User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5523 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Complete rehash of the previous squeals, defiantly feeling buyers remorse, waste of money and time, this game needs a entire new team of developers if this is going to change, complete failure on their behalf, also. One more thing, Glen Schofield asking your twitter followers to up the ratings is low, you should be ashamed as a developer.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I was excited to see this game, I played COD 4 and MW2 for the story, never bothered with multiplayer until Black Ops. The story is what I wanted, and what I got was a childrens book. Graphics? What graphics? I've seen this game before, oh yeah, MW2, christ, even COD 4. You expect some sort of quality when you send £45 on a product, if I went to the butchers and bought a legI was excited to see this game, I played COD 4 and MW2 for the story, never bothered with multiplayer until Black Ops. The story is what I wanted, and what I got was a childrens book. Graphics? What graphics? I've seen this game before, oh yeah, MW2, christ, even COD 4. You expect some sort of quality when you send £45 on a product, if I went to the butchers and bought a leg of lamb for £30, got home just to find its a hollowed out carcus with maggots inside, I would be entitled to a full refund, why not with this? The campaign was far too short, remember the days when the story of a game would be a decent play through of about 12-16 hours? This one barely hits 4, and that's with toilet breaks, snack breaks, and a small nap due to boredom. To be frank, I think I have had orgasms longer than the length of this game. Now, the multiplayer. Oh my good hypothetical higher being and sole creator. I played 1 hour of this so called" multiplayer, and I felt like crying after the first 6. The maps are smaller than shanty houses in brazil. The maps are poorly designed. I would love to be able to defend it, and the Christians would love to prove God is real, so its not happening. The guns are the same as the ones from MW2, did they really not bother at all? The character models are also the same, I really cant think of anything original about this game, damn, even the cover of the case which this diabolical mess comes in is as generic as you could imagine. If you have gotten this far into the review, then you are probably aware that I hold no place for this "game" in my heart. Don't go anywhere yet, there is more. Hardened Edition? Special Edition? Soldier Wannabe Edition? I Bought This Game To Reassure My Mum I'm Still A Virgin Edition? How many bloody editions do you need? Its the same "game", just comes with some crappy little toys or a metal case, OH MY GOD!!! METAL CASE!!!!! I keep my tobacco in one of those and it doesn't make it any better. Seriously, stop bringing out all of these stupid editions, its a game, people want the disc, well most people, there are a select few losers who will happily hand over there bar mitzvah money to pay for a little toy to go with their "game". Also, Activision, I have no doubt you have one of your mindless slaves going though all of these reviews, so the following goes to said mindless slave- Report back to your masters at Activision HQ, presumably on the side of a volcano, and tell them that they shall never get a penny of my hard earned cash ever again. It's mine, I worked for it, I will only give it to somebody else if they have worked for it, you haven't. Stop making these DLC's, they are a rip off, you are practically stealing. The profits you make, damn, if I made that much I would get done for racketeering. You make enough money, you don't need anymore, you have more than enough to guarantee that you will live a better life than me and most other gamers. Give some to charity, do something good with the money. Last but not least, next year when Call of Duty: Whatever You Call It comes out, I shall not be buying it, and I hope that there are enough people out there who are smart enough to see that there are better games out there that have actually had a bit of work put in to them, and they wont be buying your game. Toodles. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Rating it a 0. Regret buying the game, complete copy and paste of mw2, the graphics are the same if not worse on PC, i can not speak for the Console versions but on PC, the lack of dedicated servers has completely ruined the multilayer experience all over again, the maps are horrible, most of them are too small for 16 players and between the horrible lag i find my self spawning into gunRating it a 0. Regret buying the game, complete copy and paste of mw2, the graphics are the same if not worse on PC, i can not speak for the Console versions but on PC, the lack of dedicated servers has completely ruined the multilayer experience all over again, the maps are horrible, most of them are too small for 16 players and between the horrible lag i find my self spawning into gun fire constantly. I really wanted to give this game a chance but i regret buying it. The single player mode is what you would expect , very similar to Mw2, the story line is predictable and very linear. Would not recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I am being honest when saying this, I did not enjoy this game, It feels like I've played it all before, and the numbing explosions didn't help at all, if I wanted explosions I would watch a Christian Bale film. While the game itself isn't bad, Its Call of Duty, one of the greatest game franchises, you'd be a liar if you said you have never had fun on a COD game. But now its being milked,I am being honest when saying this, I did not enjoy this game, It feels like I've played it all before, and the numbing explosions didn't help at all, if I wanted explosions I would watch a Christian Bale film. While the game itself isn't bad, Its Call of Duty, one of the greatest game franchises, you'd be a liar if you said you have never had fun on a COD game. But now its being milked, to death, and the fact that the DEVS are asking people to blindly up vote the game on this site is disgusting. Now for other issues I've had, the FPS is capped at 90 for me, and I can't change the FOV, the FPS thing isnt much of a problem, but the FOV cap is giving me serious headaches, Black ops and COD4 had an option, why doesn't this game? Its a serious step back in the franchise when you leave out something you had 3 games ago. PC always has gotten the short end of the stick, but this, man this is just unforgivable,the lack of consideration for a good portion of the fans is blatant and I am actually questioning if this game was worth even the 30 dollars I paid to my friend who bought it but found out he couldn't run it. So to sum the game up, its a map pack with a few new things, its mostly just a reskin, same sounds, same story, same modes, while there are a few new ones, overall its just a rehash, and a poor one at that.
    1/10, this is not a full game, this is an expansion pack.
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    2
    Que de deception ! aucun renouveau si ce n'est quelques carte en plus ! de la poudre au yeux ! on à l'impression que les developpeur se sont endormis sur un succes qui est perte de qualité ! payer autant pour cela c'est prendre le joueur pour une vache a lait ! c simple MW c fini pour moi !
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    VERY disappointing. I'm a 36yo LONG STANDING COD fan (I like BF but always preferred COD and player COD 90% of the time with many friends in a clan (the majority of our clan is disappointed). There is practically nothing new here worth any $ at all. A few new killstreaks (and killstreak chains), different weapons and unlock system. new maps, Insignificant NON RANKED ONLY dedicated servers,VERY disappointing. I'm a 36yo LONG STANDING COD fan (I like BF but always preferred COD and player COD 90% of the time with many friends in a clan (the majority of our clan is disappointed). There is practically nothing new here worth any $ at all. A few new killstreaks (and killstreak chains), different weapons and unlock system. new maps, Insignificant NON RANKED ONLY dedicated servers, generaly played with the MW2 matchmaking system, Still no way to VOTE KICK jerks or hackers... I've seen more new stuff in a map pack... I'm REALLY DISAPPOINTED... Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    Any follow on game will have devoted followers who may be disappointed with the new game. Developers change displays and controls for a 'fresh look', etc... However when controls are changed due to the predominance of a certain platform, there is a problem. The changed control(s) that I am speaking about is the ability to 'lean' around the corners and shoot. I am not a RNG guy; I playAny follow on game will have devoted followers who may be disappointed with the new game. Developers change displays and controls for a 'fresh look', etc... However when controls are changed due to the predominance of a certain platform, there is a problem. The changed control(s) that I am speaking about is the ability to 'lean' around the corners and shoot. I am not a RNG guy; I play tactically. Now in this new version, I am forced to expose my body to get a shot off. There are very few hidey holes, you can't blend in with the bushes as would benefit snipers and defenders. Heck - you can't even jump up on top of many of the boxes and desks in a room to get a better angle shot. ACTIVISION - If you are going to build a game that is supposed to mimic wartime, then make a game that mimics wartime and doesn't exclusively cater to the RNG'rs and console players. You want my hard earned money? EARN IT!!! Call of Duty Black Ops was a much better effort than this. I AM DISAPPOINTED AND FEEL AS IF I WASTED MY MONEY. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    2003- Call of Duty, perfect game for that time with good graphics, gameplay, AI etc. As a 13 old boy it was an ass-kick

    2004- CoD United offensive i would say even better then CoD great sound, even better graphics with deadly gameplay 2005- Call of Duty 2 after Modern Warfare second best sequel of CoD series 2007- Modern Warfare uuhhhm i played it last time i think 2 weeks ago, of
    2003- Call of Duty, perfect game for that time with good graphics, gameplay, AI etc. As a 13 old boy it was an ass-kick

    2004- CoD United offensive i would say even better then CoD great sound, even better graphics with deadly gameplay

    2005- Call of Duty 2 after Modern Warfare second best sequel of CoD series

    2007- Modern Warfare uuhhhm i played it last time i think 2 weeks ago, of course best game of whole CoD series

    2008- World at War passable game, but...

    2009- Modern Warfare 2 its not even half as good as MW, poor campaign, pour marketing move

    2011- Modern marketing ohh Warfare 3, a game which gradually loses breath. If i was again 13 then maybe, but now it really sucks.
    Expand
  9. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    This will be the last Call of Duty game I will ever buy. Modern Warfare 2 were great on Xbox 360. Black Ops were great with dedicated servers. Then Infinity Wards decides to go back in time, and re-use peer 2 peer so people can cheat, and have massive **** lag. If you are looking for a competitive game, look for any game than this. Hopefully I wont get fooled again next year.
  10. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    This is just an attempt to get cash. Activision surpasses sales every year, but that's it for me.

    Aspects: -Gameplay: MW2 with different perks, absurd amount of glitches that were forgotten to be fixed (quickscoping and such), relocation of the EXP counter, point killstreaks. That's it. -Graphics: Same old boring MW2 color scheme. Dated. REALLY dated. That crappy contrast and insanely
    This is just an attempt to get cash. Activision surpasses sales every year, but that's it for me.

    Aspects:

    -Gameplay: MW2 with different perks, absurd amount of glitches that were forgotten to be fixed (quickscoping and such), relocation of the EXP counter, point killstreaks. That's it.

    -Graphics: Same old boring MW2 color scheme. Dated. REALLY dated. That crappy contrast and insanely low poly models are only disguised by the mediocre textures.

    -Sound: Horrible. Feels like the bullets are made of rubber. The gun sounds are boring, weird and repetitive. The rest is ported from MW2.

    -Lacks vehicles.

    -The game is unbalanced, and they brought back glitches from MW2.

    There is nothing to like about this game. If you buy it, enjoy your 60 dollar map pack.
    Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Ridiculously bad. It's a carbon copy of mw2 and and best should be called MW2.5. Same engine, too. I never really expect much from Activision anyways, since everyone who works there is a piece of dirt anyways. Same **** different november.
  12. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    I mean what a piece of Junk. No Dedicated Servers , No FOV switch, Assets that are CLEARLY from COD4. No Lean. Multiplayer is a joke, single player is on rails like every other CoD and the story sucks. Bad game overall, this is how we know game journalism is corrupt, how did this game get any more than a 2 from any reviewer? Go Play Dungeon Defenders ,you'll get some nice gameplay andI mean what a piece of Junk. No Dedicated Servers , No FOV switch, Assets that are CLEARLY from COD4. No Lean. Multiplayer is a joke, single player is on rails like every other CoD and the story sucks. Bad game overall, this is how we know game journalism is corrupt, how did this game get any more than a 2 from any reviewer? Go Play Dungeon Defenders ,you'll get some nice gameplay and you can buy 4 copies for the price of this POS. Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    This game is so bad I don't know where to begin. It looks cartoony, you can't pick your own server, there's nothing new. Save your money. I played all the COD games and MW3 is so lame it's like a pre-version of all of them. Like they went backwards in development.
  14. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 1, Modern Warfare 2, Black Ops, Modern Warfare 3...
    Always the same game since 5 years (same engine, same IA, same scripts...).
    Activision does not care about players.
  15. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Geez I signed up on this site just so I could say how bad this is. What the hell were they thinking? Im so fecking tired of this stupid consolized **** Just check for the video "if quake was done today" and you see what I mean. total crap.
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    Well after almost a week of playing this game, I am not impressed.
    IWnet is a matchmaking system to benefit who??? Does it match low ranks with other low ranks ... NO!
    IW promised us that they had listened to the PC community, listened to what we had cried out for. Dedicated servers was that cry so!!! So what do we get Unranked dedicated servers and we have to rank up on IWnet with all the
    Well after almost a week of playing this game, I am not impressed.
    IWnet is a matchmaking system to benefit who??? Does it match low ranks with other low ranks ... NO!
    IW promised us that they had listened to the PC community, listened to what we had cried out for.
    Dedicated servers was that cry so!!!
    So what do we get Unranked dedicated servers and we have to rank up on IWnet with all the hackers and a ping that at best holds for one round maybe two.
    The game has so much promise and that is where the positive ends ... shot down in flames by lack of servers.
    Rehashed copy of MW2 with the usual ill treatment of PC gamers.
    Expand
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    For this to be worth the $60, considering this is the exact same thing as MW2 with a different skin, IW would have to include all MP maps from MW2 plus DLC's. They don't owe us, the PC gamers anything, but in this case it's really not asking much . They didn't even go to the trouble to fix ANYTHING about people hacking (see: CoD: Elite for PC) BEFORE releasing their game on PC. SinceFor this to be worth the $60, considering this is the exact same thing as MW2 with a different skin, IW would have to include all MP maps from MW2 plus DLC's. They don't owe us, the PC gamers anything, but in this case it's really not asking much . They didn't even go to the trouble to fix ANYTHING about people hacking (see: CoD: Elite for PC) BEFORE releasing their game on PC. Since this is clearly a console port, take a tip and release the PC version at a later date. Take Arkham City for example...It's not even out yet for PC

    The emblems and call signs are basically rehashed, updated art. The only thing that's changed really are the perks, and I do like how each class get's it's own specific kill streak option.

    And then there's the huge dip in framerate when an occasional lobby map is loaded. But even that is overshadowed by other issues with this game. I haven't even based this review on Singleplayer since I haven't loaded it (rank 74?), but at this point i'd rather just buy Skyrim like I should have done in the first place.
    Expand
  18. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Call of Duty franchise ended with Call of Duty 4. It was the best and last COD and the franchise should've ended there. But "No!", says the man in Activision. "We must milk this till the very end", he says. The result couldn't have been more obvious than it is: an overhyped game, with dated mechanics and visuals, more-of-the-same-crap-every-damn-year **** I'm not some Battlefield fanboy orCall of Duty franchise ended with Call of Duty 4. It was the best and last COD and the franchise should've ended there. But "No!", says the man in Activision. "We must milk this till the very end", he says. The result couldn't have been more obvious than it is: an overhyped game, with dated mechanics and visuals, more-of-the-same-crap-every-damn-year **** I'm not some Battlefield fanboy or COD-hater out there. Actually, I spent more time playing Call of Duty (in its golden years) than Battlefield now, so I KNOW what I'm talking about. Activision, THANK YOU for ruining such an awesome franchise. Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Una gran Burla .mas de lo mismo .y mala calidad .tanta fanfarria y despues largan esta basura .....en la version PC ni siquiera tiene soporte para el manspo windows wireless xbox 360.una gran estafa a escala mundial.lamentable.al lado del Battlefield 3 no tiene nada que hacer.poco tiempo de juego en el modo campaña y casi imposible jugar en linea sin tener grandesUna gran Burla .mas de lo mismo .y mala calidad .tanta fanfarria y despues largan esta basura .....en la version PC ni siquiera tiene soporte para el manspo windows wireless xbox 360.una gran estafa a escala mundial.lamentable.al lado del Battlefield 3 no tiene nada que hacer.poco tiempo de juego en el modo campaña y casi imposible jugar en linea sin tener grandes problemas.despues del MW2 tendrian que haber cerrado la persiana y no seguir estafando a la gente .mi recomendacion es no compren este juego . compren otro juego .ahora si les agrada un puño dentro de su culo ,vayan a por el Expand
  20. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Total over hyped trash, same game different year. Save yourself $60 and play the Call of Duty game you already have! This game should just be sold as a MW2 expansion pack. The game literally reuses textures and models from past CoD games, including CoD4.
  21. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    The game brings nothing new to the table. It could be a MW2 DLC pack with new sounds, maps and a gamemode. - At least for the online players. I mainly got this game for the spec ops. I loved it in MW2, perfect co-op that even beats the co-op BF3 has implemented in it. But this time it wasn't the case. Let me just say I was disappointed, and that's being quite polite. They created moreThe game brings nothing new to the table. It could be a MW2 DLC pack with new sounds, maps and a gamemode. - At least for the online players. I mainly got this game for the spec ops. I loved it in MW2, perfect co-op that even beats the co-op BF3 has implemented in it. But this time it wasn't the case. Let me just say I was disappointed, and that's being quite polite. They created more missions, a few of them on the side of a chopper like in old games where the game controls when you walk yourself to the point where new enemies get up and you have to shoot them. There was no nice missions like the ones in MW2 where you had to survive waves of enemies, and nothing as epic as the stealth missions they brought us in MW2.
    It surely feels like Modern Warfare 2, and you can feel the engine aging too. All that is new is the sounds and maps, so I feel like I've been paying full price for a map and weapon sound pack DLC, and saying this we all know how Call of Duty has overpriced their product to $10 more than any competing games. The game is for those who just want more of the old MW2 and play multiplayer with tubes and rushing in small maps - and that must be quite a lot judging by the sale numbers, was it 6.1 or 6.7 million copies on launch? That's amazing. I hope I wasn't the only disappointed within these people. I haven't completed the Singleplayer yet, but from what I've played it was quite.. boring. Also I feel that either the critics have been paid or they never played the old MW2 and MW1, or surely just likes to favor new game releases. Because the reviews they made gets this game a 81 out of 100 score on this reviews date, which is surely seen by us users to be lower.
    Expand
  22. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Multiplayer is worthless....maps are done with objects and graphics of 2 former series.
    Anyone see the cod4 helicopter?
    Maps too small, no servers, cheaters, lag, bad graphics. This is realy the worse COD i ever saw, i thought activisionstarted on the good way with blackops, after the utter disappointment mw2 was. For me, call of duty died with this game, another 60E hard worked for,
    Multiplayer is worthless....maps are done with objects and graphics of 2 former series.
    Anyone see the cod4 helicopter?
    Maps too small, no servers, cheaters, lag, bad graphics.
    This is realy the worse COD i ever saw, i thought activisionstarted on the good way with blackops, after the utter disappointment mw2 was.
    For me, call of duty died with this game, another 60E hard worked for, down the drain.
    Expand
  23. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Stupid, rehash, noob, casual, **** get skrikm **** unless your gay.
    uhhnrkonbuvkwobnuvwinbvuriwbnvuyriwbvyri
    wbvurwibvygbyiwrbvywvbybyibywbvywyyyyy
  24. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Es una copia del MW2 total, no añaden nada nuevo y se estan dejando llevar por el nombre de la IP sin dar ninguna novedad ni arriesgarse en nada, ha llegado un punto en el que jugar al COD es lo mismo en su version 1 que 1.000 y, aunque no es un mal juego, pagar 70â
  25. Nov 17, 2011
    4
    As a pc user I feel completely neglected. It is quite clear that activision does not care about pc users and that the game is purely made for consoles.(BAD graphics, BAD sound effects, loading screens and menu's that look like a 3year old made, they could of just copied mw2 menu's and it would of looked 10x as good, and no PC version of COD Elite (not that I would of payed for somethingAs a pc user I feel completely neglected. It is quite clear that activision does not care about pc users and that the game is purely made for consoles.(BAD graphics, BAD sound effects, loading screens and menu's that look like a 3year old made, they could of just copied mw2 menu's and it would of looked 10x as good, and no PC version of COD Elite (not that I would of payed for something that SHOULD BE FREE).
    My score of 4 goes to the singleplayer which, neglecting the bad graphics, was very entertaining and had a nice atmosphere due to awesome effects, music and action.
    Expand
  26. Dec 17, 2011
    3
    The single player campaign gets a 6 in my opinion. That is the only factor that offsets the games overall score. It "finishes" the story set in motion by the second game although it is quite tacky. Now the multiplayer is what I really buy these games for. In regards to this, this game is one of the biggest failures I have ever played. I have never in the 20 hours of online game playThe single player campaign gets a 6 in my opinion. That is the only factor that offsets the games overall score. It "finishes" the story set in motion by the second game although it is quite tacky. Now the multiplayer is what I really buy these games for. In regards to this, this game is one of the biggest failures I have ever played. I have never in the 20 hours of online game play connected to a server that was not laggy. I'd fire 5 bullets into a person's chest and before he even got the first shot off I'd have already died. The only reason I can still play this game is because of its hardcore mode, and that too is difficult to play without a proper server to connect to. Expand
  27. Jan 15, 2012
    0
    Ok seriously. MW1 was good. MW2 was better. But MW3 is a joke! You pay 59.99$ just for 16 new map (that use the same old engine as MW1 released in 2006). Activision need to stop thinking about making money and let developer work on a new graphic engine, and real innovation. This game is a copy-paste from MW1 , MW2, BlackOps. And it's frustrating, this company is crap, they just want ourOk seriously. MW1 was good. MW2 was better. But MW3 is a joke! You pay 59.99$ just for 16 new map (that use the same old engine as MW1 released in 2006). Activision need to stop thinking about making money and let developer work on a new graphic engine, and real innovation. This game is a copy-paste from MW1 , MW2, BlackOps. And it's frustrating, this company is crap, they just want our money. I hope next year COD9 will be a commercial failure because people have to stop buying this game so they will do something about it. Like developping something new? Because right now it is just a ridiculous joke. Expand
  28. Jan 16, 2012
    2
    Very disappointed in this game. No innovation, same past game repackaged. Same kill streak system, same type of icon style, same prestige system, same same same. Played through the FP mode on hard in less than 3 hours. Cheating is out of control. No Anti-cheat system. No real dedicated server system, so you can't play with your friends or play in modes that you like. IWnet is a bland p2pVery disappointed in this game. No innovation, same past game repackaged. Same kill streak system, same type of icon style, same prestige system, same same same. Played through the FP mode on hard in less than 3 hours. Cheating is out of control. No Anti-cheat system. No real dedicated server system, so you can't play with your friends or play in modes that you like. IWnet is a bland p2p system that tries to make everyone happy and fails. Absolutely not worth $60 or even $40. Expand
  29. Jan 17, 2012
    1
    It's not even funny guys... I'm not a Call of Duty fan but if you are, they're not going to try if you'll just blindly buy anything that they put out.
  30. Feb 12, 2012
    0
    What a load of garbage, I'm a junior game designer myself and this game is an insult to our industry, good games fail while remakes prevail. Please get this piece of trash out of the market.
  31. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This entire game is basically a patch that they are charging $60 not even $50 for. Exact same graphics, exact same game, new maps and a couple enhancements. I can't wait for the DLC to come out that they will charge $15 while in development of the second DLC that wille add maps from previous games and a couple new unlocks. Complete waste of money. What happened the CoD games of late, Cod2,This entire game is basically a patch that they are charging $60 not even $50 for. Exact same graphics, exact same game, new maps and a couple enhancements. I can't wait for the DLC to come out that they will charge $15 while in development of the second DLC that wille add maps from previous games and a couple new unlocks. Complete waste of money. What happened the CoD games of late, Cod2, cod1 or vcod, even cod4. This franchise is its bastard child with blood money dripping from its fangs. Expand
  32. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Activision has shown again that you can repackage the same game under a different package and still get profit. If you have played call of duty 4 you have already played modern warfare 3. If you have already played modern warfare 2 you have played modern warfare 3. Atleast the difference from modern warfare 2 and black ops was noticable. Modern warfare 3 is just a copy paste of modernActivision has shown again that you can repackage the same game under a different package and still get profit. If you have played call of duty 4 you have already played modern warfare 3. If you have already played modern warfare 2 you have played modern warfare 3. Atleast the difference from modern warfare 2 and black ops was noticable. Modern warfare 3 is just a copy paste of modern warfare 2. If you liked the other call of duty games then you will probably like this..But how long will you be rebuying the same game again ? Expand
  33. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    Well, here goes. Modern Warfare 3 is certainly not a bad game, not in the slightest. i enjoy how they continue the campaign story and tie it up, but this is the only CoD title I've ever pre-ordered, and i am sad to say I'm disappointed i did pre-order it. MW3, unlike what people thought it would be, is certainly NOT the most anticipated game ever. i literally just bought it, and im on dayWell, here goes. Modern Warfare 3 is certainly not a bad game, not in the slightest. i enjoy how they continue the campaign story and tie it up, but this is the only CoD title I've ever pre-ordered, and i am sad to say I'm disappointed i did pre-order it. MW3, unlike what people thought it would be, is certainly NOT the most anticipated game ever. i literally just bought it, and im on day 2 and i'm already back to Battlefield Bad Company 2. The story is, somewhere in between good and great, but the actual campaign has little to no replayability. of course, i develop close bonds with the main characters, but that doesn't mean i actually enjoy the campaign. The multiplayer is just MW2 with a MW3 coat of paint. granted, this game is MUCH better than Black Ops, but i expected more from the creators of CoD 4 and MW2. PLEASE DONT BUY IT NOW IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREADY!!!! wait 'til the prices drop, or you will have wasted 20 dollars on what i think should be a 30 dollar product (and that's just being nice). I gave it a 6 just because it bored me even more than it did replaying MW2 for the sixth time over, but on its own, it's pretty good. Of course, the multiplayer AND singleplayer weapons are much more on par than CoDBO's were. Spec ops, even though i havent really done much of it yet, is ok, but the scenarios could be a bit less hard. All that stuff they say about the new multiplayer things, dont get all hyped. It's just same-old same-old every man for himself kinda thing that we've had for the past 7 games. It kills me inside to write this, because am truly a fan of CoD, but i must give the truth. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a much better choice, even with all the corporate bullcrap that EA gave it. It also kills me inside to just stop playing after 5 hours of campaign and roughly 30 minutes on multiplayer to go play battlefield, but i just cant stand all the solo, no teamwork stuff that is CoD. But dont believe all the people that gave it a low rating, those are just the younger battlefield fanboys who like CoD, too. FINAL CONCLUSION: MW3 is a rather good game. The campaign story is well put together, but the actual singleplayer gameplay leaves more to be desired. Multiplayer, nothing has changed. remember when you thought Black Ops would be radically different with the points buying guns system? Not only are they back to the same old level up stuff, but i am just depressed with how little they added to the multiplayer. even the maps are the same freaking things. Graphics, jesus christ, they didnt even change the goddamn textures. this game is barely worth $30, based on the previous two, which were totally worth the money. I am sad to say, i slightly disapprove of this game. i hate saying it, especially because its probably the conclusion of the series, but it leaves more to be desired. Thanks a lot InfinityWard, you broke my freakin heart. Expand
  34. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    Ok i'll try to be as fair as possible. If you own MW2 or BO and you don't want to waste money don't buy MW3. Reason is that MW3 is similar to MW2 and there are better games to spent your money out there. Single player campaign is similar to MW2 but with less spice twists and thrills. I was expecting an all out mayhem but instead i get a few "good fights" every now and then accompanied by aOk i'll try to be as fair as possible. If you own MW2 or BO and you don't want to waste money don't buy MW3. Reason is that MW3 is similar to MW2 and there are better games to spent your money out there. Single player campaign is similar to MW2 but with less spice twists and thrills. I was expecting an all out mayhem but instead i get a few "good fights" every now and then accompanied by a few "shocking" scenes ( not even close to the "no Russian" chapter joyful massacre). The campaign kicks in strong but all the intensity and excitement fades away soon. I also think the campaign must be smaller than MW2's or at least it feels like it is. Multiplayer is a review on its own. Graphics are like a polished MW2. Guns may look a bit better but overall its all the same deal as in MW2. No real changes. Soundwise i'll have to say that i really enjoyed the campaign score since it really adds up to the whole experience but tha'ts not enough. All the sounds are the same as MW2 with the exception of the majority of gun sounds. Most are just worse. Especially if you attach a silencer. Rest are the same as MW2. Now as far as gameplay ( which i believe is the most important part of a game. Gameplay > graphics)
    Single player is a linear story line picking up from the point MW2 ends and progresses through the eyes of various soldiers, deltas and so on. Nothing different from MW2. But who cares about Single Player anyway? CoD is all about Multiplayer right?

    Multiplayer. Mixed feelings about it to be honest. One can say that MW3 Multiplayer is a big content patch of MW2. I wouldn't blame him since i get the exact same experience by playing MW2. the new kill confirmed mode is nothing more than a deathmatch with dogtags you have to pick from the dead. No real difference than the actual TDM. Everything else is the same. CTF, DOM, SAB, S&D are all there both in normal and in hardcore. I havent noticed the really "awesome" third person mode from MW2 so i guess devs realized that it was an insult to all intelligent life on this planet so they removed it :) There are only a handful of maps and this stupid voting system remains. They somehow improved it by allowing us to vote between 2 maps per session. There is no more random map selection in case the original selection was voted to skip by the players. It's either this map or that map now. However i get the feeling that there is a limited amount of maps. Also most of the maps are medium to small size urban battlefields suitable for UMP madness and campers and less joy for snipers and such. Now lets see how soon the first DLC will arive.
    Guns. Although they finally added a few of "must have guns" 90% of the MW2 weaponry is here. New additions in all weapon categories. For the complete weapon list just use google :P I do have to say that i dont see a lot of eastern toys (again)..All the rifles are western with the exception of the AK47. Same goes for all the weapon categories.. They also removed the FN FAL :( Weapon handling is identical to MW2. You wont need to get used to MW3 guns at all. Classes. I have to say i really like what they did. In MW3 you get to customize your class to its full extend. I like the fact that you can lvl up weapons now and customize your loadout even further. I also like the new killstreak system and its mechanics. Again you can customize your loadout with a much more efficient way.
    One thing i don't like is the absence of the nuke and the fact that you can reach tier2 and tier 3 killstreak rewards even if you die in the middle since once you reach the first "checkpoint" by obtaining your first killstreak if you die right after the killstreak count is not back to 0 but to its last killstreak checkpoint. In other words if you need 14 kills to call in a AC130 and you reach 5 kills and call in a predator and then you get killed the game will put you back to your 5 killstreak count meaning you ll need 9 more kills to call the AC130 while in MW2 you would be back in 0. Lame. Another thing i really hate and i hoped they would have it fixed (apparently the didn't) is the UMP and the pain it delivers. I think that this weapon is by far the most OP gun i have seen. It's like equipping your BFG and head out to kill everyone. I'ts recoiless it has tremendous accuracy and range it's light and has a superior rate of fire. If you master the UMP then every other single weapon is obsolete.Great balance. Oh and for those that haven't heard. IWnet will be our bff in MW3 as well. Apparently they don't like server based multiplayer in IW and Activision. Suffice to say that Lag and host issues are thriving. Also MW3 hates my router as well. NAT is always strict unless i DMZ my router just like in MW2. If you are addicted like me buy it now. If you use your head and respect both your hard earned cash and your intelligence don't buy it and either buy another game or wait for its price to drop. Hope my review was helpful.
    Expand
  35. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This is mw2 with a new, terrible campaign. Im tired of seeing the same game getting released every year. The graphics looks like mw2, the gameplay feels like mw2, there is nothing new.
  36. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    3 hour campaign with lots of breaks... nuff said considering the price. play tribes: ascend when it's out, the cbt destroys this "complete" game for half the price.

    Oh and I don't play BF3 so all the fanboy spazzes, you can rest easy. Price to value ratio, this game is triple-bunk. Shoulda spent the marketing campaign funds on a single player campaign, remember when they didn't used to
    3 hour campaign with lots of breaks... nuff said considering the price. play tribes: ascend when it's out, the cbt destroys this "complete" game for half the price.

    Oh and I don't play BF3 so all the fanboy spazzes, you can rest easy. Price to value ratio, this game is triple-bunk. Shoulda spent the marketing campaign funds on a single player campaign, remember when they didn't used to just be tutorials but actual stories? Wait til its 3$ on steam sale one lonely afternoon in the next few months.
    Expand
  37. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This game sucks and activision knows it. Gave it a 0 because it is obvious activision employees are trying to boost the critic score, this POS needs to go.
  38. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    More re-hashed crap, it's sad and very disheartening when companies such as this are so blatently obvious in their scramble to make cash. The game is just about identical to MW2 and Black Ops, hell it even uses the same game engine!
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    This game has achieved what we thougth almost impossible: it is worse by far than Black Ops.

    The graphics are a joke, they are 2009 graphics. The game doesn't take advantage of the greater capabilities of PC hardware, seems that they've make a port of the console version. The explosions, animations, sounds, all of them worse than Black Ops. The jump animation for instance, is shorter,
    This game has achieved what we thougth almost impossible: it is worse by far than Black Ops.

    The graphics are a joke, they are 2009 graphics. The game doesn't take advantage of the greater capabilities of PC hardware, seems that they've make a port of the console version.
    The explosions, animations, sounds, all of them worse than Black Ops. The jump animation for instance, is shorter, slower, and it feels like a man-on-the-moon jump.
    There's no need to bother aiming, just spray and hit. Any n00b can get kills, since the maps are really small, designed for one-vs-one close combat. Snipers won't get fun here, there are no long corridors, and the field of visions feels plain (no deep). Of course there are tons of guys running with sniper rifles and sometimes quickscoping. This is not realistic.
    The movement looks more robot-like, the turns are really unnatural. They have removed the dive movement.
    If you enjoy running in small maps, use an entire reload to kill an enemy, then die becouse a n00b was in the nearest corner and you have lag (since the host is determined automatically), this is your game. Otherwise, rent it a weekend to see the fireworks in the campaign mode, but don't buy it because it is not worth that money.
    Expand
  40. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I bought this game and all it is is a hacked peice of **** and it's the same as Modern Warfare 2 in every way, I am never buying another call of duty game again
  41. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    CoD is apparently the best series the West has to offer. What they're offering, of course, is the same exact thing they have delivered every year for the past couple of years - Hollywood style action movie game for people with ADD: Electric Boogaloo. At least they don't seem to make the pretense of this kind of thing being exclusively for "Hardcore gamers" because like Nintendo, the salesCoD is apparently the best series the West has to offer. What they're offering, of course, is the same exact thing they have delivered every year for the past couple of years - Hollywood style action movie game for people with ADD: Electric Boogaloo. At least they don't seem to make the pretense of this kind of thing being exclusively for "Hardcore gamers" because like Nintendo, the sales mostly come from the exact opposite kind of person. Which is worse, Western devs dominating consoles or the entire FPS genre as a whole, I can't even say. The biggest fear is that THIS GAME could very well be a child's first videogame. And that is extremely depressing. Expand
  42. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I bought both Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 because I'm a big Warfare-Shooter fan and i don't really have a favorite Franchise. Well i didn't, now i do. The Problem with the Call of Duty Series is that, at some point, it turned into a unstoppable hype fueled by the masses. And it was quite profitable for Activision. So what did they do ? Change as little as possible so people don'tI bought both Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 because I'm a big Warfare-Shooter fan and i don't really have a favorite Franchise. Well i didn't, now i do. The Problem with the Call of Duty Series is that, at some point, it turned into a unstoppable hype fueled by the masses. And it was quite profitable for Activision. So what did they do ? Change as little as possible so people don't get scared off, but enough to keep people motivated to play. After Modern Warfare, with the release of Modern Warfare 2, i thought - Yeah that's as far as it should go - but along came Black Ops and Modern Warfare 2. And "nothing" has changed, and by nothing i mean nothing fundamental, because that, again, would be too much of a risk. If you played Call of Duty the last years, this episode won't give you any kicks, same old formula in the campaign, same old formula in the multiplayer, same old engine, and that's getting old. Battlefield 3 on the other hand, even through its flaws, seems much more refreshing and appealing. It doesn't bore me, because i haven't been playing Battlefield 3 for ages. But i have been playing Modern Warfare 3 for years now. No more. Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Sept 14, 2009 - Deutsche Bank Securities Technology Conference, San Francisco - Jeetil Patel, Analyst: "What do you think the retailers' willingness these days is to hold inventory on the video game side? Are they building positions today or are they still very reluctant and very careful of how they are buying?" Bobby Kotick, Activision Blizzard, Inc. - President and CEO: "I don't think itSept 14, 2009 - Deutsche Bank Securities Technology Conference, San Francisco - Jeetil Patel, Analyst: "What do you think the retailers' willingness these days is to hold inventory on the video game side? Are they building positions today or are they still very reluctant and very careful of how they are buying?" Bobby Kotick, Activision Blizzard, Inc. - President and CEO: "I don't think it is specific to video games. I think that if you look at how much volatility there is in the economy and, dependent upon your view about macroeconomic picture and I think we have a real culture of thrift. And I think the goal that I had in bringing a lot of the packaged goods folks that we brought in to Activision 10 years ago was to take all the fun out of making video games." .... "I think we definitely have been able to instill the culture, the skepticism and pessimism and fear that you should have in an economy like we are in today. And so, while generally people talk about the recession, we are pretty good at keeping people focused on the deep depression." Expand
  44. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I put 1. But why.... One? maybe because of the little "innovations" (like the number 2 which becomes 3) that they have promised to us. While playing MW3, I definitly felt that I just bought the MW2, same graphics, same sounds. I'd have put a better mark if MW3 just cost the half of a normal COD. (Like Sims 3, you buy it 60$, but expansions cost the half) Really disapointed, I'm actuallyI put 1. But why.... One? maybe because of the little "innovations" (like the number 2 which becomes 3) that they have promised to us. While playing MW3, I definitly felt that I just bought the MW2, same graphics, same sounds. I'd have put a better mark if MW3 just cost the half of a normal COD. (Like Sims 3, you buy it 60$, but expansions cost the half) Really disapointed, I'm actually trying to sell it in ebay.. Expand
  45. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Call of duty has turned into a sports game basically. They release the same game over and over again every year, still charging full price for last years game. What they are doing is an insult to their fans. The campaign is four hours long with Micheal Bay esq story telling, that is to say there is no story, just explosions and set pieces.
  46. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Oh, hey, a new MW. I'm sure after Black Ops, they'll have dedicated serv- wait, unranked dedicated only? Hmmm. Well then, maybe a new graphics engi- no, the same one? Probably will ditch IWnet in favo- no, still IWnet? This game is basically a 60 dollar map pack for MW2. Now, excuse me, I'll be playing Minecraft official release, Skyrim, and BF3.
  47. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's the same old **** over and over again. If you've played MW1, MW2 or Black Ops you've played this one too. The graphics are starting to get dated as there's been no update to the engine at all, making many of the textures at close range simply look downright bad. On top of this the game lacks attention to detail. The multiplayer is still the same thing redone again, and not reallyIt's the same old **** over and over again. If you've played MW1, MW2 or Black Ops you've played this one too. The graphics are starting to get dated as there's been no update to the engine at all, making many of the textures at close range simply look downright bad. On top of this the game lacks attention to detail. The multiplayer is still the same thing redone again, and not really improved upon. One can argue it's more balanced, but c'mon, it's an FPS. It's about how well you aim, and how your twitch reflexes are. It's not like there's one single gun that simply overperforms. For 60 euro, I think this is practically trying to milk the cow so hard that it will now die on itself. The campaign, of course, is still a 4 hour long Michael Bay movie with terrible writing and characters you don't give a flying **** about.

    Bad game. Developers need to start gearing up and not release the same game AGAIN every year, 'cause we've had enough of this.
    Expand
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is blatantly a copy of MW2 with new textures, a few game modes and new maps. This game isn't worth $60. It's what killing the gaming industry. Absolutely no effort is put into these Call of Duty games. Simply awful.
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    There's only one phrase that explains what this game is=Copy&Paste. This game is comparable to Twilight in theaters. I'm sick of same chite every year. Be creative god dammit! I'm pretty sure my dual core smartphone can run this game if there was an x86 emulator for ARM platform. PS2 grade graphics really.
  50. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Heard that Schofield is "begging" for reviews to bolster bad ratings ( http://xbox360.ign.com/articles/121/1212113p1.html ). @ Bobby Kodick... Guess firing West and Zampella wasn't such a good idea after all eh ? At least those guys had self-respect and could crank out a good game. @ the guys who stole 6k MW3 copies off that truck last weekend.... At least you didn't actually PAY for this game.
  51. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The game is buggy, and boring. And paying greater than full game price for a map-pack of MW1 is a scam. I feel scammed for buying it. The graphics were good.... if this was 2003. The sounds were sub-par, the game play is the same, with no variaton...... It's basically COD Modern mappack 3. It's an overwhelmingly bad game. Disappointed to the end. Save your money and buy your missus dinner instead
  52. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game killed the call of duty franchise I will never buy another cod game again! To have hyped the game this much and basically release the same game like MW2 is crazy and is just a way to steal our money. NOW GO HACK THE GAME AND LETS MAKE IT BETTER!
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Almost identical to MW2, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Activision released a game with slight tweaks and calls it a new game, I don't understand why the hell "professional" reviewers are giving it anything other than a 1 or a 2
  54. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    wow a new MW. and it's so over used and dated. to top it off the MP is so lame nothing new about it. my god can we think of something better then that crap. we all know those critics are being paid to write great reviews for this game since it is a pile of crap
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Activision has once again failed to make their latest COD title stand out. Because, frankly, this is the umpteenth time COD 4 has been repackaged, with little to no innovation. The same broken Multiplayer, the same try-hard 4 hour long story, and soon the same overpriced map packs. It is truly a disgrace, the way Activision keeps confirming their greediness, and lack of interest for theirActivision has once again failed to make their latest COD title stand out. Because, frankly, this is the umpteenth time COD 4 has been repackaged, with little to no innovation. The same broken Multiplayer, the same try-hard 4 hour long story, and soon the same overpriced map packs. It is truly a disgrace, the way Activision keeps confirming their greediness, and lack of interest for their customers. This hasn`t bitten them yet, seeing as a lot of COD-players are very, very young. Too young to stand up and say "I will no longer let myself be milked dry like a cow. I will no longer let this company ruin gaming by repackaging the same game over and over again, therefore being a bad example for the rest". And even when the fans are a bit older, they still have ridiculously low standards, considering they like replaying the same broken game, over and over, paying 60 Dollars every year.

    Because of this greediness and laziness, COD MW3 deserves a 0, but I`ll give Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer games 1 point for the effort.
    Expand
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Do I even need to explain the problems with this game? I didn't think so. Game is average at best yet fanboys go on like its something special, what the hell is the problem with these gamers.
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Terrible game is terrible, huge waste of money. Multilayer is a train wreck, If I wanted to play Modern Warfare 2 Id pop in my MW2 disk. If anything this should have been DLC.
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Simply the worst game that ever came out. The dev guy asked on twitter for people to rate it up and for that alone it deserves to be downrated to hell.
    Story is bad, gameplay is same as in other ones, this could have been DLC to mw1.
  59. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Appalled by review scores. Battlefield gets ripped on the fact that they added a singleplayer mode to what is essentially a multiplayer only game, just as an addition to add value to the game, yet Activision gets away with this crap every year. It's all about the money, and they're making a lot of it.
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Piece of Garbage. Why do people even play this broken, watered down, repetitive, unrealistic and buggy game series? And why are people even BUYING it after all this and sending boat loads of money to one of the laziest and corrupt gaming corporations ( Activision ) and their CEO Bobby Kotick ( Anti-Christ of gaming ).

    I shouldnt be blaming you though, the majority of their revenue are
    Piece of Garbage. Why do people even play this broken, watered down, repetitive, unrealistic and buggy game series? And why are people even BUYING it after all this and sending boat loads of money to one of the laziest and corrupt gaming corporations ( Activision ) and their CEO Bobby Kotick ( Anti-Christ of gaming ).

    I shouldnt be blaming you though, the majority of their revenue are from kids between the age of 10-14 who are too close-minded and just follow the crowd and buy the game for the title.
    Expand
  61. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    If you own MW2 and play it for the multiplayer, there is zero reason to get this game. Don't get me wrong, the game is good in its own right, but there's just no justifying MW3 being its own game. Any other game in the world, and MW3 would have been a minor content and balance patch for MW2, but here?

    This is the exact sort of thing that is the cancer killing modern gaming. Instead of
    If you own MW2 and play it for the multiplayer, there is zero reason to get this game. Don't get me wrong, the game is good in its own right, but there's just no justifying MW3 being its own game. Any other game in the world, and MW3 would have been a minor content and balance patch for MW2, but here?

    This is the exact sort of thing that is the cancer killing modern gaming. Instead of the developers waiting until they had enough new content to make an entirely new game with entirely new stuff, someone just decided that enough time had passed since MW2 to get away with making a sequel. Based on time instead of content, the developers were shoved out the door with whatever they had on hand, (which as we can see from MW3, is not much)

    What has actually changed? Well, a few perks are now two perks, two perks were combined into one, and you unlock perks differently. There's a new engine, but it's only noticeable in the single player, and let's be honest, if you're getting this game just for the single player, there are better single player games out there. If you're looking for multiplayer, you're looking to spend 60 dollars to play a game you already own and unlock all your perks again.
    Expand
  62. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    Don't buy Skyrim and CODMW3 together, or you'll wind up playing this for 30 minutes and getting bored as hell, and Skyrim for 8 hours and have a blast.
  63. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a piece of s**t made for console kids who want to make a 50 killstreak. In PC is even worse than consoles because you can't change anything, we have no servers, etc. DON'T BUY it Expand
  64. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!! Expand
  65. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I bought both BF3 and MW3. The game play didn't change a bit, honestly I am done with Call of Duty series, it was well respected once but now it is just a video game soap opera. MW3 animation on PC with 120hz monitor looks very very outdated.
    BF3 isn't perfect but BF3 feels plays like AAA title and MW3 it is just a poor B title that somehow gets so much attention. If this game (MW3) would
    I bought both BF3 and MW3. The game play didn't change a bit, honestly I am done with Call of Duty series, it was well respected once but now it is just a video game soap opera. MW3 animation on PC with 120hz monitor looks very very outdated.
    BF3 isn't perfect but BF3 feels plays like AAA title and MW3 it is just a poor B title that somehow gets so much attention. If this game (MW3) would be called Homefront no critic would give it more then 60% percent. Homefront multiplayer is so much better and more fun compared to MW3 arcade crazy running around in the claustrophobic levels with lots of square rooms in the middle, level design just doesn't make any sense. It the old days it would've been an expansion for the price of the usual call of duty map pack. STOP BUYING GAMES LIKE THIS ONE OTHERWISE THEY WILL MAKE MORE OF THEM LIKE THAT - said hypocrite
    Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's MW2.5. That means is a mediocre game from a mediocre series, one that hasn't even changed in the past four years. I would give it a 3/10, but I'm giving it a 0 because they decided to charge $60 for a four hour campaign and rehashed game-play.
  67. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    To be honest, I wasn't expecting good things at first. But... yeah I was about right. Same game engine since Call of Duty 4. However, this was made even worse when they added the glow effect in Modern Warfare 2 which made everything look like it was covered in an oddly rigid water. Do not buy. Let the poor guy die. He's had enough. Call of Duty had potential, but it was quickly sapped byTo be honest, I wasn't expecting good things at first. But... yeah I was about right. Same game engine since Call of Duty 4. However, this was made even worse when they added the glow effect in Modern Warfare 2 which made everything look like it was covered in an oddly rigid water. Do not buy. Let the poor guy die. He's had enough. Call of Duty had potential, but it was quickly sapped by the greedy publishers. Do not blame the devs. It's all on Activision. Expand
  68. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    how can be a game with this graphics a 2011 pc game??!!! activision, have to use a new graphic engine, call of duty have to evolved, and this game does´t do that....
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Horrible game, so boring, so uncreative. Really makes you think why did you spend 60$ on such horrible product. Activision should never fire the people from Infinity Ward, because whats left of IW is not able to even do tetris. Tbh Activision should just leave games alone, they are destroying Blizzard alredy. 2 mil people stopped playing WoW and more will come cause Activision is greedyHorrible game, so boring, so uncreative. Really makes you think why did you spend 60$ on such horrible product. Activision should never fire the people from Infinity Ward, because whats left of IW is not able to even do tetris. Tbh Activision should just leave games alone, they are destroying Blizzard alredy. 2 mil people stopped playing WoW and more will come cause Activision is greedy company thinking only about money and how to milk more cash from gamers. Expand
  70. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Infinity wards remnants release the second expansion to COD4. I say that because it only qualifies as an expansion pack, ultimately the gameplay and even the visuals are nigh on identical to its predecessors. The mp maps have been designed seemingly so that you will never live longer than 24 seconds. One of the most tragic nails in MW3s coffin is the departure of any remnants of a matureInfinity wards remnants release the second expansion to COD4. I say that because it only qualifies as an expansion pack, ultimately the gameplay and even the visuals are nigh on identical to its predecessors. The mp maps have been designed seemingly so that you will never live longer than 24 seconds. One of the most tragic nails in MW3s coffin is the departure of any remnants of a mature audience. CoD has never been known for a particularly mature community, but now it seems rare to find a player over 12 willing to speak out online. Childish comments and arrogant bragging is seemingly all that comes through my speakers.
    I can in no way recommend this game, If you want the gameplay, buy MW2 for half the price.
    Expand
  71. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    What a joke this is, you've already released this game before.. Nothing diffrent from mw2, this could had been a bad map pack for mw2 instead.. Time to wake up and actually release a new game..
  72. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Awful campaign. They literally took the same game and milked it's money again. Multiplayer is nothing new, and the maps are boring. If you want the same game, stick to MW2 and just buy the damn DLC.
  73. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Lets see.. same graphic, same models, none progress than Black Ops, MW2. It's just a DLC mappack. Singleplayer script + script, Multiplayer using a P2P connection like MW2.
    Get back my money. Don't buy it.
  74. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Mordern Warfare 3 is the exact same game with MW2 MW1 . Of course! Graphics was more...... worse! cracked texture .. (sigh) how can u make it with Dat cost of making = 150,000,000 U.S. dollars ????? R U Insane? Gimme back my 60$.
  75. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I am a FAN BOY..... of RANKED DEDICATED SERVERS on any game!

    Seriously, this is the PC version. You need to allow ranked dedicated servers. No one wants to play with hackers and lag/Host Migration. We are NOT Console! Don't give me a green bar, give me a ping! Black OPS had dedicated servers with EXP. Why did Infinity Ward screw us over? Please Fix it or at least say you will
    I am a FAN BOY..... of RANKED DEDICATED SERVERS on any game!

    Seriously, this is the PC version. You need to allow ranked dedicated servers.
    No one wants to play with hackers and lag/Host Migration. We are NOT Console! Don't give me a green bar, give me a ping!
    Black OPS had dedicated servers with EXP. Why did Infinity Ward screw us over? Please Fix it or at least say you will never do it, so I can uninstall this game forever.
    Expand
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Well I jumped right on the band wagon and bought this game without reading any user reviews I wish I had. Overall I am very disappointed. Maybe the developers felt if it ain't broke don't fix it, but I think they have ended up with a stale game, same stuff repeated. It is not a new MW game its a map pack for MW2 and no more. I can't understand why the dedicated servers are un-ranked. I'mWell I jumped right on the band wagon and bought this game without reading any user reviews I wish I had. Overall I am very disappointed. Maybe the developers felt if it ain't broke don't fix it, but I think they have ended up with a stale game, same stuff repeated. It is not a new MW game its a map pack for MW2 and no more. I can't understand why the dedicated servers are un-ranked. I'm in Ireland and don't have a great net connection but at least with dedicated servers I could find one with good ping but what's the point if you cant rank up on them, so I am forced to go the P2P option, which is, for me at least, a very inferior way of playing. You are at the mercy of lag, whom ever is the host has the advantage. Also with the p2p games it just feels like I am spending more time in game lobbies waiting for players to join than in game and when in game you get the always annoying mitigating host message. I'll stick with Black Ops for my COD kicks, enjoying BF3 at the mo and I'm looking forward to Skyrim tomorrow. Expand
  77. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Why am I supposed to buy this game? For a number? For an higher price? For the ridiculous longevity? Why people should buy a game that already has?
    That's no reason.
  78. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I think there's a typo on the cover art -- that "3" should be a "2". It's a great game and all, I just wish it was something I hadn't played before. Too bad people will get suckered into buying the same game twice. I wonder what we can look forward to in Modern Warfare 4.
  79. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    The reason i wont rate this higher then a 4 is that its not a game, its like alot of ppl say an overpriced mappack. One thing that realy anoys me with mw3 is all the junk and stuff lying around everywhere to "prevent camping" when it does the oposite thing, it gives campers even more spots to hide. All i can do now is hope that the next game in the series gets a new engine and more focusThe reason i wont rate this higher then a 4 is that its not a game, its like alot of ppl say an overpriced mappack. One thing that realy anoys me with mw3 is all the junk and stuff lying around everywhere to "prevent camping" when it does the oposite thing, it gives campers even more spots to hide. All i can do now is hope that the next game in the series gets a new engine and more focus on the PC version. Expand
  80. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    You can't compare BF3 with MW3, it's not apples and apples. BF3 is a next-gen game with so much to offer and so much promise for expansion and longevity for playing with mates in the future. MW3 is a shocking, terrible cash grab expansion pack for MW2 and has 'wonderful' features like: No Hardcore Mode till Level 19 (WTF?), Dedicated Servers....somewhere....if you can find them, MatchYou can't compare BF3 with MW3, it's not apples and apples. BF3 is a next-gen game with so much to offer and so much promise for expansion and longevity for playing with mates in the future. MW3 is a shocking, terrible cash grab expansion pack for MW2 and has 'wonderful' features like: No Hardcore Mode till Level 19 (WTF?), Dedicated Servers....somewhere....if you can find them, Match Making....putting level 5's and below with 40's and 50's......welcome to the game... NOT. EPIC fail. Save your money for another game, Craptivision don't deserve your hard earned dollars. Expand
  81. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    I'm not going to comment on the SP, I mainly play online. I would say MW3 is much less fluid the cod4 possibly because the only ranked servers are p2p, the unranked dedicated servers may be better. I think it's realy a shame that 4-5 year old games like Crysis look way better graphics wise. I suspect hackers will become rampant like they are on MW2(I have experienced them already), atI'm not going to comment on the SP, I mainly play online. I would say MW3 is much less fluid the cod4 possibly because the only ranked servers are p2p, the unranked dedicated servers may be better. I think it's realy a shame that 4-5 year old games like Crysis look way better graphics wise. I suspect hackers will become rampant like they are on MW2(I have experienced them already), at least on the undedicated ranked servers. If IW/Activion alowed dedicated ranked servers I think the game could improve immensely. Overall I would have much prefered a reskinned/new maps cod4, and I wouldn't have minded paying $60 for that. Expand
  82. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This is a map pack for MW2 being sold as a full priced game. This has become an utter disgrace as Activision release the same garbage year after year - please do not buy it, let this blight on gaming die!
  83. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Don't do it...it's just a copy and paste of the past two games. Same engine, same graphics, same everything with some new perks, skins, maps, and one-time-thrill single player. Not worth your money. Dang it Activision...highway robbery again.
  84. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This series is a joke among the PC community. They can only compete based off of people's ignorance. It's the same game every time with a different skin. Excuse me while I go play Battlefield 3.
  85. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    I registered on here just to say this. I can't understand why people compare this to MW2 & COD4. I loved COD4, & MW2 even more & this is nothing like either of them. This is not a rehash of either of those great games, this is a rehash of the turd that was Black Ops. The maps feel the same & the gameplay feels exactly the same. This is not an Infinity Ward game, I dont care what it says onI registered on here just to say this. I can't understand why people compare this to MW2 & COD4. I loved COD4, & MW2 even more & this is nothing like either of them. This is not a rehash of either of those great games, this is a rehash of the turd that was Black Ops. The maps feel the same & the gameplay feels exactly the same. This is not an Infinity Ward game, I dont care what it says on the box. Infiity ward never wanted to make MW3 so most of them got the boot. With them went the mapping skills that brought the real COD games to life. This is Activisions greed feeding off a once great series & next year they'll do it again. Expand
  86. Feb 9, 2012
    6
    I enjoyed the single player campaign but it was very very short.
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Horribleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

    The worst game in history os games

    activision killed COD in MW2.

    This game is a very bad copy and past of COD4, is a terribe game, this game is sick in all aspects
  88. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    I bought this game for improved MW2 multiplayer, however I found that:
    a) maps are too small comparing to MW2 and are too "connected". This bloodbath is quickly getting bored without some big maps for sniping or long range relief.
    b) they introduced lag compensation which sucks monkey balls! If you have 5 bars connection, and you are host - you are screwed because of the some kind
    I bought this game for improved MW2 multiplayer, however I found that:
    a) maps are too small comparing to MW2 and are too "connected". This bloodbath is quickly getting bored without some big maps for sniping or long range relief.
    b) they introduced lag compensation which sucks monkey balls! If you have 5 bars connection, and you are host - you are screwed because of the some kind prediction game engine is doing for bad connection players. To play this game you need to run torrents in the background!
    c) shotguns were nerfed beyond recognition. They added so much recoil to them so it just make sense to use knife instead. In overall this is not improvement, it is more like reduction of MW2 multiplayer fun.
    Expand
  89. JLF
    Nov 13, 2011
    0
    The bane of gaming industry strikes again : this time it's completely same as before.
    I'm surprised this game sold so much on the first week. I'm truly losing hope in humanity
  90. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Años rompiendo record en ventas, record en ganacias, la formula CODMW es buena y hay que sacarle provecho, pero ya a esta altura los usuarios nos mereciamos por lo menos un motor grafico nuevo, me parece una burla lo que hicieron. El MW3 es el DLC mas caro del Modern Warfare 2. Darle un poco mas de brillo a lo que existia no es mejorar el motor grafico. Sean honestos con suAños rompiendo record en ventas, record en ganacias, la formula CODMW es buena y hay que sacarle provecho, pero ya a esta altura los usuarios nos mereciamos por lo menos un motor grafico nuevo, me parece una burla lo que hicieron. El MW3 es el DLC mas caro del Modern Warfare 2. Darle un poco mas de brillo a lo que existia no es mejorar el motor grafico. Sean honestos con su publico y entreguen algo digno. Expand
  91. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Everything that was wrong with the previous games, is repeated here. MW3 is essentially a money making cow full of terrible rehashes (some models and textures are outright COPIED from MW2 and CoD4) that's targeted at one of the worst audiences. The price is absurd, the gameplay is stale, the campaign is simply boring, and the only thing this thing SHOULD have going for it is multiplayer,Everything that was wrong with the previous games, is repeated here. MW3 is essentially a money making cow full of terrible rehashes (some models and textures are outright COPIED from MW2 and CoD4) that's targeted at one of the worst audiences. The price is absurd, the gameplay is stale, the campaign is simply boring, and the only thing this thing SHOULD have going for it is multiplayer, which is populated by either 13-year olds or idiots and operates on incredibly frustrating mechanics. Expand
  92. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    The first CoD: Modern Warfare was a great game, all the others are just really expensive map packs. There's absolutely no innovation, that's the sad truth; Activision destroyed this franchise. Don't ever waste your money on it.
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game doesn't deserve the score the game got. While shipping the game to the reviewers, I'm sure there were some extra goodies in that bag such as $10,000.

    This game is not that great, the graphics are like 360p quality, and rare moments 480p. I don't think I need to prove it to you guys. If you have the game already, you already know what I'm talking about. The gameplay is not that
    This game doesn't deserve the score the game got. While shipping the game to the reviewers, I'm sure there were some extra goodies in that bag such as $10,000.

    This game is not that great, the graphics are like 360p quality, and rare moments 480p. I don't think I need to prove it to you guys. If you have the game already, you already know what I'm talking about.

    The gameplay is not that great in multiplayer. If you've played it, you might notice that within 20 seconds, you'll encounter at least 2 - 4 enemies. The flow and respawn of the gameplay is just awful. The game officially requires no tactics whatsoever. This game deserves a 1/10.
    Expand
  94. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I haven't purchased a CoD game since CoD4. I decided to put aside my biases and pick up "the most anticipated game ever". This was a big damn mistake. This game is so overrated it is sickening. CoD4 is great; the campaign and multiplayer are some of the best there is. I have no idea what has happened over the last few years but this game has completely gone down hill. The campaign isI haven't purchased a CoD game since CoD4. I decided to put aside my biases and pick up "the most anticipated game ever". This was a big damn mistake. This game is so overrated it is sickening. CoD4 is great; the campaign and multiplayer are some of the best there is. I have no idea what has happened over the last few years but this game has completely gone down hill. The campaign is mediocre. Sure, there are explosions everywhere but I never found it fun. The multiplayer is utter garbage. Peer-to-peer is worse than I could have imagined. There is such horrible lag and cheaters are already here. Do yourself a favor and keep away from this one. Expand
  95. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Dire game. Just a £40 map pack of MW2. Graphics aren't impressive then again that doesn't surprise much. BF3 in comparison is far better. Granted it does use origin but gameplay wise it's a different game that's improve upon it's predecessor. This hasn't. Given the fact the MP is the same as MW2, if you must play the SP, just torrent the game. Save your money becauseDire game. Just a £40 map pack of MW2. Graphics aren't impressive then again that doesn't surprise much. BF3 in comparison is far better. Granted it does use origin but gameplay wise it's a different game that's improve upon it's predecessor. This hasn't. Given the fact the MP is the same as MW2, if you must play the SP, just torrent the game. Save your money because Activision doesn't deserve it what so ever. Expand
  96. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Uh.... Hear me out lol. This isnt because of some fanboy thing. Truly, considering the roughly 500 developers, that they would pull through. make it better you know? Of course, the campaign still hits you dead on; its fun and stuff, but its the same thing. The multiplayer is.... wrong. The gun perspectives look strange, animations are stale, and the sounds are horrible. Elite isntUh.... Hear me out lol. This isnt because of some fanboy thing. Truly, considering the roughly 500 developers, that they would pull through. make it better you know? Of course, the campaign still hits you dead on; its fun and stuff, but its the same thing. The multiplayer is.... wrong. The gun perspectives look strange, animations are stale, and the sounds are horrible. Elite isnt revolutionary enough to need a whole team behind it. Expect the exact same game, with similar animations etc. I guess you could say that you will pay to keep playing MW2 with a new campaign and weapons. DLC material. Too short, a little lacklustre. Dont believe the reviews, I reckon that they are payed and they kind of tricked me. I knew this was coming and i got it cheap but I still feel a little wronged . Of course, I still have BF3 to keep me busy, but expect similar problems (except with multi and coop, they are flawless) but the campaign was a ltittle strange. I wont elaborate on the IW engine and the Frostbite 2 one, because this is not a rant, although i dont give details. The IW engine is borderline ok; it still looks fine, and there is a clear 60fps being consistent , but it shows that its a bad effort, as the swift controls and user friendly design was done badly on MW3.
    Look at the user reviews; take away around a quarter from pos and neg and you get rid of the fanboy crap. Still its bad. Activision knew that this would happen, considering Black ops had also bombed in actual worthiness so they hyped up MW3 with advertising and paying off reviewers eh.
    Expect a **** of kids who will infuriate you with obviously better guns. Expect to be screaming at the tubers and cheap deaths. Instead of ridding the MW franchise of the stupid kids its embellished it. If you love to the point that its all you talked about on Nov 7, buy it, Otherwise dont. It couldve been so much more, but it wasnt. (the console versions suffered more, i heard) Kids will flood it, ruin it, but if you are 12 go nuts.
    Expand
  97. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Es horrible el juego! campaña pobre y multiplayer repetitivo! No hicieron nada por innovar algo dentro del juego, es pesimo , las texturas son un asco para la epoca, parece que fue creado para chiquitos el juego.
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I must say... I expected a lot more when I purchased this game... $66 down the drain... With some graphical improvements and a few ported structures here and there... It's been one foggy memory after another resurfacing in my head. Would have been a great DLC for $10 in my opinion.
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    What a decline and contrast from the CoD 4: MW campaign that got me hooked, to the present day MW3 garbage campaign. Script and dialogue was tiresome and repetitive, AI was often poor and clueless. The engine itself is now clearly showing it's age, especially in comparison to the (often discussed) Frostbite 2 engine. Damage and action sequences definitely do not have any 'wow' qualities toWhat a decline and contrast from the CoD 4: MW campaign that got me hooked, to the present day MW3 garbage campaign. Script and dialogue was tiresome and repetitive, AI was often poor and clueless. The engine itself is now clearly showing it's age, especially in comparison to the (often discussed) Frostbite 2 engine. Damage and action sequences definitely do not have any 'wow' qualities to them due to looking so outdated. I purchased primarily for the campaign, and considering they hyped this up so much (if not more than multiplayer), I can't help but feel ripped off. Get back to the drawing board devs, and completely up your game....you owe it to the 'fans'. Expand
  100. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    To be honest with the campaigns being the same tired old nonsense with a plot that's convoluted and ridiculous the single player isn't even worth rating. It's a series of rather stunning set pieces at times same as every other game but that's short lived. Multiplayer however this might aswell just be a map pack for the very first modern warfare. New game modes add little and I'm glad I'veTo be honest with the campaigns being the same tired old nonsense with a plot that's convoluted and ridiculous the single player isn't even worth rating. It's a series of rather stunning set pieces at times same as every other game but that's short lived. Multiplayer however this might aswell just be a map pack for the very first modern warfare. New game modes add little and I'm glad I've just borrowed this as I will never pick it up again. Expand
  101. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    If you play any Call of Duty titles you've played this game as well. Ill start with the single player which seems to be the only "new" part added to the game. Unfortunately its the same as other fps games. It took me less than three hours to finish the campaign which is nothing more than a run of the mill story that was somewhat hard for me to follow at times. You have the sameIf you play any Call of Duty titles you've played this game as well. Ill start with the single player which seems to be the only "new" part added to the game. Unfortunately its the same as other fps games. It took me less than three hours to finish the campaign which is nothing more than a run of the mill story that was somewhat hard for me to follow at times. You have the same infinitely spawning enemies that try to kill you before you and your team reaches the objective which just leads to a somewhat dull story telling experience. But in the end 98% of people don't buy the game for the story they buy it for the countless hours of multilayer enjoyment that we all come to love with modern games. Sadly I just don't feel they delivered what we all were expecting when this game was being hyped up. Its the same graphics same sound and unfortunately the same feel as the past two games just with a new name and a brand new game price tag slapped on a box. But it is a structurally solid game and I haven't encountered may bugs that cant be attributed to release day bugs but I just cant get past it having the EXACT same feel as the past two games had. For me this feels like nothing more than a glorified map pack that has been polished a bit and I for one refuse to give a developer credit for what I consider lazy and unoriginal work. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. 80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]