Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 601 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is a real homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventureFrom the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is a real homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventure made of memorable encounters unveils the untold truth behind some of the greatest legends of the Old West. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 30, 2013
    90
    Other western games may better capture the grandeur of the American West, but pure, outlandish spaghetti western gunfights have never been more thrilling than they are in Call of Juarez: Gunslinger.
  2. May 28, 2013
    86
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is essentially a shooter, but it is a good shooter for any fan of the Wild West. The story is enjoyable and the little twists and turns along the way keep it interesting and even funny even though you are basically doing the same thing over and over again: shooting at minions until you get to the final encounter of each scene.
  3. May 27, 2013
    85
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is a funny game and a satisfying romp, with clearly influenced ideas that all have their own unique little spins. I'll fully admit that I went into it expecting another damp squib, but came away thoroughly impressed.
  4. May 20, 2013
    80
    Missing this game for just 14.90 Euro's would be like not robbing a stagecoach pulled by a pair of ill horses.
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Call of Juarez Gunslinger is Techland at their best and the most fun I have had with a western experience since Red Dead Redemption.
  6. May 31, 2013
    80
    In its heart it's an easy, pleasantly non-revolutionary, intense and a hell of a lot of fun shooter video game with western spice that is plentiful.
  7. May 20, 2013
    50
    The broad stylistic flourishes do a fair job of masking the underwhelming reality of much of the gameplay, but once Greaves’ tall tale is told you’re left with a pretty linear, whack-a-cowboy shooter in a no-horse town.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 119
  1. May 2, 2014
    10
    This FPS arcade is such a fantastic game. Its atmosphere and the way how the story was told is superb and very original.

    Seriously guys, if
    This FPS arcade is such a fantastic game. Its atmosphere and the way how the story was told is superb and very original.

    Seriously guys, if you like fast-paced games, FPS and westerns, you should play this!

    And a last point, this game is highly polished, giving the AAA impression.
    Expand
  2. May 27, 2013
    10
    The game really defeated my expectations after the horrid "Cartel" sequel that came before it. The narrative is phenomenally done for just anThe game really defeated my expectations after the horrid "Cartel" sequel that came before it. The narrative is phenomenally done for just an Arcade shooter, and the gameplay is fluid and entertaining. Other than the less than stellar graphics, I had no complaints about this good 15 dollar game. Expand
  3. May 23, 2013
    10
    This is a good arcade shooter with not too much seriousness but enough blood to make it fun :D
    Controll is good, cell shaded graphics
    This is a good arcade shooter with not too much seriousness but enough blood to make it fun :D
    Controll is good, cell shaded graphics perfect. and light story.
    Arcade mode and duels more hours fun.

    Tarantino style actions :D
    Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Great fun which is all i want from a game tbqh my only complaint is length and replayability are lacking (though i still replayed it plenty) aGreat fun which is all i want from a game tbqh my only complaint is length and replayability are lacking (though i still replayed it plenty) a sequel or even dlc would be great and solve all my issues with the game and remember it is still 15 bucks. Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    Pretty good value considering the price. There isn't much variety to the gameplay, but it's very fun if you're just after a wild west killingPretty good value considering the price. There isn't much variety to the gameplay, but it's very fun if you're just after a wild west killing spree.

    Where it really shined for me was the story telling. The voice acting is very good, accompanying art is outstanding, and the way old Silas backtracks through his story, and happens to remember a path/opening/ladder that escaped his previous attention is quite amusing. There's not much to the actual story, a cowboy seeking revenge, but I found myself wanting to hear the story unfold.

    I got about 5 hours out of one play through of the main story line. Was happy considering it cost less than $20.
    Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2013
    8
    Again in the wild west. I don`t know what they were smoking when they made Call of Juarez The Cartel. But now it is time to send more hours inAgain in the wild west. I don`t know what they were smoking when they made Call of Juarez The Cartel. But now it is time to send more hours in the wild west whitout fully automatic rifles. Expand
  7. May 22, 2013
    0
    No FoV options.perfomance issues on some Nvidia cards,disastrous port.
    This is all there really is to say.
    This isn't the first time
    No FoV options.perfomance issues on some Nvidia cards,disastrous port.
    This is all there really is to say.
    This isn't the first time Techland releases a terrible port.
    Expand

See all 119 User Reviews