Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 487 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is a real homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventure made of memorable encounters unveils the untold truth behind some of the greatest legends of the Old West. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 30, 2013
    90
    Other western games may better capture the grandeur of the American West, but pure, outlandish spaghetti western gunfights have never been more thrilling than they are in Call of Juarez: Gunslinger.
  2. May 28, 2013
    86
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is essentially a shooter, but it is a good shooter for any fan of the Wild West. The story is enjoyable and the little twists and turns along the way keep it interesting and even funny even though you are basically doing the same thing over and over again: shooting at minions until you get to the final encounter of each scene.
  3. May 27, 2013
    85
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is a funny game and a satisfying romp, with clearly influenced ideas that all have their own unique little spins. I'll fully admit that I went into it expecting another damp squib, but came away thoroughly impressed.
  4. May 20, 2013
    80
    Missing this game for just 14.90 Euro's would be like not robbing a stagecoach pulled by a pair of ill horses.
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Call of Juarez Gunslinger is Techland at their best and the most fun I have had with a western experience since Red Dead Redemption.
  6. May 31, 2013
    80
    In its heart it's an easy, pleasantly non-revolutionary, intense and a hell of a lot of fun shooter video game with western spice that is plentiful.
  7. May 20, 2013
    50
    The broad stylistic flourishes do a fair job of masking the underwhelming reality of much of the gameplay, but once Greaves’ tall tale is told you’re left with a pretty linear, whack-a-cowboy shooter in a no-horse town.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 105
  2. Negative: 7 out of 105
  1. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Cowboys and their world. I just don't get the American's fascination with them.However, I do get a good game when I play it.
    I must say that
    lately some budget games have been putting AAA titles to shame and Gunslinger is no exception. The gameplay mechanics feel more arcade than the previous Call Of Juarez games but it fits perfectly with the 'tall tale' style narrative of the game.
    Worthy of note is the bullet dodging system which literally allows you to.. well... dodge the bullet and live another day. The stand off mechanics is deep and tense making duels far more enjoyable than previous games in the series. Also, this is no a particularly short game, in fact it lasted longer than some full priced titles. And even better, you'll have a hoot running and gunning and dull moments are not to be found.
    A worthy game that punches well above it's price point. Heck, they could have gotten away with a $50-$60 price tag, instead they only ask for $18. Brilliant.
    Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    Great game, great story.
    This is probaly one of the best wild west games, besides Red Dead Redemption.
    This game is worth the 15 euro on
    Steam, who doesn't love a game with Billy the kid, Pat Garrett and Jesse James?
    Go buy this game now and stop reading the reviews, this is clearly one of the best games of 2013.
    Expand
  3. May 23, 2013
    10
    This is a good arcade shooter with not too much seriousness but enough blood to make it fun :D
    Controll is good, cell shaded graphics
    perfect. and light story.
    Arcade mode and duels more hours fun.

    Tarantino style actions :D
    Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Great fun which is all i want from a game tbqh my only complaint is length and replayability are lacking (though i still replayed it plenty) a sequel or even dlc would be great and solve all my issues with the game and remember it is still 15 bucks. Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    This game is pretty damn good. Has great music, told a good story, has good combat, looks good, has some pretty funny lines. If you have any interest in cowboys / westerns, or just looking for a good shooter, this game is recommended. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Like all the Call of Juarez games, this one wasn't lacking in action and it will hold your interest. My only complaint would be about the "Death Sense" feature. This broke up the game momentum and became increasingly annoying. Even with this new feature, the game seemed low tech compared with the others, with fewer buttons and whistles except for the exasperating fast draw meetings. This could be why the price was so reasonable. Still, this game was fun and I felt a real sense of accomplishment when I finished it. Expand
  7. May 22, 2013
    0
    No FoV options.perfomance issues on some Nvidia cards,disastrous port.
    This is all there really is to say.
    This isn't the first time
    Techland releases a terrible port. Expand

See all 105 User Reviews