User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5500 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    The first CoD: Modern Warfare was a great game, all the others are just really expensive map packs. There's absolutely no innovation, that's the sad truth; Activision destroyed this franchise. Don't ever waste your money on it.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Dire game. Just a £40 map pack of MW2. Graphics aren't impressive then again that doesn't surprise much. BF3 in comparison is far better. Granted it does use origin but gameplay wise it's a different game that's improve upon it's predecessor. This hasn't. Given the fact the MP is the same as MW2, if you must play the SP, just torrent the game. Save your money because Activision doesn't deserve it what so ever. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Sorry. but this is DLC to MW2 in cost of full game. Try doing something new. And stop just making game for cash. And Mr. Glen Schofield next time don't write on twitter to give better Reviews on this site. So sad :)
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Eh! Next map pack to modern warfare. When Activision will see that a people are not stupid. i hope next call of duty will be make on new engine and better graphic. But now, this series ended on a Modern Warfare for me
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Años rompiendo record en ventas, record en ganacias, la formula CODMW es buena y hay que sacarle provecho, pero ya a esta altura los usuarios nos mereciamos por lo menos un motor grafico nuevo, me parece una burla lo que hicieron. El MW3 es el DLC mas caro del Modern Warfare 2. Darle un poco mas de brillo a lo que existia no es mejorar el motor grafico. Sean honestos con su publico y entreguen algo digno. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Call of duty Modern Warefare DLC that is a normal video game price, with an optional 4X£10 map packs that fragment the game community over regurgitated tripe.

    The franchise is dead, it hasn't progressed, or improved, an old shooter now forgot.
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    I bought this game for improved MW2 multiplayer, however I found that:
    a) maps are too small comparing to MW2 and are too "connected". This bloodbath is quickly getting bored without some big maps for sniping or long range relief.
    b) they introduced lag compensation which sucks monkey balls! If you have 5 bars connection, and you are host - you are screwed because of the some kind
    prediction game engine is doing for bad connection players. To play this game you need to run torrents in the background!
    c) shotguns were nerfed beyond recognition. They added so much recoil to them so it just make sense to use knife instead. In overall this is not improvement, it is more like reduction of MW2 multiplayer fun.
    Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2011
    3
    It seems this company doesn't truely care at what we think as having non-ranked dedicated servers is just complete failure on there part. The game is pretty much just a re-skin of mw2 but **** The guns in mw2 handled better. My only suggestion is that they should of made it so the ranked was privately hosted instead of running off someone else's terrible internet. I have a huge problem with this as I live in the middle of no where and get nothing but lag on anyone's connection. Atleast with my dedicated server I get a ping of around 60-100. This game is not innovative in the least bit. I give this a 3 and thats only because I can atleast enjoy TWL on a dedicated server which is the only reason I will play this game. Please release an RCON for dedicated servers would help!!! Expand
  9. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    The main reason I am giving this game a bad score is because it is identical to the last COD's. I was a huge MW1 fan. I still am. This game is a replica of that and not much has changed. There is nothing to keep my interest. I was a huge MW fan and still have a place in my heart for it, but I want something different. Something new. This new game has not given it to me. The graphics have not changed, the game play has not changed.... its all the same damn thing just a different title. I have stopped playing the COD games all together and have moved on to Battlefield. I feel as if the game is now just becoming a money maker instead of trying to satisfy their consumers. I am extremely disappointed in this MW. Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    I'll be honest. Not a fan - feels more like MW2.5 - 60$ for 16 new maps. CoDElite - I'll never buy - seems more and more like a money grab. I honestly knew the game wasn't going to be new and exciting but I still feel duped for some reason. Few new guns and a bouncing betty. MW2.5 - I'm wishing I would have gotten BF3 - I still may go grab that.
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This is the best expansion pack I've ever purchased. I was so glad when Activision decided to break the mold and start releasing expansion packs just like everybody used to do back in the day. Sure it's a little expensive (60 dollars), but just wait a year and that'll go down in price about 10 dollars when the next expansion pack comes out.
  12. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    OK I've played CoD since CoD 2. I've played and enjoyed the Bf series as well and enjoy them both. now for my review...

    OK, Activision. I didn't **** spend my earned cash for my i7 2600k dual GTX580 16GIG RAM machine for no god damn rehashed **** with a price of $60. SIXTY! This is a 2011 game, again, 2011!!! In this day and age of graphical technology, this game is an embarrassing
    erectile dysfunction compared to other releases. From the trailer, to the second I booted this 14GB hunk of fecal mold, I expected innovation, graphically utilizing visuals and balance in your multiplayer. what we get!? The complete opposite. Full of copy-pasta and FAIL. Let alone your graphics are still **** when you max out this game, even in my 1920 x 1200 res. you missed a ton of things black ops had but what's worse is your ability to copy everything! You even left out a ton of title and emblems in the barracks from MW2! The guns sound like airsoft AEGs from Walmart, the hit detection make my eyes roll back and make me foam in the mouth. BUT the most up-F*cked thing of this MW release are the MAPS. Tight corner, camp friendly, spawn kill inducing maps. I don't have one map that I really like here. Regardless of what game mode your playing, YOU'RE PLAYING FFA... Sniping? you're F*cked... no real sniping maps.The story is fun but linear and makes me want to fly past every mission without enjoying it. Then again, the multiplayer is what hooks people. But now it seems the only people who are stupid enough to defend this game are prepubescent kids. Now the MW series and possibly CoD series is dead. NOT worth the money. NOT trolling the fanbase. No Bullsh*t. I've been tricked and hype-f*cked by IW. It's worse for us Steam users who can't get refunds for this garbage, so rejoice console players. Expand
  13. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This game deserves nothing less than a 0/10. i bought this game at midnight release, and I got tired of playing it after 2 days. This game should've been called Modern Warfare 2.5, this game is just a map pack and a game patch. The game is not near different enough to be worth $60. Black ops was more different from MW2 than this crap was. EVERYTHING is the exact same! the user interface is the same, even the fonts of the words are the same! (screams copy and paste!) Activision is ripping off all of their customers. After I told myself that this was the worst $60 I've ever spent, I went and made the decision to buy Battlefield 3. That game is awesome!!!! The developers of BF3 put sooooo much more effort into that game compared to MW3. BF3 actually feels like a new game to me! Expand
  14. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Don't let all the reviews tell you the game is bad I have played every cod and this one is great just like cod4 gun on gun fights and mw2 kill streaks(new ones also). The people who give the negative rate more then likely are bad at the game or there pc is stone aged.COD MW3 is great!!!
  15. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Absolutely no updates to engine used in MW2. They even had the balls to use the same soundclips in multiplayer, e.g. the extreme digital liger scream with double-bass drum when you level-up/unlock, "Take no prisoners!" at level start, etc. The multiplayer looks like its being processed at 1366x768 and stretched to fit your 1920x1080 screen. Same flopping chickens, same outfits, and the effing riot shield is still in the game. Why? Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    I have played every CoD going all the way back to the first one on PC. MW3 is by far the worst version I've ever played. The map design is atrocious. The lack of RANKED dedicated servers is unforgivable! It's very clear to me the amateurs at Sledgehammer are not CoD players at all. They took MW2 wonder map design and mutilated it. They took Black Ops awesome dedicated servers and crippled them. What an absolute disappointment. My hope lies solely with Treyarch. Sledgehammer needs to be dumped by Electronic Arts ASAP! Expand
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    It's a shame people wasted their hard earned money on this junk. It's the same game over & over & over again. The graphics level has continued to disappoint. Unfortunately I didn't learn my lesson either. I was disappointed in the graphics of Black Ops and this again is total disappointment. I saw a tweet the other day from one of the people responsible for this mess pleading that the metacritic scores reflect the "true" % score lol. The people have spoken, and if you want to enjoy high end graphics & great multiplayer save your $$$ and buy Battlefield 3. MW3 is going back into the drawer. Expand
  18. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This is actually suppose to be a PC review of this game, however I'm writing this for all. Over the course of the last couple of days i have managed to play MW3 on steam. While traveling to a friends house and playing it on his Xbox. There is absolutely no reason to buy this game. Whether you like or dislike the COD franchise, no reason. Why should a kid who still plays MW2 with a lively community, switchover to the same game with a different title for $60.

    Call of duty should not be rated for its gameplay, but instead for its clever marketing schemes that encourage players to buy-in year after year.
    Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Where shall I start....ok graphics are looking exactly the same if not worse then MW2. Single Player didn't bring anything new, storyline was a bit of everything we've seen before and of multiplayer the reason why most of the people buy games from cod series is so poor. It's hard to explain how bad it is, if you think Black Ops was bad prepare yourself for even worse experience. Only mode which is actually playable it Survival. Same rules apply as in zombie except there are waves of human enemies etc. Overall very bad game, not worth of £40 spend...big disappointment. And worst thing of all is unlike my friend who bought it on Xbox 360 and returned it, I'm stuck with it forever because of stupid DRM protection which tied the cd-key to my STEAM account...oh joy...avoid at any cost Expand
  20. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    I can't believe that there is no console and commands with config editing or mod tools, the guys that devlopeped Cod2 can't srsly be sitting there while they sell out and destroy every aspect of what made Cod on PC worth playing. I can see you're all trying but just stop trying to make PC like console. Its not accecptable. Mod tools with acess to console along with the commands we had the ability to change until Mw2 I promise that this score wouldn't be so incredibly awful. Two years in a row, after being able to use Black Ops as a cheat sheet. Wtf.. Expand
  21. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    modern warFAIL 3 is a veeeery big disappointment. IW / Activision / Blizzard showed once again what PC gamers mean to them. i have been playing the CoD series since the very first title and i never imagined that this is the way they treat the very same community that got them where they are now. this is a teen/kid console game that you can install on a PC. this is NOT a PC game... it is AN INSULT to gamers and gaming. CoD is a MultiPlayer game and the MP is like getting acid thrown into your eyes. ** Call of Duty R.I.P. 2003-2008 Expand
  22. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Modern warfare 2 map pack... at best. The only good thing I can say about this is: Because Infinityward used an old engine, I have great FPS, so thanks for that.
  23. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    This game is just another kick in the fact to PC gamers. Story wise it is fantastic, closed the series with a fulfilling ending, but that's the same across all platforms.
    The PC multiplayer on the other hand is a mess. The complete load of garbage known as IWnet makes a comeback. There are barely any players using MW2 on the PC anymore, therefore matchmaking rendered that game useless to
    play. MW3 will be no exception, a year down the track gamers will abandon the game and effectively leave it for dead for anyone else trying to join a game.

    Activision, If you intend to constantly release this garbage to PC gamers year after year, Just don't release it. Although BF3 is far from perfect, they recognised the PC platform and delivered a great game, Modern warfare is a complete joke compared to it.
    Expand
  24. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    What can i say, IW and sledge hammer screwed over us PC gamers... you have un-ranked dedicated servers, and no RANKED dedicated servers whats the point or having one without the other? you show reception in bars? just keep it as normal ping measurements in MS!

    Black ops had servers. reception for that was showed in MS yet this game fails to do so... even in un-ranked servers. sure it
    shows the ping when you look for a server, but when you want to check it in game... your back to reception bars

    MW3 developers failed where Black Ops succeeded example:
    Black Ops had NO LAGGY HOSTS due to dedicated servers in both RANKED and UNRANKED modes.
    Expand
  25. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    I was incredibly excited about this game, and the game would be very good (despite being a clone of the past MW games) if a few things were fixed.

    First: I've never been in so many lagfest matches in any CoD on any system, PC or console, and I've owned every one of them. Of course the hacking is back on PC (to be expected), and sure they gave us dedicated servers, BUT THEY AREN'T
    RANKED.

    The obvious solution to me would have been to have official dedicated servers much like Left 4 Dead where the rules are enforced, and they are ranked. The multiplayer is so incredibly hit or miss with the number of crappy hosts that's it's unplayable a good portion of the time.

    Also a vote-change-host feature would be nice.
    Expand
  26. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    People will always find reasons to complain. Forget the fact that they listened to the community on most of the things we were whining about with MW2, like dedicated servers and overpowered killstreaks, etc; but now that MW3 is out, the PC community will take every little issue that could maybe take the game from a perfect 10 to 9/10, or maybe even a 7-8/10 if you really are honestly that passionate about the issue at hand, and blow it up to ridiculous proportions.
    Of course, as a PC gamer, Im not saying they couldn't pander to us much more than they have cared to recently, but the reality is that Ive had a perfectly decent experience playing it for the past week, with such few hiccups, that Id probably say its as good of a port for PC as cod4 was. Did anyone mention in their 0/10 reviews how nice it is to have a game run smoothly and the way its supposed to on PC? Or did anyone mention how they gave us cod4 style dedicated servers? Because all I heard was people complaining about how the dedicated servers arent ranked.
    As for the gameplay, its call of duty. Its still the same style of gameplay its been for the past few years. Just because you think they should make drastic changes every year, doesn't mean everyone else does too. Call of duty has, for the most part, always been a simple gun play based shooter, and if thats not what youre looking for, then you should look elsewhere. As far as my opinion is concerned, there's nothing wrong enough with the game to be anything less than a 9/10.
    Expand
  27. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Broken promises of "Ranked Dedicated servers" "Call of Duty Elite" None for the PC gamer as advertised it would. The game is MW2 with graphics that seem to be outdated by at least 3 to 4 years. I am in a clan and all members purchased the game. We are trying everything to like and or enjoy the game but our members can only play for a short time due to pure frustration of the multiplayer game play with the matchmaking server system they have. Expand
  28. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    I played this game just to see what happened with main characters. That was quite satisfying but the rest of the game feels very familiar. Why did they work so long on this game to bring us same old multi and same ols single player campaign. Even some of the environment elements were taken from mw2. I would be happy if this was a mission pack for mw2 but releasing and buying this as a "full price" game was a mistake. Expand
  29. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Wow, the only way this game could possibly have that low of a score is if somebody is paying somebody to give it a low score. The game is great, it might be lacking a lot in the originality department, and my online guild has had issues trying to set up our server, but giving this game 2000+ negative reviews, and only 86 mixed? ...that has nothing to do with any issues the game has, and everything to do with some company hiring people to write bad reviews. Expand
  30. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    Biggest disappointment of the year!!! I buy call of duty not for the single player, but for the mutliplayer. Immediately when I entered the mutiplayer, I knew this game was going to suck balls. IWnet all over again, lags, host migration etc. By this time one would think that infinity ward and activision would have realized IWnet is the biggest rubbish there is. Even Call of duty 1 has dedicated servers!!!! And not to speak, this game is 99% MW2, with 1% of modifications. Activision and infinity ward doesn't give a damn about their customers, as long as they make their millions of Dollars!! I hope there is a special place in hell for the people who created IWnet!!!! I will not buy another COD game in my life again if is does not have dedicated servers!! They just steal our money each year with a inferior game!! Expand
  31. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is one of those games that has to be taken under compulsion, is the closing of a trilogy and Activision does so in a masterful way with this latest installment. There are many pests that cast him, but then at the moment of truth when everyone enjoys is holding a keyboard and mouse or pad. The graphics engine is at its highest point, Activision has had plenty of time to perfect it and the result could not be more perfect. It is true that as you weigh the years, but on the other hand, provides a constant 60fps at all times, which is much appreciated at the time to enjoy the game. The game itself is the longest of the 3, so to finish it in "normal" will take approximately 8 hours. The online mode is the most comprehensive of all the MW, offering many new options and weapons. In short, we have a man great game, abused by users who can not see beyond graphics and do not appreciate that the most important aspect of a game also, control. Expand
  32. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Really fun expierience with friends and other poeple. U must try it. Graphics are similar to MW2 but it's good. Game is whole similar but it's good too, because for what changing something good?!
  33. Nov 15, 2011
    2
    Tiny maps, arcadish and twitch based gameplay, recycled textures and buildings, the same awful matchmaking system etc. But the real problem is not Activision releasing the same game every year, it's the people buying the same game year after year.
  34. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    Excited to get the game, but found disappointed after an hour. Multiplayer have the same people who spoil the game, nothing new really to make it feel special in any way, just really disappointed, had high hopes thinking it would dominate, but now feel cheated.
  35. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    Since I am playing this on the PC, The graphics are no where near the better frostbite 2 engine that battlefield has. The graphics is a minor difference from black ops and mw2, they should have just made this as an expansion pack with new additional mode of play. At least they finally completed the story line, the campaign is better and longer than battlefield 3 in my opinion. I really enjoyed playing through the single player campaign, but I had minimal enjoyment on the multiplayer part because it feels like I have been doing this over and over already since mw2 and black ops. Releasing a CoD multiple times in one year will drop the excitement so fast. Expand
  36. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I'm not surely I really understand what amounts to a war between BF3 and MW3 - there is clearly quite a bit of history there but it's all gone safely over my head. My review is of the game (SP + MP) on the PC. I'm not reviewing Activision's ethics or anything else.

    The single player campaign is a blast. It is a little on the short side though - about the same as MW2. The story is utter
    nonsense but the action keeps you going. If you think back to the very best levels on MW1 and MW2 there is plenty of this style of action here. The graphics are slightly better - this isn't a revolution but feels like more of the same. If you enjoyed MW1 and MW2 as much as I did then more of the same will feel fine.

    The gameplay is extremely varied. They will often introduce a new element which will play for 10 minutes or so only to move on to something else. Certainly plenty to keep the interest.

    The mulitplayer feels very similar to MW2 and suffers from hackers and cheaters etc to the same extent which can be quite annoying at times. I don't take it all that seriously but racked over 100 hours on MW2 and would expect al least the same on MW3. Then add in Special Ops and survival modes and it's easy to see several hundred hours of playing here.

    The game is extremely smooth and (for a modern new release) is relatively bug free. If all you are interested in is the MP element I can see why you might be frustrated as it amounts to a fairly hefty map pack and a fwe gameplay tweeks. Taking the package as a whole though I see very good value for money in what is going to be one of 2011's biggest games in terms of sales and impact.

    I am thoroughly enjoying this title. I have not posted "wow this is amazing" or "this sucks" but have stated my opinion with clear reasons and explanations. I think if everyone else did the same we would see a much more balanced score.
    Expand
  37. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Well just want to say that MW 3 is better(than Battlefield 3).You are going to ask me why ? Hmm the game has the same engine like in MW 2 and MW which got really nice graphics, but not so cool like the Battlefield 3 engine .. but i still think that MW 3 is better .. The pluses that this game got are the really nice and long story, the action and the different missions which making the game interesting, fast and creative.One of the negative things here is the short single player and the old the engine, but the multyplayer is really awesome, full with power and action ! Expand
  38. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Just because it looks like MW2, is no reason to bash the game. After CoD4 and MW2 received farely zero to none support, this time they are here to try. MW3 has already received a patch and the game is really fast paced. The new killstreak system is great, there are a lot of good weapons including snipers to choose from. It might just be an expansion to MW2 for some of you, but it is still out of the league of Black Ops and the shooter of the moment. Expand
  39. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    if you played Modern Warfare 2. you played modern warfare 3... and what can i say im one of those that just didn't care for Modern Warfare 2 Either. as far as im concerned this series hit its peak in the first modern warfare.

    the game brings nothing new to the table its the same repetitive arcade shooter. just with bumped up graphics.
  40. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    "Nothing new, just copypasted single and same multiplayer. Old graphic, old souns, stupid maps, same perks. Black ops is even more fun than this stupid game" +1
  41. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the spam reviews by all the BF3 fanboys.

    I'm a long time CoD fan. I own every single CoD game and this chapter of CoD is the best one, yet. The single player campaign is fun and emotionally engaging. The graphics are bumped up a little (as they are on every CoD release.) The multiplayer is quite fun and I haven't seen rampant cheating as we had with MW2 and haven't had
    frequent lag problems, either.

    If you like CoD games, you'll love MW3. If you're a BF3 fanboy and hate CoD games, you won't like this one, either.
    Expand
  42. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun, and so well designed. The extra features are amazing. Overall I think that this is an amazing game and well worth the price.
  43. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Its a very good game
    They enhance perks for multiplayer and kept the gameplay and I LIKE IT.
    I saw a lot of comparison with BF3 and its not the same game
    BF3 is only beautiful and i dont like the gameplay but i prefer arcade game like MW3
    Keep this way Infinity Wards
    MW3 is VERY GOOD
  44. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    This game pretty much was a re-release of MW2 except with a couple tiny improvements.

    The new things in the game could have been covered in a patch or some DLC, most certainly didn't warrant an entire new $60 game.
  45. Nov 18, 2011
    7
    This game is exactly what I expected it to be. Not ground breaking but still a solid COD title. As far as initial releases go, there have been few problems. The lobby system has been moderately improved in that your entire party leaves lobbies/games together when initiated by the lobby leader. Unfortunately the hackers were present within 48 hours of release. Hopefully Valve will do a better job of providing a cheat free environment than they did with MW2. The single player campaign is exactly what you'd expect, albeit kind of short. But since I'm a 98% MP player I feel I'll ge my $60.00 worth out of this game, whether or not I'll turn it into a $90 game via DLC as I did with MW2 is currently undecided, but I doubt I will. Expand
  46. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    CoD MW3 es un buen juego y muy entretenido pero despues de 4 años sigue siendo igual que su gran antecesor: CoD 4. Es un copia y pega de sus anteriores entregas...
  47. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    mw3 is really similar to previous call of duty games, but the multiplayer is really addictive. if the developers changed it too much it wouldn't feel right, cod is easy to play for the very reason that each time a new version comes out, there is very little new to learn. There's a new call of duty each year and all you really need is a little variety with new maps, guns and perks. If it isn't broken, why change it? These game developers work really hard to make these games fun, exciting and accessible for new and experienced gamers, I think they deserve a little praise for their efforts. Bashing a game on the internet is quite a popular pastime for some internet users, the same criticism happened with the pc version of modern warfare 2, and the pc version of black ops was also berated. The people who actually gave mw3 bad reviews are probably playing it hours every day anyway, they just won't admit it. matchmaking on pc mw3 is a welcome relief from all the rules and regulations of dedicated servers, crouch only, no claymores, no aug, no grenade launchers, only the one map that keeps repeating, etc. why not get a life and let me play the game as the developer intended. looking forward to mw4. Expand
  48. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I bought license for MW2, Black Ops and finally MW3 so far.. and the biggest disappointment is... Black Ops. Because of the poor optimisation for Win 7 (as far as i read). MW3 thought brought things up for the series, as far as I'm concerned, being everything that MW2 was to me and more. No DirectX 11, no completely new things? That's allright, I'm not necessary looking for testing on my own money, and don't like giving up on framerates for new titles that reach new tech standards. With my E8400 and GTX460 this game is a peach. The only minus I see is lack of servers in my region for a good ping and maybe the price. Expand
  49. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    As most Launch titles are these days they always require a bit of patching. A lot of the Imbalance in MW2 was eliminated by Nerfing and Removing certain elements, but compensated by the extra perks, point streaks and Unorthodox Maps. Gameplay still retains it's tradition with a few new extras.
    Love the idea with having Both Matchmaking and Dedicated Servers but disappointed on not being
    able to use console commands.

    In my Opinion Activision Should Follow the Paths of Blizzard and Valve Alike, Make only a few games and patch them on a regular basis. But when Money is involved i dnt think thats going to happen Overall An Ok game at that, might wait till it's ben patched a bit better.
    Expand
  50. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I'm actually going to write a review against all negative critics.
    I have been playing COD franchise since COD1. I bought all COD but this time I thought it is time to switch to BF3. After watching both reviews on GT, BF3 scored 9.2 and MW3 scored 9.3. That little 0.1 made me change and I decided to buy MW3 instead. So why am I giving a 10/10 for MW3? Here is why:

    COD4 was a huge success
    and I have to say it was really my first FPS I got addicted with and played COD4 for 1500 hours. COD4 was great and finally a GOOD welcoming change after CSS, Quake, Wolfenstein and TF engines. I remember though at that time people wanted to go back to WW2 style. So Treyarch decided to make WaW which ended up to be a pure disaster. Finally MW2 came out! Although it was a great game, lack of dedicated servers on PC did not make me want to play MW2 a lot. Therefore Treyarch then decided to release BLACK OP re-installing previous dedicated servers.

    I have to disagree with 85% of negative critics posted here. It is true that MW3 resembles a lot to MW2 but who cares? seriously? I know the franchise has been releasing a game every year? Get it over it lol again who cares? If they want to make money let them be! MW3 is, to me, an awesome game. I started it and I got addicted instantly. MW3 combines all previous years of experience this franchise has gained from COD4, WaW, MW2 and BLACK OP. Guns are really good, I haven't tried all of them yet - but so far rifles are well balanced. SMGs are SMGs. Melee got nerfed slightly to make it more realistic and finally many perks have been reviewed, changed and unlike in BLACK OP, akimbos are now only secondary guns. I am relieved to not see P90 akimbos anymore.

    As you would expect, MW3 maps are truly well designed. Although there are a lot of openings - you can't really "own" a map as MW3 is based on fast-pace style. It is good (gives new players the opportunity to kill and respawn is almost instant) and bad (for veteran players, it can be sometimes very frustrating - veterans can be killed from any corners)

    I am also very happy that Infinity Ward has introduced a whole new system in MP that allows you to level up a gun. I also enjoy new perks that can make you invisible to Air Support/Choppers.

    Finally, perhaps it is only me but I feel like MW3 really learnt from MW2 mistakes and Auto matchmaking on MW3 is fairly solid. The engine is really consistent.

    New modes such as Survival and Co op mission are really great! See I never really liked Co op mission. But MW3 made me change my opinion! Also if you are a "zombie-fan-kid" like I was in BLACK OP, you will love the survival mode Infinity Ward has introduced in MW3.

    In addition to people's critics:
    1. No real innovation? I don't think so, I think there is when it comes down to perks, guns etc. Although it is minimal it doesn't really bother me like most raging kids.
    2. Another cash? LOL so what? seriously who cares?
    3. Bored of Campaign? At first I was very excited about MW3 SP, but the more you play the more bored you get. Why? Because you try to finish the game in 7 days. I'm pretty sure if you space out your gameplay you won't find Campaign as boring as most people think. It took me 8hrs to finish Campaign on Veteran mode.
    4. MP is exactly the same as in MW2? Yea pretty much and I'm happy about it. BLACK OP wasn't much for me. Im more an Infinity Ward fan.
    Expand
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    This game, like the other Call of Duty games is a lot of fun and it is probably actually worthy of an 8.5-9 score. However for people who fork out money on these call of duty games each time they are released will see it differently because it is practically the same thing over and over. To someone who is new to call of duty they will love this game but for those who are familiar with the franchise will feel like they have been robbed and like myself will feel that they have purchased a glorified map pack or DLC. If the reviews and ratings of a game are an influence in some gamers decision to buy a game, and therefore the sales numbers will encourage developers to continue recycling their old games then i think its a bit of a 'slap in the face' to those who have supported the franchise. Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Let's start with the fact that I did not play with CoD before (just the FIRST part back in the early-mid 2000's) so this review will be a cod n00bs point of view
    - I am familiar with the system that ranking is dedicated ONLY to supervised servers. I totally don't know why are these flamers want it. Dedicated servers needs to be a place where clans are preparing for wars and championships
    or friends who want to challenge each other on a LAN party or somewhat. I'm currently thinking WHAT kind of purpose would be to rank up on a dedicated server... HM I GET IT NOW, SO YOU ALL **** WAREZ VERSION OWNERS CAN USE ALL FEATURES OF THE GAME. WELL, NO U DON'T
    - I saw that many of you wanted to have a custom POV angle setting, well that would be some feature for the hardcore games but I don't get it, if you are hardcore cod multi players, why do you want to have ranking on dedi. servers(to get back to the prev. question again). If I would be a hardcore cod clan multi-player then I would want all the available guns and features immediately to train for wars and well, the dedi. servers give you this choise... Just again a minor point to show you all metacritic people that the 0-10 point reviews all are bunch of **** and childish flame.
    - Graphics: no change from the previous version as I saw, but i am noob in this game so this is something new for me, i don't care. Hardcore multi-gamers should not aware this thing either...
    - Multiplayer - fairly lot of changes as I see after i read and heard things from friends and blogs about mw2. Fairly enough content, lots of stages and coop missions
    - Single: adrenalin pushing content, unluckily I am now in the middle of a story and I don't know some things back in the MW2 but who cares. The only thing which is bothering me and is confusing that the story is about lots of different soldiers, we are jumping between these places and to tell the truth I can't totally feel myself in the story in this way. And to point on the haters' POV, most of them just throwing here a "single is **** phrases, I think this is totally not enough review of the content ;-)
    - Sounds: thrilling

    My POV tells a 9 point of 10 for this game, but I would give a 7 if i would be a cod fan: 80% would be a fair point and I would minus down 10% for disappointment: content reusage is so high in this game that this is some kind of DLC of MW2 and not a new game
    Expand
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    I picked up this game on launch day and ran through the campaign. Single player took about four and a half hours to finish which was somewhat disappointing. The game felt like a Micheal Bay film plenty of explosions and action. But like all Micheal Bay films it lacked a coherent story and if this is your first Modern Warfare Call of Duty game then you could care less about the characters. Only thing I'm content with about this game is that it is finally over. The series was wrapped up as sloppy as possible but at the very least the story was concluded. As for the multiplayer aspect of this game, on PC it is beyond horrendous. There are dedicated servers which is a step up from Modern Warfare 2 but they are unranked. Meaning that you can't level as you would a ranked matched game. So it takes out the whole point of playing on a dedicated server unless you want to get away from the hackers. Oh boy there are a lot of hackers in this game. 7 out of 10 games feature at least 3-4 hackers. Ranging from wall hacks to aim bots even rank hacks. How could someone prestige to the 10th tier if the game has been barely out a month? What's even more disappointing is the ranked matches are horrible done. If your host you most certainly get the jump on everyone and have the higher score at the end of the round. Assuming of course the match isn't filled with hackers.

    Overall this game is somewhat mediocre. No innovations and not even better graphics. Same engine and same gameplay. It is the last MW3 in the saga and thank goodness for that.
    Expand
  54. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    This game is far from perfect. However, I don't think it's as bad as the average user score here. It is nothing more than a more polished version of Modern Warfare 2. It has everything to love from MW2, the fantastic and exciting single player, and the fast-paced multiplayer with the removal of a lot of the more annoying perks. A few negatives though. It is surely not worth the $60 price tag if you already own MW2, and the graphics were showing their age in MW2, and now they look downright terrible. I do find it impossible to compare this game to Battlefield 3, because the two games are completely different styles. (I own both.) This game is your average CoD game, fun because of how easy it is to pick up, and the singleplayer is exciting and intense. If MW2 had never existed, this game would definitely be worth the $60, but just as basically a map pack for MW2, it still has room to stand on it's own and is pretty enjoyable in my opinion. Expand
  55. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Stop rating the innovation. Now stop comparing bf3 to MW3 (cause are different styles of cames [arcade, realistic]). Ok, now the game deserves 9. Its funny. The game is the most played game in PSN, LIVE and steam (losing only to elder scrolls 5), and got THIS amout of negative reviews. too many haters?
  56. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I think mw3 is a great game. They took mw2 and improved it to the point where it was impossible not to enjoy, and the campaign is truly amazing! I have got bf3 as well, and think that is good but I think they are different games, and they are to be enjoyed by different people. It is kind of obvious that most of the people who have rated this bad have never played it, and are just fanboys of a different franchise. Expand
  57. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    For me, worst COD ever...it's so glitched, scripted, lame and omg don't know what else !!! The campaign on veteran is so stupid. Everybody shoots directly at you and only you. Naturally teammates are the lamest bots known for PC world as well as the rest of bots there. To be honest, that is a collection of worst things from previous versions od call of duty. For example, respawns are directly from COD4. There are also our favourite deathstrikes and because of the"new" killstrikes it is also "MW3 - only campers multiplayer".
    That is really waste of money and time, so i highly not recommend this thing.

    Buy some candy instead
    Expand
  58. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    I have never really been a follower of the Call of Duty games; Back in the day, it was Medal of Honor or nothing, but since EA managed to practically destroy that series, like they did with many others (think C&C), I have been forced to look elsewhere. So here I am at Modern Warfare 3. Because I am somewhat lazy, I am just going to create a list of some dot-points.

    *It's the first COD
    game I have played competitively online and I am enjoying the experience; aside from some bugs. One thing that does annoy me is that there is no big maps, so you are usually forced to use close-to-medium range guns. I can also understand why IW didn't change the multiplayer experience too much - it would have alienated the fan base. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it", comes to mind here.

    *I do agree with most people here - the engine for this game is aging too much. Sure it has improved slightly over each game, but no matter how many labels IW slaps on the engine, its still the same thing. "No matter how much you polish turd...". The colours are dull and washed out, textures are flat and low resolution, shadows are horrible, the foliage does not look great, and the overall definition of the game ain't there. It's time for a new engine - one that actually looks decent on a 1080p screen.

    *Let's be honest here, I didn't buy COD for the campaign, so I don't care how mediocre it may seem, but as long as there is one I am not fussed. The storyline itself was extremely short and full of almost every cliche known to man. One big Hollywood explosion-fest. Where are the war games that actually make you feel the real emotions of war and the morals behind it all? A game that really makes you think about your actions or question what is happening in front of you. I know it might be hard to portray in an interactive media like games, but I'm sure its probably not entirely impossible.

    To sum it up, future COD games need a new engine, better story lines, and more map sizes and varieties. I'm not saying it has to compete with BF3 in terms of gameplay, like most people here ( That would be like comparing apples to oranges. One game offers large-scale multilayer with vehicles, the other is more like a death match arena game), it just has to improve it's core - what made it great in the first place. My decision to purchase Modern Warfare 3 was simple; I haven't owned a COD game before, and wanted to experience what the fuss was all about by purchasing the latest installment. I couldn't really careless about the previous games (although I did like World at War).

    And about he contrasting scores here on Metacritic - it was insane what the critics rated the game, I don't think it deserves that high of a score. As for the user reviews, most are people who compare it to BF3 or who feel betrayed, let-down, or conned by IW/Activision by not delivering a game that lives up to its very own hype, or the users own expectation. At the end of the day, who is more likely to voice their opinion? Someone who has something positive to say, or someone who has something negative to say?
    Expand
  59. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    The game itself, i regret was rather poorly done. With those outdated graphics it kind of felt like a rehash of Modern Warfare 2. However i can tell you it is actually enjoyable to play and has those usual COD moments where you think "OH YEAH!!". The multiplayer is poorly done with its lack of dedicated servers, but still delivers the kick that you can expect from a COD game. A nice game, but could have been better. (also why with the Battlefield fanboy reviews, it kind of annoyed me how obviously bias the reviews where, it wasn't just COD 2.5. there was a lot of differences.) Expand
  60. Dec 1, 2011
    4
    If you have only played MW games, its fine. There isn't much that is new from MW2 and several of the problems from there have carried over (IWnet, stupid game play quirks, etc). There does not seem to be enough new stuff to make it worth playing, new game types are nice but fall short of what a new title should be made of. Further, most of the people that rave about the game continually compare it to MW1/2 or say this is their first. That's fine, and with that in mind it is an enjoyable game. If you've played BF, MoH, CoDBO, or CoDWaW, there is a lot left to be desired.

    There are nice new features such as the killstreaks that are customizable for each load out. Some of the streaks are left overs but they all seem familiar. The hardcore tends to be a bit nurfed compared to previous versions of CoD (MW series and Treyarch series).
    Expand
  61. Dec 1, 2011
    2
    I played this game already. I played it nearly 4+ years ago when it was called Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Very little has changed since then. Sure the UI is better, the game is balanced, but couldn't they have released this as EXPANSIONS instead of asking consumers to buy it for $50 a pop?

    Its not like the graphics are that much crazier. The animations are still fluid, the
    hit-confirm is still great. Everything is as what it was years ago... GREAT! But after so many hours, you tend to get sick of it all. Because nothing really changed. I felt ripped off!

    Single player campaign can be completed in one night. You have mission ops that can be done solo or with a friend... which can also be complete in one night. Multiplayer has been the same since the original.

    I really think you could have released these maps as an expansion along with the story.

    My main complaint is multiplayer. The amount of hacking here is REDICULOUS. At least 1 out of 4 games I've played had 1 hacker or even 2!!! Real disappointing.... the same game for 50 bucks +
    Expand
  62. Dec 8, 2011
    1
    I had been a big fan of the Modern Warfare series until this one. I was so disappointed for this on PC I could hardly believe it. The graphics are exactly the same as MW2 which is now four years old, for a PC game I think this is a big deal seeing as we now have DX11 which the game doesn't even use. Aside for glaring graphical issues the sound was also horrible, the AK-47 sounds like a pee-shooter and unrealistic. I also kept getting stuck on corners and low objects on the ground like debris that you should easily be able to walk or jump over but the only way to get off them is to turn around and go right back the way you came. This happens so often that it just gets annoying and ruins a lot of the fun.

    As far as the gameplay goes, I think the story was well written, a little short and a bit predictable but fun none the less. That being said its about the only good thing to the game that I can think of. The multi-player is pretty much the same as MW2 with a few changes here and there. Changed the unlock system but the game still plays out the same; one player can pretty much win or lose a match for the entire team and once again no team play is required and it hardly ever takes place anyway.

    This game should be known as MW2.5 and should never have been released as a full-fledged game and should have been an expansion priced at $20 at most.
    Expand
  63. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    LOL. Lets see. This game has No battlelog. CHECK. No Origins. Check. A GOOD single player campaign. NO. And a multiplayer game, copying from the last Call of Dutys, which actually also looks and plays good on consoles (which it is purely designed for, and is poorly ported to the pc yet again), AND this game does have bugs and all of the server problems of some other (un-named) games. Its another below average shooter, unlike the other amazing shooter that came out recently. And here come the fan boys to convince you that this game is well optimised, not made purely for console, offers completely different gameplay from the last 4 games and graphics have been greatly approved. With a user score of 1.4 we have a classic case of the people who know what a good game is and isnt. How.....mature! LOL. Too bad this is a bad game. Too bad, this one is the WORSE gaming product. (review correct from orctowngrot's fanyboy review) gaming product. Expand
  64. Dec 16, 2011
    2
    This game is an absolute disappointment. I've been playing all PC Call of Dutys since CoD1 and this game is just absolute fail.
    I especially loved to play MW2 because of much variety, almost perfectly balanced gameplay and very good maps. So were my expectations about MW3 Multiplayer...
    But in MW3 all maps feel like you move in a small box.. It's all made for running and spamming.
    You
    are able to quickscope but maps and also the whole rest of the game clearly isn't designed for sniping at all.
    For example.. There is a perk called "Stalker" which allows the player to move with normal run-speed while aiming down the sight. There is no bobbing or increased inaccuracy. In my opinion this makes rifles and smgs really overpowered since it's a lot easier to rush other players (snipers).
    Akimbo- weapons are stronger than ever (since they have ultimate range and precision now.. )
    I think it's very good that there is no adjustable FOV since everybody has the same chance of spotting enemies now --> A fairer game where you have to be really attentive. All in all I rate it 2 because it's not as good as MW2 or MW1 at all. It's just a poorly thought-out and unbalanced spam-fest.
    Expand
  65. Jan 20, 2012
    1
    Sort it out COD, the number of hackers is insane....... ever though of using punkbuster..... why would any one want to play multi player were the competition isnt how good your its how good your hacks are, cheers for wasting my money....
  66. Jan 8, 2012
    7
    While I thoroughly enjoyed playing the game itself, one of my biggest gripes is with the prelude narration which sounds like it's being spoken by someone who's about 16 or 17 years old. Other than that, it's a great game with a lot of action and cinematic sequences.
  67. Jan 12, 2012
    1
    I dont know how this sell millions and millions PEOPLE IS A DLC that cost $60, They not innovate any, all is the same, if you had MW2 you already got this game: the same maps the same in all is pure @$%!
  68. Jan 15, 2012
    0
    quite simple the worst Call of Duty ever made... No effort has been made by the developers at all... in fact, what they DID do made the game worse. The single player campaign is short and half the time you are led through it like a dog on a leash, no exploring the world/map, instead more focus is put on cinematic moments as though you are watching a film, which gets very boring. Spec ops is ok but gets very repetitive, with zombies in black ops you had a storyline and easter eggs to complete, spec ops is nothing but shoot and kill, it will never BE treyarch's zombies, it will never replace it.

    The multiplayer is drowning in problems such as glitches, major lag and serious balancing issues. The maps are extremely small, (think of shipment from cod 4), and are badly designed with awful spawn locations that causes a lot of spawnkilling. Personally i found that Mw3's multiplayer was made up of: 1) spawn kill or 2) get spawn killed, no matter what game mode you play. Multiplayer was a big step back from black ops which had endless customisation options, MW3 has only a fraction of this.
    Great features such as dive to prone have not been implemented in to mw3 which, again, is a big step back from black ops.
    PC has even less support than MW2, with no ranked dedicated servers (another step back from black ops), which leads to countless hackers and cheaters, No adjustable FOV causes headaches and dizzyness when sitting close to the screen, IW dont understand most PC player sit on a desk with the monitor directly in front of them and console players tend to sit further away and have a tv which is why we need adjustable FOV. Now to the final part in the great list of MW3 problems: Call of Duty Elite
    Having the idea of a subscription for getting map packs early is NOT a good idea since Activision already have a deal with Microsoft the ensures any DLC content must be released a month earlier than any other platform. This means that players on PS3 and PC that donâ
    Expand
  69. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    This actually, wasn't too bad, but probably only worth it to finish up the Modern Warfare storyline.

    I've always favored Infinity Ward iterations of the COD franchise, and to be honest, I wasn't expecting MW3 to actually be released after that issue a while back of Activision kicking quite a few of the Infinity Ward team off the project.

    Now, the single player of MW3 is very good, voice
    acting is nice, the storyline isn't hard to follow, even ties in with scenes from COD4 and MW2, the graphics are crisp and rich in detail, not to mention the campaign's ending was actually quite satisfying. The gameplay is more or less the same as MW2 with new weapons, a new campaign that continues right where MW2 left off, and adds a few new characters. Whether or not you class this as a bad thing is up to you, I'll personally admit yes it did get a little repetitive later on in the game.

    I'm quite reclusive and most of my internet time was spent on dialup / satellite internet so I never quite got around to playing multiplayer, but I hear a lot of complaints about the matchmaking system. To be honest I feel the matchmaking should stay with the game consoles.. or as a secondary option with the choice of a server browser, so you have a choice with either a casual match with random people or a good game with people you know from a clan. (Off the record.. Just my opinion, Call of Duty's multiplayer is not deep like the fans say. To be honest it hasn't really changed much since COD4.)

    And of course, I'm going to cite my protest at Activision with their greed. 15 dollars for a DLC is insane, I could wait for one of Steam's holiday sales and get 3 or 4 full games for the price. Hell, I even grabbed BOTH Mass Effect 1 and 2 for a total of 5 dollars less than one of the Call of Duty DLCs. Not to mention their absolutely stupid decision to cancel popular game series' like Guitar Hero, Its a no brainer why EA is kicking their arses royally right now.
    Expand
  70. Jan 21, 2012
    2
    Activition made a great mistake letting the game release AFTER battlefield 3 (a masterpiece). The game showed almost no change, They've made a few things. True, but my personal opinion is DISAPPOINTED. I really am.

    I played the whole campaign, yes, but just to finish the story, but not with the desire of enjoying the game as I did with the previews ones. It is just a shame. I just had
    more expectations, I this killed all. I don't know, I feel sorry for the game as a part of our lives, because everyone loved this as much as I did and much more, much they did not put too much effort on developping this final chapter.

    I believe that this company must try a little harder next time, because I don't know if I will be buying another Call Of Duty in a future.
    Expand
  71. Jan 22, 2012
    1
    Very bad multiplayer game 10/2. I think infinity ward died for this game. Too many ppl said "such multiplayer game". MW2 >Cod 4>MW3 Call of duty going to dying. Too many lag, overpowerd weapons etc. Watch lag problem in youtube. Too many ppl ask this problem 2 month ago. But COD not answer.
  72. Jan 24, 2012
    1
    I can't put into words how much of a disappointment this installment of COD is. Let me start by saying that I really wanted this game to live up to the hype and advertising. Unfortunately, what my $60 paid for was a map pack for MW2. Yes, there are a few new features, such as leveling your guns, but ultimately it is MW2. Same graphics, same sounds, many of the same models, and of course the hackers are back in force. Like MW2, it would have been a decent game if they would have at least attempted to do something about the hackers. But they didn't. Hell, half of them wear it like a badge of honor that they are hacking and nobody is going to stop them. Okay, enough grumbling. Here are the issues that I have with a $60 map pack. First, and most obvious, I already paid for this game 3 years ago. Second, the maps are entirely too small, even for COD. The match making system is terrible. Either you have no lag and the rest of the teams are lagging, or your are watching a slide show. Even when it does not appear to be lagging you can empty a magazine in an enemy and never register a hit. Most of the weapons and damage are pretty good so I'll give credit where it is due. The akimbo option ruins the game. They are entirely too accurate at distance. So what happens is all of your matches turn into a spray and pray competition between akimbo's. In general the hit boxes are terrible, but I am not sure if it is the lag or the hit box. Either way, you would think that all the money the fans of COD pumped into this company, they could at least have solid net code. If not for the lag issues, the major issues with hackers, and the fact that it is simply a recycled game from 3 years ago with no innovation, I would have rated this much higher. As it is, it is unplayable in multiplayer. Expand
  73. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    Finally got to try it, wait no I've already played this. Oh no, that was MW and MW2. Same game with new maps and stats. Graphics updated? Nope. Gameplay updated? Nope. PC users gets the shaft again? YES! I miss how PC games use to be $49.99, but because of this crappy company deciding to bump it up to $59.99, every other company followed suit. Crap game for a crap price.
  74. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    Quite simply single player is passable, but it's hard to tell the quality of the multiplayer. This is mostly due to the fact that almost no one can actually connect to the MW3 servers. Waste of money especially considering this has been a problem since launch and nothing has been done.
  75. Jan 30, 2012
    1
    If you've played a previous Modern Warfare, try this out - for a laugh. Most of the single-player missions you do - as usual - have little to none connection to the plot. So essentially you'll be shooting hordes of Russians for a few hours straight. There's no technical advancement in the game. They've done *nothing* to the multiplayer, *nothing* to the graphics, *nothing* to the engine. In other words, you're buying a DLC to Modern Warfare 1. Please, don't buy this game, and if you did it, I can bet you're disappointed. Expand
  76. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    This is more of an expansion than a stand alone game. No servers, no proper spawn system, nothing new at all, no more Activision for me. Fanboys will be fanboys, and you can whatever you want about sales but lets face it CoD does not look good, or play well and there are thousands of games you could buy for the price of this garbage.
  77. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    wow 2 damn bullets to head from sniper and he's still walking, gj...... than shotguns 3 shoots from close range to kill( expect overpowerd striker), when we are at striker i just got 360 noscope with that sniper ...... than hitbox sux badly , small map, same engine
  78. Feb 5, 2012
    0
    Giving this game a ZERO. Not because in itself its that bad...I am effing tired of all the hackers..and the price you pay to play this game. I've heard my friends whine since MW2 about COD...I held the line until now....am UNINSTALLING this piece of crap. So angry at the lack of effort addressing the hacking issue. STOP MAKING GAME THE SAME WAY IF ON DAY ONE THE HACKS ARE RAMPANT! Steam! VAC! Wake up! Also, all the overpowered weapons and expliots. Game is over-run with noobs using the cheapest gun. COD brings out the worst in all of us. If you are selfish, cheap and noobish, CODMW3 is for you. The series has lost its purity since COD2...all these stupid perks and killstreaks. I almost quit playing CODMW2 because of all that crap...Stopping Power UMP45 silenced...I thought either I stop playing or I adjust and beat all the noobs at their own game. I adjusted...I became selfish and nooby...diong the same cheap crappy exploitive spam that everyone else was doing. I lost my integrity. by NOT playing the sequel, I get my integrity back! Expand
  79. Feb 6, 2012
    0
    Same **** old graphics Modern warfare 2,5 ; / Better play on free Modern warafre 3 http://altermw3.net/ For free ; ) This is bad how Infinity ward take care about PC gamers ; (
  80. Feb 6, 2012
    0
    This game SUCKS! Its not even old cod anymore, its not even a new idea, its the same thing all over again. I dont know how you people waste money on these things. They only care about the money. This game, is the same thing, THREE TIMES ALLREADY.

    0/10
  81. Feb 9, 2012
    6
    I enjoyed the single player campaign but it was very very short.
  82. Feb 10, 2012
    1
    This game fails on so many levels, i only played it on PC and i hated 90% of the players already for talking childish **** every game, i can only imagine how bad it gets on a Console! The game feels like a old PS1 run and gun game, every aspect of this trash is old and it's easy to get many kills, good job it's the perfect game for people with down syndrome!
  83. Feb 10, 2012
    0
    Horrible game, lackluster multi-player that doesn't feel fresh or fun, short single player campaign and very dated graphics. Not worth the money.....
  84. Feb 16, 2012
    0
    If you got MW1, MW2 or MW:BO than you don't need this its the same game really in a new wrapper. There is not much else to say, it Recycles everything and again turn into another "America **** Yea" game.
  85. Mar 4, 2012
    0
    I used to like the multiplayer part of the game, but with the amount of hackers in it nowadays, and the lack of possibilities for pc-gamers to do anything about it, I feel screwed - once again by Infinity Ward. You should really be ashamed of yourself! Good game that has been totally destroyed, by hackers/cheaters, and the developers who doesnt care about anything else than money... Most of all I dont get how it can be so hard for Infinity Ward to secure the game from hackers, YOU KNEW IT FROM MW2, and yet you release the same piece of junk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Unplayable!
    Expand
  86. Mar 7, 2012
    0
    So, Russia managed to invade the southwest and east coasts AND the central US SIMULTANEOUSLY only to do a backflip into occupying all of Europe. . . instantly. Go back to incessantly reliving WW2. At least then you had a template. Your plot writers are truly awful. Score: -1
  87. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    WHAT THE F*** WERE THEY THINKING - This is a game I will openly admit to pirating, I downloaded this game off the internet without paying *gasp* why? because... copy/paste of modern warfare 2. they bought back dedicated servers for the pc in black ops along with zombies. zombies are the only reason I purchased black ops, the story was interesting but ultimately redundant when you enter the multiplayer only to hear people arguing over who has the bigger **** because they got a 360 noscope. To a point this is funny but its in EVERY cod game, you simply don't get this in battlefied because there are filtered voice channels to cut out the bs HINT HINT...... this is more a map pack than a new game, I may have considered buying this if it was an addon for mw2 for like $10 as I own mw2 (only for the fact that I can't re-sell my cd key) Expand
  88. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    No new innovations. Extremely bad graphics for 2011. Really bad and close Field of View (not adjustable). No ranked dedicated servers. Cheesy inappropriate soundtrack. Blatant marketing ploys such as paid Elite package. Instantly forgettable crappy single player. Moronic fans support. Obviously dated interface.

    MARKS THE DEATH OF CALL OF DUTY SERIES. High profile trash like this makes you
    want to pirate games. Expand
  89. Mar 14, 2012
    0
    still kicking myself for paying money for this garbage. black ops had better graphics and gameplay. it's amazing they could actually take 2 steps BACKWARDS, in terms of quality, and publish this. also, why are the maps so ridiculously small? 32 pax on a 16 player map? really?

    i've since learned my lesson...STOP preordering games. wait to see the player reviews and comments.
  90. Apr 3, 2012
    0
    this is an absolute rubbish console port for the pc. unfair multiplayer with no ranked dedis, bad graphics, no special pc abilities... infinity ward reprinted mw2 with a 3 on the end and activision is digging people's pockets for money. at least the singleplayer's not bad. campaign is crazy as always and spec ops is fun with friends
  91. Apr 4, 2012
    5
    this is game is pathetic, no, almost disgusting I wonder if COD: Black Ops was also nul.J 'love this game a long time but this time it's not very convincing so I recommend you BATTLEFIELD 3 instead.
  92. Apr 12, 2012
    1
    Same game, different year. These games are always well produced and look decent (for a military simulator), but they're basically just soulless Counterstrike-style generic shooters without the cool mechanics that made counterstrike unique and awesome. Tired of bad modern military garbage games being repacked year after year. Leave this one for the kiddies and bads. (Play Tribes: Ascend instead)
  93. Apr 23, 2012
    0
    NOT innovative NOt new NOT very good graphics. these are one of the many reasons why Cod Mw3 was shelved by Cod fans.So if ur new to cod buy it but if not Please dont bother. If u got sick of Mw3 try Battlefield 3 or Counter Strike Source ,there much better games
  94. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    This used to be a really enjoyable shooter series. Now the only remotely use it has left for sane individuals is a reminder on what marketing does to the quality of games thanks to greedy publishers. Way to go Activision. I can only truly hope that you people will never figure out how to repopulate.
  95. May 15, 2012
    0
    Same game as the last ones since COD4. No improvement on the engine whatsoever. Nothing new pretty much a textures pack. Don't waste your time with this cookie cutter title.
  96. May 26, 2012
    10
    best game I ever played, simply amazing Everything up there is a pile of **** I decided to write 'cause i could. i am actually a nice guy. Here is my top ten movie list: 1o. The Shining. It is absolutely classic. 9. Alien. The first time I saw it i was scared ****less. 8. The Children of the Corn. It is almost as messed up as 'IT'. 7. Shaun of the Dead. Funny. Funny. Funny. 6. Hellraiser. It has a nice plot and Pinhead is awesome.
    5. Sleepaway Camp. Nobody remembers this movie but I reckon it was KICKASS.
    4. Nightmare on Elm Street. Also classic.
    3. Friday the 13th. Jason is almost too KICKASS.
    2. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Pretty messed up but it kept me on the edge of my seat.
    (Drumrolls)
    1. Halloween. Myers is slightly KICKASS and the movie was brilliant.
    Expand
  97. May 28, 2012
    0
    Let's just forget for a second that this game is completely overhyped. Let's forget that it's overrated. Let's just focus on the gameplay of this terrible piece of crap. Imbalanced weapons? Check. Ugly-looking maps with way too much clutter? Check. Boring single-player campaign with predictable "set pieces" (if they even deserve to be called that)? Checkaroo. Yup, this game is loaded with content. Content that makes you wonder how and why people even play this piece of absolute rubbish. Expand
  98. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    I did it again!!!! After terrible release of Black Ops I though they will fix gameplay and create again good game. For me graphics is not main feature in games, so will not complain about graphics which BTW looks like from 2002.
    But they didn't fix anything. Whole game ooks exactly same.. More like level pack.
    Singleplayer is boring and on multiplayer you can have fun is you love to be
    shot from the back each time and never able to see what's happend. No matter what's your skill game will respawn enemy ALWAYS behond your back. Expand
  99. Jun 10, 2012
    5
    Hi.Ive played this game more than a 100 hours and now i am ready to write it.At first I thought the game was perfect.I liked everything and i liked it more than Battlefield 3.But after spending hours and hours on it soon enough ive understood that the plot is boring the multiplayer and even the whole game is just copying MW2.And MW2 is copying Cod4 (Awesome game i must say).So here i go - i give it 5 only because ive spent some fun time with my friends here. Expand
  100. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    The game brings nothing new to the table. It could be a MW2 DLC pack with new sounds, maps and a gamemode. - At least for the online players. I mainly got this game for the spec ops. I loved it in MW2, perfect co-op that even beats the co-op BF3 has implemented in it. But this time it wasn't the case. Let me just say I was disappointed, and that's being quite polite. They created more missions, a few of them on the side of a chopper like in old games where the game controls when you walk yourself to the point where new enemies get up and you have to shoot them. There was no nice missions like the ones in MW2 where you had to survive waves of enemies, and nothing as epic as the stealth missions they brought us in MW2.
    It surely feels like Modern Warfare 2, and you can feel the engine aging too. All that is new is the sounds and maps, so I feel like I've been paying full price for a map and weapon sound pack DLC, and saying this we all know how Call of Duty has overpriced their product to $10 more than any competing games. The game is for those who just want more of the old MW2 and play multiplayer with tubes and rushing in small maps - and that must be quite a lot judging by the sale numbers, was it 6.1 or 6.7 million copies on launch? That's amazing. I hope I wasn't the only disappointed within these people. I haven't completed the Singleplayer yet, but from what I've played it was quite.. boring. Also I feel that either the critics have been paid or they never played the old MW2 and MW1, or surely just likes to favor new game releases. Because the reviews they made gets this game a 81 out of 100 score on this reviews date, which is surely seen by us users to be lower.
    Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. 80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]