User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 192

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BellinoP.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    Guns ,horses,sneaking and a great story . What more could you want.
  2. SmoodRankin
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant. The problem is these kids that have no patience or appreciation for a true shooter... instead adhering to their kiddy Counter strike games going at 100 mph with pin point accuracy. Call of Juarez brings realism and excitement to the FPS scene and does so with a style and story so incredible you won't know where these developers came from. SeraphiM AThis game is absolutely brilliant. The problem is these kids that have no patience or appreciation for a true shooter... instead adhering to their kiddy Counter strike games going at 100 mph with pin point accuracy. Call of Juarez brings realism and excitement to the FPS scene and does so with a style and story so incredible you won't know where these developers came from. SeraphiM A is a complete MORON. Rob E. lesser so. Expand
  3. HannahS.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    I adored playing this game and I soon became addicted to it. It took quite a while to load up and was quite jumpy to start with but i think it was worth the wait. It was great that you werent just shooting every guy you saw, and that you got to have time out to shoot rabbits and such. Nice scenery. Beautiful storyline. The whole "the poor being more generous than the rich" was a really I adored playing this game and I soon became addicted to it. It took quite a while to load up and was quite jumpy to start with but i think it was worth the wait. It was great that you werent just shooting every guy you saw, and that you got to have time out to shoot rabbits and such. Nice scenery. Beautiful storyline. The whole "the poor being more generous than the rich" was a really touching idea and i loved playing as both Billy and Ray. Great game, highly recommend it. Expand
  4. MattC.
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    I agree at some times the load times were long... but not THAT long. I'm running a GeForce 6800 and only a P4 2.8 ghz engine with the quality settings all the way up.. only changing the Pixel Shader down to 2 instead of 3. Most top of the line graphics cards can only run Pixel Shader 2. Only the brand new cards are able to run Shader 3. Many of you are having problems because of this I agree at some times the load times were long... but not THAT long. I'm running a GeForce 6800 and only a P4 2.8 ghz engine with the quality settings all the way up.. only changing the Pixel Shader down to 2 instead of 3. Most top of the line graphics cards can only run Pixel Shader 2. Only the brand new cards are able to run Shader 3. Many of you are having problems because of this fact. Game ran beautifully on my computer with no hiccups at all and the graphics quality is still excellent. Expand
  5. CubelB.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    One of the best games i've played this year!
  6. MarcB.
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    Heyyo, Great game. Sure, doesn't run the smoothest, but looks great, multiplayer's got great hitreg and netcode even on high pings so it's playable with people in Europe, and the best cowboy FPS yet. The only thing stopping me from 10/10 is mainly that it doesn't run all too great, and the weapons need to be balanced in MP.. TNT's too buff, and the sawed off is Heyyo, Great game. Sure, doesn't run the smoothest, but looks great, multiplayer's got great hitreg and netcode even on high pings so it's playable with people in Europe, and the best cowboy FPS yet. The only thing stopping me from 10/10 is mainly that it doesn't run all too great, and the weapons need to be balanced in MP.. TNT's too buff, and the sawed off is also too buff, should be pistol, tnt, and double-barreled shotgun for the miner class, TNT's and sawed-off is too beefy a combo. Expand
  7. PhilipD.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    I didn't expect much from this game. It had mixed reviews, but it got a good review from the Users. Still, I had to make the most of my Geforce 8800, so I bought it for £9.99. If I had known how good it was, I would have bought it sooner. The graphics are very impressive- but not as much as the scale of some of the levels. The rabbit hunting level stands out in particular, and I didn't expect much from this game. It had mixed reviews, but it got a good review from the Users. Still, I had to make the most of my Geforce 8800, so I bought it for £9.99. If I had known how good it was, I would have bought it sooner. The graphics are very impressive- but not as much as the scale of some of the levels. The rabbit hunting level stands out in particular, and had the same affect on me as the Hong Kong level from Deus Ex. The entire game is like a good dream; You'll want to share it with others once it's over and you'll remember it for ever. The fantastic music and slow-mo gun fights add to the atmosphere, but at the end of the day it's the story which drives this game to within the top 5 games for me of all time- something I never thought was possible. Each chapter feels like a new game, just like Half Life 2. This is one of the few games where I have played out of sheer enjoyment, as opposed to playing simply to kill time and say that I've completed it. The voice acting is superb and the ending was enough to make me cry. This is a monster game for such a small Studio and I only wish that more people would take a gamble and buy this game, despite the reviews. It needs a beast of a computer to run, but after playing this game, it's certainly worth it. I only wish that I could tell the developers how much I've enjoyed this game. It's a dream come true. Expand
  8. PanchoV.
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, finaly a wild west shooter with some quality graphics. Gameplay is ok but it needs ctf in my opinion. The support from techland can be alot better or the online community will dy soon.
  9. PavelD.
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    Amazing Game!
  10. DanielW.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    I simply cannot understand the review scores given by the majority of reviewers for this game. Yes, this is an FPS, and yes, there are no real ground breaking scenes or gameplay advances, but heaven's sake this is a game and games are meant to be fun. Call of Juarez has to be one of the most entertaining games I have ever had the privilege to play. The levels where you play Billy are I simply cannot understand the review scores given by the majority of reviewers for this game. Yes, this is an FPS, and yes, there are no real ground breaking scenes or gameplay advances, but heaven's sake this is a game and games are meant to be fun. Call of Juarez has to be one of the most entertaining games I have ever had the privilege to play. The levels where you play Billy are a welcome change of pace to the Rev. levels, and the scenery is simply the icing on the cake. You can tell that the developers had a lot of fun making this game and it shows through very easily. I still have save games on some of the shoot outs so I can play through them over and over! Expand
  11. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    That's what i call one of the best games of all time! I was waiting a western game like for ever and it finally came true. What can i say, i felt in love with that game... Each mission is like having sex with the most beautiful girls on this planet. The storyline is just perfect, the voice acting was so well performed that i thought i was in there in real-time! At the End it was so deepThat's what i call one of the best games of all time! I was waiting a western game like for ever and it finally came true. What can i say, i felt in love with that game... Each mission is like having sex with the most beautiful girls on this planet. The storyline is just perfect, the voice acting was so well performed that i thought i was in there in real-time! At the End it was so deep that i started to cry, yup its true.
    i so loved the duels like the old wild west, riding a horse,... The caracters really had an incredible story to tell. Every weapon on that game is unique. Every mission was diferent, like i was playing a new game of call of juarez.
    Chrome Engine really did a great touch on the graphics, i will definitely watch every game what will be released with that engine. The gameplay is awesome, AI is like they would be real enemies, lile they were defending and attacking by them selfs without any scripts, superb.
    This game should have more sales, Techland really deserved having more profits. Multiplayer of that game is unique, so awesome... I could spend the whole day to praise that game... I do want a sequel but wild west too...
    Let's see how Cal of Juarez:the Cartel will be, hope another awesome game like Bound in Blood.
    Thank you for that great Game Techland and for publishing it Ubisoft, i'm so thankfull
    Expand
  12. SamM.
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Great setting,story,locations and nice graphics. Gamplay is nice,the best thing is the intensive atmosphere and tension within most of the levels. Levels are always different and varied, not boring! . All in all a SUPERB game, with a tension a atmosphere you will love!
  13. PaulC.
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    A great departure from the rest, almost in it's own category with solid story, sublime scenery and graphics, and realistic action and adventure. With all graphic options cranked "Call of Juarez" rivals or tops "Far Cry" and "Call of Duty 2". The rabbit hunt was the best use of slow-motion 'bullet-time' that I've ever experienced. The outdoor nature scenes create a A great departure from the rest, almost in it's own category with solid story, sublime scenery and graphics, and realistic action and adventure. With all graphic options cranked "Call of Juarez" rivals or tops "Far Cry" and "Call of Duty 2". The rabbit hunt was the best use of slow-motion 'bullet-time' that I've ever experienced. The outdoor nature scenes create a different pace for this game; it may not satisfy someone's need to race around streets and kill 6 million people. For me this game will be remember as one of the best that I've played in the past 25 years. Expand
  14. OlegT.
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    A good example where presentation complements gameplay (not vice versa!). Charismatic and versatile. The levels for Billy save the game from being monotonous gunning all the way to the bitter end. For its flaws it'still very good.
  15. M.Alex
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    A very good game. I has some weaker points, especially at the beginning until you get the gist of it, but then it turns out to be a really good one. Very good acting (Marc Alaimo is great!), nice plot, and most importantly, very decent gameplay. System requirements slightly high.
  16. DragosA.
    Sep 5, 2006
    9
    One of the fiew FPS games witch succeds to give the player a real western feeling with high quality and next-generation graphics even if it doesnt reach the performance of Half-Life 2 and other games.The shadows and distand land are just gorgious.The most inpressive thing is the gameplay, very variated and realistic for example the objects made out of wood burn after the contact with One of the fiew FPS games witch succeds to give the player a real western feeling with high quality and next-generation graphics even if it doesnt reach the performance of Half-Life 2 and other games.The shadows and distand land are just gorgious.The most inpressive thing is the gameplay, very variated and realistic for example the objects made out of wood burn after the contact with fire.There are some little problems with the AI and sound but you can pass easily over them.My final impression is that Call of Juarez is one of the best shooters this year with an unic ideea and the first game of Techland witch has been able to impress me. Expand
  17. Dan
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    What a terrific and unique game. It was engrossing and fun. Graphics are stunning (I played in vista with DX10), and the story and voice acting are quite good. There are pistol duels, rabbit hunting, horse back riding, archery, mountain climbing, and many other great things you never see in regular generic shooters. Just a load of fun and a unique experience.
  18. Brakiri
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Best western-shooter in existence. Very good story, and believable characters. The game is MUCH better, then the overall "professional" opinions might suggest. Another example that professional not neccessarily means competent and objective.
  19. TerzH.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Wow, a great gaming experience! It's not a "run and shoot" game like zillion others in the market. Instead you have to adapt to the situation, use environment and shoot from behind cover! Bullet time is coolest ever! Also the physics engine is so good that I wish they had used it more. Just try throwing bean cans in the air and shooting them. Great fun! Only minus points are the long Wow, a great gaming experience! It's not a "run and shoot" game like zillion others in the market. Instead you have to adapt to the situation, use environment and shoot from behind cover! Bullet time is coolest ever! Also the physics engine is so good that I wish they had used it more. Just try throwing bean cans in the air and shooting them. Great fun! Only minus points are the long stealth missions, where there is only one path to victory. But the scenery is so fantastic that I even enjoyed the missions where you have to climb a mountain, hunt rabbits etc. It is nice change of pace between the intense shootouts! Furthermore, I found the story very interesting. I really recommend this one to all friends of tactical shooters and a good story. Expand
  20. TiagoM.
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    I haven´t seen a game so good since Half-Life 2 and it´s sequel. I wasn´t expecting much when I bought it to be frank...but it it was quite a surprise. It´s even more original than Condemned: Criminal Origins, which is not easy to match. The way Billy and the Reverend link in different parts of the story is absolutely amazing. It´s a western, an outstanding I haven´t seen a game so good since Half-Life 2 and it´s sequel. I wasn´t expecting much when I bought it to be frank...but it it was quite a surprise. It´s even more original than Condemned: Criminal Origins, which is not easy to match. The way Billy and the Reverend link in different parts of the story is absolutely amazing. It´s a western, an outstanding and playable western. Oh..and the landscapes you see are really a present for your eyes. Since it´s hard too decide what perfect is I give it a 9, I'll remember the story for ever. Expand
  21. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Great game with replay value because I'm now playing it again. The graphics are pretty darned good for that time period. The in game vistas are stunning. The western style, cowboy music is great. The voice acting particularly Ray's and Billie's, are perfect. My ONLY objection is the dead eye accuracy and radar vision of the A.I. As the player I wish I could shoot and spot the enemyGreat game with replay value because I'm now playing it again. The graphics are pretty darned good for that time period. The in game vistas are stunning. The western style, cowboy music is great. The voice acting particularly Ray's and Billie's, are perfect. My ONLY objection is the dead eye accuracy and radar vision of the A.I. As the player I wish I could shoot and spot the enemy that accurately. Use your quick save function liberally. Other than that I wish more games of this superb quality in this genre would come out. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Overall Juarez is not a bad FPS, with its unusual setting and unique approach; it’s just not as good as it could have been, suffering as it does from some real wasted potential.
  2. The presentation is nothing short of stunning in places, but is nothing above terrible in others. It hooks you at the beginning with a promising storyline and the popular setting, but just seems to not care if it keeps you on the line or not, sinking into mediocrity way too often to ever draw you all the way in.
  3. When was the last time you played a game where you could make your horse slide down the face of a cliff, shooting with the six-gun in your left hand while reading from the Bible in your right? [Oct 2006, p.84]