User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 597 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 597

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Alex
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This game doesn't deserve so much criticism JUST because it goes back to the WWII theme. There have been hundreds of games about WWII and even the BIA HH is also WWII theme and nobody complains about it. I think it has fantastic graphics, unbelievable sound and atmosphere. I have voted a bit higher than I would have just to equal out a bit other users bad votes. My real objective This game doesn't deserve so much criticism JUST because it goes back to the WWII theme. There have been hundreds of games about WWII and even the BIA HH is also WWII theme and nobody complains about it. I think it has fantastic graphics, unbelievable sound and atmosphere. I have voted a bit higher than I would have just to equal out a bit other users bad votes. My real objective vote would have been a 9. This is just my opinion but I respect others. Collapse
  2. PaulioR.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    This is absolutely an amazing game experience for the PC gaming. the online play is fantastic and the zombie mode adds a new quality to the call of duty warfare. Best game of 2008!
  3. TonyL
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    Not a bad game at all. There are many map packs/patches now all for free. I spent over 200hrs on multiplayer and to me is more enjoyable than CoD4 multiplayer. This game isn't as much as a noob game as CoD4. You knife slower in succession, can't jump continually, reload slower, etc.
  4. GeorgeS.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I was blown away about the story line, but like always graphics need some tweaking and some glitches here there but all in all as a game review before games come out i can bet there will be huge improvement! A must buy!
  5. marcP
    Aug 11, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome. Yet, it's really underrated. Still, people who play Call of Duty : World At War are really like CoD4 players, they hate updates. they're still alot of people who play the first version of the game. Multiplayer is great. And it's way more gory than Call of Duty 4. They say Co-op is crappy and blah blah blah. All the same crap from all the same crap This game is awesome. Yet, it's really underrated. Still, people who play Call of Duty : World At War are really like CoD4 players, they hate updates. they're still alot of people who play the first version of the game. Multiplayer is great. And it's way more gory than Call of Duty 4. They say Co-op is crappy and blah blah blah. All the same crap from all the same crap people. I say Call of Duty World At War over Call of Duty 4 because of, of course, the zombie mode! That thing is sick! It's almost better than Left 4 Dead. Singleplayer is fun, but buy it for the multiplayer. I have both Call of Duty 4 AND World At War, but World At War is my favourite. Expand
  6. ChrisQ
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    One of the best World War 2 shooters Ive ever played. The battles are great because your not storming Normandy for the seven millionth time. There are Russian missions however these feel more darker and more brutal from previous games.
  7. NickC.
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    So far its awesome. I love the gameplay, I loved call of duty 4s engine, I love the coop, this game is where its at as far as FPS. One thing, the reason i didnt give it a 10.. Too many WW2 games already. Lets let it rest. Be creative!
  8. CodyS
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    WaW is the best WW2 game i've played yet, i like the choices in weapons with the attachments (also discovered that the japanese had this thing for bayonets on thier weapons :D) I really like the idea of the flamethrower, its very fun in multiplayer, and also the perks are tailored to actually make sense in the WW2 world, and unlike what SJT-Ruler said about "Experienced gamers will WaW is the best WW2 game i've played yet, i like the choices in weapons with the attachments (also discovered that the japanese had this thing for bayonets on thier weapons :D) I really like the idea of the flamethrower, its very fun in multiplayer, and also the perks are tailored to actually make sense in the WW2 world, and unlike what SJT-Ruler said about "Experienced gamers will die over and over again," which is a complete lie... i'm a very experienced gamer and i play very well, i just think that SJT is a terrible gamer and won't admit it. But i've played this game and would recommend it to my friends and others to buy. Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    I'm giving this game a 10 just to even out the stupidly low score on this game. It's CoD4 with a World War 2 theme. The multiplayer is fun, the singleplayer has interesting moments. My real score of this game would be an 8 or a 9, but I just feel the need to even out the score that these "HURR DURR COD4 RIPOFF, SINGLEPLAYER NOT GOOD ENOUGH" morons gave it. Who the hell doesn't buy Call ofI'm giving this game a 10 just to even out the stupidly low score on this game. It's CoD4 with a World War 2 theme. The multiplayer is fun, the singleplayer has interesting moments. My real score of this game would be an 8 or a 9, but I just feel the need to even out the score that these "HURR DURR COD4 RIPOFF, SINGLEPLAYER NOT GOOD ENOUGH" morons gave it. Who the hell doesn't buy Call of Duty mainly for the multiplayer? You're playing the wrong game if you buy CoD for the singleplayer. Expand
  10. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    The game is now dead but it was very fun while it lasted.To bad though I got it around the release of MW3 (that HORRIBLE game) so I couldn't really find any matches for Zombies or coop campaign. The multiplayer is still active because of its quite amazing search (Used also in BO) for it. The zombies mode is still though somewhat active just it has mostly players (1-2/1-3) playing on moddedThe game is now dead but it was very fun while it lasted.To bad though I got it around the release of MW3 (that HORRIBLE game) so I couldn't really find any matches for Zombies or coop campaign. The multiplayer is still active because of its quite amazing search (Used also in BO) for it. The zombies mode is still though somewhat active just it has mostly players (1-2/1-3) playing on modded maps/custom maps. The game is quite a nice game if you compare it to all their newer games.

    I miss this great series that had a few easter eggs and few ways to get to places. I do not hate BO but I do hate BOII for the overloaded repetitive insane amount of easter eggs that are basically essential for living in zombies mode.

    The multiplayer is quite ok and it is one of the last remaining good multiplayer CoD's along with CoD 4 (I personally don't really like cod 4) and maybe BO.

    The campaign mode is quite amazing since well you don't have a huge amount to work with since it was based in WWII and you had no real main ways other then boats and stuff to get places.

    I really do enjoy the zombies mode and I really do enjoy that it has coop which if you look at it no other CoD has (I am 95% sure). The zombies mode is quite refreshing since it never goes the same way since 95% of the time the people you play with have 200-400 ping and they don't speak English and they are 10-12 and have no idea how to play.

    Over all I give this game a 10 even though in reality I would give it a 9 (just to balance out the 69 trolls).
    Expand
  11. GustavoF.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    The big deal about this game was: Modern Warfare made gamers so spoiled about Call of Duty series that if a game on FPS genre isn't hardcore ground-breaking, it's called "mediocre". What? Big Red One was mediocre. Finest Hour was mediocre. NDS versions are mediocre. World at War is a great game. But how much can you improve over WWII? You can't lie on history. Most people The big deal about this game was: Modern Warfare made gamers so spoiled about Call of Duty series that if a game on FPS genre isn't hardcore ground-breaking, it's called "mediocre". What? Big Red One was mediocre. Finest Hour was mediocre. NDS versions are mediocre. World at War is a great game. But how much can you improve over WWII? You can't lie on history. Most people can't even describe what else they were expecting from this title. Just stick with Modern Warfare's if you like, the world is big enough for everyone. Expand
  12. Andy
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    This is an excellent game - by far the best World War II shooter ever developed - brutal, chaotic, and bloody - and is rivaled only by Modern Warfare (which it admittedly derives heavily from) for the franchise's top spot.
  13. BobJoe
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    I'd have to say the guy who said HATE IT is just retarded. I got mine with the same deal and it was pre-loading because of an update. But otherwise I love the Game. I am a WWII addict and this quenches my thirst for some heavy FPS WWII style action. And with the added Nazi Zombies, it also quenches my thirst for realiztic zombie survival. Top Notch EA ^_^
  14. May 17, 2011
    10
    Indeed the AI isn't great and the weapons too accurate but the single player and multiplayer is good and it has more realism than the other Call of duty games.I liked the campaign a lot and i felt even sorry when Roebuck died.10 from me.
  15. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    I seriously think World At War Is very overlooked. The campaign was the best of all the COD's because its real and doesn't involve mind bad Russians, and AI. The Gameplay is smooth and silk but that's every COD. Multiplayer is fun in my opinion and ive spent days on end playing it. The weapons are fun and the maps are my favorite. Zombies though was the best. World at war has doneI seriously think World At War Is very overlooked. The campaign was the best of all the COD's because its real and doesn't involve mind bad Russians, and AI. The Gameplay is smooth and silk but that's every COD. Multiplayer is fun in my opinion and ive spent days on end playing it. The weapons are fun and the maps are my favorite. Zombies though was the best. World at war has done zombies the best and has my favorite maps. So in all WAW is the best cod. Expand
  16. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    How well you like this game will be determined by (as with all things) your taste in gaming. If you only heard about Call of Duty when COD 4 or MW2 came out, you will most likely hate this game. On the other hand, if you have been playing COD since COD1 and you think COD1 and COD2 are some of the best games ever made like me, you will love this game. World at War revisits the WW2 settingHow well you like this game will be determined by (as with all things) your taste in gaming. If you only heard about Call of Duty when COD 4 or MW2 came out, you will most likely hate this game. On the other hand, if you have been playing COD since COD1 and you think COD1 and COD2 are some of the best games ever made like me, you will love this game. World at War revisits the WW2 setting with a souvenir from COD4, the beautiful IW Engine 4.0. The pacific front is absolutely beautiful in the engine and the single player is gripping and exciting, just like early CODs. Characters are memorable, especially your Russian sniper friend Reznov, who leads you through a 'All Ghillied Up' styled mission, only in Nazi territory. Multiplayer is lackluster to me as with all COD games as none can really compare to the scale of the Battlefield series but the singleplayer was definitely worth it's money for me. Nazi Zombies however was a lovely addition to the game and it really shows how much care Treyarch has in trying to accomplish as much in a game as possible. All in all, Treyarch was unexpectedly capable of living up to the COD name and with Infinity Ward ruined by Activision, I would not mind having Treyarch take over. Expand
  17. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. definetley ten amazing graphics awsome storyline and dont get me started ZOMBIES! i love it. Multiplayer is good (9) and sound gameplay good (7). Just they shouldve put an american german campaighn instead of russain one it would be fun to use samurai swords from dead japanese soldiers overall score is 10 Expand
  18. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    World at War is without doubt the best version of Call of Duty so far. It leaves the later releases, MW2, MW3, Black Ops and Black Ops 2 in it's wake. Although the game is based on COD4 the attention to detail in maps, the excellent gore level and the inclusion of dogs and artillery were far superior to all the others versions. You can see how weak the later versions are by playing MW3 orWorld at War is without doubt the best version of Call of Duty so far. It leaves the later releases, MW2, MW3, Black Ops and Black Ops 2 in it's wake. Although the game is based on COD4 the attention to detail in maps, the excellent gore level and the inclusion of dogs and artillery were far superior to all the others versions. You can see how weak the later versions are by playing MW3 or Black Ops 2. They have nothing on World at War. Expand
  19. SamD
    May 25, 2009
    9
    This game is pretty great compared to other WWII shooters in my opinion. The graphics I would give a 10 to, overall game-play a 10 as well. I don't have too many bad things to say about this game, maybe the quick heal health system (don't really like the Halo 3 style of health regen). So for all of the dumbs out there that keep on comparing this to COD Modern Warfare... This is This game is pretty great compared to other WWII shooters in my opinion. The graphics I would give a 10 to, overall game-play a 10 as well. I don't have too many bad things to say about this game, maybe the quick heal health system (don't really like the Halo 3 style of health regen). So for all of the dumbs out there that keep on comparing this to COD Modern Warfare... This is a World War II shooter. Its a game built on the storyline of the most destructive and costly war that ever took place on this planet. So stop crying about not being able to run and gun with your M4. Grab an M1 and go kill some Nazis. Expand
  20. Joel
    Dec 9, 2008
    9
    HEAVY, this game as made me stare at the screen in awore, of the horrible thins that happens in this game. One time i wondered who are the good guys. The campaign on the Russian side has great characters unlike the Americans they feel to cliche`. The Russians have a soldier who feels for the enemy, hoping the violence will end, the other main character is a Sgt who has seen the war from HEAVY, this game as made me stare at the screen in awore, of the horrible thins that happens in this game. One time i wondered who are the good guys. The campaign on the Russian side has great characters unlike the Americans they feel to cliche`. The Russians have a soldier who feels for the enemy, hoping the violence will end, the other main character is a Sgt who has seen the war from beginning to end and is blood lusted on revenge. The multilayer is no exception from COD 4 just tweaked a bit. Expand
  21. MaxM
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    This is a Exellent game. The singleplayer battles feel real with all the things happening all round compared to call of duty 4. The multiplayer is great lots of great weapons to use no weapon is the best all balanced well. The dogs was awsum to fight agaist you would get your team together trying to fight off these dogs while the other team was killing you at the same time. I loved call This is a Exellent game. The singleplayer battles feel real with all the things happening all round compared to call of duty 4. The multiplayer is great lots of great weapons to use no weapon is the best all balanced well. The dogs was awsum to fight agaist you would get your team together trying to fight off these dogs while the other team was killing you at the same time. I loved call of duty 4 but to me call of duty world at war is better. Expand
  22. Phil
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    A stunning new addition to the Call of duty series. World at war presents WW2 in its truest form, forget the idea of a glorious battle this is men at breaking point doing whatever it takes to survive. Its brutal, gritty and haunting this will take you back to WW2 and you wont forget the trip anytime soon.
  23. MikeM.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    I have never played a WW2 game until this one, and I love the weapons and the epic feeling the whole game has. MP is great, Coop is alot of fun and I am hooked on zombies lol (made to level 21 so far and its freakin intense) I think too many people expected a sequel, this is a "companion" to COD 4, and just as great. Over all I think this is a great game and I will be playing it side by I have never played a WW2 game until this one, and I love the weapons and the epic feeling the whole game has. MP is great, Coop is alot of fun and I am hooked on zombies lol (made to level 21 so far and its freakin intense) I think too many people expected a sequel, this is a "companion" to COD 4, and just as great. Over all I think this is a great game and I will be playing it side by side with COD4 until the next game in the series is out! Expand
  24. Simon
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Very good single player game,only too short. There is the new idea of co-op that works very well and the MP is as the cod4's , but in a new ambientations, with new weapons and skills.I like prestige classes too. In conclusion it's a must.
  25. Firehawk
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    This is the best call of duty game ever made, I have got and played every single call of duty game ever apart from cod3 which was a disappointment and was also made by Treyarch. After Cod 3 i thought that treyarch was going to screw up again with cod world at war.. but I was wrong, I is soo fun everything about it is great especially the multiplayer. The single player is short but is a This is the best call of duty game ever made, I have got and played every single call of duty game ever apart from cod3 which was a disappointment and was also made by Treyarch. After Cod 3 i thought that treyarch was going to screw up again with cod world at war.. but I was wrong, I is soo fun everything about it is great especially the multiplayer. The single player is short but is a lot more "epic" than the cod 4 battlefields with tanks ambushes and the new co-op. definetly my favorite WW2 game and probably my favourite FPS ever. Good Work Treyarch!!! Expand
  26. CJ
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    I like this game. a lot of people say they dont. and I respect most opinions. its the CoD 4 Fanboys that irk me the most though. They give it crappy ratings, talk trash, and spam forums because, "IT sucks". I dont get it. what sucks? why does it suck? how can they make it better? Give at least a smidgen of feedback. and dont complain because you are 14 and cant afford it. get a job, buyI like this game. a lot of people say they dont. and I respect most opinions. its the CoD 4 Fanboys that irk me the most though. They give it crappy ratings, talk trash, and spam forums because, "IT sucks". I dont get it. what sucks? why does it suck? how can they make it better? Give at least a smidgen of feedback. and dont complain because you are 14 and cant afford it. get a job, buy CoD 5and then rate it. honestly. Expand
  27. WillK.
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    At first i thought it strange that a franchise that had advanced through time to the modern age should then skip back again. Then I thought how poor Call of Duty 3 was to its predisesors. THEN I thought, 'there is no way this will live up to the 4th installment'. Then I was proven wrong. This game makes excelent use of the CoD4's engine to recreate one of the most brutal At first i thought it strange that a franchise that had advanced through time to the modern age should then skip back again. Then I thought how poor Call of Duty 3 was to its predisesors. THEN I thought, 'there is no way this will live up to the 4th installment'. Then I was proven wrong. This game makes excelent use of the CoD4's engine to recreate one of the most brutal and merciless wars our planet has ever seen. The addition of tanks and 'slightly' elevated gore deters you from going gung ho into enemy lines (but never really stops you). There's still the heart thumping, adrenaline fueled gameplay of 4 but there's much more. The sounds, the visuals, the pace and the overall feel of the game wraps you in a cucoon that has you believing for fleeting moments thatyour actually being shot at, and you truly are fighting for you're own life. You'll never feel quite the same after charging through an artillery strike (yes its idiotic but i think there's an Arnie in all of us that thinks 'i'll be fiiiiiiiine') to find yourself alive and kicking on the other side. You may even find yourself having to catch your breath on the other side when you realise that this whole time you've been holding it... One thing I will say though... ... I really HATE the dogs. Expand
  28. TravisG
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Great FPS, Excellent graphics, very real feel. The other reviewers who responded that you just die obviously don't know how to play or were in servers they shouldn't have been in. This is a top knotch WW11 game.
  29. SteeleX
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    I don't understand why people say that it wasn't better than CoD4. Even if it isn't, why does it have to be better? The single player was shorter than CoD4's, but it still solidly maintained the epicness of all CoD series. The Japanese banzai troops who pretended to be dead soldiers. The flamethrowers and tanks who tried to blow up the house of Dimitri and Reznov. The I don't understand why people say that it wasn't better than CoD4. Even if it isn't, why does it have to be better? The single player was shorter than CoD4's, but it still solidly maintained the epicness of all CoD series. The Japanese banzai troops who pretended to be dead soldiers. The flamethrowers and tanks who tried to blow up the house of Dimitri and Reznov. The water that flooded the entire underground tunnel. It's even better when you get to scream with your friends on microphone through Co-op mode while everybody are playing it the first time. When the campaign missions are done you can replay it countless time with the zombie mission. A very original idea which only came true on 2D flash game is now avaliable in 3D FPS. The mutiplayer is very well done as well, with all the levels and unlocks to keep yourselves busy. Overall, CoD:WaW is the perfect WW2 FPS game to play when you're down in your luck one day and can't kill a single person in Red Orchestra. Expand
  30. VictorZ
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    To start it off I'd like to mention how great (and dark) the atmosphere for the single player missions were. Unlike COD4, I personally found myself really pulled into the life of the characters and found the game more interesting than COD4; quite possibly due to the great cut-scenes and montages during the loading screen. The plot in the game was great most of the times, with To start it off I'd like to mention how great (and dark) the atmosphere for the single player missions were. Unlike COD4, I personally found myself really pulled into the life of the characters and found the game more interesting than COD4; quite possibly due to the great cut-scenes and montages during the loading screen. The plot in the game was great most of the times, with exception to some parts being a little too extreme (where normal people would have most likely died). The graphics in the game were quite visually appeasing and the sound and music for the game was amazing as well. Some weaker points in the game I have to mention is the lack of variety in close combat attacks, as it would have been so much more interesting to have a wide variety of melee attacks instead of just a few (or the exact same counterattack when you're pinned down). Another mention of problems is the attempts at realism. This includes the stupidity of the AI at times, and certain impassable terrains that could have easily been added for more realism. The AI blocking you (as realistic as that might sound) is a pain in the ass when you're trying to dodge grenades and such. After beating the game, zombie mode was quite fun as well and also worth buying the game if you ask me. it's essentially like zombie panic (half life source zombie mod), where you hold off the zombies and barricade yourself for endless waves of nazi zombies. playing with friends make it all the better as well. Expand
  31. RyanP
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    This game is just awesome. Especially the Nazi Zombies mode, which is the first party-game feeling i've felt in a while. Backed by brilliant multiplayer, a n awesome story, and detailed backgrounds, this game deserves a 10 out of 10.
  32. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    The best CoD for the PC because if you are a zombie player like me then get it you can even download your own mods and Zombie maps. it is not that good for any other system but you will want it for PC
  33. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    this is a epic game defiantly recommend the map packs for it the only problame about this when you are on zombies when you get hit you can get stuck with the zombie as a result they kind of pull you back so that really anit a problame but i find it a prob yep this is where zombies was born so give it a chance
  34. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Hail to the WW2 veterans with Treyarch.
    Very excellent campaign in the video game history,though containing some glitches and sometimes functions with bad optimization.
    The best figured war feeling shooter game which makes the relentless war fighting and the fragility of individual lives on the battle ground that beyonds human tolerence.THIS GAME MAKES YOU HATE THE WARS.
  35. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome I think that this is the last good call of duty now look at what they are doing they are just doing some crap it was good but now it's an other story
  36. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    A great campaign, amazingly designed multi-player and very fun zombie mode. You can drive tanks in multi-player and there are infinite custom zombie maps to download. Amazing and historically accurate campaign. This is one of the best Call of Duties ever and you will not regret making this purchase. All 4 Zombie maps are included if you buy it off of steam (not sure about hard copy).
  37. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best cod ever made period. The guns are amazing voice acting is good and the visuals can stand up even to this day well designed multiple game modes and millions of custom zombies maps for when the trey arch made ones get boring there is a good server for Tdm that is well active I play on personally every other day Anarchy fast xp it's Tdm and has increased Xp per kill for faster level up times. Switching to campaign it has one of the most immersive in cods history with great characters and a sad decision in the last mission well worth 20$ A true blast from the past Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Treyarch came back this year with an excellent addition to the franchise. Many gamers may look at this game with an "I've been there, done that" attitude. I am here to tell you that this is the best WWII effort so far, as well as the best game in the franchise.
  2. 92
    This is a solid, confident shooter with plenty to offer the casual and hardcore alike.
  3. Overall the game feels a bit short but is not only a very tasty bit of eye candy, and a treat for the ears as well, but a briskly paced action-adventure that should please fans of WWII first-person shooters.