Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PC

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6462 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dennis
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    I was never a big fan of Call of Duty multiplayer, so I mostly bought this game for the single-player and cooperative spec ops feature (and because I was really starved for a new game). I can say I like it slightly better than the original Modern Warfare. The story is a little hard to swallow, moves a little too fast for the player to understand all the necessary information, and I was never a big fan of Call of Duty multiplayer, so I mostly bought this game for the single-player and cooperative spec ops feature (and because I was really starved for a new game). I can say I like it slightly better than the original Modern Warfare. The story is a little hard to swallow, moves a little too fast for the player to understand all the necessary information, and doesn't seem to provide enough background information on who you are fighting, but it proved far more intriguing than that of its predecessor (and far less generic). The gameplay feels slightly deeper with the addition of civilians, riot-sheilds, guille-suited enemies, heart-beat sensors and the like. The campaign still does a good job with shocking the player, and genuinely keeping him on his toes, and the increased variety in enemies and locations, while superficial, is nice. The campaign may be short, but it's so meaty and non-reptitive, and its story progresses so quickly, that it FEELS longer than it truly is. Expand
  2. JamesG
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    This game's SP and MP are amazing experiences. I have never actually experienced many problems with the MP and im not sure why people complain so much. The MP has been improved a lot more with more weapons, improved perk system and just more everything. This is a definite buy for FPS gamers. If you don't buy this you are missing out.
  3. P.N.
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    This is a very fun and detailed game, you can see how much IW have made into this game and it is alot. The Singleplayer experience is very good, better than the previous games, the Spec-Ops option also works very well, with alot of unique missions. I got surprised about the Multiplayer experience since I have heard from my friends and the media that it wouldn't be that great, the This is a very fun and detailed game, you can see how much IW have made into this game and it is alot. The Singleplayer experience is very good, better than the previous games, the Spec-Ops option also works very well, with alot of unique missions. I got surprised about the Multiplayer experience since I have heard from my friends and the media that it wouldn't be that great, the only 2 Major factors is the, of course Dedicated Servers, which I think they should have made, due to the proffesional play in this game, which IW have killed now, the other major factor is the IWNet which really has alot of lagg and fails at times. And than they also removed the lean option which I can't think of ANY good reason why too. But all in all, I am rather satisfacted of what I got, I think you payed for what you get, and yes my friend, I am an old hardcore CoD fan, tho I still prefer CoD4 for MW2, a true fan should buy this, and newbie should not. Expand
  4. JonathanA
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Great Singleplayer storyline that ties in well with COD4. Excelent graphics and visual effects. Multiplayer has plenty of customization, playablility, and also very realistic in my opinion.
  5. Painkiller300
    Dec 30, 2009
    8
    Well if you are able to look past the not having dedicated servers. (-1) and the 60$ price tag for the PC (-1) (and really wtf was with that) This game is great. The single player is fun and full of twist. and the co-op is balanced if you want to play with a friend or try it solo.The Juggernauts are a bit OP but thats why there Juggernauts.
  6. AweSome
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    The campaign is stunning. All the action sequences are amazing and make you want to keep playing, and the plot isn't that bad for a shooter game. The multiplayer has a few bugs, but these are getting patched, and are completely outweighed by the amazing customizing options.
  7. DioNanos
    Jan 12, 2010
    8
    Great game. The only bad thing? The shitty steam! Lags, change host every 2 minutes, problems in finding a game, private games doesn't give xp....... We want dedicated servers!
  8. Dustin
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    The game is simply wonderful. The campaign is a quick 6-8 hours but every there isn't a boring moment throughtout the entire story. Multiplayer is a blast with an incredible amount of class customization, loads of challenges, and some of the best multiplayer maps I've ever played. Several gamers seem to be upset over the lack of dedicated server support, I personally think The game is simply wonderful. The campaign is a quick 6-8 hours but every there isn't a boring moment throughtout the entire story. Multiplayer is a blast with an incredible amount of class customization, loads of challenges, and some of the best multiplayer maps I've ever played. Several gamers seem to be upset over the lack of dedicated server support, I personally think it's wonderful. The Infinity Ward matchmaking system ensures that all players are competing on an even playing field and keeps players from gaining a homefield advantage so to speak. If that's not enough, Spec Ops is there to keep you entertained and can even be played with friends online. Infinity Ward has really outdone themselves with this game. Expand
  9. christianh
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    great all around game you will ever play. just needs more maps and the story should be longer because i finished it in only four hours and i was surpprised to see it end so darn quick! but its good game and if you can play good then try beating me in multiplayer heres my screeen name---snakeeyes16
  10. ChrisH
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    Great single player and multi player, I don't see why people hate IWNet. It isn't bugged and gives you the best game for your ping. I have only been In 2 games with lag and that's because the hoast was dloading something. But I gave it a 9 beause of no user made maps, but other than that. Great Game and worth every cent.
  11. AaronR
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    I rate this a ten, only for what the game is. I'm very proud of its outcome, and savor the graphics. There are glitching issues with people that don't think twice, but that matter can be surpassed by gameplay. If you want an action packed, suspense filled game, Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 is definitely the game you might want to lay your hands on.
  12. RobinL
    Jan 15, 2010
    9
    I think it's good. but I don't think MW2 is better than MW1. MW1 is better than MW2 I mean Campaign...
  13. N.Davidson
    Jan 17, 2010
    8
    Infinity Ward will never cease to amaze me. The campaign is amazing. As for the multiplayer, I'm not a huge fan of it. Despite having an epic computer, I still witness the game locking up at random times.
  14. ArsenS
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This is the one BEST game of all times,better than CS,better than DA;O , better than everything,why not 10 starts ?? :D
  15. AxelS
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Best shooter ever, the single player mode was very intense and it managed to get me in the story again, at no moment i felt tired of the single player mode because of the variety of enviroments, snow, desert, water, forest, etc. And the multiplayer mode is very exciting mode because of the killstreaks, they make you want to stay alive to get better ones.
  16. HarrisonC
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Great game, shame about dedicated servers and steam but its defiantly worth, i LOVE it
  17. DarekDaro151
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    Game is good , but i like maps are there only buldings . there walk only in buldings . But good jobs and good game . I wait next version cod . (call of duty)
  18. alim
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    one of the best games eva played single and online but online servers can be slightly improved by selcting which server to play other then that game play is incredable
  19. StanleyN
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    The people who have given this game below an 8 don't know what they are talking about. I understand that perhaps they went into some laggy servers or encountered some hackers; this doesn't judge the entire game.. I haven't played single player but multi-player is definitely the best experience of any game available today (obviously in my opinion) and it's definitely The people who have given this game below an 8 don't know what they are talking about. I understand that perhaps they went into some laggy servers or encountered some hackers; this doesn't judge the entire game.. I haven't played single player but multi-player is definitely the best experience of any game available today (obviously in my opinion) and it's definitely worth buying. If you don't have enough money then go to Ebay and buy from someone. Whatever the case, if you're basing whether you want this game off of what is written in these comments, I say you should buy it and see just how good it is yourself. NOTE: I hope you have a decent internet connection (NOT dial-up) And as the hacker problem, I see less and less with every update - there are still some hackers though :( well, see you online :) hehe Expand
  20. Micha?G
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    In my opinion Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is one of the best FPS games in 2009, but matchmaking is stupid. When I've got 4th level I' ve must play with 60th...
  21. Sgt.Awesomeness
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Before discussing the multiplayer, let me just remind everybody about the campaign which I would consider equally as good or even better than COD4's storyline. The DC invasion levels are just epic. And now the multiplayer which to my knowledge is controversial partly because of being assigned to games (much like Xbox Live), rather than choosing which ones to go to which are a Before discussing the multiplayer, let me just remind everybody about the campaign which I would consider equally as good or even better than COD4's storyline. The DC invasion levels are just epic. And now the multiplayer which to my knowledge is controversial partly because of being assigned to games (much like Xbox Live), rather than choosing which ones to go to which are a specialty for the PC. But despite all that stuff, the gameplay is not bad at all. When you get right down to it, the multiplayer feels a lot like COD4 (except the killstreaks are sort of excessive). Behind all the complaints lies a game with a regular COD atmosphere to it. So I would give this game another chance before you whine about how different it is. Expand
  22. RolfErlendW
    Jan 25, 2010
    8
    Great game. What more is there to say? Awesome storyline in Singleplayer and many many hours of gameplay in multiplayer. I can't give it full score, because it has a little to few maps included in multiplayer, and that they removed the possibility to choose maps ourselves is another point down.
  23. DonK
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    It's nothing short of incredible and ups the standard for FPS! Once again Infinity Ward has a Winner!!! Note: If you don't have this game already, Hurry Up And Go Buy It!!!
  24. JS.
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    Solid, people complain about iwnet but its mostly because they are not forwarding both ports one for mp and one for spec ops. Much better than the first MW, good graphics, solid frame rate, and gameplay is a blast..very good ai.
  25. JasonP.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Fantastic, just wish finding personal players was easier.
  26. m2
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    For single player lovers: Amazingly complex storyline, albiet short, that keeps you going through the whole 5 hours of gameplay. It is one of few shooters who can give you amazing graphics at more than playable rates with special gameplay mechanics yet tell a deep story that throws you for a wild ride from the continuation of MW. I prefer the better story over extended play time but thats For single player lovers: Amazingly complex storyline, albiet short, that keeps you going through the whole 5 hours of gameplay. It is one of few shooters who can give you amazing graphics at more than playable rates with special gameplay mechanics yet tell a deep story that throws you for a wild ride from the continuation of MW. I prefer the better story over extended play time but thats a quality I like to see in my games. >For multiplayer lovers: If you go this route then be prepared to be dissappointed... maybe. I could care less for dedicated servers right now as long as they delievered an intuitive and fast game style where your never doing nothing for a long time. The bad stuff is you can't bend around corners, no dedicated servers, at times bad lag, and a game picking style similar to consol games like Halo 2. Conclusion: Great singleplayer if your looking for quality over quantity, mediocer multiplayer if you enjoy playing with friends for kicks and giggles but definitely not a clan game. I gave it a 9 because singleplayer for me comes first since multiplayer is pretty vanilla for the FPS genre. Don't like MW2 multiplayer? Then go get something else. Expand
  27. ColeM
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    I really love the game, through in and out. there's only one part i didn't really enjoy was the ending were soap has a knife in him n kills sheaperd and doesnt get to kill Mavock or how ever you spell it. I no there's going to be a Call of duty Moderen Warfare 3 coming out someday, i just know it and ill be waiting.
  28. Nate9mmX2
    Mar 22, 2010
    9
    Yes, IW net is weak sauce. It glitches and there are hackers. It has problems get like anything else. There are times my ping rate is slower than a turtle on morphine. But it does work most of the time. There have only been a few times I have played with hackers 33--0 with instant head shots etc. If you can get past the price and IW net this game rocks. I have prestiged x3 going for Yes, IW net is weak sauce. It glitches and there are hackers. It has problems get like anything else. There are times my ping rate is slower than a turtle on morphine. But it does work most of the time. There have only been a few times I have played with hackers 33--0 with instant head shots etc. If you can get past the price and IW net this game rocks. I have prestiged x3 going for number 4. This keeps the game fresh and the titles and emblems are sweet. The weapons load outs and custom classes are great. If you are a Counter Strike type player Hardcore Team Deathmatch is for you. This game is great besides its flaws. I have been a PC fps player for a while now. Yes, fellas infinity ward switched up some things in this game. But I highly recommed this game. If you are holding off because of the negatives you are missing out. Expand
  29. DzigbodeK
    Mar 25, 2010
    10
    I honestly do not understand what people's problems are with this game. This game is has a great single player I can play over and over again, with a multiplayer that is more than what I asked for. I do see many people complain about hacking, and the matchmaking system (which is the only thing I say could use some work), but honestly the biggest problem I see online is whiners. I honestly do not understand what people's problems are with this game. This game is has a great single player I can play over and over again, with a multiplayer that is more than what I asked for. I do see many people complain about hacking, and the matchmaking system (which is the only thing I say could use some work), but honestly the biggest problem I see online is whiners. People complaining about different guns and weapons is the only thing that drive me crazy. Sure, I have seen my share of hackers, but it is not what people make it out to be. I myself have been called a hacker more often than me playing with a hacker, which makes me think the only thing wrong with this game is it's players. Expand
  30. MarcelB
    Apr 28, 2010
    10
    Well I find this game just so amazing, first when I heard of it and saw reviews I thought that this would be the same shit like counter strike... Later steam gave me a free trial version of it for a week and I was shocked how hell of a fun it is. Good graphics,gameplay and of course what I like to aim for on those games is lots of functions... In this game you get campain and multiplayer Well I find this game just so amazing, first when I heard of it and saw reviews I thought that this would be the same shit like counter strike... Later steam gave me a free trial version of it for a week and I was shocked how hell of a fun it is. Good graphics,gameplay and of course what I like to aim for on those games is lots of functions... In this game you get campain and multiplayer where you can play so long as you want with out getting bored, because each time you win you unlock stuff wich make the gameplay even better... I actually would even pay 80$ for this. This is a must-have game. Expand
  31. Skate
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Although this game hasn't got servers where the host can add different mods and so on, i still think this is worthy of a high score. There are more missions than cod4 yet they're shorter so it balances out, with the missions being shorter and the cod4 engine being use optimumly, the graphics and gameplay are incedable. Very well done IW.
  32. BrunoP
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    The game is pretty good in my point of view. I think limiting the number of players in a match to 18 is the best because in the first MW it seemed that i was entering in a slaughter house, some people dont't like to make strategic decisions they only want to shoot everything it moves. The only complain i have is the lack of multiple profiles in this game, i have a little brother that The game is pretty good in my point of view. I think limiting the number of players in a match to 18 is the best because in the first MW it seemed that i was entering in a slaughter house, some people dont't like to make strategic decisions they only want to shoot everything it moves. The only complain i have is the lack of multiple profiles in this game, i have a little brother that like to play online but now if he want to play he must play with my account, or in alternative i must by another game and associate it to another steam account. I think the decision to integrate the retail version into steam isn´t the best one. Expand
  33. super6
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    single player campaign is tough, suspenseful, good graphics, good sound. is it a huge improvement over mw1, no. but mw1 was also a great game and ahead of its time. the campaign and solo mission are VERY well done and i've already got my money's worth in the 2 full days of gaming. i didn't like mw1 multiplayer but this one seems better than the previous. dedicated servers single player campaign is tough, suspenseful, good graphics, good sound. is it a huge improvement over mw1, no. but mw1 was also a great game and ahead of its time. the campaign and solo mission are VERY well done and i've already got my money's worth in the 2 full days of gaming. i didn't like mw1 multiplayer but this one seems better than the previous. dedicated servers may be added at some point, but most games seem to be going away from this for whatever reason. Expand
  34. JamesH
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    whatever people may say about it, as a game it is techincally amazing. Everything from the graphics to the stunning set piece gameplay. Some may not like it compared to Modern Warfare, but if you give the game a chance it is one of the best of it's generation.
  35. DestinyB
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game Rocks, Who cares no dedicated servers and no mods. I hope it squashes the hackers, who are probably the ones complaining the most. The SP is an epic experience and the Multiplayer is fun especially the Co-Op Mode. I recommend this game to any intelligent adult who likes and appreciates a good gaming experience. As for the complainers, Get a Life.
  36. rEkON
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    So, the singleplayer lasts 6 hours. It's not as epic as the original MW. However, there's some great moments that will leave a lasting impression and add to replayability. The multiplayer is still something to be desired. The frequent lag spikes, host migration, host advantage, and inability to customize/choose your own options is something that will need to be fixed. If you So, the singleplayer lasts 6 hours. It's not as epic as the original MW. However, there's some great moments that will leave a lasting impression and add to replayability. The multiplayer is still something to be desired. The frequent lag spikes, host migration, host advantage, and inability to customize/choose your own options is something that will need to be fixed. If you have the means, go buy it. However, if you already own MW and love the multiplayer, wait until MW2 is fixed. Expand
  37. ClaytonS.
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    EVERYBODY. Stop complaining about the lack of dedicated servers. What, did the fact that the game doesn't have dedicated servers kill your children? No? Well some of you seem to be acting like it did. Grow up, and get used to it. Because you know what, it ain't changin' anytime soon. Idiots.
  38. BenH.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Most of these votes are becuase of some people wanted more than 18 players, so they can cheat there way in the ranks and spawn kill, some people wanted to be able to mod with this game which i never used anyway personal, aprantly this game doesnt have any dedicated servers when this game never lags for me and ive never had any problems what so ever. It has better graphics than the console Most of these votes are becuase of some people wanted more than 18 players, so they can cheat there way in the ranks and spawn kill, some people wanted to be able to mod with this game which i never used anyway personal, aprantly this game doesnt have any dedicated servers when this game never lags for me and ive never had any problems what so ever. It has better graphics than the console versions. i dont give a damn what infinity ward siad or activision all i care is that they made an excellent game that will keep me entertained for a very long time and i think all the poeple who put down a game over somthing as silly as this and all the silly romours than to bad for them cuase they are missing out! Expand
  39. AndreasE
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The comments below me are just lame, all about the multiplayer who says it sucks. Hey guys ffs, they have just released the game, don't you think they will come up with some improvements.??? wait a month and there will be a lot of dedicated servers.
  40. JackS.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    All of you that are complaining about the online just shut up. Stop being a bunch of whiners and actually appreciate more than just the dedicated server thing k? It sucks that it's not there but appreciate it more than just that.
  41. ConnorH
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    While I do not agree with most of the steps IW has taken, but this game is truly fantastic. Single-player is a blast, while short, and has almost too many plot twists, it gets the job done and more. You'll be plenty entertained. While dedicated server support is crucial to competitive games, the game runs fine on IW.net. The games are optimized for you. The depth is also fantastic, While I do not agree with most of the steps IW has taken, but this game is truly fantastic. Single-player is a blast, while short, and has almost too many plot twists, it gets the job done and more. You'll be plenty entertained. While dedicated server support is crucial to competitive games, the game runs fine on IW.net. The games are optimized for you. The depth is also fantastic, you'll keep coming back. Overall, a truly fantastic game with flaws. Expand
  42. JesperJ
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    Most people here is rating this game low because of no dedicated servers. While that may be a issue for some, this is still far the best FPS game in my opinion. The lack of dedicated servers is a non-issue for 99.9% of gamers out there, and a improvement over a serverlist. That said, a dedicated server list as a future optional whould be great, but don't ever let that hold you back Most people here is rating this game low because of no dedicated servers. While that may be a issue for some, this is still far the best FPS game in my opinion. The lack of dedicated servers is a non-issue for 99.9% of gamers out there, and a improvement over a serverlist. That said, a dedicated server list as a future optional whould be great, but don't ever let that hold you back for buying this great game. (unless you are one of the 0.1%) Expand
  43. PresidentK
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    COD6 aka OMG6... Anyone with a bad review of this game, is out of their mind. I just brought this came over to my grandpas house, a vet, to see what he thought. During an intense firefight, I looked over to see his jaw dropped. I stopped the game to ask him what he thought, and he asked me "Are you controlling this or is it a movie?" He looked absolutely stunned. I later saw him sitting COD6 aka OMG6... Anyone with a bad review of this game, is out of their mind. I just brought this came over to my grandpas house, a vet, to see what he thought. During an intense firefight, I looked over to see his jaw dropped. I stopped the game to ask him what he thought, and he asked me "Are you controlling this or is it a movie?" He looked absolutely stunned. I later saw him sitting outside with a blank look on his face. I asked him whatsup, and he responded. "I can't stop thinking about that game, I've never seen anything like it." Needless to say, we're both amazed... Gramps said it was better than Spielburg. Expand
  44. ThomasD
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    Great game while playing , singleplayer is short , but intense and i will be playing that multiple times , multiplayer however is where the money is at , weapons are balanced , maps are well designed , gamemodes are fun. The disadvantage at the moment is no dedicated servers and no lean ( that i didnt use anyhow, if the game gets both of those , it's an instant 10 for me ) Lots of Great game while playing , singleplayer is short , but intense and i will be playing that multiple times , multiplayer however is where the money is at , weapons are balanced , maps are well designed , gamemodes are fun. The disadvantage at the moment is no dedicated servers and no lean ( that i didnt use anyhow, if the game gets both of those , it's an instant 10 for me ) Lots of weapons to unlock , lots of perks , perk upgrades , weapon upgrades , deathstreak things , customisable killstreaks ( yay ) , and lots of other things that will keep me busy for many more hours. I am not a competitive gamer , i just play games because i think it's fun! Expand
  45. Mithan
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    I HATE that it doesn't have Dedicated Servers and that Activision craps on the PC Crowd, but I caved and bought it anyways because at the end of the day, I play games to be entertained and MW2 is a great game. The online play is very well done, even if the Match Making aspect of it does leave a little bit to be desired, still, they did a good job. So yes, Activision deserves to be I HATE that it doesn't have Dedicated Servers and that Activision craps on the PC Crowd, but I caved and bought it anyways because at the end of the day, I play games to be entertained and MW2 is a great game. The online play is very well done, even if the Match Making aspect of it does leave a little bit to be desired, still, they did a good job. So yes, Activision deserves to be hated for the sleaze balls they are, but the game is very well done. Expand
  46. TomC
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The game is amazing. dont pay attention to the PC user reviews. most people didn't even buy tha games and rated it 1 just because of no dedicated servers. sure its disapointing but IWNet seems fine for me. plus i am sure they will add them as soon as possible. the multiplayer is just as addicting as the firsts. i highly recomend it to anyone who wants a great single player story and The game is amazing. dont pay attention to the PC user reviews. most people didn't even buy tha games and rated it 1 just because of no dedicated servers. sure its disapointing but IWNet seems fine for me. plus i am sure they will add them as soon as possible. the multiplayer is just as addicting as the firsts. i highly recomend it to anyone who wants a great single player story and an extremely fun multiplayer. i will be playing this for years to come. Expand
  47. CJcoyo7e
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    This is a great game, and the PC community will come around to the fact that it is a great game, just not one that'll appeal to all aspects of the PC gaming community. Some people want to be able to turn off brush or tweak gravity, and you won't be able to do that in MW2. It's very worth playing and you'd do yourself a disservice to skip this gem of a console FPS.
  48. MAKAROVS
    Nov 12, 2009
    8
    I've just entered the mission with the boat then i had to exit because i dind't have time to finish that one too....next time i opened the game i said mysemlf "let's see how much moire missions i have left"...i clicked SELECT MISSION and i ws stunned to see that there was already one mission left Yes, it is tru this game is short and the campaign is a little bit shallow, I've just entered the mission with the boat then i had to exit because i dind't have time to finish that one too....next time i opened the game i said mysemlf "let's see how much moire missions i have left"...i clicked SELECT MISSION and i ws stunned to see that there was already one mission left Yes, it is tru this game is short and the campaign is a little bit shallow, with many missions having generic fights, nothing really special about them.. on the other hand the co-op and the multiplayer are a blast and this is why you should buy the game. Expand
  49. Kauffman
    Nov 12, 2009
    9
    After waiting for this game since I finished the first MW I can say that the wait was worth it. The game plays very well and story line though it´s short is amazing. For me the MP works great and I have had a blast. I give this game 9 becase the single player is short but everyting else is perfect.
  50. JulesL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Listen this game is bloody terrific. There is no denying it. Sure it would have been better with dedicated servers and mods etc. but there is not taking away from the fact that this game is amazing. Superb Job Infinity Ward. Thumbs Up!
  51. ASDASD
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I bet all the guys who gave the game 0 or 1 haven't even tried and are just happy to whine over everything. Please get brainz!! No point in shittin' on IW just 'cause they changed a few things. They have the right and they can if they want, in this case they did want to change something! Get over it you whiny noobs, play the game or shut up!
  52. kevins
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I was one to be upset about the news (no dedicated servers, shot SP (not true), no lean support). but after being realy happy with the coop and the single player aspects of the game. Then entering in to the multilayer and exerting a bad MP experience but I actually was very happy with the match-making system and the ability to play with your buddies. There is nothing wrong with this game I was one to be upset about the news (no dedicated servers, shot SP (not true), no lean support). but after being realy happy with the coop and the single player aspects of the game. Then entering in to the multilayer and exerting a bad MP experience but I actually was very happy with the match-making system and the ability to play with your buddies. There is nothing wrong with this game I would like them to try and fix some of the lag issues lag is rare but annoying and if they want to replace PC users dedicated servers they need to match their performance. Expand
  53. JohnA
    Nov 12, 2009
    8
    I can't give a ZERO to the game because the game don't have dedicated server, the game isn't multiplayer only, I know lot's of people bought the game to play online, but the single player is awesome too, great story, great graphics, some missions were soo cool that I wanted to play them one more time before continuing the game. So I giving it a 8 since the single I can't give a ZERO to the game because the game don't have dedicated server, the game isn't multiplayer only, I know lot's of people bought the game to play online, but the single player is awesome too, great story, great graphics, some missions were soo cool that I wanted to play them one more time before continuing the game. So I giving it a 8 since the single player was a 10 to me, and I agree that multiplayer should have dedicated servers, and you should be able to choose the server, and not just be thrown in any server, BUT IT IS NOT AN EXCUSE TO GIVE THE GAME A 0! Expand
  54. JamesW
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    At first glance the game seems very mediocre, but after traveling through the very poorly made main menu, and starting the campaign, if you liked COD4, you will be amazed. Only now though, after starting the campaign could I ESC out and find some options to change my GFX settings (screen res, level
  55. Necramonium
    Nov 12, 2009
    8
    People are overreacting much to much here jjust because they lost some stuff, but the single player is still a playable popcorn movie that a COD game always have been, but the engine is starting to show its age, the decision to remove the option to 'lean' in combat is poor, seeing i use it allot in FPS games. No dedicated servers is also a dumb move. But it's allot better People are overreacting much to much here jjust because they lost some stuff, but the single player is still a playable popcorn movie that a COD game always have been, but the engine is starting to show its age, the decision to remove the option to 'lean' in combat is poor, seeing i use it allot in FPS games. No dedicated servers is also a dumb move. But it's allot better in my mind, in a 30 players match you mostly won't live for a few seconds. Now i see people using teamwork and that is only just a good thing! I have been playing for a day now on MP and have not encountered lag once! Expand
  56. MalteJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The Singleplayer was good and intense. The Multiplayer is also very very good, better than cod 4's multiplayer. Why? Because it took everything what made CoD 4's multiplayer very good and amplified that by 10. It's just so more intense now, I love it. Sure, dedicated servers would be nice, but it's like it kills the ping so heavy.
  57. TimePeriod
    Nov 12, 2009
    8
    This game is what it is currently. The single player story is what you take it for, meaning unless you played the previous game you won't have a clue why this is happening. As for the multiplayer part, I am quite sure that IW has been keeping certain parts of the game back for further development, modification and improvement. This is what I'd like to call a "RoT - Release over This game is what it is currently. The single player story is what you take it for, meaning unless you played the previous game you won't have a clue why this is happening. As for the multiplayer part, I am quite sure that IW has been keeping certain parts of the game back for further development, modification and improvement. This is what I'd like to call a "RoT - Release over Time" effect. Surely, IW has realized by taking way something you leave a room, which needs filling - unless that gap is filled, you have an incomplete game. Expand
  58. BradR
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    The single player is a brilliant cinematic experience, just like Call of Duty 4. The multiplayer has been streamlined, you just click what kind of game you want to join and it puts you in one. I joined a multiplayer game of MW2 for the first time this morning, after a couple hours of the single player, and it was great. There was no lag, there were no rules spamming down my screen about The single player is a brilliant cinematic experience, just like Call of Duty 4. The multiplayer has been streamlined, you just click what kind of game you want to join and it puts you in one. I joined a multiplayer game of MW2 for the first time this morning, after a couple hours of the single player, and it was great. There was no lag, there were no rules spamming down my screen about which perks and weapons I wasn't allowed to use, and I was able to just play the game and have fun! Expand
  59. NS
    Nov 13, 2009
    8
    I find the user score of 1.5 funny. Everyone that loves the game is playing ti while those of you here !%@#%ing about it are the classic whiners "Our computers and connections aren't good enough to play the game wah wah wah". I'm on a college network and have never had more than 100ping. Singleplayer: 9/10 MP: 8.5/10 Thank god they fixed the terrible terrible run'n'gun I find the user score of 1.5 funny. Everyone that loves the game is playing ti while those of you here !%@#%ing about it are the classic whiners "Our computers and connections aren't good enough to play the game wah wah wah". I'm on a college network and have never had more than 100ping. Singleplayer: 9/10 MP: 8.5/10 Thank god they fixed the terrible terrible run'n'gun strat of ever CoD game after 2. Thank you IW for making the game favor tactics and teamwork. Expand
  60. Stalin'sO
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    AWESOME, it seems people are only judging this game for its multiplayer content all i hear is whining and moaning about dedicated servers and no modding, first give them a chance, second dont entirely skip single player and give it an instant 0 because of lack of dedis, great story great gameplay as for multiplayer, the game has been out for a a few days, GET A GRIP.
  61. KyleA
    Nov 14, 2009
    9
    Well it's official... I'm addicted. So far I've played about 3 hours of singleplayer and I'm loving every bit of it. Not much to say there. The multiplayer is has been very fun so far. Virtually no lag. Joining new matches takes almost no time. The new killstreaks are fun. Many, many achievements and unlocks to keep you playing for hours on end. I took off a point Well it's official... I'm addicted. So far I've played about 3 hours of singleplayer and I'm loving every bit of it. Not much to say there. The multiplayer is has been very fun so far. Virtually no lag. Joining new matches takes almost no time. The new killstreaks are fun. Many, many achievements and unlocks to keep you playing for hours on end. I took off a point because I think there are some balance issues with the multiplayer and some quirks as well. For example, it takes too long to go from sprint to firing your weapon. If you are sprinting (I like to rush rather than camp) and an enemy pops out, you will most likely not be able to get 1 bullet out before you are dead. Expand
  62. Larson
    Nov 14, 2009
    9
    I was skeptical after reading all the hard criticism around the dedicated servers. I'm was furious about what this would do to the game, and as such waited a couple days to buy it. I did however end up buying it because my friends told me the lag was not so bad. I've played about 50 rounds now. In that time 3 host migrations, 1 dropped game, and 1 game with 2 bars. The rest have I was skeptical after reading all the hard criticism around the dedicated servers. I'm was furious about what this would do to the game, and as such waited a couple days to buy it. I did however end up buying it because my friends told me the lag was not so bad. I've played about 50 rounds now. In that time 3 host migrations, 1 dropped game, and 1 game with 2 bars. The rest have all been 4 bars (~50-60ms I'd guess) and very very playable. In fact, I've been having a damned good time. Yes, it would be better with dedicated servers. And yes, I'd buy it again, even without them. I sincerely hope they add them in at some point, but honestly the game works very well right now too. The limits to 9v9 work as well because the maps are very tightly designed and there is no lack of action. My biggest complaint is that you drop back to the lobby after each 10 minute round and have a minute of "intermission", during which there is only voice chat. Expand
  63. ChrisR
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    This game was amazing. All the people who complain about dedicated servers are idiots. I hope there isn't another Call of Duty game released on PC. What you idiots say won't affect it's sales by more than a mere fraction. You are all missing out on the best game of the year and if you aren't playing it well then I feel sorry for you.
  64. MoodMax
    Nov 14, 2009
    9
    I do understand the disappointment over the Mulitplayer part and its matchmaking... which seriously isn't that good. But COD has only become a a "real" multiplayer game since Modern Warfare... That's why I do not rate this games bad mulitplayer like all the others since the Singleplayer experience simply is the core part of the game which is great! I still only rate 9 to to take I do understand the disappointment over the Mulitplayer part and its matchmaking... which seriously isn't that good. But COD has only become a a "real" multiplayer game since Modern Warfare... That's why I do not rate this games bad mulitplayer like all the others since the Singleplayer experience simply is the core part of the game which is great! I still only rate 9 to to take in little consideration the Mulitplayer. Expand
  65. ShaunK
    Nov 14, 2009
    8
    I agree that multiplayer does suck at the moment, seeing that i have the most kill view cam and cheaters seem to be ruling at the moment. But single play rocks and can provide hours of fun, the graphics great and like the fact that injured enemies can fight back and don't just die from 1 body shot. For me it's a great game and I will conquer multiplay one day without cheats. So I agree that multiplayer does suck at the moment, seeing that i have the most kill view cam and cheaters seem to be ruling at the moment. But single play rocks and can provide hours of fun, the graphics great and like the fact that injured enemies can fight back and don't just die from 1 body shot. For me it's a great game and I will conquer multiplay one day without cheats. So cheaters beware. Expand
  66. JustinS.
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    These people are just being bitches. I'm not a fan of any of the other Call of Duties. This one? This one's a masterpiece on three fronts. Playing spec ops with my friends, trying to get each level to perfection... Trying to climb the ranks in multiplayer, and experiencing a very emotion driving campaign (although short) seal the deal with this one. Some of these guys are nerd These people are just being bitches. I'm not a fan of any of the other Call of Duties. This one? This one's a masterpiece on three fronts. Playing spec ops with my friends, trying to get each level to perfection... Trying to climb the ranks in multiplayer, and experiencing a very emotion driving campaign (although short) seal the deal with this one. Some of these guys are nerd raging and probably haven't even played the game because they don't get their dedicated servers. I must say, I LOVE dedicated servers but considering I play this on PS3... It's a non-issue. Yes, I HAVE played the PC version. So sorry you don't like simplicity in just jumping into a quick match guys. I understand you want 50+ multiplayer and whatever... But Honestly all of your picky needs are childish. So sorry there's no server where you play on the same damn map every time, etc. I play COD4 alot on PC. And this one is just different. You want the same damned thing over and over? keep playing Call of Duty 4. Only the minority (the haters of this game) are even voting on this site, they're the only ones that wanna make a big deal. Expand
  67. SteveE
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Are you guys nuts?! this game is great! campaign may be a little short but really how many people bought this game for the single player? Even if you did buy for the single player you have multiple challenge's to do that are pretty damn hard. I can't even explain how fun the multiplayer is, my K/D ratio is always low and I still love every bit of this game. I do not know how Are you guys nuts?! this game is great! campaign may be a little short but really how many people bought this game for the single player? Even if you did buy for the single player you have multiple challenge's to do that are pretty damn hard. I can't even explain how fun the multiplayer is, my K/D ratio is always low and I still love every bit of this game. I do not know how people can say otherwise... Expand
  68. VladB
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    Oh my god. You guys are really pathetic. How can you give it a 0 just because there are no dedicated servers. Or just because it's too short. Yeah you're right but the small single player part is the most entertaining campaign that i have ever played. You can play more with the special ops and multiplayer. Both will be better with time. The game is just awsome so, shut up.
  69. Scott
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    For those who are looking for an action packed single player FPS with amazing story and variety - look no further than MW2. This game puts you in many fun situations such as snowmobiling, climing an icey mountain, gunning your way through a shanty town, firing rockets from a UAV, blasting terrorists aboard an oil rig, blasting civilians while playing as a terrorist in a shocking twist to For those who are looking for an action packed single player FPS with amazing story and variety - look no further than MW2. This game puts you in many fun situations such as snowmobiling, climing an icey mountain, gunning your way through a shanty town, firing rockets from a UAV, blasting terrorists aboard an oil rig, blasting civilians while playing as a terrorist in a shocking twist to the storyline.. all with improved graphics from COD4. In addition, this game offers a co-op challenge mode where you and a friend can complete different challege levels, about 25 in all, packed with variety and fun. The online multiplayer shooter contains modes such as capture the flag, bomb planting, death match, free for all, ground war, with TONS of new weapons and extras to unlock. Yes, the abscense of dedicated servers may be a pain for many, but at the same time the new automatic grouping system does make games much easier to find and join for me, and you can always invite your Steam friends to the game via the Join Game option on steam friends list. All in all this is my favorite game of the year, even with it's flaws, I had a blast playing it and I recommend it to anyone. Expand
  70. ciccio92
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    I dissent with what most people sey and keep saying... It think that Modern Warfare 2 Is a great product and worth the price in my opinion. Okay singleplayer is not as long as you'd expect but i think that though the missions are few they are very intense and playing the whole campaign was a statisfying experience to me. As for the multiplayer i think that the introduction of I dissent with what most people sey and keep saying... It think that Modern Warfare 2 Is a great product and worth the price in my opinion. Okay singleplayer is not as long as you'd expect but i think that though the missions are few they are very intense and playing the whole campaign was a statisfying experience to me. As for the multiplayer i think that the introduction of console-like matchmaking was a great move and i praise infinity ward guys for doing so because to me at least games a realy fluid and LAGLESS contrary to what people say and i perfer team deathmatches with nothing more than 18 player rather than 64 player slaughters where you could not even spawn without getting killed right after or where people kept spawnkilling to rack up points faster or people who use continuosly copters and bombing on the map making surviving more than 60 second a challenge. In conclusion I hope you stop seeing modern warfare 2 a flawed product just for a short multiplayer or for some choices aimed to help player rather than harm them and therfore i suggest everone to buy this game though you have to keep in mind all the choices Infinity Ward has taken and think if this game is good you or not. Expand
  71. XFM
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    The online play is so much better than COD4. Pings are consistently low, no one maintains host advantage for more than one round, and the huge numbers of cheaters/hackers in COD4 are no where to be seen. Also there are no stupid rule sets (no grenades wtf) or overloaded maps (32 players in Backlot is just dumb). These low scoring users are just slandering nerds with an entitlement The online play is so much better than COD4. Pings are consistently low, no one maintains host advantage for more than one round, and the huge numbers of cheaters/hackers in COD4 are no where to be seen. Also there are no stupid rule sets (no grenades wtf) or overloaded maps (32 players in Backlot is just dumb). These low scoring users are just slandering nerds with an entitlement complex....little do they know they are missing out on something better. Expand
  72. JoshA
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    People are giving this game a lot of grief. FOR NO REASON. The single player campaign is epic, never before have i felt such a rush playing a video game. Yes some moments are scripted but they are awesome. The spec ops mode is diverse and the missions are challenging but fun. the multiplayer is in another league all is own. I like the IWnet service for it makes it easy to get a good People are giving this game a lot of grief. FOR NO REASON. The single player campaign is epic, never before have i felt such a rush playing a video game. Yes some moments are scripted but they are awesome. The spec ops mode is diverse and the missions are challenging but fun. the multiplayer is in another league all is own. I like the IWnet service for it makes it easy to get a good server. some are mad that there is no dedicated server support, but i imagine that IW will fix that soon. The size of the games is also un overlooked bonus. People aruge why can't we have 32v32 games? Maybe because the game looks and runs like crap on those servers? And also a 12 person free for all game is much more entertaining and competitive than a 32 person spawn camp fest. I think IW also made the unlocks, perks, and, challenges much more efficient and streamlined. BOO to you that give this a 1 just because its not COD4+ its a new BETTER game. I rate a game on how fun it is not on what you wanted it to be. Expand
  73. DarkPacMan77Pacman77
    Nov 19, 2009
    8
    -*- Please Read If you Want the Honest Truth -*- *** This is a long, accurate review, in my opinion*** *** Please read my "Overall" section for a summary*** I've played other COD games and wasn't into them. They were good pick-up fun but didn't keep me hooked like they seemed to do for others. I think that is because I played those games on the console systems as opposed to -*- Please Read If you Want the Honest Truth -*- *** This is a long, accurate review, in my opinion*** *** Please read my "Overall" section for a summary*** I've played other COD games and wasn't into them. They were good pick-up fun but didn't keep me hooked like they seemed to do for others. I think that is because I played those games on the console systems as opposed to the PC. This new COD MW2 keeps me hooked, and it keeps me hooked for most of the reasons that people hate this game. I'll explain. Big Issue Number One: The biggest gripe, and part of the reason for rating an 8 is that the game doesn't have dedicated servers. However, even if it did, I would still find myself playing the official ones hosted individually most of the time because people who moderate ded. servers are usually strung-out over caffeinated children that ban people for no good reason... like if they are killed too much by you. That gets old extremely fast, but I would definitely want the option to have them. Big Issue Number Two: There's no leaning or cover system, and guess what, I like it this way. This game is still a competition of multiplayer prowess and I find it hard to play, yet challenging, which is good. I can't imagine this game with people hiding behind stuff... never moving... and leaning with belt-fed machine guns. Sorry, I've played a lot of a game called War Rock and I've had enough of that jazz. Big Issue Number Three: 9 versus 9 limitation as opposed to 16v16, I believe, for the console versions. Gaming enthusiasts as well as the modern preteen out there are bringing up the fact that there aren't as many people per match and that this game suffers from a gameplay value because of this. I say, wrong. The console offerings have more players, yes, but they are also more chaotic. There are "too many" people in those "small" levels. That's how I look at it. Sure, the levels aren't "small", but compared to other shooter games, they can seem small. I mention this because every 1 in 5 deaths on the console is because you got spawned directly within 15 feet of an enemy and as soon as you began to run... they'd spot you and down you like the little campers that they are. They were able to do that so easily because of the fact that if you have even one DECENT team full of people, that side will DOMINATE the other team to the point where "mercy" doesn't even begin to apply. I think it's a good idea to curb lag on the PC by offering 9v9. I think it's quite fair and helps ensure that you aren't just dying for the sake of dying. You have more chances to walk 10 or more steps and fire a gun a few times than the console counterparts. From here, I'll rate the typical gameplay, sound, graphics, tilt, and overall score. * - Gameplay - * I don't play the single player - most people don't. There's a ton of people, especially through steam, that need to double their medication in this regard because there are people that have only heard that this game is short... and so they say the story is garbage and "over-played" and "no fun". It's short, yes, so are most shooting games. Longest I've seen in a long time is the newest Wolfenstein, oddly enough, but you don't see people raving how amazing the game is simply because it had a great single player mode, do you? Multiplayer is where it's at, and yes, while you sometimes have lag issues, that's expected on the PC platform. There are so many different types of networking equipment that differ from each and every single person playing that it doesn't matter what server, equipment, hardware or software you are using, the latency that you connect to whatever server/ host will ALWAYS be different for each and every player no matter what, even on PS3/ Xbox360 and yes, they lag there too... apparently people have forgotten this?... or at least choose to. * - Sound - * The sound effects could be better, but they aren't bad at all. The gun sounds are still pretty solid even though they could use a little more work. The biggest issue regarding sound is the amount of simultaneous noises going on at once. I have a sound card that can output 128 noises in CMSS3D technology and it's still kind of hard to find the enemy sometimes. You can take this as a pro or a con, however, since utilizing enough sounds on a battlefield to not be able to instantly find your opponents, even while using a superiors sound card, does tend to make you think that Infinity Ward put forward the effort to dilute many of the "dead give away" type moments which can help shield both the noob and the pro while still capturing that "in-the-moment" feeling that keeps you pumped up while playing the game. * - Graphics - * Can they be better? Yes. And that's all that should maybe be said, in short. Going into detail, it's easy to understand why they didn't completely super-power this title. It runs on the same game engine as the other COD games, which helps with frame rates, but if you're using a graphics card from about 2 years prior to this game's release date then you may not have the power, graphically speaking, to run the game at great resolutions with "appropriate eye candy" anyways. I personally have a top of the line (IMO) gaming computer and I find that the game performs very well. I rarely find outright "flaws" in the game mechanics regarding graphics or sloppy textures unless I specifically go looking for them. I was also happily surprised to find that there are many, many more objects that cast shadows or can be blown away by bullets, explosions, or other debris. Throwing a grenade into an office building feels pretty appropriate. About the only thing that doesn't happen is the cubicle walls aren't hurt... but that's more about preserving fairness as well. Graphics are certainly not an issue that you should be concerned with. They are great, albeit revised from CODMW1, and help provide a more seamless gameplay. * - Tilt - * The game offers various different ways to level up your arsenal, which is fantastic for me. The traditional system of the other COD games of leveling up your perks was something that I found particularly interesting... but felt there was something missing. Now, with this game, perks themselves can be leveled up by themselves as well as your weapons and other equipment. This is viewed as tedious and negative by the nay-sayers, but I'll tell you why I think it's a good thing. It's a good thing, in my opinion, because you won't have one person excel at every particular aspect of the game just because their level is higher and they have more guns/ experience. The first game I was dropped into I did a respectable 11-5, not bad for my first time at all. The perks/ weapon setups are only overpowered in "certain ways", in the sense that many perks can stomp out others. Marathon, a perk which makes you able to run an unlimited amount and at a faster rate, is a good one to have against people that don't have the "Stopping Power" perk, whose weapons deal more damage, because it's harder for them to put enough effective shots down range to defeat you, and vice versa. And this is across the board for all of the perks no matter what level they are. Some are annoying, true... but that's war. * - Overall - * There are lots of things that make me a little bit mad about this game, but none really hurt the overall game to me TOO badly. If it does, I shut down the game, like any other ADULT would do, and find something actually worthwhile with my time than playing video games all day. It's not that bad to have a hacker kill you - it's on the PC - it's going to happen... sadly, but true. To think otherwise would be to lie to yourself. Also, the community, particularly the PC community, is whining for so many reasons and they don't realize how badly their ideas contradict one another. I find it funny that people complain about lag or constantly having to find new hosts for games... yet want more players in the game at once at the same time. Guess what? In the older COD games that these guys will say to play instead of this one, if the host leaves, the game entirely ends. At least the game doesn't just flipping END prematurely. In fact, it hasn't even ENTIRELY DROPPED for me on my cable connection one single time yet, so I don't know what all these people are talking about, although I could understand people outside the USA having ping-related mishaps until better servers are setup for people or better match-making is added in a patch. The biggest things people complain about with the PC CODMW2 is that it doesn't have dedicated servers, only has 9v9 players, doesn't have a "command" key (using the ` key to alter game options), and doesn't have additional "filters" for the PC version that make "less debris" or "less objects" on the screen. Well guess what? For all of those losers trying to gain a SLIGHT competitive edge just by deleting the floating stuff in the air or removing miscellaneous bricks on the ground and stuff... or by altering your viewing angle/ position to something someone at default doesn't have... for all of you guys, all I can say is "grow up and learn to play the game as it was intended to be played". It's pretty clear that this is more or less a direct port of a game made on the console, yes. But it's not a "bad game" at all just because of this. It is seriously hilarious how many people say "this game is washed out, over played, has nothing greatly new, uses the same old junkie game engine" etc. and so on... but then say, "Don't play this game, play the old one". I find that so hilarious, personally, because those people sit here and bash this game partly for being similar to the previous modern warfare and then they suggest to play that one instead... you know, the one that they can adjust their viewing angles, use dedicated servers with their buddies without anti-cheat protection to pretend that they are good at the game while kicking every good player off of the server... yeah, that game. The bottom line is that if you pick this up and like first person shooters, especially rushing combat and lots of customization options and leveling abilities, then this game is going to keep you entertained for a long time. At the end of the day, I buy games to have fun, and I'm having a lot of fun. I'd say this is money well-spent even despite not having the option for dedicated servers or larger game rooms, but overall, I'm personally glad that there aren't dedicated servers and larger game rooms by default. This game rocks. If you liked my review or want to discuss anything regarding questions or comments, please feel free to add me on AIM @ DarkPacMan77. Thanks for reading and happy fragging! Expand
  74. AdamR
    Nov 21, 2009
    8
    IW deserves a lot of flak over MW2, but not an average 1.9 out of 10 user score! First, single player is short but sweet with a dash of replayability, Spec Ops is also a light but delicious snack, and Multiplayer is a thorough refinement on the first MW. Customizable kill streak, death streak, it's all great. That would be a 10 right there. The issue is the 1-2 punch of price IW deserves a lot of flak over MW2, but not an average 1.9 out of 10 user score! First, single player is short but sweet with a dash of replayability, Spec Ops is also a light but delicious snack, and Multiplayer is a thorough refinement on the first MW. Customizable kill streak, death streak, it's all great. That would be a 10 right there. The issue is the 1-2 punch of price increase for losing Dedicated servers and Mods. That's worth a 2 point hit. However, with Steam integration and the party system, playing with friends and clans is still a very viable choice, and there's no problems for those who just want an occasional night of casual fragging. Lag has yet to be an issue for me, I have yet to see cheats anywhere, and I have only encountered kick-worthy players once, not a bad rate, even for a dedicated server. Loss of dedicated server is not the end of the world: It's a loss, and an unnecessary one, and it certainly is enough to shop around for alternatives before you drop 60 bucks (Are you listening IW?). But no matter how other people try to slice it, its still a good game. Expand
  75. lar
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    This game is pretty good. it's better on Ps3 or 360 than pc because it's harder to cheat. and u can't bunny jump. the servers are getting greater now. c'mon the game is just released. those 0 commenters haven't even played the game. they try to destroy infinity ward because they're jealous that just fat kids play Cs and WoW. this game is the best FPS This game is pretty good. it's better on Ps3 or 360 than pc because it's harder to cheat. and u can't bunny jump. the servers are getting greater now. c'mon the game is just released. those 0 commenters haven't even played the game. they try to destroy infinity ward because they're jealous that just fat kids play Cs and WoW. this game is the best FPS multiplayer game i've played. ALL OG my friends agree. the story is basically short, but infinity ward took a chance on the multiplayer this time not SP, so screw those zeros they're just no-lifers Expand
  76. AndyK
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    I'll start with the SP game. It's short, that's undeniable, though on veteran difficulty it is also painfully hard. The story is riveting, far better than COD4's. More than once i found myself totally engrossed with the characters, or pining to find out what was happening with other characters elsewhere in the world. The set-pieces are tough and always fun to play I'll start with the SP game. It's short, that's undeniable, though on veteran difficulty it is also painfully hard. The story is riveting, far better than COD4's. More than once i found myself totally engrossed with the characters, or pining to find out what was happening with other characters elsewhere in the world. The set-pieces are tough and always fun to play through, and the tension is palpable. Quite simply, when you get going in this, you will WANT to see it through, to see how it ends. The SO mode of SP gives a certain level of replayablitiy to the game, but it can sometimes feel arcadeish. Even so the games cinematic combat will quickly wash over you and you will find yourself engrossed in your mission. I would mark the game down one or two marks for this mode, but the SP and MP are well deserving of a 10 alone. Multiplayer is epic. Dragging that out would be pointless. The lack of dedicated servers does not make matchmaking worse, only different, and does away with annoying clan servers that insist on advertising themselves every ten seconds. There's a better variety in the perks from COD4. Weapons and attachments are also more numerous, with unlikely weapons such as the AA-12 fully automatic shotgun, and the heavy duty FIM118 Javelin seen in one of COD4's set-pieces, making very welcome apperances as unlockable weapons. This gives much more variety to players, from sinpers to anti-aircraft soldiers commonplace. The kill-streaks are one of the highpoints of MP warfare. Calling in AC-130 gunships, HIND's, Harriers and even the game ending Tactical Nuke is an endlessly fun part of the game. Theres a far greater variety here than COD4, with the ability to choose 3 out of approx. 20 for any one game. MP Lag varies, but is in reality a non-issue, and switching hosts mid game ( An effect of user hosted games ) is handled as well as could be asked. It's unfortunate the rap this game is getting from disgruntled gamers. 90% of the reviews you will find here are for lack of a better term. Butthurt. It's unlikely that many of the 0 raters have played this game significantly. Tragically, they have picked out a very small number of Issues ( Not even bugs ) and gone into a frenzy. Quite simply, in and so long as you are not a mentally incapable of accepting change in your videogames, you will get great enjoyment from MW2, wether in single player, multiplayer, or both. Expand
  77. TylerJ
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. It countinues to amuse my friends and I on a day to day basis. Yes, I have it for the PC, the all the bitching about the servers is rediculus! Its matchmaking system is FINE, there is no problem with it, and there is little to no lag, and the only time there is some, is when a guy with a computer thats not up to standards accidently becomes host. Im not giving this a This game is amazing. It countinues to amuse my friends and I on a day to day basis. Yes, I have it for the PC, the all the bitching about the servers is rediculus! Its matchmaking system is FINE, there is no problem with it, and there is little to no lag, and the only time there is some, is when a guy with a computer thats not up to standards accidently becomes host. Im not giving this a 10 because im a hard core call of duty gamer, ive played 4 & 5, but this game is awesome, there are absolutely no problems with it, except that im not very good Expand
  78. FredD
    Nov 27, 2009
    9
    Its unbelievable to me that people are giving MW2 0's just because it lacks dedicated servers and mods. Ironically there is almost a 10 point difference in the metascore from the Xbox version and the PC version of this game. It's probably one of the first times Ive seen this on metacritic. For one it's time that PC players take the golden spoon out of their mouths and Its unbelievable to me that people are giving MW2 0's just because it lacks dedicated servers and mods. Ironically there is almost a 10 point difference in the metascore from the Xbox version and the PC version of this game. It's probably one of the first times Ive seen this on metacritic. For one it's time that PC players take the golden spoon out of their mouths and realize that PCs are slowly being relegated and consoles are becoming the premier medium for most games. Lack of dedicated servers is an issue really only for players who want to play competitively in clans, and since this probably includes less than 10% of the overall player base I can't really see why that alone should make the game a whole 10 points lower than it's Xbox counterpart. If you liked MW1 you will enjoy MW2. Yes there aren't any new profound changes to MW2, and thats mainly because it's a sequel. It amazes me how Halo 1-3 got so much hype and such great reviews when really all that changed was like dual wield and the maps. No one complained then, and no one should be complaining now about MW2. As far as the lag is concerned if you've played the game in the past week or two you'll notice the lag (atleast for me), on a wireless 3mpbs Down and 1mbps Up connection is almost unnoticeable. Expand
  79. TaylorS.
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    everyone who complains about this game is playing it on the PC and cant get over no dedicated servers. Get over it, its not that big of a deal. My friend downloaded it off of steam and loves it as much as i do even though i own it on a PS3. these game is near perfection and is easily one of the best games of 2009. The story is more complicated ( sometimes hard to understand ) and is everyone who complains about this game is playing it on the PC and cant get over no dedicated servers. Get over it, its not that big of a deal. My friend downloaded it off of steam and loves it as much as i do even though i own it on a PS3. these game is near perfection and is easily one of the best games of 2009. The story is more complicated ( sometimes hard to understand ) and is filled with some of the greatest moments in gaming. Spec ops is great fun in co op or online. And of course the competitive multiplayer is even better than in call of duty 4. i applaud IW on another amazing game which has already sucked up hours of my life Expand
  80. RoyW.
    Dec 1, 2009
    8
    I think this game is great. I'm gaming for several years and shooters are mostly in my gaming favorites list. Playing CoD 4 (MW1) for a long time and loved it. Downsides are of course the lack of dedicated servers (wars are hard to arrange) and problems connecting with friends in a party (sometimes it takes forever before I can get into a server).
  81. Dustannon
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    The story is deep and nice, and the moment where you see the benzin flushing on your blooded chest is a awesome expirience.
  82. SerpNL
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Game is good, nice weapons etc. Maybe not for HC gamers is this a good game, but that doesnt matter for me, i have never encounter a big lagg, and i have spotted probaly not even some cheaters. Why i give it a 10 is because te people who give it a 1 or even a 0 are people who can't give a good realistic statement because it is not the greatest sucked game ever and you know that all, Game is good, nice weapons etc. Maybe not for HC gamers is this a good game, but that doesnt matter for me, i have never encounter a big lagg, and i have spotted probaly not even some cheaters. Why i give it a 10 is because te people who give it a 1 or even a 0 are people who can't give a good realistic statement because it is not the greatest sucked game ever and you know that all, maybe not your style anymore but is isnt "the most stupid game ever" Expand
  83. anonoymususlulz
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    I liked This game but i didnt like the Multiplayer , and in my opinion the singleplayer was too short but yeah , its a awesome game.
  84. Slayer
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    I have to agree the singleplayer campaign is short and the engine got some bugs here and there, but it sure delivers a great experience and a great story. The bugs could be fixed in future patches by Infinity Ward. The spec ops and multiplayer modes also kept me on the edge of my seat. I have no problem finding a good server as they have an auto host migrate, to change to a host that can I have to agree the singleplayer campaign is short and the engine got some bugs here and there, but it sure delivers a great experience and a great story. The bugs could be fixed in future patches by Infinity Ward. The spec ops and multiplayer modes also kept me on the edge of my seat. I have no problem finding a good server as they have an auto host migrate, to change to a host that can support eveyone and give all a good steady ping. Thus having no dedicated servers makes not so much of a difference. It is sure a must play of the year! Expand
  85. jacopochief
    Dec 24, 2009
    9
    guys, for me sp is everything. and iw makes the best campaign. not 10 because is too short. multiplayer: so 'n so.
  86. momof
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Awesome, just awesome. Multi limited because there is no dedicated server but there is enough servers and mode to play for a few months!!!
  87. DD
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    Fantasticly good game. The SP was short though but full of action. And the MP is very nice too, except the no dedicated part but the rest is very good.
  88. JesusC
    Dec 27, 2009
    8
    Fresh weapons, a more intriguing story line and the new Spec Ops Mode extends the single player experience, or even lets you cooperate with a friend. People Complain about the fact that game mechanics weren't changed, but if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Multiplayer gives a constant similar game play, compared with the hordes of people playing on one server and you getting Fresh weapons, a more intriguing story line and the new Spec Ops Mode extends the single player experience, or even lets you cooperate with a friend. People Complain about the fact that game mechanics weren't changed, but if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Multiplayer gives a constant similar game play, compared with the hordes of people playing on one server and you getting slaughtered every 3 seconds, you might as well play Counterstrike for that. MW2 Gives a better level of Tactical Game Play, with new game modes, including 3rd Person among others. The Weapon Attachment and Perk system are many times better, and being able to have better variety in your secondary slot gives the game more variety in itself, including whole new tactical perspectives which you could not access in its predecessors. No one should have expected a longer storyline, because if you look back to CoD 4, it was really no better. A Must buy foranyone who likes Modern, Diverse and Tactical Shooters. Expand
  89. CookieThePCGamer
    Dec 31, 2009
    8
    While I have not played the full singleplayer campaign on the PC version yet (but loved the story on PS3) the multiplayer ALONE is worth the 8/10. Just because you can't have a dedicated server right out of the box (people have found ways to do it, google the shit and stop complaining) doesn't mean that they backstabbed the PC gamers. The matchmaking system is decent and I love While I have not played the full singleplayer campaign on the PC version yet (but loved the story on PS3) the multiplayer ALONE is worth the 8/10. Just because you can't have a dedicated server right out of the box (people have found ways to do it, google the shit and stop complaining) doesn't mean that they backstabbed the PC gamers. The matchmaking system is decent and I love all of the things they added to it. Also, 18 players in a game is still massive amounts of fun, if not even more fun than the old cap on MW1. All in all? Good game. All in all, a very decent game and a good buy. Expand
  90. YuQian
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    hard to find other FPS game better than this
  91. thetruth
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    singleplayer: 8 out of 10 multiplayer: 7 out of 10 specops: 9 out of 10 - it's that easy.
  92. AdrianB.
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    This game is a brilliant follow-up to CoD4. Heaps more polished, and so far the single-player missions are great. Despite all the haters moaning about no dedi-servers, I just had a ball playing multiplayer. I actually prefer smaller matches to larger ones (I love 6 on 6), and everything worked flawlessly. Sure, the lack of dedi-server support might mean 10% of hardcore gamers won't This game is a brilliant follow-up to CoD4. Heaps more polished, and so far the single-player missions are great. Despite all the haters moaning about no dedi-servers, I just had a ball playing multiplayer. I actually prefer smaller matches to larger ones (I love 6 on 6), and everything worked flawlessly. Sure, the lack of dedi-server support might mean 10% of hardcore gamers won't be able to play the same way they play CoD4, but the other 90% of regular gamers won't care and might actually appreciate the simplicity of getting into a low-ping MP game. Don't let a very vocal minority sway your opinion of this game - judge it on its merits. Take a look for yourself and make up your own mind. I enjoy this game for what Infinity Ward HAVE given us, not for what they HAVEN'T. There is a lot to love here. Expand
  93. PhilB
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Amazing game! Campaign is even bigger than MW1, and mulitplayer has been improved without wrecking it. Buy it! And for all you "PC gamers" all it means is that MW2 is the same as it is on consoles, it's hardly worse! Just means your PC can play it, rather than buying a £200 console.
  94. DevanV
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    For the Europeans I feel bad for you because pretty much all the servers are in America and you guys have to connect over an ocean. But wait and they will give you European servers that are less laggy. Overall this game is great. I like the short missions because really they are meant to give players a small idea how to play the game efficiently online. The Graphics are great and the MP For the Europeans I feel bad for you because pretty much all the servers are in America and you guys have to connect over an ocean. But wait and they will give you European servers that are less laggy. Overall this game is great. I like the short missions because really they are meant to give players a small idea how to play the game efficiently online. The Graphics are great and the MP is even better for me without any lag. Hence why I give this game a 10 out of 10. Even tho I understand why Europeans can hate this game b/c if everything they claim was happening to me I would be pissed too. But I don't have that problem so I have to give this game a 10/10. Expand
  95. JoeM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    A most amazing game, far superior to even CoD4. The online multiplayer runs great, and matchmaking is way better than a server browser. If they actually keep this game from being ruined by hackers (like COD4 was/is) then it is definitely worth not having dedicated servers. The Spec Ops (co-op) mode alone makes this game worth the price of admission. I almost feel bad for all the blind A most amazing game, far superior to even CoD4. The online multiplayer runs great, and matchmaking is way better than a server browser. If they actually keep this game from being ruined by hackers (like COD4 was/is) then it is definitely worth not having dedicated servers. The Spec Ops (co-op) mode alone makes this game worth the price of admission. I almost feel bad for all the blind haters voting the game down, as it is a super strong contender for game of the year. Not only that, the PC version is WAY better than the console versions. Expand
  96. ScottL
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    My honest opinion of the game is this, I like many other pc gamers were disopointed by the news of the things that were taken away from the game, mostly dedicated servers, yes I am in a clan and was sad I would be playing any type of matches, but I got the game anyways, why, I like cod and this game is REALLY good, they added so many perks to the online mode it makes it alot of fun, some My honest opinion of the game is this, I like many other pc gamers were disopointed by the news of the things that were taken away from the game, mostly dedicated servers, yes I am in a clan and was sad I would be playing any type of matches, but I got the game anyways, why, I like cod and this game is REALLY good, they added so many perks to the online mode it makes it alot of fun, some of the negatives to online play are limit of 12 players, but to be honest the maps are kinda small so if they added to many it would be a definate spawn and die all the time and thats boring. The single player to this game is top notch , it been alot of fun but I have stopped playing it to get myself up in rank on the online mode, do yourselfs a favor and just buy the game. Oh one more thing, you can still play with your freinds on this, I know that was a concern to alot of gamers but theres a add a freind option. Expand
  97. TrevorM
    Nov 12, 2009
    9
    I'm seeing a lot of people insisting that it MUST suck, people shouldn't buy it, all that. I disagree with them. While the removal of dedicated servers is a problem, the game is still incredibly fun, and that's the singleplayer alone. I assure you that the game is worth every penny of the "Overpriced" Price. The story is strong, Multiplayer in fact ISN'T "Incredibly I'm seeing a lot of people insisting that it MUST suck, people shouldn't buy it, all that. I disagree with them. While the removal of dedicated servers is a problem, the game is still incredibly fun, and that's the singleplayer alone. I assure you that the game is worth every penny of the "Overpriced" Price. The story is strong, Multiplayer in fact ISN'T "Incredibly Laggy", and Spec Ops is a blast. The new killstreaks and Death Streaks are well balanced, and you will find yourself helping your team much more than in the original Modern Warfare. To all of you still skeptical, I say this: Give it a chance, you morons. Expand
  98. JacobF
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    A fantastic game in every regard, especially the single player experience. Infinity Ward really made the game feel and play like an action movie. Spec ops also is a great option for seasoned Call of Duty veterans looking for a good amount of challenge.. For those who have these ridiculus multiplayer issues with the game really need to rethink why Infinity Ward actually decided to change A fantastic game in every regard, especially the single player experience. Infinity Ward really made the game feel and play like an action movie. Spec ops also is a great option for seasoned Call of Duty veterans looking for a good amount of challenge.. For those who have these ridiculus multiplayer issues with the game really need to rethink why Infinity Ward actually decided to change the player amount. Maybe it's just me, but 32 on 32 or ever 16 on 16 were extremely frantic and not much fun to play. Nine on nine feels just right if you actually play it. A lack in dedicated servers is a bit of a dissapointment, but if you have such a big deal with it, shut up and play somthing else so we don't have to listen to you all whine about things that arn't such a big deal. Expand
  99. SheilaT
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    This is the game if the year for me. The old Call of Duty formula is here, but like in the first Modern Warfare, it's been refined to perfection. Surprises abound, and the game packs in an impossible amount of memorable moments. Online play has improved, making it easier to get in and play against people at your level. Most gamers can ignore the backlash against this game. If these This is the game if the year for me. The old Call of Duty formula is here, but like in the first Modern Warfare, it's been refined to perfection. Surprises abound, and the game packs in an impossible amount of memorable moments. Online play has improved, making it easier to get in and play against people at your level. Most gamers can ignore the backlash against this game. If these people weren't whining about the lack of dedicated servers, they would be complaining about how hard it is to find a vanilla server. It happens in every game. Anyway, buy this game. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  100. ErikN
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Apparently the people here that are complaining about Cod:MW2 haven't played it, or take gaming way too seriously. I myself take gaming pretty seriously, Ive done 3 seasons of Cal and a year of cevo, But honestly, this game is incredible. Ive been playing for 8 solid hours and I must say, this is by far, one of the greatest games of all time. I expected the lack of dedicated servers Apparently the people here that are complaining about Cod:MW2 haven't played it, or take gaming way too seriously. I myself take gaming pretty seriously, Ive done 3 seasons of Cal and a year of cevo, But honestly, this game is incredible. Ive been playing for 8 solid hours and I must say, this is by far, one of the greatest games of all time. I expected the lack of dedicated servers to be a serious problem, but I have yet to play a multiplayer match with ANY less then perfect registry. If you are still unsure about this game, and can't help but feel swamped by this excess of anti-IW butthurts,I FULLY recommend this game. The singleplayer alone is worth $60. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.