User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6221 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    Gameplay - 9.5 , Graphics - 9.0 , Story - 7.5 , Playing time - 50+hours (MP includes). Very fun game. Graphically so well optimized. Improved multiplayer to COD4. However, the lack of dedicated server is annoying.
  2. darekg
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    single player is awsome multiplayer is amazing dont listen to the 0 comment ppl trust me its fun i play 6 hours a day just quik scoping with intentervention my nuke count is 46 everygame i get 35 kill 1 death its amazing game
  3. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    I'l give this game a 9 simply perfect online action and cannot wait for the new COD to come out!! Would be 10 if the single player gameplay was longer! but to be honest, who plays COD for single player?! think IW realised this after the success of COD2.
    Need its own personal servers online. no where to hide now so I wouldnt worry about campers.. cause everyone knows the camp spots and can
    I'l give this game a 9 simply perfect online action and cannot wait for the new COD to come out!! Would be 10 if the single player gameplay was longer! but to be honest, who plays COD for single player?! think IW realised this after the success of COD2.
    Need its own personal servers online. no where to hide now so I wouldnt worry about campers.. cause everyone knows the camp spots and can easily kill the camping noobs!
    perhaps needs moderating for cheats, large number of aimbots.. boring people.
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare 2 is the best shooting game in the world that I have seen especially when I kill a lot of people without dieing. The call of duty modern warfare 2 never can become bored ever when I am playing it I all ways playing it and I never get bored of it nearly at the time Iâ
  5. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps gameWhile I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps game before, as I don't have to tell you how awful a joystick is for competitive fps games. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    Honestly regardless of what people say MW2 is the best CoD out there, people say they had bad experiences with MW2 online..well if that's the case go play a Treyarch version "Black ops series". Then you will have the true definition of fail. Infinity Ward is the better developer of the two companies that battle back and forth developing the CoD series. I'm willing to bet that most peopleHonestly regardless of what people say MW2 is the best CoD out there, people say they had bad experiences with MW2 online..well if that's the case go play a Treyarch version "Black ops series". Then you will have the true definition of fail. Infinity Ward is the better developer of the two companies that battle back and forth developing the CoD series. I'm willing to bet that most people are not even aware of that, Treyarch gives Infinity Ward a bad name. Infinity Wards games; "MW1" "MW2" "MW3" are far better than any of Treyarch's "Black ops series" hands down. I have been playing CoD since the very first release several years ago back in the WW2 era of CoD. Most people didn't even start playing until the first CoD 4 Modern Warfare came out, the overall feel of MW2 is great, the physics are great, graphics sound are great. I feel that the multiplayer is very well balanced online, if it ran like then maybe your pc isn't up to spec?..if you bash the game saying its unfair or unbalanced maybe you should switch up your tactics a bit instead of raging around looking for that kill?..I have never had any issues playing this online..I always had a blast. I'm clearly reviewing this from a quality aspect..how well the game play is designed, how well the game is structured. Bottom line MW2 to this day is still one of the best CoD games to this day. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    I Have all cod games that are available for pc, including the new ghosts. But the best is the Mw2, cause of that unbelievable genius multiplayer. I have played so much games with my clan, that i will remember that game forever. But it's true u can't really play it anymore cause of that damn hackers everywhere.
  8. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    Amazing campaign. I wanna run it again and again and again. The multiplayer is great too by the way. And maybe the graphics aren't so nice, but who notices those little details anyway, the gameplay is terrific.
  9. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    You wouldn't believe me if I said this was the best multiplayer FPS. The amount of stupidity and fun I had in this was overwhelming, despite all of the problems it had.
  10. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 was an unnecessary sequel as the story had resolved itself in CoD4. But the single-player was enjoyable nonetheless. The graphics are very good, and the game didn't have any performance issues. As for the game's infamous multi-player mode, the weapons were unbalanced and every now and again you'd run into a hacker or a modded lobby. The multi-player was hugely addictive,Modern Warfare 2 was an unnecessary sequel as the story had resolved itself in CoD4. But the single-player was enjoyable nonetheless. The graphics are very good, and the game didn't have any performance issues. As for the game's infamous multi-player mode, the weapons were unbalanced and every now and again you'd run into a hacker or a modded lobby. The multi-player was hugely addictive, it was similar to the one in CoD4, but for some odd reason it was just so much more fun. The maps are fantastic and it was great fun running around with a sniper rifle trying to quick-scope people. Theres also tons of easter eggs in this game of little hiding spots and ways to get on top of maps like on the map 'Karachi' and 'High-rise' there are little ways to get onto roofs that might not have noticed. Overall the game could be frustrating at times and the guns unbalanced, this game was just incredible fun to play and I honestly don't know why. Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    UN JUEGAZO, PRIMERO POR SER UNA GRAN HISTORIA EN DONDE SE LOGRA APRECIAR LA GRAN CALIDAD DE EFECTOS Y VARIEDAD DE JUEGO Y ARMAS.----------------------
  12. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Great game. The SP and CO-OP was a 10/10 for me, however the MP could have been better with a few patches. The only things I can list that were wrong were -No Dedicated servers -Rocket launcher and noob toobs didn't occupy perk 1 Early launch hackers were plentiful (not too many now) I give the MP a 8/10 purely based on the fact that COD 4 and COD 6 are the only ones I play now. I'dGreat game. The SP and CO-OP was a 10/10 for me, however the MP could have been better with a few patches. The only things I can list that were wrong were -No Dedicated servers -Rocket launcher and noob toobs didn't occupy perk 1 Early launch hackers were plentiful (not too many now) I give the MP a 8/10 purely based on the fact that COD 4 and COD 6 are the only ones I play now. I'd say this is the last good game in the franchise it all went downhill on Black Ops 1. Expand
  13. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    When playing this I thought, it took a genius to make this. The amazing story line, short, but amazing blew my mind. Every aspect of this game is wonderful. Graphics, gameplay, etc. The multiplayer is a little bumpy though, but everything else is wonderful!
  14. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    I played every COD series over 100 hours.
    MW2 is not the best of the series. The level of completion is not so high.
    But it gave me lots of fun. More than other series.
    I still think MW2's multi-player is the best among the series.
  15. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    I'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a majorI'm not much of a fan of Call of Duty, but this game, and its predecessor, stands out to me. I did enjoy the singleplayer, start to finish, and I replayed it several times going for the Veteran difficulty run. The multiplayer? Meh. I see tons of reviews bashing the community (which is horrible), but that's not the game's fault, so no points taken off for that. Balance, however, is a major issue. Most of the players use either the ACR, which literally has perfect accuracy, or an explosive weapon, which have earned their bad reputation. I'll take -2 off for that. And then, the latency issues. Even when my Internet connection is top notch, I still get the occasional 200+ ping while the host has 0. -1 for that. In the graphical sense, it actually strikes a nice balance between graphics and performance, and has given it a reputation of being able to run on nearly anything. I was able to run this on a Pentium core and a Radeon 4550 HD GPU, and the game looked quite good. If you are a fan of Call of Duty, get this game, but not for the multiplayer. Expand
  16. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    I see a lot of negative user ratings and gasp. I understand why they exist, but people have to have a level of understanding. The campaign took me about 2 hours to complete, and it's exactly the same gameplay as any other Call of Duty Game (You know, you're in a spot and eliminate the enemies, move on, breach a few doors, infiltrate some secret location for intel, etc.). The Spec OpsI see a lot of negative user ratings and gasp. I understand why they exist, but people have to have a level of understanding. The campaign took me about 2 hours to complete, and it's exactly the same gameplay as any other Call of Duty Game (You know, you're in a spot and eliminate the enemies, move on, breach a few doors, infiltrate some secret location for intel, etc.). The Spec Ops levels were almost addicting as the player strives for high scores so that they can unlock more levels... At times, both the campaign and spec ops can be extremely frustrating, but once you beat it, it's rather satisfying. The visuals throughout the game are impressive and greatly customizable so that they run on low-end PCs and laptops... But then, there's the multiplayer. This is why people are critical of the game on PC. It's highly addicting and very simple. Many skilled gamers find this worthless and a waste of time, but most gamers like the fact that you can get fast, non-stop action without the use of too much skill. However, as in many PC multiplayer games, there are hackers. This is where many negative reviews come in. The hackers are not the fault of the game itself. It's the people who hack that make the game worse. The game itself deserves a high metascore for being an excellent addition to the series. The hackers deserve the lowest metascore possible. If you wish to enjoy the game without worrying about hackers, get yourself a MW2 Config program (search Google) and backup your stats! And, in reality, only about 1 person in 10 lobbies hacks, so that's 9 good games in a row, then all you have to do is quit the lobby and join another one, and you're set!

    Overall, this is a great game with intriguing (but Short) Single Player and fun Spec Ops levels along with addictive multiplayer that make any gamer want to strive to achieve the highest level while completing challenges and acquiring prestige. The graphics are good enough so that there is realism to the game but still customizable enough so that the low-end pcs can run this game without a problem. If you are careful, you can have a lot of fun with this game. BACK UP YOUR MULTIPLAYER STATS and you WILL have fun.
    Expand
  17. WilliamM
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Needs dedicated server support on the PC platform. BADLY. Other than that absolutely amazing game, very in depth and has plenty of goals and achievements for players to progress through.
  18. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    MW2 is a masterpiece, The best FPS EVER MADE! I have spent over 1000+ hours on this game it's absolutely amazing nothing more to say if you want a fast pasted action military shooter THIS is the game for you!
  19. TravisC
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    I don't see why people are voting low for this game, the single player is good, a little short but a good replay value. Multiplayer is better as you level up and the special ops will challenge your skills in evading, defending, attacking, support and many other ways.
  20. JaceW
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 was a masterpiece. It has incredible graphics, the storyline was gripping, making me play until the very end, my heart racing every time I turn a corner. The multiplayer is by far the best part of the game. You can never get bored as you never face the same person with the same guns every time. This game involves massive amounts of teamwork and coordination, and makes Modern Warfare 2 was a masterpiece. It has incredible graphics, the storyline was gripping, making me play until the very end, my heart racing every time I turn a corner. The multiplayer is by far the best part of the game. You can never get bored as you never face the same person with the same guns every time. This game involves massive amounts of teamwork and coordination, and makes playing it a better experience than any other game I've played before. Infinity Ward has really shown that they can make a FPS equally appealing to anything Bungie, or Valve has. Expand
  21. CharlieC
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Everyone here is just bad at criticizing. You are just crying cause you didnt get what you like. Don't criticize for 9v9. That is what MW2 is. A small skirmish battle game. it is meant for small team vs small team. If you are looking for a larger size battle, go to a different game. They didn't want to make it large fights, so that's what they did. I for one enjoy small Everyone here is just bad at criticizing. You are just crying cause you didnt get what you like. Don't criticize for 9v9. That is what MW2 is. A small skirmish battle game. it is meant for small team vs small team. If you are looking for a larger size battle, go to a different game. They didn't want to make it large fights, so that's what they did. I for one enjoy small strategic fights. It is great for teamwork. Also, the multiplayer is a lot better now. It is so much more smooth and enjoyable. If you are crying over the loss of dedicated servers, ah well, it does suck. However, atleast they released it on PC so you can use your mouse and keyboard. Once you get in the game, even if its matchmaking, once you get inside, its amazing! Awesome gameplay! Expand
  22. JamesC
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is truly fantastic. The campaign kept me on the edge of my seat, it was NOTHING like COD4. The graphics are fantastic as well. The multi-player is fast paced and intense! Sure there are no ded servers but that doesn't effect it as much and I'm certain that IW will release the support for ded servers in a couple of months. So for those of you poopin your pants over the This game is truly fantastic. The campaign kept me on the edge of my seat, it was NOTHING like COD4. The graphics are fantastic as well. The multi-player is fast paced and intense! Sure there are no ded servers but that doesn't effect it as much and I'm certain that IW will release the support for ded servers in a couple of months. So for those of you poopin your pants over the lack of ded servers, not that it effects anything since after 91 games I have had no lag at all. It appears to me that every 1 and 0 this game has received is due entirely to the lack of ded servers which is really stupid. I would hope for better from the PC community considering IW will release the support soon. You all wonder why devs take their time with PC games? Well here you have it, it is reviewers like all of you people that give us PC gamers a bad name. Go back to playing CSS if you want a perfect online game, because NO games are perfect at their launch date, ESPECIALLY not PC games. Expand
  23. ConR.
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Awesome game, The single player is short but so exhilarating, some excellent actions scenes and the story line is believable enough. Multiplayer is very good too(never had lag). I'm not sure if you're aware or not but there was a atttempted boycott of this game by mostly the clans and modders. If you look at the user ratings for l4d there is still only 1.5k user reviews for it, Awesome game, The single player is short but so exhilarating, some excellent actions scenes and the story line is believable enough. Multiplayer is very good too(never had lag). I'm not sure if you're aware or not but there was a atttempted boycott of this game by mostly the clans and modders. If you look at the user ratings for l4d there is still only 1.5k user reviews for it, within a day this page had 2k. All the people who have rated it 0 are the guys who are trying to stop other people from buying it. I think ign should put up a little note saying "Some of the reviews may be part of an attempted boycott by pc gamers" It's not fair on everyone else that just cause they can't have their clan wars or mod the gravity lvl. People might miss out on a brilliant game because of the selfish actions of these boo-boys! Buy it! Expand
  24. SamS
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Amazing game - gets too much shit. Although servers are annoying as shit, its made up for ten fold. Weapons, gameplay and graphics are insane. Rpg element is awesome. Must buy.
  25. F1reBladex
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Best game ever. Normally CoD was all about shooting, shooting and shooting, but this time its different. Its more action packed. I loved the singleplayer. Multiplayer also improved alot with deathstreaks and more points received if u died many times in a row. So it keeps things balanced. Way to go Infinity ward.
  26. JL
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    This game is pure amazing, a great sequel to COD4 and the multiplayer is just pure amazing. However their is random lag even when you have a gaming computer, like me, and about 60% of servers glitch or loose connection. Yet when you find a good game it can be the greatest amount of fun.
  27. nuku
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    People giving this game 0/10 just for the lack of DS are definitely exaggerating or taking gaming too serious. This is a great game by all means. The singleplayer is really intense and damn fun, and I'll play the whole SP once more as soon as i've got the time. multiplayer is as fun as it ever was, and really, more than 9v9 players on these maps would make it really crowded. I People giving this game 0/10 just for the lack of DS are definitely exaggerating or taking gaming too serious. This is a great game by all means. The singleplayer is really intense and damn fun, and I'll play the whole SP once more as soon as i've got the time. multiplayer is as fun as it ever was, and really, more than 9v9 players on these maps would make it really crowded. I don't miss DS either right now, as those you get via the automated system have nothing to complain about. Really, this game is just great. Expand
  28. stevem
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Best game i have ever played. Not laggy as long as you meet system requirements. if u dont it would be laggy but thats not the games fault. The campaign is short but amazing. So amazing thats its just as fun the second time you play it on hard. And the campaign is only hard to follow if you are dumb. Multiplayer is like nothing i have ever played before, its so addicting and so fun! Worth Best game i have ever played. Not laggy as long as you meet system requirements. if u dont it would be laggy but thats not the games fault. The campaign is short but amazing. So amazing thats its just as fun the second time you play it on hard. And the campaign is only hard to follow if you are dumb. Multiplayer is like nothing i have ever played before, its so addicting and so fun! Worth any money you could possibly spend on it! Expand
  29. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    i loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove mw2 nothing else to say but hey haters gona hate love it even after 20 days of playtime
  30. JohnS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    90% of these user rating are from 9 year old whining about dedi. servers. The gameplay is great, graphics outstanding, additions to multiplayer a great touch. The game runs incredibly smooth online and it is a great step forward from COD4. There are some obvious minor flaws such as the reduced team size (The maps don't seem big enough to where this really makes a difference in the 90% of these user rating are from 9 year old whining about dedi. servers. The gameplay is great, graphics outstanding, additions to multiplayer a great touch. The game runs incredibly smooth online and it is a great step forward from COD4. There are some obvious minor flaws such as the reduced team size (The maps don't seem big enough to where this really makes a difference in the long run). Lack of dedicated servers for some, not the end of the world. My main complaint is the assocation of your key with steam, but I don't find myself selling off pc games much anyway. Don't be swayed by the obvious group effort to destroy the user rating of this game. Read the comments posted by some of these clowns and make an informed decision to buy or not. Expand
  31. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Good evening. I had the good fortune to receive this game as a birthday gift from an elderly acquaintance at one of my champagne parties, and I found the game to be a rather splendid affair. Indeed, one would find this to be a frightfully realistic portrayal of conflict. Of course, like many other noble gentlemen, I've used a firearm many times in my day-to-day affairs, (although I mightGood evening. I had the good fortune to receive this game as a birthday gift from an elderly acquaintance at one of my champagne parties, and I found the game to be a rather splendid affair. Indeed, one would find this to be a frightfully realistic portrayal of conflict. Of course, like many other noble gentlemen, I've used a firearm many times in my day-to-day affairs, (although I might add that foxes and pheasants tend not to shoot back), so it is with some considerable difficulty that I completed the first "level" (is that what you young folk call a section of a computer game?) of this video entertainment, but jolly good fun it was! Bravo! (..and that's not "Bravo" as in "Bravo Two Zero", hur hur!).
    Toodle pip.
    Expand
  32. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Unbelievably great storyline, graphics and possibilities in the SP. Just a few minor glitches I noticed (I didn't notice most of them when I played the game for the first time). I also love the fact that you can notice the difference between the easiest and hardest level (Recruit -> Veteran). Beyond question in the top5 games I've played. Despite the minor bugs it deserves a 10/10.
  33. PaulA
    Feb 7, 2010
    9
    This game gives splittes up your opinion. One part says wow this is amazing! An indvidual shooter which allows you to play that many types, styles, tactics and customizable things, but the other side is just a big questionmark '?' You will ask yourself WHY? why did iw create the IWNet? why is there no clan support? why are there so many glitches? why is the sp so complex? why This game gives splittes up your opinion. One part says wow this is amazing! An indvidual shooter which allows you to play that many types, styles, tactics and customizable things, but the other side is just a big questionmark '?' You will ask yourself WHY? why did iw create the IWNet? why is there no clan support? why are there so many glitches? why is the sp so complex? why are there that many cheaters? But you lnow what? For me that doesn't matter! I like the game the way it is! And even more than I did Cod 4, maybe you don't agree, but thats my Opinion. Expand
  34. joshuaK
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    best linear shooter ever. astounding graphics, innumerable weapon choices, fantastic combat, superior stability, and best mp yet. just a ton of fun.
  35. BillE.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Nothing but INCREDIBLE love the game.
  36. gandhilol
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    i give the game 10 points because it is funny and there are different multiplayer.i cant stop to play it.
  37. MattC
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Based simply on merit, this is a great game. I was deeply saddened by the loss of Dedicated Servers, and was really questioning whether to buy this. In the end I made the right choice. IW Net isn't perfect, I've had one or two laggy games. But in reality, it serves it's purpose. It gets me playing with a full server of people interested in the same game type I am. I was Based simply on merit, this is a great game. I was deeply saddened by the loss of Dedicated Servers, and was really questioning whether to buy this. In the end I made the right choice. IW Net isn't perfect, I've had one or two laggy games. But in reality, it serves it's purpose. It gets me playing with a full server of people interested in the same game type I am. I was surprised to find that I didn't miss browsing servers for ping and player count and game type and rules I liked. Then you'd get into a game and they'd be all "no n00b tubes." I wasted more time on servers I didn't like than I will ever waste with host migration and the like on IW Net. It's not an improvement. I'm not overly happy about it. But it works, and it works well. On top of that, this game is better than MW1 in almost every regard. BETTER. Expand
  38. JorgeH
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 if perfect in everything in does. It is not a perfect game though, because it's too similar to Modern Warfare 1.
  39. JoshuaF
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Gave this a 10 just to counterbalance all the idiots voting 0. Great game, although it has a few issues. Single player had almost no story - I bounced from character to character and didn't really care when a lead was killed and burned. Spec Ops was great - I've played each mission numerous times and gotten all 69 stars twice because I accidentally wiped my single player file. Gave this a 10 just to counterbalance all the idiots voting 0. Great game, although it has a few issues. Single player had almost no story - I bounced from character to character and didn't really care when a lead was killed and burned. Spec Ops was great - I've played each mission numerous times and gotten all 69 stars twice because I accidentally wiped my single player file. Multiplayer game play is great. While people complain about there being no dedicated servers, it's countered by the fact that you're in a full game almost all the time. And because games are small, they actually require skill to play in and aren't the 32 man war zones of grenade spam and noob tubing that made up every other CoD. While it sucks that there are cheaters and you're unable to kick them, I haven't seen one in days. Aside from that, host reconnects aren't that often and they're usually short. IW has been fixing issues, albeit slowly, with OP weapons like the 1887s, care package glitch, and even (arguably) the G18s. Expand
  40. ChrisFire
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Onces you start playing, you can't stop till you cleared all maps. And then there is the Multiplayer!
  41. JiriB
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    The best in the CoD series. Only the multiplayer matchmaking could be faster and more reliable. The idea of binding the license for the game to Steam account and making it downloadable and playable on multiple computers is great!
  42. MarcelB
    Apr 28, 2010
    10
    Well I find this game just so amazing, first when I heard of it and saw reviews I thought that this would be the same shit like counter strike... Later steam gave me a free trial version of it for a week and I was shocked how hell of a fun it is. Good graphics,gameplay and of course what I like to aim for on those games is lots of functions... In this game you get campain and multiplayer Well I find this game just so amazing, first when I heard of it and saw reviews I thought that this would be the same shit like counter strike... Later steam gave me a free trial version of it for a week and I was shocked how hell of a fun it is. Good graphics,gameplay and of course what I like to aim for on those games is lots of functions... In this game you get campain and multiplayer where you can play so long as you want with out getting bored, because each time you win you unlock stuff wich make the gameplay even better... I actually would even pay 80$ for this. This is a must-have game. Expand
  43. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    I gave this one ten but really it at least 1 at most four. It needs to go up by a few points to reflect the hard work that ACTIVISION put into this game. I like how you can use aeroplanes. I play the single player campaign mission level up mode obsessively but cant find multiplayer? What, ACTIVISION cant include it anymore since they killed that one guy? Why I always have to play as MasterI gave this one ten but really it at least 1 at most four. It needs to go up by a few points to reflect the hard work that ACTIVISION put into this game. I like how you can use aeroplanes. I play the single player campaign mission level up mode obsessively but cant find multiplayer? What, ACTIVISION cant include it anymore since they killed that one guy? Why I always have to play as Master Chef, I want to be man from 300. THIS IS SPARTA! :-) I like how you can shoot the chicken. Expand
  44. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Amazing part 2.Beautifull crafted wide array of weapons posibility of choosing your way non-stop action great comrades ai.Varied battlefields medium-long campaign.even the firs test in which you shoot targets is exciting.the story is ok and the final blow me away.PRICE.10
  45. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    I am so sick of people complaining about getting killed by akimbo G18's or tubes. This game is fantastic. I dont use tubes or G18 myself but the only reason u guys are complaining is because u have no skills what so ever. Grow some ball and man up. Dont get angry just because u cant play a game. Though i will agree that the spawn system has some problems but it is a minor one. Overall thisI am so sick of people complaining about getting killed by akimbo G18's or tubes. This game is fantastic. I dont use tubes or G18 myself but the only reason u guys are complaining is because u have no skills what so ever. Grow some ball and man up. Dont get angry just because u cant play a game. Though i will agree that the spawn system has some problems but it is a minor one. Overall this game is amazing and is worth every cent. I give this game 9.0 Expand
  46. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Still beats Black Ops' lag fest....
  47. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Once you eliminate Infinity Ward and Steam along with the poor hosting you have an awesome game here. The campaign was well thought out and had a pretty good story line. You maintain control of your player through out the game without worry of the game taking over for you. I only wish it was longer or had patches to extend it. Spec Ops is a great addition and having the two playerOnce you eliminate Infinity Ward and Steam along with the poor hosting you have an awesome game here. The campaign was well thought out and had a pretty good story line. You maintain control of your player through out the game without worry of the game taking over for you. I only wish it was longer or had patches to extend it. Spec Ops is a great addition and having the two player makes it better. I liked it so much I would easily purchase additional Spec Ops map packs. Multi - This game has a great FPS multi player. What more could you ask for except some PACKS to add weapons or attachments to go along with the additional map packs. Outside of the fact that VAC is very bad at stopping hackers, Steam cannot find a host and the maps are too small, it is truly an awesome game. Movement in game is very nice and the game plays well on most PC's. Expand
  48. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    An excellent production single player campaign. Infinity Ward did a superb job at bringing detail and depth to every element that deserves a standing ovation. It is extremely detailed with tons of action. My biggest issue was that I found the story difficult to follow. It jumped around from country to country and person to person making it impossible to figure out who were the good guysAn excellent production single player campaign. Infinity Ward did a superb job at bringing detail and depth to every element that deserves a standing ovation. It is extremely detailed with tons of action. My biggest issue was that I found the story difficult to follow. It jumped around from country to country and person to person making it impossible to figure out who were the good guys and who were the bad guys and where you, the player, fit in. Regardless, the presentation and the execution are both top notch and very enjoyable. Throw in stellar graphics, quality game play, and a pleasing variety of equipment and missions. I cannot praise the single player campaign enough--a game that's actually worth its price tag. Expand
  49. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Frankly the game's multiplayer was pretty crappy, but to be honest I think most of the bad scores came from Battlefield fanboys who troll all over anything faintly Call of Duty related. Single player was epic and awesome, never got repetitive in a single run although not as replayable as some other shooters (I played it over 4 times though), and the Spec Ops mode was a brilliant idea.Frankly the game's multiplayer was pretty crappy, but to be honest I think most of the bad scores came from Battlefield fanboys who troll all over anything faintly Call of Duty related. Single player was epic and awesome, never got repetitive in a single run although not as replayable as some other shooters (I played it over 4 times though), and the Spec Ops mode was a brilliant idea. Multiplayer was unbalanced but very ambitious as it added many new elements to CoD multiplayer. Spent a lot of time playing it (like around 300 hours), but to be honest it wasn't THAT good, although it is still decent entertainment. All in all it deserves a 9, and it is one of the best shooters I have ever played. Expand
  50. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Game!
    From last 10 years i have been playing Quake, Unreal, Half-life, Battle Field and many FPS, but most of time Single Player.
    Now with COD MW and COD MW2 i have started playing on-line and i can't stop!
    Great game, even without server, if you have many friends from the same region you will won't experience great delays or lags (But this happen some times :-(
    This game could replace counter-strike in a future :-)
    Expand
  51. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic singly player campaign mode. The story and gameplay were spectacular to say the least. I don't care about multiplayer so if you don't either, you will thoroughly enjoy this game.
  52. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    OK, I'm not a hardcore gamer, I may sometimes play certain games quite a bit, but nothing compared to a typical CoD fan of my age. The single-player, I found spectacular! The story for me was amazing, and even though I found some parts slightly annoying, it was a pleasure to play. I started at normal, since I hadn't had much experience before, and I am now playing it for my 3rd time, butOK, I'm not a hardcore gamer, I may sometimes play certain games quite a bit, but nothing compared to a typical CoD fan of my age. The single-player, I found spectacular! The story for me was amazing, and even though I found some parts slightly annoying, it was a pleasure to play. I started at normal, since I hadn't had much experience before, and I am now playing it for my 3rd time, but on Veteran, just because I like it. The co-op has a nice range of missions, and are especially enjoyable to play with a friend. I love the multi-player, I don't care that IWNet can sometimes be an absolute pain, because it's that much fun when I do find a game. I don't care when the leading team gets an epic kill-streak, it encourages me to keep fighting. I don't care when other people have better classes, I WILL get there eventually. I don't care about hackers, I can just find another random server. This is how much I enjoy the game. I am glad when I plant the bomb, I am glad when I'm top of the table, I am glad when I finally get my kill-streak. If you're annoyed about this games tiny problems, you don't know the meaning of fun. Expand
  53. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    The user reviews for this game should be completely thrown out. The ONLY complaint for this game is with the PC version of the online. There should have been dedicated servers. I played on the Xbox for over 400 hours and it never bothered me and it didn't bother me when I switched to the PC either. Get over it. You guys are idiots for giving this game a 3.7 when it should be a 9. IThe user reviews for this game should be completely thrown out. The ONLY complaint for this game is with the PC version of the online. There should have been dedicated servers. I played on the Xbox for over 400 hours and it never bothered me and it didn't bother me when I switched to the PC either. Get over it. You guys are idiots for giving this game a 3.7 when it should be a 9. I personally think that it deserves a 10 though. Absolutely amazing single-player campaign and extremely fun co-op that I played through multiple times (including veteran on both). Plus one of the most fun multi-player games of all time. A very worthy sequel to one of the most stunning games in video game history, CoD4. Expand
  54. May 8, 2011
    10
    Essentially, at its core, this is a beautiful game. A great storyline idea but, when you play it you feel as if the levels have been put together as if it were a two year old putting together a jigsaw. It's is just a jumbled mess of good ideas and potential. The only thing I particularly liked was (cue drum roll) the multiplayer. It was definitely a step up from WAW and MW1. Some may notEssentially, at its core, this is a beautiful game. A great storyline idea but, when you play it you feel as if the levels have been put together as if it were a two year old putting together a jigsaw. It's is just a jumbled mess of good ideas and potential. The only thing I particularly liked was (cue drum roll) the multiplayer. It was definitely a step up from WAW and MW1. Some may not agree with me on that point but I'll stand my ground in any argument a bout it's "terrible" multiplayer. Expand
  55. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This review covers the single player PC experience. This was the best Call of Duty I've played so far. I have yet to try Black Ops. Let me just say that the gameplay, physics, graphics, and atmosphere were amazing. Being a Desert Storm veteran I can honestly say that the game captured the desert warfare very well. The game also brought back memories of the movie Red Dawn. I alsoThis review covers the single player PC experience. This was the best Call of Duty I've played so far. I have yet to try Black Ops. Let me just say that the gameplay, physics, graphics, and atmosphere were amazing. Being a Desert Storm veteran I can honestly say that the game captured the desert warfare very well. The game also brought back memories of the movie Red Dawn. I also enjoyed the twists of the game where it left me saying "No way!" A hands-down must get, even for fifty bucks. Expand
  56. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Lets start with the campaign, it's very fun and full of action, although some bits are a tad too hard like when your're in the gulag in the locker-rooms and there are tonnes of people with riot shields. I love the range of guns and attachments available and the game play is very flexible in how there are sometimes alternate routes etc.

    Now to Multiplayer, although it does take ages to get
    Lets start with the campaign, it's very fun and full of action, although some bits are a tad too hard like when your're in the gulag in the locker-rooms and there are tonnes of people with riot shields. I love the range of guns and attachments available and the game play is very flexible in how there are sometimes alternate routes etc.

    Now to Multiplayer, although it does take ages to get into a game and 10% of the time there will be a connection error. Another 10% of the time there is an annoying smug **** who gets like 40 kills. In another 10% of games there is hacks like explosive ammo ect. But when you get into a good game, and start building up kills it becomes really fun and addictive. Private matches are great but its too bad that there isn't much flexability. The game is worth a buy and nowadays you can pick it up some places for like a tenna
    Expand
  57. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    I know, I know. No dedicated servers, yap. Pretty **** But that's not what I needed to have fun in MW2. And I had a lot of it. If I want them though -> Ok, let's play COD4. There is something perfectly special when it comes to Moder Warfare 2. Something exotic. Simply fits my taste. 10.
  58. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Just few words about Modern Warfare: Best FPS game series ever existed. Nothing can beat Modern Warfare in being best shooter, not buggy Battlefield, not anything else.
  59. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    It's hard to place, but there's something about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 which makes it great. The campaign mode: the story is confusing at first and when you actually think about it, it's a bit flawed as well. However, the missions are suitably action packed and put you in a wide enough variety of locations to be really quite enjoyable.

    Special Ops: Basically just random missions
    It's hard to place, but there's something about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 which makes it great. The campaign mode: the story is confusing at first and when you actually think about it, it's a bit flawed as well. However, the missions are suitably action packed and put you in a wide enough variety of locations to be really quite enjoyable.

    Special Ops: Basically just random missions in locations (mostly) from the campaign, Special Ops are, in my opinion, just as enjoyable as multiplayer. You can play them alone or with a friend (which I recommend if possible, not only does it add to the fun but some Ops are excessively difficult when by yourself) and gain stars upon completion which unlock more Ops. The diversity of the objectives and locations makes Special Ops a fantastic game mode.

    Multiplayer: PC players in general seem to be really quite upset at the IWNet system, which removes dedicated servers. Whilst this is an odd and undeniably poor decision, the people who are complaining about it seem to be deliberately forcing themselves not to have fun nonetheless, which is quite an achievement considering just how fun it is. Again, the diversity of the maps is great, but the customization options available are what makes Modern Warfare 2's multiplayer mode absolutely fantastic.
    Expand
  60. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    It's just so much fun watching videos about screaming kids getting pwn'd by 69 year olds. This is game is great when displayed on YouTube, I never actually played it, but who cares? This is the best game since sliced bread!
  61. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Positives-The addition of new weapons. The addition of spec ops. Spec ops contains a lot of new content and provides a new way to play. When writing my review the average user score is low. I don't agree. It is obvious that Infinity Ward spent a lot of hard work on this game. There is a lot of attention to detail.
  62. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
    just awesome
  63. LukeK
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    I'm a PC gamer, however, I play MW2 on the PS3. I must say, the single- player, however short, was incredibly good. You get sucked into it! It's more like a movie than a game. The multiplayer mode is incredibly fun, the rewards, killstreaks, weapon attachments- you name it- makes it so fun to play. I could play for hours and hours without getting bored. In short, I think that I'm a PC gamer, however, I play MW2 on the PS3. I must say, the single- player, however short, was incredibly good. You get sucked into it! It's more like a movie than a game. The multiplayer mode is incredibly fun, the rewards, killstreaks, weapon attachments- you name it- makes it so fun to play. I could play for hours and hours without getting bored. In short, I think that Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a great game. It's a must-buy! Expand
  64. MarcoGeurtsen
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    This game is realy amasing, graphipcs are realy good, the gameplay is great en the multyplayer is probaly best of 2009 and 2010. I realy like the idee of killstreak rewards, just like in cod4 but now there are much more and better killstreak. Didn`t rate a ten because of the playtime of the singleplayer and the few hackers in MP. I am realy happy to see that mw2 is patching some glitches This game is realy amasing, graphipcs are realy good, the gameplay is great en the multyplayer is probaly best of 2009 and 2010. I realy like the idee of killstreak rewards, just like in cod4 but now there are much more and better killstreak. Didn`t rate a ten because of the playtime of the singleplayer and the few hackers in MP. I am realy happy to see that mw2 is patching some glitches and overpowerd weapons like the 1887 shotgun. I might rate a 10 if they could patch the hackers but there aren`t many hackers so it`s cool if there can`t. Expand
  65. NewlyDragon
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Best game ever, a bit short story mode. it's all about the multiplayer game, it has good graphics, sometimes a little bit of lag. well, i just love it.
  66. ScottB
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely Awesome! Breathtaking. Just a truly amazing game. Yes it is a different concept as far as Multiplayer goes, (the way there hosted, but all in all, a brilliant package that leaves me wanting more and more and more. :P
  67. Disench4nted
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    Absolutely the best Campaign I have ever played! Challenging enemies, lots of weapons, interesting environments, fun objectives, and a SUPER EPIC ending. The Campaign mode plays extremely well yet feels like a movie. The multi-player is much the same as CoD4...with about 100 times as much customization. Very vertical maps that never get old. Spec Ops is fantastic! Yet again, very Absolutely the best Campaign I have ever played! Challenging enemies, lots of weapons, interesting environments, fun objectives, and a SUPER EPIC ending. The Campaign mode plays extremely well yet feels like a movie. The multi-player is much the same as CoD4...with about 100 times as much customization. Very vertical maps that never get old. Spec Ops is fantastic! Yet again, very challenging and innovative. Great fun if you and your buddy want to sit down and play. Expand
  68. DanielF
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Great Game.. Single fun.. Multiplayer is awesome.. who cares about dedicated servers, would have just become HC and promod like cod4 so i am happy the fail players can't take over a server
  69. CliffDog
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Just on the graphics alone...top notch...Gameplay is superb! This is now my fav game stepping over Halo on top. I was in awe at some campaigns. Whiskey Hotel? AWESOME! One part I didn't like was at the airport, but that added to the emotion of the game...remember...it is ONLY a game. 1 million thumbs up!
  70. mindurownbuissness
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    idk wut everyone else is complaining about MP isnt that bad iv played since it came out and only ran into two hackers and only 1 game that was unplayable for a bit but the lag resolved itself The story isnt that bad.. not the best but not as bad as others make it seem although it is kinda short didnt seem that much shorter than the 1st one tho The MP is enjoyable for me its not that idk wut everyone else is complaining about MP isnt that bad iv played since it came out and only ran into two hackers and only 1 game that was unplayable for a bit but the lag resolved itself The story isnt that bad.. not the best but not as bad as others make it seem although it is kinda short didnt seem that much shorter than the 1st one tho The MP is enjoyable for me its not that unballenced except for grenade launchers but it really isnt that big of a deal people dont abuse them that much camping isnt that much of a problem eaither as u can usually kill them. The people iv played with are nice and friendly even one of the hackers..... The bad spawning has only happened to me once Maybe iv just been lucky in the games iv gotten but i really havnt had any problems the hackers were innoying but only 2 and one turned it off half way through Now the bad= 60 bucks... no moding (isnt that big a deal to me, but will prob be implimented in future DLC) Expand
  71. TomG
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Great single player ! Very interesting multiplayer! Best graphics engine on this day!
  72. SimonM
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Wow... That was my reaction to the game. Yes, I have played other call of duty games and the "War" genre has always been one that I really disliked but I was completely blown away by this game! It has the some of the best graphics I have ever seen. I love the different types of missions and how you switch between characters and locations. It can be confusing at times but keeps the game Wow... That was my reaction to the game. Yes, I have played other call of duty games and the "War" genre has always been one that I really disliked but I was completely blown away by this game! It has the some of the best graphics I have ever seen. I love the different types of missions and how you switch between characters and locations. It can be confusing at times but keeps the game interesting. The multiplayer is even more amazing! Building your own class and upgrading your weapon of choice keeps you playing. The multiplayer really pulled me in and I got into it like I did CSS or HL2DM. Anyway the game is a beast and I don't understand why it was given 0's! Maybe it's because I play it on Xbox not PC. I'm not sure how that would affect the game though. I would definately reccomend this game. Expand
  73. CameonB
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    No other game like this, its fun and kinda hard but every time you play its totally different definitely a must have game well worth the price.
  74. Dannzak...
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    Love this game. Never played cod4 so don't know what to say about the servers. Nice campaign, cool graphics and the best multiplayer i've ever seen.
  75. PierreM
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    very GG.will be nice if in multiplayers we got a place for novice user of multiplayer.But beside that the game is formi
  76. SamCohen
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    This game is great currently the best FPS out there. I know some PC users are crying and rating the game crap although they likely haven't played it or do play it and enjoy it but because of it being an unpopular decision to give it a good rating due to some users feeling they were screwed.
  77. MikeS.
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    It never occurred to my to buy this game on the PC, just like it never occurred to me to buy the first installment on the PC. It's a console game through and through. Therefore, I don't have a lot of sympathy for people that express disappointment due to the lack of dedicated servers. Moreover, playing MP games on the PC sucks because it's so easy to use aimbots and other It never occurred to my to buy this game on the PC, just like it never occurred to me to buy the first installment on the PC. It's a console game through and through. Therefore, I don't have a lot of sympathy for people that express disappointment due to the lack of dedicated servers. Moreover, playing MP games on the PC sucks because it's so easy to use aimbots and other hacks (see Battlefield 2). The death knell sounded long ago for FPS MP gameplay on the PC due to the rampant and uncontrollable use of cheats. Get with the times. Expand
  78. Silent
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Yes this games has its problems.. But honestly every game i play i listen to the exact same thing about this game then the rest.. I will give most people this..the non dedicated servers do hurt and there is a lot of hackers... I just leave game and join another takes 30 seconds. Other than that i think this is an awsome game!
  79. michiels
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    Almost 10! it just sucks that there are no dedicated servers! I hate it, no chance to make any "friends" ore play on the server of your own clan and all that stuff!
  80. NothingXD
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    I don't know what all these people who rated this game one out of ten are on about. This is possibly the greatest game I have ever played. Doesn't the difference between critic and users scores say anything? People are giving it zero because they sulking in the corner about no dedicated servers. So what? Sure the matchmaking tool is a pain in the arse, but once you are in game, I don't know what all these people who rated this game one out of ten are on about. This is possibly the greatest game I have ever played. Doesn't the difference between critic and users scores say anything? People are giving it zero because they sulking in the corner about no dedicated servers. So what? Sure the matchmaking tool is a pain in the arse, but once you are in game, by god, it's fantastic! Hackers? Get stuffed, it's got VAC enabled, you can't hack it. And if there are hackers get over it, they're in every game. So to all you people rating it 1 or 0 due to the matchmaking, go have a cry to your mum, because MW2 has the greatest campaign and multiplayer I have ever played in a game, that is why it is worthy of 10 out of 10. Expand
  81. MarkS
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    MW2 is an exceptionally polished game. The single player story is very compelling, especially if you enjoyed the first one. The returning cast of characters created moments where I felt like I was walking amongst celebrity. The multiplayer is a similar formula to their previous, with improvements. There is something to be desired with hosts/finding servers but the single player alone is MW2 is an exceptionally polished game. The single player story is very compelling, especially if you enjoyed the first one. The returning cast of characters created moments where I felt like I was walking amongst celebrity. The multiplayer is a similar formula to their previous, with improvements. There is something to be desired with hosts/finding servers but the single player alone is so well done I am glad I shelled out 60 bucks for this on PC. It's toppled HL2 as the finest quality FPS I have played and is my number 1 favorite game of all time. Expand
  82. Paul.S
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I really like this game, good weapons, good music and the history is good. The people says ''multiplayer is bad'' because are noobs and cryes because they don't know how to play.
  83. VojislavL
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Ironicaly the retail version costs only 40 euros while buying it over the steam store will cost you 60 euros. Ouch for the steam. But the game itself is incredibly fun to play, was it the spec ops, multiplayer or the singleplayer. It deserves a 9 because of some disbalancements (Recently fized Javelin Glitch, Care package knifing glitch and so on)in multiplayer. Otherwise it would get a Ironicaly the retail version costs only 40 euros while buying it over the steam store will cost you 60 euros. Ouch for the steam. But the game itself is incredibly fun to play, was it the spec ops, multiplayer or the singleplayer. It deserves a 9 because of some disbalancements (Recently fized Javelin Glitch, Care package knifing glitch and so on)in multiplayer. Otherwise it would get a clean 10. While some people seek plot holes, script errors and other ridicilous flaws, they miss one thing. Games are made to be fun, not technically precise(no matter it is favourable). Expand
  84. AlgernonC
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Ive had this game since it came out..I gave it a ten because this is the best game of the year, hell , my wife gets mad at me every night, and dont let it be on on a weekend when i dont have to work, omfg, its crazy, so I give a ten, job well done.... p.s I wish I could add more gun attachments like, heartbeat sensor,holographic sight, FMJ, attn mags
  85. RuneA
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    I bought the game and really don't get what everyone is bitching about. The multiplayer plays great for me, and I don't think you need more than 9v9 players anyway. They should have dedicated servers, but it's not THAT big of a deal. A great game all in all.
  86. PyroKens
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This is excellent game, the reason i gave 10 is becouse the game is made without dedicated server, now you my wonder why i say its excelent and it has no dedicated reason i that most people dont enjoy the game that have 20 vs 20 players as maps get overflooded with grenades and you dont know who to kill, on the other side game has really improved graphic and gamplay and adding new content This is excellent game, the reason i gave 10 is becouse the game is made without dedicated server, now you my wonder why i say its excelent and it has no dedicated reason i that most people dont enjoy the game that have 20 vs 20 players as maps get overflooded with grenades and you dont know who to kill, on the other side game has really improved graphic and gamplay and adding new content to the game that really amaze me and i cant wait to play it on steam as they keep us on a straw till 12th November. I give 10 Overall for best game (game of the year imo)! Expand
  87. JosB
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    PC gaming is dead, long live PC gaming. I don't miss the dedicated servers at all, the game is lag free for me, I find others to play with within seconds, the maps are not over crowded (thank god, was a big issue in COD4), I can play with my friends using steam and I haven't even talked about the gameplay. This is top notch wether you like Singleplayer, co-op or multiplayer... PC gaming is dead, long live PC gaming. I don't miss the dedicated servers at all, the game is lag free for me, I find others to play with within seconds, the maps are not over crowded (thank god, was a big issue in COD4), I can play with my friends using steam and I haven't even talked about the gameplay. This is top notch wether you like Singleplayer, co-op or multiplayer... An overall great experience! Expand
  88. NickH.
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Hello all, I saw everyone's rate and so I thought, I will rate to. I pre-ordered the game some months ago for the Playstation 3 (yes, a console!) and since I have it, I love it (like I expected). The game is very very good, good story, multiplayer is good, awesome COOP with friends and I geuss alot of features I don't know yet. But you guys will say "It's a console game". Hello all, I saw everyone's rate and so I thought, I will rate to. I pre-ordered the game some months ago for the Playstation 3 (yes, a console!) and since I have it, I love it (like I expected). The game is very very good, good story, multiplayer is good, awesome COOP with friends and I geuss alot of features I don't know yet. But you guys will say "It's a console game". No, you got it for PC to (hehe). But why they made dedicated servers for PC version? Because they don't like cheaters and people that play an illigal version of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 online. (Cracked versions>>>). I give it a nine, 1 point minus because of the problems with the PC-version, and the to bloody scene on the airfield where you play terrorist. If you ask it to me, it was not necassary to put such a mission in this game. (My opinion). Good luck, and buy this game, worth your money! Expand
  89. jamest
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    #Singleplayer Pros&Cons: +Good Story +Good Graphics +Good Audio +Good Gameplay -only around 7 hours of gameplay even on veteran(probably alot more for inexperienced players) #Multiplayer Co-op&Spec Ops Pros&Cons: +fun +quite Challenging -only 2 player max #Multiplayer deathmatch etc. Pros&Cons: +fun +very challenging +good variety +lots of unlockables leaves you with huge replayability #Singleplayer Pros&Cons: +Good Story +Good Graphics +Good Audio +Good Gameplay -only around 7 hours of gameplay even on veteran(probably alot more for inexperienced players) #Multiplayer Co-op&Spec Ops Pros&Cons: +fun +quite Challenging -only 2 player max #Multiplayer deathmatch etc. Pros&Cons: +fun +very challenging +good variety +lots of unlockables leaves you with huge replayability +good for casuals... -..bad for competitive gamers -no dedicated servers What's left to say is that i had 10 minutes of lag out of 6 hours of playing online. Also ignore those 0-1 ratings, with all the trash on the market, this is the best game i've played this year. Also it's the first time since 2000 ,when i started with counter-strike, that i've been hooked up with a FPS and played it for more than 30 minutes. I would pay 60$(around 48 Expand
  90. ZackRezowalli
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 has taken everything that made the first Modern Warfare so popular and jacked it up. The game is exiting and will keep your heart rate up.
  91. jackp
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    its one of the best games in the world nothing can beat this game at all
  92. MarcusS
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    This have kept me entertained, and will for a long time. Stop whining.
  93. SebastianG
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Is very addicting, variety of weapons and combinations that make you get into the game to try out your own playstyle and see if it works.
  94. DanielN
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    Great game, expecially like the special ops and online!
  95. MrMarkus
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Very nice game. I like the weapons and upgrades in game, RPG system and good multiplayer (never have problem to find good server without lags) and... I very like training, as in CoD 4 :)
  96. flyking55
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    It is a great game.Give me an unprecedented gaming experience! Whether single-player or multiplayer game, you can always find fun in the game. My only regret is that the plot of single-player short.
  97. powerm
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    The game is in one word awesome! I have only little problems with joining, but i dont care, because it's an honour to play this fantastic game. grz from Holland!
  98. YourMum
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Very good game. Looks like they have no need for patches in this MW. And for some people it is not possible to find a "lagless game" 'cause you probally have a rubbish PC.
  99. JerryJ
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    The most exciting first person shooter in a long time. The graphics are superb. The story line is in sink with our real world. InFinity Ward has done an outstanding job. Thank You
  100. JessicaE.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Wonderful game! Ending made me cry because how good it was. Can't wait for the next one
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.