User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6522 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Gungrave
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    I only played the single part so far, never care for multi, since even COD4 was inferior to CS speaking for competitive gaming, and no dedicated servers in MW2 just deleted MP from my list. So, single player.. bug letdown. The game is more like Serious Sam then COD. Endless waves of enemies, coming from every side, in very boring and poorly designed levels. Either you are on big square I only played the single part so far, never care for multi, since even COD4 was inferior to CS speaking for competitive gaming, and no dedicated servers in MW2 just deleted MP from my list. So, single player.. bug letdown. The game is more like Serious Sam then COD. Endless waves of enemies, coming from every side, in very boring and poorly designed levels. Either you are on big square shooting at waves of enemies, or you are at narrow corridor with ZERO interactive movement options, and you have ZERO opportunity for more tactical aproach in combat. You just press and hold mouse 1 untill you get mission complete.. Well i guess im too spoilt from games like Vegas 2, but hell, COD4 single mode was VASTLY SUPERIOR to MW2.. and at least you got a bit different gameplay style with the 2 characters, the SAS guy and the marine. in MW2 you just change the skins of your team every mission, the gameplay stay the same.. Call of Duty: Serious Sam mode. Expand
  2. Julien
    Nov 12, 2009
    2
    Could be a fun game, but the whole IW.net experience is a joke (even in a country where everyboy has 20Mbit Dsl lines and usually pings below 50). I had a better experience 10 years ago on Team Fortress Classic with my dialup connection ! 60
  3. TatLoo
    Nov 14, 2009
    2
    A great single player game but very short (less than 6 hours on med settings if you are an experienced FPS player). The problem comes from the way that IW and Activision have gimped the multiplayer aspects of the game, taking out options and features which PC gamers have used for years. In exchange we get a waterd-down lag-rich console gaming P2P experience. This has shortened the A great single player game but very short (less than 6 hours on med settings if you are an experienced FPS player). The problem comes from the way that IW and Activision have gimped the multiplayer aspects of the game, taking out options and features which PC gamers have used for years. In exchange we get a waterd-down lag-rich console gaming P2P experience. This has shortened the lifespan of this game, all for a higher price than almost any other new release PC game on the market. An obvious attempt by the publishers to try and control every bit of content associated with this game and set PC gamers up for paying for DLC's. Modern WarFAIL 2. Expand
  4. pudgypawH
    Nov 14, 2009
    2
    The Good: Graphics, Efficiency of Code, Single Play, Co-OP, Steam The Bad: No Dedicated Server System, Can't Mod, Can't be used in E-Sports Analysis: Infinity Ward had a good reputation. Scenarios in single play had IMPACT. From the WWI Russian assault (COD1) to D-Day (COD2). MW2 SP on Veteran level is a challenge even for a CS1.6/CS:S veteran like me. For MultiPlay there is The Good: Graphics, Efficiency of Code, Single Play, Co-OP, Steam The Bad: No Dedicated Server System, Can't Mod, Can't be used in E-Sports Analysis: Infinity Ward had a good reputation. Scenarios in single play had IMPACT. From the WWI Russian assault (COD1) to D-Day (COD2). MW2 SP on Veteran level is a challenge even for a CS1.6/CS:S veteran like me. For MultiPlay there is replayability and a great system, building a community, the single most important element to preserving a game/system online. Look at the Facebook community. Look at CounterStrike servers. Look at COD4.1 Servers. We return to those sites/games because of the people. I think Steam is going to save MW2 from utter annihilation with the buddy system. But multiplay feels as fragmented as Left4Dead. You can't see the community. It must be built via the buddy system. Those who enjoy simple competition (clear skies, no gimmicks, your reflex time vs mine/1.6style) will no doubt return to COD4.1 and CS:S/1.6. I simply think MW2 indicates a shift in direction of the company, away from competitive e-sports toward the casual. Perhaps IW will go back, perhaps not. I DO regret, however, the role Microsoft played in this. Microsoft even timed the xBox ban with MW2 release. Microsoft is clearly using IW, milking/destroying the precious reputation IW spent over a decade to build. All within one game project. I just hope IW will wake up and return to it's senses. Microsoft seeks to dominate OS, consoles, now individual PC/Internet titles. They will monopolize everything. Even if we don't have nuclear war, Microsoft conglomerate/domination is my next biggest concern and fear. IW please return to us, your trust in this community will NOT be misplaced! Expand
  5. CaptTrek
    Nov 16, 2009
    2
    No dedicated server. Without a dedicated server you cannot control what is happening on the server. There are already cheats out there and of course bunny hoppers.I tried playing this new way and it sucks. Plus single player is way toooooooooooooo short. Should never have wasted my money.
  6. EnD
    Nov 18, 2009
    2
    OMG WTF happened to the Multiplayer? 18 players only, WTF are they doing? What happened to 32 v 32 on a 64 player map? 18 players only. FFS. No dedicated servers, WTF? You can NOT choose which server you want to play on, you just get added to the BACK OF THE QUEUE. LMAO. I WAS going to spend my money on this but I am not because I have heard just how shite the multiplayer is. I have OMG WTF happened to the Multiplayer? 18 players only, WTF are they doing? What happened to 32 v 32 on a 64 player map? 18 players only. FFS. No dedicated servers, WTF? You can NOT choose which server you want to play on, you just get added to the BACK OF THE QUEUE. LMAO. I WAS going to spend my money on this but I am not because I have heard just how shite the multiplayer is. I have Battlefield 2 and Special Forces, Call Of Duty several versions, Frontlines - Fuel of War multiplayer FPS, Counter Strike Source multiplayer FPS, going back to the first Operation Flashpoint, DOOM, Special Forces, etc. I love FPS multiplayer games (First Person Shooter = FPS). But I have heard such bad player reviews that I'm keeping my money in my pocket this time around. Seriously OMFG. I an over 30 years old, been playing PC games for over 15 years, and I am so dissappointed because I was really looking forward to this. Metacritic - Stop fcuking about with the ratings, owners of the game are panning it. You need to start including this. Have both ratings beside each other. Ahhhh, feel better now, but massively annoyed that they have FUBAR'd multiplayer. Pricks. Expand
  7. LaneM
    Nov 22, 2009
    2
    When I heard rumor of the game I was excited but that drastically changed when I heard of the changes to the product. Changes that affects PC gamers. The apparent move from IW is to abandon the real development of the game and settling for a crippled version for all platforms. This in turn lines their pockets and slaps us PC guys in the face as without us and our devotion to the game they When I heard rumor of the game I was excited but that drastically changed when I heard of the changes to the product. Changes that affects PC gamers. The apparent move from IW is to abandon the real development of the game and settling for a crippled version for all platforms. This in turn lines their pockets and slaps us PC guys in the face as without us and our devotion to the game they would not have been able to go on. All this aside, the game plays easily. Deciding to take the single player out for a walk was no big thing. Fairly straight forward test yourself and it tells you a level to play or you can choose one. For me out of the box and running the test I was set to regular. As I knew I could do it over and over (I did it a few times to see what would happen) all results were the same. I was new to the controls and the weapons but the feel was still very much like COD4. I started at 11:00pm last night and finished at 5:30am I can tell you that it was very easy to go through the game and sis not present too many difficulties. Controls were comfortable and again were still COD4 at heart. With this in mind I wanted to see what else it could do. The good part for those that are excited about the game, Console or PC? What do you get that is different? From what I can tell it is all the same. There was no real difference and this was displeasing. The video and resolution on the pc was no different than on PS3. Well for my modest gaming rig, there were really no glitches of skipping. This I think is the thing that sets this game apart from others. However, the whole experience with a PC is that I should be able to get better performance at different settings. Did not fit or change much. This is the only thing that made me change the setting to a 3. I could not believe how easy it was to complete at regular. In the end there are no changes in the outcome. I thought that it was comical that the single player was so easy to win. The downside with MP (noob hell) is just that. Join any server and you get in the throes of a noob fest and are essentially Thermaled or Heartbeat Sensored down to nothingness. While these are great if you have them to use you are not able to use them at the beginning. I am not going to get into the PIMA feelings I have about all the new merit system. I was in for a bit and was totally missing the dedicated servers that were sitting across the globe. Writing this is making me want to change my review from a 3 to a 2 to prove a point to IW that their essential lust for a quick buck has driven me to return my game and plead for my money back. If that does not work I know that there is something I can do to trade for it. Thank you all who read this and those that don't well I am sure you do not need the experience. Expand
  8. MummblesFM
    Nov 23, 2009
    2
    The single player was very good, lots of pretties and new features, lacking some older features that im sure will be missed, like leaning. most of the guns felt the same, no advantage for most of them save for a select few. gave the single player a 2/5 The multiplayer... was ok at first same misgivings as the singleplayer, never got to play with the pretties because of the lag and The single player was very good, lots of pretties and new features, lacking some older features that im sure will be missed, like leaning. most of the guns felt the same, no advantage for most of them save for a select few. gave the single player a 2/5 The multiplayer... was ok at first same misgivings as the singleplayer, never got to play with the pretties because of the lag and constant disconnections. i cant give this a good rating. it would have gotten a 2/5 but it doesnt have the option for my clan to continue our dedicated server, so i give this a 2/10. maybe theyll patch it. i might play again, for now it goes in the box with all the other disappointing games ive bought over the years. Expand
  9. EricS
    Nov 25, 2009
    2
    It would have got a 10 if it had everything. 9 with just lean missing 8 if it wasn't just a console port 5 if dedicated servers weren't taken out 3 if their VAC actually got rid of the 1-40 players that already have hacks after 2 weeks of play. 2 if they included /record and mods. So they get a 2. Single player and spec ops are enjoyable...but until they fix many mistakes in It would have got a 10 if it had everything. 9 with just lean missing 8 if it wasn't just a console port 5 if dedicated servers weren't taken out 3 if their VAC actually got rid of the 1-40 players that already have hacks after 2 weeks of play. 2 if they included /record and mods. So they get a 2. Single player and spec ops are enjoyable...but until they fix many mistakes in multiplayer you are just buying a game for a 4-5 hour singleplayer and 4-5 hour spec ops game. Expand
  10. EdwardA
    Nov 29, 2009
    2
    Although the SP version on single player is fun and entertaining, it is NOT worth the price increase. The MP side on this series has always had great online playability because the dedicated servers and admins getting rid of the cheaters, I got this game on the day of release... I`m not all thrilled with its performance. Lag issues and the time it takes to actually play the game is enough Although the SP version on single player is fun and entertaining, it is NOT worth the price increase. The MP side on this series has always had great online playability because the dedicated servers and admins getting rid of the cheaters, I got this game on the day of release... I`m not all thrilled with its performance. Lag issues and the time it takes to actually play the game is enough for me not to ever buy another IWNet operated game again, Lets not go into the hackers that are infesting this PC version either Expand
  11. MartyD
    Dec 13, 2009
    2
    Unmitigated rip-off... $60 for this load of rubbish. The solo game is too short. with a lame storyline. The multiplayer lag-heavy hack-fest and the "Spec-Ops" stuff is just lame. What were they thinking release this poor game and charging so much for it. And what are the reviewers on? I mean how can there be such a huge disparity between the reviewers score and gamers (who had to pay for Unmitigated rip-off... $60 for this load of rubbish. The solo game is too short. with a lame storyline. The multiplayer lag-heavy hack-fest and the "Spec-Ops" stuff is just lame. What were they thinking release this poor game and charging so much for it. And what are the reviewers on? I mean how can there be such a huge disparity between the reviewers score and gamers (who had to pay for the bloody thing)? What perks did reviewers get for such inaccurate reviews? Expand
  12. Jun 4, 2011
    2
    I played through the single players and those weren't too bad. Thought the COD4 storyline was better. For multiplayer, it sucks! Boring, run and gun gameplay! Also, there is no server browser! This means I have to wait minutes sitting my ass in a lobby for players to join.
  13. Oct 10, 2010
    2
    Single player ok. Online play really has no variety at all. same stuff over and over. too fast paced. playing online for someone that just got the game is nearly impossible.
  14. Oct 24, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ta gra jest tragiczny MP przypomina CSa ta wyszukiwarka Iwnet tragedia nie polecam gry seria Battlefield jak zwykle rzÄ Expand
  15. Dec 4, 2010
    2
    MW2's hay day is gone. Hackers have killed the game. Don't bother buying it unless you are buying the aimbot and wall hacks to go with it. The only thing worth playing on this game is the single player missions. Besides that I wish I could get my money back. To future studio's remember to protect you game from hackers or you may lose players.
  16. Jan 8, 2011
    2
    Since this was my first Call of Duty game, il give it a break.
    The campaign is great,theres awesome moments,sad ones,epic ones and bit of everything.
    But your allies never do anything but shout "Ramirez,shoot while we scream!!" or "Roach,rush trough a favela full of 2000 angry miltia guys with rpgs,ak47s and mini uzis!" The multiplayer is average,with the typical elite noobs
    Since this was my first Call of Duty game, il give it a break.
    The campaign is great,theres awesome moments,sad ones,epic ones and bit of everything.
    But your allies never do anything but shout "Ramirez,shoot while we scream!!" or "Roach,rush trough a favela full of 2000 angry miltia guys with rpgs,ak47s and mini uzis!"
    The multiplayer is average,with the typical elite noobs quickscoping and spraying bullets with akimbo pistols then comes the hearbeat noobs,OMA noobtube;g18 akimbo noobs;commando noobs;ump45 noobs;claymore spam,wallhackers;aimboters and killstreak whores;noob host with instead hitmarkers while the rest of us are lagging like hell and missing every shot
    .You can´t play a single game without these things happening to you
    My advice is to either burn the CD,or go to nearest gun shop purchase lots of ammo and use the CD as a target while pissing on Kotick.
    Expand
  17. Jun 18, 2011
    2
    I always used to love Call of Duty when it had a nice essence of map size and balance put into it. And when CoD4 came out I wasn't so sure if the killstreaks and attachments would diminish the balance but IW held true. Now, on to the sequel. Sure maybe all your friends are raving about it, on console, but on PC you will not find a happy community. IW and Activision screwed the PC communityI always used to love Call of Duty when it had a nice essence of map size and balance put into it. And when CoD4 came out I wasn't so sure if the killstreaks and attachments would diminish the balance but IW held true. Now, on to the sequel. Sure maybe all your friends are raving about it, on console, but on PC you will not find a happy community. IW and Activision screwed the PC community over and just full out ignored us and listened to the console kiddies only. For $60 this game boasts no dedicated servers, horrible match making(TONS of host migrations in game due to poor connection or some bloke rage quitting), horribly imbalanced weapons(SCAR, UMP .45.), Ridiculous quick scoping(Complete rubbish since SOHP allows you to basically hit your ADS button and your vross hairs are immediately in your face), bull crap perks, kill streak rape(All kill streaks are basically over powered aviator vehicles: AC-130, APACHE, Harriers, Attack helicopter), horrible anti-cheat system/not punkbuster(MW2 uses VAC which is complete crap), and a horrible story mode and a crappy co-op mode. So, in a nutshell, you get a console port with a **** singleplayer, noob tube/hacker/kill streak filled none dedicated server multiplayer, and a boring co-op mode. All for $10 more than the average PC game. Oh, not to mention, you have to pay for the DLC which is $15 a pop. This game does NOT live up to the Call of Duty PC name. Expand
  18. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    I will do this review based mostly on my playtime on the multiplayer feature, since I think most of other reviewers said more than enough about the main campaign: boring, short, could have done better, really can't add that much. Besides, this is a multiplayer game basically, so unfortunely I'm forced to review the feature that I basically ignore. And besides, I was curious about theI will do this review based mostly on my playtime on the multiplayer feature, since I think most of other reviewers said more than enough about the main campaign: boring, short, could have done better, really can't add that much. Besides, this is a multiplayer game basically, so unfortunely I'm forced to review the feature that I basically ignore. And besides, I was curious about the rumors of this game being "the greatest online shooter ever", and when I finally tried out the multiplayer one simple question bothered me: "How?!". I seriously never ever seen a game this badly thought and programmed: the maps are horrible (except for very few), filled with blind corners that actually can ruin easily the game; now, many maps have these blind corners, so I might think this was intentional, but when someone starts to win by just CAMPING, that is totally unacceptable, and even if i have to not count the blind corners the maps are still horrible, since they are basically thought for Free-for-All (and still, you can see campers killing you as soon as you spawn, not even giving you a proper spawn protection like in some games). Well, maps aren't the only bad thing, since also the "class" customization isn't very great either. The idea is actually good, of making your own class with perks and etc, not doubt on that, but unfortunely lots of these perks are totally downgrades instead of upgrades, so you'll just get the most convenient ones (Sleight of hand+Stopping power+Commando= you were good most of the times). And the Pro versions aren't a big deal either. The weapons are so-so: few are pretty good, some are mediocre, many are very weak; unfortunely I can't mention pros and cons of every weapon, but in general I never tried more than, maybe, 10 weapons in total and those few looked very similar too (the raffica pistol looked a lot like the FAMAS...only you can move faster while aiming instead), so I could be wrong too on this regard. And also, the killstreaks: the idea is actually great, but some can be highly annoying, but still I personally liked most of them. The deathstreaks are ok, but none is remarkable. Still, I'm sorry to say, this is and was one of the most boring online shooter I've ever played, with tons of bad concepts that turns the game into a camping race, weapons that are hardly worth your time (I even forgot the challenges...maybe a good thing?), and "technically" one mode, since most of the maps aren't well though for being anything else except Free-for-All. It's sad that I had to give this low score: When I heard of this game, I started to be curious and eventually I played, but to this day my question remains, and I doubt it will ever get answered, and now that there's Mw3 in the corner, and the bad scores it received, I guess my question might turn into this: "Why?". Expand
  19. Dec 11, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unrealistic and provides a horrendous job at grasping the feel as if the player is really in armed combat. Story line is bland and un-tasteful providing no originality (Russians are being atrocious again and the good guys need to stop them because they have WMDs). The decent graphics and somewhat interesting combat do not come even close to suffice the mediocre game design. Expand
  20. Jul 20, 2011
    2
    An absolutely ridiculous storyline combined with laggy multiplayer choc-full of hackers. Don't get me wrong, I loved the first Modern Warfare, but this game had a more repetetive storyline that isn't nearly as emotional as the first, and basically had the same multiplayer but with crazier killstreaks, more exotic weapons and attachements, and no dedicated servers. Which basically meansAn absolutely ridiculous storyline combined with laggy multiplayer choc-full of hackers. Don't get me wrong, I loved the first Modern Warfare, but this game had a more repetetive storyline that isn't nearly as emotional as the first, and basically had the same multiplayer but with crazier killstreaks, more exotic weapons and attachements, and no dedicated servers. Which basically means that the only mod is when the matchmaker puts you in a black and white 'this class only' server that you can't get out of without a window popping up saying 'are you sure?'. Also, a question to Infinity Ward - How did Brazilian mlitia who wear cheap jackets get a tactical nuke? And how is a nuke tactical?' Expand
  21. Aug 8, 2011
    2
    Plain and simple, this is not a PC game. There are very few console ports that I absolutely condemn, but this is one of them. I am absolutely confused by the way Infinity Ward and Activision handled this game, especially after the phenomenal success that Call of Duty 4 PC was. There are good points, though.

    The Single Player, while short, is one of the best single player experiences of
    Plain and simple, this is not a PC game. There are very few console ports that I absolutely condemn, but this is one of them. I am absolutely confused by the way Infinity Ward and Activision handled this game, especially after the phenomenal success that Call of Duty 4 PC was. There are good points, though.

    The Single Player, while short, is one of the best single player experiences of any FPS I have ever played. I played through the campaign shortly after returning from a trip to DC, and I have to say, fighting through the streets of a burning DC was one of the most heartbreaking segments of any video game I've played to date. The story is entertaining, the characters are interesting, and it's just a generally good experience. This is where the good ends.

    Multiplayer, the selling point for the CoD games to date is the most horrid experience available. The first, and in my opinion, biggest issue that Modern Warfare suffers from is the lack of dedicated servers. The choice to go with IWNet is something I will absolutely never understand. It destroys the longstanding community that has always existed in CoD games. There is a reason why thousands of people still play CoD4, and it's not because something so idiotic as IWNet was used. The other major issue that is partially a result of the lack of dedicated servers would be the immense amount of hacking that goes on. Using Steam's antivirus software hasn't worked out at all. It's almost impossible to find a game where someone isn't hacking. There really isn't any point in listing the other numerous bugs, exploits, and general issues that exist within Modern Warfare 2, as they have been listed many times over in other reviews, so I won't. This piece of garbage should never have been released, and I really, sincerely hope that Infinity Ward and Activision have learned from their mistakes.
    Expand
  22. Jul 30, 2011
    2
    What is this. What the **** is this. WHAT. THE. **** IS. THIS. This is terrible. Activision and infinty ward need to quit making games and stop breathing. Also, I barf'd
  23. Sep 24, 2011
    2
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 was as I might say it, "fun while it lasted". I personally found it to be too similar to some of the other Call of Duty games with next to no new content. The single player was reasonable yet exceptionally short, and very linear. The location of the respawn points in multiplayer were hideously placed as people tend to spawn behind and very close to where youCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 was as I might say it, "fun while it lasted". I personally found it to be too similar to some of the other Call of Duty games with next to no new content. The single player was reasonable yet exceptionally short, and very linear. The location of the respawn points in multiplayer were hideously placed as people tend to spawn behind and very close to where you spawned. As well as the accurate shooting while moving? It is simply unrealistic! I played through the game once and found it boring forever afterwards. The replay value is a fat zero, and the multiplayer is a waste of time. Hopefully the sequel will be better. If not, I have no intention of spending my hard earned money on it. Expand
  24. Nov 6, 2012
    2
    After COD4 this was a great evolution to the series. The game was beautiful and responsive. It was perfect at the time.... that is until the hackers took over which took all of a couple days. After that it was totally unplayable. While I recognize the game and game mechanics were very good, I can not give a high score for a game the publishers didn't even bother to protect against theAfter COD4 this was a great evolution to the series. The game was beautiful and responsive. It was perfect at the time.... that is until the hackers took over which took all of a couple days. After that it was totally unplayable. While I recognize the game and game mechanics were very good, I can not give a high score for a game the publishers didn't even bother to protect against the rampant hacking. It ended up being a waste of money, when it could have been an all time favorite. Expand
  25. Mar 16, 2012
    2
    I want to start this review with a quote from the FMX 2009 speaker from R&D Activision in terms of "Creating Realism in Games": "Today it is impossible to create realism in games as you need 2.000.000 polygons to model a realistic human face. But yes: gameplay is king!"
    +++
    Looking back at MW1, having a well told story with realistic motivations in its characters, MW2 has a quite more
    I want to start this review with a quote from the FMX 2009 speaker from R&D Activision in terms of "Creating Realism in Games": "Today it is impossible to create realism in games as you need 2.000.000 polygons to model a realistic human face. But yes: gameplay is king!"
    +++
    Looking back at MW1, having a well told story with realistic motivations in its characters, MW2 has a quite more fictional story with Russia invading the USA over night with helicopters -- nice defenses there! The game has some cool moments, but in terms of gameplay -- which is king BTW -- the game kills you off. It is quite ridiculous trying the hardest part of a mission dozens of times as you die from enemy gunfire having to restart from a checkpoint 1.000 bullets past and then getting shot by teammates NOT ONLY ONCE!!! The game might use this to tell some motivations but I wonder where is the (sorry) f***ing difference between you dying there or one meter past!?
    +++
    Another ridiculous thing are quicktime events, where you can feel where a Wii player has his moments. Yet again you are unable to open doors while you have to do all the blowing up and pushing forward stuff. Some missions are more or less a shooting gallery: "Go there! Pick up that! Shoot this! Now go over there!" If I want to play something like that, I'd return to Serious Sam....
    +++
    Level design also very "interesting" if take your time and look around: There is not a single ladder or stairs up those roofs or no second door to a room enemies continuous keep coming at you -- no tents either....
    +++
    For the multiplayer most issues have been mentioned (matchmaking, cheaters, no voting, etc.). What CoD multiplayer always was is a team game. Here players are not only scattered on the map and randomly respawned behind some enemy (and vice versa) -- adding random deaths -- plus having no more ingame communication -- voice chat was the first to turn off as any kiddy used it as ingame radio broadcast for bad music.
    Killstreak rewards are flooding the tiny maps making it impossible to play without several perks you need to unlock first. Here it is playing, failing and leveling up until you are able to play the game as it was meant to be -- or at least stand a chance.
    After all I had fun with the game with a group of friends playing the game to play as an entire team. Still in case of cheaters all had to leave the server and retry, joining the same guy again!
    +++
    All in all this game is more frustrating than being fun. But always remember: "Gameplay is king!"
    Expand
  26. Nov 24, 2012
    2
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is one of the worst games I ever played: graphics are outdated, gameplay is not innovative and longevity is shameful. This is just like an expansion of a game which was out on November 2007, Call of Duty 4. * GRAPHICS - Bad: graphics are the same as the MW ones. We are talking about a game which was out on November 2009, which means that Crysis was out twoCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is one of the worst games I ever played: graphics are outdated, gameplay is not innovative and longevity is shameful. This is just like an expansion of a game which was out on November 2007, Call of Duty 4. * GRAPHICS - Bad: graphics are the same as the MW ones. We are talking about a game which was out on November 2009, which means that Crysis was out two years ago, now compare the graphics between these two games. Shameful. * GAMEPLAY - Very bad: almost the same as any other Call of Duty. Nothing new, nothing innovative, nothing good, just a very slow and very boring gameplay. · LONGEVITY - Very, very, very bad: the single player can be completed in four hours. Usually, people complete it in two days on the first two difficulty modes and in max. one week on Veteran difficulty. * SINGLE PLAYER: Mediocre - If we did not care about longevity, the Single player would be pretty good. * MULTIPLAYER: Bad-mediocre - Nothing innovative, it is not as open as Quake's or Warsow's one. Please avoid this game. Expand
  27. Mar 5, 2013
    2
    This game is overstimulating and bland at the same time. The campaign is terrible, though mercifully short. It plays like one of those popup arcade shooters except your camera can move. The multiplayer is not painful to play, but it is full of hackers and not very interesting.
  28. Dec 1, 2013
    2
    No dedicated servers....no leaning....no camping....no strategy....certain guns are just plain unrealistic...heavy machine guns are completely useless in this game....grenade launcher spammage=easy kills. Did I mention no dedicated servers? Meaning there are no mods for this game. There are no online communities. I don't even remember being able to choose the freaking map I wanted to playNo dedicated servers....no leaning....no camping....no strategy....certain guns are just plain unrealistic...heavy machine guns are completely useless in this game....grenade launcher spammage=easy kills. Did I mention no dedicated servers? Meaning there are no mods for this game. There are no online communities. I don't even remember being able to choose the freaking map I wanted to play on. You just enter a session and get randomly paired up with others for the next map in the mode. Bless the hackers....the only times I had fun with this game was when people hacked the servers and changed gravity settings and made everything badass like you could back in cod2. There is no skill required for multiplayer. You can run around like a cheetah and just 1 hit knife people without breaking a sweat....no aim required! What an utter piece of trash. This is unacceptable...multiplayer like this belongs on the consoles and only on the consoles. It's all about running forward and shooting the thing in front of you. The maps are so boring and predictable.....there's no chokepoints or strategy at all here. The only defense in this game is a good offense. The portable turret defenses are a joke and don't kill anything. The actual gun turrets you can man at certain points on the map are self pronounced death traps. You can turn them basically 15 degrees each direction.....making them absolutely useless unless the enemy is standing right infront of you. Plus they do terrible damage and require a warmup and cooldown? The hell?! Total crap. Any heavy machine guns in this game are crap. There's no cap on respawning....you just die respawn....die respawn. The respawn points are always changing...your team will be spawning on one side of the map the first few minutes then you and the enemy will switch spawn points. Spawn Killing has been eliminated completely with this....if you played cod2 NOT mw2 you will recall the brilliant moments where a team that was ruthlessly kicking arse would be rewarded by pinning down the opposition to a specific area and getting tons of kills. This is the worst pc 1st person shooter I have ever played. AVOID THIS AND ANY FUTURE COD TITLES! I went from cod lover to absolute hater. Cod2 I'd give a 9/10 so much fun. codmw2? 2/10 Expand
  29. Dec 17, 2014
    2
    Dumbed down for casual gamers, not worth it

    This game feels more like an interactive movie. Unfortunately, all FPS games these days feel the same way.
  30. Dec 21, 2013
    2
    Dull very dull. The game play is one of the worse I've ever seen offering at least on single player nothing but its couple hour story. The story is very bad nothing surprises or makes you even the least bit sad. Multipalyer is were all the money goes into but its no different from MW1 or MW3. If you must buy a Call of Duty game buy Black Ops 2.
  31. OskarK
    Jan 1, 2010
    1
    Single player: Short, story is a joke, but enjoyable 3/5 Spec-Ops: I'm pretty impressed with it, its cool 5/5 Multiplayer: Worst multiplayer i've ever seen.. Bad map design, this leads to millions of campers, the players are noobish (about 70%) they cant even play on an objective based game with teamwork. Matchmarking FAILS.. akimbo g18, akimbo model 1887 is too overpowered and Single player: Short, story is a joke, but enjoyable 3/5 Spec-Ops: I'm pretty impressed with it, its cool 5/5 Multiplayer: Worst multiplayer i've ever seen.. Bad map design, this leads to millions of campers, the players are noobish (about 70%) they cant even play on an objective based game with teamwork. Matchmarking FAILS.. akimbo g18, akimbo model 1887 is too overpowered and unskilled, spawning system sucks.. when I kill someone, that guy spawns behind me and shoots me... The multiplayer is especially made for noobs... It's really unenjoyable, fustrating, and 0% of fun. Multiplayer mode is a JOKE! + no dedicated servers?.. I'd rather play MW1 then this rubbish.. 0/5 Did IW really thought that PC gamers will be pleased with this?.. Fail Expand
  32. IvenH
    Jan 19, 2010
    1
    Good game - bad service. Several times lags and cheaters. Sometimes I can shoot, sometimes I was killed without any chance to survive. Bullshit is the non-dedicated server!!!!!
  33. KrisW
    Jan 3, 2010
    1
    People who gave this a 10 must be working at IW hackers , aimbots , lag , cannot connect to host issues , no support , people who are frustrated shouting profanities , small maps , and the only gamemode that has more then 12 players that grounwar thing is a crappy lagfest . my ping in fps games like cod4 and l4d is around 20-25 and in MW2 its around 60-80 and 100 in grounwars way to high People who gave this a 10 must be working at IW hackers , aimbots , lag , cannot connect to host issues , no support , people who are frustrated shouting profanities , small maps , and the only gamemode that has more then 12 players that grounwar thing is a crappy lagfest . my ping in fps games like cod4 and l4d is around 20-25 and in MW2 its around 60-80 and 100 in grounwars way to high to enjoy fluid gameplay . thanks for failing the pc community IW i hope you choke on a xbox gamepad Expand
  34. JayB.
    Feb 1, 2010
    1
    - Lack of dedicated server support. - No map control/game filtering. - Terrible weapon balance in any mode. With the right perks, a player can dominate with just a knife. - Very poor realism (e.g., riot shields withstanding 7.62 rounds, one-hit kills with knives, model 1887's, etc.). - Very little configuration available. - Uncontrollable bouts of lag depending on what the host is - Lack of dedicated server support. - No map control/game filtering. - Terrible weapon balance in any mode. With the right perks, a player can dominate with just a knife. - Very poor realism (e.g., riot shields withstanding 7.62 rounds, one-hit kills with knives, model 1887's, etc.). - Very little configuration available. - Uncontrollable bouts of lag depending on what the host is doing during gameplay. - Matchmaking does not work. - Game is hacked worse than CoD4. - No ability to vote kick unruly players. - No chat/bad name filtering. - Over-priced ($10 more than the average PC game). Expand
  35. Maxvon
    Apr 5, 2010
    1
    The singleplayer is ok but a bit short. The mulitplayer is a disaster its full with hacks, cheaters, aimbots and all kinds of bad stuff. IW need to bring out a patch but it dosnt. I would not recoment to buy battlefield BC2 is much better even thou there were some minor problems with the starting week, and the singleplayer isnt that good but the muliplayer rocks.
  36. whyreally
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    I downloaded it via torrents and it is a lot worse than I thought it would be I cancelled my preorder because the lack of support is simply degenerative to the PC community I'm not glad I did - singleplayer is meh graphics are meh sound is good gameplay is exactly the same as cod 4 (not bad...nothing new) its the exact same game - don't know how people can claim this is the best I downloaded it via torrents and it is a lot worse than I thought it would be I cancelled my preorder because the lack of support is simply degenerative to the PC community I'm not glad I did - singleplayer is meh graphics are meh sound is good gameplay is exactly the same as cod 4 (not bad...nothing new) its the exact same game - don't know how people can claim this is the best game of all time - its horrible - its not unique - and it sets standards which are akin to shitting on a persons head IW/Activision has taken the wrong road... by embracing console gamers, they alienate their entire base from which they came - its simply mind boggling the stupidity of the situation of the WAY below standard expectations for games no console they can push out the same crap year after year and get even more money - its simply pathetic our society is as retarded as that Expand
  37. PiotrS
    Dec 8, 2009
    1
    Completely dissapointed, PC version is only a shadow of CoD4. Pointless console port the way I see it.
  38. Nu3gaWhat
    Jan 10, 2010
    1
    Terrible. The story line is weak and short. Multiplayer? LOL Yeah the biggest fail ever. NO dedicated servers, NO kicking/banning, NO choice in what map you play or any other options OTHER then gametype, NO leaning, unbalanced weapons/perks/killstreaks, retarded respawns on overly busy map designs that leads to always being shot in the back by someone respawning or being killed by a Terrible. The story line is weak and short. Multiplayer? LOL Yeah the biggest fail ever. NO dedicated servers, NO kicking/banning, NO choice in what map you play or any other options OTHER then gametype, NO leaning, unbalanced weapons/perks/killstreaks, retarded respawns on overly busy map designs that leads to always being shot in the back by someone respawning or being killed by a camper, cheaters run rampant and are blatant because there is NOTHING you can do about them. Oh maybe VAC will detect the PUBLIC hacks, and ban them a few weeks later...maybe. It just keeps being worse. Lack of a console to tweak settings or even to display your frames per second!!!! Laggy as f*ck, as expected with no dedicated servers. Worst of all, IW is ignoring the community, and even insulting our intelligence. Deleting threads and petitions on their forums. Also what would appear to me, having their employees or simply people they pay to blatantly lie saying how good the game is. All of this for $10 more then PC games go for.....what a rip off. Expand
  39. ianm
    Jan 14, 2010
    1
    Weapons are as poor as ive seen. akimbo shotguns better range than most guns joke Sniper guns are poor no need to hit enemy to kill them .mw2 has ruined cod for ever as a pc game Badcompany 2 the way forward now
  40. lawrencef
    Jan 22, 2010
    1
    the game play is great but IW net ruins everything, if i wanted a console style game i'd buy a console
  41. leom
    Jan 22, 2010
    1
    The game blows.The graphics are consolarized,no deciated servers or mods,You have to use steam as well. AIm waiting for bad company 2 which actully has support for the pc,like better grahpics than consoles and decicated servers
  42. MarkM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    1
    Just because of STEAM. Over the past few days, been getting kicked out of game, can't connect to steam server. It just down right sucks. Why there are no dedicated servers is beyond me, COD had a great PC following, but this is going to hurt it really bad. maybe change my score if steam can be more, but who wants to play if we are always going to get kicked out or steam server is Just because of STEAM. Over the past few days, been getting kicked out of game, can't connect to steam server. It just down right sucks. Why there are no dedicated servers is beyond me, COD had a great PC following, but this is going to hurt it really bad. maybe change my score if steam can be more, but who wants to play if we are always going to get kicked out or steam server is down. We are paying customers and we demand better service from STEAM!!! Expand
  43. krisn
    Jan 5, 2010
    1
    This game has great single player. Unfortunatly the multiplayer is almost unplayable. A proven horrid matchmaking ruins the online name that has mad COD seris what it is . Listin to user reviews , not revies someone who never payed 60 dollars for gave. IW has done nothing ! to rid the hackers , yesterday i played in a server that was hacked from IWnet. everyone had unlimited ammo. which This game has great single player. Unfortunatly the multiplayer is almost unplayable. A proven horrid matchmaking ruins the online name that has mad COD seris what it is . Listin to user reviews , not revies someone who never payed 60 dollars for gave. IW has done nothing ! to rid the hackers , yesterday i played in a server that was hacked from IWnet. everyone had unlimited ammo. which made a real mess when a player recieved a ac130. Expand
  44. Danny
    Jan 9, 2010
    1
    These host migrations are ridiculous! They happen WAY too frequently and a lot of the time when the host leaves, the game will try to find a new host and fail, then just drops everyone from the game. This is extremely annoying when your team is about to win and the host that happens to leave is on the enemy team and gives up before the game is finished. I picked this game up when it first These host migrations are ridiculous! They happen WAY too frequently and a lot of the time when the host leaves, the game will try to find a new host and fail, then just drops everyone from the game. This is extremely annoying when your team is about to win and the host that happens to leave is on the enemy team and gives up before the game is finished. I picked this game up when it first came out and finished the campaign that very same day about 5 hours of off and on playing.. I'd be lying if i said this is a very fulfilling sequel. I'm quite disappointed overall since this game was obviously made for online playing, but it seems the high point of the game is more in the single player area.. 6v6 online is extremely basic and disappointing, 9v9 should be the very least. If this game had something like 32 players max (16v16) along with dedicated servers like many other shooters, it would have been quite a solid game. I just want to end it by saying this game doesn't deliver the same experience as the first did and it seems like it was about the $$ to IW this time around with MW2.. Very sad.. Trading this game in soon.. Expand
  45. PhilK.
    Feb 1, 2010
    1
    MW2 could be the greatest multiplay game of all time and enjoyed by the competative scene and casual clan scene for the next 5 years.Unfortunately its not ! MW2 is like being given a Ferrari and finding there is no engine.The soul destroying fact is its anti-community and terrible on multiplay due to IWNET which is a p2p network.Lag and latency issues totally destroy the experience.One MW2 could be the greatest multiplay game of all time and enjoyed by the competative scene and casual clan scene for the next 5 years.Unfortunately its not ! MW2 is like being given a Ferrari and finding there is no engine.The soul destroying fact is its anti-community and terrible on multiplay due to IWNET which is a p2p network.Lag and latency issues totally destroy the experience.One wonders why IW have not simply returned to the formula that worked DEDICATED servers...in sure if the decision was theres to make they would. Its wake up time and Activision are responsible for removing the options for any longevity with this title,its a money grab and longevity means less money. So its onto the next title and sod you gamers and your enjoyment. Expand
  46. ChadS.
    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    This is the WORST infinity ward game ever released. The single player is great but does not even come close to making up for the lack-luster performance of the multiplayer. Never again will I buy a game made by them, especially since they wont even acknowledge there is anything wrong with the game.
  47. HM
    Feb 7, 2010
    1
    Infinity Ward does not give a monkeys about PC gamers. Here we all are giving them ideas for MW2 by using the COD4 mod system and what do they give us? A console port. This is a disgrace, I have not bought this game for this reason. I am a PC gamer because I want to use the advantages of being on a PC. That is: Dedicated servers, mods, 64 player matches, lean, and being able to modify to Infinity Ward does not give a monkeys about PC gamers. Here we all are giving them ideas for MW2 by using the COD4 mod system and what do they give us? A console port. This is a disgrace, I have not bought this game for this reason. I am a PC gamer because I want to use the advantages of being on a PC. That is: Dedicated servers, mods, 64 player matches, lean, and being able to modify to game to my liking. Sure the game would have gotten a high score from me if they had these features, but the game is fun even with the hackers and aimbotters that's why I can't give it a 0. Infinity Ward need to review what they have done wrong with this release. Expand
  48. DaveRn
    Feb 8, 2010
    1
    The Game itself is great HOWEVER The multiplayer server system has to be the most ill conceived trash in the world of gaming. Ive only been able to play on 3 maps, its always always laggy and I have a 20Mb connection. You can no longer kick abusive players. Trying to join a server is a torment, you get unable to migrate host, Lobby Closed, you get landed in empty servers!!!! I got shot The Game itself is great HOWEVER The multiplayer server system has to be the most ill conceived trash in the world of gaming. Ive only been able to play on 3 maps, its always always laggy and I have a 20Mb connection. You can no longer kick abusive players. Trying to join a server is a torment, you get unable to migrate host, Lobby Closed, you get landed in empty servers!!!! I got shot through a mountain yesterday. Play the single player and then go back to playing CODWAW at least you'll be having fun in seconds rather than 10 minutes! Expand
  49. TowerTom
    Apr 7, 2010
    1
    1200ms points for a map pack, where 2 of the maps are remakeS? Come off it. Single player is too short. Special Op's are fun, but get boring very quickly. Online multiplayer is just as bad as the first MW. Even though the game is 18+ it's full of little kids screaming and thinking they're hard, makes the game quite an un-enjoyable experience. Overall, if you're looking 1200ms points for a map pack, where 2 of the maps are remakeS? Come off it. Single player is too short. Special Op's are fun, but get boring very quickly. Online multiplayer is just as bad as the first MW. Even though the game is 18+ it's full of little kids screaming and thinking they're hard, makes the game quite an un-enjoyable experience. Overall, if you're looking for a good FPS then this is it, but if you're looking to play some FPS online, then be prepared to get quite annoyed with the game (unless you're always playing with a friend). Expand
  50. DeeL.
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Disappointing. The SP campaign took all of 5 hours to complete and, frankly, I don't see myself replaying it - not in a small part due to sheer silliness of the plot. This trend of "addressing serious issues" (haha) in a manner accessible to emo teens has got to stop, before this nation's collective IQ plunges even further. I did not find myself getting connected to SP Disappointing. The SP campaign took all of 5 hours to complete and, frankly, I don't see myself replaying it - not in a small part due to sheer silliness of the plot. This trend of "addressing serious issues" (haha) in a manner accessible to emo teens has got to stop, before this nation's collective IQ plunges even further. I did not find myself getting connected to SP characters in the same way as I did in MW1. But anyway, on a good side - shooting mechanics are still fun and level design, animations and weapon models are top notch. I had fun playing through the SP mode, though I couldn't stop rolling my eyes at times. Visually the game is OK but it's no Crysis. I don't see great improvement over MW1 in graphics department. SpecOps: it remains to be seen if SpecOps mode grows on me. So far it's kinda lukewarm. If and when I'm completely bored I can see myself playing it further but with all the other stuff that is coming up this seems unlikely. Multiplayer portion of the game sucks. There's no other word for it. Much had been said about lack of server support and I'm not going to get into that. My personal verdict is not to bother buying this. Short SP campaign with limited replay value, bleh SpecOps mode, dumb MPr. And this is BEFORE the hacks are out. If you feel you are missing out, rent it for PS3. You'll be done with it before the week is over. Expand
  51. HomerS
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    SPECULAR piece of crap! No dedicate servers, no mod support, p2p sucks for PC, but at least we get mouse support? +1 for installing and having mouse & keyboard support -9 for everything else, including NO MONITOR support (fixed field of view). Consoles held this game back way too much.
  52. NajehH
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Stripped out multiplayer basically destroys the experience. No dedicated servers, 9v9 limit (actually 6v6, it's 9v9 only for one gametype), no lean. Supposedly they wanted to target "casual" gamers. Guess what, Infinity Ward? No one reviewing this game is a "casual" gamer.
  53. PsyFX
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Review breakdown as follows -1 No Dedicated server support -1 No Mod support -1 No Custom Map support -1 Console type matchmaking -1 Can't resale game due to steam integration -1 12 players, 18 players for ground war mode. -1 Inflated Price -1 Infinity Ward support, or lack there of... -1 Dumbed down, exactly the same as the console now -1 No in game Command Console +1 Single Player Review breakdown as follows -1 No Dedicated server support -1 No Mod support -1 No Custom Map support -1 Console type matchmaking -1 Can't resale game due to steam integration -1 12 players, 18 players for ground war mode. -1 Inflated Price -1 Infinity Ward support, or lack there of... -1 Dumbed down, exactly the same as the console now -1 No in game Command Console +1 Single Player Campaign and 2 player co-op Expand
  54. Torwyn82
    Nov 17, 2009
    1
    The single player experience was... ok. More of a visual treat and decent shooter, over before you could blink. However, the staggering lack of thought towards the PC community in multiplayer has destroyed this game. I am in the UK and can't play multiplayer without intense lag - I can no longer choose a local server, I am forced on to servers based on the other side of the globe, The single player experience was... ok. More of a visual treat and decent shooter, over before you could blink. However, the staggering lack of thought towards the PC community in multiplayer has destroyed this game. I am in the UK and can't play multiplayer without intense lag - I can no longer choose a local server, I am forced on to servers based on the other side of the globe, and my camera is constantly shaking left and right with lag. I will never buy another IW game again unless these issues are rectified quickly. Expand
  55. demontrace
    Nov 20, 2009
    1
    I cannot begin to express how disappointed I am with this title. How you can disrespect PC gamers the way this company has is appalling. Call of Duty is what it is today because of PC gamers. To place such precedence on console gamers, and then just directly port the game over to PCs, with no optimizations or anything is just lazy. To remove dedicated servers, something that has worked I cannot begin to express how disappointed I am with this title. How you can disrespect PC gamers the way this company has is appalling. Call of Duty is what it is today because of PC gamers. To place such precedence on console gamers, and then just directly port the game over to PCs, with no optimizations or anything is just lazy. To remove dedicated servers, something that has worked for so many years, and replace it with a horrid system that reeks of mental retardation. Why would you do this? I am seriously starting to believe that this was approved so the content could be controlled. Force PC gamers to buy map packs, and maybe even pay to play online. A monthly fee for CoD online. I can believe it. The single player campaign is average. Nothing noteworthy. The airport level is shocking for about 5 seconds, then becomes too slow, and feels like it's holding you back from the real game. The campaign itself is too short as many have mentioned. Multiplayer, however, is what everyone is here for. Spec ops is fun, I'll give it that, but that is the ONLY area where Matchmaking would be appropriate. It only needs to find one other player. Instead they have a system where you must invite another player who is already a friend. To make this friend you either need to have them already, or make some from other multiplayer games of CoD. This, however, is a pain. I have no problem just inviting random people from different games, and about 35% are receptive. It's the fact that I even have to go to these lengths, when the terrible matchmaking system from multiplayer, should be linked to spec ops. Multiplayer needs to move back to Dedicated servers. They can keep the matchmaking as a quick game finder for those who actually want to use it. Putting back in dedicated server support shouldn't be that difficult given this was being done 10 years ago. They don't have to lose the resources they spent on making this worthless matchmaker, but they can at least give the players what they want. Just don't even bother making games for PCs anymore if you're going to disrespect us so badly. You'll lose a good source of money. And if you think dropping the PC will protect you from pirates, think again. They'll just move to the consoles. You'll never lose them, but you can definitely lose us. We're the paying customers, and you just screwed us over. This won't be forgotten. Expand
  56. AntonyT.
    Nov 20, 2009
    1
    SIngle player is fine, although i did all that in the first one. CODMOW2 brought nothing new to the table.... might as well have been an expansion... but i guess they wouldnt have got their money that way. But basicly it gets a 1 because of their shit attitude towards pc gamers, pc gamers arent console gamers... remeber that next time you launch a game IW. Ps. What a rip off.
  57. ScottK
    Nov 29, 2009
    1
    The graphics are great, gameplay is fun. How ever, Infinity Ward completlt screwed up the online play. The lag is terrible, it takes over 2minutes just to get a map started, and the aimbots/cheaters are all over the place. Plus when ever I launch multi-player I get constant warnings from my anti-virus program. It seems I am not the only one getting these warnings either. Just stay away The graphics are great, gameplay is fun. How ever, Infinity Ward completlt screwed up the online play. The lag is terrible, it takes over 2minutes just to get a map started, and the aimbots/cheaters are all over the place. Plus when ever I launch multi-player I get constant warnings from my anti-virus program. It seems I am not the only one getting these warnings either. Just stay away from this head-ache of a game!!! Eigh, did they ever mess this one up good!!! Expand
  58. StaleNut
    Dec 2, 2009
    1
    If your looking for an engrossing multiplayer experience that will give countless hours of fun look elsewhere. The single player is ok but very short. I would call this game a day rental if PC users had that privledge.
  59. Nika
    Dec 30, 2009
    1
    This game is realy realy boring. Online is so bad without dedicated servers. Everyone usses GLs and shotguns online. Big Fail Game!
  60. ScottN
    Dec 8, 2009
    1
    Actual game was ok, though very short. Multiplayer. Welll......."A huge Disappointment"! My latency /ping is always well over 200+ and I feel at least five seconds behind the action. If you go back to playing cod4 you will see what i mean. I actually started playing cod4 multiplayer more as a result. I only got to rank 20 in mw2 b4 i have enough of this rubbish. The new system is totally Actual game was ok, though very short. Multiplayer. Welll......."A huge Disappointment"! My latency /ping is always well over 200+ and I feel at least five seconds behind the action. If you go back to playing cod4 you will see what i mean. I actually started playing cod4 multiplayer more as a result. I only got to rank 20 in mw2 b4 i have enough of this rubbish. The new system is totally unreliable in my oppinion. Bring Bck dedicated I say. Surely it cant that bigger issue to fix? Then again from IW's response to the dedicated servers situation so far, IW seem pretty ignorant and reluctant to do anything about it. Tw*ts! Expand
  61. AnthonyG
    Dec 9, 2009
    1
    Very funny reading what some of these blatantly ignorant people write. The issue at hand is dedicated servers. Yes, it would seem the game itself is balanced, has good graphics, and an engaging (if short) storyline. But the system that multiplayer was implemented on undermines all the other selling points of the game. An fps, if expected to last (ESPECIALLY one with such a short Very funny reading what some of these blatantly ignorant people write. The issue at hand is dedicated servers. Yes, it would seem the game itself is balanced, has good graphics, and an engaging (if short) storyline. But the system that multiplayer was implemented on undermines all the other selling points of the game. An fps, if expected to last (ESPECIALLY one with such a short single-player) MUST have a solid multiplayer no questions asked. Completely crushing the previous limit on player's in a map was a bad move, and if you justify it by saying the maps are smaller than you've indirectly pointed out another flaw: maps should be varied in their style, not always cluttered and catered to small skirmish play. Not having the option of dedicated servers is a massive letdown. Truthfully that wouldn't be so bad if players were somehow given the ability to moderate their own servers however that's a feature so closely tied to dedicated servers that it makes that issue seem larger than it is. Overall, if you're a pc user, stick to cod4:mwONE multiplayer. Dedicated servers aren't a "feature". They're a cornerstone of any fps on a pc, and not having them is like trying to run a marathon on pavement without shoes. Expand
  62. BigSpinach
    Jan 12, 2010
    1
    How did no one stop this from shipping? This is a game that feels like it was made by Michael Bay. The plot is incoherent at best and the action is over-the-top to the point of camp. If this wasn't a huge AAA title, maybe this wouldn't be so offensive. But given the huge budget this game had, there is no excuse for these glaring flaws. I have to complain too that the story arc How did no one stop this from shipping? This is a game that feels like it was made by Michael Bay. The plot is incoherent at best and the action is over-the-top to the point of camp. If this wasn't a huge AAA title, maybe this wouldn't be so offensive. But given the huge budget this game had, there is no excuse for these glaring flaws. I have to complain too that the story arc requires the killing off of more main characters than most games have in their entire cast. It was [maybe] innovative when it happened that one time in CoD4, but now it just gets annoying. It removes all attachment to the player character. You just play as another disposable plot element. Multiplayer is another train-wreck in and of itself. The lack of modification and dedicated servers eliminates the point of a PC game. The number of hacks, cheats, exploits, and bugs that have been used across the different platforms is just staggering for a game that's so new. The amount of people cheating make the game unplayable on Xbox live. And multiplayer experience is so lacking in any originality that it hurts. It feels like it was designed by someone [read: a committee] with no concept of how a firearm works (for those who are interested in realism) and no concept of what's fun and fair (for those interested in just having a good time). The Co-Op mode was ok... that gets it two points. But, I have to dock it a point for the inclusion of bullet proof walking tanks. 1/10 Expand
  63. BertP
    Jan 24, 2010
    1
    Multi player doesn't work! Get disconnected all the time. And I'm not the only one who has that problem, but IW doesn't come with a solution
  64. TimB.
    Jan 29, 2010
    1
    IW got lazy. riding on the success of CoD4 these guys made a half assed sequel and it becomes the most overrated over consumed POS in recent years. The story sucks. CoD4s story made sense was immersive and realistic (aside from one guy killing thousands) but in MW2 the story is muddled up, has huge plot holes (why the hell did one of makarovs guys show up in a panic room in arcadia?) and IW got lazy. riding on the success of CoD4 these guys made a half assed sequel and it becomes the most overrated over consumed POS in recent years. The story sucks. CoD4s story made sense was immersive and realistic (aside from one guy killing thousands) but in MW2 the story is muddled up, has huge plot holes (why the hell did one of makarovs guys show up in a panic room in arcadia?) and some of the silliest twists ever. The multiplayer is more of the same, the maps are worse the assault rifles are OP and the attachments and perks are game breaking. The amount of glitching online in ridiculous. Apparently their own P2P servers beat out dedi + punkbuster and admins. Spec Ops is alright when it stops lagging which is seemingly never and the split screen is for some reason two small boxes in either corner of your TV??? Overall I had high expectations for Modern Warfare 2 and was very let down by this poor offering. Expand
  65. drerappl
    Jan 31, 2010
    1
    Single player is too short! Multiplayer sucks simply because of no dedicated servers! Clans can not get any scrims on and its a hackers delight! Nobody follows any kind of rules! For tactical realism players don't waste your money! I'm just glad I got it as a gift and didn't waste my $$$ on this game!
  66. WolvraiB
    Jan 5, 2010
    1
    This game is horrible. I played COD: WaW endlessly on the PS3, so I figured I'd give this one a try. The single player storyline took only 6 hours to clear and left me not caring what happened to the main characters because I kept getting pulled in and out of their shoes so quickly. Multiplayer is, simply, unplayable. There's tons of lag because IWNet fails to select a proper This game is horrible. I played COD: WaW endlessly on the PS3, so I figured I'd give this one a try. The single player storyline took only 6 hours to clear and left me not caring what happened to the main characters because I kept getting pulled in and out of their shoes so quickly. Multiplayer is, simply, unplayable. There's tons of lag because IWNet fails to select a proper host, hackers are running rampant on a game that is less than 2 months old, it's nearly impossible to connect to a game in the first place (and when you do, the host leaves/gets disconnected, and you're stuck trying to migrate to another host, which normally also fails), the matchmaking system is horrible since it puts a new level 1 with an entire game of level 70+ players, etc. I was put off from buying this game at launch because of the $60 price tag, and now I am wishing I had not given in. This game is horrible and I go out of my way to warn friends about not getting it. Infinity Ward does not care about PC gamers (Mouse Control is considered a perk now, according to the back of the box) and is only using the Modern Warfare name to cash in. And now that Blizzard has bought up Activision... well... there you have it. AVOID this piece of junk!!! Expand
  67. RobF
    Feb 11, 2010
    1
    Infinity Ward has completely betrayed the PC gaming community by releasing Modern Warfare 2. Not only did they simple port the console version over to the PC platform, they copied Xbox Live's matchmaking service that uses listen servers to match players and parties into game lobbies. On top of that, this service, called "IWNet," failed to meet its promises of cheat and lag free Infinity Ward has completely betrayed the PC gaming community by releasing Modern Warfare 2. Not only did they simple port the console version over to the PC platform, they copied Xbox Live's matchmaking service that uses listen servers to match players and parties into game lobbies. On top of that, this service, called "IWNet," failed to meet its promises of cheat and lag free gaming. Games are laggy and often rampant with cheaters. Furthermore, Infinity Ward has not addressed these issues at all. I, and many other gamers, have lost patience with a company that clearly cares solely about profits and not about their customers. They clearly don't care about the quality of their game, and they certainly don't care to fix the game. I will no longer be a customer of Infinity Ward. Expand
  68. DerekL.
    Mar 18, 2010
    1
    This game is awful. Let's start with a few elements: the story, for example. The story is completely awful, with you bouncing around the globe for no apparent reason. The "airport massacare" level is not only painfully dark, but it's stupid. The only reason it happens is the artificial "game over" screen if you shoot the terrorists. You then apparently have to follow a shell to This game is awful. Let's start with a few elements: the story, for example. The story is completely awful, with you bouncing around the globe for no apparent reason. The "airport massacare" level is not only painfully dark, but it's stupid. The only reason it happens is the artificial "game over" screen if you shoot the terrorists. You then apparently have to follow a shell to Brazil for no reason, then rescue your old captain. The multiplayer? Don't get me started. Due to no dedicated servers (NO ADMINS), hackers run wild and nobody can do anything but leave the server. But because of the ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE matchmaking system, you'll probably get them in your group anyway! The best parts of the game are where you are trying to be stealthy, or those breaching missions, but those are spread over a very long and boring campaign. Was Infinity Ward trying to dissapoint fans? My explanation is that they created this game - IF it can be truly called a game - for the people who would buy it, play it, hate it, and not be able to return it. Isn't this how the Roman empire fell? The power players who used to have a sense of honor got greedy and started thinking only for themselves! I want the memories of the few hours I spent with this atrocity lobotomized from my brain! Although nobody could forget... "Ramerez, get the ... off the roof!" Heh heh. Expand
  69. DougP
    Apr 19, 2010
    1
    The game simply allows too many exploits. The first week the game was released there were people with aim bots, and walls. The lack of a dedicated server system ensures that the players being cheated against can do absolutely nothing against these exploiters, and as such the only worthwhile thing about this game is the single player campaign. this still only entertains a person for the The game simply allows too many exploits. The first week the game was released there were people with aim bots, and walls. The lack of a dedicated server system ensures that the players being cheated against can do absolutely nothing against these exploiters, and as such the only worthwhile thing about this game is the single player campaign. this still only entertains a person for the first play through and lasts maybe 5 hours. This game received my worst rating due to the fact that it was a complete waste of $60. Expand
  70. DannyE.
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    PC gaming just took a giant step backwards to the bad old days of dial up. For decades now every sequel has boasted more moves, more options, more, more more! MW 2 successfully breaks this proven formula by offering less, less less! For 10 dollars more than a new release game you get a SP campaign shorter than Crysis Warhead, which was a cheap exp pack. You also get inferior MP which PC gaming just took a giant step backwards to the bad old days of dial up. For decades now every sequel has boasted more moves, more options, more, more more! MW 2 successfully breaks this proven formula by offering less, less less! For 10 dollars more than a new release game you get a SP campaign shorter than Crysis Warhead, which was a cheap exp pack. You also get inferior MP which discriminates against those of us without ADSL2, and you get an MP game that slaps competitive MP in the face. And you could all this fewer content for a greater price. Expand
  71. ChrisF
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Console p2p multi-player is a step backwards by far. Dedicated servers were taken out and replaced by IW-net's p2p matchmaking this is not what pc players want at all. If IW were to man up and admit they made a mistake and add dedi's ill go and buy the game but to charge $60 for a pc game thats a copy of a console game HELL NO!
  72. MadsO
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    This vote is a statement. I am not going to stand by and see PC games being dumbed down because they have to be equal among all platforms. The day we settle for less only because other platforms cannot deliver the same is the day gaming will die. Use each platform for all it can do, do not dumb it down like this game has been.
  73. RagenO
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Pre purchased this game and then cancelled my prepurchase upon hearing that PC gamers would not have dedicated servers. I went ahead and purchased the game anyway because I had to know if iwnet was all they cracked it up to be. It is most assuredly NOT. The only time I have little to no lag in a game is when I am hosting and even then everyone else is having huge lag issues. The Peer 2 Pre purchased this game and then cancelled my prepurchase upon hearing that PC gamers would not have dedicated servers. I went ahead and purchased the game anyway because I had to know if iwnet was all they cracked it up to be. It is most assuredly NOT. The only time I have little to no lag in a game is when I am hosting and even then everyone else is having huge lag issues. The Peer 2 Peer matchmaking system they included in the game instead of dedicated server support has made this game from the must have of the year to an also ran. True the marketing campaign will make this GotY material, but in truth MW2's MP portion is no better than that of a bad Counter Strike knockoff with a TON of lag. It's just not fun compared to that of CoD4. The SP campaign is as boring as the campaign was in World at War, which for many seemed as though it was on a set of rails with predetermined and obvious chokepoints. IW attempted to bring back the magic of CoD4's SP campaign but wound up going back a step in that aspect. I was lucky enough to be able to return my copy with a full refund and am now spending my Sixty Dollars on a game (or TWO) that are more deserving that aren't direct conosle ports. Save your money on this game. Get Borderlands, Left 4 Dead 2, Battlefield Bad Company 2, or any other game instead. This one just isn't worth it. Expand
  74. Meesterjojo
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Generic FPS. Cost is higher than previous games with less to show for it. More money, less content. More money. The MP is absolutely flawed and imbalanced. The storyline is like something from Hollywood, filled with completely irrational, unbelievable drama which they try to pull over on you by 'shocking' you with killing an airport lobby full of innocents. Shock value aside, Generic FPS. Cost is higher than previous games with less to show for it. More money, less content. More money. The MP is absolutely flawed and imbalanced. The storyline is like something from Hollywood, filled with completely irrational, unbelievable drama which they try to pull over on you by 'shocking' you with killing an airport lobby full of innocents. Shock value aside, the game is a boring rehash of previous games, and with less content (which having less of something so bad may be a good thing). Expand
  75. KyleH
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    This game has completely and utterly failed in living up to what it was supposed to be every way possible. Not only was it gutted, ported and dumbed down; the game was entirely a mimic from the previous modern warfare. With weak gameplay mechanics that are completely unoriginal and flawed this game gets repetitive after the first mission. The only thing that was barely improved was the This game has completely and utterly failed in living up to what it was supposed to be every way possible. Not only was it gutted, ported and dumbed down; the game was entirely a mimic from the previous modern warfare. With weak gameplay mechanics that are completely unoriginal and flawed this game gets repetitive after the first mission. The only thing that was barely improved was the graphics. They introduced some new models textures and lighting, but even on the highest end PC, they are buggy and choppy at times. Overall Infinity Ward has betrayed its community, fans and fellow gamers as the money went straight to their head. Expand
  76. MattS
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Decent, but SHORT single player campaign. Horrible, butchered online multiplayer experiance. Missing many key features PC gamers typically expect to find as the norm. No dedicated servers, no lean, no console, no /record, max size of 9v9 but myself and most others are capping at 6v6. Should have been an expansion pack onto COD4 for what was offered.
  77. zanzabar
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    This game is all about the MP experience but unfortunately it was gutted and coming from cod4 its a huge downgrade, using a p2p connection and rotating the server on a persons computer laggs and forces at least a 150ms ping but also limits the game to 9v9, removes user generated maps and has no mod kit. this is unaceptable for a game thats purchased for MP only.
  78. AlexA
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Absolute and utter crap. No dedicated servers? What's the point of even having multiplayer for this game if there is no dedicated servers? Will NOT be buying it, and anything else from Infinity Ward again.
  79. DannyT
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    With so many great custom stuffs like mouse control, text chat in game, and graphics settings(and as a bonus, I even saw some sound settings up there, amazing), laggy matchmaking system that seems very chaotic, 9v9 combat, this beautiful console port deserves a big 1.
  80. sam
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    While MW2 includes lots of great things. what it excludes is larger. a max of 9V9 pvp, no dedicated serves, have to use and install Steam, no real strong map creating/mod creating support. really hurts this game, it would definitely be an 8-9 star with those. i say wait till this is in bargin bin, or till those notes are changed.
  81. GarryG
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Subpar story as opposed to previous in the cod series. Singleplayer lasts for barely a week playing one hour a day, and even then spending time dawdling. Graphics didn't have the same awe-inspiring look about them as COD 4 did. Multiplayer is a mixed bag - you either get a decent game or a lag-filled host. There's no way to kick or ban players in a ranked match. There are no Subpar story as opposed to previous in the cod series. Singleplayer lasts for barely a week playing one hour a day, and even then spending time dawdling. Graphics didn't have the same awe-inspiring look about them as COD 4 did. Multiplayer is a mixed bag - you either get a decent game or a lag-filled host. There's no way to kick or ban players in a ranked match. There are no mods. Points are given away like candy on Halloween. Expand
  82. DavidC
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Great single player, but the multiplayer on the PC version is lacking severely. There is no excuse for choosing P2P matchmaking over dedicated servers. Most of my matches have suffered from lag, and other matches have ended due to the host leaving; the migration didn't work in this case. Matchmaking is a huge step backwards, and I cannot give it a higher rating due to the fact Great single player, but the multiplayer on the PC version is lacking severely. There is no excuse for choosing P2P matchmaking over dedicated servers. Most of my matches have suffered from lag, and other matches have ended due to the host leaving; the migration didn't work in this case. Matchmaking is a huge step backwards, and I cannot give it a higher rating due to the fact multiplayer is a huge component of this game. Matchmaking would work great in a perfect world, but unfortunately many people do not have the internet connection necessary to host games. The lack of dedicated servers also cuts back on the modding and customability of the game itself, which cuts back on it's re-playability. I also do not like the fact that you cannot create multiple profiles for different users. This is easy to do on the xbox version but completely ignored on the PC version. Overall, if you're looking for a smooth stable online, longterm game this one isn't for you. If you're interested in the single player game, like I was, borrow it from a friend, it's only 5 hours longs. Expand
  83. RevR
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Nerfed the PC version. No dedicated servers. 9V9 Muyltiplayer? Feels like the 'Hollywood'izing of gaming! Game will appeal to most of its target audience 14 year old boys becuase it doesnt require any intelligence.
  84. DoomGuy
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    -only 5 hour long campaign -no dedicated servers -they gave everything a brown colour to hide bad graphics -generic shooting game with no new aspects what so ever The fact that these "official revieuwers" all gave it such a high score obviously shows that SOME PEOPLE were given some money when nobody was watching. I mean, seriously? 60 dollarsfor a 5 hour campaign?do the math, people. -only 5 hour long campaign -no dedicated servers -they gave everything a brown colour to hide bad graphics -generic shooting game with no new aspects what so ever The fact that these "official revieuwers" all gave it such a high score obviously shows that SOME PEOPLE were given some money when nobody was watching. I mean, seriously? 60 dollarsfor a 5 hour campaign?do the math, people. This means you're paying more than 10 dollars per hour of gameplay. Sure, there's also online, but when they try to get away with stuff like NO DEDICATED SERVERS, it's just ridiculous. They made this game with as only purpose making money and had no regard for the quality of the game itself. The sad part is that there's still thousands of people who will buy it anyway, no matter what people tell them. Expand
  85. Alex
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    It is very unfortunate that PC is now equated to the basic world of consoles. Not only do we pay the same ridiclous price, we also have to make do with no dedicated servers, outdated graphics, and a game which hasnt been changed all that much. I want my money back.
  86. JoaoR
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    "It's impossible to describe MW2, it's impossible to explain why it's a must-have game for everyone. I just call it EPIC. Yes, the story is short, but holy shit, it's intense. Take your favorite movie, add about 5 twists to the plot, and imagine you're controlling 3 or 4 of the major characters throughout the story. That's Modern Warfare 2. And I didn't "It's impossible to describe MW2, it's impossible to explain why it's a must-have game for everyone. I just call it EPIC. Yes, the story is short, but holy shit, it's intense. Take your favorite movie, add about 5 twists to the plot, and imagine you're controlling 3 or 4 of the major characters throughout the story. That's Modern Warfare 2. And I didn't even try the multiplayer yet." Yes Daniel, had you tried multiplayerd you woud have given it a 5. Expand
  87. VinnieM
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    They really screwed up the PC version. Don't trust the magazines and online sites that just slop up and repackage whatever their advertising department tells them to. With this game, Inifinity Wards sent one message to the PC community: "f**k you" I, for one, am going to send the same message back and not buy this piece of garbage.
  88. JackS
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Wow. Just wow. The single player is great don't get me wrong but the main thing that kept me playing COD4 was the fantastic multiplayer and IW just ****ed that up for this one. If I wanted a console online experience I would have bought this for my 360. 9v9, peer to peer, no mods and no dedicated severs is pathetic. I don't know how they could have made such a huge downgrade Wow. Just wow. The single player is great don't get me wrong but the main thing that kept me playing COD4 was the fantastic multiplayer and IW just ****ed that up for this one. If I wanted a console online experience I would have bought this for my 360. 9v9, peer to peer, no mods and no dedicated severs is pathetic. I don't know how they could have made such a huge downgrade from COD4. I hope the inevitable MW3 doesn't lower the bar again. Expand
  89. StuD
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Worthless MP...9v9...seriously? P2P networking?? Glad to see the dumbing down of the world has extended itself to the PC community. It's like the developers watched the movie Idiocracy and decided it would be a good idea to emulate that philosophy in this game. If ever there was a failboat it is IW and Activision.
  90. DerikS
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    No dedicated servers, a cap of 9v9, a mandatory download of Steam, and overall standard FPS gameplay makes this game not worth buying on either console or PC. The single play is less than 5 hours long and the "co-op" is only mission based. Since there's no mod/custom map support the re-playability of this game is next to none and so $60 for a game that's only going to give me No dedicated servers, a cap of 9v9, a mandatory download of Steam, and overall standard FPS gameplay makes this game not worth buying on either console or PC. The single play is less than 5 hours long and the "co-op" is only mission based. Since there's no mod/custom map support the re-playability of this game is next to none and so $60 for a game that's only going to give me about 8 hours of mediocre enjoyment is absurd! By far one of the biggest let downs of the year. Expand
  91. IanH
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Single player is fun, I really enjoyed the maps, great for a blast through in an evening. The only problem is that once you run out of single player, you will be tempted to play online and then you get to discover what everyone is upset about. Multiplayer is awful.
  92. Abyss
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    This game is an insult to all PC-gamers. It's taking you 10 years back in time when it comes to the MP part of the game. The SP is sweet (as always) but way too short to justify the high price. Console gamers have different standards when it comes to multiplayer, they don't seem to care about no dedicated servers simply because they don't know any better. I loved the COD This game is an insult to all PC-gamers. It's taking you 10 years back in time when it comes to the MP part of the game. The SP is sweet (as always) but way too short to justify the high price. Console gamers have different standards when it comes to multiplayer, they don't seem to care about no dedicated servers simply because they don't know any better. I loved the COD series for it's MP, sadly MW2 is not one of them. I don't recommend buying MW2 if you are into Multiplayer, for the Single Player part you better watch a good movie instead of wasting 60 Euro's for roughly 5 hours of 'entertainment'. Expand
  93. OshiZ.
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    SP is great but MP was fail, alot of great features has been throw away. when host leave game stop 5 sec to restart, 9v9 cap, when change host sometime lag sometime not, no lean, no mod. If you enjoy large battle like me in CoD4 I suggest you to find other game or stick with CoD4.
  94. JohnL
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Pros - ummm.... Cons - Very short campaign (pay more get less?) no lean in multiplayer (pay more get less?) no dedi servers for mp (pay more get less?) no mod tools (pay more get less?) realistically, they raised the price cause they knew it would be a "hit" game, and completely skewed the pc community over. Yes, there are the select few who are completely oblivious to the drawbacks of Pros - ummm.... Cons - Very short campaign (pay more get less?) no lean in multiplayer (pay more get less?) no dedi servers for mp (pay more get less?) no mod tools (pay more get less?) realistically, they raised the price cause they knew it would be a "hit" game, and completely skewed the pc community over. Yes, there are the select few who are completely oblivious to the drawbacks of not having dedicated servers or very basic features in games, those are the people that try to ruin it for the rest of us. We as a pc gaming community deserve better than this hogwash. It dosent matter how good a game is in theory, take all the good things out of it and your left with a bucket full of fish... official reviews rank this game as 94 overall, the user score is 1.3 after 866 votes, that says it all in my opinion. Expand
  95. VincentC
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Singleplayer is pretty, and the shortest damn thing you will every play, multiplauer is choppy, does not feel like a PC shooter, with out leaning those who are experienced CS or CoD players will feel an entire level of your strategy is missing, there is absolutely server lag, so the entire purpose of IWnet is obviously not to best serve the gamer, but IW.
  96. ReneV
    Nov 13, 2009
    1
    Played multiplayer 2 hours straight and completed the campaign in 7 hours on the 'Veteran' difficulty (the hardest). Multiplayer is utter shite. Automatically chooses to connect to random people around the world within decent ping range (100+/-ms). You get no choice, no dedicated servers, nothing. It's always random whom you end up playing with. Seriously, give us back the Played multiplayer 2 hours straight and completed the campaign in 7 hours on the 'Veteran' difficulty (the hardest). Multiplayer is utter shite. Automatically chooses to connect to random people around the world within decent ping range (100+/-ms). You get no choice, no dedicated servers, nothing. It's always random whom you end up playing with. Seriously, give us back the standard SERVER BROWSER for shite sake! It is such a common standard to include a server browser in ANY type of PC game with online multiplayer. If steam gave refunds, I'd take it for this game and buy Modern Warfare 1 instead. I am seriously dissappointed in Infinity Ward and Modern Warfare 2. The campaign was decent though with lots of good moments - but it's WAAAAAY too short! Should have been a cheap expansion for the original Modern Warfare instead of a 'full' 60 dollar game... Not impressed. Expand
  97. JoshL
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Ignore the critic reviews, The single player is great, 5 hours of solid gameplay The multiplayer is not so great... No lean, no dedicated, its a direct console port to the PC, its just horrible and IW has really screwed the PC over, I was really hoping to mod/map for this game, but nevermind.. You cant! There isn't even a decent menu/graphic settings and there is not even a console Ignore the critic reviews, The single player is great, 5 hours of solid gameplay The multiplayer is not so great... No lean, no dedicated, its a direct console port to the PC, its just horrible and IW has really screwed the PC over, I was really hoping to mod/map for this game, but nevermind.. You cant! There isn't even a decent menu/graphic settings and there is not even a console to change my FOV from the standard xbox version to 90.. Game is worth atleast 20 dollars not 60 thank you Expand
  98. tuboffat
    Nov 13, 2009
    1
    Let's put it this way. Once a franchise gets into it's 6th installment you have to make a decision. A. Buy the same game you've played 5 times before. or B. Buy 6 packs of cigarettes. I'm regretting not choosing B. I'm a gamer who has over 100 games on my steam account and has played another 100 on disk. Needless to say, This is garbage. When a game costs $60 I Let's put it this way. Once a franchise gets into it's 6th installment you have to make a decision. A. Buy the same game you've played 5 times before. or B. Buy 6 packs of cigarettes. I'm regretting not choosing B. I'm a gamer who has over 100 games on my steam account and has played another 100 on disk. Needless to say, This is garbage. When a game costs $60 I expect at least 12 hours of single player action.($5 an hour)You know, to justify the cost since a 2 hour movie only costs $5 to rent. I've always felt that multiplayer should be not taken into consideration of a games worth because the majority of normal people have lives and do not waste hours of there day trying to get good at online games. (Underage gamers aside of course) Most people i've encountered are casual gamers who enjoy a good story that they can play through over the course of a week. No competition, just fun. So is $10 an hour worth it? When the recession is upon us and most of us can't afford to pay bills? Wouldn't it be nice if developers could make something that lasts 2 weeks so you would be able to enjoy a game between paycheques? Expand
  99. GeorgeM
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    This game is largely a rehash of CoD4 and in my opinion, not worth the money. Having played CoD4 online for nearly 2 years I was frowing bored with it, I'm not sure why Infinity Ward though people who are bored of a game would like to play an almost identical one for another 2 years but whatever. The singleplayer is decent but far, far to short (a good player can easily round it up This game is largely a rehash of CoD4 and in my opinion, not worth the money. Having played CoD4 online for nearly 2 years I was frowing bored with it, I'm not sure why Infinity Ward though people who are bored of a game would like to play an almost identical one for another 2 years but whatever. The singleplayer is decent but far, far to short (a good player can easily round it up in UNDER 5 hours). The multiplayer suffers from a lack of dedicated servers. I picked it up at midnight and wasn't able to play last night because the game simply wouldn't connect, IW didn't see fit to tell us which ports the game uses so that we can open them up in our router. Also, the game fails to reconnect every time host migration occurs. IW also lied to us by saying that the game was 9v9 when in actuallity it's 6v6 with just 1 game mode as 9v9. To sum it up: been there done that. Expand
  100. JanD
    Nov 15, 2009
    1
    Well about 4hrs of single player for $60?? Gives you the feeling they just removed stuff to add later with over-priced shitty DLC. For PC no mods/customization or dedicated servers? They removed YEARS of free content. Now they charge $60 it's a really bad deal. Don't buy it until price drop or mod/dedicated server support. Hopefully both so that it can compare to the average PC game.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.