User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 754 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 754
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Alex
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This game doesn't deserve so much criticism JUST because it goes back to the WWII theme. There have been hundreds of games about WWII and even the BIA HH is also WWII theme and nobody complains about it. I think it has fantastic graphics, unbelievable sound and atmosphere. I have voted a bit higher than I would have just to equal out a bit other users bad votes. My real objective This game doesn't deserve so much criticism JUST because it goes back to the WWII theme. There have been hundreds of games about WWII and even the BIA HH is also WWII theme and nobody complains about it. I think it has fantastic graphics, unbelievable sound and atmosphere. I have voted a bit higher than I would have just to equal out a bit other users bad votes. My real objective vote would have been a 9. This is just my opinion but I respect others. Expand
  2. PaulioR.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    This is absolutely an amazing game experience for the PC gaming. the online play is fantastic and the zombie mode adds a new quality to the call of duty warfare. Best game of 2008!
  3. TonyL
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    Not a bad game at all. There are many map packs/patches now all for free. I spent over 200hrs on multiplayer and to me is more enjoyable than CoD4 multiplayer. This game isn't as much as a noob game as CoD4. You knife slower in succession, can't jump continually, reload slower, etc.
  4. GeorgeS.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I was blown away about the story line, but like always graphics need some tweaking and some glitches here there but all in all as a game review before games come out i can bet there will be huge improvement! A must buy!
  5. SimonF
    Nov 14, 2008
    8
    Not half Bad.... Overly Manic, and almost the same as COD4 (but with different uniforms and weapons obviously) Graphics are Stunning, Missions ok, gameplay Brutal (Love the Bayonet attack, and the Flamethrower is fun) few graphics glitches, such as Sniper's Gun hangs out in thin air when you kill one in the trees..but this a small problem. I have to say though, that BIAHH is my Not half Bad.... Overly Manic, and almost the same as COD4 (but with different uniforms and weapons obviously) Graphics are Stunning, Missions ok, gameplay Brutal (Love the Bayonet attack, and the Flamethrower is fun) few graphics glitches, such as Sniper's Gun hangs out in thin air when you kill one in the trees..but this a small problem. I have to say though, that BIAHH is my favourite of the two, But glad I got COD5, But cant see me playing it twice Expand
  6. marcP
    Aug 11, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome. Yet, it's really underrated. Still, people who play Call of Duty : World At War are really like CoD4 players, they hate updates. they're still alot of people who play the first version of the game. Multiplayer is great. And it's way more gory than Call of Duty 4. They say Co-op is crappy and blah blah blah. All the same crap from all the same crap This game is awesome. Yet, it's really underrated. Still, people who play Call of Duty : World At War are really like CoD4 players, they hate updates. they're still alot of people who play the first version of the game. Multiplayer is great. And it's way more gory than Call of Duty 4. They say Co-op is crappy and blah blah blah. All the same crap from all the same crap people. I say Call of Duty World At War over Call of Duty 4 because of, of course, the zombie mode! That thing is sick! It's almost better than Left 4 Dead. Singleplayer is fun, but buy it for the multiplayer. I have both Call of Duty 4 AND World At War, but World At War is my favourite. Expand
  7. ChrisQ
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    One of the best World War 2 shooters Ive ever played. The battles are great because your not storming Normandy for the seven millionth time. There are Russian missions however these feel more darker and more brutal from previous games.
  8. ClearWEAPONX
    Mar 8, 2009
    8
    I gave this game a 8 when it first come out beacuse the variaty of things that you can do as tactical and solo or driving a tank or shooting I'm a hardcored team player I love to play as team I don't play any other mode and now I give the game a solid 5 they took the tank out of the only game mode that I like to play beacuse winers that doesn't know how to play and organize I gave this game a 8 when it first come out beacuse the variaty of things that you can do as tactical and solo or driving a tank or shooting I'm a hardcored team player I love to play as team I don't play any other mode and now I give the game a solid 5 they took the tank out of the only game mode that I like to play beacuse winers that doesn't know how to play and organize with teammeates to take control of a battel as a team the tank was a major plus it give the game that edge to figth now what we have is a regular boring shooter with the same thing camp or no strategy what's so ever only guns and a freeking quiet level with out dogeing tank rounds and explosion what happend I'm a level 57 in the world in hardcord with 26 days in the game and a red star all of it playing fare and square figthing and enjoying what this game has to offer but now total dissapointment I want the tanks back I purshes this game beacause it was difrent ,dont pay attention of whyners that the only sole pourpes is to mess up a good game . Expand
  9. NickC.
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    So far its awesome. I love the gameplay, I loved call of duty 4s engine, I love the coop, this game is where its at as far as FPS. One thing, the reason i didnt give it a 10.. Too many WW2 games already. Lets let it rest. Be creative!
  10. CodyS
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    WaW is the best WW2 game i've played yet, i like the choices in weapons with the attachments (also discovered that the japanese had this thing for bayonets on thier weapons :D) I really like the idea of the flamethrower, its very fun in multiplayer, and also the perks are tailored to actually make sense in the WW2 world, and unlike what SJT-Ruler said about "Experienced gamers will WaW is the best WW2 game i've played yet, i like the choices in weapons with the attachments (also discovered that the japanese had this thing for bayonets on thier weapons :D) I really like the idea of the flamethrower, its very fun in multiplayer, and also the perks are tailored to actually make sense in the WW2 world, and unlike what SJT-Ruler said about "Experienced gamers will die over and over again," which is a complete lie... i'm a very experienced gamer and i play very well, i just think that SJT is a terrible gamer and won't admit it. But i've played this game and would recommend it to my friends and others to buy. Expand
  11. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    It has a very Good campaign, but the multiplayer...
    its too much like COD4,
    though i got to level 40 in a few days, making it quite easy, not like COD4.
    One more thing: Underpowered Molotovs and overpowered machineguns makes the game quite unbalanced, but the rest is Pretty Good.
  12. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    I'm giving this game a 10 just to even out the stupidly low score on this game. It's CoD4 with a World War 2 theme. The multiplayer is fun, the singleplayer has interesting moments. My real score of this game would be an 8 or a 9, but I just feel the need to even out the score that these "HURR DURR COD4 RIPOFF, SINGLEPLAYER NOT GOOD ENOUGH" morons gave it. Who the hell doesn't buy Call ofI'm giving this game a 10 just to even out the stupidly low score on this game. It's CoD4 with a World War 2 theme. The multiplayer is fun, the singleplayer has interesting moments. My real score of this game would be an 8 or a 9, but I just feel the need to even out the score that these "HURR DURR COD4 RIPOFF, SINGLEPLAYER NOT GOOD ENOUGH" morons gave it. Who the hell doesn't buy Call of Duty mainly for the multiplayer? You're playing the wrong game if you buy CoD for the singleplayer. Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    I like this game. Its an solid WW2 shooter. With the decent COD4 engine. There are numerous WW2 games on the market. Yet i had most fun with this. It has that Cod4 feeling, simple to pick up and play. Single player was too short but at least it offered an Zombie mod. And lets be honest we all mostly bought it for multiplayer.
  14. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    The game is now dead but it was very fun while it lasted.To bad though I got it around the release of MW3 (that HORRIBLE game) so I couldn't really find any matches for Zombies or coop campaign. The multiplayer is still active because of its quite amazing search (Used also in BO) for it. The zombies mode is still though somewhat active just it has mostly players (1-2/1-3) playing on moddedThe game is now dead but it was very fun while it lasted.To bad though I got it around the release of MW3 (that HORRIBLE game) so I couldn't really find any matches for Zombies or coop campaign. The multiplayer is still active because of its quite amazing search (Used also in BO) for it. The zombies mode is still though somewhat active just it has mostly players (1-2/1-3) playing on modded maps/custom maps. The game is quite a nice game if you compare it to all their newer games.

    I miss this great series that had a few easter eggs and few ways to get to places. I do not hate BO but I do hate BOII for the overloaded repetitive insane amount of easter eggs that are basically essential for living in zombies mode.

    The multiplayer is quite ok and it is one of the last remaining good multiplayer CoD's along with CoD 4 (I personally don't really like cod 4) and maybe BO.

    The campaign mode is quite amazing since well you don't have a huge amount to work with since it was based in WWII and you had no real main ways other then boats and stuff to get places.

    I really do enjoy the zombies mode and I really do enjoy that it has coop which if you look at it no other CoD has (I am 95% sure). The zombies mode is quite refreshing since it never goes the same way since 95% of the time the people you play with have 200-400 ping and they don't speak English and they are 10-12 and have no idea how to play.

    Over all I give this game a 10 even though in reality I would give it a 9 (just to balance out the 69 trolls).
    Expand
  15. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    Honestly, this game even looks gore in the true sense. It is very violent and even show an important aspect of the war. Congratulations Treyarch for this game.
  16. GustavoF.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    The big deal about this game was: Modern Warfare made gamers so spoiled about Call of Duty series that if a game on FPS genre isn't hardcore ground-breaking, it's called "mediocre". What? Big Red One was mediocre. Finest Hour was mediocre. NDS versions are mediocre. World at War is a great game. But how much can you improve over WWII? You can't lie on history. Most people The big deal about this game was: Modern Warfare made gamers so spoiled about Call of Duty series that if a game on FPS genre isn't hardcore ground-breaking, it's called "mediocre". What? Big Red One was mediocre. Finest Hour was mediocre. NDS versions are mediocre. World at War is a great game. But how much can you improve over WWII? You can't lie on history. Most people can't even describe what else they were expecting from this title. Just stick with Modern Warfare's if you like, the world is big enough for everyone. Expand
  17. Andy
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    This is an excellent game - by far the best World War II shooter ever developed - brutal, chaotic, and bloody - and is rivaled only by Modern Warfare (which it admittedly derives heavily from) for the franchise's top spot.
  18. BobJoe
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    I'd have to say the guy who said HATE IT is just retarded. I got mine with the same deal and it was pre-loading because of an update. But otherwise I love the Game. I am a WWII addict and this quenches my thirst for some heavy FPS WWII style action. And with the added Nazi Zombies, it also quenches my thirst for realiztic zombie survival. Top Notch EA ^_^
  19. May 17, 2011
    10
    Indeed the AI isn't great and the weapons too accurate but the single player and multiplayer is good and it has more realism than the other Call of duty games.I liked the campaign a lot and i felt even sorry when Roebuck died.10 from me.
  20. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    World at War is without doubt the best version of Call of Duty so far. It leaves the later releases, MW2, MW3, Black Ops and Black Ops 2 in it's wake. Although the game is based on COD4 the attention to detail in maps, the excellent gore level and the inclusion of dogs and artillery were far superior to all the others versions. You can see how weak the later versions are by playing MW3 orWorld at War is without doubt the best version of Call of Duty so far. It leaves the later releases, MW2, MW3, Black Ops and Black Ops 2 in it's wake. Although the game is based on COD4 the attention to detail in maps, the excellent gore level and the inclusion of dogs and artillery were far superior to all the others versions. You can see how weak the later versions are by playing MW3 or Black Ops 2. They have nothing on World at War. Expand
  21. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    I seriously think World At War Is very overlooked. The campaign was the best of all the COD's because its real and doesn't involve mind bad Russians, and AI. The Gameplay is smooth and silk but that's every COD. Multiplayer is fun in my opinion and ive spent days on end playing it. The weapons are fun and the maps are my favorite. Zombies though was the best. World at war has doneI seriously think World At War Is very overlooked. The campaign was the best of all the COD's because its real and doesn't involve mind bad Russians, and AI. The Gameplay is smooth and silk but that's every COD. Multiplayer is fun in my opinion and ive spent days on end playing it. The weapons are fun and the maps are my favorite. Zombies though was the best. World at war has done zombies the best and has my favorite maps. So in all WAW is the best cod. Expand
  22. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    How well you like this game will be determined by (as with all things) your taste in gaming. If you only heard about Call of Duty when COD 4 or MW2 came out, you will most likely hate this game. On the other hand, if you have been playing COD since COD1 and you think COD1 and COD2 are some of the best games ever made like me, you will love this game. World at War revisits the WW2 settingHow well you like this game will be determined by (as with all things) your taste in gaming. If you only heard about Call of Duty when COD 4 or MW2 came out, you will most likely hate this game. On the other hand, if you have been playing COD since COD1 and you think COD1 and COD2 are some of the best games ever made like me, you will love this game. World at War revisits the WW2 setting with a souvenir from COD4, the beautiful IW Engine 4.0. The pacific front is absolutely beautiful in the engine and the single player is gripping and exciting, just like early CODs. Characters are memorable, especially your Russian sniper friend Reznov, who leads you through a 'All Ghillied Up' styled mission, only in Nazi territory. Multiplayer is lackluster to me as with all COD games as none can really compare to the scale of the Battlefield series but the singleplayer was definitely worth it's money for me. Nazi Zombies however was a lovely addition to the game and it really shows how much care Treyarch has in trying to accomplish as much in a game as possible. All in all, Treyarch was unexpectedly capable of living up to the COD name and with Infinity Ward ruined by Activision, I would not mind having Treyarch take over. Expand
  23. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. definetley ten amazing graphics awsome storyline and dont get me started ZOMBIES! i love it. Multiplayer is good (9) and sound gameplay good (7). Just they shouldve put an american german campaighn instead of russain one it would be fun to use samurai swords from dead japanese soldiers overall score is 10 Expand
  24. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    this is a epic game defiantly recommend the map packs for it the only problame about this when you are on zombies when you get hit you can get stuck with the zombie as a result they kind of pull you back so that really anit a problame but i find it a prob yep this is where zombies was born so give it a chance
  25. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome I think that this is the last good call of duty now look at what they are doing they are just doing some crap it was good but now it's an other story
  26. TysonW
    May 18, 2009
    8
    single player squad ai is awful. its like who ever made this game didn't care about it being a repetitive mess though the 4 hours is took me to complete the campaign. fighting hordes of enemy's just isn't fun to me especially when im the only one shooting and hitting varies enemy's while your squad mates just sit there and bark orders at you. multiplayer on the other single player squad ai is awful. its like who ever made this game didn't care about it being a repetitive mess though the 4 hours is took me to complete the campaign. fighting hordes of enemy's just isn't fun to me especially when im the only one shooting and hitting varies enemy's while your squad mates just sit there and bark orders at you. multiplayer on the other hand is just fun. with loads of different game modes especially my favorite nazi zombie's :). final there's a game that did an rpg feel for a shooter right. you earn different upgrades and get to customize your load out how you see fit. all in all i say buy this game for the multiplayer don't expect much for single player besides a headache and thoughts of suicide lol. Expand
  27. SamD
    May 25, 2009
    9
    This game is pretty great compared to other WWII shooters in my opinion. The graphics I would give a 10 to, overall game-play a 10 as well. I don't have too many bad things to say about this game, maybe the quick heal health system (don't really like the Halo 3 style of health regen). So for all of the dumbs out there that keep on comparing this to COD Modern Warfare... This is This game is pretty great compared to other WWII shooters in my opinion. The graphics I would give a 10 to, overall game-play a 10 as well. I don't have too many bad things to say about this game, maybe the quick heal health system (don't really like the Halo 3 style of health regen). So for all of the dumbs out there that keep on comparing this to COD Modern Warfare... This is a World War II shooter. Its a game built on the storyline of the most destructive and costly war that ever took place on this planet. So stop crying about not being able to run and gun with your M4. Grab an M1 and go kill some Nazis. Expand
  28. Joel
    Dec 9, 2008
    9
    HEAVY, this game as made me stare at the screen in awore, of the horrible thins that happens in this game. One time i wondered who are the good guys. The campaign on the Russian side has great characters unlike the Americans they feel to cliche`. The Russians have a soldier who feels for the enemy, hoping the violence will end, the other main character is a Sgt who has seen the war from HEAVY, this game as made me stare at the screen in awore, of the horrible thins that happens in this game. One time i wondered who are the good guys. The campaign on the Russian side has great characters unlike the Americans they feel to cliche`. The Russians have a soldier who feels for the enemy, hoping the violence will end, the other main character is a Sgt who has seen the war from beginning to end and is blood lusted on revenge. The multilayer is no exception from COD 4 just tweaked a bit. Expand
  29. MaxM
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    This is a Exellent game. The singleplayer battles feel real with all the things happening all round compared to call of duty 4. The multiplayer is great lots of great weapons to use no weapon is the best all balanced well. The dogs was awsum to fight agaist you would get your team together trying to fight off these dogs while the other team was killing you at the same time. I loved call This is a Exellent game. The singleplayer battles feel real with all the things happening all round compared to call of duty 4. The multiplayer is great lots of great weapons to use no weapon is the best all balanced well. The dogs was awsum to fight agaist you would get your team together trying to fight off these dogs while the other team was killing you at the same time. I loved call of duty 4 but to me call of duty world at war is better. Expand
  30. KopK.
    Feb 13, 2009
    8
    The guy below me is an idiot. He whines that "experienced players" will never win because if you try to take a careful shot it takes "5 seconds" and you die. Any person who has ever played a game knows the person with better, more accurate reflexes will win. Period. End of story. If you're taking too long to aim, you are NOT experienced in any way. He makes these assertions based on The guy below me is an idiot. He whines that "experienced players" will never win because if you try to take a careful shot it takes "5 seconds" and you die. Any person who has ever played a game knows the person with better, more accurate reflexes will win. Period. End of story. If you're taking too long to aim, you are NOT experienced in any way. He makes these assertions based on the fact that HE isn't on top, so he assumes everyone else is a noob. Do NOT listen to this guy, if you want to have a good time, don't be swayed by someone who isn't good and whines on metacritic. This game is a good, quality game that is essentially COD4 with a couple new perks. Is it worth the new value? I don't really think so, seems more like an expansion. But both COD 4 and WaW are good solid fun for all gamers. Don't let stupid historical problems with weaponry sway you from buying a good game. I also love how he refers to the "Chopper of Doom" from CoD4. To put it simply, SHOOT AT IT. Any truly experienced player knows that noobs get killed by choppers. Why? Because they dont know enough to shoot at it. Worth 50 bucks? Not really, especially if you have COD4. My recommendation: Get COD4, You will become addicted to the best multiplayer online since CS. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Treyarch came back this year with an excellent addition to the franchise. Many gamers may look at this game with an "I've been there, done that" attitude. I am here to tell you that this is the best WWII effort so far, as well as the best game in the franchise.
  2. 92
    This is a solid, confident shooter with plenty to offer the casual and hardcore alike.
  3. Overall the game feels a bit short but is not only a very tasty bit of eye candy, and a treat for the ears as well, but a briskly paced action-adventure that should please fans of WWII first-person shooters.