Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    80
    Car Mechanic Simulator 2014 is a realistic simulator like no other ones on the market.
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    75
    Reaching newer car models or chip tuning takes much too long but Car Mechanic Simulator’s detailed visuals look good for a low budget title and the game offers a chance to learn something really useful. [04/2014, p.61]
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    55
    "Letdown" and "lost potential" are two key phrases that fit Car Mechanic Simulator 2014. The game suffers from repetitiveness and monotony - after a while there are no surprises and various ways of solving problems. The game has a lot of interesting ideas, and the theme is original, but all in all there's not enough attention to detail and not enough gripping gameplay.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    53
    Maybe you need to be a lot more into cars than I am to get something out of CMS2014. Objectively though, it just doesn’t seem like a whole lot of fun.
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    50
    Car Mechanic Simulator 2014 lacks the variety to entertain for very long, or the depth to succeed as a simulator. It’s nothing more than a series of one note puzzles.
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    50
    More of an "encyclopedia of car service" than a game. Still, it has its good moments.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21
  1. Jan 26, 2014
    4
    The idea is good, but too simple as a simulator.
    You can disassemble Just drive system, many parts have been omitted.
    It is only possible to
    The idea is good, but too simple as a simulator.
    You can disassemble Just drive system, many parts have been omitted.
    It is only possible to repeat simple puzzles again and again without a story.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Buy Car Mechanic Simulator

    I think this is best way to start my review i have played my fair share of simulators on and off Steam and Car
    Buy Car Mechanic Simulator

    I think this is best way to start my review i have played my fair share of simulators on and off Steam and Car Mechanic Simulator is one i have been craving for very long time i have been around and working on cars since 12 years old so i have good knowledge of cars and there workings.

    First appearance of the game when we start up is clean and simple which are good but some option need to be added which they will in upcoming patch.

    We start career mode and get under way graphics are good for simulator maybe little heavy on the reflection nice chrome texture we get first job you have job sheet which gives you rough idea what issue maybe and you need to find and fix this issue in start this can be little tricky but there are some things you can use to help make game play easier with high lighted parts etc

    Controls are very nice and smooth once setup feel great no major issues

    Test drive mode is low on scale but does help in sourcing the issues same with the scanner etc

    mission do slowly get harder and harder but for some people they might find it repetitive but i liked it its not to hard so some one with no car knowledge could play it

    It took me around 20 hours to complete the game which is good for simulator and developers have been more than helpful when facing an issue and im looking forward to DLC and possible 2015 version its a game which as lots of space to grow and become bigger i hope the developers run with that and build on what they have.

    Some people wont like the game and some will and for what the game is the price is right

    my rating is 10/10
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    You get to use one tool which you can use to remove all the parts on the car. There is close to no variation when it comes to the tasks, theYou get to use one tool which you can use to remove all the parts on the car. There is close to no variation when it comes to the tasks, the cars, the layouts. So far all the cars are fwd, all petrol, the engine sounds are the same. This is not even close to gearheads garage as someone else pointed out. For gods sake look at Automation if you want realism, and thats an indie title in alpha. You cant even take the engine apart which is a HUGE minus at least from me. I uninstalled this game and wont pick it up again. Full Review »