Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PC

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6496 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeL
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    Completely awful. the online experience is the worst, lag cheating, small maps, no leaning in game. No dedicated servers. 9v9 games is u can get into one, waiying around for games is a joke. this is a waste of $60.00. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMupHG21NVw&feature=player_embedded these guys deserve your money, they make a quality product. also over 250,000 pc gamers have boycotted and Completely awful. the online experience is the worst, lag cheating, small maps, no leaning in game. No dedicated servers. 9v9 games is u can get into one, waiying around for games is a joke. this is a waste of $60.00. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMupHG21NVw&feature=player_embedded these guys deserve your money, they make a quality product. also over 250,000 pc gamers have boycotted and banned this game, get on the band wagon. read the infinity wardforums for Mw2 PC game Expand
  2. Gab
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    Total Crap. Single player is not bad, but honestly who buys a game like this for the single player experience, its not like this game is like a fallout 3 or anything. People buy FPS for the multiplayer experience cause single player can get boring really fast once you have beaten it a couple of times. MW2 fails in multiplayer. I would not recommend this game to anyone unless u enjoy being Total Crap. Single player is not bad, but honestly who buys a game like this for the single player experience, its not like this game is like a fallout 3 or anything. People buy FPS for the multiplayer experience cause single player can get boring really fast once you have beaten it a couple of times. MW2 fails in multiplayer. I would not recommend this game to anyone unless u enjoy being fustrated with lag, 9v9 games in huge maps, and loads of hackers. Expand
  3. SirSmokealot
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    >4-5 hr singleplayer >lean taken out >It's still CoD: Grenade Warfare in multi >no dedicated servers >matchmaking only, enjoy your high ping and being matched with some gimp in Timbuckfuckintoo >everything's through IWNet to lock down game >no mods, DLC only, most likely DLC will eventually become required to play on server >no SDK ever >$60.00 even on PC where the dev >4-5 hr singleplayer >lean taken out >It's still CoD: Grenade Warfare in multi >no dedicated servers >matchmaking only, enjoy your high ping and being matched with some gimp in Timbuckfuckintoo >everything's through IWNet to lock down game >no mods, DLC only, most likely DLC will eventually become required to play on server >no SDK ever >$60.00 even on PC where the dev doesn't have to worry about licensing fees >Pay extra for DLC that's already on the disc you paid $60 for, devs are lying about not making content until after game is in stores >No dedicated servers, matchmaking and IWnet lockdown means you'll be forced to buy DLC maps when the brainless masses do It's a dark day for the consumer. Expand
  4. LoLmobile
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    Its funny how IW have the guts to make there game seem the best on the market and have the arrogance to sell virtual copies for $90 US since the great response people gave CoD4. When IW grow up and release dedicated servers on a patch I'll give up on my priated version and think about giving those greedy people some more money to add to their large pile of shamfully earned money.
  5. Maxizz
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    Multiplayer sucks! well its great for a couple of days.. but maps are all the same - smg galore daitona circle racing.. no sniper maps at all.. stupid console system.. no punkbuster. no dedicated servers. Jumping rangers shooting dual MP5s and Stingers are fun and unrealistic as hell. IWard bad job!
  6. SR
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    Completely overhyped garbage. There's very few truly visible changes to the graphics, the single player mode can be finished in like 4 hours, and is so linear it's like you're on a rail. There is no Lean in the controls. Are you serious? The realism is totally shot on the control side of things if you can't lean around corners. That's lame as all hell. There are Completely overhyped garbage. There's very few truly visible changes to the graphics, the single player mode can be finished in like 4 hours, and is so linear it's like you're on a rail. There is no Lean in the controls. Are you serious? The realism is totally shot on the control side of things if you can't lean around corners. That's lame as all hell. There are no dedicated servers to play online, so you might as well not even consider it being worthwhile to play multiplayer... the entire system is flawed now, and completely gives the finger to the gaming community on whole. Infinity Ward should be ashamed of themselves (although they probably don't give a damn RE: over 30 million in sales on the first day) and should accept returns on the game. Another note... the controversial Terrorist level is completely ridiculous and shocking. I'm generally the last person that says "that's too much for a game", but come on. Are we as gamers viewed as that stupid that we need to have Infinity Ward (or whoever it was that wrote the storyline) put us in the shoes of terrorists to learn a lesson, or pull us deeper into the game? What are we, children? There's enough B.S. political overtones in the game already to choke a camel, give us a break. It's a GAME. Or was supposed to be, until IW screwed it up and consequently screwed the community at large. My hope is that somehow IW will get a spanking for this. Boring, unimaginative, quasi-cinematic crap. Expand
  7. OlegK
    Nov 17, 2009
    0
    Fine single player mode with crap story, keeps player busy for 8 hours or so. When you go to multyplayer you get horrible ping, no NORMAL hardcore modes choice (12 man team deathmatch with 10 sec cooldown to spawn makes me sick). I want my f-n 30 man hardcore FFA with no cooldowns, no killcams, normal ping, no lag, no host migrating every 5 minutes and other crap you made this game with. Fine single player mode with crap story, keeps player busy for 8 hours or so. When you go to multyplayer you get horrible ping, no NORMAL hardcore modes choice (12 man team deathmatch with 10 sec cooldown to spawn makes me sick). I want my f-n 30 man hardcore FFA with no cooldowns, no killcams, normal ping, no lag, no host migrating every 5 minutes and other crap you made this game with. IW you got a middle finger at your face from all PC community. And btw, a lot of us actually GOT xbox360, we just want a normal multiplayer gaming with mouse and keyboard. Expand
  8. KeyBoarder
    Nov 17, 2009
    0
    Oh my, it makes me sick to think about my undying love for this franchise throughout the years. I feel so ripped of, literally, I just don't have enough words to express how strongly I feel about the incredible let-down this game has proven to be. But I'll give it a try. 1. B-class movie story simply to sustain a series of cool scenes. Now, I don't actually mind, but then Oh my, it makes me sick to think about my undying love for this franchise throughout the years. I feel so ripped of, literally, I just don't have enough words to express how strongly I feel about the incredible let-down this game has proven to be. But I'll give it a try. 1. B-class movie story simply to sustain a series of cool scenes. Now, I don't actually mind, but then everyone please stop pretending as if it's a great story. Because it's not. 2. Shortest single player ever for the money. It took me 4 - 4.5 hours and then it was over. To me, for 55 euros (about 80 dollars!), that's simply a slap in the face. 3. Sure, it's COD, so multiplayer has vast promise, but it is broken in every single important aspect, so I just can't accept it. And, believe me, I HAVE TRIED FOR HOURS AND HOURS. > not being able to connect to the Steam network. > not being able to connect to IWnet. > not being able to find a host. > not being able to find the right host. > ... and it goes on...and on...and on. Really, for anyone who knows anything about coding and/or gaming, it truly is a no-brainer that this flimsy port necessitates important patches. It gets even worse. No dedicated servers. I repeat. No dedicated servers. I repeat. No dedicated servers. I repeat. No dedicated servers. I repeat. No dedicated servers. I repeat. No dedicated servers. I repeat. No dedicated servers. ... You know what? This would be a fine game if I had bought it for my Xbox 360. But I especially own a PC to play these kind of games. Why? Because an fps game in it's dumbed-down console version just doesn't work for me. If Infinity Ward wanted to ignore their PC audience, then they just shouldn't even have bothered to publish it for PC. It would be hard to swallow, but then at least I wouldn't be sitting here next to my +2000 euros PC with the biggest disappointment of the last decade in my hands. I refuse to remain at the side while my gaming experience is being dumbed down to serve the more easy-and-fast-fix-minded type of players. Therefore I can't but give this game the absolute minimum. Expand
  9. pauls
    Nov 18, 2009
    0
    Unfinished, buggy as anything i have played in recent memory and designed by committee it appears. Treyarch have managed to become the A team by comparison would say IW wont be making so much cash on next one this is a complete mess feel like i have been conned into buying this rubbish. Want my money back. Don't believe the hype this is very poor avoid like the plague.
  10. JamesG.
    Nov 18, 2009
    0
    This is a horrible excuse for a sequel to Call Of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare. The campaign seems more catered to sub 15 year olds, lots of flashy explosions and mindless shooting. Now don't get me started on the multiplayer. Being part of the glorious PC gaming master race, I can describe it in a single word. Shambles. IW.net is the worst thing to happen to PC Multiplayer shooters in This is a horrible excuse for a sequel to Call Of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare. The campaign seems more catered to sub 15 year olds, lots of flashy explosions and mindless shooting. Now don't get me started on the multiplayer. Being part of the glorious PC gaming master race, I can describe it in a single word. Shambles. IW.net is the worst thing to happen to PC Multiplayer shooters in gaming history. Why? Because it paves the way to paid DLC for PC and eventually Pay to Play subscription FPS gaming. This on top of the fact that we must now rely on IW.nets matchmaking due to the absence of the tried and true dedicated server method of supplying a multiplayer experience. The abysmal listen server technique used in Modern Warfare 2 may work on consoles due to the identical hardware and controllers with aim assist, but this is not so for PC. We actually notice the banana bullets as our control method of Mouse + Keyboard is far superior, supplying a much better span of control not to mention the huge leap in game speed. Matchmaking was not made for PC, I do not want to take steps backwards when I play videogames. To me this is like releasing a brand new AAA game running off Microsoft DirectX 8.0. I will not stand for this. Insanity Ward, I hope with all my being that Call Of Duty 7 never goes into development. I hope you crash and burn. Expand
  11. ThiagoB
    Nov 18, 2009
    0
    We can't choose maps, the match time is short, they didn't put autobalance.. you spen more time trying to find a game with a descent ping as playing, we don't have an Admin, so we can't kick anoying players. They put 16 maps on game but apears to be half of this.. If they dind't fix those stuffs will be my last Call of Duty. I'm talking for all brazilian people.
  12. JulianY.
    Nov 19, 2009
    0
    - The single player campaign is 5 hours long. - The multiplayer is both uninteresting and hardly playable. - The game is extremely expensive (60 euros). I'm sorry, but it's not a question of being "butthurt" or not ; most reviews here speak the truth. This game is an horrible quick cash-in for Activision. The reviews in most PC magazines were obviously paid, and one can wonder - The single player campaign is 5 hours long. - The multiplayer is both uninteresting and hardly playable. - The game is extremely expensive (60 euros). I'm sorry, but it's not a question of being "butthurt" or not ; most reviews here speak the truth. This game is an horrible quick cash-in for Activision. The reviews in most PC magazines were obviously paid, and one can wonder about the objectivity of the 10s you see around here. Even without any prior multiplayer FPS gaming experience, this game can't score higher than 7 because of its massive flaws (and its price, if you work for a living). Expand
  13. JohnD
    Nov 21, 2009
    0
    This entire game is one giant insult to the PC gaming community. The game doesn't even meet the standards of CoD4, no lean, no dedicated servers, etc. Everyone knows all the faults by now, of course, so no point in going through all that detail now. Obviously, the singleplayer campaign turned out to be a good game, but it was incredibly short, and not worth the cost. There are plenty This entire game is one giant insult to the PC gaming community. The game doesn't even meet the standards of CoD4, no lean, no dedicated servers, etc. Everyone knows all the faults by now, of course, so no point in going through all that detail now. Obviously, the singleplayer campaign turned out to be a good game, but it was incredibly short, and not worth the cost. There are plenty of games with good singleplayer modes out there and they last MUCH longer than MW2 did. Is this all just a joke? Expand
  14. AlexD
    Nov 21, 2009
    0
    Are you kidding me? Take an otherwise good franchise then ditch every element making it customizable / accessible and you get this. The game has its fov limitet at 60 degress; that and the fact that you're mostly required to watch it through the gun's sights, resulting in further fov reduction. Add a huge weapon model on screen during that and you end up seeing very little most Are you kidding me? Take an otherwise good franchise then ditch every element making it customizable / accessible and you get this. The game has its fov limitet at 60 degress; that and the fact that you're mostly required to watch it through the gun's sights, resulting in further fov reduction. Add a huge weapon model on screen during that and you end up seeing very little most of the time. The weapons' spread is ridiculous when you're not aiming through the sights / scope, beyond anything reasonable in a *game*. Shame on them for rolling out a game with such a multiplayer, worse than in the various hacked (with or without dedicated servers) ones. Don't waste your money on this one, better get Call of Duty 2. Expand
  15. AtaY
    Nov 21, 2009
    0
    Taking dedicated server off from the game and giving the news that the future of the game will be paid by money is ridiculous. If you give a player that has no connection a game that is only playable some cash hound program, is just greed. Hate the Activision and never will buy any of your games and for Infinity Ward, you have tried to involve dedicated server and argued with Activision. Taking dedicated server off from the game and giving the news that the future of the game will be paid by money is ridiculous. If you give a player that has no connection a game that is only playable some cash hound program, is just greed. Hate the Activision and never will buy any of your games and for Infinity Ward, you have tried to involve dedicated server and argued with Activision. You even did not work for Activision for a little time, no hard feelings for you guys, you are the best but the Activision just hurt my stomach. Expand
  16. BenB
    Nov 20, 2009
    0
    I haven't bought this game, yet. Without dedicated servers I see no point in getting it because I do multiplayer and without dedicated servers its just going to be a poor experience, and I certainly am not going to pay $60 for a 6 hour single player campaign. If these things are fixed then I may consider buying it, but until then no thanks.
  17. Derick
    Nov 23, 2009
    0
    Singleplayer is short, but the campaign is exciting and fast paced, I completed it in just under 5 hours, but the missions are absolutely breathtaking graphics wise. HOWEVER... I don't buy a call of duty game to play single player. The matchmaking system that they have implemented works fine if you live in a populated city where you can get lots of players from your area, but I feel Singleplayer is short, but the campaign is exciting and fast paced, I completed it in just under 5 hours, but the missions are absolutely breathtaking graphics wise. HOWEVER... I don't buy a call of duty game to play single player. The matchmaking system that they have implemented works fine if you live in a populated city where you can get lots of players from your area, but I feel bad for the players in Australia, and other areas where there isnt as many people. Being host for the game getting 0 ping, and everyone else getting 150-200, is kind of a joke, and when I end up hosting games, I get kill streaks of 20-30, and it's not even a challenge. The game isn't balanced for playing on PC, they took out LEAN. PINBALL MACHINES EVEN HAVE LEAN. Infinity Wards choice to take out lean is unnecessary, and just plain lazy. The IWnet system put into place to replace dedicated servers is a joke, the modding community, Clans, meeting people to play with is all dead. you join random games with random people all day, you don't know whether the game is going to lag or not, and that's if you can get in. Half the people playing don't have their routers set up properly to accept incoming connections, so when the game is set up, if IWnet picks a host without their router being set up properly, the entire lobby closes and you have to wait another full minute to HOPEFULLY find a host who can, I've waited 18 minutes to join a match due to bad luck with hosts. The PC version of this game might as well say "Xbox with keyboard and mouse support" as it is a direct port of the console version. If you have a widescreen monitor, the Field of View setting is set at a default 65 and you cannot change it, and they have a FPS cap put into place, so if you spent loads of cash on a gaming rig thats capable of pushing 200 fps in Crysis... well, good news. You're only going to get 90 fps in MW2. All in all, the pc version of this game falls short of expectations, and Infinity Ward messed up the entire community that made them popular by trying to turn the PC into a console. No admins, no servers, no clans, no community, all you are going to get is hackers running around 24/7 with aimbots and wallhacks. Too bad you can't return PC games. Expand
  18. AubronW
    Nov 27, 2009
    0
    The lack of dedicated servers ruined this game for me. Sadly and understandably, Steam doesn't have a return policy. This means that I can't play it after the single player campaign, because all we do is LAN games on hall at my university. The single player took me about 4 hours to beat, so that's what, $15 per hour to Infinity Ward for screwing me over? Luckily I've The lack of dedicated servers ruined this game for me. Sadly and understandably, Steam doesn't have a return policy. This means that I can't play it after the single player campaign, because all we do is LAN games on hall at my university. The single player took me about 4 hours to beat, so that's what, $15 per hour to Infinity Ward for screwing me over? Luckily I've prevented most everyone else on hall from falling into this trap. Congrats IW, but see if I buy your next game. Expand
  19. BlakeM
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    COD Modern Warfare was one of the best games I have ever played on PC. Suprisingly COD Modern Warfare 2 war the worst MP game I have ever played in my life. How can Infinity Ward have messed up so bad?
  20. KyleR
    Dec 13, 2009
    0
    For PC it is Multiplayer DE-evolved. Despite what the description says, this game DID NOT set a new bar for online multiplayer. Infinity Ward took what was essentially an amazing online experience in the 1st Modern Warfare, held it over a table and gave it a royal gimp treatment. Modern Warfare 2 does to PC multilayer what Uwe Boll does to movies.
  21. NoneGiven
    Dec 13, 2009
    0
    The campaign took everything that was original in the first game, repeated it 3 times and called it a day, resulting in an very deja vu heavy experience that last about 3 hours with a nonsensical story that feels like it was originally intended to be about 10 hours long but had all the interlinking parts cut out to fit it in the very short game time. Spec ops is even shorter, reuses The campaign took everything that was original in the first game, repeated it 3 times and called it a day, resulting in an very deja vu heavy experience that last about 3 hours with a nonsensical story that feels like it was originally intended to be about 10 hours long but had all the interlinking parts cut out to fit it in the very short game time. Spec ops is even shorter, reuses locations several times and provides an even more incoherent difficulty curve with heavy abuse of enemies spawning directly behind the player in a very annoying attempt at padding game length. Multiplayer is, - pardon my vulgarity - horsecock. IW decided to drop dedicated servers support in favor of a matchmaking service called iw.net, resulting in an abundance of hackers and no admins to kick them, hosts throttling their connection to make everybody except them lag, unplayable latency for everybody outside the US, and incredibly wonky host migration and selection that fails more often then not and very slow lobbies. The worst part is that in order for the game to actually work, DMZ has to be enabled, resulting in massive vulnerability risks and lately somebody hacked IW.net to use it to send viruses to everybody. support from IW and Acti is completely non existant on the issue. Everybody who values their money and/or their system integrity: stay away from this pathetic excuse for a game. Expand
  22. LeeW
    Dec 14, 2009
    0
    Multiplayer is instant trash, lacking much of what PC games, or even some console games, have standards for. Why play an 18-p, uncustomizable, unbalanced multiplayer game when much better ones exist? No reason. Singleplayer is just as awful, containing the single-most retarded shooter story to date, and while other stories are arguably worse, this earns extra negative points for getting Multiplayer is instant trash, lacking much of what PC games, or even some console games, have standards for. Why play an 18-p, uncustomizable, unbalanced multiplayer game when much better ones exist? No reason. Singleplayer is just as awful, containing the single-most retarded shooter story to date, and while other stories are arguably worse, this earns extra negative points for getting in the way of actual gameplay with the trademarked Call of Duty rampant scripted events. The level design is filled with restrictive invisible walls, and though the problem of past games having infinitely respawning enemies is quelled, it is replaced with enemies coming from all sides out of flipping nowhere. A.I. is nonexistent, even worse than that of World at War. The guns are samey and their visual and audible effects don't have any sort of impact. Buy for slaughtering civilians in an airport. That was the only time I had fun, which was odd because I'm normally not maniacal at all, really... Expand
  23. ØyvindH
    Dec 14, 2009
    0
    Abysmal lack of support for us PC-gamers. Story is short and not that interesting. Spec-ops is probably the only new thing with the game, well but of course "akimbo sniper shotguns" (something no other multi-player game has had for good reasons).
  24. GGibbons
    Dec 15, 2009
    0
    Complete and utter trash. I love how they repackage the same stuff, take out the good, and up the price. Good game activision. DEDICATED SERVERS AND LESS SUCK PLEASE.
  25. TuubistiT
    Dec 17, 2009
    0
    Well, I expected so much and what I really get? No dedicateds, boring and very short single player, laggy matchmaking "thing", 18 players very big battles woah etc. You have your pistol? Good. I also have mine.
  26. AndyB
    Dec 18, 2009
    0
    ill keep this simple for everyone to understand #1 THE PRICE TAG IS NOT WORTH IT #2 singleplayer SHORT but INTENSE...and the subject that brought my score down to 0 #3 matchmaking system is just wrong bring back dedicated servers so we can at least have a community !!! and let the game become modifiable..and multiplayer is just play and leave and the boring thing is you don't have ill keep this simple for everyone to understand #1 THE PRICE TAG IS NOT WORTH IT #2 singleplayer SHORT but INTENSE...and the subject that brought my score down to 0 #3 matchmaking system is just wrong bring back dedicated servers so we can at least have a community !!! and let the game become modifiable..and multiplayer is just play and leave and the boring thing is you don't have time to comment on your nice moments you had in the game or anything!!!AND THE DISRESPECTFUL PART IS THAT THERE ARE FORCED PATCHES without even f--ing telling us what they do!! or giving us the option to download them which is rude and disrespectful....ill give single player 7/10... multiplayer 9999/10...im just representing the patient PC players of mw2...whose just waiting so anxiously to bring back dedicated servers... Expand
  27. Genesis
    Dec 19, 2009
    0
    This game is plagued with hackers, boosters, and whining kids. I can not believe that infinity ward actually released a sub par game like this. Single player was alright, but really short even on veteran. Multilayer is a complete joke! You either end up in a game full of cheaters, or you end up in a game where the lag is so bad that you can barely play. Thank you Infinity Ward for telling This game is plagued with hackers, boosters, and whining kids. I can not believe that infinity ward actually released a sub par game like this. Single player was alright, but really short even on veteran. Multilayer is a complete joke! You either end up in a game full of cheaters, or you end up in a game where the lag is so bad that you can barely play. Thank you Infinity Ward for telling the PC community what we want and saying that you know better rather than listening to us. You have really ruined the Call of Duty name with this one. Expand
  28. oliverh
    Dec 2, 2009
    0
    multiplayer without dedicated servers and vac instead of punkbuster ...
  29. EnzoL
    Dec 20, 2009
    0
    Summary - Loud,Short,small and laggy. There was a simple ingredient running through the entire first Modern Warfare title that was released in '07. Brilliant level design - suitable for "counter-strike" mode, team deathmatch, deathmatch and much more. Balanced Weaponry - single wielding high powered guns. Dedicated servers - least amount of lag possible by dedicated fans of gaming. Summary - Loud,Short,small and laggy. There was a simple ingredient running through the entire first Modern Warfare title that was released in '07. Brilliant level design - suitable for "counter-strike" mode, team deathmatch, deathmatch and much more. Balanced Weaponry - single wielding high powered guns. Dedicated servers - least amount of lag possible by dedicated fans of gaming. Infinity Ward has just crippled the innovative side of their Call of Duty series. By calculatingly disallowing (not removing) dedicated servers in order to control the content their game is played on, they have sucker-punched the PC community, in which where the real home of online gaming lives and thrives. By turning their back on the crowd in which built their name, they have just reduced the quality control thermometer, which the PC gamers bring. I consider this game a step back and zero attempts to make any kind of step foward. They have just exerted more control over the content in which gamers buy for full price This is CoD4 but with no dedicated servers, poor undersized death matched maps and the appeal of the schoolboy duel-wielding guns have undermined the potential that they shown in the first Modern Warfare. Expand
  30. meanie
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    - i gave it a zero - there is nothing new in this game that you won't find in any other FPS - multiplayer is simply a floating turd in the toilet.
  31. JonE
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    1 step forward 10 steps back.
  32. Bob
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    Single player is pretty terrible. I loved the first game, which is probably my favorite single player FPS I've played. This game was a horrible disappointment. The airport level had little to no context what so ever, a three minute cut scene would have been better. The other levels were for the most part a let down too. The first hour or two was fun. Rio was fun for awhile, but got Single player is pretty terrible. I loved the first game, which is probably my favorite single player FPS I've played. This game was a horrible disappointment. The airport level had little to no context what so ever, a three minute cut scene would have been better. The other levels were for the most part a let down too. The first hour or two was fun. Rio was fun for awhile, but got repetitive quickly and by the end of the game that was my feeling for every level. Looks fun at the beginning and could not wait to go to the next level because I was so bored by the random and horrible AI. I started the game out on veteran, but moved it to easy about halfway through, just to finish the game because I could careless about the horrible story and AI. Length is not an issue with me, since many games I play don't even have single player, but when it is a horrible 6 hour grind then it bothers me. Spec-Ops is a nice addition, but there isn't much of a reason for them not adding co-op into single player and having those, fun, missions in it. Multiplayer isn't much better than single player in my experience. Since I don't live near a population center I have to deal with a great amount of lag all of the time, unlike any other multiplayer games where I can choose the servers closest to me, I have to sit and wait three minutes to find a game that is extremely laggy. Other issues are the host changing, many hackers, all the guns for the most part act and sound exactly the same and pretty much shunted the PC gaming crowd. I am disappointed by this Mediocre Warcrap. Expand
  33. peted
    Dec 27, 2009
    0
    Basically just read what everyone else said. No dedicated servers is complete garbage.
  34. Martin
    Dec 29, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers really kills this game, you have to invite your friends and host a private game if you want some form of stability and even private matches have issues. If you attempt to join a game with friends (and you can connect to them) then be prepared to have to try serveral times before finding a good host. There are numurous frustrating issues with multiplayer and it is No dedicated servers really kills this game, you have to invite your friends and host a private game if you want some form of stability and even private matches have issues. If you attempt to join a game with friends (and you can connect to them) then be prepared to have to try serveral times before finding a good host. There are numurous frustrating issues with multiplayer and it is easily the worst online experience I have encountered so far. Activision also expects people to pay much more than what a normal game costs when its released. Stay away from mw2 until they fix multiplayer. Expand
  35. ShahriarS
    Dec 3, 2009
    0
    Modern Warfare 2.. Where to begin? Wooahh, wait I don't have to. Everything has already been said. This game is a port off the console version, and you know what that means right? absolute horse crap. Terrible LAAAAAG, Hackers/Cheaters, no dedicated servers, no community, no competitive clan battles AT ALL (impossible). This is pretty much Call of Duty 4 with polished graphics, and Modern Warfare 2.. Where to begin? Wooahh, wait I don't have to. Everything has already been said. This game is a port off the console version, and you know what that means right? absolute horse crap. Terrible LAAAAAG, Hackers/Cheaters, no dedicated servers, no community, no competitive clan battles AT ALL (impossible). This is pretty much Call of Duty 4 with polished graphics, and everything good about multilayer striped down to it's very core. Don't make the mistake the other 1 million people did buying this game. Wait until FREE DLC is released which gives you dedicated servers. Which by the looks of it, we're not going to get.. 3 weeks since the game has been released, and not even a single patch has been released by IW. Expand
  36. JamesM
    Dec 4, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers no profit. Forget about this horrible version.
  37. TiernanO
    Dec 5, 2009
    0
    IWnet. pretty much sums up mutiplayer, and by that i mean bad. It lags, on an average game i get anywhere from 120 to 200 ping where in COD4 i could join servers and get apinjg of 20. And the VAC is a joke, i mean look a CS:S tons of people hack everyday in that and vac never bans them. Even with this delayed ban crap. As for the community its stupid, people can make thier character names IWnet. pretty much sums up mutiplayer, and by that i mean bad. It lags, on an average game i get anywhere from 120 to 200 ping where in COD4 i could join servers and get apinjg of 20. And the VAC is a joke, i mean look a CS:S tons of people hack everyday in that and vac never bans them. Even with this delayed ban crap. As for the community its stupid, people can make thier character names whatever they feel like, including all sorts of racist and annying name and then the hackers, i just came off 4 games in a row where a different player would hack get 25 headshots in the first 2 minutes of a game call a nuke and end the game. Of course i could do a lot to stop them. Oh wait no that was COD 4 where you could ban or kick people like this. Thanks IW for ruining online gaming. But since you got our money you will say this is a huge success and now other people will try to copy ur idea since it "works". Also SP was stupid, sort and the plot sucked. As for those of you who think this games mutiplayer is epic i beg you try playing a game with dedicated servers where you get a good ping and then tell me that it doesn't improve ur experience. Expand
  38. JoshQ.
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    No dedicated server support was the worst idea ever. I'm not even going to BEGIN saying what all the other flaws are (there are many, and most of them have already been mentioned on here.) The people at IW are leaving the PC players out in the dust. They should know from all the experience that they've had that the PC is the best, most definitive, and most advanced platform of No dedicated server support was the worst idea ever. I'm not even going to BEGIN saying what all the other flaws are (there are many, and most of them have already been mentioned on here.) The people at IW are leaving the PC players out in the dust. They should know from all the experience that they've had that the PC is the best, most definitive, and most advanced platform of all time. Also, people's ISPs are sending players letters and shutting off their internet because of IWnet's P2P system. Way to fail, IW! Expand
  39. JeffR
    Dec 8, 2009
    0
    MP is total crap. no dedicated servers, terrible hardcore modes. Save your money
  40. zanzabar
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    This game is all about the MP experience but unfortunately it was gutted and coming from cod4 its a huge downgrade, using a p2p connection and rotating the server on a persons computer laggs and forces at least a 150ms ping but also limits the game to 9v9, removes user generated maps and has no mod kit. this is unaceptable for a game thats purchased for MP only.
  41. ShawnM
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    The lack of Dedicated servers, no community support, only 18-player multiplayer, and sheer arrogance of Infinity Ward to say that VAC will catch all the cheaters put this over the top for me. I personally handle hacking accusations and demos for a very large FPS gaming community and can attest to the fact that VAC is single handedly the worst at catching hackers. They also only ban on a The lack of Dedicated servers, no community support, only 18-player multiplayer, and sheer arrogance of Infinity Ward to say that VAC will catch all the cheaters put this over the top for me. I personally handle hacking accusations and demos for a very large FPS gaming community and can attest to the fact that VAC is single handedly the worst at catching hackers. They also only ban on a once monthly basis at best, their excuse is so that the cheaters dont get altered... meanwhile the hackers ruin other players game time. And without the ability to moderate players behavior or actions on a server leads to some 11 year old spouting vulgar and racist comments towards others and theres no ability for anyone to stop them. Theres more but I'll try to keep this short, onto other issues. I could get into the gameplay flaws in the COD series but unfortunately I dont have the character limit. So I'll summarize a few flaws. - Theres an X that pops up in your cross hair when you hit someone, weather you can see them or not. Seriously? Who pitched that idea. Its used as a pseudo-wallhack in 90% of situations. - Auto targeting? Really... I get you want to play to casual gamers but if you cant AIM on your own, maybe a FPS isnt for you. Remove this crap. - Theres computer controlled killstreak bonuses. I love it when I get shot by a helicopter with a 360 degree autoaim. Its cheap and lacks any discernible level of skill. Granted they added player controlled, but it should be that all the time. - And of course its biggest flaw, the "spawn everywhere" mentality that is has plagued FPS's lately. I just cleared this room and get 2ft out the door and get shot in the back by some guy who just spawned. Or better yet I spawn in someone's crosshairs... wow again, takes all skill and tactics out of the gameplay. Theres more but I'm sick of talking about CoD and IW. Expand
  42. BrianD
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    With cheats already being released for call of duty modern warfare 2 (see youtube), and the game already being out on warez websites for the xbox 360 and PC. All methods they claimed to prevent piracy and cheating outright failed. The only persons that will have issues will be legitimate buyers wanted to have some fun. As little time as possible has been given to the PC release, making With cheats already being released for call of duty modern warfare 2 (see youtube), and the game already being out on warez websites for the xbox 360 and PC. All methods they claimed to prevent piracy and cheating outright failed. The only persons that will have issues will be legitimate buyers wanted to have some fun. As little time as possible has been given to the PC release, making them say that having mouse support, and graphics settings makes are special features for the pc version. Because of this, i'm missing many features in the game that i personally find mandatory for any PC game to have. For that reason the game is not worthy of being called a game, and in my opinion deserves a 0 rating for the PC. Expand
  43. nitroglycerine
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    After I heard MW2 was not going to have any Dedicated Servers, I knew it was going to go right downhill from there, and then some. And I was right. 9v9 caps, which have now turned into 6v6, serious problems with the IWnet matchmaking, no leaning, probably ridiculously small maps [again], no console, hardly any customization, no mods [not that i like them], no custom maps, probably even After I heard MW2 was not going to have any Dedicated Servers, I knew it was going to go right downhill from there, and then some. And I was right. 9v9 caps, which have now turned into 6v6, serious problems with the IWnet matchmaking, no leaning, probably ridiculously small maps [again], no console, hardly any customization, no mods [not that i like them], no custom maps, probably even more terrible single player full of cinematics, higher unnecessary price, etc. I knew I wasn't going to waste my money on IW making the worst game of the year, so I didn't. I'd rather save it for something more worthwhile. I rate this game at zero until they can actually prove that they care about PC users instead of making a half-assed console to pc port. Good job Infinity Ward, I hope you go under for your mistakes, I really do. Still feels heartwarming to know that you will be losing at least 180 000+ purchases from enraged PC users who have signed the online boycott petition - including myself. Expand
  44. JamesP
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    As said by many, many people the lack of dedicated servers is a bad idea. I live in a place thats a long way away from the main hosting areas and the multiplayer is unplayable. Dedicated servers allowed you to host the game where you would have less lag.
  45. KingOfTehInternets
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    With Modern Warfail 2, Insanity Ward has completely back stabbed and abandoned the PC community. It has removed the ability to join or host dedicated servers and has been replaced by a new system called IWNet which uses a so called, state of the art, Peer to Peer technology, also known as P2P. That
  46. JesseS
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Any PC shooter that wants to take itself seriously has no reason not to include dedicated servers. Matchmaking is a joke, VAC to catch cheaters is a joke, 18 max players is a joke, no dedicated Admin, random server hosts, and $60 price point for game that adds nothing to the pc shooter genre and takes much away.
  47. DougB
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Huge disappointment. They raised the price to $60 and cut all the features that made the previous CoD games on the PC great: Dedicated servers, mod tools, lack of draconian DRM. This game is not worth the extra money on the PC. It's a shame, it could have been great, but Infinity Ward and Activision choose to ignore its fans and customers.
  48. RobertD
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    This is sad. I love Call of Duty, don't get me wrong, and I couldn't help but buy MW2. Even though I felt as if though I've betrayed my PC gaming brethren, I had to get this game. If I love CoD, why did I give MW2 a 0 out of 10? One reason: it doesn't even ****ing start. Why can't a developer, known in the past for quality PC titles, make a game that will start on This is sad. I love Call of Duty, don't get me wrong, and I couldn't help but buy MW2. Even though I felt as if though I've betrayed my PC gaming brethren, I had to get this game. If I love CoD, why did I give MW2 a 0 out of 10? One reason: it doesn't even ****ing start. Why can't a developer, known in the past for quality PC titles, make a game that will start on most operating systems? I know Windows 7 is new, but damn. There are issues with most operating systems, and as of right now, the game is technically UNPLAYABLE. A $60 DISK WITH NO PURPOSE. Expand
  49. Ron
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    No Dedicated server requires you to use steam and binds you to the internet even if you want to play single player only. In today
  50. MattR
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    It's an amazing and fantastic game, but the 0 must be given for the sake of alerting Infinitiy Ward of their blatant lack of patronage to their dedicated PC gamers since Call of Duty 1. I hope they're happy by shoving a console exclusive multiplayer element into the ultimate open-source platform: PC. All that being said, I will still play the game, but Infinity Wards MUST It's an amazing and fantastic game, but the 0 must be given for the sake of alerting Infinitiy Ward of their blatant lack of patronage to their dedicated PC gamers since Call of Duty 1. I hope they're happy by shoving a console exclusive multiplayer element into the ultimate open-source platform: PC. All that being said, I will still play the game, but Infinity Wards MUST implement a dedicated server element. Don't ignore the requests of hundreds of thousands of your fans Infinity Ward. Expand
  51. AlexB
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    I was looking forward to purchasing this game with a new computer but after finding out that I cannot choose a server to play in with my friends whats the point? If I wanted match making and the casual gamer experience I would have gone out and purchased a Nintendo Wii. Infinitiy Ward has landed in that list of companies I don't buy games from anymore like EA until someone can I was looking forward to purchasing this game with a new computer but after finding out that I cannot choose a server to play in with my friends whats the point? If I wanted match making and the casual gamer experience I would have gone out and purchased a Nintendo Wii. Infinitiy Ward has landed in that list of companies I don't buy games from anymore like EA until someone can surgically remove Robert Bowlings' head from his ass. Expand
  52. RobbyG
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers, + 3rd person, no mod support, no server ip join, no customizations.. and the rest is the sam call-of-duty-map-pack. All this shit for $60?!? Are u crazy activision? Don't tell me that is for cracked servers and cheaters, because there are cracked servers and cheaters still now for mw2.. 0! Don't buy this crap! Boycott it!
  53. joes
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    No dedicated, no console, and 9vs.9? seriusly? are you trying to lose palyers IW? single player was great but once you move on to multi you realize that this game was $60 for single player and a frustrating multiplayer where you have to really just grit your teeth and survive until dedicated comes servers come in. i wish i could rate this lower.
  54. DanielJ.
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    18 player max, 2 day digital release waiting period, no dedicated servers, and forced Steam support (even though I love Steam, forcing me to use it is lame). Even though the game might be great (I won't know until I've actually got it, thanks to the digital release crap), I have to tell you guys that you are going the wrong way with the series, and it scares me to think that 18 player max, 2 day digital release waiting period, no dedicated servers, and forced Steam support (even though I love Steam, forcing me to use it is lame). Even though the game might be great (I won't know until I've actually got it, thanks to the digital release crap), I have to tell you guys that you are going the wrong way with the series, and it scares me to think that other developers might follow suit since MW2 will still sell amazingly. Expand
  55. CodyS
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    With the lack of dedicated servers the experience we all love is gone. For Infinity Ward to take it into their own hands and make a decision against millions of loyal fans is a stab in the back.
  56. TeejG
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Horrible game. Dont waste your money. Instead of using the overly priced $65 on the game, use it to wipe your ass. Atleast you could get some use out of it. Do not support this horrible company
  57. JohnB
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Lack of online play with PC/XBox Live and lack of dedicated servers makes this game a complete piece of crap. Thank you for coming out with another FPS like we needed 10,000 more. Wouldn't it be so nice if a game company would come up with an original thought for once?
  58. JoshuaT
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Congratulations IW, you tricked me into buying your shit-tastic game for PC. I was willing to forgive the increase price-tag and lack of Dedicated Servers, but limiting multiplayer to 9v9 is ridiculously retarded. I refuse to encourage my friends to buy this game.
  59. BuyerBeware
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Same engine, less features, costs more, and obviously just a console port due to lazy developers. IW should either switch to solely developing for consoles or admit to and fix their mistakes, the latter not being likely. No point buying this game for PC, seeing as how they stripped most of the features that normally make PC games appealing (dedicated servers, developer console, modding, Same engine, less features, costs more, and obviously just a console port due to lazy developers. IW should either switch to solely developing for consoles or admit to and fix their mistakes, the latter not being likely. No point buying this game for PC, seeing as how they stripped most of the features that normally make PC games appealing (dedicated servers, developer console, modding, etc.) If you're going to buy it, get it for a console. If you're a PC gamer, avoid it like the plague unless you'd like more of the same treatment. Infinity Ward should be ashamed, as should any gamer who claims that the PC gaming community should just "deal with it/that it's not a big deal" and fund a company that apparently has nothing but scorn for their community. This would be a bit like if the console versions had their online multiplayer removed completely, and only had splitscreen support, and having the developer and a raving, loyal-to-the-death PC fanbase who got a product with multiplayer that would be considered complete on PC claim "it's no biggie" or that the upset players are a nitpicking "vocal minority" despite taking console gaming back to the stone age. Expand
  60. AndrewT
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    I have all the COD versions, MW2 I'm skipping. Shame on you IW. You have forgotten it was us PC gamers that got you to where you are now. Don't forget we are your customers. Unless you changes your ways you lost my buisness along with all of the millions of other pc users. tsk tsk
  61. MaxP
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Modern Warfare 2 Is a complete bastardization of what was once a promising title. The main storyline is shorter than most hollywood movies, and about as linear as walking down a corridor shooting random people left and right. The multiplayer aspect is completely broken due to the fact that there are no dedicated servers, as well as countless other problems. All in all, a massive letdown Modern Warfare 2 Is a complete bastardization of what was once a promising title. The main storyline is shorter than most hollywood movies, and about as linear as walking down a corridor shooting random people left and right. The multiplayer aspect is completely broken due to the fact that there are no dedicated servers, as well as countless other problems. All in all, a massive letdown and a festering pile of shit is what we have been dealt with. Fuck you infinity ward, now you're just all about the money, you simply don't give a shit about quality because you know this piece of garbage will sell regardless. Expand
  62. TimK
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    The series seems to be more of a diluted remake of the same game, and at most a mediocre console port. The PC version of this game failed to include features present in its predecessor(s) as well as not improving on the foundations of the previous Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare in terms of the campaign. Being obvious that the game is still closed and linear with numerous scripted events The series seems to be more of a diluted remake of the same game, and at most a mediocre console port. The PC version of this game failed to include features present in its predecessor(s) as well as not improving on the foundations of the previous Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare in terms of the campaign. Being obvious that the game is still closed and linear with numerous scripted events making replay of the single player discouraging. Expand
  63. DanielW
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    The lack of dedicated server support was one of the stupidest decisions ever for an FPS that is so multiplayer oriented. The host player has zero lag while all other players that connect feel like they are on dial-up unless they happen to live nextdoor to the host. Also, no-one can ban other players except Infinity Ward, and they are being very slow to do so. Goodbye lag-free multiplayer. The lack of dedicated server support was one of the stupidest decisions ever for an FPS that is so multiplayer oriented. The host player has zero lag while all other players that connect feel like they are on dial-up unless they happen to live nextdoor to the host. Also, no-one can ban other players except Infinity Ward, and they are being very slow to do so. Goodbye lag-free multiplayer. Goodbye servers that ban the idiots so the rest of us can play. We wanted a great follow-up to the CoD4 multiplayer experience, and instead we get an even shorter singleplayer campaign, and multiplayer that is a lag-fest and a cheater's playground. Expand
  64. BrentW
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Disappointing IW, very disappointing. You have ruined your reputation as a company, by not investing a little extra (or less) in the ability to have dedicated server support. I no longer hold IW above treyarch when it comes to game quality. You have lost the support from PC gamers and Competitive community, which no-doubt determines whether a game shall be successful (in the eyes of the Disappointing IW, very disappointing. You have ruined your reputation as a company, by not investing a little extra (or less) in the ability to have dedicated server support. I no longer hold IW above treyarch when it comes to game quality. You have lost the support from PC gamers and Competitive community, which no-doubt determines whether a game shall be successful (in the eyes of the community) or not. Sure IW I have no doubts you will make a killing off this game, but I hope you learn from your mistakes. Expand
  65. GeoffW
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    IW clearly turned their back on PC gamers, the video game community that made them what they are today. No dedicated server support, only 18 players max in online play, among the myriad of other "features" this game boasts to cater to the console crowd. No sale. I hope you're happy with your new friends IW, because you've certainly lost us. And we don't forget.
  66. TC
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Matchmaking system is for the weak.... can't believe console players put up with this. I'm surprised you don't sell them time on dedicated servers. I am as disappointed in this as CoD2... which wasn't balanced for "sprinting"... now they removed "lean". Whoever did your game balancing over the last few years... is not good at their job. Fire them. Don't try to Matchmaking system is for the weak.... can't believe console players put up with this. I'm surprised you don't sell them time on dedicated servers. I am as disappointed in this as CoD2... which wasn't balanced for "sprinting"... now they removed "lean". Whoever did your game balancing over the last few years... is not good at their job. Fire them. Don't try to tell me this is for my own good. Expand
  67. BdoFantino
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    Yeah if this thing is just an Fin port off console, I refuse to pay anywhere over $40 for it. COD4 on my PC made the console versions look and play like a joke. You cant take away high quality features that were all so used to. And to whoever is saying this only affects 10% of people and to get over it, WTF are you talking about, 90% of people are pissed. You are the 10% with low Yeah if this thing is just an Fin port off console, I refuse to pay anywhere over $40 for it. COD4 on my PC made the console versions look and play like a joke. You cant take away high quality features that were all so used to. And to whoever is saying this only affects 10% of people and to get over it, WTF are you talking about, 90% of people are pissed. You are the 10% with low standards, so kiss ass all you want. Expand
  68. DavidH
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    IW is stripping long-standing consumer benefits with its PC game. Purchasing the game is nothing less than a declaration of your willingness to loss those benefits, and you're communicating that fact not just to IW, but to all of the publishers who are watching closely to see just how much they can get away with offering gamers a lesser exchange for their money. And don't IW is stripping long-standing consumer benefits with its PC game. Purchasing the game is nothing less than a declaration of your willingness to loss those benefits, and you're communicating that fact not just to IW, but to all of the publishers who are watching closely to see just how much they can get away with offering gamers a lesser exchange for their money. And don't pretend for a moment that this is just about PC gaming. The trend in all of gaming is away from game ownership and towards gaming as a rented service. The publishers' utopian wetdream is a market where the gamer owns nothing. They pay explicitly for every hour of gameplay they experience, and even then are only allowed to play within the strict and permanent boundaries erected by the publisher. And when the publisher decides you should stop playing an old game because it is no longer profitable enough, they terminate it and offer you the 'choice' of buying a new game, or to not play at all. I've read a lot of commentary that is dismissive if not outright disparaging of the passionate furor exhibited by a select few over the MW2 issue, saying things like, "what's the problem, just let the market decide." Yes, absolutely, the market should decide, but don't "let" it happen. Realize that you, as a game-purchasing consumer, *ARE* the market. The market is nothing but the cumulative purchasing choices of all consumers. The only power you have as a consumer is to accept or reject the exchange offered by publishers. If you choose to purchase MW2, you are personally endorsing the continued erosion of value that gamers receive in their exchange with publishers. A lot of people think that they can complain about issues like this, but then buy the product anyway, and somehow that influences publishers to react to their complaints. The only thing that influences them is WHETHER OR NOT YOU BUY THE GAME! Bitching about something and buying the game is equivalent to buying the game and saying nothing -- it's equivalent even to buying the game and saying "Great job guys, keep up the good work and be sure to strip away more of my consumer benefits next time." Because the only thing they hear is the sound of you purchasing the game - registering yet another gamer tacitly accepting reduced benefits, lowering the standard by which all publishers measure the market for all games. There are more games than I could play in a lifetime, and no single one of them is great enough that it's worth trading away the freedoms that I want to enjoy as a gamer. The only way I can compel publishers to respect and uphold those freedoms is by using my own incremental market vote to communicate the value of those freedoms, and to hope that others do the same in sufficient volume to convince publishers in no uncertain terms that it's more profitable to provide them than it is to take them away. Expand
  69. TonyL.
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    I don't have to say much because ever body already knows the terrible things Infinity Ward has done to the PC experience. On top of that, Call of Duty started on the PC and now IW betrays us long-time fans. IW/Activision are too greedy. You SOBs would have made more money if you had not changed anything from CoD4. Go to hell Infinity Ward. It's funny to see all the console I don't have to say much because ever body already knows the terrible things Infinity Ward has done to the PC experience. On top of that, Call of Duty started on the PC and now IW betrays us long-time fans. IW/Activision are too greedy. You SOBs would have made more money if you had not changed anything from CoD4. Go to hell Infinity Ward. It's funny to see all the console fanboys praising IW like Gods. Bring on Treyarch CoD Nov. 2010! Expand
  70. GeorgeL
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers? Well i guess Infinity Ward can go eat themselves. If i wanted consoletard level matchmaking id have bought the xbox version but i dont and i didnt. Its lazy and pathetic, especially with all things given. I hope this backlash stays and haunts them for a good long while.
  71. b00tsyC
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    I agree with every single bit "Shawn M" said. Modern warfare 1 sucked already pretty bad, part 2 is even worse. If you want tactics, skills, nonlinear single player levels and cheating filled bunny hopping teens in multi player that cheat then DO NOT buy this game. don't get fooled by the marketing around the game, you are getting ripped off if you buy it.
  72. DG
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    The one thing that this games does well is show the fullblown arrogance and ego of IW. Thank you for creating an arcadey shooter that feels like it was directed and produced by Bay/Bruckheimer (it's even scored by Hans Zimmer!!) and thank you for giving the PC community the big ol' Finger! /sarcasm. I'm glad I have Gamefly so I could finish the 6 hour game and return it as The one thing that this games does well is show the fullblown arrogance and ego of IW. Thank you for creating an arcadey shooter that feels like it was directed and produced by Bay/Bruckheimer (it's even scored by Hans Zimmer!!) and thank you for giving the PC community the big ol' Finger! /sarcasm. I'm glad I have Gamefly so I could finish the 6 hour game and return it as quickly as possible as I wait until I boot up Battlefield BC 2!! Expand
  73. KarriV
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    I bought this game and just realised that I have wasted $60 :( so sad that my friends did the same. There is no Dedicated servers to play online... I like COD4 playing online once Singleplayer is done. People who host the game, if 10+ Players then the game goes crazy Lag. Can't able to shoot properly while playing online. My friends said the same.
  74. JakeB
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    As a fellow Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 player i find myself questioning the leadership of Inifnity Ward. The new so called player "Matching" system is a joke. This morning i got "matched" with a listening server in Amercia (a host with DSL, whos upload is barely enough to support one client), when i am connecting through an exchange in Perth, Western Australia, the other side of the As a fellow Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 player i find myself questioning the leadership of Inifnity Ward. The new so called player "Matching" system is a joke. This morning i got "matched" with a listening server in Amercia (a host with DSL, whos upload is barely enough to support one client), when i am connecting through an exchange in Perth, Western Australia, the other side of the world. Now Infinity Ward if that is your idea of a match you seriously have failed the whole community. Bring back dedicated servers! Something that is reliable and does not lag! Expand
  75. Spook75
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    No dedicated server, thus no means to widely and decisively police the game for cheaters, griefers, and hackers. If we had the dedicated server people may be less inclined to hack if they knew that there were consequences, getting banned from your favorite server is one of them. I could go on about the minutia, but I will not, but focus on the most important part for me; PC Multiplayer. No dedicated server, thus no means to widely and decisively police the game for cheaters, griefers, and hackers. If we had the dedicated server people may be less inclined to hack if they knew that there were consequences, getting banned from your favorite server is one of them. I could go on about the minutia, but I will not, but focus on the most important part for me; PC Multiplayer. No more money will be spent on any further Modern Warfare products. I'm done with it unless they release a PC patch giving this game the same fundamental gameplay the first Modern Warfare had. Expand
  76. TCon
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    CoD:MW2 for PC is an abysmal failure. First of all, there is no lean, something that all CoD games before, and even the Medal of Honor games on Wii have. This is of course because it's a bad port of the console version. The fact that you can't have dedicated servers means that playing online is tedious, and laggy. Not only that, but IW decided to give the host of the match near CoD:MW2 for PC is an abysmal failure. First of all, there is no lean, something that all CoD games before, and even the Medal of Honor games on Wii have. This is of course because it's a bad port of the console version. The fact that you can't have dedicated servers means that playing online is tedious, and laggy. Not only that, but IW decided to give the host of the match near to 0ms ping time, meaning they will most likely always kill you. The single player is too short and not even that original. It deals with enemies invading the US (Turning Point: Fall of Liberty), some sort of government conspiracy (HL2, The Conduit, and countless other FPSes). Not to mention there's no mods or user generated content, and all DLC will have to be paid for, which is a strange idea in PC gaming. If you're gonna get this game, get it on consoles, the PC version is not worth it AT ALL and is the same price as the 360/PS3 version. Expand
  77. FluffyS
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    Bottom line, there's no excuse for an FPS these days which effectively doesn't have multiplayer, especially on the PC. IW is trying to turn the PC experience into the worst parts of the console experience. It's a mistake, and for a competitive gamer, it is a show stopper.
  78. LB
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    The removal of dedicated servers and pathetically short campaign really screwed this one up. Killing off dedicated servers not only kills the PC community, but is essentially a power play to get gamers to buy Modern Warfare 3 when they turn off IWNet for MW2 due to obsolescence. This is just another example of the publishers and developers trying to screw the customer. I'm done with The removal of dedicated servers and pathetically short campaign really screwed this one up. Killing off dedicated servers not only kills the PC community, but is essentially a power play to get gamers to buy Modern Warfare 3 when they turn off IWNet for MW2 due to obsolescence. This is just another example of the publishers and developers trying to screw the customer. I'm done with Activision and their crummy console ports. I'd like to see more critical reviews that aren't written by reviewers who lay in bed with the game developers. I'm looking at you, IGN. Expand
  79. Subsonic7
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    Too short single player experience that lacks the depth of games like Borderlands and Bioshock. Just not enough value for money for any gamer looking for some quality single player game time. The story is horrible as well. Its essentially ideas thrown in at random just as an excuse to set a level in a particular setting. That
  80. ScottD
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    If I wanted a console game,I would a bought one!No dedicated servers,no clan based game play,etc..Nothing more than a ps3, 360 game repackaged as a pc game.Game has so much potential if it would just have dedicated server's,doesn't seem to much to ask.People such as myself pay several grand for a high-end gaming rig,and all we get is another console based game that I could use a If I wanted a console game,I would a bought one!No dedicated servers,no clan based game play,etc..Nothing more than a ps3, 360 game repackaged as a pc game.Game has so much potential if it would just have dedicated server's,doesn't seem to much to ask.People such as myself pay several grand for a high-end gaming rig,and all we get is another console based game that I could use a $200 ps3,or xbox to play. Expand
  81. TravisW
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    Too many features missing compared to past versions of the series, and shooters available on PC in general. This is a mockery of PC gamers and they have the audacity to charge sixty dollars - ten more than the MSRP of any other game on the market. That's twenty percent more expensive, for seventy five percent of a game.
  82. SuneL
    Nov 14, 2009
    0
    This game is unplayable on multiplayer. This is what you will get for
  83. PeterM
    Nov 14, 2009
    0
    The game is horrible: bad DirectX 9 console graphics (by 2009 standards), the world appears totally unreal. Everything is pre-scripted, no freedom at all. It's a terrible console port that does not deserve any of the publicity it is getting. YOU CANNOT EVEN SELL YOUR COPY of the game after it has been activated (via Steam). It is a ripoff and I wonder when the first people sue The game is horrible: bad DirectX 9 console graphics (by 2009 standards), the world appears totally unreal. Everything is pre-scripted, no freedom at all. It's a terrible console port that does not deserve any of the publicity it is getting. YOU CANNOT EVEN SELL YOUR COPY of the game after it has been activated (via Steam). It is a ripoff and I wonder when the first people sue Activision/Steam for not being able to sell this bad piece of software. Expand
  84. SusieT
    Nov 14, 2009
    0
    Honestly, this deserves a 3 for effort, and a 0 for the final product. As many others have said, no dedicated servers (Aka, no community, in a sense, and lag), no console (Pretty much no messing around, can honestly be forgiven) and well, 9v9 (Alot less then most of our games.) Single player is short, too short to make up for the multiplayer, and is very easy. I'd suggest that you Honestly, this deserves a 3 for effort, and a 0 for the final product. As many others have said, no dedicated servers (Aka, no community, in a sense, and lag), no console (Pretty much no messing around, can honestly be forgiven) and well, 9v9 (Alot less then most of our games.) Single player is short, too short to make up for the multiplayer, and is very easy. I'd suggest that you stay away until it is patched, or just stick with COD4. Expand
  85. JaeQ
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    The Modern Warfare series itself was nothing innovative or special just Counter Strike: 2007. The unlock system was part of BF2 which came out long before MW1. The weapons themselves are just as generic as you get.. you know m16, ak47. Now I would give the first MF a 6 or so, but I've seen much more new content in small mods for games let alone sequels.. Top that off with The Modern Warfare series itself was nothing innovative or special just Counter Strike: 2007. The unlock system was part of BF2 which came out long before MW1. The weapons themselves are just as generic as you get.. you know m16, ak47. Now I would give the first MF a 6 or so, but I've seen much more new content in small mods for games let alone sequels.. Top that off with disgustingly short, linear, faux-cinematic sp and the lack of dedicated servers in Mp as well as the worst choice of anticheat tool and you have a game just as bad as the latest Wolfenstein. It's not worth buying at all, so it deserves nothing more than a 0. PS. Love the fanbois giving this shit 10's. You're either 12 or just have subpar IQ and sheep along with what's mainstream. Expand
  86. Erik
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    No dedicated servers, Steam crashing and locking up, D/Cing all the time. It took me 2 evenings to get the game installed because of the crappy installation procedures. The singleplayer missions are great, but this game seriously needs to get its multiplayer part fixed, or people will loose interest and leave.
  87. gammab
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    Ok no dedi servers wtf? your match setup is a joke i lag with ever host. this dual wielding crap is so stupid. this isn't halo IW only 1 ump should be held at a time. i also feel like you just brushed off the pc players as if they were a spec of dust on your suit. Ive been playing this game since cod2 and loved every one but this. game play sucks, lag is crazy, and your Nazi zombie Ok no dedi servers wtf? your match setup is a joke i lag with ever host. this dual wielding crap is so stupid. this isn't halo IW only 1 ump should be held at a time. i also feel like you just brushed off the pc players as if they were a spec of dust on your suit. Ive been playing this game since cod2 and loved every one but this. game play sucks, lag is crazy, and your Nazi zombie replacement sucked. ill never be able to get back the 60 bucks i spent on this shit but since i already did i hope your guys pull this game out of the toilet and clean it up. Expand
  88. DanC
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    Slow, choppy game play due to the terrible 'host it yourself' setup. IW gave a big 'F U' to the gaming community but now allowing dedicated server support. No way to kick hackers or griefers. No way to get 10v10 of your favorite friends together without jumping through tiny, tiny hoops. Overall my expectations were huge, but I want my money back. Additionally, I really Slow, choppy game play due to the terrible 'host it yourself' setup. IW gave a big 'F U' to the gaming community but now allowing dedicated server support. No way to kick hackers or griefers. No way to get 10v10 of your favorite friends together without jumping through tiny, tiny hoops. Overall my expectations were huge, but I want my money back. Additionally, I really think Metacritic reviews should be required to play the game for a week after launch before reviewing it. It sounds like some reviewers are either a) Console-only gamers, or b) getting paid to do these reviews. Unacceptable. Ps. The hackers are ridiculous, there's no way to do anything about them. IW just proved that they are money grubbing game developers, just like EA. Expand
  89. Maciej
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    Several good ideas, I like the concept of some 20 or so cooperative missions. But unfortunately, first problem was the fact there was no LEAN functionality. This is a solid thing that I expected the game to have, especially that I saw a video where one of the dev's said everything in the sence of control of the character was exactly the same as in COD4. Additionally no dedicated Several good ideas, I like the concept of some 20 or so cooperative missions. But unfortunately, first problem was the fact there was no LEAN functionality. This is a solid thing that I expected the game to have, especially that I saw a video where one of the dev's said everything in the sence of control of the character was exactly the same as in COD4. Additionally no dedicated servers feature / multiplayer is very dissapoining with random lag spikes, and unreliable conectivity. Additionaly there is no feature to disable the HUD during signle player... and I would like to play SP "hardcore like" .... I just hate the target crosshair ... is it so hard to remove this? Sorry but I'm dissapointed I spent my $. Expand
  90. ZillaM
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    This game is broken on the PC, the single player is good but the way too short. The multiplayer is a console port made from console to the PC. IWnet is a joke, you can't play your favourite maps, always laggy (even the ping time in ms is taken out and replaced with a cellphone coverage bar system hiding how bad the lag is), full of cheaters and no server admins to control it, spend This game is broken on the PC, the single player is good but the way too short. The multiplayer is a console port made from console to the PC. IWnet is a joke, you can't play your favourite maps, always laggy (even the ping time in ms is taken out and replaced with a cellphone coverage bar system hiding how bad the lag is), full of cheaters and no server admins to control it, spend more time waiting for matchmaking to complete than playing, no chance to meet regulars to play with which is something youve always had on PC. I havent even mentioned the install from DISC took 6 hours to complete...the whole game has to be considered a fail in my book on the PC. Expand
  91. NickJ
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    The biggest FPS, and an outright insult to PC gamers. The deplorable practice of demanding more money for less substance, the arrogant and condescending attitude towards PC gamers, and the utterly miserable online multiplayer experience all sends a very clear message to gamers and other companies that it is perfectly okay to scam and rip-off consumers if they can get away with it. Save The biggest FPS, and an outright insult to PC gamers. The deplorable practice of demanding more money for less substance, the arrogant and condescending attitude towards PC gamers, and the utterly miserable online multiplayer experience all sends a very clear message to gamers and other companies that it is perfectly okay to scam and rip-off consumers if they can get away with it. Save your money and wait for Battlefield: Bad Company 2. Expand
  92. JeremyS
    Nov 18, 2009
    0
    The one positive side of the Metacritic reviews of COD6MW2 is that we see who's dipping into Big Game Developement's pockets and boost those game's scores... on the other hand MW2 is lackluster and pretty much shy of any real substance... I mean FFS a multiplayer game without the multiplayer portion is fucking rediculous any review above 5/10 or 50% is overrated the game is The one positive side of the Metacritic reviews of COD6MW2 is that we see who's dipping into Big Game Developement's pockets and boost those game's scores... on the other hand MW2 is lackluster and pretty much shy of any real substance... I mean FFS a multiplayer game without the multiplayer portion is fucking rediculous any review above 5/10 or 50% is overrated the game is half finished and crappy the servers.. oops sorry I mean Hosted games lag so much that I cant take 5 steps around a corner and appear in the kill cam back 5 steps being shot before i turned the corner... Expand
  93. SergeR
    Nov 18, 2009
    0
    The multiplayer experience is horrific with no dedicated server. After a couple of hours of the game constantly "trying to find new host", I gave up. I will be completely honest and say that I did not play the single player, which was praised by many. The multiplayer though deserves a SOLID 0. IW screwd this one up bad!
  94. JoeB
    Nov 19, 2009
    0
    I love Call of Duty. I really do. I have bought all of them that have come out for PC. I always have. But Infinity Ward needs to feel the burn of gamer dissatisfaction on the issue of Dedicated Servers. This is a downright idiotic move. This is unproductive. This is a step backwards. If I wanted to match-make, I'd make friends and use XFire. To force us into this rediculous system is I love Call of Duty. I really do. I have bought all of them that have come out for PC. I always have. But Infinity Ward needs to feel the burn of gamer dissatisfaction on the issue of Dedicated Servers. This is a downright idiotic move. This is unproductive. This is a step backwards. If I wanted to match-make, I'd make friends and use XFire. To force us into this rediculous system is downright foolish on thier part. For gamers, don't buy this game if you play it for the multiplayer. If Infinity Ward wants to stiffle our creativity for dedicated servers with our own rules and mods, then we'll return the favour and stiffle thier cashflow. Boycott baby. Expand
  95. AgentDark
    Nov 19, 2009
    0
    Single Player: 3-4 hours worth? What's the point of that? This game costs $90 USD to buy it in Australia. By comparison, Dragon Age Origins, which came out around the same time, costs $50 USD in Aus and that has given me at least 2weeks for a single playthrough. I'll let you decide which is value for money Multiplayer: A joke. Quake, a 13 year old game, has a more technically Single Player: 3-4 hours worth? What's the point of that? This game costs $90 USD to buy it in Australia. By comparison, Dragon Age Origins, which came out around the same time, costs $50 USD in Aus and that has given me at least 2weeks for a single playthrough. I'll let you decide which is value for money Multiplayer: A joke. Quake, a 13 year old game, has a more technically advanced multiplayer component. It's clear what Activision's agenda is here - with no pesky dedicated server or mod support around to keep the game alive (see Halflife for example), it's easy to see that in 1.5-2 years time they will release the next Call of $$$ and everyone will be 'forced' to go buy that. In the meantime, they can charge people for new maps/gameplay modes (Some of which is actually already in the game, just hidden. Go google the developer console hack which lets you enable hidden features). Extremely poor offering from Activision/Infinity Ward. Highly Recommend you save your money and stick to CoD4. It's literally superior in every single way. Expand
  96. GeorgeD
    Nov 21, 2009
    0
    The lack of solid, standard features common to almost all PC games in a title of this magnitude is unforgivable. Had the single player experience been sizable enough to off set some of the inequalities in the multiplayer (IE Bioshock had NO multiplayer, but it's singleplayer experience made up for it) I would have considered a higher rating. As it stands I have played the single The lack of solid, standard features common to almost all PC games in a title of this magnitude is unforgivable. Had the single player experience been sizable enough to off set some of the inequalities in the multiplayer (IE Bioshock had NO multiplayer, but it's singleplayer experience made up for it) I would have considered a higher rating. As it stands I have played the single player and multiplayer component of the game on a friends computer and am unimpressed. While I find the singleplayer experience very enjoyable, it's length is simply to short to justify the cost of the title. The multiplayer as best as I can describe is 'functionally retarded'. While I generally disagree with giving a game a rating so low, I feel an example must be made by scoring it ZERO. Expand
  97. ANGELF
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    Besides having no dedicated server to play on, the fact that IW desided to go through STEAM for this game is incredulous. I am trying to play a game that I spent 60 bucks on IN STORE and I cant play because steam is going through routine maintenence. I payed for a DVD game. Not a downloadable game and I have to wait to play this game. Are you kidding me. Thanks for the bannana in the Tail Besides having no dedicated server to play on, the fact that IW desided to go through STEAM for this game is incredulous. I am trying to play a game that I spent 60 bucks on IN STORE and I cant play because steam is going through routine maintenence. I payed for a DVD game. Not a downloadable game and I have to wait to play this game. Are you kidding me. Thanks for the bannana in the Tail pipe IW. Expand
  98. AnthonyO
    Nov 23, 2009
    0
    This past weekend I took part in a COD4 Tourney at a LAN, several months ago in planning MW2 was favored over the COD4 as the "Latest and greatest" but alas we host the server and run a competitive mod to keep things balenced and as such MW2 just wouldn't have worked. Several people had the game and were playing it, but were able to beat the game and play in the tourneys during the This past weekend I took part in a COD4 Tourney at a LAN, several months ago in planning MW2 was favored over the COD4 as the "Latest and greatest" but alas we host the server and run a competitive mod to keep things balenced and as such MW2 just wouldn't have worked. Several people had the game and were playing it, but were able to beat the game and play in the tourneys during the LAN. When I asked about the multilayer they simply said they go back to COD4 to play online. From this experience I have to say that IW has made it clear they do not see the PC community as a worthwhile venture, I for one have lost all faith I had in IW and the people there to produce even a mediocre game ever again. Expand
  99. Ryan
    Nov 25, 2009
    0
    This would have been such a good game for pc but they forgot about their fans. Scratch that - they told their fans to go fuck themselves. No dedicated servers is the main issue, with the matchmaking being HORRIBLY laggy, and that's not to mention all the other things that are missing when you can't join a dedicated server of your liking. I beat the campaign in 6 hours on This would have been such a good game for pc but they forgot about their fans. Scratch that - they told their fans to go fuck themselves. No dedicated servers is the main issue, with the matchmaking being HORRIBLY laggy, and that's not to mention all the other things that are missing when you can't join a dedicated server of your liking. I beat the campaign in 6 hours on Veteran, and the new death streaks/perks reward you for getting your ass kicked. They even lowered the player count all the way down from 60 to 18. Call of Duty 4 is a MUCH better game. Please do not waste your money on this shit. Expand
  100. DannyS
    Dec 15, 2009
    0
    A step back from CoD4. Short Single Play and a terrible multiplayer. A terrible spawning system, no dedicated servers, host selection is faulty, and overall bad experience. If you're looking for a competitive FPS, look somewhere else.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.