Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. 89
    An excellent balance of gritty realism and game play. It's been a long time but Outlaws can finally hang up its guns and retire.
  2. A tour de force labor of love from developers who clearly cared, and knew what they were doing, and it's not hard to fully appreciate the end result.
  3. Call of Juarez does a fascinating job of blending an epic period in history with an already proven gaming genre. It strays here and there, but it is the overall experience that Techland set out to provide, which I feel they have succeeded at tremendously.
  4. When was the last time you played a game where you could make your horse slide down the face of a cliff, shooting with the six-gun in your left hand while reading from the Bible in your right? [Oct 2006, p.84]
  5. The game is pretty fun for Western fans. Just be prepared for some frustrating stealth mission and a couple minor clipping issues.
  6. In the end, it’s all about player satisfaction and if it’s of any importance to you, I’ve played it all in one session. It’s that captivating.
  7. Looking at the big picture, however, the story and the atmosphere in CoJ will be good enough to keep you going, so I wouldn't go as far as to say that the Billy missions ruined it for me. There were some that I found exciting.
  8. The best Western game by far, with some outstanding visuals. [Oct 2006, p.100]
  9. Of all the cowboy games in the last few years, Call of Juarez is the one which most feels like it has a soul. Impassioned and imaginative, its velocity of invention can make you smile through any flaws. It's a game which you feel someone actually cared about making.
  10. Rarely do I find myself so absorbed by the characters I play and the world in which they live, and that's a true homage to Techland for creating such an absurdly assimilating game. But the feeling is shattered at times.
  11. Gunfighting is great fun and the graphics are nothing short of stunning. [Oct 2006]
  12. 75
    While Call of Juarez isn’t without its flaws, it is still a remarkably enjoyable game.
  13. A bit creaky in places, but this western shooter has plenty of character. [Nov 2006, p.78]
  14. This is a game of two halves: one a highly enjoyable series of extravagant shoot-outs and the other a tedious crawl through two genres that just weren’t made to work together. [Nov 2006, p.112]
  15. It has many of the right ingredients, such as great graphics and an interesting story, but it still doesn't have the full package, as it suffers from frustrating, repetitive gameplay, which is hard to forgive.
  16. Call of Juarez takes few risks with its setting or genre, but it does what it does well enough to be enjoyable.
  17. Story-wise, the device would work better if the player characters were more likeable. [Oct 2007, p.56]
  18. It has numerous problems, most notably the A.I. But there's something beneath all its faults I can forgive; a Western game that has Reverends, shows reverence and even features the occasional smear of puerile humour. [Nov 2006, p.66]
  19. Overall Juarez is not a bad FPS, with its unusual setting and unique approach; it’s just not as good as it could have been, suffering as it does from some real wasted potential.
  20. 68
    If you're interested in a shooter to bide your time before BioShock, Crysis, BlackSite, and the rest of the this summer/fall's FPSs come along, Call of Juarez might appeal to you, but it's not the Wild West fun we were hoping for.
  21. If you've got the hardware you'll experience a quite stunning game, but one that doesn't fulfil its potential.
  22. Call Of Juarez has mined its source material well, collecting a wealth of imagery that it then squanders on lacklustre and dysfunctional gameplay. [Aug 2007, p.93]
  23. 50
    It's just that the really sloppy platforming and box-moving, which take up a good chunk of the game, puts a big damper on any joy that we might find in shooting up bandits and cowboys.
  24. The presentation is nothing short of stunning in places, but is nothing above terrible in others. It hooks you at the beginning with a promising storyline and the popular setting, but just seems to not care if it keeps you on the line or not, sinking into mediocrity way too often to ever draw you all the way in.
  25. 40
    There’s a multiplayer mode to be had, but it’s hard to recommend Juarez solely based on the fact that you can share the misery with friends.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    Call of Juarez is both a first-person shooter and a stealth game. You plays some levels as Reverend Ray a creepily charismatic character, a former bandit turned a priest but still ready to use his guns and others as his young nephew Billy, always sneaking around his enemies.

    The FPS with Reverend Ray is gripping and a lot of fun, with nice ideas like the concentration mode, the peculiar two guns mode and the duels.

    The levels with Billy bored me to tears, and honestly I played them just to get the next Reverend Ray part. The developers did a far better job with action than with stealth: the former crackles with excitement, the latter is clunky and repetitive.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Great game with replay value because I'm now playing it again. The graphics are pretty darned good for that time period. The in game vistas are stunning. The western style, cowboy music is great. The voice acting particularly Ray's and Billie's, are perfect. My ONLY objection is the dead eye accuracy and radar vision of the A.I. As the player I wish I could shoot and spot the enemy that accurately. Use your quick save function liberally. Other than that I wish more games of this superb quality in this genre would come out. Full Review »
  3. May 26, 2013
    5
    +Alot of attention to pacing, narrative, and character
    +You can play between 2 very different characters
    +Concentration mode is so fun, its
    essentially requires you to look at both sides of the screen as your cursors move to the center of the screen in slow motion and fire a bullet via left and right mouse buttons. Its alot of fun and requires good timing.
    +unlockable artwork and wanted posters are fun
    +- sneaking does require a bit of practice and a bit of luck
    -poorly designed levels
    -no poker
    -starts to limp narrative/pacing wise towards the end
    Full Review »