Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 2896 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. The new Perks system has more perks than were previously available. Every perk has a value from 1 to 5, and you have 8 points to allocate. So for example, choose 4 perks each valued at 2 points a piece, or even 8 perks, each valued at 1. You could also choose to get rid of your secondary weapon and get up to 11 perks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    Though at the risk of overcomplicating things at times, its robust multiplayer gameplay, surprisingly fun co-op modes, and lengthy, challenging, and varied campaign makes Ghosts one of the best Call of Duty games to date.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    If Battlefield 4 has only a terrific campaign, Call of Duty Ghosts is far more uniform. It's not such a beautiful game but the campaign is really breathtaking, and you have a large panel of ways to play online. For those who want to play together, there is Extinction mode ; if you're addicted, you can have your daily dose on your mobile ; if you're a noob, you will have the possibility to play with and against bots. A great and complete experience.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    It's exactly what fans of the franchise have grown to expect. No surprises here, folks. [Jan 2014, p.90]
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    67
    I don’t doubt that every gun, perk, and killstreak reward in Ghosts was implemented and tweaked with a fine brush, but painting in every individual eyelash of the Mona Lisa wouldn’t make it a better painting. That’s what’s been happening to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare since 2007—little bits have been scraped off and painted over again and again. With a broader brush, Activision and its studios might stop noodling around in the corners of Modern Warfare’s greatness and paint something actually modern.
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    66
    Call of Duty Ghosts fires some rounds, hits the target, just not a bullseye.
  6. 60
    Nothing to see here in terms of innovation: the campaign is dull, the multiplayer fun. But this time, the air of sameness is a little bit too much. [Issue#236]
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Most of the time it revels in being mediocre and cowardly by the numbers rather than outright terrible, though there are moments where it manages to be both. If this isn’t a wake up call, showing once and for all that churning out more or less the same stuff year after year only serves to dilute the quality of a franchise, then I don’t know what is. It’s completely shameless, and it’s undoubtedly going to sell phenomenally well.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Shame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fix those problems. Ignoring those problems i've been really impressed with the game so far. The campaign has a good story-line as far as Call of Duty games are concerned. No mission is the same so it keeps it interesting.

    As far as multiplayer goes i'm enjoying it more than most of the previous games. The create a soldier and loadouts are really good and the maps are decent. I've not had any connection problems apart from some lag in the odd lobby.

    Overall the game is one of the best Call of Duty games so far, so I would say don't let the negative reviews put you off... I can understand why some people may be upset as there are some problems that may affect them but they should be patched soon. In the meantime there are 3rd party fixes like the fovely FOV changer which allows you to change the FOV in multiplayer. Fingers crossed the problems get patched soon because this is a great game that everyone should be playing.
    Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    7
    As a franchise, Call of Duty's becoming utterly boring and the more installments Activision has released, the more it ruined it. When I first heard of Ghosts when it was announced, my first impression of it was 'just another modern warfare.' Fortunately, it wasn't. And this time, I believe, Activision has done sth different.

    On the other hand, this 'different' failed to impress a fair number of people. Just like Black Ops II, many people were not satisfied with Ghosts, despite the impressive graphics and the improvements in the gameplay mechanic. But seriously..... 1.6? That's WAYYY too underrated. I'm sure there are ppl out there who've been hating the franchise (and Activision is to be blamed), but Ghosts deserves at least a 6.

    When looking at these scores, its hard to imagine that Activision actually DARED to challenge Rockstar Games to break the GTA V sales record. Sure, Ghosts made a $1 billion in one day head start, but that was just retail, not even the actual consumer purchase. And when consumers come here to see THIS, I doubt their sales would reach 5 million in a week.
    Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2014
    3
    Let's face it, half of the hate this game gets is due to the fact that it's from a 10 years old series that did not evolve, or even regressed in some points (I felt like Modern Warfare 3 had better light effects). Technically, they pushed their engine to the limit, and the result is a "meh", which turned into a big "ARE YOU KIDDING ?" when you look at the PC required to launch the game.

    This is quite a good arcade shoter game, but they kept the same gameplay for too long, and the only changes brought for 4 years are "this can level up, you can customize this a bit more" and that's all. That's what I expect when I buy DLCs or expansion packs, not a brand new game. Also, the skins dlc are what I expect in a free-to-play game, not a game I paid 60 €, I know that you don't need to buy them, but when you take a weapon from one's guy that you saw because -let's face it- you see those weapons from a mile away, you feel pity for the guy who paid for it.

    The singleplayer campaign is just like any COD singleplayer campaign. You don't get the feeling that you are the underdog that much. Speaking of dog, they really did put one in the game to say "if you don't like this single player campaing it's because you don't like cute dogs".

    Overall, this game feels like Activision stopped aiming at the pc market and aims at console fanboys who didn't see (yet) the same game with different models for 10 years.
    Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    0
    This is a really bad game. Ghosts and the CoD franchise as a whole should never have been made. Very boring, the story sucks and nobody should play it. This is the worst game series ever made. Whatever idiot came up with this should be shot at a firing squad for crimes against humanity. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    0
    Infinity Ward have obviously not cared about the PC community. For example, not adding an FoV slider. Many of us PC players receive a headache when we play with our console FoV. This game is obviously a port from the console version of the game. iW have tried to make the CoD franchise better by adding in new features such as Extinction (which is a rip off of zombies from Treyarch games, and is terrible), and squads (which is also terrible and boring. And they have taken away many features such as league play (which added a new competitive feel to the game, and introduced that side of the game very well), and other minor features such as an FoV slider, being able to show your ping, etc. These were extremely vital to us PC players.

    The maps in this game are terrible. They are way too big, not allowing competitive, fast paced games to take place, and i usually have to run around for about 30 seconds, until I find a player, which is when the lag comes in. About 80% of the time, i get the first shot on someone and i die first. The killcam shows that apparently I had not shot at them at all (and don't say i'm bad, I had a 1.6 k/d ratio on BO2). Never had it come across my mind that another CoD game could get me more frustrated than BO2, but BO2 feels like an extremely good game after playing Ghosts.

    In the future, I will probably not buy any iW games anymore, before looking at reviews. I made a foolish mistake of pre-ordering.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Once again another installation of this tired and washed out series. The Singleplayer is OK, but really nothing we haven't seen before and the multiplayer is the same uninspired dirt it has been since the first Modern Warfare. Definitely would not recommend getting this on the PC. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2014
    0
    this franchise is a complete rip off stop buying this they make small changes and expect yoo to pay for a brand new game when it is infact not brand new attall titanfall is right around the corner and will blow this **** out of the water finally. Expand

See all 816 User Reviews