User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6221 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nu3gaWhat
    Jan 10, 2010
    1
    Terrible. The story line is weak and short. Multiplayer? LOL Yeah the biggest fail ever. NO dedicated servers, NO kicking/banning, NO choice in what map you play or any other options OTHER then gametype, NO leaning, unbalanced weapons/perks/killstreaks, retarded respawns on overly busy map designs that leads to always being shot in the back by someone respawning or being killed by a Terrible. The story line is weak and short. Multiplayer? LOL Yeah the biggest fail ever. NO dedicated servers, NO kicking/banning, NO choice in what map you play or any other options OTHER then gametype, NO leaning, unbalanced weapons/perks/killstreaks, retarded respawns on overly busy map designs that leads to always being shot in the back by someone respawning or being killed by a camper, cheaters run rampant and are blatant because there is NOTHING you can do about them. Oh maybe VAC will detect the PUBLIC hacks, and ban them a few weeks later...maybe. It just keeps being worse. Lack of a console to tweak settings or even to display your frames per second!!!! Laggy as f*ck, as expected with no dedicated servers. Worst of all, IW is ignoring the community, and even insulting our intelligence. Deleting threads and petitions on their forums. Also what would appear to me, having their employees or simply people they pay to blatantly lie saying how good the game is. All of this for $10 more then PC games go for.....what a rip off. Expand
  2. mathieuG.
    Jan 28, 2010
    4
    Well, I was always a fan of the Call of Duty games, the only reason why I voted so high was because the single player was actually really really good. The multiplayer on the other hand is complete garbage. The PC community was completely abandoned when dedicated servers were taken out, its not that the game is garbage really, its mostly that the loyal gamers were completely ignored. The Well, I was always a fan of the Call of Duty games, the only reason why I voted so high was because the single player was actually really really good. The multiplayer on the other hand is complete garbage. The PC community was completely abandoned when dedicated servers were taken out, its not that the game is garbage really, its mostly that the loyal gamers were completely ignored. The community is completely destroyed. Meeting familiar faces is no longer do-able. Just another console game with a mouse, its all MW2 is. Stick with MW1 if you are a skilled fps player. Did I mention that the hosts get 0 ping, while everyone gets 70+ in every game? Really big disadvantageous if you ask me, not to forget to mention that the nub tubes are still in the game. And theres NO WAY to take them out. Skilled FPS are a thing of the past, its all about "nice" graphics and consumer dollars. Don't support this game, it was my mistake for not listening to the podcast. Expand
  3. JosephB
    Dec 5, 2009
    5
    Modern Warfare 2 single player is a complete joy to play. The action is nonstop from start to finish. The Spec Ops is also pretty cool addition to the game. The Multi player on Steam is another thing. The issue I have is with the lack of security updates to stop the hacking / cheating. Steam and Infinity Ward are not doing near enough to deal with this issue. It completely kills the fun Modern Warfare 2 single player is a complete joy to play. The action is nonstop from start to finish. The Spec Ops is also pretty cool addition to the game. The Multi player on Steam is another thing. The issue I have is with the lack of security updates to stop the hacking / cheating. Steam and Infinity Ward are not doing near enough to deal with this issue. It completely kills the fun in playing the multi player. My rating would be a 10 if they would get the multi player hacking / cheating under control. I don't understand why they are allowing it to happen on such a great game. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    Gameplay - 9.5 , Graphics - 9.0 , Story - 7.5 , Playing time - 50+hours (MP includes). Very fun game. Graphically so well optimized. Improved multiplayer to COD4. However, the lack of dedicated server is annoying.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Disappointing rehash of an old, old, very old, franchise. Call of Duty used to feel unique but they have milked this cashcow to death a long time ago. Avoid.
  6. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    The single player campaign wasn't as long as Call of Duty 4's but was still amazing. It is hard to say which single player is better comparing mw2 to cod4 but the results would be pretty darn close. Special Ops was a nice edition, with enjoyable challenges and missions to complete. Multiplayer for this game was awesome but not as great as Call of Duty 4's multiplayer. The only issuesThe single player campaign wasn't as long as Call of Duty 4's but was still amazing. It is hard to say which single player is better comparing mw2 to cod4 but the results would be pretty darn close. Special Ops was a nice edition, with enjoyable challenges and missions to complete. Multiplayer for this game was awesome but not as great as Call of Duty 4's multiplayer. The only issues making the game not fun and frustrating at times is the overpowered grenade launchers and one man army "the perk" that allows you to reload classes so you can gain back your grenade launchers for instance. And, sadly no dedicated servers, using the same system of online as the consoles. But forgetting these issues the multiplayer is a masterpiece. Well balanced weapons and superb map design. Hacking is also an issue. Challenge lobbies bringing you up to level 70 or max prestiges are hosted almost daily, along with those little noobs ruining matches using aimbot, godmode, etc. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    The game was one of the best Call of Duty games ever. The storyline was great althought I wouldn't mind if it lasted a little longer and the spec ops were pretty fun. The multiplayer mode was one of the best ever made. Great maps great server system with no lag and nice optimization. the only problem is the community which is not the games fault so I give the game a 10/10...
  8. PiotrS
    Dec 8, 2009
    1
    Completely dissapointed, PC version is only a shadow of CoD4. Pointless console port the way I see it.
  9. AwfulGame
    Jan 11, 2010
    0
    Terrible game. Doesn't deserve half of the press it got. Obviously a rush job. And that's only talking about the parts where they didn't purposely neuter the PC version! IW should be ashamed of this product.
  10. SFinn
    Jan 1, 2010
    0
    Biggest flop of '09. The single player story is HORRIBLE. As most people know MP doesn't have dedicated servers, 'nuff said.
  11. Freaky
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    I have the game and can't even play it! I'm getting that "iw4mp.exe" error! Tried all the fixes I've found on google, but nothing works! This is some BULLS*#T!
  12. MikeV
    Jan 14, 2010
    0
    battled to run the game for 18 hours, tied up my internet connection for 5 days, made no progress. Game unplayable. Very dissapointing.
  13. ianm
    Jan 14, 2010
    1
    Weapons are as poor as ive seen. akimbo shotguns better range than most guns joke Sniper guns are poor no need to hit enemy to kill them .mw2 has ruined cod for ever as a pc game Badcompany 2 the way forward now
  14. ProGamer
    Jan 2, 2010
    0
    Shame on Infinity Ward!!!!!!!!! Worst CoD ever on PC I can not understand how the game has so get a good evaluation from the press! Counter Strike remains the number 1 and that will not change as long as the shooter genre is destroyed by consoles
  15. AndrewY
    Jan 20, 2010
    0
    Don't buy this game whatever you do, i spent £55 (£100USD) on this game. with the shortest single player ever in a FPS game. As you can tell by the user the reviews, this is the most frustrating purchase ever, bad game matching in multiplayer, millions of hackers (numbers growing day by day), no anticheat support, no dedicated servers = the worst game ever. looks pretty Don't buy this game whatever you do, i spent £55 (£100USD) on this game. with the shortest single player ever in a FPS game. As you can tell by the user the reviews, this is the most frustrating purchase ever, bad game matching in multiplayer, millions of hackers (numbers growing day by day), no anticheat support, no dedicated servers = the worst game ever. looks pretty enjoyable single player for a few hours the most annoying multiplayer experience ever !!! Dont go with any Infinity Ward games !! They Spent Multi Millions, on Re Skinning COD4 !! and taking the best bits out ! a absolute CON ! Expand
  16. darekg
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    single player is awsome multiplayer is amazing dont listen to the 0 comment ppl trust me its fun i play 6 hours a day just quik scoping with intentervention my nuke count is 46 everygame i get 35 kill 1 death its amazing game
  17. ChristopherM
    Jan 24, 2010
    0
    The single player is alright but since I'm primarily focused on the multiplayer, it's unbearable. Poor host selection is commonplace and the lag can be unbearable. I find it amusing how they have a "Kick" option in the lobby screen but it's always grayed out. Theres no way to vote kick vote ban vote anything really, the best you can do is mute someones microphone but that The single player is alright but since I'm primarily focused on the multiplayer, it's unbearable. Poor host selection is commonplace and the lag can be unbearable. I find it amusing how they have a "Kick" option in the lobby screen but it's always grayed out. Theres no way to vote kick vote ban vote anything really, the best you can do is mute someones microphone but that doesn't stop racism. As of the last patch the game consistantly crashes and I get booted back to the initial screen. IW literally spit in PC gamers faces when they called the people who signed the petition to implement dedicated servers (250,000 signatures, more than you see online at any time.) If you have a cheater in your game, you might as well leave because your gaming experience will be ruined because there is no way to remove the cheater from your game. Yet at least, I would assume they would give the host the ability to kick players in later patches. Expand
  18. JasonL
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    seriously, the decision to take out dedicated server and lower the player to less then 20 in multiplayer mode is a very "SMART" decision. Since it helped my save $60 for other stuff that i liked. God bless you, IW, for helping me save my money!
  19. NathanS
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    9 vs 9 is a step backwards in pc gaming. IW pretty much slapped pc gamers in the face by not using dedicated servers. Don't waste your money on this. Especially if you're looking for good multiplayer. If you're just interested in single player, get it off bittorrent and slap IW in their faces.
  20. EpicFail
    Dec 22, 2009
    0
    No dedicated server support and a complete lack of caring for PC by Infinity Ward creates a mediocre console port for a generation of hard core gamers. Pass on this one, and wait for Bad Company 2.
  21. DigitzO
    Dec 2, 2009
    2
    Without dedicated servers, I've lost all control of what I wanna play. I have to painfully sit and wait through bad maps that I'm not interested in. I've seen many hackers online and there isn't anything you can do about it. There are a couple maps that I would love to play around the clock...but, I can't. So I've went back to CSS 2 weeks ago and haven't Without dedicated servers, I've lost all control of what I wanna play. I have to painfully sit and wait through bad maps that I'm not interested in. I've seen many hackers online and there isn't anything you can do about it. There are a couple maps that I would love to play around the clock...but, I can't. So I've went back to CSS 2 weeks ago and haven't looked back. But hey, they got my money so what do they care ? Expand
  22. VanjaL
    Dec 28, 2009
    2
    The story is just terrible. I guess they saw the reaction to the unexpected death of a protagonist and the absolutely fantastic ending of Modern Warfare 1 and tried to repeat it. It was just awkward and the amount of main character deaths just aggravated me. Altho the story is flawed, you could still have fun with the singleplayer if it wasn't so damn short. The multiplayer is The story is just terrible. I guess they saw the reaction to the unexpected death of a protagonist and the absolutely fantastic ending of Modern Warfare 1 and tried to repeat it. It was just awkward and the amount of main character deaths just aggravated me. Altho the story is flawed, you could still have fun with the singleplayer if it wasn't so damn short. The multiplayer is retarded. Just retarded. Skip this one and buy Dragon Age instead. Expand
  23. [anonymous]
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    Going from CoD4 to this was a serious downgrade. No dedicated servers, lots of glitches, bad single player, and many other issues.
  24. JonB
    Dec 29, 2009
    0
    Glad to see people giving MW2 what it deserves. MW2 brought mainstream-America to video games, and that's not okay. Hope you go out of business, Infinity Ward. You guys are horrible people.
  25. Aug 24, 2010
    0
    The multiplayer for this game is terrible. Graphics can be good but it is very toned down. It's fine if you want to join a game about to end repeatedly and try to leave a match only to be put right back in it. Also if you don't mind the constant stream of grenade launchers and very annoying things. I and many others have had random annoying deaths that weren't in the past CoDs. Also perksThe multiplayer for this game is terrible. Graphics can be good but it is very toned down. It's fine if you want to join a game about to end repeatedly and try to leave a match only to be put right back in it. Also if you don't mind the constant stream of grenade launchers and very annoying things. I and many others have had random annoying deaths that weren't in the past CoDs. Also perks are annoying. Especially commando, being knifed from across the room is not fun. The singleplayer was good for but nothing special and nothing that will stick to you memory. All in all I give this a 0. The gameplay is plain terrible the the horrible anti-cheat, hackers, and down right annoying things. This game could have been good but its idea of making it "noob" friendly was its downfall. Expand
  26. Feb 12, 2011
    6
    Call Of Duty : Modern Warfare 2 is an action packed game full of gunfights, explosives and objectives. The problem I see with the game, is the unbalanced guns in the Multiplayer and the lack of features from the previous CODs (such as Zombies). Other than that, the game runs very well and will be fun for most people.
  27. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    I'l give this game a 9 simply perfect online action and cannot wait for the new COD to come out!! Would be 10 if the single player gameplay was longer! but to be honest, who plays COD for single player?! think IW realised this after the success of COD2.
    Need its own personal servers online. no where to hide now so I wouldnt worry about campers.. cause everyone knows the camp spots and can
    I'l give this game a 9 simply perfect online action and cannot wait for the new COD to come out!! Would be 10 if the single player gameplay was longer! but to be honest, who plays COD for single player?! think IW realised this after the success of COD2.
    Need its own personal servers online. no where to hide now so I wouldnt worry about campers.. cause everyone knows the camp spots and can easily kill the camping noobs!
    perhaps needs moderating for cheats, large number of aimbots.. boring people.
    Expand
  28. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare 2 is the best shooting game in the world that I have seen especially when I kill a lot of people without dieing. The call of duty modern warfare 2 never can become bored ever when I am playing it I all ways playing it and I never get bored of it nearly at the time Iâ
  29. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps gameWhile I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps game before, as I don't have to tell you how awful a joystick is for competitive fps games. Expand
  30. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    Honestly regardless of what people say MW2 is the best CoD out there, people say they had bad experiences with MW2 online..well if that's the case go play a Treyarch version "Black ops series". Then you will have the true definition of fail. Infinity Ward is the better developer of the two companies that battle back and forth developing the CoD series. I'm willing to bet that most peopleHonestly regardless of what people say MW2 is the best CoD out there, people say they had bad experiences with MW2 online..well if that's the case go play a Treyarch version "Black ops series". Then you will have the true definition of fail. Infinity Ward is the better developer of the two companies that battle back and forth developing the CoD series. I'm willing to bet that most people are not even aware of that, Treyarch gives Infinity Ward a bad name. Infinity Wards games; "MW1" "MW2" "MW3" are far better than any of Treyarch's "Black ops series" hands down. I have been playing CoD since the very first release several years ago back in the WW2 era of CoD. Most people didn't even start playing until the first CoD 4 Modern Warfare came out, the overall feel of MW2 is great, the physics are great, graphics sound are great. I feel that the multiplayer is very well balanced online, if it ran like then maybe your pc isn't up to spec?..if you bash the game saying its unfair or unbalanced maybe you should switch up your tactics a bit instead of raging around looking for that kill?..I have never had any issues playing this online..I always had a blast. I'm clearly reviewing this from a quality aspect..how well the game play is designed, how well the game is structured. Bottom line MW2 to this day is still one of the best CoD games to this day. Expand
  31. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    I Have all cod games that are available for pc, including the new ghosts. But the best is the Mw2, cause of that unbelievable genius multiplayer. I have played so much games with my clan, that i will remember that game forever. But it's true u can't really play it anymore cause of that damn hackers everywhere.
  32. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    Amazing campaign. I wanna run it again and again and again. The multiplayer is great too by the way. And maybe the graphics aren't so nice, but who notices those little details anyway, the gameplay is terrific.
  33. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    You wouldn't believe me if I said this was the best multiplayer FPS. The amount of stupidity and fun I had in this was overwhelming, despite all of the problems it had.
  34. Sep 4, 2012
    3
    Single player is extremely short and feels like an interactive Michael Bay movie instead of a game. Multiplayer is a total mess, there are no dedicated servers, you spend more time in lobbies trying to find a game than actually playing it, the respawn system is terrible, the killstreak rewards are way too powerful and the list could go on... I only give it a 3 because I had some fun hereSingle player is extremely short and feels like an interactive Michael Bay movie instead of a game. Multiplayer is a total mess, there are no dedicated servers, you spend more time in lobbies trying to find a game than actually playing it, the respawn system is terrible, the killstreak rewards are way too powerful and the list could go on... I only give it a 3 because I had some fun here and there, but my overall recommendation is: don't even consider buying this game! I was a great fan of the previous CoD titles but with MW2 and MW3 Activision managed to ruin this once great franchise. Expand
  35. Jul 1, 2014
    5
    Nowadays, almost every PC server for this game and other COD games are hacked. It's horrible. Now, this game was decent when it cam out, but now, with some many hackers, it's really hard to enjoy. Your better off playing this on Xbox 360 or PS3. My score would have been 8/10... but hackers now... So, 5/10 for the time spent trying to find a normal server.
  36. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 was an unnecessary sequel as the story had resolved itself in CoD4. But the single-player was enjoyable nonetheless. The graphics are very good, and the game didn't have any performance issues. As for the game's infamous multi-player mode, the weapons were unbalanced and every now and again you'd run into a hacker or a modded lobby. The multi-player was hugely addictive,Modern Warfare 2 was an unnecessary sequel as the story had resolved itself in CoD4. But the single-player was enjoyable nonetheless. The graphics are very good, and the game didn't have any performance issues. As for the game's infamous multi-player mode, the weapons were unbalanced and every now and again you'd run into a hacker or a modded lobby. The multi-player was hugely addictive, it was similar to the one in CoD4, but for some odd reason it was just so much more fun. The maps are fantastic and it was great fun running around with a sniper rifle trying to quick-scope people. Theres also tons of easter eggs in this game of little hiding spots and ways to get on top of maps like on the map 'Karachi' and 'High-rise' there are little ways to get onto roofs that might not have noticed. Overall the game could be frustrating at times and the guns unbalanced, this game was just incredible fun to play and I honestly don't know why. Expand
  37. Sep 5, 2013
    3
    The single-player matters!
    You cannot release a game with a full single-player mode and then say: "It's all about the multi-player". Some people actually don't care about MP so you cannot be a unbiased reviewer and only talk about one part of the game.
    So let's begin with the single-player. It is a complete mess. The AI is beyond stupid, they will just run at you until gunned down. They
    The single-player matters!
    You cannot release a game with a full single-player mode and then say: "It's all about the multi-player". Some people actually don't care about MP so you cannot be a unbiased reviewer and only talk about one part of the game.
    So let's begin with the single-player. It is a complete mess. The AI is beyond stupid, they will just run at you until gunned down. They won't use strategy, they won't use cover, they won't flank or even do much to kill you at all. The sound design makes the guns un-satisfying to use as they lack any real impact.
    The story is your usual "America good. Middle-East terrorist.". It's getting tiresome running around desert-filled streets shooting anything that isn't white. The story is presented in such a bad way that you have to piece together the whole thing by yourself. It took me more than one playthrough to even understand what was going on. Characters don't act realistically so you will never understand their motivations. It seems they came up with a half a dozen set-pieces and just built the story around them.
    In the first Modern Warfare it was shocking when your character died in a nuclear explosion so naturally, they thought that they would try to recreate that in this game. You are killed (as part of the story) about 4 times. I really hope that I misunderstood this because it's not surprising when you do it every 10 minutes.
    And speaking of minutes, there aren't that many in the story. The main campaign might take you 4 or 5 hours. This is unacceptable and absolutely pathetic.
    Alright, multi-player. It's broken. The weapons are so imbalanced that less than a dozen guns are actually used by players and if you try to use anything else you will be mauled to the ground like a baby by a dozen rabid pit-bulls. Rewarding kills with even more ridiculous ways to kill people is just plain stupid. If you are not extremely skilled at this game you will be killed repeatedly by the same guy and when you think you can kill him, he comes back in a chopper. And then he drops a nuke on you. The maps are awfully designed and don't encourage anything other than the run and gun technique. They are way too small and cramped and the amount of players on each server is laughable.
    You also don't have any dedicated servers, you can't kick/ban, you cannot choose maps and so on. The FOV is freaking ridiculous as well and it gives me eye-strain just looking at it for half an hour.
    This game is a mess and Activision must have been sucking off a lot of critics out there to recieve an 86 on Metacritic.
    Expand
  38. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    UN JUEGAZO, PRIMERO POR SER UNA GRAN HISTORIA EN DONDE SE LOGRA APRECIAR LA GRAN CALIDAD DE EFECTOS Y VARIEDAD DE JUEGO Y ARMAS.----------------------
  39. Jun 26, 2013
    4
    As a fan of earlier call of duty games this will be the last consider buying for sometime. The single player isnt the issue its action packed and has a few decent twists. The Mutlitplayer is another story, the lack of dedicated servers completely kills the game for me and the replacement often send you into rubbish servers. To add insult to injury the amount of DLC for this game means thatAs a fan of earlier call of duty games this will be the last consider buying for sometime. The single player isnt the issue its action packed and has a few decent twists. The Mutlitplayer is another story, the lack of dedicated servers completely kills the game for me and the replacement often send you into rubbish servers. To add insult to injury the amount of DLC for this game means that every other map im kicked out of the server due to a map i haven't bought being up next.....if only there were dedicated servers so i could stick to a server that didn't use the DLC maps.

    If i could rate the single player and co-op alone it would receive a 8/10 its a little short but the spec ops makes up for that and some of the challenges and timed events are good fun.
    However the shocking multiplayer which would get a 0/10 drags the whole experience down, if the call of duty games didnt rely so shamelessly on multiplayer to be worth the money they cost maybe i could justify buying them.
    Expand
  40. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Great game. The SP and CO-OP was a 10/10 for me, however the MP could have been better with a few patches. The only things I can list that were wrong were -No Dedicated servers -Rocket launcher and noob toobs didn't occupy perk 1 Early launch hackers were plentiful (not too many now) I give the MP a 8/10 purely based on the fact that COD 4 and COD 6 are the only ones I play now. I'dGreat game. The SP and CO-OP was a 10/10 for me, however the MP could have been better with a few patches. The only things I can list that were wrong were -No Dedicated servers -Rocket launcher and noob toobs didn't occupy perk 1 Early launch hackers were plentiful (not too many now) I give the MP a 8/10 purely based on the fact that COD 4 and COD 6 are the only ones I play now. I'd say this is the last good game in the franchise it all went downhill on Black Ops 1. Expand
  41. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    Infinity wards "Modern warfare 2" is quite fun the campaign gets repetitive like any other game but the end of the world theme is pretty AWESOME! the fact that the Russians are invading the U.S is heart pumping at times but Russia for the villains is a bit overused for games such as these. IW has added a CO OP option which sets you in places from the campaign and offers a challenge likeInfinity wards "Modern warfare 2" is quite fun the campaign gets repetitive like any other game but the end of the world theme is pretty AWESOME! the fact that the Russians are invading the U.S is heart pumping at times but Russia for the villains is a bit overused for games such as these. IW has added a CO OP option which sets you in places from the campaign and offers a challenge like fighting off a bunch of solders in protective armor with only explosives or fight off hordes of enemy's in a building with you're friend even on veteran difficulty it's pretty fun. And the multiplayer is a mixed bag there is overpowered guns and killstreak and cheap death streaks such as you go into a last stand with you're pistol or when you die you drop a grenade and then there is One man army with it equipped you can switch to a different class at any time is people over use it and attach a grenade launcher on their assault rifle and every time they run out of ammo they switch over to their one man army and equips the SAME CLASS WITH A GRENADE LAUNCHER AND ONE MAN ARMY AND DO IT AGAIN AND AGAIN! so would i buy it? yeah you can find it a gamestop for 12 or 11$ Pre Owned. Expand
  42. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    When playing this I thought, it took a genius to make this. The amazing story line, short, but amazing blew my mind. Every aspect of this game is wonderful. Graphics, gameplay, etc. The multiplayer is a little bumpy though, but everything else is wonderful!
  43. Oct 20, 2013
    1
    The campaign is awful. Gameplay is repetitive and only really fun with the snowmobile mission. Plot doesn't really make sense and the characters are hollow and cliché. As for multiplayer Halo 3 and Counter Strike are much better.
  44. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    I'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a majorI'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a major issue. Most of the players use either the ACR, which literally has perfect accuracy, or an explosive weapon, which have earned their bad reputation. I'll take -2 off for that. And then, the latency issues. Even when my Internet connection is top notch, I still get the occasional 200+ ping while the host has 0. -1 for that. In the graphical sense, it actually strikes a nice balance between graphics and performance, and has given it a reputation of being able to run on nearly anything. I was able to run this on a Pentium core and a Radeon 4550 HD GPU, and the game looked quite good. If you are a fan of Call of Duty, get this game, but not for the multiplayer. Expand
  45. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    In its prime MW2 was Amazing, With friends it could of been the best fun you have ever had playing a PC game. But from 2010-2012 many hackers, Quickscopers and noob tubers made the game frustrating. Nowdays the game is still populated decetly and most of the Hackers have moved on to more recent cods. In 2009 i would of highly reccomended this game, But now you would probably not enjoyIn its prime MW2 was Amazing, With friends it could of been the best fun you have ever had playing a PC game. But from 2010-2012 many hackers, Quickscopers and noob tubers made the game frustrating. Nowdays the game is still populated decetly and most of the Hackers have moved on to more recent cods. In 2009 i would of highly reccomended this game, But now you would probably not enjoy getting killed over and over if your a lvl 1. If you can find it for a cheap price buy it, if not maybe buy a recent shooter. Expand
  46. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    I played every COD series over 100 hours.
    MW2 is not the best of the series. The level of completion is not so high.
    But it gave me lots of fun. More than other series.
    I still think MW2's multi-player is the best among the series.
  47. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    I'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a majorI'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a major issue. Most of the players use either the ACR, which literally has perfect accuracy, or an explosive weapon, which have earned their bad reputation. I'll take -2 off for that. And then, the latency issues. Even when my Internet connection is top notch, I still get the occasional 200+ ping while the host has 0. -1 for that. In the graphical sense, it actually strikes a nice balance between graphics and performance, and has given it a reputation of being able to run on nearly anything. I was able to run this on a Pentium core and a Radeon 4550 HD GPU, and the game looked quite good. If you are a fan of Call of Duty, get this game, but not for the multiplayer. Expand
  48. MarshallE
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Singularly the worst of all the Call of Duty games. No dedicated server, No coop, No leaning, No FOV adjust, No console, Unskippable everything, Short single player, Implied racism, Slanders several countries and peoples. Most politically incorrect game I've ever played, and for no good reason either. Avoid this soulless tripe at all costs.
  49. MazzleT
    Jan 4, 2010
    0
    fucking discrace of a game, absolutely unplayable multiplayer, endless rubberbanding, terrible lag, unbalanced teams, client switch every 5 minutes, do not waste yout money on this abominable travesty of a failure made purely for money so they can leech us evety penny from there low quality trash
  50. whyreally
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    I downloaded it via torrents and it is a lot worse than I thought it would be I cancelled my preorder because the lack of support is simply degenerative to the PC community I'm not glad I did - singleplayer is meh graphics are meh sound is good gameplay is exactly the same as cod 4 (not bad...nothing new) its the exact same game - don't know how people can claim this is the best I downloaded it via torrents and it is a lot worse than I thought it would be I cancelled my preorder because the lack of support is simply degenerative to the PC community I'm not glad I did - singleplayer is meh graphics are meh sound is good gameplay is exactly the same as cod 4 (not bad...nothing new) its the exact same game - don't know how people can claim this is the best game of all time - its horrible - its not unique - and it sets standards which are akin to shitting on a persons head IW/Activision has taken the wrong road... by embracing console gamers, they alienate their entire base from which they came - its simply mind boggling the stupidity of the situation of the WAY below standard expectations for games no console they can push out the same crap year after year and get even more money - its simply pathetic our society is as retarded as that Expand
  51. KenK
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Short, lackluster campaign and broken multiplayer. The game just doesn't live up to modern day PC FPS standards, all while being overpriced. Don't give in to the hype, MW2 is a disappointment.
  52. Aug 28, 2010
    1
    I have always been a fan of call of duty games so i figured i would like this one. I pre-ordered the special edition and picked it up day one. I finished the campaign which was short but fun. I played mulitplayer which was also fun. For the first week. Then everyone was exploiting glitches, using the same over powered weapons and perks. It is a horrible multiplayer experience to this day.I have always been a fan of call of duty games so i figured i would like this one. I pre-ordered the special edition and picked it up day one. I finished the campaign which was short but fun. I played mulitplayer which was also fun. For the first week. Then everyone was exploiting glitches, using the same over powered weapons and perks. It is a horrible multiplayer experience to this day. It only gets a 1 because the single player is decent. Expand
  53. MarshalB
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    No Dedicated servers, no mods, 9vs9 multiplayer, no kicking cheaters, 4 hour campaign. This game is pretty much a $60 expansion to a game with features removed, any reviewer giving it a 10 ought to be ashamed of themselves.
  54. JackBauer
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    Online play is terrible, you end up waiting way too long in the que and nothing is done about cheaters. IW and their VAC do not work.
  55. OskarK
    Jan 1, 2010
    1
    Single player: Short, story is a joke, but enjoyable 3/5 Spec-Ops: I'm pretty impressed with it, its cool 5/5 Multiplayer: Worst multiplayer i've ever seen.. Bad map design, this leads to millions of campers, the players are noobish (about 70%) they cant even play on an objective based game with teamwork. Matchmarking FAILS.. akimbo g18, akimbo model 1887 is too overpowered and Single player: Short, story is a joke, but enjoyable 3/5 Spec-Ops: I'm pretty impressed with it, its cool 5/5 Multiplayer: Worst multiplayer i've ever seen.. Bad map design, this leads to millions of campers, the players are noobish (about 70%) they cant even play on an objective based game with teamwork. Matchmarking FAILS.. akimbo g18, akimbo model 1887 is too overpowered and unskilled, spawning system sucks.. when I kill someone, that guy spawns behind me and shoots me... The multiplayer is especially made for noobs... It's really unenjoyable, fustrating, and 0% of fun. Multiplayer mode is a JOKE! + no dedicated servers?.. I'd rather play MW1 then this rubbish.. 0/5 Did IW really thought that PC gamers will be pleased with this?.. Fail Expand
  56. Nov 7, 2010
    4
    Call of Duty is a game for pigeon, nag, no gameplay, bowling with a very repetitive very short life! Apart from the graphics is a waste, non-existent community, full of cheater, in short, I do not recommend at all!
  57. Jan 1, 2011
    1
    This game is fun for 24hours every 3 months. They do a ban wave and all the cheaters go away. And then for a few hours I am a god. Then the cheaters have all bought new account keys or more likely used a key gen and made them from scratch and I am once again glowing on their screen regardless of camouflage, because they changed the skins. Likewise, they shoot through walls and terrainThis game is fun for 24hours every 3 months. They do a ban wave and all the cheaters go away. And then for a few hours I am a god. Then the cheaters have all bought new account keys or more likely used a key gen and made them from scratch and I am once again glowing on their screen regardless of camouflage, because they changed the skins. Likewise, they shoot through walls and terrain so cover doesn't matter either.

    I give it a 1 because the single player didn't suck. It was waaaay too short for multiplayer to be as useless as it is though.
    Expand
  58. gblack
    Feb 3, 2010
    4
    Although sp game was enjoyable, mp was less than enjoyable, no map creation/console was one of the worst decision in the development imo, plus the lack of dedicated servers, as iwnet really is sub standard in comparison.also the decision to take out lean function was again a bad move on the developers part, makes the game (compared to previous versions) sub-standard. Im going to be Although sp game was enjoyable, mp was less than enjoyable, no map creation/console was one of the worst decision in the development imo, plus the lack of dedicated servers, as iwnet really is sub standard in comparison.also the decision to take out lean function was again a bad move on the developers part, makes the game (compared to previous versions) sub-standard. Im going to be playing battlefield bad company 2 exclusively when it arrives in march, which for a cod veteran (played series from day one) is a huge decision, but the decision to exclude dedicated servers, map creation and no lean function has forced my hand. Expand
  59. PaulR
    Apr 28, 2010
    0
    Horrible Matchmaking, horrible spawns, horrible player systems. This is destroying the livery that PC gaming offers. This inherently is a playable game, but the over the top shenanigans and terrible online capabilities are a slap in the face towards gamers and military personnel like. Infinity Ward is done, and Activision brought this on themselves.
  60. lawrencef
    Jan 22, 2010
    1
    the game play is great but IW net ruins everything, if i wanted a console style game i'd buy a console
  61. AlL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    Now I came into this totally unbiased, not expecting something amazing and not expecting something totally awful. Even then, I was disappointed how Infinity Ward could brush aside their PC gamers like this. No dedicated servers, no lean, no PC specific anything. The lean and the rest of the stuff PC users lost I can deal with, but for the love of god bring us a patch with DEDICATED Now I came into this totally unbiased, not expecting something amazing and not expecting something totally awful. Even then, I was disappointed how Infinity Ward could brush aside their PC gamers like this. No dedicated servers, no lean, no PC specific anything. The lean and the rest of the stuff PC users lost I can deal with, but for the love of god bring us a patch with DEDICATED SERVERS! If this does not happen, I will no longer support Infinity Ward, and I know many others won't either. It's foolish to take the Xbox game, and slap a PC badge over it. Shame on you Infinity Ward. We may not be the biggest purchasers of your game, but we are the ones that started it all and made you what you are today. You've stabbed us in the back. Expand
  62. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    Well. Modern Warfare 2 was probably one of the greatest big online FPS games ever made. BEFORE ALL THE SMALL KIDS AND HACKERS TOOK IT. basically, the only thing MW2 needed was Dedicated servers. It was hard sometimes to play it the e-sport way (through ESL and such). But beneath that, it was great. The graphics, soundtrack, gameplay. Just wow, beautiful. But ofcourse got ruined when thereWell. Modern Warfare 2 was probably one of the greatest big online FPS games ever made. BEFORE ALL THE SMALL KIDS AND HACKERS TOOK IT. basically, the only thing MW2 needed was Dedicated servers. It was hard sometimes to play it the e-sport way (through ESL and such). But beneath that, it was great. The graphics, soundtrack, gameplay. Just wow, beautiful. But ofcourse got ruined when there were no support at all with hackers and patches. Great campaign too, shed a tear. Damn Soap Expand
  63. JD.
    Jan 10, 2010
    3
    I have no problem with the lack of dedicated servers because I'm in it for the single player campaign because that's what Call of Duty series was all about! Stop trying to rewrite history claiming Call of Duty is all about multiplayer. It wasn't until AFTER COD2 that I.W. realised the following the multiplayer had on PC. However after being mildly disappointed with COD4 MW1 I have no problem with the lack of dedicated servers because I'm in it for the single player campaign because that's what Call of Duty series was all about! Stop trying to rewrite history claiming Call of Duty is all about multiplayer. It wasn't until AFTER COD2 that I.W. realised the following the multiplayer had on PC. However after being mildly disappointed with COD4 MW1 because of the rather idiotic AI (both friendly and enemy) and quite disappointing set pieces (not a patch on those in COD and COD2) imagine my disgust to find that I.W. has done absolutely nothing to address either of these issues and indeed have now added a non-nonsensical story to go with even crappier set pieces and unbelievably it seems they have made the AI stupider! (I know it's not true but WOW does it feel like it) the sheer idiocy of the AI will leave you breathless. Turning up the difficulty just seems to result in more enemy AI targeting you, even if one of your friendly AI's is literally 1 meter from them and you're on the other side of the map. Simply Stunning in it's ineptitude and laziness. Even HALO's AI craps on this from a great height. I.W. had me with COD and COD2. They showed me the future with COD4 MW1, and it came to pass with MW2. Absolute crap. Save your money and wait for Battlefield Bad Company (I can't believe I just endorsed a Battlefield game! See what you've made me do Infinity Ward!) Expand
  64. jockom
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    I bought that game to play it with my friends, but soon i realised that that is simply not possible in 90% of the time. And if in some way we all connect, it gets frustrating b/c high pings and random cheaters and abusers yelling on voice chat.
  65. RookieLeader
    Jan 13, 2010
    3
    3 for the single part that is riskie and full of cliche but keep you on stress every last seconds. But then... nothing. The multiplayer part is a bunch of "too bad" moments : too bad you don't have optical fiber connection you all, too bad you are disconnected every 5 minutes, too bad you can't have dedicated servers and make a "real" community around this game, too bad you gave 3 for the single part that is riskie and full of cliche but keep you on stress every last seconds. But then... nothing. The multiplayer part is a bunch of "too bad" moments : too bad you don't have optical fiber connection you all, too bad you are disconnected every 5 minutes, too bad you can't have dedicated servers and make a "real" community around this game, too bad you gave 60 euros/dollars for a game that won't live much. Who, on PC (not talking about XBOX or PS3), will pay for new content when you see how careless the devs are for their public? Expand
  66. Jan 6, 2011
    1
    I gave this game a 1, the storyline was just completely pointless, didnt make much sense, some parts were intense but this game seems like its one of those games you play at an arcade where you just shoot guys that pop up because you cant really go anywhere besides where the game developers want you to be. Also the multiplayer is just laggy and bleh, If you like FPS games, but want a moreI gave this game a 1, the storyline was just completely pointless, didnt make much sense, some parts were intense but this game seems like its one of those games you play at an arcade where you just shoot guys that pop up because you cant really go anywhere besides where the game developers want you to be. Also the multiplayer is just laggy and bleh, If you like FPS games, but want a more challenging multiplayer/bigger maps go buy Bad Company 2, its not as popular, but i think its just because Call of Duty is way to heavily advertised, the game developers just want our money, (also the price is rediculous, and they just use the same graphics animations and sounds as the other call of duty games just a little improved, and if you watch gameplay of the original call of duty when you shoot someone they do the exact same thing in this game) Expand
  67. RobertoB.
    Jan 20, 2010
    3
    just few words. Single player in my opinion is too short. I've finished it in just 4 hours and the end is so foreseeable. Multiplayer without dedicated server, without anticheat is shit; too much lag and too much hackers. Very good work iW. i think that it's the worst cod that i ever played.
  68. ViperC.S.
    Feb 11, 2010
    3
    Nunca segundas partes fueron buenas... En relacion al CoD4 y el XFire, esta nueva version del CoD4. 2 deja mucho que desear. Empezare por su sistema Steam. Es muy dictatorial. Nadie puede imponer en que servidor, partida y equipo ha de jugar. No es libre como XFire. Faltan Mods para mejorarlo. Muy mal desarrollado el Steam comparado con XFire. Historia absurda para mentes absurdas. Nunca segundas partes fueron buenas... En relacion al CoD4 y el XFire, esta nueva version del CoD4. 2 deja mucho que desear. Empezare por su sistema Steam. Es muy dictatorial. Nadie puede imponer en que servidor, partida y equipo ha de jugar. No es libre como XFire. Faltan Mods para mejorarlo. Muy mal desarrollado el Steam comparado con XFire. Historia absurda para mentes absurdas. Infinity podria haber mejorado este juego en su totalidad y hacerlo mas atractivo, pues es bastante oscuro y existe poca diferencia de uniformes con el enemigo. NO VOLVERE A COMPRAR NADA MAS QUE SEA BASADO EN STEAM y de INFINITY WARD MIRARE ANTES CON LUPA SUS NUEVOS PRODUCTOS. Gran decepcion en Multijugador por sus cortes de servidor, su modo dictatorial de enviar a server, escenario y equipo a quien se conecta. En pocas palabras. ME QUEDO CON CoD4 y XFire. Expand
  69. Ownage
    Feb 3, 2010
    3
    Single player too short and tried to be too hollywood jumping from one objective to the next. Multiplayed maps are too small, boring and repetative. Less players can join compared to the old battlefield. Constant drop offs from lobbies waiting for a game to start. No ability to kick, ban or report cheaters. LOTS OF CHEATERS IN THIS GAME to the point its not playable. IF someone tk's Single player too short and tried to be too hollywood jumping from one objective to the next. Multiplayed maps are too small, boring and repetative. Less players can join compared to the old battlefield. Constant drop offs from lobbies waiting for a game to start. No ability to kick, ban or report cheaters. LOTS OF CHEATERS IN THIS GAME to the point its not playable. IF someone tk's the whole match there is nothing you can do about it. Game should have cost less than 65$ because of the lack of effort or patches put into it. Hold out for battlefield which has consistently put out a good series. After COD World At War this one drops the ball and was overhyped. Expand
  70. Unknowncss
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The P2P server system on this game is terrible, You often end up in laggy servers or servers where the host rage quits and you have to keep on migrateing.
  71. JA
    Jan 1, 2010
    2
    The gameplay in this game solid, but the way its delivered is horrendous. The laziness of the devlopers can easily be spotted in this game. This came alone has completely changed Infinity Ward's status in the PC gamer community.
  72. leom
    Jan 22, 2010
    1
    The game blows.The graphics are consolarized,no deciated servers or mods,You have to use steam as well. AIm waiting for bad company 2 which actully has support for the pc,like better grahpics than consoles and decicated servers
  73. Sabbath
    Jan 20, 2010
    2
    nothing new ... same old story. non dedicated servers bad work.
  74. FlorianK
    Apr 28, 2010
    3
    The Game itself is to be concidered really nice, but the absence of dedicated server support, absolutely random matchmaking, random senseless spawn systems, no ability to kick foul players, no ability to choose maps, blabla - in short: the fact that the players of this game are stripped of all of their freedoms and are being forced to play with hackers, cheaters, campers and lamers and on The Game itself is to be concidered really nice, but the absence of dedicated server support, absolutely random matchmaking, random senseless spawn systems, no ability to kick foul players, no ability to choose maps, blabla - in short: the fact that the players of this game are stripped of all of their freedoms and are being forced to play with hackers, cheaters, campers and lamers and on maps they dont like makes this game the worst i've ever played. Expand
  75. Oct 8, 2011
    0
    I have this game for XBOX 360, and it sucks.I would rather play Superman 64 or ET over this game. The reason I'm writing a review here on the PC section is because writing only one bad review does not accurately portray my hatred of this game. The multiplayer's perks are extremely unbalanced and basically have a ninja mode, there are no dedicated servers, cheaters are everywhere, lagI have this game for XBOX 360, and it sucks.I would rather play Superman 64 or ET over this game. The reason I'm writing a review here on the PC section is because writing only one bad review does not accurately portray my hatred of this game. The multiplayer's perks are extremely unbalanced and basically have a ninja mode, there are no dedicated servers, cheaters are everywhere, lag abounds, and glitches are the main way I died. The single player's plot has more holes than the Columbine victims, but the set pieces look cool. I would reccomend this game to you if you were dumb enough to like Transformers 2. Expand
  76. Nov 17, 2011
    4
    Coming off a successful MW1, Infinity Ward brings a lot that is familiar back with some new twists. Unfortunately, what could have been a good sequel is plagued by hackers that have free reign on the system making it completely unplayable on the PC. I would have rated this game much higher, if I would have been able to actually play it. And no dedicated servers??? Really. Do any of theseComing off a successful MW1, Infinity Ward brings a lot that is familiar back with some new twists. Unfortunately, what could have been a good sequel is plagued by hackers that have free reign on the system making it completely unplayable on the PC. I would have rated this game much higher, if I would have been able to actually play it. And no dedicated servers??? Really. Do any of these people even play games on a PC?? Expand
  77. Nov 18, 2011
    3
    Essentially a map pack for MW2. It is fun, and a run-n-gun at it's core elements. I hope that they will support the PC version and the Call of Duty franchise will respect their roots. MW2 I think got only 1 or 2 patches before they abandoned it (on PC), leaving the community with imbalanced weapons and unstable online support & match making. So far im seeing a handful of issues withEssentially a map pack for MW2. It is fun, and a run-n-gun at it's core elements. I hope that they will support the PC version and the Call of Duty franchise will respect their roots. MW2 I think got only 1 or 2 patches before they abandoned it (on PC), leaving the community with imbalanced weapons and unstable online support & match making. So far im seeing a handful of issues with online play and connectivity. Survival is glitchy, often kicking your partner out of the game all together. Skyrim had a patch on Day 1, just saying. With the millions and millions of money that they made I hope they put some of it back into the community with patches and support. I would be willing to bump up my review if PC gets some patches from IW & Activision/Blizzard Expand
  78. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    As someone who can only speak for the single-player side of things, this game was plenty enjoyable, if not particularly impressive. The campaign is fun and exhilarating--so long as you don't think about things too much--and the spec ops missions add additional SP fun. As with most tunnel-shooter games these days, it suffers from relatively poor replay value, but if you can pick it up onAs someone who can only speak for the single-player side of things, this game was plenty enjoyable, if not particularly impressive. The campaign is fun and exhilarating--so long as you don't think about things too much--and the spec ops missions add additional SP fun. As with most tunnel-shooter games these days, it suffers from relatively poor replay value, but if you can pick it up on sale it's probably worth it. Expand
  79. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    I see a lot of negative user ratings and gasp. I understand why they exist, but people have to have a level of understanding. The campaign took me about 2 hours to complete, and it's exactly the same gameplay as any other Call of Duty Game (You know, you're in a spot and eliminate the enemies, move on, breach a few doors, infiltrate some secret location for intel, etc.). The Spec OpsI see a lot of negative user ratings and gasp. I understand why they exist, but people have to have a level of understanding. The campaign took me about 2 hours to complete, and it's exactly the same gameplay as any other Call of Duty Game (You know, you're in a spot and eliminate the enemies, move on, breach a few doors, infiltrate some secret location for intel, etc.). The Spec Ops levels were almost addicting as the player strives for high scores so that they can unlock more levels... At times, both the campaign and spec ops can be extremely frustrating, but once you beat it, it's rather satisfying. The visuals throughout the game are impressive and greatly customizable so that they run on low-end PCs and laptops... But then, there's the multiplayer. This is why people are critical of the game on PC. It's highly addicting and very simple. Many skilled gamers find this worthless and a waste of time, but most gamers like the fact that you can get fast, non-stop action without the use of too much skill. However, as in many PC multiplayer games, there are hackers. This is where many negative reviews come in. The hackers are not the fault of the game itself. It's the people who hack that make the game worse. The game itself deserves a high metascore for being an excellent addition to the series. The hackers deserve the lowest metascore possible. If you wish to enjoy the game without worrying about hackers, get yourself a MW2 Config program (search Google) and backup your stats! And, in reality, only about 1 person in 10 lobbies hacks, so that's 9 good games in a row, then all you have to do is quit the lobby and join another one, and you're set!

    Overall, this is a great game with intriguing (but Short) Single Player and fun Spec Ops levels along with addictive multiplayer that make any gamer want to strive to achieve the highest level while completing challenges and acquiring prestige. The graphics are good enough so that there is realism to the game but still customizable enough so that the low-end pcs can run this game without a problem. If you are careful, you can have a lot of fun with this game. BACK UP YOUR MULTIPLAYER STATS and you WILL have fun.
    Expand
  80. MurrayW
    Jan 17, 2010
    3
    Personally I have no idea what goes through the heads of those who give this game a good score. I am not scoring low because of IW's bad service or lack of dedicated servers. I am judging on the game itself. Infinity ward have 8 years under their belt, yet seem to only have mastered the very fundamentals of a basic shooter. There is nothing in this game that deserves the ridiculous Personally I have no idea what goes through the heads of those who give this game a good score. I am not scoring low because of IW's bad service or lack of dedicated servers. I am judging on the game itself. Infinity ward have 8 years under their belt, yet seem to only have mastered the very fundamentals of a basic shooter. There is nothing in this game that deserves the ridiculous hype it has received from such respected reviewers. In terms of the game in itself, it is fine and offers a few hours of fun, however, in the face of hundreds of other FPS games on the market, there is NOTHING to put this game ahead and earn any well-deserved hype. The game is completely featureless, and only seems to be the bare bones of what a shooter should start off as.. Only with average graphics added. It sits uncomfortably in the middle of the realism scale, not being too unrealistic for a fun game, and not realistic enough to be considered.. Well.. Realistic. There are many other games on the market which can also offer far more enjoyable online play (tf2, l4d, cs:s, arma, any other game, etc..) All in all, the game is a mediocre shooter which has the same gameplay as shooters released over 5 years ago. There is nothing to put it ahead of any other game on the market, as whatever aspect of a shooter you're looking for, it'll be better utilized in another game. Don't get sucked in by the hype. This game is rubbish Expand
  81. WilliamM
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Needs dedicated server support on the PC platform. BADLY. Other than that absolutely amazing game, very in depth and has plenty of goals and achievements for players to progress through.
  82. Don'tBuyThisGame
    Jan 6, 2010
    0
    I Loved, Loved, LOVED CoD MW2. It will always be the constant reminder to never buy into the hype, never pay full markup on new releases, never let fancy graphics cloud true gameplay. If you want fancy graphics, with a decently engaging storyline with FAR more availability for PvE action and tactical manuevering, (And dedicated servers lol) and have a computer to play MW2, I'd advise I Loved, Loved, LOVED CoD MW2. It will always be the constant reminder to never buy into the hype, never pay full markup on new releases, never let fancy graphics cloud true gameplay. If you want fancy graphics, with a decently engaging storyline with FAR more availability for PvE action and tactical manuevering, (And dedicated servers lol) and have a computer to play MW2, I'd advise you buy Crysis. Atleast you can then brag to your friends you have an as beautiful looking game (Cause that's all they care about apparently as we've seen), that actually allows you to approach objectives in any manner you see fit, instead of running down the same narrow direction and admiring all the pretty colors around you. I was thinking of giving this a 1 rating, simply because I got to see Russians invading America, but then I realised that would contribute to anything but considering this game is a total utter failure and waste of 60$, which is exactly what it is. Expand
  83. JB
    Feb 6, 2010
    2
    The singleplayer mode is fun, i admit. However, multiplayer is somethign of a fail. IWNET takes all the fun out of mp, fun that we had on cod4 (and dare i say it cod5) with modding, custom maps, and custom rules. Im lucky if i can play two consecutive matches in a row without being disconnected and faced with some message saying 'Cannot migrate host' or 'Game lobby The singleplayer mode is fun, i admit. However, multiplayer is somethign of a fail. IWNET takes all the fun out of mp, fun that we had on cod4 (and dare i say it cod5) with modding, custom maps, and custom rules. Im lucky if i can play two consecutive matches in a row without being disconnected and faced with some message saying 'Cannot migrate host' or 'Game lobby closed'. Give us back good old PC gaming Please? Expand
  84. PumpkinReaper
    Dec 3, 2009
    0
    The 0 is for multiplayer, even if you compare the console version to the previous version there's a lot of problems that hurt the game. For one thing, the spawn points are far more random instead of being vaguely on opposite sides of the map, so now you may end up having someone spawn directly behind you OR you may spawn on a grenade and so on. It just was shoddily done and the The 0 is for multiplayer, even if you compare the console version to the previous version there's a lot of problems that hurt the game. For one thing, the spawn points are far more random instead of being vaguely on opposite sides of the map, so now you may end up having someone spawn directly behind you OR you may spawn on a grenade and so on. It just was shoddily done and the respawn system should of had a lot more work done. Knifing is just ridiculous in this, sure it should be a little viable at least for screwing around, but right now it's pretty much dominating, how is sneaking around stabbing everyone even remotely how modern warfare is carried out? Noob Tubing is still existent in the game, one of the only other real problems in the first modern warfare (the other being martyrdom and how rampant it was) and it isn't entertaining when players will just rush in, use up their grenade launcher shot and then die, usually killing someone else in the process. All of these and more could of been alleviated slightly more if the PC version had dedicated servers (moderators to keep things in check and custom rules, along with people knowing where they can go when they just want to play with a specific ruleset). Also no modding = less replayability for a game after you've gotten all you can get out of it. Expand
  85. kevinW.
    Jan 25, 2010
    3
    Graphics and Single player great as usual, but totally boned the pc user's by not making dedicated servers, I am tired of servers crashing hosts being lost lobbies closing for no reason or my game crashing. Once the new Battlefield is out I am forgetting I bought this game and will never buy another with this server system.
  86. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    MW2 is a masterpiece, The best FPS EVER MADE! I have spent over 1000+ hours on this game it's absolutely amazing nothing more to say if you want a fast pasted action military shooter THIS is the game for you!
  87. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Modern Warfare 2, while no doubt being a good game, is not nearly as good as Modern Warfare. The campaign was extremely good and very fun with some jaw dropping moments such as the invasion of Washington DC. The graphics are truly amazing with events such as said invasion of Washington DC looking hellish and very real with recognizable monuments such as the Washington Monument and the White House being partly destroyed. The multiplayer which, oddly enough, is the main attraction, is very fun, I found it extremely unbalanced at times and plagued with glitches. The new weapons, attachments, and perks made it much more fun. While not at the same level as say, Half Life 2, it still is a great game. Expand
  88. TravisC
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    I don't see why people are voting low for this game, the single player is good, a little short but a good replay value. Multiplayer is better as you level up and the special ops will challenge your skills in evading, defending, attacking, support and many other ways.
  89. JaceW
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 was a masterpiece. It has incredible graphics, the storyline was gripping, making me play until the very end, my heart racing every time I turn a corner. The multiplayer is by far the best part of the game. You can never get bored as you never face the same person with the same guns every time. This game involves massive amounts of teamwork and coordination, and makes Modern Warfare 2 was a masterpiece. It has incredible graphics, the storyline was gripping, making me play until the very end, my heart racing every time I turn a corner. The multiplayer is by far the best part of the game. You can never get bored as you never face the same person with the same guns every time. This game involves massive amounts of teamwork and coordination, and makes playing it a better experience than any other game I've played before. Infinity Ward has really shown that they can make a FPS equally appealing to anything Bungie, or Valve has. Expand
  90. CharlieC
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Everyone here is just bad at criticizing. You are just crying cause you didnt get what you like. Don't criticize for 9v9. That is what MW2 is. A small skirmish battle game. it is meant for small team vs small team. If you are looking for a larger size battle, go to a different game. They didn't want to make it large fights, so that's what they did. I for one enjoy small Everyone here is just bad at criticizing. You are just crying cause you didnt get what you like. Don't criticize for 9v9. That is what MW2 is. A small skirmish battle game. it is meant for small team vs small team. If you are looking for a larger size battle, go to a different game. They didn't want to make it large fights, so that's what they did. I for one enjoy small strategic fights. It is great for teamwork. Also, the multiplayer is a lot better now. It is so much more smooth and enjoyable. If you are crying over the loss of dedicated servers, ah well, it does suck. However, atleast they released it on PC so you can use your mouse and keyboard. Once you get in the game, even if its matchmaking, once you get inside, its amazing! Awesome gameplay! Expand
  91. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is a little, disappointing. And I'm going to say why It is? It costs more, and It haves less multiplayer features than other PC shooters, exactly like GameSpot said. Still, this game stays fresh with the superb campaign and spec ops. 79 out of 100
  92. IvenH
    Jan 19, 2010
    1
    Good game - bad service. Several times lags and cheaters. Sometimes I can shoot, sometimes I was killed without any chance to survive. Bullshit is the non-dedicated server!!!!!
  93. Dalek
    Jan 3, 2010
    5
    I expected more, I completed it in 6 hours. I would normally take a day or 2 if I got bored of it. Single player is pretty good, execpt it's short, I felt like hey it's the beginning. Now it's near the end. Multiplayer seems quite fun at first but then you realize your doing the same thing over and over, kill, level up, dead, dead. Lose, win. There are other game modes but I expected more, I completed it in 6 hours. I would normally take a day or 2 if I got bored of it. Single player is pretty good, execpt it's short, I felt like hey it's the beginning. Now it's near the end. Multiplayer seems quite fun at first but then you realize your doing the same thing over and over, kill, level up, dead, dead. Lose, win. There are other game modes but they take some time to get use to and alot of them suck. They didn't do dedicated servers to stop random settings and to ruin the users expirence. But what I'm not happy about is 8 - 12 players. 6 vs 6 seems like an ok ammount, they just need to make the maps a little bit smaller in my opinion. 8 players? That's so pointless, They should also fix joining lobbys and maybe enable chat in it instead of voice chat. Expand
  94. MattL
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    After reading all the reviews about the game, i was timid at trying but i already got it. Single player was like its predecessor but introduces the new equipment in multiplayer. While i have only played about half of it, it is a decent plot so far. Multiplayer is what i mainly bought the game for. IWnet is exactly like the console version of the game (at least cod4 ps3). IW not putting in After reading all the reviews about the game, i was timid at trying but i already got it. Single player was like its predecessor but introduces the new equipment in multiplayer. While i have only played about half of it, it is a decent plot so far. Multiplayer is what i mainly bought the game for. IWnet is exactly like the console version of the game (at least cod4 ps3). IW not putting in Dedicated servers was a huge let down but, for me, IW net has not majorly failed me yet. Sparattic lag here and there but it hasn't had any major effects on my gaming experience. I enjoy multiplayer except for the occasional aim bots you happen to run into and make a good game only a few seconds which can be very frustrating. IWnet is the reason this game for a 7 out of 10, while it is a crappy replacement for dedicated servers, mw2 still delivers some quality game play experiences that cod4 had. Expand
  95. claudiog
    Jan 5, 2010
    4
    the game in single player mode is good, is hardly great, but with good hardware it is possible to appreciate the quality graphics of the game because the multiplayer mode as in previous versions but leaves much to be desired much the same, it would be better if there were such option that is too frustrating
  96. JakeO
    Jan 5, 2010
    8
    The single player is just epic, Special ops is great to play with a friend and the multiplayer is just... It's this thing about no dedicated servers, you can't join a good enough host so it will always lag for the players. Really the only thing letting this game down is the MP, I love everything else to bits. I run the game fine with 1GB RAM, GTX260 graphics and a pretty fast Dual Core.
  97. KravitsJ
    Jan 9, 2010
    0
    this game suck!! horrible multiplayer, story, it lags, alot of bugs, unbalaced teams, server switch every 2 min and sometimes you get worse server than be4. i thought it will be perfekt but it doesn´t i hope things will get better if IW allow dedicated servers
  98. ChrisM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    3
    After playing the multiplayer I can't help but think what was all of the hype about. I've played a game like this already it's called Metal Gear Online AND IT STINKS! These mappers would be hard pressed making maps any smaller. Respawns are instant in some circumstances and randomly placed in the map. There is no feeling of progression ,in a match, as a team. The enemy After playing the multiplayer I can't help but think what was all of the hype about. I've played a game like this already it's called Metal Gear Online AND IT STINKS! These mappers would be hard pressed making maps any smaller. Respawns are instant in some circumstances and randomly placed in the map. There is no feeling of progression ,in a match, as a team. The enemy lines are not present. You spawn all over the map. There is no securing an area to push ahead. Forget about decent weapon design. You'll see people stabbing you FROM THE FRONT and akimbo pistols that'll outgun your assault rifles or smgs. Forget considering this as a war game, it's a nonsensicle arcade game. Even at that it's nothing special. To make matters worse it's a peer-to-peer online connection even on the PC. Save your money for something else. Go to the casinos if you feel like impulsively gambling your $60. Expand
  99. JayB.
    Feb 1, 2010
    1
    - Lack of dedicated server support. - No map control/game filtering. - Terrible weapon balance in any mode. With the right perks, a player can dominate with just a knife. - Very poor realism (e.g., riot shields withstanding 7.62 rounds, one-hit kills with knives, model 1887's, etc.). - Very little configuration available. - Uncontrollable bouts of lag depending on what the host is - Lack of dedicated server support. - No map control/game filtering. - Terrible weapon balance in any mode. With the right perks, a player can dominate with just a knife. - Very poor realism (e.g., riot shields withstanding 7.62 rounds, one-hit kills with knives, model 1887's, etc.). - Very little configuration available. - Uncontrollable bouts of lag depending on what the host is doing during gameplay. - Matchmaking does not work. - Game is hacked worse than CoD4. - No ability to vote kick unruly players. - No chat/bad name filtering. - Over-priced ($10 more than the average PC game). Expand
  100. JamesC
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is truly fantastic. The campaign kept me on the edge of my seat, it was NOTHING like COD4. The graphics are fantastic as well. The multi-player is fast paced and intense! Sure there are no ded servers but that doesn't effect it as much and I'm certain that IW will release the support for ded servers in a couple of months. So for those of you poopin your pants over the This game is truly fantastic. The campaign kept me on the edge of my seat, it was NOTHING like COD4. The graphics are fantastic as well. The multi-player is fast paced and intense! Sure there are no ded servers but that doesn't effect it as much and I'm certain that IW will release the support for ded servers in a couple of months. So for those of you poopin your pants over the lack of ded servers, not that it effects anything since after 91 games I have had no lag at all. It appears to me that every 1 and 0 this game has received is due entirely to the lack of ded servers which is really stupid. I would hope for better from the PC community considering IW will release the support soon. You all wonder why devs take their time with PC games? Well here you have it, it is reviewers like all of you people that give us PC gamers a bad name. Go back to playing CSS if you want a perfect online game, because NO games are perfect at their launch date, ESPECIALLY not PC games. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.