Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PC

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6262 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JosephB
    Dec 5, 2009
    5
    Modern Warfare 2 single player is a complete joy to play. The action is nonstop from start to finish. The Spec Ops is also pretty cool addition to the game. The Multi player on Steam is another thing. The issue I have is with the lack of security updates to stop the hacking / cheating. Steam and Infinity Ward are not doing near enough to deal with this issue. It completely kills the fun Modern Warfare 2 single player is a complete joy to play. The action is nonstop from start to finish. The Spec Ops is also pretty cool addition to the game. The Multi player on Steam is another thing. The issue I have is with the lack of security updates to stop the hacking / cheating. Steam and Infinity Ward are not doing near enough to deal with this issue. It completely kills the fun in playing the multi player. My rating would be a 10 if they would get the multi player hacking / cheating under control. I don't understand why they are allowing it to happen on such a great game. Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2011
    6
    Call Of Duty : Modern Warfare 2 is an action packed game full of gunfights, explosives and objectives. The problem I see with the game, is the unbalanced guns in the Multiplayer and the lack of features from the previous CODs (such as Zombies). Other than that, the game runs very well and will be fun for most people.
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    5
    Nowadays, almost every PC server for this game and other COD games are hacked. It's horrible. Now, this game was decent when it cam out, but now, with some many hackers, it's really hard to enjoy. Your better off playing this on Xbox 360 or PS3. My score would have been 8/10... but hackers now... So, 5/10 for the time spent trying to find a normal server.
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    Infinity wards "Modern warfare 2" is quite fun the campaign gets repetitive like any other game but the end of the world theme is pretty AWESOME! the fact that the Russians are invading the U.S is heart pumping at times but Russia for the villains is a bit overused for games such as these. IW has added a CO OP option which sets you in places from the campaign and offers a challenge likeInfinity wards "Modern warfare 2" is quite fun the campaign gets repetitive like any other game but the end of the world theme is pretty AWESOME! the fact that the Russians are invading the U.S is heart pumping at times but Russia for the villains is a bit overused for games such as these. IW has added a CO OP option which sets you in places from the campaign and offers a challenge like fighting off a bunch of solders in protective armor with only explosives or fight off hordes of enemy's in a building with you're friend even on veteran difficulty it's pretty fun. And the multiplayer is a mixed bag there is overpowered guns and killstreak and cheap death streaks such as you go into a last stand with you're pistol or when you die you drop a grenade and then there is One man army with it equipped you can switch to a different class at any time is people over use it and attach a grenade launcher on their assault rifle and every time they run out of ammo they switch over to their one man army and equips the SAME CLASS WITH A GRENADE LAUNCHER AND ONE MAN ARMY AND DO IT AGAIN AND AGAIN! so would i buy it? yeah you can find it a gamestop for 12 or 11$ Pre Owned. Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    I'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a majorI'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a major issue. Most of the players use either the ACR, which literally has perfect accuracy, or an explosive weapon, which have earned their bad reputation. I'll take -2 off for that. And then, the latency issues. Even when my Internet connection is top notch, I still get the occasional 200+ ping while the host has 0. -1 for that. In the graphical sense, it actually strikes a nice balance between graphics and performance, and has given it a reputation of being able to run on nearly anything. I was able to run this on a Pentium core and a Radeon 4550 HD GPU, and the game looked quite good. If you are a fan of Call of Duty, get this game, but not for the multiplayer. Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is a little, disappointing. And I'm going to say why It is? It costs more, and It haves less multiplayer features than other PC shooters, exactly like GameSpot said. Still, this game stays fresh with the superb campaign and spec ops. 79 out of 100
  7. Dalek
    Jan 3, 2010
    5
    I expected more, I completed it in 6 hours. I would normally take a day or 2 if I got bored of it. Single player is pretty good, execpt it's short, I felt like hey it's the beginning. Now it's near the end. Multiplayer seems quite fun at first but then you realize your doing the same thing over and over, kill, level up, dead, dead. Lose, win. There are other game modes but I expected more, I completed it in 6 hours. I would normally take a day or 2 if I got bored of it. Single player is pretty good, execpt it's short, I felt like hey it's the beginning. Now it's near the end. Multiplayer seems quite fun at first but then you realize your doing the same thing over and over, kill, level up, dead, dead. Lose, win. There are other game modes but they take some time to get use to and alot of them suck. They didn't do dedicated servers to stop random settings and to ruin the users expirence. But what I'm not happy about is 8 - 12 players. 6 vs 6 seems like an ok ammount, they just need to make the maps a little bit smaller in my opinion. 8 players? That's so pointless, They should also fix joining lobbys and maybe enable chat in it instead of voice chat. Expand
  8. MattL
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    After reading all the reviews about the game, i was timid at trying but i already got it. Single player was like its predecessor but introduces the new equipment in multiplayer. While i have only played about half of it, it is a decent plot so far. Multiplayer is what i mainly bought the game for. IWnet is exactly like the console version of the game (at least cod4 ps3). IW not putting in After reading all the reviews about the game, i was timid at trying but i already got it. Single player was like its predecessor but introduces the new equipment in multiplayer. While i have only played about half of it, it is a decent plot so far. Multiplayer is what i mainly bought the game for. IWnet is exactly like the console version of the game (at least cod4 ps3). IW not putting in Dedicated servers was a huge let down but, for me, IW net has not majorly failed me yet. Sparattic lag here and there but it hasn't had any major effects on my gaming experience. I enjoy multiplayer except for the occasional aim bots you happen to run into and make a good game only a few seconds which can be very frustrating. IWnet is the reason this game for a 7 out of 10, while it is a crappy replacement for dedicated servers, mw2 still delivers some quality game play experiences that cod4 had. Expand
  9. Apr 26, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. geiles game die ki stellt sich garnicht mal so dumm an und die story ist mitreisend. Aber sie ist sehr kurts ich war nach 5 stunden durch -.- ich hoffe das der MP mehr hergibt. Spannend war die Spezialeinheit. Das war das beste an dem singleplayer. Expand
  10. winpeaze
    Feb 3, 2010
    5
    Lets be realistic. The game is Fine there are some stupid combination of perks like commando with marathon and lightweight that is really annoying. But what the most annoying thing in this game is no private server. which makes me ask myself is it ok?? and the answer : cant personalize games on the net only in private games which do not count for XP. The match making seems to be done byLets be realistic. The game is Fine there are some stupid combination of perks like commando with marathon and lightweight that is really annoying. But what the most annoying thing in this game is no private server. which makes me ask myself is it ok?? and the answer : cant personalize games on the net only in private games which do not count for XP. The match making seems to be done by monkeys (No offense but is so ugly and inefficient)drops you a lot and you could spend 1/3 of the time on lobys merging or to see the matchmaker go crazy. I think that if they have used private servers like cod4 the game could be ok. Also Why consider PC gamer like if we wanted to play like on xbox/ps3??? why the game was made like if we were on a stupid xbox/ps3 without any console like cod 4?? Ping is marked with bars not with numbers which is really annoying to me. Being reallistic PC gamers deserve much more we paid for a game that does not allow any way of customization for game types etc its just stupid. Maybe good intentions from infinity ward but some lack of experience on this. Shame i was hoping a lot. Expand
  11. FionnM
    Jan 3, 2010
    7
    Would Give it a nine if it had dedicated servers, the multiplayer is full unbalenced weapons and noobs that could be sorted with servers and admins. Other than that, it is a fantastic game, brilliant graphics and play, but COD 4 it aint if you are looking for some rewarding, competative multiplayer
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    This is, in my opinion, the weakest of all of the newer Call of Duty titles. The Single Player storyline was laughable, and certain levels were annoyingly difficult. The Multiplayer mode was fun for a while, but it seemed almost in slow-motion compared to previous titles, which didn't seem to match it's arcade-like feel. The graphics were drab and bland, and the sheer amount of explosions,This is, in my opinion, the weakest of all of the newer Call of Duty titles. The Single Player storyline was laughable, and certain levels were annoyingly difficult. The Multiplayer mode was fun for a while, but it seemed almost in slow-motion compared to previous titles, which didn't seem to match it's arcade-like feel. The graphics were drab and bland, and the sheer amount of explosions, screen-wobble, red-out and debris gives you a headache, much like watching a Transporter or Bourne film. This game is saved from a yellow score by Special Ops mode, which is fun in short bursts and much more enjoyable than Multiplayer. Expand
  13. Aug 23, 2010
    6
    For the PC version well if it was rated just on multiplayer it would deserver something like -5 for the many glitches and hackers you find on the horrible IW net. It my work on the 360 and PS3 but the PC is nether. VAC is the worst security system for detecting cheats next to none at all. if your hoping that you will get a good game with a good connection hope will be all you have and theFor the PC version well if it was rated just on multiplayer it would deserver something like -5 for the many glitches and hackers you find on the horrible IW net. It my work on the 360 and PS3 but the PC is nether. VAC is the worst security system for detecting cheats next to none at all. if your hoping that you will get a good game with a good connection hope will be all you have and the matchmaking doesn't even work quite right.

    The single-player is fun but nothing to special sticks to the same style as MW and WAW. you switch between two main characters that you play as. The storyline is still fun to follow and play along with.
    Co-op. this is probably the best part about MW2 the different modes with maps same as the singleplay putting on a new twist. Play alone or with a friend.
    Expand
  14. JoniP
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    The SP was absolutely great. No doubt about it. I would give 9 for this, but admittedly theres just too much features deleted when compared to the original. The bots in single player gave me a real headache. Enemys shoot through smokes and autoaim always to the player first. Then the buddies... sometimes it feels like they just act what they're should be. They miss the target wich is The SP was absolutely great. No doubt about it. I would give 9 for this, but admittedly theres just too much features deleted when compared to the original. The bots in single player gave me a real headache. Enemys shoot through smokes and autoaim always to the player first. Then the buddies... sometimes it feels like they just act what they're should be. They miss the target wich is 12ft away and spare their grenades like grandfather legacies, so the game depends all the time on the actions of the player. Expand
  15. JonathanLoP
    Jan 2, 2010
    6
    Good game but pc version is bad.
  16. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    The lack of dedicated servers, LAN and mapping and modding support isn't going to make this game more epic, despite the continuation of better gameplay and the story itself. Also the map packs aren't free either as the usage of launching this game from Steam is getting on people's nerves.
  17. Mar 8, 2011
    5
    I used to love the Call of Duty games up until the industry decided that PC gamers just don't buy games anymore. Now many of the game designers just make games for underpowered and overpriced console systems, and younger PC gamers don't have a clue what PC gaming used to be like or what they are missing out on. Now we all get stuck with overpriced console ports that look like they haveI used to love the Call of Duty games up until the industry decided that PC gamers just don't buy games anymore. Now many of the game designers just make games for underpowered and overpriced console systems, and younger PC gamers don't have a clue what PC gaming used to be like or what they are missing out on. Now we all get stuck with overpriced console ports that look like they have the same graphics that games on PC had 3 or 4 years ago, as if the PC version is just an after thought and a way to make some extra cash. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is one of those games. The first Call of Duty games were well known for their single player mode, and in Call of Duty 2, the MP was quite good for its time. I bought MW2 when it went on sale (which is not very often for this greedy company- it's still $60 on Steam even AFTER Black Ops came out!). I refuse to pay $60 for a PC game that is simply an after thought, and originally intended to be played on a limited console. First off, I wasn't very impressed at all with single player. It was short, and the story was very boring, as if it was just thrown in there to justify the price. Multiplayer was fun for a little while, but again I got bored because it seemed like there was the one or two guys on top that had the higher ranks all the time that would just blow the crap out of everyone else because they had the better weapons, etc. It didn't look to me like there was much of any match making built into this game, or, if there was, it sure didn't seem to work very well. As I got better guns and skills moving up in the ranks, things did get better for me and less frustrating, but it still got boring after awhile. Zombie mode was fun for a little while, but again it gets boring after awhile when you have no real goal except to see how long you can stay alive the next time you play. There are no dedicated servers in this game, which is just poor, but then this was just a console port and the PC version was an after thought. A couple of DLCs were released for the PC, which were just maps and priced at $15, which to me is just a ridiculous price for a map pack with no added features. What really bugs me is that people will actually pay that high of a price for a map pack! I mean come on, are people THAT stupid!? No wonder they don't give a crap about making a quality game, because no matter how **** they make it people will line up to buy it! Now COD: Black Ops is out, and I refuse to once again pay $60 for that game, after being disappointed with this. Even though Activision must have realized too late what they were missing out on when Steam announced they made a billion dollars selling PC games online, and added dedicated servers to black ops, I think it's too little too late. Activision, has alienated this PC gamer, but they can probably count on the sheep who like the abuse to keep buying your Call of Duty titles for a little while longer, until finally even they will get tired of it. And for years to come they'll have console geeks buying up overpriced games that have no clue what PC gaming is really like. Let us know when you have decided to care about us PC gamers again, Activision. I'll be first in line when a title that is actually worthy of $60 is released by your company-- even at the sale price I bought MW2 for, I feel like I was cheated. Expand
  18. May 20, 2011
    7
    Infinity Ward is out with there second game in the Call of Duty series. The "For the Record" campaign is one of the best ive played, with a well produced storyline and an intense, constantly moving struggle keeps you on the edge of your seat. Overall the game's engine is very poor compared to similar EA titles. The multiplayer is very criticized due to its overpowered weapons andInfinity Ward is out with there second game in the Call of Duty series. The "For the Record" campaign is one of the best ive played, with a well produced storyline and an intense, constantly moving struggle keeps you on the edge of your seat. Overall the game's engine is very poor compared to similar EA titles. The multiplayer is very criticized due to its overpowered weapons and unrealistic gameplay/killstreak system. As much as you call it unrealistic, when playing you will find yourself having a lot of fun. Some people say that there are a lot of bugs but this late in the game most bugs are patched and i haven't encountered a game-killing bug yet. Still today with the release of Call of Duty: Black Ops, this game remains superior in the Call of Duty franchise. Expand
  19. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But theThe Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But the overall 'game' of MW2 is a mixed bag and fails to be something really special, not just a 'fun' or 'popular' game. The single player story is a bad joke, the themes and meanings the story portrays are a contradictory muddled mess. The special Op missions do offer some well designed gameplay but why the story mode is not intertwined is confusing, I would have preferred the entire story dropped for more Special Ops. The multiplayer can be fun for short periods of time but does lack depth which is why it has not resonated as a competitive Esport title. I do recommend MW2 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  20. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    This was my first game in the CoD series, and I have mixed feelings from it. The singleplayer campaing was good, with alot of twists, but perhaps a tad to short. The multiplayer is solid, but it doesn't step away from what has been there since Counter-Strike. Most players tend to go as quickly for the floor as they possibly can and quick reactions is your best friend if you wanna survive.This was my first game in the CoD series, and I have mixed feelings from it. The singleplayer campaing was good, with alot of twists, but perhaps a tad to short. The multiplayer is solid, but it doesn't step away from what has been there since Counter-Strike. Most players tend to go as quickly for the floor as they possibly can and quick reactions is your best friend if you wanna survive. For me, it was frustrating at some times as these kinds of game are fun to play but sadly, I seem to lack the skills. The kill streaks is a nice addition to the multiplayer but at 60$ it's still alot to pay. Expand
  21. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    call of duty single player and special ops is excellent,though the special ops is a little difficult but it is very fun ,in multiplayer is good too,but it has many disadvantages too!some unbalanced weapon like akimbo g18 grenade launcher and all sendry launchers that can kill people,at least iw should make g18 less bullet,i think 12-17 is better,and make it less acccruty and lesscall of duty single player and special ops is excellent,though the special ops is a little difficult but it is very fun ,in multiplayer is good too,but it has many disadvantages too!some unbalanced weapon like akimbo g18 grenade launcher and all sendry launchers that can kill people,at least iw should make g18 less bullet,i think 12-17 is better,and make it less acccruty and less damage,grenade launcher must be aim to shot ,or that will be like sniper,this is what i think,and most call of duty fans think,many of my friends dont like that,and almost all player play over 150 hours hate that,when i see xx was killed by these weapon,half of them will say,noob tuber or gay 18 or rpg.......i hope call of duty 8 will learn from 7,that is fair,though lag Expand
  22. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    It's an okay game. I can actually tell the difference between this game and Call of Duty 4, I can't tell the difference between MW2 and MW3. For me, I keep rating lower for every Call of Duty since 4.
  23. Feb 20, 2012
    5
    COD game play itself far better than bf3. Where it lacks and at risk of sounding redundant, lack of multiplayer dedicated lan or otherwise. From what I gather, the plan to not have lan or dedicated is due to piracy , I could be wrong, however, they are so concerned with piracy as the new fad, they did nothing, "again, redundant" about the hackers messing up game play for others. The good:COD game play itself far better than bf3. Where it lacks and at risk of sounding redundant, lack of multiplayer dedicated lan or otherwise. From what I gather, the plan to not have lan or dedicated is due to piracy , I could be wrong, however, they are so concerned with piracy as the new fad, they did nothing, "again, redundant" about the hackers messing up game play for others. The good: Great weapons, graphics, ease of game play, a fun time. The bad: Hackers, campers, lack of multiplayer support on private lan. Those who say it's not about multiplayer, how long will you play it by yourself? For many of us, we love multiplayer and could care less about campaign. I'd rather go up against other players any day. If the game was campaign only and there was absolutely no multiplayer, the game would be NOTHING. It wouldn't sell. Both users, cheerleaders and makers of the game need to realize this. Do what others have done, sell the campaign, release a free multiplayer version. It's been done with very successful results in the past. Any way, the point, I would have rated this much higher if priorities were in order. Get it together, keep multiplayer dedicated alive, the object is to have fun, not to jump through corporate red tape to play a game. Expand
  24. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    Single player is really fun.
    Spec-ops are also fun.
    I usually stay out of multiplayer because of people being people and they ruing the fun. Which in this case is no exception.
    If you don't need to play the multiplayer than it is fun.
  25. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    Very cool Multiplayer-Fun!
  26. RV
    Jan 14, 2010
    5
    + nice graphics, realistic approach of war - cheaters & hackers are NOT punished ( so please link with punkbuster were cheaters & co will be removed before they all ruin a good gam)
  27. NormanT
    Jan 15, 2010
    7
    There've two locations make my computer hanged (Maybe it was my video's fault), also when hit badly, blood caught in eyes can't see a thing!
  28. KenF
    Jan 21, 2010
    6
    While individual single player missions are cinematic and at times gut-wrenching, if you take a moment and ask yourself "What is going on?" you realize the campaign would be better served WITHOUT any semblence of storyline. Combine this with Halo's "Hide til your health is back" mentality, and you have a game that has all the trappings of a alternate-reality realistic shooter, While individual single player missions are cinematic and at times gut-wrenching, if you take a moment and ask yourself "What is going on?" you realize the campaign would be better served WITHOUT any semblence of storyline. Combine this with Halo's "Hide til your health is back" mentality, and you have a game that has all the trappings of a alternate-reality realistic shooter, without the realism brought through in the game mechanics. Expand
  29. GreyF
    Jan 2, 2010
    5
    Love Single Player, love SpecOps, love the new weapons, loved the soundtrack, loved the plot. Hated the price, hated the kick in the pants we got on multi-player, hated how IW ignored PC gamers. Ok, I get it, idiot kids these days don't have the time to get a job and save money to soup up computers and want instant fixes. I get it now, just like this country has slipped into Love Single Player, love SpecOps, love the new weapons, loved the soundtrack, loved the plot. Hated the price, hated the kick in the pants we got on multi-player, hated how IW ignored PC gamers. Ok, I get it, idiot kids these days don't have the time to get a job and save money to soup up computers and want instant fixes. I get it now, just like this country has slipped into Socialism, we're going to slip into Consolism because no one wants to spend an extra 400 beyond a console price to get a better quality gaming machine. It sickens me that Final Fantasy is considered a better RPG than Elder Scrolls. What the hell do stupid emo anime fan teenagers know about a good game outside of something that tear jerks them and try to emulate it at conventions and so on? I love the MW series, but I hate how PC gamers got shafted for stupid college and teenager gamers who are lazy. Expand
  30. JackM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    5
    I enjoy the game but as a older player I'm not as fast as the younger guys and can't seem to keep up. I would enjoy more snipering or more chance to hide and not be found so easy. I enjoy setting up my kills. these guy run around and kill everything and it's to not real.
  31. RandomGuy
    Jan 26, 2010
    5
    This is actually the best FPS game i've ever played, but god i hate the IWNet system, they should definatly make dedicated servers.
  32. LoganE
    Jan 20, 2010
    6
    I fun game, but the campaign is far too short and between lag and the poor attempt at host migration, multiplayer is a broken five-second shootout.
  33. BlahBlah
    Jan 8, 2010
    5
    Whether or not the multiplayer system MW2 has is better than it's predecessor I can't say since I don't feel like giving IW 60 bucks and buying this. However, with the decision they made, dedicated servers were removed and people bitched. It barely put a dent in the sales of the most over-hyped game ever but it still pissed a lot of people off. The alternative was keep the Whether or not the multiplayer system MW2 has is better than it's predecessor I can't say since I don't feel like giving IW 60 bucks and buying this. However, with the decision they made, dedicated servers were removed and people bitched. It barely put a dent in the sales of the most over-hyped game ever but it still pissed a lot of people off. The alternative was keep the dedicated server system which, by the way, THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH. If they had chosen this option it would have saved IW some trouble and made MW2 a better game. It also would have brought in more money to IW which I know they really care about judging by their decision to remove and user-generated content, making IW the only source of new content so more people will shell out 10 bucks for a couple new maps. Oh well, without dedicated servers the multiplayer will die in a couple months. Expand
  34. RobR
    Feb 13, 2010
    5
    Gameplay is great. IWNet is buggy and I would prefer dedicated servers but the good thing about it is that I really like ranking up and there are no modded 10k XP/kill servers where you rank up in 3 maps. That is truly the saving grace for IWNet in my opinion. The reason for the relatively low score is the number of aimbotters you come across in multiplayer. I'd say it's about 1 Gameplay is great. IWNet is buggy and I would prefer dedicated servers but the good thing about it is that I really like ranking up and there are no modded 10k XP/kill servers where you rank up in 3 maps. That is truly the saving grace for IWNet in my opinion. The reason for the relatively low score is the number of aimbotters you come across in multiplayer. I'd say it's about 1 in every 4 or 5 games. Makes it really frustrating sometimes. Expand
  35. IAmPissed
    Feb 14, 2010
    5
    I thought all those bugs weren't that bad, hey, I have been using the carepackage run-fast advantage too, but seriously! Now I have to verify my game each I want to play, else the game freezes for 5 seconds a time. It has ruined the game completely. The game itself is just GREAT! But the things that it has been build around just SUCKS. I feel like..giving a 1 rating. But the game I thought all those bugs weren't that bad, hey, I have been using the carepackage run-fast advantage too, but seriously! Now I have to verify my game each I want to play, else the game freezes for 5 seconds a time. It has ruined the game completely. The game itself is just GREAT! But the things that it has been build around just SUCKS. I feel like..giving a 1 rating. But the game itself is just too good. Expand
  36. BobN
    Feb 17, 2010
    5
    Buy it cheap, or when the price drops. I do not care about multiplayer, it is all about the actual game. The singleplayer here is fun, has some great moments, but not much replay value. This game has some scene that could cause vets to have flashbacks, but for the rest of us, it is a mediocre game. Fun, awesome at times, quickly forgettable. Buy it cheap since it is INCREDIBLY SHORT.
  37. ChristopherBailey
    Feb 3, 2010
    5
    I vote 5. The game itself is great I think. Making VAC in charge of the anti-hacks..no. Saw how well that worked with Counter Strike. I think PB would have made it much better. No dedicated server, so when you have hackers shooting through walls and getting 63 kills w/o a death and can not do anything about it, that tends to get annoying. At least with dedicated could vote them out or ban I vote 5. The game itself is great I think. Making VAC in charge of the anti-hacks..no. Saw how well that worked with Counter Strike. I think PB would have made it much better. No dedicated server, so when you have hackers shooting through walls and getting 63 kills w/o a death and can not do anything about it, that tends to get annoying. At least with dedicated could vote them out or ban them from THAT server. Need more maps. If they want to make their own maps, that is all well and good, just need to make them faster and/or more often. Being as they have bugs, hackers and plenty other things to worry about, would think it best to release a public map creator. Anyway, still think the game itself is good. Expand
  38. JakeL-A
    Mar 27, 2010
    5
    Singleplayer: Great, but gets boring after a while Spec-Ops: Fantastic, boring if you play too much Multiplayer: Hmmmm....Was expecting it to be fantastic, loved the COD4 MP. Weapons, most mps good. However...big problem! Lag is intense and unrelenting, hackers everywhere. Id just like to say F*** U to all of them and to the noobs who make up about 40% of the players. IW didnt learn when Singleplayer: Great, but gets boring after a while Spec-Ops: Fantastic, boring if you play too much Multiplayer: Hmmmm....Was expecting it to be fantastic, loved the COD4 MP. Weapons, most mps good. However...big problem! Lag is intense and unrelenting, hackers everywhere. Id just like to say F*** U to all of them and to the noobs who make up about 40% of the players. IW didnt learn when the Pro Games told them to remove tubes and RPGs from the first game instead they put in more! Sure it adds apeal for noobs and ppl who get bored of the game but...it is the true gamers that real in the money, all i can say is they shouldnt expect good revenue form the next game coz they put off the Pros with this one and made it too boring for anyone else. IW need to sort out some admins who can ban the hackers and noobs like the did in COD4 and on XBOX live. In conclusion quite good, but infinfty ward need to make a patch to remove noob weapns, perhaps add some new ones such as a normal M14 EBR and G36. Expand
  39. JasonS
    Apr 15, 2010
    6
    The game has its flaws. Pros: Its fun if you can fin a decent game barely any noob tubing, or bots. However i played both the pc version and the XB360 version. The XB360 version sucks, terrible amount of noob tubes and hackers. PC version has far less noob tubers and you can get good games out of it as a result. Cons: Noob tube Spammers, 8 years olds(Noob tube spammers), Short campaign, The game has its flaws. Pros: Its fun if you can fin a decent game barely any noob tubing, or bots. However i played both the pc version and the XB360 version. The XB360 version sucks, terrible amount of noob tubes and hackers. PC version has far less noob tubers and you can get good games out of it as a result. Cons: Noob tube Spammers, 8 years olds(Noob tube spammers), Short campaign, disappointing co-op(only 2 players?), crappy/pointless perks, overpowered killstreaks(Turret,Chopper gunner). Its nice they added the option to customize killstreaks, but most are repeats of older killstreaks like why is their so many kinds of airstrikes. The ending sucked.... The game is fun but if Respawn entertainment gets the creative rights to MW series i hope they dramatically alter the gamplay. Expand
  40. Issith
    Apr 7, 2010
    7
    CoD MW2 for PC : The single player looks awesome, too bad you need to play it 3 times before you achieve 100% (maybe it's not like this when you start with Veteran, but i started with regular and went up afterwards) and it's a bit short. The multiplayer is nice too, the maps look ok, and the mapsizes vary. Plenty of guns and attachments. The sucky parts though are IWNet ( no CoD MW2 for PC : The single player looks awesome, too bad you need to play it 3 times before you achieve 100% (maybe it's not like this when you start with Veteran, but i started with regular and went up afterwards) and it's a bit short. The multiplayer is nice too, the maps look ok, and the mapsizes vary. Plenty of guns and attachments. The sucky parts though are IWNet ( no servers( but using the network of players(which gives one hell of an amount of lagg(sometimes))), hackers (though i haven't encountered so many), no chatting possibility while waiting for the other map ( takes 30-60 secs) and the game matches only last 10 mins(sometimes that's ok, but most of the time you really want it to be adjustable to 15mins or even 30 mins) If i have to split the multi- and single player, i'd give single: 4/5 (shortness) multi: 3/5 (bad lounge and crappy servers). Expand
  41. RyanB
    Apr 8, 2010
    7
    It was a good game at first, but when you looked back at it most of it wasn't re-playable, nothing to re-do in the campaign and not to mention was very short compared to some of the other games I have played. The multilayer has lots of problems even after almost I think five months now, still hackers/glitches and certain people who abuse certain things and the kill streaks are just It was a good game at first, but when you looked back at it most of it wasn't re-playable, nothing to re-do in the campaign and not to mention was very short compared to some of the other games I have played. The multilayer has lots of problems even after almost I think five months now, still hackers/glitches and certain people who abuse certain things and the kill streaks are just so annoying, AC-130, Harrier, EMP, and most of them are so easy and simple to get like a seven kill streak! The three second melee thing, I don't know what the hell IW thought about this when it came into head, but it's horrible! Every corner you take you fire your weapon but the lag is just so horrible do to no dedicated servers, they always kill you with melee. Even my self once I got a 12 kill steak !WITH JUST MELEE! I know that there is no such thing as a perfect melee system but this one is just god awful! The Spec. Ops. mod if fun to play with friends or family which I have done very many times and it's very entertaining but some of the missions or impossible but still fun. But don't get me wrong most of the hackers/glitchers are gone since the holidays and the multilayer can still be very fun when you play with friends and CO-OP is always a option on campaign. Just the game has some serious problems. Expand
  42. Lokster
    Nov 11, 2009
    5
    Best single player campaign ever. Although the endless swarms of respawns gets frustrating. Multiplayer is a big letdown. Still fun, but nothing like the 32v32 all the other cod games had. Also, no dedicated servers and player hosts ... Seriously, is this the original Rainbow Six? Hosting games on player machines and not dedicated servers ... Ridiculous.
  43. DaveJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    Single player is reasonably entertaining, if a bit messy in combat. Its also reasonably short - if you want it for the single player game, I'd wait until it comes down it price or you're looking at about 50c per minute of gameplay. Multiplayer is virtually unplayable with the experience reminding me of the days of Quake1 on dialup. You also have no control over what servers you Single player is reasonably entertaining, if a bit messy in combat. Its also reasonably short - if you want it for the single player game, I'd wait until it comes down it price or you're looking at about 50c per minute of gameplay. Multiplayer is virtually unplayable with the experience reminding me of the days of Quake1 on dialup. You also have no control over what servers you choose so you can't even pick the best of a bad scheme. Expand
  44. adams
    Nov 12, 2009
    7
    Ok Just tested COD MW2 on my 14 years old brother PC , and All what i can say is CALL OF DUTY Moedern warfare 2 is a INCOMPLETED GAME , i was 1st been shoked with the weapons 3D modelisation and textures , just before the practice when they ask you to keep a weapon , ive looked for a M4 and i fond a JOY look weapon , then piked up the what should be a M4 , and the missing Peak control to Ok Just tested COD MW2 on my 14 years old brother PC , and All what i can say is CALL OF DUTY Moedern warfare 2 is a INCOMPLETED GAME , i was 1st been shoked with the weapons 3D modelisation and textures , just before the practice when they ask you to keep a weapon , ive looked for a M4 and i fond a JOY look weapon , then piked up the what should be a M4 , and the missing Peak control to shoot while covering , its missing on conrols configiration also E bouton is asigned to Action so its realy not programed "IW !!!!?", bringing us back to countre strike CS game play without peaks and shoot ,also the grenade line efect is horible and break simulation ambiance , and and come the bigest problem on MW2 the NO DEDICATED SERVER5S , i dont i you noticed yes but there is no COD MW2 fan site yet and no clans , as expected IW stoped Mooding and no dedicated servers , thats blowed up milions of Hard core gamers , But hope IW work on Big patch for PC version to Corect 1 - weapon texture 2 - bring back legacy controls 3 - taking out grenade efects , its not relalistic 4 - Squad blocking doors , many time 5 - and bring Back Dedicated servers i f they dont fix the game will dead and gamers will no more trust in IW so the end of the series . Expand
  45. Dario
    Dec 14, 2009
    5
    Most over-hyped game EVER. It's nice and pretty, but it doesn't add anything. Also, MP is a piece of crap. I can't believe how DISHONEST professional reviewers are.
  46. retu.
    Dec 2, 2009
    7
    The sp mission rates a 8 for eye-candy but the "plot" is bone-headedly stupid. The icing on the cake are the "stirring" quotes from Kennedy, Eisenhower, and ... Dick Cheney?? I literally laughed out loud. This is a $20 mission pack that sells for $60. Life is too busy for mp - sounds like that's just as well from other reviews. But this vote is based on sp only. I'd suggest The sp mission rates a 8 for eye-candy but the "plot" is bone-headedly stupid. The icing on the cake are the "stirring" quotes from Kennedy, Eisenhower, and ... Dick Cheney?? I literally laughed out loud. This is a $20 mission pack that sells for $60. Life is too busy for mp - sounds like that's just as well from other reviews. But this vote is based on sp only. I'd suggest waiting for the price to come down - waaay down. Expand
  47. JWheezy
    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    Single player, while being pretty entertaining, is badly paced and far too short, meaning you never give a toss about the characters (with the exception of Price, cos hes a legend). Enemy AI and spawning is improved over COD4 but sadly com controlled team-mates are useless, which isn't a problem on lower difficulties, but on veteran it can lead to some incredibly frustrating Single player, while being pretty entertaining, is badly paced and far too short, meaning you never give a toss about the characters (with the exception of Price, cos hes a legend). Enemy AI and spawning is improved over COD4 but sadly com controlled team-mates are useless, which isn't a problem on lower difficulties, but on veteran it can lead to some incredibly frustrating scenarios with a single enemy standing in the open and your teammates missing with every shot, at which point the enemy turns, lets off a few ridiculously accurate shots to kill you and you scream expletives at the sack of s**t 'super-special forces' guys who are supposedly helping you. All this means that it is borderline impossible to play this game in any sort of intelligent way. Thats not to say that it isn't fun, I enjoyed the single player very much (with the exception of some tedious moments on veteran difficulty). The multiplayer aspects of this game are hit and miss. Essentially everything good about the standard multiplayer are just extensions of those from COD4 (perks, game modes etc). The lack of dedicated servers has caused a rift in the ratings of this game, with some ridiculously low scores and some the reverse just to spite the others. The fact is that IW.net just doesn't work very well, especially when trying to play with friends. Its buggy, laggy and although it is vac secured, that doesnt stop determined cheaters (not that i think cheating is a massively widespread issue, but it is an issue nonetheless). When it all works as it should, the gameplay is excellent, but then again it was on cod4 as well and not much has actually changed. Where this game truly excels however is in the other multiplayer mode...Spec Ops. 2 player co-op scenarios (many taken from the single player campaign) that are well designed and playable over and over until u get them perfect. But again...could have been bettter if they had released the developer tools for the modding community. Imagine being able to download new scenarios every week from those genius modders...almost infinite play time for your expensive initial outlay. That is what it essentially all boils down to, I cant give this game a score of 10, because that would mean it was perfect, which it isn't. I cant give it an 8 or 9, because in many ways it is a big step backward from COD4, and the more you play it you realise just how much of a direct console port it is, i wouldn't be surprised if the controls were listed as xbox buttons!! All the effort has been put into the gloss leaving a shoddy storyline full of holes for the single player, and limited multiplayer. Oh yeh i nearly forgot...they took out the lean function...wtf were they thinking! Expand
  48. PaulW
    Jan 13, 2010
    5
    Overall the single player campaign is fun, it is extremely short and the story could use some work. The real problem is the lack of dedicated servers, and the cheating that happens in multiplayer games.
  49. ALexB
    Jan 13, 2010
    7
    Its a good game but there is much bad moments. An example is: game choice the better host then user become "server". Too many lags and the biggest mistake is - a game become more pub then harcore. I dont know, but i think game should be more cybersportive !
  50. lesr
    Jan 14, 2010
    5
    not bad biggest down fall is it tends to leed to people camping to gain point ,and over use of the 205 granade launcher ,, and getting rid of the abilty to peek around corners was a step back from cod 4 ,, but other wise not bad
  51. JimR
    Jan 19, 2010
    5
    It's just so boring. It's COD4 all over again, nothing new at all, but with COD4, some of the missions were pretty special. The sniper crawling around in the long grass etc. This game is the same game but with less imaginative and less memorable missions. I just find it really boring. It's so unbelievably linear, so restricted, you do only what the game dictates, when and It's just so boring. It's COD4 all over again, nothing new at all, but with COD4, some of the missions were pretty special. The sniper crawling around in the long grass etc. This game is the same game but with less imaginative and less memorable missions. I just find it really boring. It's so unbelievably linear, so restricted, you do only what the game dictates, when and where it wants you to do it. Back with COD4 that wasn't so bad, but now, it just makes me want to go and play Fallout 3 instead, or Arma 2, or OFP2, or even load up an old game like H&D2. Anything of those games are better than this game, because they are all just shooting, but at least with those other games there are RPG elements and large worlds to explore. This game has none of that. The single player campaign is really pathetic, and very short too. The only decent thing about this game is the multiplayer, and even that is not very good. Terrible latency issues, but it's also very much just mindless shooting. Again, it makes me want to play something else with more depth. Expand
  52. D347HD357RUC710N
    Jan 19, 2010
    5
    The game isn't bad or good. I gave it a 5 because it could of been better and made something of its own. The single player isn't that bad, and veteran is pretty challenging. Multiplayer, like these guys said is quite laggy, and there isn't any dedicated servers, mods, or anything to make the game worth playing for very long. I bought this game and only played it for a few The game isn't bad or good. I gave it a 5 because it could of been better and made something of its own. The single player isn't that bad, and veteran is pretty challenging. Multiplayer, like these guys said is quite laggy, and there isn't any dedicated servers, mods, or anything to make the game worth playing for very long. I bought this game and only played it for a few weeks and now it's collecting dust. Expand
  53. Duty
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    I think the game is good. The campaign is good, Multiplayer is good but sometimes i dont know why i get disconected for nothing and spec ops could have matchmaking. Overal: It´s a good game, but it could be cheaper......
  54. Elmzelmz
    Jan 20, 2010
    5
    5 for Singleplayer and Spec ops and 0 for multiplayer to much things they messed up they said they made it how the community in cod4 wanted... as if. even after release and complaints they still dont fix up issues like hacking, dedicated servers glitches etc
  55. ShayneM
    Jan 25, 2010
    6
    Game is great but.. I keep getting MW2 multiplayer boots to desktop and all my drivers and settings for this game are up to date 6 points for the game nothing for anything else! :( please fix this!
  56. JosephH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    5
    Single player is okay but way too short. Online play is worse then MW1. No dedicated servers, no map choices, and limited players can play on a map compared to MW1. This is for the PC and no console, they got it all wrong with this steam setup.
  57. kristofferH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    5
    The game as such is well polished and the gameplay is splendid. Getting it to run however is a different story. This game is notoriously unstable and 8 times out of 10 it freezes on startup unless EVERY process is turned off (except the ones required to run windows), desktop resolution lowered and hardware soundacc turned off. When you eventually get it running it will often freeze The game as such is well polished and the gameplay is splendid. Getting it to run however is a different story. This game is notoriously unstable and 8 times out of 10 it freezes on startup unless EVERY process is turned off (except the ones required to run windows), desktop resolution lowered and hardware soundacc turned off. When you eventually get it running it will often freeze in-game, crash to desktop or you'll get the ubiquitous BSOD. If you can outmanouver all these flaws you'll get a very good but very short camapign and a fun co-op mode in singleplayer. Multiplayer is where (if you're playing on a PC) you will feel the rough treatment usually reserved for prison inmates. There is no dedicated server support (!) and the ping is a gamble. I'm on a 100/100 fibre and I regularly get pings estimated at around 300-400. I say estimated because there is no actual number in the game, just these ridiculous bars that are supposed to represent your ping. Probably just a way not to actually have to face the embarrassment of the insanely high pings. Overall there IS a very good game under all the console porting and bugs/tech issues, but those are unacceptable, this is supposed to be the future for christ's sake! Expand
  58. EricC.
    Jan 30, 2010
    6
    -0.5 for bad multi-player spawn setup, especially on maps like Rust -1 for an absolutely awful plot. Right around the "Wolverines" part (shameless Red Dawn reference by Infinity Ward) the plot just turned to pure garbage. -2.5 for failing to get the weapons right, yet again... M16 damage should not equal the FN FAL or SCAR-H. It fires the same round as all the rest of the "assault" rifles -0.5 for bad multi-player spawn setup, especially on maps like Rust -1 for an absolutely awful plot. Right around the "Wolverines" part (shameless Red Dawn reference by Infinity Ward) the plot just turned to pure garbage. -2.5 for failing to get the weapons right, yet again... M16 damage should not equal the FN FAL or SCAR-H. It fires the same round as all the rest of the "assault" rifles except for the AK. It simply has better range than an M4 by a couple hundred yards. The LMG stats are completely backwards in terms of damage. All the ones that fire 5.56 NATO are doing high damage in game and all the ones firing 7.62 NATO are doing low damage in game. That's stupid. The only one with correct damage is the PKM (7.62x54R). And Infinity Ward obviously has no clue how suppressors (mistakenly called "silencers" in this game) work, because if you put one on a shotgun you just ruined an expensive suppressor and probably your face as well. It doesn't work that way. At least they didn't try to put them on the revolvers. The other thing that bothers me is this whole "Akimbo" stuff. You can't control a machine pistol one-handed. It generates far too much thrust as a result of the extremely fast cycle-time, even in moderate calibers like 9mm (mini Uzi / MP5/Glock 18) or the 5.7 (P90). Controlling a SMG or a Machine Pistol 1-handed is like trying to handle a fire-hose 1-handed. You're not going to be able to do it. Trying to handle two at once is beyond retarded. In fact, "Akimbo" fails even with the regular semi-automatic pistols. It sure looks great in Hollywood, but you won't be able to hit the broad side of a barn doing it. I don't even want to get into 1-handed magazine changes for "Akimbo." This is supposed to be Modern Warfare 2, not Hollywhood Firearms Myths 2. The pistols are all wrong too. The .44 Magnum is going to be every bit as accurate as the HK USP but the .44 Mag should have a slower rate of fire. The developers got that wrong too. SMG's are wonky too. The MP5 and the Mini Uzi both fire 9x19 rounds, so their rate of fire should be very high and their damage should be lower. The UMP45 and the Vector both fire .45 ACP so their rate of fire should be somewhat slower thnan the 9x19, but their damage should be significantly greater. About the only SMG IW got right was the P90. Sniper Rifles are dead-wrong too. The WA2000 and the M21 EBR are both chambered in 7.62 NATO, the exact same cartridge the FN FAL, the SCAR-H, the M240 and the MG4 fire... The damage should be the same and so should the range. The accuracy from either of these is no better or worse than that of the SCAR-H or the FAL either. The range on the "Intervention" (Which I assume is a .408 Chey-Tac) should have significantly more damage than the M21 EBR and the WA2000 as well as greater range and barrier penetration potential. Since it is a bolt action it will have significantly better accuracy. And lastly, is the M82A1, which is the semi-auto 50 BMG in this game. The accuracy of this is significantly worse than that of even the M21 and the WA2000. The muzzle blast is so significant that you can see the puff of dust (more like cloud) from a mile away if it's not suppressed. Sure, the damage is astounding, but it's extremely heavy and bulky. It's primarily an anti-vehicular rifle, not a people-killer. Riot shields don't work that way... One rifle round from any of the "assault" rifles, "sniper rifles" or LMG's in this game will punch right through a Riot Shield. They're made to stop rocks, bottles, and the occasional pistol round. You can't carry enough polycarbonate in front of you to stop a round from any of the 7.62 or above cartridges. Lastly, there is no body armor that can currently be worn that is capable of standing up to even 1 round from a rifle chambered in .50 BMG. The same holds true for any shotgun firing slugs. There's no armor available to civilians or military that can handle that kind of impact. Expand
  59. TyfoidP
    Jan 7, 2010
    6
    Its was a good game I love shooters but its was way to easy and over way to quickly I beat it in a weekend, and the Muliplayer though intense at time killing by shooting though walls to easy. I hope 3 will be out and improved to have more gameplay and better muliplayer.
  60. CanCan
    Feb 13, 2010
    6
    Good game. Single player campaign is too short, even comparing with Call of Duty Modern Warfare. Special Ops give a bit of fun due to raising difficulty. Multiplayer is good, very realistic, with few glitches only. However, steam as a platform for multiplayer sucks big time. Just going through a painful update, that seems to go forever. I wonder if the game will start after that.
  61. JG
    Feb 9, 2010
    7
    Single Player is plenty of fun the first few runs, Wolverines is always fun to replay. Some of the levels do get a bit old on replays. Breach and clear is sweet the first few times, but it does start to get old. Spec. Ops looks awesome, but also looks like the majority of it requires help unless you are 1337. Multiplayer is quite laggy at time. Typical players can be rude at times. Plenty Single Player is plenty of fun the first few runs, Wolverines is always fun to replay. Some of the levels do get a bit old on replays. Breach and clear is sweet the first few times, but it does start to get old. Spec. Ops looks awesome, but also looks like the majority of it requires help unless you are 1337. Multiplayer is quite laggy at time. Typical players can be rude at times. Plenty of glitchers. Much of the annoyance is people spamming grenade shells or Chopper Gunners/ AC-130s farming spawn zones (not that I can blame them). Still fun to play, though. Expand
  62. AaribM.
    Mar 22, 2010
    6
    For the price of $60 at the time of writing, this game is a spat in the face at PC gamers as far as price goes. It's been roughly 5 months, and still no price reduction in sight. For PC gamers, who shouldn't, and in the past haven't had to, have to pay for a game developed on PCs. Singleplayer is, as always, mostly a gimmick to sell the multiplayer. Multiplayer matchmaking For the price of $60 at the time of writing, this game is a spat in the face at PC gamers as far as price goes. It's been roughly 5 months, and still no price reduction in sight. For PC gamers, who shouldn't, and in the past haven't had to, have to pay for a game developed on PCs. Singleplayer is, as always, mostly a gimmick to sell the multiplayer. Multiplayer matchmaking is painful. Living in a rural area or living with a poor connection makes gamers, even console gamers, regret their connections. No dedicated servers and the "option" for graphics customization is another insult in the face of PC gamers. Overall, it's playable, and fun in short periods, but the same problems are reiterated from the previous generation of gameplay balance. Play it for the experience, then move on or occasionally play it on and off. Expand
  63. Jacky
    Mar 23, 2010
    7
    There is nothing wrong with the multi-player but HACKERS EVERYWHERE. Could you do something? I have reported many of them but it seems nothing. There are hackers in each match and I need to play with aimbots and wall hackers. Such a rubbish server! Besides, I can't see any chatting system while in the lobby. Could you add this? It's troublesome that I have to press shift and tab There is nothing wrong with the multi-player but HACKERS EVERYWHERE. Could you do something? I have reported many of them but it seems nothing. There are hackers in each match and I need to play with aimbots and wall hackers. Such a rubbish server! Besides, I can't see any chatting system while in the lobby. Could you add this? It's troublesome that I have to press shift and tab to chat with friends. Finally, if the COD4 maps are also added to here, the game will be more interesting. I mean, there are too few maps here! By the way, the game is good. I will be satisfied when the problems are all solved. Please DO SOMETHING. Expand
  64. EvanC
    Apr 17, 2010
    5
    MW2 Was a realy Poor Game No dedicated Ends up with Hackers And lag LOTS OF LAG it was not a big set back But The campaign Is short Not Much replay in it An Muiltplayer oh Well Again More Hackers More noobtubes and TONS OF LAG Its fun to play when your camping or Noobtubeing (i noobtube and camp at times ) Or with freinds but Sep ops again Was poor over all i thougt the game could of been MW2 Was a realy Poor Game No dedicated Ends up with Hackers And lag LOTS OF LAG it was not a big set back But The campaign Is short Not Much replay in it An Muiltplayer oh Well Again More Hackers More noobtubes and TONS OF LAG Its fun to play when your camping or Noobtubeing (i noobtube and camp at times ) Or with freinds but Sep ops again Was poor over all i thougt the game could of been Beter but it Drops on its Feet And pukes Like Caryz Thou its still to Camp. Expand
  65. FreidChicken
    Apr 17, 2010
    7
    I dont get people complaining about the Hacking, Aimbot, and Wallhackers... Sure i get like 1 hacker per 5 servers.... its not really common to find one though... Campaign for Mw2 is really short... and if you havnt played Mw1 you wont know the story line. The multiplayer is fun. Except for Aimbots, the hackers suck... they even die easier.... The special op, i havnt finished it yet but I dont get people complaining about the Hacking, Aimbot, and Wallhackers... Sure i get like 1 hacker per 5 servers.... its not really common to find one though... Campaign for Mw2 is really short... and if you havnt played Mw1 you wont know the story line. The multiplayer is fun. Except for Aimbots, the hackers suck... they even die easier.... The special op, i havnt finished it yet but it isnt better than the multiplayer. Expand
  66. ChrissD
    Apr 19, 2010
    6
    In general it's a well designed game with good graphics and sound, although it would be nice if we could control music & fx volume. Single player isn't that challenging and it's enough to complete it once. The multiplayer part of the game which is the most interesting part, is usually full of cheaters and no one does anything about it. Wish there was a dedicated server In general it's a well designed game with good graphics and sound, although it would be nice if we could control music & fx volume. Single player isn't that challenging and it's enough to complete it once. The multiplayer part of the game which is the most interesting part, is usually full of cheaters and no one does anything about it. Wish there was a dedicated server option. Weapons variety and add-ons is interesting, although some of them kind of monopolize the interest and in-game effectiveness. After prestige 1, the "challenges" become boringly repeated. Another imbalance is that weapon challenges are too similar for all kinds of weapons. When in multiplayer mode, connection problems are happening too often and map circulation sequence is lost, thus you end up playing the same map again & again until a reliable host is found. Would I buy the next COD if it was like this? ABSOLUTELY NO! Expand
  67. TexS
    Nov 11, 2009
    5
    I'm forced to give this game a 5. Bare with me... While this game's singleplayer is an absolute blast, the PC gamers truly get shafted. I give it a 5 because I bought it on Xbox 360, and were the PC version as tip top as the console, it would be worth every dime paid, and granted a 10. I give it a 1 for the treatment of PC players. While some people here suggest that not being I'm forced to give this game a 5. Bare with me... While this game's singleplayer is an absolute blast, the PC gamers truly get shafted. I give it a 5 because I bought it on Xbox 360, and were the PC version as tip top as the console, it would be worth every dime paid, and granted a 10. I give it a 1 for the treatment of PC players. While some people here suggest that not being able to "cheat" is the reason the player reviews are so low, the truth is the communities that form around dedicated servers are what keeps so many gamers interested. Life long friendships can be made within those digital walls, that are simply not there in a match making service. If you're buying this game for the Xbox 360, or Playstation 3, go to town, you'll probably love it. If you're buying it to get in some serious competitive gaming, or for the PC, I'd recommend taking a pass. Infinity Ward has made their opinions of you perfectly clear. Expand
  68. JayceC
    Nov 11, 2009
    6
    Theres alot of hate going around with this game and I can see why, the single player isn't all that long but it's fast pace and the intense story keeps you wanting to know more and more. The multiplayer seems to work fine as theres alot of people disliking the system without dedicated servers which I do agree on, I would like to choose which server to join etc but this system Theres alot of hate going around with this game and I can see why, the single player isn't all that long but it's fast pace and the intense story keeps you wanting to know more and more. The multiplayer seems to work fine as theres alot of people disliking the system without dedicated servers which I do agree on, I would like to choose which server to join etc but this system gets you pretty much straight into a game long as no bugs or host issues occur leaving you with a few annoying messages also you are required to play the game to open up other play options I can see how they are wanting you to play more to give you something to achieve but off putting for me. I can see this game being fixed with a future patch but I do hope it is done soon as there are many people who are upset by this. Worth playing if you enjoyed the story and want to have abit of spray and pray. Expand
  69. hamtid
    Nov 11, 2009
    5
    For all, who say, dedicated servers are useless for multiplayer i have 2 questions: what a bandwith has ur connection and how many players do u think u can host with ur upload? I say, if i wanna play with 64 players like in bf2 there is no other way than using dedis...with my connection i can host barely 4vs4 players...what a crap... and why the limitation of 18 players?? in which century For all, who say, dedicated servers are useless for multiplayer i have 2 questions: what a bandwith has ur connection and how many players do u think u can host with ur upload? I say, if i wanna play with 64 players like in bf2 there is no other way than using dedis...with my connection i can host barely 4vs4 players...what a crap... and why the limitation of 18 players?? in which century we are living? no leaning?? wtf...and to say something about cheating...what has this to do with dedicated servers....never heard of punkbuster?? this game has nice graphics but there is no way to beat up the mp-pc-communty at all....wait for battlefield bad company 2 and u will see how it´s ment to be played. Expand
  70. FDreban
    Nov 11, 2009
    5
    The only reviewers scoring this one highly are sites that write one review for cross platform games, and substitute a few words where needed. As a pc fps the game is a real step backwards in every respect and doesn't deserve your time, or your money.
  71. AlexW.
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    Multiplayer is wildly inconsistent; sometimes you'll find a host in your region, sometimes you won't. The times that you do are generally good, although some of the maps are cluttered and wasted with excessive rain (reminiscent of the rubbish Treyarch put in their maps). When you're unlucky, and you end up connecting to a host in America or the other side of Europe (if Multiplayer is wildly inconsistent; sometimes you'll find a host in your region, sometimes you won't. The times that you do are generally good, although some of the maps are cluttered and wasted with excessive rain (reminiscent of the rubbish Treyarch put in their maps). When you're unlucky, and you end up connecting to a host in America or the other side of Europe (if you're not in those regions) the game is completely unplayable and a total waste of time. SP is worth playing through, and the special-ops mode is fun too, but MP is what COD lives or dies on - and the PC version is terribly hit and miss. A total shame, especially since the option to filter out hosts by region would have made this so much better. Expand
  72. JonathanF
    Nov 11, 2009
    5
    Terrible plot, high production values. Mutliplayer on PC is terrible. Makes me wish for the days of Counter-Strike 1.3, back when games were good and not filled with random acts of console madness (ie everything explodes).
  73. caic
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    I myself have not played the game yet which explains the 5, a neutral score. That being said, how many of you people that gave this a score of 0 or 1 or 2 actually PLAYED the game? I'm not saying that all of you haven't played it yet, but seriously. Guys, stop jumping on the bandwagon; if you have absolutely no justification to rate this game, then don't rate it. Sure the I myself have not played the game yet which explains the 5, a neutral score. That being said, how many of you people that gave this a score of 0 or 1 or 2 actually PLAYED the game? I'm not saying that all of you haven't played it yet, but seriously. Guys, stop jumping on the bandwagon; if you have absolutely no justification to rate this game, then don't rate it. Sure the dedicated servers (or lack thereof) are a problem. In the end a game should stand up on its own merits. The only way to ascertain those merits is to actually PLAY the game first. So quit ranting and whining unless you actually have the right to. Meaning try the game before you bitch about it. Expand
  74. jacobh
    Nov 13, 2009
    5
    I actually bought this game. i told myself i wasn't but around 10pm on the night it came out i found myself wondering, "could IWnet really be that bad?" so i waited in line with 100s of console noobs to buy the game. I was seriously the only one there buying a PC version. all the best buy employees asked me "360 or ps3?" and i said, "uh pc..." BB Employee says, "uhm hang on i dont I actually bought this game. i told myself i wasn't but around 10pm on the night it came out i found myself wondering, "could IWnet really be that bad?" so i waited in line with 100s of console noobs to buy the game. I was seriously the only one there buying a PC version. all the best buy employees asked me "360 or ps3?" and i said, "uh pc..." BB Employee says, "uhm hang on i dont think we have any on PC..." he dissapears and leaves me waiting for, i shit you not, at least 15 minutes, as he searches in the back for a copy... low and behold he returns with one and i rush home in excitement and fear.. of IWnet.... turns out my fears were correct... although the game is really fun, the perks are great, the streaks are great... the LAG factor and HOST MIGRATION factor alone is enough to make me want to throw this game away... seriously laggy shit. On average... 6/10 multiplayer games played are extremely lagged. I also find myself trying to "lean" time and time again... what the hell were they thinking releasing this? Every game i play there are at least 5 people with yellow and red lag bars. "around 100ms" ping in any FPS game is a big NO NO. Leaves you wondering why they didn't actually include a CONSOLE and PING TIME( actual #'s)... they didn't include those because it would show just how truly laggy this multiplayer is with P2P matchmaking. Expand
  75. JaapH
    Nov 15, 2009
    7
    Lol people this game is not so bad that you must award it a zero, as the singleplayer is good. Ok ok.... it's rather short, took me 6 hours on hardened. However the multiplayer is rather fucked up and as I tend to spend atleast 200hours on multiplayer on a given game. I must agree that this game is relatively expensive for what it has to offer. Still it's worth a tiny 7.
  76. ChrisB
    Nov 15, 2009
    6
    Single player is compelling, Spec Ops is a welcome game mode addition. Multiplayer is lacklustre and Infinity Ward have taken major strides in the wrong direction by removing tried and tested methods of connecting to other players. Adding to this the lack of standard features in FPS games, such as the ability to peek around corners in a tactical fashion, points more to the "run and gun" Single player is compelling, Spec Ops is a welcome game mode addition. Multiplayer is lacklustre and Infinity Ward have taken major strides in the wrong direction by removing tried and tested methods of connecting to other players. Adding to this the lack of standard features in FPS games, such as the ability to peek around corners in a tactical fashion, points more to the "run and gun" console generation than it does to the established PC gamer market who tend to require more refined gameplay. IWnet is a welcome addition for those gamers who may have had issues with finding suitable games, and to an extent it works well, when it works. I can't help but wonder why Infinity Ward didn't include both the infant version of IWnet (as no doubt it'll be worked on over time to improve it) as well as including the tried and tested dedicated server support. The PC community will also not be able to take a solid game, and further the lifespan by adding mods and maps of their own creation, leaving Infinity Ward to focus development time on the console market and the next installment of the Call of Duty series, which seems slightly short sighted. I'm sure there is reasoning behind the move, but it isn't one that is apparent at this time, rumours aside. Expand
  77. ChrisD
    Nov 15, 2009
    7
    I bought this game full well knowing of the dumbed-down MP experience. I was very skeptical, but even still I waited in line (11th) for the midnight launch at my local store. Installing the game was very annoying for me (disk 2 didn't like my SATA DVD-R/Ws...), as was having to DL 3.X GB off Steam after - but those have been my biggest gripes by far. The SP experience while short, is I bought this game full well knowing of the dumbed-down MP experience. I was very skeptical, but even still I waited in line (11th) for the midnight launch at my local store. Installing the game was very annoying for me (disk 2 didn't like my SATA DVD-R/Ws...), as was having to DL 3.X GB off Steam after - but those have been my biggest gripes by far. The SP experience while short, is nothing short of Hollywood-blockbuster amazing! Incredibly memorable. MP was painful at first - half my games were laggy like nothing else while half were not. The recently released Steam update for IWnet however seems to have increased the stability, and overall I enjoy the multiplayer - it's refreshing to enjoy the new maps and weapons. One thing to note however is that it seems more difficult, or less skill-based than MW1. People die faster so noobs have a bigger crutch that way... Also, spraying seems to be pretty effective with Steady Aim and almost any gun. Overall (Not average): 7 Graphics: 8.5 Sound: 8 SP Experience: 9.5 MP Experience: 6.5 Spec Ops: N/A Expand
  78. JohanB
    Nov 15, 2009
    7
    So, the game that almost every PC gamer has been bashing on since "no dedicated servers" was announced has arrived. Singleplayer is an enjoyable experience, it's very short though but delivers a few "wow-moments" and is very well done. Multiplayer offers the same gameplay as its predecessor but with added perks, weapons, challenges and killstreaks. IWNet, the feature that is used to So, the game that almost every PC gamer has been bashing on since "no dedicated servers" was announced has arrived. Singleplayer is an enjoyable experience, it's very short though but delivers a few "wow-moments" and is very well done. Multiplayer offers the same gameplay as its predecessor but with added perks, weapons, challenges and killstreaks. IWNet, the feature that is used to set up games is good in theory, but not so much in practice. When you set up a game, it sometimes starts to pop up errors all the time and you jump between lobbys like crazy. When the game finally starts, it's enjoyable action to the max, unless latency issues (which are are sometimes unnoticable for hours but then decide to screw everything over) cause problems. My personal feeling is that the game should work flawlessly, but it doesn't always deliver on that point. IWNet needs alot of tweaking so that people can accept it. Also, some players feel that dedicated server support is needed. I can agree that it would be awesome, but if IWNet can be fixed, I for one would be able to like it. Expand
  79. V.Z
    Nov 17, 2009
    6
    I am only reviewing the single player portion, as someone who enjoyed Mdern Warfare's 1 campaign quite a lot. The MW1 campaign was the pinnacle of single player gaming comng from Infinity Ward. I would be surprised if they ever manage to reach such quality again. MW2's campaign is much weaker. The action is mostly well orchestrated, but some areas are simply not well designed. I am only reviewing the single player portion, as someone who enjoyed Mdern Warfare's 1 campaign quite a lot. The MW1 campaign was the pinnacle of single player gaming comng from Infinity Ward. I would be surprised if they ever manage to reach such quality again. MW2's campaign is much weaker. The action is mostly well orchestrated, but some areas are simply not well designed. The spawning reaches insane levels, and the game starts to feel like a stupid arcade shooter. This seriously hurts the immersion, as after all you are supposed to feel like part of the war machine. The last few levels get even more ridiculous, as you will find yourself killing hundreds of enemies almost alone. The plot is simpl horrible. It does not make any sense. There is a terrorist plot which triggers a war between Russia and the US, but there is no way the plot could work unless the entire world is dumb. Well, perhaps the Russians are overly aggressive and are just waiting for an excuse to trash D.C., but the story does not show this too well. There are some great levels, both in the battle and in the spec ops department. You do find yourself in awe a couple of times, even though the setting and the ideas are not very fresh anymore. You also get to steer a predator drone a few times, which is fun. So overall, a solid experience, but a far cry from the brilliance which was the first MW game. Expand
  80. stephanm
    Nov 26, 2009
    7
    The single player campain is to short. At the multiplayer the steam had some problems to find quick a good server, or when the game will start I`ll be kiked, why? Moreover the Grafik performance must improve, I want to play with the setting extra, and not high, because my grafik card can manage this but the game not.
  81. HankR
    Dec 11, 2009
    6
    Not spam review... But this game really hasn't improved much since COD2, and isn't as good as COD4. I was so disappointed with World at War I didn't finish it, so was hoping for something better from Infinity Ward. The story is like every tacky high-budget action flick cliche rolled into a ridiculous, impossible storyline. Battles are repetitive wave defense for the most Not spam review... But this game really hasn't improved much since COD2, and isn't as good as COD4. I was so disappointed with World at War I didn't finish it, so was hoping for something better from Infinity Ward. The story is like every tacky high-budget action flick cliche rolled into a ridiculous, impossible storyline. Battles are repetitive wave defense for the most part, cutscenes are sometimes impressive but the acting and writing is so over-the-top that it's really hard to care about what's going on. But still probably the best all-around shooter this year. Expand
  82. MortR
    Dec 12, 2009
    6
    Awesome game. Loads of fun playing both the single player and the multiplayer. Also, some great add-ons for the multiplayer like new perks, weapons etc. The server hosting is a dismal failure. I am yet to find a latency free server.What may be acceptable to the "strategy/marketing" dept is not acceptable to me.Many other complaints about the IWNET system but it's not worth moaning Awesome game. Loads of fun playing both the single player and the multiplayer. Also, some great add-ons for the multiplayer like new perks, weapons etc. The server hosting is a dismal failure. I am yet to find a latency free server.What may be acceptable to the "strategy/marketing" dept is not acceptable to me.Many other complaints about the IWNET system but it's not worth moaning about. It is the best game on the market at the moment. Lets hope Battlefield 3 does a better job... Expand
  83. JimL
    Dec 16, 2009
    5
    I had fun with Mediocre Warfare 2 for two days. It is the same thing as CoD 4, except the killstreaks can make the game frustrating. Although a good counter is to make a kit with a stinger missile to shoot down the heavy choppers. Single player is the same, I liked the story. Spec ops mode (2 player co-op) is only playable with friends there isn't matchmaking for it. I enjoyed spec I had fun with Mediocre Warfare 2 for two days. It is the same thing as CoD 4, except the killstreaks can make the game frustrating. Although a good counter is to make a kit with a stinger missile to shoot down the heavy choppers. Single player is the same, I liked the story. Spec ops mode (2 player co-op) is only playable with friends there isn't matchmaking for it. I enjoyed spec ops the most which is why my rating went from 3 to 5. In conclusion: If you haven't played the Call of Duty series a must buy. Stick with the other 5 not a worthy upgrade. Expand
  84. JCTam
    Dec 19, 2009
    7
    Since I am not into Multiplayer, the rest of this just look like as if were an expansion pack to the original Modern Warfare. It's still same amount of missions. Overall, I still think it's a good game. This game is getting more profit due to its price and there are less features than I originally thought. MW2 seems to suck more than Quake 3 and Doom 3, on which they were Since I am not into Multiplayer, the rest of this just look like as if were an expansion pack to the original Modern Warfare. It's still same amount of missions. Overall, I still think it's a good game. This game is getting more profit due to its price and there are less features than I originally thought. MW2 seems to suck more than Quake 3 and Doom 3, on which they were released at $60 back then. If I wanted to buy this game, I rather buy that for $20-$30 in a couple of years to come. That type of monopoly by Infinity Ward and Activision just seems to be working after all just to ripoff some players out there. Expand
  85. GrahD
    Dec 23, 2009
    7
    Good but not great. Dumbing down the game takes off 1 point. The fact that the single player is still the same tired mechanic of endless amount of enemies spawning all around you is just slack in this day and age.
  86. BrianV
    Dec 31, 2009
    6
    I'm reviewing the single&mutliplayer parts of MW2 on the PC: The single player was very good, very entertaining and not repetitive. i would give the single player a 9,8 (-0,2 for the short game and the weird blood-effect what looks like paint). However the multiplayer... everything about the 'inside' of it is very good: the perks, weapons maps etc. But wow dit infinity ward I'm reviewing the single&mutliplayer parts of MW2 on the PC: The single player was very good, very entertaining and not repetitive. i would give the single player a 9,8 (-0,2 for the short game and the weird blood-effect what looks like paint). However the multiplayer... everything about the 'inside' of it is very good: the perks, weapons maps etc. But wow dit infinity ward screw the multiplayer up with their IW-network! it just doesn't work, as simple as that! i found myself one time waiting 15 minutes for that damn thing to connect me! also playing with friends often gives me trouble too. And the game itself is kind of ruined by the nerds playing. camp,camp,camp it realy annoys me. i give it a 2 for the maps, weapons etc. but the rest is just ruïned! that makes an average of 6 for the whole game Expand
  87. CorteXPL
    Dec 31, 2009
    5
    Good game, not good for PC
  88. pedrop
    Jan 12, 2010
    5
    exlente to play alone and to play in spec ops but the worst to play online I'm from Portugal and I pick lag very high k influencian monent in shooting if he knew the game had not dedicated servers should have bought left 4 dead 2 was much better served.
  89. JoshH
    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    The single player mode is short, has a weak storyline (Russians manage to surprise the USA and invade DC, riiiiight). The stand out element of the game is the multiplayer, its great, apart from the lack of dedicated servers I can see it becoming this decades CS.
  90. RakuraT
    Jan 13, 2010
    7
    Single player campaign is a blast. However, it will only take you 6 hours to beat everything that includes spec ops if you have a friend for it. Multiplayer is a day to day good or bad play. Hackers are allowed to run rampit and IW doesn't seem to care about its product or its customers. I give the 7 for a combined score. Multiplayer is a 4 for lack of dedicated servers and lack of Single player campaign is a blast. However, it will only take you 6 hours to beat everything that includes spec ops if you have a friend for it. Multiplayer is a day to day good or bad play. Hackers are allowed to run rampit and IW doesn't seem to care about its product or its customers. I give the 7 for a combined score. Multiplayer is a 4 for lack of dedicated servers and lack of responsibility IW has shown to its customers for fixing its product when it is obviously broken in many ways. Single player I give a 10 for original and nonstop story line and the fun that spec ops is if you have a friend to help you. Expand
  91. EricC
    Jan 13, 2010
    5
    Well, I play this game for PC and I don't find this game too bad. Sure the multi-player has a little lag, but most of the time I end up in great games. What annoys me is Steam, half the time I can't even play the game.
  92. Dave
    Jan 15, 2010
    7
    The single player is more an experience than a story and much more fun if you try not to think to hard about the logical flaws and focus more on the quality visuals, entertaining gameplay, and absolutely rock-solid score. The multiplayer aspect really got the shaft, the lag is just the tip of the iceberg, but if you get hooked up with a decent game it's an unparalleled experience.
  93. PiotrH
    Jan 18, 2010
    6
    grat game but to short, and where is the dedicated serwer s , hardcore multi 6 on 6 !!! multi sucks
  94. Spesse
    Jan 18, 2010
    6
    Hmm i liked cod4 and cod5 iw been playing cod for three years now and if i shall compere the games so cod4 will get 8 cod 5=7 and mw2sp 6 mp5, iwnwt sucks and it is to mouth cheeting that will ruing the joy!
  95. SlavaL
    Jan 19, 2010
    6
    I like this game a lot but: VAC is a joke compare to PB and live admins on servers. Airstrikes and Helicopters are NOT balanced at all. I am seriously tired of number of hacks and hackers. Matchmaking, host migrating and low ping games are annoying as hell. Why should I wait 2 minutes for IWnet trying to find some players and as of result get disconnected. And did I say about hackers? I like this game a lot but: VAC is a joke compare to PB and live admins on servers. Airstrikes and Helicopters are NOT balanced at all. I am seriously tired of number of hacks and hackers. Matchmaking, host migrating and low ping games are annoying as hell. Why should I wait 2 minutes for IWnet trying to find some players and as of result get disconnected. And did I say about hackers? Today I encountered cheaters in 3 games out of 10, and what can I do about it? The WHOLE NOTHING! I really don't care about modding and stuff, but I honestly think that Activision really dropped the ball on IWnet implementation. P.S. I do own this game and I'm on level 52 of 1st Prestige so I do know the subject. Expand
  96. LeahP
    Jan 21, 2010
    5
    i luv this game. except for the lag, its HORRIBLE.. and theres a lot of hackers. i think this game was let out to early. it still has many problems that need to be fixed
  97. MarwinR
    Jan 22, 2010
    6
    Nice gameplay and graphics but -iwnet sucks -no stear left or right -no mods so if it wouldnt be call of duty i wouldnt buy it
  98. VincentRoth
    Jan 29, 2010
    6
    Great graphics but te campaign is way 2 short. Multiplayersystem sucks without the dedicated servers...I don't like steam and I want 2 be free 2 choose my favorite map. Online performance is not as good as in MW1. The maps are beautiful, but great 4 campers. I will not buy MW3 if this remains the same.
  99. Sceptic
    Nov 11, 2009
    7
    Please dont blame the consoles and their users guys.The user ratings for all platforms clearly show that we are all mostly disappointed with this average effort.Its sad to see that the reviewers seem a little out of touch with gamers if they rate this above 95 across the board.As for the Pc users;Hint to developers,dont piss them off.
  100. KyleB
    Nov 11, 2009
    5
    Aside from the non-dedicated servers (Which isn't the reason for the low rating) This game is a rip off. $60 for a short and stout campaign and an inexcusably faulty multiplayer lead this game to it's demise. Killing enemies just seem so fake, they seem like they are weightless upon the world. Guns often feel underpowered and grenades are okay. AI sometimes just stand there Aside from the non-dedicated servers (Which isn't the reason for the low rating) This game is a rip off. $60 for a short and stout campaign and an inexcusably faulty multiplayer lead this game to it's demise. Killing enemies just seem so fake, they seem like they are weightless upon the world. Guns often feel underpowered and grenades are okay. AI sometimes just stand there (allies mostly). Story telling is too boring to care about. Dragon Age is worth $200 compared to this. L4D2 is worth $160 compared to this, I think you understand. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.