Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Capsized is a fast paced 2d platformer focused on intense action and exploration.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. May 18, 2011
    91
    Capsized recalls memories of Turrican, Commander Keen, and Cybernator, but this is not a nostalgic retro-rehash. You won't find chunky pixels, chiptune soundtracks, or tongue-in-cheek nods to the past. Capsized is a modern original; a nearly pitch-perfect blend of combat and exploration that manages to be as beautiful as it is exhilarating.
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    86
    An intense and beautifully designed action-physics platformer, which also happens to be dirt cheap.
  3. May 4, 2011
    85
    Capsized is a love letter to the 8-bit era: the perfect mix between Cybernoid and The Sacred Armour of Antiriad.
  4. May 6, 2011
    80
    A mere 12-level campaign rather curtails your wistful pleasure, but the presence of four 'Arcade' modes doesn't hurt, especially co-op.
  5. May 25, 2011
    80
    The Metroid-esque adventure game Capsized is cleverly put together. The multifunctional weapons and the refreshing puzzles give the player enough space to develop their own playstyle. On design and technical terms it might also be one of the most impressive indie-games of the year.
  6. May 5, 2011
    78
    Classic gameplay and good visuals, Capsized is a solid and nostalgic game.
  7. May 3, 2011
    60
    For its small price, Capsized is an honest bargain. Well executed visually, with very nice music, very few bugs, and a complete gameplay. But Alien Trap delivers the paper of a good student who lacks a little imagination.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    What a wonderful little game. Appropriately challenging, and moderately addicting. Great art direction. Great atmosphere. Hostile world thatWhat a wonderful little game. Appropriately challenging, and moderately addicting. Great art direction. Great atmosphere. Hostile world that feels scary despite the somewhat pleasing ambiance of it. Unique and beautiful. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    Capsized in an exceptional platformer with well integrated exploration and plenty of alien blasting. The game is also extremely well done onCapsized in an exceptional platformer with well integrated exploration and plenty of alien blasting. The game is also extremely well done on iOS and mirrors the play of the PC version very well. I highly recommend the game it hours and hours worth of great gameplay. Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    Beautiful game. The hand-drawn environments show a sense of care to 2D games that only a few other devs have matched (Braid). It is very rareBeautiful game. The hand-drawn environments show a sense of care to 2D games that only a few other devs have matched (Braid). It is very rare to feel like you have been drawn in rather than just watching your character do things on the screen, but the Alientrap devs have gone above and beyond this. The short little tutorial at the beginning is straightforward and controls are easy to grasp after a little practice. Sometimes the controls can be a little tough if you aren't quite used to them yet, though they become second nature in time. The game introduces new elements very straightforwardly, allowing you to figure out what they do on their own rather than telling you, which keeps the element of discovery fresh in every level. They use this same concept for the enemies.

    The level design is great, providing secrets like in retro 2Ders to discover which will give you a buff or extra life. There is no map or compass, adding to the genuine "Lost and stranded" theme of the game.

    If this wasn't enough to convince you to grab it, go check the demo out on Steam!
    Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    7
    Be aware that the game's music does not work for me, and for some others (check the Steam forum). It seems to also prevent the game's endBe aware that the game's music does not work for me, and for some others (check the Steam forum). It seems to also prevent the game's end credits from being displayed. It's a good game, but those two music related bugs are too serious to overlook. Despite that very serious bug, Capsized manages to charm with its artwork and action packed levels. It is of adequate length, without getting too repetitive. The physics of the game, in addition to the artwork is also a memorable highlight in this indie title. It took me about 6 hours to complete. Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    Perhaps the game's most redeeming qualities from my view are the fantastic soundtrack and very unique style of graphics. When combined, thosePerhaps the game's most redeeming qualities from my view are the fantastic soundtrack and very unique style of graphics. When combined, those two qualities give a nice, atmospheric feel to the game and you do truly feel like you're on another planet. I also enjoyed the impressive arsenal of weaponry that the player can use throughout the game, as each weapon was unique and interesting. The enemies were somewhat diverse and interesting as well. Having said all that, why a score of 7? Well, despite these impressive qualities, Capsized has a few noticeable downfalls. First and foremost are the controls. Most of the time it was impossible to actually -control- the playable character the way you wanted to. Whenever you moved, it seemed like he'd always glide, slide, or float away. I know the setting is a planet with a low gravity, but still, when I want him to stop, I expect him to stop, otherwise moving around and especially aiming at the enemies becomes a nightmare. And yes, aiming was already tricky to begin with since the crosshair's sensitivity is strange and some of the time it blends in with the background, so you don't even see where you're shooting until you start seeing your bullets fly out of your gun. I tried to play with a gamepad as well, but that doesn't make it any easier. Another issue I want to tackle is concerning the gameplay. I noticed the difficulty was a bit unbalanced. The first 2-3 levels were really easy and then suddenly on the next level after that the difficulty goes way up. Most of the challenge seemed to involve you taking a step into a wide open area only to suddenly be swarmed by dozens of enemies from all sides, one of which would always grab you and drag you to another corner of the map, making sure to aggravate every other enemy on the map in the process. I admit that can be fun at times, especially if you want to mess around and see how many enemies you can kill before they grind you into pieces, but that doesn't really translate to a good gameplay. And lastly I'll also mention that for some unknown reason the game crashes when I try to load the final level. Everything worked perfectly and the game played fine in the first 11 stages, but the last stage consistently crashes to desktop whenever I try to play it. I checked for some fixes online, and I saw that there were other people who had the same issue as well, but so far no solutions whatsoever. Overall Capsized is not a bad game. It's well worth a try, because it does not fail to deliver on the fun aspect (even if it is short lived), and apart from the campaign, there are also other features, such as deathmatch against bots, and so on (although you have to unlock those features by doing well on the campaign), but despite having a good presentation and basics of gameplay, there is nothing much else to the game. If you're expecting miracles or hours of gameplay, you won't find them here. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    Reminds me a lot of the old flash game heli-attack only with a great soundtrack and beautiful backdrop, however using green enemies on a greenReminds me a lot of the old flash game heli-attack only with a great soundtrack and beautiful backdrop, however using green enemies on a green background with clunky controls make this game feel like doing chores at an art school gallery 6.5/10 Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    Unplayable. I've been trying to get it to work for hours, but it does nothing but crash to the desktop. A quick look at the Steam forumsUnplayable. I've been trying to get it to work for hours, but it does nothing but crash to the desktop. A quick look at the Steam forums shows it's an all too common event with no fix in sight from the developers. Unacceptable, but at least I didn't spend too much to find out the developer is inept. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers