Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1448 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    98
    There is so much content packed into this game that I couldn't even fit all of it into my review. However, even the multiplayer alone is enough to warrant this rating.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    91
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is an awesome game with an incredible action-packed singleplayer and a great multiplayer. Although there have been no groundbreaking innovations compared to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, it is still recommendable.
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    I've considered myself a Call of Duty fan for many years, and I've held a deep-seated distrust of Treyarch since Call of Duty 3. No longer.
  4. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  5. Dec 10, 2010
    80
    Black Ops does well, mostly due to the sheer amount of exciting and fun multiplayer content, but I've got some serious concerns over where Call of Duty is headed.
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    74
    Skip the tedious single-player campaign, jump into the great, fast-paced multiplayer fray--and hope it works on your PC. [Feb 2011, p.66]
  7. Dec 10, 2010
    58
    Call of Duty: Black Ops does many things right on the PC such as dedicated servers and high resolutions, but it's just really buggy.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Treyarch can pat themselves on their backs for creating such an amazing game. With their pass game history of mediocre games (CoD 3 and CoD WAW). They have set the bar high with Black Ops. Black Ops comes out on top of MW2 with vast improvements and most importantly, dedicated servers for multi-player. As well, the online RPG leveling system allows players to purchase which perks they like instead of having to work through a pre-determined list of perks. Beautiful multi-player maps, balanced guns, and crisp controls make the multi-player experience unforgettable. The single player campaign is roughly 7-8 hours of story-compelling, non-stop action. A game that can deliver a good story while making the characters feel believable and alive is a rare occasion. If you are a CoD fan, this is a must purchase. If you like FPS, but dislike CoD games. This is still a MUST purchase. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Nuketown.

    probably just the BEST FPS MAP EVAR.

    After Treyarch fixed the connection issues, Black Ops turned out to be quite a good game.

    The IW 3.0 engine is in my opinion also still the best COD engine (same as MW1)
    Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review is for the single game-play only as my multi-player skills leave much to be desired. The first thing you notice is those annoying numbers and their meaning. If I understood the premise of the numbers they are locations in the US for sleeper cells, however to Mason they have a more sinister meaning as it is implied that he was involved in the Kennedy shooting. All the missions are told in flashbacks and the game starts at the Bay of Pigs and goes on from there where you will do everything from black covert ops to recon. The mechanics of the game are the usual fare for COD game, however the controls, for some reason feel tighter in the XB360 edition as the PS3 felt kinda mushy to me. The gameplay is solid and the aim-assist can help you, or hinder you depending on the way you loo at it. For the most part the graphic are good except for one or two missions which look like the first gen XBOX, but other than that it is pretty good. As far as the story and game-play, I enjoyed it and it can take anywhere from 6-18 hours depending on how good or how much you play. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    Graphics 6/10 Gameplay 7/10 Controls 9/10 Story 3/10 Characters 4/10 Level design 7/10 Weapons 8/10 AI 5/10 Multiplayer 8/10
    Presentation 7/10
    User Interface 8/10
    Sounds 7/10
    Music 5/10
    Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2011
    2
    I played this game, and it was SO **** AWESOME!!!! For about a minute. What the **** This isn't a game, it's **** Activision and Infinity Ward are pathetic. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2011
    1
    Ok I will be as honest as I can be, I have played all of the Call Of Duty came (on the pc) and cod 1 was ground breaking cod 2 proved it was not a fluke and was even better, Modem Warfare 1 the next step forward and an excellent all round game.
    Then it wall went a bit pear shaped, Modem Warfare 2 was a bad clone of Modem Warfare 1, it was almost like they were trying too hard to write an exerting story.
    Anyway then came Call Of Duty Black Opps and oh dear they did it again, far too much time was spent on the story and not enough on the game play.
    In single player, you play for five minuets then watch a five minuet cut scene then play for five minuets and watch another five minuet cut scene, and the whole thing goes on and on in the same boring patten.
    At about half way through the game you start to skip the cut scene's which have obviously had more work on than the game its self and you totally lose any interest in the rather dull story and just want to finish the game.
    multi player is OK at best and that's being kind, the unlock system is straight out of battlefield 2 and the game play is heavily flawed in so many places with bad spawning, some very amateurish maps (I have seen better user made maps in counter strike ). Then there's the bad frame rate and the lag issues, all in all its a lazy effort and not worth your time or money.
    My advice is give this one a miss.
    Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    Activision is yet again milking the call of duty franchise for as much money as possible. lets face it, they will never achieve a perfect balance that cod4 had. Expand

See all 521 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.