User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5406 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    I don't generally write reviews for games, but when I saw the obscenely low user scores across all platforms, I felt I had to stick my nose in here. Modern Warfare sports a brief, yet cinematic and climactic campaign that's difficult not to enjoy. Spec Ops provides a lot of variety and challenge and I was glad to see it return for this sequel, with even more goodness as it spreads the satisfaction of leveling up in the multiplayer, which is as exciting, entertaining, and addictive as ever. Yes, it sticks closely to what previous titles did, but more of a good thing isn't always bad. Personally I can't wait to finish this sentence and get back into the action (at least until Skyrim comes out tomorrow.) Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    $100 Map pack. Over-rated. This game has not changed much over the time and it seems that it is just trying to gain the money from the brand name. Fan boys would be the only people to rate this highly. With such games as BF3 there can be no question that this game will not be GOTY and will and should not even rate with in the top 10. Also many people claim this to be a realistic fps. The people that call dual ak-47's with no recoil realistic should be shot. Games such as Counter strike, quake and battlefield have skill and over the time have changed in enough ways to make each game its own. The new addition of a tomahawk in Black-ops was the tell tail sign that the CoD series had given up on trying to make a good game Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    "Just another cash in of a tired old franchise. Re-releasing a video game every year and making millions is just a slap in the face to real developers who actually take the time to make a decent video game, with a good engine, great online, and a good story."

    +1
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Terrible game from a terrible publisher. Acticrap struck again with this turd. Are they REALLY still selling call of duty 4 as a new game for the FIFTH time ? Not only that but this is again a stinking console port on the PC. Here we are with amazingly fast machines and Acticrap is still pushing out a game on seven year old engine with console port crap graphics, no dedicated servers and just plain arcadey, junvenile and non-challenging multiplayer.

    Actifail. This franchise will soon go the way of guitar hero and tony hawk, and good riddance to it. Pile of trash lacking any innovation.
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Well the game loads. It gets a point for that. But I can't help but wonder why it loads a degraded looking version of MW1. Maybe that's why the Steam purchase came with MW1, to share the common files! It took a big developer a year to develop what really is some slight changes to a base game. I've seen modders come up with bigger innovations in the same development time! Yet another linear on-rails campaign that feels like it's mostly cutscenes designed to look good on a "gameplay" trailer, and yet another multiplayer that takes its map designs from Pac-Man and adds nothing really new in terms of gameplay innovation, but instead removes some of the customization it had previously. All with outdated graphics, fake as hell plastic sounds and a community made up mostly of people not old enough to play the game. £40 please. I think I could have given it more points if Activision gave me a financial incentive similar to the critics'. But they didnt, so....honesty it is. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    It gets a 3 in my books. 1 Point for Spec Ops Survival mode 1 Point for Spec Ops Mission mode 1 Point for the Uninstall button in control panel. This is MW 2.1 without question. Heck even some of the error messages that you might and will later encounter refer to the game as MW2 and not MW3. Nice lazy Dev code there. Let's start with the facts. P2P DOES NOT, CAN NOT, and WILL NOT EVER, work for a pc Based FPS Multiplayer game. Sure it's fine for co-op, or at least a SMALL number of players in a versus mode, but that still introduces host advantage. As a competitive Multiplayer game, there is no chance it will ever work. Please remove all instances of this crap from any future games from your stable IW. I cannot see in my right mind how IW thinks it's sufficient to play a FPS game with 100+ ping every single round, its absolutely absurd. In my first hour of playing alone I encountered 2 Aimbotters, which could have been dealt with by Admins, but seeing that There are none in P2P, they spoilt the game for us all until we EVENTUALLY found a new playlist. Atleast the addition of dedicated servers rectifies this, but IW jumps in and even limits us on these, being unranked and all.
    Also Loving the fact that that your only sound options are Volume and speaker setup, no way to turn down music or menu sounds. The visuals are not on par with anything from this year, as it actually looks worse than MW2 and Black Ops due to the fact that levels are bigger and more intricate, so the textures have to be downscaled (or so it seems) for the console players to achieve sustainable frame rates. Fantastic job guys, really.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A nice round-up for the Modern Warfare trilogy in an incredible, cinematic and engrossing single player campaign mode. Multiplayer is the best it has ever been and the new Spec Ops levels and modes are awesome. Ignore the negative reviews from people who have most likely not played the game (they're mostly Battlefield 3 players that are upset that once again their favourite game has sold less than a Call of Duty game). Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Why do people hate good media just because its popular and succesful? MW3 is a better game than Battlefield, its made by much more talented developers and isn't published by games hating EA. The low user score here is from bitter battlefield fans that their game wasn't anywhere near as good as they had hoped. Infinity Ward are extremely talented and have worked hard to create an extremely fun game. Again. Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Cash Cow game much? Tried so much to get into this game but it is terrible, i love reading all of the comments by the children that play it "oh you only be hatin' because of BF3 blah blah blah". This game is clearly a copy and paste job, i feel bad for the people that genuinely bought it and not just because their friends did (so they had to be popular). The graphics are terrible, look like PS2 textures sometimes and to me that's quite bad. Controls, no change... Gameplay, no change... Perks, minor change. Lucky for me my friend bought this game before i did so i never lost any money really.
    As for the IGN review, please, what a pure kiss ass review, single player campaign is visually stunning? It's just stripped levels from the old games slapped in with horrible textures and nasty auto aim.
    Well after my rant, i'll give this game a 0 out of 10, it is not worth anyone's money, not even the fake chocolate kind.
    Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I bought this game thinking it was about answering the call of nature and dropping a deuce in the toilet. Instead it seems to be about a guy that shoots others with no remorse.Very misleading title!!!
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Normally you'd go for the "When its not broken don't fix it" motto but this does not work here. An aging game with aging game play mixed with a far too young player base to play this game legally makes it a dull and frustrating experience. There is no wow factor and for such a high price tag this truly feels like a con.
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    There are two types of games companies in the world. Those who respect their player base and strive to truely create titles that can be respectfully crowned as AAA, and Infinity Ward.

    Pushing technology to it's limits, creating truely immersive environments and designing experiences that players do not forget is the challenge that this game not only fails to reach, but did not plan for
    from the start. Apparently Infinity Ward seem to think that players enjoy games that force set cinematics on the players, have zero choice throughout the levels and contain zero character progression.

    This game makes baby Jesus cry.
    Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I made an account for this website just to show how disappointed I am with this latest installment of a franchise I thoroughly enjoyed since the original modern warfare. I wasn't troubled too much with the fact that this game was almost a carbon copy of MW2, but it was the little changes that annoyed me the most when they are all piled together. The gun swaying while running is laughable, you actually move a lot slower then compared to MW2 - removing the fluidity of this game while doing so. The music score for the game is garbage compared to MW and MW2, and the campaign is horribly written, stale, and predictable. The only positive thing I have seen is a reduction of grenade launching game play. The graphics are basically the same but personally that doesn't bother me too much. This game was not worth it at all, and Activision / IW made a killing off of this game. You can tell that when they sat down to discuss how they were going to make MW3, they went with the business model of: try to keep everything the same to cut production costs. All in all, I'd recommend staying away from this game. Ignore what the editors for news articles say. This is NOT worth it. Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Ctrl + C, Ctrl + V. This games deserves a 0. It's a copy and paste, no originality, bull crap singleplayer, same multiplayer. $60 price tage, with multiple $15 rehashed map packs. Game gets a 0.
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Once again a bad rehash by Nintendo, which doesn't bring anything new to the table. It's just the same old game copypasted with a new name to get money from the youngsters who can't see this. Good job, Miyamoto!
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    I played about 4 hours of MP last night after work and so far I am enjoying it, most of the maps are well done, weapons feel very tight. My biggest disappointments are the P2P, got several bad hosts last night and not being able to adjust the FOV. After awhile of playing ranked P2P a few clan mates and I decided to jump in a dedicated gun game server and had a blast. I think I might just forget the whole "ranked' thing and just play dedis from now on...I could care less about leveling and unlocking stuffz anyway. I just like hanging with my clan mates and having FUN. I am happy with my purchase and will be spending lots of time in MW3. Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MW3 isn't a very intresting game. It has the same gameplay as with all the other MW game, with that I am fine, a title should stay true to the gameplay it has. This is the only reason I'll be willing to give the game 1 point. I also like the new gamemode but it isn't close to enough. The game is not well balanced, it has huge lag issus, the sound is anything but pleasing compared to other FPS titles, the graphics more or less the same as with BO but you can't change your FOV. This makes the game feel slower than it is, not a good thing for a run'n gun game. It also means that people will get pain in their eyes after playing for a time period longer than 8 minutes (look at TotalHalibut´s video :WFT is modern warfair 3? to get a more in deapth descussion about the matter). MW3 also has left out many of the good things that BO intruduced. When playing MW3 you ask yourself why you don't just play MW2 or a mod of CoD4. The game doesn't bring anything new and fresh to the series and it just feels old and mossy. As a gamer it is impossible to accept that the series is getting less and less content for every new game, but sadly that is what has happend to the CoD series after CoD4 and MW2. The money I put on MW3 was money poorely spent. The next CoD game better have a new up to date engeien, better graphics, a new tutch on the gameplay (without loosing the run'n gun feel). In other words, the next time another CoD is anounced I don't want an over priced mod. MAKE COD GOOD AGAIN! Expand
  18. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I just registered to say this. I have been a hardcore COD fan for a long time. This is the last COD I will ever buy unless things change. Graphically this game is a piece of **** worse than black ops by far. No FOV, the aspect ratio seems messed up, a complete disgrace. Please do not waste 60 bucks on this crap, you will regret it like me.
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    bad, bad, bad. old graphics. the singleplayer is simply shallow and boring. unreal/predictable story line. multiplayer lame as well. childish perks, fast experience bar. can't apply any strategies with team/ other players. and very basic shoot-die-re deploy kind of game.
    pretty much like the old games (black ops/mw 2), just in new box.
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Nothing ground breaking about this game, If you enjoyed the previous CoD's then you'll like it. The Multiplayer is an improvement over MW2. Maps, weapons, killstreaks, perks, etc are better and more balanced. The Graphics are good but not an improvment over previous titles except I do like the character animations, especially faces, they looked revamped. I wish dedicated servers were ranked and there was a way to adjust the field of View. Have not finished the SP nor have I started any Co-op as of yet. Expand
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Game Chronicles review is so untrue, I'm amazed how they can right this stuff, Perfection and so on, come on guys, we are not retards, give us honest reviews, stop being bought by the Pubs, Forgo your swanky hotels in Palm Springs, Just write honest reviews instead of the **** you publish. The game looks very old, the ranked servers don't play well, and to top it off, they looked down most of the dedi servers options, very much unlike COD4 if you want my opinion Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Do yourself a favor and start MW2 and you won't know the difference.No dedicated servers makes it hard for us Aussies to get decent connection.I just wonder why the professional reviewers score this MW 2 map pack that highly. Afraid they won't get the junket next year?
  23. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Where to start? I have been playing COD since the very first game on PC, and IMO Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is the best COD game in the entire franchise. What happened Infinity Ward? Modern Warfare 3 is the same as Black Ops / Modern Warfare 2....it's just more of the same. This game really could have been released as a $30 expansion (or something like that). I don't really understand what all the hype is surrounding this game (IMO there are much better ones just released and that are coming out). The single player is poor, multiplayer is more of the same, and SpecOps feels like it was tacked on.....There is just not enough here to justify a $60 game. If it was going for $40, ok....that would change this review a bit. To give Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer Games credit, they did do a remarkable job with the graphics (this is at least a four year old engine), and you can tell they worked extremely hard to deliver this. Bottom line, buy this, yes or no?: No - Save your money and play COD: Modern Warfare if you need your "war" game fix. Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Copycat of the previous titles, where is the innovation? Honestly this is not a video game, because once PC and console games was more then just products the developers can make money of, they were more like piece of art. Nowadays moneymaker Activision does not give a crap about art design, music, new game play elements, and innovation, they just try to sell as much as they can, without maintaining the quality. Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game, best of the 'modern' series, yes, similar to the others but with extra sexy 'more of the same' ie detailed belieavable and known locations (NY, London, Paris etc) rather than 'some jungle/desert somewhere'. Campaign takes about 5 hours to complete on normal difficulty but don't feel cheated as its like playing a blockbuster movie which are usually only one and a half hours. Far fetched? - yes. A rollercoaster? - yes. fans of the series will love it. If you played any of the others and didn't like them then simple, avoid this or you will only write a poor review - as I opened, its a sexier more of the same - which suits me fine. Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    yes graphics is old, but game is SUPERB! TOTAL FULL ACTION LIKE NO OTHER! BF3 is sooo boring and slow, MW3 ROX and does have great campaign! I love it like any Modern Warfare Activision game!
  27. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    this game just got old. nothing new just a expansion new weapons. Bf3 is way better. I broke my **** of doody disk. This game is not even that fun, its the same as black ops and mw2, i expected new engine and new weapons. but it only had new weapons but not as many, A lot of the weapons were recycled from Cod4, MW2, and Black ops. So don't get this game its terrible
  28. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A big disappointment overall with MW3. Basically its a re-skin/map pack of MW2. Same layout, same fonts, same game engine &the same pos IWNet. I bought MW3 because they said it will support dedicated servers (which they semi lied to me). You can play on dedicated servers but they are non-ranked. Therefore your unlocks will not carry over & you wont get experience. If you want to play on a ranked server, you'll have to use the pos IWNet (someone hosting). Its the same ole mindless run n' gun prestige crap that you've seen. Very little innovation.

    Stick to MW2, better yet BLoPS since they support dedicated servers. You'll save yourself the 60 bucks because this expensive skin/map pack isn't worth it!
    Expand
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    I play COD for the single player and Bf for the multi and COD was the same crap different year. If even ended the same with the quick time left right, e crap and where everyone bites the bullet. Some parts were very cool and I like and cared about the story being told but the critics overrated this game way too much. The campaign was too short and the ending just pissed me off. Multiplayer is even worse and is almost exactly like MW2 with a few additions and a very cool reward system which is accessible if you're very good at this kind of arcade style shooter. COD2k11 is the madden of shooters and we all saw how that was received. I will think twice before buying another COD game for £40. Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The current scores on here are pathetic. You may not like the game but very few games deserve these kind of scores. Just because its popular and similar to the last installment doesn't warrant these scores. A good series is a good series and many very well reviewed games on here are equally as similar as cod is. It's childish, besides in its own right its a great game, deserves 9/10 but for obvious reasons to make up for the score I'm giving 10/10. Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    I got this game on steam on launch day, hoping it would be better than Black Ops. Biggest mistake I have ever made in buying a game, even worse than buying BO. That game was a mess, and I have deeply regretted buying it, but not more than MW3. I have played MW, MW2, BO, and now MW3 and I can say each game gets worse exponentially. I will never purchase another COD game again.

    This game
    really feels like MW1.5 as there is absolutely nothing new. Graphics are more than 4 years old. Same old boring, predictable story. Multiplayer is exactly the same with new maps. This game could have been a $15 DLC, and even that would be a rip off.

    If you guys want a good, quality game, check out The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. There's a game that the developers actually put time into making, about 3 years. Not like each COD game taking less than a year to make, no wonder their quality is so terrible. It's sad that such a piece of junk like MW1.5 can sell millions and even more than games that outclass it like Skyrim. There are just too many mindless, stupid fanboys who enjoy shooting each other with new maps paying a $60 fee every year to do so.

    Overall, this game couldn't even last me 2 days as once Skyrim came out I dumped this piece of crap. Hopefully, the COD series dies with this game or they totally reinvent it because it's only going to get worse from here.
    Expand
  32. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This is another copy and paste game, i was extremely disappointed with this game. The campaign was terrible, as RazielDe described it quite accurately. The Multiplayer is exactly like the previous game (MW2) with a few tid bits added it to make it seem different than MW2, but they are not fooling anyone. The Maps are Horribly designed , resulting in almost all of the game being indoors.
  33. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    My review here is for the PC version of the game. Little has changed since MW2, and nobody expected different. What has changed, however, I feel to be a tighter experience. From the matchmaking, the team-oriented kill streaks, and better designed multiplayer maps, etc. In fact, I'm not really been much of a COD "fan," I'm much more into Battlefield and BF3 is my main game. The difference between the two is obvious: Battlefield is a War Simulator, while COD is more of a tightly focused team driven "arcade" shoot-out. MW3 has a lot to offer: the campaign takes you on a colossal joy ride visiting monuments few may ever see in their lifetime. The co-operative Spec Ops feature is much improved and allows for countless hours with a buddy. The Multiplayer shoot-out is far better tweaked with the killstreaks.

    However, there are a few things that stand-out to be missing from last years offering that I think should've been included by a "AAA" Blockbuster title. First, there is no native gamepad support like there was in Black Ops (which was the first COD game to offer the feature on the PC). Yes, most of us game on mouse/keyboard to play competitively, but a lot of us these days have our PC hooked up to our HDTV and prefer to play on the couch after a long (or hard) days work instead of my desk. Most modern PC games have this feature, Activision should know better. The only solution here is to use a 3rd party program like Xpadder or Pinnacle Gaming Software. Second, for 'being' a Blockbuster title Activision should ensure that they are moving the 'gaming' ball down the 'technological' field. Last year, Black Ops had native 3D support and was supported using Nvidia's 3D Vision/3DTVPlay system on PCs. This was omitted in Modern Warfare 3. Technology should be moving in a one-way direction, and the dev's should've taken what Treyarche did and built on it. Had they implemented these features, I would be happy to give them a '10' for a great fun game as a Battlefield fan.
    Expand
  34. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    What can I say about this game. Wonderful, spectacular, cinematic and many more things, can still remember the first time I played Call of Duty was an experience our glorious why I say that Call of Duty is not a simple fps he is the king of all graphs is both recycled or not so I know the game is so wonderful but leaves you with so much that I like to ask more.and biz
  35. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The brand of CoD is so powerful, they don't even need to add much compared to previous games to sell millions of copies to make a lot of profit. This results in a game that we've already had here before (MW2, Black Ops).
  36. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Complete waste of money and a joke, same as Mw2 over and over............................................................................................................................................................................................................................. the campaign sucks, online is the same again can't stand infinity ward fml
  37. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This is the same game as MW2 basically, nothing great about this game at all. Graphics still look horrible and game play is same as any other COD. no big changes at all made to this game. Id rather play World at War
  38. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    ya estoy cansado de la misma mie#$% cada año y seguiré jugando el MW2 de ves en cuando hasta que salga algo que valga realmente la pena, ademas porque comprar MW3 si hay un Batman AC, un Uncharted 3, un Skyrim, un Gears 3, entre otros.
    bueno esto es solo mi OPINION PERSONAL y se les respeta a quienes si apoyen este juego.
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    A good action filled game. Not much have changed since Modern Warfare 2, but the campaign is as amazing as the ones in the first two games. Have not played multiplayer. If you are only interested in multiplayer and own another Call of Duty game from the last few years you will not find much value in this game.
  40. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    This review is focused solely on the multiplayer experience. It seems there are really only two changes from recent COD games: Perks/Unlocks & Maps. The maps are possibly the most refreshing change. The game boasts a huge rotation of around 16 maps all of which appear to be well laid out. My only complaint is the drab and uninspired color pallet; far too many of the maps remind me of Carnival from MW2. At face value, the perks and unlocks appear new and exciting; that is, until you read the description and realize it's the same old perks with new names. The game throws new unlocks and challenges at you at an alarming rate. I found this to be a bit overwhelming and not necessarily a positive, however gamers who love to complete a game 100% and earn every single reward may find this appealing. If I were to appraise the value of the new content in Modern Warfare 3, I'd place it at around $15; the cost of a map pack. In hindsight, it was naive of me to assume that Activision would break the mold with MW3 and I take full responsibility for blowing $60 on a game that I already own two copies of (COD4 and MW2). Expand
  41. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I am totally enjoying the Multiplayer. Fast paced and quick to get in game and load/join maps, The game types add a lot of variety and I like the maps WAY better than in BF3. I prefer the new weapon upgrade system to previous versions of CoD.
    After playing both BF3 and CoD:MW3 I choose CoD.
  42. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's a sad state of affairs when the video game industry hands out review scores of 9-9.5/10 for any big name title. Modern Warfare 3 is completely undeserving of the fanfare which has greeted it. It completely lacks innovation. Graphically underwhelming, ridiculous story with hold-my-hand linear gameplay, and multiplayer which is overpopulated by 12 years olds on a caffeine high, or the more "elite" who hide in a corner of the map and wait for you to run by. If this had been my first exposure to the COD franchise, I may have considered an average score. However, this game does nothing to improve on an already successful franchise. Complete waste of time and a backwards step for the industry. Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    three words.

    complete dog ****

    the movement, the sounds, the feel of the weapons, just plain horrible. I want my 60 dollars back.
    Activision.. go **** yourself
  44. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    MW3 gives you the rush and excitement that CoD fans have become accustomed to. The game has definitely stepped up from last years installment and is leaving the series fresh in my eyes. Buy the game. I am sure you will agree as well.
  45. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A very complete game. So much fun and action, and the Spec Ops mode is so amazing. I hope Modern Warfare never dies, and I cannot wait for another title of this saga.
  46. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    mi piace troppo questo gioco. campagna fantastica, multiplayer da paura e tutto rinnovato e le nuove modalità spec ops e survival sono divertentissime. Non capisco perchè abbiano dato un voto così basso ad un gioco così stupendo.
  47. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I pre-ordered both BF3 and MW3...
    And, i can not see differences between MW2 & MW3...
    THIS IS THE SAME **** GAME.
    The only new feature is the system to get screwed in the long term with cod elite...
  48. T26
    Nov 11, 2011
    10
    For someone who is familiar with the Modern Warfare storyline, this game is a complete masterpiece. The singleplayer campaign is filled with drama as well as innovation and really reminds players why Call of Duty became famous in the first place - because of the story. A story that no movie or other form of fiction can represent in such an epic way. Spec ops can be described as pure fun, especially when playing with a friend, and the multiplayer side of things isn't much different. All features of this video gaming masterpiece can be described as innovative, fun, filled with emotion, and just plain beautiful. MW3 reminds us why COD is on top of the world right now, and it would be a true shame if we don't see Price and the familiar cast anymore. IW, GIVE US MORE MODERN WARFARES (with Price)! Collapse
  49. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This piece of crap is MW2 all over again. I should have saved my money and stayed playing BF3. I got it for all the hype involved and I wont buy another MW installment never again.
  50. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why people put 0 this is so stupid. Call MW 3 is a call of duty thats what I wanted. For those who put 0, they are haters or BF3 fanboys. This a great game, great solo and great multiplayer
  51. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    No matter what is said. Was, is and always will be entertaining, heart pumping mad fun. All games no exception have there strong and weak points. What really matters is how much fun you are having.
  52. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Ce jeu est une merde c'est un copier coller de modern warfare 1 mais a 70 euros grosse merde du deja vu 600000000fois le solo est ennuyant a mourir les script on les connait tous il était deja présent dans mw1 le jeu est moche c'est de l'arnaque !!!!!!!!!!
  53. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    come on ... when I got the game I thought that the seller cheated me because the game was identical to the one game I had played only two years ago inta a word JOKE
  54. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really hoped this game would be top-notch. Instead for PC, you get: no customizable FOV or advanced graphical settings, really buggy campaign, and NO RANKED DEDICATED SERVERS. This game is a complete waste of $60. Some minor tweeks, a little upgrade on graphics (MW3 has absolutely no difference from MW2) and even more bugs & glitches. If you want a complete, long-lasting, more fun FPS, go for the Battlefield franchise, Red Orchestra, Counter-Strike, or ARMA. Call of Duty is a complete disgrace for the FPS market (aside from WaW, MW1, and CoD2). Expand
  55. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. bf3 is a so nice but mw3 is look like mw1 and 2 and i dont want to play those game again in mp bf3 is awsome but mw3 is not good but split screen is good Expand
  56. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Yes, this has slick voice acting and likeable characters, but in terms of gameplay, it's the same games I've bought twice before.

    Maybe MW2 and MW3 should have been campaign expansion/map packs for MW1, at a percentage of the cost?!
  57. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    Really Activision?
    You think that you can just take an old game you made, add some new maps with buildings from that old game and call it a new map? or even worst, a new game?
    Honestly, After playing the multiplayer I felt as though I was playing MW2.5 (What you should be calling this 'game').
    I can honestly, from my experience of playing this and BF3,say that MW3 is the flop of the
    century and overall the trashiest most linear, unimaginative game I have ever played to date.
    Take note though that BF3 has its flaws, but I only need one reason to prove that the devs of BF3 cared about it so much as to go about and take the time they could have been using to make DLC, making a new engine for it.
    Anyway, this is truly a pathetic game and i'm very disappointed at how absolutely terrible this game is.
    I'll give you the score of 1 for having the balls to release this crap you call a 'game'.
    Expand
  58. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    So what good is the game? The answer - nothing. Graphics not seen improvements since the change Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. The plot has slid down to zero. Scripts - the lot of the past, the linearity as well. Sound - terrible, even in games 2000-2005, he was then and is clearly better.
    Multiplayer, in fact it is a different story. Let me be clear, multiplayer **** up and spoiled,
    horrible maps, weapons, the same way. Sorry, but why all these "perks" and "strikes kill"? That's right - they are completely unnecessary. In general, 0 points. Expand
  59. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Modern warfare 3 is just a map pack for modern warfare 2, same graphics, bad sounds, small maps... They just didn't put effort on it, just made a new campaign with same engine, and let's see 60£ for that? you must be kidding, mw3 should cost like 10-15£, it's just like a dlc...oh and shouldn't be called mw3 but mw2:something. BF3 completely destroys mw3.
  60. BDA
    Nov 11, 2011
    4
    I somewhat enjoyed Call of Duty back when the series first started. It had a lot of charm and the first few sequels brought something new to the table. Unfortunately, This game didn't bring anything new to the table compared to the last few games in the series. It sickens me how much this series has gotten away with re-releasing the same formula with barely any changes for so long. I can easily buy an Indy game for 10 Dollars that can give me more innovation and gameplay than any of the Call of Duty games combined. The fact that this game even has a 60 dollar price tag is baffling, considering it is pretty much exactly like the past 2 games in the Modern Warfare series. I give credit that Modern Warfare 2 has a better amount of content than the first one but this game is the exact same if not worse than the title that came before it. It's funny to me how the press and Infinity ward think this is somewhat of an "attack" on the series but I think this is more of an outcry that we want to see better. Sadly, I don't think that's ever going to happen. Expand
  61. Nov 11, 2011
    2
    Cod is the best, i loved this game category,the graphic little bit disappointed, but the game play is so enjoyable,the story is still made in good mode... activation keep it up!!!
  62. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    The story is too much cheesy to watch.
    The gameplay is the same old history.
    The graphic are very much the same.
    The music also either.
    I can´t believe that I waste my money on this.
  63. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Sorry Call of Duty, I just don't feel it would be fair to give anything but a zero when the same game just keeps getting rehashed. This is ridiculous CoD developers, releasing the same game for $60 a pop and then throwing in lame DLC on top of that. Zero, zero, zero. Shame on you!
  64. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    What exacly did i pay for? I allready have Modern Warfare 2... this is the most expensive DLC i have EVER bought.. Will NOT buy any more out of Acitvision - this is the worst try of money ripoff...
  65. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    This game is an absolute joke. People keep reminding me that you play this game because of "how it feels". Fine, Ill admit that the feeling I get, is still the same but for what? Its still a BRAND new game, yet its exactly like the old games - why would someone pay this kind of money for a game that brings nothing new to the table. We could've just gone back to playing MW2 instead, at least we would have saved some money. If people (well, the kids who get their games handed to them by their parents) honestly believe that a game developer has no obligation what-so-ever to their "fans" then fine. Believe that. They clearly labeled this as a new game, not a MAP expansion. Thats why im going to downrate this. Pros: Overall you get that mw feeling, but the game is acting wierd in some cases. Look up the video on youtube. Its still one of the better games in the genre.
    Cons: Releasing a MAP expansion for "new-game" money. Despite being one of the better games in the genre, its based on things accomplished in the past. If someone said Half-Life 8 was coming out, I'd expect some TOP NOTCH improvements, wouldnt you?
    Expand
  66. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    Like many others have said. This is MW2 or blackops with a semi-new skin on top. The sounds are horrible, you can fire 10 rockets or granades at a wall and nothing happens and the story - although not as bad as the BF3 story is still just a typical "hollywoood storyline". If you want to play multiplayer, save the money and buy BF3 instead. If you want to finish the MW storyline (like me) it _might_ be worth it, but you might want to save the money and wait for a sale on Steam! Expand
  67. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This game is not good at all don'T buy it like the other stupid million player that buy it...... Activision is **** us again like the other cod since blackops
  68. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    So here I am, a fan of BF and COD since the beggining and I finally have both of the latest games installed on my PC.. I feel like a morning of playing the MW3 singleplayer... So I start it up...and it crashes instantly. Give a few more goes...keeps crashing... I decide to monitor system resources as this is going on... Near as dammit 100% Core usage and 100% system and Graphics memory usage. And from what I can tell the game wants even more before it will run!

    So I finally get into the mission and the framerate is hovering about an average of 15 with highs of 30..until and explosion! ONE. FRAME. PER. SECOND. EXCELLENT.

    This system runs BF3 on high without breaking a sweat.

    I LOL'd. Then I was sad because I spent £35 on a game thats dead to me.
    Expand
  69. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    How about no. You are an idiot if you're paying for this. Literally the same game as MW2 with VERY little change. SP is the worst out of the 3. This review doesn't even deserve any more words.
  70. Nov 11, 2011
    2
    This is embarrassing. What a great franchise flushed down the toilet. No dedicated servers on PC is inexcusable. Graphics are beyond bad relative to price and the fact that this is 2011. WOW. So sad to see this. I love this franchise but I feel abused by the developers. ABUSED. never again.
  71. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare is the wrong name, nothing modern about it since it was released what 5 years ago..Recycled trash sold for an obscenely high price. Don't buy this garbage and encourage game producers to take consumers for granted.
  72. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    MW3 has really lost touch with what makes video games great. I loved MW1 because that game brought so much to the table. That game had big maps, small maps, ranked dedicated servers, so many options that you could play the game however you wanted. Now IW has decided to lock everything down and force people to play the game in very specific ways. NOT FUN AT ALL. I bought this game because I was excited that IW was bringing back dedicated servers to us PC gamers. I boycotted MW2 because they took away dedicated servers, so seeing them return was rather nice. But then I find out that the dedicated servers are NOT ranked, so if I want to unlock anything I have to play the game the way IW wants me to play it. NOT the way I want to play it. I honestly don't understand how IW justifies a 60 dollar price on a game that has less features than MW1 and uses the same graphics engine as MW1 (albeit they improved on this over the years.) The whole game reeks of laziness as I see all the maps are super tiny, and only seem to favor people that like to "run and gun." But what about those of us that like to use a little strategy or have more than 18 people in a map? What about people that don't want to "run and gun" the whole time? I give the game a 6 because of the single player campaign and because the game is not completely broken. But it HAS lost everything that made MW1 great. I am going to try to find a way to get my money back. I am sad that IW has stooped to making this when they clearly know (or used to know) how to make a good game. Shame on you IW, and shame on me for spending 60 dollars for this. Expand
  73. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Battlefied 3 was my main concern this year, but out of the blue I was hooked on COD:MW3. While I am still very much in love with how fresh BF3 has been I can not ignore the value for dollar and refinment of COD:MW3. First of is the single player which is the shortest one yet, but its quality over quanity. If you like Michale Bay movies, and could give two rats ass about story telling this is for you. I have been playing all morning, and all I can say the single player makes you feel like a total bad ass and it takes no prisoners doing so. The visuals, sound, and ammount of content is epic.

    Spec Ops, is the best part of the game but will be probably the least played of the bunch. If you got a buddy to play with this is really a challange, and will put your skills to the test if you are willing to get a 100% in them

    Multiplayer has grown up a lot, and while not on the same size scale as BF3 it offers a different flavor of it. I am not very good at COD MP, but with the support class I given slack for sucking, but rewarded for supporting. That single featuer alone is sensational. I am very please with it, and the fact that you can custom tailor the guns to your liking is awsome.

    COD:MW3 is worth your money, and I really have no clue why all the negative reivews. I own both BF3 and MW3, and I can not say that I like one more over the other, but I can say that I play as of right now MW3 more because it is refined, no cashing, freezing, or funky glitches in the game.
    Expand
  74. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I've bought both BF3 and MW3,love both play style of them,Nice game,nice single-player campaign ,nice OST.P.S. i dunno why so many 0 mark on MW3 in Meta-critic user score,the user who gave 0/10 on MW3 also gave 10/10 full mark on BF3,Hey,does this user score is true?or it is a trick by those BF3 fan boy?
  75. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Great game, people just feel the need to complain about anything. It's almost embarrassing how people can't give an honest opinion on a game because they feel like they're being cheated. You still bought the game and you know you're still gonna play the hell out of it.
  76. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Great single player, weapon sounds absolutly fantastic. And that perfect crisp control only a Carmack powered game engine is capable of, highly recommended.
  77. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Game was as expected, used same engine as MW2 which is what I was hoping for. Everything seems well balanced, completely different from MW2 in all other ways besides graphics. All these idiots rating a 0 because they are calling it a DLC or expansion pack or whatever bs reason when they don't even have the actual game. If they played the actual game they'd know how different this game is from MW2.
    New maps
    New weapons
    New perks
    New killstreaks
    New point streak system
    New concept of strike packages
    New sounds
    New campaign
    New survival mode
    New co op mode
    New game types
    New weapon leveling system
    New weapon attachments
    New death streaks
    New spawn system
    New equipment
    New dual scope capability
    Expand
  78. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Waste of my money. I purchased Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 because I had already invested in an upgraded video card and wanted more games to play on it. The game simply isn't as engaging as other FPSs on the market, and it is buggy as hell. Basically just a new map pack with no replay value.
  79. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I feel sorry for people that paid $60 for this piece of crap. This game looks like a DLC more than a full version game to me. The graphics did not change anything at all since Modern Warfare 2 so it is like paying for the same game third time in a row. Also the campaign was really boring.
  80. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Ratings seem pretty false to me. Here's why.

    Hatred and bias aside, I went in hoping for the best... ended up feeling moderately disappointed for a few hours and then vindicated. Yes it's very much more of the same, but the campaign is possibly the best in the series, spec ops is a good laugh (and challenge) and given the right mode, multiplayer is possibly the best it's been since the
    magic COD4.

    Of course, some players will skip the Campaign entirely and head online, fair enough... they like the competition more than the story (which is well worth playing for anyone who's played MW1 and 2). So what's supposedly wrong with the multiplayer ?. Well, the maps are pretty cluttered. They're tight and they force you to think on your feet. Running around with reckless abandon is a sure fire way to lose your life... repeatedly. And that's just what I was doing when I dipped into my usual TDM (Team Deathmatch) mode right off the bat. It wasn't until I manned up and tried Hardcore TDM that I fell in love with the multiplayer. The guns in this mode are LETHAL (2 bullets more than enough to get the kill), add to that a lack of any real HUD and Map (until someone earns a UAV and your team gets the mini map for about 30 seconds) and you really have a more thoughtful and more old-school feeling COD experience. This is where I will be spending most of my time.

    Whatever you might think of Activision, the people actually making the games are just dev's doing their best. The engine is showing it's age but only a fool would deny it's handsomeness (particularly the more outlandish moments in the campaign).

    It's a strong game, put your hate and bias aside, dig a little deeper. Enjoy the great campaign, spec ops/missions and find the right mode for you in the multiplayer. It all comes together because driving it is that perfect ingrediant for FPS's... devastatingly satisfying gunplay.

    Don't miss out just cause it's popular to hate.
    Expand
  81. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    Call of Duty Moder Warfere, muito boa a serie, marcou a historia com o MW1, com o MW2 atraiu varias pessoas para o multiplayer e nos titulos seguinte de CoD parece que acabaram a fonte de criatividade. Sem inovação nenhuma no CoD MW3, pouca divulgação do titulo (creio que seja por causa de não ter nenhuma novidade para mostrar.) e é claro que a Activition apostou na força que o titulo tem sobre os varios fans que o Call of Duty possui, principalmente nos console. Expand
  82. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Just another cash in of a tired old franchise. Re-releasing a video game every year and making millions is just a slap in the face to real developers who actually take the time to make a decent video game, with a good engine, great online, and a good story.
  83. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    This game is the same as junk food is to proper cuisine. This game is fun for a quick fix but has so many negatives that makes it only worthy as a bargain bin purchase.
    Tons of game modes which is nice but the pc version is very lackluster. Did Activision pay money for all the CRITIC REVIEWS - did the Critic Reviewers even play the game - they are so inaccurate.
    Peer-to-peer for
    multiplayer on PC, no ranks on local servers? very ugly game textures, subpar controls? and the field of vision game me a terrible headache. Come on a 60 degree field of vision? Expand
  84. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Ok first off this game is riddled with hacks. Second game I was in had an aimbotter in it. 54 and 5 spinning in circles. So by far BF3 beats this game hands down. BF3 isn't perfect but it doesn't have sardine can sized maps with everyone running around with an SMG with steady aim never aiming down the sights at all even across the map. At least you don't have the over powered perks and stuff to worry about in BF3. If you call me a BF fanboy I can tell you this I own EVERY CoD on PC and this is by FAR the worst game to date. The only fun I had was playing on a gun game dedicated server because I didn't have to worry about lag and a bad host with a 56k modem. Simply because IWNET wasn't fixed to work with the better hosts. After getting hacked to death we have the problem of guns with bigger calibers hitting twice as many times as a guy that killed me. I die to 2 shots from an smg with 45 caliber or 9 mm when I am using bigger guns like 7.62 assault rifles and lmgs hitting people 5-10 times in the chest. Or I get shot in the killcam in the knees and it counts as a head shot? No way. Pretty much the hit detection is **** at best. I will stick with a game series thats actually trying to push the gaming industry instead of catering to the least common denominator aka consoles.

    Not to mention the head of Sledgehammer games is begging for better user scores when they aren't warranted. If you want better scores make a better game. Then we wouldn't have this problem.
    Expand
  85. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Just a blatant copy paste of their previous release, just like activision loves to do. It gets boring very fast, I've never really understood the hype about this game, I rented it and just found out like many other that it wasn't good at all. I don't even see any improvments from the past games, nothing out of the ordinary and mostly nothing that looked like something original and new. Everything is just the same, they just make these games for money seriously... Expand
  86. SZY
    Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I am a Chinese fans.I love CALL OF DUTY series very much! It is the best FPS games i have played,and i thing the producers are very great! Support you! I am looking forward to BLACK OPS2!
  87. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    this has to be the worst release from all the call of duty games thus far.. i dont know about all the platforms but on pc this game realy is dissapointing. having been spoiled by the beauty of bf3 and then playing this game made me depro as to how im i gonna get the wasted money back!! it not only looks worse than blops but aswell as all the recylced from it predececors.. sorry but they just lost a huge fan Expand
  88. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    Man picked this game up and played it for a few hours at a lan cafe on launch night, mostly multiplayer. I have to say, if anyone were to pick this game up for the first time, theyd love the hell out of this. But it's the same game I played in 2007 and 2009 again and I was unpeasantly surprised to see that very little changed. The only attraction for DOC veterans like me is the campaign which I assume will only last for a few hours or so. So to all the fanboys out there (including the critics) who are biased to this game, I ask this, why do you like this processed **** so much? And to all the haters.....WHAT THE **** DID YOU EXPECT??? Expand
  89. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    MW2 with new maps. Nowhere near worth the cost.

    I have to make this review 150 characters long but there isn't any more to say about this game. Not worth the money.
  90. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    COD:MW3 is a sequel of COD4:MW, but not only with the main story, also with the graphic engine, the way on that you play the game... nothing has changed since we could enjoy the COD4.

    And It is not good, because we have to continue playing 'on rails' when the most of new games give more and more freedom to play.

    Playing to this COD is bored by moments, because the only challenge is
    finding the way forward to avoid falling shot.

    Great Story, bad game.
    Expand
  91. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Ever just copy a bad game(MW2) and make another bad game(MW3)? You would think one look into the numbers of faithful still playing COD4 and COD2 that something was done right. MW2 came out and was widely abused. Making an exact copy of your worst effort to date in the Call of Duty series was an idiotic decision to say the least.
  92. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    I couldn't past 10% of campaign, it is so boring. How this game got so many sold copies? Seems game developers decided to spend all the money on PR and bribes to game reviewers. Scenario is nonsense, it is better not to try to understand it, graphics is a complete joke for 2011 year, gameplay.. reload the clip.. kill 10 enemies.. repeat until the map ends..
  93. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Despite being a long time fan of call of duty I couldn't take this any more. modern warfare 3 has degraded into an overrated cash cow and a copy and paste of previous titles. Save your precious money by not buying this worthless game.
  94. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    This game will get a point for everything they did that WASN'T a copy/paste of MW2 So, here is the list:
    1. Spec Ops survival: Yes, its a rehash of zombies, but its kinda cool, actually.
    2. The new kill streaks/weapon proficiency things: Not major enough for one each, but they deserve a mention.
    3. Splitscreen multiplayer: yes it was in black ops, but its new to modern warfare, so it
    counts.
    4. They fixed a lot of the problems I had with the game (its what MW2 SHOULD and COULD have been)

    Now, I'm going to subtract a point for everything that sucks a big one:

    1. The campaign: Not like it wasn't expected, but its still a pile of ****
    2. The graphics: I mean, come on, you knew this would happen Activision, its been 4 years, grow a pair and make a new engine.
    Expand
  95. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Wasn't sure if this review belonged in the MW2 section or this, since they are pretty much the same game. Let's see £50 for a game I already bought two year ago with some changes to the perks and maps ? I think not I'd like to see the MW franchise either reinvent itself or disappear completely. The story was short took me about 3 hours and the MP was dismal. The graphics engine was hailed as the dogs bollocks before this was released saying it rivalled BF3 and yet all they added was Ambient Occlusion which adds a little detail but that feature has been available to all nvidia users since 2009. Of course Activision will release DLC that will be £12 a shot and will have 3 maps most likely from the last MW3 and one new map that took them all of 20 minutes to make. I imagine all the hurr durr console fans will be creaming over this and the intelligent consoleers will see through this scam. This game only merits as an expansion to MW2 at most. Anyway Activision have lost me as a customer as their customer service is terrible and they wouldn't let me change my username saying that it is impossible to do. Expand
  96. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Glen Schofield asked me to come and vote for this game. How could I refuse him. Do not be lazy register and put this game deserved a zero.I think zero is suspiciously high otseka for this game.
  97. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    gostei mais de mw3 do q bf3 tenho os dois originais,gostei mais do mw3 pq acho q o bf3 exagerou nos grafica,ficou bonito os graficos mas para joga no ultra tem de ter um pc de 4 mil reais e gosto de jogar os jogos no ultra
  98. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    All in all, this is a good game. What Infinity Ward have done with this aging engine is impressive. Multi-Player is as good as it's ever been. Single-player is short as per, but can still be enjoyed. The problem I have with this game is how little it innovates. It seems as though Activision are making the same mistake they made with Guitar Hero and taking the safe route, trying to maximize sales but not looking long term. I just wonder how long millions are going to buy a product so similar to the last every year.
    Nevertheless, if you aren't too busy playing Skyrim to leave your living room and will be able to play this game online, you'll find this game is worth picking up.
    Expand
  99. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    From what i have seen i will not waste my money on this game. i have COD4 (the start of great things), World At War (better...SUPERFUNN), MW2 (spec ops enough said), black ops (four players in zombies .....). now with the user reviews i have seen i think i will just wait till Infinity Ward &Treyarch make games again ohhh and Bobby Kotick start thinking about the users Thanx Kik
  100. T26
    Nov 11, 2011
    0
    For someone who is familiar with the Modern Warfare storyline, this game is a complete masterpiece. The singleplayer campaign is filled with drama as well as innovation and really reminds players why Call of Duty became famous in the first place - because of the story. A story that no movie or other form of fiction can represent in such an epic way. Spec ops can be described as pure fun, especially when playing with a friend, and the multiplayer side of things isn't much different. All features of this video gaming masterpiece can be described as innovative, fun, filled with emotion, and just plain beautiful. MW3 reminds us why COD is on top of the world right now, and it would be a true shame if we don't see Price and the familiar cast anymore. IW, GIVE US MORE MODERN WARFARES (with Price)! Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. 80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]