Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6077 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Modern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. An entirely new gameplay mode which supports 2-player co-operative play online that is unique from the single player story campaign. Special Ops pits players into a gauntlet of time-trial and objective-based missions. Rank-up as players unlock new Special Ops missions, each more difficult. Missions include highlights from the single player campaign, fan favorites from Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and all new, exclusive missions. Setting a new bar for online multiplayer, Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer delivers new capabilities, customization, gamestates and modes, including: Create-a-Class Evolved. Secondary Weapons - Machine Pistols, Shotguns, Handguns, Launchers. Riot Shields. Equipment - Throwing Knives, Blast Shield, Tactical Insertion. Perk Upgrades. Bling (Dual Attachments). Customizable Killstreaks - AC130, Sentry Gun, Predator Missile, Counter-UAV, Care Package. Accolades (Post match reports). [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next CoD is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here.
  2. With the music of Hans Zimmer and the cinematic scenes, you're sucked into the game and spit out after you’re done. The single player is rather short. It will take you about six hours to beat the game, but you get an intense and memorable ride the entire time. The game seems to be a little scripted, but it isn’t annoying for everyone. The multiplayer isn’t annoying at all. You can play for hundreds of hours without being bored. The Spec Ops mode extends that with fun for two. If you ever played a shooter and liked it, buy this game!
  3. I don’t know what to say … simply brilliant!
  4. The surprise factor of the first Modern Warfare is missing and the PC version is by far the worst in the PS3, X360 and PC trio. This new Call of Duty iteration exceeds every expectation with its off-line mode, but loses its place among the best shooters of this year because of its poorly designed and badly executed multiplayer.
  5. A true video-game equivalent of a Jerry Bruckheimer/Michael Bay action movie. The singleplayer is engaging while it lasts, but the game's true value lies in the multiplayer. The online matches are fast, fun and highly addictive. [Nov 2010]
  6. An impressive shooter with a high degree of polish, but as a PC game it has taken a step back. [Issue#28, p.45]
  7. If you told me three months ago we would be suggesting PC gamers hold off on buying Modern Warfare 2 I would have thought you're crazy. But if you are buying this game mainly for multiplayer - especially if you're contemplating serious competitive play at a high level - that's exactly what we're saying. The single player story is great, and if your idea of multiplayer is a quick zap with mates maybe an hour or two a week then by all means - it's great for your purposes. However if you're a Counterstrike, Battlefield, ETQW or even a COD4 player looking for a serious competitive platform to move to - best wait. Wait and see if Infinity Ward can implement dedicated server support.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    MW2 is a masterpiece, The best FPS EVER MADE! I have spent over 1000+ hours on this game it's absolutely amazing nothing more to say if you want a fast pasted action military shooter THIS is the game for you! Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Amazing part 2.Beautifull crafted wide array of weapons posibility of choosing your way non-stop action great comrades ai.Varied battlefields medium-long campaign.even the firs test in which you shoot targets is exciting.the story is ok and the final blow me away.PRICE.10 Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Modern Warfare 2, while no doubt being a good game, is not nearly as good as Modern Warfare. The campaign was extremely good and very fun with some jaw dropping moments such as the invasion of Washington DC. The graphics are truly amazing with events such as said invasion of Washington DC looking hellish and very real with recognizable monuments such as the Washington Monument and the White House being partly destroyed. The multiplayer which, oddly enough, is the main attraction, is very fun, I found it extremely unbalanced at times and plagued with glitches. The new weapons, attachments, and perks made it much more fun. While not at the same level as say, Half Life 2, it still is a great game. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2011
    6
    A major disappointment, mainly for the removal of dedicated servers and for adding to powerful killstreaks and unbalanced perks, not to mention that unlike its predecessor there is no longer any possibility of creating mods or maps for the PC version.

    While it does not live up to the legacy of COD4, the singleplayer was quite epic - unlike the multiplayer.
    Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2011
    4
    I bought this game on the strength of CoD4, a very strong very gripping well made story with good gameplay mechanics and multiplayer that was balanced with the added bonus of having few people running under maps or hacking my credit card details.

    Long story short, THAT was a very good game!

    Now I do have some good memories of the campaign.....but there are only a few missions I fully liked, all of which were the American Invasion ones - they were cool, the rest were crap. The whole story idea didn't make much sense although it did look pretty whilst it played out it's retarded story fantasy. Controversy was very weak sauce, they could've done a helluva lot worse with it, I'll be honest, and I completed the game in the space of time it took for the night-vision goggles which came with the expensive version to break (and they broke FAST!)

    I tried to play spec ops but having all my friends decide to live on the multiplayer i didn't get much fun from it till I played with one of my thin friends, which was kinda fun.

    The multiplayer was absolutely terrible, and it's not just because I'm sh*t at multiplayer pitched against my fellow man as oppose to the pants-on-head retarded AI the game houses, no from a very early stage I realised that I was probably the oldest person on that server and spent most of my time annoying 8-year olds, which to anyone who's done it is fun, but you can't help but feel bad about it. Kinda like when a Frisbee hits an old lady in the face.

    Where was I? Oh yeah. The guns are grossly out-balanced, the perks are stupid and I think I offended my friend who I will not name to protect his identity.

    So anyway my friend Padda was boasting to me about his endless stream of nukes which seem to only turn people into funny ragdolls and not level a map like they'd do in Bad Company 2, and the only people who cared were all the other CoD fanboys players sounded like they were being turned on by the thought of a throbbing nuke pounding them and I'm digressing here.

    Anyway, MW2 wasn't a great game but it's very very good when used as a door stopper...or a cup coaster.
    Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2012
    2
    I want to start this review with a quote from the FMX 2009 speaker from R&D Activision in terms of "Creating Realism in Games": "Today it is impossible to create realism in games as you need 2.000.000 polygons to model a realistic human face. But yes: gameplay is king!"
    +++
    Looking back at MW1, having a well told story with realistic motivations in its characters, MW2 has a quite more fictional story with Russia invading the USA over night with helicopters -- nice defenses there! The game has some cool moments, but in terms of gameplay -- which is king BTW -- the game kills you off. It is quite ridiculous trying the hardest part of a mission dozens of times as you die from enemy gunfire having to restart from a checkpoint 1.000 bullets past and then getting shot by teammates NOT ONLY ONCE!!! The game might use this to tell some motivations but I wonder where is the (sorry) f***ing difference between you dying there or one meter past!?
    +++
    Another ridiculous thing are quicktime events, where you can feel where a Wii player has his moments. Yet again you are unable to open doors while you have to do all the blowing up and pushing forward stuff. Some missions are more or less a shooting gallery: "Go there! Pick up that! Shoot this! Now go over there!" If I want to play something like that, I'd return to Serious Sam....
    +++
    Level design also very "interesting" if take your time and look around: There is not a single ladder or stairs up those roofs or no second door to a room enemies continuous keep coming at you -- no tents either....
    +++
    For the multiplayer most issues have been mentioned (matchmaking, cheaters, no voting, etc.). What CoD multiplayer always was is a team game. Here players are not only scattered on the map and randomly respawned behind some enemy (and vice versa) -- adding random deaths -- plus having no more ingame communication -- voice chat was the first to turn off as any kiddy used it as ingame radio broadcast for bad music.
    Killstreak rewards are flooding the tiny maps making it impossible to play without several perks you need to unlock first. Here it is playing, failing and leveling up until you are able to play the game as it was meant to be -- or at least stand a chance.
    After all I had fun with the game with a group of friends playing the game to play as an entire team. Still in case of cheaters all had to leave the server and retry, joining the same guy again!
    +++
    All in all this game is more frustrating than being fun. But always remember: "Gameplay is king!"
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2010
    0
    Call of duty MW 2 was the game that made me never to install an infinity ward game on my computer ever again. Now the single player story in MW 2 is okej but I like Modern warfare for its multiplayer. Which they manage to ruin in MW 2 here are some of the greatest points which made it rubbish 1.No dedicated servers, no need to say why this was a bad move.

    2.To many automatic shooting weapons, the only thing I was annoyed with in MW 1 was the chopper but it was manageable but its to much in MW 2 with 2 choppers one harrier and one automatic sentery can't ppl get frags on there own anymore?

    3.The chopper gunner and the AC-130 they were pretty cool when you first get to see them in the game but then you realize it was super easy with them I mean huge squeres where ppl are so you dont have to look around for your self where ppl are.

    4.there is no anti cheat, if you get a cheater on the server ther is no way to get rid of him unless you leave the server and join another, but here comes the funny part everytime i left a server becuse of a cheater and then join another server i always get send back to the same server becuse no dedicated server system so I hade to choose another game mode.

    5.We have to pay new maps, xbox players can buy with game points and we pc gamers have to pay 14 bucks?!

    6.Its a real noob game, I mean there is no challange the weapons are so easy to use.

    7.Prestige mode, it was okej 2-3 times but 10 times now that is just a desperate atempt to keep the game alive in the baddest boring. But most of the times you dont have to play so much becuse most of the times you end up on a hacked server which gives you an XP boost which makes level 70 right away.


    These are just the ones I can think of right now there are probobly more but they are enough for me to never play another Infinity ward or trayarch game ever becuse they have totaly backstabed us PC gamers with there no dedicated servers. So now I have started play Bad Company 2 and its great. 0.0
    Expand

See all 1299 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics

    The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics Image
    Published: May 4, 2011
    The release of Portal 2 exposed a divide between game critics and users. While that title's user scores have rebounded, others haven't. We take a look at the games with the biggest score differentials between professional reviewers and gamers.