User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5267 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Single player is good but not the best, i tough it was better. Spec ops is really nice, it is big fun with friends. The multiplayer is full of hackers, the CoD support is bad, they will make their work better. Next bad is akimbo and overpowered guns, I hate FMG9 akimbo, it's too strong, but other guns is better, graphics is bad, it needs more work on it, maps is good, I like lockdown, because it's map from Czech republic and I live here, best is hardhat and dome for me, but maps like downturn, interchange etc. is really bad. MW3 is good game, but can be better, I hope the MW4 will be better.(sorry for bad english, im not best in this language) -Tukan Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2012
    0
    My advice is find another game to play the COD managers are only interested in ripping us gamers off.
    MW3 at the moment is full of hackers and this game will only get the same treatment as MW3 so id advise u get another game and save ur cash.
    Personaly id like all people who are into COD games like myself to boycot any COD game till activision and IW get their fingers out their backsides
    My advice is find another game to play the COD managers are only interested in ripping us gamers off.
    MW3 at the moment is full of hackers and this game will only get the same treatment as MW3 so id advise u get another game and save ur cash.
    Personaly id like all people who are into COD games like myself to boycot any COD game till activision and IW get their fingers out their backsides and fix the problems of the games first.
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    4
    the game is repetitive and annoying. all the critic reviews are paid and this isnt what people should be getting from a company that makes billions. f
  4. Oct 20, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What started out to be an interesting sequel got ruined in the end process. It turns out to be Modern Warfare 2.5 in the end, the same graphics are used, same textures, horrifying multiplayer and a generic story mode. The story mode is practically this: You are crashed in New York, things blow up, you wake up in India, things blow up again, you are the bodyguard of the prime minister of Russia, plane blows up and you die with the PM being kidnapped, you are in Africa, things blow up, Warabe dies, and blah blah blah, it's more or less like a Michael Bay movie, a movie full of explosives, and the main plot is forgettable, in the end of the game, I got completely confused with what happened completely because the game took me 3.5 HOURS TO COMPLETE! with these standards, surely the co-op doesn't fail at all. Guess what? That also got destroyed and ruined, copy and paste maps of the multiplayer, stupid AI that go suicide towards you to kill you, a unknown story to it. If you thinks things might be good in the end, you will be unhappy with the result. It's a copy and paste of MW2 and BO, full of rubbish maps, no dedicated server, people talking BS on the mic and messages, OVERPOWERED weapons which will need to be nerfed, full of rip-off DLC which people want their money back for. With an overall package full of failure, you will expect the community to be respectful? Once again, a BIG FAT NO! Community are nothing but craptalkers, people hating other games which aren't COD, full of your parents comeback and the list will go on for months. If I had to pick an alternative to MW3, pick BF3, Crysis 2, RAGE, Homefront, F3AR, Bulletstorm, Resistance 3 and Killzone 3. Avoid this with all your life depending on it! Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2012
    5
    fun game when ur not playing with hackers. 3/5 games. its 2012 and completely ridiculous that hackers still exist in a game like this. lets see.. its been over a year and its still $60.. countless dlc for $15 bucks which usually contains like 2 maps. and they dont care about the game once its out. sounds like EA has had a hand in this LOL gg guys.
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I do not know why are people hating on this game..Oh wait I do know why are people hating..cuz about 95% who gave negative reviews are little battlefield 3 fanboys..ok lets cut to the chase..the campaign is short...really short but almost nobody played the campaign all to the end...cuz everybody plays the multiplayer and thats the important thing.. Its kinda similar to mw2 and graphicsI do not know why are people hating on this game..Oh wait I do know why are people hating..cuz about 95% who gave negative reviews are little battlefield 3 fanboys..ok lets cut to the chase..the campaign is short...really short but almost nobody played the campaign all to the end...cuz everybody plays the multiplayer and thats the important thing.. Its kinda similar to mw2 and graphics arent as good a bf3 but the gameplay is good its almost the same as the old counter strike 1.6 the graphics were bad but the game had a really fun mp gameplay..but there is a really big problem as in every multiplayer game and that are CHEATERS... Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    0
    Really, REALLY horrible game, old and dusty multiplayer, crappy 4 hr. campaign, basically MW2 repackaged, which was COD4 repackaged, lacks any originality.
  8. Oct 2, 2012
    5
    When I first brought Modern Warfare 3 and played it, I very much enjoyed it but as time went on I got more and more bored of it, the reasoning why is because it
  9. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    I did it again!!!! After terrible release of Black Ops I though they will fix gameplay and create again good game. For me graphics is not main feature in games, so will not complain about graphics which BTW looks like from 2002.
    But they didn't fix anything. Whole game ooks exactly same.. More like level pack.
    Singleplayer is boring and on multiplayer you can have fun is you love to be
    I did it again!!!! After terrible release of Black Ops I though they will fix gameplay and create again good game. For me graphics is not main feature in games, so will not complain about graphics which BTW looks like from 2002.
    But they didn't fix anything. Whole game ooks exactly same.. More like level pack.
    Singleplayer is boring and on multiplayer you can have fun is you love to be shot from the back each time and never able to see what's happend. No matter what's your skill game will respawn enemy ALWAYS behond your back.
    Expand
  10. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    The reviewers and metacritic were paid off to make MW3 look good. First of all, the "User score distribution" doesn't even show the ratings. See how it says 0, 0, 0? Blatant bribing. This game is nowhere near "99% Perfection," the graphics are the exact same as MW2, if not worse. The game just looks bland and dull, nothing about it is fun. It brings nothing new to the table but 3The reviewers and metacritic were paid off to make MW3 look good. First of all, the "User score distribution" doesn't even show the ratings. See how it says 0, 0, 0? Blatant bribing. This game is nowhere near "99% Perfection," the graphics are the exact same as MW2, if not worse. The game just looks bland and dull, nothing about it is fun. It brings nothing new to the table but 3 killstreak modes.. and what else? I'm 1st prestige on the multiplayer. I've put 40 hours into this game, and I deeply regret it. It's brought me nothing but rage. Expand
  11. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    Singleplayer was average. The compaign was repetitive and unoriginal, Spec Ops missions were better, but nothing overly special. Survival however, is amazing. And makes up for the weakness of the rest of the singleplayer experience. And then there's multiplayer, which had it's unoriginality, but with that aside, was amazing. There's something for every FPS fan here. I see why there areSingleplayer was average. The compaign was repetitive and unoriginal, Spec Ops missions were better, but nothing overly special. Survival however, is amazing. And makes up for the weakness of the rest of the singleplayer experience. And then there's multiplayer, which had it's unoriginality, but with that aside, was amazing. There's something for every FPS fan here. I see why there are negative user reviews here, but I personally love it (Apart from the campaign and spec ops missions, which were still good) Expand
  12. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Great game. Interesting story and good multiplayer. Always loved the game from Infinity Ward. I hope that the next part of the Modern Warfare franchise will only get better
  13. Sep 18, 2012
    6
    Modern Warfare's past success is it's own worst enemy. Similar to other big franchises MW3 leans heavily on what made the series popular, so much so that it at times can come across as uninspired. >< That's not to say there isn't still a good deal of new content, just that it's very familiar. Campaign mode, Special Ops, and Multiplayer are all pretty solid, and as a whole make for a prettyModern Warfare's past success is it's own worst enemy. Similar to other big franchises MW3 leans heavily on what made the series popular, so much so that it at times can come across as uninspired. >< That's not to say there isn't still a good deal of new content, just that it's very familiar. Campaign mode, Special Ops, and Multiplayer are all pretty solid, and as a whole make for a pretty good game. >< My complaints mainly are multiplayer related. The foremost being an overall lack of balance . The pace of a typical MW3 match, regardless of game mode, or the objectives, quickly turns into and spray and pray gib-fest. Guns are terribly unbalanced as is the Perk system. It's ridiculous at how overpowered some weapons are over others. The whole pitch about "choose how you want to play based on weapon and perk choice" should have read "choose how you want to play using "this OP" type of gun and "these OP" perks or else lose". >< Another issue with multiplayer is lag. Matchmaking is a crapshoot, hosts are chosen seemingly at random, (sometimes mid-game), and players are either horribly easy or about impossible to hit because of lag. >< Finally, still not enough has been done to address aim-botting and other cheats which have been an ongoing problem for years. >< TL;DR MW3 delivers on what made the series popular but multiplayer issues hamper it's strongest selling point. Expand
  14. Sep 14, 2012
    3
    The game is good, but it's ruined by the idiotic community, most likely all the battlefield and other rival named games who come in just to ruin this game, They abuse Activision + Infinity ward's idiotic idea's of using the Valve's Steam system as the anticheat, which everyone knows does not work and just supports cheating in games. So the major problem with the game is its good, but theThe game is good, but it's ruined by the idiotic community, most likely all the battlefield and other rival named games who come in just to ruin this game, They abuse Activision + Infinity ward's idiotic idea's of using the Valve's Steam system as the anticheat, which everyone knows does not work and just supports cheating in games. So the major problem with the game is its good, but the cheaters ruin it to hell. Expand
  15. Sep 9, 2012
    4
    Overview: This game is looking like an add-on to Modern Warfare 1. Five hour campaign, small changes in multiplayer, story full of cliches. And what is the price of this add-on? 60$! And when i realized this, i was like: "WHAT!? SIXTY BUCKS FOR THIS!?". Previously i bought MW2, and i had same feelings. Story: It's full of cliches, and hasn't any originality. Really, how many films aboutOverview: This game is looking like an add-on to Modern Warfare 1. Five hour campaign, small changes in multiplayer, story full of cliches. And what is the price of this add-on? 60$! And when i realized this, i was like: "WHAT!? SIXTY BUCKS FOR THIS!?". Previously i bought MW2, and i had same feelings. Story: It's full of cliches, and hasn't any originality. Really, how many films about bad Russians have you seen? Hundreds? Maybe more. And this game is about bad Russians too! This isn't even a game, it's an interactive film. Because in campaign you do only what you have to do. I mean, you can't choose, you're just walking through a corridor, and then watching a cut-scene.
    Gameplay: Pretty boring, but sometimes game gives you something unusual. Most of time you're just shooting stupid bots, that can't even kill you without hordes of them. But lots of weapons are making this game a bit better. Multiplayer: This is the best part of the game. Even if multiplayer looks like it's predecessor in MW2, it's still can bring a lots of fun. But it's nothing special at all, though. Zombie mode is pretty good too, it isn't so good as L4D2 is, but can be played for few hours.
    Expand
  16. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    MW1-MW2-MW3, i liked all the games very much. Though MW1 is the best, others are not so bad at all. We hope the next one will be more attractive than this one.
  17. Aug 24, 2012
    0
    This game is terrible. Honestly, I had hope for this game, I really did. I liked World at War, loved Black Ops, but never really liked the Modern Warfare series. I thought they became more **** as they went along. I saw MW3 as a final, redeeming factor for Sledgehammer Games. And wouldn't ya know it, they screwed themselves 3 ways to Tuesday with a 12 foot pole. Story was never that goodThis game is terrible. Honestly, I had hope for this game, I really did. I liked World at War, loved Black Ops, but never really liked the Modern Warfare series. I thought they became more **** as they went along. I saw MW3 as a final, redeeming factor for Sledgehammer Games. And wouldn't ya know it, they screwed themselves 3 ways to Tuesday with a 12 foot pole. Story was never that good to begin with, but now it's just "Kill these guys because you have been for the last 2 **** games, wouldn't want any good plot change or something GOOD". Or, as I like to call it "Shoot the minorities". Multiplayer is just a waste of time. All people to is spam the most OP guns and then rant abount how good they are. Spec Ops is ok at best, hardlly a redeaming factor. Overall, buy MW1. It's $40 less and it's light years better than this game. Expand
  18. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I rate 10 because I got paid $60 to buy the game. Never played it, but I'm "sure" it's a great game. Whatever you think, you can "trust" me.. =) DON'T BUY IT.... Expand
  19. Aug 21, 2012
    0
    The Call of Duty franchise is really hitting its lows now. Same old, it should be a mod not a game.

    Nothing new or interesting to mention, it's not worth the $$$ or time.

    It has no reason to be on PC, they shouldn't even bother porting it to PC in the future.

    I'm only happy that I was given it for free, but then again I could of gotten something much better, anything...
  20. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    Positives-The addition of new weapons, althought not very many new weapons. The addition of Survival mode. Survival mode contains new content and a new way to play. Survival mode allows you to play the way you want, choose which weapons to use, and choose how to play.
  21. Aug 12, 2012
    0
    Poor graphics and hacker fested matches made me quit after the few time i tried playing. Activision doesn't have a clue this has been an issue with the series and developer is nothing but money hungry. Dont waste your money Black Ops 2 looks more of the same **** graphics, but people or kids must have low IQ's. Activision supports the gang minded punk kids and probally supports thePoor graphics and hacker fested matches made me quit after the few time i tried playing. Activision doesn't have a clue this has been an issue with the series and developer is nothing but money hungry. Dont waste your money Black Ops 2 looks more of the same **** graphics, but people or kids must have low IQ's. Activision supports the gang minded punk kids and probally supports the site's that sell the cheat and hacks. I hope Activision goes bankrupt someday as well as other companies who support's players and sites that ruin good games. Expand
  22. Aug 8, 2012
    2
    franchement j'ai était déçu ! un moteur graphique super vieux et réutilisé depuis cod 4. pour quand allons nous avoir quelque chose qui soit a la hauteur de bf3et bientot bf4 ? il serai Temp de se bougé car ses du grand n'importe quoi surtout que Activision va jusqu'à quémander des meilleur score au joueur sur meta critique.
  23. Aug 8, 2012
    4
    After playing this game on the xbox360, I only played Multiplayer on PC, therefore I am giving the rating on that, the connection is just as bad as the connection you generally get on Xbox360, unless you play on the dedicated servers, which actually only play as 'private matches' which aren't ranked, this + the review I gave for the xbox360 version.
  24. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    I honestly don't understand why there is so much hate for this game. That's not to say that it's amazing, but I wasn't really disappointed. The single player plot is pretty bland for being SO over-the-top, but if you don't think about it too much, it's fun to play. My favorite part has got to be the single player survival mode: it provides countless hours of additional gameplay with plentyI honestly don't understand why there is so much hate for this game. That's not to say that it's amazing, but I wasn't really disappointed. The single player plot is pretty bland for being SO over-the-top, but if you don't think about it too much, it's fun to play. My favorite part has got to be the single player survival mode: it provides countless hours of additional gameplay with plenty of challenge. MW3 continues the trend of being basically a multiplayer game with a short campaign and some extras thrown in, but at this point I can't complain: you know what you're getting. Expand
  25. Aug 6, 2012
    5
    Sum up MW3 in one word? Lazy, probably. Back in the days of the first Modern Warfare, the campaign was well-paced and only had the occasional set piece to awe you; whilst in MW3, you can't go 5 minutes without a building, plane or train falling and crashing six inches away from your face. The game becomes exhausting to play and then just turns out to be boring. It's not that I think theySum up MW3 in one word? Lazy, probably. Back in the days of the first Modern Warfare, the campaign was well-paced and only had the occasional set piece to awe you; whilst in MW3, you can't go 5 minutes without a building, plane or train falling and crashing six inches away from your face. The game becomes exhausting to play and then just turns out to be boring. It's not that I think they should revolutionize the graphics every time a new game comes out, but this game does very little new, even story-wise. The story is even more disjointed than MW2 if you can believe that; with a half-hearted structure and poorly developed characters. Do I even need to be babbling right now? Just don't buy this game, unless you're willing to part with £30 for what essentially amounts to just a boring campaign and dull maps. And no, I don't like Battlefield 3 either so let's just drop this argument. Expand
  26. Aug 6, 2012
    0
    This game is just crap. The PC version is the worst port I've ever seen. Even when you set it to 1080p it renders it in some crappy Sub-HD resolution. And the spawn system is just a piece of **** Half the time you spawn right in front of your enemy. Don't buy this piece of ****
  27. Aug 4, 2012
    5
    Typical COD game, fast paced action-run and gun. Controls are easy, smooth, and addicting, like always. Story, yes there is a story, it's a continuation from the previous two games, but it's just an excuse to make the game flow, nothing spectacular or memorable. Graphics maybe a bit better that in MW2, overall quite nice, no lagging on the PC version. For me it lasted 5 hours tops, greatTypical COD game, fast paced action-run and gun. Controls are easy, smooth, and addicting, like always. Story, yes there is a story, it's a continuation from the previous two games, but it's just an excuse to make the game flow, nothing spectacular or memorable. Graphics maybe a bit better that in MW2, overall quite nice, no lagging on the PC version. For me it lasted 5 hours tops, great afternoon fun. Expand
  28. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    It's basically same as MW:2... cmon this game is not even worth 10$. It sucks so much that i even dont have words to describe how much it sux. Better buy Batllefield 3, its worth every penny!!
  29. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Great game. Compare to blackop the graphic are really good. Run smoth on my computer. Best graphics I have seen in my life.
    Nice sound.

    I did not play much the sp, but for the time I played it was good.

    The mp is great, some problems with the netcode but most of it run pretty well.
  30. Jul 29, 2012
    2
    Multiplayer Blah blah blah garbage poop blah garbage... Honestly, this is a $60 DLC, this is Modern Warfare 2.21 at best, and a crapload more DLCS making this rehashed game worth more than $100 of instant garbage so they can sell millions of copies to console fanboys, this game wasn't developed for PC players. Just another year of stale gameplay with slightly new features and changes, butMultiplayer Blah blah blah garbage poop blah garbage... Honestly, this is a $60 DLC, this is Modern Warfare 2.21 at best, and a crapload more DLCS making this rehashed game worth more than $100 of instant garbage so they can sell millions of copies to console fanboys, this game wasn't developed for PC players. Just another year of stale gameplay with slightly new features and changes, but all still the same, and PVP for PC players is garbage, sure, they have private servers, but you can only rank in PVP matches which are no fun half the time because player host issues. Oh, I would have gave this a 1 rating, but I always enjoyed the single player story campaign of the series, the story felt like I was playing in a Michael Bay movie, EXPLOSIONS, BOOM! MORE EXPLOSIONS! AWESOME! so I gave it 2. Expand
  31. Jul 25, 2012
    0
    5 hours of single player game play for $60.00... WTF this amounts to DLC content for whole hog prices... great cinematics and wonderful voice acting, but the most boring, tedious, and soulless game I've had the displeasure of playing with cheat ridden multi-player content.
  32. Jul 24, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. b3st videyo gaem ever!!!!!11!1!!1!!!11!

    Why do i have to seriously have one hundred and fifty characters in order to write this review, as it it is obviously the best game ever... /sarcasm off
    Expand
  33. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    This used to be a really enjoyable shooter series. Now the only remotely use it has left for sane individuals is a reminder on what marketing does to the quality of games thanks to greedy publishers. Way to go Activision. I can only truly hope that you people will never figure out how to repopulate.
  34. Jul 17, 2012
    0
    I played through CoD 4 until CoD Black ops, and i borrowed MW3 from a friend. I can't believe how a developer dares to recycle the same thing every single year, and still people buy it. The only good thing you can expect from CoD is the zombies mode, which is not featured in any of infinity ward's games.
  35. Jul 16, 2012
    3
    All I will say is that I am glad I bought this game in the sale for £19.99. The story is rubbish, the levels are boring and the game feels like it should have been a DLC pack for MW2. The multiplayer is not as much fun as MW2. I feel sorry for anyone suckered in enough to buy this at full price. Hmm, come to think of it, I am mad with myself for spending £20 on the game!!
  36. Jul 14, 2012
    4
    I bought the game on sale. Despite the overwhelming amount of negative reviews, I thought I would give it a go since I was frustrated with BF 3 and the rampant hackers there. I lasted less than 5 minutes in an online match. BF 3 is sadly a superior product at this point. MW 3, like many have said, is just like CS or any twitch FPS. If you want depth and hackers go with BF 3. If you wantI bought the game on sale. Despite the overwhelming amount of negative reviews, I thought I would give it a go since I was frustrated with BF 3 and the rampant hackers there. I lasted less than 5 minutes in an online match. BF 3 is sadly a superior product at this point. MW 3, like many have said, is just like CS or any twitch FPS. If you want depth and hackers go with BF 3. If you want arcade candy and hackers go with this. First impressions are vital and this title left me feeling like I wasted my money. Expand
  37. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    Okay this game series has turned to just becoming a mindless shooter after COD: WaW. I mean the whole franchise is just extremely milked. If ANYTHING has the words "Call of Duty" on it, it seems that it becomes famous and sells hundreds of copies.
  38. Jul 13, 2012
    5
    I used to be a CoD fan.
    Unfortunately, Activision is abusing my trust.
    They have released essentially the same game three times, with different textures and slightly new guns You may say "Why fix what isn't broke?" It is still a fun game, with aspects of which show the light of being a series as refined as CoD. The campaign is still decent, the multiplayer excellent especially with
    I used to be a CoD fan.
    Unfortunately, Activision is abusing my trust.
    They have released essentially the same game three times, with different textures and slightly new guns
    You may say "Why fix what isn't broke?" It is still a fun game, with aspects of which show the light of being a series as refined as CoD.
    The campaign is still decent, the multiplayer excellent especially with friends and spec ops is always great.
    MW3 is a good game, but it has to be rated less because it is the same as previous CoD's
    If you want a quick, fun, shoot-fest then CoD: MW3 is your best bet, if you want something with more depth than a spoon, consult Valve
    Expand
  39. Jul 12, 2012
    5
    off all my fps's this is one of my least favorites( i have crysis to half life ) thank god i got it for half off :). But ok yes almost everything is recycled from mw2, ive played mw1, mw2, black ops , and now mw3, black ops had zombies the only thing i liked, the story in this is good but very linear but better then black ops there is no saving cod from quick snipers and noob killers plusoff all my fps's this is one of my least favorites( i have crysis to half life ) thank god i got it for half off :). But ok yes almost everything is recycled from mw2, ive played mw1, mw2, black ops , and now mw3, black ops had zombies the only thing i liked, the story in this is good but very linear but better then black ops there is no saving cod from quick snipers and noob killers plus horribly done game play in multiplayer but i think it is worth 20$ but for 30 it is ok Expand
  40. Jul 10, 2012
    0
    This is the only game I loathe with all of my being. I bought it to play with my friends after having loved MW1 (on PC) for many years, playing MW2 (also on PC) with my friends and enjoying it and even some Black Ops on 360.
    The graphics are horrible, they look like a blurry cross between MW1 and MW2. The game play is the most annoying I have ever seen and will probably ever see. You die
    This is the only game I loathe with all of my being. I bought it to play with my friends after having loved MW1 (on PC) for many years, playing MW2 (also on PC) with my friends and enjoying it and even some Black Ops on 360.
    The graphics are horrible, they look like a blurry cross between MW1 and MW2. The game play is the most annoying I have ever seen and will probably ever see. You die before you hear your enemies shoot and sometimes even before you see them. You're gun shoots, you hear the shot, you die immediately after that and yet your last shot didn't fire. Why in that case would it bother making the sound of the gun firing? I quit the game for 3 months, came back to try playing with friends, and can't even stand to play a full game.
    Expand
  41. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    Who wants to spend $60 on a copied video game? It's the same thing as the previous Call Of Duties. The engine is the same, the graphics are outdated, the only thing kind of new is the campaign, but it's still pretty much the same boring garbage. If you want something better, get BF3, it has a ton of better elements. Oh and now they are creating COPIED dlc, nice way to copy and paste andWho wants to spend $60 on a copied video game? It's the same thing as the previous Call Of Duties. The engine is the same, the graphics are outdated, the only thing kind of new is the campaign, but it's still pretty much the same boring garbage. If you want something better, get BF3, it has a ton of better elements. Oh and now they are creating COPIED dlc, nice way to copy and paste and make millions. Earned your respect: NOT Expand
  42. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    Worst game ever. I DONT RECOMMEND THIS GAME TO ANYONE. this game is the most repetitive trash game out there. MP7 is the most OP gun in the game, as usual, using this gun renders almost EVERY GUN useless. cod4 is the only cod out there. mw2 and "mw2.1" is trash. i cant believe this game was even close to hyped up, its so bad. hackers, laggers, retarded killstreaks... COD is such a deadWorst game ever. I DONT RECOMMEND THIS GAME TO ANYONE. this game is the most repetitive trash game out there. MP7 is the most OP gun in the game, as usual, using this gun renders almost EVERY GUN useless. cod4 is the only cod out there. mw2 and "mw2.1" is trash. i cant believe this game was even close to hyped up, its so bad. hackers, laggers, retarded killstreaks... COD is such a dead game, i dont get why people still play this trash Expand
  43. Jul 2, 2012
    6
    Well mates, I'm not going to judge MW3 on the basis of how extra-ordinary Bf3 may or may not be (I'm a BF3 man myself, though ;P). I'd much rather view the game as it was meant to be: standing on it's own two feet. If there's one thing I'm not, It's a CoD kiss-up. MW3, has so much to discuss.
    The Single-Player, like pretty much every CoD game for me at least, has been pretty darn great. I
    Well mates, I'm not going to judge MW3 on the basis of how extra-ordinary Bf3 may or may not be (I'm a BF3 man myself, though ;P). I'd much rather view the game as it was meant to be: standing on it's own two feet. If there's one thing I'm not, It's a CoD kiss-up. MW3, has so much to discuss.
    The Single-Player, like pretty much every CoD game for me at least, has been pretty darn great. I sincerely enjoyed the story they gave me. It was quite captivating, and certain scenes in the campaign almost had me to the point of tears. Coming on to multi-player, that was fun. You can really have a blast when your playing with friends and, whether you're screwing around or playing dead-serious, it can be memorable. Especially when crazy **** happens. However, as many others may have pointed out, in this technologically advanced time, a certain amount of innovation is expected. People would eventually get tired of a tweak of Modern Warfare's multiplayer, and I believe IW failed to realise this. And, due to the fierce competition other titles offered it this year, I'm quite glad people came to their senses, and called out CoD for how it failed to provide a new experience. I don't know if the engine is even worth mentioning :P Anyone with half a brain can comprehend that this is, in no way, a realistic shooter. Considering it one is testament to idiocy. The graphics are God-awful, with barely any change from MW2. And the sound.............I shudder even thinking about it. So, as a game, though it's not bad, it has wayyyyyy to much to work on. And, until that happens, I must say: Sorry Activision, you just gave me Modern Warfare again.
    Expand
  44. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    This is the worst **** ever.I mean it is the same thing as the otheres games! When you get stabbedn for behind is just ....Last chance (or something like that) , i mean , hackers , they use aim-boot , there are so many hackers on Mw3 ! (on pc) , I asked my friend if he could borrow Mw3 , its was super - cool on the first 3 days! Then it is just **** , its just boring , I DO NOT recommendThis is the worst **** ever.I mean it is the same thing as the otheres games! When you get stabbedn for behind is just ....Last chance (or something like that) , i mean , hackers , they use aim-boot , there are so many hackers on Mw3 ! (on pc) , I asked my friend if he could borrow Mw3 , its was super - cool on the first 3 days! Then it is just **** , its just boring , I DO NOT recommend buying mw3 Expand
  45. Jun 17, 2012
    3
    It may appear to be a repeat to MW2, but a further look into it shows the only similarity is the engine. The game faces balancing issues with many of the weapons, including the akimbo function on some of the machine pistols. Duel wielding may be bad ass, but in a serious fps it is cheap sad to have them so strong - especially because it has no realistic values. I don't play for the singleIt may appear to be a repeat to MW2, but a further look into it shows the only similarity is the engine. The game faces balancing issues with many of the weapons, including the akimbo function on some of the machine pistols. Duel wielding may be bad ass, but in a serious fps it is cheap sad to have them so strong - especially because it has no realistic values. I don't play for the single player version, and mostly play only multiplayer. It gets harder and harder to play the game with the constant annoyance of a poor game community of young and immature players, that you would not usually find in an mmo rpg or an rts. Almost half the games you enter will consist of 4-5 people using the same exact weapon/class setup in order to get easy kills and rank up fast. Ranking up in the game is tedius and, well, fairly pointless. No real achievment goes into obtaining the max level because so many people venture off into a hacked lobby or use hacks in-game to get cheap kills. The valve anti-cheat system is sad, as all they do is check the leader boards. A lot of the hackers will simply (and yes, I mean simply) alter their leader boards to make their kill to death ration more reasonable - avoiding the ban hammer (as they call it). The worst part is they are probably working on the next modern warfare, allowing these issues to go unnoticed. They base their support system on a social networking site which is a face palm in my book. Expand
  46. Jun 17, 2012
    5
    Another Year, another Call Of Duty. Though yes they've made improvements from last year. Some things still need to be hammered down. The graphics are usually okay, though times it bends a little. The story, eh it could give you more of the story and make a little more since with some plot holes. The guns at times feel light. But the multiplayer can stand up, though the community can putAnother Year, another Call Of Duty. Though yes they've made improvements from last year. Some things still need to be hammered down. The graphics are usually okay, though times it bends a little. The story, eh it could give you more of the story and make a little more since with some plot holes. The guns at times feel light. But the multiplayer can stand up, though the community can put less than favorable things. Though the 60 dollars should be lowered to say. 50 or 40. Expand
  47. Jun 17, 2012
    0
    This game is a copy of MW2- to top it all off, It even uses MW2's engine! I don't need to tell you what you already know, this game flat out sucks. It offers nothing original what so ever. it's overpriced DLC is ridiculous and the game itself is overpriced DLC in it's self
  48. Jun 15, 2012
    2
    This game was for sure a let down, compared to the previous Modern Warfare titles. The campaign was only about 5 hours long and not to mention, very low difficulty along with poorly made missions. Now special ops, isn't that "special." The missions are basically just worser versions of the Modern Warfare 2 special ops missions. The only good thing about it was "survival" mode, which isThis game was for sure a let down, compared to the previous Modern Warfare titles. The campaign was only about 5 hours long and not to mention, very low difficulty along with poorly made missions. Now special ops, isn't that "special." The missions are basically just worser versions of the Modern Warfare 2 special ops missions. The only good thing about it was "survival" mode, which is just another form of Nazi Zombies. Even with the survival the special ops is still bad. Now the multiplayer is just awful. It is just the same old, kill, rank up, unlock guns. Really, you'd think they could create a different sort of multiplayer gameplay, but no just the same stuff from previous CoD's. The gameplay is very unbalanced, because of overpowered weapons like the MP7, P90 and all that. The maps were poorly made, just flat with tons of camping spots, to help support the newbies playing the game. Along, with terrible spawning. Like you could spawn right next to an enemy and die instantly. So, if you still play any of the previous Modern Warfare titles and still enjoy them, stay away from this title until the prices drops. Expand
  49. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Its the best game i've ever played, also it is better than Battlefield 3, I don't understand why the User Scores are so much less....for MW3. Also it has a great ending than Battlefield 3. Think so the next version i.e. Black Ops 2 will be Awesome...All the best COD...
  50. Jun 10, 2012
    5
    Hi.Ive played this game more than a 100 hours and now i am ready to write it.At first I thought the game was perfect.I liked everything and i liked it more than Battlefield 3.But after spending hours and hours on it soon enough ive understood that the plot is boring the multiplayer and even the whole game is just copying MW2.And MW2 is copying Cod4 (Awesome game i must say).So here i go -Hi.Ive played this game more than a 100 hours and now i am ready to write it.At first I thought the game was perfect.I liked everything and i liked it more than Battlefield 3.But after spending hours and hours on it soon enough ive understood that the plot is boring the multiplayer and even the whole game is just copying MW2.And MW2 is copying Cod4 (Awesome game i must say).So here i go - i give it 5 only because ive spent some fun time with my friends here. Expand
  51. Jun 4, 2012
    0
    I will not cover the single player since most ppl play COD for its multiplayer IMO anyway. I have played a few of COD games in the series and sunk a decent number of hours into them, including black ops and MW2, and I must say that MW3 is shockingly poor (and with no surprise this seems to be reflected by the majority). There are probably 2 main things that make this game terrible, andI will not cover the single player since most ppl play COD for its multiplayer IMO anyway. I have played a few of COD games in the series and sunk a decent number of hours into them, including black ops and MW2, and I must say that MW3 is shockingly poor (and with no surprise this seems to be reflected by the majority). There are probably 2 main things that make this game terrible, and that is, incredibly poor map design and broken game mechanics. The maps are all very small filled with cluttered terain and objects, and random spawns that the game has lost a sense of tactics, as action packed "running and gunning" no longer tends to work as well as it did in the past in previous games (which is what made the series fun and skill based IMO), since spawns are very close together and often enemies will respawn right near you, or even behind you without warning (and because of this they have the heads up of where you are and where you are going, killing the element of surprise). And in comparison with B:O and MW2, I would say that its significantly far worse, to the point that it becomes a serious drag. Many weapons are also made redundant or less effective due to map sizes. I myself have always particularly preferred med-range combat with ARs and occasional sniping, however, most battles you encounter will be in close quarter range, usually favouring SMGs or OP akimbos or other faster firing weapons, which sort of kills the diversity. As for the broken game mechanics, I will start with the Fov. Its been a while since i played MW3 online so im not sure if it is fixed, but last i played there was terrible FoV, which i believe was 60. It was disorientating at times and there were even reports of ppl suffering from headaches and nausea. It also constricted your peripheral view, which is vital in shooters (I used to rely on it a lot in MW2 and Black Ops). Fortunately there was a Fov-hack released that corrected this, but regardless, this shows that the game is just a console-port and the fact that it wasnt fixed in the time I was playing it shows the developers did not care about the community much. Which brings me to my next point. Lag and Hit Registration, possibly the biggest game breaking component of the game. I have a very fast connection and even though in black ops and MW2 there was occasional lag and hit registration problems,It was generally acceptable, but MW3 was something else, it was terrible, almost unplayable at times. Often i found myself shooting at enemies first but the hits would not register and then return fire from the enemy AFTER I had shot 5 or 10 rounds would kill me. It could be argued that perhaps I was just a poor shot, however in black Ops and MW2 I generally ranked in the highest end on score board and had a KDR of 2.00+ in both games (not trying to brag simply making a point with evidence), and I generally had no issue regging shots most of the time. If you looked also at times on the enemy kill cam, you would also see that things dnt match up.Bullets would be flying past the enemy FAR deviated from their screen even tho you may have been directly aiming at them, or shots the enemy fired that were just all over the place but somehow hit and killed you, or odd delays where your character appeared to be doing things much later than actually happened. I dnt believe I was the only one suffering from these problems. So this brings me finally to my summary, I can not possibly give this game more than a 0, it is appalling and possibly one of the worst games of many that I have ever played (and yes i have played a number of other shooters too). I think the intention of the developers was to solely sell this game on hype, without an ounce of care for customer satisfaction and support for the community. But it makes sense I suppose since what a lot of ppl dnt realise is that Infinity Ward is basically a shell now, since a large portion recently abandoned the company over law suits with Activision during the making of MW3. Avoid this game at all costs, it is a shell of what the COD series once was, just like its creators. Expand
  52. Jun 1, 2012
    3
    "2.2It is very bad rating" That was what I thought the first time.

    But after having played 42 hours of MP and 45 of SP I realized that deserves that rating. MW series are based on the same game engine, but this time it seems how if I'd be playing MW2. But not at all. In fact, in this new release has issues diminished. One of those problems is when a mag is out. Reload it's something
    "2.2It is very bad rating" That was what I thought the first time.

    But after having played 42 hours of MP and 45 of SP I realized that deserves that rating.

    MW series are based on the same game engine, but this time it seems how if I'd be playing MW2.

    But not at all. In fact, in this new release has issues diminished. One of those problems is when a mag is out. Reload it's something frustrating: game, audio, and visuals are not synchronized n' the time of passion in which caresses the gun after changing it is still too much. If you like run, run, and RUN! you'll have problems too, getting stuck everywhere.
    I almost forgot this little big one, that curious style of "lag" when you crash head on with another player and your character moves erratically .. . yes, I hate that.

    My suggestion? Get a pirate copy, rent it, order it loaned, whatever. If u think that MW3 deserves your money above other games, GO! buy it bro, but not before 30 hours of game-play. First get the experience of what is actually MW3
    Expand
  53. May 31, 2012
    7
    When it comes to competative multiplayer, I'm much more of a Battlefield guy. But when it comes to singleplayer, MW3 wins. I also enjoy the Spec Ops and survival mode, but nothing beats zombies. So I still play Black Ops for that.
  54. May 28, 2012
    0
    Let's just forget for a second that this game is completely overhyped. Let's forget that it's overrated. Let's just focus on the gameplay of this terrible piece of crap. Imbalanced weapons? Check. Ugly-looking maps with way too much clutter? Check. Boring single-player campaign with predictable "set pieces" (if they even deserve to be called that)? Checkaroo. Yup, this game is loaded withLet's just forget for a second that this game is completely overhyped. Let's forget that it's overrated. Let's just focus on the gameplay of this terrible piece of crap. Imbalanced weapons? Check. Ugly-looking maps with way too much clutter? Check. Boring single-player campaign with predictable "set pieces" (if they even deserve to be called that)? Checkaroo. Yup, this game is loaded with content. Content that makes you wonder how and why people even play this piece of absolute rubbish. Expand
  55. May 26, 2012
    10
    best game I ever played, simply amazing
    Everything up there is a pile of **** I decided to write 'cause i could.
    i am actually a nice guy. Here is my top ten movie list: 1o. The Shining. It is absolutely classic. 9. Alien. The first time I saw it i was scared ****less. 8. The Children of the Corn. It is almost as messed up as 'IT'. 7. Shaun of the Dead. Funny. Funny. Funny. 6. Hellraiser.
    best game I ever played, simply amazing
    Everything up there is a pile of **** I decided to write 'cause i could.
    i am actually a nice guy. Here is my top ten movie list:
    1o. The Shining. It is absolutely classic.
    9. Alien. The first time I saw it i was scared ****less.
    8. The Children of the Corn. It is almost as messed up as 'IT'.
    7. Shaun of the Dead. Funny. Funny. Funny.
    6. Hellraiser. It has a nice plot and Pinhead is awesome.
    5. Sleepaway Camp. Nobody remembers this movie but I reckon it was KICKASS.
    4. Nightmare on Elm Street. Also classic.
    3. Friday the 13th. Jason is almost too KICKASS.
    2. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Pretty messed up but it kept me on the edge of my seat.
    (Drumrolls)
    1. Halloween. Myers is slightly KICKASS and the movie was brilliant.
    Expand
  56. May 20, 2012
    0
    Omg! They might as well, like, just like, call this like, modern warfare like, 2.5 because like, it's like, the same thing, like, iw is like, so dumb like, they wrote almost the same game like, wow man.
  57. May 20, 2012
    0
    Cowboys-Rednecks-Evil Russians-Evil Muslims-Good Guys American Army-Hollywood this game... I dont know what to say and more and more games like this are created but I think COD MW3 is not hated for the same reason I hate it, I dont know what is going on I loved Call of Duty 1 and thats it
  58. May 19, 2012
    0
    This game is just a troll, very bad game, bad graphism, bad gameplay, bad communauty 10 years old kids, map of **** , dlc at 10-15 doll for **** map . And more .........
  59. May 16, 2012
    10
    Game is a game which good players can shine and stomp entire teams. It is what people ask for when they ask for skill based. Totally worth the money although expansion isn't worth getting since BO:2 comes out.
  60. May 16, 2012
    7
    Original MW and MW2 were better. It is not a game, it's a movie with bad graphics. My score for this like a movie - 9, because I have got great fillings watching visual effects. But my score like a game - 5 or 6. I hate shooting in MW3.
  61. May 15, 2012
    0
    Same game as the last ones since COD4. No improvement on the engine whatsoever. Nothing new pretty much a textures pack. Don't waste your time with this cookie cutter title.
  62. May 15, 2012
    0
    safsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfswsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw d Expand
  63. May 13, 2012
    0
    This game sucks!!!! It has horrible graphics and everything is the same as the other MW games. You will like it for the first week but then it is stupid.
  64. May 11, 2012
    0
    Well I did it. I finally caved in to see what the fuss is about. Thank god I didn't actually pay for this game or I'd be shooting myself. 1st off the extreme amount of negative user reviews to positive reviews should be a dead give away that the critics don't know squat about video games and do as they are paid. REALLY not a single negative critic review I find it hard to believe. GraphicsWell I did it. I finally caved in to see what the fuss is about. Thank god I didn't actually pay for this game or I'd be shooting myself. 1st off the extreme amount of negative user reviews to positive reviews should be a dead give away that the critics don't know squat about video games and do as they are paid. REALLY not a single negative critic review I find it hard to believe. Graphics are utter utter garbage Solitaire has better graphics. All the guns sound the same which sound like pop guns. The AI is utterly clueless in the campaign and multiplayer is just a bunch of 10 year olds screaming at you threw their head sets. 15$ for 2 new maps is really cool too never seen that done before in a game. I will never EVER pay for a COD Game it's a shame too because the only Modern Warfare I played before this was the very 1st Call of Duty Modern Warfare 1 which used to actually be pretty good in my eyes but then Activision got greedy and started to release the same game over and over again every year. This game wasn't even worth the space it took up on my harddrive. Expand
  65. May 6, 2012
    5
    I finished the single player campaign of this game the same day I bought it. I don't mind short campaigns if they are fun, but this is very short and boring.
    The game is so heavily scripted it makes it obvious that Infinity Ward is out of ideas in terms of innovative gameplay. They use scripted events as fillers, and on top of that they manage to lack imagination in that field as well.
    I finished the single player campaign of this game the same day I bought it. I don't mind short campaigns if they are fun, but this is very short and boring.
    The game is so heavily scripted it makes it obvious that Infinity Ward is out of ideas in terms of innovative gameplay. They use scripted events as fillers, and on top of that they manage to lack imagination in that field as well. How many times can we enjoy a scene where we get knocked down with the ears ringing and the blurry vision? Sure the part on the boat was awesome but that's about it as far as I'm concerned. For most of the campaign the player has to follow other characters, other than that it's pretty much "Do this! Go there!".
    I really do understand that the focus of this game is online but the game fails to be impressive and innovative on that side as well. I still give this game a 5 for the graphics and the input responsiveness but sadly Call of Duty has not evolved since Modern Warfare 1.
    Expand
  66. May 6, 2012
    1
    I had received both MW3 and BF3 at launch. Let's just say I sold my copy of MW3 a little while afterwards and still own BF3 today. It is a copy of MW2 with Theater mode, slightly better movement patterns and the most godawful story mode in my experience of gaming. End the Modern Warfare series, Treyarch got CoD going and they should be the only ones doing it.
  67. May 4, 2012
    3
    Modern Warfare 3 fails in every aspect for a sequel with such high "expectations"
    The game has barely been improved, yet, it brags as if it's a masterpiece.

    Only twelve year old's play this piece of crap.

    RIP MW
    2007-2009
  68. May 3, 2012
    6
    Here 's the thing. On the one hand there is a notable amount of effort that has gone into making this game â
  69. Apr 29, 2012
    2
    Well, maybe this game would make me a pleasure but two years ago in mw2. I just fell raped by activision because of buying the same **** Well, may mw2 was great, but if i want to play mw2, i will just turn on it, mw3 should improve gameplay on this old graphic engine. Kotick just laught because all of you where a big part of his joke. I think that BO2 won't in any way different than this ****
  70. Apr 29, 2012
    0
    Its the same old tired game. Why call it a new game or even throwing away the title "cal of duty" unless has some form of insult to previous developers.
    MW3 is a another map expansion to MW2. In fact, if they would have released it as a map expansion less people would've had called it crap.
    And watch the imbalanced scores between those who write about games and those who play them.
  71. Apr 28, 2012
    0
    This game is just not finished.
    They copied so many things from previous Call of Duties.
    I am not a BF3 fanboy or something, i am a huge cod 4 and 5 fan.
    But the last 3 Cods just didn't feel right.
    Sorry but this score has to be low for me.
  72. Apr 27, 2012
    3
    Once again, I'll skip the single player, since...well, I'm actually playing the multiplayer due to a promotion and this is a review made in about 48 hours of gameplay (not literally, but I think it's enough, and I'll explain why). So let's go to the multiplayer...and well, once again, you can see the effort put into this game, because there is little or none of it. Personal criticismOnce again, I'll skip the single player, since...well, I'm actually playing the multiplayer due to a promotion and this is a review made in about 48 hours of gameplay (not literally, but I think it's enough, and I'll explain why). So let's go to the multiplayer...and well, once again, you can see the effort put into this game, because there is little or none of it. Personal criticism apart, I knew this game wasn't going to be any good at all, and for many reasons. First of all, lots of stuff is blocked from the very start, and I mean LOTS (even playmodes...really?), making you play for unlocking first the class customization, then modes, and veeeery slowly the weapons, perks, and so on...Didn't I see this game somewhere? But really, I can't stand a game where you have to play so much for unlocking FEW things, and those few things so far very USELESS (i've unlocked about 3-4 perks, and none of those were any useful, and the few weapons I've got I barely used half of them) and since now the levels are 80 (without counting the 20 prestiges), the grinding will be immensive. The arenas are...actually kinda better than the previous game; they aren't great but I really didn't complain so much about them than the previous game, and some of them are also good for different modes. Too bad campers still exist, and they'll exploit, once again, any blind corners in order to easily win, and once again if they try to say that this was actually planned, then I'll continue to say that they should think twice. And make much better maps. Ok, a good improvement are the levels on the weapons: the idea is very nice and actually makes you want to improve that particular weapon, but as I said I've been using a total of 3-4 weapons, and they were a lot similar to each others. I don't like to compare to other games, but this is basically the same game once again, and as I said before even though I played for a little time, I could see the major similarities between this and the previous game (which I played for about 4-6 months), with so few changes that it's hard to not notice; I would have highly suggested this game if it wasn't for the HUGE price and if it costed like 20 or 30 euros, but really, for 60-70 euros/dollars for a game that barely lasts one year and also for a game that rarely gets cheaper, I'll strongly advise to skip it and spend that money for any other game: it will be worth of your money. Expand
  73. Apr 27, 2012
    0
    More of the same, nothing but FPS garbage. This genre has single handedly destroyed gaming and turned the entire industry into one that favors "safe" shallow gameplay with good graphics instead of games that are actually enjoyable.
  74. Apr 26, 2012
    0
    2.0 is too high a rating for this game. PC is supported horribly and the game itself is a mess. Completing the single player campaign takes about 4 hours, but the multi player part takes the cake - map design in MW3 is bad beyond words. Worse than Black Ops, much much worse than in MW2. Ground war lobbies are full of hackers, guns are too powerful (think stopping power pro x2 on every2.0 is too high a rating for this game. PC is supported horribly and the game itself is a mess. Completing the single player campaign takes about 4 hours, but the multi player part takes the cake - map design in MW3 is bad beyond words. Worse than Black Ops, much much worse than in MW2. Ground war lobbies are full of hackers, guns are too powerful (think stopping power pro x2 on every weapon by default), hip fire spraying and playing is the only way to get kills. There's no ranked dedicated servers, either. I wasted 60 Dollars on this game -fortunately, I didn't pre-order additional multiplayer maps. After all I've seen of this game, I wouldn't want them anymore. Expand
  75. Apr 25, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Battlefield 3 is $30 dollars on Amazon. This is still $45 bucks on Steam. This is just not worth the price if you're a big-time Call of Duty fan. I just gave up after Black Ops came out.

    Call of Duty MW3 had the worst campaign ending I have ever seen. It's terrible. It completely UNDOES parts of MW2 in fact. It's like EA screwed this up with Mass Effect 3, even if EA didn't make this game (and they didn't). The end you ask? You kill Makorav with a grapple hook. A GRAPPLE HOOK FOR CRYING OUT LOUD! And Soap, the new whats-his-name-again-it's-so-dumb guy, Frost, and tons of other characters die. The only time it's fun is the first part of the game. The final 2 parts in Mission Select are terrible quality.

    Graphics and sound are basically a port from MW2. No difference. Go figure, they did the same for Black Ops. Multiplayer is another story though. YOU GOT FREAKING NUKES AND MOABS! And since COD is full of cheats, it's so easy to end a match in Multiplayer in 2 minutes. I had a terrible time playing this. Replay MW2 or something, that was more enjoyable than this dog poop. Or buy BF3, it's cheaper now.
    Expand
  76. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    MW1 was the game I bought an Xbox360 to play.MW2 and 3 were pretty much the same game with different maps. I don't play online much as all the geeks online don't do much other than swear at each other, so the single player game is quite important to me. Its not bad. Its too short and a bit too 'supersoldier' - but aren't all the shootemups these days? Basically, if you liked MW1 and 2MW1 was the game I bought an Xbox360 to play.MW2 and 3 were pretty much the same game with different maps. I don't play online much as all the geeks online don't do much other than swear at each other, so the single player game is quite important to me. Its not bad. Its too short and a bit too 'supersoldier' - but aren't all the shootemups these days? Basically, if you liked MW1 and 2 you'll like this. So to end with a question for the developers. We have single player story mode, we have online multiplayer mode - why never any modes with battlemaps, two sides, a single player and loads of bots? Expand
  77. Apr 23, 2012
    0
    NOT innovative NOt new NOT very good graphics. these are one of the many reasons why Cod Mw3 was shelved by Cod fans.So if ur new to cod buy it but if not Please dont bother. If u got sick of Mw3 try Battlefield 3 or Counter Strike Source ,there much better games
  78. Apr 19, 2012
    0
    I have been playing this game on PC for a while now and this game is only getting worse. Hackers are everywhere, at least one in every 5 games and this is literally an hour after the new patch came out. There is no Elite and virtually no support for the PC at all. When i say no support, I went go to the real time activison support thing and they just tell you anything. The guy asked me ifI have been playing this game on PC for a while now and this game is only getting worse. Hackers are everywhere, at least one in every 5 games and this is literally an hour after the new patch came out. There is no Elite and virtually no support for the PC at all. When i say no support, I went go to the real time activison support thing and they just tell you anything. The guy asked me if I played on decanted servers. I asked them what I should do about hackers when I have their steam ID and video proof, and they do nothing, say nothing besides "ill send this along" and "have a nice day". Never going to buy another infinity ward product again. This game has spoiled COD for me. Pity, this used to be a great series. Expand
  79. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare 3 is the military pornography at its best, makes you feel like a spec ops trying modern military gadgets and makes you feel like a soldier. Its much better then battlefield which is interesting on its own but the large areas in battlefield makes you bored pretty quickly, in close city conflicts like in mw3 you never get bored or have to travel huge distancesCall of duty modern warfare 3 is the military pornography at its best, makes you feel like a spec ops trying modern military gadgets and makes you feel like a soldier. Its much better then battlefield which is interesting on its own but the large areas in battlefield makes you bored pretty quickly, in close city conflicts like in mw3 you never get bored or have to travel huge distances especially in mutliplayer mode which gives you interesting feature to upgrade and earn your weapon disposal. Expand
  80. Apr 18, 2012
    1
    What a painful let-down this game was. Word of advice to any aspiring game developers reading this: if porting to a PC feels wrong, and you don't see yourself supporting the platform, don't. More importantly, however, when you shatter sales records and don't bother to hide the fact (as seen in crashes) that your game is simply your last game with a new SP plot and a few MP maps, you shouldWhat a painful let-down this game was. Word of advice to any aspiring game developers reading this: if porting to a PC feels wrong, and you don't see yourself supporting the platform, don't. More importantly, however, when you shatter sales records and don't bother to hide the fact (as seen in crashes) that your game is simply your last game with a new SP plot and a few MP maps, you should be arrested, but you probably aren't as lazy as IW. Expand
  81. Apr 16, 2012
    2
    There obviously don't give a **** about the fans... Lack of support and changing. Gay ass hackers on every corner (On the PC) and **** No lobby servers? **** THAT! That was the gayest ****ing **** i have ever seen.
  82. Apr 12, 2012
    1
    Same game, different year. These games are always well produced and look decent (for a military simulator), but they're basically just soulless Counterstrike-style generic shooters without the cool mechanics that made counterstrike unique and awesome. Tired of bad modern military garbage games being repacked year after year. Leave this one for the kiddies and bads. (Play Tribes: Ascend instead)
  83. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    An incredibly deep and constantly changing multiplayer system keeps CoD feeling incredibly fresh and utterly engaging. It's RPG-like leveling system has extended to the guns, you can earn EVERY SINGLE perk as a killstreak, and the guns feel powerful in your hands. I have yet to find a moment in a game that is as satisfying as pumping 4 or 5 bullets into someone and moving up towards yourAn incredibly deep and constantly changing multiplayer system keeps CoD feeling incredibly fresh and utterly engaging. It's RPG-like leveling system has extended to the guns, you can earn EVERY SINGLE perk as a killstreak, and the guns feel powerful in your hands. I have yet to find a moment in a game that is as satisfying as pumping 4 or 5 bullets into someone and moving up towards your Chopper Gunner. Modern Warfare 3 is a great gun that doesn't strive very far from the success of its predecessors, but it remains a fantastic experience that I will certainly spend DAYS playing. Expand
  84. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    Probably the best of the Modern Warfare franchise but in desperate need of more multiplayer maps in the core game. Forget the single player and opt for multi-player.
  85. Apr 4, 2012
    5
    this is game is pathetic, no, almost disgusting I wonder if COD: Black Ops was also nul.J 'love this game a long time but this time it's not very convincing so I recommend you BATTLEFIELD 3 instead.
  86. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They killed soap so it accomplished everything I wanted to. Thank you. The game play is exactly the same since the first game so dont expect anything new. Expand
  87. Apr 3, 2012
    6
    Overall it is a Good game. But it plays almost exactly the same as the previous Call of Duty games. If you already own MW2 or Black Ops do not buy, you are wasting money.
  88. Apr 3, 2012
    0
    I can't describe all my rage... Everyone of my friends agrees, that this game is awful. MW was great, MW2 was a nice game, even a little bit innovative. BUT MW3 IS THE SAME DAMN GAME! NOTHING NEW! This must be some mod for MW2, maybe developers decided to use it at a game? I'm not sure. The engine still reminds me MW. Okay, MW series was famous for graphics just in 2007, however it was notI can't describe all my rage... Everyone of my friends agrees, that this game is awful. MW was great, MW2 was a nice game, even a little bit innovative. BUT MW3 IS THE SAME DAMN GAME! NOTHING NEW! This must be some mod for MW2, maybe developers decided to use it at a game? I'm not sure. The engine still reminds me MW. Okay, MW series was famous for graphics just in 2007, however it was not the most important thing. The most awesome thing we received from Activision was a scenery, it was great. But it is so damn stupid in MW3. This game is just a 'full stop of MW series', nothing else! No more innovation in gameplay! MW3 multiplayer still remains as MW2 MP. New game modes are not interesting, definitely. This is not fair. Every CoD becomes worse and worse... I'm glad, soon CoD series will 'die'. Oh, I almost forgot one more thing. MW3 is definitely HACKED. There is no useful anti-cheat at all! It is hard to describe all this nerd rage.

    This game is really Really REALLY interesting just for kids, who found out about the Internet and video gaming just yesterday.

    I might rate this game better. But if only the developers have made a great work on MW3, at least now. Maybe, I'd even buy some DLC, which makes graphics better or something. But it doesn't exist! I know, that angry customers like ME3 gamers (and me as well) want a free DLC, because the game is not worth all those money we've spent. But MW3 is such an awful game, that I may be ready to buy something VERY IMPORTANT or UNBELIEVABLY COOL (not new weapons or maps or soundtracks or any other crap) to make this game better! I mean, multiplayer. Only. Almost nobody cares about singleplayers or co-ops.

    Maybe, this is not my last rating for MW3, but for now... 0.4/10. For now.
    Expand
  89. Apr 3, 2012
    0
    this is an absolute rubbish console port for the pc. unfair multiplayer with no ranked dedis, bad graphics, no special pc abilities... infinity ward reprinted mw2 with a 3 on the end and activision is digging people's pockets for money. at least the singleplayer's not bad. campaign is crazy as always and spec ops is fun with friends
  90. Mar 31, 2012
    0
    well for me the game is very enjoyable and gameplay is awsome ... BUT i am giving the game score of Z E R **** O because!!!!!! There are hackers everywhere. and when you go to forums to talk about it. Some of the idiots take thier side. i mean we know the difference between wallhack and aimbot !i dont understand why arnt they doing anything! im never buying this call of **** again!
  91. Mar 31, 2012
    0
    The online is where your supposed to get most of your gaming dollars worth but it's almost unplayable because of hackers, and there is no way to kick or catch them so.........If you like lots of **** HACKERS and a COMPANY that doesn't give a **** about YOU then this is your game. The single player is ok
  92. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    The hype made me buy this game on release day and what a surprise it was - a really bad one. The singleplayer story is boring and uninspired, at least average gamers will be able to get through it in 4 - 5 hours (that's a good thing in this case). The multiplayer is why I bought this game and that's where MW3 just falls apart. The maps are small and literally cluttered with obstacles,The hype made me buy this game on release day and what a surprise it was - a really bad one. The singleplayer story is boring and uninspired, at least average gamers will be able to get through it in 4 - 5 hours (that's a good thing in this case). The multiplayer is why I bought this game and that's where MW3 just falls apart. The maps are small and literally cluttered with obstacles, turning every match into a huge hip fire fest. Some weapons are unbalanced, the SPAS12 is extremely weak compared to what it was in MW2, certain akimbo weapons are used exclusively like primary weapons although they're secondary...
    There's a lot of really negative things to say about this game, pretty much all of which have been mentioned in other reviews already. All I want to say about this is that I wasted 60$, I feel stupid for doing so and I will never buy a Call of Duty game ever again.
    Expand
  93. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    i did give it 10rating lulz, sorry i forgot about the score there worst game of the franchise, i played black ops but i didnt like it anyway, arena type'ish gameplay which feels unreal and gay, DO NOT buy this game please, spend your money somewhere else
  94. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    IW and Activision milking the cow yet again, adding a few new skins and maps onto the old engine that hasn't changed since COD4.

    The multiplayer is tripe of the worst kind. Killstreaks and perks may provide some fun for the console kiddies, but offer mature gamers no sense of enjoyment when the match boils down to a slaughter fest. Can't wait for every COD release on November, as I'll be
    IW and Activision milking the cow yet again, adding a few new skins and maps onto the old engine that hasn't changed since COD4.

    The multiplayer is tripe of the worst kind. Killstreaks and perks may provide some fun for the console kiddies, but offer mature gamers no sense of enjoyment when the match boils down to a slaughter fest.

    Can't wait for every COD release on November, as I'll be giving them all a 0 until IW/Activision go back to their roots, and stop screwing over gamers.
    Expand
  95. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    **** you, MW3. I rarely **** about gemses but I want my money back. It just the same thing as mw2 but with a crappier campain. I seriously cant see why anyone would want to buy this for a full $60, maybe for $20.... maybe.
  96. Mar 19, 2012
    0
    All this game is Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 with a 3 on the end of it. The story is utterly horrible (Half of the missions and buildings look like they are from MW2 and CoD 4, which is pretty sad). The multiplayer is also rigged, cheaters still, and horrible dedicated servers, which most of them have retarted mods or something like that. Do not buy this game at all. Stick with BF3, orAll this game is Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 with a 3 on the end of it. The story is utterly horrible (Half of the missions and buildings look like they are from MW2 and CoD 4, which is pretty sad). The multiplayer is also rigged, cheaters still, and horrible dedicated servers, which most of them have retarted mods or something like that. Do not buy this game at all. Stick with BF3, or just play CoD4. The game has no value.
    Like I said with CoD Black Ops, I wouldn't even buy this if it got on the 99 cent display at some store because Activision got really pissed off that it got a low score. I hope the CoD series will be discontinued after the release of Black Ops 2, which will probably also be a complete failure, compared to the other games in the series like WaW, MW2, Black Ops, and MW3.
    Good Bye Call of Duty. You will not be missed by PC gamers, but possibly Console gamers who think your game are not a total rip off and are actually a good price.
    Expand
  97. Mar 15, 2012
    1
    OK
    Call of duty its good game but.
    1) after COD 4 nothing has changed only put another maps and skins to guns and soliders. 2) ALL THE DLCS IS 5 SMALL (REALY SMALL ) MAPS! IN 15$ YEAH 15$!!!! -.- 3) only the campign is good. 4)multi with alot of cheaters and the molti start to boring after sometime (not alot of time) 5)no destrction! 6) CAMPERS EVERYWHERE U CANT PLAY ( im not mad) 7) THE
    OK
    Call of duty its good game but.
    1) after COD 4 nothing has changed only put another maps and skins to guns and soliders.
    2) ALL THE DLCS IS 5 SMALL (REALY SMALL ) MAPS! IN 15$ YEAH 15$!!!! -.-
    3) only the campign is good.
    4)multi with alot of cheaters and the molti start to boring after sometime (not alot of time)
    5)no destrction!
    6) CAMPERS EVERYWHERE U CANT PLAY ( im not mad)
    7) THE GAME OUT LIKE THE SAME GAME EVERY YEAR! NOTING CHANGE ONLY THE SINGLE.!
    8) ACTIVITION = PIGS! THEY WANT ONLY MONEY MONEY MONEY!
    DLCS OF SMALL MAPS (5) WITHOUT WEAPONS OR NEW KILL STEAK = 15$!!!!
    COD ELITE =MORE MONEY.

    I SAY ALL THIS BECUASE I KNOW I GOT COD. I BOUGHT ONLY BLACK OPS BUT EVERY COD IS THE SAME **** AFTER COD MW1.
    Expand
  98. Mar 14, 2012
    0
    keep releasing 1 game per year for 60ââ
  99. Mar 14, 2012
    0
    still kicking myself for paying money for this garbage. black ops had better graphics and gameplay. it's amazing they could actually take 2 steps BACKWARDS, in terms of quality, and publish this. also, why are the maps so ridiculously small? 32 pax on a 16 player map? really?

    i've since learned my lesson...STOP preordering games. wait to see the player reviews and comments.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]