User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6159 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    MW2 is a masterpiece, The best FPS EVER MADE! I have spent over 1000+ hours on this game it's absolutely amazing nothing more to say if you want a fast pasted action military shooter THIS is the game for you!
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    I see a lot of negative user ratings and gasp. I understand why they exist, but people have to have a level of understanding. The campaign took me about 2 hours to complete, and it's exactly the same gameplay as any other Call of Duty Game (You know, you're in a spot and eliminate the enemies, move on, breach a few doors, infiltrate some secret location for intel, etc.). The Spec OpsI see a lot of negative user ratings and gasp. I understand why they exist, but people have to have a level of understanding. The campaign took me about 2 hours to complete, and it's exactly the same gameplay as any other Call of Duty Game (You know, you're in a spot and eliminate the enemies, move on, breach a few doors, infiltrate some secret location for intel, etc.). The Spec Ops levels were almost addicting as the player strives for high scores so that they can unlock more levels... At times, both the campaign and spec ops can be extremely frustrating, but once you beat it, it's rather satisfying. The visuals throughout the game are impressive and greatly customizable so that they run on low-end PCs and laptops... But then, there's the multiplayer. This is why people are critical of the game on PC. It's highly addicting and very simple. Many skilled gamers find this worthless and a waste of time, but most gamers like the fact that you can get fast, non-stop action without the use of too much skill. However, as in many PC multiplayer games, there are hackers. This is where many negative reviews come in. The hackers are not the fault of the game itself. It's the people who hack that make the game worse. The game itself deserves a high metascore for being an excellent addition to the series. The hackers deserve the lowest metascore possible. If you wish to enjoy the game without worrying about hackers, get yourself a MW2 Config program (search Google) and backup your stats! And, in reality, only about 1 person in 10 lobbies hacks, so that's 9 good games in a row, then all you have to do is quit the lobby and join another one, and you're set!

    Overall, this is a great game with intriguing (but Short) Single Player and fun Spec Ops levels along with addictive multiplayer that make any gamer want to strive to achieve the highest level while completing challenges and acquiring prestige. The graphics are good enough so that there is realism to the game but still customizable enough so that the low-end pcs can run this game without a problem. If you are careful, you can have a lot of fun with this game. BACK UP YOUR MULTIPLAYER STATS and you WILL have fun.
    Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    I'l give this game a 9 simply perfect online action and cannot wait for the new COD to come out!! Would be 10 if the single player gameplay was longer! but to be honest, who plays COD for single player?! think IW realised this after the success of COD2.
    Need its own personal servers online. no where to hide now so I wouldnt worry about campers.. cause everyone knows the camp spots and can
    I'l give this game a 9 simply perfect online action and cannot wait for the new COD to come out!! Would be 10 if the single player gameplay was longer! but to be honest, who plays COD for single player?! think IW realised this after the success of COD2.
    Need its own personal servers online. no where to hide now so I wouldnt worry about campers.. cause everyone knows the camp spots and can easily kill the camping noobs!
    perhaps needs moderating for cheats, large number of aimbots.. boring people.
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare 2 is the best shooting game in the world that I have seen especially when I kill a lot of people without dieing. The call of duty modern warfare 2 never can become bored ever when I am playing it I all ways playing it and I never get bored of it nearly at the time Iâ
  5. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps gameWhile I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps game before, as I don't have to tell you how awful a joystick is for competitive fps games. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Good evening. I had the good fortune to receive this game as a birthday gift from an elderly acquaintance at one of my champagne parties, and I found the game to be a rather splendid affair. Indeed, one would find this to be a frightfully realistic portrayal of conflict. Of course, like many other noble gentlemen, I've used a firearm many times in my day-to-day affairs, (although I mightGood evening. I had the good fortune to receive this game as a birthday gift from an elderly acquaintance at one of my champagne parties, and I found the game to be a rather splendid affair. Indeed, one would find this to be a frightfully realistic portrayal of conflict. Of course, like many other noble gentlemen, I've used a firearm many times in my day-to-day affairs, (although I might add that foxes and pheasants tend not to shoot back), so it is with some considerable difficulty that I completed the first "level" (is that what you young folk call a section of a computer game?) of this video entertainment, but jolly good fun it was! Bravo! (..and that's not "Bravo" as in "Bravo Two Zero", hur hur!).
    Toodle pip.
    Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Unbelievably great storyline, graphics and possibilities in the SP. Just a few minor glitches I noticed (I didn't notice most of them when I played the game for the first time). I also love the fact that you can notice the difference between the easiest and hardest level (Recruit -> Veteran). Beyond question in the top5 games I've played. Despite the minor bugs it deserves a 10/10.
  8. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    Gameplay - 9.5 , Graphics - 9.0 , Story - 7.5 , Playing time - 50+hours (MP includes). Very fun game. Graphically so well optimized. Improved multiplayer to COD4. However, the lack of dedicated server is annoying.
  9. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    Honestly regardless of what people say MW2 is the best CoD out there, people say they had bad experiences with MW2 online..well if that's the case go play a Treyarch version "Black ops series". Then you will have the true definition of fail. Infinity Ward is the better developer of the two companies that battle back and forth developing the CoD series. I'm willing to bet that most peopleHonestly regardless of what people say MW2 is the best CoD out there, people say they had bad experiences with MW2 online..well if that's the case go play a Treyarch version "Black ops series". Then you will have the true definition of fail. Infinity Ward is the better developer of the two companies that battle back and forth developing the CoD series. I'm willing to bet that most people are not even aware of that, Treyarch gives Infinity Ward a bad name. Infinity Wards games; "MW1" "MW2" "MW3" are far better than any of Treyarch's "Black ops series" hands down. I have been playing CoD since the very first release several years ago back in the WW2 era of CoD. Most people didn't even start playing until the first CoD 4 Modern Warfare came out, the overall feel of MW2 is great, the physics are great, graphics sound are great. I feel that the multiplayer is very well balanced online, if it ran like then maybe your pc isn't up to spec?..if you bash the game saying its unfair or unbalanced maybe you should switch up your tactics a bit instead of raging around looking for that kill?..I have never had any issues playing this online..I always had a blast. I'm clearly reviewing this from a quality aspect..how well the game play is designed, how well the game is structured. Bottom line MW2 to this day is still one of the best CoD games to this day. Expand
  10. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    i loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove mw2 nothing else to say but hey haters gona hate love it even after 20 days of playtime
  11. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    I Have all cod games that are available for pc, including the new ghosts. But the best is the Mw2, cause of that unbelievable genius multiplayer. I have played so much games with my clan, that i will remember that game forever. But it's true u can't really play it anymore cause of that damn hackers everywhere.
  12. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    Amazing campaign. I wanna run it again and again and again. The multiplayer is great too by the way. And maybe the graphics aren't so nice, but who notices those little details anyway, the gameplay is terrific.
  13. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    You wouldn't believe me if I said this was the best multiplayer FPS. The amount of stupidity and fun I had in this was overwhelming, despite all of the problems it had.
  14. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    When playing this I thought, it took a genius to make this. The amazing story line, short, but amazing blew my mind. Every aspect of this game is wonderful. Graphics, gameplay, etc. The multiplayer is a little bumpy though, but everything else is wonderful!
  15. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    I played every COD series over 100 hours.
    MW2 is not the best of the series. The level of completion is not so high.
    But it gave me lots of fun. More than other series.
    I still think MW2's multi-player is the best among the series.
  16. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    I'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a majorI'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a major issue. Most of the players use either the ACR, which literally has perfect accuracy, or an explosive weapon, which have earned their bad reputation. I'll take -2 off for that. And then, the latency issues. Even when my Internet connection is top notch, I still get the occasional 200+ ping while the host has 0. -1 for that. In the graphical sense, it actually strikes a nice balance between graphics and performance, and has given it a reputation of being able to run on nearly anything. I was able to run this on a Pentium core and a Radeon 4550 HD GPU, and the game looked quite good. If you are a fan of Call of Duty, get this game, but not for the multiplayer. Expand
  17. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    I gave this one ten but really it at least 1 at most four. It needs to go up by a few points to reflect the hard work that ACTIVISION put into this game. I like how you can use aeroplanes. I play the single player campaign mission level up mode obsessively but cant find multiplayer? What, ACTIVISION cant include it anymore since they killed that one guy? Why I always have to play as MasterI gave this one ten but really it at least 1 at most four. It needs to go up by a few points to reflect the hard work that ACTIVISION put into this game. I like how you can use aeroplanes. I play the single player campaign mission level up mode obsessively but cant find multiplayer? What, ACTIVISION cant include it anymore since they killed that one guy? Why I always have to play as Master Chef, I want to be man from 300. THIS IS SPARTA! :-) I like how you can shoot the chicken. Expand
  18. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Amazing part 2.Beautifull crafted wide array of weapons posibility of choosing your way non-stop action great comrades ai.Varied battlefields medium-long campaign.even the firs test in which you shoot targets is exciting.the story is ok and the final blow me away.PRICE.10
  19. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    THE BEST GAME EVER MADE, 99999999999999999999999999999999999999/10, ITS the BEST GAME EVUR!, the Shooting is better than halo or half live 2, the vehicle action is more intense and fun than any better racing game ever made, the graphics are possibly the best graphics they will make in 10 years, not even crysis with 9 videographics card can defeat mw2 on graphics, the multiplayer is theTHE BEST GAME EVER MADE, 99999999999999999999999999999999999999/10, ITS the BEST GAME EVUR!, the Shooting is better than halo or half live 2, the vehicle action is more intense and fun than any better racing game ever made, the graphics are possibly the best graphics they will make in 10 years, not even crysis with 9 videographics card can defeat mw2 on graphics, the multiplayer is the best ever!

    9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999/10 hands down
    Expand
  20. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    Beautiful, an epic masterpiece where action comes from the heart of Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2, I'm not in the mood for the multiplayer full time, I'm just in for the campaign, it really is long and powerful, but it just focuses too much on it's action, one minute it's a plot, next minute it's a shoot-and-kill game with no contagious plot fitted with it's objectives. Oh yeah, did I tellBeautiful, an epic masterpiece where action comes from the heart of Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2, I'm not in the mood for the multiplayer full time, I'm just in for the campaign, it really is long and powerful, but it just focuses too much on it's action, one minute it's a plot, next minute it's a shoot-and-kill game with no contagious plot fitted with it's objectives. Oh yeah, did I tell you, playing a game is enjoying it, not judging it, I don't care if this review is read by any other mental gamers, but gaming is fun, enjoy the game if you like it. Expand
  21. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    I am so sick of people complaining about getting killed by akimbo G18's or tubes. This game is fantastic. I dont use tubes or G18 myself but the only reason u guys are complaining is because u have no skills what so ever. Grow some ball and man up. Dont get angry just because u cant play a game. Though i will agree that the spawn system has some problems but it is a minor one. Overall thisI am so sick of people complaining about getting killed by akimbo G18's or tubes. This game is fantastic. I dont use tubes or G18 myself but the only reason u guys are complaining is because u have no skills what so ever. Grow some ball and man up. Dont get angry just because u cant play a game. Though i will agree that the spawn system has some problems but it is a minor one. Overall this game is amazing and is worth every cent. I give this game 9.0 Expand
  22. Dec 8, 2010
    9
    COD: MW2 is an excellent game; it's thrilling, action packed, fun, clever and has stunning visuals. MW2 is definitely not a combat simulator but rather the video game equivalent of an action-movie or, perhaps more accurately, one of the best action-movies ever. As a single-player game it deserves 9 out of 10 in my opinion, as a multiplayer experience it may or may not deserve a lower scoreCOD: MW2 is an excellent game; it's thrilling, action packed, fun, clever and has stunning visuals. MW2 is definitely not a combat simulator but rather the video game equivalent of an action-movie or, perhaps more accurately, one of the best action-movies ever. As a single-player game it deserves 9 out of 10 in my opinion, as a multiplayer experience it may or may not deserve a lower score but to me this is irrelevant; I don't play multiplayer first-person shooters on the PC due to the rampant cheating that occurs over the internet. Expand
  23. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Still beats Black Ops' lag fest....
  24. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Once you eliminate Infinity Ward and Steam along with the poor hosting you have an awesome game here. The campaign was well thought out and had a pretty good story line. You maintain control of your player through out the game without worry of the game taking over for you. I only wish it was longer or had patches to extend it. Spec Ops is a great addition and having the two playerOnce you eliminate Infinity Ward and Steam along with the poor hosting you have an awesome game here. The campaign was well thought out and had a pretty good story line. You maintain control of your player through out the game without worry of the game taking over for you. I only wish it was longer or had patches to extend it. Spec Ops is a great addition and having the two player makes it better. I liked it so much I would easily purchase additional Spec Ops map packs. Multi - This game has a great FPS multi player. What more could you ask for except some PACKS to add weapons or attachments to go along with the additional map packs. Outside of the fact that VAC is very bad at stopping hackers, Steam cannot find a host and the maps are too small, it is truly an awesome game. Movement in game is very nice and the game plays well on most PC's. Expand
  25. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    An excellent production single player campaign. Infinity Ward did a superb job at bringing detail and depth to every element that deserves a standing ovation. It is extremely detailed with tons of action. My biggest issue was that I found the story difficult to follow. It jumped around from country to country and person to person making it impossible to figure out who were the good guysAn excellent production single player campaign. Infinity Ward did a superb job at bringing detail and depth to every element that deserves a standing ovation. It is extremely detailed with tons of action. My biggest issue was that I found the story difficult to follow. It jumped around from country to country and person to person making it impossible to figure out who were the good guys and who were the bad guys and where you, the player, fit in. Regardless, the presentation and the execution are both top notch and very enjoyable. Throw in stellar graphics, quality game play, and a pleasing variety of equipment and missions. I cannot praise the single player campaign enough--a game that's actually worth its price tag. Expand
  26. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Frankly the game's multiplayer was pretty crappy, but to be honest I think most of the bad scores came from Battlefield fanboys who troll all over anything faintly Call of Duty related. Single player was epic and awesome, never got repetitive in a single run although not as replayable as some other shooters (I played it over 4 times though), and the Spec Ops mode was a brilliant idea.Frankly the game's multiplayer was pretty crappy, but to be honest I think most of the bad scores came from Battlefield fanboys who troll all over anything faintly Call of Duty related. Single player was epic and awesome, never got repetitive in a single run although not as replayable as some other shooters (I played it over 4 times though), and the Spec Ops mode was a brilliant idea. Multiplayer was unbalanced but very ambitious as it added many new elements to CoD multiplayer. Spent a lot of time playing it (like around 300 hours), but to be honest it wasn't THAT good, although it is still decent entertainment. All in all it deserves a 9, and it is one of the best shooters I have ever played. Expand
  27. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG
    WHAT ARE TEH PC NARDS TALKING ABOUT!!!!!!! THIS GAME MAYT BE AS GOOD AS BLACKOPERASHUNS BUT THE GAME HAS AWESOME MAPS AND REALLY COOL WEAPONS LIKE:USP .45 · .44 Magnum · M9 · Desert Eagle · M1911 .45
    Machine Pistols PP2000 · G18 · M93 Raffica · TMP Shotguns SPAS-12
    OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG
    WHAT ARE TEH PC NARDS TALKING ABOUT!!!!!!! THIS GAME MAYT BE AS GOOD AS BLACKOPERASHUNS BUT THE GAME HAS AWESOME MAPS AND REALLY COOL WEAPONS LIKE:USP .45 · .44 Magnum · M9 · Desert Eagle · M1911 .45
    Machine Pistols
    PP2000 · G18 · M93 Raffica · TMP
    Shotguns
    SPAS-12 · AA-12 · Striker · Ranger · M1014 · Model 1887 · W1200
    Launchers
    AT4 · Thumper · Stinger · Javelin · RPG-7
    Assault Rifles
    M4A1 · FAMAS · SCAR-H · TAR-21 · FAL · M16A4 · ACR · F2000 · AK-47
    Submachine Guns
    MP5K · UMP45 · Vector · P90 · Mini-Uzi
    Light Machine Guns
    L86 LSW · RPD · MG4 · AUG HBAR · M240
    Sniper Rifles
    Intervention · Barrett .50cal · WA2000 · M14 EBR/M21 EBR · Dragunov
    Equipment
    Frag · Semtex · Throwing Knife · Tactical Insertion · Blast Shield · Claymore · C4
    Special Grenades
    Flashbang · Stun · Smoke
    Miscellaneous
    Riot Shield · Knife · Minigun · M2 Browning Machine Gun · M249 SAW · Breaching Charge
    Attachments
    Rapid Fire · Akimbo · Shotgun · Silencer · Heartbeat Sensor · FMJ · Extended Magazines · Grip · Tactical Knife
    Grenade Launchers
    M203 · GP-25
    Weapon Camouflages
    White Tape · Desert · Arctic · Woodland · Digital · Urban · Blue Tiger · Red Tiger · Fall
    Sights
    ACOG Scope · SUSAT · Thermal Scope · Red Dot Sight · MARS Sight · Holographic Sight · Swarovski Scope
    Unused Weapons
    Remington 870
    U GUYZ ARE IDIOTS 4 HATIN ON THIS AWSUM GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  28. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Game!
    From last 10 years i have been playing Quake, Unreal, Half-life, Battle Field and many FPS, but most of time Single Player.
    Now with COD MW and COD MW2 i have started playing on-line and i can't stop!
    Great game, even without server, if you have many friends from the same region you will won't experience great delays or lags (But this happen some times :-(
    This game could replace counter-strike in a future :-)
    Expand
  29. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic singly player campaign mode. The story and gameplay were spectacular to say the least. I don't care about multiplayer so if you don't either, you will thoroughly enjoy this game.
  30. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    OK, I'm not a hardcore gamer, I may sometimes play certain games quite a bit, but nothing compared to a typical CoD fan of my age. The single-player, I found spectacular! The story for me was amazing, and even though I found some parts slightly annoying, it was a pleasure to play. I started at normal, since I hadn't had much experience before, and I am now playing it for my 3rd time, butOK, I'm not a hardcore gamer, I may sometimes play certain games quite a bit, but nothing compared to a typical CoD fan of my age. The single-player, I found spectacular! The story for me was amazing, and even though I found some parts slightly annoying, it was a pleasure to play. I started at normal, since I hadn't had much experience before, and I am now playing it for my 3rd time, but on Veteran, just because I like it. The co-op has a nice range of missions, and are especially enjoyable to play with a friend. I love the multi-player, I don't care that IWNet can sometimes be an absolute pain, because it's that much fun when I do find a game. I don't care when the leading team gets an epic kill-streak, it encourages me to keep fighting. I don't care when other people have better classes, I WILL get there eventually. I don't care about hackers, I can just find another random server. This is how much I enjoy the game. I am glad when I plant the bomb, I am glad when I'm top of the table, I am glad when I finally get my kill-streak. If you're annoyed about this games tiny problems, you don't know the meaning of fun. Expand
  31. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    The user reviews for this game should be completely thrown out. The ONLY complaint for this game is with the PC version of the online. There should have been dedicated servers. I played on the Xbox for over 400 hours and it never bothered me and it didn't bother me when I switched to the PC either. Get over it. You guys are idiots for giving this game a 3.7 when it should be a 9. IThe user reviews for this game should be completely thrown out. The ONLY complaint for this game is with the PC version of the online. There should have been dedicated servers. I played on the Xbox for over 400 hours and it never bothered me and it didn't bother me when I switched to the PC either. Get over it. You guys are idiots for giving this game a 3.7 when it should be a 9. I personally think that it deserves a 10 though. Absolutely amazing single-player campaign and extremely fun co-op that I played through multiple times (including veteran on both). Plus one of the most fun multi-player games of all time. A very worthy sequel to one of the most stunning games in video game history, CoD4. Expand
  32. May 8, 2011
    10
    Essentially, at its core, this is a beautiful game. A great storyline idea but, when you play it you feel as if the levels have been put together as if it were a two year old putting together a jigsaw. It's is just a jumbled mess of good ideas and potential. The only thing I particularly liked was (cue drum roll) the multiplayer. It was definitely a step up from WAW and MW1. Some may notEssentially, at its core, this is a beautiful game. A great storyline idea but, when you play it you feel as if the levels have been put together as if it were a two year old putting together a jigsaw. It's is just a jumbled mess of good ideas and potential. The only thing I particularly liked was (cue drum roll) the multiplayer. It was definitely a step up from WAW and MW1. Some may not agree with me on that point but I'll stand my ground in any argument a bout it's "terrible" multiplayer. Expand
  33. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This review covers the single player PC experience. This was the best Call of Duty I've played so far. I have yet to try Black Ops. Let me just say that the gameplay, physics, graphics, and atmosphere were amazing. Being a Desert Storm veteran I can honestly say that the game captured the desert warfare very well. The game also brought back memories of the movie Red Dawn. I alsoThis review covers the single player PC experience. This was the best Call of Duty I've played so far. I have yet to try Black Ops. Let me just say that the gameplay, physics, graphics, and atmosphere were amazing. Being a Desert Storm veteran I can honestly say that the game captured the desert warfare very well. The game also brought back memories of the movie Red Dawn. I also enjoyed the twists of the game where it left me saying "No way!" A hands-down must get, even for fifty bucks. Expand
  34. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Lets start with the campaign, it's very fun and full of action, although some bits are a tad too hard like when your're in the gulag in the locker-rooms and there are tonnes of people with riot shields. I love the range of guns and attachments available and the game play is very flexible in how there are sometimes alternate routes etc.

    Now to Multiplayer, although it does take ages to get
    Lets start with the campaign, it's very fun and full of action, although some bits are a tad too hard like when your're in the gulag in the locker-rooms and there are tonnes of people with riot shields. I love the range of guns and attachments available and the game play is very flexible in how there are sometimes alternate routes etc.

    Now to Multiplayer, although it does take ages to get into a game and 10% of the time there will be a connection error. Another 10% of the time there is an annoying smug **** who gets like 40 kills. In another 10% of games there is hacks like explosive ammo ect. But when you get into a good game, and start building up kills it becomes really fun and addictive. Private matches are great but its too bad that there isn't much flexability. The game is worth a buy and nowadays you can pick it up some places for like a tenna
    Expand
  35. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    I know, I know. No dedicated servers, yap. Pretty **** But that's not what I needed to have fun in MW2. And I had a lot of it. If I want them though -> Ok, let's play COD4. There is something perfectly special when it comes to Moder Warfare 2. Something exotic. Simply fits my taste. 10.
  36. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Just few words about Modern Warfare: Best FPS game series ever existed. Nothing can beat Modern Warfare in being best shooter, not buggy Battlefield, not anything else.
  37. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    It's hard to place, but there's something about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 which makes it great. The campaign mode: the story is confusing at first and when you actually think about it, it's a bit flawed as well. However, the missions are suitably action packed and put you in a wide enough variety of locations to be really quite enjoyable.

    Special Ops: Basically just random missions
    It's hard to place, but there's something about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 which makes it great. The campaign mode: the story is confusing at first and when you actually think about it, it's a bit flawed as well. However, the missions are suitably action packed and put you in a wide enough variety of locations to be really quite enjoyable.

    Special Ops: Basically just random missions in locations (mostly) from the campaign, Special Ops are, in my opinion, just as enjoyable as multiplayer. You can play them alone or with a friend (which I recommend if possible, not only does it add to the fun but some Ops are excessively difficult when by yourself) and gain stars upon completion which unlock more Ops. The diversity of the objectives and locations makes Special Ops a fantastic game mode.

    Multiplayer: PC players in general seem to be really quite upset at the IWNet system, which removes dedicated servers. Whilst this is an odd and undeniably poor decision, the people who are complaining about it seem to be deliberately forcing themselves not to have fun nonetheless, which is quite an achievement considering just how fun it is. Again, the diversity of the maps is great, but the customization options available are what makes Modern Warfare 2's multiplayer mode absolutely fantastic.
    Expand
  38. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    It's just so much fun watching videos about screaming kids getting pwn'd by 69 year olds. This is game is great when displayed on YouTube, I never actually played it, but who cares? This is the best game since sliced bread!
  39. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    The campaign possesses the same cinematic, enticing and powerful type of storyline as its predecessor- Modern Warfare. The main difference is the wonderful new selection of guns and weapons. The models are very convincing. The new array of attachments step the game up a few notches. They are very fun to have at your advantage. The operation runs fairly smoothly on PC with the exception ofThe campaign possesses the same cinematic, enticing and powerful type of storyline as its predecessor- Modern Warfare. The main difference is the wonderful new selection of guns and weapons. The models are very convincing. The new array of attachments step the game up a few notches. They are very fun to have at your advantage. The operation runs fairly smoothly on PC with the exception of a few freezes. The ending is amazing. Thoroughly brilliant. Pure class.
    The Spec Ops mode is OK. It is a great idea but it simply does not function well on PC at all. You can expect to achieve a portion of what you would on other platforms. The idea is amazing but needs to be modified a lot to work on PC. The multiplayer is cool and possibly an improvement on the Call of Duty 4 multiplayer. It has great new perks and weapons and is enjoyable despite being tricky to control on PC.
    Expand
  40. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Positives-The addition of new weapons. The addition of spec ops. Spec ops contains a lot of new content and provides a new way to play. When writing my review the average user score is low. I don't agree. It is obvious that Infinity Ward spent a lot of hard work on this game. There is a lot of attention to detail.
  41. May 9, 2012
    10
    very good game:)nicevery good game:)nice team............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
  42. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    Don't be alarmed by the huge amount of negative reviews. This is common among the Call of Duty franchise and frankly it has nothing to do with the game. It has to do with how bad they were at the game.

    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a very enjoyable game to play. The campaign is very fun and immersive. The storyline is easy to follow and not at all broken. The voice-acting and
    Don't be alarmed by the huge amount of negative reviews. This is common among the Call of Duty franchise and frankly it has nothing to do with the game. It has to do with how bad they were at the game.

    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a very enjoyable game to play. The campaign is very fun and immersive. The storyline is easy to follow and not at all broken. The voice-acting and character personalities are also superb. The only problem with the gameplay of the campaign is it can get quite tedious, because you basically just shoot bad guys. The Spec-Ops missions are really cool. Spec-Ops missions are separated into five different categories, each category getting more difficult as you progress. These missions are based on maps from the campaign. They're pretty fun to play and they each have their own game style. Some are stealth missions, meaning you have to get through heaps of enemies silently. Others are survival, where you have to kill and just stay alive. Or you can race! There is also an option to do the missions with a friend.

    The multiplayer is the reason a lot of people are giving it negative ratings. I honestly don't have a problem with it, and I'm not that great at it. I think the weapons for the most part are balanced. There are weapon mixtures (such as the G18 Akimbo) where they are very overpowered. But it's very fun and very enjoyable. The multiplayer has a load of different gamemodes, the most played are Team Deathmatch, Free-for-all, Domination, Ground War, and Search & Destroy. There are many weapons to unlock along with attachments for said weapons. There are also perks (Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3) to use to give your character a special boost. Now, of course there are cons. Among those are there is no dedicated servers. That makes many games laggy and unreliable. It's also easy to hack certain games, meaning your stats can get all screwed up.

    The bottom line is this is a great game, contrary to popular belief. Awesome graphics, awesome game play. If you're skeptical, you could wait until it's on sale so you don't possibly waste your money.
    Expand
  43. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    The second best fps online shooter of this generation, second only to cod 4. Looking back on this from 2012, mw2 still retains the best graphics and visual design of any call of duty game and that's after three sequels have followed it. It also remains the biggest step forward for the series in terms of innovation since call of duty 4. The campaign is entertaining but is hindered by weakThe second best fps online shooter of this generation, second only to cod 4. Looking back on this from 2012, mw2 still retains the best graphics and visual design of any call of duty game and that's after three sequels have followed it. It also remains the biggest step forward for the series in terms of innovation since call of duty 4. The campaign is entertaining but is hindered by weak characters and the bland mission briefing cutscenes, that were so impressive in its predecessors, just fail to capture any of the emotion or awe that an invasion of the US should invoke in the player. It also has an unsatisfying ending in terms of one of the key villains, but I won't give anything away. Spec ops. is a blast, the highlight for me was playing alongside a friend in the sniper stealth missions ; things can get pretty hairy and teamwork is essential, ensuring that there is plenty of banter and carrying on. But multiplayer online takes the cake and to this day remains my second favourite online multiplayer. My only complaint is that assault rifles tend to rule the day, but thankfully the UMP submachine gun finds a place alongside them. Single Player: 7/10 Spec Ops: 8.5/10 Multiplayer: 9.5/10 Expand
  44. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 was an unnecessary sequel as the story had resolved itself in CoD4. But the single-player was enjoyable nonetheless. The graphics are very good, and the game didn't have any performance issues. As for the game's infamous multi-player mode, the weapons were unbalanced and every now and again you'd run into a hacker or a modded lobby. The multi-player was hugely addictive,Modern Warfare 2 was an unnecessary sequel as the story had resolved itself in CoD4. But the single-player was enjoyable nonetheless. The graphics are very good, and the game didn't have any performance issues. As for the game's infamous multi-player mode, the weapons were unbalanced and every now and again you'd run into a hacker or a modded lobby. The multi-player was hugely addictive, it was similar to the one in CoD4, but for some odd reason it was just so much more fun. The maps are fantastic and it was great fun running around with a sniper rifle trying to quick-scope people. Theres also tons of easter eggs in this game of little hiding spots and ways to get on top of maps like on the map 'Karachi' and 'High-rise' there are little ways to get onto roofs that might not have noticed. Overall the game could be frustrating at times and the guns unbalanced, this game was just incredible fun to play and I honestly don't know why. Expand
  45. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    I very highly recommend this game. I think it outclasses most of the other CODs with the exception of Call of Duty BLOPS 2. The online multiplayer is awesome. It features creating a class and kill-streaks for the first time. I feel that you have a lot of options on which classes you can use. The only negative comment that I say is that some guns and things like grenade launchers are wayI very highly recommend this game. I think it outclasses most of the other CODs with the exception of Call of Duty BLOPS 2. The online multiplayer is awesome. It features creating a class and kill-streaks for the first time. I feel that you have a lot of options on which classes you can use. The only negative comment that I say is that some guns and things like grenade launchers are way overpowered and can get frustrating. However, you can do always noob tube too. Overall I give this game a 10 out of 10, because the cons are very minor. Expand
  46. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    UN JUEGAZO, PRIMERO POR SER UNA GRAN HISTORIA EN DONDE SE LOGRA APRECIAR LA GRAN CALIDAD DE EFECTOS Y VARIEDAD DE JUEGO Y ARMAS.----------------------
  47. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    Nevjerovatno koliko je ova igra ispred svih pucacina u svom vremenu...
    Grafika, prica, misije, animacije, oruzja, igra postavlja nove standarde.......
  48. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Great game. The SP and CO-OP was a 10/10 for me, however the MP could have been better with a few patches. The only things I can list that were wrong were -No Dedicated servers -Rocket launcher and noob toobs didn't occupy perk 1 Early launch hackers were plentiful (not too many now) I give the MP a 8/10 purely based on the fact that COD 4 and COD 6 are the only ones I play now. I'dGreat game. The SP and CO-OP was a 10/10 for me, however the MP could have been better with a few patches. The only things I can list that were wrong were -No Dedicated servers -Rocket launcher and noob toobs didn't occupy perk 1 Early launch hackers were plentiful (not too many now) I give the MP a 8/10 purely based on the fact that COD 4 and COD 6 are the only ones I play now. I'd say this is the last good game in the franchise it all went downhill on Black Ops 1. Expand
  49. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    It is a tragedy that mw3 has a higher rating than this, mw2 is so much better than mw3 it is not even funny. my only complaint would be that infinity ward doesn't know how to FIX their games
  50. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Many people may say this is a bad game, but those people never even bought the game so I tend to ignore them. This game is great for many reasons I can start with the story. The story gives you a great cinematic experience that you would normally find off of watching a movie, for example when you run across rooftops with a bunch of terrorists shooting at you and at the last second you jumpMany people may say this is a bad game, but those people never even bought the game so I tend to ignore them. This game is great for many reasons I can start with the story. The story gives you a great cinematic experience that you would normally find off of watching a movie, for example when you run across rooftops with a bunch of terrorists shooting at you and at the last second you jump off to barely make it to a helicopter I think that is pretty cool. The game play is very well done too because of the many perks you can use to own the competition. Game play feels solid and everything is responsive the announcer is awesome when he tells you take over an area or if you are winning in many of the cool game modes. The multi-player servers are nice since they don't have to much lag that often and people say otherwise have not switched off from dial-up. The spec ops well definitely keep you busy as will all the other levels that are in the game. Overall everything seems great, not perfect, but just great. Expand
  51. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    Great game. Loved the storyline, and multiplayer was awesome. Always fun to play, with or without friends. It's a shame that hackers took over and ruined it.
  52. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    I had Modern Warfare 2 on the 360 back in the day and after putting that back in the box and craving some decent Call of Duty; I had to turn to MW2 on Steam. I picked it up in the sale for £10 and whilst I was a bit apprehensive about hackers and a low player count; this game still oozes the brilliance that it once did. I have played several matches so far and have yet to see a hacker. TheI had Modern Warfare 2 on the 360 back in the day and after putting that back in the box and craving some decent Call of Duty; I had to turn to MW2 on Steam. I picked it up in the sale for £10 and whilst I was a bit apprehensive about hackers and a low player count; this game still oozes the brilliance that it once did. I have played several matches so far and have yet to see a hacker. The community is small but still bigger than Ghosts and the lobbies are thriving with players enjoying themselves on this game still. It's great to see.

    For all its problems, MW2 is still one of the most enjoyable and memorable multiplayer games ever created. If you love nostalgia and are fed up of what COD has become in recent outings; this game is an absolute must. I am still weary about hackers but old exploits and issues with the game are seriously outweighed by the general fun and slick performance.

    Ghosts and the new/fake IW created an absolute pitiful excuse of a COD game but MW2 still stands strides ahead in every department. I regret not buying this sooner and wasting so many hours on the latest dreadful installment. The old IW left behind a glorious legacy that simply has to be experienced once again. One of my best purchases in a long time.
    Expand
  53. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
  54. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2. A little while back, I reviewed this game's prequel (Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare), which I hated at first, but then loved the next time I played it. It was an insanely fun action game that must be experienced, in particular for its single player. Its multiplayer was good too, but I couldn't help but feel like it was missing something. Eventually, ICall of Duty Modern Warfare 2. A little while back, I reviewed this game's prequel (Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare), which I hated at first, but then loved the next time I played it. It was an insanely fun action game that must be experienced, in particular for its single player. Its multiplayer was good too, but I couldn't help but feel like it was missing something. Eventually, I decided that I wanted to play its sequel, so I downloaded it off of Steam this weekend. So, does this game improve upon its predecessor enough to make me love it, or is Call of Duty 4 really the last good Call of Duty? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game is very similar to its predecessor. It is a first-person shooter that has both single player and multiplayer modes of play. There is also a cooperative gameplay mode this time around, but most of the missions in it are the same as those of the single player, just with one extra player. In Call of Duty 4, I preferred the single player over the multiplayer. I went back to play missions from the single player in Call of Duty 4 more times than I can count. This time however, it is the exact opposite. Here, I prefer the multiplayer over the single player. The single player in this game is a continuation that picks up five years after the events of the previous game, and it is insanely fun to play through, like just about all of the early Call of Duty campaigns. However, there are two major problems that hold this game's campaign back. For one thing, the campaign is once again too short. I completed it in only five hours. Another problem with this game's campaign is that its story is terrible. It is so convoluted and hard to follow, that I am always confused as to what is happening. That did not stop me from loving the campaign from start to finish, but that was only because it was insanely fun to play through, and not because of the story. As for the multiplayer, I feel like this is where all of the effort in making this game an amazing game went into. The multiplayer of this game is actually better than the single player this time around. Not only is this game's multiplayer better than Call of Duty 4's in every way, it is one of the best multiplayer games I have ever played. It really is that good. After playing this game's multiplayer enough, I finally realized what Call of Duty 4 was missing in its multiplayer. There were not enough different kill streak rewards, perks, weapons, and other features. To tell you the truth, after playing this game's multiplayer, I honestly felt like Call of Duty 4's multiplayer was just a beta version of this. This game's multiplayer is much more fleshed out, and it also added Capture the Flag, the one mode that I felt was missing from Call of Duty 4. Overall, the single player of this game may not be as good as Call of Duty 4's, but the multiplayer more than makes up for this. This game is worth playing for its multiplayer alone. As for the graphics, this game also looks fantastic. They are not the best graphics I have ever seen in a video game, but they do look very good nonetheless. This game pushes its engine to the limits of its graphical potential. All of the environments and character models are rich with detail and very pretty to look at. Overall, this game's graphics are every bit as awesome as its gameplay. This game also has really good presentation. On a high-end gaming PC, this game could look fantastic. However, there are some troubles with the endlessly respawning enemies in single player. I have never really had a problem with these in the past, however, this time I can't help but feel like there are too many. I honestly have had a lot of trouble dealing with this many enemies coming at me at once, and I did not have this trouble in any of the previous Call of Duties. However, this is just a minor complaint compared to how good the single player really is. Overall, this game has excellent presentation. Overall, this is a fantastic game, especially for multiplayer. What most people are wondering is if this game is better than the original Modern Warfare. I would say yes for the multiplayer, but no for the single player. The single player of this game is still really enjoyable, but not as enjoyable as the previous game's. I recommend this game especially to those who love a good first person shooter, action game, or multiplayer game.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  55. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is the sequel to the first Call of Duty Modern Warfare who managed to be a revolutionary shooter. The game is produced as the first of Infinity Ward and published by Activision. The first game in the series was simply perfect, but the second failed to be quite so good as some reviews say. The story is not perfect, but it seems for little kids, I would say more but it wouldModern Warfare 2 is the sequel to the first Call of Duty Modern Warfare who managed to be a revolutionary shooter. The game is produced as the first of Infinity Ward and published by Activision. The first game in the series was simply perfect, but the second failed to be quite so good as some reviews say. The story is not perfect, but it seems for little kids, I would say more but it would be ok to not give spoilers. The gameplay is simply awesome, the game uses the same graphics engine just improved. Graphics is also improved and bring great pleasure over the campaign. Game sound is ok, as well as those who have contributed voice acting. In conclusion the game worth playing, it is a good FPS. Expand
  56. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    Beste call of duty ever made (equal to mw1) great si singleplayer and co op, fantastic multiplayer so much fun and the mods are great too! 10/10 masterpiece :D
  57. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    Great graphic and great sounds, music ( I really love Hans's OST ). Most important thing is story. I used to play FPS for shooting and destroying. This game have all of these, I can release my stress with it. but story is also awesome. I really love this story. It seems like well made Hollywood movie. More them five years passed since it was came out but still, it is a best game of my life .
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.