User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6222 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JanD
    Nov 15, 2009
    1
    Well about 4hrs of single player for $60?? Gives you the feeling they just removed stuff to add later with over-priced shitty DLC. For PC no mods/customization or dedicated servers? They removed YEARS of free content. Now they charge $60 it's a really bad deal. Don't buy it until price drop or mod/dedicated server support. Hopefully both so that it can compare to the average PC game.
  2. EricP
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    Looks like Activision have tried to ruin the COD franchise for PC gamers: -No dedicated servers. -Using VAC for banning cheats is useless cheats are already out, VAC does not work. -Lack of Punkbuster and dedicated server has made it impossible to keep tab on hack and ban them. -Same tired game engine as the previous COD's.It's full of cheats already available...So how did they Looks like Activision have tried to ruin the COD franchise for PC gamers: -No dedicated servers. -Using VAC for banning cheats is useless cheats are already out, VAC does not work. -Lack of Punkbuster and dedicated server has made it impossible to keep tab on hack and ban them. -Same tired game engine as the previous COD's.It's full of cheats already available...So how did they expect to be " cheat free " ? -Single player campaign is too short. Expand
  3. KaneR
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    Lack of dedicated servers has destroyed an otherwise flawless IP. People don't buy these games for the singleplayer aspect, and if you do, why would you waste an extra 10 bucks on a 5 hour game? Terrible value for money and a lackluster, thoughtless multiplayer experience, doesn't merit this game above what I've given it.
  4. Macca
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    Reading the "professional" reviews at the top of the page giving 90-100 and stating that this game is a no-brainer if you want multiplayer, it is clear to me and many other PC gamers which magazines are clearly taking some sort of back-hander from certain developers. What a let down and a waste of money this game is to any gamer who likes to invest the time it takes to be decent online.
  5. TraianPop
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Big dissapointment on the PC side. Repeated crashes and a broken, incomplete, laggy multiplayer system. I am not interrested in single player, bought this for multiplayer, huge downgrade from COD4.
  6. AndrewT.
    Nov 19, 2009
    1
    It's a really good game. Single-player is really similar to Call of Duty 4's. That's not a bad thing but I wish they could have made it a little better. The online multiplayer is extremely enjoyable. There's so many unlockables and the maps are fun to play.
  7. KyleC
    Nov 19, 2009
    1
    IW clearly lost its soul with this installment... its not about gameplay or fun anymore... just about making as much money as possible... it seems they looked for the most retarded person and then designed the game for that person. the cut of ded. servers because it was to "difficult" to navigate... the created a storymode that is full of follow that guy and protect this one... youre IW clearly lost its soul with this installment... its not about gameplay or fun anymore... just about making as much money as possible... it seems they looked for the most retarded person and then designed the game for that person. the cut of ded. servers because it was to "difficult" to navigate... the created a storymode that is full of follow that guy and protect this one... youre constantly getting thought what exactly u have to do. if you run to far away from your objectiv you'll get an instant death penalty... i guess the next step for IW is to build a railshooter with autoaim, so also youre pets can buy and play a copy of the next cod Expand
  8. killerDJMW
    Nov 20, 2009
    1
    I loved CoD4:MW. Single player was amazing, online multiplayer was amazing. They took the Single Player, and kept it good (been playing it on buddies console) but ruined multiplayer. 9v9 ONLY? Really? I know IW can do much better. When this game gets released with the same multiplayer features as CoD4:MW, I will purchase it. Until then, I stand by my stance that this is a console game I loved CoD4:MW. Single player was amazing, online multiplayer was amazing. They took the Single Player, and kept it good (been playing it on buddies console) but ruined multiplayer. 9v9 ONLY? Really? I know IW can do much better. When this game gets released with the same multiplayer features as CoD4:MW, I will purchase it. Until then, I stand by my stance that this is a console game PORTED to PC. The kicker is the "exclusive" features to PC: -Adjustable resolution -Keyboard and mouse support (thought this was a requirement for a computer game). Regardless, I'm giving this game a 1 for the incredible (albeit short) single player and 0 for the multiplayer which they had pretty good (minus the grenade spam) and decided to completely throw it out. Expand
  9. DirkD
    Nov 20, 2009
    1
    Its a great game considering graphics, sounds and atmosphere. The single player campaign is quite short but of good quality. But all this is messed up by the terrible multiplayer concept, due to lack of dedicated servers. When our clan is trying to have a game together, we neeed 5 to 10 tries before we are able to play with 8 friends in the same match. A lot of fallbacks, disconnects and Its a great game considering graphics, sounds and atmosphere. The single player campaign is quite short but of good quality. But all this is messed up by the terrible multiplayer concept, due to lack of dedicated servers. When our clan is trying to have a game together, we neeed 5 to 10 tries before we are able to play with 8 friends in the same match. A lot of fallbacks, disconnects and other strange things happens which makes it impossible to have a larger group playing togehter. That needs us 15 to 20 minutes try and error before we can play a match of 5 minutes which is extremly laggy then. That suxx! I only can advise IW to bring a dedicated server asap. This p2p host concept is defintily not working. Expand
  10. David
    Nov 26, 2009
    1
    Awful single player with more holes in it than the titanic. Modern Warfare 2 adds a whole new trick of "Nikolai Ex Machina" and Nikolai will come forth and hence save the day. Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. The plot of the story is laughable on the second playthrough. Also, the Multiplayer is laggy and has an unsurprising amount of hackers and pirates who have managed Awful single player with more holes in it than the titanic. Modern Warfare 2 adds a whole new trick of "Nikolai Ex Machina" and Nikolai will come forth and hence save the day. Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. The plot of the story is laughable on the second playthrough. Also, the Multiplayer is laggy and has an unsurprising amount of hackers and pirates who have managed to find their way on to abuse you. Of course there are a few, but there we go. Many players claim they have next to no lag, and have the full proverbial bars. Compared to a dedicated server, these things happen ny on never. Oh yes, I play in England. Why the hell have I been auto connected to people playing in Vietnam? To hear people say that "It's matchmaking system is FINE" with the big unpopulated maps and lag is laughable. The longevity of Call of Duty 4 will hopefully outlast this and the people daft enough to pick up a copy are to be pitied. It's a sad day when one of the biggest games of all time turns out to be a flop and people are in heavy denial that it's sub-par. Would be a four, but averaged for the amount of "OMG EXCELLENT BESTEST GAME EVUR!!!111" people. Expand
  11. IvanTBB
    Dec 11, 2009
    1
    It is not a big step forward from cod4. Also removing the servers was a bad move since a lot of people play this game for customization. It is time for the game makers to do some fan service.
  12. [ANONYMOUS]
    Dec 1, 2009
    1
    The 1 is for the multiplayer. No dedicated servers = no map choice, no kicking/banning hackers, random lag and stability issues as each game is hosted by a player, and did I mention the hacking players that you can't get rid of?
  13. BjornH
    Dec 15, 2009
    1
    Overall a disappointing game. Short, loud, pointless. Offers little in single player mode and not a lot more in multiplayer. Like many of my fellow users here I sense a professional reviewer conspiracy.
  14. StefanvanR
    Dec 26, 2009
    1
    Bad things: - You can try for hours sometimes to connect to your friends and when you are finally connected, then you can wait another 15 minutes before you can finally play. - Just 12 (or 18) players per so called 'server'. - Maps are too big for 12 players, in the time you runn to the other side were the enemy is, the spawn points have changed and you can runn to the other Bad things: - You can try for hours sometimes to connect to your friends and when you are finally connected, then you can wait another 15 minutes before you can finally play. - Just 12 (or 18) players per so called 'server'. - Maps are too big for 12 players, in the time you runn to the other side were the enemy is, the spawn points have changed and you can runn to the other side again. - Nukes??? Wtf? You get 25 a killstreak and win the game?? You should be able to mod those things out, or switch it of on your server, but you can't.. - You play one gametype all the time, while I like to play Sabotage, the next round TDM, then DM, S&D, etc. - When you are tired of the maps in game you can't download others and play there. - Lag, my ping is 75 and up all the time, while it was between 40-50 average in CoD4. - Hitboxes are very very crappy, you can shoot someone from 20 or so meters with a double shotgun and kill himk. Headshots are also completly random (unless you use a sniper). - No mod's. - The singleplayer is just shooting, shooting, shooting and more shooting whitout a really good storyline and characters get killed very easy. - You can't bann hackers (and VAC neither will do it for you). Good things: - Lots of weapons. Expand
  15. andrewk
    Dec 29, 2009
    1
    I can't give it a 0 because admittedly I did enjoy the single player regardless of the silly plot. But at the end of the day I bought the game chiefly for the multiplayer, and with no dedicated servers and horrible matchmaking BS, I just can't enjoy it at all. Hardcore players beware. If you enjoyed the MW1 multiplayer, then you're better off just continuing to play that. I can't give it a 0 because admittedly I did enjoy the single player regardless of the silly plot. But at the end of the day I bought the game chiefly for the multiplayer, and with no dedicated servers and horrible matchmaking BS, I just can't enjoy it at all. Hardcore players beware. If you enjoyed the MW1 multiplayer, then you're better off just continuing to play that. This is worse in almost every way. And for $60? It's a pure waste of money. Expand
  16. Anonymousderp
    Dec 6, 2009
    1
    Single player was nice, but multiplayer was devolved console crap. A slap on the face for the PC crowd.
  17. ChuckF
    Jan 14, 2010
    1
    Graphics are good. Singleplayer storyline is short. Multiplayer is a joke. Hackers roam freely. Often you will enter a game where there are intentional TK'ers, and there is no way to get rid of them because you cannot kick or votekick players. No dedicated servers. No mods. No customized play. If you do find a decent game where there aren't 10 people tubing every 2 seconds, Graphics are good. Singleplayer storyline is short. Multiplayer is a joke. Hackers roam freely. Often you will enter a game where there are intentional TK'ers, and there is no way to get rid of them because you cannot kick or votekick players. No dedicated servers. No mods. No customized play. If you do find a decent game where there aren't 10 people tubing every 2 seconds, intentional TK'ers, hackers, or extreme lag, then usually you will find the game "switching hosts" every 2 minutes, making the game unplayable. Unless you are buying this game soley for the single player option (you must be connected to the internet in order to even access single player), then don't waste your money. Stick with COD4 as it is superior in every aspect. If you already own this game and are dissatisfied you can call your CC company and file a complaint to get your money back. Then go file a BBB complaint. Expand
  18. Steveb
    Jan 14, 2010
    1
    The single player one is not bad, but story is totally unbelevable. What's more, the most damn thing is the multi-player. just one word, it sucks.
  19. EdH
    Jan 15, 2010
    1
    names went from shit like smith, collins, to "ghost" and "roach", its all "one man army" bullshit for the console faggots. I bought a computer game, not a console, also same generic shit everyone else said, no dedicated, campaign was just a rehash of the same one from mw, TDM has a max of 12? wtf, i remember playing in servers with max of 120 on cod:mw and games prior. Pissed off pc user here.
  20. MarkF
    Jan 17, 2010
    1
    Infinity Ward totally ruined this game. When World at War was released I just thought that was a mess and I really went to bat for Infinity Ward and how much better they implement COD. But this is a total letdown. They have let the people down that made this game what it is. The PC Multiplayer people. This will backfire - Most of the PC people are older and they are the ones purchasing Infinity Ward totally ruined this game. When World at War was released I just thought that was a mess and I really went to bat for Infinity Ward and how much better they implement COD. But this is a total letdown. They have let the people down that made this game what it is. The PC Multiplayer people. This will backfire - Most of the PC people are older and they are the ones purchasing the XBOX and PS3 games for the younger group, one day Infinity Ward will want them back once they realize what they did. It is all money and Hype. Money for Activision and they used the Hype from the previous versions to sell this one - won't happen again. I know I bought a PC version and a PS3 and an XBOX version. Big mistake. The dedicated server issue, no leaning, no Hardcore mode, Cheating is ridiculous, the matchmaking and Steam are just terrible. I have tried to avoid steam for years. Now we are not given a choice. Just think about it - the PC user was used to make the game popular the way it was - now we have been abandoned for the XBOX and PS3 tweeny type games. Expand
  21. DrewS
    Jan 18, 2010
    1
    Single player is the only good thing about this game. Almost impossible to have a good fair game with 1/2 the people using aimbots, wall hacks and lvl hacks. Dont even get me started on the lag. All lag all the time. If there were dedicated servers then this game might be ok. I suggest you look into Battlefield 2.
  22. joep
    Jan 31, 2010
    1
    A great game ruined by hacks, IW complacency, failure to listen to valid criticisms about a lack of dedicated servers, no ability to vote kick, horrible server performance, horrible match making, unbalanced mp maps, horribly placed capture points in some game types, and what seems to be an unfinished multi player.
  23. georgew
    Feb 14, 2010
    1
    The single play is AWESOME!!! I finished the single player with hopes that the multi player would be alot like CoD4 but i was wrong. the first thing i see is a blank steam page and than the game never loads due to a steam server connection issue. i have not been able to resolve this problem and feel as though i have wasted my money and i will be less willing to buy another gme from IW ever again.
  24. MW2SUX
    Mar 18, 2010
    1
    Single player is awful. I don't mind short games. I love them (i.e. MW1, Portal, the list goes on). This single player campaign was forgettable. In the first MW I was really getting into it, and really wanted to go back and get those intels to get unlimited ammo after i finished because im not good enough to beat it on veteran. That made it fun too. No cheats, awful single player, Single player is awful. I don't mind short games. I love them (i.e. MW1, Portal, the list goes on). This single player campaign was forgettable. In the first MW I was really getting into it, and really wanted to go back and get those intels to get unlimited ammo after i finished because im not good enough to beat it on veteran. That made it fun too. No cheats, awful single player, multiplayer is fun until youre watching killcams track and shoot you through walls. IW fired the top two guys and rightfully so. MW1 was a great, exciting experience with a campaign that left you wanting more. This campaign was painful to play through. I felt like Shepard was a metaphor for infinity ward... a hero the first time around thinks he can get away with anything the second time around... They better make the next COD:MW have good Rights Protection because im telling all my friends to steal it. Campaign FAIL. and multiplayer... thanks for porting an xbox game to pc NOT... Go you know what yourselves IW you $60 PC Game with HORRIBLE CONTENT MONEY GROVELING you know what. Expand
  25. JackofSpades
    Apr 15, 2010
    1
    I gave it a chance, because from what the trailers told me, it'd probably be worth the money... Well, if I only knew better... All I can say is, Single Player is too short and didn't have any replaying value at all, Spec Ops was really easy (except for some few missions, but yeah, overall it was easy, even on highest difficulty) and didn't deliver the replayability that I gave it a chance, because from what the trailers told me, it'd probably be worth the money... Well, if I only knew better... All I can say is, Single Player is too short and didn't have any replaying value at all, Spec Ops was really easy (except for some few missions, but yeah, overall it was easy, even on highest difficulty) and didn't deliver the replayability that they promised. The Multiplayer was cool at first, but the matchmaking system turned out to suck, I was pleased that they included Prestige for the PC on this one, but after some time it became really annoying. In addition to that, There is an increasing number of hacked matches going on, letting players jump to level 70 directly for killing only 1 player (thanks to an XP boost). That's not what the game was meant to be like, and I doubt IW will ever fix that. There were some good ideas that came into the game, but IWNet is far from being an improvement to me at all, I've seen less hackers in COD4, the games can be very laggy if the host sucks (and if that one doesn't want to leave the game for a better host, the game's already ruined for you). Another thing I am seriously angry about is that Akimbo stuff; half of the players in every match run around with an Akimbo G18, dual wielding shotguns, and so on... Was that really necessary? Even today, COD4 is the better option if you'd have to choose between MW1 or MW2. Expand
  26. PedroN
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    No dedicated server support was the most idiotic move they could pull and they did it. No modding and P2P servers with less people are just not competitive in PC's gaming market. If you're looking for PC standard multiplayer action don't go for it, you'll get half the experience you're used to.
  27. GK
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Let's sum up Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: 1] Short single player campaign 2] Only 2 player cooperative for Spec-Ops 3] Only 9v9 matches on multiplayer 4] No "lean" 5] No "/record" 6] No "console" 7] Incredibly poor matchmaking 8] Heavy reliance on Steam 9] IWNet causing very laggy games A complete and utter disappointment on nearly every level. The franchise nowonly belongs on Let's sum up Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: 1] Short single player campaign 2] Only 2 player cooperative for Spec-Ops 3] Only 9v9 matches on multiplayer 4] No "lean" 5] No "/record" 6] No "console" 7] Incredibly poor matchmaking 8] Heavy reliance on Steam 9] IWNet causing very laggy games A complete and utter disappointment on nearly every level. The franchise nowonly belongs on console and I welcome Infinity Ward to develop only for consoles if this is the sloppy work that they put into PC titles. Laziness coupled with greed has led Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 to be a complete disappointment. Infinity Ward should be embarrased with the quality of the game they've turned out. Expand
  28. Kevin
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    No server browser, dedicated servers, mods, or LAN support... And then they figure it's a good idea to limit the servers to 18 players for a max of 9v9 games? What the heck were Infinity Ward and Activision thinking? We PC gamers have standards way above those of a mere console fratboy, making a PC port that's no better than the console game is insulting!
  29. PPNSteve
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    I, as well, was highly anticipating this release on the PC. The news that dedicated servers was removed was like a blow to the heart. Come to find out a week or so later, the 9v9 cap, no lean NO LEANING for gosh sakes! the lack of 'normal' PC controls, i.e. console, /record or demo, and editable configure files, pushed this one over the top for me. I strongly advise hard core I, as well, was highly anticipating this release on the PC. The news that dedicated servers was removed was like a blow to the heart. Come to find out a week or so later, the 9v9 cap, no lean NO LEANING for gosh sakes! the lack of 'normal' PC controls, i.e. console, /record or demo, and editable configure files, pushed this one over the top for me. I strongly advise hard core gamers NOT to waste their money nor time with this terrible, letdown of a release. Expand
  30. dwp
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    IW has taken a step backwards with this game. The matchmaking service and lack of non-dedicated servers has killed the experience for me. If IW wants to cater to the 12 year-olds and thier consoles, then they're going to loose me as a customer. Unless they will eat some crow and listen to thier customers, I'm never buying a game from them again.
  31. jamesc.
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    No dedicated servers = no buy for FPS on the PC. IW messed this game all up, people talked crap about OSDT being short, I don't hear them talking crap regarding this game, and it's just the same rehashed BS.
  32. KevinB
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    The game has been ruined, Infinity Ward tried to shove a console shaped peg in a PC shaped hole. Lack of dedicated servers and overall respect for the traditions and fundamental values of PC gaming makes CODMW2 a very sad loss to the gaming community. What we all hoped would have been a knight in shining armor turned out to be a gross demonstration of commercialism and disregard for the The game has been ruined, Infinity Ward tried to shove a console shaped peg in a PC shaped hole. Lack of dedicated servers and overall respect for the traditions and fundamental values of PC gaming makes CODMW2 a very sad loss to the gaming community. What we all hoped would have been a knight in shining armor turned out to be a gross demonstration of commercialism and disregard for the original consumer. Expand
  33. AlexW
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    This title is a mockery, the multiplayer host system provided are an absolute discrace and everyone in the sessions i join have awful latency where as the host of the game has fantastic latency, well that is when we can get into game sessions as on most occaisions we get disconnected upon entering the game session due to host migration issues. The single player is faulty too as i crashed This title is a mockery, the multiplayer host system provided are an absolute discrace and everyone in the sessions i join have awful latency where as the host of the game has fantastic latency, well that is when we can get into game sessions as on most occaisions we get disconnected upon entering the game session due to host migration issues. The single player is faulty too as i crashed on the second mission and my save became corrupted and un-useable, now this is not my machine as many other people are experiencing the same thing. Thanks infinity ward for such a shambles of a game. No lean No dedicated servers No clan support No modding support Stolen ideas without crediting the correct modders Thanks but no thanks i will be retiring this game early and will return to Modern warfare 1... well that is until Battlefield 2 bad company is released. Expand
  34. AlexG
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Single player and co op are to "straight" yet again although it is still ok. The main part of call of duty is the online MP however in a couple of months I would expect people to get fed up with the matchmaking which according to Activision is the way forward. They state it improves the multiplayer experience but how does mid game pauses (due to host problems), lag in most games, lower Single player and co op are to "straight" yet again although it is still ok. The main part of call of duty is the online MP however in a couple of months I would expect people to get fed up with the matchmaking which according to Activision is the way forward. They state it improves the multiplayer experience but how does mid game pauses (due to host problems), lag in most games, lower player matches (due to no dedicated servers), no mods, bad and less customisable games and a all around bad experience. I personally love all the other call of duty series but this is a step in the wrong direction. Most of the ideas in there game were originally done by modders. Expand
  35. crovax
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Played/bought on both PC and PS3. PC version is superior to the PS3 version in every way from graphics to mouse and keyboard control which was what I expected and I needed both to play with friends who only had either a PC or PS3. Single player campaign is really short(applies to both versions). Spec ops is okay and fun on both versions. But who cares? My main concern is really the Played/bought on both PC and PS3. PC version is superior to the PS3 version in every way from graphics to mouse and keyboard control which was what I expected and I needed both to play with friends who only had either a PC or PS3. Single player campaign is really short(applies to both versions). Spec ops is okay and fun on both versions. But who cares? My main concern is really the multiplayer (3 or more people) and well...online multiplayer sucks in both PC and PS3 version. No dedicated servers. The latency advantage automatically goes to the host. When I am the host, multiplayer is pretty awesome. Otherwise its crap when someone else is hosting on their crappy dsl/cable (exception is when someone is hosting from their college/work internet connection like a T1 or OC3, lag seems fine then). Giving it a 1 because 0 is super harsh and I did enjoy what little there was of the single player and whenever I was the host in multiplayer. I really regret the 80+$ spent on both versions as well as not researching the game more since I didn't find out about the 'NO DEDICATED SERVERS" until after I had tried out multiplayer on the PC version and realized it used matchmaking. I already knew the PS3 wouldnt have dedicated servers because what console game has such a thing? But I was totally expecting dedicated servers from the PC version since Modern Warfare 1 for the PC had it. Never buying any more products from this company again unless they straighten out the multiplayer components for the PC version and I wont be buying any more of their games for my PS3 and future consoles just from principle. Expand
  36. PeteJ
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    The singleplayer part is short, but ok. Multiplayer is probably the worst experience I have had since... I actually dont remember having a worse experience. Lag, high ping, no server browser, no dedicated server, the list goes on and on and on....Save your money and avoid this game, unless you are only in it for the 5 hour singleplayer.
  37. alg
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    LIST OF THINGS WRONG: Audio settings only goes up to 5.1 setup. NO FOV change (clausterphobic feeling on big monitor). Some visual settings expected in a game as huge as this falls short(wheres my 16x AA?) No dedicated servers - (BIG error for PC) Person hosting a MP game leaves? Auto-pause game to change local host hands. (kills the experience it's a 5 to 55 second delay!) Pay no LIST OF THINGS WRONG: Audio settings only goes up to 5.1 setup. NO FOV change (clausterphobic feeling on big monitor). Some visual settings expected in a game as huge as this falls short(wheres my 16x AA?) No dedicated servers - (BIG error for PC) Person hosting a MP game leaves? Auto-pause game to change local host hands. (kills the experience it's a 5 to 55 second delay!) Pay no attention to OFFICIAL ratings, PC multiplayer is royally Fudged. Only saving grace is the SP. looks nice, but short story. Expand
  38. AndyT.
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    This game is has good SP but terrible PC Multiplayer. it is a backwards step for PC gaming. in Australia we down have very good upload speeds and it was a nightmare to get good hosts often i was sent to hosts based in the UK/america/France. also i cant understand why metacritic is using Xbox Reviews for this. Very Puzzling.
  39. MikeN
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    It's a short, predictable, generic, shadow of an FPS that pales in comparison to it's predecessors. The multiplayer aspect is just as dull as its singleplayer . The lack of dedicated servers, small player capacities, and lack of access to console commands renders the game unenjoyable and almost unplayable. The poorest showing by far from one of my favorite game series.
  40. NateY
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Waste of my $60. Modern Warfare 2 is just like a big map pack/expansion to the original Call of Duty:Modern Warfare with similar graphics (you only get wider-angle views with texture streaming) with almost zero improvement graphically-speaking, predictable multiplayer mode, plenty (but ordinary looking, consistent with Modern Warfare 1) of maps in multiplayer. Modern Warfare 2 also takes Waste of my $60. Modern Warfare 2 is just like a big map pack/expansion to the original Call of Duty:Modern Warfare with similar graphics (you only get wider-angle views with texture streaming) with almost zero improvement graphically-speaking, predictable multiplayer mode, plenty (but ordinary looking, consistent with Modern Warfare 1) of maps in multiplayer. Modern Warfare 2 also takes a big step, no, jump, backwards in terms of multiplayer interface - no server lists or ability to choose your own games, no dedicated server support (so what do I do with my current $8/month server? host Modern Warfare 1 or Left4dead I suppose), limited to 18 players per game and very laggy IWNet. I'm only giving the game 1 because of the just-decent single player mode. I regret my purchase and I am trying to arrange for a return with my local game store. Expand
  41. ShariqQ
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    This game, for Pc is a great disappointment. Single player is good, but multiplayer has been ruined by IW. No dedicated server, small teams (9v9 max) make this game alot less intense then the original (mw1). No leaning, no special features for the PC version, and for 10$ extra. It is a ripoff. It is a direct port from the consoles. In Free for all, most maps are too big and it takes This game, for Pc is a great disappointment. Single player is good, but multiplayer has been ruined by IW. No dedicated server, small teams (9v9 max) make this game alot less intense then the original (mw1). No leaning, no special features for the PC version, and for 10$ extra. It is a ripoff. It is a direct port from the consoles. In Free for all, most maps are too big and it takes forever to find a guy since the MAX PLAYER LIMIT is 8. NOT EVEN 18. Expand
  42. KolinsB
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Price is too high, there is not mods, there is very high ping, and browsing server.... everything was good in previous version is gone, and everything was bad in previous version there is grrrrrr.
  43. SkeeterM
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Short single player that is just a rehash (albeit an interesting one) of MW1, multiplayer that is EXTREMELY laggy and buggy (no dedicated servers), and all of this for a 10 dollar premium compared to every other PC game on the market. Get it for the Xbox if you want to play this game and avoid the PC version like the plague - it just isn't worth it.
  44. MikeS
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Lack of dedicated server disallows MW2 to be taken seriously in the competitive gaming field. This franchise was previously herald for competitive game play but is now restricted to vanilla multiplayer and massive amounts of network lag due to upload and bandwidth caps from consumer Internet access. The removal of lean is a step backwards for the genre as well. From a franchise that Lack of dedicated server disallows MW2 to be taken seriously in the competitive gaming field. This franchise was previously herald for competitive game play but is now restricted to vanilla multiplayer and massive amounts of network lag due to upload and bandwidth caps from consumer Internet access. The removal of lean is a step backwards for the genre as well. From a franchise that perfected realism in war games, players are now being restricted and pushed back into the style of every other FPS ever created. Originality has been released from the franchise. Infinity Ward has effectively gone back in time with this release. Expand
  45. Shal
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Wow, am I disappointed with this game. The single player is the shortest yet, lazyness is all I can say. Next, no leaning...how is that improving the game, just plan lazyness again. What is up with this multiplayer conection thing? I has have a crappy ping and connection problems. If I wanted to play a console game, I would have bought the console version. I'd skip on this game.
  46. NotTaking
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    I expect Infinity Ward to come up with an article in a few weeks stating that their fears of piracy on the PC have come true because the sales have been so poor. Well dear Insanity Ward, it might be that PC gamers are not buying this game because it's an insult to the PC gaming community. The developers couldn't care less obviously, even though the PC gaming community has made I expect Infinity Ward to come up with an article in a few weeks stating that their fears of piracy on the PC have come true because the sales have been so poor. Well dear Insanity Ward, it might be that PC gamers are not buying this game because it's an insult to the PC gaming community. The developers couldn't care less obviously, even though the PC gaming community has made them the company they are today, as is evident from a chat on BestBuy with said developers. The following says it all really: Q:Is there a console in the PC version of the game, so we can change our field of view from the xbox's default 65 FOV to 80 also can we tweaks the weapon damage for each gun, removes perks, graphical debris, breathing sway, also thru console like we where able to before or is this all gone? Vince-IW: We would like you to play the game the way we designed and balanced it. Q: Ignoring IW.net, is the PC version a direct port of the console version? Mackey-IW: No, PC has custom stuff like mouse control, text chat in game, and graphics settings. *this answer really says it all. This is how the bloated developers treat the PC community now.* Q: What kinds of pings did you get during your IWNet testing and what do you say is an acceptable ping? Mackey-IW: I've been playing mainly with around 100ms ping and it was great. Expand
  47. SarahC
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    I have a Xbox 360 and a PC. I bought this game for PC. I have a Xbox 360 controller for PC, but I choose to use a keyboard and mouse. Finished the single player in 5 hours almost exactly. This game has no LAN play for over 2 people. Also I bought the game from the shops but was required to make an account with STEAM. I've done over 20 hours in multiplayer. The game stops, while I have a Xbox 360 and a PC. I bought this game for PC. I have a Xbox 360 controller for PC, but I choose to use a keyboard and mouse. Finished the single player in 5 hours almost exactly. This game has no LAN play for over 2 people. Also I bought the game from the shops but was required to make an account with STEAM. I've done over 20 hours in multiplayer. The game stops, while playing constantly to find another host. Then the host drops, and it looks for another host. Then that host drops. There is a real need for dedicated servers in this game, and the PC communitys fears were very accurate. There is no way to select servers or choose to play with people who are close to where you live. WIth no LAN play and no dedicated servers after playing this game for 20 hours mutliplayer, this game deserves a 1 out of 10. Expand
  48. RobertK
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Yawn! The funeral dirge for this franchise has finally come a knockin'. Which is sad really, considering all the great cinematic moments of Call of Duty series past. Played the first 4 missions, fell asleep, uninstalled, put up for sale on Ebay. I'm not one to join into the console versus pc battle, but sadly, COD MW 2 has dumbed down console experience written all over it. An Yawn! The funeral dirge for this franchise has finally come a knockin'. Which is sad really, considering all the great cinematic moments of Call of Duty series past. Played the first 4 missions, fell asleep, uninstalled, put up for sale on Ebay. I'm not one to join into the console versus pc battle, but sadly, COD MW 2 has dumbed down console experience written all over it. An uninspired story line (which believes me makes no sense), short ten minute missions that involve no tactical decision making (ie press "w" to move forward, aim gun, press mouse button to spray bullets). Multiplayer, which I remember spending many an enjoyable hour on with COD 4 MW and it's WW II counterparts, is horrible thanks to the lack of dedi's and IW.net which implements a broken console style matchmaking system. Want to choose your own server? Forget it, you can't - IW.net will pick it for you and more than likely stick you on a server half way around the world. The pings are atrocious, and it's an absolute lag fest. IW has sold us out, after years of supporting this company (and they supporting the PC community) - they've inexplicably and without warning stabbed us in the back. More money with the console kiddies, eh IW? Well, fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice....whatev, Infinity Ward - we won't be fooled again. You'd be better served eating your money than dropping it on this game. Spend it on Borderlands or Dragon Age - far better games that are at least worth a 60 dollar price tag. Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare 2 is a cash grab and it shows. Shame on you Infinity Ward. Expand
  49. ChrisN
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Horrible.....no dedicated servers, no console, no mods, no lean. Complete lack of respect for the community that put IW on the map. IW sold out, plain and simple. Of course they are a company out to make money. But I guarantee that they would have made more money in the long run had they not alienated such a big user base as the PC. Sure they point to piracy as being the reason for the Horrible.....no dedicated servers, no console, no mods, no lean. Complete lack of respect for the community that put IW on the map. IW sold out, plain and simple. Of course they are a company out to make money. But I guarantee that they would have made more money in the long run had they not alienated such a big user base as the PC. Sure they point to piracy as being the reason for the changes but the 360 version will have more copies pirated than the PC ever would. What about forcing us to use steam....I effing hate steam, besides loosing 3-5 fps just from having steam opened in the background, why should we be forced to run proprietary 3rd party software for a game that gives us less of what we had come to expect at a higher price point? IW should just make console games from now on, they don't give a shit about PC gamers.....even though they wouldn't be around without us. Ass-holes. Expand
  50. LueD
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Giving the game a 0 is rather harsh seeing as it had terrific singleplayer(altho fairly short) and clearly deserves a thumbs up for the singleplayer, however singleplayer is a very very small fraction of CoD and has always been, no difference with the latest game.. That said however with the latest "improvements" to the multiplayer they have successfully killed of the PC communities that Giving the game a 0 is rather harsh seeing as it had terrific singleplayer(altho fairly short) and clearly deserves a thumbs up for the singleplayer, however singleplayer is a very very small fraction of CoD and has always been, no difference with the latest game.. That said however with the latest "improvements" to the multiplayer they have successfully killed of the PC communities that were planning to move over to Modern Warfare 2, yes, they do have a Party system allowing us to play on the same team etc etc, but what we lost is abit greater than that, we lost our communities wich we had invested plenty of time in and where we actually had found alot of people we enjoyed playing both with and against, that however is no longer possible thanks to "IW.net", this game had definitly all the options of bringing down Counterstrike as the #1 game when it comes to FPS e-sports, however that is no longer the case. The lag in multiplayer is terrible, you more often than not encounter servers with only 1 person having less than 3 bars on the brand new and "improved" lag-o-meter, and that person is ofcourse, the host. This game hardly deserves more than a 2 in rating with the current state it is in.. heck, only thing that speaks "CoD" about this game is the singleplayer, and that, is a 8 hour bliss but after that I'm afraid you're out of luck. Expand
  51. JoshG
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    You can try your hardest to like this game, but in the end you feel short changed and cheated by IW. Don't plan on playing this game in an form that resembles competitive gaming. If your simply satisfied with finding a few friends and playing on IW.net system go for it, anything beyond that is non-existent. Also have to mention, the single player while pretty great, but paying $60 You can try your hardest to like this game, but in the end you feel short changed and cheated by IW. Don't plan on playing this game in an form that resembles competitive gaming. If your simply satisfied with finding a few friends and playing on IW.net system go for it, anything beyond that is non-existent. Also have to mention, the single player while pretty great, but paying $60 for what pretty much is overglorified single player game is not worth it. Maybe if everyone waits off a bit to buy the game, IW will find it in their hearts to implement a dedicated server. Expand
  52. Gtimestuff
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Single player is pretty good, but 99% of my time will be in multi and it is virtually unplayable without dedicated servers. I don't even mind the fact that its overpriced and you have to pay for DLC. I played it at a friend's house and am definitely not buying it until/unless they implement a dedicated server list. And 18 players?? WTF come on. Reading an interview with one of Single player is pretty good, but 99% of my time will be in multi and it is virtually unplayable without dedicated servers. I don't even mind the fact that its overpriced and you have to pay for DLC. I played it at a friend's house and am definitely not buying it until/unless they implement a dedicated server list. And 18 players?? WTF come on. Reading an interview with one of the developers, he said that he was often getting near 100ms ping, and saying that like it was great. I haven't played a COD4 server with more than 90ms ping since the game was released. Expand
  53. ToddS
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Game has a solid singleplayer aspect, great storyline and exciting. Multiplayer is probably one the worst experiences for a game of this stature I have ever had. Activision and IW should be absolutely red-faced about this release. It doesn't deserve the Call of Duty name.
  54. DirkS
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    With such a woefully short single player run this is a game that needs a solid multiplayer to stand on. Unfortunately so far its tripping and falling flat on its face. Call me when the dedicated servers get patched in and I can have a real multiplayer experience again. Until then there are plenty of better games that came out this fall that didn't have an unjustifiably inflated price tag.
  55. ChadP
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    The single player portion of this game is terribly short, favoring a more Hollywood approach to things in place of the realism that IW normally places onto CoD missions. The multiplayer is just insanely laggy, also there are no dedicated servers . They also bumped the price up $10, which just puts me off even further. I would not buy this game.
  56. MarcF
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Consolification at it's worst. A major step back from CoD4 in everything except graphics. The balance is completely out of the window with the massive amount of overpowered perks and customizable kill streaks. The singleplayer campaign was short in CoD4, and is EVEN SHORTER in this game. Combine this with the absolutely woeful multiplayer options, and you get a game which isn't Consolification at it's worst. A major step back from CoD4 in everything except graphics. The balance is completely out of the window with the massive amount of overpowered perks and customizable kill streaks. The singleplayer campaign was short in CoD4, and is EVEN SHORTER in this game. Combine this with the absolutely woeful multiplayer options, and you get a game which isn't even worth *half* the price it's being sold at right now. Infinity Ward should be ashamed of what they made here. They turned their backs on their most loyal fans. The worst thing is: They're going to blame piracy for any drop in sales figures of this game. With a game this bad it's no wonder people won't spend 60 bucks on it and try to get it illegally instead. Expand
  57. PhilT
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    Warning: the low rating is not objective but stems from the disappointment and anger of a long term Call of Duty fan. Despite a fantastic single player campaign and amazing production values this game manages to disappoint fans of the first Modern Warfare. The strange multiplayer issues (no server lists! and smaller matches) blemish the one aspect that always provided long term motivation Warning: the low rating is not objective but stems from the disappointment and anger of a long term Call of Duty fan. Despite a fantastic single player campaign and amazing production values this game manages to disappoint fans of the first Modern Warfare. The strange multiplayer issues (no server lists! and smaller matches) blemish the one aspect that always provided long term motivation to play the call of duty games, the competitive multiplayer. Expand
  58. JoeP
    Nov 13, 2009
    1
    Giving it a zero would be........ right and wrong. Singleplayer looks nice, plays nice and is nice, but... I didn't buy this game for the SP, I wanted to go online, play with friends on nearby, self-chosen servers. IW tells me not to do so. I have to "invite" my friend(s) and then hope that there is an open slot at the host IW throws me. Okay, I just hooked up with a friend. 1 minute Giving it a zero would be........ right and wrong. Singleplayer looks nice, plays nice and is nice, but... I didn't buy this game for the SP, I wanted to go online, play with friends on nearby, self-chosen servers. IW tells me not to do so. I have to "invite" my friend(s) and then hope that there is an open slot at the host IW throws me. Okay, I just hooked up with a friend. 1 minute wait with a clock counting to zero. Meanwhile, a few players leave, giving m ethe message "need 3 more players".... Okay, got 3 more players, again that clock. Then it's determining whi will be the "best host". wait. Hey the game started!!! Hooray! but.... After a few minutes, the host leaves... bye bye game and hey what's happened? I'm out of the game and my friend isn't..... So reconnect.... doesn't work, server full... damn... The matching system should "match" me with players of my own "strength"... yeah, right. I had lvl 5 myself and was matched with a host who had lvl 20 - 50 players... so far for the "matching" system. I played Bf, BF Vietnam, BF2, BF2142, The complete COD-series and had great battles in 32 against 32 mode. This MW2 MP does not even reach the heels of BF1942... Gonna play the SP until the end, for MP I will continue to play COD4. To the IW guys: thx for ruining a potential great game! Expand
  59. AlexanderG
    Nov 13, 2009
    1
    A terrible disregard for the PC as a platform makes this a step down from the previous game. If I were judging the game purely on the single player experience, things would be different, but you don't pay £40 for a few hours of single player gameplay. Multilayer is total bawls. No dedicated servers, no community, no clans, constant lag, constantly changing host, no control over A terrible disregard for the PC as a platform makes this a step down from the previous game. If I were judging the game purely on the single player experience, things would be different, but you don't pay £40 for a few hours of single player gameplay. Multilayer is total bawls. No dedicated servers, no community, no clans, constant lag, constantly changing host, no control over gameplay... they've totally wrecked it, I'm sticking to CoD 4. Expand
  60. Trey
    Nov 13, 2009
    1
    Breaks away from the norm... but only in the pricing category. Costs more than competitors yet is extremely dumbed down. Short single player and hollow crappy multi-player in a game franchise that was brought to fame solely by its online play, If you've ever wanted to pretend you have a console and buy $60 dumbed down mass consumption games, this is for you.
  61. CurtisS
    Nov 14, 2009
    1
    This is probably the worst release of the season. The single player is a pathetic 5 hours long. There is absolutely no excuse why the Campaign is so short. Having no Dedicated servers was a terrible, terrible idea for Multiplayer, as well. It literally renders Multilayer unplayable over 50% of the time, and the pause between finding new hosts really, really takes you out of the game. This is probably the worst release of the season. The single player is a pathetic 5 hours long. There is absolutely no excuse why the Campaign is so short. Having no Dedicated servers was a terrible, terrible idea for Multiplayer, as well. It literally renders Multilayer unplayable over 50% of the time, and the pause between finding new hosts really, really takes you out of the game. Infinity Ward is planning to charge customers for 'Extra Features' to the game, which I assume will be Dedicated Servers. This announcement, of course, came DAYS after the release. I regret my purchase, and will never be buying another Infinity Ward game again. Expand
  62. TimM
    Nov 14, 2009
    1
    I bought this game, mainly, for the multiplayer. I gave it a one because the single player is solid even though its short. But once you log onto multiplayer, you wonder if this is actually an Infinity Ward game. Between the terrible lag and the enormous amount of gimmicky and sometimes downright annoying perks they added I just do not find it fun. Multiplayer might be better if they patch I bought this game, mainly, for the multiplayer. I gave it a one because the single player is solid even though its short. But once you log onto multiplayer, you wonder if this is actually an Infinity Ward game. Between the terrible lag and the enormous amount of gimmicky and sometimes downright annoying perks they added I just do not find it fun. Multiplayer might be better if they patch in a way of turning off certain perks/killstreak awards. Playing a game of S&D when an AC130 is up is just worthless, it's going to kill the entire team. This failure is partially my fault because I had so much hope that this game would deliver in all aspects. I put Infinity Ward on this pedestal and declared that any game they make is amazing. It is clear IWnet needs A LOT of work. The lack of AC, voting or ANY kind of customization in weapon and perk settings is extremely frustrating. This game could have been much better. Is this game really a one? No. But after all the hype this gimmicky game does not deserve any higher than a one. I want my 60 bucks back. Expand
  63. LentS
    Nov 14, 2009
    1
    This was one of the game i expected this year, but when it came out, I was really dispappointed. Why ? the singleplayer campaign is way too short and looks too much like the modern warfare one. But if the singleplayer is way too weak, the multiplayer is way too bad. Only 18 players max, lagging P2P servers instead of the good old dedicated ones, and no voting system. Disappointment's This was one of the game i expected this year, but when it came out, I was really dispappointed. Why ? the singleplayer campaign is way too short and looks too much like the modern warfare one. But if the singleplayer is way too weak, the multiplayer is way too bad. Only 18 players max, lagging P2P servers instead of the good old dedicated ones, and no voting system. Disappointment's name, nothing more to say. Expand
  64. angrycustomer
    Nov 15, 2009
    1
    The WORST multiplayer experience i have ever had! The P2P matching system is awfull, it is very laggy. In most cases i can stand behind someone, head shot them and the shot takes a hell of a long time to register. I and meny people i know are having great difficulties with this system, bring back dedis! The number of supported players is quite dissapointing. The maps are also very campy The WORST multiplayer experience i have ever had! The P2P matching system is awfull, it is very laggy. In most cases i can stand behind someone, head shot them and the shot takes a hell of a long time to register. I and meny people i know are having great difficulties with this system, bring back dedis! The number of supported players is quite dissapointing. The maps are also very campy there is a window over looking every doorway, you can not walk around one corner without a camper having the crosshairs locked on you from a vantage point a mile away, the over detailed/cluttered, dark dingy maps make this problem even worse, makeing it impossible to identify a camping enemy If you are used to the MW multiplayer and expect the same level of quality you will not find this with MW2. I dont recomed this game for a serious multiplay gamer. However the new weapons, attatchments, special effects and perks are brilliant. Expand
  65. MahmoodAzad
    Nov 15, 2009
    1
    This game has a very interesting singleplayer, the start of the game wasn't much to draw you in but as the story progressed the context became more intriguing and keeps you going. However this is a very short singleplayer campaign which only lasts 4hrs-5hrs giving your level of experience in FPS. As with all Call of Duty games the main attraction is the Multiplayer. The Perks in MW2 This game has a very interesting singleplayer, the start of the game wasn't much to draw you in but as the story progressed the context became more intriguing and keeps you going. However this is a very short singleplayer campaign which only lasts 4hrs-5hrs giving your level of experience in FPS. As with all Call of Duty games the main attraction is the Multiplayer. The Perks in MW2 are tweaked to help out newbies (noobs) and even up the playing field. The introduction of IWNet is an important factor not to be left out, This concept is all well and good for consoles but not very reasonable for PC. The maximum number of players in a multiplayer match are 16 (9v9). On the console it took 5minutes for IWNet matchmaking system to find a suitable game and join. Upon joining the lag was very horrific, I would die shortly after going into cover only to have the kill camera show me getting killed 2 seconds before I went into cover. This is one of the most terrible things that could happen in a multiplayer game. The removal of the Dedicated Sever support in MW2 is a big NO. Overall MW2's main attraction is the singleplayer. With extreme lag and drastically reduced player slots results in MW2 losing the majority of points. Expand
  66. PeterR
    Nov 15, 2009
    1
    I'm only reviewing the single-player part: The previews looked nice. Then I realized it was basically the exact same game as most of the other COD games. I don't mind games being a little linear. They don't all have to be like Oblivion etc. But even the original Wolfenstein, original Doom and newer shooters like Far Cry etc. offer much more freedom. The surroundings are I'm only reviewing the single-player part: The previews looked nice. Then I realized it was basically the exact same game as most of the other COD games. I don't mind games being a little linear. They don't all have to be like Oblivion etc. But even the original Wolfenstein, original Doom and newer shooters like Far Cry etc. offer much more freedom. The surroundings are really cool (despite graphics being a bit mediocre at times), and the thought of fighting through the level with all that is happening around you, simply seems amazing. But once you get started, you quickly realize there is no freedom at all to explore the level. You are basically being GUIDED through every little 30-second segment of the level. I think it would best be compared to those old CDROM-games where a prerendered movie were running, and all you had to do was to control the crosshair. I understand that when they do it like this, it is very easy for them to create a sort of "movie experience". But at least they should have given us a little more then in all these heavily scripted sequences. Why can i still not shoot the enemies in several different ways? It would help a lot if they could be hurt and killed in ways that felt much more realistic/varied. Also I was disappointed to see all the background not having any function except using it for cover. Everything feels even more scripted when I can't even destroy a simple fence, or blow the interiors of a room to tiny bits. After so many years with FPS's I can't understand why people like this "walk-through" of a single player campagin so much. If it's just for the cinematic feel, I prefer a real movie. Expand
  67. CJ
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    Pathetic. Played SP, ~5hours max. Played MP for one week and gone back to COD4 with dedicated server support and zero lag. IWnet is laggy at best when it works, this game is a direct console port hence the need to create a matchmaking system. Slot in new code, job done. Lazy developers, be warned if thinking of buying.
  68. LeoF.
    Nov 17, 2009
    1
    I have played the singleplayer and multiplayer, but I haven't bought the game. Although my experience on PC multiplayer wasn't terrible, it is still, lag-wise, downgrade from CoD 4, there is no doubt of that. I can sense the lag, it can be fairly obvious sometimes. It's a real shame, as I would really like to buy and play the game. All we need is a simple patch that makes I have played the singleplayer and multiplayer, but I haven't bought the game. Although my experience on PC multiplayer wasn't terrible, it is still, lag-wise, downgrade from CoD 4, there is no doubt of that. I can sense the lag, it can be fairly obvious sometimes. It's a real shame, as I would really like to buy and play the game. All we need is a simple patch that makes it like Left 4 Dead, we can even keep the matchmaking, but have decent servers host the game. It's like they hardly played the PC version when developing it, because it's really quite obvious that we NEED faster servers because we use a MOUSE which is much more responsive than a console controller. Expand
  69. Nate
    Nov 17, 2009
    1
    A beautiful console port that could have made it far if it was not for lack of dedicated servers. Matchmaking is lame and laggy as all get out. Being multi player is the biggest part of COD games, They really goofed this one up. I mean come on! How hard is it to at least add dedicated server support and add a filter for it on the crappy IW.net match making? I got other complaints, but i A beautiful console port that could have made it far if it was not for lack of dedicated servers. Matchmaking is lame and laggy as all get out. Being multi player is the biggest part of COD games, They really goofed this one up. I mean come on! How hard is it to at least add dedicated server support and add a filter for it on the crappy IW.net match making? I got other complaints, but i don't need to go on. Expand
  70. randallf.
    Nov 18, 2009
    1
    most PC gamers buy games like this for the multiplayer experience. i was gonna buy it tonight, glad i read the reviews. if IW and activision get their sheet together and put a respectable PC multiplayer system in-place for this game, i will gladly pay $60. i enjoyed CoD:MW on the PS3 which says a lot because i almost always hate playing FPS games on consoles. i've been rocking the most PC gamers buy games like this for the multiplayer experience. i was gonna buy it tonight, glad i read the reviews. if IW and activision get their sheet together and put a respectable PC multiplayer system in-place for this game, i will gladly pay $60. i enjoyed CoD:MW on the PS3 which says a lot because i almost always hate playing FPS games on consoles. i've been rocking the keyboard/mouse combo for my shooters since the days of Quake II and Half-Life (mostly DoD), and having recently mastered the Source games i'm ready to play something new. guess i'll keep looking. Expand
  71. AaronL
    Nov 20, 2009
    1
    Lean function's gone...yay, dedicated servers gone... yay, biggest media launch in history...definately yay. You see the problem is, no matter how much we complain about it, the fact that you've bought the game means you've already lost the battle, we can bitch about it all day, they won't release a patch, there is suddenly a huge demand out there, which is "I WANT A Lean function's gone...yay, dedicated servers gone... yay, biggest media launch in history...definately yay. You see the problem is, no matter how much we complain about it, the fact that you've bought the game means you've already lost the battle, we can bitch about it all day, they won't release a patch, there is suddenly a huge demand out there, which is "I WANT A NEW MODERN WARFARE GAME WITH THE OLD FEATURES", and instead of patching, when the next call of duty comes out, the sales will remain just as high because of casual gamers, but only this time, they'll "bring back" the features, and they'll be sure to use that as one of the main marketing tool, so we'll all end up buying it again, it's a battle that we will inevitably lose if we choose to fight it. Expand
  72. notpartofmetascorelame
    Nov 21, 2009
    1
    funny how metascore calculations to include the actual players... the people that spend the money on the ported crap... only people giving this good reviews are assholes gettin' paid to advertise it like the critics above... and console players... ghetto trash and children that don't buy their own games. PC players are getting the shaft over and over... and the companies like funny how metascore calculations to include the actual players... the people that spend the money on the ported crap... only people giving this good reviews are assholes gettin' paid to advertise it like the critics above... and console players... ghetto trash and children that don't buy their own games. PC players are getting the shaft over and over... and the companies like Blizzard and Valve that aren't will have a LOYAL following over these other bastards and they'll get my money instead. Period... Hey! Shove your ported crap up your you-know-what. Release PC games for the PC... that means the best stuff not mediocre crap that will work on consoles but a game that will shine with the best hardware and a game that can scale down but still be better than console crap with your average rigs... jeezus... Now back to playing L4D2. Expand
  73. DeliciousCake
    Nov 21, 2009
    1
    Dont get me wrong, This game's single player is quite good. Yet it feels as if Activision-ward has really just ignored the concerns and issues presented by the pc community. I'm of course referring to the lack of dedicated servers, and the shift to making in-game hosts mandatory. There is absolutely no benefit to this change, spare the ability to make even more money off of Dont get me wrong, This game's single player is quite good. Yet it feels as if Activision-ward has really just ignored the concerns and issues presented by the pc community. I'm of course referring to the lack of dedicated servers, and the shift to making in-game hosts mandatory. There is absolutely no benefit to this change, spare the ability to make even more money off of DLC's, leading me to believe that the game itself is viewed by both IW and Activision as a means to make money, instead of a medium by which to entertain their costumers. Granted this is contradictory to a point, as its pretty evident at this point that the lack of dedicated servers actually promotes piracy. Expand
  74. SigvatrA
    Nov 21, 2009
    1
    When CoD was released it had a certain stylised approach. This CoD can not even be called a 'Call of Duty' game. Where are the dedicated servers? Where are the settings for multiplayer?? And where the F*ck are my personal settings? If I want to play one particular map for 3 hours straight, where are all the things to enable that? THERE F*CKNG GONE. Even worser, they never When CoD was released it had a certain stylised approach. This CoD can not even be called a 'Call of Duty' game. Where are the dedicated servers? Where are the settings for multiplayer?? And where the F*ck are my personal settings? If I want to play one particular map for 3 hours straight, where are all the things to enable that? THERE F*CKNG GONE. Even worser, they never existed. Infinty ward is fallen for the deadly trap that is called console-gameing. They went the wrong way with giving the CoD-formula to other designers. And now they've done this. God help us. Expand
  75. Saben
    Dec 10, 2009
    1
    All those who ride the COD band wagon know nothing of a good FPS, a horrible console rip, constant cheaters, no dedicated servers, and a single player that lasted 3 hours at most. Disgraceful to the first few CODs.
  76. FlorianB
    Dec 12, 2009
    1
    While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him play the action sequences in a blockbuster hollywood movie, a game that uses all it's assets to tell that story and not just dialogue and guns, deserves nothing but praise. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories might not be what you expect from a Silent Hill game, and it's actual scaryness can be disputed. But it is the best story told interactively since portal, or since Silent Hill 2 if you limit yourself to the genre. If you're even remotely interested in the medium of games as storytelling medium, you owe yourself to play Silent Hill: Shattered Memories. Expand
  77. MichaelR.
    Dec 13, 2009
    1
    If you bought this for online play, you will be sorely disappointed. Unfortunately due to their decision to disallow dedicated servers, the servers which they choose to connect me to always fucking lag tremendously and there seems to be an abundance of hackers that we are unable to kick/ban by vote (or at least have the admins of the dedicated server permaban). And personally, in games If you bought this for online play, you will be sorely disappointed. Unfortunately due to their decision to disallow dedicated servers, the servers which they choose to connect me to always fucking lag tremendously and there seems to be an abundance of hackers that we are unable to kick/ban by vote (or at least have the admins of the dedicated server permaban). And personally, in games like counterstrike i only play servers that disallow the overpowered one hit sniper rifles kills to anything but the head. I kinda wish i had the freedom to do that here. Expand
  78. ArvindJ
    Dec 13, 2009
    1
    A joke, that's what it is. It's like a slap in a face for every pro player who wanted to play mw2 in leagues, tournaments etc. InfinityWard made us hate other players because "the host sux'.... even though there is nothing the host can do except leaving the game. That's dissrespect for all the players around the world. So if you want to play multiplayer? Don't BUY A joke, that's what it is. It's like a slap in a face for every pro player who wanted to play mw2 in leagues, tournaments etc. InfinityWard made us hate other players because "the host sux'.... even though there is nothing the host can do except leaving the game. That's dissrespect for all the players around the world. So if you want to play multiplayer? Don't BUY this crap. At least not yet. Maybe they will fix it in the future (vote for migraiting the host?)... but as for now, only single player is playable with pleasure. And it's even nice. Expand
  79. dezixdez
    Dec 13, 2009
    1
    multiplayer is trashed, singleplayer is way too short. See reasons posted elswhere
  80. TrojA
    Dec 16, 2009
    1
    SP is okay. Story is laughable. Action is good, but it's wayyyy too short. You'd expect more for a expensive game like this. Now this all wouldn't be so bad if MP was good, but no dedicated servers? PC gamers are no console gamers, whole different thing. Even if it had dedicated servers, I'd still be playing MW1. The maps are way too small and I like playing with more SP is okay. Story is laughable. Action is good, but it's wayyyy too short. You'd expect more for a expensive game like this. Now this all wouldn't be so bad if MP was good, but no dedicated servers? PC gamers are no console gamers, whole different thing. Even if it had dedicated servers, I'd still be playing MW1. The maps are way too small and I like playing with more people than 6 or 9. This is obviously created for consoles and ported to the PC. Easy money.. Might be nice f Expand
  81. BrianB
    Dec 21, 2009
    1
    Didnt buy it but did play at friends house. Usually when I get a fps for my PC I cant wait to play it with COD MW 2 I dont even think about the game and its only when I think about gettng a new game I am reminded of it. IW = Fail
  82. ChrisM
    Dec 3, 2009
    1
    The singleplayer is great but to short. The Special Ops Modus is very cool. But multiplayer is not so great as Call of Duty 4 MP. Lags, host changing , no team balance , no dedicated server (ruins the MP ),high ping and no mods are terrible. I have played to Level 70(no Prestige) on MP. 4 1/2 hours of singleplayer and 90 hours of multiplayer and some hours Spec Op Modus. 1 Point for The singleplayer is great but to short. The Special Ops Modus is very cool. But multiplayer is not so great as Call of Duty 4 MP. Lags, host changing , no team balance , no dedicated server (ruins the MP ),high ping and no mods are terrible. I have played to Level 70(no Prestige) on MP. 4 1/2 hours of singleplayer and 90 hours of multiplayer and some hours Spec Op Modus. 1 Point for Special Ops Modus and Singleplayer and no Point for the Multiplayer(on beginning pure fun but after some hours you see the problems of IWNet and the problems sucks hard. I hope for dedicated servers. Expand
  83. wyattw
    Dec 6, 2009
    1
    The entire game is based around the sucess of the multiplayer in the first Modern Warfare. So why did they not add dedicated servers like the first MW with it having so much sucess and screw their PC users?
  84. NickV
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    I had pre-ordered this game but thankfully canceled in time after learning that IW was shipping a shoddy console backport. It's not like the PC sales *alone* don't pay for the resources they would need to make the changes we're asking for... they just don't care. Here's to moving on to other great shooters. Personally, I'll just play more Left 4 Dead 1/2.
  85. HampL
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Tired, derivative gameplay combined with zero support for online multiplayer makes this pile of digital waste barely worth bits to torrent it. The single player campaign is it's only redeeming feature and even that is too short. $60 for a PC game and tiny, player-hosted matches? No thank you IW/Activision. I'll lend my dollar and support to EA/DICE who have strangely pulled Tired, derivative gameplay combined with zero support for online multiplayer makes this pile of digital waste barely worth bits to torrent it. The single player campaign is it's only redeeming feature and even that is too short. $60 for a PC game and tiny, player-hosted matches? No thank you IW/Activision. I'll lend my dollar and support to EA/DICE who have strangely pulled their collective heads out of their a** and LISTENED to their customers, delivering a great game with Battlefield Heroes. They even came out on the BFH front page saying they will always have dedicated servers. From what I hear, Battlefield Bad Company 2 will have them, and looks to steal the crown from the CoD franchise (which has been utter rubbish after CoD 1). In conclusion, pirate this game if you realllly want to download 11GB just for a short single player experience. Bobby Kotick can take this game and shove it up his a**, right next to his head. Expand
  86. AshleyP
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Infinity Ward have destroyed online PC gaming as we know it removing such a big key feature such as dedicated server support from a game which should be trying to build up a big competitive community. Me and my four friends all cancelled our pre-orders as soon as we heard the news we currently have no plans on purchasing this game in-till dedicated servers are added back into the game.
  87. JaredF
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Absolutely Horrid! People not only had to pay $60 for this, for zero reason, they also get cheated out of a community. This game shows nothing that a pc game should, no modding, no servers, ect. The games MP is even more unbalanced than the first, shotguns are essentially the god-gun of the game now. Truly the largest PC gaming disappointment of 2009.
  88. RusselA
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    $60 and five hours of single player campaigning later, I'm left with a pretty useless game. Can you play Multiplayer on the PC? Of course! Is it any fun? No. Is it worth the hassle of terrible pings/server lag/small player caps/ Not having the freedom to join regular, customized servers that cater to specific players and actually make the game enjoably? Nope. Save your money, keep $60 and five hours of single player campaigning later, I'm left with a pretty useless game. Can you play Multiplayer on the PC? Of course! Is it any fun? No. Is it worth the hassle of terrible pings/server lag/small player caps/ Not having the freedom to join regular, customized servers that cater to specific players and actually make the game enjoably? Nope. Save your money, keep playing COD4, and wait until IW gets their Sht together for the next one. Expand
  89. TylerC
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Beat the single player is 4 hrs. I didnt know IW was taking out dedicated servers before i bought. This was a huge surprise disappointment. Multiplayers maps can only hold 18 players, i wont be able to get on the clan servers with the rules i enjoy (like no bunny hoping, spawn killing or wall spamming) as well as the people i know, HardCore only lets you play with max 12 players and non Beat the single player is 4 hrs. I didnt know IW was taking out dedicated servers before i bought. This was a huge surprise disappointment. Multiplayers maps can only hold 18 players, i wont be able to get on the clan servers with the rules i enjoy (like no bunny hoping, spawn killing or wall spamming) as well as the people i know, HardCore only lets you play with max 12 players and non HC 18, mp games are set up with people of your same skill level. I dont like, i want to play people that are beter so i can get better. Cant choose what map i want to play, you can vote on it like in the 360 version. But what if i want to play on a server that stays on the same map or certain maps.. i cant! l guess the biggest issue is i cant casually get on the server i like and play the rules or mods i like... It really sucks cause i dont have time to play much and when i do i want to play certain maps, people, or mods. What if i want to play with certain people? I have to add them to my friends list... Okay, thats no problem but i still cant get on the one server i want to play on with the large group of people that are not clan members but there for the server. Look at it this was, dedicated servers are like bars/pubs. You know the people there, you know whos going to show up or type of people, you enjoy it and you dont have to organize a group before you go. You just go into the room but now you go into a random room with random people. Iw took a lot of control away from the pc world, its set up so the PC user has less controll over what server they choose and might have to pay for new maps later on. It just feels... generic. I bought PC for PC playing not PC playing like console. Whoever did this seems like they play more console. The single player story could have been a lot better. Its does not flow and has a jagged story that is hard to follow and gives you no reason why the events are happening. Seems like they had ideas/ enviroments and situations they wanted to show then built a story around that. If there was a writer he should be tard and featherd. I payed for a good story and multiplayer. Multiplayer would be great if concerns stated above were fixed, and story... atleast the game looks great. Expand
  90. DamonM
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    Single player = great but way too short. think the fun of Uncharted 2 but about the tenth of its length. Multiplayer - Brilliant.......if your used to console games. If your used to PC gaming, and especially CoD mp you will feel severely butt-hurt by what IW has done. Its amazing they bothered taking out the Xbox 360 logo on the splash screen, such is the utter laziness of this port - and Single player = great but way too short. think the fun of Uncharted 2 but about the tenth of its length. Multiplayer - Brilliant.......if your used to console games. If your used to PC gaming, and especially CoD mp you will feel severely butt-hurt by what IW has done. Its amazing they bothered taking out the Xbox 360 logo on the splash screen, such is the utter laziness of this port - and it truly feels like a port. To be fair, the game is well optimized, runs great, looks the part, and while the sp lasts, is a real blast. But these positives cannot hide the fact it is short short short! 5 hours max to get thru the sp game. And then you are left with matchmaking, no console, 65 degree FoV, NO LEAN!, no dedicated servers, no chance of mods, a bunch of cheats (see youtube videos) which noone can kick, no serious potential for clan gaming, and soon no community. This game will die on its arse in a very short space of time imo. Considering I still, to this day play Cod 2 mp regularly, this is major fail, on an epic fail scale. GOTY? TOTY (Turkey Of The Year) more like. If your a console gamer, go ahead, you will have a blast and wont have any idea why the pain is so deep. If your a pc gamer, avoid like the plague, wait for BF:BC2 and play a real PC game, developed for PC gamers, by people who still care about the PC scene. IW have made it obvious they dont give a toss. Oh and you know those extra maps and such we've always had as product support? Its now called DLC, better get the wallet ready folks! Oh and dont get me started on the Retail installation which took me 2 hours to complete. Why, when I have a physical disc, I have to then download a bunch of files, and wait for a server to respond so I can play a SINGLE PLAYER GAME I have no idea. I also have no idea why I supported, with my hard earned cash, companies which (right now) are laughing their asses at me, and YOU Mr PC Gamer. As the Sex Pistols once said "Ever feel like youve been cheated?" I do. Activision, Valve and especially Infinity Ward can suck my monkey balls for this utter disgrace to PC gaming. Expand
  91. Kjell
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    This review will most likely be a bit long, so please bear with me. First off, I'd like to make a note on the good parts of the game. The Spec Ops mode can be lots of fun if you play with the right guy on the right missions. Some of the missions are extremely cool, but most of them sucks. The Single Player Campaign is very intense, which is a huge plus. But the lack of a good story This review will most likely be a bit long, so please bear with me. First off, I'd like to make a note on the good parts of the game. The Spec Ops mode can be lots of fun if you play with the right guy on the right missions. Some of the missions are extremely cool, but most of them sucks. The Single Player Campaign is very intense, which is a huge plus. But the lack of a good story line kills off the good feel about it, while at the same time the Single Player Campaign is way too short. The multiplayer however, is complete and utter garbage. Which no support for Dedicated Servers what-so-ever, you are doomed to forever play with high pings and unlikable people because you have absolutely no control over who gets to play on the same "server" as you. Furthermore, if the host of the match leaves, the game needs to find a new host, which happens ALL THE TIME. It is frustrating, and makes you want to punch the employees of Infinity Ward in the face. Especially Bowling. The only reason I gave this game a 1 and not a 0 is because a few of the Spec Ops Missions are great fun. Other than that, this game is complete and utter garbage and a waste of money. I suggest to skip this title and wait for Battlefield: Bad Company 2. Digital Illusions actually cares about us PC gamers, unlike Infinity Ward and Activision. I would also like to get my hard earned money back. Expand
  92. RickT
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    I really enjoyed Mw2's singeplayer, although there are not many differences to mw1 and some weird things like no console or no leaning.... . But alot of new weapons and a great story made me forget about that. The thing is I don't buy a game for singeplayer and the fact is that they screwed Multiplayer up pretty bad. It seems that they just dont care about pc gamers. Have they I really enjoyed Mw2's singeplayer, although there are not many differences to mw1 and some weird things like no console or no leaning.... . But alot of new weapons and a great story made me forget about that. The thing is I don't buy a game for singeplayer and the fact is that they screwed Multiplayer up pretty bad. It seems that they just dont care about pc gamers. Have they forgot that mainly the Pc versions made this title to what it is today? If they would just make dedicated servers and leaning this game could be a worthy follow up for cod4 but not like this. Expand
  93. BenH
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    I think I know why they are charging 60 dollars for this game--It is a DIRECT PORT of the console version! What a fucking joke. Infinity Ward clearly has no respect for PC gamers with this pathetic excuse of a game (in many respects--the added features are literally pointless, but that's a whole different topic). If you don't think lack of dedicated servers won't effect you I think I know why they are charging 60 dollars for this game--It is a DIRECT PORT of the console version! What a fucking joke. Infinity Ward clearly has no respect for PC gamers with this pathetic excuse of a game (in many respects--the added features are literally pointless, but that's a whole different topic). If you don't think lack of dedicated servers won't effect you (as I wrongfully did), think again. If you are AT ALL serious about your gaming experience, turn away now. You cannot play online with under 100 latency. Most everyone hovers 100-300 ping (well you can't really tell because it's just 4 bars). It's a lot of fun dying to the host because he's at 4 bars and you're at 2. TL;DR version: save 60 dollars--go have a nice meal, see a movie, whatever. don't waste ur money unless you REALLY don't care about multiplayer, or you simply love console gaming. Expand
  94. GlenA
    Nov 14, 2009
    1
    Easily the biggest let down I ever experienced from a game. The single player was fun but saddly lacking compared to the first game but thats ok cause its a sequel and i never honestly expected much out of it. The worst part is the multiplayer the compy version feels nothing like the original modern warfare which was a nice change and why I liked it at first but saddly the lack of Easily the biggest let down I ever experienced from a game. The single player was fun but saddly lacking compared to the first game but thats ok cause its a sequel and i never honestly expected much out of it. The worst part is the multiplayer the compy version feels nothing like the original modern warfare which was a nice change and why I liked it at first but saddly the lack of community servers and the conplete lack of the larger game sizes that made the original stand out from the consuls has been lost and replaced with a multiplayer set up the feels like a a total bitch slap from IW. The compy version is now exacly like the consul version which just gets obnixious since the whole reason I got it for the computer was for the larger game sizes (i.e. 32 people hardcore team deathmatch, now that was fun.) and useing WADS. They also dropped the lean controls which isnt that big of a deal but it just gets annoying everytime you want to take cover that you cant lean out of it. The one thing I do give it credit for is a solid perk and custom class system which is extreamely differnet than the original but in my oppinion better. The only issue is the complete uneveness of weapons now the game is geared twords assualt rifles unlike before where there was a more even spread of weapons to choose from (basicly the total like of a internal box sniper rifle just gets me agitated). Expand
  95. JohnJ
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    Great single player campaign and co-op mode is surprisingly fun to play with your best friend with teamwork. Cmapaign mode was really short but it was very nice. and now to the VERY bad part; remember that this is PC version not console and yet Activision made a choice to NOT have dedicated server which is one of greatest advantage that player has over console players. such function not Great single player campaign and co-op mode is surprisingly fun to play with your best friend with teamwork. Cmapaign mode was really short but it was very nice. and now to the VERY bad part; remember that this is PC version not console and yet Activision made a choice to NOT have dedicated server which is one of greatest advantage that player has over console players. such function not existing at all is a huge, huge minus to this game. Do NOT buy this game with PC version; Activision really should have lowered it's PC version price already by now. They have simply converted the console version to PC without adding anything else. If you have Xbox360 go buy this game and play there; there is no Xbox360 exclusive game that can beat this multiplatform game. If you have PS3 then I wouldn't really recommend it unless you are a huge fan of FPS game; otherwise enjoy other exlucisve games like Uncharted 2 I am very diasspointed in MW2 PC ver. It's sad to see such great game got ruined because Infinity Ward somehow missed the most basic, and simplest advantage that PC player should have gotten; Dedicated servers Expand
  96. ANonymous
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    No dedicated servers is ridiculous. Thanks for taking a step back in gaming, IW. Why is this game priced at $60 instead of $50? The reason console games are more is for the console license that PC gamers don't pay for. The single player is graphically beautiful, but the game is horribly stupid. 5 hours is pitiful. The plot is pitiful. Good job, you appeased a bunch of knuckle No dedicated servers is ridiculous. Thanks for taking a step back in gaming, IW. Why is this game priced at $60 instead of $50? The reason console games are more is for the console license that PC gamers don't pay for. The single player is graphically beautiful, but the game is horribly stupid. 5 hours is pitiful. The plot is pitiful. Good job, you appeased a bunch of knuckle dragging idiot console jockeys and spit in the faces of PC gamers. Expand
  97. SteveM
    Nov 17, 2009
    1
    Having been a long time COD fan, and a COD4 clanner, I was truely looking forward to this game. The single player was short but good, 6hours of fun. No story, but what can you expect? The problem here is the multiplayer. It is woeful, and impossible to find a non-laggy host here in Melbourne Australia. I seem to be constantly connecting to US hosts, and they drop out mid-match. The menu Having been a long time COD fan, and a COD4 clanner, I was truely looking forward to this game. The single player was short but good, 6hours of fun. No story, but what can you expect? The problem here is the multiplayer. It is woeful, and impossible to find a non-laggy host here in Melbourne Australia. I seem to be constantly connecting to US hosts, and they drop out mid-match. The menu and controll settings look like a console screen i.e. no settings. I am selling this game on ebay and buying L4D2. This game is a giant f-you to the PC gaming community. I have probably spent 200+ hours playing COD4 multiplayer, and 8hours finishing the singleplayer. I can have barely played 3 hours multiplayer in MW2 and I am sick on this. Wait till the price drops to something reasonable and buy it for singleplayer, not the multiplayer. The game is $120.00 in Australia, and $99 on steam. L4D2 is $49 on steam. Go figure. Expand
  98. BJones
    Nov 17, 2009
    1
    I give it a one simply for the fact its a game. They took away our Dedicated Servers. They took away our ability to LEAN when the enemy and your comrades can lean. The lack of Video/Graphic Options was a minus. The Audio Options...what options?....Speaker Option and a Volume Bar....are you serious? I dont know what happened at the office but some folks need to be smacked around a bit. I I give it a one simply for the fact its a game. They took away our Dedicated Servers. They took away our ability to LEAN when the enemy and your comrades can lean. The lack of Video/Graphic Options was a minus. The Audio Options...what options?....Speaker Option and a Volume Bar....are you serious? I dont know what happened at the office but some folks need to be smacked around a bit. I am stuck with a copy of this game and can only hope they patch the crap out of this. If they dont then it sits on the game shelf and collects dust while I play Modern Warfare 1 or whatever else comes to mind. Expand
  99. CB
    Nov 19, 2009
    1
    If you like Michael Bay films you'll probably like MW2. If you're an adult you'll probably think MW2 is a dire excuse for a sequel with poor direction, linear single player and an absoloutely shocking lack of thought put into the multiplayer aspect. This isn't worth the retail price and should have been released as an expansion / DLC for the first game.
  100. BrandonG
    Nov 22, 2009
    1
    Lets see - Game looks exactly the same no matter what resolution you run it at, due to the console type FOV. No dedicated servers. No LAN support. None of the guns have any recoil. Lots of screen tearing and terrible graphics. None of the realism from COD 4 prevails. The PC version literally feels like your playing on a console. Even has the big, ugly banners of a console game too. Some Lets see - Game looks exactly the same no matter what resolution you run it at, due to the console type FOV. No dedicated servers. No LAN support. None of the guns have any recoil. Lots of screen tearing and terrible graphics. None of the realism from COD 4 prevails. The PC version literally feels like your playing on a console. Even has the big, ugly banners of a console game too. Some of the achievements are stupid, such as one where if you change to the same class as the person who last killed you, you get an achievement award. Game is really really terrible. I quit the single player after about an hour. The multiplayer I played through 3 maps and haven't touched it again since the game came out. Its unfortunate that this game sold so many copies. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.