Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 PC

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Dec 5, 2011
    70
    MW3 lives up to the already cemented reputation of the Call of Duty series; however, it appears to be almost like an expensive DLC for Black Ops.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    Modern Warfare 3 does not crown one dramatic story with pride. A campaign is more or less a relict of an old engine and design flaws mainly that are successfully selling as a trademark. Its ranking is saved once again by its multiplayer that brings just a single style of gameplay. However, it does its job and entertains those gamers, who are fine with it.
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    I can understand why Modern Warfare 3 has changed so little in the last four years, given that so much money is resting upon its shoulders, but that doesn't make this developmental stasis any more forgivable.
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    62
    Call of Duty is not just an annual assembly-line product; it's now a digital opposite of imagination, originality and reason.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    55
    Modern Warfare 3 is ultimately a zero sum game when compared to its predecessors, and the only deciding factor is the disappointing amount of time it's taken to change precisely nothing...Or, in other words: M'eh.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]
User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I pre-ordered both BF3 and MW3, trying not to be a fanboy to either in this comparison.

    BF3 isn't perfect but MW3 is a complete joke,
    I pre-ordered both BF3 and MW3, trying not to be a fanboy to either in this comparison.

    BF3 isn't perfect but MW3 is a complete joke, especially on PC. If you are even thinking about MW3 on PC, forget it, just buy MW1 or Black Ops and have at least a 10x better experience. No ranked dedicated servers? Check. No adjustable FOV? Check. No real innovation from MW2? Check.

    I'm not really one to care about graphics, but MW3's graphics are just laughable considering this is 2011. Comparing MW3 graphics to BF3 graphics is like comparing speed between a 1990 Neon and a 2012 Bugatti Veyron. BF3 gets huge props for their innovation in this department.

    Audio is even worse than graphics. As another poster pointed out, the guns literally sound like paintball or BB gun. Again, a joke when compared with BF3 which makes huge innovations here again.

    MW3 does have a much better campaign than BF3 though, and BF3's SP was disappointing considering what they could have done with all the new tech. Not sure how long MW3's campaign is though as I haven't finished it yet.

    Post-launch support from DICE has already been fantastic, and they do truly listen to the community on changes. I remember in BFBC2 Beta, I had an issue specific to my PC relating to low CPU usage, and I got an email from a dev who personally worked with me to resolve it. This fix was including with the final game. I don't have a lot of experience with Activision, but from what I've heard the only post-launch support they give is in paid DLC's.

    Overall, BF3 is definitely worth $60 where MW3 is definitely not worth $60.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Just another cash in of a tired old franchise. Re-releasing a video game every year and making millions is just a slap in the face to realJust another cash in of a tired old franchise. Re-releasing a video game every year and making millions is just a slap in the face to real developers who actually take the time to make a decent video game, with a good engine, great online, and a good story. Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have bought every copy of COD since COD 4 - after playing MW2, i stopped playing cod all togther. When black ops came out, i thought eh, illI have bought every copy of COD since COD 4 - after playing MW2, i stopped playing cod all togther. When black ops came out, i thought eh, ill give it was 2nd try. I played the game maybe for 2 weeks. Never even thought of looking up this game. tested it out at my buddies place and saw that game has not changed since MW2. Same old run and gun. The skillcap is so low that anyone can get the highest kill streaks. Guns sound like a hammer hitting wood. 1/10. Sorry that so many ppl will buy this though. Sorry, Activision but you won't get my money this time around. Full Review »