Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 PC

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5633 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Wow, the only way this game could possibly have that low of a score is if somebody is paying somebody to give it a low score. The game is great, it might be lacking a lot in the originality department, and my online guild has had issues trying to set up our server, but giving this game 2000+ negative reviews, and only 86 mixed? ...that has nothing to do with any issues the game has, andWow, the only way this game could possibly have that low of a score is if somebody is paying somebody to give it a low score. The game is great, it might be lacking a lot in the originality department, and my online guild has had issues trying to set up our server, but giving this game 2000+ negative reviews, and only 86 mixed? ...that has nothing to do with any issues the game has, and everything to do with some company hiring people to write bad reviews. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    It's an average shooter, nothing really stands out. Infact it's lacking even compared to older FPS games and that's before considering how badly it's ported to the PC.


    The campaign is short and the story could have come from a once off comic book for gun ho teens, presuming it could even keep them interested.

    Only good part worth mentioning is one point in the game where the playerIt's an average shooter, nothing really stands out. Infact it's lacking even compared to older FPS games and that's before considering how badly it's ported to the PC.


    The campaign is short and the story could have come from a once off comic book for gun ho teens, presuming it could even keep them interested.


    Only good part worth mentioning is one point in the game where the player is heavily armoured which is fun and changes things up, other than that there's nothing good to mention about Modern Warfare 3. It's beating a dead horse, that died in a previous game. Expand

  3. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    Modern Warfare 3 was only made to MAKE MONEY!!! Are they serious?!?!BlackOps made 2.500.000.000$!! Where this money go? To develop new amazing engine? No... To improve anything in gameplay? No... So where ours money go? To **** EA corporation! For what BlackUps made this game should be FOR FREE!!My heart is bleeding when i see what happen to ours hobby;( Sad that now everybody wont to makeModern Warfare 3 was only made to MAKE MONEY!!! Are they serious?!?!BlackOps made 2.500.000.000$!! Where this money go? To develop new amazing engine? No... To improve anything in gameplay? No... So where ours money go? To **** EA corporation! For what BlackUps made this game should be FOR FREE!!My heart is bleeding when i see what happen to ours hobby;( Sad that now everybody wont to make money...not games:[â Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    i give this game a 10/10 for quicky yearly releases and a 0/10 for being totally uncreative and boring. its a cut and paste version of another COD MW.
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed the SP ride and MP is fun (although I'm getting whacked with regularity). The franchise is taking predictable paths and I suspect the break-up w/Infinity Ward kept this from becoming a great game (it's good...but there's so much more here that could-have-been). I guess the question is whether or not the game is now on Madden-like yearly updates (nothing more than a cash grab)I enjoyed the SP ride and MP is fun (although I'm getting whacked with regularity). The franchise is taking predictable paths and I suspect the break-up w/Infinity Ward kept this from becoming a great game (it's good...but there's so much more here that could-have-been). I guess the question is whether or not the game is now on Madden-like yearly updates (nothing more than a cash grab) or if it's still a labor of love for those you develop for it. If it's the former, I'm not sure it's worth spending $60 a year on incremental updates. If it's the latter...and we get a more compelling SP story...then I'm in. Also...it integrates so nicely w/Steam that it makes Origin's first shot at a "Steam-Killer" a joke. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    Singleplayer was a cinematic blast as it always was and the survival mode is a great addition. However, multiplayer is plagued by lag due to ranked games only being peer-to-peer as the standard for the console systems. I don't understand why the programmers for this game didn't learn the lesson from MW2. There isn't even a chat room during the lobby screen. I appreciate the additionSingleplayer was a cinematic blast as it always was and the survival mode is a great addition. However, multiplayer is plagued by lag due to ranked games only being peer-to-peer as the standard for the console systems. I don't understand why the programmers for this game didn't learn the lesson from MW2. There isn't even a chat room during the lobby screen. I appreciate the addition of the dedicated servers, but they are only available for unranked play. In addition the Server List option is hidden by default, only accessible after digging through the options menu. I can't give this game a 0, because I do enjoy parts of it. The gun play seems great so far, aside from the lag, and I enjoyed the single player, but I don't feel like this game was worth the money I dropped on it. I don't think I can see myself reaching max rank with how hindered I am with latency and turned off by it. They even left thing ping "bars" in instead of giving us actual numbers again. Why couldn't these guys give us ranked servers with similar "play now" functionality of everyone's favorite hat-themed-war-simulator? Click the button, ask for game-type, drop you into a server with that criteria. (That game is now free and still very fun)
    I wish that Call of Duty recycled maps, in addition to giving us these new ones. I mean, what harm can including old maps do? We'll probably have to pay for them. I likely won't buy them, then I'll likely get booted from every game I try playing because I "do not own this DLC" (It's happened with MW2. It once took about 20 minutes trying to find a game I could even join. Then when I finally did, I had one, "red" ping bar. It was terrible.)

    Well, if you stuck around this far, I might as well mention things I -do- like. I do like that my favorite guns are in this game. I like the throwing knife. I like the riot shield.
    Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    This is essentially CoD Black Ops with a different storyline. It plays smooth and the single player experience goes from one "over the top" moment to another. However, that is pretty much all it has going for it. Gaming atmosphere is ok. Story is pretty bad. Graphics are average and pretty bad in comparison to BF3. Not sure how the magazines are doing their reviews if they don't see that.This is essentially CoD Black Ops with a different storyline. It plays smooth and the single player experience goes from one "over the top" moment to another. However, that is pretty much all it has going for it. Gaming atmosphere is ok. Story is pretty bad. Graphics are average and pretty bad in comparison to BF3. Not sure how the magazines are doing their reviews if they don't see that. On the technical side MW3 is far behind BF3. I especially like BF3's environment damage, but they also make good use of elements like smoke and light to add new tactical options.
    Multiplayer has turned into a circus for players not meeting the age requirement of MW3.
    Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    In 2011, 18 player MP with , no lean/peek, reduced playability of S&D. This game is 'consolized' beyond recognition.

    For this price, thanks, but no thanks.

    Moving over to Red Orchestra 2.

    Adios CoD/MW! Until CoD4MW it was nice knowing you.
  9. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    I have a multiple points of view on this COD. First is the gameplay and whole "feeling" from game. Its great, the story, the feeling, its like you play a movie. A true cinematic experience in your control. For that i give 8/10. But that is all. What is much worse is graphic. and inovations in this game Horrible resolution of textures, awful 2d background, 2d fences. My god is this a 2011I have a multiple points of view on this COD. First is the gameplay and whole "feeling" from game. Its great, the story, the feeling, its like you play a movie. A true cinematic experience in your control. For that i give 8/10. But that is all. What is much worse is graphic. and inovations in this game Horrible resolution of textures, awful 2d background, 2d fences. My god is this a 2011 game? Indie game developers with much less budget can create graphics better than this. Another problem is MP. Nothing new, just recycled previous COD. I believe if they spend more time on the technical side of this game, i would give it 9/10, but for this "dinosaur" graphic and no inovation im giving 4/10. That graphic is just LOL, 2004 games have much better graphics like this. nobody wants crysis graphics, but they should give us at least graphic from this decade, not from the last 00s. Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    I enjoyed Black Ops but this is terribly boring and the graphics/story are aweful. I have bought and played BF3 also and I quite enjoyed rolling into the mountains of Iran and fighting in Tehran. It really had some atmosphere about it but MW3 is just recent MW games with a 3 stuck on the end. I'm glad I got mine for half price. Feel very sorry for those who shelled out $99 on Steam.
  11. Apr 27, 2012
    3
    Once again, I'll skip the single player, since...well, I'm actually playing the multiplayer due to a promotion and this is a review made in about 48 hours of gameplay (not literally, but I think it's enough, and I'll explain why). So let's go to the multiplayer...and well, once again, you can see the effort put into this game, because there is little or none of it. Personal criticismOnce again, I'll skip the single player, since...well, I'm actually playing the multiplayer due to a promotion and this is a review made in about 48 hours of gameplay (not literally, but I think it's enough, and I'll explain why). So let's go to the multiplayer...and well, once again, you can see the effort put into this game, because there is little or none of it. Personal criticism apart, I knew this game wasn't going to be any good at all, and for many reasons. First of all, lots of stuff is blocked from the very start, and I mean LOTS (even playmodes...really?), making you play for unlocking first the class customization, then modes, and veeeery slowly the weapons, perks, and so on...Didn't I see this game somewhere? But really, I can't stand a game where you have to play so much for unlocking FEW things, and those few things so far very USELESS (i've unlocked about 3-4 perks, and none of those were any useful, and the few weapons I've got I barely used half of them) and since now the levels are 80 (without counting the 20 prestiges), the grinding will be immensive. The arenas are...actually kinda better than the previous game; they aren't great but I really didn't complain so much about them than the previous game, and some of them are also good for different modes. Too bad campers still exist, and they'll exploit, once again, any blind corners in order to easily win, and once again if they try to say that this was actually planned, then I'll continue to say that they should think twice. And make much better maps. Ok, a good improvement are the levels on the weapons: the idea is very nice and actually makes you want to improve that particular weapon, but as I said I've been using a total of 3-4 weapons, and they were a lot similar to each others. I don't like to compare to other games, but this is basically the same game once again, and as I said before even though I played for a little time, I could see the major similarities between this and the previous game (which I played for about 4-6 months), with so few changes that it's hard to not notice; I would have highly suggested this game if it wasn't for the HUGE price and if it costed like 20 or 30 euros, but really, for 60-70 euros/dollars for a game that barely lasts one year and also for a game that rarely gets cheaper, I'll strongly advise to skip it and spend that money for any other game: it will be worth of your money. Expand
  12. Nov 9, 2011
    3
    I'd love to know why Metacritic is now not displaying the user review score for this years Madden...umm I mean Modern Warfare iteration. The way this whole thing has gone down (high critic reviews, low user reviews) says a lot about the current model for gaming reviews. The reviewers are WAY to cozy with the game creators and publishers and it shows when critics continue to give veryI'd love to know why Metacritic is now not displaying the user review score for this years Madden...umm I mean Modern Warfare iteration. The way this whole thing has gone down (high critic reviews, low user reviews) says a lot about the current model for gaming reviews. The reviewers are WAY to cozy with the game creators and publishers and it shows when critics continue to give very high marks for what is essentially a repackaged version of the same game every freaking year. Battlefield 3 has its issues (Battlelog, Origin, etc) but at least DICE and EA provide something new that drives gaming development (Frostbite 2.0). Activision just executes the ol' annual payment model for the same crap. Give them their due, it's a great racket, but it leaves a very bitter taste in the mouths of gamers who want something new. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    No dedicated servers. Not all the SP guns are in MP. Getting an error and the game keeps crashing on the same level. Hamburg map if I took one route I'd get kicked to the menu and have to restart. Froze once, had to restart my PC. COD reset my controls to default in both MP and SP. Still better then the abortion Black Ops is.
  14. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    Briefly intro, I've owned Call of Duty II and been an avid fps player for many years now. This is game is mediocre. It was worth the money, but only because I got it for 40% less by buying it overseas. First the single player is fun, but the formula is the same as every other call of duty before it, and i can't help but feel that I've played this before. The graphics are the same asBriefly intro, I've owned Call of Duty II and been an avid fps player for many years now. This is game is mediocre. It was worth the money, but only because I got it for 40% less by buying it overseas. First the single player is fun, but the formula is the same as every other call of duty before it, and i can't help but feel that I've played this before. The graphics are the same as before, but I can't dislike the game for this, the graphics don't make the game. The multiplayer is a joke. The maps are small, the player count is small. There is no strategy. For a PC game i would expect a mature gaming community, but it is all campers. The match making service leaves me with no community, no regular server to go back to. I'm so disappointed with the multiplayer in this game. Expand
  15. Jan 29, 2012
    0
    After a few more months I have only 1 thing to say: DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Roughly every 3rd game I play has a hacker in it that uses wallhack+aimbot and therefore kills people through walls, ceilings, etc. and always with a headshot. The fact that you cannot choose which game to join, you will likely rejoin the same game if you quit -- many people quit when such an obvious hacker appearsAfter a few more months I have only 1 thing to say: DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Roughly every 3rd game I play has a hacker in it that uses wallhack+aimbot and therefore kills people through walls, ceilings, etc. and always with a headshot. The fact that you cannot choose which game to join, you will likely rejoin the same game if you quit -- many people quit when such an obvious hacker appears and since that very game session needs more players, CoD will send you right back if you quick and start a new join request. This has been going on for a long time and things are not improving, since the developer doesn't care about this problem. AVOID THIS GAME!!! Expand
  16. JLF
    Nov 13, 2011
    0
    The bane of gaming industry strikes again : this time it's completely same as before.
    I'm surprised this game sold so much on the first week. I'm truly losing hope in humanity
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    I've played through the singleplayer and enough hours of the multiplayer to get a good idea of what the game is like. The singleplayer is terrible, like all of the recent games, but with an even sillier plot. This is forgivable however - who plays this game for the singleplayer? The multiplayer... well... its the exact same thing as the previous two. And to be honest, I'm sick of it. SureI've played through the singleplayer and enough hours of the multiplayer to get a good idea of what the game is like. The singleplayer is terrible, like all of the recent games, but with an even sillier plot. This is forgivable however - who plays this game for the singleplayer? The multiplayer... well... its the exact same thing as the previous two. And to be honest, I'm sick of it. Sure the previous games were good, but you can only play so much of it before getting bored. Infinity Ward could have at least TRIED to change things up but they didn't. And I feel ripped off for paying full price for it, something like this should be an expansion or DLC or something. It doesn't justify purchasing a new game.

    Unless you really REALLY want it, just play MW2. You'll be getting the exact same experience and you'll be $60 richer.
    Expand
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As much as die hardcore fan of CoD i consider myself, this time i decided to step back after learning my lesson with Black Ops and its pathetic ammounts of DLCs.
    I'm sick of Activision's moneygrub, i'm sick of the overpriced DLC's that offer little almost nothing and i won't support ELITE!.
    That being said, its time to put a stop to this madness. Their greediness has to stop. I can only hope for this franchise to end up like games such as THPS or Guitar Hero.
    Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    what a turd game if it does even diserve to be called that, is activision even trying? because, seriously, im 2h into the game and I cant take it anymore, its so bad Im going to ask for a refund
  20. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    If I wanted to play mw2 again I would have just started that up on steam instead of this pile of garbage. These **** developers don't care about how good the game is at all, they just put something together that they think will make money. I don't give it a 0 because it isn't the worst game ever. I'll give them a 1 for effort, and a miserable failure for a game. This is one game whereIf I wanted to play mw2 again I would have just started that up on steam instead of this pile of garbage. These **** developers don't care about how good the game is at all, they just put something together that they think will make money. I don't give it a 0 because it isn't the worst game ever. I'll give them a 1 for effort, and a miserable failure for a game. This is one game where pirates can do what they want, I won't feel bad, this isn't worth **** Expand
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    If you have played MW2 you have already experienced half of MW3. The game lacks innovation, it still uses the same 4 years old game engine and it recycles some of the graphics and sound effects from the earlier games. The gameplay and even the menus are almost identical to the old ones.

    As NHL game series has annual release with very little changes, same has started to happen with the COD
    If you have played MW2 you have already experienced half of MW3. The game lacks innovation, it still uses the same 4 years old game engine and it recycles some of the graphics and sound effects from the earlier games. The gameplay and even the menus are almost identical to the old ones.

    As NHL game series has annual release with very little changes, same has started to happen with the COD series. The game is no means worth 60â
    Expand
  22. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I feel cheated. I played this game last year. Also two years ago. Even three, damn, four years ago! Why the hell, Activi$ion, don't you innovate in this game?! You win so much money each day because of those mindless buyers and you don't even manage to have a proper code nor connection. I'm done with this charade. Count me off from this stupid game.
  23. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    The game looks exactly like MW2, it's literally just a mod. The safe mode dialogue actually says "Modern Warfare 2 did not close properly last time". And what happened to dedicated servers? Aren't you guys learning from the criticisms of the garbage iwnet matchmaking system from MW2? Overall, the multiplayer gameplay gives me a very bad taste on why I hated the COD franchise.
  24. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Take a hint from your competitors and try something new. Playing the same game every year had wore out its welcome by MW2, now it's starting to get ridiculous.
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Normally Map packs for MW2 cost $15, this one costs 4x that amount and has a bug where your profile will be reset when you buy it. My advice, wait till its in the $5 bargain bin.
  26. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    Having played the complete series both campaign and multi-player, I have to say its nice to have a new game but why so soon? They could have spent a lot more time between games thinking of something a little more original. I mean when I got to the second or third scene in the campaign I felt like I was playing MW2... While I like the faster pace during the missions or maybe its that IHaving played the complete series both campaign and multi-player, I have to say its nice to have a new game but why so soon? They could have spent a lot more time between games thinking of something a little more original. I mean when I got to the second or third scene in the campaign I felt like I was playing MW2... While I like the faster pace during the missions or maybe its that I selected a difficulty higher than NOOB, I don't know.. I would give the single player a 6 just because I'm sure a lot of work went into it and its not glitchy at all. I am going to have to say the multi-player is a 4 and the same game graphically as the last 2 (I know the dev's will rage because I said that but its true, move on, get a new engine please) Welcome to 2011. Expand
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Activision has shown again that you can repackage the same game under a different package and still get profit. If you have played call of duty 4 you have already played modern warfare 3. If you have already played modern warfare 2 you have played modern warfare 3. Atleast the difference from modern warfare 2 and black ops was noticable. Modern warfare 3 is just a copy paste of modernActivision has shown again that you can repackage the same game under a different package and still get profit. If you have played call of duty 4 you have already played modern warfare 3. If you have already played modern warfare 2 you have played modern warfare 3. Atleast the difference from modern warfare 2 and black ops was noticable. Modern warfare 3 is just a copy paste of modern warfare 2. If you liked the other call of duty games then you will probably like this..But how long will you be rebuying the same game again ? Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    This game is an insult to gamers everywhere. It's a repackage of MW2 (a great game) for another 60 dollars. Had Activision charged 30 dollars for MW3 and called it an expansion, I wouldn't be so mad... as it stands? **** Activision.
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    The campaing/multiplayer of this game terrible, worst CoD ever made sadly. Linear, **** story, old engine... they could make better game if they wouldnt be lazy. Survivor mod is great with friends.

    Single Player: You can finish it in like 4 hours... sux story. Survivor mode: I realy like that, not so bad. Multiplayer: Same bugs and weapons and stuff in MW2... renamed, Point strike. 1 out
    The campaing/multiplayer of this game terrible, worst CoD ever made sadly. Linear, **** story, old engine... they could make better game if they wouldnt be lazy. Survivor mod is great with friends.

    Single Player: You can finish it in like 4 hours... sux story.
    Survivor mode: I realy like that, not so bad.
    Multiplayer: Same bugs and weapons and stuff in MW2... renamed, Point strike.

    1 out of 10 coz of survivor mode
    Expand
  30. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This is realy cool game. I bouth it for 20$. Well... Money = Gameplay. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like. Like.
  31. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    Quite simply single player is passable, but it's hard to tell the quality of the multiplayer. This is mostly due to the fact that almost no one can actually connect to the MW3 servers. Waste of money especially considering this has been a problem since launch and nothing has been done.
  32. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I'm really very disappointed. Activision just re-released MW2 with a few new maps, but with the same dynamics, same weapons and same error messages. It doesn't deserve a 70$ price. I've never thought that I would give "0" score to one of my favourite series but this expansion pack shouldn't be released as a new game. Next year there will be another CoD game. I think it will be a goodI'm really very disappointed. Activision just re-released MW2 with a few new maps, but with the same dynamics, same weapons and same error messages. It doesn't deserve a 70$ price. I've never thought that I would give "0" score to one of my favourite series but this expansion pack shouldn't be released as a new game. Next year there will be another CoD game. I think it will be a good expansion pack to Black Ops which will be sold separately for 70$ too. Activision; we are not stupid as you think. We are not idiots who will accept everything you fail as something awesome. I'd rather play MW or MW2 than MW3... Expand
  33. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Where in **** name should I start? The menus identical to MW2, the graphics are a match for GameBoy Colour and the the gampplay is the exact same I mean it's Identical.
    This game isnnothing but an expensive rip-off.
    COD has beaten so many games with the same game in a different box and now tier creators can beg all they want but we really shouldn't give in and give them HUGE Zâ
  34. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!!Ceaters!!!!! Expand
  35. Jul 29, 2012
    2
    Multiplayer Blah blah blah garbage poop blah garbage... Honestly, this is a $60 DLC, this is Modern Warfare 2.21 at best, and a crapload more DLCS making this rehashed game worth more than $100 of instant garbage so they can sell millions of copies to console fanboys, this game wasn't developed for PC players. Just another year of stale gameplay with slightly new features and changes, butMultiplayer Blah blah blah garbage poop blah garbage... Honestly, this is a $60 DLC, this is Modern Warfare 2.21 at best, and a crapload more DLCS making this rehashed game worth more than $100 of instant garbage so they can sell millions of copies to console fanboys, this game wasn't developed for PC players. Just another year of stale gameplay with slightly new features and changes, but all still the same, and PVP for PC players is garbage, sure, they have private servers, but you can only rank in PVP matches which are no fun half the time because player host issues. Oh, I would have gave this a 1 rating, but I always enjoyed the single player story campaign of the series, the story felt like I was playing in a Michael Bay movie, EXPLOSIONS, BOOM! MORE EXPLOSIONS! AWESOME! so I gave it 2. Expand
  36. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Años rompiendo record en ventas, record en ganacias, la formula CODMW es buena y hay que sacarle provecho, pero ya a esta altura los usuarios nos mereciamos por lo menos un motor grafico nuevo, me parece una burla lo que hicieron. El MW3 es el DLC mas caro del Modern Warfare 2. Darle un poco mas de brillo a lo que existia no es mejorar el motor grafico. Sean honestos con suAños rompiendo record en ventas, record en ganacias, la formula CODMW es buena y hay que sacarle provecho, pero ya a esta altura los usuarios nos mereciamos por lo menos un motor grafico nuevo, me parece una burla lo que hicieron. El MW3 es el DLC mas caro del Modern Warfare 2. Darle un poco mas de brillo a lo que existia no es mejorar el motor grafico. Sean honestos con su publico y entreguen algo digno. Expand
  37. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    This isn't a rant from a review "bomber" as the media is putting it, this is a review from a truly disheartened Call of Duty fan and PC gamer. Modern Warfare 3 is unbelievably disappointing for a franchise which used to be the leader in innovation for the FPS genre. Yes the graphics, menus, sound effects, and just about everything else are identical to Modern Warfare 2. I can forgive theThis isn't a rant from a review "bomber" as the media is putting it, this is a review from a truly disheartened Call of Duty fan and PC gamer. Modern Warfare 3 is unbelievably disappointing for a franchise which used to be the leader in innovation for the FPS genre. Yes the graphics, menus, sound effects, and just about everything else are identical to Modern Warfare 2. I can forgive the game to a certain extent for the recycling, but what I cannot accept is how bad the map design, respawns, and matchmaking system is. The maps are smaller than ever, circular mazes of narrow alleys littered with random junk and enemies respawning behind you. 80% of your deaths will be someone who respawned and shot you in your back. Apparently Infinity Ward learned nothing from the failure of the matchmaking system in Modern Warfare 2 as the exact same system is back in full force, and that once again means you cannot kick the many hackers, cheaters, racists, and flamers you will inevitably meet, this of course not counting the fact that you will often experience lag in games where you will shoot half your clip only to see in the killcam that you were standing like an idiot and only managing to fire off 2 bullets. The inclusion of dedicated servers would have fixed 1/2 the issues of what is an "okay" game, but sadly it is not to be. Avoid the PC version, it's not worth the heart ache. Expand
  38. Feb 19, 2012
    0
    there are only about 5 hours of single nice player but this is to less for rating.
    My DownRating is for the Multiplayer, because auf tiny maps and mass of cheating.
  39. Nov 26, 2011
    6
    Another COD, another year.
    + Single player is inrtesting,fun and epic
    - Single player lasts only 4.5 hours + Co-Op offers alot of content in which you alone or with a friend can waste alot of time trying to get higher scores,rank up and earn achievments -Multiplayer is unbalanced, Akimbo weapons are OP, Everyone camps, Broken hit detection, OP killstreaks and it has a weak anti cheat
    Another COD, another year.
    + Single player is inrtesting,fun and epic
    - Single player lasts only 4.5 hours
    + Co-Op offers alot of content in which you alone or with a friend can waste alot of time trying to get higher scores,rank up and earn achievments
    -Multiplayer is unbalanced, Akimbo weapons are OP, Everyone camps, Broken hit detection, OP killstreaks and it has a weak anti cheat system that nevers bans hackers
    +Even thought the MP suffers from alot of problems it's still playable, it's not as good as COD2's,COD4's or BLack Opse's MP but it still can be fun here and there.
    - Ugly outdated visuals
    - Alot of content in the game is copy pasted from MW2.
    + Good optimization, unlike previous COD titles that were extreamly unoptimized and cheap console ports this COD game runs nice and smooth even on low to mid range gaming PCs.
    Expand
  40. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This game fails on many levels. Too many to name here. A blockbuster robbery of taking our 60 bucks. They repackaged mw2 and changed a perk or 2 and pushed it out the door to sell. I am pissd. I can't believe how they did not listen to one single thing from the PC community. The dedicated servers are not ranked so we have to play with horrible lag that erupts from the terrible iwnet andThis game fails on many levels. Too many to name here. A blockbuster robbery of taking our 60 bucks. They repackaged mw2 and changed a perk or 2 and pushed it out the door to sell. I am pissd. I can't believe how they did not listen to one single thing from the PC community. The dedicated servers are not ranked so we have to play with horrible lag that erupts from the terrible iwnet and matchmaking mess that comes with this piece of garbage. I want a refund. I could have bought 2 ubisoft games and had more fun and more support. This game will require 4 patches to make it playable. Expand
  41. Mar 2, 2012
    2
    COD 4: MW I really enjoyed. MW2 was alright but given that I basically can't remember it can't have been that great. With that said I did get a strange sense of deja-vu playing MW3... If Activision can't be bothered to come up with reasonable plot I can't be bothered to finish writing this... Utterly whatever.
  42. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    Woops, I gave it a 10 when I meant a 3. My bad. Anyways, the solo in this game, the solo in BF3, the solo in Black Ops, the solo in MW2 all are not worth more than $7.00.
  43. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Do I have to comment? Its another CoD. For me Call of Duty died with MW2. Black Ops profanated the dead corpse and now MW3 is just 100% necrophillia! The game is clearlly a console port, **** textures, **** antialiasing and **** FOV setting (well, the ABSENCE of option to change FOV). Missing any sense in the campaign story which look like they introduced a "something" to make theyreDo I have to comment? Its another CoD. For me Call of Duty died with MW2. Black Ops profanated the dead corpse and now MW3 is just 100% necrophillia! The game is clearlly a console port, **** textures, **** antialiasing and **** FOV setting (well, the ABSENCE of option to change FOV). Missing any sense in the campaign story which look like they introduced a "something" to make theyre unbearable game more bearable perhaps? Expand
  44. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    I gave it a shot, and as soon as I started.. BOOM; it felt very stale from the get go. However, they do know how to suck you in and do a great job of creating over the top action. The flaw is, MW4 wasn't this over the top. It had good pacing and felt smart. MW3, on the other-hand is like a kid with AA that keeps talking and jumping around. I get bored of playing it quick, because it justI gave it a shot, and as soon as I started.. BOOM; it felt very stale from the get go. However, they do know how to suck you in and do a great job of creating over the top action. The flaw is, MW4 wasn't this over the top. It had good pacing and felt smart. MW3, on the other-hand is like a kid with AA that keeps talking and jumping around. I get bored of playing it quick, because it just doesn't stop yelling at me. The missions feel for the most part, to short and just to much **** going on to take anything in. All the games like usual have some great ideas and gameplay moments, its just sad to see them all wasted in this game. Expand
  45. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I bought both BF3 and MW3. The game play didn't change a bit, honestly I am done with Call of Duty series, it was well respected once but now it is just a video game soap opera. MW3 animation on PC with 120hz monitor looks very very outdated.
    BF3 isn't perfect but BF3 feels plays like AAA title and MW3 it is just a poor B title that somehow gets so much attention. If this game (MW3) would
    I bought both BF3 and MW3. The game play didn't change a bit, honestly I am done with Call of Duty series, it was well respected once but now it is just a video game soap opera. MW3 animation on PC with 120hz monitor looks very very outdated.
    BF3 isn't perfect but BF3 feels plays like AAA title and MW3 it is just a poor B title that somehow gets so much attention. If this game (MW3) would be called Homefront no critic would give it more then 60% percent. Homefront multiplayer is so much better and more fun compared to MW3 arcade crazy running around in the claustrophobic levels with lots of square rooms in the middle, level design just doesn't make any sense. It the old days it would've been an expansion for the price of the usual call of duty map pack. STOP BUYING GAMES LIKE THIS ONE OTHERWISE THEY WILL MAKE MORE OF THEM LIKE THAT - said hypocrite
    Expand
  46. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    WHAT THE F*** WERE THEY THINKING - This is a game I will openly admit to pirating, I downloaded this game off the internet without paying *gasp* why? because... copy/paste of modern warfare 2. they bought back dedicated servers for the pc in black ops along with zombies. zombies are the only reason I purchased black ops, the story was interesting but ultimately redundant when you enter theWHAT THE F*** WERE THEY THINKING - This is a game I will openly admit to pirating, I downloaded this game off the internet without paying *gasp* why? because... copy/paste of modern warfare 2. they bought back dedicated servers for the pc in black ops along with zombies. zombies are the only reason I purchased black ops, the story was interesting but ultimately redundant when you enter the multiplayer only to hear people arguing over who has the bigger **** because they got a 360 noscope. To a point this is funny but its in EVERY cod game, you simply don't get this in battlefied because there are filtered voice channels to cut out the bs HINT HINT...... this is more a map pack than a new game, I may have considered buying this if it was an addon for mw2 for like $10 as I own mw2 (only for the fact that I can't re-sell my cd key) Expand
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    While the successful formula is still there, this game is just plain lazy. Sorry. Graphically the game hasn't gotten any better since CoD4 (if not worse). The SAME sounds, SAME animations, SAME guns, and almost everything is recycled and it's painfully obvious. It's sad because it's even more recycled than previous CoDs whereas Black Ops actually looked quite a bit different, there is noWhile the successful formula is still there, this game is just plain lazy. Sorry. Graphically the game hasn't gotten any better since CoD4 (if not worse). The SAME sounds, SAME animations, SAME guns, and almost everything is recycled and it's painfully obvious. It's sad because it's even more recycled than previous CoDs whereas Black Ops actually looked quite a bit different, there is no difference between this and previous titles in the series. I mean, it's a fun formula but this kind of laziness is inexcusable. Expand
  48. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    wow a new MW. and it's so over used and dated. to top it off the MP is so lame nothing new about it. my god can we think of something better then that crap. we all know those critics are being paid to write great reviews for this game since it is a pile of crap
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    This game is riddled with flaws and old game mechanics. Activision needs to learn that the key to keeping a game fresh is a new take on the series. -Campaign-

    Modern Warfare 3's campaign offers absolutely nothing to it's players over Modern Warfare 2, and certainly nothing over Call of Duty 4. It's an extremely shallow experience that consists of nothing but scripted sequences and
    This game is riddled with flaws and old game mechanics. Activision needs to learn that the key to keeping a game fresh is a new take on the series. -Campaign-

    Modern Warfare 3's campaign offers absolutely nothing to it's players over Modern Warfare 2, and certainly nothing over Call of Duty 4. It's an extremely shallow experience that consists of nothing but scripted sequences and corridors. It seems like there are more times you are riding in a vehicle blasting away at people in comparison to just walking around. It's more a movie than a game. Some twists are present, but the story isn't so good to begin with so the twists are inconsequential.

    -Multiplayer-

    The only part of this game I consider playable. On one hand, it looks like they took a cue from Battlefield 3 - all of the weapons have an experience bar to fill. On the other hand, they didn't take much of a cue from anything else, there's no innovation with respect to actual gameplay. It's all familiar things seen in all of the other games except this time it's called Modern Warfare 3. No thanks, I'll stick to BF3 and Skyrim for my gaming needs for now.

    -Graphics-

    Sad. They're still running the game on old technology, and the game still looks and feels like an old game. I don't want to play a game that looks like it came out in 2007 in 2011. It's sad that Activision won't shell out the cash to license a better game engine. That might actually, you know, take considerable effort on the parts of the developers that need to rehash old code to be able to release a game every single year.

    - Map Design -

    It's okay. The maps don't feel much improved from MW2 or it's DLC. I don't have a favorite because they all feel about the same quality-wise.

    -Overall-

    3/10. I would give it a 1/10, but I did enjoy a bit of multiplayer earlier. That's not to say that the score would improve with repeated playing, I'm just saying that there was something enjoyable about the game. Given that this is the FOURTH time Activision has released the same exact game, I guess that says something. The graphics are bad, the multiplayer is uninteresting, and again, there aren't REALLY dedicated servers. Do not buy this if you are a PC gamer, it's not meant for you. Buy it on your XBOX if you just HAVE to stay up and current with the most current gaming trends. Other than that, if you didn't like the Call of Duty series up until now, you aren't going to start with this game. It's not innovative in any way.
    Expand
  50. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    What can I say? I've already played this game 10 times before (literally, I've played each CoD all the way through and they've never changed). It's the same mechanics, same endless stream of units, flashy effects and ill-balanced guns with cap gun sounds.

    I just... I dunno how better to say it than, it's just not fun.
  51. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    All of the Call of Duty titles play very similarly, in fact there is very little difference in the way it plays going way back to the original Call of Duty. Why are people only just figuring this out? Is that a bad thing? Hell no! The game has been tweaked and tuned to perfection along the way. There is a reason why it's the #1 Franchise. Love it or hate it. MW3 runs brilliantly on allAll of the Call of Duty titles play very similarly, in fact there is very little difference in the way it plays going way back to the original Call of Duty. Why are people only just figuring this out? Is that a bad thing? Hell no! The game has been tweaked and tuned to perfection along the way. There is a reason why it's the #1 Franchise. Love it or hate it. MW3 runs brilliantly on all ports and add's some neat features to keep the fans happy. Not to mention the gritty campaign we have all come to appreciate from all of the Call of Duty titles. It's not perfect, dedicated servers and added pc features such as FoV etc would have been nice. However I'm going to give this a 10 to compensate for all the thoughtless 0's I'm seeing. Good job Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer! I look forward to your next installment. Expand
  52. MB_
    Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Having enjoyed MW1 back in the day but not trying MW2 I thought I'd jump forward with three to see how far things had come. They really hadn't graphically. This looks terrible, I really can't think of a game that looks this bad in modern times. I've tried repeatedly to fix it, but that shouldn't be hard to do. Little things like not being able to turn down the sound and music separatelyHaving enjoyed MW1 back in the day but not trying MW2 I thought I'd jump forward with three to see how far things had come. They really hadn't graphically. This looks terrible, I really can't think of a game that looks this bad in modern times. I've tried repeatedly to fix it, but that shouldn't be hard to do. Little things like not being able to turn down the sound and music separately irritate immensely but when I got online things turned even worse. The game is a first person shooter but its using the geeky XP system which makes games unfair against newbies, purely by giving early adopters weapon and equipment bonuses. This is just morally bankrupt. The game looks bad, plays worse. I feel ripped off! Avoid!! Expand
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same textures, same animations, releasing game too often, laggy. There is nothing positive about Call of Duty Modern Warfare franchise since Call of Duty 4 yet it's getting so high sales ? Why ... why why why, I really don't understand that. maybe it's becasue of multiplayer which doesn't require any sense of "skill" from player to score a frag, or maybe because it's paradise for campers,Same textures, same animations, releasing game too often, laggy. There is nothing positive about Call of Duty Modern Warfare franchise since Call of Duty 4 yet it's getting so high sales ? Why ... why why why, I really don't understand that. maybe it's becasue of multiplayer which doesn't require any sense of "skill" from player to score a frag, or maybe because it's paradise for campers, glitchers, cheaters and other weak gamers that think they are cool. Questions questions questions ... Luckily most of players are amercinas, that means there is still future for normal games for normal players, let the americans have their sh*tty game. Expand
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    First to start of to say this, how in gods name can a PC version get a lover critics review that the console version they both suck the same...Activision i truly hope that u go under in utter shame..

    On the game front OMFG this one is even more idiotic then MW2, i just can t get it how the hell could they make a worse story line then mw2. How can u make a worse level that the one in mw2
    First to start of to say this, how in gods name can a PC version get a lover critics review that the console version they both suck the same...Activision i truly hope that u go under in utter shame..

    On the game front OMFG this one is even more idiotic then MW2, i just can t get it how the hell could they make a worse story line then mw2. How can u make a worse level that the one in mw2 airport when u kill 1000 ppl no cameras in the airport to see that it is actually Makarov killing them and to make things even worse u chase a F... bullet to Brazil. On that idiocy of a premise the story line just picks up in mw3 "find Makarov and u will en the war" what stupidity what idiocy this is only i mean only u can call me a biggit here mean for over stupid fat retarded Americans, Europeans can not eat this crap. As for the game play itself this goes to AC CHANGE THE F... ENGINE ALREADY THIS ONE SUCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS, it is outdated buggy and makes so much **** on crossfire and sli platforms.The maps are so poorly made that i on the hardest difficulty just started to run forward just to passed them so i can finish the game which in the end i did in a day and i was happy for once in my loong loong gaming career over 15 years, that it is a short campaign. The games storyline as i sad only for stupid retarded Americans (not all). It makes no sense it has no potency no memorable characters to which u can relate in fact just don t listen to it. DON T BUY THIS GAME IT IS NOT WORTH 60 DOLLARS OR EUROS i was and idiot who bought it thinking that this game will fix mw2 idiocy IT DOES NOT.
    Expand
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Everything that was wrong with the previous games, is repeated here. MW3 is essentially a money making cow full of terrible rehashes (some models and textures are outright COPIED from MW2 and CoD4) that's targeted at one of the worst audiences. The price is absurd, the gameplay is stale, the campaign is simply boring, and the only thing this thing SHOULD have going for it is multiplayer,Everything that was wrong with the previous games, is repeated here. MW3 is essentially a money making cow full of terrible rehashes (some models and textures are outright COPIED from MW2 and CoD4) that's targeted at one of the worst audiences. The price is absurd, the gameplay is stale, the campaign is simply boring, and the only thing this thing SHOULD have going for it is multiplayer, which is populated by either 13-year olds or idiots and operates on incredibly frustrating mechanics. Expand
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    MW3 goes backwards in terms of MP Maps, they are simply horrible, they are claustrophobic, any MP map from previous games is superior, we end up spawning in middle of enemies, and i believe that some nice maps are coming in form of DLC of course, which is absolutely ridiculous, not a single decently designed map in base game.
    This game feels completly "recycled"., thanks god i only paid
    MW3 goes backwards in terms of MP Maps, they are simply horrible, they are claustrophobic, any MP map from previous games is superior, we end up spawning in middle of enemies, and i believe that some nice maps are coming in form of DLC of course, which is absolutely ridiculous, not a single decently designed map in base game.
    This game feels completly "recycled"., thanks god i only paid 10$ for it, or i would feel a even bigger regret than i already feel at moment.
    No graphic evolution at all, horrible FoV in PC (at least BO's had the option to adjust it), ost is inferior at all levels to previous title MW2...it all feels recycled and not fun at all.
    People call this a MW2.5, I call it a MW1.5..
    Expand
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Simply the worst game that ever came out. The dev guy asked on twitter for people to rate it up and for that alone it deserves to be downrated to hell.
    Story is bad, gameplay is same as in other ones, this could have been DLC to mw1.
  58. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    Technically sub par with severely overrated gameplay and missing platform features.

    That sums up Call of Duty experience on the PC. The franchise is a technology dinosaur when it comes to the FPS genre, especially on the PC which hasn't stayed the same since 2007's release of the console centric Modern Warfare. It doesn't set the bar, in fact it's behind the curve significantly, and if
    Technically sub par with severely overrated gameplay and missing platform features.

    That sums up Call of Duty experience on the PC. The franchise is a technology dinosaur when it comes to the FPS genre, especially on the PC which hasn't stayed the same since 2007's release of the console centric Modern Warfare. It doesn't set the bar, in fact it's behind the curve significantly, and if you're a PC gamer it's going to be instantly noticeable and painful. Painful because of how much of a bad console port it truly is. Elite service is missing outright. Ranked dedicated servers don't exist. It's back to console technology of peer-to-peer multiplayer networking. No advanced graphical technology or redesigned anything for increased player counters either.

    PC gamers should really not have to accept such things especially in a genre that was born on the PC. Continuing to purchase Call of Duty on the PC when every year the games lose more features for the PC platform specifically isn't going to change anything. Quit buying awful console ports with missing features PC gamers or else that's all you're going to have in the end. Support developers who incorporate the PC's strengths and are willing to go the extra couple of feet with multiplatform releases. 5: It functions and decent production values. It does nothing new, missing features, and significantly behind other competitors out there.
    Expand
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    I don't know if I believe the other scores here or if people are just fed up. I think the game is fun in the campaign (although much too short like the rest in the series) the last mission is pretty amazing tbh. Multiplayer unfortunately feels a bit too samey for my tastes. The graphics are alright, although they definately need a new engine now. Overall I think critics rated this too highI don't know if I believe the other scores here or if people are just fed up. I think the game is fun in the campaign (although much too short like the rest in the series) the last mission is pretty amazing tbh. Multiplayer unfortunately feels a bit too samey for my tastes. The graphics are alright, although they definately need a new engine now. Overall I think critics rated this too high and it should get an average of around 70 %. Expand
  60. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This game uses the same engine as Modern Warfare 2, doesn't show us anything new, the campaign is patethic, boring and way too easy, the multiplayer is more of the same (as I said already). Also, there will be alot of DLCs. Incredible, this game is probably the worst ever.
  61. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    The only thing I can see slightly good about this game is some of the typical action in the campaign, even then the graphics are the same as mw2, if not worse. There is nothing new in this game, the "new" maps are boring, the multiplayer is the same as mw2 and it uses matchmaking. Crap low res textures, Anti aliasing does not appear to work in this game either. It is an overhyped game thatThe only thing I can see slightly good about this game is some of the typical action in the campaign, even then the graphics are the same as mw2, if not worse. There is nothing new in this game, the "new" maps are boring, the multiplayer is the same as mw2 and it uses matchmaking. Crap low res textures, Anti aliasing does not appear to work in this game either. It is an overhyped game that gets old in 5 minutes and was not worth my money. There are better FPS games to be played out there, Black ops is better, BF3 is better etc etc Expand
  62. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    After thinking about the original score I gave this (a zero) I decided to at least be nice and award it a 5. Five because you will have fun (just don't buy it at 60 bucks) but its something we've seen before (and something we'll see in 2012 as Activision ALREADY announced the new one). Some would say, don't fix something that isn't broken but there must be something wrong if people areAfter thinking about the original score I gave this (a zero) I decided to at least be nice and award it a 5. Five because you will have fun (just don't buy it at 60 bucks) but its something we've seen before (and something we'll see in 2012 as Activision ALREADY announced the new one). Some would say, don't fix something that isn't broken but there must be something wrong if people are giving it such a low rating. If you respect the gaming community (by not milking money out of us) we'll respect you, a pretty easy concept to remember Expand
  63. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Why anyone would like to play this? Nothing has changed and I don't think it ever will. Sorry but every 9-10 score is a lie in honest customer face. For example game engine is so old, that i want to cry. When i bought MW3 all i saw was fact that budget for this game was like 5% to making product and 95% for commercial noise. Sorry guys, this was definately last time with this crap.
  64. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't know what's up with the negative reviews here. The game is a most profitable production in the history of gaming while everybody here are complaining. I get it that it's action and explosion all around and everybody already seen that in the previous reveals of this franchise but... so #@% what?! The game is FANTASTIC! Campaign is absolutely jaw-dropping and the multiI honestly don't know what's up with the negative reviews here. The game is a most profitable production in the history of gaming while everybody here are complaining. I get it that it's action and explosion all around and everybody already seen that in the previous reveals of this franchise but... so #@% what?! The game is FANTASTIC! Campaign is absolutely jaw-dropping and the multi allows you to fight, fight, fight rather than run, run, and die as in the BF3... Though it's less realistic for me it's much more fun to play! Expand
  65. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    On my mind, CoD 4 is the best game in this series. New game from IW haven't many originals moments, than MW or MW 2. It is a good shooter with interesting multiplayer. But I hope, that singleplayer of MW 3 will be better. But, but, but... It is Call of Duty. It is the most popular game in the world on this moment.
  66. Nov 15, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After MW2's incredibly stupid story line, i wasn't expecting much but i was still let down... somehow. Everything is predictable, and SPOILERALERT just about everyone with a name dies, predictably and/or implausibly. each mission sends you along, you gain support which is always, ALWAYS obliterated in some fashion, nothing goes according to plan. I predicted the "twists" well in advance. They essentially take everything from MW1 and 2 that they thought worked and pasted it together. you will find yourself knocked down and crawling more times than i can count. characters die heroically for absolutely no reason, multiple times to patriotic tunes. this MW bring the times makarov kills the player up by a couple tallies too... This was purly on the single player aspect, i assume its entirely identical to MW2 in muiltiplayer Expand
  67. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Yet another mod of CoD4 they are releasing to take money from uninformed players. This game brings *nothing* new, fun or interesting to the industry, it just perpetuates the boring respawnfest that is allowing real innovation to happen. I genuinely played it looking for reasons why it's any different from the last 3 identical titles. I honestly couldn't say I found a thing. Hopefully thisYet another mod of CoD4 they are releasing to take money from uninformed players. This game brings *nothing* new, fun or interesting to the industry, it just perpetuates the boring respawnfest that is allowing real innovation to happen. I genuinely played it looking for reasons why it's any different from the last 3 identical titles. I honestly couldn't say I found a thing. Hopefully this trend blows over so progress can be made int he industry. Expand
  68. Dec 8, 2011
    6
    I'm probably re-stating everything everyone else has said about MW3........it's essentially MW2 with the ending. I wasn't expecting anything innovative or new as we all saw the game trailers (or lack therof) and saw that this was still the same game. There wasn't the huge push for this game like MW2 so I went in with moderate expectations. I enjoyed the game albeit as short as the singleI'm probably re-stating everything everyone else has said about MW3........it's essentially MW2 with the ending. I wasn't expecting anything innovative or new as we all saw the game trailers (or lack therof) and saw that this was still the same game. There wasn't the huge push for this game like MW2 so I went in with moderate expectations. I enjoyed the game albeit as short as the single player campaign was. They tweaked the multiplayer somewhat but it's still the console port and lone wolf running around that MW2 was. I do like the special forces portion of the game and continue to actually play that when BF3 is acting up (which seems to be all the time now). I would recommend purchasing the game when it goes on sale as it is worth playing. Expand
  69. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Well, to say the least, well, I AM saying the least - this game flat out sucks. Where the hell is the innovation activision keeps spouting about their games? Clone of MW2. Not worth 60 dollars.
  70. Vic
    Dec 6, 2011
    8
    I understand everyone's anger. The game is pretty much the same as MW2, but for me who haven't played MW2 this game looks okay. The story is stupid but fun to play, the multiplayer has not a lot of improvement but I'm sure that everyone who bought the game will spend tons of hours playing it!
  71. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    A disappointment on all levels. Same as MW2. Nothing new will be added to this series. The developers are mediocre at best. There is no more creativity from these people.
  72. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    The graphics on the PC version are shockingly bad, it looks worse than Black Ops. The Multiplayer maps are dull and fell like mazes. Very disapointed in the PC verison.

    The FOV is terrable looking and makes the game look even worse, at least in Black ops you could change it. This is a massive step backwards from Black Ops. Theres hardly any video options to make it look any better which
    The graphics on the PC version are shockingly bad, it looks worse than Black Ops. The Multiplayer maps are dull and fell like mazes. Very disapointed in the PC verison.

    The FOV is terrable looking and makes the game look even worse, at least in Black ops you could change it. This is a massive step backwards from Black Ops.

    Theres hardly any video options to make it look any better which is shocking. Waste of money.
    Expand
  73. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    I love how half the people reviewing this compare it to BF3, which is not a good game at all. MW3 is good, it's not a sniper war and I can't believe people compare this game to BF3 based on graphics. Graphics mean little really. Gameplay and CONTROLS are number one, always. This game is fine, the best of all of the CoD game, so definitely don't listen to the people here. They are justI love how half the people reviewing this compare it to BF3, which is not a good game at all. MW3 is good, it's not a sniper war and I can't believe people compare this game to BF3 based on graphics. Graphics mean little really. Gameplay and CONTROLS are number one, always. This game is fine, the best of all of the CoD game, so definitely don't listen to the people here. They are just making juvenile comments. The whole forced war between BF3 and CoD MW3 was stupid and juvenile and people who subscribe to that kind of thinking of foolish. Expand
  74. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Ok first the good, The set pieces in the campaign are epic! Don't get me wrong, they have all been used in past CoD's but they still wow today. Also Dedicated servers makes a return! This has been a much sort after feature, although there are some serious downsides, I will mention them shortly.

    The Bad? Well lets dive into this shall we? First off, the graphics, engine, textures,
    Ok first the good, The set pieces in the campaign are epic! Don't get me wrong, they have all been used in past CoD's but they still wow today. Also Dedicated servers makes a return! This has been a much sort after feature, although there are some serious downsides, I will mention them shortly.

    The Bad? Well lets dive into this shall we? First off, the graphics, engine, textures, animations, sound effects...Everything is copy & paste from MW2 which in effect was C&P from MW1. Essentially, I just paid £40 to play MW1 all over again. Second, Dedicated servers are not ranked?! this is rediculous and frankly defeated the point of re-adding them in. All in All, an absolute waste of money, if only i could get my money back. If your looking for a game which is fresh, requires a level of skill and has much improves graphics and gameplay, Battlefield 3 is the one to go for. Ignore the fans saying its down to preference, they are both Modern First Person Shooters, Battlefield is definately the better option in this case.
    Expand
  75. May 15, 2012
    0
    safsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfswsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw dsafsdffdsfdsdhffjhfghxsgd bfbdbsdf dsfdsfdsf dsfsf dsf sdfsgfdg fdg fdg fdgfgdfgd dddd ddf gf ddf gd dfg dfg dfg dfgdfgsafsdfsw d Expand
  76. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    Well, here goes. Modern Warfare 3 is certainly not a bad game, not in the slightest. i enjoy how they continue the campaign story and tie it up, but this is the only CoD title I've ever pre-ordered, and i am sad to say I'm disappointed i did pre-order it. MW3, unlike what people thought it would be, is certainly NOT the most anticipated game ever. i literally just bought it, and im on dayWell, here goes. Modern Warfare 3 is certainly not a bad game, not in the slightest. i enjoy how they continue the campaign story and tie it up, but this is the only CoD title I've ever pre-ordered, and i am sad to say I'm disappointed i did pre-order it. MW3, unlike what people thought it would be, is certainly NOT the most anticipated game ever. i literally just bought it, and im on day 2 and i'm already back to Battlefield Bad Company 2. The story is, somewhere in between good and great, but the actual campaign has little to no replayability. of course, i develop close bonds with the main characters, but that doesn't mean i actually enjoy the campaign. The multiplayer is just MW2 with a MW3 coat of paint. granted, this game is MUCH better than Black Ops, but i expected more from the creators of CoD 4 and MW2. PLEASE DONT BUY IT NOW IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREADY!!!! wait 'til the prices drop, or you will have wasted 20 dollars on what i think should be a 30 dollar product (and that's just being nice). I gave it a 6 just because it bored me even more than it did replaying MW2 for the sixth time over, but on its own, it's pretty good. Of course, the multiplayer AND singleplayer weapons are much more on par than CoDBO's were. Spec ops, even though i havent really done much of it yet, is ok, but the scenarios could be a bit less hard. All that stuff they say about the new multiplayer things, dont get all hyped. It's just same-old same-old every man for himself kinda thing that we've had for the past 7 games. It kills me inside to write this, because am truly a fan of CoD, but i must give the truth. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a much better choice, even with all the corporate bullcrap that EA gave it. It also kills me inside to just stop playing after 5 hours of campaign and roughly 30 minutes on multiplayer to go play battlefield, but i just cant stand all the solo, no teamwork stuff that is CoD. But dont believe all the people that gave it a low rating, those are just the younger battlefield fanboys who like CoD, too. FINAL CONCLUSION: MW3 is a rather good game. The campaign story is well put together, but the actual singleplayer gameplay leaves more to be desired. Multiplayer, nothing has changed. remember when you thought Black Ops would be radically different with the points buying guns system? Not only are they back to the same old level up stuff, but i am just depressed with how little they added to the multiplayer. even the maps are the same freaking things. Graphics, jesus christ, they didnt even change the goddamn textures. this game is barely worth $30, based on the previous two, which were totally worth the money. I am sad to say, i slightly disapprove of this game. i hate saying it, especially because its probably the conclusion of the series, but it leaves more to be desired. Thanks a lot InfinityWard, you broke my freakin heart. Expand
  77. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    same old engine, same multiplayer as before but still a nusaince to play on the PC without feeling like your just playing a ported game from the Xbox. Story is the same and it just feels like i am playing a game that does not care and is just auto pilot: Chase scenes, explosions music all fine and dandy but can we have SOMETHING NEW ?!
  78. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I really had high hopes for this game. I know i should not have but I did and there for i am disappointed. For all intensive purposes it is the same game as MW2. The only differences are the plot of the single player and moderately improved graphics. So you are paying $60 for a old game. I am a self admitted COD fan boy i stared playing COD back with the first one. No not MW1 i mean COD1.I really had high hopes for this game. I know i should not have but I did and there for i am disappointed. For all intensive purposes it is the same game as MW2. The only differences are the plot of the single player and moderately improved graphics. So you are paying $60 for a old game. I am a self admitted COD fan boy i stared playing COD back with the first one. No not MW1 i mean COD1. I finished the campaign in three hours on the max difficulty and only died twice. If they had waited 5 years to make this game and had major improvements. For example COD2 vs COD4 it would have been better but no they basically went into production the second they stopped production of MW2. People always say don't compare Halo and COD but i am willing to bet that more hours of work went into redoing the graphics on Halo CE then went into the Graphics on MW3. I am also willing to bet my game computer that i will enjoy the Halo remake more than i enjoyed this. My disappointment in this game has forced me to do the unthinkable. I will now go back to playing BF3. Expand
  79. Feb 10, 2012
    0
    Horrible game, lackluster multi-player that doesn't feel fresh or fun, short single player campaign and very dated graphics. Not worth the money.....
  80. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I'm not surely I really understand what amounts to a war between BF3 and MW3 - there is clearly quite a bit of history there but it's all gone safely over my head. My review is of the game (SP + MP) on the PC. I'm not reviewing Activision's ethics or anything else.

    The single player campaign is a blast. It is a little on the short side though - about the same as MW2. The story is utter
    I'm not surely I really understand what amounts to a war between BF3 and MW3 - there is clearly quite a bit of history there but it's all gone safely over my head. My review is of the game (SP + MP) on the PC. I'm not reviewing Activision's ethics or anything else.

    The single player campaign is a blast. It is a little on the short side though - about the same as MW2. The story is utter nonsense but the action keeps you going. If you think back to the very best levels on MW1 and MW2 there is plenty of this style of action here. The graphics are slightly better - this isn't a revolution but feels like more of the same. If you enjoyed MW1 and MW2 as much as I did then more of the same will feel fine.

    The gameplay is extremely varied. They will often introduce a new element which will play for 10 minutes or so only to move on to something else. Certainly plenty to keep the interest.

    The mulitplayer feels very similar to MW2 and suffers from hackers and cheaters etc to the same extent which can be quite annoying at times. I don't take it all that seriously but racked over 100 hours on MW2 and would expect al least the same on MW3. Then add in Special Ops and survival modes and it's easy to see several hundred hours of playing here.

    The game is extremely smooth and (for a modern new release) is relatively bug free. If all you are interested in is the MP element I can see why you might be frustrated as it amounts to a fairly hefty map pack and a fwe gameplay tweeks. Taking the package as a whole though I see very good value for money in what is going to be one of 2011's biggest games in terms of sales and impact.

    I am thoroughly enjoying this title. I have not posted "wow this is amazing" or "this sucks" but have stated my opinion with clear reasons and explanations. I think if everyone else did the same we would see a much more balanced score.
    Expand
  81. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    The same, same...The first year is fantastic, the second good, the thirth aceptable... but next games, identicals... no, thank you. Activision must change or rest for a years and come back with fresh air.
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Really really good game that doesn't stop the action for 1 second. You will be on your toes having fun for the whole time. Don't forget about the worlds best multiplayer, and the PC version has dedicated servers!
  83. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is simply a rehash. It tries to be deep and reach your emotions by decimating a young girl and her mother. The graphics look like something from 2005, and the gameplay isn't groundbreaking by any means. There is literally no point in buying this game when you can experience the exact same game by playing the original Modern Warfare with the exception that that game is actuallyThis game is simply a rehash. It tries to be deep and reach your emotions by decimating a young girl and her mother. The graphics look like something from 2005, and the gameplay isn't groundbreaking by any means. There is literally no point in buying this game when you can experience the exact same game by playing the original Modern Warfare with the exception that that game is actually playable. They even took the same building models from the first Modern Warfare and sloppily threw it into this game. For shame. Expand
  84. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with a half good product. CoD is value for money but is lacking in original creativity. The special Ops is well done, the story pretty much sucks (no excuses - it sucks and you have brain damage if you think it's a good story), and the multiplayer isThe Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with a half good product. CoD is value for money but is lacking in original creativity. The special Ops is well done, the story pretty much sucks (no excuses - it sucks and you have brain damage if you think it's a good story), and the multiplayer is the same as ever with little innovation. I do recommend MW3 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  85. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    60 Dollars for this? Why did I make the mistake even though my instincts told me to save my money?! This game doesn't even have improved graphics! It's just MW2 all over again with an extended story, but in essence the SAME GAME! You just payed full price for a second copy of MW2 which basically what this is! Plus, if the singleplayer wasn't bad enough the multiplayer wouldn't be so60 Dollars for this? Why did I make the mistake even though my instincts told me to save my money?! This game doesn't even have improved graphics! It's just MW2 all over again with an extended story, but in essence the SAME GAME! You just payed full price for a second copy of MW2 which basically what this is! Plus, if the singleplayer wasn't bad enough the multiplayer wouldn't be so terrible if the servers were not filled with 7th grade fanboy kids who apparently know everything. Expand
  86. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Money.
    Wasted.
    3rd time.

    (if you were stupid enough to buy it.)     
  87. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Nothing new. It should have been a free dlc to the first game of the series. Don't get me wrong. Call of duty is a fine shooter, but there is nothing to be excited about what we get with this release.
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Boring, rehashed crap with a horrible FOV. And the great MW trilogy ends with a **** QTE. Uninspired explosions, railshooting sequences, more explosions, more railshooting. It's just MW2 with different color filters. Don't pay 60 bucks for that crap.

    Go to hell Activision.
  89. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game was a huge waste of money. Do yourself a favour and save your $60 for Bethesda's Skyrim. That game is actually worth the money, and won't let you down like this one. As of November 8th, the first day of release, this game has a 1.4 User Score. 14%, people. The critics haven't reviewed it yet, but I'm betting that because they're all over the COD series dick, it'll get at least anThis game was a huge waste of money. Do yourself a favour and save your $60 for Bethesda's Skyrim. That game is actually worth the money, and won't let you down like this one. As of November 8th, the first day of release, this game has a 1.4 User Score. 14%, people. The critics haven't reviewed it yet, but I'm betting that because they're all over the COD series dick, it'll get at least an 80%. That's a damn shame, because then people will actually go and buy it. I'm hoping most people just pirate this game. It's not worth buying. It's garbage. Expand
  90. Jan 13, 2012
    0
    No effort or love for the PC. No ranked dedicated servers, really? Hardcore players got the shaft big time on game modes. The multiplayer maps are tiny and linear (Black Ops had better stock maps). All in all, I've taken poops more satisfying than playing MW3.
  91. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is a sorry ass joke of a FPS. It's over, COD is finished. As of MW1, this game has been spiraling down to a fiery death. Thank God. Last time I fall for buying this trash.
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    The game is still fun to play specially the multiplayer and survival mode but the downsides is so much more in this title that you just can't ignore them and start to regret that you bought it for $60. The support for PC version is so poor, you cant play on ranked servers, you can't adjust fov, horrible textures, and again the stupidest thing is back and worse the damn Iwnet with laggedThe game is still fun to play specially the multiplayer and survival mode but the downsides is so much more in this title that you just can't ignore them and start to regret that you bought it for $60. The support for PC version is so poor, you cant play on ranked servers, you can't adjust fov, horrible textures, and again the stupidest thing is back and worse the damn Iwnet with lagged matches. The problem is not that it is just more of the same is how poor the pc version is and how they don't care about what players want. Expand
  93. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is just another death knell of the FPS genre. Activision is riding previous success by releasing yet another clone that adds nothing progressive to the series. It's unfortunate that the massive amount of money they make is not being used to create something new. It appears this time they didn't even bother to update the graphics, despite the amazing graphics in their competitor'sThis game is just another death knell of the FPS genre. Activision is riding previous success by releasing yet another clone that adds nothing progressive to the series. It's unfortunate that the massive amount of money they make is not being used to create something new. It appears this time they didn't even bother to update the graphics, despite the amazing graphics in their competitor's Battlefield 3. There are many great games coming out in the following months, don't waste your money on this one. Expand
  94. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Absolute rubbish, don't waste your money. This should be a DLC not sold as a new game. Complete rip off and looks dated and bland on the best PC you could build. I want my money back !
  95. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I see that Activision have bought out the media...What a joke. This game brings nothing new to the table and the critics are praising it. The critics also do a wonderful job of dodging criticising the games flaws (something they have no problem doing to their competitors games) so they can justify their inflated, down-right misleading scores. When the user score is this low, you reallyI see that Activision have bought out the media...What a joke. This game brings nothing new to the table and the critics are praising it. The critics also do a wonderful job of dodging criticising the games flaws (something they have no problem doing to their competitors games) so they can justify their inflated, down-right misleading scores. When the user score is this low, you really have to wonder what is wrong with this industry. Activision are just cashing in on the success of MW1 and have milked this franchise to death. Expand
  96. Dec 21, 2011
    4
    Contrary to those who trashed this game without even playing it, I decided to write a balanced review after splashing out on it and putting in some hours.

    MW3 has a decent single player campaign (although typically short and linear) and reasonable co-op modes, but for me (and most players), it shall be judged upon its multiplayer mode. Now I don't care that it's similar to the last game
    Contrary to those who trashed this game without even playing it, I decided to write a balanced review after splashing out on it and putting in some hours.

    MW3 has a decent single player campaign (although typically short and linear) and reasonable co-op modes, but for me (and most players), it shall be judged upon its multiplayer mode. Now I don't care that it's similar to the last game (why change a formula which is good?), but several key problems crop up. Probably the same things as everyone else, but never mind (do you get it yet, IW/Sledgehammer/Activision?). They are:

    - No Field of View (FOV) setting in the menu. I dont suffer from motion sickness, but prefer a higher FOV and this game can be a bit disorienting because of the tunnel vision of the narrow forced setting.

    - The maps are rather small, and feel rather "samey". Think Favela from MW2, or Showdown from MW. Like Overgrown from MW and MW2? Forget it - nothing that big here.

    - Some of the weapons seriously need to be balanced better (twin machine pistols are back!!!).

    - The matchmaking is rubbish, seemingly even worse than in MW2! Dedicated servers were put in the game, following the outcry after MW2, but guess what, they're unranked, rendering them pointless to the millions of gamers who play for the rewards of unlocks etc.

    Once again, this should've been a return to form for the CoD franchise, but I'm left disappointed. It's perhaps unfair to blame the developers - they've probably been driven to the wall by Activision to get the game out on time, and reduced their efforts on the PC to get the lucrative console stuff up to scratch.
    Expand
  97. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Yeah...I played this game back when it was called Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Activision is the epitome of shovelware since all they do is rehash the same old game, focus on multiplayer, charge 15 bucks per map pack, patch the game for a couple months then ignore it while they work on their next Call of Duty game. No one is going to be playing these games years after it's releaseYeah...I played this game back when it was called Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Activision is the epitome of shovelware since all they do is rehash the same old game, focus on multiplayer, charge 15 bucks per map pack, patch the game for a couple months then ignore it while they work on their next Call of Duty game. No one is going to be playing these games years after it's release because there is always a sequel around the next corner making all the customers sell their old copies and buy the new one. I love it. Expand
  98. Feb 18, 2012
    3
    Copy and paste.
    Copy and paste.
    See, I can do it too Infinity Ward/Activision! Call of Duty 4 was an innovative, very addictive and fun game, and so are all of the call of duties after it up to Modern Warfare 3, because essentially they are all the same game, especially in multiplayer where new maps and a few new guns are the only difference. Also, with this being a new game, I'm surprised
    Copy and paste.
    Copy and paste.
    See, I can do it too Infinity Ward/Activision! Call of Duty 4 was an innovative, very addictive and fun game, and so are all of the call of duties after it up to Modern Warfare 3, because essentially they are all the same game, especially in multiplayer where new maps and a few new guns are the only difference. Also, with this being a new game, I'm surprised by the muddy visuals and drab textures/colors, even compared to past games in the series.
    Expand
  99. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    What a bad game. The singleplayer is 4 hours long and the multiplayer is exactly the same **** that the other CODs since Modern Warfare 1. I wouldn't even pay $10 for this piece of crap. Also, no control support, DLCs with 3 maps for $15, the Activision support is **** etc. If you find this a good game, you seriously need to shoot yourself.
  100. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    Singleplayer was average. The compaign was repetitive and unoriginal, Spec Ops missions were better, but nothing overly special. Survival however, is amazing. And makes up for the weakness of the rest of the singleplayer experience. And then there's multiplayer, which had it's unoriginality, but with that aside, was amazing. There's something for every FPS fan here. I see why there areSingleplayer was average. The compaign was repetitive and unoriginal, Spec Ops missions were better, but nothing overly special. Survival however, is amazing. And makes up for the weakness of the rest of the singleplayer experience. And then there's multiplayer, which had it's unoriginality, but with that aside, was amazing. There's something for every FPS fan here. I see why there are negative user reviews here, but I personally love it (Apart from the campaign and spec ops missions, which were still good) Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]