Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3283 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. The new Perks system has more perks than were previously available. Every perk has a value from 1 to 5, and you have 8 points to allocate. So for example, choose 4 perks each valued at 2 points a piece, or even 8 perks, each valued at 1. You could also choose to get rid of your secondary weapon and get up to 11 perks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    Though at the risk of overcomplicating things at times, its robust multiplayer gameplay, surprisingly fun co-op modes, and lengthy, challenging, and varied campaign makes Ghosts one of the best Call of Duty games to date.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    If Battlefield 4 has only a terrific campaign, Call of Duty Ghosts is far more uniform. It's not such a beautiful game but the campaign is really breathtaking, and you have a large panel of ways to play online. For those who want to play together, there is Extinction mode ; if you're addicted, you can have your daily dose on your mobile ; if you're a noob, you will have the possibility to play with and against bots. A great and complete experience.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    It's exactly what fans of the franchise have grown to expect. No surprises here, folks. [Jan 2014, p.90]
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    67
    I don’t doubt that every gun, perk, and killstreak reward in Ghosts was implemented and tweaked with a fine brush, but painting in every individual eyelash of the Mona Lisa wouldn’t make it a better painting. That’s what’s been happening to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare since 2007—little bits have been scraped off and painted over again and again. With a broader brush, Activision and its studios might stop noodling around in the corners of Modern Warfare’s greatness and paint something actually modern.
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    66
    Call of Duty Ghosts fires some rounds, hits the target, just not a bullseye.
  6. 60
    Nothing to see here in terms of innovation: the campaign is dull, the multiplayer fun. But this time, the air of sameness is a little bit too much. [Issue#236]
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Most of the time it revels in being mediocre and cowardly by the numbers rather than outright terrible, though there are moments where it manages to be both. If this isn’t a wake up call, showing once and for all that churning out more or less the same stuff year after year only serves to dilute the quality of a franchise, then I don’t know what is. It’s completely shameless, and it’s undoubtedly going to sell phenomenally well.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Shame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fixShame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fix those problems. Ignoring those problems i've been really impressed with the game so far. The campaign has a good story-line as far as Call of Duty games are concerned. No mission is the same so it keeps it interesting.

    As far as multiplayer goes i'm enjoying it more than most of the previous games. The create a soldier and loadouts are really good and the maps are decent. I've not had any connection problems apart from some lag in the odd lobby.

    Overall the game is one of the best Call of Duty games so far, so I would say don't let the negative reviews put you off... I can understand why some people may be upset as there are some problems that may affect them but they should be patched soon. In the meantime there are 3rd party fixes like the fovely FOV changer which allows you to change the FOV in multiplayer. Fingers crossed the problems get patched soon because this is a great game that everyone should be playing.
    Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2014
    7
    PROS & CONS
    -----
    PROS - Really Fun - Lots, LOTS of customization - Many Guns Kill Fast (My Favorites are the SC-2010, Honey Badger, And
    PROS & CONS
    -----
    PROS
    - Really Fun
    - Lots, LOTS of customization
    - Many Guns Kill Fast (My Favorites are the SC-2010, Honey Badger, And CBJ-MS, oh and the MTAR-X)
    - Bots On All Gamemodes! ^-^
    -
    CONS
    - The Dogs are WAY to overpowered (-1 Point To My Score For This Game)
    - Tracker Sight On A Sniper? Seriously.... OP. (-1)
    - Boring Campaign, I didn't even bother to go through it. Although I might someday.. (-1)
    -----
    VERDICT
    Not one of the FUNNEST call of duty's around, but its one of my favorites.
    Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2014
    3
    This game is a far less engaging mediocre attempt at recreating the Modern Warfare experience for what seems like the hundredth time. TheThis game is a far less engaging mediocre attempt at recreating the Modern Warfare experience for what seems like the hundredth time. The campaign is good, but not great, and in my opinion the new create your squad style user interface is garbage. It is not an improvement, but a way to spin this game as something groundbreaking when really it is just another step in the direction of disappointment. Call of duty 4: Modern Warfare has now been made four times. Please do something different. Battlefield 4 is kicking your ass. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    my review is only for the single player! i just want to mention that i played most of the cod campaigns. this game is pretty similar in a lotmy review is only for the single player! i just want to mention that i played most of the cod campaigns. this game is pretty similar in a lot of ways to the previous cods. most of the time, i dont have a problem with games bringing you more of the same, but in cod ghosts some of the levels feel like a copy from the previous titles. this missions are still fun, but it feels lazy. I do like the game though, and while it isnt any better then black ops 2, its still fun. the action sequences are still fun, and they are a bit larger then in previous titles. this brings me to my next point, the graphics. they really didnt improve in a lot and it lacks the graphics i expect from a 2013 triple A release. some aspects were improved, but overall the graphics are almost identical (which isnt a good thing) .the graphics are also inconcictent. a jungle mission looks great but most of the other levels dont look as well(the jungle mission is also pretty fun). textures are extremely low ress and explosions look 2D and crap. the games mechanics also feel untouched, and while theyre good, ive seen better and i expected better graphics than this. the enviroments are pretty detailed, which is a plus. overall the game is just fun crazy action. the friendly AI isnt the best, and the enemy AI is mediocore. i also had a sound bug which was really irritating. the ending is also extremely crap!!! though it may look like i dont like the game, i had a good time with it. its not as good as black ops 2, and i have a lot of complaints about it, but its still a fun crazy shooter and if you like the genre you should buy it. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    This game runs terrible. I can load up BO2 which looks more graphically pleasing then this and it runs smooth. Load this up and I feel likeThis game runs terrible. I can load up BO2 which looks more graphically pleasing then this and it runs smooth. Load this up and I feel like I'm in 2000 watching my pc chug trying to run this.

    Animations for the dog are sometimes terrible. Like he just floats down stairs. (so next gen!)

    Not only that, but they raised the specs on the pc for no reason to force ignorant people to buy console versions. Infinity Ward, I'm sorry but no more. Treyarch is king of COD.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Absolutely unacceptable to lock the game to people using 6gb ram In-game use of ram stats at 2 gb more or less so why to put 6gb ramAbsolutely unacceptable to lock the game to people using 6gb ram In-game use of ram stats at 2 gb more or less so why to put 6gb ram requirements Unbelievable another fail of this Call of Duty series Infinity Wards failed another time. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    The worst cod i have ever player, so under optimised, direct console port, plays so much worse than BO2, the style, system, hud, controls,The worst cod i have ever player, so under optimised, direct console port, plays so much worse than BO2, the style, system, hud, controls, gameplay, guns are all inferior and frankly awful in general. A mess of a game is an understatement. DO NOT BUY. Expand

See all 921 User Reviews