User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5406 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    Who wants to spend $60 on a copied video game? It's the same thing as the previous Call Of Duties. The engine is the same, the graphics are outdated, the only thing kind of new is the campaign, but it's still pretty much the same boring garbage. If you want something better, get BF3, it has a ton of better elements. Oh and now they are creating COPIED dlc, nice way to copy and paste and make millions. Earned your respect: NOT Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    Absolute worst game I have ever bought. I would rather have a baby **** on my face then have to deal with playing this bull****. Activision should be sued. Burn it down! Burn it down! Burn it down! And **** soap!
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    6
    Well mates, I'm not going to judge MW3 on the basis of how extra-ordinary Bf3 may or may not be (I'm a BF3 man myself, though ;P). I'd much rather view the game as it was meant to be: standing on it's own two feet. If there's one thing I'm not, It's a CoD kiss-up. MW3, has so much to discuss.
    The Single-Player, like pretty much every CoD game for me at least, has been pretty darn great. I
    sincerely enjoyed the story they gave me. It was quite captivating, and certain scenes in the campaign almost had me to the point of tears. Coming on to multi-player, that was fun. You can really have a blast when your playing with friends and, whether you're screwing around or playing dead-serious, it can be memorable. Especially when crazy **** happens. However, as many others may have pointed out, in this technologically advanced time, a certain amount of innovation is expected. People would eventually get tired of a tweak of Modern Warfare's multiplayer, and I believe IW failed to realise this. And, due to the fierce competition other titles offered it this year, I'm quite glad people came to their senses, and called out CoD for how it failed to provide a new experience. I don't know if the engine is even worth mentioning :P Anyone with half a brain can comprehend that this is, in no way, a realistic shooter. Considering it one is testament to idiocy. The graphics are God-awful, with barely any change from MW2. And the sound.............I shudder even thinking about it. So, as a game, though it's not bad, it has wayyyyyy to much to work on. And, until that happens, I must say: Sorry Activision, you just gave me Modern Warfare again. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    Worst game ever. I DONT RECOMMEND THIS GAME TO ANYONE. this game is the most repetitive trash game out there. MP7 is the most OP gun in the game, as usual, using this gun renders almost EVERY GUN useless. cod4 is the only cod out there. mw2 and "mw2.1" is trash. i cant believe this game was even close to hyped up, its so bad. hackers, laggers, retarded killstreaks... COD is such a dead game, i dont get why people still play this trash Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    0
    Horrible. The campaign is very repetitive with mostly just firefights, I get very excited whenever you do something that ISN'T a firefight that includes just guys with guns. Multiplayer is just as bad. I say "MW3 multiplayer is addicting as crap but it IS crap". The guns are really unbalanced. It's unfair how IW gives us DLC a month later. You're only happy with it if you're doing well. The maps have camping spots. They say they got rid of bad perks, and they do! But they add another that's just as bad. Just like CoD usually is, the multiplayer is infected with little kids. DO NOT buy this game. I warn you now, Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    0
    This is the only game I loathe with all of my being. I bought it to play with my friends after having loved MW1 (on PC) for many years, playing MW2 (also on PC) with my friends and enjoying it and even some Black Ops on 360.
    The graphics are horrible, they look like a blurry cross between MW1 and MW2. The game play is the most annoying I have ever seen and will probably ever see. You die
    before you hear your enemies shoot and sometimes even before you see them. You're gun shoots, you hear the shot, you die immediately after that and yet your last shot didn't fire. Why in that case would it bother making the sound of the gun firing? I quit the game for 3 months, came back to try playing with friends, and can't even stand to play a full game. Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    5
    I used to be a CoD fan.
    Unfortunately, Activision is abusing my trust.
    They have released essentially the same game three times, with different textures and slightly new guns
    You may say "Why fix what isn't broke?" It is still a fun game, with aspects of which show the light of being a series as refined as CoD.
    The campaign is still decent, the multiplayer excellent especially with
    friends and spec ops is always great.
    MW3 is a good game, but it has to be rated less because it is the same as previous CoD's
    If you want a quick, fun, shoot-fest then CoD: MW3 is your best bet, if you want something with more depth than a spoon, consult Valve
    Expand
  8. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    Okay this game series has turned to just becoming a mindless shooter after COD: WaW. I mean the whole franchise is just extremely milked. If ANYTHING has the words "Call of Duty" on it, it seems that it becomes famous and sells hundreds of copies.
  9. Jul 16, 2012
    3
    All I will say is that I am glad I bought this game in the sale for £19.99. The story is rubbish, the levels are boring and the game feels like it should have been a DLC pack for MW2. The multiplayer is not as much fun as MW2. I feel sorry for anyone suckered in enough to buy this at full price. Hmm, come to think of it, I am mad with myself for spending £20 on the game!!
  10. Jul 16, 2012
    0
    This game is very unfavorable to me. First off, There's almost nothing changed. To me it feels like a rehash of the last game. All changes there are is new maps, new guns. Nothing else really.. Make it better next time!
  11. Jul 17, 2012
    0
    I played through CoD 4 until CoD Black ops, and i borrowed MW3 from a friend. I can't believe how a developer dares to recycle the same thing every single year, and still people buy it. The only good thing you can expect from CoD is the zombies mode, which is not featured in any of infinity ward's games.
  12. Oct 24, 2013
    1
    I like though Chickens and rice but i like m2 beeter
    a;lksd la;sdjhflahsl;djh;lkasdfhl;asdhflk.ashdflkjashdf.lhasdhfhljkasdhflkjasdlhflsdkldfhsfalksdfhaslkdfasdhlkdfhaslkdjflaksdj
  13. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    I honestly don't understand why there is so much hate for this game. That's not to say that it's amazing, but I wasn't really disappointed. The single player plot is pretty bland for being SO over-the-top, but if you don't think about it too much, it's fun to play. My favorite part has got to be the single player survival mode: it provides countless hours of additional gameplay with plenty of challenge. MW3 continues the trend of being basically a multiplayer game with a short campaign and some extras thrown in, but at this point I can't complain: you know what you're getting. Expand
  14. Jan 14, 2013
    7
    Easily the worst COD game Ive ever played, Boring and uninspiring campaign, One of the worst PC ports for a shooter(feels like a last min port), And the game looks and feels like MW2, Least its got an addictive multiplier, and the characters feel alive( Not wooden)
  15. Jul 25, 2012
    0
    5 hours of single player game play for $60.00... WTF this amounts to DLC content for whole hog prices... great cinematics and wonderful voice acting, but the most boring, tedious, and soulless game I've had the displeasure of playing with cheat ridden multi-player content.
  16. Aug 4, 2012
    5
    Typical COD game, fast paced action-run and gun. Controls are easy, smooth, and addicting, like always. Story, yes there is a story, it's a continuation from the previous two games, but it's just an excuse to make the game flow, nothing spectacular or memorable. Graphics maybe a bit better that in MW2, overall quite nice, no lagging on the PC version. For me it lasted 5 hours tops, great afternoon fun. Expand
  17. Aug 8, 2012
    4
    After playing this game on the xbox360, I only played Multiplayer on PC, therefore I am giving the rating on that, the connection is just as bad as the connection you generally get on Xbox360, unless you play on the dedicated servers, which actually only play as 'private matches' which aren't ranked, this + the review I gave for the xbox360 version.
  18. Aug 8, 2012
    2
    franchement j'ai était déçu ! un moteur graphique super vieux et réutilisé depuis cod 4. pour quand allons nous avoir quelque chose qui soit a la hauteur de bf3et bientot bf4 ? il serai Temp de se bougé car ses du grand n'importe quoi surtout que Activision va jusqu'à quémander des meilleur score au joueur sur meta critique.
  19. Aug 12, 2012
    0
    Poor graphics and hacker fested matches made me quit after the few time i tried playing. Activision doesn't have a clue this has been an issue with the series and developer is nothing but money hungry. Dont waste your money Black Ops 2 looks more of the same **** graphics, but people or kids must have low IQ's. Activision supports the gang minded punk kids and probally supports the site's that sell the cheat and hacks. I hope Activision goes bankrupt someday as well as other companies who support's players and sites that ruin good games. Expand
  20. Aug 24, 2012
    0
    This game is terrible. Honestly, I had hope for this game, I really did. I liked World at War, loved Black Ops, but never really liked the Modern Warfare series. I thought they became more **** as they went along. I saw MW3 as a final, redeeming factor for Sledgehammer Games. And wouldn't ya know it, they screwed themselves 3 ways to Tuesday with a 12 foot pole. Story was never that good to begin with, but now it's just "Kill these guys because you have been for the last 2 **** games, wouldn't want any good plot change or something GOOD". Or, as I like to call it "Shoot the minorities". Multiplayer is just a waste of time. All people to is spam the most OP guns and then rant abount how good they are. Spec Ops is ok at best, hardlly a redeaming factor. Overall, buy MW1. It's $40 less and it's light years better than this game. Expand
  21. Sep 14, 2012
    3
    The game is good, but it's ruined by the idiotic community, most likely all the battlefield and other rival named games who come in just to ruin this game, They abuse Activision + Infinity ward's idiotic idea's of using the Valve's Steam system as the anticheat, which everyone knows does not work and just supports cheating in games. So the major problem with the game is its good, but the cheaters ruin it to hell. Expand
  22. Oct 13, 2012
    5
    fun game when ur not playing with hackers. 3/5 games. its 2012 and completely ridiculous that hackers still exist in a game like this. lets see.. its been over a year and its still $60.. countless dlc for $15 bucks which usually contains like 2 maps. and they dont care about the game once its out. sounds like EA has had a hand in this LOL gg guys.
  23. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Great game. Interesting story and good multiplayer. Always loved the game from Infinity Ward. I hope that the next part of the Modern Warfare franchise will only get better
  24. Oct 25, 2012
    4
    the game is repetitive and annoying. all the critic reviews are paid and this isnt what people should be getting from a company that makes billions. f
  25. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    The reviewers and metacritic were paid off to make MW3 look good. First of all, the "User score distribution" doesn't even show the ratings. See how it says 0, 0, 0? Blatant bribing. This game is nowhere near "99% Perfection," the graphics are the exact same as MW2, if not worse. The game just looks bland and dull, nothing about it is fun. It brings nothing new to the table but 3 killstreak modes.. and what else? I'm 1st prestige on the multiplayer. I've put 40 hours into this game, and I deeply regret it. It's brought me nothing but rage. Expand
  26. Oct 2, 2012
    5
    When I first brought Modern Warfare 3 and played it, I very much enjoyed it but as time went on I got more and more bored of it, the reasoning why is because it
  27. Oct 6, 2012
    0
    Really, REALLY horrible game, old and dusty multiplayer, crappy 4 hr. campaign, basically MW2 repackaged, which was COD4 repackaged, lacks any originality.
  28. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I do not know why are people hating on this game..Oh wait I do know why are people hating..cuz about 95% who gave negative reviews are little battlefield 3 fanboys..ok lets cut to the chase..the campaign is short...really short but almost nobody played the campaign all to the end...cuz everybody plays the multiplayer and thats the important thing.. Its kinda similar to mw2 and graphics arent as good a bf3 but the gameplay is good its almost the same as the old counter strike 1.6 the graphics were bad but the game had a really fun mp gameplay..but there is a really big problem as in every multiplayer game and that are CHEATERS... Expand
  29. Oct 26, 2012
    0
    My advice is find another game to play the COD managers are only interested in ripping us gamers off.
    MW3 at the moment is full of hackers and this game will only get the same treatment as MW3 so id advise u get another game and save ur cash.
    Personaly id like all people who are into COD games like myself to boycot any COD game till activision and IW get their fingers out their backsides
    and fix the problems of the games first. Expand
  30. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Single player is good but not the best, i tough it was better. Spec ops is really nice, it is big fun with friends. The multiplayer is full of hackers, the CoD support is bad, they will make their work better. Next bad is akimbo and overpowered guns, I hate FMG9 akimbo, it's too strong, but other guns is better, graphics is bad, it needs more work on it, maps is good, I like lockdown, because it's map from Czech republic and I live here, best is hardhat and dome for me, but maps like downturn, interchange etc. is really bad. MW3 is good game, but can be better, I hope the MW4 will be better.(sorry for bad english, im not best in this language) -Tukan Expand
  31. Oct 29, 2012
    0
    So how many times is the main stream gaming community going to spend a ridiculous amount of money on the same game, in a different setting, with different weapons? just look at graphical comparisons and gameplay mechanics from the previous games, its amazing how they look almost identical and play almost identically! c'mon people the game doesn't even have a physics engine!
  32. Nov 2, 2012
    1
    If you want to spend your money on a good game, buy either Black Ops or MW2. Full of campers and hackers, lame singleplayer, full of bugs, blurry graphics and sounds of Airsoft guns. It's what this game is. MW2 for noobs. Since MW2, CoD has begun going worse and worse...
  33. Nov 1, 2012
    0
    Three things:
    *Infinity ward broke the online matching system on Modern Warfare 2, thus "forcing" you to buy MWF3 to play the same game. Ripoff.
    * IT'S TRUE! They have copied everything from past games. Ripoff.
    * It's full of cheaters!
  34. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    Disgusted with the latest COD games, in SP you have more and longer cut scenes instead of fighting.. One of the worst games I played, I can't even connect to the MP servers cause my ping is so high BUT when i play any other COD except for any of the MW series, the MP works great. I'm giving this game a: 0
  35. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    I preodered mw3 hoping it would be good since mw2 but i was a bit disappointed with the game. It was pretty obvious that this game wasnt created by infinity ward.I dont there was any good missions in the campaign and there wasnt any good multiplayer maps.
  36. Nov 16, 2012
    1
    Ever since mw2, the COD franchise has been a complete pile of steamy **** I don't see any real improvements in gameplay. Essentially the same game over and over... And over, just painted a different picture every time. That's why I'm such a battlefield fan, because every time, the improvements blow my mind. That's something to keep paying for.
  37. Nov 22, 2012
    0
    I played half of the first campaign level and became bored instantly, so cliche and same old graphics and effects. a few games of multiplayer were okay, so similar to mw2... how can they resell this and put a 3 on the end?? it's basically a map pack for mw2! i've been a diehard cod fan since cod 1 but this is rubbish, activision know they just need a successive number to earn big money
  38. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    Full cheaters here, and Activision dont make nothing about it!. And Activision dont make nothing about it!. That is very sad. That is 60 buck to the trash!
  39. Nov 30, 2012
    5
    I pre-ordered MW3 back then only because I wanted to know what was going to happen to Markov. I don't play multiplayer mode. The single player campaign has no innovation, and parts of the storyline and character are ridiculous. This is a disappointment to the franchise.
  40. Dec 9, 2012
    2
    I can honestly say that this game was the biggest **** You to the face to all the fans of the COD franchise. I cannot find any positive about this game and this is clear evidence Infinity Ward doesn't give the slightest **** about their customers and especially on PC. Poorly coded game, every second game flooded with hackers, no ranked dedicated servers, and the game engine that has been same since cod 4. I'm not a graphic whore but the graphics and especially the gun sounds are damn joke considering it's ****ing 2011. Plus the support package along with deathstreaks? I cannot belive they put this **** to reward the bad players. How lovely it is to get killstreak ruined by 3 stealth bombers and emps in a single game or a player using final stand which was asked to be taken out since mw2. BO2 is the last chance for me and if it sucks I'm never coming back to COD again. Expand
  41. Apr 1, 2013
    1
    Just another COD game. Bad, unneeded campaign that most people won't even play, because they're too busy on Multiplayer or Zombies. Both of which are filled with annoying children who don't know what they're doing. All it is, the entire game, mindless shooting. You WILL get the SAME EXPERIENCE every time you play the god damn game. And there is no more skill involved than in that of peeling a banana. Some people may like that, but I don't. I guarantee you, the only reason the Metascore is so low on this game is because everyone who loves it are too stupid to find out how to start a Metacritic account, or too naive to know that this even exists. Expand
  42. Dec 24, 2012
    8
    Хорошая игра в серии,не понимаю,за что ее раскритиковали
  43. Jan 5, 2013
    1
    Terrible, there is nothing about good about MW3 AND ITS $60! There is a terrible campaign, bugs in multi-player, poor graphics and awful voicing. And i thought that MW2 was bad!
  44. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    First of all the graphics are not so good for game that came out in 2011.Really bad campaign which lasts only 2-3 hours in the lowest difficulties and ok we have a multiplayer with a big playerbase but the multiplayer is just laughable really bad maps in the base game(you can find some good maps in the DLCs which are really overpriced),and in my opinion mw3 multiplayer maps could easily be a mw2 map pack.The only part of the game that i have fun with was survival which i had fun for some hours,the game clearly is overpriced for what it has to offer so i recommend you previous games of the franchise like MW,MW2 and BO.MW3 is really a bad choice.3/10 Expand
  45. May 18, 2013
    0
    pure crap. after years of using the same outdated engine, enemy AIs still freeze in place, campaign glitches and nothing has been fixed. multiplayer is just as bad, with every gun being so unbalanced.
  46. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    Call of Duty®: Modern Warfare® 3

    Being my first Call of Duty game, it was definitely fun... For that first 100 hours, despite me playing for almost 400+ hours on record. You might always here people whining and b*tching about it, but it was really a good game in overall. I still remembered playing it on my old laptop (AMD 6470m) that broke down not long ago, and it ran smoothly and had
    good visuals. However, the FoV feature not being added in the PC was really a distaste to player's mouths, but did not stop third party programs from arising and changing it for us.

    It certainly does deserve the rating, but of course the stories about the "LEGENDARY FMG-9" was real. And that thing really hurts a lot. All the pistols in the game was full-auto if i wasn't wrong and it is really a pain in the butt. Full auto WITH INCREDIBLY HIGH RoF.

    The best guns or every shooter game's "tryhard" weapon is of course the old Heckler & Koch MP7 as well as Remington ACR.

    If somebody were to ask me if it really deserves a high rating by critics on the PC, i can honestly say that the critics hadn't had enough time with the game yet.
    Expand
  47. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    I can understand why people have given low scores for this game. People just hate CoD series and want to lower his reputation. I have played +300 hours in that game's MP so far. And it does not bore me at all, actually. On the other hand, there are many cheater in Domination, TDM and Ground War game modes.
    Also "Mission" and "Survival" modes are 9/10. You can spend lots time with your
    pals.

    Overall, MP does not give different game playing than other CoD games and i recommend you to NOT to waste your money FOR BUYING DLCs.
    Expand
  48. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    Technically, graphics and netcode sucks, that's it. The sound looked good to me.
    Single player's gameplay and plot is mediocre, i'd say it doesn't worth to play it.
    Multiplayer: the death of competition. Also, don't understand why the game doesn't support servers! To prevent it from becoming better? The co-op, if it would have dedicated server, would had the possibility to be good. But
    often the lag ruins it (I ping 90-110 with other games, with this more than 160) Expand
  49. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Predecessor of MW2, MW3 is a next rung on the COD ladder, giving us access to more of the life Cpt. Soap as we continue on our quest to hunt down Makarov all within an action packed storyline to match. MW3 might have its downsides within the game such as the spawning system for its multiplayer in which I can be playing be killed only to be then shot 2 seconds after spawning again and its many bugs such as outpost wall-breaching glitch, this all adds to the thrill and adventure to the game-play or so I have found it that is.
    Developed by Infinity Ward, MW3 shows that IW really know what they’re doing when it comes to producing one hell of a game, just goes to show that you don’t need a huge development team to produce a game like MW3 unlike that of BO2. Which failed in comparison to MW3 as regards to feedback. We see a return to dedicated servers in MW3 whilst still providing us with the multiplayer lobbies we experienced in MW2 unlike that of BO1 which simply did multiplayer lobbies and no dedicated lobbies and BO2 which just did dedicated lobbies instead of multiplayer lobbies when will they learn to add both of them instead of 1 or the other.

    With dedicated servers in place MW3 brings the party, allowing players to experience MW3 like no other game before it, things like High Jump servers and Infected Shop servers bring even more action to the player that wants the thrill and adventure of a fire-fight in mid air or the exploring of new places within the maps. Like come on who doesn’t want to reach the Eiffel tower on Resistance? Cause I certainly want to, so what if I can’t get there fully it still adds to the fun of the game.

    Along with the main game of MW3 of course comes the ever increasing collection packs ranging from 1 to 4 these DLC’s offer new maps for players to dominate and master, new spec ops to blast through like the veterans they are.

    A new game mode hits the scene within the MW3 collection DLC’s, named Chaos mode; it says exactly what it does on the tin. In which players can either solo or blast it out with a friend through their favourite maps against a limitless amount of spawning enemies.

    Designed to test the player/player’s logical thinking, Chaos mode is the perfect mode for testing strategies/strength of the player. The amount of times I tried to get past 5 juggernauts all charging at me at once was very filling for my taste of adrenaline and thrill as I ran for my life like the coward I am.

    Overall I feel MW3 even with its ups and its downs is a 7/10 from me.
    Expand
  50. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    Still a bit unconcerned about if I have to hate the game after I got VAC banned for doing nothing. The cheat protection is as always. I get banned, real hackers hack on. Was the game better than part 2 which sucked hard also? I gonna say I think so. There are less too early Kill Streaks, more available ways to push out a camper and overall less and more known camper spots. To get to the Maps:

    16 maps 2 Little Team Maps together with MW2 map terminal (one of the few I liked) if you download a free DLC (probably the first and only in the franchise). Then some DLC maps I didnt buy because DLC buying for a firm like Activision sucks balls.

    I think three maps, Bakaara, Fallen and Seatown, are pretty well-made and fun to play (not counting in Terminal which is awesome as always, even better because of less weapons specialized on camping).

    In the opposite, three maps, Downturn, Carbon and Outpost are pretty damn bad.


    To end this quickly: If you a "modern" CoD except BO2 and MW2, which are even worse, then do not buy it. If you dont, give it a shot if you want. The cheat protection is getting better from what I have heard. My ban concerns me not to think so. But anyway, have a nice day.
    Expand
  51. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    graphics and AI are major downgrade after MW2
    story is very simple, predictable
    musics/effects feel like hitting kettle with spoon after MW2 with Hans Zimmer
  52. May 10, 2013
    0
    Lets start the story, first i love fps games, but since CS i stoped play. Last year I buy BF3 and CSGO, but I was willing some COD, becouse that franchise are so famous.

    This weak i play this game for free, and cant belive why people buy so much this game. The gameplay are horrible, the character moviment is a joke. The animations is like games from 10 years ago.

    The weapon is so
    artificial, Battlefield is so much professional than COD. COD has the worst fake gameplay ever. Dont buy this game just becouse that is famous. Expand
  53. May 23, 2013
    6
    The SP starts straight in HP zone of India, and those who have not played MW2 probably skipped it and went to play the MP. The campaign was good, but I found more bugs and unfinished content than in MW2.
    The MP is boring and the kill streaks are not good; the servers are filled with hackers, cheaters, and insulting.
  54. Jun 13, 2013
    6
    The graphics are great .The whole WW3 thing is also great But it is too short to play the campaign.I completed it in 10hrs 40mins 18secs.the special ops part of the game contains solo play where it is divided into two parts the survival and the missions.The survival contains countless waves of enemy and the missions contains task to be completed all across the globe as we kill our enemies we get EXPERIENCE POINTS as our points increase we are promoted to next post .Over all the game is not disappointing Expand
  55. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Sure it's like mw2 and mw1, but its still tonnes of fun. I'd recommend buying this game on sale on steam when on sale. Don't get blops 2 because that's complete trash.
  56. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    Pluses: - good voice-acting - cut-scenes hide the ugliness of the game well for a few minutes, and then monitor asking for it the display faces down. Minuses: -weak angular ugly low-end textures. -music were strong point of Infinity War not this time, music is weak. - AI if you not move, AI re spawning everywhere every time .. - single-player is awesome boring and short. - multi-player is copy of MW2.
    - very bugged flying bodies, blocking doors etc.)
    - ofter crashing to desktop.....

    Summing: Game is a crap.
    Expand
  57. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Nice game,original call of dute stylish and gameplay,but onld game engine and not too many online content.(even in purchased DLC).
    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
  58. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    I know this is a little late, but I think this game deserves a lower rating.
    When I first started updating Modern Warfare 3 on Steam 2 years ago, my only feeling was excitement, Modern Warfare 2 was a huge mess that did not live up to the original Modern Warfare, and I expected Modern Warfare 3 to truly be worthy of the "Modern Warfare" name. But after 2 hours of playing, my only emotion
    was sadness, the campaign is way too short, and the storyline sucks, and the multiplayer is the same big mess as Modern Warfare 2, also, the grahics look worse than Cod4, not better, I regret buying this game and I will advise you all to avoid this game. Expand
  59. Sep 7, 2013
    5
    Not too much to write here: like Black Ops, the game failed, and the main flaw was that devs just haven't introduced something new, which would've refreshed the game. Pointstreaks, return of the lobbies, strike chains, different modes like chaos and wave-based spec ops on MP maps all these things are good, but they're not enough to make the game as fun as it was before, because it's the same just like the previous titles. Additionally, the campaign finally rolled down to Z-grade delirium of the paranoid patient of a mental hospital who's afraid that USSR will bomb the western countries tomorrow and only the brave uncle Sam's sons can fight the red threat, and there's no Zimmer anymore to save the atmosphere of this circus. A bad game, but I feel the worst about CoD is yet to come. Expand
  60. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    It's my first CoD, but i thought it was really good at the time i got it. It's still my favorite game for Ps3. I own Bf3 Premium, but it was so boring. In Mw3 you just: pick up your controller and play. Not get baseraped, not be able to use 10% of your guns because admins want it, get killed by a chopper 30 times in one round, and so on... I think it deserves a good rating for a game, that was made in half a year. And to everyone who never played it and only plays Bf3: Battlefield 3 DOES NOT have better gunplay. I don't know where you got that. Bf3 has better graphics, but the textures suck. The controls are better and the game is more skilled in mupltiplayer. Not that Bf3 players are bad but me being a newbie on Bf3 servers and getting 5 people knifed instantly. That's just lame. Expand
  61. Nov 12, 2013
    1
    This is the first time I regret of money been wasted on a videogame. MW3 turned me into CoD hater, from CoD series fan. And here's what we have: very "interesting" storytelling more extra bullsht from cpt.Price), super "new" series of gameplay, totally NOT similar to previous part of this franchise, "beautiful" graphics, that would make you want to fetch up after few hours. So, basically, worst FPS of 2011. Expand
  62. Feb 9, 2014
    6
    MW3 is a fun game at the start,quickscoping is kinda easy,but there are too many LMG w/ Thermal Sight,alot of FMG9's etc.
    Anyways without the community,the multiplayer is kinda boring.I really liked the campaign,with the exception of Soap,Yuri and Kamarov dying.Soap and Kamarov were original characters from CoD 4,so I kinda hated that they died.
    The weapon leveling is,meh.
    The only
    thing that could be fun in this game is the campaign or Infected(without the Striker vs Juggernaut matches) Expand
  63. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    MW3 is a good, a good game. If you disagree I hate you. It is better than other ones. NOT as good as ModernWarfare. I like the Spec ops in this game. That was good not like the Black Ops 2 zombie rubbish. It was a good defence and co-op mission game. The campaign was good. It rounded off the MW3 series VERY well. It was a good sotory in my opinion. Multiplayer was okay. The maps were good. The gameplay was rubbish but the guns felt real. REAL. I could never get the kid working. But I could mute the squeakers. Yay!

    Overall:
    -Good Spec Ops.
    -Very Good campaign.
    -Okay Multiplayer
    Score: 72/100
    Expand
  64. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    Worst and most overrated game ever. It is so $$$$ing bad. I luckily was able to get a refund. The experts here should go themselves in the $$$hole. I never played a worse game.
  65. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    This game has trickshooters, across the map knife throwers and more noob tubers than chinese guys, as if this game wasn't bad enough alone, literaly the worst CoD out there(worst even than BO2) and now you even have INVISIBLE GUYS, like wtf as if this game needed any more ruining.
  66. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    This is the first shooter game with battle vehicles that i have played. Awesome story, Not too easy for find ammo, and moderate gameplay. But lacks of graphics.
  67. Dec 21, 2013
    5
    Ok its Call of Duty need I say else? The story is more of the same and the game play is even worse. It gets boring around an hour maybe two and besides multiplayer there isn't much to do. There is Survival I will say that earns this game its points and you can end up spending many hours on end on that one. All be it its not the best Call of Duty game it could be worse
  68. Jan 22, 2014
    1
    Hackers, lag, and lag compensation ruined this game!!! The multiplayer is broken, and this is coming from a guy who is an experienced COD player. I played all COD up to MW3, and stopped buying this crappy series after this POS game. Until they fix their game, Activision will not get any more of my hard earned money!
  69. Apr 12, 2014
    0
    Instead of releasing this 'game' as more DLC, They added a number three to the title. The game is just another tired cash-grab, and should be avoided. This game is nowhere near good.
  70. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare 3 is probably my favorite game in the series. Unlike Black ops and Black ops two that were basically two piles of innovative **** The sniping in modern warfare 3 is spot on, the best in the series by far and really fun. The story was meh but noone buys a call of duty for the story. The multiplayer is fantastic with new killstreak rewards, Support streaks and specialist rewards wich brought a new level to an already great game.

    And if you rated this game low because of it not being innovative enough then **** off. Call of duty is a series of games were tradition is key.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. 80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]