User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 604 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 604

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JackP.
    Jul 25, 2009
    3
    Treyarch have successfully copied call of duty 4 enough to make world at war bearable. World at War's campaign goes thus: GO GO GO SOLDIERS! FINAL PUSH! GO GO GO THIS IS IT! OH MY GOD THIS IS THE FINAL PUSH Sniping mission GO GO GO FINAL PUSH BULLETS EVERYWHERE FINAL PUSH plane mission FINAL PUSH INTO ENEMY TERRITORY THIS IS IT ULTIMATE BATTLE. etc etc. It has none of the pacing that Treyarch have successfully copied call of duty 4 enough to make world at war bearable. World at War's campaign goes thus: GO GO GO SOLDIERS! FINAL PUSH! GO GO GO THIS IS IT! OH MY GOD THIS IS THE FINAL PUSH Sniping mission GO GO GO FINAL PUSH BULLETS EVERYWHERE FINAL PUSH plane mission FINAL PUSH INTO ENEMY TERRITORY THIS IS IT ULTIMATE BATTLE. etc etc. It has none of the pacing that made cod 4 so good. Call of Duty 4, made by infinity ward, the real developers of call of duty, had the perfect balance between action, set pieces, scripted segments and stealth. Just compare the first level of call of duty 4 to the first level of call of duty world at war. In call of duty, you are getting the drop on the unsuspecting crew of a ship. After the shooting starts to tire a bit, there is an excellent set piece in which the boat sinks. Call of Duty World at War starts off looking to be good. There's a nice 1st person torture scene which sets you right into the action. Your team mates slit the throats of your captors and give you a gun . "Ooh, a little stealthy action here? Taking them by surprise?" I foolishly think. "CALL IN ARTILLERY!" *BOOM* "GO GO GO!" Apparently not. I love action games, but this is no half-life, or counter-strike or even call of duty. The multiplayer is decent enough. Treyarch managed to copy almost every aspect of multiplayer successfully, and even managed to copy left 4 dead in a totally irrelevant (and boring after the first go) zombie map. If you're considering getting this, you'd better have loved the hell out of the multiplayer in cod 4, because that is world at war's only saving grace. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2010
    4
    While an okay game, it tries too hard to be like Modern Warfare. For example, they attempt to create WW2 versions of most Modern Warfare killstreaks. Recon Planes replace UAV for example. The campaign was indded pretty good but I found that the enemy AI was lacking in their actions. Why would a Japanese soldier attempting to stab Americans with his bayonet run padt the 3 or so guys inWhile an okay game, it tries too hard to be like Modern Warfare. For example, they attempt to create WW2 versions of most Modern Warfare killstreaks. Recon Planes replace UAV for example. The campaign was indded pretty good but I found that the enemy AI was lacking in their actions. Why would a Japanese soldier attempting to stab Americans with his bayonet run padt the 3 or so guys in front of em and attack me?! I'm only a regular soldier after all. Enemies focus on you too much. Another poor design choice was the decision to make grenades come out and try to kill you without being thrown form soemone if you stand in place to long. It just gets really annoying. I do enjoy the new weapons they put in such as the Flamethrower though. The multiplayer is a severe disappointment because it attempts to copy MW but the weapons don't feel right. Since when was a WW2 era SMG as accurate as a modern day Assault Rifle? The best part of the game is no doubt the Nazi Zombies. It's an interesting game where you get attacked by Nazi Zombies who have a crappy backstory. Honestly, it wasn't fun alone because I would always get overwhelmed. There should be bots that are able to play with you in case you can't go online because when you do Nazi Zombies Co Op and have good team mates is when Nazi Zombies really shine because it becomes very fun. Overall though, the online multiplayer and co op really aren't fun because even in the middle of the day at the most there will be 6 or 7 multiplayer servers but only some of them will actually have people playign in them. Co Op servers are even more rare with usually about 2 or 3 of them with them often full. The game is okay but NOTHING, I mean NOTHING, compared to MW or MW2. Treyarch needs to be original instead of trying to use the success of MW to help them sell the game. Din't believe the game box, this game isn't AT ALL "War liek you've never experienced it before". Expand
  3. HATEIT
    May 30, 2009
    0
    I got to admit, I bought this game on steam on a weekend sale for 25 dollars. Not even a month past, the game was on pre-load mode from Steam. I tried to delete the local content and play again, but when i deleted the content, it was removed from my game list. STEAM SOLVE THIS RIGHT NOW OR I WOULD LOVE TO HAVE MY FREAKING REFUND!!
  4. AFuzzyBunny
    Dec 4, 2008
    3
    Run and gun, tired and just about everything this tries has been seen before, and has been accomplished better in some other title. This one is Buggy, couple that with poor support, predictable and linear single player action with lousy AI, boring coop play, and mindless worn out multiplayer game types and features means unless you need the frequent flier points you earn for charging this Run and gun, tired and just about everything this tries has been seen before, and has been accomplished better in some other title. This one is Buggy, couple that with poor support, predictable and linear single player action with lousy AI, boring coop play, and mindless worn out multiplayer game types and features means unless you need the frequent flier points you earn for charging this game you should save your money, you've already played this dud, you just don't realize it yet. Expand
  5. JamesD.
    Nov 11, 2008
    0
    Wow, what a let down, graphics, gameplay, and story all feel tiring, aged with tired WWII genre gametype, and subpar graphics that make you wonder how they ended up with COD2 graphics on the COD4 engine. And the horrid sound effects... best go back to COD4, or pickup Fallout 3, or even better yet, Farcry 2.
  6. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    Ademas de teneruna gran cantidad de errores, las misiones son aburridisimas, y ensima manejar los anti aeroios, manejar el lanzallamas entre otras cosas, jamas pudo ser tan dificil e incomodo. Los enemigos son muy idiotas, te ven enfrente tuyo y si corres de ellos te empiezan a perseguir (sin dipararte) para clavarte un cuchillo que por alguna razon te mata de un solo golpe. La verdad esAdemas de teneruna gran cantidad de errores, las misiones son aburridisimas, y ensima manejar los anti aeroios, manejar el lanzallamas entre otras cosas, jamas pudo ser tan dificil e incomodo. Los enemigos son muy idiotas, te ven enfrente tuyo y si corres de ellos te empiezan a perseguir (sin dipararte) para clavarte un cuchillo que por alguna razon te mata de un solo golpe. La verdad es que soy fanatico de los juegos viejos de callof duty, pero cuando salio esto, empece a ver a todos los FPS de otra manera. Y encima el juego no supone ser un desafio, capaz las ultimas misiones te trabes un poco y mueras unas cuantas veces, pero todas las demas son extremadamente faciles. Una decepcion. Expand
  7. DavidE.
    Mar 3, 2009
    3
    COD4 Reskinned. Absolutely no effort to make this either an original or a WW2 game. No tactical multiplayer possibilities due to players being able to use any weapon they want, irregardless of nationality, reducing the game to a run and gunner. Historically accurate? ACOG gun sites are available, need I say more? As an educated person, I am insulted that this was sold to me as a WW2 game. COD4 Reskinned. Absolutely no effort to make this either an original or a WW2 game. No tactical multiplayer possibilities due to players being able to use any weapon they want, irregardless of nationality, reducing the game to a run and gunner. Historically accurate? ACOG gun sites are available, need I say more? As an educated person, I am insulted that this was sold to me as a WW2 game. I tried anyway, and lasted about 3 hours before I was fed up. The maps are the only saving grace, they are beautiful. Otherwise, the game is a bust for anyone who has any notion of WW2. Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Sep 2, 2009
    3
    So many bugs that it is just unbelievable and makes the game either impossible to play because the console will spam you error messages or you end up being unable to reinstall unless you reinstall windows, etc. (Yes, I tryed reinstalling the game, fixing registries, upgrading and downgrading the drivers, etc. but only reinstalling windows seem to have worked and yet I still got the issue So many bugs that it is just unbelievable and makes the game either impossible to play because the console will spam you error messages or you end up being unable to reinstall unless you reinstall windows, etc. (Yes, I tryed reinstalling the game, fixing registries, upgrading and downgrading the drivers, etc. but only reinstalling windows seem to have worked and yet I still got the issue that some textures cannot be found...) About the gameplay itself... Some say it's a copy of cod4, I'd say a copy of the battlefield series with even worse upgrades. If you use the grenade launcher with fireworks, you can kill anyone in sight (even those wearing protection agaisnt explosive). you can also lob those anywhere on the map without being seen just by looking the 'red dots' once someone gets his 3 kills. Yes, it lacks all the vehicules of battlefield but it's almost the same. COD was different by being a player vs player gameplay but now it's not. Why would you buy a half biased game with lots of bugs when there's better out there doing the same thing. Weapons are not army/nation based. This is a big down point since it doesn't matter which army you end up as since you can take any weapon you want... Usually ends being 4-5 weapons used whatever map it is. Even the bolt actions are rather useless since in softcore they,ll take 2-3 hits to kill and in hardcore it's 1 hit but almost all other weapons can 1 hit (semiauto rifles, bar, dp28, etc.) if you set them right. The tanks also have 3rd person view which makes it so easy to play as them and almost impossible to sneak on them. Dogs are somewhat easy to kill but they 1 hit and if your team is bad you will end being stuck in the spawn being struck by artillery and a spam of dogs. The only good thing which is also a bad thing... is that the community of cod2 has moved to cod5 (and 4). The wrong part about it is that cod2 has almost as good graphics but its gameplay is more unique then the package of random ideas half made and loaded with bugs that is cod5. would have gave it a 0 if it wasn't from how many players are online to play with and that it wasn't a ww2 game. Is there no alternative of gameplay with a strong community still left out there??? Why can't we simply have a good old wwII game with infantry and without the random weapons. Oh yea... betties can be planted in solid concrete and still detect pressure? (they're easy to counter but still is lame) Expand
  9. IonC.
    Nov 14, 2008
    4
    Same engine as call of duty 4 (but things look much worse because it was made for modern environments not 1944) , same story , Germans and Japanese are spawns of evil , they like raping and pillaging while the good Americans and Russians love God. It also has tons of bugs and glitches. This game is crap.
  10. ReaderWhoreads
    Nov 26, 2008
    4
    Infinity Ward - a small boutique game developer (since purchased by Activision) that has exclusively worked on the Call of Duty series. They did the original COD, COD2, and COD4. All of them absolute hits, pushing the envelope further every single time. Think of them as the creative geniuses of the genre. Treyarch - an industrial bulk game development shop ("focusing on AAA quality next Infinity Ward - a small boutique game developer (since purchased by Activision) that has exclusively worked on the Call of Duty series. They did the original COD, COD2, and COD4. All of them absolute hits, pushing the envelope further every single time. Think of them as the creative geniuses of the genre. Treyarch - an industrial bulk game development shop ("focusing on AAA quality next generation games" as per their own website). AAA as in subprime AAA? They have done no less than 25 games so far - not a single one of them being a success (including COD2). They are basically the whore studio of Hollywood and they are the kind of guys you hire to develop a crappy little game to go with a big budget movie (e.g. Spider-Man 2). Look up either studio on Wikipedia to learn more about them. As such, you should not be surprised that CODWAW was not named COD5, since it is more of an expansion pack for COD4. Basically Treyarch decided that they are indeed incapable and unworthy of contributing to the COD franchise, but to nonetheless milk the captive audience, they put out some garbage while the guys at Infinity Ward are working on the next truly innovative installment. Factually, CODWAW is basically a few more missions set in WWII and powered by the old COD4 engine. There are new fire effects - exciting for 2007 but embarassing in 2008, at a time when we have Far Cry 2. If you watch up close the grass burn, the grass object is simply shrunk and is given a black coloration while emitting smoke. And only some objects can burn; and there's no catching fire concept. Now try the same in Far Cry 2. Watch every leaf and every branch get charred, watch how the fire spreads in the savannah, see the AI respond to it, and imagine all the strategies you can apply using it. So now that we've established that the engine brings nothing truly new, let's focus on the actual solo missions. They shamelessly plagiarize COD4 - you will be injured countless times, shot, drowned only to have your good buddy rescue you in a slow-motion scene. There are also two parallel plots that you alternate between. However, the specific missions are extremely heavily scripted. More so than the original COD4. In many instances you're better off going to the right place to trigger the next event than focusing on doing a good job shooting. There's a scene where you man the machine gun on a plane, but that is also incredibly scripted. Overall this plays much more like an interactive movie than a real game - which is a huge drawback. Think of the sniping mission in COD4 - how incredibly immersive it was - there are whole websites with strategies for the last part, right before you get rescued. There is no equivalent here. Its much more point and click. The realism element is missing, and I could not relate to any of the in game characters. Do not buy this game - play COD4 multiplayer and Far Cry 2 single player in the mean time, and await patiently COD6. Expand
  11. SJT-Ruler*
    Feb 7, 2009
    0
    Call of Duty: World at War, many people hate it because it's WW2 once more, but to those people I'd like to say; just shut up, there are more freaking anti-terrorism shooters than WW2 games so the setting doesn't make a SINGLE difference. So, what does destroy this game? Well, first of all, the campaign is really short, you will have it completed in no time. Not to mention Call of Duty: World at War, many people hate it because it's WW2 once more, but to those people I'd like to say; just shut up, there are more freaking anti-terrorism shooters than WW2 games so the setting doesn't make a SINGLE difference. So, what does destroy this game? Well, first of all, the campaign is really short, you will have it completed in no time. Not to mention the fact that it makes no sense, in the campaign Treyarch wants to tell you that WW2 was just about "revenge and to murder the enemy, not to end a war". A war is to simple murder everyone? That's not how WW2 was, that's not how any war was and is, Treyarch, you couldn't get it more wrong than that stupid statement. What's also wrong, is that in multiplayer you can play on any team with any weapon. Meaning, when playing as Russians you can just pick a Japanese or American or German weapon, it makes no sense. This is NOT like Call of Duty 4, where you can say that one team "could've imported the weapons" you think Russians were able to produce American weapons? They were national weapons, ffs! Speaking of weapons, you waste your ammo so very fast (because you won't stop shooting at the unending waves of enemies in both single- and multiplayer) that you are forced to pick up enemy weapons, like you do that in a real war! With that being said, I now come to THE WORST of the game, multiplayer. Multiplayer is so sad that it a shame to gaming. The game is just SO fast paced, that any experienced gamer will die over and over again, only the lucky noobs will get loads of kills. Hardly any experienced players will be seen in the top, because if you try to take a careful shot that would take five seconds, you have already been killed from someone behind you. You can literally die every second, sometimes you even spawn extremely close to the entire enemy team, making this even worse. Can there be any worse things about multiplayer, oh yes, there is. Dogs. The chopper of doom, from CoD 4, had been replaced by a pack of vicious dogs. First of all about the dogs, the amount of dogs used in a live shootout back in WW2 can probably be counted on one hand. Secondly, they one hit kill you. You need to waste more than a machinegun clip on them to kill them, but if they hit you, you just die. When was the last time that dogs were superior to humans armed with guns and rifles? EXACTLY. For those that want to know it, I've rated CoD4 a 0, too. Two games that are epic failures. This game is, just like CoD4, not worth your money! Expand
  12. Mo0nBuggy1
    Apr 19, 2009
    2
    Just same old run and gun mindless crap, graphics are ok sounds are lame and soooooo unrealistic its not funny. From a game that calls itself a intense ww2 experience i was very.....well not disapointed because i had no real expectations hahah. If you want ww2 go play RO not this garbage.
  13. Lucifer'sHammer
    May 16, 2009
    1
    You die before you even know what hit you. There's no point in playing the game, because as soon as you spawn you're already dead. It doesn't take munch to kill you. If a mouse farts anywhere near you, you're dead. What a waste of money. They should just create a game where you're the target at a shooting range for other people to kill. I honestly feel like I You die before you even know what hit you. There's no point in playing the game, because as soon as you spawn you're already dead. It doesn't take munch to kill you. If a mouse farts anywhere near you, you're dead. What a waste of money. They should just create a game where you're the target at a shooting range for other people to kill. I honestly feel like I wasted my money. Expand
  14. DM
    May 19, 2009
    0
    Buggy c&@p! no sound... no refund... no support. I just spent the last 3 hours of my life trying to get the sound working and my computer is less than 6 months old! requirements: on board sound or better, I don't think so! I have a realtec HD on board AND a $2000 m-audio projectmix! very disappointed! consoles look better everyday.
  15. ChrisA
    May 9, 2009
    2
    A mod for the vastly superior CoD4. Treyarch yet again shows their lack of attention to detail and inability to make a balanced (and stable) multiplayer. Crashes, Bugs, Balancing issues, Flawed game mechanics, Broke mechanics taken from CoD4, Bugged textures on ALL maps, an auto balance that kills you to swap you. The list goes on. Trash game.
  16. AdricF.
    Dec 11, 2008
    0
    Lean bug, memory leaks, bluescreens, directx errors due to incompatibility with other programs, borked spawn system, bugged game win / loss announcement, no record or drawfps commands, game modes ruined due to no thinking through of game mechanics e.g. artillery on HQ, shit maps, shit fps on basically same engine as cod4, external server browsers don't work because auth server Lean bug, memory leaks, bluescreens, directx errors due to incompatibility with other programs, borked spawn system, bugged game win / loss announcement, no record or drawfps commands, game modes ruined due to no thinking through of game mechanics e.g. artillery on HQ, shit maps, shit fps on basically same engine as cod4, external server browsers don't work because auth server wasen't thought through, config resets on bluescreen, no shader 2.0, broken animations (sprint), no linux binaries still, maps bugged e.g. invisible walls used to stop map "glitchers" block nades instead, dumb experience ratios on some gamemodes e.g. war, sound occlusion available in singleplayer but not multiplayer, single player client auth server broken unable to play zombies with friends, prestige bug, no http redirect, server disconnection if alt-tabbed for too long, no vid_restart in game and reccently announced no new patch until 7-8 weeks and stated it "might" fix listed bugs. Terrible game product of incompetent developers, do not buy. Expand
  17. AnthonyC.
    Dec 26, 2008
    4
    The game is pretty, but it is a ruined game. The ideas of the game types are very good, but it has ruined by spawn campers, campers, glitchers, nade-noobs, armys of spray-n-pray. Any one that wishes to jump in and have a bit of a shootoff with rifles that isn't "OMG RUN IN BASE AND SHOOT THEM AT POINT BLANK" is out of luck. This game is full of kids running around with Thompsons. Go The game is pretty, but it is a ruined game. The ideas of the game types are very good, but it has ruined by spawn campers, campers, glitchers, nade-noobs, armys of spray-n-pray. Any one that wishes to jump in and have a bit of a shootoff with rifles that isn't "OMG RUN IN BASE AND SHOOT THEM AT POINT BLANK" is out of luck. This game is full of kids running around with Thompsons. Go play CoD2 if you want some actual strategic fun. The game itself is very pretty, the game types are well made and it's amazingly fun in Single Player. Not worth the $50 if you're a multiplayer-type, though. Collapse
  18. Doug
    Dec 26, 2009
    0
    Currently a 6.9, this deserves a 0 to counter-balance the anonymous 10 out of 10's. This game is exactly what the first review says: mediocre and uninspired. Buggy, poor level design, bland gameplay, boring story arch, and just plain stupid this game is Treyarch's cloned COD4, but utter Fail. Not worth it. Bottomline: OVERHYPED.
  19. IanS
    May 22, 2009
    4
    They took a great game, re skinned it with slightly poorer graphics, and unnatural looking animations. Then they unbalanced the guns, broke the special abilities, and set it all in badly designed maps. CoD4s utter brilliance still shows through, but its obscured by Treyarch's utter amateurism. n.b. how did they manage to introduce so many new bugs to previously stable systems that They took a great game, re skinned it with slightly poorer graphics, and unnatural looking animations. Then they unbalanced the guns, broke the special abilities, and set it all in badly designed maps. CoD4s utter brilliance still shows through, but its obscured by Treyarch's utter amateurism. n.b. how did they manage to introduce so many new bugs to previously stable systems that they appear to have made no other changes to? Expand
  20. JoeL
    Jun 24, 2009
    0
    Ive tried again and again to play this game on multyplayer and my word ford lack of nasty words Its jsut frustrates me the players . there are to many cases during play where "THE GAME" its self is working against you. No matter how hard I try and ive played all the call of duties as some record of proof i don't know , no matter how hard I try the game always leave me with guys Ive tried again and again to play this game on multyplayer and my word ford lack of nasty words Its jsut frustrates me the players . there are to many cases during play where "THE GAME" its self is working against you. No matter how hard I try and ive played all the call of duties as some record of proof i don't know , no matter how hard I try the game always leave me with guys running around holding down left click . The levels are sometimes to busy to the eye with no visual rest that you cant even see your attacker or figure out what happened. There's nothing more frustrating then the player getting killed and not knowing why or how or where from. i say this all knowing what faults in my argue ment there may be but none the less I give this a zero too many times im left frustrated and want to leave my computer. Expand
  21. AlexanderW.
    Aug 11, 2009
    1
    This Game is Terrible ! I played a lot of games but this is the first game which is still not able to play because you don't want to play it why i gave the game 1 score ? because the graphic is good nothing else !
  22. KL
    Aug 14, 2009
    4
    I just bought this recently on a Steam sale. There's a wonderful game in here somewhere, but it's riddled with instability, crashes, and lacking in several key areas. While I was able to run Call of Duty 4 perfectly, World at War greeted me with crashes and bugs, and with no official fix in site, I had to troubleshoot my own problems. I was able to run the game finally, but the I just bought this recently on a Steam sale. There's a wonderful game in here somewhere, but it's riddled with instability, crashes, and lacking in several key areas. While I was able to run Call of Duty 4 perfectly, World at War greeted me with crashes and bugs, and with no official fix in site, I had to troubleshoot my own problems. I was able to run the game finally, but the framerate isn't very solid, and I had to sacrifice the ability to watch cutscenes for what little stability I had. Not only that, but there are no dedicated servers for co-op or Nazi Zombies, which means any games you find for that mode will be few and laggy. I'd be happy to give this game a 7 or even an 8, but until Treyarch acts to fix all of the problems related to just running the game properly, I can't recommend this game to any PC gamers. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Treyarch came back this year with an excellent addition to the franchise. Many gamers may look at this game with an "I've been there, done that" attitude. I am here to tell you that this is the best WWII effort so far, as well as the best game in the franchise.
  2. 92
    This is a solid, confident shooter with plenty to offer the casual and hardcore alike.
  3. Overall the game feels a bit short but is not only a very tasty bit of eye candy, and a treat for the ears as well, but a briskly paced action-adventure that should please fans of WWII first-person shooters.