Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. The new Perks system has more perks than were previously available. Every perk has a value from 1 to 5, and you have 8 points to allocate. So for example, choose 4 perks each valued at 2 points a piece, or even 8 perks, each valued at 1. You could also choose to get rid of your secondary weapon and get up to 11 perks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    Though at the risk of overcomplicating things at times, its robust multiplayer gameplay, surprisingly fun co-op modes, and lengthy, challenging, and varied campaign makes Ghosts one of the best Call of Duty games to date.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    If Battlefield 4 has only a terrific campaign, Call of Duty Ghosts is far more uniform. It's not such a beautiful game but the campaign is really breathtaking, and you have a large panel of ways to play online. For those who want to play together, there is Extinction mode ; if you're addicted, you can have your daily dose on your mobile ; if you're a noob, you will have the possibility to play with and against bots. A great and complete experience.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    It's exactly what fans of the franchise have grown to expect. No surprises here, folks. [Jan 2014, p.90]
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    67
    I don’t doubt that every gun, perk, and killstreak reward in Ghosts was implemented and tweaked with a fine brush, but painting in every individual eyelash of the Mona Lisa wouldn’t make it a better painting. That’s what’s been happening to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare since 2007—little bits have been scraped off and painted over again and again. With a broader brush, Activision and its studios might stop noodling around in the corners of Modern Warfare’s greatness and paint something actually modern.
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    66
    Call of Duty Ghosts fires some rounds, hits the target, just not a bullseye.
  6. 60
    Nothing to see here in terms of innovation: the campaign is dull, the multiplayer fun. But this time, the air of sameness is a little bit too much. [Issue#236]
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Most of the time it revels in being mediocre and cowardly by the numbers rather than outright terrible, though there are moments where it manages to be both. If this isn’t a wake up call, showing once and for all that churning out more or less the same stuff year after year only serves to dilute the quality of a franchise, then I don’t know what is. It’s completely shameless, and it’s undoubtedly going to sell phenomenally well.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Shame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fixShame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fix those problems. Ignoring those problems i've been really impressed with the game so far. The campaign has a good story-line as far as Call of Duty games are concerned. No mission is the same so it keeps it interesting.

    As far as multiplayer goes i'm enjoying it more than most of the previous games. The create a soldier and loadouts are really good and the maps are decent. I've not had any connection problems apart from some lag in the odd lobby.

    Overall the game is one of the best Call of Duty games so far, so I would say don't let the negative reviews put you off... I can understand why some people may be upset as there are some problems that may affect them but they should be patched soon. In the meantime there are 3rd party fixes like the fovely FOV changer which allows you to change the FOV in multiplayer. Fingers crossed the problems get patched soon because this is a great game that everyone should be playing.
    Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2014
    7
    Ghosts is a good game that has to live in the shadow of all other CoD games. They took bold steps to freshen up the gameplay with a "new"Ghosts is a good game that has to live in the shadow of all other CoD games. They took bold steps to freshen up the gameplay with a "new" engine that traded optimization for better graphics. The story is kind of mediocre and the multiplayer is actually quite enjoyable with the larger maps and new movement features. I am upset that there is no theater. I do not think that two years was enough to make the game that would innovate like Ghosts tried, I can only hope that BLOPS 3 will try to implement new movement since AW and Ghosts have implemented their own ideas! "New" (before CoD 1,2,4 and 6 devs left) IW should pull up their socks before they build up a truly bad reputation! Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    3
    Its basicly a COD mod, not worth the price, to much console orientated.
    This is a step back from Black Ops 2, If I turn on modern warfare 2 I
    Its basicly a COD mod, not worth the price, to much console orientated.
    This is a step back from Black Ops 2, If I turn on modern warfare 2 I get the same deal, I guese playing a female and having a dog is the only inovating they could come up with.
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    0
    Alright, right off the bat this game is guilty of having the same problems like any other Call of Duty game. It requires little to skill toAlright, right off the bat this game is guilty of having the same problems like any other Call of Duty game. It requires little to skill to rack up kills, its not user friendly to beginners, and it has a very short campaign that has a terrible story that makes no sense. The campaign was only 3 HOURS! Its storyline didn't add up and the way the creators made it in the future to explain it just made it worse. The game play, just like any other FPS is a clone of its predecessors and the new "controls" were just awkward. The multilayer, oh the multilayer. Its the worst multilayer in the entire franchise. Its like they're go to thing; how could they mess that up? Just another terrible game they push forward in 11 months to get their quick payday from blind fans. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Do not buy this game for PC. This is the buggiest game I've ever played. First I couldn't play due to a graphics card error which I was ableDo not buy this game for PC. This is the buggiest game I've ever played. First I couldn't play due to a graphics card error which I was able to fix. Then it wouldn't unlock any loadouts for me to play the game, which is a known common error that they don't give a about. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Flickering textures cant even play it my head hurts so bad. 65 FOV 91 FPS CAP. Bad sound, bad maps. 6GB RAM requierd Very poor console port.Flickering textures cant even play it my head hurts so bad. 65 FOV 91 FPS CAP. Bad sound, bad maps. 6GB RAM requierd Very poor console port.

    Worst cod ever.
    Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    This game is a complete piece of S...t Bad optimization Ridiculus requeriments Short Campaign Graphics equals or Worse compared whitThis game is a complete piece of S...t Bad optimization Ridiculus requeriments Short Campaign Graphics equals or Worse compared whit CODBO2 and the Multiplayer is the Same recicled Bull S...t of every Year avoid this game Dont buy it. Expand

See all 915 User Reviews