Call of Juarez: Gunslinger PC

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 680 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is a real homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventureFrom the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is a real homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventure made of memorable encounters unveils the untold truth behind some of the greatest legends of the Old West. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 30, 2013
    90
    Other western games may better capture the grandeur of the American West, but pure, outlandish spaghetti western gunfights have never been more thrilling than they are in Call of Juarez: Gunslinger.
  2. May 28, 2013
    86
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is essentially a shooter, but it is a good shooter for any fan of the Wild West. The story is enjoyable and the little twists and turns along the way keep it interesting and even funny even though you are basically doing the same thing over and over again: shooting at minions until you get to the final encounter of each scene.
  3. May 27, 2013
    85
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is a funny game and a satisfying romp, with clearly influenced ideas that all have their own unique little spins. I'll fully admit that I went into it expecting another damp squib, but came away thoroughly impressed.
  4. May 20, 2013
    80
    Missing this game for just 14.90 Euro's would be like not robbing a stagecoach pulled by a pair of ill horses.
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Call of Juarez Gunslinger is Techland at their best and the most fun I have had with a western experience since Red Dead Redemption.
  6. May 31, 2013
    80
    In its heart it's an easy, pleasantly non-revolutionary, intense and a hell of a lot of fun shooter video game with western spice that is plentiful.
  7. May 20, 2013
    50
    The broad stylistic flourishes do a fair job of masking the underwhelming reality of much of the gameplay, but once Greaves’ tall tale is told you’re left with a pretty linear, whack-a-cowboy shooter in a no-horse town.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 133
  2. Negative: 8 out of 133
  1. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Cowboys and their world. I just don't get the American's fascination with them.However, I do get a good game when I play it.
    I must say that
    Cowboys and their world. I just don't get the American's fascination with them.However, I do get a good game when I play it.
    I must say that lately some budget games have been putting AAA titles to shame and Gunslinger is no exception. The gameplay mechanics feel more arcade than the previous Call Of Juarez games but it fits perfectly with the 'tall tale' style narrative of the game.
    Worthy of note is the bullet dodging system which literally allows you to.. well... dodge the bullet and live another day. The stand off mechanics is deep and tense making duels far more enjoyable than previous games in the series. Also, this is no a particularly short game, in fact it lasted longer than some full priced titles. And even better, you'll have a hoot running and gunning and dull moments are not to be found.
    A worthy game that punches well above it's price point. Heck, they could have gotten away with a $50-$60 price tag, instead they only ask for $18. Brilliant.
    Expand
  2. May 14, 2015
    10
    Finally a game that allows you to go all guns blazing
    I recently played this game and its one hell of a game when it comes to shooting the
    Finally a game that allows you to go all guns blazing
    I recently played this game and its one hell of a game when it comes to shooting the **** out of people.
    A good experience of the wild west. Good narration by the lead character and most of all god bejesus guns.
    As always ubisoft delivers a game that i would love to play. The only issue from my side is no multiplayer.
    Other than that this game is far way better than cod ghost
    Expand
  3. May 23, 2013
    10
    This is a good arcade shooter with not too much seriousness but enough blood to make it fun :D
    Controll is good, cell shaded graphics
    This is a good arcade shooter with not too much seriousness but enough blood to make it fun :D
    Controll is good, cell shaded graphics perfect. and light story.
    Arcade mode and duels more hours fun.

    Tarantino style actions :D
    Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    Beautifully made..story structured nicely..nice narration..nice game modes too..i just wished story was a little bit bigger.. I really enjoyedBeautifully made..story structured nicely..nice narration..nice game modes too..i just wished story was a little bit bigger.. I really enjoyed the game! Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2015
    8
    I really enjoyed this game, more than I thought I would. Nice 6-7 hour romp through the Wild West with a pretty solid narration/story as youI really enjoyed this game, more than I thought I would. Nice 6-7 hour romp through the Wild West with a pretty solid narration/story as you go. Good fights and areas, nice duels, good pacing. Expand
  6. May 28, 2013
    7
    For $15 you get a serviceable, old west arcade shooter.

    The gameplay is formulaic and can get samey, consisting of the main "shooting
    For $15 you get a serviceable, old west arcade shooter.

    The gameplay is formulaic and can get samey, consisting of the main "shooting gallery" style gameplay and a dueling mini-game.

    The plot is what you'd expect from a $15 game: tacked on and goofy. The entire game takes place in the form of flashbacks from various characters telling tall-tales about Old West outlaws.

    The skill system is extremely linear; you basically choose one of the three weapons to improve (revolver, rifle and shotgun) and choose from a set of two trees.

    Call of Juarez is a polished shoot 'em up shrunk down into a bite-sized budget game. It doesn't have much depth, the plot is paper thin and there isn't much gameplay variety, but for $15 it will hold your attention for at least a few hours.
    Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    call of juarez gunslinger is a great fun game!!!! the game has few and little stuff it doesnt do right, but for 15$ its really worth thecall of juarez gunslinger is a great fun game!!!! the game has few and little stuff it doesnt do right, but for 15$ its really worth the money. the voice acting in the game is great. the game also tells the story in a really awesome and unique way. the guns feel strong and powerful. the gunplay is just plain fun. the collectibles are exellent as well. they tell real stories about the wild west. this stories are really interesting and make for great collectibles. the music isnt particularly good, but it feels in context with the game( dont take me wrong im not hating on the music i actually pretty like it). another really good aspect of gunslinger is the graphics. the graphics are actually really good. some lighting effects are spectacular. another really strong aspect about the game is the artstyle. its just amazing. there are tons of views and vistas to marvel at. the game has a great old west feel, and they really nailed hit. the music, artstyle and leveldesign really made a good wild west atmosphere. there are also little stuff that are done pretty well. introductions to guns and people are really cool. dual wielding pistols is also really fun.
    the story is good. it moves the action pretty good and it gets better along the way. the cutscenes have a cool style.
    now to the bad stuff. the thing that most annoyed me is the dueling system. ITS ABSOLUTELY CRAP!!!!! the dueling system is annoying. its a good idea, but its executed really bad. another annoying thing is that some times death feels cheap. the game has a few bugs and glitches, theyre not so bad though. the game also could have benefited of more guns. my final complaint is that the game is a bit repetetive. its not too bad, but considering how the locations are varied its a bit disapointing that the gameplay is always the same dont get me wrong, the gameplay is really fun and great but they should have put more different gameplay to spice things up)
    overall i really enjoyed call of juarez gunslinger!!! this is a great shooter, and for 15$ its totally worth it. if you want a wild west game, than this is what your looking for, its just awesome!!!!!!!!
    Collapse

See all 133 User Reviews