Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PC

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6443 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    Gameplay - 9.5 , Graphics - 9.0 , Story - 7.5 , Playing time - 50+hours (MP includes). Very fun game. Graphically so well optimized. Improved multiplayer to COD4. However, the lack of dedicated server is annoying.
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    Amazing campaign. I wanna run it again and again and again. The multiplayer is great too by the way. And maybe the graphics aren't so nice, but who notices those little details anyway, the gameplay is terrific.
  3. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    The single player campaign wasn't as long as Call of Duty 4's but was still amazing. It is hard to say which single player is better comparing mw2 to cod4 but the results would be pretty darn close. Special Ops was a nice edition, with enjoyable challenges and missions to complete. Multiplayer for this game was awesome but not as great as Call of Duty 4's multiplayer. The only issuesThe single player campaign wasn't as long as Call of Duty 4's but was still amazing. It is hard to say which single player is better comparing mw2 to cod4 but the results would be pretty darn close. Special Ops was a nice edition, with enjoyable challenges and missions to complete. Multiplayer for this game was awesome but not as great as Call of Duty 4's multiplayer. The only issues making the game not fun and frustrating at times is the overpowered grenade launchers and one man army "the perk" that allows you to reload classes so you can gain back your grenade launchers for instance. And, sadly no dedicated servers, using the same system of online as the consoles. But forgetting these issues the multiplayer is a masterpiece. Well balanced weapons and superb map design. Hacking is also an issue. Challenge lobbies bringing you up to level 70 or max prestiges are hosted almost daily, along with those little noobs ruining matches using aimbot, godmode, etc. Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    The game was one of the best Call of Duty games ever. The storyline was great althought I wouldn't mind if it lasted a little longer and the spec ops were pretty fun. The multiplayer mode was one of the best ever made. Great maps great server system with no lag and nice optimization. the only problem is the community which is not the games fault so I give the game a 10/10...
  5. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    You wouldn't believe me if I said this was the best multiplayer FPS. The amount of stupidity and fun I had in this was overwhelming, despite all of the problems it had.
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    Great game. Loved the storyline, and multiplayer was awesome. Always fun to play, with or without friends. It's a shame that hackers took over and ruined it.
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2. A little while back, I reviewed this game's prequel (Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare), which I hated at first, but then loved the next time I played it. It was an insanely fun action game that must be experienced, in particular for its single player. Its multiplayer was good too, but I couldn't help but feel like it was missing something. Eventually, ICall of Duty Modern Warfare 2. A little while back, I reviewed this game's prequel (Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare), which I hated at first, but then loved the next time I played it. It was an insanely fun action game that must be experienced, in particular for its single player. Its multiplayer was good too, but I couldn't help but feel like it was missing something. Eventually, I decided that I wanted to play its sequel, so I downloaded it off of Steam this weekend. So, does this game improve upon its predecessor enough to make me love it, or is Call of Duty 4 really the last good Call of Duty? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game is very similar to its predecessor. It is a first-person shooter that has both single player and multiplayer modes of play. There is also a cooperative gameplay mode this time around, but most of the missions in it are the same as those of the single player, just with one extra player. In Call of Duty 4, I preferred the single player over the multiplayer. I went back to play missions from the single player in Call of Duty 4 more times than I can count. This time however, it is the exact opposite. Here, I prefer the multiplayer over the single player. The single player in this game is a continuation that picks up five years after the events of the previous game, and it is insanely fun to play through, like just about all of the early Call of Duty campaigns. However, there are two major problems that hold this game's campaign back. For one thing, the campaign is once again too short. I completed it in only five hours. Another problem with this game's campaign is that its story is terrible. It is so convoluted and hard to follow, that I am always confused as to what is happening. That did not stop me from loving the campaign from start to finish, but that was only because it was insanely fun to play through, and not because of the story. As for the multiplayer, I feel like this is where all of the effort in making this game an amazing game went into. The multiplayer of this game is actually better than the single player this time around. Not only is this game's multiplayer better than Call of Duty 4's in every way, it is one of the best multiplayer games I have ever played. It really is that good. After playing this game's multiplayer enough, I finally realized what Call of Duty 4 was missing in its multiplayer. There were not enough different kill streak rewards, perks, weapons, and other features. To tell you the truth, after playing this game's multiplayer, I honestly felt like Call of Duty 4's multiplayer was just a beta version of this. This game's multiplayer is much more fleshed out, and it also added Capture the Flag, the one mode that I felt was missing from Call of Duty 4. Overall, the single player of this game may not be as good as Call of Duty 4's, but the multiplayer more than makes up for this. This game is worth playing for its multiplayer alone. As for the graphics, this game also looks fantastic. They are not the best graphics I have ever seen in a video game, but they do look very good nonetheless. This game pushes its engine to the limits of its graphical potential. All of the environments and character models are rich with detail and very pretty to look at. Overall, this game's graphics are every bit as awesome as its gameplay. This game also has really good presentation. On a high-end gaming PC, this game could look fantastic. However, there are some troubles with the endlessly respawning enemies in single player. I have never really had a problem with these in the past, however, this time I can't help but feel like there are too many. I honestly have had a lot of trouble dealing with this many enemies coming at me at once, and I did not have this trouble in any of the previous Call of Duties. However, this is just a minor complaint compared to how good the single player really is. Overall, this game has excellent presentation. Overall, this is a fantastic game, especially for multiplayer. What most people are wondering is if this game is better than the original Modern Warfare. I would say yes for the multiplayer, but no for the single player. The single player of this game is still really enjoyable, but not as enjoyable as the previous game's. I recommend this game especially to those who love a good first person shooter, action game, or multiplayer game.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  8. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    In its prime MW2 was Amazing, With friends it could of been the best fun you have ever had playing a PC game. But from 2010-2012 many hackers, Quickscopers and noob tubers made the game frustrating. Nowdays the game is still populated decetly and most of the Hackers have moved on to more recent cods. In 2009 i would of highly reccomended this game, But now you would probably not enjoyIn its prime MW2 was Amazing, With friends it could of been the best fun you have ever had playing a PC game. But from 2010-2012 many hackers, Quickscopers and noob tubers made the game frustrating. Nowdays the game is still populated decetly and most of the Hackers have moved on to more recent cods. In 2009 i would of highly reccomended this game, But now you would probably not enjoy getting killed over and over if your a lvl 1. If you can find it for a cheap price buy it, if not maybe buy a recent shooter. Expand
  9. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    I played every COD series over 100 hours.
    MW2 is not the best of the series. The level of completion is not so high.
    But it gave me lots of fun. More than other series.
    I still think MW2's multi-player is the best among the series.
  10. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    I'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a majorI'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a major issue. Most of the players use either the ACR, which literally has perfect accuracy, or an explosive weapon, which have earned their bad reputation. I'll take -2 off for that. And then, the latency issues. Even when my Internet connection is top notch, I still get the occasional 200+ ping while the host has 0. -1 for that. In the graphical sense, it actually strikes a nice balance between graphics and performance, and has given it a reputation of being able to run on nearly anything. I was able to run this on a Pentium core and a Radeon 4550 HD GPU, and the game looked quite good. If you are a fan of Call of Duty, get this game, but not for the multiplayer. Expand
  11. Jul 30, 2016
    9
    Recensione temporanea da sostituire non appena disponibile quella definitiva. Recensione temporanea da sostituire non appena disponibile quella definitiva.
  12. darekg
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    single player is awsome multiplayer is amazing dont listen to the 0 comment ppl trust me its fun i play 6 hours a day just quik scoping with intentervention my nuke count is 46 everygame i get 35 kill 1 death its amazing game
  13. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    I'l give this game a 9 simply perfect online action and cannot wait for the new COD to come out!! Would be 10 if the single player gameplay was longer! but to be honest, who plays COD for single player?! think IW realised this after the success of COD2.
    Need its own personal servers online. no where to hide now so I wouldnt worry about campers.. cause everyone knows the camp spots and can
    I'l give this game a 9 simply perfect online action and cannot wait for the new COD to come out!! Would be 10 if the single player gameplay was longer! but to be honest, who plays COD for single player?! think IW realised this after the success of COD2.
    Need its own personal servers online. no where to hide now so I wouldnt worry about campers.. cause everyone knows the camp spots and can easily kill the camping noobs!
    perhaps needs moderating for cheats, large number of aimbots.. boring people.
    Expand
  14. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare 2 is the best shooting game in the world that I have seen especially when I kill a lot of people without dieing. The call of duty modern warfare 2 never can become bored ever when I am playing it I all ways playing it and I never get bored of it nearly at the time Iâ
  15. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps gameWhile I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps game before, as I don't have to tell you how awful a joystick is for competitive fps games. Expand
  16. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    Honestly regardless of what people say MW2 is the best CoD out there, people say they had bad experiences with MW2 online..well if that's the case go play a Treyarch version "Black ops series". Then you will have the true definition of fail. Infinity Ward is the better developer of the two companies that battle back and forth developing the CoD series. I'm willing to bet that most peopleHonestly regardless of what people say MW2 is the best CoD out there, people say they had bad experiences with MW2 online..well if that's the case go play a Treyarch version "Black ops series". Then you will have the true definition of fail. Infinity Ward is the better developer of the two companies that battle back and forth developing the CoD series. I'm willing to bet that most people are not even aware of that, Treyarch gives Infinity Ward a bad name. Infinity Wards games; "MW1" "MW2" "MW3" are far better than any of Treyarch's "Black ops series" hands down. I have been playing CoD since the very first release several years ago back in the WW2 era of CoD. Most people didn't even start playing until the first CoD 4 Modern Warfare came out, the overall feel of MW2 is great, the physics are great, graphics sound are great. I feel that the multiplayer is very well balanced online, if it ran like then maybe your pc isn't up to spec?..if you bash the game saying its unfair or unbalanced maybe you should switch up your tactics a bit instead of raging around looking for that kill?..I have never had any issues playing this online..I always had a blast. I'm clearly reviewing this from a quality aspect..how well the game play is designed, how well the game is structured. Bottom line MW2 to this day is still one of the best CoD games to this day. Expand
  17. May 17, 2016
    10
    Singelplayer is still on way of first Modern Warfare, it`s even bigger with crazy ideas in gameplay with greater scenes and for me, one of the best shooter I`ve ever played.
  18. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    I Have all cod games that are available for pc, including the new ghosts. But the best is the Mw2, cause of that unbelievable genius multiplayer. I have played so much games with my clan, that i will remember that game forever. But it's true u can't really play it anymore cause of that damn hackers everywhere.
  19. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 was an unnecessary sequel as the story had resolved itself in CoD4. But the single-player was enjoyable nonetheless. The graphics are very good, and the game didn't have any performance issues. As for the game's infamous multi-player mode, the weapons were unbalanced and every now and again you'd run into a hacker or a modded lobby. The multi-player was hugely addictive,Modern Warfare 2 was an unnecessary sequel as the story had resolved itself in CoD4. But the single-player was enjoyable nonetheless. The graphics are very good, and the game didn't have any performance issues. As for the game's infamous multi-player mode, the weapons were unbalanced and every now and again you'd run into a hacker or a modded lobby. The multi-player was hugely addictive, it was similar to the one in CoD4, but for some odd reason it was just so much more fun. The maps are fantastic and it was great fun running around with a sniper rifle trying to quick-scope people. Theres also tons of easter eggs in this game of little hiding spots and ways to get on top of maps like on the map 'Karachi' and 'High-rise' there are little ways to get onto roofs that might not have noticed. Overall the game could be frustrating at times and the guns unbalanced, this game was just incredible fun to play and I honestly don't know why. Expand
  20. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    UN JUEGAZO, PRIMERO POR SER UNA GRAN HISTORIA EN DONDE SE LOGRA APRECIAR LA GRAN CALIDAD DE EFECTOS Y VARIEDAD DE JUEGO Y ARMAS.----------------------
  21. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Great game. The SP and CO-OP was a 10/10 for me, however the MP could have been better with a few patches. The only things I can list that were wrong were -No Dedicated servers -Rocket launcher and noob toobs didn't occupy perk 1 Early launch hackers were plentiful (not too many now) I give the MP a 8/10 purely based on the fact that COD 4 and COD 6 are the only ones I play now. I'dGreat game. The SP and CO-OP was a 10/10 for me, however the MP could have been better with a few patches. The only things I can list that were wrong were -No Dedicated servers -Rocket launcher and noob toobs didn't occupy perk 1 Early launch hackers were plentiful (not too many now) I give the MP a 8/10 purely based on the fact that COD 4 and COD 6 are the only ones I play now. I'd say this is the last good game in the franchise it all went downhill on Black Ops 1. Expand
  22. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    It is a tragedy that mw3 has a higher rating than this, mw2 is so much better than mw3 it is not even funny. my only complaint would be that infinity ward doesn't know how to FIX their games
  23. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    When playing this I thought, it took a genius to make this. The amazing story line, short, but amazing blew my mind. Every aspect of this game is wonderful. Graphics, gameplay, etc. The multiplayer is a little bumpy though, but everything else is wonderful!
  24. Jul 6, 2016
    10
    Gameplay : 10
    Graphics : 9
    Story : 8
    Sound : 9
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 10
  25. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    8/10 CoD: MW2 is probably the most fun I had in a Call of Duty game and even FPS in general (singleplayer wise).
    While the campaign is pretty short it is really fun and exciting to play,
    You get to actually adore the characters around you and you also need to think how to get the mission done. Multiplayer isn't really special but it also a great deal of fun, too bad now days it's mostly
    8/10 CoD: MW2 is probably the most fun I had in a Call of Duty game and even FPS in general (singleplayer wise).
    While the campaign is pretty short it is really fun and exciting to play,
    You get to actually adore the characters around you and you also need to think how to get the mission done.
    Multiplayer isn't really special but it also a great deal of fun, too bad now days it's mostly filled with hackers.
    I'd say one the best features of the campaign is the different surroundings and like I said the story-line itself.
    Also every Call of Duty game since MW2 is pretty much the same.
    It's not getting a full score because the story is short and linear.
    Expand
  26. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is the sequel to the first Call of Duty Modern Warfare who managed to be a revolutionary shooter. The game is produced as the first of Infinity Ward and published by Activision. The first game in the series was simply perfect, but the second failed to be quite so good as some reviews say. The story is not perfect, but it seems for little kids, I would say more but it wouldModern Warfare 2 is the sequel to the first Call of Duty Modern Warfare who managed to be a revolutionary shooter. The game is produced as the first of Infinity Ward and published by Activision. The first game in the series was simply perfect, but the second failed to be quite so good as some reviews say. The story is not perfect, but it seems for little kids, I would say more but it would be ok to not give spoilers. The gameplay is simply awesome, the game uses the same graphics engine just improved. Graphics is also improved and bring great pleasure over the campaign. Game sound is ok, as well as those who have contributed voice acting. In conclusion the game worth playing, it is a good FPS. Expand
  27. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    Beste call of duty ever made (equal to mw1) great si singleplayer and co op, fantastic multiplayer so much fun and the mods are great too! 10/10 masterpiece :D
  28. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    Great graphic and great sounds, music ( I really love Hans's OST ). Most important thing is story. I used to play FPS for shooting and destroying. This game have all of these, I can release my stress with it. but story is also awesome. I really love this story. It seems like well made Hollywood movie. More them five years passed since it was came out but still, it is a best game of my life .
  29. Mar 28, 2015
    10
    Honestly i would give it a 9 but becouse of the haters i give it a 10!
    The problem i had whit this game is the balancing and p2p on pc
    But stil cod 6 mw2 is a damn good game online and ofline and co op
  30. May 22, 2016
    8
    Possesses a completely hooking and immersive game play on the single player campaign, but falls short on its story line which was displayed annoyingly vague and generally impossible to understand.
  31. Feb 29, 2016
    8
    The best part from the franchise. Very immersive. Strong sentimental attachment with this one. Don't understand the generally unfavorable reviews, don't want to, too many whiny kids here.
  32. May 29, 2016
    9
    Now considered one of the best Call of Duty's of all time, and very highly regarded in nearly every way, apparently the metacritic users decided to give it 4.2, just goes to show you how incredibly stupid and immature this user review section is. Ask almost anyone what their favorite Cod was it will either be this or the first modern warfare, but apparently the metacritic user reviewersNow considered one of the best Call of Duty's of all time, and very highly regarded in nearly every way, apparently the metacritic users decided to give it 4.2, just goes to show you how incredibly stupid and immature this user review section is. Ask almost anyone what their favorite Cod was it will either be this or the first modern warfare, but apparently the metacritic user reviewers are to incompetent to score a game well. Expand
  33. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    Well. Modern Warfare 2 was probably one of the greatest big online FPS games ever made. BEFORE ALL THE SMALL KIDS AND HACKERS TOOK IT. basically, the only thing MW2 needed was Dedicated servers. It was hard sometimes to play it the e-sport way (through ESL and such). But beneath that, it was great. The graphics, soundtrack, gameplay. Just wow, beautiful. But ofcourse got ruined when thereWell. Modern Warfare 2 was probably one of the greatest big online FPS games ever made. BEFORE ALL THE SMALL KIDS AND HACKERS TOOK IT. basically, the only thing MW2 needed was Dedicated servers. It was hard sometimes to play it the e-sport way (through ESL and such). But beneath that, it was great. The graphics, soundtrack, gameplay. Just wow, beautiful. But ofcourse got ruined when there were no support at all with hackers and patches. Great campaign too, shed a tear. Damn Soap Expand
  34. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    As someone who can only speak for the single-player side of things, this game was plenty enjoyable, if not particularly impressive. The campaign is fun and exhilarating--so long as you don't think about things too much--and the spec ops missions add additional SP fun. As with most tunnel-shooter games these days, it suffers from relatively poor replay value, but if you can pick it up onAs someone who can only speak for the single-player side of things, this game was plenty enjoyable, if not particularly impressive. The campaign is fun and exhilarating--so long as you don't think about things too much--and the spec ops missions add additional SP fun. As with most tunnel-shooter games these days, it suffers from relatively poor replay value, but if you can pick it up on sale it's probably worth it. Expand
  35. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    I see a lot of negative user ratings and gasp. I understand why they exist, but people have to have a level of understanding. The campaign took me about 2 hours to complete, and it's exactly the same gameplay as any other Call of Duty Game (You know, you're in a spot and eliminate the enemies, move on, breach a few doors, infiltrate some secret location for intel, etc.). The Spec OpsI see a lot of negative user ratings and gasp. I understand why they exist, but people have to have a level of understanding. The campaign took me about 2 hours to complete, and it's exactly the same gameplay as any other Call of Duty Game (You know, you're in a spot and eliminate the enemies, move on, breach a few doors, infiltrate some secret location for intel, etc.). The Spec Ops levels were almost addicting as the player strives for high scores so that they can unlock more levels... At times, both the campaign and spec ops can be extremely frustrating, but once you beat it, it's rather satisfying. The visuals throughout the game are impressive and greatly customizable so that they run on low-end PCs and laptops... But then, there's the multiplayer. This is why people are critical of the game on PC. It's highly addicting and very simple. Many skilled gamers find this worthless and a waste of time, but most gamers like the fact that you can get fast, non-stop action without the use of too much skill. However, as in many PC multiplayer games, there are hackers. This is where many negative reviews come in. The hackers are not the fault of the game itself. It's the people who hack that make the game worse. The game itself deserves a high metascore for being an excellent addition to the series. The hackers deserve the lowest metascore possible. If you wish to enjoy the game without worrying about hackers, get yourself a MW2 Config program (search Google) and backup your stats! And, in reality, only about 1 person in 10 lobbies hacks, so that's 9 good games in a row, then all you have to do is quit the lobby and join another one, and you're set!

    Overall, this is a great game with intriguing (but Short) Single Player and fun Spec Ops levels along with addictive multiplayer that make any gamer want to strive to achieve the highest level while completing challenges and acquiring prestige. The graphics are good enough so that there is realism to the game but still customizable enough so that the low-end pcs can run this game without a problem. If you are careful, you can have a lot of fun with this game. BACK UP YOUR MULTIPLAYER STATS and you WILL have fun.
    Expand
  36. WilliamM
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Needs dedicated server support on the PC platform. BADLY. Other than that absolutely amazing game, very in depth and has plenty of goals and achievements for players to progress through.
  37. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    MW2 is a masterpiece, The best FPS EVER MADE! I have spent over 1000+ hours on this game it's absolutely amazing nothing more to say if you want a fast pasted action military shooter THIS is the game for you!
  38. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Modern Warfare 2, while no doubt being a good game, is not nearly as good as Modern Warfare. The campaign was extremely good and very fun with some jaw dropping moments such as the invasion of Washington DC. The graphics are truly amazing with events such as said invasion of Washington DC looking hellish and very real with recognizable monuments such as the Washington Monument and the White House being partly destroyed. The multiplayer which, oddly enough, is the main attraction, is very fun, I found it extremely unbalanced at times and plagued with glitches. The new weapons, attachments, and perks made it much more fun. While not at the same level as say, Half Life 2, it still is a great game. Expand
  39. TravisC
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    I don't see why people are voting low for this game, the single player is good, a little short but a good replay value. Multiplayer is better as you level up and the special ops will challenge your skills in evading, defending, attacking, support and many other ways.
  40. JaceW
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 was a masterpiece. It has incredible graphics, the storyline was gripping, making me play until the very end, my heart racing every time I turn a corner. The multiplayer is by far the best part of the game. You can never get bored as you never face the same person with the same guns every time. This game involves massive amounts of teamwork and coordination, and makes Modern Warfare 2 was a masterpiece. It has incredible graphics, the storyline was gripping, making me play until the very end, my heart racing every time I turn a corner. The multiplayer is by far the best part of the game. You can never get bored as you never face the same person with the same guns every time. This game involves massive amounts of teamwork and coordination, and makes playing it a better experience than any other game I've played before. Infinity Ward has really shown that they can make a FPS equally appealing to anything Bungie, or Valve has. Expand
  41. CharlieC
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Everyone here is just bad at criticizing. You are just crying cause you didnt get what you like. Don't criticize for 9v9. That is what MW2 is. A small skirmish battle game. it is meant for small team vs small team. If you are looking for a larger size battle, go to a different game. They didn't want to make it large fights, so that's what they did. I for one enjoy small Everyone here is just bad at criticizing. You are just crying cause you didnt get what you like. Don't criticize for 9v9. That is what MW2 is. A small skirmish battle game. it is meant for small team vs small team. If you are looking for a larger size battle, go to a different game. They didn't want to make it large fights, so that's what they did. I for one enjoy small strategic fights. It is great for teamwork. Also, the multiplayer is a lot better now. It is so much more smooth and enjoyable. If you are crying over the loss of dedicated servers, ah well, it does suck. However, atleast they released it on PC so you can use your mouse and keyboard. Once you get in the game, even if its matchmaking, once you get inside, its amazing! Awesome gameplay! Expand
  42. JakeO
    Jan 5, 2010
    8
    The single player is just epic, Special ops is great to play with a friend and the multiplayer is just... It's this thing about no dedicated servers, you can't join a good enough host so it will always lag for the players. Really the only thing letting this game down is the MP, I love everything else to bits. I run the game fine with 1GB RAM, GTX260 graphics and a pretty fast Dual Core.
  43. JamesC
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is truly fantastic. The campaign kept me on the edge of my seat, it was NOTHING like COD4. The graphics are fantastic as well. The multi-player is fast paced and intense! Sure there are no ded servers but that doesn't effect it as much and I'm certain that IW will release the support for ded servers in a couple of months. So for those of you poopin your pants over the This game is truly fantastic. The campaign kept me on the edge of my seat, it was NOTHING like COD4. The graphics are fantastic as well. The multi-player is fast paced and intense! Sure there are no ded servers but that doesn't effect it as much and I'm certain that IW will release the support for ded servers in a couple of months. So for those of you poopin your pants over the lack of ded servers, not that it effects anything since after 91 games I have had no lag at all. It appears to me that every 1 and 0 this game has received is due entirely to the lack of ded servers which is really stupid. I would hope for better from the PC community considering IW will release the support soon. You all wonder why devs take their time with PC games? Well here you have it, it is reviewers like all of you people that give us PC gamers a bad name. Go back to playing CSS if you want a perfect online game, because NO games are perfect at their launch date, ESPECIALLY not PC games. Expand
  44. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    I had Modern Warfare 2 on the 360 back in the day and after putting that back in the box and craving some decent Call of Duty; I had to turn to MW2 on Steam. I picked it up in the sale for £10 and whilst I was a bit apprehensive about hackers and a low player count; this game still oozes the brilliance that it once did. I have played several matches so far and have yet to see a hacker. TheI had Modern Warfare 2 on the 360 back in the day and after putting that back in the box and craving some decent Call of Duty; I had to turn to MW2 on Steam. I picked it up in the sale for £10 and whilst I was a bit apprehensive about hackers and a low player count; this game still oozes the brilliance that it once did. I have played several matches so far and have yet to see a hacker. The community is small but still bigger than Ghosts and the lobbies are thriving with players enjoying themselves on this game still. It's great to see.

    For all its problems, MW2 is still one of the most enjoyable and memorable multiplayer games ever created. If you love nostalgia and are fed up of what COD has become in recent outings; this game is an absolute must. I am still weary about hackers but old exploits and issues with the game are seriously outweighed by the general fun and slick performance.

    Ghosts and the new/fake IW created an absolute pitiful excuse of a COD game but MW2 still stands strides ahead in every department. I regret not buying this sooner and wasting so many hours on the latest dreadful installment. The old IW left behind a glorious legacy that simply has to be experienced once again. One of my best purchases in a long time.
    Expand
  45. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
  46. Sep 10, 2015
    9
    The single player campaign wasn't as long as Call of Duty 4's but was still amazing. It is hard to say which single player is better comparing mw2 to cod4 but the results would be pretty darn close. Special Ops was a nice edition, with enjoyable challenges and missions to complete. Multiplayer for this game was awesome but not as great as Call of Duty 4's multiplayer.
  47. ConR.
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Awesome game, The single player is short but so exhilarating, some excellent actions scenes and the story line is believable enough. Multiplayer is very good too(never had lag). I'm not sure if you're aware or not but there was a atttempted boycott of this game by mostly the clans and modders. If you look at the user ratings for l4d there is still only 1.5k user reviews for it, Awesome game, The single player is short but so exhilarating, some excellent actions scenes and the story line is believable enough. Multiplayer is very good too(never had lag). I'm not sure if you're aware or not but there was a atttempted boycott of this game by mostly the clans and modders. If you look at the user ratings for l4d there is still only 1.5k user reviews for it, within a day this page had 2k. All the people who have rated it 0 are the guys who are trying to stop other people from buying it. I think ign should put up a little note saying "Some of the reviews may be part of an attempted boycott by pc gamers" It's not fair on everyone else that just cause they can't have their clan wars or mod the gravity lvl. People might miss out on a brilliant game because of the selfish actions of these boo-boys! Buy it! Expand
  48. SamS
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Amazing game - gets too much shit. Although servers are annoying as shit, its made up for ten fold. Weapons, gameplay and graphics are insane. Rpg element is awesome. Must buy.
  49. F1reBladex
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Best game ever. Normally CoD was all about shooting, shooting and shooting, but this time its different. Its more action packed. I loved the singleplayer. Multiplayer also improved alot with deathstreaks and more points received if u died many times in a row. So it keeps things balanced. Way to go Infinity ward.
  50. Mikael
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    Well the game itself is good, but the peer to peer system does not work well for the computer version, and the lack of support for dedicated servers is a big disappointment. The peer to peer system sometimes causes massive lag, and sometimes the servers crash completely... And finding a server when you have (More than one) friends in youre party can be a bit tedious, and can take a bit of Well the game itself is good, but the peer to peer system does not work well for the computer version, and the lack of support for dedicated servers is a big disappointment. The peer to peer system sometimes causes massive lag, and sometimes the servers crash completely... And finding a server when you have (More than one) friends in youre party can be a bit tedious, and can take a bit of time. Though overall it's a good game. Expand
  51. JL
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    This game is pure amazing, a great sequel to COD4 and the multiplayer is just pure amazing. However their is random lag even when you have a gaming computer, like me, and about 60% of servers glitch or loose connection. Yet when you find a good game it can be the greatest amount of fun.
  52. nuku
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    People giving this game 0/10 just for the lack of DS are definitely exaggerating or taking gaming too serious. This is a great game by all means. The singleplayer is really intense and damn fun, and I'll play the whole SP once more as soon as i've got the time. multiplayer is as fun as it ever was, and really, more than 9v9 players on these maps would make it really crowded. I People giving this game 0/10 just for the lack of DS are definitely exaggerating or taking gaming too serious. This is a great game by all means. The singleplayer is really intense and damn fun, and I'll play the whole SP once more as soon as i've got the time. multiplayer is as fun as it ever was, and really, more than 9v9 players on these maps would make it really crowded. I don't miss DS either right now, as those you get via the automated system have nothing to complain about. Really, this game is just great. Expand
  53. stevem
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Best game i have ever played. Not laggy as long as you meet system requirements. if u dont it would be laggy but thats not the games fault. The campaign is short but amazing. So amazing thats its just as fun the second time you play it on hard. And the campaign is only hard to follow if you are dumb. Multiplayer is like nothing i have ever played before, its so addicting and so fun! Worth Best game i have ever played. Not laggy as long as you meet system requirements. if u dont it would be laggy but thats not the games fault. The campaign is short but amazing. So amazing thats its just as fun the second time you play it on hard. And the campaign is only hard to follow if you are dumb. Multiplayer is like nothing i have ever played before, its so addicting and so fun! Worth any money you could possibly spend on it! Expand
  54. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    Great, though short, singleplayer, but it makes up wth the story. Multiplayer is VERY good, at least from the gameplay perspective. However, the game is irritating with the amount of name-calling from other players. Inexperienced player? get ready to her how much of a noob you are. A good player? The same. A very good player? probably a hacker. You managed to get a killshot? Don't beGreat, though short, singleplayer, but it makes up wth the story. Multiplayer is VERY good, at least from the gameplay perspective. However, the game is irritating with the amount of name-calling from other players. Inexperienced player? get ready to her how much of a noob you are. A good player? The same. A very good player? probably a hacker. You managed to get a killshot? Don't be surprised if somebody makes a lewd reference to engaging in sexual intercourse with your mother. This is not the game's fault, but it does spoil the gameplay experience. Expand
  55. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    i loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove mw2 nothing else to say but hey haters gona hate love it even after 20 days of playtime
  56. JohnS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    90% of these user rating are from 9 year old whining about dedi. servers. The gameplay is great, graphics outstanding, additions to multiplayer a great touch. The game runs incredibly smooth online and it is a great step forward from COD4. There are some obvious minor flaws such as the reduced team size (The maps don't seem big enough to where this really makes a difference in the 90% of these user rating are from 9 year old whining about dedi. servers. The gameplay is great, graphics outstanding, additions to multiplayer a great touch. The game runs incredibly smooth online and it is a great step forward from COD4. There are some obvious minor flaws such as the reduced team size (The maps don't seem big enough to where this really makes a difference in the long run). Lack of dedicated servers for some, not the end of the world. My main complaint is the assocation of your key with steam, but I don't find myself selling off pc games much anyway. Don't be swayed by the obvious group effort to destroy the user rating of this game. Read the comments posted by some of these clowns and make an informed decision to buy or not. Expand
  57. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Good evening. I had the good fortune to receive this game as a birthday gift from an elderly acquaintance at one of my champagne parties, and I found the game to be a rather splendid affair. Indeed, one would find this to be a frightfully realistic portrayal of conflict. Of course, like many other noble gentlemen, I've used a firearm many times in my day-to-day affairs, (although I mightGood evening. I had the good fortune to receive this game as a birthday gift from an elderly acquaintance at one of my champagne parties, and I found the game to be a rather splendid affair. Indeed, one would find this to be a frightfully realistic portrayal of conflict. Of course, like many other noble gentlemen, I've used a firearm many times in my day-to-day affairs, (although I might add that foxes and pheasants tend not to shoot back), so it is with some considerable difficulty that I completed the first "level" (is that what you young folk call a section of a computer game?) of this video entertainment, but jolly good fun it was! Bravo! (..and that's not "Bravo" as in "Bravo Two Zero", hur hur!).
    Toodle pip.
    Expand
  58. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Unbelievably great storyline, graphics and possibilities in the SP. Just a few minor glitches I noticed (I didn't notice most of them when I played the game for the first time). I also love the fact that you can notice the difference between the easiest and hardest level (Recruit -> Veteran). Beyond question in the top5 games I've played. Despite the minor bugs it deserves a 10/10.
  59. PaulA
    Feb 7, 2010
    9
    This game gives splittes up your opinion. One part says wow this is amazing! An indvidual shooter which allows you to play that many types, styles, tactics and customizable things, but the other side is just a big questionmark '?' You will ask yourself WHY? why did iw create the IWNet? why is there no clan support? why are there so many glitches? why is the sp so complex? why This game gives splittes up your opinion. One part says wow this is amazing! An indvidual shooter which allows you to play that many types, styles, tactics and customizable things, but the other side is just a big questionmark '?' You will ask yourself WHY? why did iw create the IWNet? why is there no clan support? why are there so many glitches? why is the sp so complex? why are there that many cheaters? But you lnow what? For me that doesn't matter! I like the game the way it is! And even more than I did Cod 4, maybe you don't agree, but thats my Opinion. Expand
  60. joshuaK
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    best linear shooter ever. astounding graphics, innumerable weapon choices, fantastic combat, superior stability, and best mp yet. just a ton of fun.
  61. BillE.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Nothing but INCREDIBLE love the game.
  62. gandhilol
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    i give the game 10 points because it is funny and there are different multiplayer.i cant stop to play it.
  63. MattC
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Based simply on merit, this is a great game. I was deeply saddened by the loss of Dedicated Servers, and was really questioning whether to buy this. In the end I made the right choice. IW Net isn't perfect, I've had one or two laggy games. But in reality, it serves it's purpose. It gets me playing with a full server of people interested in the same game type I am. I was Based simply on merit, this is a great game. I was deeply saddened by the loss of Dedicated Servers, and was really questioning whether to buy this. In the end I made the right choice. IW Net isn't perfect, I've had one or two laggy games. But in reality, it serves it's purpose. It gets me playing with a full server of people interested in the same game type I am. I was surprised to find that I didn't miss browsing servers for ping and player count and game type and rules I liked. Then you'd get into a game and they'd be all "no n00b tubes." I wasted more time on servers I didn't like than I will ever waste with host migration and the like on IW Net. It's not an improvement. I'm not overly happy about it. But it works, and it works well. On top of that, this game is better than MW1 in almost every regard. BETTER. Expand
  64. JorgeH
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 if perfect in everything in does. It is not a perfect game though, because it's too similar to Modern Warfare 1.
  65. JoshuaF
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Gave this a 10 just to counterbalance all the idiots voting 0. Great game, although it has a few issues. Single player had almost no story - I bounced from character to character and didn't really care when a lead was killed and burned. Spec Ops was great - I've played each mission numerous times and gotten all 69 stars twice because I accidentally wiped my single player file. Gave this a 10 just to counterbalance all the idiots voting 0. Great game, although it has a few issues. Single player had almost no story - I bounced from character to character and didn't really care when a lead was killed and burned. Spec Ops was great - I've played each mission numerous times and gotten all 69 stars twice because I accidentally wiped my single player file. Multiplayer game play is great. While people complain about there being no dedicated servers, it's countered by the fact that you're in a full game almost all the time. And because games are small, they actually require skill to play in and aren't the 32 man war zones of grenade spam and noob tubing that made up every other CoD. While it sucks that there are cheaters and you're unable to kick them, I haven't seen one in days. Aside from that, host reconnects aren't that often and they're usually short. IW has been fixing issues, albeit slowly, with OP weapons like the 1887s, care package glitch, and even (arguably) the G18s. Expand
  66. ChrisFire
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Onces you start playing, you can't stop till you cleared all maps. And then there is the Multiplayer!
  67. JiriB
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    The best in the CoD series. Only the multiplayer matchmaking could be faster and more reliable. The idea of binding the license for the game to Steam account and making it downloadable and playable on multiple computers is great!
  68. MarcelB
    Apr 28, 2010
    10
    Well I find this game just so amazing, first when I heard of it and saw reviews I thought that this would be the same shit like counter strike... Later steam gave me a free trial version of it for a week and I was shocked how hell of a fun it is. Good graphics,gameplay and of course what I like to aim for on those games is lots of functions... In this game you get campain and multiplayer Well I find this game just so amazing, first when I heard of it and saw reviews I thought that this would be the same shit like counter strike... Later steam gave me a free trial version of it for a week and I was shocked how hell of a fun it is. Good graphics,gameplay and of course what I like to aim for on those games is lots of functions... In this game you get campain and multiplayer where you can play so long as you want with out getting bored, because each time you win you unlock stuff wich make the gameplay even better... I actually would even pay 80$ for this. This is a must-have game. Expand
  69. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    I'm not in to games that replicate real life war. I like to escape and be immersed in a world away from the one around us. So whilst I'm quite happy killing aliens and zombies in games, I tend to draw the line at 'war games'.
    However this is a really inventive game. Certainly the highly intuitive sequence as you climb a mountain covered in ice.
    The work that has gone in to this game is
    I'm not in to games that replicate real life war. I like to escape and be immersed in a world away from the one around us. So whilst I'm quite happy killing aliens and zombies in games, I tend to draw the line at 'war games'.
    However this is a really inventive game. Certainly the highly intuitive sequence as you climb a mountain covered in ice.

    The work that has gone in to this game is truly amazing. It's incredibly easy to pick up, even for non gamers. It starts with an excellent training system, and the levels are highly detailed and truly immersive. So as you play, your focus is very much in game. Add in some fine voice over talent and this has been a real eye opener for me.

    The game does go to length to let you know that some levels can be quite disturbing, and you can bypass them. One in my opinion is best avoided. Enough said, it's been well covered in the press already. The multi-player is one of the best out there today, for speed and smoothness, but unfortunately, too many players are too damn good online, and 10yr old American school boys were whipping my behind all too easily : )

    Again while not a fan of real war games, this has truly opened my mind to a genre I was closed too.
    Expand
  70. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    I gave this one ten but really it at least 1 at most four. It needs to go up by a few points to reflect the hard work that ACTIVISION put into this game. I like how you can use aeroplanes. I play the single player campaign mission level up mode obsessively but cant find multiplayer? What, ACTIVISION cant include it anymore since they killed that one guy? Why I always have to play as MasterI gave this one ten but really it at least 1 at most four. It needs to go up by a few points to reflect the hard work that ACTIVISION put into this game. I like how you can use aeroplanes. I play the single player campaign mission level up mode obsessively but cant find multiplayer? What, ACTIVISION cant include it anymore since they killed that one guy? Why I always have to play as Master Chef, I want to be man from 300. THIS IS SPARTA! :-) I like how you can shoot the chicken. Expand
  71. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Amazing part 2.Beautifull crafted wide array of weapons posibility of choosing your way non-stop action great comrades ai.Varied battlefields medium-long campaign.even the firs test in which you shoot targets is exciting.the story is ok and the final blow me away.PRICE.10
  72. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    I am so sick of people complaining about getting killed by akimbo G18's or tubes. This game is fantastic. I dont use tubes or G18 myself but the only reason u guys are complaining is because u have no skills what so ever. Grow some ball and man up. Dont get angry just because u cant play a game. Though i will agree that the spawn system has some problems but it is a minor one. Overall thisI am so sick of people complaining about getting killed by akimbo G18's or tubes. This game is fantastic. I dont use tubes or G18 myself but the only reason u guys are complaining is because u have no skills what so ever. Grow some ball and man up. Dont get angry just because u cant play a game. Though i will agree that the spawn system has some problems but it is a minor one. Overall this game is amazing and is worth every cent. I give this game 9.0 Expand
  73. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Still beats Black Ops' lag fest....
  74. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Once you eliminate Infinity Ward and Steam along with the poor hosting you have an awesome game here. The campaign was well thought out and had a pretty good story line. You maintain control of your player through out the game without worry of the game taking over for you. I only wish it was longer or had patches to extend it. Spec Ops is a great addition and having the two playerOnce you eliminate Infinity Ward and Steam along with the poor hosting you have an awesome game here. The campaign was well thought out and had a pretty good story line. You maintain control of your player through out the game without worry of the game taking over for you. I only wish it was longer or had patches to extend it. Spec Ops is a great addition and having the two player makes it better. I liked it so much I would easily purchase additional Spec Ops map packs. Multi - This game has a great FPS multi player. What more could you ask for except some PACKS to add weapons or attachments to go along with the additional map packs. Outside of the fact that VAC is very bad at stopping hackers, Steam cannot find a host and the maps are too small, it is truly an awesome game. Movement in game is very nice and the game plays well on most PC's. Expand
  75. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    An excellent production single player campaign. Infinity Ward did a superb job at bringing detail and depth to every element that deserves a standing ovation. It is extremely detailed with tons of action. My biggest issue was that I found the story difficult to follow. It jumped around from country to country and person to person making it impossible to figure out who were the good guysAn excellent production single player campaign. Infinity Ward did a superb job at bringing detail and depth to every element that deserves a standing ovation. It is extremely detailed with tons of action. My biggest issue was that I found the story difficult to follow. It jumped around from country to country and person to person making it impossible to figure out who were the good guys and who were the bad guys and where you, the player, fit in. Regardless, the presentation and the execution are both top notch and very enjoyable. Throw in stellar graphics, quality game play, and a pleasing variety of equipment and missions. I cannot praise the single player campaign enough--a game that's actually worth its price tag. Expand
  76. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Frankly the game's multiplayer was pretty crappy, but to be honest I think most of the bad scores came from Battlefield fanboys who troll all over anything faintly Call of Duty related. Single player was epic and awesome, never got repetitive in a single run although not as replayable as some other shooters (I played it over 4 times though), and the Spec Ops mode was a brilliant idea.Frankly the game's multiplayer was pretty crappy, but to be honest I think most of the bad scores came from Battlefield fanboys who troll all over anything faintly Call of Duty related. Single player was epic and awesome, never got repetitive in a single run although not as replayable as some other shooters (I played it over 4 times though), and the Spec Ops mode was a brilliant idea. Multiplayer was unbalanced but very ambitious as it added many new elements to CoD multiplayer. Spent a lot of time playing it (like around 300 hours), but to be honest it wasn't THAT good, although it is still decent entertainment. All in all it deserves a 9, and it is one of the best shooters I have ever played. Expand
  77. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Game!
    From last 10 years i have been playing Quake, Unreal, Half-life, Battle Field and many FPS, but most of time Single Player.
    Now with COD MW and COD MW2 i have started playing on-line and i can't stop!
    Great game, even without server, if you have many friends from the same region you will won't experience great delays or lags (But this happen some times :-(
    This game could replace counter-strike in a future :-)
    Expand
  78. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic singly player campaign mode. The story and gameplay were spectacular to say the least. I don't care about multiplayer so if you don't either, you will thoroughly enjoy this game.
  79. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    Looking at crappy MW3 or absolutely terrible BO I would say MW2 still have best multiplayer. No lag compensation, shotguns are usable, akimbo is working, tubes are working as intended, variety of maps with different play style, smart respawn system, better sound (sound in BO was complete crap, in MW3 for some reason I cannot locate source of sound in 80% time). Long live to Infinity WardLooking at crappy MW3 or absolutely terrible BO I would say MW2 still have best multiplayer. No lag compensation, shotguns are usable, akimbo is working, tubes are working as intended, variety of maps with different play style, smart respawn system, better sound (sound in BO was complete crap, in MW3 for some reason I cannot locate source of sound in 80% time). Long live to Infinity Ward after leaving Activision! Expand
  80. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    OK, I'm not a hardcore gamer, I may sometimes play certain games quite a bit, but nothing compared to a typical CoD fan of my age. The single-player, I found spectacular! The story for me was amazing, and even though I found some parts slightly annoying, it was a pleasure to play. I started at normal, since I hadn't had much experience before, and I am now playing it for my 3rd time, butOK, I'm not a hardcore gamer, I may sometimes play certain games quite a bit, but nothing compared to a typical CoD fan of my age. The single-player, I found spectacular! The story for me was amazing, and even though I found some parts slightly annoying, it was a pleasure to play. I started at normal, since I hadn't had much experience before, and I am now playing it for my 3rd time, but on Veteran, just because I like it. The co-op has a nice range of missions, and are especially enjoyable to play with a friend. I love the multi-player, I don't care that IWNet can sometimes be an absolute pain, because it's that much fun when I do find a game. I don't care when the leading team gets an epic kill-streak, it encourages me to keep fighting. I don't care when other people have better classes, I WILL get there eventually. I don't care about hackers, I can just find another random server. This is how much I enjoy the game. I am glad when I plant the bomb, I am glad when I'm top of the table, I am glad when I finally get my kill-streak. If you're annoyed about this games tiny problems, you don't know the meaning of fun. Expand
  81. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    The user reviews for this game should be completely thrown out. The ONLY complaint for this game is with the PC version of the online. There should have been dedicated servers. I played on the Xbox for over 400 hours and it never bothered me and it didn't bother me when I switched to the PC either. Get over it. You guys are idiots for giving this game a 3.7 when it should be a 9. IThe user reviews for this game should be completely thrown out. The ONLY complaint for this game is with the PC version of the online. There should have been dedicated servers. I played on the Xbox for over 400 hours and it never bothered me and it didn't bother me when I switched to the PC either. Get over it. You guys are idiots for giving this game a 3.7 when it should be a 9. I personally think that it deserves a 10 though. Absolutely amazing single-player campaign and extremely fun co-op that I played through multiple times (including veteran on both). Plus one of the most fun multi-player games of all time. A very worthy sequel to one of the most stunning games in video game history, CoD4. Expand
  82. May 8, 2011
    10
    Essentially, at its core, this is a beautiful game. A great storyline idea but, when you play it you feel as if the levels have been put together as if it were a two year old putting together a jigsaw. It's is just a jumbled mess of good ideas and potential. The only thing I particularly liked was (cue drum roll) the multiplayer. It was definitely a step up from WAW and MW1. Some may notEssentially, at its core, this is a beautiful game. A great storyline idea but, when you play it you feel as if the levels have been put together as if it were a two year old putting together a jigsaw. It's is just a jumbled mess of good ideas and potential. The only thing I particularly liked was (cue drum roll) the multiplayer. It was definitely a step up from WAW and MW1. Some may not agree with me on that point but I'll stand my ground in any argument a bout it's "terrible" multiplayer. Expand
  83. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This review covers the single player PC experience. This was the best Call of Duty I've played so far. I have yet to try Black Ops. Let me just say that the gameplay, physics, graphics, and atmosphere were amazing. Being a Desert Storm veteran I can honestly say that the game captured the desert warfare very well. The game also brought back memories of the movie Red Dawn. I alsoThis review covers the single player PC experience. This was the best Call of Duty I've played so far. I have yet to try Black Ops. Let me just say that the gameplay, physics, graphics, and atmosphere were amazing. Being a Desert Storm veteran I can honestly say that the game captured the desert warfare very well. The game also brought back memories of the movie Red Dawn. I also enjoyed the twists of the game where it left me saying "No way!" A hands-down must get, even for fifty bucks. Expand
  84. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Lets start with the campaign, it's very fun and full of action, although some bits are a tad too hard like when your're in the gulag in the locker-rooms and there are tonnes of people with riot shields. I love the range of guns and attachments available and the game play is very flexible in how there are sometimes alternate routes etc.

    Now to Multiplayer, although it does take ages to get
    Lets start with the campaign, it's very fun and full of action, although some bits are a tad too hard like when your're in the gulag in the locker-rooms and there are tonnes of people with riot shields. I love the range of guns and attachments available and the game play is very flexible in how there are sometimes alternate routes etc.

    Now to Multiplayer, although it does take ages to get into a game and 10% of the time there will be a connection error. Another 10% of the time there is an annoying smug **** who gets like 40 kills. In another 10% of games there is hacks like explosive ammo ect. But when you get into a good game, and start building up kills it becomes really fun and addictive. Private matches are great but its too bad that there isn't much flexability. The game is worth a buy and nowadays you can pick it up some places for like a tenna
    Expand
  85. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    I know, I know. No dedicated servers, yap. Pretty **** But that's not what I needed to have fun in MW2. And I had a lot of it. If I want them though -> Ok, let's play COD4. There is something perfectly special when it comes to Moder Warfare 2. Something exotic. Simply fits my taste. 10.
  86. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Just few words about Modern Warfare: Best FPS game series ever existed. Nothing can beat Modern Warfare in being best shooter, not buggy Battlefield, not anything else.
  87. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Currently it is the real time of playing MW2. After noobtubing with One Man Army and Danger Close for 2 years, it gets boring. Very few people on this game still noobtube. There are obviously 2 versions of the game on PC: alterIW, which is free to download on the internet, plays great with a nice fanbase and has dedicated servers or the Steam version, which is obviously the original gameCurrently it is the real time of playing MW2. After noobtubing with One Man Army and Danger Close for 2 years, it gets boring. Very few people on this game still noobtube. There are obviously 2 versions of the game on PC: alterIW, which is free to download on the internet, plays great with a nice fanbase and has dedicated servers or the Steam version, which is obviously the original game for a fee.
    All-in-all, the game should have had more support after release, but what can we do..
    Expand
  88. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    It's a really good "sequel" of CoD4. Great spectacular campaign, special operations and very very very good multiplayer. Graphics is better then in CoD4, more kill-strikes, everything more. The only one thing that could be much better is IWnet. I prefer dedicated servers.
  89. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    It's hard to place, but there's something about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 which makes it great. The campaign mode: the story is confusing at first and when you actually think about it, it's a bit flawed as well. However, the missions are suitably action packed and put you in a wide enough variety of locations to be really quite enjoyable.

    Special Ops: Basically just random missions
    It's hard to place, but there's something about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 which makes it great. The campaign mode: the story is confusing at first and when you actually think about it, it's a bit flawed as well. However, the missions are suitably action packed and put you in a wide enough variety of locations to be really quite enjoyable.

    Special Ops: Basically just random missions in locations (mostly) from the campaign, Special Ops are, in my opinion, just as enjoyable as multiplayer. You can play them alone or with a friend (which I recommend if possible, not only does it add to the fun but some Ops are excessively difficult when by yourself) and gain stars upon completion which unlock more Ops. The diversity of the objectives and locations makes Special Ops a fantastic game mode.

    Multiplayer: PC players in general seem to be really quite upset at the IWNet system, which removes dedicated servers. Whilst this is an odd and undeniably poor decision, the people who are complaining about it seem to be deliberately forcing themselves not to have fun nonetheless, which is quite an achievement considering just how fun it is. Again, the diversity of the maps is great, but the customization options available are what makes Modern Warfare 2's multiplayer mode absolutely fantastic.
    Expand
  90. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Im a single player gamer, and must say the campaign in this game is very good. Enjoyable levels with a good weapon selection. Superior to Black ops in single player, but can't judge the multiplayer because it's not my thing.
  91. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    It's just so much fun watching videos about screaming kids getting pwn'd by 69 year olds. This is game is great when displayed on YouTube, I never actually played it, but who cares? This is the best game since sliced bread!
  92. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    The game lacks the environment of a true multiplayer joy, simply lacks it.

    However single player story was a real "production" (hollywood?). It provides excitement and great atmosphere. It is one of the best that I have seen in a FPS.
  93. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Positives-The addition of new weapons. The addition of spec ops. Spec ops contains a lot of new content and provides a new way to play. When writing my review the average user score is low. I don't agree. It is obvious that Infinity Ward spent a lot of hard work on this game. There is a lot of attention to detail.
  94. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Although Modern Warfare 2 doesn't break any new ground and it has some minor issues in terms of its implementation, it is nevertheless a welcome, well-rounded addition to the Call of Duty series.
  95. StephenS.
    Dec 9, 2009
    8
    Overrated by most but it doesn't mean this game is terrible. In my opinion the single player was incredible and challenging. probably not worth 60$ but also not worth a bad rating.
  96. LukeK
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    I'm a PC gamer, however, I play MW2 on the PS3. I must say, the single- player, however short, was incredibly good. You get sucked into it! It's more like a movie than a game. The multiplayer mode is incredibly fun, the rewards, killstreaks, weapon attachments- you name it- makes it so fun to play. I could play for hours and hours without getting bored. In short, I think that I'm a PC gamer, however, I play MW2 on the PS3. I must say, the single- player, however short, was incredibly good. You get sucked into it! It's more like a movie than a game. The multiplayer mode is incredibly fun, the rewards, killstreaks, weapon attachments- you name it- makes it so fun to play. I could play for hours and hours without getting bored. In short, I think that Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a great game. It's a must-buy! Expand
  97. MarcoGeurtsen
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    This game is realy amasing, graphipcs are realy good, the gameplay is great en the multyplayer is probaly best of 2009 and 2010. I realy like the idee of killstreak rewards, just like in cod4 but now there are much more and better killstreak. Didn`t rate a ten because of the playtime of the singleplayer and the few hackers in MP. I am realy happy to see that mw2 is patching some glitches This game is realy amasing, graphipcs are realy good, the gameplay is great en the multyplayer is probaly best of 2009 and 2010. I realy like the idee of killstreak rewards, just like in cod4 but now there are much more and better killstreak. Didn`t rate a ten because of the playtime of the singleplayer and the few hackers in MP. I am realy happy to see that mw2 is patching some glitches and overpowerd weapons like the 1887 shotgun. I might rate a 10 if they could patch the hackers but there aren`t many hackers so it`s cool if there can`t. Expand
  98. NewlyDragon
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Best game ever, a bit short story mode. it's all about the multiplayer game, it has good graphics, sometimes a little bit of lag. well, i just love it.
  99. ScottB
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely Awesome! Breathtaking. Just a truly amazing game. Yes it is a different concept as far as Multiplayer goes, (the way there hosted, but all in all, a brilliant package that leaves me wanting more and more and more. :P
  100. Disench4nted
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    Absolutely the best Campaign I have ever played! Challenging enemies, lots of weapons, interesting environments, fun objectives, and a SUPER EPIC ending. The Campaign mode plays extremely well yet feels like a movie. The multi-player is much the same as CoD4...with about 100 times as much customization. Very vertical maps that never get old. Spec Ops is fantastic! Yet again, very Absolutely the best Campaign I have ever played! Challenging enemies, lots of weapons, interesting environments, fun objectives, and a SUPER EPIC ending. The Campaign mode plays extremely well yet feels like a movie. The multi-player is much the same as CoD4...with about 100 times as much customization. Very vertical maps that never get old. Spec Ops is fantastic! Yet again, very challenging and innovative. Great fun if you and your buddy want to sit down and play. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.