User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 564 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 564

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    Franšiza se vraća starom ruhu, odlična grafika i gameplay, raznovrsne misije, dosta zeleniša, odlično................................................
  2. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Hail to the WW2 veterans with Treyarch.
    Very excellent campaign in the video game history,though containing some glitches and sometimes functions with bad optimization.
    The best figured war feeling shooter game which makes the relentless war fighting and the fragility of individual lives on the battle ground that beyonds human tolerence.THIS GAME MAKES YOU HATE THE WARS.
  3. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best cod ever made period. The guns are amazing voice acting is good and the visuals can stand up even to this day well designed multiple game modes and millions of custom zombies maps for when the trey arch made ones get boring there is a good server for Tdm that is well active I play on personally every other day Anarchy fast xp it's Tdm and has increased Xp per kill for faster level up times. Switching to campaign it has one of the most immersive in cods history with great characters and a sad decision in the last mission well worth 20$ A true blast from the past Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    The game is now dead but it was very fun while it lasted.To bad though I got it around the release of MW3 (that HORRIBLE game) so I couldn't really find any matches for Zombies or coop campaign. The multiplayer is still active because of its quite amazing search (Used also in BO) for it. The zombies mode is still though somewhat active just it has mostly players (1-2/1-3) playing on modded maps/custom maps. The game is quite a nice game if you compare it to all their newer games.

    I miss this great series that had a few easter eggs and few ways to get to places. I do not hate BO but I do hate BOII for the overloaded repetitive insane amount of easter eggs that are basically essential for living in zombies mode.

    The multiplayer is quite ok and it is one of the last remaining good multiplayer CoD's along with CoD 4 (I personally don't really like cod 4) and maybe BO.

    The campaign mode is quite amazing since well you don't have a huge amount to work with since it was based in WWII and you had no real main ways other then boats and stuff to get places.

    I really do enjoy the zombies mode and I really do enjoy that it has coop which if you look at it no other CoD has (I am 95% sure). The zombies mode is quite refreshing since it never goes the same way since 95% of the time the people you play with have 200-400 ping and they don't speak English and they are 10-12 and have no idea how to play.

    Over all I give this game a 10 even though in reality I would give it a 9 (just to balance out the 69 trolls).
    Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    A great campaign, amazingly designed multi-player and very fun zombie mode. You can drive tanks in multi-player and there are infinite custom zombie maps to download. Amazing and historically accurate campaign. This is one of the best Call of Duties ever and you will not regret making this purchase. All 4 Zombie maps are included if you buy it off of steam (not sure about hard copy).
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome I think that this is the last good call of duty now look at what they are doing they are just doing some crap it was good but now it's an other story
  7. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    I'm giving this game a 10 just to even out the stupidly low score on this game. It's CoD4 with a World War 2 theme. The multiplayer is fun, the singleplayer has interesting moments. My real score of this game would be an 8 or a 9, but I just feel the need to even out the score that these "HURR DURR COD4 RIPOFF, SINGLEPLAYER NOT GOOD ENOUGH" morons gave it. Who the hell doesn't buy Call of Duty mainly for the multiplayer? You're playing the wrong game if you buy CoD for the singleplayer. Expand
  8. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    I seriously think World At War Is very overlooked. The campaign was the best of all the COD's because its real and doesn't involve mind bad Russians, and AI. The Gameplay is smooth and silk but that's every COD. Multiplayer is fun in my opinion and ive spent days on end playing it. The weapons are fun and the maps are my favorite. Zombies though was the best. World at war has done zombies the best and has my favorite maps. So in all WAW is the best cod. Expand
  9. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    this is a epic game defiantly recommend the map packs for it the only problame about this when you are on zombies when you get hit you can get stuck with the zombie as a result they kind of pull you back so that really anit a problame but i find it a prob yep this is where zombies was born so give it a chance
  10. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    World at War is without doubt the best version of Call of Duty so far. It leaves the later releases, MW2, MW3, Black Ops and Black Ops 2 in it's wake. Although the game is based on COD4 the attention to detail in maps, the excellent gore level and the inclusion of dogs and artillery were far superior to all the others versions. You can see how weak the later versions are by playing MW3 or Black Ops 2. They have nothing on World at War. Expand
  11. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    The best CoD for the PC because if you are a zombie player like me then get it you can even download your own mods and Zombie maps. it is not that good for any other system but you will want it for PC
  12. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. definetley ten amazing graphics awsome storyline and dont get me started ZOMBIES! i love it. Multiplayer is good (9) and sound gameplay good (7). Just they shouldve put an american german campaighn instead of russain one it would be fun to use samurai swords from dead japanese soldiers overall score is 10 Expand
  13. May 17, 2011
    10
    Indeed the AI isn't great and the weapons too accurate but the single player and multiplayer is good and it has more realism than the other Call of duty games.I liked the campaign a lot and i felt even sorry when Roebuck died.10 from me.
  14. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    How well you like this game will be determined by (as with all things) your taste in gaming. If you only heard about Call of Duty when COD 4 or MW2 came out, you will most likely hate this game. On the other hand, if you have been playing COD since COD1 and you think COD1 and COD2 are some of the best games ever made like me, you will love this game. World at War revisits the WW2 setting with a souvenir from COD4, the beautiful IW Engine 4.0. The pacific front is absolutely beautiful in the engine and the single player is gripping and exciting, just like early CODs. Characters are memorable, especially your Russian sniper friend Reznov, who leads you through a 'All Ghillied Up' styled mission, only in Nazi territory. Multiplayer is lackluster to me as with all COD games as none can really compare to the scale of the Battlefield series but the singleplayer was definitely worth it's money for me. Nazi Zombies however was a lovely addition to the game and it really shows how much care Treyarch has in trying to accomplish as much in a game as possible. All in all, Treyarch was unexpectedly capable of living up to the COD name and with Infinity Ward ruined by Activision, I would not mind having Treyarch take over. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Treyarch came back this year with an excellent addition to the franchise. Many gamers may look at this game with an "I've been there, done that" attitude. I am here to tell you that this is the best WWII effort so far, as well as the best game in the franchise.
  2. 92
    This is a solid, confident shooter with plenty to offer the casual and hardcore alike.
  3. Overall the game feels a bit short but is not only a very tasty bit of eye candy, and a treat for the ears as well, but a briskly paced action-adventure that should please fans of WWII first-person shooters.