Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. The new Perks system has more perks than were previously available. Every perk has a value from 1 to 5, and you have 8 points to allocate. So for example, choose 4 perks each valued at 2 points a piece, or even 8 perks, each valued at 1. You could also choose to get rid of your secondary weapon and get up to 11 perks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    Though at the risk of overcomplicating things at times, its robust multiplayer gameplay, surprisingly fun co-op modes, and lengthy, challenging, and varied campaign makes Ghosts one of the best Call of Duty games to date.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    If Battlefield 4 has only a terrific campaign, Call of Duty Ghosts is far more uniform. It's not such a beautiful game but the campaign is really breathtaking, and you have a large panel of ways to play online. For those who want to play together, there is Extinction mode ; if you're addicted, you can have your daily dose on your mobile ; if you're a noob, you will have the possibility to play with and against bots. A great and complete experience.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    It's exactly what fans of the franchise have grown to expect. No surprises here, folks. [Jan 2014, p.90]
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    67
    I don’t doubt that every gun, perk, and killstreak reward in Ghosts was implemented and tweaked with a fine brush, but painting in every individual eyelash of the Mona Lisa wouldn’t make it a better painting. That’s what’s been happening to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare since 2007—little bits have been scraped off and painted over again and again. With a broader brush, Activision and its studios might stop noodling around in the corners of Modern Warfare’s greatness and paint something actually modern.
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    66
    Call of Duty Ghosts fires some rounds, hits the target, just not a bullseye.
  6. 60
    Nothing to see here in terms of innovation: the campaign is dull, the multiplayer fun. But this time, the air of sameness is a little bit too much. [Issue#236]
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Most of the time it revels in being mediocre and cowardly by the numbers rather than outright terrible, though there are moments where it manages to be both. If this isn’t a wake up call, showing once and for all that churning out more or less the same stuff year after year only serves to dilute the quality of a franchise, then I don’t know what is. It’s completely shameless, and it’s undoubtedly going to sell phenomenally well.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Shame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fix those problems. Ignoring those problems i've been really impressed with the game so far. The campaign has a good story-line as far as Call of Duty games are concerned. No mission is the same so it keeps it interesting.

    As far as multiplayer goes i'm enjoying it more than most of the previous games. The create a soldier and loadouts are really good and the maps are decent. I've not had any connection problems apart from some lag in the odd lobby.

    Overall the game is one of the best Call of Duty games so far, so I would say don't let the negative reviews put you off... I can understand why some people may be upset as there are some problems that may affect them but they should be patched soon. In the meantime there are 3rd party fixes like the fovely FOV changer which allows you to change the FOV in multiplayer. Fingers crossed the problems get patched soon because this is a great game that everyone should be playing.
    Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2014
    7
    I just finished the campaign. Tried the multiplayer for a few hours. I can't understand all the hate.

    It's a CoD, plain and simple. It
    works well, it has amazing graphics, it has its own flavor of multiplayer, and the new Extinction mode is pretty awesome. Some moments in the campaign (especially towards the end of it) are really cool, and together with a bit more lively palette they make it more entertaining that other games like MW3.

    Even if you don't get a lot of fun out of it, it's an enjoyable romp with enjoyable graphics and tight gameplay. That's at least a 6 in my book. The more-enjoyable-than-average campaign gives it an extra point (if only for the AWESOME space sections), and the fact that I was able to get it for 30€ just two months after release make the one last point in my score. It's a meh game for 50-60€, but a damn good one for half of that.
    Expand
  3. PHJ
    Mar 10, 2014
    3
    Call of Duty Ghosts is a total regression for Activision, the game has a awful gameplay, you can't fell freedom in the game, you think that everything must to be in a way that the game wants to be, witch nearly excludes the game experience from you.

    Call of Duty Ghosts is a 3 out 10 game, is a game from a franchise that realese a new one each year, so you need to improve the game each release, aforegoing Call of Duty franchise we have Black Ops 2, witch was good, was in a good engine, good gameplay and graphics, what we see in Ghosts is the same stuff that we see in Call of Duty Modern Warfare 1 or the World at War ones, a total regression.

    The strongest part of Ghosts is the history, witch isn't the best really of Call of Duty series, but is way better than the multiplayer, has a clear chronology and some nice cinematic scenes, nothing more and nothing less.
    Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    Hahahahaaa! Did you see other soldiers animations on multiplayer? It's like on C64!! How is it possible to make that bad game in 2013?? They should really offer refunds for that!! Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Did the developers intentionally do the opposite of what the gaming community said they wanted? There will be no new COD games in my library until they AT LEAST bring back a server browser. HCFFA FTW! Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Once again another installation of this tired and washed out series. The Singleplayer is OK, but really nothing we haven't seen before and the multiplayer is the same uninspired dirt it has been since the first Modern Warfare. Definitely would not recommend getting this on the PC. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Well, I paid 110 R$ for a game that I can not play, because I do not have 6GB of RAM, cool Activi$ion you outdid yourself. I'll keep playing COD 4 which is much better than this crap. Expand

See all 900 User Reviews