Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PC

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6486 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JD.
    Jan 10, 2010
    3
    I have no problem with the lack of dedicated servers because I'm in it for the single player campaign because that's what Call of Duty series was all about! Stop trying to rewrite history claiming Call of Duty is all about multiplayer. It wasn't until AFTER COD2 that I.W. realised the following the multiplayer had on PC. However after being mildly disappointed with COD4 MW1 I have no problem with the lack of dedicated servers because I'm in it for the single player campaign because that's what Call of Duty series was all about! Stop trying to rewrite history claiming Call of Duty is all about multiplayer. It wasn't until AFTER COD2 that I.W. realised the following the multiplayer had on PC. However after being mildly disappointed with COD4 MW1 because of the rather idiotic AI (both friendly and enemy) and quite disappointing set pieces (not a patch on those in COD and COD2) imagine my disgust to find that I.W. has done absolutely nothing to address either of these issues and indeed have now added a non-nonsensical story to go with even crappier set pieces and unbelievably it seems they have made the AI stupider! (I know it's not true but WOW does it feel like it) the sheer idiocy of the AI will leave you breathless. Turning up the difficulty just seems to result in more enemy AI targeting you, even if one of your friendly AI's is literally 1 meter from them and you're on the other side of the map. Simply Stunning in it's ineptitude and laziness. Even HALO's AI craps on this from a great height. I.W. had me with COD and COD2. They showed me the future with COD4 MW1, and it came to pass with MW2. Absolute crap. Save your money and wait for Battlefield Bad Company (I can't believe I just endorsed a Battlefield game! See what you've made me do Infinity Ward!) Expand
  2. mathieuG.
    Jan 28, 2010
    4
    Well, I was always a fan of the Call of Duty games, the only reason why I voted so high was because the single player was actually really really good. The multiplayer on the other hand is complete garbage. The PC community was completely abandoned when dedicated servers were taken out, its not that the game is garbage really, its mostly that the loyal gamers were completely ignored. The Well, I was always a fan of the Call of Duty games, the only reason why I voted so high was because the single player was actually really really good. The multiplayer on the other hand is complete garbage. The PC community was completely abandoned when dedicated servers were taken out, its not that the game is garbage really, its mostly that the loyal gamers were completely ignored. The community is completely destroyed. Meeting familiar faces is no longer do-able. Just another console game with a mouse, its all MW2 is. Stick with MW1 if you are a skilled fps player. Did I mention that the hosts get 0 ping, while everyone gets 70+ in every game? Really big disadvantageous if you ask me, not to forget to mention that the nub tubes are still in the game. And theres NO WAY to take them out. Skilled FPS are a thing of the past, its all about "nice" graphics and consumer dollars. Don't support this game, it was my mistake for not listening to the podcast. Expand
  3. OskarK
    Jan 1, 2010
    1
    Single player: Short, story is a joke, but enjoyable 3/5 Spec-Ops: I'm pretty impressed with it, its cool 5/5 Multiplayer: Worst multiplayer i've ever seen.. Bad map design, this leads to millions of campers, the players are noobish (about 70%) they cant even play on an objective based game with teamwork. Matchmarking FAILS.. akimbo g18, akimbo model 1887 is too overpowered and Single player: Short, story is a joke, but enjoyable 3/5 Spec-Ops: I'm pretty impressed with it, its cool 5/5 Multiplayer: Worst multiplayer i've ever seen.. Bad map design, this leads to millions of campers, the players are noobish (about 70%) they cant even play on an objective based game with teamwork. Matchmarking FAILS.. akimbo g18, akimbo model 1887 is too overpowered and unskilled, spawning system sucks.. when I kill someone, that guy spawns behind me and shoots me... The multiplayer is especially made for noobs... It's really unenjoyable, fustrating, and 0% of fun. Multiplayer mode is a JOKE! + no dedicated servers?.. I'd rather play MW1 then this rubbish.. 0/5 Did IW really thought that PC gamers will be pleased with this?.. Fail Expand
  4. MurrayW
    Jan 17, 2010
    3
    Personally I have no idea what goes through the heads of those who give this game a good score. I am not scoring low because of IW's bad service or lack of dedicated servers. I am judging on the game itself. Infinity ward have 8 years under their belt, yet seem to only have mastered the very fundamentals of a basic shooter. There is nothing in this game that deserves the ridiculous Personally I have no idea what goes through the heads of those who give this game a good score. I am not scoring low because of IW's bad service or lack of dedicated servers. I am judging on the game itself. Infinity ward have 8 years under their belt, yet seem to only have mastered the very fundamentals of a basic shooter. There is nothing in this game that deserves the ridiculous hype it has received from such respected reviewers. In terms of the game in itself, it is fine and offers a few hours of fun, however, in the face of hundreds of other FPS games on the market, there is NOTHING to put this game ahead and earn any well-deserved hype. The game is completely featureless, and only seems to be the bare bones of what a shooter should start off as.. Only with average graphics added. It sits uncomfortably in the middle of the realism scale, not being too unrealistic for a fun game, and not realistic enough to be considered.. Well.. Realistic. There are many other games on the market which can also offer far more enjoyable online play (tf2, l4d, cs:s, arma, any other game, etc..) All in all, the game is a mediocre shooter which has the same gameplay as shooters released over 5 years ago. There is nothing to put it ahead of any other game on the market, as whatever aspect of a shooter you're looking for, it'll be better utilized in another game. Don't get sucked in by the hype. This game is rubbish Expand
  5. IvenH
    Jan 19, 2010
    1
    Good game - bad service. Several times lags and cheaters. Sometimes I can shoot, sometimes I was killed without any chance to survive. Bullshit is the non-dedicated server!!!!!
  6. RobertoB.
    Jan 20, 2010
    3
    just few words. Single player in my opinion is too short. I've finished it in just 4 hours and the end is so foreseeable. Multiplayer without dedicated server, without anticheat is shit; too much lag and too much hackers. Very good work iW. i think that it's the worst cod that i ever played.
  7. KrisW
    Jan 3, 2010
    1
    People who gave this a 10 must be working at IW hackers , aimbots , lag , cannot connect to host issues , no support , people who are frustrated shouting profanities , small maps , and the only gamemode that has more then 12 players that grounwar thing is a crappy lagfest . my ping in fps games like cod4 and l4d is around 20-25 and in MW2 its around 60-80 and 100 in grounwars way to high People who gave this a 10 must be working at IW hackers , aimbots , lag , cannot connect to host issues , no support , people who are frustrated shouting profanities , small maps , and the only gamemode that has more then 12 players that grounwar thing is a crappy lagfest . my ping in fps games like cod4 and l4d is around 20-25 and in MW2 its around 60-80 and 100 in grounwars way to high to enjoy fluid gameplay . thanks for failing the pc community IW i hope you choke on a xbox gamepad Expand
  8. MazzleT
    Jan 4, 2010
    0
    fucking discrace of a game, absolutely unplayable multiplayer, endless rubberbanding, terrible lag, unbalanced teams, client switch every 5 minutes, do not waste yout money on this abominable travesty of a failure made purely for money so they can leech us evety penny from there low quality trash
  9. claudiog
    Jan 5, 2010
    4
    the game in single player mode is good, is hardly great, but with good hardware it is possible to appreciate the quality graphics of the game because the multiplayer mode as in previous versions but leaves much to be desired much the same, it would be better if there were such option that is too frustrating
  10. Don'tBuyThisGame
    Jan 6, 2010
    0
    I Loved, Loved, LOVED CoD MW2. It will always be the constant reminder to never buy into the hype, never pay full markup on new releases, never let fancy graphics cloud true gameplay. If you want fancy graphics, with a decently engaging storyline with FAR more availability for PvE action and tactical manuevering, (And dedicated servers lol) and have a computer to play MW2, I'd advise I Loved, Loved, LOVED CoD MW2. It will always be the constant reminder to never buy into the hype, never pay full markup on new releases, never let fancy graphics cloud true gameplay. If you want fancy graphics, with a decently engaging storyline with FAR more availability for PvE action and tactical manuevering, (And dedicated servers lol) and have a computer to play MW2, I'd advise you buy Crysis. Atleast you can then brag to your friends you have an as beautiful looking game (Cause that's all they care about apparently as we've seen), that actually allows you to approach objectives in any manner you see fit, instead of running down the same narrow direction and admiring all the pretty colors around you. I was thinking of giving this a 1 rating, simply because I got to see Russians invading America, but then I realised that would contribute to anything but considering this game is a total utter failure and waste of 60$, which is exactly what it is. Expand
  11. KravitsJ
    Jan 9, 2010
    0
    this game suck!! horrible multiplayer, story, it lags, alot of bugs, unbalaced teams, server switch every 2 min and sometimes you get worse server than be4. i thought it will be perfekt but it doesn´t i hope things will get better if IW allow dedicated servers
  12. ViperC.S.
    Feb 11, 2010
    3
    Nunca segundas partes fueron buenas... En relacion al CoD4 y el XFire, esta nueva version del CoD4. 2 deja mucho que desear. Empezare por su sistema Steam. Es muy dictatorial. Nadie puede imponer en que servidor, partida y equipo ha de jugar. No es libre como XFire. Faltan Mods para mejorarlo. Muy mal desarrollado el Steam comparado con XFire. Historia absurda para mentes absurdas. Nunca segundas partes fueron buenas... En relacion al CoD4 y el XFire, esta nueva version del CoD4. 2 deja mucho que desear. Empezare por su sistema Steam. Es muy dictatorial. Nadie puede imponer en que servidor, partida y equipo ha de jugar. No es libre como XFire. Faltan Mods para mejorarlo. Muy mal desarrollado el Steam comparado con XFire. Historia absurda para mentes absurdas. Infinity podria haber mejorado este juego en su totalidad y hacerlo mas atractivo, pues es bastante oscuro y existe poca diferencia de uniformes con el enemigo. NO VOLVERE A COMPRAR NADA MAS QUE SEA BASADO EN STEAM y de INFINITY WARD MIRARE ANTES CON LUPA SUS NUEVOS PRODUCTOS. Gran decepcion en Multijugador por sus cortes de servidor, su modo dictatorial de enviar a server, escenario y equipo a quien se conecta. En pocas palabras. ME QUEDO CON CoD4 y XFire. Expand
  13. ChrisM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    3
    After playing the multiplayer I can't help but think what was all of the hype about. I've played a game like this already it's called Metal Gear Online AND IT STINKS! These mappers would be hard pressed making maps any smaller. Respawns are instant in some circumstances and randomly placed in the map. There is no feeling of progression ,in a match, as a team. The enemy After playing the multiplayer I can't help but think what was all of the hype about. I've played a game like this already it's called Metal Gear Online AND IT STINKS! These mappers would be hard pressed making maps any smaller. Respawns are instant in some circumstances and randomly placed in the map. There is no feeling of progression ,in a match, as a team. The enemy lines are not present. You spawn all over the map. There is no securing an area to push ahead. Forget about decent weapon design. You'll see people stabbing you FROM THE FRONT and akimbo pistols that'll outgun your assault rifles or smgs. Forget considering this as a war game, it's a nonsensicle arcade game. Even at that it's nothing special. To make matters worse it's a peer-to-peer online connection even on the PC. Save your money for something else. Go to the casinos if you feel like impulsively gambling your $60. Expand
  14. JayB.
    Feb 1, 2010
    1
    - Lack of dedicated server support. - No map control/game filtering. - Terrible weapon balance in any mode. With the right perks, a player can dominate with just a knife. - Very poor realism (e.g., riot shields withstanding 7.62 rounds, one-hit kills with knives, model 1887's, etc.). - Very little configuration available. - Uncontrollable bouts of lag depending on what the host is - Lack of dedicated server support. - No map control/game filtering. - Terrible weapon balance in any mode. With the right perks, a player can dominate with just a knife. - Very poor realism (e.g., riot shields withstanding 7.62 rounds, one-hit kills with knives, model 1887's, etc.). - Very little configuration available. - Uncontrollable bouts of lag depending on what the host is doing during gameplay. - Matchmaking does not work. - Game is hacked worse than CoD4. - No ability to vote kick unruly players. - No chat/bad name filtering. - Over-priced ($10 more than the average PC game). Expand
  15. Ownage
    Feb 3, 2010
    3
    Single player too short and tried to be too hollywood jumping from one objective to the next. Multiplayed maps are too small, boring and repetative. Less players can join compared to the old battlefield. Constant drop offs from lobbies waiting for a game to start. No ability to kick, ban or report cheaters. LOTS OF CHEATERS IN THIS GAME to the point its not playable. IF someone tk's Single player too short and tried to be too hollywood jumping from one objective to the next. Multiplayed maps are too small, boring and repetative. Less players can join compared to the old battlefield. Constant drop offs from lobbies waiting for a game to start. No ability to kick, ban or report cheaters. LOTS OF CHEATERS IN THIS GAME to the point its not playable. IF someone tk's the whole match there is nothing you can do about it. Game should have cost less than 65$ because of the lack of effort or patches put into it. Hold out for battlefield which has consistently put out a good series. After COD World At War this one drops the ball and was overhyped. Expand
  16. gblack
    Feb 3, 2010
    4
    Although sp game was enjoyable, mp was less than enjoyable, no map creation/console was one of the worst decision in the development imo, plus the lack of dedicated servers, as iwnet really is sub standard in comparison.also the decision to take out lean function was again a bad move on the developers part, makes the game (compared to previous versions) sub-standard. Im going to be Although sp game was enjoyable, mp was less than enjoyable, no map creation/console was one of the worst decision in the development imo, plus the lack of dedicated servers, as iwnet really is sub standard in comparison.also the decision to take out lean function was again a bad move on the developers part, makes the game (compared to previous versions) sub-standard. Im going to be playing battlefield bad company 2 exclusively when it arrives in march, which for a cod veteran (played series from day one) is a huge decision, but the decision to exclude dedicated servers, map creation and no lean function has forced my hand. Expand
  17. JB
    Feb 6, 2010
    2
    The singleplayer mode is fun, i admit. However, multiplayer is somethign of a fail. IWNET takes all the fun out of mp, fun that we had on cod4 (and dare i say it cod5) with modding, custom maps, and custom rules. Im lucky if i can play two consecutive matches in a row without being disconnected and faced with some message saying 'Cannot migrate host' or 'Game lobby The singleplayer mode is fun, i admit. However, multiplayer is somethign of a fail. IWNET takes all the fun out of mp, fun that we had on cod4 (and dare i say it cod5) with modding, custom maps, and custom rules. Im lucky if i can play two consecutive matches in a row without being disconnected and faced with some message saying 'Cannot migrate host' or 'Game lobby closed'. Give us back good old PC gaming Please? Expand
  18. lolseriously?
    Feb 7, 2010
    4
    I can easily get to the top of Team Deathmatch leaderboard with a knife and pistol class, knifing is way overpowered with all the sprint perks. Somehow Infinity Ward thought giving the noob tube (grenade laucher) infinite ammo with the One Man Army perk was a good idea. Baically multiplayer is horrible compared to COD4. Admittedly I have higher standards for multiplayer since this is a I can easily get to the top of Team Deathmatch leaderboard with a knife and pistol class, knifing is way overpowered with all the sprint perks. Somehow Infinity Ward thought giving the noob tube (grenade laucher) infinite ammo with the One Man Army perk was a good idea. Baically multiplayer is horrible compared to COD4. Admittedly I have higher standards for multiplayer since this is a CoD game, but still this multiplayer is a serious step down from Call of Duty 4's. Only Search and Destroy is competitive. I go play TDM's with a knife or a tube just to relax, no skill or effort is really required there. Single player was alright, I'd say maybe too much story but fun overall. Expand
  19. PaulR
    Apr 28, 2010
    0
    Horrible Matchmaking, horrible spawns, horrible player systems. This is destroying the livery that PC gaming offers. This inherently is a playable game, but the over the top shenanigans and terrible online capabilities are a slap in the face towards gamers and military personnel like. Infinity Ward is done, and Activision brought this on themselves.
  20. Maxvon
    Apr 5, 2010
    1
    The singleplayer is ok but a bit short. The mulitplayer is a disaster its full with hacks, cheaters, aimbots and all kinds of bad stuff. IW need to bring out a patch but it dosnt. I would not recoment to buy battlefield BC2 is much better even thou there were some minor problems with the starting week, and the singleplayer isnt that good but the muliplayer rocks.
  21. whyreally
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    I downloaded it via torrents and it is a lot worse than I thought it would be I cancelled my preorder because the lack of support is simply degenerative to the PC community I'm not glad I did - singleplayer is meh graphics are meh sound is good gameplay is exactly the same as cod 4 (not bad...nothing new) its the exact same game - don't know how people can claim this is the best I downloaded it via torrents and it is a lot worse than I thought it would be I cancelled my preorder because the lack of support is simply degenerative to the PC community I'm not glad I did - singleplayer is meh graphics are meh sound is good gameplay is exactly the same as cod 4 (not bad...nothing new) its the exact same game - don't know how people can claim this is the best game of all time - its horrible - its not unique - and it sets standards which are akin to shitting on a persons head IW/Activision has taken the wrong road... by embracing console gamers, they alienate their entire base from which they came - its simply mind boggling the stupidity of the situation of the WAY below standard expectations for games no console they can push out the same crap year after year and get even more money - its simply pathetic our society is as retarded as that Expand
  22. KenK
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Short, lackluster campaign and broken multiplayer. The game just doesn't live up to modern day PC FPS standards, all while being overpriced. Don't give in to the hype, MW2 is a disappointment.
  23. MarshallE
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Singularly the worst of all the Call of Duty games. No dedicated server, No coop, No leaning, No FOV adjust, No console, Unskippable everything, Short single player, Implied racism, Slanders several countries and peoples. Most politically incorrect game I've ever played, and for no good reason either. Avoid this soulless tripe at all costs.
  24. Unknowncss
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The P2P server system on this game is terrible, You often end up in laggy servers or servers where the host rage quits and you have to keep on migrateing.
  25. MarshalB
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    No Dedicated servers, no mods, 9vs9 multiplayer, no kicking cheaters, 4 hour campaign. This game is pretty much a $60 expansion to a game with features removed, any reviewer giving it a 10 ought to be ashamed of themselves.
  26. jockom
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    I bought that game to play it with my friends, but soon i realised that that is simply not possible in 90% of the time. And if in some way we all connect, it gets frustrating b/c high pings and random cheaters and abusers yelling on voice chat.
  27. PumpkinReaper
    Dec 3, 2009
    0
    The 0 is for multiplayer, even if you compare the console version to the previous version there's a lot of problems that hurt the game. For one thing, the spawn points are far more random instead of being vaguely on opposite sides of the map, so now you may end up having someone spawn directly behind you OR you may spawn on a grenade and so on. It just was shoddily done and the The 0 is for multiplayer, even if you compare the console version to the previous version there's a lot of problems that hurt the game. For one thing, the spawn points are far more random instead of being vaguely on opposite sides of the map, so now you may end up having someone spawn directly behind you OR you may spawn on a grenade and so on. It just was shoddily done and the respawn system should of had a lot more work done. Knifing is just ridiculous in this, sure it should be a little viable at least for screwing around, but right now it's pretty much dominating, how is sneaking around stabbing everyone even remotely how modern warfare is carried out? Noob Tubing is still existent in the game, one of the only other real problems in the first modern warfare (the other being martyrdom and how rampant it was) and it isn't entertaining when players will just rush in, use up their grenade launcher shot and then die, usually killing someone else in the process. All of these and more could of been alleviated slightly more if the PC version had dedicated servers (moderators to keep things in check and custom rules, along with people knowing where they can go when they just want to play with a specific ruleset). Also no modding = less replayability for a game after you've gotten all you can get out of it. Expand
  28. JackBauer
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    Online play is terrible, you end up waiting way too long in the que and nothing is done about cheaters. IW and their VAC do not work.
  29. PiotrS
    Dec 8, 2009
    1
    Completely dissapointed, PC version is only a shadow of CoD4. Pointless console port the way I see it.
  30. JA
    Jan 1, 2010
    2
    The gameplay in this game solid, but the way its delivered is horrendous. The laziness of the devlopers can easily be spotted in this game. This came alone has completely changed Infinity Ward's status in the PC gamer community.
  31. AwfulGame
    Jan 11, 2010
    0
    Terrible game. Doesn't deserve half of the press it got. Obviously a rush job. And that's only talking about the parts where they didn't purposely neuter the PC version! IW should be ashamed of this product.
  32. SFinn
    Jan 1, 2010
    0
    Biggest flop of '09. The single player story is HORRIBLE. As most people know MP doesn't have dedicated servers, 'nuff said.
  33. Nu3gaWhat
    Jan 10, 2010
    1
    Terrible. The story line is weak and short. Multiplayer? LOL Yeah the biggest fail ever. NO dedicated servers, NO kicking/banning, NO choice in what map you play or any other options OTHER then gametype, NO leaning, unbalanced weapons/perks/killstreaks, retarded respawns on overly busy map designs that leads to always being shot in the back by someone respawning or being killed by a Terrible. The story line is weak and short. Multiplayer? LOL Yeah the biggest fail ever. NO dedicated servers, NO kicking/banning, NO choice in what map you play or any other options OTHER then gametype, NO leaning, unbalanced weapons/perks/killstreaks, retarded respawns on overly busy map designs that leads to always being shot in the back by someone respawning or being killed by a camper, cheaters run rampant and are blatant because there is NOTHING you can do about them. Oh maybe VAC will detect the PUBLIC hacks, and ban them a few weeks later...maybe. It just keeps being worse. Lack of a console to tweak settings or even to display your frames per second!!!! Laggy as f*ck, as expected with no dedicated servers. Worst of all, IW is ignoring the community, and even insulting our intelligence. Deleting threads and petitions on their forums. Also what would appear to me, having their employees or simply people they pay to blatantly lie saying how good the game is. All of this for $10 more then PC games go for.....what a rip off. Expand
  34. RookieLeader
    Jan 13, 2010
    3
    3 for the single part that is riskie and full of cliche but keep you on stress every last seconds. But then... nothing. The multiplayer part is a bunch of "too bad" moments : too bad you don't have optical fiber connection you all, too bad you are disconnected every 5 minutes, too bad you can't have dedicated servers and make a "real" community around this game, too bad you gave 3 for the single part that is riskie and full of cliche but keep you on stress every last seconds. But then... nothing. The multiplayer part is a bunch of "too bad" moments : too bad you don't have optical fiber connection you all, too bad you are disconnected every 5 minutes, too bad you can't have dedicated servers and make a "real" community around this game, too bad you gave 60 euros/dollars for a game that won't live much. Who, on PC (not talking about XBOX or PS3), will pay for new content when you see how careless the devs are for their public? Expand
  35. Freaky
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    I have the game and can't even play it! I'm getting that "iw4mp.exe" error! Tried all the fixes I've found on google, but nothing works! This is some BULLS*#T!
  36. MikeV
    Jan 14, 2010
    0
    battled to run the game for 18 hours, tied up my internet connection for 5 days, made no progress. Game unplayable. Very dissapointing.
  37. ianm
    Jan 14, 2010
    1
    Weapons are as poor as ive seen. akimbo shotguns better range than most guns joke Sniper guns are poor no need to hit enemy to kill them .mw2 has ruined cod for ever as a pc game Badcompany 2 the way forward now
  38. alcyone7
    Jan 16, 2010
    2
    Lousy multiplayer -- IWNET is an appalling piece of programming. Single player missions are too brief. STEAM constantly disconnects. Maps full of glitches (as usual for IW) and the hackers ruin whatever is left - the anticheat system is a joke!
  39. MarkA
    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    If you are buying this for multiplayer puroses, don't. They have recently cut out many of the community by relying on users to set up routers with special settings, that even when done, you cannot play online. I am above average in my ability to configure my system (with the help of online forums), and for two weeks and a lot of tinkering, cannot connect online anymore. Until the If you are buying this for multiplayer puroses, don't. They have recently cut out many of the community by relying on users to set up routers with special settings, that even when done, you cannot play online. I am above average in my ability to configure my system (with the help of online forums), and for two weeks and a lot of tinkering, cannot connect online anymore. Until the manufacturer decides to make dedicated servers for this game, hold off. Expand
  40. rogerf
    Jan 19, 2010
    3
    this game gets a 3 from me as too much lag and no dedicated servers , and where is the g3 !!!!!
  41. ProGamer
    Jan 2, 2010
    0
    Shame on Infinity Ward!!!!!!!!! Worst CoD ever on PC I can not understand how the game has so get a good evaluation from the press! Counter Strike remains the number 1 and that will not change as long as the shooter genre is destroyed by consoles
  42. AndrewY
    Jan 20, 2010
    0
    Don't buy this game whatever you do, i spent £55 (£100USD) on this game. with the shortest single player ever in a FPS game. As you can tell by the user the reviews, this is the most frustrating purchase ever, bad game matching in multiplayer, millions of hackers (numbers growing day by day), no anticheat support, no dedicated servers = the worst game ever. looks pretty Don't buy this game whatever you do, i spent £55 (£100USD) on this game. with the shortest single player ever in a FPS game. As you can tell by the user the reviews, this is the most frustrating purchase ever, bad game matching in multiplayer, millions of hackers (numbers growing day by day), no anticheat support, no dedicated servers = the worst game ever. looks pretty enjoyable single player for a few hours the most annoying multiplayer experience ever !!! Dont go with any Infinity Ward games !! They Spent Multi Millions, on Re Skinning COD4 !! and taking the best bits out ! a absolute CON ! Expand
  43. lawrencef
    Jan 22, 2010
    1
    the game play is great but IW net ruins everything, if i wanted a console style game i'd buy a console
  44. leom
    Jan 22, 2010
    1
    The game blows.The graphics are consolarized,no deciated servers or mods,You have to use steam as well. AIm waiting for bad company 2 which actully has support for the pc,like better grahpics than consoles and decicated servers
  45. ChristopherM
    Jan 24, 2010
    0
    The single player is alright but since I'm primarily focused on the multiplayer, it's unbearable. Poor host selection is commonplace and the lag can be unbearable. I find it amusing how they have a "Kick" option in the lobby screen but it's always grayed out. Theres no way to vote kick vote ban vote anything really, the best you can do is mute someones microphone but that The single player is alright but since I'm primarily focused on the multiplayer, it's unbearable. Poor host selection is commonplace and the lag can be unbearable. I find it amusing how they have a "Kick" option in the lobby screen but it's always grayed out. Theres no way to vote kick vote ban vote anything really, the best you can do is mute someones microphone but that doesn't stop racism. As of the last patch the game consistantly crashes and I get booted back to the initial screen. IW literally spit in PC gamers faces when they called the people who signed the petition to implement dedicated servers (250,000 signatures, more than you see online at any time.) If you have a cheater in your game, you might as well leave because your gaming experience will be ruined because there is no way to remove the cheater from your game. Yet at least, I would assume they would give the host the ability to kick players in later patches. Expand
  46. sunnyr1yz
    Jan 24, 2010
    2
    multiplayer sucks 98% of time with lags, server kicking you out, server closing down on it's own because noone's able to host it.... the list goes on.. The sad part is it's actually fun the rest 2% time!
  47. kevinW.
    Jan 25, 2010
    3
    Graphics and Single player great as usual, but totally boned the pc user's by not making dedicated servers, I am tired of servers crashing hosts being lost lobbies closing for no reason or my game crashing. Once the new Battlefield is out I am forgetting I bought this game and will never buy another with this server system.
  48. AlL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    Now I came into this totally unbiased, not expecting something amazing and not expecting something totally awful. Even then, I was disappointed how Infinity Ward could brush aside their PC gamers like this. No dedicated servers, no lean, no PC specific anything. The lean and the rest of the stuff PC users lost I can deal with, but for the love of god bring us a patch with DEDICATED Now I came into this totally unbiased, not expecting something amazing and not expecting something totally awful. Even then, I was disappointed how Infinity Ward could brush aside their PC gamers like this. No dedicated servers, no lean, no PC specific anything. The lean and the rest of the stuff PC users lost I can deal with, but for the love of god bring us a patch with DEDICATED SERVERS! If this does not happen, I will no longer support Infinity Ward, and I know many others won't either. It's foolish to take the Xbox game, and slap a PC badge over it. Shame on you Infinity Ward. We may not be the biggest purchasers of your game, but we are the ones that started it all and made you what you are today. You've stabbed us in the back. Expand
  49. Sabbath
    Jan 20, 2010
    2
    nothing new ... same old story. non dedicated servers bad work.
  50. MarkM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    1
    Just because of STEAM. Over the past few days, been getting kicked out of game, can't connect to steam server. It just down right sucks. Why there are no dedicated servers is beyond me, COD had a great PC following, but this is going to hurt it really bad. maybe change my score if steam can be more, but who wants to play if we are always going to get kicked out or steam server is Just because of STEAM. Over the past few days, been getting kicked out of game, can't connect to steam server. It just down right sucks. Why there are no dedicated servers is beyond me, COD had a great PC following, but this is going to hurt it really bad. maybe change my score if steam can be more, but who wants to play if we are always going to get kicked out or steam server is down. We are paying customers and we demand better service from STEAM!!! Expand
  51. RapidFire
    Jan 31, 2010
    3
    Infinity Ward / Activision have dropped the ball on this one with IWNET. The multi player is virtually unplayable with the lag, getting disconnected, losing friends mid way through, no dedicated servers, hackers free to do whatever. Horrible. The worst is Infinity Ward does not acknowledge that there is something wrong with the mulit player and in fact have been deleting threads from Infinity Ward / Activision have dropped the ball on this one with IWNET. The multi player is virtually unplayable with the lag, getting disconnected, losing friends mid way through, no dedicated servers, hackers free to do whatever. Horrible. The worst is Infinity Ward does not acknowledge that there is something wrong with the mulit player and in fact have been deleting threads from their forums for suggesting there are problems. Never again will I buy Infinity Ward or Activision. Expand
  52. TooroneM.
    Jan 31, 2010
    2
    Like a lot of the other reviewers i thought the single player campaign was way to short, i finished it in 5 hours. The multiplayer mode,which is where MW1 excelled, is terrible. Lag is a problem but not enough to kill the game. What make s the game on PC redundant is the limited number of players that can be on any one map and the size of the maps. The maps are tiny and so any strategic Like a lot of the other reviewers i thought the single player campaign was way to short, i finished it in 5 hours. The multiplayer mode,which is where MW1 excelled, is terrible. Lag is a problem but not enough to kill the game. What make s the game on PC redundant is the limited number of players that can be on any one map and the size of the maps. The maps are tiny and so any strategic element is lacking, forget flanking, going up the middle in force, the maps are almost circles so you just keep chasing your own tail, its pathetic from a game that had such an outstanding start to fall so short in this iteration. Expand
  53. NathanR
    Jan 3, 2010
    2
    What a let down. Nothing more to say really, only the campaign is extremely short and boring, simply running from one objective to the other and the AI friendlies and enemies are very boring and predictable. Spec Ops is basically replaying the campaign with a friend, most of the achievements/trophies are from earning stars. The Multiplayer is very bad - The killstreaks are just plain What a let down. Nothing more to say really, only the campaign is extremely short and boring, simply running from one objective to the other and the AI friendlies and enemies are very boring and predictable. Spec Ops is basically replaying the campaign with a friend, most of the achievements/trophies are from earning stars. The Multiplayer is very bad - The killstreaks are just plain annoying, most of the maps are stll linear, the spawn system is terrible and the host migration takes far too long. I also hear their aren't any dedicated servers for PC which really sucks (although I play 360) as my friends play PC. Overall, they took MW1, ripped out the good stuff, filled it with rubbish and ripped 5 million people off. Expand
  54. PerN.
    Jan 30, 2010
    0
    I still don't understand how someone can introduce IWnet and remove dedicated servers without any serious testing at all. Spawn system is the worst I've ever seen. I do like most of the maps, prestige system is good and keeps the game going, weapons are to similar, way to much hackers and lag (caused by IWnet). Feedback from IW is absolutely 0. How they can start talking about I still don't understand how someone can introduce IWnet and remove dedicated servers without any serious testing at all. Spawn system is the worst I've ever seen. I do like most of the maps, prestige system is good and keeps the game going, weapons are to similar, way to much hackers and lag (caused by IWnet). Feedback from IW is absolutely 0. How they can start talking about an expansion with the crap they have now shows that they just want money. Expand
  55. LouisN
    Jan 4, 2010
    2
    The Games campaign is extremely short, its literally about maybe 2 hours long if you cut out all the time you spend recovering your health and dying. but about 6 hours with all that (no kidding). The campaign doesnt make a whole bunch of sense, i usually dont know who my character is and how he's involved in all of this. The game starts and ends exactly the same as MW1 and some of The Games campaign is extremely short, its literally about maybe 2 hours long if you cut out all the time you spend recovering your health and dying. but about 6 hours with all that (no kidding). The campaign doesnt make a whole bunch of sense, i usually dont know who my character is and how he's involved in all of this. The game starts and ends exactly the same as MW1 and some of the middle feels about the same too. The shooting in the game is extremely frustrating and the only good parts are the parts when you arent shooting and advancing on the enemy.... that isnt a good thing to say about a SHOOTING GAME. Online is terrible, VAC is terrible and will ban a hacker maybe 3-5 weeks after he starts hacking and theres no way to kick or ban them from the game. Host migration happens about 1-3 times in a game, usually when your not lagging to much. Then when your in an extremely laggy game where litterally everyone but the host is lagging, the game will not try to find a better host at all. Not to mention people are sending trojans and viruses through the game. This game can be a 10/10... but you'd have to find a server with no lag, no hackers, no cheap players (dual wielding shotguns, constant RPG spam, etc), and map that isnt terrible (almost all of them are terrible). The only reason this game would get a decent score is on a console, which standards are much lower. even then, your going to have to deal with most the problems. Dont buy this game, your going to end up searching the internet why you cant lean or how you can stop lagging and everyones going to laugh at you because you bought this game. Expand
  56. ZachY
    Jan 5, 2010
    3
    Multiplayer is a like a slap in the face. Its like IW decided that xbox and ps3 are the future and pc games will have to just take whatever they make for consoles and live with it. I wish I had not bought this game. The specs ops is fun and the campaign is fun, but the MP is just abysmal. I could write a 5000 word essay on the shortcomings of this multiplayer mode it is so bad. I think it Multiplayer is a like a slap in the face. Its like IW decided that xbox and ps3 are the future and pc games will have to just take whatever they make for consoles and live with it. I wish I had not bought this game. The specs ops is fun and the campaign is fun, but the MP is just abysmal. I could write a 5000 word essay on the shortcomings of this multiplayer mode it is so bad. I think it would have been really really great with dedicated servers, but without them we dont get get connections or the even bigger issue, there is no way to build up gaming communities. Every time I fire up the game i think "oh this is gonna be fun this time" and i always end up shutting the game down and getting pissed because it doesn't work well enough to warrant spending $15 for the multiplayer, let alone the offensive $60 I paid for it. Bottom line, if I could take it back and get my money back I would. Expand
  57. krisn
    Jan 5, 2010
    1
    This game has great single player. Unfortunatly the multiplayer is almost unplayable. A proven horrid matchmaking ruins the online name that has mad COD seris what it is . Listin to user reviews , not revies someone who never payed 60 dollars for gave. IW has done nothing ! to rid the hackers , yesterday i played in a server that was hacked from IWnet. everyone had unlimited ammo. which This game has great single player. Unfortunatly the multiplayer is almost unplayable. A proven horrid matchmaking ruins the online name that has mad COD seris what it is . Listin to user reviews , not revies someone who never payed 60 dollars for gave. IW has done nothing ! to rid the hackers , yesterday i played in a server that was hacked from IWnet. everyone had unlimited ammo. which made a real mess when a player recieved a ac130. Expand
  58. Danny
    Jan 9, 2010
    1
    These host migrations are ridiculous! They happen WAY too frequently and a lot of the time when the host leaves, the game will try to find a new host and fail, then just drops everyone from the game. This is extremely annoying when your team is about to win and the host that happens to leave is on the enemy team and gives up before the game is finished. I picked this game up when it first These host migrations are ridiculous! They happen WAY too frequently and a lot of the time when the host leaves, the game will try to find a new host and fail, then just drops everyone from the game. This is extremely annoying when your team is about to win and the host that happens to leave is on the enemy team and gives up before the game is finished. I picked this game up when it first came out and finished the campaign that very same day about 5 hours of off and on playing.. I'd be lying if i said this is a very fulfilling sequel. I'm quite disappointed overall since this game was obviously made for online playing, but it seems the high point of the game is more in the single player area.. 6v6 online is extremely basic and disappointing, 9v9 should be the very least. If this game had something like 32 players max (16v16) along with dedicated servers like many other shooters, it would have been quite a solid game. I just want to end it by saying this game doesn't deliver the same experience as the first did and it seems like it was about the $$ to IW this time around with MW2.. Very sad.. Trading this game in soon.. Expand
  59. JoshuaL
    Feb 10, 2010
    3
    I'm giving this game a 3 because on PC the matchmaking is terrible, there are hackers in every corner and VAC is a joke to them since they play on pirated versions which hasn't been blocked yet. A lot of bugs are still occurring and some of the equipment still needs balancing. I'm sorry Infinity Ward but you failed on making this game any fun on PC.
  60. CMM
    Feb 10, 2010
    0
    I bought this game because several friends wanted to play something new online together. After we all be the single player and spec ops we went right into the MP. After about 30 minutes both friends uninstalled the game, but I'm still playing it somewhat here and there to get my moneys worth, but I've just about had enough of how terrible it is. Call of Duty:Medieval Warfare is FTL.
  61. IWNicejob
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    IW did the worst job ever in the MP the single was GREAT but the Multi isnt alot of little kids around using over powered things stabbing there is no more fun like COD4 when u needed to use ur head abit now who ever got the most over powered toys is a winner and not to mention the campers heavin with the "Camping Class" IW consider to do some changes around!
  62. PhilK.
    Feb 1, 2010
    1
    MW2 could be the greatest multiplay game of all time and enjoyed by the competative scene and casual clan scene for the next 5 years.Unfortunately its not ! MW2 is like being given a Ferrari and finding there is no engine.The soul destroying fact is its anti-community and terrible on multiplay due to IWNET which is a p2p network.Lag and latency issues totally destroy the experience.One MW2 could be the greatest multiplay game of all time and enjoyed by the competative scene and casual clan scene for the next 5 years.Unfortunately its not ! MW2 is like being given a Ferrari and finding there is no engine.The soul destroying fact is its anti-community and terrible on multiplay due to IWNET which is a p2p network.Lag and latency issues totally destroy the experience.One wonders why IW have not simply returned to the formula that worked DEDICATED servers...in sure if the decision was theres to make they would. Its wake up time and Activision are responsible for removing the options for any longevity with this title,its a money grab and longevity means less money. So its onto the next title and sod you gamers and your enjoyment. Expand
  63. LucasP
    Feb 14, 2010
    2
    Great SP campaign, but even then its worse than COD4. Multiplayer is a disaster, with laggy servers, low player counts, mostly bad maps and altered gameplay compared to the original. Still it is a fun experience but not at the 59.99 rip off for a non console game.
  64. G.V
    Feb 15, 2010
    0
    No dedicated servers and IW dosent even seem to want to add them, a lazy scam for money it seems yes single player is epic and multiplayer has alot of good aspects, but it all goes to waste the second you spend 15 mins looking for a good match with a good ping (or bars in this case) i find my self looking for a game only to get bored and play another game 10-15mins later because of either No dedicated servers and IW dosent even seem to want to add them, a lazy scam for money it seems yes single player is epic and multiplayer has alot of good aspects, but it all goes to waste the second you spend 15 mins looking for a good match with a good ping (or bars in this case) i find my self looking for a game only to get bored and play another game 10-15mins later because of either Cheaters, Lag, or Taking too long to find a server. Not to mention the noob tubes, which is why IW needs to either add custom matchs with certain rules like no "Noob tubes (Granade launcher)" or just have the balls to admit thier mistake and give us dedicated servers, it can be done, and very easy there are already a few user made dedicated servers out there so it mustnt be that hard specially if its the company that owns the game. seriously... just seems like a lazy move from a company. but if your looking for a Muck around multiplayer game, and happen to be lucky enough to live near the bulk of players and playing in "peak" play times then it can be quite fun for a hour or so, but if your a hardcore multiplayer person stick with MW 1 as MW 2 offers nothing for clans or people who want to play fair matches and for long periods of time without interuption. Expand
  65. phillr
    Feb 10, 2010
    2
    Absolutely diabolical not having dedicated servers, insane lag coupled with dire hit detection make for some very poor gameplay. Then we come to cheaters and hacked hosts, they seem unstopable, very little support in Infinity Ward, this is a VERY poor console port.
  66. TueyK.
    Feb 1, 2010
    2
    If it wasn't for all the cheats, the immense lag, the constant disconnections, the complete idiots screaming over voice chat, the amount of racism in text chat, and the complete lack of response from infinity ward on their forums this game could be not bad. Unfortunately it is good for a few weeks then all of the above really starts to get to you. A real shame.
  67. ChadS.
    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    This is the WORST infinity ward game ever released. The single player is great but does not even come close to making up for the lack-luster performance of the multiplayer. Never again will I buy a game made by them, especially since they wont even acknowledge there is anything wrong with the game.
  68. VotesWithWallet
    Feb 3, 2010
    4
    Single player has cinematic moments that will bring a smile to your face. Multiplayer has the potential to be great fun but is sadly ruined by the lack of dedicated servers. Why is it ruined? Lag mainly. Among the other problems, one of the most glaring issues is that the developers allow players to move at speeds which are too fast for the latency of the network system to update all the Single player has cinematic moments that will bring a smile to your face. Multiplayer has the potential to be great fun but is sadly ruined by the lack of dedicated servers. Why is it ruined? Lag mainly. Among the other problems, one of the most glaring issues is that the developers allow players to move at speeds which are too fast for the latency of the network system to update all the players. Consequently, any player not using a speed perk or glitch is at an extreme disadvantage. I have now played for 240 hours which is not a lot by some standards but should give at least give you a clue that I am not talking rubbish. Expand
  69. _DemonDog_
    Feb 4, 2010
    3
    1 point for the graphics 1 point for the single player game (Too short) 1 point for the Spec ops Once you are past the eye candy and run into the hacks and no dedicated servers it boils down to the final verdict: Overpriced console port not designed for the long haul. The idea is to grab the 60 bucks and run. No support, No way to get rid of the hackers and glitchers. Unless something is 1 point for the graphics 1 point for the single player game (Too short) 1 point for the Spec ops Once you are past the eye candy and run into the hacks and no dedicated servers it boils down to the final verdict: Overpriced console port not designed for the long haul. The idea is to grab the 60 bucks and run. No support, No way to get rid of the hackers and glitchers. Unless something is done quick to turn this mess around. This will be the last COD game for me. Single player the main characters being killed off and the absolutely useless airport massacre was intolerable. Way Over hyped and the so called experts probably played the game less than 20 min. Eye candy grabs them not game play. Give this game a pass and ignore the 8, 9 and 10 votes. Just trying to push the rating higher as it is rather embarrassing to have all this hype and the pitiful rating. Where is that petition? Sign me up. Expand
  70. AdamS
    Feb 6, 2010
    2
    I have had it with your IWnet system! You get 7 people in one lobby and takes multiple attempts for it to actually connect all the people. Also my biggest complaint, no dedicated servers. I tried your system for a few months before I let it bother me but give me a break! Without the ability to kick people the games just get ran by cheaters and hackers constantly. Here's an excerpt I have had it with your IWnet system! You get 7 people in one lobby and takes multiple attempts for it to actually connect all the people. Also my biggest complaint, no dedicated servers. I tried your system for a few months before I let it bother me but give me a break! Without the ability to kick people the games just get ran by cheaters and hackers constantly. Here's an excerpt from IW's website exactly: "Cheat / Hack Free Games: The biggest benefit of using IWnet by far is the fact that you don Expand
  71. RoyZ
    Feb 6, 2010
    2
    As a fan of COD Series it pains me to rate this game this way but the simple fact is that the lack of Dedicated Servers for PC version is not only the biggest dissapointment but also the most logged complaint in Infinity Ward Forums PC section for MW2. Several different petitions with almost 250,000 Dissatisfied PC Gamers begging for them says that IW is not in touch with the PC Community As a fan of COD Series it pains me to rate this game this way but the simple fact is that the lack of Dedicated Servers for PC version is not only the biggest dissapointment but also the most logged complaint in Infinity Ward Forums PC section for MW2. Several different petitions with almost 250,000 Dissatisfied PC Gamers begging for them says that IW is not in touch with the PC Community with the current teams in place. Expand
  72. DanielV.
    Feb 7, 2010
    0
    Worst game I have ever played, and ever will play. Infinity Ward failed about as badly as any game developer could. They had the opportunity to best one of the best first person shooters, yet they fell way too short. Also note that every single thing Jerry J. said was incorrect, it is not exciting, the graphics are a disgrace to today's standards, the story line is not in "sink" (its Worst game I have ever played, and ever will play. Infinity Ward failed about as badly as any game developer could. They had the opportunity to best one of the best first person shooters, yet they fell way too short. Also note that every single thing Jerry J. said was incorrect, it is not exciting, the graphics are a disgrace to today's standards, the story line is not in "sink" (its sync, you idiot) with our real world, it is, in fact, very far from it. Inshittity Ward has done a horrific, and shameful job. They removed everything that made Modern Warfare great, and added a bunch of BS that no one wants. All these new things like emblems and new attachments over inflate, and over complicate the game. Not to mention the lobby system, which is the worst idea I have seen anyone make in the gaming industry. EA used to be my first most hated developer, but IW easily steals such a position. Expand
  73. HM
    Feb 7, 2010
    1
    Infinity Ward does not give a monkeys about PC gamers. Here we all are giving them ideas for MW2 by using the COD4 mod system and what do they give us? A console port. This is a disgrace, I have not bought this game for this reason. I am a PC gamer because I want to use the advantages of being on a PC. That is: Dedicated servers, mods, 64 player matches, lean, and being able to modify to Infinity Ward does not give a monkeys about PC gamers. Here we all are giving them ideas for MW2 by using the COD4 mod system and what do they give us? A console port. This is a disgrace, I have not bought this game for this reason. I am a PC gamer because I want to use the advantages of being on a PC. That is: Dedicated servers, mods, 64 player matches, lean, and being able to modify to game to my liking. Sure the game would have gotten a high score from me if they had these features, but the game is fun even with the hackers and aimbotters that's why I can't give it a 0. Infinity Ward need to review what they have done wrong with this release. Expand
  74. DaveRn
    Feb 8, 2010
    1
    The Game itself is great HOWEVER The multiplayer server system has to be the most ill conceived trash in the world of gaming. Ive only been able to play on 3 maps, its always always laggy and I have a 20Mb connection. You can no longer kick abusive players. Trying to join a server is a torment, you get unable to migrate host, Lobby Closed, you get landed in empty servers!!!! I got shot The Game itself is great HOWEVER The multiplayer server system has to be the most ill conceived trash in the world of gaming. Ive only been able to play on 3 maps, its always always laggy and I have a 20Mb connection. You can no longer kick abusive players. Trying to join a server is a torment, you get unable to migrate host, Lobby Closed, you get landed in empty servers!!!! I got shot through a mountain yesterday. Play the single player and then go back to playing CODWAW at least you'll be having fun in seconds rather than 10 minutes! Expand
  75. PhilM
    Apr 26, 2010
    4
    The multiplayer is decent, if one doesn't mind the awful spawn system and the "intuitive" killstreak reward system and seeks no team cooperation. The gameplay is twitch-style stuff, but it doesn't work so well because player movement feels very blocky. The campaign was absolute, utter crap. There were some "cool" moments such as the airport massacre and the invasion of the The multiplayer is decent, if one doesn't mind the awful spawn system and the "intuitive" killstreak reward system and seeks no team cooperation. The gameplay is twitch-style stuff, but it doesn't work so well because player movement feels very blocky. The campaign was absolute, utter crap. There were some "cool" moments such as the airport massacre and the invasion of the United States by Russia, but the airport level was plainly just for shock value and what could have been a potentially excellent storyline from the terrorist's perspective was cut off. The plot itself is absurd, with characters uttering cheesy movie-lines and overusing military jargon, and the Afghanistan locales featured in the game prove that absolutely no time was taken by the developers to even google for images of the conflict. The character of General Shepherd is very unoriginal as he talks like Colonel Kurtz from Apocalypse Now, and the score and some locations are very similar to those in the film "The Rock", mainly because both the game and the movie were scored by Hans Zimmer. Infinity Ward should never have hired writers for films and TV-shows to create the plot, because the result is a farce in which all the characters act too seriously, where one can see the name "Jerry Bruckheimer" written all over it. Expand
  76. TowerTom
    Apr 7, 2010
    1
    1200ms points for a map pack, where 2 of the maps are remakeS? Come off it. Single player is too short. Special Op's are fun, but get boring very quickly. Online multiplayer is just as bad as the first MW. Even though the game is 18+ it's full of little kids screaming and thinking they're hard, makes the game quite an un-enjoyable experience. Overall, if you're looking 1200ms points for a map pack, where 2 of the maps are remakeS? Come off it. Single player is too short. Special Op's are fun, but get boring very quickly. Online multiplayer is just as bad as the first MW. Even though the game is 18+ it's full of little kids screaming and thinking they're hard, makes the game quite an un-enjoyable experience. Overall, if you're looking for a good FPS then this is it, but if you're looking to play some FPS online, then be prepared to get quite annoyed with the game (unless you're always playing with a friend). Expand
  77. aaronw
    Apr 9, 2010
    3
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the game that was. That is, the game that was meant to be the best. The game that was the greatest of it's time. The game everyone was meant to be enjoying. Of couse, after the 3 month period of hype, players saw the extremely flawed gameplay. Multiplayer is now filled with bugs, glitches, and hacked servers offering players a distinct advantage over Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the game that was. That is, the game that was meant to be the best. The game that was the greatest of it's time. The game everyone was meant to be enjoying. Of couse, after the 3 month period of hype, players saw the extremely flawed gameplay. Multiplayer is now filled with bugs, glitches, and hacked servers offering players a distinct advantage over honest players. And don't get me started on how bad the match making system is. The single player was short, and didn't even lead anywhere in the end, pointing to an obvious MW3, but not to reveal any spoilers, you pretty much end up back at square one, and all 6 hours of that gameplay was wasted. The time of Modern Warfare 2 came and went. A very dissapointing effort after COD4:Modern Warfare promised so much. Expand
  78. LukeS
    May 4, 2010
    2
    Singleplayer is ok, with plenty of variety and incredible graphics. The campaign is WAY too short though to hold anyone's interest for more than a week, which is when multiplayer should kick in... I honestly have absolutely no idea whatsoever what Infinity Ward were thinking when they decided that no dedicated servers would be a good idea. Thousands of people voiced their concerns Singleplayer is ok, with plenty of variety and incredible graphics. The campaign is WAY too short though to hold anyone's interest for more than a week, which is when multiplayer should kick in... I honestly have absolutely no idea whatsoever what Infinity Ward were thinking when they decided that no dedicated servers would be a good idea. Thousands of people voiced their concerns before the game was released but IW kept saying that it would, in fact, make the game more secure against hackers, etc. They mentioned that their working with Valve and the anti-cheat system would work miracles. The fact is, as so many predicted, this is UTTER rubbish. Valve's anti-cheat system is 100% designed to be run on dedi servers and is VERY effective when this happens. With the lack of dedi servers and more holes in IWNet than a fishing net, hackers are literally everywhere, lag is outrageous, with the "host" often having such a massive advantage in terms of latency that it's impossible for anyone else. Total waste of money and having to pay for the expansion map pack is the final kick in the teeth. With any luck, IW won't exist much longer! Expand
  79. PaulL.
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Single Player is good but not worth more than 30$. As for the multiplayer, the pc community has been raped by infinity ward. This is unforgivable! Also, beware of immature 13 yr old tea baggers on the servers.
  80. DeeL.
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    Disappointing. The SP campaign took all of 5 hours to complete and, frankly, I don't see myself replaying it - not in a small part due to sheer silliness of the plot. This trend of "addressing serious issues" (haha) in a manner accessible to emo teens has got to stop, before this nation's collective IQ plunges even further. I did not find myself getting connected to SP Disappointing. The SP campaign took all of 5 hours to complete and, frankly, I don't see myself replaying it - not in a small part due to sheer silliness of the plot. This trend of "addressing serious issues" (haha) in a manner accessible to emo teens has got to stop, before this nation's collective IQ plunges even further. I did not find myself getting connected to SP characters in the same way as I did in MW1. But anyway, on a good side - shooting mechanics are still fun and level design, animations and weapon models are top notch. I had fun playing through the SP mode, though I couldn't stop rolling my eyes at times. Visually the game is OK but it's no Crysis. I don't see great improvement over MW1 in graphics department. SpecOps: it remains to be seen if SpecOps mode grows on me. So far it's kinda lukewarm. If and when I'm completely bored I can see myself playing it further but with all the other stuff that is coming up this seems unlikely. Multiplayer portion of the game sucks. There's no other word for it. Much had been said about lack of server support and I'm not going to get into that. My personal verdict is not to bother buying this. Short SP campaign with limited replay value, bleh SpecOps mode, dumb MPr. And this is BEFORE the hacks are out. If you feel you are missing out, rent it for PS3. You'll be done with it before the week is over. Expand
  81. JeremyC
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Singleplayer is way too short, I enjoyed CoD4's SP campaign a lot more. Multiplayer is a lag fest majority of the time. They have removed everything that makes PC games unique, no dedicated servers and no console is a ridiculous concept. Definitely going to try get a refund.
  82. JohnSA
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    This is the cancer killing PC gaming. No only is Activion looking to destroy the lively PC community by killing dedicated server and mods, this game hardly offers any value with the woefully short campaign while having the guts to charge you full price. Stay away or just stick to the original Modern Warfare.
  83. Doozer
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    A sad sad day when this kind of crapis considered the 'zenith' and the apex of all we can achieve in the gaming industry. (on any format). To be breaking sales records is an embarrasment not something we should be proud of. When will people realise these games shattering sales records do so NOT because they are good, but because they had BETTER marketing and usually because the A sad sad day when this kind of crapis considered the 'zenith' and the apex of all we can achieve in the gaming industry. (on any format). To be breaking sales records is an embarrasment not something we should be proud of. When will people realise these games shattering sales records do so NOT because they are good, but because they had BETTER marketing and usually because the money went ON the marketing rather than the development of the game. This is a terrible episode in the game industries' history, and all those who bought it (and didn't make up for that fact by slating it on metacritic/gamespot etc) deserve nothing but mediocre shit packaged up for attention deficit teens from now. You are voting when you buy this crap, and it IS crap, it's worse than COD4 and that was crap. Applies to all versions, no matter PC, PS3, 360.. you have all been shafted and IW are laughing at the millions of £/$/Etc they've effectively just conned you out of. Industry heading for a crash when shit like this keeps happening, look at the music industry... it will return to grass roots and grow again through innovation and player focus, not marketing and hype. I'm ashamed to even be a gamer today. The thing that galls me most is the sheer amount of cash that must have been spent on the hyping/advertising and paying off reviewers, rather than spending it on the game. I feel quite sorry for other game developers who maybe don't make perfect games but you can see real love and an 'attempt' at doing everything they could to please the gamer went into their games. Uncharted 2 for example (yes I'm a PC and PS3 gamer so what? It allows me to know about the subject, and I also had a 360 before it died). I've been playing FPS games since 98, spent hours on Unreal Tourney etc and it's ridiculous that even a 10+ year old game gets 'PC GAMING' right. Ok UT3 was also consolised, but at least it was so blatantly overhyped as 'the best game ever' like this atrocity (MW2) was. I honestly do not know how IW devs sleep at night, doing this to gamers, esp PC gamers ESP with the price hike. It is definitely a case of them being a business and seizing opportunities to make massive amounts of cash, it is NOTHING to do with a love of the game's subject (anymore) it's nothing to do with making the best of each system. And as I said I have nothing against consoles, I've always a computer AND a console of some kind and play games on both and there are excellent games on both - this is just a bad bad game even forgetting about all the ergonomic problems on the PC. I'd call it the gaming version of the 'Big Mac' but that would insulting to McDonalds who do actually at least give you something for your money that makes financial sense. Please, I implore not just PC gamers but console gamers also to UNITE and return/do not BUY games like this from now on. You are all being played for fools by the industry who see you/us as immature sheep who will buy anything if it is marketing enough. As gamers we do not want the nay-sayers to be proved correct that we are all a bunch of morons with no taste or ability to discern good from bad. I don't even care about the airport scene, even though I very much think it was put in as part of the hype machine, funny how that was shown on the ramp up to release... cause some 'hot press' get more sales. Nothing to do with solid gameplay, nor has the rest of the single player. As for multiplayer? Don't even go there. IW I really hope you go out of business with this 'fraud' you have effectively committed to gamers on all formats worldwide. When you know your game is average at best, poor in other areas, then how about you not try to make up for it by massive marketing to recoup costs. How about you go back to the drawing board and try again? How about you DITCH the tired formula you have been using in your long in the tooth games for too long now and try and be in it for the love of games, to progress the industry not take US ALL a step back of ten years (or worse). I hope noone ever trust's IW words again and will be more than a little cautious with ANY overhyped game in future. Expand
  84. RichardD
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    The single player has the most stupid far fetched story I've ever played. Plus its only 4 hours long. The game plays and feels almost exactly like COD4 except its filled with pointless and annoying gimmicks to try to entice people. The multiplayer, well whats to say. Its a huge step down from other call of duty games. The lobby system is frustrating, then when the game starts, you The single player has the most stupid far fetched story I've ever played. Plus its only 4 hours long. The game plays and feels almost exactly like COD4 except its filled with pointless and annoying gimmicks to try to entice people. The multiplayer, well whats to say. Its a huge step down from other call of duty games. The lobby system is frustrating, then when the game starts, you seem to run around empty maps due to usual games having around 4v4 players. There's also occasional lag spikes, and I've not managed to get in a game with more than '2 latency bars'. Which is probably around 150-200 ping. So yeah, multiplayer is soo boring compared to other cod games. It cant match the 32v32 action from call of duty 4. Hardcore mode is not available right away, you have to unlock it. Big let down of a game and over hyped. If your one of those people who just buys games because other people do, then go for it. Otherwise, spend your money elsewhere and stick to call of duty 4. Expand
  85. Dan
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    9v9, no dedicated servers, pay for maps/DLC's, $60 dollars, steam is a must. They will learn what microsoft with PC LIVE(used to also cost money for pc) and EA learned. Wont buy for even $10 if they dont fix it.
  86. AndrejM
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    No custom maps No mods No tweaking No dedicated servers No playing higher then 9v9 Higher pings Harsh DRM(Steam) No community Shorter single player from CoD4 No competitive play Forced hosting $10 extra price Don't even waste your time, critic reviews are paid.
  87. GabrielA
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Screw you IW, this piece of trash wasn't even worth torrenting. No way in hell am I giving you 100 dollars for a game without dedicated servers, and with only 4 hours of game play. You guys dropped the effing ball, and you ought to be ashamed.
  88. KotepJ
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Single player was decent, but short. Multiplayer is literally a step back, and a big one--one would expect with a game that should stand in its multiplayer, you would want to make it as good as possible, but the response to that opinion has been 'we don't care, you'll take it and you'll like it'. My tip for anyone: don't give into the hype. The only problem Single player was decent, but short. Multiplayer is literally a step back, and a big one--one would expect with a game that should stand in its multiplayer, you would want to make it as good as possible, but the response to that opinion has been 'we don't care, you'll take it and you'll like it'. My tip for anyone: don't give into the hype. The only problem is that if you're conscientious enough to listen to me, you're probably not going to be buying MW2 in the first place. Expand
  89. JamieN
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    I must say that this game is too short, it took me 4 hours to complete, which isn't good. The campaign had nothing explained by the bad guy at the end, and you just throw a knife at his face and then you get dragged off to the credits WHICH YOU CANNOT SKIP. Then I decided to play the Online, which didn't even work and demanded that I change my Router settings, which ain't I must say that this game is too short, it took me 4 hours to complete, which isn't good. The campaign had nothing explained by the bad guy at the end, and you just throw a knife at his face and then you get dragged off to the credits WHICH YOU CANNOT SKIP. Then I decided to play the Online, which didn't even work and demanded that I change my Router settings, which ain't going to happen. And the game mucked up my desktop resolution and didn't change it back, so my desktop was completely messed up too. The Game also caused my decent computer to have 3 hardware restarts, even though I was playing the game on Normal settings like I did with Cod4, but the game looked even worse. Even Treyarch did a better job than this. Expand
  90. JasonL
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    seriously, the decision to take out dedicated server and lower the player to less then 20 in multiplayer mode is a very "SMART" decision. Since it helped my save $60 for other stuff that i liked. God bless you, IW, for helping me save my money!
  91. CallumS
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    omg, first of all the campaign is alright. But i bought this game for epic multiplayer but thats it's weak point! full of hackers and abusers. servers where also very laggy. I want a refund, seriously. For MP get Battlefield: Bad Company 2. if u want a decent single player experience buy this but i bought it for multiplayer.
  92. ReizoY
    Nov 11, 2009
    3
    As good as the game is on graphics and gameplay, the single player is far too short for an increased price. Lack of dedicated servers makes multiplayer tough especially for those who have their P2P ports blocked (Like me since I'm using university connection).
  93. MelissaH
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    This is a straight console port with NO DEDICATED SERVERS, NO MODS, 4 hours SP, NO LEAN, NO LAN and only 9 vs 9 players! To top it off it is $10 more expensive than the console version... Wait until Battlefield Bad Company 2 comes out and play a real game instead!!
  94. Keith
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    It's a generic shooting game, with poor controls. Sadly enough it's a step back when compared to Modern Warfare. They striped out on a lot of the features to make it easier and cheaper to make, then sell it for higher. No lean, no dedicated servers. if your host is laggy, it ruins the game for everyone. Plus the host will have a ping advantage, so if he lags he can easily obtain It's a generic shooting game, with poor controls. Sadly enough it's a step back when compared to Modern Warfare. They striped out on a lot of the features to make it easier and cheaper to make, then sell it for higher. No lean, no dedicated servers. if your host is laggy, it ruins the game for everyone. Plus the host will have a ping advantage, so if he lags he can easily obtain victory with no damage done to him. Expand
  95. AmyV
    Nov 11, 2009
    4
    Well, let's see. I got the PC version. All that talk about no dedicated servers, forced 9v9, etc. wasn't a huge deal to me. Locking the field of view and banning mods and developer console seemed like a dick move, but given the loss of dedicated servers, it made sense. Here's where it gets kind of hinky. I play more for the campaign than multiplayer, and I really Well, let's see. I got the PC version. All that talk about no dedicated servers, forced 9v9, etc. wasn't a huge deal to me. Locking the field of view and banning mods and developer console seemed like a dick move, but given the loss of dedicated servers, it made sense. Here's where it gets kind of hinky. I play more for the campaign than multiplayer, and I really wasn't that impressed with MW2. The story was just BORING. I guess people like that whole everyone-is-an-evil-villain-including-you angle? I don't know. If you ask me, making a game's story not fun, even under the pretenses of "War shouldn't BE fun it's grim and dark and bad", seems like a bad idea The airport scene was a snoozefest. Once you get past the "oh no I am killing the innocent peopels THIS IS SO CONTROVERSIAL AND MORALLY QUESITONABLE" part? It's just a boring level. Killing people that don't shoot back and rent-a-cops with riot shields wasn't challenging, and if it weren't for the slaughtering-innocents controversy play, I don't see why it'd even be in there. But the rest of the stages were no better, -maybe- about as good as MW1, but just barely. Ignoring the ridiculous story, gameplay's not even a little improved. The snowbike scene was fun, and that's about it. Multiplayer's a joke. Matchmaking guarantees you're met up with people that'll wreck you in about twenty seconds, so unless you're omghax good, it's impossible to level up. The ability to order an air strike once you have 20 kills is usually just the screw-you flavor ice cream on top of the Rape Pie noobs are guaranteed to get the first time they log on, and the second time, and the third time... Not recommended to anyone. At all. Just play MW1 again. Expand
  96. RickD
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    When things like dedicated servers, a developer console, mods, and matches above 9v9 are taken out of the game I don't know what they expect us to pay $10 above retail for. Maybe it's for the mouse support, or on screen text chat...yeah.
  97. HomerS
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    SPECULAR piece of crap! No dedicate servers, no mod support, p2p sucks for PC, but at least we get mouse support? +1 for installing and having mouse & keyboard support -9 for everything else, including NO MONITOR support (fixed field of view). Consoles held this game back way too much.
  98. KevinL
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Single-player was pretty epic, but multi is DREADED horrid. I can find connections and play fine, but this is a HUGE step down from what PC online gaming is normally like.. I'm not even gonna list the obvious disadvantages that have been debated so much already..it just sucks. The 5-hr single-player does not justify $60 (even though its awesome) and don't even get me started on Single-player was pretty epic, but multi is DREADED horrid. I can find connections and play fine, but this is a HUGE step down from what PC online gaming is normally like.. I'm not even gonna list the obvious disadvantages that have been debated so much already..it just sucks. The 5-hr single-player does not justify $60 (even though its awesome) and don't even get me started on multiplayer... I'm glad I rented it from gamefly just for the single-player. will NOT be buying this, and none of you should either... Expand
  99. SimonC
    Nov 12, 2009
    2
    The 2 is for the Character Models wich look pretty cool. and the 8 points that are missing... well as you've probably read in other reviews. What the hell is happening with PC gameing? Im back to playing Counter Strike soon. lets all hope that DICE's new game Bad Company 2 lives up to their hype. atleast theyr guna have Beta tests and Demo for us to try before they sell the shit The 2 is for the Character Models wich look pretty cool. and the 8 points that are missing... well as you've probably read in other reviews. What the hell is happening with PC gameing? Im back to playing Counter Strike soon. lets all hope that DICE's new game Bad Company 2 lives up to their hype. atleast theyr guna have Beta tests and Demo for us to try before they sell the shit to us. Infinity Ward and Codemasters (if u missed the utter crap game Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising) SHAME ON YOU! Expand
  100. SF
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    The single player is 5 hours long, which is far too short for the asking price of $60 - it really didn't live up to the massive hype machine surrounding it. So, with the single player campaign over in a night, why don't we try some of this multi-player? Well, considering IW decided to strip out all aspects of the PC version which seperates it from the console version, the The single player is 5 hours long, which is far too short for the asking price of $60 - it really didn't live up to the massive hype machine surrounding it. So, with the single player campaign over in a night, why don't we try some of this multi-player? Well, considering IW decided to strip out all aspects of the PC version which seperates it from the console version, the multi-player really suffers. No way of reviewing your latency, excluding a bar - so it's completely useless unless you're guessing. Host mitigation occured often, with the new host having a clear advantage. And the default FOV is locked at 65, which I can't play games at due to motion sickness. I need a FOV of 90. But IW removed the ability to have a console. So I can't edit such a simple system preference. Most anticipated game? Check. Most expensive game? Check. Totally not worth buying? Check. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.