2. May 4, 2011
    9
    geat multiplayer since most hackers were recently banned. after numerous patches the game is finally enjoyable and addicting to play. searchgeat multiplayer since most hackers were recently banned. after numerous patches the game is finally enjoyable and addicting to play. search and destroy is super fun and prestige in this game is actually worth it because u get gold guns at level 14. the single player is like a rambo linear mission but it worth playing about half way. the real fun is multiplayer but i urge you to set everything in your config to low even if u have a powerful system to remain competitive you need 100 fps. black ops is the best multiplayer community since far cry. its like the best of CSS and modern warfare mixed into one. maps are however very dull so i give it a 9. looking forward to mw3 which i believe will be epic. Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review is for the single game-play only as my multi-player skills leave much to be desired. The first thing you notice is those annoying numbers and their meaning. If I understood the premise of the numbers they are locations in the US for sleeper cells, however to Mason they have a more sinister meaning as it is implied that he was involved in the Kennedy shooting. All the missions are told in flashbacks and the game starts at the Bay of Pigs and goes on from there where you will do everything from black covert ops to recon. The mechanics of the game are the usual fare for COD game, however the controls, for some reason feel tighter in the XB360 edition as the PS3 felt kinda mushy to me. The gameplay is solid and the aim-assist can help you, or hinder you depending on the way you loo at it. For the most part the graphic are good except for one or two missions which look like the first gen XBOX, but other than that it is pretty good. As far as the story and game-play, I enjoyed it and it can take anywhere from 6-18 hours depending on how good or how much you play. Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2012
    4
    trully one of the worst call of duty games I've played. The storyline is confusing and gets boring after a while. The zombie mode is reallytrully one of the worst call of duty games I've played. The storyline is confusing and gets boring after a while. The zombie mode is really good but I wanted more maps and better servers since it's really hard to connect with friends. The muliplayer mode was a pain in the ass... The MW2 server system was much better I did not like neither the maps nor the weapons and I found it reallt frustrating that I couldnt connect with any of my friends on private servers... Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2011
    2
    A complete **** Long live COD4. It's single-player campaign proves to be a slight stroke of ingenuity by the developers which kept meA complete **** Long live COD4. It's single-player campaign proves to be a slight stroke of ingenuity by the developers which kept me entertained for a few hours (less than 10 as it was unbearably short like most action FPS's) and the multiplayer...considering the lag, and simple reskins, absolutely 0 innovation in combat), I probably will never touch this abomination of a game ever again. Did I mention, no replayability at all? Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2011
    1
    Ok I will be as honest as I can be, I have played all of the Call Of Duty came (on the pc) and cod 1 was ground breaking cod 2 proved it wasOk I will be as honest as I can be, I have played all of the Call Of Duty came (on the pc) and cod 1 was ground breaking cod 2 proved it was not a fluke and was even better, Modem Warfare 1 the next step forward and an excellent all round game.
    Then it wall went a bit pear shaped, Modem Warfare 2 was a bad clone of Modem Warfare 1, it was almost like they were trying too hard to write an exerting story.
    Anyway then came Call Of Duty Black Opps and oh dear they did it again, far too much time was spent on the story and not enough on the game play.
    In single player, you play for five minuets then watch a five minuet cut scene then play for five minuets and watch another five minuet cut scene, and the whole thing goes on and on in the same boring patten.
    At about half way through the game you start to skip the cut scene's which have obviously had more work on than the game its self and you totally lose any interest in the rather dull story and just want to finish the game.
    multi player is OK at best and that's being kind, the unlock system is straight out of battlefield 2 and the game play is heavily flawed in so many places with bad spawning, some very amateurish maps (I have seen better user made maps in counter strike ). Then there's the bad frame rate and the lag issues, all in all its a lazy effort and not worth your time or money.
    My advice is give this one a miss.
    Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    Activision is yet again milking the call of duty franchise for as much money as possible. lets face it, they will never achieve a perfectActivision is yet again milking the call of duty franchise for as much money as possible. lets face it, they will never achieve a perfect balance that cod4 had. Expand

See all 526 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.