User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5263 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Let me start by stating I am NOT a Battlefield fanboy. In fact, I couldn't care less for BF3 as of now, since I'm one of the thousands of Steam users boycotting EA's Origin. And I didn't enjoy Bad Company 2 either. That said, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a bad game in almost every aspect. I don't much care for the dated graphics: they still look rather acceptable and make for a smoothLet me start by stating I am NOT a Battlefield fanboy. In fact, I couldn't care less for BF3 as of now, since I'm one of the thousands of Steam users boycotting EA's Origin. And I didn't enjoy Bad Company 2 either. That said, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a bad game in almost every aspect. I don't much care for the dated graphics: they still look rather acceptable and make for a smooth experience on my also dated rig. Now to tthe actual game modes. The campaign manages to be shorter than MW2's (which is to say, it's REALLY short). If only it had a nice story like its predecessors, though, it would be a good campaign. It doesn't, and you get bored despite the epic scale the war raging around you has reached. It's all been done before, some missions are almost carbon copies of MW and MW2 ones. It's cliche-ridden, full of predictable "scenes" where your character barely survives (you get knocked down with a scripted explosion, some NPC helps you up, the camera tilts as if to show you're dizzy, then you're fully recovered and back on the frontlines). There are no real plot twists or anything memorable in this campaign whatsoever. I played on "veteran" difficulty and felt the AI was pretty good though. But it is in no way an actual challenge. Now for the multiplayer mode... this deserves a little background. When I bought MW2 upon launch, I hadn't read any previews about it. I just bought it because I was still hyped from COD4, which had an amazing campaign and awesome multiplayer. So I had no clue MW2 wouldn't be getting dedicated servers. I was in for a MAJOR disappointment. I was like "MATCHMAKING??? REALLY???" But the worst thing was, maps were terrible, felt like carousels with annoying players (a maximum 18 of them, to be precise) running around with no tactics or teamwork at all. TERRIBLE stuff. I only managed to endure a couple hours of it, and vowed never to buy a MW game again. But then it was announced MW3 would be getting dedicated servers again. Being fond of the campaign storyline as I was, and hoping the multiplayer would go back to what it was in 2007, I immediately broke my word and pre-purchased it. Then, just a few days before launch day, I read an article at GameSpy saying dedicated servers wouldn't be ranked (meaning you can't level up or unlock guns, items, etc on them) and once again, the player limit would be 18, which is utter garbage. If COD4 had 32 players (some DEDICATED servers allowed even more somehow), why can't we have those 4 years later? Maps also look and feel terrible. MW3's multiplayer is a BORING and frustrating experience. I cannot even understand how this game appeals so much to the masses. It's not entertaining at all. Also, with no leaning AGAIN, gameplay is horrible. Bottom line (multiplayer-wise) is, MW3 = MW2 with even worse maps. The only thing remotely good about this game is the Spec Ops mode, which doesn't even come close to making MW3 worth the 60 bucks I spent on it. This game should cost 10 USD, tops. No joke. I'll tell you what IS a joke though. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3. Expand
  2. Cal
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It is a shame this score system doesn't go into the minuses. This game is terrible, it is basically no more than an extremely expensive DLC pack to the last game, which in itself was an extremely expensive DLC pack to the original. Save your money for something worth buying.
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    As expected this is just a copy from the last game with no real improvements to the Multiplayer. Singleplayer has some new stuff but if that were the game alone no one would buy it anyway. Seriously, let's get behind the FPS craze please.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Another year, another rehash of an aging game. Singleplayer continues on the same principles from previous games, and is fun for while it lasts (It's very short). Multiplayer is where it falls flat on it's face. It feels exactly the same as previous installments. It feels way to familar very quickly, leading to a dull and dry gaming experience. Graphics, animations and sound look and soundAnother year, another rehash of an aging game. Singleplayer continues on the same principles from previous games, and is fun for while it lasts (It's very short). Multiplayer is where it falls flat on it's face. It feels exactly the same as previous installments. It feels way to familar very quickly, leading to a dull and dry gaming experience. Graphics, animations and sound look and sound dated, which is no surprise considering the game runs on an old engine. It has fallen way behind the competition in almost every aspect. I genuinely feel ripped off. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    There is no other online shooter out there that delivers the fast paced action that the Modern Warefare games delivers. MW3 is not a giant leap in the series but it delivers the same packed in a nice package giving the fans what they want.

    On 1 day MW3 has sold 9.2 million copys and if all these people hated the game as much as the trolls and fanboys that are writing negative articles
    There is no other online shooter out there that delivers the fast paced action that the Modern Warefare games delivers. MW3 is not a giant leap in the series but it delivers the same packed in a nice package giving the fans what they want.

    On 1 day MW3 has sold 9.2 million copys and if all these people hated the game as much as the trolls and fanboys that are writing negative articles here we would hear about it.

    So fans of the series...this is a must buy!
    Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A nice round-up for the Modern Warfare trilogy in an incredible, cinematic and engrossing single player campaign mode. Multiplayer is the best it has ever been and the new Spec Ops levels and modes are awesome. Ignore the negative reviews from people who have most likely not played the game (they're mostly Battlefield 3 players that are upset that once again their favourite game has soldA nice round-up for the Modern Warfare trilogy in an incredible, cinematic and engrossing single player campaign mode. Multiplayer is the best it has ever been and the new Spec Ops levels and modes are awesome. Ignore the negative reviews from people who have most likely not played the game (they're mostly Battlefield 3 players that are upset that once again their favourite game has sold less than a Call of Duty game). Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is so overrated. Most of us played this in 2007 and they are selling the same 4 years ago and everyone buys it. The campaign is worse than the BF3 has (I liked BF3 singleplayer more). The story is like: us 3 ubersoldiers can win the WW3 without any problems. Its so unrealistic. I dont mean that water guns have more recoil than the ones in MW3 but the action is so absurd. Ofc BF3This game is so overrated. Most of us played this in 2007 and they are selling the same 4 years ago and everyone buys it. The campaign is worse than the BF3 has (I liked BF3 singleplayer more). The story is like: us 3 ubersoldiers can win the WW3 without any problems. Its so unrealistic. I dont mean that water guns have more recoil than the ones in MW3 but the action is so absurd. Ofc BF3 isnt real at all but at least less unreal than the MW3. Only improvement I saw (heard) is sounds. I dont blame graphic even that graphics. Even the menu is kept same.I dont like this game at all. Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Never once have I felt so betrayed by a game developer. That they honestly want to treat their customers like this. They didn't even try to lube it up. It was just rough from the beginning. No foreplay, just plain shiat, from start to end. Wauw.
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Another MW game, and this time, they didn't bother to hide the fact that they were reusing textures and building from the fourth installment, or that they hardly changed anything about the overall gameplay. In fact, they seemed to have taken a step back from their newer game, Black Ops, opting for a tired out MW2 system. Brainless fun, a junk food of a game. Save your 60$.
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Take MW2, slightly reskin the guns, mod a few maps, label it MW3 and sell it for $60? Sounds like a plan! Quite why anyone would pay money for this is beyond me.
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Once a great PC game series turned into a pile of steaming dog **** for console users.

    Money talks here and as long as they get theres they dont give a rats arse.

    Spec Ops is good fun for aboput 5 hours and thats it.

    Very dissapointing game but what can we expect from these retrards and that ugly peice of **** lisp talking mother **** Bowling go **** your self you ****

    Have fun.
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3? A new videogame? I was thinking that was a DLC of 70$. You will feel like you've stepped back in time 6-7 years. The graphics are brown and grey and decay-esque, the gun sounds are horrible.
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    was very hyped for this and was so let down....same old cod, feels like modern warfare 2 DLC imo, yes this may be the "best" call of duty multiplayer but no improvements that i'm willing to fork out Ã
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is always the same no change, Activion mocks us. For this price the game is completely useless. in 2011 he could get out a better game, but not he prefers to release a game every month!
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I have been playing this game all day now and I just can't seem to enjoy it, it just feels like the same thing over and over again with nothing new. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who already owns black ops or mw2.
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    P2P multi agian after telling us that it would be dedi's for pc. Oh there are dedi's but no ranking, so no population. Craptastic rehash of MW2. Any one who rates this above say 2 is a console player. VAC agian so no way to rid the game of obvious hackers. I have 2000+ hours in MW2 and I will never ever buy another P2P game agian..... never! The developers should be sued forP2P multi agian after telling us that it would be dedi's for pc. Oh there are dedi's but no ranking, so no population. Craptastic rehash of MW2. Any one who rates this above say 2 is a console player. VAC agian so no way to rid the game of obvious hackers. I have 2000+ hours in MW2 and I will never ever buy another P2P game agian..... never! The developers should be sued for misleading the PC community about this title. Though the multiplayer netcode is still sweet,(that's why it gets a 1)( don't get me started on 3arcs lagtastic excuse for netcode) but no regional support for matchmaking forces players to play with people from all over the planet. This means some pretty high pings which in turn ruin the game. Also because its P2P agian, someone on in the Game is gonna be the KEanue Reeves and impossible to kill. The trend will end competitve PC gaming as we now know it. This game is a hackers paradise.....I call it Hacker Warfare 3.....save your money and support Dev's who actually listen to thier customers. No-one else on the planet could run a business by ignoring the feedback from thier customers, IW, sledgehammer, and activision have done the impossible. Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    bad, bad, bad. old graphics. the singleplayer is simply shallow and boring. unreal/predictable story line. multiplayer lame as well. childish perks, fast experience bar. can't apply any strategies with team/ other players. and very basic shoot-die-re deploy kind of game.
    pretty much like the old games (black ops/mw 2), just in new box.
  18. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    i don`t know why the user revies are this bad. the game is awesome and after playing for about 4 hours i can say this is one of the best cod games. the campaign is average but the mp is a blast, as always. i love it.
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Quite sad the way people are rating this game. The campaign wraps up one of the best stories I have ever played in the history of FPS games. The multiplayer is great. No launch issues what so ever (besides COD Elite but that's a whole different product). I haven't experienced any bugs at all. Overall this will be my GOTY. Judge the game for what it is, and in my opinion it is great.Quite sad the way people are rating this game. The campaign wraps up one of the best stories I have ever played in the history of FPS games. The multiplayer is great. No launch issues what so ever (besides COD Elite but that's a whole different product). I haven't experienced any bugs at all. Overall this will be my GOTY. Judge the game for what it is, and in my opinion it is great. Everyone I know IRL that has MW3 loves it. There's something so fishy about all these negative reviews... The game is in no way broken, it runs silky smooth, and you know what, it is FUN.

    I really didn't want to bring up that other game (battlefield 3) but... I hated it. Last years Medal of Honor was a much better game than battlefield 3 in my opinion, but neither can stand up to MW3

    I say good job IW, Sledgehammer, and Raven. The sales speak for themselves. I love MW3 and so do all of my friends, see you online.
    Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Where to start? I have been playing COD since the very first game on PC, and IMO Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is the best COD game in the entire franchise. What happened Infinity Ward? Modern Warfare 3 is the same as Black Ops / Modern Warfare 2....it's just more of the same. This game really could have been released as a $30 expansion (or something like that). I don't really understandWhere to start? I have been playing COD since the very first game on PC, and IMO Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is the best COD game in the entire franchise. What happened Infinity Ward? Modern Warfare 3 is the same as Black Ops / Modern Warfare 2....it's just more of the same. This game really could have been released as a $30 expansion (or something like that). I don't really understand what all the hype is surrounding this game (IMO there are much better ones just released and that are coming out). The single player is poor, multiplayer is more of the same, and SpecOps feels like it was tacked on.....There is just not enough here to justify a $60 game. If it was going for $40, ok....that would change this review a bit. To give Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer Games credit, they did do a remarkable job with the graphics (this is at least a four year old engine), and you can tell they worked extremely hard to deliver this. Bottom line, buy this, yes or no?: No - Save your money and play COD: Modern Warfare if you need your "war" game fix. Expand
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Copycat of the previous titles, where is the innovation? Honestly this is not a video game, because once PC and console games was more then just products the developers can make money of, they were more like piece of art. Nowadays moneymaker Activision does not give a crap about art design, music, new game play elements, and innovation, they just try to sell as much as they can, withoutCopycat of the previous titles, where is the innovation? Honestly this is not a video game, because once PC and console games was more then just products the developers can make money of, they were more like piece of art. Nowadays moneymaker Activision does not give a crap about art design, music, new game play elements, and innovation, they just try to sell as much as they can, without maintaining the quality. Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I was a cod fan, played every single game of cod and mw3 too, but never again, this is a constant deja-vu, and the overpriced dlcs......... is very sad to see how activition kills his franchyses, tony hawk, guitar hero and now COD (R.I.P)
    Don't waste your money in a 60 dollars DLC
  23. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The reason we all hate this game is because it's 4 hour campaign and like 12 new maps. There is no way you can charge 60 dollars for that. It's annoying how well this game is going to sell when so little effort was put into it. We as gamers support developers that bring us NEW and INNOVATIVE products. Sure, it's fine when companies release sequels to games that refine the previous formula,The reason we all hate this game is because it's 4 hour campaign and like 12 new maps. There is no way you can charge 60 dollars for that. It's annoying how well this game is going to sell when so little effort was put into it. We as gamers support developers that bring us NEW and INNOVATIVE products. Sure, it's fine when companies release sequels to games that refine the previous formula, but not when they literally do it 3 times in a row. Modern Warfare, Modern Warfare 2, Black Ops, and Modern Warfare 3 literally look identical. It's like they want to be the new madden of first person shooters. We are tired of these pointless rehashed games. So basically deal with it Activision. Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Damn this game sucks.. It's like you're playing cod4 lol!.. Every year a new COD but they are always 100% the same.. Same old engine.. What did they change? Add some perks? wow great.. It's like they released a big map pack.. They should go build a new engine, and make a NEW game..
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Absolutely terrible. It's just a moneymaking attempt, churning out the same game every year. Not having ranked dedicated servers is absurd; you're forced into more laggy p2p play where the host is favoured
  26. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The current scores on here are pathetic. You may not like the game but very few games deserve these kind of scores. Just because its popular and similar to the last installment doesn't warrant these scores. A good series is a good series and many very well reviewed games on here are equally as similar as cod is. It's childish, besides in its own right its a great game, deserves 9/10 butThe current scores on here are pathetic. You may not like the game but very few games deserve these kind of scores. Just because its popular and similar to the last installment doesn't warrant these scores. A good series is a good series and many very well reviewed games on here are equally as similar as cod is. It's childish, besides in its own right its a great game, deserves 9/10 but for obvious reasons to make up for the score I'm giving 10/10. Expand
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I'm a huge cod fan and I've played every single one so far. Last year BO was a huge let down for me but this... this is just **** . I've tested it for about 10 hours and I'm GLAD that I didn't waste my money on it.
  28. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Waited until 2 am for this game to finish downloading and all I recieved was MW2 with different maps. This is definitely not worth 60 bucks and should have been released as DLC instead. The online now has 9 death streaks instead of removing them altogether. The storyline is garbage and everything in the campaign has been done in previous CoDs. Sledgehammer asked the community for ourWaited until 2 am for this game to finish downloading and all I recieved was MW2 with different maps. This is definitely not worth 60 bucks and should have been released as DLC instead. The online now has 9 death streaks instead of removing them altogether. The storyline is garbage and everything in the campaign has been done in previous CoDs. Sledgehammer asked the community for our honest reviews and here is mine. Expand
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The PC edition of this game is completely worthless, and I regret ever purchasing it. Black Ops had way more options in the settings for actually setting the game up properly, so you don't get motion sick as fast, a better unlock system and proper dedicated servers, and that was considered one of the worst CoD's in a while.

    Instead I got a version I can't play because I get physically ill
    The PC edition of this game is completely worthless, and I regret ever purchasing it. Black Ops had way more options in the settings for actually setting the game up properly, so you don't get motion sick as fast, a better unlock system and proper dedicated servers, and that was considered one of the worst CoD's in a while.

    Instead I got a version I can't play because I get physically ill after playing it because of the PoV, where I can not play ranked on the dedicated servers they bragged about before release, and which in most ways is exactly the same game as MW2. Visuals haven't improved, textures and models are extremely unappealing, balance is still off-key and we're back to stacking kill-streaks again. How fun that was as a semi-casual player, right? To summarize, the campaign is still linear, the story is terrible, and the multiplayer experience hasn't been altered in any positive way since MW2. If you like that, get it on consoles. The PC version is broken, possibly beyond repair.

    All in all, I'm extremely disappointed with this game, and I most likely will not play it again. Basically wasted a bunch of money I could have spent on a better game, had the game reviewers done their jobs and actually been honest instead of thinking about continued profits from game publishers.

    They even have the sheer audacity and arrogance to beg for better user reviews, as seen here: http://xbox360.ign.com/articles/121/1212113p1.html

    If not for that quote, this would have gotten a 3 or maybe a weak 4 from me, so they shot themselves in the foot.
    Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The campaign was short. Its story was so generic that even a retarded child can make it. The graphics is worse than CoD4. The sounds are just recycled junk from old CoD all guns sounds like a toy gun. Its streak system become from worst to worstser(i know there's no such word). To make it simple. This game is a joke. Its a CoD4 DLC.. And Cod4 is much better. Save your money and buy other games.
  31. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Call of Duty... Such a great series of games which brought whole new level to FPS type of games. Thanks to CoD the shooters look like they look. So where is the problem??

    The problem is the technology. Activision didn't invest any money since CoD 2 to develop new engine (Yes Since CoD 2 its the same engine slightly modified), they managed to improve it up to CoD 4 but then they reached
    Call of Duty... Such a great series of games which brought whole new level to FPS type of games. Thanks to CoD the shooters look like they look. So where is the problem??

    The problem is the technology. Activision didn't invest any money since CoD 2 to develop new engine (Yes Since CoD 2 its the same engine slightly modified), they managed to improve it up to CoD 4 but then they reached limit of it. Did they bother to develop new one? No. Since that time nothing changed. Same animations of characters, weapons and look of maps. They are trying to blind us through doing stuff like replacing zombies with 2 player co-op, new game mode and few new weapons model, but that's all. If you are going to get that game prepare for disappointment. Activision managed to sink all the way to the bottom of the sea one of the best FPS series in history of video games - Well done! From the king to the street beggar. I think it's time for CoD to retire for couple of years and come up with something new. Single player - stopping WW3 sounds great, you have the same characters (that didn't die) from previous version of MW. Map design is simple - get from point A to point B. Don't worry you won't get lost on the way. Guess why... CoD1 offered several different paths to reach objective and that's what should be restored! I don't care about fancy explosions!

    Multiplayer - its just map pack for MW2.

    Conclusion? Get different game because this one is worth only half of it's current price...
    Expand
  32. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game deserved an 8 or 9 the first time it came out. However in school I've learned that turning the same thing in twice in a row gets you a 0 the second time. So that's what this copy/pasted game deserves.
  33. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same textures, same guns, same cramped levels... This is virtually identical to Modern Warfare 2, oh I mean Black Ops, oh I mean COD4... Madness to think they can repackage the same game with new maps for $60.
  34. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3 has broken sales in nearly all categories upon release, but was it really worth it? Apparently not, considering it's a rehashed version of all of their older games. When designers fail to bring innovation into their game, it's quite difficult to wonder if you should spend your hard-earned cash on the product. Call of Duty has now become a sports game that is released everyModern Warfare 3 has broken sales in nearly all categories upon release, but was it really worth it? Apparently not, considering it's a rehashed version of all of their older games. When designers fail to bring innovation into their game, it's quite difficult to wonder if you should spend your hard-earned cash on the product. Call of Duty has now become a sports game that is released every year. At least EA invests money within their budget to increase the quality of their sounds and visuals. Modern Warfare 3 was created using an outdated engine, which they could have attempted to compete with DICE's new engine, but they chose to hoard as much funding as possible. There is nothing new about this game, other than the revamped Spec Ops mode which has now become Horde/Firefight. Anything original? No. I would suggest that if anyone is debating on buying this game, go ahead and buy a used copy of MW2. You'll get the same experience playing an older game. Now, if you'd like to try something new and exciting, play Battlefield 3. Especially if you game on a PC. Expand
  35. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    How can you expect a linear, boring, and generic campaign to succeed? The engine? Same one for years; with minor changes here and there. I don't want to play a last gen game. Lets not forget that the multiplayer is EXACTLY the same as the last game. Just a few more guns and different maps. Also, unless you plan unloading your wallet each month, for the next 9 months; you'll have to pay forHow can you expect a linear, boring, and generic campaign to succeed? The engine? Same one for years; with minor changes here and there. I don't want to play a last gen game. Lets not forget that the multiplayer is EXACTLY the same as the last game. Just a few more guns and different maps. Also, unless you plan unloading your wallet each month, for the next 9 months; you'll have to pay for the ridiculous "ELITE" plan so you can finally get the full game, almost a year after launch. Infinity Ward... Just give up and actually make a new game. Expand
  36. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Rehashed garbage, Infinity Ward created this game, Activision destroyed it, they broke up Infinity Ward and put Sledgehammer games in charge

    Terrible game, avoid at all costs, see high scores from official reviews? Publishers pay them heaps of money to do PROMOS on their website, so they are inclined to get positive reviews, a reviewer on a website once lost his job for giving an honest,
    Rehashed garbage, Infinity Ward created this game, Activision destroyed it, they broke up Infinity Ward and put Sledgehammer games in charge

    Terrible game, avoid at all costs, see high scores from official reviews? Publishers pay them heaps of money to do PROMOS on their website, so they are inclined to get positive reviews, a reviewer on a website once lost his job for giving an honest, low score to Kane & Lynch when his website was being paid to give it a promo.

    Oh and its so rehashed, there's actually an article proving the same building model from the now 4 year old COD4 where used in this game, despite it being one of the best selling if not the best selling franchise of all time, they are still so cheap.
    Expand
  37. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Why am I supposed to buy this game? For a number? For an higher price? For the ridiculous longevity? Why people should buy a game that already has?
    That's no reason.
  38. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game killed the call of duty franchise I will never buy another cod game again! To have hyped the game this much and basically release the same game like MW2 is crazy and is just a way to steal our money. NOW GO HACK THE GAME AND LETS MAKE IT BETTER!
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Tried this game in a store on a console and was COMPLETELY convinced I was playing MW2 the entire time. this game is an insult to the gaming community, it's a digital Bigmac; it smells and looks pretty tasty but after you've had a taste you just want to puke.
  40. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I'm sorry but i played this at my friends house and it was horrible, i seriously cannot begin to describe how mad i am at the developers for simply mixing previous call of duties up, throwing a couple of different things in there and selling it at full price while claiming it is a completely new product.
  41. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I think there's a typo on the cover art -- that "3" should be a "2". It's a great game and all, I just wish it was something I hadn't played before. Too bad people will get suckered into buying the same game twice. I wonder what we can look forward to in Modern Warfare 4.
  42. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    we play that game a lot at 2009 now you make it only servers then you call it new game for just more $$.you can make all the new things as DLC for 10$ not new game .I will not lost my money for second time.I hate black ops servers not server in my **** I did't enjoy the online .now i feal the game just copy and paste.even the Grenades saunds like COD2 till now !!
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Sept 14, 2009 - Deutsche Bank Securities Technology Conference, San Francisco - Jeetil Patel, Analyst: "What do you think the retailers' willingness these days is to hold inventory on the video game side? Are they building positions today or are they still very reluctant and very careful of how they are buying?" Bobby Kotick, Activision Blizzard, Inc. - President and CEO: "I don't think itSept 14, 2009 - Deutsche Bank Securities Technology Conference, San Francisco - Jeetil Patel, Analyst: "What do you think the retailers' willingness these days is to hold inventory on the video game side? Are they building positions today or are they still very reluctant and very careful of how they are buying?" Bobby Kotick, Activision Blizzard, Inc. - President and CEO: "I don't think it is specific to video games. I think that if you look at how much volatility there is in the economy and, dependent upon your view about macroeconomic picture and I think we have a real culture of thrift. And I think the goal that I had in bringing a lot of the packaged goods folks that we brought in to Activision 10 years ago was to take all the fun out of making video games." .... "I think we definitely have been able to instill the culture, the skepticism and pessimism and fear that you should have in an economy like we are in today. And so, while generally people talk about the recession, we are pretty good at keeping people focused on the deep depression." Expand
  44. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I love it ! Its exactly what you expect after MW2. I only buy the IW Titles, and this one never let me down. My friends and i playing the MP for hours and its even more fun than the campaign. The only complain is, there is no Hans Zimmer music... Hope that MW4 will have Hans back!
  45. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is horrible, you cant even create ranked custom games so that you can farm xp with your friends then be 12 years old and camp in corners and just win all day. How dumb. Also guys have guns and shoot at you, I need a game where the other players can't shoot back because I'm pretty bad.
  46. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Just rented it, to test it out, and it's just the same old crap. Nothing original. Just trying to ride out the money train. Campaign is the same monotonous, "kill generic bad guys to get to the next scripted event", garbage. You can just play any other modern warfare to get the same multiplayer
  47. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Nothing meaningful has been changed from the last version. No innovation is present. Why should I spend $60 on the same game I played two years ago? Why should I reward a developer lacking meaningful skills beyond copying and pasting?
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    There's nothing new is this game, it's a terrible waste of money. Bad graphics, regurgitated gameplay, same guns, same gamemodes. Oh right, they added in a paid subscription service, Thanks dev's. You guys are f'ing useless as game developers. Go edit some web code or something. You made the biggest francise in gaming the hugest disappointment
  49. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is a non-stop action thrill ride. I hate the use that way over used explanation for an action title, but it fits so well. The single player's action experience is unrelenting you are thrown into one amazing action sequence after another. The multiplayer experience is just what you would expect out of a Call of Duty game. The issues most players had with MW2 seems to have beenThis game is a non-stop action thrill ride. I hate the use that way over used explanation for an action title, but it fits so well. The single player's action experience is unrelenting you are thrown into one amazing action sequence after another. The multiplayer experience is just what you would expect out of a Call of Duty game. The issues most players had with MW2 seems to have been fixed for this newest game, and with the addition of new game modes, and kill-streak packs, this game is a definite increase over MW2. For anyone who loves the Call of Duty franchise, especially the Modern Warfare games, this is a definite must have! Expand
  50. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's a sad state of affairs when the video game industry hands out review scores of 9-9.5/10 for any big name title. Modern Warfare 3 is completely undeserving of the fanfare which has greeted it. It completely lacks innovation. Graphically underwhelming, ridiculous story with hold-my-hand linear gameplay, and multiplayer which is overpopulated by 12 years olds on a caffeine high, or theIt's a sad state of affairs when the video game industry hands out review scores of 9-9.5/10 for any big name title. Modern Warfare 3 is completely undeserving of the fanfare which has greeted it. It completely lacks innovation. Graphically underwhelming, ridiculous story with hold-my-hand linear gameplay, and multiplayer which is overpopulated by 12 years olds on a caffeine high, or the more "elite" who hide in a corner of the map and wait for you to run by. If this had been my first exposure to the COD franchise, I may have considered an average score. However, this game does nothing to improve on an already successful franchise. Complete waste of time and a backwards step for the industry. Expand
  51. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Great game. I can say that because I actually played it. I like the new point/killstreak system. It really benefits the objective based game type player.
  52. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Many people said is the same MW2 game. they was wrong, MW2 was a very good game but MW3 is just crap,it is the worst multiplayer game ever, Maps are small, boring and all of them look similar. and the match making system oh yes good for meet people form other continent. Good work guys......
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Nice Single Player so far but too short. The rest is the same as every year. I sold it and play Modern Warfare 2009 instead. But it doesn't matter what all the people are writing here, as long as everyone buy this Map-Pack for 60â
  54. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    This is crazy, I can't believe all the disappointed BF3 Fan Boys that came on here to trash MW3. I heard about the incredibly unbalanced user score that MW3 has received on Metacritic from IGN, and decided to create a Metacritic account just to give an unbiased and objective review and score. And to help even out this Very low score for an obviously above average game, I mean sure MW3 isThis is crazy, I can't believe all the disappointed BF3 Fan Boys that came on here to trash MW3. I heard about the incredibly unbalanced user score that MW3 has received on Metacritic from IGN, and decided to create a Metacritic account just to give an unbiased and objective review and score. And to help even out this Very low score for an obviously above average game, I mean sure MW3 is not perfect but 3.1 out of ten is bull***t. First off I would like to state that I am not a COD Fan Boy and not a little kid, I'm a hardcore gamer that has been playing games since the early nineties. I play all manner of games on PC and PS3 and have also bought MW3's main competitor BF3. I have played about 30 hours on BF3's Multiplayer and have a 3.30 Kill/Death Ratio so am no noob when it comes to FPS. Even so I was disappointed with the overall products of both Battlefied 3 (which got boring faster than expected) and MW3. In the end I scored MW3 8 out of 10. It is very similar to MW2 but that's not necessarily a bad thing. The Singleplayer was OK, similar to the last two Modern Warfare's (overall uneventfull and boring with only some good bits) Spec Ops Missions are fun and exciting, especially if you have a friend to play them with and Spec Ops New Survival Mode is great addictive fun and a good addition to the series, I would say, and this is just my opinion that this is better than Zombies (playing with a mic is essential). Than you have Multiplayer which love it or hate it is pretty much the same as MW2 but with Strike Pakages, different killstreaks and different variations on old perks, some new guns and some new maps and game modes. Noob tubing, Nuke Killstreak and One Man Army Perk are gone but Quikscoping and Drop Shoting are still the order of the day. Also Spawn Deaths, Hit Detaction and Lag Issues can become a bit annoying. But with a half Decent Connection, a bit of skill and a touch of class you should be able to overcome these shotcomings to have one of the sweetest FPS Online Gaming experiences you can have at this time. I won't lie somtimes the multiplayer can have you screaming at the TV about the injustice of the last 5 Cheap deaths that made no sense whatsoever. But with a bit of patience even without the Elite Functions you get to know the layout of the maps, the spawn points, choke points, best class layouts for specific situations and maps. You will receive better weapons and figure out which strike package work best for you, and then your experience will start getting better. And to everyone saying COD is unbalanced that's BS, because there is a strategy and counter for everything your adversaries can throw at you. So after everything is said and done what it really comes down to is skill (and who has more of it). Overall, taken all the features packed into this one game and the weeks and possibly months of enjoyment that can be had, it's impossible for me to see how this game can receive a score below an 8 let alone a 5. If your a fan of FPS or games in general this a great addition to your game collection. Definately not MW2 DLC, and for only $50 to $100 are you that poor/cheap to complain about purchasing a great game and depriving yourself of fun just because a bunch of pathetic PC BF3 Fanboy Sheep/Followers decided to flood this site with negative reviews. It's Up To You.â Expand
  55. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I pre-ordered both BF3 and MW3...
    And, i can not see differences between MW2 & MW3...
    THIS IS THE SAME **** GAME.
    The only new feature is the system to get screwed in the long term with cod elite...
  56. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Another fail pc launch, horrible console graphics lends this to be just another map pack. Move on nothing new to see here. Go play black ops or mv2. OR go play a real game that works well on the pc, battlefield 3
  57. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    I thought Modern Warfare 3 will be different, that the developers will give us some new features and some new gameplay but no. They gave us the same game for another 60$. Same graphics, same engine, same gameplay, same animation. well, I don't see any reason to but this game. Even the multiplayer is the same in MW2. And also the single player is has the same routine - You go the theI thought Modern Warfare 3 will be different, that the developers will give us some new features and some new gameplay but no. They gave us the same game for another 60$. Same graphics, same engine, same gameplay, same animation. well, I don't see any reason to but this game. Even the multiplayer is the same in MW2. And also the single player is has the same routine - You go the the mission zone - shooting bad guys - 30 seconds of adrenaline scene - mission over. Expand
  58. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    not a good game horrible do not buy just get a different game instead seriously not worth your money if i was you stick with cod 4 or mw2 not a positive start for activisions
  59. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Ce jeu est une merde c'est un copier coller de modern warfare 1 mais a 70 euros grosse merde du deja vu 600000000fois le solo est ennuyant a mourir les script on les connait tous il était deja présent dans mw1 le jeu est moche c'est de l'arnaque !!!!!!!!!!
  60. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    come on ... when I got the game I thought that the seller cheated me because the game was identical to the one game I had played only two years ago inta a word JOKE
  61. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    This review is for you Sledgehammer. You ask to people to give a good mark, but Modern Warfare 3 is a poor game ! You should use your talent for another that Activision ;)
  62. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Very, very disappointing. Barely any work put into this game at all. Spawn next to an enemy happens far too frequently and I seem to lose connection a whole lot. The game engine has barely improved since CoD4. They seem to sit back, do as little work possible and just rake in the money because it carries the Call of Duty name. That won't last much longer. PC gamers get rubbish once again.
  63. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    O melhor fps que ja joguei até hoje, história envolvente e um multiplayer fantástico.
    nota 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000!!!!!
  64. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    No game can get a 0, however bad it is. I am aware that BF3 is a superior game when it comes to MP, but MW3 certainly does not deserve a 0, or a 3 for that matter, because of such a silly reason.

    I haven't played MW3 yet, but according to what sense I've read, the campaign is decent, and the multiplayer is basically the same as it used to be. Still, whoever bought MW3 should have seen
    No game can get a 0, however bad it is. I am aware that BF3 is a superior game when it comes to MP, but MW3 certainly does not deserve a 0, or a 3 for that matter, because of such a silly reason.

    I haven't played MW3 yet, but according to what sense I've read, the campaign is decent, and the multiplayer is basically the same as it used to be. Still, whoever bought MW3 should have seen this coming. Since the beginning of the "CoD revolution", little has changed. The core gameplay has remained the same, and most importantly, the MP has seen only minor changes. So, instead of wasting your time ruining MW3's Metacritic score for no justifiable reason, play some BF3 and enjoy yourself, because extreme prejudice isn't going to get you anywhere.
    Expand
  65. BDA
    Nov 11, 2011
    4
    I somewhat enjoyed Call of Duty back when the series first started. It had a lot of charm and the first few sequels brought something new to the table. Unfortunately, This game didn't bring anything new to the table compared to the last few games in the series. It sickens me how much this series has gotten away with re-releasing the same formula with barely any changes for so long. I canI somewhat enjoyed Call of Duty back when the series first started. It had a lot of charm and the first few sequels brought something new to the table. Unfortunately, This game didn't bring anything new to the table compared to the last few games in the series. It sickens me how much this series has gotten away with re-releasing the same formula with barely any changes for so long. I can easily buy an Indy game for 10 Dollars that can give me more innovation and gameplay than any of the Call of Duty games combined. The fact that this game even has a 60 dollar price tag is baffling, considering it is pretty much exactly like the past 2 games in the Modern Warfare series. I give credit that Modern Warfare 2 has a better amount of content than the first one but this game is the exact same if not worse than the title that came before it. It's funny to me how the press and Infinity ward think this is somewhat of an "attack" on the series but I think this is more of an outcry that we want to see better. Sadly, I don't think that's ever going to happen. Expand
  66. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Best "Modern Warfare".. it have the final conclusion to the whole series (MW)... Any Creature should Try this game! Ignore all those negative Reviews & Scores. We believe -CoD Fans- that most of the negative reviews, were done by those BF Fans. OR People who "loved" the Characters will never see them again. This is STUPIDITY. It is not a sequel to "Call of Duty" Generally, but to "ModernBest "Modern Warfare".. it have the final conclusion to the whole series (MW)... Any Creature should Try this game! Ignore all those negative Reviews & Scores. We believe -CoD Fans- that most of the negative reviews, were done by those BF Fans. OR People who "loved" the Characters will never see them again. This is STUPIDITY. It is not a sequel to "Call of Duty" Generally, but to "Modern Warfare" series.. The graphics are GREAT.. But BattleFAILED's new Engine -Frostbite 2- made it a bad Graphically game? Robert Bowling said this "We have no time to create a new engine to fit the game.. so we have to work on the previous one" We will be insane people if we compared MW3's -or any Modern Warfare's"- campaign to BF3 -or any BF-... Self-evident MW win.. but we can stil compare the "Graphics" which make Battlefailed 3 "a good" game. We can compare their Multiplaye Mod as well.. they both have excellent multiplayer.. BUT.. there's no Spec OPS in BF3.. so Battlefailed "3" beats MW3 because of the Graphics.. That's **** !!!! **** strongly Recommends this game to any creature in the whole wide world to play this game. Expand
  67. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I couldn't get this game to work on my brotactular Macbook Pro (or as I call it my Macbook Bro). Obviously IW didn't optimize this game for such a brotactular system and thus they cannot receive my Seal of Broproval. Total letdown bros.
  68. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    Lets get some constructive feedback of this game
    Singleplay is ok, it has recycled elements from MW, MW2 and Black ops. but it no where achieves the mw1 degree of success.
    spec ops is kind of fun, improved from mw2. only if there were 4-player coop rather than 2 multiplayer is a joke. i am a good player in mw2 mp, and usually on top-of-the-scoreboard. in mw3, i cant. the biggest flaw in mp
    Lets get some constructive feedback of this game
    Singleplay is ok, it has recycled elements from MW, MW2 and Black ops. but it no where achieves the mw1 degree of success.
    spec ops is kind of fun, improved from mw2. only if there were 4-player coop rather than 2
    multiplayer is a joke. i am a good player in mw2 mp, and usually on top-of-the-scoreboard. in mw3, i cant.
    the biggest flaw in mp is the map design. it is pure rubbish. all the mp maps are like a maze. you won't know where the enemies will come and you won't know where you'll be shot at. sometimes they spawn right behind you. you would like these kind of map design only after you drink 10 bottles of redbull.
    Expand
  69. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I don't want to spoil the story or something else . i just want to say that you can go to a site like gamestop or gamespot or ... and buy a video game ! but how can you find the best ?!
    you have many factors to find the best . story , graphics , gameplay , musics , sounds , multiplayer , hype (!) ...
    let's talk about story ! it's not like HALO ! so you'll not face a large amount of
    I don't want to spoil the story or something else . i just want to say that you can go to a site like gamestop or gamespot or ... and buy a video game ! but how can you find the best ?!
    you have many factors to find the best . story , graphics , gameplay , musics , sounds , multiplayer , hype (!) ...
    let's talk about story ! it's not like HALO ! so you'll not face a large amount of informations in 2 hours and say Wow it's epic !
    it's not like BF3 that put you in the story that you've seen it 1000 time before !
    it's Modern Warfare so you'll see real places , real people , real politics and of course real characters ! the plot is the same as Modern Warfare 1 and 2 but the difference is Revelations and characters endings .
    let's talk about gameplay ! just like MW1 & MW2 gameplay is where this game beat its rival . fast action gameplay that increase adrenaline alongside with cinematic scenes will satisfy you of spending 60 $ for this game !
    sounds and musics are brilliant and i can't say anything bad about them !
    graphics are good enough for a 2011 released game and have many improvements from Modern Warfare 2 and 60fps is where this game is beat its rival in graphics (on consoles) .
    multiplayer is the best in series so you can finish the story mode in 5 hours and go for multiplayer ! but you have my word , you can't finish multiplayer even in 500 hours ! it's Call Of Duty ! there is no need to say every part is at it's best like maps , perks , modes , weapon customize ...
    at last i can say there are many games out there but there are a few perfect games so don't spend 60 $ for the first game you'll see in the markets !
    Modern Warfare 3 is the best FPS in 2011 , no doubt . but i think it's the best FPS ever !
    Expand
  70. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    A pathetic re-make (or more like recycle). If your planing on great multiplayer, you should buy BF3, because this is just a desperate attempt at generating more money for Activison. The worst and most boring thing ever.
  71. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    MW3 for PC is by far the worst of the 3 platforms and this game just blows in general at this point. MW1 was a great and revolutionary game. MW2 was the same game with a new skin that also took away major features that had been in the game before. Black Ops was, again, a reskin of MW1, but at least added back most of the features taken away in MW2. MW3 is, again, a reskin and a downgradeMW3 for PC is by far the worst of the 3 platforms and this game just blows in general at this point. MW1 was a great and revolutionary game. MW2 was the same game with a new skin that also took away major features that had been in the game before. Black Ops was, again, a reskin of MW1, but at least added back most of the features taken away in MW2. MW3 is, again, a reskin and a downgrade of the previous games.

    - No ranked dedicated servers.
    - No working Elite service.
    - No FOV adjustment.
    - No new graphics.
    - No new game changing features. (Yes I know about the new modes, but most servers just run the old ones)

    Overall, the game has stagnated and had no innovation since the original MW, and they are happily taking everyone's $60 (which btw, they were the first company to increase the cost of PC games from $50 to $60 and since then everyone followed suit, so thanks for that too). They are taking $60 for MW2, BO, and MW3, and all they are doing is reskining MW1.

    I was a huge fan of MW1, and even bought BO hoping for something new. Very disappointed in this and am refunding this game and playing BF3 exclusively. Fortunately for IW and Activision, sheep will still buy and play this game in droves, just like Apple fanatics buy the iPhone repeatedly.
    Expand
  72. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Dear Glen Schofield,

    Next time you want a high Metacritic score, consider making an original and interesting game. Here's some tips: avoid making the exact same game as you did two years ago; stop re-using textures from previous games; try and create some original graphics; introduce something different in multiplayer; stop using the same old (rubbish) sounds etc etc. In short, stop
    Dear Glen Schofield,

    Next time you want a high Metacritic score, consider making an original and interesting game. Here's some tips: avoid making the exact same game as you did two years ago; stop re-using textures from previous games; try and create some original graphics; introduce something different in multiplayer; stop using the same old (rubbish) sounds etc etc.

    In short, stop cashing in on the success of your previous games by making the same thing to sell to the inebriates that can't understand what you're doing, and next time come up with something interesting and original.
    Expand
  73. Nov 12, 2011
    4
    Like a lot of people I purchased both BF3 and MW3 and, actually, hoped both would be great games. I guess the Jury is still out on BF3 for me, but it has potential. MW3 however is nothing short of appalling. The 'whack-a-Mole' concept has reached critical mass in this game, there is nothing else. Tie this into a neat little bundle with an aging graphics engine and another UnrealLike a lot of people I purchased both BF3 and MW3 and, actually, hoped both would be great games. I guess the Jury is still out on BF3 for me, but it has potential. MW3 however is nothing short of appalling. The 'whack-a-Mole' concept has reached critical mass in this game, there is nothing else. Tie this into a neat little bundle with an aging graphics engine and another Unreal Tournament style multi-player (yep, no skill, tatics or team work required - can't you just wait for the YouTube glut of auto sniper mega fast hacks..... uh, I mean kills to appear) and what you have is a regurgitated pile of tat.

    Someone wanted to squeeze the last few bucks out of a tired engine and game model. Please no more, in an age where the arguments against piracy are shouted from every moral pulpit perhaps the evangelists should look at what they are providing for sale - quality always provides a decent argument for revenue.

    So its back to BF3, oh and for controversies sake, I still think the last MOH game had the best and most fulfilling multi-player of recent times, its just a shame it did not do SP Whack-a-Mole well enough to please the paid critics.
    Expand
  74. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Great game, people just feel the need to complain about anything. It's almost embarrassing how people can't give an honest opinion on a game because they feel like they're being cheated. You still bought the game and you know you're still gonna play the hell out of it.
  75. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    An absolute mess of a game, (using the word 'game' here seems a bit of a stretch). Unbalanced multi-player which is essentially MW2 with slightly different maps, keeping none of MW2's strengths and all it's weaknesses. The single player doesn't fare much better either, it's another 'OH NOEZ MUSLIM TERRORISTS ARE GOINGZ TO BLOW UP AMERICA'. Not thought provoking at all, not different toAn absolute mess of a game, (using the word 'game' here seems a bit of a stretch). Unbalanced multi-player which is essentially MW2 with slightly different maps, keeping none of MW2's strengths and all it's weaknesses. The single player doesn't fare much better either, it's another 'OH NOEZ MUSLIM TERRORISTS ARE GOINGZ TO BLOW UP AMERICA'. Not thought provoking at all, not different to previous games at all. Expand
  76. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    Call of Duty Moder Warfere, muito boa a serie, marcou a historia com o MW1, com o MW2 atraiu varias pessoas para o multiplayer e nos titulos seguinte de CoD parece que acabaram a fonte de criatividade. Sem inovação nenhuma no CoD MW3, pouca divulgação do titulo (creio que seja por causa de não ter nenhuma novidade paraCall of Duty Moder Warfere, muito boa a serie, marcou a historia com o MW1, com o MW2 atraiu varias pessoas para o multiplayer e nos titulos seguinte de CoD parece que acabaram a fonte de criatividade. Sem inovação nenhuma no CoD MW3, pouca divulgação do titulo (creio que seja por causa de não ter nenhuma novidade para mostrar.) e é claro que a Activition apostou na força que o titulo tem sobre os varios fans que o Call of Duty possui, principalmente nos console. Expand
  77. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    I remember playing this game in 2007, but I think it was called COD4. This games formula is staid to say the least, but I have to wonder what it might have really been like if Infinity Ward hadn't imploded. Oh, and it is a 0 because I don't think a map pack should cost $60.
  78. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    MW2 with new maps. Nowhere near worth the cost.

    I have to make this review 150 characters long but there isn't any more to say about this game. Not worth the money.
  79. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    If this games' score would be based on a "developer effort / price " ratio, it would get absolute 0 score. They are using outdated engine for so long that it makes this game look ugly compared to any newer games on market. I believe they mentioned that dedicated serves are back, well yes they are but you can only gain exp via match making lobbys, how great. They even recyled some objectsIf this games' score would be based on a "developer effort / price " ratio, it would get absolute 0 score. They are using outdated engine for so long that it makes this game look ugly compared to any newer games on market. I believe they mentioned that dedicated serves are back, well yes they are but you can only gain exp via match making lobbys, how great. They even recyled some objects from mw 1 and put them into campaign in mw3. They did almost none improvement to weapons sound, since they all sound almost the same and very unusual and yeh a bad port from consoles since FOV is very low, beacuse of which I couldnt play the game very long, since it is very annoying to me, but I really dont care since the game is boring to me and I will probably never play it again.
    However gameplay Is smooth,fast paced and everything , but paying 60â
    Expand
  80. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Despite being a long time fan of call of duty I couldn't take this any more. modern warfare 3 has degraded into an overrated cash cow and a copy and paste of previous titles. Save your precious money by not buying this worthless game.
  81. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Glen Schofield asked me to come and vote for this game. How could I refuse him. Do not be lazy register and put this game deserved a zero.I think zero is suspiciously high otseka for this game.
  82. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    I don't understand why all the low ratings, it's a great game. I mean, it's very similar to the other modern warfare games, but it's fast paced combat and rewarding perks and rank ups make it a fun exciting game.
  83. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    In short, this game is a MW2 map pack, with perhaps a small update to introduce the ability to see which killstreak you are on and change a couple of weapons.
    This: for £40? No chance.
    The thing that really annoys me is how this thing is getting good reviews from critics. Can I just ask how? You are not rating the game in terms of value for money. Yes, Modern Warfare 3 is a
    In short, this game is a MW2 map pack, with perhaps a small update to introduce the ability to see which killstreak you are on and change a couple of weapons.
    This: for £40? No chance.
    The thing that really annoys me is how this thing is getting good reviews from critics. Can I just ask how?
    You are not rating the game in terms of value for money. Yes, Modern Warfare 3 is a good game. So is Modern Warfare 2. What has changed? Essentially, nothing. Over the past few years we have come to accept the fact that Activision will keep recycling the same game engine, graphics, weapons, online structure, etc. We buy it full price and ask no questions.
    Activision's titles have little more improvement from their predecessors than a common dlc, and this HAS to be considered when reviewing their games.
    Come on critics, wipe Activisions brown substance off your face and take a look at reality.
    If this were the first game in the Call of Duty franchise and this was a completely new game, I'd give it a 7 or 8.
    As an improvement to the predecessor and in terms of value for money, this is a 0.
    Not worth buying until either all of your friends have deserted you or the price drops considerably.
    Expand
  84. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    This is just an attempt to get cash. Activision surpasses sales every year, but that's it for me.

    Aspects: -Gameplay: MW2 with different perks, absurd amount of glitches that were forgotten to be fixed (quickscoping and such), relocation of the EXP counter, point killstreaks. That's it. -Graphics: Same old boring MW2 color scheme. Dated. REALLY dated. That crappy contrast and insanely
    This is just an attempt to get cash. Activision surpasses sales every year, but that's it for me.

    Aspects:

    -Gameplay: MW2 with different perks, absurd amount of glitches that were forgotten to be fixed (quickscoping and such), relocation of the EXP counter, point killstreaks. That's it.

    -Graphics: Same old boring MW2 color scheme. Dated. REALLY dated. That crappy contrast and insanely low poly models are only disguised by the mediocre textures.

    -Sound: Horrible. Feels like the bullets are made of rubber. The gun sounds are boring, weird and repetitive. The rest is ported from MW2.

    -Lacks vehicles.

    -The game is unbalanced, and they brought back glitches from MW2.

    There is nothing to like about this game. If you buy it, enjoy your 60 dollar map pack.
    Expand
  85. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    PT-BR: Eu não sou fanboy de BF3 ou MW3, mas BF3 está muito melhor que esse MW3. Esse jogo é simplesmente o MW2 reciclado. Estou decepcionado.
    English: I'm not a fanboy, but BF3 is better, this game is the MW2 recycled. I am desapointed.
  86. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    I mean what a piece of Junk. No Dedicated Servers , No FOV switch, Assets that are CLEARLY from COD4. No Lean. Multiplayer is a joke, single player is on rails like every other CoD and the story sucks. Bad game overall, this is how we know game journalism is corrupt, how did this game get any more than a 2 from any reviewer? Go Play Dungeon Defenders ,you'll get some nice gameplay andI mean what a piece of Junk. No Dedicated Servers , No FOV switch, Assets that are CLEARLY from COD4. No Lean. Multiplayer is a joke, single player is on rails like every other CoD and the story sucks. Bad game overall, this is how we know game journalism is corrupt, how did this game get any more than a 2 from any reviewer? Go Play Dungeon Defenders ,you'll get some nice gameplay and you can buy 4 copies for the price of this POS. Expand
  87. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 1, Modern Warfare 2, Black Ops, Modern Warfare 3...
    Always the same game since 5 years (same engine, same IA, same scripts...).
    Activision does not care about players.
  88. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    Modern Warfare 3 is mediocre at best, running on the same engine as the previous 3 Call of Duty games and failing to bring anything new or innovative to the table. To top it off, the game has terrible multiplayer balance issues. Essentially, it is Modern Warfare 2.5.
    If you're bored and want a fast-paced run-and-gun non-tactical shooter to just play around in, MW3 is fine.
    Modern Warfare
    Modern Warfare 3 is mediocre at best, running on the same engine as the previous 3 Call of Duty games and failing to bring anything new or innovative to the table. To top it off, the game has terrible multiplayer balance issues. Essentially, it is Modern Warfare 2.5.
    If you're bored and want a fast-paced run-and-gun non-tactical shooter to just play around in, MW3 is fine.
    Modern Warfare 3? More like Money Wasted 3.
    Expand
  89. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    Well after almost a week of playing this game, I am not impressed.
    IWnet is a matchmaking system to benefit who??? Does it match low ranks with other low ranks ... NO!
    IW promised us that they had listened to the PC community, listened to what we had cried out for. Dedicated servers was that cry so!!! So what do we get Unranked dedicated servers and we have to rank up on IWnet with all the
    Well after almost a week of playing this game, I am not impressed.
    IWnet is a matchmaking system to benefit who??? Does it match low ranks with other low ranks ... NO!
    IW promised us that they had listened to the PC community, listened to what we had cried out for.
    Dedicated servers was that cry so!!!
    So what do we get Unranked dedicated servers and we have to rank up on IWnet with all the hackers and a ping that at best holds for one round maybe two.
    The game has so much promise and that is where the positive ends ... shot down in flames by lack of servers.
    Rehashed copy of MW2 with the usual ill treatment of PC gamers.
    Expand
  90. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This game looks terrible (2x580s SLI + i7, so yes, it's maxed out). The previous 3 CoD games had better graphics by far. While I can live with the poor quality graphics for the sake of a fun game, the player 'head bob' nauseating. Then there's IWNet In short, it would have been better to sell another map pack for MW2 for both MP and Spec Ops. Then mod it for dedicated servers.

    I won't say
    This game looks terrible (2x580s SLI + i7, so yes, it's maxed out). The previous 3 CoD games had better graphics by far. While I can live with the poor quality graphics for the sake of a fun game, the player 'head bob' nauseating. Then there's IWNet In short, it would have been better to sell another map pack for MW2 for both MP and Spec Ops. Then mod it for dedicated servers.

    I won't say never again to buying a CoD title but it's unlikely I'll buy anything developed by Infinity Ward again. Bring it on Treyarch
    Expand
  91. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    an ok game, but just a re-hash of Mw2, dont see how they justfy the $60 outlay. this is rubbish. Bf3 has it faults many of them but this is maddness. yet stupid people will continue to purchase this crap over and over.
  92. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Its MW2 with new maps and a campaign which i have not even played yet. Purely from multiplayer side it looks like I went and got my mw2 CD out and installed it. They even forgot to change the error code when the game crashes, it says do you want to reset your settings to mw2, yes go check it out. Dissapointment that developers can make such a DLC and sell as a brand new game. There is noIts MW2 with new maps and a campaign which i have not even played yet. Purely from multiplayer side it looks like I went and got my mw2 CD out and installed it. They even forgot to change the error code when the game crashes, it says do you want to reset your settings to mw2, yes go check it out. Dissapointment that developers can make such a DLC and sell as a brand new game. There is no battle between bf3 and mw3, bf3 although totally different game, beats mw3 on all accounts. bf3 even beats them on guns details and being able to climb on stuff where mw3 map developers said " no u cannot even jump on that small box" Expand
  93. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Great game, decent graphics, excellent gameplay. People that say it's a lagfest and a mw2 expansion pack probably haven't played it enough, or have crappy internet. After about 20 hours of multiplayer and a completed campaign, I feel that my opinion is worth more than one of some brat that just wants to hate.

    Enough offtopic bullcrap. The multiplayer is great, mostly good connections and
    Great game, decent graphics, excellent gameplay. People that say it's a lagfest and a mw2 expansion pack probably haven't played it enough, or have crappy internet. After about 20 hours of multiplayer and a completed campaign, I feel that my opinion is worth more than one of some brat that just wants to hate.

    Enough offtopic bullcrap.

    The multiplayer is great, mostly good connections and a large variety of weapons and perks. Customization might not be as big as in Black Ops, but that was an excessive amount anyway.
    The only grief I had, was that the most overpowered weapons were unlocked almost instantly. I would've thought that IW learned from the mw2 UMP45, but they didn't. Oh well, anyone with a decent set of tactics can easily take the abusers out.

    Just to remind everyone, MW3 is a great game. It's the best from CoD4 and MW2 combined, and the matchmaking service is working a lot smoother, to my experience. Don't hate if you just don't like the game. Always be objective, and don't be biased.
    Expand
  94. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    It's worth noting that this game has a single-player campaign, which many of the reviews bombing it don't seem to take into consideration. If you're interested in only the multi-player modes, then yeah, you'll probably be a bit disappointed. Still, MW3 may not reinvent the wheel, but it's far from a bad game.
  95. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Seriously I am so bored! I thought that the commercials for this game gave it justice. I was wrong. like everyone prior to my post said, its sadly disappointing. Yes, the storyline is what drew me in and same with the multiplayer. Unfortunately for me I went from Battlefield 3 to this rubbish. It appears that all Activision hopes for is big sales while keeping the same crappy game engineSeriously I am so bored! I thought that the commercials for this game gave it justice. I was wrong. like everyone prior to my post said, its sadly disappointing. Yes, the storyline is what drew me in and same with the multiplayer. Unfortunately for me I went from Battlefield 3 to this rubbish. It appears that all Activision hopes for is big sales while keeping the same crappy game engine and recycle decals and worlds. That gets old very fast. In this industry you NEED to stay on top and innovate. Recycling isnt pleasing us gamers. Also, Sledgehammer founder can seriously go *%$&% himself for asking supporters of the genre to vote "honestly" about this game. Um...duh we are!!! Your losing your supporters with craptastic games like this. Battlefield 3 story sucks but at least the multiplayer is how do you say? Epic, awesome, completely relevent and absolutely beautiful. Makes MW3 in all aspects look like something that will be in abundance at gamestops in two weeks in the used games section. Expand
  96. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This is the best expansion pack I've ever purchased. I was so glad when Activision decided to break the mold and start releasing expansion packs just like everybody used to do back in the day. Sure it's a little expensive (60 dollars), but just wait a year and that'll go down in price about 10 dollars when the next expansion pack comes out.
  97. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Multiplayer is worthless....maps are done with objects and graphics of 2 former series.
    Anyone see the cod4 helicopter?
    Maps too small, no servers, cheaters, lag, bad graphics. This is realy the worse COD i ever saw, i thought activisionstarted on the good way with blackops, after the utter disappointment mw2 was. For me, call of duty died with this game, another 60E hard worked for,
    Multiplayer is worthless....maps are done with objects and graphics of 2 former series.
    Anyone see the cod4 helicopter?
    Maps too small, no servers, cheaters, lag, bad graphics.
    This is realy the worse COD i ever saw, i thought activisionstarted on the good way with blackops, after the utter disappointment mw2 was.
    For me, call of duty died with this game, another 60E hard worked for, down the drain.
    Expand
  98. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    This game is just a repacked retweaked version of modern warfare 2 it feels like I am playing the exact same game. Infinity ward made absolutely no innovations to the COD series, and I bet that they won't next year when another calladooky comes out, it has so much hype and it so much suck's.save your money for battlefield 3 now that's a real first person shooter game.
  99. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    ya so i herd this game was released like 5 years ago and apparently infinity ward decided to release the same game every year so they can earn money for hamburgerz?
  100. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I don't understand the hate towards this game. I thought it was absolutely fine, not to mention fun as ever. Sure, the graphics were pretty much the same, but honestly, I was fine with it. Don't understand why so many people are all about graphics these days. What were you looking for, CryEngine 3?

    I thought the story was the best one yet. The WW3 theme was a good choice. It was awesome
    I don't understand the hate towards this game. I thought it was absolutely fine, not to mention fun as ever. Sure, the graphics were pretty much the same, but honestly, I was fine with it. Don't understand why so many people are all about graphics these days. What were you looking for, CryEngine 3?

    I thought the story was the best one yet. The WW3 theme was a good choice. It was awesome watching the Eiffel Tower collapse, like in G.I. Joe. Multiplayer was fine too, almost better. I liked the strike packages, they were a nice add. I really don't understand why there is such a hot debate between Battlefield 3 and MW3. I think they were both excellent games. I saw a review here by someone, who gave it a 1. Why did he give it a one? because he was angry about the countdowns in multiplayer. They were too long. SERIOUSLY? Sometimes I wonder what the gaming community is coming to these days.

    Well that about wraps up my review, Overall, good job Infinity Ward. You always make great games.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]